# Amicus Curiae Brief — Pittsburgh & Lake Erie R. Co. v. Railway Labor Executives' Assn.

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385012_1432%3A18

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1989
- **Citation:** 491 U.S. 490

## Text

. Supreme Court, ua,
EILED
Nos. 87-1589 and 87-1888 JAN 18 1989
F, SPANIOL, JR,
IN Tae cm

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1988

THE PITTSBURGH & LAKE ERIE RAILROAD COMPANY,
. Petitioner,
RAILWAY LABOR EXECUTIVES’ ASSOCIATION and
(in No. 87-1888) INTERSTATE COMMERCE COMMISSION,
Respondents.

On Writs of Certiorari to the United States
Court of Appeals for the Third Circuit

_ BRIEF FOR THE
NATIONAL RAILWAY LABOR CONFERENCE
AS AMICUS CURIAE IN SUPPORT OF PETITIONER

RICHARD T. CONWAY
(Counsel of Record)
RALPH J. MOORE, JR.
D. EUGENIA LANGAN
SHEA & GARDNER
1800 Massachusetts Ave., N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20036
(202) 828-2000
DAVID P. LEE
Vice Chairman and
General Counsel
National Railway Labor
Conference
1901 L Street, N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20036
(202) 862-7200
Attorneys for the National
January 18, 1989 Railway Labor Conference

WILSON - Eres PRINTING Co., INC. - 789-0096 - WASHINGTON, D.C. 20001

TABLE OF CONTENTS

STATEMENT OF THE CASE ...........................00:.00000-
INTEREST OF AMICUS CURIAE ...............................
SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT ................0.......0..22--1-0000+-

I bietiiiciiinitrtionicinsirheriiatenennainnitnenetimeneapicintnncnsinnnanmnat

I. The Railway Labor Act and the Norris-
LaGuardia Act Should Be Accommodated to the
Jurisdiction of the Interstate Commerce Com-
I Ge BR TD atceccetcnsserttncicesecccerengccenee

Il. Neither the Decision to Sell Nor the Effects of
A Line Sale Upon Employees Is A Mandatorily
Bargainable Issue Under the Railway Labor
eee

Page

11

20

30

ii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases Page

Bakery Drivers Union v. Wagshal, 333 U.S. 437
(| DE eh 27
Bangor & Aroostook R. Co. v. Brotherhood of Loco-
motive F. & E., 253 F. Supp. 682 (D.D.C. 1966),
aff'd in part, 385 F.2d 581 (D.C. Cir. 1967),

cert. denied, 390 U.S. 923 (1968) ........................ 21
Boys Markets v. Clerks Union, 398 U.S. 235
CIID eeerecnnecesncesenisstentenninntimi 13

Brotherhood of Rail. Train. v. New York Central

R. Co., 246 F.2d 114 (6th Cir. 1957), cert. de-

ee | BS Se) | 21
Burlington Northern Railroad Co. v. Brotherhood

of Maintenance of Way Employes, 55 U.S.L.W.

GET CIID aeecenevnsscrcecscsceccaresansceieneees 6
Chicago and North Western Transp. Co.v. RLEA, —

855 F.2d 1277 (7th Cir. 1988), cert. denied, 57

ha ee a ne 5
Chicago & North Western Ry. v. Order of Rail.

Tel., 264 F.2d 254 (7th Cir. 1959), rev'd, 362

U.S. 330 (1960) ........... nineteen 21
Chicago & N.W. Tr. Co. v. Kalo Brick & Tile Co.,
OS BE) | 11,17

Class Exemption for the Acquisition and Opera-
tion of Rail Lines under 49 U.S.C. 10901, 1
1.C.C.2d 810 (1985), aff’d, 817 F.2d 145 (D.C.

ED | NN nae ee HE 2, 19, 20
Eagle Express Co., 273 N.L.R.B. 501 (1984) -......... 24
Fibreboard Corp. Vv. Labor Board, 379 U.S. 203

(RGD nnn nncncoccccssnsinvvnseencticnticnsiensstennnesieseaeneeeennnn 22, 23, 25
First National Maintenance Corp. v. NLRB, 452

U.S. 666 (1981)... stim &, 9, 21, 24-26, 28
Ford Motor Co. v. NLRB, 441 US. 488 (1979)........ 23

FRVR Corporation, Ete., F.D. No. 31205 (1988),
aff'd as clarified, 861 F.2d 1082 (8th Cir. 1988)... 5, 17,

18, 25

ICC v. Railway Labor Assn., 315 U.S. 373 (1942).. 15
Illinois Central R. Co. v. Locomotive Engineers,

443 F.2d 136 (7th Cir. 1972) .......-.-0ccceecccconse-s--- 21

iii
‘TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Illinois Commerce Commission V. I.C.C., 787 F.2d
Ce ecescssensecners
Inland Steel Company, 77 N.L.R.B. 1 (1948), en-
forced, 170 F.2d 247 (7th Cir. 1948), aff’d, 339
EE a
International Ass’n of M. & A. W. v. Northeast
Airlines, Inc., 473 F.2d 549 (1st Cir. 1972), cert.
denied, 409 US. ro
Jacksonville Bulk Terminals V. Longshoremen, 457
I
Japan Air Lines Co. v. Intern. Ass’n of Machinists,
nn csneccseccecees
Kirkwood Fabricators v. N.L.R.B., —— F.2d ——
Teen secusuasscunseceees
Labor Board vy. Borg-Warner Corp., 356 U.S. 342
a cmsconatoorecoonens
Labor Board v. Katz, 369 U.S. 736 (1962) 0.0.0.0...
McLean Trucking Co. v. United States, 321 U.S. 67
ES
Missouri Pacific R. Co. vy. United Transp. Union,
782 F.2d 107 (8th Cir. 1986), cert. denied, 55

A 10,

Morton v. Mancouwri, 417 U.S. 535 (1974) -.00000.......
National Family Opinion, Inc., 246 N.L.R.B. 521
i a
Nemitz v. Norfolk and Western Railway Company,
436 F.2d 841 (6th Cir. 1971), aff’d, 404 U.S. 37
a ccsmmaseanbovneees
Norfolk & Western R. Co. v. Nemitz, 404 U Ss. 37
ss 2 Sh A Ee
P.J. Hammil Transfer Co., 277 N.L.R.B. 462
REE 2 EA
Presto Casting Co., 262 N.L.R.B. 346 (1982), en-
forced in part, 708 F.2d 495 (9th Cir. 1983).........
Pullman Co. Vv. Railway Conductors, 45 L.R.R.M.
3162 (N.D. Ill. 1962), rev’d, 316 F.2d 456 (7th
Cir. 1963), cert. denied, 375 U.S. 820 (1963) __.
Radzanower v. Touche Ross & Co., 426 U.S. 148
a celiulanelinsibsinoccen

Page

17

23, 24

28, 29

18, 19

15, 17
12

26, 27

iv Vv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Page
' ; Page
— ee * National Labor Relations Act, 29 U.S.C. §§ 141
Railway Clerks v. Florida E.C.R. Co., 384 U.S. 238 Ob BOG. —nneeeveveevevverrerennnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnennnnceeeeceeeeet passim
RAS 8 re eer IT 6 SUT sschcanstnsocaaeteaiaseatenbGntadmnataeses= competceemaaesine 20
Railway Labor Assn. v. United States, 339 U.S. § BC) ann. eeeeeeeeeeecseneeneeteeeeeeeeeeceeeessnnnnnennneeneeeenet 20
I ss siosecsresdancninnnthincdebshanaihaceniaiieeeattaemianionaces 16 i sttinineassasincsenenechspmnianessahtnininneiiatinpninaineettagete 27
Seaboard World Airlines, Inc. v. Transport Work- Norris-LaGuardia Act, 29 U.S.C. § 104... passim
ers Union, 425 F.2d 1086 (2d Cir. 1970), and Railroad Revitalization and Regulatory Reform
443 F.2d 437 (2d Cir. 1971)... eee 21 A PN I OO sincere coscesi en so ected 16
Shore Line v. Transportation Union, 396 U.S. 142 - Railway Labor Act, 45 U.S.C. §§ 151 et seq. .......... passim
ERT i debiscciidsdassssinnaienacatisihtiesitatibaeapudinancaiceédisecinibitadii 6 .
Taft Broadcasting Co., 163 N.L.R.B. 475 (1967), a sauce anenaetaeseoneeeenuaaueaaremaeneamanmeeeenceene 11, 21
enforced, 395 F.2d 622 (D.C. Cir. 1968) ....... a. 26 hor RRepIERNRER 12
Telegraphers v. Chicago & N.W. R. Co., 362 U.S. GD ceeneervaresvesnssnsensnnsecerrerescewnsoenee sencewecsopanssces 4,11, 21
REE a 0 Se I EN eee 13, 22 Staggers Act of 1980, 94 Stat. 1985 002... 16
Texas & N.O. R. Co. v. Ry. Clerks, 281 U.S. 548 Transportation Act of 1920, 41 Stat. 456.0... ra 14
(EAE SSSERIE pe pee eae ODT OA sla LSND 11 Transportation Act of 1940, 54 Stat. 898... 15, 16
“ae V. Darlington Co., 380 U.S. 263 a
Trainmen V. Chicago R. & I.R. Co., 353 U.S. 30 OS POG. Meg. GOST (TGDB) nnn... sccnccseeseseseseseses 2
SRE pease eer caret ee Meee BM PEON 12 Morris, The Developing Labor Law ( 2d ed. 1983). 26
Transmarine Navigation Corporation, 170 N.L.R.B.
389 (1968) .............. PPEIEIIP IAA BAe SA A NTE 27
Triplex Oil Refining Division, 194 N.L.R.B. 500
LEON IER ty SI Resear eh AD AILS TARE eee TPR 24
es he | O55 & Fy | nee nonmn 9
United States v. Fausto, 56 U.S.L.W. 4128 (1988) ..6, 9, 12
United States v. Lowden, 308 U.S. 225 (1939)... 7, 14,15
Yorke v. N.L.R.B., 709 F.2d 1138 (7th Cir. 1983),
cert. denied, 465 U.S. 1023 (1984) .......00000 00... 27
Statutes
Interstate Commerce Act, 49 U.S.C. §§ 10101 et
I. caliecipbeoniintiecninsetcinereth sesdbnaatenegeniie bidetiiieanaiaameatuadl passim
ENR ne Ae nee 13, 17, 18
a EIT siaiselllcisctnsipacipedcahishninictiaieanenaevenibediagdieadiaéiamiens passim
§ 10903... ei ee ES 12, 14, 15
Te — WW
IE Ue aa eens 12, ‘14, ‘15, 16, 17

IN THE
Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1988

Nos. 87-1589 and 87-1888

THE PITTSBURGH & LAKE ERIE RAILROAD COMPANY,
7 Petitioner,
RAILWAY LABOR EXECUTIVES’ ASSOCIATION and
(in No. 87-1888) INTERSTATE COMMERCE COMMISSION,
Respondents.

On Writs of Certiorari to the United States
Court of Appeals for the Third Circuit

BRIEF FOR THE
NATIONAL RAILWAY LABOR CONFERENCE
AS AMICUS CURIAE IN SUPPORT OF PETITIONER

This amicus brief is being filed with the written con-
sent of the parties pursuant to Supreme Court Rule 36.2.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Under § 10901 of the Interstate Commerce Act (“ICA”),'
a noncarrier can acquire a rail line from an existing
railroad only if the Interstate Commerce Commission
(“ICC” or “Commission”) approves “with conditions the
Commission finds necessary in the public interest’”—which
may include employee protections. In its Ex Parte 392
proceeding, the ICC established an expedited class exemp-

1The ICA was codified in 1978 as Subtitle IV of 49 U.S.C., 92
Stat. 1337. Citation herein to a current section of the Act is to
that section of 49 U.S.C.

2

tion procedure authorizing a proposed § 10901 acquisition
to be consummated seven days after notice is filed with
the Commission.? Rejecting arguments by Respondent
Railway Labor Executives’ Association (“RLEA”), the
ICC concluded that “{e]mployee protection is also incon-
sistent with our goals in granting this class exemption
and would discourage acquisitions and operations that
should be encouraged. The record supports a conclusion
that the acquirer would not be able to complete the trans-
action if those conditions were imposed” (1 I.C.C.2d at
814); and—unlike the abandonment alternatie—‘in
transactions under section 10901, operations are continu-
ing and jobs for rail employees will continue to be avail-
able” (id. at 815).'

The ICC authorized a noncarrier to acquire all the rail
lines of Petitioner (“P&LE”’), effective September 26,
1987, after denying RLEA’s petition for a stay since
“it is in the public intérest to allow the class exemption

2 Class Exemption for the Acquisition and Operation of Rail Lines
under 49 U.S.C. 10901, 1 1.C.C.2d 810 (1985), aff’d sub nom. with-
out opinion, Jllinois Commerce Com’n Vv. i.C.C., 817 F.2d 145 (D.C.
Cir. 1987). The judgment on that appeal (to which the RLEA was
a party), App. A to NRLC’s amicus brief in support of the petition
in No. 87-1589, reveals that the affirmance was “for the reasons set
forth in the decision of the Commission.” In a subsequent Ex
Parte-392 proceeding, the ICC increased the notice period for
larger transactions (requiring 14-days pre-filing notice and author-
izing consummation 21 days after filing). See 53 Fed. Reg. 5981.
In an accompanying unpublished opinion (served February 29,
1988), the JCC observed (p. 2) that “the exemption process has
been successful beyond expectation” in facilitating establishment of
“new carriers [that] preserve service, jobs, and rail investment”
and that “typically provide better service, more tailored to indi-
vidual shippers’ needs;” and that the “ability to begin operations
promptly is a key to the exemption’s success.”

% The ICC reserved jurisdiction to “revoke the exemption, in
whole or in part, and impose labor protection” upon “an extraordi-
nary showing of circumstances justifying” such protection in an
individual case. 1 I.C.C.2d at 815.

3

to take effect” (Pet. in No. 87-1888 at 103a). In the
meantime, unions representing P&LE employees served
notices of proposals for a collective agreement under
which in the event of sale P&LE would be required to
provide employees lifetime wage guarantees, and treble
damages (in addition to make-whole damages) for any
losses incurred, and to include in any contract of sale
provisions requiring the purchaser to assume P&LE’s em-
ployees, collective agreements and unions; RLEA filed
this action on behalf of those unions to enjoin consum-
mation of the sale until the major-dispute provisions of
the Railway Labor Act (“RLA”) have been exhausted
in regard to the employee protections to be provided; and
on September 15, 1987, the unions struck the P&LE.

The District Court preliminarily enjoined that strike,
holding that the ICA superseded any duty to bargain
under the RLA and that §4 of the Norris-LaGuardia
Act (“NLGA”) must be accommodated to the jurisdic-
ion of the ICC. App. B to Pet. in No. 87-1589. The
Third Cireuit summarily reversed in an opinion limited
to the NLGA issue (id., App. A), Railway Labor Evec.
v. Pittsburgh & Lake Frie R., 831 F.2d 1231 (1987)
(“P&LE I’), now before this Court in No. 87-1589. Al-
though the Third Circuit acknowledged that the NLGA
should be accommodated to other statutes “adopted as a
part of a pattern of labor legislation,” in its view § 10901
of the ICA is not such a statute because labor protection
is only one of “fifteen policies relevant to the regulation
of the railroad industry” and thus is merely “incidental”
to the “regulatory scheme over rail transport ....” Pet.
at A-6 and 7-8; 831 F.2d at 1234, 1235.

Upon remand, the District Court ordered P&LE to bar-
gain with the unions and enjoined consummation of the
sale until the major-dispute procedures of the RLA are
exhausted, unless the sale agreement “include!s] provi-
sions for the maintenance of the status quo” by the pur-
chaser. Pet. in No. 87-1888 at 85a. The Third Circuit

d

affirmed in Ry. Labor Executives v. Pittsburgh & Lake
Erie R., 845 F.2d 420 (1988) (“P&LE II’), now before
this Court in No. 87-1888. Among other things, it held
that P&LE has a duty under the RLA to bargain about
the effects of the sale upon employees and thus to defer
consummation of the sale pending such bargaining unless
that duty has been superseded by the ICA (Pet. at 18a-
26a; 845 F.2d at 428-432); that the injunction does not
constitute a collatera! attack upon the ICC’s authoriza-
tion of the sale (Pet. at 36a-43a; 845 F.2d at 437-440) ;
and that the ICA does not supersede P&LE’s duty to
bargain under the PLA (Pet. at 44a-56a; 845 F.2d at
440-446) because, among other things, as held in P&LE
I, § 10901 is not a labor law and only one of “fifteen dis-
tinct policies upon which the ICC must focus . . . directs
the ICC’s attention to the interests of labor”; so that
“the interests of labor are, at best, only a relatively small
concern of the ICC,” making “it highly unlikely that
Congress intended that rail labor look te the ICC as its
sole source of protection” (Pet. at 47a-48a; 845 F.2d at
442). In reaching those conclusions, the court acknowl-
edged that “imposing the RLA requirements in this sit-
uation may well have the practical «ffect of torpedoing
the sale” (Pet. at 20a; 845 F.2d at 429). That has since
occurred.

INTEREST OF AMICUS CURIAE

The National Railway Labor Conference (“NRLC”)
is an unincorporated association of almost all of the na-
tion’s class I railroads. It represents members in multi-
employer collective bargaining under the RLA and in
regard to other labor relations matters of concern to the
railroad industry generally. The NRLC on occasion has
been confronted with union proposals for a_ national
agreement upon protections for employees affected by a
transaction approved by the ICC and such proposals are
included in pending notices served by the unions under
$6 of the RLA. The NRLC has maintained that such

5

issues should be determined by the ICC and are not man-
datorily bargainable under the RLA.

As is most fully set forth in FRVR Corporation, Etc.,
F.D. No. 31205 ‘served January 29, 1988), aff'd as
clarified on other grounds, 861 F.2d 1082 (8th Cir. 1988),
Ex Parte 392 was a deliberate, thoroughly considered,
policy decision to facilitate the establishment of short-
line and regional railroads, through line sales to non-
carriers, as a viable alternative to abandonments. See
App. B to the NRLC’s amicus brief in support of the
petition in P&LE I, and the discussion thereof at pp. 6-9
of that brief. Until virtually brought to a halt by the
decisions below in this case, that “policy had been vali-
dated by practical results. New raileoa! formation quick-
ened, abandonments fell, service was maintained and
typically improved, and rail jobs that might otherwise
have been lost were preserved.” App. B at 6a.

If a railroad is required to exhaust the major-dispute
procedures of the RLA before consummating a line sale,
the delay in itself may torpedo the sale (as occurred in
regard to the P&LE), since it must be rare that a poten-
tial purchaser can obtain assurances of financing or
otherwise is willing and able to wait out prolonged de-
lays.' Those procedures include conferences, mediation

4 Although not at issue in this case, a carrier may have at least
an arguable basis for contending that the effects of line sales upon
employees are governed by general provisions in existing agree-
ments, such as those regarding furloughs, or by established prac-
tices, so as to give rise to a minor dispute for an adjustment board
to decide. E.q., Chicago and North Western Transp. Co. v. RLEA,
855 F.2d 1277 (7th Cir. 1988), cert. denied, 57 U.S.L.W. 3574
(1988). If so, the sale normally may be consummated without
awaiting the decision of the adjustment board. /bid. The court
below noted that the parties had not argued that P&LE’s collective
agreements either permit or prohibit the proposed sale, so as to
require an interpretation of those agreements and thus give rise
to a minor dispute in this case. Pet. in P&eLE //] at 16a-17a n.9; 845

. F.2d at 428 n.9. In any event, an adverse arbitration ruling could

give rise to claims for damages, even if the sale is not required to be

6

and, at the discretion of the President, investigation and
recommendations by an emergency board. See Railroad
Trainmen Vv. Terminal Co., 394 U.S. 369, 378 (1969).
With good reason, they have been characterized by this
Court as “long and drawn out,” Railway Clerks v. Flor-
ida E.C.R. Co., 384 U.S. 238, 246 (1966), as “almost in-
terminable,” Shore Line v. Transportation Union, 396
U.S. 142, 149 (1969), and as “virtually endless,” Burl-
ington Northern Railroad Co. v. Brotherhood of Mainte-
nance of Way Employes, 55 U.S.L.W. 4576, 4580 (1987).
In NRLC’s experience, exhaustion of those procedures
often requires two years or more. After that, as those
cases also demonstrate, the union may strike the railroad
primarily involved in the dispute and secondarily picket
all other rai!roads.

As the ICC found, the decision in P&LE I is “threat-
ening to halt the revitalization of the marginal railroad
sectors—a restructuring that the Commission has found
to be in the interests of carriers, labor, and the shipping
public.” FRVR Corporation, Etc., App. B supra at 12a.
Even if that decision is reversed, the P&LE I] decision
would similarly obstruct effectuation of the ICC’s policy
unless also reversed. Both decisiuns decide important
questions of law and both should be reversed.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

This case invokes “the classic judicial task of recon-
ciling’’ potentially conflicting provisions in three statutes
“and getting them to ‘make sense’ in combination... .”
United States v. Fausto, 56 U.S.L.W. 4128, 4132 (1988).
This can best be done by holding that any duty to bar-
gain under the RLA and the prohibition of strike injunc-

undone? And, neither a minor-dispute ruling nor an arbitration
decision upholding the carrier would in itself prevent the unions
from progressing their §6 notices through the major-dispute pro-
cedures of the RLA and from striking once those procedures are
exhausted in the absence of an agreement upon the unions’ demands.

7

tions in the NLGA must be accommodated to, and thus
have been superseded by, the exclusive jurisdiction of the
ICC over line sales and to condition authorized sales upon
employee protections when in the public interest. This
is particularly so since the RLEA could (and did) pre-
sent its views to the ICC.

This Court has accommodated the NLGA to other stat-
utes enacted as part of a pattern of labor legislation,
particularly when those statutes have established admin-
istrative techniques for the peaceful resolution of labor
disputes such as is done by § 10901 of the ICA. The er-
roneous conclusion below in P&LE ! that § 10901 is not
a labor statute because labor protection is only one of 15
policies specified in the national railroad transportation
policy to guide the ICC, led to the erroneous conclusion
in P&LE II that the ICA does not supersede any duty
under the RLA to bargain about employee protections
since “the interests of labor are, at best, only a rela-
tively small concern of the ICC.”

The jurisdiction of the ICC over labor protections in
regurd to line sales is not an aberration, as similar ju-
risdiction is conferred in regard to abandonments, mer-
gers and various other railroad transactions requiring
ICC authorization. This Court recognized that the pred-
ecessors of those provisions of the ICA as well as the
predecessor of the RLA were part of the “extensive his-
tory of legislation regulating the relations of railroad
employees and employers.” United States v. Lowden,
308 U.S. 225, 235 (1939). And, the Court held there
and elsewhere that the employee-protection jurisdiction
of the ICC serves the public interest by, among other
things, preventing disputes in that regard from inter-
rupting rail transportation. Moreover, there is no basis
for the asserted “small concern” with the interests of
labor other than the fact that the ICC also considers
other interests and policies. That weighing of conflicting
interests and policies is a traditional function of admin-

8

istrative agencies. The fact that Congress has entrusted
the ICC with that function as to line sales affords a
strong reason for accommodating the RLA and the NLGA
to the jurisdiction of the ICC rather than for concluding
—as did the court below—that this made “it highly un-
likely that Congress intended that rail labor look to the
ICC as its sole source of protection.”

In the alternative, the Court also could hold that em-
ployee protections in connection with line sales are not
included in the “rates of pay, rules, or working condi-
tions” as to which the RLA mandates bargaining. In
giving the ICC jurisdiction to condition such authoriza-
tions upon employee protections when in the public in-
terest, Congress must have concluded that they are not
amenable to “the belief that collective discussions backed
by the parties’ economic weapons will result in decisions
that are better for both management and labor and for
society as a whole’’—upon which “the concept of manda-
tory bargaining is premised.” First National Mainte-
nance Corp. V. NLRB, 452 U.S. 666, 678 (1981). Thus,
the term “working conditions” in the RLA is narrower
on its face than the “terms and conditions of employ-
ment” made mandatorily bargainable by the National
Labor Relations Act (“NLRA”), and is less susceptible
to an interpretation that extends beyond the physical
conditions under which employees work to the terms and
conditions under which employee status is conferred or
withdrawn.

Hence, the conclusions by this Court that the NLRA
does not restrict an employer's right to go completely out
of business or mandate bargaining over a partial-closure
decision have substantially stronger support under the
RLA: while the view of the National Labor Relations
Board (“NLRB”) that the NLRA nonetheless mandates
bargaining over the effects of such actions upon em-
ployees clearly is untenable under the RLA. A holding
that effects bargaining is mandatory could give rise to

9

“almost interminable” delay before the sale could be
consummated, and thus in itself torpedo a sale authorized
by the ICC as has occurred in regard to the P&LE. Al-
though much less, the delay normally incurred under the
NLRA was an important factor in this Court’s conclu-
sion in First National Maintenance that decision bargain-
ing is not mandated, and that factor deserves much
greater weight under the RLA.

ARGUMENT

This case involves the interaction of potentially con-
flicting provisions in three federal statutes. It thus pre-
eminently calls for an exercise of the “classic judicial
task of reconciling many laws enacted over time, and
getting them to ‘make sense’ in combinacion....” United
States v. Fausto, supra, 56 U.S.L.W. at 4132. The court
below failed that task, and indeed erroneously felt itself
constrained from undertaking it.’

It does not make sense to hold that Congress, which
entrusted the ICC with exclusive jurisdiction over rail-
road line sales and to condition approvals of such sales

5 Although “not happy” with the result in P&LE //, the court
felt “constrained to reach it, because the Supreme Court has appro-
priately admonished the judiciary not to apply its own brand of
‘common sense’ in the face of a contrary statutory mandate” (Pet.
at 57a; 845 F.2d at 446), citing TVA v. Hill, 437 U.S. 153, 193-195
(1978). But in Hill the losing party relied upon Appropriations
Acts, and the “doctrine disfavoring repeals by implication ... .
applies with even greater force when the claimed repeal rests soiely
on an Appropriations Act.” 437 U.S. at 190 (emphasis by the
Court). Moreover, that doctrine is not applicable at all where the
“repeal” pertains to a judicial interpretation of general statutory
language rather than to an express statutory provision. United
States v. Fausto, supra, 56 U.S.L.W. at 4132. Any duty to bargain
under the RLA involves an interpretation of general statutory lan-
guage. See pp. 20-29 infra. Yet, one reason asserted in P&LE 1]
for holding that any such duty to bargain has not been superseded
by the ICA was the doctrine that “repeals by implication are heavily
disfavored.” Pet. at 45a; 845 F.2d at 440.

10

upon employee protections when in the public interest,
nonetheless authorized unions to frustrate consummation
of approved sales by invoking the major-dispute pro-
cedures of the RLA, and barred the courts from enjoin-
ing strikes intended to prevent the sales. That is par-
ticularly so since the unions may present their views as
to appropriate employee protections to the ICC and, on
appeal therefrom, to the courts, as the RLEA did in
Ex Parte 392. See Missouri Pacific R. Co. v. United
Transp. Union, 782 F.2d 107, 111-112 (8th Cir. 1986),
cert. denied, 55 U.S.L.W. 3837 (1987).

The most fundamental error below is the conclusion
in P&LE I that § 10901 of the ICA is not a “labor stat-
ute” to which the NLGA need be accommodated. That
error fatally infected the ruling in P&LE II that the

ICA does not supersede any duty to bargain under the

RLA in regard to line sales authorized by the ICC. We
thus first demonstrate that the jurisdiction of the ICC
over labor protections is an integral and important part
of the statutory scheme under the ICA in regard to line
sales and to various other railroad transactions as to
which ICC approval is required—thereby permitting an
administrative agency to weigh the interests of labor
with other factors affecting the public interest and as-
suring that consummation of approved transactions can-
not be prevented by labor. It then becomes obvious that
the RLA and the NLGA should be accommodated to that
statutory scheme, as a matter of law and of common
sense. We then demonstrate that neither the decision to
make a line sale nor its effects upon employees are man-
datorily bargainable under the RLA.*

* The court below also erred in rejecting the contention that the
injunction in P&LE IJ] constituted an improper collateral attack
upon the ICC’s order. We noted the fundamental errors in that
ruling in our amicus brief in support of the petition in P&LE I]
at 13-15. Since the page limit on amicus briefs does not permit a
fuller discussion now, we respectfully refer the Court thereto. See
also n.12, pp. 18-19 infra.

11

I. The Railway Labor Act and the Norris-LaGuardia Act
Should Be Accommodated to the Exclusive Jurisdic-
tion of the Interstate Commerce Commission Over Line
Sales.

The RLA governs collective bargaining in the railroad
and airline industries. 45 U.S.C. §§ 151 et seg. Its “major
purpose ... was ‘to provide a machinery to prevent
strikes.” Texas & N.O. R. Co. v. Ry. Clerks, 281 U.S.
548, 565 (1930). Among other things, it mandates bar-
gaining in regard to proposals for a “change in agree-
ments affecting rates of pay, rules, or working condi-
tions” (45 U.S.C. §§ 152 First, 156). Although the RLA
requires the parties to such a “major” dispute to main-
tain the status quo while the procedures of the Act are
being exhausted, the unions thereafter may seek to co-
erce acceptance of their demands by self help including
strikes. See pp. 5-6 supra.

Section 4 of the NLGA deprives the federal courts of
jurisdiction to issue injunctive relief as to labor disputes
regardless of the industry involved. 29 U.S.C. § 104. It
was enacted “to remedy the growing tendency of federal
courts to enjoin strikes by narrowly construing the Clay-
ton Act’s labor exemption from the Sherman Act’s pro-
hibition against conspiracies to restrain trade... .”
Jacksonville Bulk Terminals vy. Longshoremen, 457 U.S.
702, 708 (1982). Although this Court “has consistently
given the anti-injunction provisions of the . . . Act a
broad interpretation,” the Court also has held those pro-
visions to be inapplicable “where necessary to accommo-
date the Act to specific federal legislation or paramount
congressional policy.” /bid.

The ICA regulates railroads, motor carriers, inland
water carriers and freight forwarders. 49 U.S.C. $$ 10101
et seq. The ICC’s jurisdiction thereunder is “exclusive
and plenary,” and that “is critical to the congressional
scheme,” as this Court stated in regard to the predeces-
sor of § 10901. Chicago & N.W. Tr. Co. v. Kalo Brick

12

& Tile Co., 450 U.S. 311, 321 (1981). That jurisdiction
does not extend to the labor-management relations of the
regulated carriers generally, but does include one limited
aspect of railroad labor-management relations. The ICC
has jurisdiction to impose labor protections deemed io be
in the public interest in line sales under § 10901, and in
certain other railroad transactions such as abandonments
under § 10903 and mergers, consolidations and other ac-
quisitions involving two or more existing railroads under
$$ 11343-11347 of the ICA. Hence, the Court appropri-
ately could apply the doctrine that, where “there is no
clear intet.tion otherwise, a specific statute will not be
controlled or nullified by a general one, regardless of the
priority of enactment,” in reversing the decisions below.
Radzanower Vv. Touche Ross & Co., 426 U.S. 148, 153
(1976); Morton v. Mancouri, 417 U.S. 535, 550-551
(1974).

But however that may be, this Court has recognized
“the need to accommodate two statutes when both were
adopted as a part of a pattern of labor legislation.”
Trainmen Vv. Chicago R. & I.R. Co., 353 U.S. 30, 42
(1957). The Court there accommodated the NLGA to
$3 of the RLA (45 U.S.C. § 153), under which adjust-
ment boards have exclusive jurisdiction to decide
“minor” disputes over the interpretation or application
of collective agreements, so as to permit strikes over
such disputes to be enjoined. 353 U.S. at 39-42. This
“accommodation” doctrine is a leading example of what
the Court in Fausto referred to as the “classic judicial
task” of reconciling separately enacted statutes relating
to the same matter so that they “ ‘make sense’ in com-
bination.” See p. 9 supra. While “congressional em-
phasis” in regard to the rights of labor has shifted,
“this shift in emphasis was accomplished . . . without
extensive revision of many of the older enactments,” so
that in accommodating them “consideration must be
given to the total corpus of pertinent law and the poli-

13

cies that inspired ostensibly inconsistent provisions.”
Roys Markets v. Clerks Union, 398 U.S. 235, 250-251
(1970).?

Among other things, the NLGA is accommodated so
as not to prevent effectuation of statutes in which “con-
gressional emphasis shifted from protection of the nas-
cent labor movement . . . to administrative techniques
for the peaceful resolution of labor disputes.” Id. at 251
(emphasis added). The ICA in § 10901 establishes ad-
ministrative techniques for peacefully resolving disputes
over lalber protections in connection with authorized line
sales. Yet, the court below in P&LE I concluded that
$ 10901 is not a “labor statute’ to which the NLGA
should be accommodated since labor protection is only
one of “fifteen policies relevant to the regulation of the
railroad industry” comprising the national rail trans-
portation policy set forth in § 1010la of the ICA. See

p. 3 supra.*

That ruling was instrumental to the further ruling in
P&LE II that any duty to bargain in regard to line
sales under the RLA has not been superseded by, and

7 Boys Markets accommodated the NLGA so as to permit the
federal courts to enjoin strikes over arbitrable disputes between
unions and employers subject to the NLRA.

’ The Third Circuit also erred in relying upon Telegraphers Vv.
Chicago & N.W. R. Co., 362 U.S. 330 (1960), as having rejected
arguments “comperable to those made by P&LE ....” Pet. at A-9;
831 F.2d at 1236. Some of the station closings involved in that case
were approved by state regulatory agencies, but that was done
pursuant to state law rather than to the ICA as the Third Circuit
erroneously stated. See 362 U.S. at 332-333, 347-348, 353 n.18.
Telegraphers did reject an “argument that the operation of unneces-
sary statiens ... runs counter to the congressional policy .. . to
foster an efficient national railroad system,” 362 U.S. at 342, but
that argument had no basis in a specific statutory provision, such
as § 10901, under which the ICC has jurisdiction to condition its
approval of a transaction upon employee protections when in the
public interest.

14

thus need not be accommodated to, § 10901 of the ICA.
Citing its P&LE I ruling that § 10901 is not a labor
law, and referring to the “fifteen distinct policies upon
which the ICC must focus,” of which “only one directs
the ICC’s attention to the interests of labor,” the court
below concluded that “the interests of labor are, at best,
only a relatively small concern of the ICC,” and thus
thought “it highly unlikely that Congress intended that
rail labor look to the ICC as its sole source of protec-
tion.” See p. 4 supra.*

The purpose of the accommodation doctrine is the
reconciliation of statutes dealing in diverse ways with
the same subject matter so that they carry out the con-
gressional intent in a way that makes sense, regardless
of the label that might be attached to a particular stat-
ute. Moreover, the ICA is a “labor statute” in any
normal sense of that term to the extent that it is con-
cerned with labor protection, whatever else it also may
be. The Transportation Act of 1920 (41 Stat. 456)
amended the ICA to enact the predecessor of the cur-
rent § 10901 in regard to line sales and § 10903 in re
gard to abandonments ($$ 1(18) and (20), 41 Stat. 477-
478), and of $§ 11343-11347 in regard to mergers and
other multicarrier transactions (§ 5(2), 41 Stat. 481),
and also enacted the predecessor of the RLA (41 Stat.
469-474). In United States v. Lowden, supra, 308 U.S.

® Moreover, the Third Circuit cited its P&LE / ruling for the
proposition that “the ICC has no power to prevent a strike,” so that
“a bargaining order under the RLA” is more consonant with the
policy of both acts “to keep the rails running” by “ensur[ing | that
labor will ne? engage in a work stoppage.” Pet. at 5la-52a; 845
F.2d at 442-444. But if P&@LE I was wrongly decided, any strike
over a line sale authorized by the [CC may be enjoined, while an
RLA “bargaining order” only prevents a strike until the major-
dispute procedures of the RLA have been exhausted in regard to
proposed labor protections. Hence, accommodation of both the
NLGA and the RLA to § 10901 of the ICA would go further than
the RLA itself in carrying out its major purpose of preventing
strikes.

15

at 235, this Court described all those aspects of the
1920 Act as part of the “now extensive history of legis-
lation regulating the relations of railroad employees and
employers.”

Lowden affirmed the ICC’s discretionary authority to
condition approval of a railroad merger upon protec-
tion for employees when in the public interest. That
authority may “promote the public interest in its stat-
utory meaning” by, among other things, “prevent[ing]
interruption of interstate commerce through labor dis-
putes growing out of labor grievances... .” 308 U.S.
at 238. In ICC v. Railway Labor Assn., 315 U.S. 373
(1942), the Court similarly held that the ICC had dis-
eretionary authority to condition its approval of aban-
donments, under the predecessor of § 10901 as well as
of § 10903, upon protection for employees. That author-
ity also served the public interest as the “possible un-
stabilizing effects on the national railroad system” of
labor disputes “are no smaller in the case of an abandon-
ment like the one before us than in a consolidation like
that involved in the Lowden case.” 315 U.S. at 377.°

10 Lowden was decided just before and Railwa_ Labor Assn. was
decided after the Transportation Act of 1940 (54 Stat. 898)
amended former § 5(2) of the ICA to mandate the imposition of
employee protections as a condition upon the ICC’s approval of
mergers and other covered transactions. Since that provision
merely gave “legislative emphasis to a policy and a practice already
recognized . . . by making the practice mandatory instead of dis-
cretionary,” it neither implied that the ICC did not have such
discretionary authority as to approved mergers, etc., prior to the
1940 amendment, Lowden, 308 U.S. at 239, or in regard to its
approval of abandonments, etc., under the predecessor to § 10901
which had not been similarly amended by the 1940 Act, Railway
Labor Assn., 215 U.S. at 379. Those decisions point up the error
below in P&LE I when the court distinguished the holding in
Missouri Pacific R. Co. v. United Transp. Union, supra, that the
NLGA must be accommodated to the ICC’s jurisdiction under
§$§ 11343-11347, because § 11347 requires “the ICC to impose em-
ployee protective conditions” while “there is no such requirement”

16

As does $ 11347, its predecessor authorized the rail-
roads involved in a covered transaction and unions rep-
resenting their employees to agree upon the protections
to be imposed by the ICC as a condition of its approval.
Norfolk & Western R. Co. v. Nemitz, 404 U.S. 37
(1971), held that such a “pre-consolidation agreement”
constituted a “protective order of the Commission” (id.
at 45) so that rights thereunder could not be “substan-
tially abrogate|d|” by a subsequent agreement between
the consolidated railroad and a union (id. at 44). Al-
though the Court did not explicitly discuss the applicabil-
ity of the RLA, it affirmed a decision by the Sixth Cir-
cuit which concluded, among other things, that the RLA
“should not be applied” as its “application would
threaten to prevent many consolidations” approved by
the ICC. 436 F.2d 841, 845. That is equally true of ap-
proved line sales.

Those cases illustrate that the ICC’s § 10901 jurisdic-
tion over labor protection is not an unimportant aberra-
tion, but rather is an aspect of a jurisdiction that ex-
tends over a variety of railroad transactions for which
ICC approval is required. Since 1920, that jurisdiction
has been extended or modified not only in the Transpor-
tation Act of 1940, but also in the Railroad Revitaliza-
tion and Regulatory Reform Act of 1976 (90 Stat. 31)
and the Staggers Act of 1980 (94 Stat. 1985). We have
summarized that course of statutory development in the
NRLC’s amicus brief in support of the petition in

in regard to $ 10901 line sales. Pet. at A-12 and 13 n.&; 831 F.2d
at 1237 n.&. To hold that unions may strike because the ICC has
been given discretion is in effect to negate the decision of Congress
to give the ICC such discretion rather than to require protections.
It should be noted, moreover, that where Congress mandated em-
ployee protections, it established a minimum, so that the ICC
retains discretion to require more. L’.g., Railway Labor Assn. V.
United States, 339 U.S. 142 (1950).

17

P&LE I, at 13-15."" After covering much the same
ground, the ICC noted that:

“Congress has routinely affirmed and expanded the
importance of the [ICA] as a part of the complex
of laws governing labor relations in the rail indus-
try.... For more than fifty years the Commission
has exercised its authority in this field, frequently
at the request and with the support of labor, and our
decisions have had enormous impact on the shape of
rail labor relations throughout this period.”

FRVR Corporation, Etc., App. B supra at 14a-1bda.

The fact that the national rail transportation policy
lists fifteen policies to guide the ICC in exercising its
manifold functions does not mean that each such policy
is relevant to every ICC decision. Jilinois Commerce
Commission v. 1.C.C., 787 F.2d 616, 627 (D.C. Cir.
1986). But in exercising its jurisdiction over line sales,
the ICC certainly is entitled to give weight to the policy
“to reduce regulatory barriers to entry into and exit
from the industry” (§ 10101la‘7)), for example, as well

11 As also noted in that brief, at 16 n.9, the Congress has dealt
with the issue of protection for labor employees in a number of
statutes relating to the creation of Amtrak or to certain railroad
bankruptcies, in addition to the ICA. None of those statutes and
none of the other relevant provisions of the ICA contain an express
equivalent of the “exempt{ion|,” in 11341a, “from the antitrust
laws, and from ali other law, including State and municipal law, as
necessary” to the carrying out of a merger or other transaction
approved under §§ 11343-11347. The court below in P&LE | also
distinguished the Missouri Pacifie case (see n.10, p. 15, supra),
because the ICA does not include a similar express exemption in
regard to approved line sales under § 10901. However, none of the
statutory provisions to which the NLGA has been accommodated
by this Court contained an express exemption from the application
of the NLGA. And, the express exemption in the predecessor of
$11341la from “State and municipal law” did not prevent the Court,
in Chicago & N.W. Tr. Co. Vv. Kalo Brick & Tile Co., supra, from
holding that the ICC’s jurisdiction under the predecessor to § 10901
supersedes inconsistent State laws.

18

as to the policy “to encourage fair wages and safe and
suitable working conditions in the railroad industry”
($ 10101la(12)). However, this is the most important
reason in our opinion why the RLA and the NLGA
should be accommodated to the ICC’s jurisdiction under
§ 10901. As the ICC stated in FRVR Corporation, Etc.,
App. B supra at 17a:

“That the concern for labor equity is only one of
many conflicting aspects of National Transportation
Policy should not be seen as a derogation of the
agency’s authority—rather it is precisely the reason
why the [ICA] must be recognized to have pre-
eminence. . . .” In the discharge of our responsi-
bilities, we are charged with the expert resolution of
many-sided confiicts between disputants, public and
private. The recitation above of the factors leading
to our [Ex Parte 392) policy illustrates the com-
plexity of the process and information that led to
our present policy.”

A principal reason why “Congress has vested expert ad-
ministrative bodies such as the Interstate Commerce
Commission with broad discretion and has charged them
with the duty to execute stated and specific statutory
policies” is that resolving the various revelant “consid-
erations is a complex task which requires extensive fa-
cilities, expert judgment and considerable knowledge of
the transportation industry. Congress left that task to
the Commission ... .” McLean Trucking Co. v. United
States, 321 U.S. 67, 79, 87 (1944) ."

12 See, generally, 321 U.S. at 79-88, and with specific reference to
the national transportation policy as it then read, at 80-83. Among
other things, the ICC does not have “the duty or authority to
execute ... other laws,” as such, but “in executing those policies
[of the ICA] the Commission may be faced with overlapping and
at times inconsistent policies embodied in other legislation enacted
at different times and with different problems in view. When this
is true, it cannot, without more, ignore” them. 321 U.S. at 79-80.
“The precise adjustments which [the ICC] must make,” by reason

19

The belief below that “the interests of labor are, at
best, only a relatively small concern of the ICC,” has no
support other than the fact that the interests of labor
are not the ICC’s only concern; and, as shown above,
that fact makes it likely, rather than “highly unlikely
that Congress intended that rail labor look to the ICC
as its sole source of protection.” Certainly, the fact that
the ICC <'timately concluded in Ex Parte 392 that its
authorization of line sales should not be conditioned upon
employee protections, except in extraordinary circum-
stances, does not mean that the ICC’s concern for the
interests of labor was small, but only that those interests
to the extent adverse to ICC’s decision were overridden
by other considerations relevant to the ICC’s determina-
tion of the public interest."

Moreover, the interests of labor are not necessarily
congruent with the views of the RLEA, and the ICC has
found that its Ex Parte 392 ‘policy of encouraging the
formation of new short line and regional railroads has

of such other laws, “will vary from instance to instance,” but con-
sideration of such other laws “is significant chiefly as it aids in the
attainment of the objectives of the national transportation policy”
and the ICC “is not bound . . . to accede to the policies [in that case ]
of the antitrust laws” as “their dictates” can “be overborne by ‘the
public interest’” expressed in the national transportation policy.
321 U.S. at 80, 85-86. The fact that the RLEA and its member
unions thus could urge upon the ICC the policies of the RLA for
consideration in determining the extent to which authorized line
sales should be conditioned upon employee protections is all the more
reason for concluding, among other things, that the injunction in
P&LE II constitutes an impermissible collateral attack upon the
ICC’s authorization of the sale of P&LE’s lines. See n.6, p. 10 supra.

'S For many years continuing to date, the ICC almost invariably
conditioned its approvals of railroad transactions upon employee
protections, regardless of whether mandatory or discretionary.
The ICC’s Ex Parte 392 policy is by far the most important excep-
tion. At least from the rai!roads’ point of view, therefore, the be-
lief that the ICC has “only a relatively small concern” for “the
interests of labor” not only is wrong, it is ludicrous.

20

preserved railroad jobs as well as railroad service that
otherwise would be lost. See n.2, p. 2, and pp. 5-6 supra.
The ICC fully considered the arguments of the RLEA
in Ex Parte 392 and was upheld upon appeals by the
RLEA and others. Hence, it must be accepted for pur-
poses of this case that the ICC gave the interests of labor
all the concern that Congress intended.

We submit, therefore, that both the RLA and the
NLGA should be accommodated to the administrative
procedures provided in $ 10901 of the ICA for resolving
disputes over employee protections in regard to author-
ized line sales. The Court thereby can reconcile those
statutory provisions and policies in a way that makes
sense both as a matter of fact and as a matter of con-
trolling judicial doctrines.

II. Neither the Decision to Sell Nor the Effects of A Line
Sale Upon Employees Is A Mandatorily Bargainable
Issue Under the Railway Labor Act.

The argument above seems the simplest and most
clearcut basis for reversing both decisions below. There
is much to be said, however, for an alternative approach
reconciling the RLA and the ICA by holding that the
duty to bargain under the RLA does not include line sales
authorized by the ICC. In that event, the NLGA should
be accommodated to the administrative jurisdiction of
the ICC to resolve disputes over employee protections,
essentially for the reasons stated above; and in addition
should be accommodated to the restriction thus placed
upon mandatorily bargainable issues by the RLA."

1 Sections 8(a)(5) and (d) of the NLRA, 29 U.S.C. $§ 158(a) (5)
and (d)}, in imposing a duty to bargain in good faith with respect
to “wages, hours, and other terms and conditions of employment,”
thereby also limits that duty to those subjects. Labor Board v.
Borg-Warner Corp., 356 U.S. 342, 348-349 (1958). Thus, it “is
unlawful to insist upon” agreement respecting other matters even
though it is permissible to bargain and agree about them volun-
tarily. Jd. at 349. The same distinction between mandatory and

21

As the Court observed in regard to the duty to bar-
gain under the NLRA, “in establishing what issues must
be submitted to the process of bargaining, Congress had
no expectation that the elected union representative would
become an equal partner in the running of the business
.... First National Maintenance Corp. v. NLRB, 452
U.S. 666, 676 (1981). “Management must be free from
the constraints of the bargaining process to the extent
essential for the running of a profitable business,” and
“also must have some degree of certainty beforehand as
to when it may proceed to reach decisions without fear
of later evaluations ....” Jd. at 678-679. Hence, “in
view of an employer’s need for unencumbered decision-
making, bargaining over management decisions that have
a substantial impact on the continued availability of em-
ployment should be required only if the benefit, for labor-
management relations and the collective-bargaining proc-
ess, outweighs the burden placed on the conduct of the
business.” Jd. at 679.

permissible subjects of bargaining is made by §2 First of the
RLA which imposes a duty to exert every reasonable effort to make
and maintain agreements concerning “rates of pay, rules, and
working conditions.” 45 U.S.C. § 152 First. F.g., Japan Air Lines
Co. v. Intern. Ass'n of Machinists, 5388 F.2d 46, 51-52 (2d Cir.
1976). Hence, a strike over an issue that is not mandatorily bar-
gainable “is illegal as in violation of the [RLA] and subject to
injunction” despite § 4 of the NLGA. Bangor & Aroostook R. Co.
V. Brotherhood of Locomotive F. & E., 253 F. Supp. 682, 688 (D.D.C.
1966), aff'd in relevant part, 385 F.2d 581, 603-604, 613-614 (D.C.
Cir. 1967), cert. denied, 390 U.S. 923 (1968). See, also, /Ilinois
Central R. Co. v. Locomotive Engineers, 443 F.2d 136, 144 (7th Cir.
1971); Seaboard World Airlines, Inc. Vv. Transport Workers Union,
425 F.2d 1086, 1091-1092 (2d Cir. 1970), and 443 F.2d 437 (2d Cir.
1971); Chicago & North Western Ry. v. Order of Rail. Tel., 264
F.2d 254, 259-260 (7th Cir. 1959), rev'd on other grounds, 362 U.S.
330 (1960); Brotherhood of Rail. Train. v. New York Central R.
Co., 246 F.2d 114, 118 (6th Cir. 1957), cert. denied, 355 U.S. 877
(1957); Pullman Co. Vv. Railway Conductors, 49 L.R.R.M. 3162, 3165
(N.D. Ill. 1962), rev’d on other grounds, 316 F.2d 556 (7th Cir.
1963), cert. denied, 375 U.S. 820 (1963).

22

That surely is even more the case under the RLA,
particularly in the context of railroad transactions in-
voking the jurisdiction of the ICC to condition its ap-
proval upon protection for eniployees when in the public
interest. By so providing, Congress must have concluded
that those situations are not amenable to “the belief that
collective discussions backed by the parties’ economic
weapons will result in decisions that are better for both
management and labor and for society as a whole,” upon
which the “concept of mandatory bargaining is premised
.... Id. at 678. Perhaps the most fundamental defect
in the discussion below of the bargainability issue is
that the Third Circuit gave no apparent weight to the
jurisdiction and authority of the ICC in those regards.”
They did not disappear even if they did not supersede
any duty to bargain imposed by the RLA.

15 That court did not decide “whether First National Maintenance
actually applies to railway employees” as it concluded that in any
event “the railroad has a duty to bargain over the effects of the
transaction prior to implementing its unilateral decision to sell
its rail assets,” under the RLA as construed in Telegraphers v.
Chicago & N.W. R. Co., supra, without so much as noting that
Telegraphers did not involve a transaction over which the ICC had
jurisdiction and thus could be distinguished on that ground. See
Pet. in P&LE II at 21a-24a; 845 F.2a at 430-431. Moreover, con-
trary to the views below (ibid.), Telegraphers did not hold that
“when a decision affects the very existence of the workers’ jobs,
the RLA mandates bargaining,” and did not involve “in effect a
{management! decision to close down certain parts of its busi-
ness.” The railroad did not propose to dispose of any part of its
business, but only to abolish some of the many local stations at
which it did business while continuing to provide the same railroad
service through more centrally located stations. See 362 U.S. at
332. In holding that the union’s proposal in that case “to negotiate
about the job security of its members” did not “represent[] an
attempt to usurp legitimate managerial prerogative in the exercise
of business judgment,” 362 U.S. at 336, the Court did not hold that
any and all job security proposals are mandatorily bargainable
under the RLA. Cf. Fibreboard Corp. Vv. Labor Board, 379 U.S.
203, 223 (1964) (Stewart, J.).

23

It is not accidental that the most pertinent language in
the RLA describing the mandatory subjects of bargain-
ing—‘‘working conditions”—is narrower on its face than
its counterpart in the NLRA—“terms and conditions of
employment.” Justice Stewart, concurring in Fibreboard
Corp. Vv. Labor Board, supra at 221-222, observed that in
“common parlance, the conditions of a person’s employ-
ment are most obviously the various physical dimensions
of his working environment,” but that term is “suscepti-
ble of diverse interpretations” and had been more broadly
construed by the NLRB and the courts in reviewing its
decisions.’® In rejecting a contention that “the term ‘con-
ditions of employment’ has no broader meaning than...
the term ‘working conditions,’ and that it therefore re-
fers to the physical conditions under which employees are
compelled to work rather than to the terms or conditions
under which employment status is afforded or with-
drawn,” the NLRB noted that Senator Wagner (sponsor
of the NLRA) had stated in debates on amendments
thereto “that the term ‘condition of employment’ as used
in the original Act was intended to have a broader mean-
ing than ‘working conditions’ . . . (93 Congressional
Record 3427).” Inland Steel Company, 77 N.L.R.B. 1, 7
(1948), enforced, 170 F.2d 247 (7th Cir. 1948), aff'd,
339 U.S. 382 (1950) ."7

16The NLRA “assigned to the Board the primary task of con-
struing” the provisions regarding mandatory subjects of bargain-
ing; thus, “if its construction of the statute is reasonably defensi-
ble, it should not be rejected merely because the courts might
prefer another view of the statute.” Ford Motor Co. v. NLRB,
441 U.S. 488, 495, 497 (1979). The primary task of construing the
pertinent provisions of the RLA is for the courts, so they can
adopt the interpretation they believe to be most justifiable even if
some other interpretation is reasonably defensible.

17In enforcing that decision, the Seventh Circuit similarly noted
that: “A comparison of the language of the two Acts shows that
Congress in the instant legislation must have intended a bargaining

24

Textile Workers vy. Darlington Co., 380 U.S. 263, 273-
274 (1965), held “that when an employer closes his en-
tire business, even if the liquidation is motivated by
vindictiveness toward the union, such action is not an
unfair labor practice” under the NLRA. That decision
was premised upon the view that the “proposition that a
single businessman cannot choose to go out of business if
he wants to would represent such a startling innovation
that it should not be entertained without the clearest
manifestation of legislative intent or unequivocal judicial
precedent so construing the Labor Relations Act.” Id. at
270. Nonetheless, the NLRB has held that an employer
has a duty to bargain in regard to the effects of a total
closure upon employees.’* First National Maintenance,
supra, held (‘reversing the NLRB) that an employer’s
decision partially to close its business is not mandatorily
bargainable under the NLRA. 452 U.S. at 680-686. The
employer had “consented to enforcement of the Board’s
order concerning bargaining over the effects of the clos-
ing and hal[d] reached agreement with the union on
severance pay,” 452 U.S. at 677-678 n.15, and the Court
thus assumed that the Board correctly held that the em-

provision of broader scope than that contemplated in the [RLA]
, . Congress in the instant legislation used the phrase, ‘other
conditions of employment,’ instead of the phrase ‘working condi-
tions,’ which it had previously used in the [RLA]. We think it is
obvious that the phrase which it later used is more inclusive than
that which it had formerly used.” 170 F.2d at 254-255.

18 In Triplex Oil Refining Division, 194 N.L.R.B. 500, 504 (1971),
an Administrative Law Judge noted that a prior NLRB decision
had held that effects bargaining is mandatory, and concluded that
“the Board’s determination that the exclusionary language of
Darlington . . . does not apply” was “[{i]mplicit in” tat prior
decision. The NLRB in subsequent cases has mandated effects bar-
gaining in a complete closure situation, all without explaining how
the “exclusionary language” in Darlington can be distinguished
(insofar as we have discovered). E.q¢., P.J. Hammil Transfer Co.,
277 N.L.R.B. 462, 463 (1985); Eagle Express Co., 273 N.L.R.B. 501,
502 (1984). See Kirkwood Fabricators v. N.L.R.B., F.2d ——,
WestLaw slip op. at 3-5 (8th Cir., Dec. 5, 1988).

25

ployer had a mandatory duty to engage in such effects
bargaining.

A sale of part or all of a business, as well as a closure,
plainly involves “a change in the scope and direction of
the enterprise,” and thus “is akin to the decision whether
to be in business at all, ‘not in [itself] primarily about
conditions of employment, though the effect of the der
sion may be necessarily to terminate employment.’” /d.
at 677, quoting the concurrence in Fibreboard which fur-
ther described such decisions as being “at the core of
entrepreneurial control.” 379 U.S. at 223. Indeed, a sale
of an ongoing business is a closure from the point of
view of management, and from labor’s point of view may
provide an opportunity for employment by the purchaser
that would not exist in the event of a closure. Hence,
this difference provides an additional reason for holding
that a line sale does not give rise to bargainable issues.'”
But in assessing the applicability of those cases in an
RLA context, it also is necessary to heed the admonition
that the NLRA “cannot be imported wholesale into the

railway labor arena,” so that “analogies must be drawn

cireumspectly with due regard to the many differences
beween the statutory schemes.” Railroad Trainmen V.
Terminal Co., supra, 394 U.S. at 383.

The ICC’s jurisdiction and the more restrictive lan-
guage of the RLA in regard to mandatory subjects of
bargaining, discussed above, provide strong reasons not
available under the NLRA for holding that a decision
to close or sell all or part of a railroad is not mandatorily

19 A closure in the railroad context involves an abandonment of
railroad lines. The fact that a line sale offers a better prospect of
continued railroad employment (as well as providing contiiued
railroad service) was one of the factors that persuaded the «CC to
encourage line sales as an alternative to abandonments. See pp. 2,
5-6 supra. In FRVR Corporation, Ete., supra, App. B at 6a n.11,
a staff analysis had demonstrated “that employment on the new
lines, particularly the larger regional carriers, is typically drawn
from the work force of the selling carrier.”

26

bargainable, and for refusing to import into the RLA
the view of the NLRB that the effects on employees none-
theless are bargainable under the NLRA. Another im-
portant difference between the statutory schemes, which
also strongly supports those conclusions, is the vastly
greater delay before the transaction can be implemented
(and the consequences of that delay) that normally will
result under the RLA if either the decision or its effects
is mandatorily bargainable.

An “important difference . . . between permitted bar-
gaining and mandated bargaining” is that mandatory
bargaining “could afford a union a powerful tool for
achieving delay, a power that might be used to thwart
management’s intentions in a manner unrelated to any
feasible solution the union might propose.” First Na-
tional Maintenance, supra, 452 U.S. at 683.% That im-
portant difference was an important factor supporting
the Court’s conclusion that a decision to close part of a
business is not mandatorily bargainable under the
NLRA. The weight given to that factor surely must be
much greater under the RLA, in view of its provisions
requiring maintenance of the status quo in regard to
mandatory subjects of bargaining until the exhaustion of
procedures described by this Court as “long and drawn
out,” as “almost interminable,” and as “virtually end-
less.” See pp. 5-6, supra.*"

2° The RLEA apparently utilized the delay caused by the P&LE IJ]
injunction to attempt to negotiate a purchase of the P&LE lines
by the unions, either alone or in conjunction with another carrier,
rather than to bargain about employee protections. See Petitioner’s
Supplemental! Brief (Nov. 22, 1988).

21 Under the NLRA, ar employer need only await an impasse in
the bargaining before taking unilateral action in regard to a man-
datory subject of bargaining. Labor Board vy. Katz, 369 U.S. 736
(1962). In general, an impasse exists when “good faith negotia-
tions have exhausted the prospects of concluding an agreement”
which is a “matter of judgment” and depends upon the facts and
circumstances of the particular case. Taft Broadcasting Co., 163

27

Moreover, a violation of those status quo provisions
may be enjoined at the behest of the injured party, while
only the NLRB is authorized by the NLRA to seek in-
junctive relief against an unlawful refusal to bargain
(29 U.S.C. §160(j)) and the parties to the dispute
may not do so. See Bakery Drivers Union v. Wagshal,
333 U.S. 437, 442 (1948). In the usual case, therefore,
a contention that an employer violated the Act by refus-
ing to bargain about a mandatory subject of bargaining
is not decided by the NLRB until long after the alleged
violation occurred. If it finds that an employer unlaw-
fully failed to bargain about the effects of a transaction,
the NLRB’s standard remedy neither requires the trans-
action to be undone nor awards back pay to employees
deprived of employment by consummation of the trans-
action during the period prior to the Board’s order and
for five days thereafter.*”

N.L.R.B. 475, 478 (1967), enforced, 395 F.2d 622 (D.C. Cir. 1968).

See Morris, The Developing Labor Law (2d ed. 1983), at 634-
636, and the Third Supplement thereto (1988) at 279-280. Al-
though that period thus may vary, neither “cases nor common-
sense teach that an impasse may not be reached at even a single
session” of bargaining. Presto Casting Co., 262 N.L.R.B. 346, 353
(1982), enforced in part, 708 F.2d 495 (9th Cir. 1983). And, if a
business emergency necessitates swift action, a sale may be con-
summated with little or no advance notice and bargaining, although
that does not obviate the duty to bargain about the effects of the
transaction thereafter. Yorke v. N.L.R.B., 709 F.2d 1138, 1144
(7th Cir. 1983), cert. denied, 465 U.S. 1023 (1984).

22 Transmarine Navigation Corporation, 170 N.L.R.B. 389, 390
(1968). Such employees are awarded an amount equivalent to two-
weeks pay, and (if greater) the amount they would have earned
during the period from five days after the date of the order until
an agreement is made or an impasse reached in the effects bargain-
ing ordered by the Board if requested by the union within five days
after the date of the Board’s order. See Yorke v. N.L.R.B., supra,
which held that the back-pay period should not commence until five
days after the NLRB’s order is enferced on appeal if the employer
had a “debateable” basis for its appeal. 709 F.2d at 1144-1146. If
an employer is held to have violated a duty to engage in decision

28

The extraordinarily powerful tool for delay created by

the decision below that effects bargaining is mandatory
under the RLA has torpedoed the sale which the ICC
authorized, as the Third Circuit conceded might well
occur. It seems to us self evident that to “allow the
Union to force a company to bargain about the effects
of its management decisions to the extent of forcing it
to forego the proposed change in operations would be in
effect to take away from it the freedom to make the de-
cision in the first place.” International Ass’n of M. &
A. W. vy. Northeast Airlines, Inc., 473 F.2d 549, 558
(Ist Cir. 1972), cert. denied, 409 U.S. 845 (1972).

bargaining, back pay is awarded from the date that the employer
consummated the transaction. If the employer also is found to have
been “discriminatorily motivated,” the employer is ordered “to re-
store the status quo ante by reestablishing the closed operation,
unless [it] can show that such a remedy would be unduly burden-
some.” National Family Opinion, Inc., 246 N.L.R.B. 521 (1979).
“The assumption underlying the more-limited remedy [for an
effects-bargaining violation] is that, inasmuch as the employer’s
operation would have closed regardless of good-faith bargaining

. , ordering a make-whole remedy would be punitive, rather than
compensatory.” Jd. at 522 n.5. This difference in remedies, and the
minimal nature of the remedy for violation of a duty to engage in
effects bargaining, goes far towards explaining the willingness of
the NLRB and the lower courts to conclude that effects bargaining
is mandated by the NLRB even if decision bargaining is not. Under
the RLA, on the other hand, a determination that either is mandated
may result in a status quo injunction preventing consummation of
the transaction, such as was entered in P&LE J].

* The First Circuit essentially applied, as to both decision and
effects bargaining under the RLA, the balancing analysis subse-
quently adopted by this Court in First National Maintenance Corp.,
see 473 F.2d 556-559, which cited the First Circuit with approval,
452 U.S. at 683 n.20. The First Circuit emphasized that some of
the union’s demands in that case could not be effectuated without
a renegotiation of the merger agreement. “Where it is clear...
that bargaining about some effects of the decision [to merge] would
be ineffectual unless the company could be required to renegotiate
the merger, we believe that the duty to bargain about those effects
does not arise at all.” 473 F.2d at 558-559. The unions in this case

29

That essentially would occur in regard to railroad line
sales (particularly if, as is usual, only a partial sale is
involved), even if the effects bargaining could take place
after the sale is consummated. The protections com-
monly demanded by the unions would make a sale eco-
nomically infeasible. If the seller refused to agree to the
unions’ proposals, its remaining lines could be struck
and other railroads secondarily picketed once the RLA’s
major-dispute procedures are exhausted. And, at best,
uncertainty about an important future cost factor would
make the desirability of consummating a line sale very
questionable. The chilling effect of such factors upon line
sales is easy to foresee.

Thus, if the Court reaches the issue, it should hold that
there is no duty under the RLA to bargain about either
the decision to sell or its effects upon employees.

demanded that P&LE require a purchaser to assume its employees
and collective agreements, which could not be done without re-
negotiating the sale. And, the First Circuit had “no doubt but that
an employer . . . could refuse to discuss as unreasonable any labor
protective terms” proposed by a union that would make effectuation
of the employer’s nonbargainable decision “prohibitively expensive

..” Id. at 558. That is true of the unions’ other demands for
job and compensation guarantees by P&LE plus treble damages for
any losses incurred by the employees as a result of the sale.

30

CONCLUSION

For the reasons stated above and in the Brief for
Petitioner, both decisions below should be reversed.

Respectfully submitted,

RICHARD T. CONWAY
(Counsel of Record)
RALPH J. MOORE, JR.
D. EUGENIA LANGAN
SHEA & GARDNER
1800 Massachusetts Ave., N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20036
(202) 828-2000

DAVID P. LEE
Vice Chairman and
General Counsel
National Railway Labor
Conference
1901 L Street, N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20036
(202) 862-7200
Attorneys for the National
January 18, 1989 Railway Labor Conference

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385012_1432%3A18. Public record. Not legal advice.
