# Amicus Curiae Brief — Countyof Yakima v. Confederated Tribes and Bands of Yakima Nation

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385013_0026%3A16

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1992
- **Citation:** 502 U.S. 251

## Text

FILED
JUN 2 7 1991

Nos. 90-408 and 90-577

7 Trte"

In The Loa

Supreme Court of the United States
October Term, 1990

COUNTY OF YAKIMA, ct al., PETITIONERS
V.

CONFEDERATED TRIBES AND BANDS OF THE
YAKIMA NATION, RESPONDENT

CONFEDERATED TRIBES AND BANDS OF THE
OF THE YAKIMA NATION, CROSS-PETITIONER
Vv.

COUNTY OF YAKIMA, et al.,
CROSS-RESPONDENTS

ON WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED
STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE
NINTH CIRCUIT

BRIEF OF AMICI CURIAE STATES OF MONTANA,
COLORADO, MINNESOTA, NORTH DAKOTA,
AND SOUTH DAKOTA IN SUPPORT OF
PETITIONERS/CROSS-RESPONDENTS

Marc Racicot

Attorney Gencral

Clay R. Smith*
Solicitor

State of Montana
Justice Building

215 North Sanders
Helena MT 59620-1401
(406) 444-2026

*Counsel of Record

(Additional counscl listed on inside cover.)

Gale A. Norton
Attorney General

State of Colorado
Department of Law

110 16th Street,

10th Floor

Denver, Colorado 80202
(303) 620-4511

Hubert H. Humphrey III
Attorney General

State of Minnesota

102 State Capitol

St. Paul, Minnesota
55155

(612) 296-6196

Nicholas Spaeth
Attorney General

State of North Dakota
State Capitol

Bismarck, North Dakota
58505

(701) 224-2210

Mark Barnett
Attorney General
State of South Dakota
500 East Capitol
Pierre, South Dakota
57503-5070

(605) 773-3215

TABLE OF CONTENTS

INTEREST OF AMICI CURIAE ............
SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT ..............
(jj Sieh eieuekSeavseseseccececes

I. SECTION 6 OF THE GENERAL
ALLOTMENT ACT, AS AMENDED IN
1906, EXPRESSLY CONSENTS TO
STATE TAXATION OF ALLOTTED
LANDS UPON ISSUANCE OF A
DT CRs eaeeeeebesccscceccscs

Il. THE PLURALITY OPINION IN
BRENDALE HAS NO RELEVANCE TO
Dt sckeseebesevedeeseccecs

hee bees as sb bbb d 06 0% bee 6's

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page

CASES
Affiliated Ute Citizens v. United States,

Gee. Ds oc dmahabboe eres cdeen 5
Board of Commissioners v. United States,

GP Fae Ge Ce Ga BD cbc cbeecrccccccce 14
Brendale v. Confederated Tribes and Bands

of Yakima Nation,

nite 2c... 6s bh Sede oe bee « Wes Passim
Bryan v. Itasca County,

Ce ee kbs oensdvanbéuacecd es 18
California v. Cabazon Band of Mission Indians,

Gp Vas ED Ov dh se coeeeeseues 18, 21, 25
Chatterton v. Lukin,

ee ee PS ED kc cecsecencesenue 15
Choate v. Trapp,

Se ED db 60s 6h eueenees 13, 14, 20
Confederated Tribes and Bands of Yakima

Nation v. County of Yakima,

903 F.2d 1207 (9th Cir. 1990) ........... oo
County of Thurston v. Andrus,

586 F.2d 1212 (8th Cir. 1978),

cert. denied, 441 U.S. 952 (1979) ............ 15

DeCoteau v. District County Court,
See ey GE 8 860 006664660 86 eb 68 21

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - Continued

Page

General Motors Acceptance Corporation v.

Chischilly, 628 P.2d 683 (N.M. 1981) .........- 21
Glacier County v. United States,

99 F.2d 733 (9th Cir. 1938) ........---2 00s 14
Housing Authority of Seminole Nation v. Harjo,

790 P.2d 1090 (Okla. 1990) .........-52205- 21
In re Heff,

ff ree ee 3, 8, 9
Love v. Board of County Commissioners,

, fi a, Perr Tr rer er er 14
Mahnomen County v. United States,

- , FL. PTET Teer Passim
McClanahan v. Arizona State Tax Commission,

8 & rrr errr rrr re rer 18
Mescalero Apache Tribe v. Jones,

je SB SS OT errr errre re 18
Moe v. Confederated Salish and Kootenai Tribes,

Ge Es Ge CUTE fn occ ce nesisea’s ones 4, 18, 22
Montana v. Blackfeet Tribe,

Ce EE wee na dcceccecccesssee 24
Morton v. Mancari,

og YY Fo re ree err ee ee 23

iv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - Continued

Page

Northern Cheyenne Tribe v. Hollowbreast,

Ge Ss PEED Oo oS Cewee newer auccceden 6
Pittsburgh & Lake Erie Railroad Company

v. Railway Labor Executives’ Association,

ee SRS is dw adiewows sec cess 23
Squire v. Capoeman, 351 U.S. 1 (1956) .... 16, 17, 20
Sweet v. Schock, 245 U.S. 192 (1917) ....... 13, 14
Traynor v. Turnage, 485 U.S. 535 (1988) ........ 23
United States v. Benewah County,

ee ee EG I oc ccccccesecccces 14
United States v. Dewitt,

Oe Ne I OED nccccccsecccceeses 8
United States v. Glacier County,

74 F. Supp. 745 (D. Mont. 1947) ............ 15
United States v. Lewis County,

CE ee 14
United States v. Montana,

CPE he bdeeoescccccecesser 7
United States v. Nez Perce County,

Se ee ee ES ED Svc c ccc ccccccecs 14

Vv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - Continued
Page

United States v. Nice,
nT. 66 es esse bes bee} 8 Ol x

United States v. Rickert,
te ¢ncesae eee vibeuweled 11, 12

Washington v. Confederated Tribes of Colville

Indian Reservation, 447 U.S. 134 (1980) ....... 18
CONGRESSIONAL HEARINGS
Hearings on H.R. 7902 Before House

Committee on Indian Affairs,

poe Ne 6, 19
Hearings on S. 2755 and S. 3645 Before

Senate Committee on Indian Affairs,

fe MD eee eee 20
CONGRESSIONAL REPORTS

H.R. Rep. No. 1558, 59th Cong.,
EE Du Gbus baud dv cevecscceveds 9

H.R. Rep. No. 306, 80th Cong.,
EO gl a 21

S. Rep. No. 1998, 59th Cong.,
ss pe wb be eee weeks 1]

vi

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - Continued
Page

DEPARTMENT OF THE INTERIOR OPINIONS
ec cctevsthnavesenes 17

ae . . cenevbdedieehect 17

FEDERAL INDIAN TREATIES

March 24, 1832 Treaty with Creek Tribe,
7 Sent. 366 (1B3Z) ww cece ccc cece ccevens 5

December 29, 1835 Treaty with Cherokee

Tele, 7 Gent. 478 (1G9B) ow wcrc ccccncccccee 5
FEDERAL STATUTES
Act of February 8, 1887,

24 Stat. 388 (codified as amended
at 25 U.S.C. §§ 331-334, 339, 341,

SER, FER, Fy FOE) ccc ccc cece cseveces Passim
Act of February 28, 1891,

26 Stat. 795 (codified at 25 U.S.C. § 397) ...... 24
Act of January 30, 1897, 29 Stat. 506 ............ 8
Act of June 28, 1898, § 29, 30 Stat. 495 ........ 12

Act of May 8, 1906, 34 Stat. 182 (codified
in part as amended at 25 U.S.C. § 349) .... Passim

Act of June 21, 1906, 34 Stat. 325 ............ 15

vii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - Continued

Page

Act of May 27, 1908, 35 Stat. 312............. 18
Act of May 29, 1924, 43 Stat. 244

(ommeeee Gt ZS UB. © FUR) oc ccc ccc cece 24
Act of June 18, 1934, 48 Stat. 984

(codified as amended at 25 U.S.C.

DPT SCC Ee NCCEGS CEs ck seacccese 4, 18
Act of June 25, 1948, 62 Stat. 683

(codified as amended at Title 18,

decease vecen 24
MISCELLANEOUS AUTHORITIES
Comment, Tribal Self-Government and the

Indian Reorganization Act of 1934,

oe 19
F. Cohen, Handbook of Federal Indian Law

a Passim
F. Prucha, The Great Father (1984) .......... 6, 20
Furber, Two Promises, Two Propositions:

The Wheeler-Howard Act as a Reconciliation

of the Indian Law Civil War, 14 U. Puget

SS ee 19
Institute for Government Research,

The Problem of Indian Administration (1928) .... 20

viii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - Continued ~

Page
N. Singer, Statutes and Statutory
Construction § 47.09 (4th ed. 1984) .........-.. 23
United States Department of Interior,
Federal Indian Law (1958) .....--25000 800s 17

Amici curiae States of Montana, Colorado, Minnesota,
Montana, North Dakota and South Dakota, through their
respective Attorneys General, respectfully submit pursuant
to S. Ct. R. 37.5 a brief in support of the petitioners/cross-
respondents’ position with respect to the authorization
under section6 of the General Allotment Act,
25 U.S.C. § 349, for states to impose property taxes on
lands patented in fee thereunder and the inapplicability of
Brendale v. Confederated Tribes and Bands of Yakima
Nation, 492 U.S. 408 (1989), to determining the scope of
such authorization.

+
INTEREST OF AMICI CURIAE

Each amicus curiae State contains one or more Indian
reservations in which land was allotted and eventually
patented in fee under the General Allotment Act of 1887.
All currently impose, or desire to impose, ad valorem
taxes on such land even if owned by tribes or their
members. Three amici States are presently involved in
judicial or administrative proceedings seeking to invalidate
such taxation.' While the aggregate amount of affected
taxes in the amici States has not been calculated, it is
almost certainly substantial.

Beyond the very practical fiscal interest the amici
States possess in maintaining or expanding present
property tax bases, they have a more generalized concern

‘United States v. South Dakota, No. 90-301 (D.S.D.);
Assiniboine and Sioux Tribes v. Montana, No. CV-89-271-BLG (D.
Mont.); Blackfeet Tribe v. Adams, No. CV-89-100-GF (D. Mont.);
Cook v. LaPlata County Bd. of Comm'rs, No. 12825 (Colo. St.
Bd. of Assessment Appeals).

2

in the development of coherent decisional law relating to
the taxation powers of state and local governments on
Indian reservations. This matter involves an instance in
which, as the Court of Appeals concluded, Congress has
expressly authorized the taxation of lands within such
reservations. The court below nonetheless remanded the
proceeding for further preemption analysis under the
plurality opinion in Brendale v. Confederated Tribes and
Bands of Yakima Nation, 492 U.S. 408 (1989), to
determine whether such "taxation would affect [the
Yakima Nation] in a demonstrably serious way[.]"
Confederated Tribes and Bands of Yakima Nation v. County
of Yakima, 903 F.2d 1207, 1218 (9th Cir. 1990); Petition
at 28a. The Court of Appeals’ analysis in the latter
regard contemplates at Jeast the possibility of judicially
developed principles superseding an explicit statement of
congressional will in an area where Congress has
unquestioned supremacy. Aside from the manifest
impropriety of arrogating such power to the courts, the
proposed Brendale analysis would embroil states, tribal
taxpayers and, more than likely, the federal government in
complicated, repetitive litigation.

¢

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

The General Allotment Act embodied an effort to
dissolve the political relationship between tribes and their
members. The touchstone of this effort was allotment in
severalty of lands to individual members for a 25-year
trust period, after which fee patents were to be issued.
Under section 6 of the Act as originally adopted, allottees
were given upon completion of the allotment and
patenting process the benefit of, and made subject to, "the
laws, both civil and criminal of the State or Territory in
which [they] may reside" and made citizens of the United

3

States. Act of Feb. 8 1887, § 6, 24 Stat. 388, 390. In
response to In re Heff, 197 U.S. 488 (1905), Congress
amended section 6 in 1906 to substantially its present form
and rendered allottees subject to state or territorial law
only upon issuance of fee patents. The 1906 amendment
additionally gave the Secretary of the Interior the power
to issue a fee patent "whenever he shall be satisfied that
any Indian allottee is competent and capable of managing
his or her affairs" and provided that, upon the patent's
issuance, “all restrictions as to sale, incumbrance, or
taxation of said land shall be removedj.]" Act of May 8,
1906, 34 Stat. 182, 183 (codified in part at
25 U.S.C. § 349).

Over the 40 years following the 1906 amendment, a
significant body of decisional law developed concerning
whether land patented in fee could be taxed by state and
local governments. The issue in that litigation, however,
was not whether section 6 constituted congressional
consent to such taxation -- since no one disputed that it
did -- but whether allottees had consented to such taxation
during that portion of the original trust period remaining
after the fee patent issued. Cases involving the identical
question also arose under other reservation-specific
legislation comparable to the amended section 6, the most
important of which was Mahnomen County v. United States,
319 US. 474 (1943). Mahnomen County, like the
section 6 cases, assumed the existence of congressional
consent to the challenged state tax and dealt only with the
consent issue.

The purposes attendant to the General Allotment
Act’s passage and subsequent amendment, the literal
language of the 1906 amendment itself, and the ensuing
litigation over whether allottee consent to taxation during
the original trust period had occurred all point to the
conclusion that section 6 as amended authorizes states to

4

tax allotted lands upon issuance of a fee patent
irrespective of the taxpayer's status as a tribe or tribal
member. This conclusion is not altered by termination of
the allotment process in the Indian Reorganization Act,
Act of June 18, 1934, 48 Stat. 984 (codified as amended
at 25 U.S.C. §§ 461-479), the 1948 recodification of
Title 18 of the United States Code in which a definition
for Indian country was added, or Moe v. Confederated
Salish and Kootenai Tribes, 425 U.S. 463 (1976). The
Court of Appeals therefore correctly held that section 6
permitted the petitioners/cross-respondents to impose the
challenged property tax.

The Court of Appeals, however, erred in remanding
the proceeding for further consideration in light of the
plurality opinion in Brendale v. Confederated Tribes and
Bands of Yakima Nation, 492 U.S. 408 (1989). Brendale
involved the question whether a tribe had inherent power
to impose its zoning ordinance on nonmember-owned
properties. No issue concerning such power is implicated
by the taxation here, whose propriety all parties and amici
curiae agree must be determined by whether section 6
contains a requisitely clear congressional authorization to
tax. The lower court accordingly should have remanded
the proceeding with instructions to dismiss the
respondent/cross-petitioner’s claim directed to the
Washington property tax.

ebeemeneed |

5
ARGUMENT

I. SECTION 6 OF THE GENERAL ALLOTMENT ACT,
AS AMENDED IN 1906, EXPRESSLY CONSENTS
TO STATE TAXATION OF ALLOTTED LANDS
UPON ISSUANCE OF A FEE PATENT.

A.

Individual treaties have provided for the allotment’ of
reservation or other lands to tribal members,’ but the
General Allotment Act of 1887 was the first statute of
general application to authorize individual allotments. Act
of Feb. 8, 1887, 24 Stat. 388 (codified as amended at
25 U.S.C. §§ 331-334, 339, 341, 342, 348, 349, 354). The
Statute was viewed at the time of its enactment as
reformist legislation, designed to remedy past wrongs to
Indians by making it possible for them to become
economically self-sufficient and thereby independent of
their tribes:

The supreme aim of the friends of the Indian was
to substitute white civilization for his tribal cuicure,
and they shrewdly sensed that the difference in

*Allotment is a term of art in Indian law. ... It means a
selection of the specific land awarded to an individual allottee from
a common holding." Affiliated Ute Citizens v. United States, 406
U.S. 128, 142 (1972) (citation omitted).

‘See generally F. Cohen, Handbook of Federal Indian Law
63-64 (1942) (discussing allotment provisions in treaties negotiated
between 1854 and 1861). Several removal-related treaties also
authorized allotment to individual members of lands ceded under
their provisions. E.g., Dec. 29, 1835 Treaty with Cherokee Tribe,
art. 12, 7 Stat. 478, 483-84 (1836); Mar. 24, 1832 Treaty with Creek
Tribe, arts. Il, V, 7 Stat. 366 (1832).

6

the concepts of property was fundamental in the
contrast between the two ways of life. That the
white man’s way was good and the Indian’s way
was bad, all agreed. So, on the one hand,
allotment was counted on to break up tribal life.

tk

On the other hand, the allotment system was to
enable the Indian to acquire the benefits of
civilization. The Indian agents of the period
made no effort to conceal their disgust for tribal
economy.

D. Otis, History of the Allotment Policy, reprinted at
Readjustment of Indian Affairs: Hearings on H.R. 7902
Before House Committee on Indian Affairs, 73d Cong., 2d
Sess. 430 (1934) ("Readjustment of Indian Affairs"); see also
I] F. Prucha, The Great Father 659 (1984) ("II F. Prucha”)
("Allotment of land in severalty ... was part of the drive to
individualize the Indian that became the obsession of the
late nineteenth-century Christian reformers and _ their
friends in government and did not stand by itself. The
breakup of tribalism, a major goal of this Indian policy,
had been moved forward by the abolition of the treaty
system and would be carried on by a government
educational system and by the extension of American law
over the Indian communities. Yet for many years the
dissolution of communal lands by allotment, together with
the citizenship attached to private landowning, was the
central issue"). The Court has thus commented that "[t}he
objects of [the allotment] policy were to end tribal land
ownership and to substitute private ownership, on the view
that private ownership by individual Indians would better
advance their dissimilation as self-supporting members of
our society and relieve the Federal Government of the
need to continue supervision of Indian affairs." Northen
Cheyenne Tribe v. Hollowbreast, 425 U.S. 649, 650 n.1

7

(1976); see also United States v. Montana, 450 U.S. 544,
559 n.9 (1981) (observing that "[t}he policy of the [various
allotment acts] was the eventual assimilation of the Indian
population ... and the ‘gradual extinction of Indian
reservations and Indian titles'" and that, "throughout the
congressional debates, allotment of Indian lands was
consistently equated with the dissolution of tribal affairs
and jurisdiction").

The General Allotment Act accomplished these
purposes by directing the President, "whenever in his
Opinion any reservation or any part thereof ... is
advantageous for agricultural and grazing purposes," to
allot specified quantities of reservation land to tribal
members. Act of Feb. 8, 1887, § 1, 24 Stat. 388 (codified
as amended at 25 U.S.C. § 331). Upon approval of an
allotment, a trust patent issued "declar[ing] that the
United States does and will hold the land thus allotted,
tor the period of twenty-five years, in trust for the sole
use and benefit of the Indian to whom such allotment
shall have been made, or, in case of his decease, of his
heirs according to the laws of the State or Territory where
such land is located, and that at the expiration of said
period the United States will convey the same by patent
to said Indian, or his heirs as aforesaid, in fee, discharged
of said trust and free of all charge or incumbrance
whatsoever[.]" /d., § 5, 24 Stat. 389 (codified as amended
at 25 U.S.C. § 349). Section 6 of the original statute
granted citizenship, wer alia, to allottees “upon the
completion of said allotments and the patenting of the
lands” and, at such time, made them subject "to the laws,
both civil and criminal, of the State or Territory in which
they may reside[.]" /d., § 6, 24 Stat. 390.

Although there was some ambiguity over whether
section 6, as enacted in 1887, conferred citizenship upon
issuance of the trust patent or issuance of the fee patent,

8

the Court held in 1905 that an allottee became a citizen,
and therefore subject to state or territorial law, upon
receipt of the trust patent. In re Heff, 197 US. 488
(1905). In so holding, the Court reversed a conviction
under federal law for selling alcohol to an allottee who
had received only a trust patent.' The congressional
response to Heff was the 1906 amendment to section 6.
Act of May 8, 1906, 34 Stat. 182 (codified in part at 25
U.S.C. § 349).° The House report accompanying the bill

‘The involved federal statute, Act of Jan. 30, 1897, 29 Stat.

attempted through exercise of federal police power to regulate
** the internal trade of the States'*. 197 U.S. at 507 (quoting from
United States v. Dewitt, 76 U.S. (9 Wail.) 41, 45 (1869). tt further

States v. Nice, 241 U.S. 591, 601 (1916).
‘In relevant part the 1906 amendment read:

That at the expiration of the trust period and when the
lands have been conveyed to the Indians by patent in
fee, as provided in section five of this Act, each and
every allottee shall have the benefit of and be subject to
the laws, both civil and criminal, of the State or Territory
in which they may reside; and no Territory shall pass or
enforce any law denying any such indian within its
jurisdiction the equal protection of the law. And every
Indian born within the territorial limits of the United States
to whom allotments shall have been made and who has
received a patent in fee simple under the provisions of
this Act or under any law or treaty, and every indian born
(continued...)

9

adopted without substantive modification as_ the
amendment stated that, since Heff, "there has been more
or less demoralization among the Indians, as most of them
have taken allotments and liquor has been sold to them,
regardless of the fact that they are Indians" and deemed
it “advisable that all Indians who may hereafter take
allotments be not granted citizenship during the trust
period, and that they shall be subject to the exclusive
jurisdiction of the United States." H.R. Rep. No. 1558,
59th Cong., Ist Sess. 2 (1906). The report continued on:

*(...continued)

within the territorial limits of the United States who has
voluntarily taken up within said limits his residence,
separate and apart from any tribe of Indians therein, and
has adopted the habits of civilized life, is hereby declared
to be a citizen of the United States, and is entitled to all
the rights, privileges, and immunities of such citizens,
whether said indian has been or not, by birth or
otherwise, a member of any tribe of indians within the
territorial limits of the United States without in any manner
impairing or otherwise affecting the right of any such
Indian to tribal or other property: Provided, That the
Secretary of the Interior may, in his discretion, and he is
hereby authorized, whenever he shall be satisfied that
any Indian allottee is competent and capable of
managing his or her affairs at any time to cause to be
issued to such allottee a patent in fee simple, and
thereafter ali restrictions as to sale, incumbrance, or
taxation of said lands shall be rernoved and said land
shall not be liable to the satisfaction of any debt
contracted prior to the issuing of such patent: Provided
further, That until the issuance of fee-simpie patents all
allottees to whom trust patents shall hereafter be issued
shall be subject to the exclusive jurisdiction of the United
States: And provided further, That the provisions of this
Act shall not extend to any Indians in the indian Territory.

34 Stat. 182-83.

10

The bill also provides and authorizes that the
Secretary of the Interior, in his discretion,
whenever he shall be satisfied that any Indian
allottee is competent and capable of managing
his or her own affairs, may cause to be issued to
such allottee a patent in fee simple, and
thereafter all restrictions as to sale, encumbrance,
or taxation of said lands shall be removed, and if
that should be done it would follow as a matter
of course, under the provisions of this bill, that
the allottee would then become a full citizen and
no longer subject to the exclusive jurisdiction of
the United States.

The latter aspect of the amendment was viewed by the
Commissioner of Indian Affairs as “perhaps the most
important in the bill":

It is a long step in the right direction, and the
great need of such a provision is apparent under
existing law, and it would become all the more
urgent if the other provisions of the pending bill
should be enacted. There are many members of
Indian tribes, full bloods, mixed bloods, and in
some instances adopted white men, who are
entirely competent to transact their own business
and take their places in the ranks of our common
citizenship. If such allottees are given full control
of their property they will be absorbed into the
community in which they reside and bear their
share of its burdens, while at the same time the
number of "wards of the Government” will be
gradually reduced. The process, however, is well
safeguarded. Before a fee-simple patent is issued
the bill makes it the duty of the Secretary of the
Interior to satisfy himself of the civic competency
of the allottee concerned.

a |

1]

Id. at 4. Removal of the restrictions against alienation,
encumbrance and taxation was thus viewed by both the
House Committee on Indian Affairs and the Department
of the Interior as an adjunct to the status of a fee-
patented allottee as a citizen who, having been deemed
capable of managing his affairs like other citizens, not only
possessed the right to control disposition of his land but
also was expected to bear the ordinary obligations, such as
taxation, attendant to property ownership. Accord
S. Rep. No. 1998, 59th Cong., Ist Sess. (1906).°

“The provision for removal of restrictions on alienation and
taxation simply made explicit what had otherwise been established
in United States v. Rickert, 188 U.S. 432 (1902). There the Court
determined that state taxes could not be assessed against lands
allotted under the General Allotment Act while still held in trust by
the United States:

if, as is undoubtedly the case, these lands were he'd by
Cp Wiese Cae & cuaeien of Gs plans seluting to
Indians, -- without any right in the Indians to make
contracts in reference to them, or to do more than
occupy and cultivate them, -- until a regular patent
conveying the fee was issued to the several allottees, it
would follow that there was no power in the state of
South Dakota, for state or municipal purposes, to assess
and tax the !ends in question until at least the fee was

United States; and the holding of them by the United
States under the act of 1887, and the agreement of 1889,
ratified by the act of 1891, is part of the national policy
by which the indians are to be maintained as well as
prepared for assuming the habits of civilized life, and
ultimately the privilege of citizenship. To tax these lands
is to tax an instrumentality employed by the United States
for the benefit and control of this dependent race{.]
(continued...)

|?

There can thus be no legitimate dispute over
Congress’s objective with respect to the first proviso to
section 6: Once a fee patent issued for certain land, it
became both capable of conveyance at the owner's
discretion and subject to taxation. That the proviso
constituted congressional consent to taxation is retlected
vividly in a long series of decisions concerned with
whether state taxes could be applied during that portion
of the original 25-year trust period remaining after
issuance of a fee patent.

Under an 1897 agreement incorporated into statute,
Choctaw and Chickasaw tribal members were allotted
shares of land set aside tor their benefit in the Oklahoma
Territory. Act of June 28, 1898, § 29, 30 Stat. 495, 505.
The agreement provided that all such land was nontaxable
for a period of 21 years while in the allottee’s ownership
but permitted alienation of specified portions of the land
at various intervals. /d., 30 Stat. 507. Congress later
enacted legislation removing all restrictions as to alienation

*(...continued)

Id. at 437; see also United States v. Mitchell, 445 U.S. 535, 544
(1980) (*[ijt is plain ... that when Congress enacted the General
Allotment Act, it intended that the United States ‘hold the land ...
in trust’ ... because it wished to prevent alienation of the land and
to ensure that allottees would be immune from the state taxation’).
This aspect of Rickert was referred to during the House debate
on the section 6 amendment. 40 Cong. Rec. 3599 (1906) (remarks
of Rep. Curtis). The notion that the privilege of alienability
normally carried with it the obligation to pay state taxes was
reiterated shortly after the 1906 amendment's adoption in Goudy
v. Meath, 203 U.S. 146, 149 (1906), where the Court in part
sustained application of Washington property taxes to on-
reservation land owned in fee by a tribal member on that basis.

13

and taxation of lands of the type subject to allotment
under the 1897 agreement. Act of May 27, 1908, 35
Stat. 312. When Oklahoma attempted to tax those lands
on the basis of the subsequent statute, the Court held in
Choate v. Trapp, 224 U.S. 665 (1912), that the agreement's
immunity against taxation was a property right vested
within the various allottees which was not diminished by
the more general statute:

Restrictions on alienation were removed by lapse
of time. [The allottee] could sell part after one
year, a part after three years, and all except
homestead after five years. The period of
exemption was not coincident with this five-year
limitation. On the contrary, the privilege of
nontaxability might last for twenty-one years, thus
recognizing that the two subjects related to
different periods and that neither was dependent
on the other. The right to remove the restriction
was in pursuance of power under which Congress
could legislate as to the status of the ward and
lengthen or shorten the period of disability. But
the provision that the land should be nontaxable
was a property right, which Congress undoubtedly
had the right to grant. That right fully vested in
the Indians and was binding upon Oklahoma.

Id. at 673. Choate did not address whether a restriction
against taxation could be removed by an allottee taking
affirmative action to have a fee patent issued or whether
an allottee could recover taxes voluntarily paid on fee land
otherwise subject to such a restriction. However, in Sweet
v. Schock, 245 U.S. 192 (1917), the Court indicated that a
tax exemption could be forfeited upon application for

14

issuance of a fee patent,’ and in Love v. Board of County
Commissioners, 253 U.S. 17 (1920), it recognized that state
taxes voluntarily paid by an allottee on fee land subject to
a restriction against taxation could not be recovered.* The
reasoning in Choate, Sweet and Love was thereafter
extended expressly or implicitly to situations where,
pursuant to his section 6 authority, the Secretary issued
fee patents to allottees before expiration of the 25-year
trust period, with courts resolving the taxation issue by
reference to whether the allottee had consented to
issuance of the fee patent or voluntarily paid the state
taxes. Compare Glacier County v. United States, 99 F.2d
733 (9th Cir. 1938) (finding no consent and therefore no
state taxation authority); United States v. Lewis County, 95
F.2d 236 (9th Cir. 1938) (sam “led States v. Nez Perce
County, 95 F.2d 232 (9th Cir 2558) (same); Board of
Commissioners v. United States, 87 F.2d 55 (10th Cir. 1936)
(same); and United States v. Benewah County, 290 F. 628

‘The specific issue in Sweet was the taxable status of land
allotted to a member of the Creek Tribe and later conveyed to
nonmembers. Prior to the first of these conveyances, the allottee
requested removal of the restriction against alienation. 245 U.S. at
193-94. At the time of this request a statute, Act of Apr. 26, 1906,
§ 19, 34 Stat. 137, 144, provided that removal of the alienation
restriction would render the affected land taxable. The Court held
the conveyed land subject to taxation, remarking in part that the
Creek member, in accepting the fee land free of restrictions, "did
so under the conditions imposed by [applicable] laws[.]" /d. at
196.

‘Love involved members of the Choctaw Tribe who had paid
property taxes on allotted lands subject to the same restrictions at
issue in Choate. Although the Court "accepted so much of the
{Oklahoma} Supreme Court's decision as held that, if the payment
was voluntary, the moneys could not be recovered in the absence
of a permissive statute," it found the “decision that the taxes were
paid voluntarily ... without any fair or substantial support." 253 U.S.
at 22, 23.

15

(9th Cir. 1923), with United States v. Glacier County, 74 F.
Supp. 745 (D. Mont. 1947) (finding consent and therefore
State taxation authority); and Chatterton v. Lukin, 154 P.2d
798 (Mont. 1945) (same); see also County of Thurston v.
Andrus, 586 F.2d 1212, 1219-20 (8th Cir. 1978), cert.
denied, 441 U.S. 952 (1979) (collecting various federal and
State cases on the consent question).

The Court itself addressed the consent issue in
Mahnomen County v. United States, 319 U.S. 474 (1943),
under a 1906 statute applicable in part only to the White
Earth Reservation. Act of June 21, 1906, 34 Stat. 325.
The statute, enacted six weeks after the section 6
amendment, stated "[t}hat all restrictions as to the sale,
encumbrance or taxation for allotments with the White
Earth Reservation in the State of Minnesota, now or
hereafter held by adult mixed-blood Indians, are hereby
removed, and the trust deeds heretofore or hereafter
executed by the Department for such allotments are
hereby declared to pass the title in fee simple, or such
mixed bloods upon application shall be entitled to receive
a patent in fee simple for such allotments[.]" 34 Stat. 353.
Pursuant to this statute restrictions against alienation and
taxation were removed when an allottee, on whose behalf
the United States sued, reached majority in 1911, and she
commenced paying state property taxes. Because her trust
patent had issued in 1902 with a 25-year trust period
contemplated, the United States initiated an action in
1940 to recover only tax payments made between 1911
and 1927, conceding that any limitation on the county’s
power to tax the property expired in 1928 with the
termination of the 25-year trust period. 319 U.S. at 475.
The Court concluded that all of the challenged taxes had
been paid voluntarily, observing that 1911-1921 payments
had been made without protest and that the allottee had
entered into a settlement agreement with respect to 1922-
1927 taxes, "for which tax exemption is claimed, [and] for

16

the years 1928-34, for which there is no conceivable claim
of exemption." /d. at 478. Justice Murphy dissented on
the consent question, but he also recognized the 1928-
1934 taxes were “admittedly due." /d. at 483 (Murphy, J.,
dissenting). There was, in sum, unanimity among the
parties and on the Court that the challenged taxes could
be assessed outside the 25-year trust period -- and even
within such period if consent existed.

Thirteen years after Mahnomen County the Court
again acknowledged the evident purpose of section 6's first
proviso. In Squire v. Capoeman, 351 U.S. 1 (1956), the
issue was whether federal capital gain taxes for the year
1943 were required to be paid on proceeds from the sale
of timber harvested from allotted lands still held in trust.
The Court determined that "the promise to transfer the
fee ‘free from all charge or incumbrance'" in section 5 of
the General Allotment Act precluded even federal
taxation. In reaching this conclusion, it remarked that the
first proviso in section 6 "gave additional force" to the
allottee’s claimed exemption and reasoned:

The Government argues that this amendment was
directed solely at permitting state and local
taxation after a transfer in fee, but there is no
indication in the legislative history of the
amendment that it was to be so limited. ... The
literal language of the proviso evinces a
congressional intent to subject an Indian allotment
to all taxes only after a patented fee is issued to
the allottee. This, in turn, implies that, until such
time as the patent is issued, the allotment shall be
free from all taxes[.]

Id. at 7-8 (footnote omitted). The Court further stated
that two Attorney General's opinions and Felix Cohen's
1942 Indian law treatise, all of which supported the

17

federal tax’s inapplicability, were "entitled to consideration"
as "relatively contemporaneous official and unofficial
writings[.J" Jd. at 9. Here, both a 1924 Department of
the Interior opinion’ and the Cohen treatise” support the
validity of the Washington tax’s application to lands
allotted under the General Allotment Act and now held
in fee by the respondent/cross-petitioner or its members.
The Court’s analysis in Squire, finally, is singularly ironic
since it specifically rejected the United States’ position
that the proviso applied only to state and local taxation --a
position which the Government now argues directly
— Brief for United States as Amicus Curiae at 11-
13.

“50 LD. 691, 694 (1924) ("{[w]hen an allottee voluntarily
applies for a removal of restrictions [by requesting issuance of a
fee patent] prior to the expiration of the period of exemption
originally provided for, the granting of such application subjects
those lands to taxation even in the hands of the original allottee’);
accord §3 \.D. 133 (1930).

"F. Cohen, supra note 3, at 259 ("[s]hould [an allottee] ...
apply for the issuance of a fee patent and be accorded one [under
the General Allotment Act), there seems no reason to believe that
his lands would not thereby be subject to state taxation"); accord
United States Dep't of Interior, Federal Indian Law 859 (1958).

18

Cc.

That the section 6 proviso satisfies the decisionally-
developed principle that state taxation of reservation-based
activities Or property of tribes and their members must be
clearly authorized by Congress’ would therefore seem
incontrovertible. The — respondent/cross-petitioner
nonetheless argues that the adoption of the Indian
Reorganization Act ("IRA"), Act of June 18, 1934, 48
Stat. 984 (codified as amended at 25 U.S.C. §§ 461-479),
the 1948 addition of a definition for Indian country in 18
U.S.C. § 1151, and Moe v. Confederated Salish and
Kootenai Tribes, 425 U.S. 463 (1976), counsel against the
"continued viability" of the proviso. Cross-Petition at 7;
Memorandum of Respondent at 3-5. However, nothing in
the IRA, the 1948 recodification of Title 18 of the United
States Code, or Moe suggests that the taxation
authorization in the first proviso has been repealed
impliedly.

Although the IRA terminated further allotment of
reservation lands and extended indefinitely trust periods as
to allotments previously made but as to which fee patents
had not issued (25 U.S.C. $§ 461, 462), the statute
contained no provision affecting the status of allotted
lands previously patented in fee. Since Congress knew
the effect of a fee patent’s issuance on the taxable status
of the involved land, it thereby elected to maintain the
then-existing distinction between fee and trust lands for

"E.g., California v. Cabazon Band of Mission Indians, 480
U.S. 202, 215 n.17 (1987); Washington v. Confederated Tribes of
Colville Indian Res., 447 U.S. 134, 163-64 (1980); Bryan v. Itasca
County, 426 U.S. 373, 375-77 (1976); McClanahan v. Arizona
State Tax Comm'n, 411 U.S. 164 (1973); Mescalero Apache Tribe
v. Jones, 411 U.S. 145, 148 (1973).

19

State and local taxation purposes, providing only that land
acquired in trust by the Secretary for tribes or individual
members would be exempt from such taxation. 25
U.S.C. § 465." Thus, the IRA’s termination of the

"As initially proposed by the Department of the Interior, the

IRA would have made significantly more substantive changes in
existing law than the finally enacted statute. See, e.g, Furber, Two
Promises, Two Propositions: The Wheeler-Howard Act as a
Reconciliation of the Indian Law Civil War, 14 U. Puget Sound
L. Rev. 211, 240-52 (1991); Comment, Tribal Self-Government and
the Indian Reorganization Act of 1934, 70 Mich. L. Rev. 955, 961-
69 (1972). Yet, even under the original bill there was implicit
recognition of the taxable status of previously allotted lands as to
which fee patents had issued and no provision for modifying such
Status. H.R. 7902, 73d Cong., 2d Sess., title ill, § 7 (1934),
reprinted in Readjustment of Indian Affairs at 9 (authorizing the
Secretary, “in the case of trust or other restricted lands or lands to
which fee patents have hitherto been issued to Indians and which
are unencumbered, to accept voluntary relinquishments of, and to
cancel the patent or patents or any other instrument removing
restrictions from the land"). Another provision of the bill would
have permitted the Secretary to establish new reservations or
expand existing ones, with the newly acquired lands not subject to
taxation “so long as title to them is held by the United States or by
an Indian tribe or community[.)" /d., title Ill, § 16, reprinted in
Readjustment of Indian Affairs at 11. The latter provision,
recognizing the fiscal impact of removing such lands from the tax
base, further obligated the United States to ‘assume ail
governmental obligations of the State or county in which such
lands are situated with respect to the maintenance of roads across
such lands, the furnishing of educational and other public facilities
to persons residing thereon, and the execution of proper measures
for the control of fires, floods, and erosion, and the protection of
the public health and order in such lands” or to enter into
agreements with state or local governments for such services
under which those governments would be compensated for their
expenses. The absence of any reference to the taxable status of
allotted land subsequently patented in fee was hardly an oversight,
since the Meriam Report submitted to the Secretary of the Interior
(continued...)

20

allotment process did not impliedly repeal the removal of
restrictions against taxation in the first proviso of
section 6; indeed, finding such a repeal would be directly
inconsistent with Mahnomen County and Squire which both
indicated the continuing validity of the proviso after the
IRA’s passage in 1934. See Brendale v. Confederated
Tribes and Bands of Yakima Nation, 492 U.S. 408, 423
(1989) (plurality opinion) ("[A]lthough the [IRA] may have
ended the allotment of further lands, it did not ... prevent
already allotted lands for which fee patents were
subsequently issued from thereafter passing to non-
Indians"). The voluntary nature of IRA coverage, finally,
would mean that the proviso is inoperative on only those
reservations accepting the statute’s provisions -- a result
hardly consonant with common sense. 25 U.S.C. § 478;
see Il F. Prucha at 964-65 (258 IRA elections held, with
181 tribes voting for and 77 tribes voting against coverage;

"*(...continued)
had identified state and local property taxes as ‘without douDt ...

an important factor in causing the loss of indian lands by so large
a proportion of those indians who have been declared competent."
institute for Gov. Research, The Problem of Indian Administration
477 (1928). Indeed, Senator Wheeler -- the chairman of the
Senate Committee on Indian Affairs and a sponsor of the
legislation eventually enacted as the IRA -- evinced substantial
knowledge of Choate and later section 6 consent decisions during
questioning of the Department of the Interior's acting Solicitor. To
Grant to Indians Living Under Federal Tutelage the Freedom to
Organize for Purposes of Local Self-Government and Economic
Enterprise: Hearings on S. 2755 and S. 3645 Before Senate
Committee on Indian Affairs, 73d Cong., 2d Sess. 185-91 (1934);
see alsu id. at 270 (legal analysis submitted by Commissioner of
indian Affairs discussing congressional power to subject Indian
property to state taxation); id. at 320-21 (1934 Washington Posi
article authored by Commissioner of Indian Affairs describing
operation of the General Allotment Act and its effect on
landownership).

21

14 other tribes did not hold elections and therefore were
deemed covered).

The 1948 recodification of Title 18 of the United
States Code also says nothing about the continuing validity
of the first proviso. Even if one assumes that the
definition of Indian country in 18 USC. § 1151
determines the geographical area in which special federal
Indian law preemption principles apply,” those principles
were used by the Court of Appeals in determining that
the proviso constitutes an express authorization for
application of the ad valorem tax. Neither the language
of § 1151 nor its legislative history“ remotely hints that by
inclusion of all reservation lands, whether fee patented or
not, within the definition of Indian country Congress
intended to undo the explicit consent to state taxation in
the proviso. The Court of Appeals was wholly correct,

"See Cabazon, 480 U.S. at 207 n.5; DeCoteau v. District
County Court, 420 U.S. 425, 427 n.2 (1975). Cabazon and
DeCo.eau involved civil regulatory or adjudicatory issues arising
within tne boundaries of admitted or claimed reservations; whether
federal indian law preemption principles apply in full force in non-
reservation indian country is an issue which has not been
addressed by the Court and which has caused some difficulty to
State courts. See Housing Authority of Seminole Nation v. Harjo,
790 P.2d 1090 (Okla. 1990); General Motors Acceptance Corp. v.
Chischilly, 628 P.2d 683 (N.M. 1981). Presently, of course, only
ns oP on Tee GR Of wetnIEN

“The only legislative history associated with the definition of
Indian country is an explanation for the proposed addition of
§ 1151 in the House report accompanying the recodification bill.
H.R. Rep. No. 306, 80th Cong., 1st Sess. A91-A92 (1947). The
report commented that ‘[t]his section consolidates numerous
conflicting and inconsistent provisions of law into a concise
Statement of applicable law’ and identified the decisions from
which the several elements of the definition were derived. /d.

22

therefore, in deeming § 1151 irrelevant to the validity of
the Washington property tax. 903 F.2d at 1215; Petition
at 20a - 2la.

The last contention -- that Moe held the first proviso
impliedly repealed -- finds no support in the text or logic
of the decision. The Court rejected there the quite broad
claim that section 6, insofar as it made allottces subject to
all state civil and criminal law upon receipt of a fee
patent, sanctioned application of state personal property
taxes On property owned by Indians within the reservation,
state vendor license fees applied against Indians
conducting cigarette businesses on reservation land, and
State cigarette sales taxes with respect to on-reservation
transactions between Indians. 425 U.S. at 480-81. Moe is
inapposite for several reasons. First, the state appellants
in that case were attempting to tax all Indians and not
merely allottees, and their reliance on the first sentence in
section 6 was accordingly overbroad at best. The
petitioner/cross-respondent here seeks to tax lands
specifically referred to in the first proviso. Second, as the
Court observed, giving literal application to the first
sentence proved too much since later legislation had in
specific instances, such as criminal jurisdiction, clearly
superseded application of state law. No such legislation,
however, even tangentially touches upon the proviso’s
removal of restrictions against taxation of allotted
fee-patented lands. Third, and most important, because
Moe was concerned only with the first sentence in
section 6 and because taxation of allotted fee lands was
not germane, the Court had no cause to address the
proviso. Its general comments concerning the post-
allotment period congressional approach to civil regulatory
matters can thus hardly be elevated to judicial repeal of

23

a provision which Congress itself has left unaltered and
which was not implicated by the questioned state taxes.”

"The courts are not at liberty to pick and choose
among congressional enactments, and when two statutes
are capable of co-existence, it is the duty of the courts,
absent a clearly expressed congressional intention to the
contrary, to regard each as effective." Morton v. Mancan,
417 U.S. 535, 551 (1974); accord Pittsburgh & Lake Erie
Railroad Company v. Railway Labor Executives’ Association,
491 U.S. 490, 510 (1989); Traynor v. Turnage, 485 US.

"in urging the cross-petition be granted, the United States
argued that, “if the principal clause of Section 6 is insufficient to
authorize state taxation of indian property and transactions within
a reservation’s boundaries ..., it is reasonable to assume that a
mere proviso to the principal clause likewise is insufficient to permit
state taxation." Brief for the United States as Amicus Curiae at 11.

24

535, 551 (1988). Even though "the standard principles of
statutory construction do not have their usual force in
cases involving Indian law" (Montana v. Blackfeet Tribe,
471 U.S. 759, 766 (1985)), there must be at least some
textual support in later statutory enactments for implied
repeal of an earlier statute." No decisional authority
suggests the anomalous concept -- upon which the
respondent/cross-petitioner’s attack on the property tax is
ultimately premised -- that a mere change in general
congressional approach, like termination of the allotment
process, automatically invalidates all statutory provisions
associated with the earlier policy. Absent the necessary
textual predicate for implied repeal of section 6's first
proviso, the Washington ad valorem tax must be sustained
insofar as it has been or will be applied to allotted lands
for which the patents have issued, irrespective of whether
those lands are owned by the respondent/cross-petitioner
or its members. No such textual predicate has been
identified here.

“The Court did not reach the question of implied repeal in
Blackfeet, holding only that the authorization to tax in the Act of
May 29, 1924, 43 Stat. 244 (codified at 25 U.S.C. § 398), did not
extend to leases executed under the Omnibus indian Mineral
Leasing Act, Act of May 11, 1938, 52 Stat. 347 (codified as
amended at 25 U.S.C. §§ 396a-396g). 471 U.S. at 766-68. It left
open the issue whether the later statute, by virtue of its general
to leases issued under the 1924 Act or the Act of February 28,
1891, 26 Stat. 795 (codified at 25 U.S.C. § 397). 471 U.S. at 767
n.6. The IRA contained no repealer provision, while the Title 18
recodification statute specified those provisions of Title 25, which
did not include 25 U.S.C. § 349, repealed or amended by its
enactment. Act of June 25, 1948, §§ 3, 21, 62 Stat. 683, 859, 862.

25

Il. THE PLURALITY OPINION IN BRENDALE HAS
NO RELEVANCE TO THIS MATTER.

There is no dispute among the parties and amici
curiae that resolution of the statutory construction issue
relating to section 6 should end the inquiry here. E.g.,
Memorandum of Respondent at 2-3; Brief for the United
States as Amicus Curiae at 18. Their agreement in this
regard is well founded.

The demonstrably serious impact-test in Brendale v.
Confederated Tribes and Bands of Yakima Nation, 492 U.S.
408, 430-31 (1989) (plurality opinion), recognized
administrative or judicial recourse for a tribe to vindicate
a "protectible interest" allegedly prejudiced by state
regulation of nonmember-owned property. As an ordinary
matter, however, the interest-balancing standard
articulated first in White Mountain Apache Tribe v. Bracker,
448 US. 136, 144-45 (1980), governs when a state
attempts to regulate on-reservation affairs of tribes or
their members. The interest-balancing standard, in turn,
is superseded by the clearly authorized requirement if the
regulation involves state taxation of tribal or tribal
member property or transactions. California v. Cabazon
Band of Mission Indians, 480 U.S. 202, 215 n.17 (1987).
Consequently, if the petitioners/cross-respondents prevail
with respect to the section 6 proviso issue, the Washington
ad valorem tax may be applied and, if the
respondent/cross-petitioner prevails on such issue, the tax
will be preempted. In either instance there is no room
for Brendale-type analysis.

26
CONCLUSION

The amici curiae States respectfully request that the
Washington ad valorem tax be deemed applicable to all
lands allotted pursuant to the General Allotment Act as
to which fee patents have issued. They further request
that the Court of Appeals’ judgment be reversed to the
extent it remanded for further evidentiary hearings the
question whether application of such tax imperils the
respondent/cross-petitioner’s political integrity, economic
security, health or welfare.

Respectfully submitted,

MARC RACICOT
Attorney General

CLAY R. SMITH*
Solicitor

State of Montana

Justice Building

215 North Sanders
Helena MT 59620-1401
(406) 444-2026

* Counsel of Record

June 199]

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385013_0026%3A16. Public record. Not legal advice.
