# Amicus Curiae Brief — Marek v. Chesny

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385012_1355%3A13

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1985
- **Citation:** 473 U.S. 1

## Text

- ~
ey! a

ie gs a |

' CLERK

Svareme Court, 0.3,
FILED

STEVAS,

Fi ; In the
Supreme Court of the United States

» Ocroser Term, 1984

TEREREY Agi THOMAS WADYCKI and
LAWRENCE MAODE,

Petitioners,

vs.

ALFRED W. CHESNEY, Individually and as Adminis-
trator of the Estate of STEVEN CHESNY, deceased,

Respondent.

On Writ of Certiorari to the United States
Court of Appeals for the Seventh Circuit

BRIEF FOR. AMERICAN CIVIL LIBERTIES

UNION AND. ROGER BALDWIN FOUNDATION

OF THE CIVIL LIBERTIES UNION AS
AMICUS “SUPPORTING RESPONDENTS

Micnart L. Bropy
Rocer PAscan
Burt NEUBORNE
E. Ricwarp Larson

American Civil Liberties
Union Foundation
_ 1382 West 48rd Street
New York, New York 10036
_ (812) 876-1000
(212) 944-9800
“Harvey GrossMan
Roger Baldwin Foundation
of the American Civil
Liberties Union
220 S. State Street
Room 816
Chicago, Tlinois 60604
(312) 427-7339

BEST AVAILABLE COPY

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Whether Rule 68 can be construed
in a way which cuts off a civil rights
plaintiff's right to § 1988 attorneys
fees and imposes liability on such a
plaintiff for defendant's fees regardless
of the reasonableness of the offer of
judgment at the time it was made or the
productiveness of the post-offer work of
plaintiff's counsel?

2. Whether an offer of judjment
which lumps together plaintiff's damages
and plaintiff's § 1988 attorneys fees is:

a valid offer under Rule 68?

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Interest of the American Civil
Liberties Union and the Roger
Baldwin Foundation of the

American Civil Liberties Union...

Summary of Argument. .....2.+s-s

Argument:

A rule 68 offer of judgment cannot
destroy the right of a prevailing
civil rights plaintiff to recover
his or her attorneys fees under the
provisions of 42 U.S.C. § 1988 ...

I.

The plain meaning of the
term “costs” in Rule 68
precludes application of
that Rule to shift the
parties’ responsibil-
ties for attorneys'fees. .

A. The plain, long-
standing, and well
litigated meaning of
"costs" in the
American system does
not include attor-
neys fees. ...+.+s-s

B. The plain meaning
of Rule 68 was
not abrogated
by the statutory
formula employed
am § 1906 . «© © © @

15

16

17

I

—_ ee te F

II.

IIl.

The construction of
Rule 68 urged by
petitioner would
raise serious consti-
tutional questions
about the separation
of powers by evi-
scerating § 1988
without materially
enhancing the policy
served by Rule 68...

A.

The construction
of Rule 68 urged
by petitioners

would eviscerate
2. ee ee

The rule urged

by petitioners
would not materi-
ally enhance

the policy served
by Rule 68... .

The rule urged
by petitioners
raises serious
separation of
powers problems .

An offer of judgment
which includes both
plaintiff's damages
and plaintiff's § 1988
attorneys fees is

not proper for the
purposes of Rule 68. .

A.

An offer of
judgment which
includes § 1988
attorneys fees

is too uncertain
to be valid under
Rule 68 ...«. -

32

33

40

47

50

51

B. An offer of
judgment which
includes attor-
neys fees is
unethical and
creates a con-
flict of interest
between plaintiff
and his lawyer. .... 58

i

Conclusion o . s . ° . s e @ . ° * . * 63

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases:
Alyeska P li Service Co.
v. W " 1 U.S.

240 (1975) *eeee ee # e# #® @e® @#® # @ 47,49

Arcambel v. Wiseman, 3 Dall.
306, 1 L.Ed. 613 (1796) ° ° ° . o e ° © 17,47

i v. Cent S n
Wire Ut 717 F.2d 1160 (7th

cr. 1 83) oe e eo eo eo eo e eo — @ * o @ eo 25
B v. U S D -
ment of Justice, 684 F.2d 999
(D.C. Cir. 1982) o J @ oe e — — 7 > s @ 25
Baird v. Bellotti, 724 F.2d

1032 (9th Cir. 1982) . . 2. «© «© «© «© «© « 22

Benitz v. Collazo, 571 F.Supp.
246 (D. P.R. 1983) ° e ° . ° . . . . ° 61

Bob Jones University v. United
S t S, U.S. ey 103 S.Ct.
SIT ues. om’. wt ee 44

Brown v. Palmetto, 681 F.2d
Been teem Gale BPOOP ec ec oo ee eo oe Cee

-iii-

Chadha ve tS es 943s
Pp Ct. 764 (1943) >» @ « « 48

Christiansberg Garment Company
v. EEOC, 434 U.S. 412 (1978) ..... 23,34

| Croker _v. Boeing Co., 662 F.2d
975 (3d Cir. 1981) eee @8 8@# @# @# @ @ 25

Cross _v. General Motors, 721 F.2d 7
: 1152 (8th Cir. 1983) ° e ° ° ® e . . e 24

D Air L A ,

450 U.S. 346 (1981). . « «© «© «© «© «© «© «© 20,30,35,
38,39,52,53,
54,55,61

peste Air Lines v. Colbert,
°692 F.2d 489 (7th Cir. 1982) ..... 24
Dual _ v. Cleland, 79 F.R.D. 696

(D.D.C. 1978) eo eo eo @ eo oe oe e oe oe @ @ @ 36

Flei D
v. Maier Brewing Co., 386 U.S.

714 (1967) eee ee #e# # @® @® @ @# @#® @# @ 18

Flint v. Haynes, 651 F.2d 970
(4th Cir. 1981) eee 8 @8 @ @ @ #@ @ @ 25

Gates v. Collier, 616 F.2d
1268 (5th Cir. 1980) ..... + «© « «© 27

Gautreux v. Chicago Housing
Authority, 690 F.2d 610 (7th
Cir. 1982) @ oe oe @o J @ eo eo o — @ * e oe 21

vy. B , 733 F.2d
1551 (llth Cir. 1984)... 2. «© « «© « « 25

Hensley v. Eckerhart, U.S.

~__, 103 S.Ct. 1933 (19863) ...... 33,34,36,41,
43,53

-iv-

Hugaes v. Rowe, 449 U.S. 5
) @ eo ° gf oe @ @ e * . * . . * _ 23,34

| Hutto v. Finney, 437 U.S. 678
(1978) ° ° ° ° ° ° ° ° ° ° ° e ° © ° e 27,29

\
| In re General Motors Engine

Interchange Litigation, 594 F.2d

1106 (7th Cir. 1973), cert.

denied 444 U.S. 870 (1980) ...... 26

Jones v. Orange Housing Author-
ity, 559 F.Supp. 1379 (D. N.J.
| 1983). 7 © J — — eo oe eo oO e J — e . * ° 61

Knight v. Watkins, 616 F.2d
795 (Sth Cir. 1980). . «© «© «© © © «© © «© 22

Leftwich v. Harris-Stowe State

Collece, 702 F.2d 686 (8th

Cir. 1983) ° * * eo . 7 o . * > a 7 o . 21
Liberty Mutual Insurance v. EEOC,

691 P-3a 438 (9th Cir. 1982) ..... 38
Lisa v. Snider, 561 F. Supp. 724

(N.D. Ind. 1983) o oe o . * J ee * * . * 60

Mendoza v. United States, 623
F.2d 1338 (9th Cir. 1980). ....-.. 60

Metcalf v. Borvoa, 681 F.2d
hes (oem Cif. 1902) - © ec ec ec ec eo 0 ow Bb bS

Montgomer v. Yell F
System, Inc., 671 F.2d 412
(lLOth 4 TF 1982) o — — — o o J . . oe — 24

Moore v. Hughes Helicopters,
Inc.,708 F.2d 492 (9th Cir.
1583

Oe ee ae a ae a ee oe

Mr. Hanger, Inc. v. Cut Rate

Plastic Hangers, Inc., 63 F.R.D.
607 (E.D. N.Y. 1974) ° . . . . . ° . . 36

-V~-

eee ae

New York Gas raant Club v. Carey,
4 U. @ ( ) e e s e @ oe e @

Obin v. District No. 9, Inter-

national Association of Machin-

ists, 651 F.2d 574 (8th Cir.
1981) @ o * e s s sd eo ° s @ o s . .

P. Mastrippolito and Sons v.
Joseph, 692 F.2d 1384 (3d Cir.

1982) ° ° ° o ° e ° e ° ° ° . e ° °

Poe v. John Deere Co., 695 F.2d
1103 (8th Cir. 1982) @ 6 * s * -_ *

Prandini v. National Tea Co.,
557 F.2d 1015 (3d Cir. 1977) ...

Regalado v. Johnson, 79 F.R.D.
447 (N.D. Ill. 1978) J oe 7 o o & @

Roadway Express v. Piper, 447 U.S.
752 (1980) @ — eo — oe oe oe eo J @ @ eo

Seyler v. Seyler, 678 F.2d 29
(5th Cir. 1982) e ° . . ° e e ° ° °

Sprague v. Ticonic National
Bank, 307 U.S. 161 (1939) ° ° . ° °

White v. New Hampshire, 455 U.S.
445 (1982) i 7 oe eo ss oe o eo @ o * eo

Wrighten v. Metropolitan Hospi-
tals, 726 F.2d 1152 (9th Cir.

1984) ef © © © © @# © @ @ ° ° *. 8 @

Statutes and Rules:

og A el)
a aes 1 ween @ « 6 © «8 6 6

-vi-

22,60

24

24

24,60

59,61

17,18,19,
29,30,47

21

22

22,62

24

31
31

15 U.S.C. § 1117 . 2. © © we ww
15 U.S.C. § 2310(d). ......
28 U.S.C. § 1920 . . ~. © «© we «
28 U.S.C. § 1927 . . «© «© «© @ « ©
28 U.S.C. § 2071 . . «~~ we ww
28 U.S.C. § 2072 . . «© «© «© « ©
42 U.S.C. § 1988 . . . «© « «© « ew
42 U.S.C. § 3612 . . «. «© «© «© «

Fed. R. Civ. P.:
Rule ll . «. « «© «© © © © @ «
Rule 37(a)(4) . .. 2... -
Rule 37(b). . « « «© «© «© « «
Rule 54 . . « © «© © «© «© @ «

Rule 68 oe s o oe sd . e sd s a

Miscellaneous:
Secondary Sources

Moore's Federal Practice, 41.46.
968.04

Opinion No. 80-94 of the Com-
mittee on Professional and
Judicial Ethics of the New

York City Bar Association, 36
Record of N.Y.C.B.A. 507 (1981)

Payne, Costs in Common Law

Actions in the Federal Courts,
21 Va. L. Rev. 397 (1935)... .

-vii-

47,49
47,48,49
Passim

31

18
18
18
19-24

61
52,54,55

61

20

|
:

Legislative History

Attorneys Fees Awards: Hearings
on S 585 Before the Subcommittee
on the Constitution of the
Senate Committee on the Judi-
ciary, 97th Cong., lst Sess.
(1981) _—_——— -— -— -« «© © & € @ 68 ®@

H.R. Rep. No. 1558, 94th Cong.,
2d Sess. (1976) eee e# # # @# @

Legal Fees Equity Act: Hearings
on S. 2802 Before the Subcom-
mittee on the Constitution of
the Senate Committee on the
Judiciary, 98th Cong., 2d Sess.
(1984) oe ff © &© © @©& @© @© © @ @ ©

Municipal Liability Under 42
U.S.C. §1983: Hearings on S.
585 Before the Subcommittee on
the Constitution of the Senate
Comittee on the preggers: €

97th Cong., lst Sess. (1981) ..

S. 141, 98th Cong., lst Sess.
(1983) e . o ° @ . ° ° ° ° ° . .

S. 585, 97th Cong., lst Sess.
(1981) se s o o 7 eo eo o * ° o . .

S. 2802, 98th Cong., 2d Sess.
(1984) . . * . . . . . . . . . .

S. Rep. No. 1011, 94th Cong.,
2d Sess. (1976) . ° . . ° . . .

-viii-

44

27

46

44

45

43

45

23,27,34,
36,48

INTEREST OF AMICI*

This case raises the question of
whether Federal Rule of Civil Procedure
68 may be applied in a manner which de-
prives a prevailing civil rights plain-
tiff of his attorneys fees and make him

liable for the attorneys fees of a losing

defendant. It also raises the question
of whether a Rule 68 offer of judgment
may lump together plaintiff's damages
and attorneys fees.

The American Civil Liberties Union
("ACLU") and the Roger Boldwin Foundation
of the ACLU ("ACLU Illinois") frequently
represent civil rights litigants. Indeed,
such representation is, in some ways,
the central purpose of both organiza-

tions. Moreover, the receipt of fee

* The parties have consented to the
filing of this amicus brief. Their writ-
_ ten consents have been filed with the

Clerk of Court under Rule 36.2 of the

Rules of this Court.

— ee en

ee eS ea

awards in successful lawsuits of this
type is an important source of funding
for both organizations. The construction
of Rule 68 proposed by petitioner, in
addition to being contrary to the plain
meaning of that Rule, would make vigorous
enforcement of the civil rights laws by
organizations like amici virtually impos-
sible, for it would give civil rights
defendants a settlement weapon of such
potency as to permit the virtual dictation
of settlement terms.

As to the second question raised by
this case, whether an offer of judgment
combining fees and damages is proper,
the course of conduct pursued by this
petitioner would, if endorsed by this
Court and generally pursued by civil
rights defendants, create grave ethical
problems for amici and, indeed, for ail
civil rights attorneys. The problem

arises from the fact that § 1988 attorneys

fees are not determinate in amount, but,
instead, are normally fixed by the trial
judge in a complex balancing process

which may raise the fee above or drop it
below the attorney's normal hourly rate.
Given the inherent uncertainty of this
process, an attorney who is asked to
evaluate a Rule 68 offer which lumps
damages and fees will have a strong incen-
tive to overvalue the fee component of

the offer, where his client's interest

' would favor predominance of the damages
component. The procedure followed by

_ these petitioners guarantees that such
conflicts will be faced by the ACLU and
| the ACLU of Illinois in numerous future

cases.

a ee ae,

Accordingly, for all of the fore-
going reasons, the ACLU and the ACLU

' submit the following brief in support of

respondent.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

Petitioners urge this Court to con-
strue Rule 68's use of the term "costs"
as including attorneys fees in those
cases covered by the provisions of 42 U.S.C.
§ 1988. This proposed construction is
based on the happenstance that § 1988

provides that prevailing civil rights

eS Se rr me 4

litigants will receive their reasonable
fees "as part of costs". Petitioners'
position, however, is inconsistent with
the plain meaning of Rule 68 and it
threatens to gut the effectiveness of

§ 1988. Additionally, the offer of judg-
ment employed in this case -- an offer
which lumped together plaintiff's damages
and his fees -- was so indefinite as to
be improper for Rule 68 purposes and, in
addition, it had the potential to create
severe ethical problems for plaintiff-

respondent's counsel

tee?

a Ot

er ee er

.
.
i
{
:
;
:
;

I.A. For almost two hundred years

since its decision in Arcambel v. Wiseman,

3 Dall. 306, 1 L.Ed. 613 (1796), this
Court has recognized the sharp distinction
drawn in the American system between
"costs" on the one hand, and attorneys
fees on the other. As a result, this
Court has consistencly construed statutory
use of the term "costs" without any fur-
ther specification to exclude attorneys
fees. This distinction between fees and
costs is particularly evident and well
articulated in the Federal Rules of Civil
Procedure. Where the Rules intend to
refer to both costs and fees, they do
so. E.g., Rules 11, 37. In contrast,
where the Rules refer to "costs" simpli-
citer, they are normally construed as
referring to costs exclusive of fees.

Of special significance in this
regard is the construction given Rule

54(d). Rule 54(d) provides that a pre-

:
|
;
/
.
|

vailing party will be allowed his or her
costs “as of course," a result which

Rule 68 was specifically intended to

alter when the prevailing party has re-
jected, and failed to better, an offer

of judgment. The framers’ understanding
of the use of the term "costs" in Rule
54(d), as evidenced by the Notes of the
Advisory Committee and the authorities
referred tO therein, clearly distinguished
between Rule 54(d) costs and attorneys
fees. This distinction has been preserved
in contemporary procedure under the Rule,
as is evidencec by the numerous decisions
which distinguish between the procedures
for assessing Rule 54(d) costs and those
for assessing attorneys fees. The dis-
tinction between Rule 54(d) costs and

§ 1988 attorneys fees is further etched
with particular clarity by the presumption
that costs go to the prevailing party--

regardless of whether that be plaintiff

or defendant--as a matter of course.
Section 1988 fees are not routinely shifted
in this way, and it is well established
that a prevailing civil rights defendant
must establish that plaintiff's suit was
"clearly frivolous, vexatius or brought

for harrassment" before he may recover

fees from a defeated plaintiff. Hughes
v. Rowe, 449/U.S. 5, 14-16 (1980). Thus,
Rule 54(d) costs” cannot be construed
as including fees if the rule is to be
read harmoniously with Hughes and § 1988.
B. The mere fact that § 1988 states
that fees will be assessed in favor of a
prevailing party “as part of costs" does
not alter the plain meaning of the term
as it is us in Rule 68. The “as part
of costs" formula was used by Congress
for purposes that have nothing to do
with the policy of settlement served by
Rule 68. Because the same is true of

Other statutes which award attorneys

fees and characterize them as “part of
costs," the construction of Rule 68 urged
by petitioners would result in a crazy
quilt scheme of fee shifting, and judicial
application of the Rule in this manner
would comprise precisely the sort of
"standardless judicial rulemaking" es-
chewed by this Court in Roadway Express
v. Piper, 447 U.S. 752, 761-762 (1980).

II. In addition to being contrary
to its plain meaning, the construction
of Rule 68 urged by petitioners would
create an insupportable conflict between
that Rule and § 1988. The conflict is
not required by the policies underlying
Rule 68, and it poses serious separation
of powers problems.

A. Section 1988 was enacted in
order to “ensure ‘effective access to
the judicial process’ for persons with

civil rights grievances." Hensely v.

Eckerhart, U.S. , 103 S.Ct.

1933, 1937 (1983). A construction of
Rule 68 which would include § 1988 fees
would be wholly contrary to this purpose.
Because the Rule applies mechanically --
that is, regardless of whether the rejec-
tion of the offer was justified and re-
gardless of whether counsel's post-offer
work was productive -- counsel will be
forced to risk their compensation on his
ability to foresee and accurately predict
all of the numerous contingencies that
affect any litigation. This problem

will be’particularly acute where the
offer of judgment comes at an early stage
in the case, before any serious discovery.
Additionally, the fact that Rule 68 makes
a plaintiff potentially liable for his
opponent's st-offer costs means that
civil rights plaintiffs will on petitioners’
theory, be posed to potentially ruinous
fee liability for failing to guess right.

When faced with any offer of judgment

that has even the remotest possibility
of accurately predicting the outcome at
trial, civil rights plaintiffs will be
virtually compelled to capitulate, and

§ 1988 wili effectively be transformed
from a key to the courthouse to a lock
barring entry.

B. This result is not demanded by
the policy favoring settlement. Pre-
vailing civil rights plaintiffs are only
entitled to their "reasonable" attorneys
fees. Thus, presumably, an unreasonabl
rejection of an offer of judgment which
results in little or no productive post-
offer work will be a factor considered
by a court reviewing a fee petition.
This case, however, offers no insight
into the significance of such considera-
tions. Here, there has never been any
assessment as to the reasonableness of

Plaintiff's conduct. Thus, for all any-

-10-

one knows, plaintiff's rejection of the

offer of judgment was perfectly justified

and the effort that went into the case

after the offer was productive. Accordingly,
there is no reason to believe that the
pesicy favoring settlement demands that

this plaintiff be denied his post-offer

fees.

C. Given this intense and unnecessary
conflict between the proposed construction
of Rule 68 and the policies underlying
§ 1988, separation of powers doctrine
dictates that Rule 68 be construed in a
manner which harmonizes its provisions
with Congress' considered decision to

implement its policy judgments in the

form of § 1988. This Court's authority
to formulate rules of practice is derived
either from its inherent powers or from
the Rules Enabling Act. It is well esta-
blished that this Court will not exercise

its inherent powers in a manner which

“lle

upsets Congress’ considered decisions in
the attorneys fees area. Alyeska Pipeline
Service Co. v. Wilderness Society, 421 U.S.

240 (1975). Similarly, the power dele-
gated to this Court under the Rules En-
abling Act must be exercised in a manner
"consistent" with Congress' statutes 28
U.S.C. 2071. Accordingly, since the
construction of Rule 68 urged by peti-
tioners would put that Rule in confiict
with § 1988, that construction must be
rejected.

III. In addition to the shortcomings
of petitioners' proposed construction of
the term "costs," the Court of Appeals
should be affirmed for the reason that
the offer of judgment made in this case
was not proper

A. In order to be valid, a Rule 68

offer of judgment must be sufficiently

-12-<-

determinate to permit the offeree-plain-
tiff to meaningfully evaluate the likeli-
hood that he will better the offer by
pursuing the case to judgment. Where,

as here, an offer of judgment combines
attorneys fees and damages in one lump
sum, the plaintiff will only be able to
evaluate to the offer to the extent that
he can specify the size of the fee com-
ponent and thereby determine his net
recovery. Section 1988 fees, however,
are so indeterminate as to preclude such
analysis. Such fees are not fixed by
counsel's hourly rate, but are determined
on the basis of a complex 12 factor bal-
ancing process which is left to the dis-
cretion of the trial court and which may
result in an award that is above or below
the hourly figure. Given this indeter-

minacy, an offer of judgment which lumps

-13-

fees and damages is not suitable for
Rule 68 purposes.

B. Moreover, such an offer raises
serious ethical problems. Because the
plaintiff will look to his attorney to
evaluate such an offer of judgment, and
because the attorney will always have a
strong pecuniary interest in maximizing
the fee component of an offer of this
sort, tender of such an offer always
runs the risk that a conflict of interest
will arise. This is not to say that
such conflicts are inevitable, and it is
not to say that ethical counsel will
never be able to resolve them, but it is
to say that the risk of insoluble con-
flicts and less than resolute counsel is
inevitable, and that a construction of
Rule 68 which invites such ethical dilemmas

should be avoided if at all possible.

-14-

AR NT

A RULE 68 OFFER OF JUDGMENT CANNOT
DESTROY THE RIGHT OF A PREVAILING
CIVIL RIGHTS PLAINTIFF TO RECOVER
HIS OR HER ATTORNEYS FEES UNDER
THE PROVISIONS OF 42 U.S.C. §1988.

Section 1988 of Title 42 entitles
prevailing civil rights plaintiffs to
recover their "reasonable" attorneys
fees. Petitioners herein have argued
that this statutory right can be negated
by a defendant's shrewd use of the cost-
shifting provisions of Federal Rule of
Civil Procedure 68. This argument is at
odds with the plain meaning of the term
"costs" as it is used in Rule 68 and as
it has been used by this court for close
to two centuries. Further, the con-
Struction of Rule 68 proposed by peti-
tioner would unconstitutionally seek to
apply this Court's rulemaking authority
in a manner which would eviscerate the
carefully considered Congressional policy

decisions embodied in 42 U.S.C. §1988

-15-

without materially enhancing the policies

served by Rule 68. Finally, the argument
proposes a vi el strategem which
introduces such ambiguity into Rule 68
offers as to make them unsuitable to the
purposes of the Rule and, in many circum-
stances, one which creates insuperable
ethical problems for plaintiffs’ counsel.
I. The Plain Meaning of the Term “Costs”
in Rule 68 Precludes Application of

that Rule To Shift the Parties’
Responsibilities for Attorneys Fees.

Rule 68 provides that a plain-
tiff who fails to better defendant's
formal offer of judgment by carrying a
case through to judgment will not be
entitled to all of the “costs” normally
awarded to “prevailing parties” wnder
Rule 54(d), and, further, that, such a
plaintiff will be obligated to pay the
post-offer costs incurred by the defen-
dant-offeror. It is petitioner's position
that a fortuity of the drafting of § 1988 --

the decision to characterize a fee award

-16-

as "part of the costs" -- had the effect
of expanding Rule 68's cost-shifting
scheme to include the shifting of fees
in civil rights cases. This conclusion
is inconsistent with Rule 68's plain
meaning.

A. The Plain, Longstanding, and

Well Litigated Meaning of "Costs"

in the American System Does
Not Include Attorneys Fees.

Since at least 1796 it has
been the consistent view of this Court
that "attorneys fees Ordinarily are not
among the costs that a winning party may

recover," Road''ay Express vy. Piper, 447

U.S. 752, 759, (1980); relying on Arcambel
v. Wiseman, 3 Dall. 306, 1 L.Ed. 613
(1796). Accordingly, this Court has

normally had little trouble in recognizing

that, whatever else the term "costs" may

include, it does not, absent an express

Statutory provision to the contrary,

include attorneys fees. This Court has

@l7-

specifically so held with respect to the
unmodified use of the term in the Lanham

Act, 15 U.S.C. §1117, Fleischman Distil-

ling Corporation v. Maier Brewing Co.,

386 U.S. 714, (1967), and with respect
to its similarly unadorned use in Sec-

tion 1927 of Title 28, Roadway, at 447

U.S. 757-763.

Against this background, the
plain meaning of Rule 68's "cost" shifting
provisions is that they apply only to
"costs" as that term has been understood
for close to two centuries; that is, to
costs exclusive of fees. Certainly other
provisions of the Federal Rules of Civil
Procedure support this conclusion. Thus,
where the Rules intend to include attor-
neys fees among costs or expenses, they
Specifically so state. E.g., Rules ll,
37(a) (4), 37(b) ("reasonable expenses,

including attorneys fees").

-18-

In contrast, where the term
"costs" is used without any such amplify-
ing language, it has generally been ccn-
strued as not including fees. Most signi-
ficantly, this is the case with Rule
54(d), the very provision whose cost
allocation formula -- "costs shall be
allowed as of course to the prevailing
party” -- is altered by the application
of Rule 68. Thus, the 1938 Advisory
Committee which drafted Rule 54 was cuite
explicit that ‘t intended for the Rule

to be read harmoniously with; inter alia,

former section 830 (currently section
1920) of Title 28, F.R.Civ.P. 54(d),
Notes of Advisory Committee, a statute
which, as this court has recently noted,
defines "costs" as not including attor-

neys fees, Roadway, supra. Moreover,

one of the authorities cited by the 1938
Advisory Committee as descriptive of

"the present rule [governing costs] in

common law actions," see F.R.Civ.P. 54(d),
Advisory Committee Notes, specifically
recognized that, "In the federal courts,
the practice is based upon the fundamen-
tal, essential, and common law doctrines
and distinctions as to costs and fees."

Payne, Costs in Common Law Actions in

the Federal Courts, 21 Va. L.Rev. 397,

at 381-398, 404-405, (1935) (emphasis in
Original). This "contemporaneous under-
standing" of the cost-fee distinction

is, of course, strong evidence that the
unmodified use of the term "costs" by
Rule 54's drafters was advised, and was

not intended to include fees. Delta Air

Lines, Inc. v. August, 450 U.S. 346, 377

(1981) (Rhenquist, J., dissenting).
Moreover, several courts have
gone so far as to specifically hold that
§ 1988 attorneys fees are not the sort
of "costs" taxable under Rule 54(d), and

have, as a result, sharply distinguished

-20-

between the procedural rules applicable
to fee prtitions on the one hand and
bills of cost on the other. Thus, for
example, several courts have held that
fee petitions are not subject to local
rule time limits governing the filing of

bills of costs. See, e.q., Leftwich v.

Harris-Stowe State College, 702 F.2d 686
(8th Cir. 1983); Gautreaux v. Chicago

Housing Authority, 690 F.2d 601 (7th
Cir. 1982); Brown v. Palmetto, 681 F.24

1325 (llth Cir. 1982); Metcalf v. Borba,

681 F.2d 1183 (9th Cir. 1982); cf. Seyler
v. Seyler, 678 F.2d 29 (Sth Cir. 1982)

(an application for appellate fees is
not subject to the 14-day time limit in
Rule 39 of the Fed. R. App. P. applicable

to appellate costs).* Similarly, it is

* In fact, this Court has apparently
endorsed this distinction with its ob-
servation that “district courts remain
free to adopt local rules establishing

(Continued on next page)

-2)-<-

well established that, when it exists, a
party's right to attorneys fees is a
right to something above and beyond Rule
54 "costs" which is independently action-
able and, thus, not dependent Rule 54's
provision for the taxation of "costs."

New York Gaslight Club, Inc. v. Carey,

447 U.S. 54 (1980); Sprague v. Ticonic

National Bank, 307 U.S. 161 (1939).

Indeed, this distinction be-
tween Rule 54(d) "costs" and § 1988 "fees"
is compelled by § 1988's legislative

history and by this Court's decisions as

(Continued from previous page)

claims for attorney's fees." White v.
New Hampshire Department of Employment
eestityy 455 U.S. 445, 454 (1982) (foot-
note omitted). See also, e.g., Baird v.
Bellotti, 724 F.2d 1032, 1037 & n.6 (list
Cir. 1984); Metcalf v. Borba, 681 F.2d
1183, 1187-88 (9th Cir. 1982); White v.
New Hampshire Department of Employment
Security, 679 F.2d 283, 285 (lst Cir.
1982); Obin v. District No. 9, Int'l
Association of Machinists, 651 F.2d 574,

583 (8th Cir. 1981); Knighton vy Watkins,
616 F.2d 795, 798 n.2 (5th Cir. 1980).

-22-

to the statute's operation. The contrary
rule -- treating fees as an item of Rule
54(d) costs in civil rights actions --
would make fees taxable "as a matter of
course” not only on the part of prevailing
plaintiffs, but also on the part of pre-
vailing civil rights defendants. Such a
result was manifestly not intended by
Congress, which was careful to explain
that § 1988 fees would not "ordinarily"

be awarded to prevailing defendants, and
that a civil rights plaintiff “could be
assessed with his opponent's fees only
where it is shown that his suit was clear-
ly frivolous, vexatious or brought for
harrassment purposes." S. Rep. No. 1011,
94th Cong. 2d. Sess. 5 (1976) Reprinted

in 1976 U.S. Code Cong. & Ad. News, 5012.
Since this standard was squarely endorsed

by this Court in Hughes v. Rowe, 449 U.S.

5, 14-16 (1980), see also Christiansberg

-23-

Garment Co. v. EEOC, 434 U.S. 412 (1978)

(Title VII attorneys fees), a reading of
Rule 54(d) which includes fees among

Rule 54 "costs" is foreclosed.* Because
there is nothing to indicate that Rule

68 "costs" were intended to be different
from Rule 54 "costs." Rule 68 should be
read consistently with Rule 54, and its
terms should not be construed in a manner
which shifts responsibility for § 1988

attorneys fees.

* Indeed, the courts of appeals have
uniformly held that losing civil rights
plaintiffs whose lawsuits were not frivo-
lous, unreasonable or without foundation,
cannot be held liable for the winners'
fees though they are presumptively lia-
ble for the winners‘ Rule 54(d) costs.
See, e.g., Wrighten v. Metropolitan Hos-
pitals, 726 F.2d 1346 (9th Cir. 1984);
Cross v. General Motors Corp., 721 F.2d
1152 (8th Cir. 1983); Moore v. Hughes

Helicopters, Inc., 708 F.2d 492 (9th

Cir. 1983); Poe v. John Deere Co., 695
F.2d 1103 (8th Cir. 1982); P. Mastrippo-
lito and Sons, Inc. v. Joseph, 692 Fa
1384 (3d Cir. 1982); Delta Air Lines,
Inc. v. Colbert, 692 F.2d 489 (7th Cir.
1982); Montgomery v. Yellow Freight Sys-
tem, Inc., 671 F.2d 412 (10th Cir. 1982);

(Continued on next page)

-24-

Notwithstanding the two hundred
years of precedent distinguishing between
costs and fees, petitioners and amicus,
the Solicitor General, argue that the
plain meaning of the term "costs" was
altered by Congress' enactment of the
Attorneys Fees Awards Act of 1976, 42
U.S.C. § 1988. As the Solicitor General's
Brief acknowledges, however, the infer-
ence that a statutory provision works an
""abrogation' of a [Federal] [R]ule [of
Civil Procedure] is ‘inappropriate' ab-
sent a 'clear expression of Congressional

intent.'" Amicus Br. at 28, paraphrasing

(Continued from previous page)

Croker v. Boeing Co., 662 F.2d 975 (3d Cir.
1981); Flint v. Haynes,

651 F.2d 970 (4th Cir. 1981); see also,
Gilchrist v. Bolger, 733 F.2d 1551 (llth
Cir. 1984); Badillo v. Central Steel ¢

Wire Co., 717 F.2d 1160 (7th Cir. 1983);

cf. Baez v. United States Department of
Justice, 684 F.2d 999 (D.C. Cir. 1982)

(en banc) (same rule as to appellate

costs under Rule 39 of the Fed. R. App. P.).

=-25-

In re General Motors Engine Interchange

Litigation, 594 F.2d 1106, 1134-1135

n.50 (7th Cir. 1979), cert. denied, 444

U.S. 870 (1980). Section 1988 contains
no “clear expression of [Congressional]
intent" sufficient to "abrogate" the
plain meaning of Rule 68.
B. The Plain Meaning of Rule 68
was not Abrogated by the

Statutory Formula Employed
in § 1988.

The argument that Rule 68 costs
include § 1988 attorneys fees rests on
the happenstance characterization of
such fees as "part of the costs" to be
awarded a prevailing party in a civil
rights action. No legislative history
has been cited -- and none exists -- to
suggest that this particular statutory
formula was intended to have the effect
urged. Indeed, the only effect intended
by Congress through its use of the "part

of the costs" formula was to give § 1988

-26-

the broadest possible application by
circumventing potential Eleventh Amendment
problems in civil rights claims brought
against the states. As the Fifth Circuit
has concluded, "the legislative history
makes clear that this was done for one
reason and one reason only: to ensure
that the Eleventh Amendment is no bar so
that these fees are recoverable against
Government officials acting in their

official capacity." Gates v. Collier,

616 F.2d 1268, 1276 (5th Cir. 1980),

modified on other grounds on rehearing,

636 F.2d 942 (5th Cirs1981). See, also,

S. Rep. No. 1011, 94th Cong., 2d Sess. 5
n.6 (1976); H.R. Rep. No. 1558, 94th

Cong., 2d Sess. 7 n.14 (1976); see gener-
ally Hutto v. Finney, 437 U.S. 678 (1978).

Thus, it is not surprising that, as the
Solicitor General candidly admits, he does

"not contend that Congress chose this

-27-

language specifically envisioning its
. effect in conjunction with Rule 68."
Amicus Br., at 9-10.

But if Rule 68, in the absence
of the § 1988 formula, has a clear and
unambiguous meaning which does not include
attorneys fees, then it is impossible to
see how the inadvertant interplay between
the statute and the rule evidences the
"clear expression of Congressional intent”
which is required to “abrogate” that
meaning.* Indeed, there are strong reasons
for doubting that any such intent --

clear or otherwise -- is inferable.

* Petitioners also argue that "costs,"
as the term was used by the drafters of
Rule 68, was intended to include fees
because, at the time of its formulation,
there were numerous statutes which autho-
rized attorneys fees "as part of costs."
The argument, apparently, is that because
"costs" as used in Rule 68 was not given
an express definition at any point in

the Federal Rules, it therefore has no
independent meaning at all, functioning
instead as a kind of placeholder whose

(Continued on next page)

-28-

Section 1988 was enacted to
encourage the prosecution of meritorious
civil rights claims and, as such, it is
"acutely sensitive to the merits of an
action and to antidiscrimination policy."
Roadway, 447 U.S. at 762, 100 S.Ct. 2455.

The use of the "parts of costs" formula
was merely intended to further this end.

Hutto, Supra. In contrast, Rule 68 was

(Continued from previous page)

whose value changes depending on the
cause Of action being litigated. For

the reasons already given, the notion
that there was, in 1938, some sort of
ambiguity as to whether or not "costs,"
absent express statutory provision to

the contrary, included fees is absurb.
The fact that Congress, as of 1938, had
enacted numerous pieces of legislation

in which the definition of "costs" had
been expressly expanded, shows, if any-
thing, that Congress was quite aware of
the difference between costs and fees

and that it was careful to state that
"costs" included fees when that is what
it meant. Thus, the background of attor-
neys fees statutes which colors Rule 68
Suggests that Rule 68 costs include tra-
ditional costs and nothing else. If
Congress had meant to expand the scope

of the term, it would have done so expli-
citly as it had on so many other occasions.

-29-

not enacted for this purpose, but solely

in order to foster settlement of disputes.

Delta Air Lines yv. August, 450 U.S. 346,

352 (1980). The notion that Congress
inended to expand the scope of a rule
intended to serve one Purpose when it
was drafting statutory language intended
to serve a wholly different Purpose is
dubious at best. Indeed, carried to its
logical conclusion, the argument presented
to this court would "result in virtually
random application of [Rule 68] on the
basis of other laws that do not address
the problem" of fostering the settlement
of disputes. Roadway, 447 U.S. at 761-
762. This Court has resoundingly rejected
such invitations to "standardless ju-
dicial rulemaking" in previous fee cases.
id. It should do so again here.

The "random" and "standardless"
Character of petitioners' approach is

evident from the appendix attached to

-30-

|
|
|
|

the Solicitor General's Brief. There it
is revealed that, if Rule 68 "costs"

are permitted to include fees on the

basis of the underlying statutory formu-
lae, fees will be shifted under the Rule
in most civil rights cases, but not in
fair housing litigation. 42 U.S.C. § 3612(c)
(costs listed separately from fees).
Similarly, fees will shift under Rule 68
in actions involving stock manipulation
and false securities filings, 15 U.S.C.
78i(e), 78r(a), ("costs (including attor-
neys fees)"), but not in actions arising -
from other material misrepresentations
made in connection with securities trans-
actions. Or, again, Rule 68 will apply

to fees in Magnuson-Moss warranty actions,
15 U.S.C. § 2310(d), but not in diversity
actions brought under the warranty pro-
visions of the Uniform Commercial Code.

It is impossible to infer any deliberate

decision as to the proper scope of Rule 68

from such a crazy quilt of fee-shifting.

=3)<-

In short, the plain meaning of

"costs" as that term is used in Rule 68
precludes an application of the Rule to
cut off a successful civil rights plain-
tiff's right to attorneys fees. Sec-
tion 1988's characterization of such
fees as “part of costs" does not consti-
tute the sort of "clear" Congressional
intent that is required to alter Rule 68's
plain meaning.
II. The Construction of Rule 68 Urged

by Petitioner Would Raise Serious

Constitutional Questions about the

Separation of Powers by-Eviscerating
§ 1988 without Materially Enhancing

the Policy Served by Rule 68,

In addition to being contrary
to its plain meaning, the construction
of Rule 68 urged by petitioner puts that
Rule squarely in conflict with the policy
determinations embodied by Congress in
§ 1988. For reasons set forth above,
this conflict between statute and rule
is not required by the plain language of

either. Neither is it required by the

@32<

policy underlying Rule 68, since thought-
ful judicial application of Section 1988
will suffice to assure that its fee award
provisions do not insulate plaintiffs
from the need to be realistic partici-
pants in the settlement process. In the
absence of any compelling need to read
Rule 68 in a way which conflicts with

§ 1988, this Court's authority to do so
must be viewed as highly suspect under
traditional separation of powers doctrine.
| Accordingly, for this reason as well,

the construction of Rule 68 urged by

petitioners cannot be accepted.

ee ntti

A. The Construction of Rule 68
Urged by Petitioners Would

Eviscerate § 1988.
The policy underlying § 1988

| is no mystery. It is, "to ensure '‘effec-
tive access to the judicial process' for

persons with civil rights grievances."

Hensley v. Eckerhart, U.S. ’

-33-

103 S.Ct. 1933, 1937 (1983). In conse-
quence, the presumption is that a success-
ful civil rights plaintiff will "“ordinar-
ily" be entitled to recover reasonable
fees, and this presumption will only be
overcome under "special circumstances."

Hensley, supra, quoting S.Rep. No. 1011,

at 4(1976), 1976 U.S. Code Cong. & Ad.
News 1976, 5912. Moreover, because the
primary focus of the statute is plain-
tiff's ability to gain access to the
courts, prevailing defendants receive

§ 1988 fees only if plaintiff's suit was
"frivolous, unreasonable, or without
foundation." Hughes, 449 U.S. at 14-16,

see also Christiansburg Garment, 434

U.S. 412, (1978). The proposed construc-
tion of Rule 68 undermines this statutory
scheme by seriously diminishing the incen-
tives that Congress created for the pur-
pose of attracting competent counsel to

the civil rights area, and it devastates

-34-

that scheme by grotesquely expanding the
circumstances under which civil rights
defendants will be able to levy personally
against plaintiffs to recover their fees.

Rule 68 cuts off a prevailing
party's right to costs -- and, under
petitioner's theory, fees -- not only
where an offer of judgment is unreasonably
rejected, but in any situtation where
the offer turns out to be better than
the ultimate recovery:

It deprives a district court

of its traditional discretion

under Rule 54 to disallow costs

to the prevailing party in the
strongest verb of its type
known to the English language

— "must".

Delta, 450 U.S. at 369. Thus, it makes

no difference to the Rule's application
if, between the date of the offer and

the date of judgment, the law has changed,
new and unexpected facts have come to

light, a crucial witness changes his or

her testimony, there is a change of coun-

-35-

sel, there is a change of judge, a jury
behaves quixotically or any one of the
million and one other things which can
and do affect the course of a lawsuit
occur. Regardless of the reasonableness
of the offer at the time, the Rule is.
unbending in its application.

But compensation under § 1988
must be at a level “adequate to attract
competent counsel," Hensley, 103 S.Ct.

at 1938 n.4; S.Rep. No. 1011, at 6. The
mechanical application of Rule 68 mandated

by its language would surely “cut across
the grain” of this goal if, as petitioners
urge, Rule 68 "costs" are deemed to in-
clude fees. Under this arrangement, any
counsel faced with a Rule 68 offer is
immediately put in the insufferable situ-
ation of staking his compensation for

any post-offer work on the hope tat his
projections about the events likely to

take place throughout the life of a law-

=-36-

suit turn out to be correct. Moreover,
where the offer comes at an early point

in the litigation and before any signifi-

cant discovery, these projections are,
at best, partially informed. Under such
circumstances, the attorney is either

forced to gamble his wage on the hope

that the sealed book of defendant's re-
cords and witnesses -- a book fully known
to the defendant-offeror -- will back up
the attorney's preliminary findings, or
the attorney is forced to advise his
client to surrender a potentially valu-
able claim because of the attorney's
fear that he will not recover fees suffi-
cient to justify its vigorous prosecution.
This glum picture becomes even
bleaker when the proposed construction
of Rule 68 is examined from the perspec-
tive of the plaintiff himself. Rule 68
provides not only that the offeree loses

his right to recover post-offer costs

-37-

when settlement is improvidently rejected,
but also that “the offeree must pay the
costs incurred after the making of the
offer." The courts that have considered
the question have unswervingly held that,
as this language plainly implies, a plain-
tiff who rejects but does not better an
offer of judgment is saddled with respon-
sibility not only for his own costs, but
for defendant's as well. Liberty Mutual
Insurance Co. v. EEOC, 691 F.2d 438, 442

(9th Cir. 1982); Dual v. Cleland, 79
P.R.D. 696 (D.D.C. 1978); Mr. Hanger,

Inc. v. Cut Rate Plastic Hangers, Inc.,
63 F.R.D. 607 (E.D. N.Y. 1974). If, as

petitioner urges, Rule 68 "costs" include
attorney's fees in civil rights cases,
the potential liability for a civil rights
plaintiff of modest means in a lawsuit
of any complexity may well be ruinous.

See Delta, 450 U.S. at 378 (Rehnquist,

-38-

™ ae

J., dissenting)* Under such circum-
stances, most plaintiffs would be effec-
tively powerless to reject even grossly
undervalued offers of judgment, giving
civil rights defendants virtual carte

blanche to dictate the terms on which

* The Solicitor General argues, Amicus
Br., at 8 n.3, that, because the Delta
decision mandates that Rule 68 only comes
into play when plaintiff actually receives
a judgment in an amount less than the
offer, a defendant-offeror will never be
a “prevailing party” under § 1988 and,
thus, never entitled to receive fees
under that statute. The same argument,
however, would suggest that Rule 68 does
not entitle defendants to post-offer
costs, as Rule 54(d) awards costs only

to “prevailing parties." The authorities
cited in the text above establish that
this is not the case. Indeed, the whole
point of Rule 68 is to shift the burdens
and entitlements between prevailing and
non-prevailing parties during the post-
offer period and what is at issue here

is precisely whether the post-offer cost
shifting effected by the Rule includes
the parties’ responsibilities with re-
Spect to § 1988 fees. Amicus cannot

have it both ways. Either Rule 68 shifts
fees or it does not. There is no basis
in the Rule's language and its judicial
gloss for arguing that an offeree can be
denied his post-offer costs without simul-
taneously assuming responsibility for

the offeror's costs.

-39-

. a

ee ee ee as

such lawsuits are resolved. The proposed
construction of Rule 68 would, thus,
effectively transform § 1988 from a key
which opens the courtroom door to a lock
which bars entry.

B. The Rule Urged by Petitioners

Will not Materially Enhance
the Policies Served by Rule 68.

Petitioners and the Solicitor
General argue that, whatever the potential
disincentives to vigorous prosecution of
the civil rights laws created by their
proposed construction of Rule 68, this
construction is required to serve the
end of fostering settlement in these
matters, and, in any event, that "Sec-
tion 1988 is not an unqualified, single-
minded provision intended to override
any policies that stand in its way."
Amicus Br., at 15. Thus, much is made of
the fact that, in this case, the post-

offer fees of plaintiff's counsel ex-

-40-

ceeded $100,000. Amicus Br., at 17. This
argument, however, ignores the fact that
a plaintiff is not automatically en-
titled to recover all of the fees requested
by his attorney. Indeed, this plaintiff's
attorney in this case has not yet become
entitled to any post-offer fees because
the trial judge has not yet ruled on any
such request. Rather, like any other
prevailing party, plaintiff here will
only recover post-offer fees to the ex-
tent that the trial court finds them
"reasonable."

It is well established that
one of the “important” considerations
examined by a court in determining a
“reasonable” § 1988 fee is “the result
Obtained.” Hensley, 103 S.Ct. at 1940.
Consistent with this standard, where a
Plaintiff unreasonably rejects a settle-
ment offer incurring considerable expense

to no productive end, it is only to be

-4]-

expected that the court which determines
plaintiff's fee award will take any unpro-
ductive recalcitrance into account.

This case, however, offers no
insight as to the relevancy of such consi-
derations to a fee determination. No
record exists at this point to indicate
that plaintiff's rejection of the offer
was in the least unreasonable or that
his counsel's post-offer work was all
unproductive.

What is clear is that applica-
tion of Rule 68 to the facts of this
case -~- whatever thev may turn out to
be -- is precisely the wrong way to fac-
tor such considerations into a fee deter-
mination. Petitioners are, essentially,
recommending that Rule 68 be construed
as creating a sort of per se standard
for determining whether or not plaintiff's
post-offer fees are "reasonable." Such

ironclad rules have never been applied

-42-

in § 1988 decisions. Instead the standard
has always been that, "the amount of the
fee . . . must be determined on the facts

of each case,” Hensley, 103 S.Ct. 1937,

and Congress has repeatedly and speci-
fically declined to jettison this flexi-
ble attitude towards evaluation of a
plaintiff's settlment posture for the
mechanical fee shifting urged by Peti-
tioners.*

Such repeated Congressional
refusals to act are normally given great

weight in construing a statute's meaning.

* The first bill seeking to impose a
mechanical application of § 1988 in con-
nection with rejected settlement offers
was introduced by Senator Orrin Hatch

as S. 585, 97th Cong., lst Sess. (1981).
That bill provided in § 2(c) that:

No fee shall be awarded under
{[§ 1988] as compensation for
that part of litigation subse-
quent to a declined offer of
settlement when such offer was
as substantially favorable to
the prevailing party as the
(Continued on next page)

-43-

E.g., Bob Jones University v. United

States, _—S«U«.S. se, «103 S.CH. 2017,
2032-2034 (1983). Here, particularly
when taken in conjunction with all of
the other indices of Congressional in-
tent discussed above, Congress' con-
tinuing refusal to alter § 1988 in the
manner proposed by petitioners strongly
suggests that the policies favoring set-
tlement do not mandate the rule of law
proposed.

In short, Petitioner's con-
struction of Rule 68 is anathema to the

congressionally determined polices em-

(Continued from previous page)

relief ultimately awarded by
the court.

Two sets of hearings were held on S.
585. Attorney's Fees Awards: Hearings
on S. 585 Before the Subcomm. on the
Constitu-tion of the Senate Comm. on the
Judiciary, 97th Cong., 2d Sess. (1982);

Municipal Liability Under 42 U.S.C.
983: Hearings on S. 585 Before the
Subcomm. on the Constitution of the Se-

(Continued on next page)

-44-

(Continued from previous page)

nate Comm. on the Judiciary, 97th Cong.,
Ist Sess. (1981). The featsiation was
never voted out of subcommittee.

Early in the next Congress, Senator
Hatch introduced S.
141, 98th Cong., lst Sess. (1983). That
bill, contained provision identical to
§ 2(c) of S.585. Although hearings on
S. 141 have been repeatedly scheduled
and postponed, none have actually been
held. The legislation has not been voted
out of subcommittee.

In June, 1984, Senator Strom Thur-
mond introduced S. 2802, 98th Cong., 2d
Sess. (1984); see generalig Cong.
Rec. S8842-55 (daily ed. June 29, 1984)
(statement of Sen. Hatch). An identical
bill was introduced in the House by Repre-
sentative Hamilton Fish, H.R. 5757, 98th
Cong., 2d Sess. (1984). This legislation,
titled the “Legal Fees Equity Act," is
directed at not only § 1988 but every
federal fee-shifting statute that author-
izes fee recovery against federal, state
Or local governments or their officials.

Section 8(2) of the legislation provides
that:

Sec. 8. No award of attorney's
fees and related expenses sub-
ject to the provisions of this
Act may be

made --

(Continued on next page)

-45-

bodied in the Attorneys Fee Awards Act, and it
is not required by the general policy

favoring settlement. Because the con-
struction imposed would create a

conflict between a court created rule

(Continued from previous page)

kkk

(2) for services performed
subsequent to the time a written
offer of settlement is made to
a party, if the offer is not
accepted and a court or adminis-
trative officer finds that --

(A) the relief fin-
ally obtained by the party
is not more favorable to
the party than the offer
Oo: settlement, and

(B) the failure of
the party to accept the
offer of settlement was
not reasonable at the
time such failure occurred.

Senate hearings were held on September 11,
1984. Legal Fees Equity Act: Hearings

on S. 2802 Before the Subcomm. on the
Constitution of the Senate Comm. on the
Judiciary, 98th Cong., 2d Sess. (1984).
Like the Hatch proposals, this legislation
has not been voted out of subcommittee.

-46-

and a congressionally enacted statute,

traditional separation of powers concerns
dictate that the conflict should be resol-
ved in favor of the Congress' considered
decision.

Cc. The Rule Proposed by Peti-

tioners Raises Serious Sepa-
ration of Power Problems.

This Court's authority to formu-
late rules governing attorneys fees has
two potential sources: its "inherent"

powers, see Roadway, 447 U.S. at 764-

767, and the powers delegated to it under
the Rules Enabling Act. 28 U.S.C. § 2071-
2072. Since this Court's decision in

Alyeska Pipeline Service Company v. Wilder-

ness Society, 421 U.S. 240 (1975), it

has been clear that the long history of
congressional activity in this area esta-
blishes that the decision of when to
award attorneys fees to a prevailing
party is "a policy matter that Congress
has reserved for itself." 421 U.S. at

269. Accordingly, bowing to the most

-47-

fundamental of separation of power doc-
trines, this Court there declined "to
invade the legislature's province by
redistributing litigation costs." 421
U.S. at 271. Because § 1988 was enacted
by Congress as a direct response to the
Alyeska decision, S. Rep. No. 1011, at
4, the very logic of that opinion bars
an exercise of this Court's inherent
powers to construe Rule 68 in a manner
which devastates the intended effect of
that statute.

Nor is the proposed construction
of Rule 68 a proper exercise of the power
delegated under The Rules Enabling Act.
The rulemaking authority delegated by

the Rules Enabling Act is limited.* It

* Indeed, in light of this Court's ruling
in Chadha v. INS, U.S. ___, 103
S.Ct. 2764 (1983), there is reason to
doubt that mere Congressional inaction
during the “laying over™ period mandated
by § 2072 is sufficient to vest any rule
with any greater authority than the rule
would enjoy by reason of this Court's
inherent powers.

-48-

specifically subordinates this Court's

rulemaking authority to Congress’ con-
sidered policy decisions, requiring, in
its first section, that rules formulated
by the courts, "shall be consistent with
Acts of Congress ..." 42 U.S.C. § 2071.
This limitation is echoed and underlined
by the requirement, imposed in the Act's
second section that, "Such rules shall
not abridge, enlarge or modify any substan-
tive right..." 42 U.S.C. § 2072. As
the Solicitor General's Brief makes clear,
this latter provision is most properly
construed as referring "to the allocation
of authority between Congress and the
Court.” Amicus Br., at 25.

Here, far from being “consistent”
with § 1988, the construction of Rule 68
commended by petitioners would overstep
the “allocation of authority between

Congress and the Court" set out in Alyeska,

by upsetting the carefully considered

-49-

policy balance effected by § 1988. Accord-
ingly, in construing Rule 68, separation
of powers doctrine requires that, to the
extent the two are in conflict, Rule 68

must be subordinated to § 1988. A fortiori,

this means that petitioners' construction

of Rule 68 must be rejected.

III. An Offer of Judgment which Includes
both Plaintiff's Damages and Plain-
tiff's § 1988 Attorneys Fees is not
Proper for the Purposes of Rule 68.

Even if the plain language of
Rule 68 and the strong policies under-
lying § 1988 did not require it, there
is a third reason why the ruling of the
Court of Appeals must be affirmed in
this case: the offer of judgment made
by petitioner was not a valid or proper
one under Rule 68. The offer of judgment
made in this case included in one lump
sum the amount that was to be paid plain-
tiff to compensate him for his injury,

his costs, and his attorneys fees to the

-50-

date of the offer. Such an offer of judg-
ment is improper first, because it is so
uncertain as to be useless for Rule 68
purposes; and, second, because this same
uncertainty creates a conflict of inter-
est between the offeree and his lawyer.
A. An Offer of Judgment which
Includes § 1988
Attorneys Fees is too Uncer-

tain to be Valid
Under Rule 68 Purposes.

An Offer of Judgment, in order
to be valid under Rule 68, must specify
a determinate recovery to be realized by
the offeree-plaintiff. The general prac-
tice has been capsulized by a leading
commentator:

"To be within Rule 68, the offer of judg-
ment must be unconditional. Thus an
offer which is subject to the provisions
of an instrument which can only be deter-
mined by judicial action is not such an
offer. Nor is an offer that does not
include money damages prayed, but only
consents to the plaintiff having the
equitable relief demanded, such an offer.
The offer must be specific as to the sum
to be entered as judgment, and an offer
which fails to specify a definite sum

-5l-

which can be either accepted or rejected
will not preclude a court's considera-
tion of the offeree's costs thereafter
incurred."

Moore's Federal Practice, 968.04, at
68-9 (citations ommitted).

The basis for this requirement
is obvious: absent a concrete offer
which the plaintiff “can accept or reject"
it is impossible for the plaintiff to
make a knowing evaluation of the likeli-
hood that the offer can be bettered bv
trying the ease on its merits. Accor-
dingly, the significance of the "induce-

ment" to settlement created by the offer,

see, Delta, 450 U.S. at 352, will be

impossible to assess. Where, as here,

the offer of judgment includes § 1988

attorneys fees in one lump sum with the

amount to be paid to the plaintiff person-

ally, the plaintiff cannot meaningfully

evaluate the worth of the offer.
Plaintiff's net recovery from

an offer lumping fees and damages will

@82=

be the total amount of the offer less

his attorney's "reasonable" § 1988 fees.
Thus, his ability to assess the offer
turns on his ability to assess his attor-
ney's “reasonable" § 1988 fees. Any
such estimation, however, is inherently
so uncertain as to be w®eanincless.

As this Court has recently
noted, § 1988 fees are awarded on the

basis of 12 interrelated factors, Hensley,

103 S.Ct. at 1937 n.3, whose evaluation
"may lead the district court to adjust
the [total hourly] fee upward or down-
ward." Id., at 1940. This delicate
calculation is largely discretionary
with the district court, id., at 1941,
which, "is not bound by the prevailing
party's attorney's proposed hourly rate
Or by the bill submitted. The fee it-
self must be reasonable." Delta, 450 U.S.
at 365 (Powell, J., concurring). As a

consequence, "neither the plaintiff nor

-53-

the defendant can know with any degree
of certainty how much of the uttorney's
fees a prevailing plaintiff seeks will
be allowed by a trial court exercising
its discretion..." Id., 450 U.S. at 379
n.5, (Rehnquist, J., dissenting).

In short, when faced with an
offer like the one here at issue, a plain-
tiff is required to bear not only the
burden of the normal Rule 68 offeree --
that he forecast as to the likely outcome
of the lawsuit -- but also the burden
that he prognosticate as to the value of
the very settlement proposed to him. A
Rule 68 offer entailing such double spec-
ulation is identical to an offer whose
terms "are subject to the provisions of
an instrument which can only be determined

by judicial action." Moore, supra. As

in that situation, the value of this
offer turns on a highly discretionary

and unpredictable judicial determination.

-54-

Because the plaintiff has no idea of the
value to him personally of the proposed
judgment, such offers are meaningless as
a basis for settlement, and therefore

improper under Rule 68. Moore, supra.

Notwithstanding this problem,
it has been contended that the double
speculation that faces such an offeree
is equally a problem for the offeror,
and that the objective of a Rule 68 offer

of judgment is to give the defendant-

offeror an Opportunity to fix his total
exposure for both damages and fees. Ab-
sent an oportunity to simultaneously fix
both sums, it is argued, defendants will
be unwilling to employ Rule 68 to settle
the damages aspect of a civil rights
Claim, for this will only mean that they
will still be faced with potentially
"open-ended" liability for fees. See

Delta, supra.

-55-

The policy underlying Rule
68 -- encouraging the settlement of law-
suits -- does not, however, require this
result. If it is in fact the case that
defendants make offers of judgment --
or, for that matter, settlement offers
of any sort -- in order to avoid the
risk that a trial on the merits will
expose them to excessive liability for
damages and fees, it is equally the case
that plaintiffs accept offers of judgment
to avoid the converse risk that a trial
on the merits will not improve their net
recovery. But if the incentive for both
parties entering into the settlement
process is the elimination of risk and
uncertainty, the fact that this type of
Rule 68 offer decreases defendant's uncer-
tainty while simultaneously increasing

plaintiff's means that the overall incen-

-56-

tives for both parties to settle have
not changed.* Thus, the policy con-
siderations underlying Rule 68 do not
reguire that defendants be permitted to
make offers of judgment lumping § 1988
fees with damages and costs. Since the
uncertainty inherent in such an offer
makes it unworkable for Rule 68 purposes,

it is invalid.

* In the same vein, it should be recog-
nized that a plaintiff is in no better a
position to eliminate the uncertainty as
to what level of fees the court will
find “reasonable” than is defendant.
While it is true that the plaintiff will
know the amount of time his attorney has
Spent on the case and his attorney's
normal hourly rate, defendant will nor-
mally be fully aware of the customary
rate for comparable legal work in the
community and he will have his own
attorney's time as an index of the
number of hours “reasonably” required to
handle the case. Neither plaintiff nor
defendant, of course, will be any better
off in predicting how the court is
likely to exercise its discretion in
adding to or subtracting from the
"lodestar" rate times hours figure.

-57-

B. An Offer of Judgment which
Includes Attorneys Fees is
Unethical and Creates a Con-
flict of Interest Between

Plaintiff and his Lawyer.
While there will undoubtedly

be exceptions, normally an offer of judg-
ment which includes attorneys fees and
damages in one lump sum, places plaintiff's
lawyer in an insoluble conflict of interest.
In order to advise his client intelligently
whether to accept the offer, the lawyer
will be required both to assess the likely
result of a trial on the merits and to
assess the likely disposition of his
petition for "reasonable" § 1988 attorneys
fees. As a practical matter, however,

the real party in interest with respect

to § 1988 fees is the attorney, see,

e.g., Regalado v. Johnson, 79 F.R.D.

447, 451 (N.D. Ill. 1978), who will,
therefore, have a strong pecuniary inter-
est in maximizing his estimate of the

fees to which he is “reasonably” entitled.

-58-

But when he is advising a client about
the value of a Rule 68 offer which in-
cludes both fees and damages, every dollar
that the atcorney allocates to his fee
claim is a dollar subtracted from the
plaintiff's net recovery. Thus, inevit-
ably, there is a direct conflict between
counsel's and client's interest in coun-
sel's advice on this point.* An offer
of judgment which creates such a conflict
cannot be proper.

Indeed, fear of precisely this

conflict has led numerous courts to dis-

* It is this conflict which distinguishes
cases where the attorney's contingent

fee is determined as a matter of ju-
Gicial discretion from the classic con-
tingent fee situation discussed by the
court below, where the attorney's fee is
determined by contract as a fixed per-
centage of plantiff's recovery. Under
the fixed percentage arrangement, the
attorney's "Slice of the pie" is estab-
lished by mutual agreement between attor-
ney and client. In the Rule 68/§ 1988
Situation, in contrast, the danger is
that the allocation between attorney and
client will be determined by the at-
torney's self interested advice.

-59-

approve other settlement arrangements
which lump together fees and damages.

Prandini v. National Tea Company, 557 F.2d

1015 (3d Cir. 1977); Lisa v. Snider, 561

F.Supp. 724 (N.D. Ind. 1983); See also

Mendoza v. United States, 623 F.2d 1338,

1353 (9th Cir. 1980); Obin v. District

No. 3, supra, 651 F.2d at 582; Benitz
v. Collazo, 571 F.Supp. 246, 250 (D.P.R.

1983); Jones v. Orange Housing Authority,

559 F.Supp. 1379 (D.N.J. 1983); 80 F.R.D.
665 (D.Ariz. 1978); Regalado, supra.

Accord: Delta, supra, 450 U.S. at 364,

101 S.Ct. at 1156 (Powell, J., concurring).
Cf£., Opinion No. 80-94 of the Committee

on Professional and Judicial Ethics of

The New York City Bar Association, 36
Record of N.Y.C.B.A. 507 (1981) (Holding
that it is a breach of professional ethics
for defendant to condition settlement on
the merits on full or partial waiver of

Statutory attorneys fees). See also,

-60-

Manual for Complex Litigation, reprinted

inl, Pt. 2, Moore's Federal Practice,
1.46, at 74 ("When counsel for the class
negotiates simultaneously for the settle-
ment fund and for individual counsel
fees there is an inherent conflict of
interest."). Where a Rule 68 defendant
does not know the nature of the fee
arrangement between plaintiff and his
counsel, an offer of judgment which com-
bines these items inherently runs the
risk of creating the very conflict which
had so unequivocally and so consistently

been disapproved by these courts.*

* Since petitioners acknowledge that
they first learned the terms of the con-
tingent fee arrangement in this case on
appeal, Petitioner's Brief, at 37, the
fact that this fee agreement happened to
be drafted in a way which circumvented
this conflict does not eliminate the
risk run by Petitioners at the time they
made their offer. Certainly it does not
eliminate that risk from future Rule 68
cases; nor does it eliminate the certainty
that, in a certain percentage of such
cases, this risk will be realized.

-6l-

This does not, of course, mean

that such offers will inevitably result

in conflicts of interest. Nor, as this
Court has noted, does it necessarily

mean that counsel will never be able to
cope with those conflicts which do arise.
White, 102 S.Ct. at 1167 n.15. What it
does mean is that the risk of such con-
flicts is inevitable under Petitioners'
proposed rule, as is the risk that counsel
will be unable or unwilling to ameliorate
the conflicts which do come to pass.
Surely a rule which positively invites

and encourages unethical behavior is not
one to be willingly embraced so long as
some alternative exists. For all of the
reasons previously discussed, an alterna-
tive does exist to the construction of
Rule 68 urged by petitioners. That alter-

native should be adopted.

-62-

CONCLUS ION

For all of the foregoing reasons,
amici ACLU and ACLU of Illinois respect-
fully request that this Court affirm the

decision of the Court of Appeals.
RESPECTFULY SUBMITTED,

MICHAEL L. BRODY
ROGER PASCAL
BURT NEUBORNE
E. RICHARD LARSON

American Civil Liberties
Union

132 West 43rd Street

New York, New York 10036

(212) 944-9800

(312) 876-1000

HARVEY GROSSMAN

Roger Baldwin Foundation
of the ACLU

220 S. State Street

Room 816

Chicago, Illinois 60604

(312) 427-7339

-63-

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385012_1355%3A13. Public record. Not legal advice.
