# Opposition Brief — Penry v. Lynaugh

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385012_1471%3A03

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1988
- **Citation:** 487 U.S. 1233

## Text

| Supreme Court US.
\ “ . J L F. D
i
FEB 29 Ges
Nanu
Wr 0 rr F SPAMIOL JR.
eee Rees CLERK
*
J
NO. 87-6177
IN THE
UNITED STATES SUPREME COURT
OCTOBER TERM, 1987
JOHNNY PAUL PENRY,
Petitioner,
Vv.
JAMES A. LYNAUGH, DIRECTOR,
TEXAS DEPARTMENT OF CORRECTIONS,
Respondent.
On Petition For Writ Of Certiorari
To The United States Court Of Appeals
For The Fifth Circuit
RESPONDENT’S BRIEF IN OPPOSITION
JIM MATTOX MICHAEL P. HODGE
Attorney General of Texas Assistant Attorney General
Chief, Enforcement Division
MARY F. KELLER CHARLES A. PALMER*
First Assistant Assistant Attorney General
Attorney General
LOU McCREARY P.O. Box 12548, Capitol Station
Executive Assistant Austin, Texas 78711
Attorney General (512) 463-2080

* Counsel of Record

11.

111.

Whether the Texas capital-sentencing statute
is unconstitutional for failing to require
specific instruction regarding balancing of
aggravating and mitigating circumstances and
for failing to define some of the terms used
in the special issues on punishment.

Whether the execution of a death sentenced
inmate who has limited mental capacity but
who was adjudged competent at trial violates
the eighth amendment proscription against
cruel and unusual punishment.

Whether Penry’s confessions were voluntarily
given and whether he knowingly relinquished
his right against self-incrimination.

QUESTIONS PRESENTED... +++ +e ee +e eees

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES .. +++ + © © © © © © @ «@

OPINION BELOW... + + + 2+ e+ © © © © © © © © ©

JURISDICTION .. «© © eee ese ee we eo oe @ «@

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY PROVISIONS INVOLVED

STATEMENT OF THE CASE ...+ +++ «© © © «© «

A. Course of Proceedings and
B. Statement of Facts . . * .
/

REASONS FOR DENYING TRE Rik

I.

Eke

111.

IV.

THE QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW ARE
UNWORTHY OF THIS COURT’S ATTENTION. .

THE TEXAS CAPITAL-SENTENCING STATUTE
AS APPLIED MEETS THE CONSTITUTIONAL
REQUIREMENT OF INDIVIDUALIZED SEN-
TENCING WITHOUT THE NECESSITY OF A
SPECIAL INSTRUCTION ON MITIGATING
EVI og

EXECUTION OF A MENTALLY RETARDED PERSON
DOES NOT CONSTITUTE AN EIGHTH AMENDMENT
VIOLATION. ... . . ~~ a

PENRY’S CLAIM THAT HIS CONFESSIONS WERE
INVOLUNTARY BECAUSE HE DID NOT KNOWINGLY
RELINQUISH HIS RIGHT TO REMAIN SILENT IS

MERITLESS IN LIGHT OF THE FACTUAL FINDINGS

OF THE STATE COURTS. ...+ ++ «© « «

CO, soo

-ii-

13

15

19

"

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Cases
Barclay v. Florida, 463 U.S. 939 (1983) .....

Colorado v. Spring, U.S. >
107 8. e. 851 (1987) * * * * * * * . * * *

Cordova v. State, 733 8. M. 2d 175
(Tex.Crim.App. 1967) c vůiieriin eee

Cupp v. Naughten, 414 U.S. 141 (1973) ......
Eddings v. Oklahoma, 455 U.S. 104 (1982). ....
Enmund v. Florida, 458 U.S. 782 (19822

Ford v. Wainwright, U.S. ,
106 &.Ct. 2595 (1986). . ~. «© «= © «© = © © @

Gardner v. Florida, 430 U.S. 349 (1977) ....-.
Graver Mfg. Co. v. Linde Co., 336 U.S. 271 (1949)
Gregg v. Georgia, 428 U.S. 153 (1976)))))

Johnson v. Cabana, 818 F.2d 333 (5th Cir.), cert.
denied. U. s. 107 S.Ct. 2207 (1987).

Johnson v. State, 691 8. . 2d 619
(Tex.Crim.App. 1984) * „ „ * * „ * * * „ „ *

Jurek v. State, 522 8. . 2d 934
(Tex.Crim.App. 1975) ]]] „„ „„ eee

Jurek v. Texas, 428 U.S. 262 (19760 +s -s
Lockett v. Ohio, 438 U.S. 586 (197)
Maggio v. Fulford, 462 U.S. 111 (1983)

Miller v. Fenton, U.S. P
106 .. 445 (1986) * „ * „ * „ * * * „ * „

Milton v. Procunier, 744 F. 2d 1091 (5th Cir. 1984),

- denied, U.S. , 105 S.Ct. 2040
(1985) ee @ 8. 6 8 8 6.89 2 2 , eee

Miranda v. Arizona, 384 U.S. 436 (1966) .....

Moran v. Burbine, U. 8. P
106 . . 1135 71986) * „ * * * * * „ „ * * *

North Carolina v. Butler, 441 U.S. 370 (1979) ..

Roberts (Stanislaus) v. Louisiana, 428 U.S. 325
(1976) * * * * * * * * * * „ „ * * * „ * * „

Stewart v. State, 686 8. .. 2d 118
(Tex. Crin. App. 1984) . ᷑ . «6 «© «© «© #© © we we

Tacon v. Arizona, 410 U.S. 351 (1973)
Woodson v. North Carolina, 428 U.S. 280 (1976). .

Zant v. Stevens, 462 U.S. 862 (1983). ......

-iii-

12

11,12

12

13,14,15
12

15

9

15

11

11
10,11

9,12

12

TABLE OF AUTHORII-ES. CONTINUED

Constitutions. wtatutes and Rules
U. s. const, amend. V....
U. s. Const., amend. VIII

28 U.S.C. § 1254(1)

28 U.S.C. § 2254(4)

Sup. Ct. R. 17.

Tex. Code Crim. Proc. Ann. art. 11.07 §2
(Vernon Supp. 1984). see es

Tex. Code Crim. Proc. Ann. art. 37.071
(Vernon Supp. 1987). =

Tex. Code Crim. Proc. Ann. art. 46.02 §1(a)
(Vernon 19861). . - «© «+ —2

Tex. Penal Code Ann. art. 8.01 (Vernon 1974).

Tex. Penal Code Ann. § 19.03 (Vernon Supp. 1988).

-iv-

14
14

10

NO. 87-6177

IN THE
UNITED STATES SUPREME COURT
OCTOBER TERM, 1987

JOHNNY PAUL PENRY,
Petitioner,
Vv.

JAMES A. LYNAUGH, DIRECTOR,
TEXAS DEPARTMENT OF CORRECTIONS,

Respondent.

On Petition For Writ Of Certiorari
To The United States Court Of Appeals
For The Fifth Circuit

RESPONDENT’S BRIEF IN OPPOSITION

TO THE HONORABLE JUSTICES OF THE SUPREME COURT:

NOW COMES James A. Lynaugh, Director, Texas Department of
Corrections, Respondent! herein, by and through his attorney, the
Attorney General of Texas, and files this Brief in Opposition.

QPINION BELOW

The opinion of the Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit
affirming the district court’s denial of habeas relief is
attached to the petition as Appendix A. Penry vy. Lynaugh, #832
r. 20 915 (Sth Cir. 1987). ‘The unpublished opinion of the dis-
trict court is attached to the petition as Appendix B. Penry v.
Lynaugh No. L-86-89-CA (E. D. Tex. 1987).

lpor clarity, Respondent is referred to as “the state, and
Petitioner as "Penry."

JURISDICTION

Penry seeks to invoke the jurisdiction of this Court pursu-

ant to 28 U.S.C. § 1254(1).
CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY PROVISIONS INVOLVED

Penry relies on the fifth and eighth amendments to the
Constitution. Also at issue here is the Texas statute which sets
out the special issues at the punishment phase of a capital
trial. Tex. Code Crim. Proc. Ann. art. 37.071 (Vernon Supp.
1987).

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

A. Course of Proceedings and Disposition Below

The state has lawful custody of Penry pursuant to a judgment
and sentence of the 258th Judicial District Court of Trinity
County, Texas, in Cause No. 6572, styled The State of Texas v.
Johnny Paul Penry. On November 7, 1979, Penry was indicted for
the offense of capital murder of Pamela Carpenter while in the
course of committing and attempting to commit the offense of
aggravated rape, to which he entered a plea of not guilty (SF
XIII 1344).?

Penry’s pretrial motions were heard on January 11, 1980 (SF
III 28-83), including a motion for change of venue which was
granted on that date (SF III 84-101). His pretrial motions were
continued on February 29, 1980, and a hearing was held on his
motions to suppress his confessions (SF IV). Detailed findings
ot fact and conclusions of law denying the motion to suppress
were filed on March 25, 1980 (Tr. 94). An extensive hearing on
Penry’s challenge to his competency to stand trial was held
before a jury on March 10-13, 1980 (SF V-VII), and the jury found
him competent (SF VII 944-45).

Z rr. refers to the transcript of Penry’s state court
proceedings located in Volume I. sr“ refers to the statement of
facts, with reference made to the volume number typewritten on
the bottom of the cover of each volume and page number as
reflected in the lower right hand corner of each page. The
appendices attached to Penry’s petition are referred to as "A"
and “ with the appropriate page numbers following.

Trial began on March 24, 1980, and on April 1, 1980, the
jury found Penry guilty of the capital offense (Tr. 111; SF
2533). On April 1, 1980, after a punishment hearing, the jury
answered affirmatively the special issues submitted pursuant to
Article 37.071, Tex. Code Crim. Proc. Ann. (Vernon Supp. 1987)
(Tr. 118-119; SF XVII 2698-2703).

Penry appealed this conviction and sentence to the Court of
Criminal Appeals of Texas, which affirmed on January 9, 1985.
Penry v. State, 691 S.W.2d 636 (Tex. Crim. App. 1985) (en banc).
Rehearing was denied on May 2, 1985. Certiorari was denied on
January 13, 1986. Penry v. Texas, Us. 106 S.Ct. 834
(1986).

Penry was formally sentenced to be executed before sunrise
on May 7, 1986. he filed an application pursuant to Tex. Code
Crim. Proc. Ann. art. 11.07 §2 (Vernon Supp. 1984) on April 10,
1986. The state convicting court recommended denial on April 25,
1986. The Texas Court of Criminal Appeals denied the application
and motion for stay of execution on May 5, 1986. Ex parte Penry,
Application No. 15918-01.

On May 5, 1986, Penry filed an application for writ of
habeas corpus and a motion for stay of execution in the United
States District Court for the Eastern District of Texas Lufkin
Division. Penry v. McCotter, No. L-86-89-CA. United States
District Judge William M. Steger entered a stay of execution on
May 6, 1986. An order denying all habeas relief was entered on
April 28, 1987, and the stay of execution was vacated. The
district court granted Penry’s request for certificate of proba-
ble cause to appeal, and on November 25, 1987, the Court of
Appeals for the Fifth Circuit affirmed. Penry vy. Lynaugh, 822
F. 2d 915 (Sth Cir. 1987). Rehearing and rehearing en banc were
denied on December 23, 1987.

B. Statement of Facts

Johnny Paul Penry was hired by Harold Stubblefield to
deliver a freezer to the home of the deceased, Pamela Carpenter.
Penry assisted with the delivery on October 9, 1979 (SF XIII

-3-

1351-65, 1377).

On October 25, 1979, between 9:00-9:30 a.m., the deceased
spoke with her mother, Mrs. Rossie Moseley (SF XIII 1384). At
about 10:00 a.m. she phoned a friend, Cindy Peters, and stated
"This is Pam. I’ve been stabbed and raped. Mother’s at the
church. Help me and hurry." (SF XIII 1391-92, 1397-99, 1407).
Peters went immediately to the deceased’s residence and observed
the deceased on her bed, covered with blood and moaning for help
(SF XIII 1393, 1399-403). An ambulance was immediately called
(SF XIII 1428-30).

Officer E. G. Page of the Livingston Police Department
arrived on the scene at 10:26 a.m. (SF IV 255; XIII 1441), and
spoke to the deceased (SF IV 253-54; XIII 1443), who told him her
attacker was a white male, about twenty years old, short, thin
with short, dark curly hair, and was wearing a plaid shirt,
“possible flowers" and blue jeans (SF XIII 1446, 1449-50). The
emergency technicians arrived soon thereafter to discover the
deceased in a state of shock and bleeding (SF XIII 1481-85, XIV
1822).

The deceased received extensive emergency treatment in the
hospital (SF XIII 1502-18). During the first hour, she was
conscious and talking (SF XIII 1513-15, 1558). She stated that
she had been stabbed with scissors and raped by a white male,
short, thin with black hair. She stated that she had seen him
before but did not know his name? (SF XIII 1524-26, 1558 ). The
deceased’s condition deteriorated and she died around noon during
the emergency treatment. The cause of death was massive hemor-
rhage and the chest injury (SF XV 2081), which was consistent
with having been stabbed with a pair of scissors (SF XIII
1519-20, 1563; XV 2077-79, 2094). The deceased also had a large

bruise on her left side of her eye consistent with having been

3Her description given to Dr. McLendon was not admitted
before the jury (SF XIII 1533).

struck by a fist, multiple bruises on her legs, a bruise on her
throat consistent with hand strangulation, a bruise on the left
rib cage about the size of a man’s shoe heel, anda defensive
wound on her hand (SF XIII 1506, 1557; XV 2063-81). Semen was
observed on the genital area during the emergency treatment (SF
XIII 1563-64); however, the deceased had extensive urinary tract
hemorrhaging and no semen was found during the autopsy (SF xu
2082). N

Deputy Sheriffs Billy Ray Nelson and Bob Grissom received a
description of the assailant over the patrol car radio at approx-
imately 11:00 a.m. (SF IV 136-37, 159-62, 173; XIV 1568-69,
1639-40). Nelson was familiar with Penry, who fit the dispatched
description and had recently been released from the Texas Depart-
ment of Corrections for rape (SF IV 138; XIV 1569). They pro-
ceeded to Penry’s father’s home, spoke with Penry and inquired of
his whereabouts. Penry responded that he had been home about an
hour (SF XIV 1570, 1639, 1641). The officers informed him that a
girl had been possibly cut or stabbed and raped (SF IV 139-40;
XIV 1572). Penry denied any knowledge (SF XIV 1570-72), but he
agreed to accompany the officers to the police station‘ (SF Iv
140; XIV 1573-75, 1594-95, 1643, 1656-57). No questions were
asked on the way to the station (SF XIV 1586).

Within moments after their arrival, Ted Everitt, an investi-
gator for the district attorney’s office, advised Penry of his
Miranda® rights off the standard police-issued card (SF IV 142,
145-47; XIV 1579, 1589, 1669-75). Penry did not request a lawyer
(SF XIV 1589). At this time Officer Grissom noticed blood on the
upper back shoulder of Penry’s shirt and asked him about it.
Penry responded that he had fallen on a stick while riding his

bicycle earlier that morning. Because there was no tear in the

‘4puring the time at the Penry house, the officers never saw
Penry’s back (SF XIV 1572-76).

SMirenda v. Arizona, 384 U.S. 436 (1966).

shirt he was wearing, the officers asked him to show them the
shirt he was wearing when the accident occurred. Penry responded
that he’d be glad to and informed them the shirt was at his house
(SF IV 142-44; XIV 1579-81, 1645-46, 1676-77). Miranda rights
were again read in connection with Penry’s signing a consent to
search form at 12:10 p.m. (SF IV 144-47; XIV 1581-83, 1601-03,
1646, 1677-86; XVIII St.Ex. 7; XX St.Ex. 18).

The officers and Penry returned to the house and retrieved
the shirt (SF IV 148-49; XIV 1604, 1646, 1686-88). Penry was
then asked if he would accompany them to the crime scene and he
agreed (SF IV 150; XIV 1604-05, 1648, 1689-90). Penry said,
„111 go with you, just don’t try to pin anything on me 1 didn’t
do" (SF XIV 1648, 1690). The officer responded he wouldn’t do
that. At the deceased’s house, Penry remained in the car unre-
strained. After about thirty to forty minutes, Penry initiated a
conversation by stating, “I want to tell you about it“ (SF IV
151-52; XIV 1608-10, 1618). Officer Nelson testified, "I told
him to just to be quiet. I didn’t want to hear it. I told him
to just shut up." Penry responded, "No, I want to get it off my
conscience. I done it, and I want to get it off my conscience"
(SF IV 151-52, 154; XIV 1618). Penry was piaced under arrest (SF
XIV 1625) and Officer Grissom then re-read Penry his Miranda
rights (SF IV 153-54; XIV 1619-20, 1651-53). Penry then reiter-
ated his desire to tell the truth (SF IV 154). Penry vas taken
into the house, where he described the crime, pointed out the
scissors used to stab the deceased, and identified his pocket~
knife® (SF IV 154-55, 181-82; XIV 1620, 1723-24). He wes subse-
quently searched, returned to the station (SF IV 181-82; XIV
1622, 1717-18), and turned over to Chief William F. Smith (SF XIV

1719).

6The officer’s description of Penry’s actions at the crime
scene was not admitted before the jury (SF XIV 1742).

A formal complaint was filed and an arrest warrant obtained
(SF IV 252). Penry was taken before Judge Galloway for adminis-
tration of magistrate’s warnings on a charge of capital murder
and they were twice read (SF IV 183, 203-12; XIV 1787-88,
1802-09, 1813-18). At the initial reading, Penry’s father and
step-mother appeared in court and “hollered not to sign it or
make any statements" (SF IV 205). Penry’s father read the
magistrate’s warnings to his son (SF IV 184; VI 537; XIV 1788-90,
1806, 1844) and when told he was charged with capital murder,
Penry asked, bid she die?" (SF IV 205; XIV 1815). Mr. Penry
quit reading to his son and asked his son if he had committed the
crime. Penry responded that he had. Mr. Penry, Sr., “stormed
out of the office, out of the courtroom and told him he was
through with him. He could go to jail as far as he vas con-
cerned" (SF IV 184-85; 205-07; XIV 1845). Penry subsequently
signed the magistrate’s warning in Judge Galloway’s presence (SF
IV 207).

Miranda warnings were again read and individually explained
to Penry by Chief Smith at about 3:25 p.m. (SF IV 185-89, 200-01;
XIV 1709, 1828-32, 1846-49; XV 1889-90). Penry then gave a
confession which vas reduced to writing (SF IV 185-89; XIV
1833-34, 1850). Smith knew that Penry could not read or write.
The statement was read to him twice in its entirety including the
warnings, with witnessing and signing by Penry occurring after
the second reading at 6:05 p.m. on October 25, 1979 (SF IV
189-93, 214-15; XIV 1835-36, 1850-53, XV 1872-93, 1979). 7

On October 26, 1979, Penry agreed to give hair samples, vas
again administered Miranda warnings, and signed a consent to
search form (SF IV 195-96). On that date, Texas Ranger Maurice
Cook again read and explained to Penry his Miranda warnings (SF
IV 223-25; XV 1865, 1874-77, 1988-91). Penry gave a second

7This statement as it was presented to the jury appears in
Vol. XV 1895-1902.

verbal confession, which was reduced to writing and read to him

in its entirety, including the warnings. An addition was made by

Penry and the statement was witnessed and signed (SF IV 227-32,

240-44; XV 1866, 1877-78, 1992-99, 2043-47, 2050-53) .8
SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

There are no special or important reasons to consider the
questions presented.

The Texas capital-sentencing statute is constitutional.
Because the special issues submitted to the jury on punishment
are narrowly drawn so as to focus the jury’s attention, and the
defendant is allowed to present all relevant mitigating evidence
for the jury’s consideration in answering the special issues,
there is no need for specific instructions on mitigating evi-
dence.

Execution of a mentally retarded person does not violate the
Constitution. Penry’s low I.Q. notwithstanding, there is no
question that he knows that he is to be executed and the reason
why. No decision of this Court precludes the execution of a
person of Penry’s mental status.

There is no merit to Penry’s challenge to the voluntariness
ot his confessions. Given the factual findings of the state
courts, which were accepted by the federal habeas course, this
claim must fail.

REASONS FOR DENYING THE WRIT
I.

THE QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW ARE
UNWORTHY OF THIS COURT’S ATTENTION.

Rule 17 of the Rules of the Supreme court provides that
review on writ of certiorari is not a matter of right, but of

judicial discretion, and will be granted only when there are

8This second statement appears in evidence at the guilt

— ae reference to extraneous offenses removed (SF xv 1999,
-31).

special and important reasons therefor. Penry has advanced no
special or important reason in this case, and none exists.
11.

THE TEXAS CAPITAL-SENTENCING STATUTE AS

APPLIED MEETS THE CONSTITUTIONAL REQUIREMENT

OF INDIVIDUALIZED SENTENCING WITHOUT THE

NECESSITY OF A SPECIAL INSTRUCTION ON MITI-

GATING EVIDENCE.

Penry contends that the special issues a jury must answer in
deciding punishment in a capital case are so narrowly drawn that,
absent a specific instruction on how to consider mitigating
evidence, the jury can be prevented from considering relevant
mitigating evidence and from engaging in the type of individual-
ized sentencing mandated by the Constitution. Because the trial
court in his case gave no such instruction, he argues that the
jury could have excluded relevant mitigating evidence from its
punishment deliberations so that his resulting death sentence was
unconstitutionally imposed.

A capital-sentencing statute must meet two requirements to
pass constitutional scrutiny. First, the statute must be struc-
tured so that the death penalty is not imposed in an arbitrary
and unpredictable fashion. Gregg v. Georgia, 428 U.S. 153, 189
(1976). It must provide “objective standards to guide, regular-
ize, and make rationally reviewable the process for imposing a
sentence of death." Woodson v. North Carolina, 428 U.S. 280, 303
(1976). Second, a capital-sentencing statute must provide for
individualized sentencing by allowing the defendant to present
evidence in mitigation of a sentence of death. Mandatory capital
punishment statutes have been struck down because of their "lack
of focus on the circumstances of the particular offense and the
character and propensities of the of fender, Roberts
(Stanislaus) v. Louisiana, 428 U.S. 325, 333 (1976); and sen-
tences under guided-discretion statutes have been vacated when
the sentencer was prevented from considering aspects of the

defendant’s character or record or the circumstances of the

offense. See Lockett v. Ohio, 438 U.S. 586 (1978).

The Texas statute was found to satisfy both requirements in
Jurek v. Texas, 428 U.S. 262 (1976). First, the offenses for
which the state may seek to impose the death penalty are limited
to intentional murders committed under strictly defined circum-
stances. Tex. Penal Code Ann. § 19.03 (Vernon Supp. 1988). Once
a defendant is found guilty of capital murder, a separate sen-
tencing hearing is conducted to determine whether the punishment
will be life imprisonment or death. Tex. Code Crim. Proc. Ann.
art. 37.071(b) (Vernon Supp. 1987). Finally, all convictions
that result in a sentence of death are automatically reviewed by
the Texas Court of Criminal Appeals. Id., art. 37.071(f). The
Texas statute was thus structured so as to prevent the sentencing
authority from imposing a sentence of death in an arbitrary and
unpredictable fashion. Jurek, 428 U.S. at 276. Penry does not
challenge the validity of this aspect of the statute.

This Court also found that the Texas procedure provides for
individualized sentencing. In Texas, after finding a defendant
guilty of capital murder, the jury is not directly asked whether
the punishment should be life imprisonment or death. Rather, the
following set of special issues is submitted:

(1) whether the conduct of the defendant that

caused the death of the deceased was commit-

ted deliberately and with the reasonable

expectation that the death of the deceased or

another would result;

(2) whether there is a probability that the

defendant would commit criminal acts of

violence that would constitute a continuing

threat to society; and

(3) if raised by the evidence, whether the

conduct of the defendant in killing the

deceased was unreasonable in response to the

provocation, if any, by the deceased.
Tex. Code Crim. Proc. Ann. art. 37.071(b). The jury must be
persuaded beyond a reasonable dot t before a question may be
answered affirmatively. If all of the issues submitted are
answered yes, the court sentences the defendant to death;
otherwise, the sentence is life imprisonment.

In Jurek the Court noted that the special issues do not

explicitly speak of mitigating circumstances. However, the Texas

Court of Criminal Appeals had interpreted the second question so
as to allow the defendant to present to the jury whatever miti-
gating evidence he might wish:
‘In determining the likelihood that the
defendant would be a continuing threat to
society, the jury could consider whether the
defendant had a significant criminal record.
It could consider the range and severity of
his prior criminal conduct. It could further
look at the age of the defendant and whether
or not at the time of the commission of the
offense he was acting under duress or under
the domination of another. It could also
consider whether the defendant was under an
extreme form of mental or emotional pressure,
something less, perhaps, than insanity, but

more than the emotions of the average man,
however inflamed, could withstand.’

Jurek, 428 U.S. at 272, quoting Jurek v. State, 522 S.W.2d 934,
939-40 (Tex.Crim.App. 1975). The Texas statute puts before the
jury “all possible relevant information about the individual
defendant whose fate it must decide." Jurek, 428 U.S. at 276.
In thus providing for individualized sentencing, Texas’ procedure
meets the requirements imposed by the Constitution.

Penry argues that the structure of the special issues might
convince jurors that they are unable to consider certain evi-
dence. He relies on certain statements in the opinion of the
court below similar to those expressed by three dissenting
members of the Texas Court of Criminal Appeals. In Stewart v.
State, 686 S.W.2d 118, 125-26 (Tex.Crim.App. 1984), Judge
Clinton, joined by Judges Teague and Miller, noted that evidence
of mental illness and childhood deprivation could be introduced
by the defendant as mitigating circumstances, but could also be
viewed as weighing in favor of a death sentence. The dissent
opined that the jury ought to be instructed by the trial court
that the evidence had to be ccnsidered as mitigating. See also
Johnson v. State, 691 S.W.2d 619, 627 (Tex.Crim.App. 1984)
(Clinton, J., dissenting).

The minority members of the Court of Criminal Appeals
themselves recognized, however, what this Court stated in Eddings
v. Oklahoma, 455 U.S. 104 (1982): that evidence of difficult
family history and of emotional disturbance is frequently

introduced by defendants in mitigation, and juries can easily
grasp its significance. Eddings, 455 U.S. at 115. Although the
sentencing authority cannot refuse to or be precluded from
considering certain evidence as mitigating, nothing in the
Constitution requires that it be considered only as mitigating.
This much is evident from the Court’s recognition in Enmund v.
Florida, 458 U.S. 782 (1982), that, while a vicarious felony
murderer may be executed in some states absent an intent to kil)
if sufficient aggravating factors are present, some of those same
states make it a mitigating factor that the defendant was an
accomplice to the murder and his own participation was relatively
minor. Enmund, 458 U.S. at 791-92. It also follows from the
requirement that the defendant be allowed to explain any evidence
the state introduces in favor of the death sentence. Gardner yv.
Florida, 430 U.S. 349, 362 (1977). Like any circumstantial
evidence, that introduced at the punishment phase of a capital
murder trial can be susceptible of more than one interpretation.
It is for the jury to determine the weight such evidence re-
ceives. See Eddings, 455 U.S. at 114-15 ("(t)jhe sentencer, and
the Court of Criminal Appeals on review, may determine the weight
to be given relevant mitigating evidence"); Barclay v. Florida,
463 U.S. 939, 961 n. 2 (1983) (Stevens, J., concurring) (neither
Lockett nor Eddings held that any particular weight must be given
by the sentencer to mitigating evidence); Zant v. Stevens, 462
U.S. 862, 891 (1983) (Constitution does not require states to
adopt specific standards for instructing jury how to consider
aggravating and mitigating circumstances).

The Constitution requires the sentencer to listen to the
defendant’s mitigating evidence but does not usurp the sen-
tencer’s role in assessing the value of that evidence. S in-
ilarly, the Texas statute allows the defendant to submit to the
jury whatever mitigating evidence he chooses to and requires the
jury to consider that evidence in deciding punishment, but leaves
to the jury the determination of what weight to give to it. See
Cordova v. State, 733 S.W.2d 175, 189 (Tex.Crim.App. 1987) (in

-12-

Texas, mitigating evidence is given effect by the influence it
has on the jury during deliberations).

Penry also argues that the state convicting court erred in
failing to define certain terms used in the special issues on
punishment. The Fifth Circuit has consistently recognized that
these words “are sufficiently common that their definition is not
required in a jury charge under the capital murder statute."
Milton v. Procunier, 744 F.2d 1091, 1095 (Sth Cir. 1984), cert.
denied. U. ss. 105 S.Ct. 2040 (1985). The court’s jury
instructions on the punishment issues were not objectionable
under Texas law or as a matter of federal constitutional law.
Certainly, the instructions were not so defective as to render
the punishment hearing as a whole fundamentally unfair. Cupp vy.
Naughten, 414 U.S. 141 (1973).

111.

EXECUTION OF A MENTALLY RETARDED PERSON DOES
NOT CONSTITUTE AN EIGHTH AMENDMENT VIOLATION.

Penry contends that his execution would violate the eighth
amendment proscription against cruel and unusual punishment
because he is mentally retarded. In support of his claim, he

argues that the Court’s decision in Ford v. Wainwright, U.S.
106 S.Ct. 2595 (1986), precludes the execution of "idiots

and lunatics." He asserts that execution of such persons offends
contemporary notions of decency, citing to the American Associa-
tion of Mental Deficiencies standards, a Florida survey and
Texas’ prohibition against the execution of persons who are under
the chronological age of 17 when they commit the offense.

The evidence that Penry has limited mental capacity is not
in dispute. As the district court found, psychological testing
conducted on Penry from the age of eight through his 1980 trial
places his IQ somewhere between 50-63, a range of moderage to
mild mental retardation, and supports the district court’s
characterization of Penry as having 'the mind of a six or seven-
year-old child and the social maturity of an eight to ten-year-
old child (B. 4). Notwithstanding the evidence of Penry’s

limited mental capacity, the district court denied habeas relief,
reasoning primarily that “the (Constitution) does not proscribe
{a death) sentence for the mentally deficient” and "the prohibi-
tion against execution of those unable to understand the reason
for their punishment apparently does not apply to a person like
Penry who has been adjudicated a competent man" (B. 5). The
court below affirmed on the basis of well settled law of that
circuit (A. 3).

The district court correctly found that prior totrial a
comprehensive, separate competency hearing was held in state
court (SF V-VII), and it presumed correct the jury’s finding that
Penry had sufficient present ability to consult with his lawyers
with a rational degree of understanding and had a rational as
well as factual understanding of the proceedings against him, or
in other words, that he met the Texas standard for competence to
stand trial. Tex. Code Crim. Proc. Ann. art. 46.02 §l1(a) (Vernon
1981) (ROA 14; SF VII 944). See 28 U.S.C. § 2254(d); Maggio vy.
Fulford, 462 U.S. 111, 117 (1983). In addition, Penry raised an
insanity defense at the guilt phase of his trial (SF XVI
2114-2321; XVII 2398-2422), and offered evidence of his dimin-
ished mental capacity to the jury for its consideration in the
sentencing proceeding (SF XVII 2642-55). Both his guilt and
punishment defenses were rejected by the trial jury, thus con-
firming the jury’s belief that Penry knew right from wrong, was
capable of conforming his conduct to the requirements of the law,
committed the capital murder deliberately and with reasonable
expectation of his victim’s death, and constituted a future
threat to society. Tex. Penal Code Ann. art. 8.01 (Vernon 1974);
Tex. Code Crim. Proc. Ann. art. 37.071 (Vernon Supp. 1987).

Penry’s sole challenge is to the legal conclusion of the
courts below that a defendant who has been adjudged competent at
his trial does not qualify as an idiot“ under Ford. In fact,
Ford itself does not support Penry’s position. while the plural-
ity opinion of four justices deferred developing standards for

the enforcement of the constitutional restriction o the state’s

execution of its sentences, Ford vy. Wainwright, __—«»«U.S. te
106 S.Ct. at 2606, the pivotal concurring opinion of Justice
Powell states a “precise formula for determining what process is
due." Johnson v. Cabana, 818 F.2d 333, 337 (Sth Cir.), cert.
denied, ___—*U.S. __, 107 S.Ct. 2207 (1987). As Johnson recog-
nizes, Ford precludes the execution of a defendant who is unable
„to perceive the connection between his crime and punishment."
Id. at 336. Or in Justice Powell’s terms: “the Eighth Amendment
forbids the execution only of those who are unaware of the
punishment they are about to suffer and why they are to suffer
it." . s. at 106 &.Ct. at 2608-09.

Both the state courts and the federal habeas courts below
found as a factual matter that Penry does not meet this standard.
Thus, his argument is based on nothing more than disagreement
with these factual findings, a matter clearly insufficient to
warrant exercise of the cCourt’s certiorari jurisdiction. The
record clearly reveals that the courts below applied the correct
constitutional standard in rejecting Penry’s claim. The issues
raised by Penry concern only the application of well-settled
constitutional principles to his particular factual situation.
This Court sits to decide important, novel or recurring ques-
tions, not to review evidentiary determinations founded on
settled principles of law. Penry’s claims do not justify the
exercise of this cCourt’s certiorari jurisdiction. Tacon vy.
Arizona, 410 U.S. 351, 352 (1973); Graver Mfg. Co. v. Linde Co.,
336 U.S. 271, 275 (1949).

IV.
PENRY’S CLAIM THAT HIS CONFESSIONS WERE
INVOLUNTARY BECAUSE HE DID NOT KNOWINGLY
RELINQUISH HIS RIGHT TO REMAIN SILENT IS
MERITLESS IN LIGHT OF THE FACTUAL FINDINGS OF
THE STATE COURTS.

Penry contends that both of his confessions should have been
suppressed because they were made without a knowing relinquish-

ment of his privilege against self-incrimination. The proper

standard of review for determining waiver was recently discussed

by this Court in Moran vy. Burbine, _._«s-—s«w«-S._ se,» 106 s. ct.
1135, 1141 (1986):

Echoing the standard first articulated in
„ 304 U.S. 458, 464, 58
S.Ct. 1019, 1023, 82 L.Ed. 1461 (1938),
holds that "“(tjhe defendants say
waive effectuation" of the rights conveyed in
the warnings “provided the waiver is made
voluntarily, knowingly and intelligently.*
384 U.S. at 444, 475, 85 S.Ct. at 1612, 1628.
The inquiry has two distinct dimensions.
„ Supra, 451 U.S. at 482,
101 S.Ct. at 1883; Brewer vy. Williams, 430
U.S. 387, 404, 97 s. ct. 1232, 1242, 51
L. Ed. 2d 424 (1977). First, the relinquish-
ment of the right must have been voluntary in
the sense that it was product of a free and
deliberate choice rather than intimidation,
coercion or deception. Second, the waiver
must have been made with a full awareness
both of the nature of the right being aban-
doned and the consequences of the decision to
abandon it. Only if the “totality of the
circumstances surrounding the interrogation"
reveal both an uncoerced choice and the
requisite level of comprehension may a court
properly conclude that the Miranda rights
have been waived.

The issue of voluntariness of a confession and waiver is a iegal
question requiring independent federal determination. Miller v.
Enten. U.s.

factual determinations subsidiary to the determination are

. —_» 106 §.Ct. 445, 450 (1986). The
entitled to a presumption of correctness under 28 U.s.c.
225400) Jd.

The first aspect of the test set forth in Burbine is that
“the relinquishment must have been voluntary in the sense that it
was the product of a free and deliberate choice rather than
intimidation, coercion or deception.” The trial court found that
“from all the evidence that the Defendant was not induced or
coerced by any person to give or make such written statement/s’
by threats, persuasion, compulsion, intimidation, promises,
unlawful detention, or anything else." (Tr. 94-95). The record
evidence reflects more than fair support for the trial court’s
findings. The law enforcement authorities involved in the
investigation and the witnesses to the signing each testified
that no such inducements were given (SF IV 147, 217-18, 230-31,

243; XIV 1722, 1834; XV 1881, 1891, 1981, 2046). Penry testified
at the competency hearing that there was no coercion or induce-
ments (SF VI 533), and that he told the officers what to write

(SF VI 543, 546-48). Until Penry admitted to having committed

the crime, he was unrestrained and accompanied the officers of
his own volition (SF IV 140-41, 144, 150-52, 156, 163, 175-78;
XIV 1576, 1587-88, 1624-27, 1659).

It is undisputed that Penry initiated the conversation
resulting in his first admission, over Officer Nelson’s admoni-
tion to be quiet (SF IV 154; XIV 1608-10, 1618). See Moran x.
Burbine, ___ U.S. at 106 S.Ct. at 1141. When Penry made the
oral statement confessing to the crime in the magistrate’s
courtroom it was in response to his father’s questioning, not the
law enforcement authorities (SF IV 184, 205-07; XIV 1845). Penry
never invoked any of his rights. Further, the words in the
confessions were Penry’s, as he himself testified (SF VI 543).
Any subtle coercion which might be present in police interroga-
tion was simply absent here.

The second aspect of the test is the “awareness of the right
being abandoned and the consequence of the decision to abandon
it." The record does reflect, as Penry contends, that Penry is
of low intellect and that his 10 falls in the mild-moderate
mental retardation range. However, each of the persons who came
in contact with Penry testified that at no time did he act in an
emotional, bizarre or crazy manner; that he appeared to under
stand questions asked and responded in a rational manner; that
they were able to understand and communicate with Penry; that
Penry stated that he understood his rights; that he freely gave
detailed information; and, that he had no trouble with recall (SF
IV 157, 170, 189-90, 205, 226; XIV 1628, 1632-36, 1653, 1659,
1675, 1807-09, 1833, 1849, 1855; XV 1881, 1890, 1980, 1982-83,
1990-91, 1997, 2015, 2018, 2046).

The officers were aware that Penry was illiterate and
recognized that he was a “little slow." His Miranda rights were
not only read off the standard issued card, but explained

individually to him in simple terms numerous times prior to and
during the giving of the statements (SF IV 165-67, 168-69, 183,
185, 190, 196, 203, 212, 223-26; VII 826-28; XV 1995, 2020, 1982,
1984-85). Penry’s father, who certainly would be aware of his
intellectual limitations, told Penry in the magistrate’s court-
room not to sign the acknowledgement of rights form given to him
by the magistrate. The magistrate informed the father that the
rights had been read and that Penry said he understood. to this
the father responded that Penry “can’t write" and he then admin-
istered the warnings (SF IV 184, 205-07; XIV 1845). Finally,
Penry stated he understood he was charged with capital murder and
the consequences of those charges (SF VI 487, 490; VII 782, 785,
850). Psychiatric testimony indicated Penry had the capacity to
understand Miranda warnings. The statements were read to Penry
before signing in their entirety, including the warnings and
waivers, slowly and carefully because Penry could not read (SF IV
390-92, 216-17, 228-30, 241-42). Express statements of waiver
are contained in both.

The evidence underlying the state and federal courts’
conclusions is not disputed in Penry’s petition to this Court.
His claim rests entirely on his assertion that “capital murder
was (njever explained to him in terms he could understand and
that he was [never] cautioned that signing the statement(s) could
be used to give him the death penalty.” (Petition at 20). This
claim, however, is foreclosed by the Court’s recent decision in
Colorado v. Spring, __—-U-S. =, 107 s. ct. 851 (1987), wherein
the Court rejected the proposition that the Constitution requires
that a criminal suspect know and understand every possible
consequence of a waiver of the fifth amendment privilege.

The totality of the circumstances reflect a non-coercive
situation and express waivers of Penry’s Miranda rights. While
an express waiver “is not inevitably either necessary or suffi-
cient to establish waiver,” it is “usually strong proof of the
validity of the waiver." North Carolina v. Butler, 441 U.S. 370,
373 (1979). This, coupled with the absence of deliberate means

calculated to break Penry’s will, his desire to confess, the
repeated and individualized administration of warnings, the
explanation of rights in simple terms, and an ability on Penry’s
part to understand the proceedings and nature of his crime and
the effect of confessing is more than sufficient to support the
conclusion of the courts below that Penry knowingly relinquished
his privilege against self-incrimination. Penry again asks the
Court to review factual matters resolved against him by the
courts below. To do so would be an unwarranted exercise of the
Court’s certiorari jurisdiction.
CONCLUSION

For these reasons, the state respectfully requests that the

petition for writ of certiorari be denied.
Respectfully submitted,

JIM MATTOX
Attorney General of Texas

MARY F. KELLER
First Assistant
Attorney General

LOU McCREARY
Executive Assistant
Attorney Generat—

MICHAEL P. HODGE
Assistant Attorney General
Chigf, Enforcement Div n

Assistant Attorney Genera)

P.O. Box 12548, Capitol Station
Austin, Texas 78711
(512) 463-2080

ATTORNEYS FOR RESPONDENT

87-6177

NO.

phat ad LT

JOHNNY PAUL PENRY, IN THE

PETITIONER
. SUPREME COURT

JAMES A. LYNAUGH,
RESPONDENT

a a a a a em

OF THE UNITED STATES
MOTION FOR LEAVE TO PROCEED AS A PAUPER ON PETITION

4

Johnny Paul Penry, moves this court for leave to proceed as a pauper on
Petition for Writ of Certiorari to the United States Court of Appea's for the
Fifth Circuit. Attached to this motion is Petitioner's Affidavit in Support
of Motion to Proceed in Forma Pauperis on Petition for Writ of Certioreri.
Leave to proceed in forma pauperis was sought and granted in the trial court,
Texas Court of Criminal Appeals, the United States District Court, Eastern
District of Texas, Lufkin Division and in the United States Court of Appeals
for the Fifth Circuit.

Attached to this Motion is Petitioner's Petition for Writ of Certiorari

to the United States Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit.

Qs 0. ew
Curtis C. Mason

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

1, Curtis C. Mason, Attorney for Respondent, do hereby certify that «
true and correct copy of the above and foregoirg Motion for Leave to Proceed
as 4 Pauper on Petition for Writ of Certiorari, has been forwarded by United
States Mail, postage prepaid, first class, to the Attorney General of Texas,

p. O. Box 12548, Austin, Texas 78711 on this the Boeday of Dac amsar
1987.

Curtis C. Mason
Attorney for Respondent

—

RECEIVED

Al. 4 1988

| Orrise OF THE CLERK
= COURT, US.

——

JOHNNY PAUL PENRY, § IN THE
PETITIONER ;
* § SUPREME COURT
§
JAMES A. LYNAUGH, §
RESPONDENT § OF THE UNITED STATES

AFFIDAVIT IN TS ON OF MOTION FORK RIT 0 t pfl
IN

I, JOHNNY PAUL PENRY, being first duly sworn, depose and Say that I am
the Petitioner in the above styled cause; in support of my motion to proceed
without being required to prepay fees, costs or give security therefore, |
State that because of my poverty I am unable to pay the costs of said
proceedings or give security therefore, and that I believe I am entitled to
redress.

I further swear that the responses which I have made to the questions and
instructions below relating to my ability to Pay the cost of prosecuting the
petition for writ of certiorari are true.

1. Are you presently employed?

No.

2. Have you received within the past twelve months any income from a
business, profession or other form of self-employment, or in the form of
rent payments, interest, dividends, or other source?

No.

3. do you have any cash or checking or Savings account?

No.

+. DO you own any real estate, stocks, bonds, notes, automobiles, or other
valuable property?

No.

5. List the persons who are dependant upon you for support and state your
relationship to these persons.

None.
I understand that a false statement or answer to any questions in this

affidavit will subject me to penalties for perjury.

X tology f fensy

SUBSCRIBED AND SWORN TO before me on this the DS” day of December,

My commission expires on:

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385012_1471%3A03. Public record. Not legal advice.
