# Amicus Curiae Brief — American Hospital Assn. v. NLRB

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385013_0012%3A19

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1991
- **Citation:** 499 U.S. 606

## Text

Supreme Court Of The United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1990

AMERICAN HOSPITAL ASSOCIATION,
Petitioner

NATIONAL LABOR RELATIONS BOARD, et al.
Respondents

On Petition For A Writ Of Certiorari To The United
States Court of Appeals For The Seventh Circuit

AMICUS CURIAE BRIEF OF
THE VIRGINIA HOSPITAL ASSOCIATION

JOHN G, KRUCHKO*
PAUL M, LUSKY
KRUCHKO & FRIES
Suite 202

7929 Westpark Drive
McLean, Virginia 22102
(703) 734-0554

Attorneys for Amicus Curiae
Virginia Hospital Association

* Counsel of Record

Balmar Legal Publishing Division, Washington, D.C. 20008 (202) 659-3610

Ag

. The Board’s Rule ls Arbitrary And Capricious
sete ian adeeb: gre

R The Boa’ Res Airy And Capricious
Because It Ignores The
neracton Of Health Cae Epes Wii

ii
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases

American Hosp. Ass'n v. NLRB,
718 F. Supp. 704(N.D. 11.1989) .........

American Hosp. Ass'n v. NLRB,
899 F.2d 651 (7th Cir. 1990) ............

Beth Israel Hosp. v. NLRB,
EEE

Caminetti v. United States,
ESS

Chevron U.S.A., Inc. v. Natural
Resources Defense Council, Inc.,
hs ence ose sees
Commissioner of Internal Revenue v. Asphalt Prods. Co.,
Th 6 6 66 6 6 oe eee «

Consumer Prod. Safety Comm'n v. GTE Sylvania, Inc.,
es oo tt ee te ee

Frederick Memorial Hosp., Inc.,
254N.L.R.B.36(1981) 2... 2. eee

INS v. Cardoza Fonseca,
EEE eee

NLRB v. Frederick Memorial Hosp.,
691 F.2d 191 (4th Cir. 1982) ............

NLRB v. HMO Int'l/California Medical
Group Health Plan, Inc.,
678 F.2d 806 (9th Cir. 1982) ............

Newton- Wellesley Hosp.,
250 N.L.R.B. 409(1980) ..... 2... 2.24.5.

iii
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES (continued)

Cases
Otis Hosp., Inc.,
PRE

St. Anthony Hosp. Sys., Inc. v. NLRB,
884 F.2d 518 (10th Cir. 1989) ...........

St. Francis Hosp.,
pL eee

Southeastern Community College v. Davis
CTE noc ecccecccvcececc

Trustees of the Masonic Hall & Asylum Fund v. NLRB,
699 F.2d 626 (2d Cir. 1983) ............

United States v. Ron Pair Enters., Inc.,
~~~: ose ecccecpceees

United States Postal Serv.,
pee

Statutes, Rules, & Regulations
PIU CainGébccecceccccceces
DP Ctecenhegeccececccceces
Notice of Proposed Rulemaking

52 Fed. Reg. 25,142(1987) ............
Second Notice of Proposed Rulemaking,

53 Fed. Reg. 33,900(1988) ............

Final Rule For Collective-Bargaining Units
in the Health Care Industry,
54 Fed. Reg. 16,347, 29 C.F.R. § 103.30
ee neo wach eccvees

Miscellaneous
213 Daily Labor Report (BNA) p. A-18 (11-2-90)

iv

Note, NLRB Guidelines for Determining Health Care
Industry Bargaining Units: Judicial Acceptance or
Back to the Drawing Board,
PED bo Gd Sn cc cic obec.

S. Rep. No. 766, 93d Cong., 2d Sess. 5 (1974); H.R. Rep.

No. 1051, 93d Cong., 2d Sess. 6-7(1974) .....
The Coalfield Progress, July 24, 1990, at1,col.1 ....

No. 90-97

IN THE

Supreme Court Of The United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1990

AMERICAN HOSPITAL ASSOCIATION,
Petitioner

NATIONAL LABOR RELATIONS BOARD, et al.
Respondents

On Petition For A Writ Of Certiorari To The United
States Court of Appeals For The Seventh Circuit

AMICUS CURIAE BRIEF OF
THE VIRGINIA HOSPITAL ASSOCIATION

I. INTEREST OF THE AMICUS CURIAE

The Virginia Hospital Association submits its brief as amicus
curiae in support of the Petitioner, the American Hospital Associa-
tion.’ The Virginia Hospital Association ("VHA") is a private non-
profit membership organization which serves as an advocate for the
Virginia hospital industry providing leadership, representation and
services to its member hospitals. The VHA strives to serve its mem-
bers by developing and promoting programs that will enhance the

' All parties to this proceeding have given their written consent for the filing of
this amicus curiae brief. The consent letters are set forth in the Appendix to this brief.

(App., infra, la-4a).

2

ability of its members to provide comprehensive, efficient, quality
health care to all Virginians,

The VHA has ninety-five acute care hospital members repre-
senting all the acute care hospitals in the State of Virginia. The VHA
has a diverse membership with hospitals of varying sizes and missions.
Some of its hospital members are located in metropolitan areas such
as Richmond or Northern Virginia locales surrounding Washington,
D.C. Many other acute care hospital members of the VHA are located
in rural areas throughout Virginia. The complexity of services offered
at each hospital also varies. Some hospitals are primary care hospitals
while others provide tertiary level care in a number of specialty areas.
Some of the acute care hospital members of the VHA have mental
health units in their facilities while others combine acute care with
long-term rehabilitative care.

The largest acute care hospital member of the VHA is Fairfax
Hospital ("Fairfax") located in Falls Church, Virginia, with over 4,600
employees and 656 beds. Equally representative of the membership
of the VHA, however, is Bath County Community Hospital, a small
rural hospital in Hot Springs, Virginia, with approximately 85
employees and 25 beds. In fact, over twenty-five percent of the
VHA's hospital members have less than 100 beds. All acute care
hospital members of the VHA will be subject to the National Labor
Relations Board’s Final Rule for Collective-Bargaining Units in the
Health Care Industry ("Finai Rule" or the “Rule”). 54 Fed. Reg.
16,347-48, 29 C.F.R. § 103.30 (1989). Thus, all acute care hospital
members of the VHA have a vital interest in the Americen Hospital
Association's challenge to the Final Rule promulgated by the NLRB.

The Board's Final Rule provides for eight bargaining units
within acute care hospitals. The Rule specifies that the eight units set
forth in the Rule are the only appropriate units for bargaining “except
in extraordinary circumstances”. The eight units deemed appropriate
by the Board are: “(1) all registered nurses; (2) all physicians; (3) all
professionals except for registered nurses and physicians; (4) all
technical employees; (5) all skilled maintenance employees; (6) all
business office clerical employees; (7) all guards; and (8) all [other]
nonprofessional employees....” 54 Fed. Reg. 16,347-48, 29 C.F.R. §
103,30.

3

The Rule contains an “extraordinary circumstances” exception
which permits the filing of petitions seeking representation of bargain-
ing units which are not in substantial accordance with the provisions
of the Rule. See Second Notice of Proposed Rulemaking ("NPR II"),
53 Fed. Reg. 33,932-33 (1988). The Board's “extraordinary cir-
cumstances” exception, however, is extremely narrow. The Board has
expressly foreclosed consideration of additional evidence or argu-
ments demonstrating that a particular hospital varies from the norm,
even if the variation is “highly unusual”. /d. at 33,932. Hospitals bear
a “heavy burden” to show the existence of extraordinary circumstan-
ces rendering application of the Rule inappropriate. /d. at 33,933.
Specifically, the Board has announced that “increased functional
integration of, and a higher degree of work contacts between,
employees as a result of the advent of the multi-competent worker,
increased use of ‘team’ care, and cross-training of employees” would
not be considered as a possible extraordinary circumstance. /d. at
33,932. Differences in the sizes of various acute care hospitals, the
variety of services offered by each institution and differences in
staffing patterns among such facilities will also be disregarded as
extraordinary circumstances justifying relief from the Rule. /d.

One acute care hospital member of the VHA is currently in-
volved in representation proceedings before the Board.? On January
17, 1990, the District of Columbia Nurses Association ("DCNA") filed
a petition with the NLRB, designated Case No. 5-RC-13331, seeking
to represent a unit of approximately 1200 registered nurses at Fairfax
Hospital. Action on the union's petition was stayed by the injunction
issued in this case by the United States Disirict Court for the Northern
District of lilinois. The United States Court of Appeals for the Seventh
Circuit reversed the decision of the district court on April 11, 1990,
and vacated the district court's injunction against enforcement of the
Board's Final Rule. The American Hospital Association obtained a
stay of the court of appeals’ order, pending this Court's ruling on the
petition for a writ of certiorari. The writ of certiorari was granted on
October 9, 1990.

2 One other hospital, Mary Washington Hospital, won a representation election
on November 15, 1990, when employees at the hospital voted against representation
by the Laborers’ International Union of North America.

4

If the decision of the Seventh Circuit is upheld, however, it is
expected that Region 5 of the NLRB will quickly proceed to apply the
Board’s Final Rule to the petition for representation of registered
nurses at Fairfax Hospi’. The Region will certify the proposed unit
of registered nurses as oa appropriate bargaining unit at Fairfax
Hospital without considering whether the special circumstances of
employment at the hospital warrant certification of a different bargain-
ing unit, perhaps one which would include all health care professionals
at the hospital. If the Seventh Circuit's decision is not reversed, any
argument by Fairfax Hospital as to the appropriateness of aiiernative
bargaining units will be foreclosed.

Three of the acute care hospital members of the VHA have
employees who are represented by unions. These hospitals have
experienced the substantial costs associated with negotiating and
administering contracts with union representatives. Those hospitals
which have already been organized by unions or which await applica-
tion of the Board’s Final Rule to pending representation petitions have
relevant information to bring to bear on the question of the validity of
a per se bargaining unit rule which would impose as many as eight
bargaining units on health care workplaces without affording hospitals
an opportunity to be heard on the issue of the appropriateness of such
units.

The Board's Final Rule also ignores the differences between
acute care hospitals in Virginia, differences which in any particular
case make application of the Rule an arbitrary and capricious
encroachment on the rights of member hospitals of the VHA to deal
with their employees over wages, hours and working conditions. The
Rule also ignores significant trends within acute care hospitals in
Virginia including the developmen of mechanisms within hospitals
for increasing the coordination and integration of health care delivery
to patients. The Board's Fieal Rule will only lead to increased
disruption within Virginia hospite's and an increase in costs for acute
care hospitals already struggling to meet budgetary constraint.. The
Virginia Hospital Association is thus extremely interested in the issues
presented by this case and believes it can illuminate the reasons why
application of the Board's Final Rule will be harmful to acute care
hospital members of the VHA.

5

Il. SUMMARY OF THE ARGUMENT

The issue for resolution in this case is whether the NLRB has
acted outside its statutory authority in adopting a rule which con-
clusively presumes that only eight bargaining units are appropriate for
acute care hospitals. The Virginia Hospital Association supports ‘he
argument of Petitioner in this case that the Board’s Final Rule and its
per se application to all representation petitions involving acute care
hospitals contravenes Section 9(b) of the National Labor Relations Act
(the “Act”) which requires the Board to determine appropriate bar-
gaining units “in each case”. 29 U.S.C. § 159(b). The “in each case”
language of Section 9(b) clearly requires adjudication of particular
facts in individual cases to determine the appropriate bargaining unit.
Therefore, any rule promulgated by the Board which attempts to set
uniform standards for bargaining unit determinations must also pro-
vide health care employers in particular cases with a meaningful
opportunity to demonstrate that there are facts which are peculiar to
their facility. If it does not, the rulemaking is invalid as contrary to
the language of the Act. It is abundantly clear that the Board’s
intention in issuing its Final Rule was to preclude individual hospital
employers from challenging the Board's determination that only cer-
tain bargaining units are appropriate within acute care hospitals. If the
Seventh Circuit s decision is not reversed, acute care hospital mem-
bers of the VHA will be denied a meaningful opportunity to explore
the appropriateness of alternative bargaining units in response to
future representation petitions.

The Board’s Final Rule also ignores the congressional admoni-
tion against proliferation which is contained in the legislative history
of the Health Care Amendments Act of 1974. Although the Board
stated its concern for the admonition against proliferation during the
rulemaking proceeding, it is evident that the Final Rule actually
promotes proliferation and will substantially increase administrative
costs for acute care hospitals in Virginia, The Board has proceeded
with rulemaking without concern for the significant costs involved in
administering contracts with employee representatives. By disregard-
ing the costs of a rule mandating eight bargaining units within acute
care hospitals, the Board ignores the consequences that its prescription
for proliferation will visit upon acute care hospitals. In ignoring the

6

consequences of its action, the Board's claim that it has heeded the
congressional admonition against proliferation rings hollow.

Finally, the Board’s Final Rule is arbitrary and capricious be-
cause it disregards the special circumstances of employment at acute
care hospitals in Virginia and threatens to disrupt the delivery of
quality health care at those institutions. The arbitrariness of the
Board's Rule is underscored by its potential application to all acute
care hospitals within Virginia despite the differences in size or com-
plexity of services at each institution. The injustice imposed on acute
care hospitals within Virginia by the Board's Final Rule can only be
avoided by reversal of the Seventh Circuit's decision and reinstate-
ment of the district court's permanent injunction prohibiting im-
plementation of the Rule.

Ill, ARGUMENT

When the Board announced in 1987 that it would undertake
rulemaking to promulgate a rule of general application to all acute care
hospitals in the health care industry, health care employers envisioned
rules of general application to representation proceedings which
would nevertheless allow individual employers, in any particular case,
the opportunity to demonstrate that the unique characteristics of their
workplaces required a variation on the standardized bargaining units
proposed by the Board. On April 21, 1989, the Board issued its Final
Rule establishing eight bargaining units as conclusively appropriate
in acute care hospitals. 54 Fed, Reg. 16,336 (1989). Rather than
establish rebuttable guidelines for determining bargaining units, the
Board crafted a rule which was rigid and inflexible, allowing no
meaningful challenge by health care employers to its application in
any particular case.

The Petitioner in this case, the American Hospital Association,
challenged the Board's Rule in the United States District Court for the
Northern District of Illinois. On July 25, 1989, the district court
granted a permanent injunction preventing the Board's Final Rule
from being implemented. American Hosp. Ass'n v. NLRB, 718 F.
Supp. 704 (N.D. Ill, 1989). The district court held that the Board's
Final Rule failed to heed the congressional admonition against undue
proliferation of bargaining units in the health care industry. The court
stated:

7

A rule which designates an absolute number of ap-
propriate units and mandates a particular division of
the workforce, especially in the health care field where
employees’ work environment varies widely, is not
responsive to Congress’ express concern. In fact, as
noted above, such a rule encourages, and perhaps
coerces, fragmentation of the labor force within par-
ticular health care facilities.

718 F, Supp. at 716.

The United States Court of Appeals for the Seventh Circuit
overturned the decision of the district court and vacated the injunction.
American Hosp. Ass'n v. NLRB, 899 F.2d 651 (7th Cir. 1990). The
court of appeals held that the “in each case” requirement of Section
9(b) did not require a case by case determination of bargaining units.
The court also held that the congressional admonition against
proliferation of units in the health care field did not prohibit implemen-
tation of the Rule. Finally, the court of appeals rejected the American
Hospital Association's argument that the Rule is arbitrary and capri-
cious because it fails to distinguish between “hospitals of different
sizes and missions in different locations”. /d. at 659.

A. Section 9(b) Of The Act Requires That Health
Care Employers Be Afforded A Meaningful Op-
portunity To Be Heard On The Appropriate-
ness Of Petitioned-For Bargaining Units

For over fifteen years, the Board has used a case by case

adjudicatory approach for determining appropriate bargaining units in

acute care hospitals. Hospitals facing statutorily imposed obligations
with respect to bargaining with unions were afforded the opportunity

to create a factual record as to the appropriateness of bargaining units
prior to the Board’s action on a pending representation petition. The
Board's case by case representation procedures quite correctly allow
employers to participate in a meaningful manner in discussions relat-
ing to important bargaining unit issues. The Virginia Hospital As-
sociation contends that the opportunity to be heard is a requisite
clement of any representation procedure utilized by the Board. Only
a rule which allows both parties the opportunity to argue the ap-

propriateness of a proposed unit is consistent with the requirement of
Section 9(b) of the Act.

In contrast, the Board’s Final Rule denies health care employers
confronted with representation petitions the opportunity to argue that
only certain bargaining units are appropriate because of the special
circumstances of employment at their institutions. The Board has now
mandated the appropriateness of certain bargaining units almost
without exception. The Board’s Final Rule creates a conclusive
presumption that precludes participation by one of the interested
parties to the representation proceeding, the health care employer. As
stated by the Board during its rulemaking proceeding:

We have decided not to make the units only “presump-
tively” appropriate, because one important advantage
of rulemaking is the certainty it offers.... Though an
“extraordinary circumstances” exception has been in-
cluded, it is anticipated that the exception will be little
used and limited to truly extraordinary situations....

NPR I, 52 Fed. Reg. 25,142 (1987).

The Board's decision to adopt a conclusive or irrebuttable
presumption instead of a rebuttable presumption results in a rule that
is inconsistent with the mandate in Section 9(b) to make bargaining
unit determinations “in each case.” As argued above, that language
mandates wwnsideration of specific facts in each case. Unless inter-
ested parties are afforded an opportunity to rebut the presumptions
created by the Board’s Final Rule, the Board’s Rule contravenes the
Act and thus is invalid, The Board has discretion to promulgate rules
only so long as they are consistent with the Act. See Beth Israel Hosp.
v. NLRB, 437 U.S. 483, 501 (1978); see also Note, NLRB Guidelines
for Determining Health Care Industry Bargaining Unit: Judicial
Acceptance or Back to the Drawing Board, 78 Ky. L.J. 143, 158-61
(1989).

Section 9(b) of the National Labor Relations Act provides in
pertinent part:

The Board shall decide in each case whether, in order

to assure to employees the fullest freedom in exercis-
ing the rights guaranteed by this Act, the unit ap-

9

propriate for the purposes of collective bargaining
shall be the employer unit, plant unit, or subdivision
thereof

29 U.S.C. § 159(b).

In spite of the clear directive in Section 9(b) that the Board
determine an appropriate bargaining unit “in each case”, the Board
proposes to implement a per se rule which makes eight bargaining
units appropriate in all acute care hospitals regardless of their size or
the complexity of their operations. In promulgating the Rule, the
Board exceeded its rulemaking authority because it declared a new
bargaining unit rule that is in direct conflict with the plain language
of the statute. Therefore, the Board's Final Rule must be invalidated.

This Court has consistently held that where the language of an
act is plain, it must be enforced according to its terms. See Caminetti
v. United States, 242 U.S. 470, 485 (1917) ("It is elementary that the
meaning of a statute must, in the first instance, be sought in the
language in which the act is framed, and if that is plain, ... the sole
function of the courts is to enforce it according to its terms."); see also
Consumer Prod. Safety Comm'n v. GTE Sylvania, Inc., 447 U.S. 102,
108 (1980) ("[T]he starting point for interpreting a statute is the
language of the statute itself. Absent a clearly expressed legislative
intention to the contrary, that language must ordinarily be regarded as
conclusive.").

In order to give statutory language its conclusive effect, congres-
sional intent need only be expressed with sufficient precision in the
act. See United States v. Ron Pair Enters., inc., 489 U.S. 235, 241
(1989) (finding that the inquiry into the meaning of § 506(b) of the
Bankruptcy Code should begin and end with the language of the statute
itself); see also INS v. Cardoza Fonseca, 480 U.S. 421, 452-53 (1987)
(Scalia, J., concurring) ("Judges interpret laws rather than reconstruct
legislators’ intentions. Where the language of those laws is clear, we
are not free to replace it with an unenacted legislative intent.");
Commissioner of Internal Revenue v. Asphalt Prods. Co., 482 U.S.
117, 121 (1987) ("Judicial perception that a particular result would be
unreasonable may enter into the construction of ambiguous
provisions, but cannot justify disregard of what Congress has plainly
and intentionally provided.").

10

In addition, despite the deference generally accorded to agency
interpretations of statutes, the Board’s discretion and this Court's
deference to the agency’s interpretation of Section 9(b) of the National
Labor Relations Act “is constrained by [this Court’s] obligation to
honor the clear meaning of a statute, as revealed by its language,
purpose and history”. Southeastern Community College v. Davis, 442
U.S. 397, 411 (1979). The principle of deference to an agency’s
construction of a statute is not applicable where statutory language is
unambiguous. As stated by this Court in Chevron U.SA., Inc. v.
Natural Resources Defense Council, Inc., 467 U.S. 837 (1984):

When a court reviews an agency's construction of the
statute which it administers, it is confronted with two
questions. First, always, is the question whether Con-
gress has directly spoken to the precise question at
issue. If the intent of Congress is clear, that is the end
of the matter; for the court, as well as the agency, must
give effect to the unambiguously expressed intent of
Congress.
Id. at 842.

The Board’s disregard for the “in each case” requirement of
Section 9(b), as evidenced by its promulgation of a per se rule for
determining bargaining units, should be rejected in view of the plain
language of the Act and prior conflicting interpretations by the Board
concerning its duty under the National Labor Relations Act to deter-
mine bargaining units “in each case”. Even though the Board now
maintains that certain “pre-ordained” bargaining units are per se
appropriate, the Board, in the past, frequently stated that generaliza-
tions as to appropriate bargaining units are not appropriate. See Oris
Hosp., Inc., 219 N.L.R.B. 164 (1975) ("[N]ot all health care institu
tions may be exactly alike... Between categories of employees
similarly titled there may be significant differences, not only in wages,
hours, supervision, and the like, but more importantly in functions,
responsibilities, procedures, and even expertise."); Newton- Wellesley
Hosp., 250 N.L.R.B. 409, 411 (1980) ("in each case" requirement of
Section 9(b) held to preclude a per se approach to bargaining unit
determinations); St. Francis Hosp., 271 N.L.R.B. 948, 953 n.39, 954
(1984) (diverse nature of the health care industry found to preclude

11

any generalizations as to the appropriateness of particular bargaining
units; “No unit is per se appropriate and ... separate representation
must be justified upon each factual record....”).

This Court has declined to defer to an agency’s decision where
the agency’s position is inconsistent with earlier interpretations. See
INS v. Cardoza Fonseca, 480 U.S. at 446 n.30 ("An agency’s inter-
pretation of a relevant provision which conflicts with the agency’s
earlier interpretation is ‘entitled to considerably less deference’ than
a consistently held agency view."). The NLRB has construed “in each
case” language in another statute, the Postal Reorganization Act, as
requiring case by case determinations of bargaining units. In United
States Postal Serv., 208 N.L.R.B. 948, 952-53 (1974), the Board
followed its traditional community of interests analysis in considering
the appropriateness of certain bargaining units involving the Postal
Service. Language in the Postal Reorganization Act persuaded the
Board to analyze the petitions on a case by case basis. That language
reads: “The National Labor Relations Board shall decide in each case
the unit appropriate for collective bargaining in the Postal Service....”
39 U.S.C. § 1202. No justification exists for departing from a case by
case analysis of health care industry petitions where identical language
in Section 9(b) also mandates bargaining unit determinations on a case
by case basis. .

Application of the Rule will prevent hospitals from arguing the
appropriateness of alternative bargaining units in response to petitions
pending before the NLRB. The variables that make each hospital
unique will go unnoticed if the Board’s new Rule is allowed to be
implemented. For instance, the petition for an all RN unit at Fairfax
Hospital will undoubtedly be approved without a specific analysis of
employment conditions at Fairfax. If the union is successful in con-
vincing registered nurses at Fairfax Hospital to vote for representation,
the hospital will be confronted with the dilemma of having to negotiate
a collective bargaining agreement which will govern the working
conditions of only a portion of the integrated team of health care
professionals providing patient care services at Fairfax. Such a situa-
tion will result in a segregated workforce with some professionals
working under work rules governed by the collective bargaining
agreement and others working under the policies of Fairfax Hospital.

12

There are undoubtedly many factors which militate in favor of a
broader all professional unit at Fairfax Hospital. Those factors will
never come to light if the Board’s Rule is applied to the pending
petition. A similar unhappy ending will be repeated each time another
Virginia hospital is confronted with a representation petition. The
Board’s narrow “extraordinary circumstances” exception will not
allow any health care employer to demonstrate that a community of
interests exists in its workplace which is broader than that which is
implicit in the bargaining units proposed in the Final Rule. Thus, a
hospital which wishes to demonstrate that its technical employees
often interact with, or perform duties consistent with the functions of,
its nonprofessional employees (i.e., licensed practical nurses perform-
ing clerical tasks, assisting or performing housekeeping functions as
the need arises, or coordinating meal selection and distribution of
menus for patients) will be prevented from demonstrating the in-
tegrated nature of its nonprofessional workforce.

The immediate harm that will result to acute care hospitals as a
consequence of the Board’s decision to abandon case by case ad-
judication and resort to a per se rule regarding bargaining units is
obvious in the case of hospitals such as Fairfax Hospital. The hospital
is an interested party to its representation proceeding before the Board
yet the Board’s Rule will effectively prohibit it from presenting any
evidence which might demonstrate that the Board’s mandated bar-
gaining unit is not appropriate. In the case of Fairfax Hospital, the
Rule will have an immediate impact. It can be seen, however, that the
proliferation of bargaining units which will be fueled by the new Rule
and the resulting increase in administrative costs at other hospitals
within Virginia also make the Final Rule unjustifiable.

B. The Board’s Rule Ignores The Congressional Ad-
monition Against Undue Proliferation Of Bar-
gaining Units In The Health Care Industry

A crucial issue to be determined in this case is the weight that
should be accorded to the congressional admonition in the legislative
history of the Health Care Amendments Act of 1974 that “due con-
sideration should be given by the Board to preventing proliferation of
bargaining units in the health care industry”. S. Rep. No. 766, 93d
Cong., 2d Sess. 5 (1974); H.R. Rep. No. 1051, 93d Cong., 2d Sess.

13

6-7 (1974). The district court in this case found the congressione!
admonition to be a specific directive to the Board on the manner in
which to proceed when determining bargaining units in the health care
field. The court said:
[C]ongress drew attention to health care by adding
another concern, Which must be addressed by the
Board in certifying bargaining units in that industry.
We understand this to mean that when the Board takes
action or crafts policy with respect to bargaining units
involving health care employees, it must use the means
least likely to cause unit proliferation to achieve their
objective.
718 F. Supp. at 712 (emphasis added).

The district court found that the Board, in promulgating its new
rule, “failed to give more than mere lip service mention of the
Congressional admonition”. /d. at 714. The court concluded that the
Final Rule, because it designated an “absolute number of appropriate
units” and mandated a “particular division of the workforce”, was “not
responsive to Congress’ express concern”. /d. at 716.
In contrast, the Seventh Circuit held that the Board’s determina-
tion that eight bargaining units were per se appropriate in acute care
hospitals was “entitled to broad judicial deference”. 899 F.2d at 656.
The court of appeals said:
It is not for us to fine-tune the regulatory process by
telling the Labor Board that its rule should make slight-
ly more distinctions that it does, or slightly fewer.

Id. at 657.

The court of appeals found that the congressional admonition
was entitled only to “respectful consideration” and construed
Congress’ intent as “cautionary rather than directive.” /d. at 658. The
court’s decision in this respect is contrary to decisions of other courts
of appeals which have given controlling weight to the congressional
admonition against undue proliferation. See, e.g., Trustees of the
Masonic Hall & Asylum Fund v. NLRB, 699 F.2d 676, 632 (2d Cir.
1983) (referring to the admonition, the court said: “[T]his legislative
commitment to nonproliferation, explicit in the legislative history,

14

binds the NLRB in its determination of the appropriate collective
bargaining unit in a health care institution.”); NLRB v. HMO
Int’l/California Medical Group Health Plan, Inc., 678 F.2d 806, 808
(9th Cir. 1982) (legislative commitment to nonproliferation is “bind-
ing on the NLRB” and requires the Board to “deveiop a reasoned,
non-conclusory method of implementing the statutory intent by ar-
ticulation of specific criteria”); St. Anthony Hosp. Sys., Inc. v. NLRB,
884 F.2d 518, 519-20 and n.3 (10th Cir. 1989) (concluding that the
congressional admonition requires that “traditional factors used in ...
[bargaining unit] determinations must be put in balance against the
public interest in preventing fragmentation in the health care field”).

In NLRB v. Frederick Memorial Hosp., 691 F.2d 191 (4th Cir.
1982), the Fourth Circuit held that the NLRB must explain how each
determination of a bargaining unit implements the congressional
admonition against proliferation. The NLRB had sought enforcement
of an order finding a unit composed of registered nurses to be ap-
propriate at Frederick Memorial Hospital. The court of appeals
rejected the Board's decision approving the all RN unit because the
NLRB failed to give due consideration to the issue of proliferation of
bargaining units at the hospital. 691 F.2d at 194.

The underlying decision of the Board, Frederick Memorial
Hosp., Inc., 254 N.L.R.B. 36 (1981), had upheld the Regional
Director’s determination that the registered nurses at Frederick
Memorial Hospital possessed a sufficient community of interests,
separate and apart from all other professionals, to justify their own
unit for bargaining purposes. The Board made a detailed analysis of
the working conditions of registered nurses and other allied health
professionals at the hospital before concluding that the RN unit was
appropriate. The court of appeals approved the detailed analysis
undertaken by the Board in the underlying case. The court refused to
enforce the decision, however, because neither the Regional Director
nor the Board addressed the question of proliferation when consider-
ing the appropriateness of the RN unit. The court said:

The Board may noi depend solely on the traditional
community of interests test when making a unit deter-
mination for health care institution employees. As
other courts have held, the Board must give due con-

15

sideration to the congressional admonition against
proliferation. Furthermore, a Board decision must
clearly explain “the manner in which its unit determina-

tion ... implement{s] or reflect[s| that admonition... .”

A reviewing court, no less than the Board, is bound to
give effect to the congressional admonition against
proliferation. The court cannot in the first instance
adjudicate whether certification of a unit is consistent
with congressional intent. Nor can the court adequate-
ly review the Board’s decision and order unless the
Board clearly discloses why certification of the unit
comports with the necessity of preventing prolifera-
tion.
691 F.2d at 194 (citations omitted).

The Board did not give due consideration to preventing prolifera-
tion of bargaining units when it framed its Final Rule. Despite the
Board’s pronouncement in its Second Notice of Proposed Rulemaking
that it had “carefully considered the Congressional admonition against
proliferation”, 53 Fed. Reg. 33,933, the Board did not clearly explain
how its Final Rule implements Congress’ concern for preventing
proliferation. The Board attempts to justify its selection of eight units
as appropriate for bargaining by arguing that the increase from two
broad units for bargaining (the Board’s S¢. Francis I/ standard) to eight
units is not “proliferation”, as that term is commonly understood (i.e.,
to cause to grow or increase rapidly), but rather is only an increase
which reflects employee groups which have “separate labor markets”.
Id. at 33,933. Finally, by creating a definitional framework which
serves only its own administrative goals, the Board was able to buttress
its conclusion that the Final Rule will not result in proliferation by
defining proliferation broadly during rulemaking to be the creation of
“fifteen to twenty-plus units”. /d.

The arbitrary selection of fifteen units as the point where
proliferation starts does considerable injury to the congressional ad-
monition and ignores the costs and disruption that can occur as a
consequence of even one additional unit for bargaining. Even one
organized unit can result in substantial administrative costs because

16

the provisions in a union agreement must be administered separately
from personnel policies applicable to nonunion employees. Eligibility
for leave may be different for union and nonunion employees. Dif-
ferences between hospital employee benefit plans and union benefit
plans may substantially impact administrative costs. The union's
grievance and arbitration procedure is usually quite different from the
hospital's grievance procedure. Finally, administering payroll is ex-
tremely troublesome for hospital administrators when union and non-
union employees make up the same workforce. These administrative
costs will be doubled, tripled, or, in the worst case scenario, octupled
by the operation of the Board's Final Rule.

Hospitals already administering two or more contracts with
union representatives have found that, although there may be common
provisions in each contract, the more substantial administrative costs
are not reduced by having similar provisions in several agreements.
For example, one of the most costly and time consuming contract
administration problems is dealing with grievances from the union
concerning alleged violations of the agreement. Because grievances
are generally brought on behalf of an individual union member and
are quite fact specific, a hospital administrator's task is not made less
costly simply because the administrator may have processed a similar
grievance from another employee represented by a separate union.
Similarly, any grievance that goes to arbitration will have costs that
are repeated cach time a new grievance is not resolved prior to
arbitration. Arbitration also normally involves outside counsel and
therefore the costs for such proceedings accelerate rapidly because of
attorneys’ fees. Thus, one of the most expensive administrative
functions relating to contracts with unions is a cost that is repeated
over and over again regardless of the administrator's experience with
other union agreements.

Even where hospitals have agreements with one union repre-
senting different bargaining units within the hospital, the administra-
tive costs are not substantially reduced because of the fact of duplicate
representation. This is especially true in the case of negotiating costs.
Unions are loathe to negotiate contracts which terminate at the same
point in time each year. Unions have increased bargaining leverage
by utilizing separate expiration dates for different bargaining units
within the hospital. Through the use of recurring § 8(g) notices and

17

the threat of bargaining unit walkouts by different groups of
employees, the union can successfully pressure the hospital ad-
ministration to accede to its bargaining demands. No self-respecting
union will give up collective bargaining leverage and, thus, there are
generally no savings realized during negotiations from having the
same union represent different groups of employees.

Virginia hospitals are experiencing the same financial difficul-
ties confronting hospitals throughout the nation. Between 1984 and
1987, forty-one member hospitals of the Virginia Hospital Association
experienced a negative operating margin. This means that even
though the hospitals may have seen an increase in net revenues, their
expenses rose quicker than revenues, thus resulting in negative operat-
ing margins. More recently, twenty-seven acute care hospital mem-
bers experienced operating losses in 1989. The majority of these
hospitals were located in rural areas.

Utilization statistics of member institutions of the Virginia
Hospital Association show that eighty-two hospitals had a decline in
occupancy rates during the period 1984-1987, with sixty-five hospitals
experiencing a decrease in admissions as well. Occupancy levels for
hospitals with operating losses continued to decline in 1988 and 1989.
At present, many small hospitals in Virginia are only operating at
approximately fifty percent occupancy. In many cases, large urban
hospitals are faring no better.

The VHA has three member hospitals with employees repre-
sented by unions. These hospitals have experienced the costs and
disruption which accompany organized bargaining units within health
care work forces. For gxample, Wise Appalachian Regional Hospital
in Wise, Virginia, was hit with a ninety-one day work stoppage in 1986
by the United Steelworkers. The Steelworkers represent registered
nurses, other allied health professionals, and nonprofessionals at the
hospital. The strike caused disruption in hospital operations and
substantial financial josses to the hospital.

Norton Community Hospital ("Norton") in Norton, Virginia, is
a relatively small acute care hospital with only. 129 beds and ap-
proximately 300 employees. The United Steelworkers, Local 14459,
represents two bargaining units at Norton: a nonprofessional unit
comprised of licensed practical nurses, nurses’ assistants, dieticians,

18

business office staff, and service and maintenance employees; and a
rer rene unit which includes registered nurses and
. The cost of negotiating with Local 14459 substan-
remarenans Ava s overall operational costs. Although the same
union represents both of Norton’s bargaining units, the contracts are
negotiated separately and terminate at different times. Even though
Norton's relationship with the Steelworkers spans approximately 30
years, negotiations often require at least 15 sessions with each session
lasting an average of six hours.

Preliminary preparations for the negotiation of either of Norton’s
contracts are also very time consuming and labor intense. The
management negotiating team, which is comprised of four members
from upper level management, meets with the managers of the
hospital's departments and with the executive management staff to
review difficulties arising in the administration of the current contract
and solicits comments on provisions which may need to be included
in the new agreement. The total time involved in such preparation is
estimated to be approximately 240 hours. This estimate does not
include clerical time involved in typing draft proposals or counter
proposals.

In July 1990, employees at Dickenson County Medical Center
("Dickenson") in Clintwood, Virginia, voted for representation by the
United Mine Workers of America ("UMWA"). Dickenson is a small
hospital with only 50 beds employing 120 individuals, 100 of whom
will now be represented by the union. The UMWA represents two
units, a broad nonprofessional unit and a professional unit representing
the registered nurses. It is anticipated that considerable time and
resources will be expended to reach a contract agreement. Negotia-
tions began with the UMWA following certification of the election
results. The negotiations have been ongoing since that time and there
have been a number of bargaining sessions between the hospital's
negotiating team, which includes outside counsel, and the UMWA.
At this time, a number of issues remain to be resolved.

in one sense, it is fortunate for Dickenson that its employees were
organized prior to implementation of the Board’s Final Rule. Under
the Board’s new Rule, the employees currently represented by the

19

UMWA might have been separated into six separate bargaining units.?
Such a fragmentation of the workforce would produce a serious
disruption in the daily administration and operation of such a small
hospital.

The Board’s Final Rule with its provision for eight different
bargaining units is potentially an administrative nightmare for all acute
care hospitals. The effect of this Rule will not be limited to hospitals
with pending representation petitions. Unions have uniformly ex-
pressed their renewed interest in organizing hospitals along the lines
set forth in the Board’s Rule. They have positioned themselves to take
immediate advantage of the Rule's prescription for proliferation. The
National Union of Hospital and Health Care Employees recently
announced that it would triple its 28,000 member dues in order to
finance a massive, nationwide organizing campaign in 1991. The
union expects this Court to approve the Board’s Final Rule and, in
response, has decided that it will add 400 more organizers to undertake
what the union calls “the largest mobilization for organizing ever
undertaken by the American labor movement.” 213 Daily Labor
Report (BNA) at p. A-18 (11-2-90). The United Mine Workers’
representative who organized Dickenson County Medical Center has
bragged that his union would attempt to “organize everything we can
here in Southwest Virginia.” The Coalfield Progress, July 24, 1990,
at 1, col. 1. Thus, hospitals can expect an immediate and substantial
increase in union organizing activity among the separate employee
groups which correspond to the eight bargaining units in the Final
Rule.

C. The Board’s Rule Is Arbitrary And Capricious
Because It Applies To All Hospitals In Virginia

Regardless Of Their Size And The Diversity Of
Services Offered At Each Facility

The Board brushed aside the differences among acute care
hospitals during its rulemaking proceeding by describing the differen-

ces in size and the variety of services offered as being merely “minor

* ‘The Board's Final Rule does allow for stipulated bargaining units which are
not in accordance with the units specified in the Rule. 29 CFR § 103.30 (d). Asa
practical matter, however, no union will stipulate to a broader unit than that petitioned-
for unless the union is confident of victory in a representation election involving the
greater number of employees in the broader unit.

20

differences”. See NPR Il, 53 Fed. Reg. 33,932. Such a superficial
assessment of modern health care institutions illustrates the Board’s
lack of insight into the actual operation and administration of different
types of hospitals as well as its disregard for the specific needs which
certain hospitals fulfill in a particular community. It is absurd to
characterize the differences between large metropolitan hospitals,
which have a complex, multi-facility operation and a variety of
specialized service departments, and small rural hospitals, where
administrators and employees alike fulfill several different job ‘nc-
tions, as “minor”. It is precisely the size of a hospital and the work
being done within that hospital which helps create the community of
interests shared by employees at any particular facility. The Board's
decision to apply the Rule to all acute care hospitals regardless of size
and the variety of services offered at each institution is arbitrary and
capricious because it ignores two substantial factors contributing to
the growth of common interests.

Member hospitals within the VHA vary from large metropolitan
hospitals like Fairfax Hospital with 656 beds and over 4,600
employees to small rural hospitals like Bath County Community
Hospital ("Bath County"), which has 25 beds and 85 employees.
Fairfax Hospital has over 1,436 registered nurses in comparison to the
20 registered nurses employed at Bath County. Similarly, Richmond
Memorial Hospital ("Richmond Memori&l") in Richmond, Virginia,
has 420 beds and 292 registered nurses, while St. Mary’s Hospital ("St.
Mary’s") in Norton, Virginia, has 54 beds and 8 registered nurses.

The VHA is especially concerned about the potential harm that
will be visited on small hospitals within the state if the Board’s Rule
is allowed to be implemented. Sixty percent of the acute care hospitals
in Virginia are small hospitals with less than 200 beds. Twenty-five
percent of the VHA’s acute care hospital memb. ’s have less than 100
beds. These hospitals are most vulnerable to the increase in costs that
will be incurred as a result of the Board’s Final Rule. Of hospitals
with less than 100 beds in Virginia, forty-eight percent suffered
operating losses in cither 1988 or 1989. A small hospital simply
cannot absorb the costs of having to negotiate and administer eight
different contracts. Even one or two bargaining units may jeopardize

21

the welfare of small rural hospitals.4 For example, on the day the
union claimed victory at Dickenson County Medical Center, only 12
of the hospital’s 50 beds were occupied. The hospital's administrator
believes that the cost of dealing with the union will bring additional
financial hardship on an institution already struggling to survive. The
Coalfield Progress, July 24, 1990, at 1, col. 3,

Size alone is not the only factor which must be considered in
evaluating the community of interests likely to be present in a hospital
workforce. The var'ety of medical services available in Virginia
hospitals provides varied employment opportunities and experiences
for health care professionals. Metropolitan hospitals like Fairfax
Hospital, Roanoke Memorial Hospitals, and The Alexandria Hospital
have a variety of specialized departments providing sophisticated care
to patients with severe injuries and illnesses. Health care professionals
working in these specialty departments may have more in common
with each other than with similarly licensed professionals elsewhere
in the hospital. The specialized nature of care in these departments
requires greater integration in responding to patients’ medical needs.
For example, registered nurses assigned to the pediatric intensive care
unit or the neonatal intensive care unit at Fairfax Hospital must work
closely with social workers, physical therapists, occupational
therapists, speech pathologists, and respiratory therapists in providing
comprehensive treatment in these specialized areas. The high degree
of specialization and intricacy of medical/surgica! procedures used in
the delivery of these services create an employment atmosphere
conducive to the growth of a community of interests among the
registered nurses and allied health professionals in these departments.

The Alexandria Hospital has a special cancer center in which
registered nurses provide clinical expertise to patients undergoing
various forms of cancer treatment. The center’s staff includes a
dosimetrist, a senior dosimetrist, radiation therapists, a simulation
technician, registered nurses and social workers. All these employees
not only work together and share similar working conditions but
continuously confer with each other to ensure that treatment is effec-
tive. As a result, registered nurses in the cancer center are likely to

Perhaps oot unexpectedly, all three unionized hospitals in Virginia ex-

perienced operating losses in either 1988 or 1989.

22

have more in common with other allied health professionals in the
center than with registered nurses in other departments of the hospital.

Roanoke Memorial Hospitals ("Roanoke") has several specialty
units which require registered nurses and allied health professionals
to coordinate their services in providing patient care. Diabetic ser-
vices at Roanoke utilizes registered nurses, licensed practical nurses,
nurses’ assistants, dieticians, social workers, physical therapists, oc-
cupational therapists, and medical technologists, in addressing the
medical, social, and psychological needs of diabetic patients.
Roanoke's neonatal care unit is staffed by registered nurses, licensed
practical nurses, respiratory therapists, x-ray technicians, medical
technologists and social workers.

There are many more examples of specialty units within Virginia
hospitals where various health care professionals must coordinate
their services to provide efficient and effective health care treatment.
These examples undermine the basic assumption implicit in the
Board’s Final Rule, i.e., that all registered nurses working in acomplex
and multidisciplinary metropolitan hospital share similar interests and
working conditions with other registered nurses throughout the facility
and do not share common interests with other allied health profes-
sionals in the hospital.

On the other hand, smaller hospitals in Virginia also have unique
characteristics which make the Board’s per se rule arbitrary and
capricious. For example, smaller facilities like Bath County Com-
munity Hospital and St. Mary’s Hospital focus their efforts on provid-
ing quality primary care and general surgery services to the local
community. These smaller rural hospitals do not have the resources
to staff and equip sophisticated tertiary care units, but, instead, con-
centrate on stabilizing a severely injured patient until transfer to a more
advanced unit is arranged. Because of this emphasis on primary care,
these facilities do not have the diverse specialization among job
functions found in the larger metropolitan facilities. Thus, registered
nurses in inese hospitals may, in fact, share similar duties. Equally
true, however, is the fact that registered nurses in these smaller
facilities also share duties with other employees or may, as part of their

routine job responsibilities, be engaged in procedures for which larger
hospitals employ special technical employees. For example, Culpeper

23

Memorial Hospital in Culpeper, Virginia employs phlebotomists and
respiratory therapists but based on budgetary constraints and actual
demand, these employees may not be scheduled for certain shifts.
During these shifts, the registered nurse draws blood for ary necessary
laboratory samples and will adjust or apply ventilators for respiratory-
dependent patients.

In addition, the division of functions between professionals,
technicals and nonprofessionals in smaller hospitals often becomes
blurred. For example, in Lonesome Pine Hospital, a 60-bed acute care
hospital located in Big Stone Gap, Virginia, registered nurses act as
unit secretaries; material management employees are involved in the
clerical aspects of their position; and a licensed practical nurse in
physical therapy does all the charting and typing of reports and forms.

The cooperation and interaction among staff in smaller hospitals
extends throughout the hospitals. he focus in these facilities is on
the common goal of providing competent health care. Therefore,
registered nurses will assist office workers in completing administra-
tive reports; office workers will help clean patient care units if the need
arises; and housekeepers will stop cleaning, wash their hands, and fluff
a patient's pillow. At Lonesome Pine, a reg’stered nurse may have to
clean rooms during the midnight shift as the need arises tecause no
housekeeper is scheduled for that shift. The pharmacist at Lonesome
Pine also supervises the material management staff as part of his
duties. Pharmacy technicals are cross-trained in material manage-
ment, and the material management staff may substitute as pharmacy
technicals. This type of interaction among employees at small hospi-
tals illustrates that the Final Rule is arbitrary and capricious in not
recognizing that such special conditions may exist which make the
Rule's mandated units inappropriate. Because the Rule’s narrow
extraordinary circumstances exception will not allow small hospitals
to demonstrate the uniqueness of their facilities, the ability of these
rurs' hospitals to operate efficiently and econom cally will be
dirnin’ shed.

24

D. The Board's Rule Is Arbitrary And Capricious
Because It Ignores The Integration And Interac-
tion Of Health Care Employees Within Virginia
Hospitals
The health care indusiry is changing dramatically in Virginia and
the Board’s Rule provides no avenue for recognition of these changes.
For example, the increasing use of outpatient clinics in providing both
preventative medical services and minor surgery has contributed to
the declining occupancy rates experienced by acute care hospitals. A
natural outgrowth of this trend is that patients now admitted are more
acutely and seriously ill than in the past. This obligates hospitals to
restructure traditional methods of patient care to meet the more
specific needs of their patients. ;

Many Virginia hospitals have responded to these changes by
redesigning their approach to patient care in a manner which increases
the integration of professionals and nonprofessionals in the workplace.
Many hospitals have created specific mechanisms for increasing the
coordination between care givers at their facilities. For example,
many hospitals have begun utilizing interdisciplinary committees to
resolve difficult medical problems relating to individual patients or
simply to enhance patient care generally by planning for coordinated
delivery of medical services to patients. These committees, which
may be designated “patient care planning committees”, “collabora-
tive committees for patient care”, or “interdisciplinary committees on
patient care”, provide a comprehensive approach to the medical,
physical, emotional and psychological needs of a patient. The more
complex patient care questions may be discussed during formalized
“rounds” where an interdisciplinary group of professionals will dis-

For example, The Alexandria Hospital utilizes an integrated
patient care system. All service units hold meetings to coordinate
patient care. Meetings are held weekly or more frequently depending
on the need of the patients, and the attendees include dieticians, social
workers, registered nurses, physicians and rehabilitation therapists
assigned to a particular case. These meetings promote an exchange
of information to enable the professional team to assess a patient's

25

present condition, reevaluate and alter treatment, or prepare the patient
for discharge.

The increasing tendency of modern hospitals is to structure their
Organizations in a manner which promotes the integration of in-
dividual professionals and which better coordinates direct patient care
services with support services. For example, hospitals are eliminating
Separate nursing divisions, and, instead, structuring hospital depart-
ments along service lines. National Hospital for Orthopaedics and
Rehabilitation, located in Arlington, Virginia, has restructured its
organization by joining nursing and ancillary services in a unified
department known as Patient Care Services, managed by the Vice
President, Patient Care Services. This structure improves the quality
of patient care because one person is aware of difficulties encountered
in all aspects of direct patient care and can move quickly should any
problems arise. Additionally, the hospital can better assure that all
aspects of its medical services reflect management's goal of a col-
laborative, integrated approach to patient care.

In light of such organizational changes, the Board's decision to
segregate registered nurses in a separate bargaining unit is especially
arbitrary and capricious. It is not uncommon for registered nurses to
be working in laboratories with medical technologists, in cardiovas-
cular services departments along side cardiovascular technologists, in
“rehabilitation” units with physical therapists and occupational
therapists, in “psych” units with mental health counselors and social
workers, in radiology departments with x-ray technicians, or in utiliza-

There are other multidisciplinary committees being used in
Virginia hospitals to fulfill various patient care and hospital operating
goals, both routinely and on an ad hoc basis. For example, Franklin
Memorial Hospital in Rocky Mount, Virginia, utilizes a multidiscipli-
nary committee consisting of medical technologists, radiologic tech-
nologists, nurses, and a pharmacist to investigate improvements in the
delivery of patient care and to develop a plan for implementation of
proposed changes. Radford Community Hospital in Radford, Vir-
ginia, uses a “team treatment committee” in evaluating and determin-
ing the treatment modality for hospital patients requiring respiratory

26

treatment. This team, composed of a registered nurse, the attending
physician and the respiratory therapist, performs joint reviews of
patient care. The patient care evaluation committee at Gill Memorial
Eye, Ear, Nose & Throat Hospital in Roanoke, Virginia, is responsible
for reviewing all issues concerning patient care and the results of this
meeting are reported to physicians for their monthly medical staff
meetings. The committee is multidisciplinary with representatives of
all departments serving on the committee.

A multidisciplinary committee, known as the professional ad-
visory committee, is used in Giles Memorial Hospital in Pearisburg,
Virginia to review the performance and conduct of its home health
department. This department provides skilled nursing services and
other personal care services in a patient's home. The professional
advisory committee is composed of physicians, nursing repre-
sentatives and physical therapists. Acute care hospitals which incor-
porate long-term or extended care within their facilities also use a
multidisciplinary committee to develop and evaluate long-term patient
care. For example, at Wythe County Community Hospital, in
Wytheville, Virginia, a treatment planning committee meets regularly
to discuss its long-term patients. The committee is comprised of
physicians, nurses, social workers, discharge planners, dieticians and
rehabilitation therapists. Psychiatric units in acute care hospitals also
integrate professionals to enhance services. At St. Mary's Hospital,
the patient care treatment team includes members of social services,
quality assurance, utilization review, psychiatry and the recreational
activities director. Under the supervision of the psychiatrist, this
group meets one or two days a week and develops a complete plan of
treatment, including outpatient care.

Not only is there increased integration among the different
disciplines providing health care services as a result of collaborative
concepts for patient care, but the very nature of modern health care
requires heightened interaction between professionals. No longer is
treatment provided only through the efforts of the attending physician
and a nurse. During a patient's stay, he or she will be visited by
therapists, technologists, and other technicals who provide treatment,
run tests, operate sophisticuted equipment, and ensure the equipment
being used is performing properly. In addition, there is an increasing
awareness that a patient's mental attitude regarding an illness is an

27

important component of recovery. Therefore, social workers and
mental health counselors will talk with patients during and after their
Stay at a hospital.

Nutritional support is another key area where professionals
frequently collaborate concerning the nutritional requirements of
patients. Many hospitals are establishing formal nutritional support
teams which combine the expertise of registered nurses, physicians,
dieticians, and pharmacists to utilize nutritional support for enhancing
and accelerating a patient's recovery.

Discharge planning has become a very common team concept
for modern acute care hospitals. Discharge planning can take many
variations. For example, Franklin Memorial's Hospital's discharge
planning team is composed of nurses and social workers who meet
three times a week {o assess the needs of patients after discharge. St.
Mary’s Hospital's discharge planning department includes a social
worker, a utilization review/quality assurance coordinator, the educa-
tion director, home health services employees and registered nurses.
Culpeper Memorial Hospital assigns a registered nurse to the dis-
charge planning department who works with social workers to assist

Other departments within acute care hospitals demonstrate the
frequent interaction of health care professionals in modern facilities.
Operating rooms and emergency rooms are common examples of
departments where various specialists coordinate and combine their
expertise to provide patient care. The Bedford County Memoria!
Hospital surgery room is a good example of coordinated medical
services in a small facility. Nurses, medical technologists, medical
lab technicians, respiratory therapists, radiologic technologists and
anesthetists work together to treat emergency room patients at Bedford
County. Nurses will get IVs started, change dressings and help the

28

physicians with suturing, while medical technologists and medical lab
technicians come to the emergency room to run lab tests or draw blood.
If the patient has respiratory distress, the respiratory therapist will put
the patient on a respirator. In addition, x-ray personnel use mobile,
portable equipment to take x-rays of patients. Similarly, at Stonewall
Jackson Hospital's emergency room, registered nurses administer
medication to patients and assist physicians while medical laboratory
technicians draw blood and analyze specimens, respiratory therapists
ventilate patients who have cardiac arrest and radiology technologists
confirm the placement of ventilation tubes. These coordinated sys-
tems for delivering emergency care are repeated throughout other
Virginia hospitals.

Operating rooms have always been a model for teamwork within
hospitals. All hospitals maximize the coordination of professionals
and technical personnel during surgery to achieve efficient yet careful
surgical procedures. For example, Mount Vernon Hospital in
Alexandria, Virginia, utilizes a “surgical suite” to achieve an interdis-
ciplinary approach to surgery with registerd nurses, surgical tech-
nicians, physicians, and physicians’ assistants working together to
deliver quality health care.

The integration and interaction of health care professionals in
modern acute care hospitals are very important factors that should be
explored by the Board before using an arbitrary bargaining unit to
separate registered nurses from other health care professionals in an
otherwise integrated workplace. A case by case adjudication of ap-
propriate bargaining units would reveal that health care professionals
in Virginia hospitals participate in common benefit plans and work
under uniform personnel policies. They have comparable s ‘aries,
receive identical bonus pay, work similar schedules, anc receive
identical shift differential. Interdisciplinary training is .ccomplished
through other collaborative practice groups. Health care professionals
may give in-service training to each other in their respective special-
ties. Interaction of employees is stimulated further by training or
educational sessions on more generic subjects such as infection con-
trol, CPR training, stress management, hazard abatement, or EAP

29

This team approach to patient care that is prevalent throughout
many Virginia ‘:ospitals will clearly be disrupted by the per se applica-
tion of the Board’s Final Rule. The Fina: Rule forces professionals
working on the same hospital team into separate units for ,
The Rule also increases the likelihood that these professionals will be
represented by different unions. Conflicting work rules
hours of work, overtime and other working conditions are likely to
destroy the cohesion fostered by each hospital’s integrated approach
to patient care. Ultimately, patient care may be impaired by conflict
between union members, thereby creating the very situation which
Congress attempted to avert in drafting the Health Care Amendments
Act and instructing the NLRB to avoid proliferation.

IV. CONCLUSION

For all the foregoing reasons, and for the reasons stated in the
brief of the America Hospital Association, the decision of the Seventh
Circuit should be reversed.

Respectfully submitted,

By:

JOHN G. KRUCHKO*
PAUL M. LUSKY
KRUCHKO & FRIES

Suite 202

7929 Westpark Drive
McLean, Virginia 22102
(703) 734-0554

Attorneys For Amicus Curiae
Virginia Hospital Association
*Counsel of Record

APPENDIX

r eh ° >
LAD 5 ere AMPs ite Ets Bes

stm ju
. ,

ae iy NE ‘ Pe gee
fate nae Mic alba alte sles al eed aes:

fe, + tae a Soe ,
rk -_—. 3 a! ware .

a + “n fe

~ + oe thee hes

. ee: <u Maths ar
Seow wae DANS ue mie Si

~ i

la

U.S. Department of Justice
Office of the Solicitor General

October 24, 1990

John G. Kruchko

Kruchko & Fries

Counselors at Law

7929 Westpark Drive, Suite 202
McLean, Virginia 22102

Re: American Hospital Association v. NLRB
No. 90-97

Dear Mr. Kruchko:

In response to your letter of October 23, 1990 I hereby consent

to the filing in the above-captioned case of an amicus curiae brief on
behalf of the Virginia Hospital Association.

Sincerely,

/s/ Kenneth W. Starr

Solicitor General

2a
DICKSTEIN, SHAPIRO & MORIN

October 24, 1990

John G. Kruchko, Esquire
Kruchko & Fries

7929 Westpark Drive

Suite 202 ie
McLean, Virginia 22102

Re: / merican Hospital Association v. N.L.R.B., et al.
No. 90-97

Dear Mr. Kruchko:

The American Nurses’ Association consents to your filing of an
amicus curiae brief in the above-referenced matter on behalf of the
Virginia Hospital Association.

Sincerely,

(s/ Woody N. Peterson

WNP: hmp

3a
MAYER, BROWN & PLATT

October 17, 1990

Paul M. Lusky, Esq.

Kruchko & Fries

7929 Westpark Drive, Suite 202
McLean, Virginia 22102

Re: American Hospital Association v. NLRB

Dear Mr. Lusky:

On behalf of the American Hospital Association, I hereby con-
sent to the filing of a brief amicus curiae by the Fairfax Hospital
System, et al. in the above-referenced case.

Sincerely,

/s/ James D. Holzhauer

JDH: cml

4a

AMERICAN FEDERATION
OF LABOR AND CONGRESS
OF INDUSTRIAL ORGANIZATIONS

Ocotber 29, 1990

Mr. John G. Kruchko

Mr. Paul M. Lusky, Esq.
Kruchko & Fries

7929 Westpark Drive, Suite 202
McLean, Virginia 22102

Dear Messrs. Kruchko & Lusky:

Re: American Hospital Association v. N.L.R.B.,
et al. (Supreme Court No. 90-97)

The American Federation of Labor and Congress of Industrial

Organizations hereby consents to the timely filing of an amicus curiae
brief in support of the petitioner in the above-referenced matter on
behalf of the Maryland and Virginia Hospital Associations.

Sincerely yours,

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385013_0012%3A19. Public record. Not legal advice.
