# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — John Edmund Patterson v. United States

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385012_1464%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1988
- **Citation:** 485 U.S. 922

## Text

65
87-5722

NO. »

IN THE SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

OCTOBER TERM, 1987

JOHN EDMUND PATTERSON,
PETITIONER,

- vs —

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,
RESPONDENT.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO
THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

JUDY CLARKE
— Defenders of San Diego, Inc.
101 W. Broadway, Suite 440

San Diego, California 92101-8297
Telephone (619) 234-8467

Attorneys for Petitioner

Supreme Court US
FILED

art 19 wer

JOSEPH F SPANIO’. UR.
CLERK

QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

1. Whether evidence seized pursuant to 4 search warrant
should be suppressed where the affidavit in support of the search
warrant was predicated upon statements made without Miranda
warnings and which the district court ruled were “inadmissible”

since “they (were) fruits of prior coerced statements"?

2. Whether the use of non-Miranda-ized statements to
support probable cause to issue a search warrant violates due

process of law and the Sixth Amendment right to counsel?

3. Whether the sentence in Mexico for the importation or
introduction of counterfeit notes and the circulation of those
notes in Mexico prohibits prosecution for the manufacture of
counterfeit notes in the United States under Title 18, United

States Code, section 4111?

— Prefix -

IN THE SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES
OCTOBER TERM, 1987

JOHN EDMUND PATTERSON,
PETITIONER,

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,
RESPONDENT.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

The Petitioner, John Edmund Patterson, respectfully
prays that a writ of certiorari issue to review the judgment of
the United States Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit entered
on March 16, 1987.

QPINION BELOW

On March 16, 1987, the Court of Appeals entered its
opinion affirming the convictions of Petitioner for conspiracy to
falsely make counterfeit federal reserve notes and counterfeiting
plates and for making counterfeit federal reserve notes in
violation of 18 U.S.C. §§371, 471 and 474. On August 20, 1987,
the Court of Appeals entered an Order denying the Petition for
Rehearing. A copy of the March 16, 1987 opinion,.which is
reported at 812 F.2d 1188 (9th Cir. 1987), is attached hereto as
Appendix "A". A copy of the August 20, 1987 Order denying
Petition for Rehearing is attached as Appendix 8 1

JURISDICTION

On March 16, 1987, the Court of Appeals entered
judgment affirming the convictions of Petitioner for conspiracy
to falsely make counterfeit federal reserve notes and

1 No other petitioner is involved in this petition.

—

counterfeiting plates and for making counterfeit federal reserve
notes in violation of 18 U.S.C. §§ 371, 471, and 474 (App. A.
On August 20, 1987, an Order was entered denying the Petition for
Rehearing (App. "B"). The jurisdiction of this Court is invoked
under 28 U.S.C. 5 1254(1).
CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY PROVISIONS INVOLVED

United States Constitution, Amendment V:

No person shall! . be compelled in any

criminal case to be a witness against

himself, nor be deprived of life, liberty, or

property, without due process of law; .

United States Constitution, Amendment VI:

In all criminal prosecutions, the accused

shall .. . have the assistance of counsel

for his defense.

Title 18, United States Code, § 4111:

An offender transferred to the United States

shall not be detained, prosecuted, tried, or

sentenced by the United States, or any State

thereof for any offense the prosecution of

which would have been barred if the sentence

upon which the transfer was based had been by

a court of the jurisdiction, seeking to

prosecute the transferred offender...

STATEMENT OF THE FACTS

Petitioner and the United States stipulated to the
facts in the district court. The court below summarized those
facts as:

“Patterson and three others were arrested in Tijuana,
Mexico, on December 16, 1983, in connection with an attempt by
Patterson to pass a counterfeit twenty dollar bill at a local
store. Patterson was taken to the Federal Police Station in
Tijuana. When he refused to make any incriminating statements,
he was bound and beaten by the Mexican police. Patterson was hit
on his back, sides, stomach, face and testicles. After forty-
five minutes to an hour of intermittent beating, Patterson
involuntarily confessed his role in a counterfeiting scheme.
(App. "A" at Pp. 4-5)

“The Mexican police then contacted United States Secret
Service Agent Steven Davis. Approximately three hours later,

Agent Davis interviewed Patterson, who was still in the custody

of the Mexican authorities. Davis did not advise Patterson of
his Miranda rights because (1) he was unaware that he was
required to do so in a foreign country and (2) he knew Patterson
was being prosecuted by the Mexican aufhorities and he was
interested in collecting evidence about Patterson's co-
conspirators in the United States. (App. “A” at p. 5)

»In the presence of the Mexican Federal Police,
Patterson voluntarily provided Davis with a detailed account of
the counterfeiting operation. Agent Davis was unaware that
Patterson had been beaten. (App. "A" at p. 5)

In the early morning of December 17, 1983, Agent Davis
applied for a search warrant for the printing shop in San Diego
identified by Patterson as the location of the counterfeiting
operation. Davis summarized Patterson's statement in an
aff falt in support of the warrant. The warrant was granted by
@ magistrate. (App. "A" at p. 5)

"At 6:00 a.m. on the same day Davis and several other
Secret Service agents established surveillance at the front of
‘he printing shop. Another agent pretended to be a friend of
Patterson. He contacted one of Patterson's co-conspirators who
was present at the shop. After s lengthy conversation, the
undercover agent signaled the other agents who then arrested the
co-conspirator. The printing shop was searched pursuant to the
warrant in question. The search yielded approximately $1,500,000
in counterfeit bills as well as counterfeiting equipment. (App.
"A" at p. 5)

"Patterson was tried and convicted in Mexico on
April 30, 1984 for introducing and circulating counterfeit bills
within Mexico. Pursuant to a treaty, he was voluntarily
transferred to the United States to serve his sentence. ([App.
"A" at p. 6)

“Following Patterson's conviction in the Mexican court,
the United States government brought charges against hin,
pursuant to a seven-count federal grand jury indictment, for
violating United States counterfeiting laws. On May 6, 1985,

Patterson moved (1) to dismiss the indictment on double jeopardy
grounds under 18 U.S.C. § 4111, (2) to suppress the incriminating
statements made to Mexican police and united States Secret
Service Agent Davis, and (3) to suppress all physical evidence
seized at the printing shop. The government agreed to dismiss
four of the seven counts and it agreed not to use Patterson's
statements in its case in chief. (App. "A" at p. 6)

"The district court denied Patterson's got ion to
Gismiss the remaining three counts and the motion to suppress
physical evidence but suppressed Patterson's statements, ruling
that they could not be used even for impeachment purposes
(App. * at p. 6)

The court below acknowledged that the appeal of
Petitioner presented several issues of first impression, stating:

“We must consider whether the counterfeiting charges
against Patterson should have been dismissed pursuant to 18
U.S.C. § 4111 because he had elready been prosecuted in Mexico on
the same charges and whether Patterson's unwarned voluntary ?
statements to Agent Davis could properly be used in an affidavit
in support of 4 search warrant. The latter issue requires us to
consicer (1) whether the statements were the fruit of the prior
coerced statements, (2) whether Miranda applies to statements
used in an affidavit for a search warrant, and (3) whether the
*good- faith’ exception to the exclusionary rule applies if the
statements should not have been used in the affidavit.” (App.
"A" at pp. 6-7)

2 Although the opinion of the court below depicts
Petitioner as having "voluntarily" ided Davis with a
counterfei operation, the district

i

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

1. The decision of the court below conflicts with the
principles enunciated by this Court in Wong Sun v. United States,
2210.8. 47) (1963); Brown v. Illinois, 422 U.S. 590 (1975); ang
Edwards v. Arizona, 45) U.S. 477 (1981).

The court below declined to re-examine the
voluntariness of Petitioner's statements to Secret Service Agent
Davis because the Petitioner had stipulated in the district court
that said statements to Agent Davis were voluntary. [App. "A" at
p. 11) However, the district court found that the statements to
Agent Davis were “involuntary” and “inadmissible” since “they are
fruits of prior coerced statements." (C.R. 122 at p. 12)

Consequently, the opinion below that “the fact that
Patterson's statements to Agent Davis followed earlier coerced
statements does not preclude the use of Patterson's statement in
an affidavit for a search warrant” ignores the tests set forth in
Wong Sup and Brown vy. Jilinois. Were, the district court had in
fact found that the statements to Agent Davis not only did not
meet the Fifth Amendment standard of voluntariness but also that
said statements were not an act of free will sufficient to purge
the primary taint. See Brown vy. Illinois, 422 U.S. 590 at 602
(1975).

The record affirmatively reflects that Secret Service
Agent Davis did not advise Petitioner of his Miranda rights,
which this Court said “declared that an accused has a Fifth and
Fourteenth Amendment right to have counsel present during
custodial interrogation." Edwards v. Arizona, 451 U.S. at 482.
The failure of Agent Davis to advise Petitioner of his rights
under Miranda prior to conducting his custodial interrogation
must be deemed a denial of procedural due process and the right
to counsel and therefore constitutional violations which invoke

Wong Sun's “fruit of the poisonous tree." Certainly, there can
be no “intelligent” and “knowing” waiver of the Sixth Amendment
right to counsel where, as here, the Secret Service Agent failed

to inform Petitioner of that right.’ As this Court said in
Edwards v. Arizona, 451 U.S. 477, 482 (1981):
It is reasonably clear under our cases

that waivers of counsel must not only be

voluntary, but sust also constitute a

knowing and intelligent relingquishment or

abandonment of a known right or privilege, a

matter which depends in each case “upon the

particular facts and circumstances

surrounding that case, including the

background, experience, and conduct of the

accused.
(Citing Johngon vy. Zerbst, 304 U.S. 458, 464 (1938).) The use of
statements found by the district court to have been
“involuntary” and “inadmissible” must be deemed a constitutional
violation which prohibits the use of those statements in an
affidavit to obtain a search warrant. The opinion below does not
address these constitutional violations. As a result, this case
Goes not fall within the Court of Appeals’ reading of Oregon vy.
Elstad, 470 U.S. 298, 308 (1985), that the “fruit of the
poisonous tree“ principle only applies where there are
constitutional violations. [See App. “A” at p. 12

Assuming arguendo that there was no “constitutional”
violation but only a violation of the “prophylactic standards” of
Miranda, as the decision of the court below points out, this
Court “has not decided whether statements taken in violation of
Miranda may be used in an affidavit for a search warrant to
establish probable cause." (App. “A” at p. 12) In Massachusetts
v. White, 439 U.S. 280 (1978), this Court addressed the use of
non-Miranda-ized statements to support probable cause. There a
four-four Court affirmed the decision of the state court which
had refused to allow the use of statements taken in violation of
Miranda to provide the basis for a search warrant. This Court
could have resolved New York v. Quarles, 467 U.S. 649 (1964), on
the basis that the nontestimonial fruits of a Miranda violation

are admissible, see concurring opinion of Justice O'Connor, 467

tue instant case is unlike Schneckloth x. Bustamonte
412 U.S. 218 (1973), where this Court found it unnecessary to
provide the Miranda warnings prior to seeking consent to search.
Here, the court below did not address the question as to whether

Petitioner had knowingly and intelligently relinquished his
right to counsel.

U.S. at 660, but did not take this far-reaching step. The Court
chose instead to create the “public safety” exception to Miranda.
The issue of nontestimonial fruits ae Miranda violation was
likewise not resolved by Michigan vy. Tucker, 417 U.S. 433 (1974).
In using the "fruits" of the Miranda violation, the government
invoked the power and assistance of the court without disclosing
thet it had violated the law, namely, that Agent Davis had
obtained the statements from Petitioner without having provided
him with his warnings under Miranda v. Arizona, 384 U.S. 436
(1965). The United States Magistrate who issued the search
warrant was unaware of the Miranda violation and could have

refused issuance of the warrant had he been so informed.

application of 18 U.S.C. § 4,1).

The opinion of the court below acknowledges that
Petitioner “was tried and convicted in Mexico on April 30, 1984,
for introducing and circulating counterfeit bills within Mexico."
(App. “A" at p. 6) However, the opinion fails to consider that
proof of introducing counterfeit bills within Mexico necessarily
includes that the counterfeit bills were imported into Mexico and
not manufactured within Mexico and that the Petitioner was
sentenced based upon all of the actions.

Here, also, the district court found that Petitioner
received punishment in Mexico for both importing and circulating
counterfeit notes C. R. 122 at p. 4). Receiving punishment is
tantamount to the language resorted to by Congress in enacting 18
U.S.C. § 4111, “had he been sentenced by the court of the
jurisdiction seeking to prosecute hin."

In its enactment of section 4111 Congress used the term
“sentence” and not “offense” as the foundation for precluding

prosecution of an offender transferred to the United States. The

Court of Appeals looked to the legislative history rather than
construing the plain language of the statute in restricting the
jeopardy analysis to the offenses ebend. Lapp. "A" at p. 8)
Congress must be deemed to have intended to preclude prosecution
of an “offender” transferred to the United States where such
prosecution was within the ambit of the “sentence” of the fore ien
jurisdiction.

The “FINDINGS OF FACT" of the Mexican Court upon which
that court imposed its sentence unequivocally reflects:

That the one and one-half million dollars in
counterfeit twenty dollar bills (upon which Count Three is
predicated) had been printed on December 15, 1983, at Quality
Printing located on 30th Street of EI Cajon Boulevard in San
Diego, California lc. R. 108, at pp. 4, 7, 8); and

That thirteen photographs of Quality Printing and tne
different processing machinery located there depic’ the place
where defendant and two others printed and produced the N
counterfeit bills by the use of said items then introduced
counterfeit into Mexico to obtain benefits in a way that would
undermine the Treasury Department of the United States. [C.R.
108, at p. 11)

The criminal action instituted against Petitioner in
Mexico, as stated by the Mexican Court, encompassed: “the crime
of circulating counterfeit bank bills and the introduction of
these into the Mexican Republic, as provided and sanctioned by
Article 238, Subsection IV, second paragraph of the Federal Penal
Code.” le. R. 108, at p. 3]

Consequently, the record reflects that Petitioner was
sentenced and punished for a crime in the Mexican Court which had
various elements included in it, namely, the manufacture of
counterfeit bills outside Mexico and the introduction or
importation of those bills into Mexico. As this Court said in Ex
parte Nielsen, 131 U.S. 176 (1889):

here, „ person has been tried and

convicted for a crime which has various

incidents included in it, he cannot be a
second time tried for one of those incidents

without being twice put in jeopardy for the
same offense.

131 U.S. 176 at 188-89. ™
Here, the crime of importing or introducing counterfeit
bills into Mexico included the “various incidents" of
manufacture of those counterfeit bills ovtside Mexico. The
section 4111 language of Congress as to “sentence” clearly
encompasses the manufacture of those bills within the Southern
District of California and prohibited the trial of Petitioner in

that court for that manufacture.

CONCLUSION
For the foregoing reasons, Petitioner prays that «4 writ
ot certiorari issue to review the judgment of the United States
Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit.
Respectfully submitted,

Dated: October 19, 1987 N 22

Federal Defengers of San Diego, Inc.
101 West ay, Suite 440

San Diego, California 92101-8297
Telephone: (619) 234-8467

Attorneys for Petitioner

2 „ RECEIVED
sl MAR 18 1887 7 ® )
es
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS“ 2 — —
FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT ——— — Davis. Approni-

TT ~ A dant, who was still in the custody of the Mexican authorities
: , Unrreo Srerts OF AMERICA, Davis did not advise defendant of bis Miranda nghts.
Ce: 8 Norns Appellee. No 86-5068 ; —
1 D.C. No.

pce: De 4 c 84.00141-JL1-01

on ~ ny Jonn EDMUND PaTTEeRson, OPINION
30 ve ee

L@te.ud

; Argued and Submitted

November 7, | 986— Pasadena, oe
Filed March 16, 1987

Before James R Browning, Chief Judge.
Alfred I Goodwin and Jerome Farris, Circuit Judges

Opinion by Judge Farns
Appeal from the United States Distnct Court

for the Southern Distnct of Calforma
J Lawrence Irving, District Judge, Presiding

SUMMARY

CH Procedure
Appeal from conviction Affirmed.

Defendant Patterson was arrested in Mexico in connection
with an attempt by defendant to pass a counterfeil twenty
dollar bill at a store Defendant was taken to the police station
in Tyuana After forty-five minutes to an hour of intermittent
beating. defendant involuntarily confessed his role in a coun-

2 — 3
APPENDIX A“

— ——ů——

2202
te.

*
9
ec

1 |

2
2

*
0
5
0
*
ct
>
4

Cc 1
9

4 3

Uwrrep Stents» Parrerson 3

seized pursuant to the search warrant should have been sup
pressed, because the affidavit in support of the search warrant
was based on unwarned statements that followed coerced
statements This court has not yet decided an appeal involv-
ing a statement elicited after a bor involuntary statement
and later used in an affidavit for a search warrant [S| How-
ever. this court need not re-examine the voluntanness of
defendant's second statement to Agent Davis because defen-
dant stipulated that his statement to Davis was voluntary
Therefore, the fact that defendant's statements to Davis fol.
lowed earlier coerced statements does not preclude the use of
defendant's statement in an afhdavit for a search warrant

Je All evidence concerning defendant is not fruit of the
poisonous tree simply because it would not have come to hight
but for the reprehensible actions of the police in Mexico.
Agent Davis did not exploit the brutai beating of defendant
which led to defendant's first statement He did not know
about the beating Davis's questions elicited voluntary
responses in a manner which purged the pnmary taint so that
the responses could be used in an affidavit to support a search
warrem. ' The Supreme Court has not decided whether
statements taken in violation of Miranda may be used in an
affidavit for a search warrant to establish probable cause This

lish probable cause [8] Since defendant's statements could
properly be used to obtain the search warrant, this court need
not decide the applicability of the good faith exception.

COUNSEL

Judy Clarke, San Diego, California, for the defendant-
appellant

1
72

a?

94205
92020

fo 44

*

0
[CU

.

a Unrrep States v. Patrerson
Patrick O'Toole, San Diego, California, for the plaintiff-
appellee
OPINION
FARRIS, Circuit Judge:

John Edmund Patterson appeals his conviction of one
count of conspiring to make counterfeiting plates and coun-
ierſen twenty dollar federal reserve notes, in violation of 18
U.S.C. §§ 371, 471, and 474 (1982), and of one count of coun-
terfeiting federal reserve notes as proscribed by 18 USC.
§ 471. The conviction followed a conditional guilty plea pur
suant to Fed R Crim. F | (a2). Patterson was sentenced to
two years of probation.

Patterson argues (|) that the counterfeiting charges against
him should have been dismissed pursuant to 18 U.S.C. § 4111
(1982) because he had already been prosecuted in Mexico on
the same charges and (2) that evidence seized pursuant to a
search warrant should have been suppressed because the afh-
davit in support of the warrant was based on unwarned state
ments that followed coerced statements We affirm

I. BACKGROUND
A. Facts

The parties stipulated the facts The stipulation can be
summanzed as follows.

Patterson and three others were arrested in Tijuana Mex-
ico, on December 16, 1983, in connection with an attempt by
Patterson to pass a counterfeit twenty dollar bill at a local
store. Patterson was taken to the Federal Police Station in
Tyuana When he refused to make any incriminating state

1 J

Unrrep Sta Tes v. Parrerson 5

ments, he was bound and beaten by the Mexican police Pat-
terson was hit on his back sides, stomach, face, and testicles
After forty-five minutes to an hour of imtermittent beating.
Patterson involuntarily confessed his role in a counterfeiting
scheme

The Mexican police then contacted United States Secret
Service Agent Steven Davis. Approximately three hours later.
Agent Davis interviewed Patterson, who was still in the cus-
tody of the Mexican authorities. Davis did not advise Patier-
son of his Miranda rights because (I) he was unaware that he
was req red to do so in a foreign country and (2) he knew
Patterson was being prosecuted by the Mexican authorities
and he was interested in collecting evidence about Patterson's
co-conspirators in the United States.

In the presence of the Mexican Federal Police, Patterson
voluntarily provided Davis with a detailed account of the
counterfeiting operation Agent Davis was unaware that Pat-
terson had been beaten

In the early morning of December 17, 1983, Agent Davis
applied for a search warrant for the printing shop in San
Diego identified by Patterson as the location of counterfeiting
operation Davis summanzed Patterson's statement in an
affidavit in support of the warrant. The warrant was granted
by a magistrate

At 8:00 a.m. on the same day Davis and several other
Secret Service agents established surveillance at the front of
the printing shop Another agent pretended to be a fnend of
Patterson — deg he ed —¾4
who was at the shop. a lengthy conversation,
pr Sn rn the other agents who then arrested
to the warrant in question The search yielded approximately
31.500.000 in counterfeit bills as well as counterfeiting equip
ment

6 Unrrep stens Parrenson

B. Proceedings

Patterson was tried and convicted in Mexico on April 30,
1984, for introducing and circulating counterfeit bills within

Mexico. Pursuant to a treaty, he was voluntarily transferred
to the United States to serve his sentence.

Following Patterson's conviction in the Mexican court, the
United States government brought charges against him, pur-
suant to a seven count Federal Grant Jury indictment, for
violating United States counterfeiting laws. On May 6, 1985,
Patterson moved (1) to dismiss the indictment on double
jeopardy grounds under 18 U.S.C. § 4111, (2) to suppress the
incnminating statements made to the Mexican police and
United States Secret Service Agent Davis, and (3) to suppress
all physical evidence seized at the printing shop. The govern-
ment agreed to dismiss four of the seven counts and it agreed
not to use Patterson's statements in its case in chief

The district court denied Patterson motion to dismiss the
remaining three counts and the motion to suppress physica!
evidence but suppressed Patterson's statements, ruling that
they could not be used even for impeachment purposes Pat-
terson then pied guilty to one count of conspiring to make
counterfeiting plates and twenty dollar federal reserve notes,
in violation of 18 U.S.C. §§ 371, 471, and 474; and to one
count of counterfeiting federal reserve notes as proscribed by
18 U.S.C. § 471. The third count was dismissed.

Patterson's appeal involves several issues of first impres-
sion. We must consider whether the counterfeiting charges
against Patterson should have been dismissed pursuant to 18
U.S.C. 4111 because he had already been prosecuted in Mex-
ico on the same charges and whether Patterson's unwarned
voluntary statements to Agent Davis could properly be used
in an affidavit in support of a search warrant. The latter issue

Unrrep States v PATTERSON 7

requires us to consider (1) whether the statements were the
fruit of the prior coerced statements, (2) whether Miranda
applies to statements used in an affidavit for a search warrant,
and (3) whether the “good-faith” exception to the exclusion-
ary rule applies if the statements should not have been used
in the affidavit.

Ill. DISCUSSION
A. Application of Section 411!

III Patterson contends that the wording of § 4111 implies
broader double jeopardy protection than that defined in exist-
ing case law. He further contends that this broad protection
prohibits his prosecution in the United States because he was
already prosecuted for the same offense in Mexico. We review
this question of law de novo. See United States v. Launder.
743 F.2d 686, 688-89 (9th Cir. 1984)

Section 4111 provides in part:

An offender transferred to the United States shal!
not be... prosecuted . dy the United States . . for
any offense the prosecution of which would have
been barred if the sentence upon which the transfer
was based had been by a court of the jurisdiction
seeking to prosecute the transferred offender. .. .

The statute defines “offender” as “a person who has been con-
victed of an offense... .” 18 U.S.C. § 4101(e). lt defines sen-
tence as “not only the penalty imposed but also the judgment
of conviction. ...” 18 U.S.C. § 4101(h). ©

The statute requires us to hypothesize that the first sen-
tence was imposed by a United States District Court. The
transfer of Patterson from Mexico to the United States should
be analyzed as if it were a transfer between two United States

o¢

0
ay
1
*
‘
i

9
6

9202

—
oO

22
125

1 Unrrep rents Parrersow

[2] The legislative history reveals that § 4111 “provides the
that he would have had had he been sentenced by the coun of
the jurisdiction seeking to prosecute bim H.R. Rep. 720,
95th Cong, Ist Sess. 38, reprinted in 1977 U.S. Code Cong.
& Admin News 3/46, 316! (emphasis added) Patterson's
contention that he is afforded expanded double jeopardy pro
tection under § 4!!! is without ment.

U.S. 299(1932) is apposite The test is appropriate where the
legisiati ve intent of the relevant statutes is pot clear See gen.
erally. Garrett ». United States. . US. —. 105 s Ci. 2407
(1985) Here legislative history which would define the inter.
ules is Nonexistent

In Blockburger the Supreme Court stated that “where the
same act or transaction constitutes a violation of two distinct
Statutory provisions, the test to be apphed to determine
whether there are two offenses or only one. 1s whether each
Provision requires proof of a fact which the other does
not... .” Blockburger, 284 US. at 304, see also May » United
States, 261 F.2d 629, 630 (9th Cir. 1958) (applying
Blockburger to uphold conviction for three counts of counter-
„
a

Patterson was convicted in Mexico under 13 CDF an
238, § TV, 1 two. That statute provides, in relevant part, that
“[w)hoever introduces into the Repubhc or circulates im it
counterfeit or altered bills as proscnbed by this section shal!
be punished... .” Article 238, §§ 1, Il, inn and the first para-

of IV make it ce to counterfeit or alter Mexican or
bank bills Circulating counterfeit bills 1s chme dis-
tinct from producing counterfert bills The record of Patter.

— = — —

Unrreo Staves v Parrersow .

son's Mexican tral 1s replete with facts emphasizing that be
circulated foreign bills

On the other hand Count One of the offense charged by the
United States government involves a conspiracy, under 18
U S.C. § 371, to twenty dollar reserve notes, as pro-
scribed by 18 U.S.C § 474, and (2) counterfeiting plates, as
proscribed by 18 U.S.C. § 471. A violation of the U.S. con-
spiracy statute does not require the same elements or facts as
does a violation of the Mexican statute for circulating coun-
terte Dalls

Count Three, however, charged Patterson with the subsian-
tive offense of counterfeiting 18 U.S.C. § 471. That section
does not require or mention circulating the counterfeit notes
Instead, it provides that “[w}hoever, with intent to defraud.

* that person —

— ata ~

9 9020202
Sat Se at e
Cnr 2

10 Uwrrep Staves e PaTrersow

afidavit im suppor of the search warrant was based on
unwarned statements that followed coerced statements If the
statements should not have been used in the search warrant
afhdavit. then the warrant may have been defective for lack
of probable cause

1 Sagnificance of the Prnor Coerced Statements

We have not yet decided an appeal involving a statement
ehcited after a pror involuntary statement and later used in
an afhdayit for a search warrant However, this court and the

“When a statement 1s claimed to be madmissible as the
product of a pnor coerced confession the issue is solely one of
voluntariness.” United States v Schmidt, $73 F.2d 1057.
1062 (9th Cir), cert denied. 439 U.S. 881 (1978), see also.
Clewis » Texas, 386 US. 707, 708 (1967) (the issue is
whether, considernng the totality of circumstances. the state
ment was voluntary), Lyons » Oklahoma, 322 U 8 596, 603

—— abide m identity of the
Oregon

interrogators ~
„ Elstad. 470 U.S. 298, 310(1985), (4) removal of the

6 3

Uwrrep Stares v. Parrensow 11

conditions which preclude the use of the first statement.
United States „ Bayer. 331 U.S. $32, 540-41 (1947).

Similar considerations have been advanced, under 4 ong
Sun v United States, 371 US. 471 (1963) and its progeny, to
determine whether to admit statements or other fruits
derived from an illegal arrest or entry in violation of the
Fourth Amendment “In order for the causal chain, between
the illegal arrest and the statements made subsequent thereto.
to be broken, Wong Sun requires not merely that the state-
ment meet the Fifth Amendment standard of voluntanness
but that it be sufficiently an act of free will to purge the pri-
mary taint.” Brown v Illinois, 422 US. $90, 602 ( 1975) ens.
thon omitted)

[5S] We need not re-examine the voluntariness of Patter-
son's second statement to Agent Davis Patterson stipulated
that bis statement to Davis was voluntary “When parties
have entered into stipulations as to maternal facts, our duty 1s
to treat such facts as having been established by the clearest
proof” Schlemmer» Provident Life & Accident Ins Co. 349
F 2d 682, 684 (9th Cir. 1965), see also Kealy v. Harter, 682
F 2d 198, 201 (8th Cir. 1982) (“Voluntary stipulations of fact
are conclusive and can de controverned on appeal only under

statements does not preclude the use of Patterson's statement
om an affidavit for a search warrant

{6} All evidence concerning Patterson is not “frust of the
porsonous tree simply because u would not have come to
light but for the reprehensible actions of the police in Tu
See Wong Sun, 371 US. at 487-88. Agent Davis did not
explort the brutal beating of Patterson which led to Patter-
son's first statement He did not know about the beating nor

12 Uwnrrep Stents PaTrrersow

affidavit to support a search warrant. We express no view as
to other uses of Patterson's statements We limit our review
to the umique fact situation and issues before us

2. Miranda Violation

standards laid down to safeguard that pnvilege See Michigan
v Tucker, 417 US. 433, 446 (1974). Statements obtained in
violation of Miranda may not be admitted against the
accused, at least in the prosecution's case in chief Fare »
Michael C 442 US. 707, 718 (1979). “But the Wande
Presumption. though irrebuttable for purposes of the prose-
cution’s case in chief, does not require that the statements
and their fruits be discarded as inherently tainted ” Elsiad

[7] The Supreme Court has not decided whether statements
taken in violation of Miranda may be used in an ahda vt for
a search warrant! to establish probable cause The Supreme
Coun y ryt this issue in Massachusetts v
White. ; 1978\ per cunam), aff'd by an equally
divided Court Commonwealth e White. 374 Mass. 132, 37!
NE.24 777 (1977), reh'g denied, 439 U.S. 1136(1979), but an
equally divided court (4-4) afirmed the decision of the Mas

made in violation of Miranda Our decision in United States
v. Lemon, 550 Fd 467 (9th Cir. 1977), however, dictaics a

1s 11 argued that he had reason to know about 1 Davis s ques- Py ts ‘
tons elicited voluntary responses in a manner which purged ‘ In Lemon we held that it was to admit )
the primary taint so that the responses could be used in an tee Ganse—anashad bile hom sobbed beste endo — —

41

198525

S

2

Unrrep States v Paterson 13

the one worn by the robber discovered after police arrested

search,” id at 473, relying Principally upon the Fifth Circuit's
decision in United States „ Garcia, 496 F.24 670, 674-75
(1974).

Lemon requires a holding that Patterson's statement, con-

cededly voluntary, was properly used to establish probable
cause

could Properly be used to obtain the search warrant, we need

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385012_1464%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
