# Amicus Curiae Brief — Edward J. DeBartolo Corp. v. Florida Gulf Coast Building & Constr. Trades Council

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385012_1164%3A15

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1988
- **Citation:** 485 U.S. 568

## Text

Supreme Court, U.S.
FILED
wuG 22 1987

No. 86-1461 JOSEPH F. SPANIOL, /®
—————

In the
Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM 1986

Tue Epwarp J. DeBarToto Corp.,
Petitioner,

against
NATIONAL Lasor RetaTtions Boarp,

Respondent,
and

Fioripa Gur Coast Bur_pinc Trapes Councit, AFL-CIO,
Intervenor.

On Wart or CertTiorari TO THE Unirep States Court
or APPEALS FoR THE ELEVENTH CircuIT

eo > eee
Brief Amicus Curiae of the International Council

of Shopping Centers, Inc., in Support of Petitioner
a

Epwarp J. Sack

STerpHanie McEvity

INTERNATIONAL COUNCIL OF
SHoppinc CENTERS

665 Fifth Avenue

New York, NY 10022

(212) 421-8181

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Interest of the Amicus Curiae... ... ~~... 6 6 ee eee ee

ARGUMENT

Distributing Handbills at All Entrances to a Shop-
ping Mall is Coercive Within the Meaning of the
Secondary Boycott Provision of the National Labor

Point I—The union's distribution of handbills “‘pre-
dictably encourage{d] consumers to boycott a sec-
GREE ccocccntccccceccscoccsocesese

Point Il—If the decision of the Eleventh Circuit is

permitted to stand, shopping center tenants all
over the country may be enmeshed in labor dis-
putes that do not concern them .................

decided by the Supreme Court ............ 66.65.

Cases:

Bedding, Curtain & Drapery Workers Union, Local
140 v. N.LR.B., 390 F.2d 502 (2d Cir), cert.
denied, 392 U.S. 905 (19GB)... 6 oc cece

Hudgins v. N.L.R.B., 424 U.S. 507 (1976) ..........

Lloyd Corp. Lid. v. Tanner, et al., 407 U.S. 551
EEUU coccccccccocesecconceceocoecesesscosese

a ee

Sermce Employees Local 339 v. N.L.R.B., 117 LRRM
Bee GEG GED ccccccccecccccoceeeesescose

Teamsters, Local 812 v. N.L.R.B. (Monarch Long
Beach Corp.) 105 LRRM 2658 (D.C. Cir. 1980) ..

3,

4,5

u TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Statutes:

National Labor Relations Act, 29 U.S.C. 15&by4
GEREN Seesecescccccoccccceccecccesocccescees

Brief Amicus Curae for the International Council o
Shopping Centers, Inc., in Support of Petitioner
Shopping Center Development Handbook, The Ur
ban Land Institute (2d ed. 1985) ...............
1987 Shopping Center Directory, The National Re
ED eenccccccoccccocccesooces

Wisconsin Survey Research Laboratory, “The Wis
consin Shopping Center Survey,” March 18, 198°
(University of Wisconsin - Extension) ...........

In the
Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM 1986

Tue Epwarp J. DEBARTOLO Corp.,
Petitioner,
against

NATIONAL LABOR RELATIONS BOARD,
Respondent,
and

FLoripa Gur Coast Bur_pinGc Trapes Councit, AFL-CIO,
Intervenor.

On Writ oF CERTIORARI TO THE UN!ITED STATES CourRT
OF APPEALS FOR THE ELEVENTH CIRCUIT

Brief Amicus Curiae of the International Council of
Shopping Centers, Inc., in Support of Petitioner*

Interest of the Amicus Curiae

The International Council of Shopping Centers, Inc.
(“ICSC”), is the trade association of the shopping center
industry. Members of the ICSC, consisting of shopping
center developers, retailers, investors, managers and all
others having a professional or business interest in the
shopping center industry, are engaged in the day-to-day
activities of designing, planning, constructing, managing,
financing, developing, leasing and owning shopping cen-
ters and their retail stores. ICSC has approximately 22,000
members, and the approximately 20,000 located in the

* This brief is submitted with the written consent of counsel
to the three parties filed with the Clerk of the Court. The
consent letters are being filed concurrently herewith

.

2

United States represent a majority of the shopping centers
in this country. The ICSC is the only U.S. trade association
specific to shopping centers.

ICSC’s members have a clear interest in the disposition
of the present case. The holding of the court below would
permit unions to handbill or urge a secondary boycott of
all tenants in a shopping center in the event of a dispute
between a labor union and a contractor doing business
with an individual tenant. Because this affects the legal
rights of every shopping center in the United States, the
ICSC requests that the Court recognize the importance of
this case to the business operations of the shopping center
industry. ICSC respectfully submits this brief to bring to
the Court's attention the views and arguments of its
members.

Reference is made to the brief of the petitioner for a
statement of the facts of this case and the applicable
statutes. This brief will be confined to the aspects of the
case specifically related to shopping centers.

ARGUMENT

Distributing Handbills at All Entrances to a Shopping
Mall is Coercive Within the Meaning of the Second-
ary Boycott Provision of the National Labor Rela-
tions Act.
POINT I

The union’s distribution of handbilis “predictably
encourage{d] consumers to boycott a secondary
business.” !

Many courts have discussed the definition of ‘coercion’
under the NLRA. The Supreme Court's definition in
Retail Store Employees is particularly appropriate in this
case. The Court there defined coercion as conduct which
“predictably encourages consumers to boycott a business.”
Since then, lower courts have discussed the meaning of the

3

term. The Ninth Circuit Court of Appeals and the District
of Columbia Court of Appeals have both addressed the
issue of what is coercive under Section 8(b)(4)(11)(B) of the
National Labor Relations Act (NLRA).° That section of
the statute has the dovble objective “of preserving the
right of the labor organization to bring pressure to bear on
offending employers in primary labor disputes and of
shielding unoffending employers and others from pressures
in controversies not their own.’ * The District of Columbia
case, Monarch Long Beach Corp., involved the picketing
and handbilling of a retail beverage store for the purpose
of urging consumers to buy soft drinks manufactured at
local plants. The Court held that the pickets and handbills
violated the secondary boycott provision of the NLRA
because the result was a total boycott of the secondary
employer rather than a boycott of the struck product. A
consumer boycott, in the Court's opinion, becomes illegal
when it ‘creates a ‘separate dispute’ with the neutral,” ° and
the ‘‘extra pressure the union places on the neutral causes
more interference with the latter's business than it would
suffer as a natural consequence of the union's success in
its primary controversy.’ °

The Ninth Circuit, in Service Employees Local 399 v.
N.L.R.B. (Delta Airlines)’ remanded the case to clarify the
standard used by the N.L.R.B. to determine that the Union
had coerced Delta. The N.L.R.B. had indicated several
possible tests of coerciveness under section 8(b)(4)(11)B.
The Union's handbilling was coercive either because it
was “designed to bring economic pressure on Delta,’’* was
“designed to inflict injury on the secondary employer's
business,’’’ or ‘“enmeshjed] Delta in the primary dispute.”’
Similarly, the Second Circuit held a consumer boycott
illegal because it “‘shut off all trade with the secondary
employer” rather than “‘only persuad{ing] his customers
not to buy the struck product.”’''

Under any of the standards in Delta Airlines or the one
contained in the Monarch Long Beach case or in the

4

Supreme Court's decision in the Retail Store Employees
case, the Union's handbilling in the case now before the
Court is coercive.

The Union in the instant case distributed handbills at
the entrances to the mall asking potential customers of the
mall’s tenants not to patronize any of the stores in the
mall. The Union was involved in a primary dispute with
a construction company that was building a store for one
of the tenants. There were 85 other tenants who were not
involved in the dispute and whose businesses would sufier
if prospective customers complied with the Union's request.

The Union's activity “predictably encourage{d] con-
sumers to boycott a secondary business,’’ which was pro-
hibited by the Supreme Court in the Retail Store Em-
ployees case. The distribution of the handbills at each
mall entrance, rather than at the site of the contractor with
whom the Union had the dispute, exerted “extra pressure”
and ‘“‘caused more interference with the [neutral employers’ |
business than [they] would suffer as a natural consequence
of the union’s success in its primary controversy." '? It was
definitely “an appeal to shut off all trade with the

secondary employer.”’ '°

Neutral tenants in malls would be subject to involve-
ment in numerous labor disputes if the Eleventh Circuit
decision is permitted to stand. As pointed out in ICSC’s
brief on Petition for a Writ of Certiorari, the number of
tenants in a shopping center may vary from nine to 144. '*
The number of possible disputes increases with the number
of tenants. Thus the number of situations in which
neutral tenants might become enmeshed in primary labor
disputes under the Eleventh Circuit's decision is stagger-
ing.

The handbills in this case were illegal because they were
directed not against the single store involved in the labor
dispute, but against all the stores in the shopping center.
If the target were solely the store having the dispute, the

5

circuit court’s analogy to the consumer boycotts of agricul-
tural produce would be correct. But the targets were all the
tenants in the center, neutrals to the labor dispute, and
Section 8(b)(4)(ii)B of the NLRA was intended to protect
such neutrals from this kind of coercion. The handbills
were clearly coercive. Unless they inflicted damage on the
stores in the center, they would have no purpose. Further-
more, the mere act of distributing handbills and creating a
public scene, regardless of the message, is damaging to a
shopping center.

ICSC has sponsored a survey by an independent, uni-
versity-based public research organization, which demon-
strates that many shoppers would avoid the part of a
center in which public interest or even charitable groups
were present discussing their views. The survey indicated
that 38% of those asked would avoid that part of the
center.'® These shoppers would, in effect, avoid the stores
surrounding the area in which groups like the Boy Scouts,
Lions or political office-seekers were conducting their acti-
vities. It follows that shoppers would be even more likely
to avoid an area involved in a labor controversy.

POINT Il
If the decision of the Eleventh Circuit is permitted
to stand, shopping center tenants all over the coun-
try may be enmeshed in labor disputes that do not
concern them.

When Congress enacted Section 8 of the N.L.R.A., one
of its purposes was ‘‘shielding unoffending employers and
others from pressures in controversies not their own.” '® If
the decision of the Eleventh Circuit stands, innumerable
innocent businesses would be adversely affected by labor
disputes in which they are not involved.

According to the Eleventh Circuit, a union may post its
members at all the entrances to a mall if it has a labor
dispute with one of the mall tenants, its contractor,

6

supplier, or distributor. As discussed above, the neutral
tenants in the shopping center will be adversely affected
by the dispute. The number of tenants economically
harmed by the dispute will vary according to the size of
the center. In addition to the number of tenants, there is
the diversity of the tenants; i.¢., the tenant mix, that
provides fuel for the fire. Aside from department stores
which typically “anchor” a large shopping center,'’ the
center will include many different retailers and services,
some of which are chains that are located in many centers.
The result is twofold: (1) the number of possible disputes
increases as the number of employees, suppliers and
distributors increases; (2) the number of sites targeted for
handbilling increases.

For example, Edward J. DeBartolo has been described as
the largest developer of shopping centers in the nation.'*
In Florida, the DeBartolo Corp. owns and/or manages
twenty-four malls.'* A Jordan Marsh Department Store is
located in at least four malls: Omni International of
Florida;*® Cutter Ridge Mall;?' Dadeland Mall; and Miami
International Mall.** If Jordan Marsh has a labor problem,
the Eleventh Circuit decision would permit the union to
distribute handbills at all the entrances to all these malls
and any others in which this tenant is located.

Many smaller tenants are also located in several malls.
Casual Corner and The Athlete's Foot, for example, are in
the malls listed above.** Casual Corner specializes in
women's sportswear; The Athiete’s Foot, as the name
implies, sells athletic footwear. There are many levels at
which a labor dispute may occur, from manufacturers of
the garments themselves, to the manufacturers of the
accessories, to distributors and transporters. Congress did
not intend the tentacles of a dispute to reach these
boundaries. Not only neutrals located adjacent to the site
of the dispute, but neutrals at completely separate sites
will be “enmeshed,” “pressured” and ultimately coerced.

7

The free speech issue has already been decided
by the Supreme Court.

The court below stated that if it were to conclude that
the statutory provision in quesuon makes it unlawtul for
unions to distribute such handbills to the public, “we
would be required to consider whether this provision ts
consistent with the First Amendment.”’ The court, and the
parties to the case, have not addressed the fact that the
handbills in question were distributed on the property of a

center, and the Supreme Court has previously
ruled that the First Amendment does not protect the nght
of unions to conduct labor-related activities in a shopping
center.*

The Hudgins case held that the right of employees to
picket in a shopping center was defined by the National
Labor Relations Act, not the First Amendment. Although
the case concerned picketing rather than handbilling, the
Court has held that neither of these activities are protected
by the First Amendment.** Accordingly, the National
Labor Relations Act, if interpreted to prohibit the hand-
billing in question, cannot be unconstitutional because
the Supreme Court held in the Hudgims case that there are
no constitutional rights to conduct labor-related activities
at a shopping center and the only source of such mghts ts
the National Labor Relations Act.

If this Court considers Hudgims imapplicable to umon
handbilling, then this case is governed by the Court's
determination in Lloyd v. Tanner that the First Amend-
ment does not require shopping Centers to permit hand-
billing on their premises.*’

CONCLUSION
For all the foregoing reasons and those set forth

Respectfully submitted,

Epwarp J. Sack

STEPHANIE McEvity

INTERNATIONAL COUNCIL OF
SHOPPING CENTERS

665 Fifth Avenue

New York, NY 10022

(212) 421-8181

FOOTNOTES
1. N.L.R.B. v. Retail Store Employees, 447 U.S. 607,
1616 (1980).
2. Id.

29 U.S.C. 158(b 1 4)(11)B:
it shall be an unfair labor practice for a labor organiza-
uon oF its agents—
(4) * * ® (ii) to threaten, coerce, or restrain any person
engaged in commerce or in an industry affecting com-
merce where * * * an object thereol is—

> =| &
(B) forcing or requiring any person to cease using,
selling, handling, transporting, or otherwise dealing
in the products of any other producer, processor. or
manufacturer, or to cease doing business with any
other person. * * * Provided that nothing contained
in this clause (B) shall be construed to make unlawful.
where not otherwise unlawful, any primary strike or

primary picketing.

Teamsters, Local 812 v. N.L.R.B. (Monarch Long
Beach Corp.), 105 LRRM 2658, 2663 (D.C. Cir. 1980).
Id. at 2667.

Id.

117 LRRM 2717 (9th Car. 1987).

id. at 2725.

Id.

Id.

. Bedding, Curtain & Drapery Workers Union, Local

140 vw. NLR.B., 990 F.2d 32, 503 (2d Cir.), cert.
denied, ¥92 U.S. 905 (1968).

Monarch Long Beach Corp., supra, note 4 at 2667.

13. Bedding, Curtain & Drapery Workers v. N.L.R.B.,
supra, note |! to 503.

14. See Brief Amicus Curiae of the International Council
of Shopping Centers, Inc., in Support of Petitioner,
at 2.

15. The Wisconsin Shopping Center Survey, Wisconsin
Survey Research Laboratory, March 18, 1985 (Univer-
sity of Wisconsin - Extension) at 10.

16. Monarch Long Beach Corp., supra, note 4 at 2663.

17. Shopping Center Development Handbook, The Urban
Land Institute (2d ed. 1985), p. 6.

18. “Top Developer's Survey,” Shopping Center World,
January 1987, p. 58.
19. Id. at 94.

20. 1987 Directory of Shopping Centers, The National
Research Bureau (1986) p. 5 - 177.

21. Id, at 5 - 170.
22. Id. at 5 ~ 171.
23. Id. at 5 - 175.
24. Id. at 5 - 170, 171, 175, 177.

25. Hudgins v. National Labor Relations Board, 424 U.S.
07 (1976).

26. See ad. at 520 where the court concludes “that if the
respondents in the Lloyd case did not have a First
Amendment right to enter that shopping center to
distribute handbills concerning Vietnam, then the
picketers in the present case did not have a First
Amendment right to enter this shopping center.

27. Lloyd Corp. Ltd. v. Tanner et al., 407 U.S. 551 (1972),
which held that the First Amendment did not require
shopping centers to permit individuals to distribute
handbills on the subject of the Vietnam War and the
dratt.

my nies i aan a

ae = :
ae

>

a =
7
)

7 : ~~
anal ¥ = th ae
hoe Ss 5 7 bo

= ue. ‘,. _
: eG 4 hs -
ee = ~

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385012_1164%3A15. Public record. Not legal advice.
