# Opposition Brief — Deakins v. Monaghan

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385012_1124%3A03

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1988
- **Citation:** 484 U.S. 193

## Text

NO. 86-890

Ty

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

Ocrosper TerM, 1986

DEAN DEAKINS, New [Jersey Division of Criminal Just IRVING DUBOW, New
jersey Division of Criminal Justice; ROBERT GRAYS Ni lersey Divi of
Criminal lustice; RONALD LEHMAN, NEW IERSEY STAT! POLICI
ALBERT G. PALENTCHAR, New Jersey Diy n of Criminal Justice; DONALD
4 PANFILE, New Jersey Department f Treasut VALTER PRICI Nev
lersey Division of Criminal Justice; WILLIAM SOUTHWICK, New Jersey Divisio
of Criminal Justice; RONALD SOST, New |] y Division of Criminal Ju
JOHN DOF, an individual co-ordinating a search of the premises of Foundatior
Structures, Inc IOHN DOE, an individual supervisu investigato! n the New
Jersey Division of Criminal Justice; and JOHN DOE, an individual training investi

s in the New Jersey Division of Criminal Justice,

— *. itor
Petitioners,

WILLIAM MONAGHAN, THEODORE DESANTIS, JOHN JAMES, FOUNDA
TIONS & STRUTURES, INC, WILLIAM I! MONAGHAN ASSOCIATES,

AND MJD CONSTRUCTION COMPANY, INC.,
Respondents

On Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the United States
Court of Appeals for the Third Circuit

RESPONDENTS’ BRIEF IN OPPOSITION

EDWARD N. FITZPATRICK
Attorney of Record for Respondents
Theodore DeSantis, John James, Foundations
& Structure Inc., Williams E. Monaghan
Associates and MJD Construction Company,
Inc

CLAPP & EISENBERG

A Professional Corporation

80 Park Plaza

Newark, New Jersey 07102

(201) 642-3900

PATRICK T. McGAHN, JR
Attorney of Record for Respondent
William E. Monaghan

ROBERT J. FETTWEIS McGAHN, FRISS & MILLER
KATHY M. HOOKE 1421 Atlantic Avenue
Of Counsel and Atlantic City, New Jersey 08401
on the Breef (609) 345-3261

Adams Press Corp., 1188 Raymond Boulevard, Newark, New Jersey 07102—(201) 623-8611

(1)

QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

l. Does the pendency of a state

ms

yrand jury investigation require the

urt to abstain under Younger y.

Harris from exercising jurisdiction over an
action brought under 42 U.S.C. sec. 1983
for money damages and injunctive relief
where plaintiffs allege violations of
federal constitutional rights during, and
in connection with, the execution of a
State grand jury search warrant?

2. Did the Court of Appeals for the
Third Circuit err in directing the Federa

ry; + arntk en + ih Mi « re | a _
Uistric COULFrT ~\/ LO1LOW init Circult

ce
mt
@®
ae
er
v
=
cry
y)
3
—
be
2)
a
rt
a)
ne
C
,
rt
@m
re)
VU
T
&
ne
.
fw
7T
Jt
o
nm

than dismissal, of an action brought under

to dismissal under Younger v. Harris, when

the relief sought in the action includes

damages as well as equitable relief?

(11)

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDINGS

Petitioners were sued below as
individuals acting under color of state
law. At the time of the events complained
f, petitioners Deakins, DuBow, Gray,
Palentchar, Price, Southwick and Sost were
employed by the State of New Jersey,
Division of Criminal Justice Petitioner
Lehman was an employee or agent of the New
Jersey State Police; petitioner Panfile was
an employee or agent of the New Jersey
Department of Treasury. The three John Doe
petitioners were identified by the
complaint below as, respectively, an
individual coordinating a search of the
premises of respondent Foundations &

Structures, Inc., an individual supervising

investigators in the New Jersey Division of

Criminal Justice, and an individual

(111)
Ccralining investigators in the New Jersey
O:vision of Criminal Justice.
Respondents are William Monaghan,
~-neodore DeSantis, John James, Foundations
& Structures, Inc., William E. Monaghan

Associates and MJD Construction Company,

Lnc.*

1 Pursuant to Rule 28.1, petitioners state
that Foundations & Structures, Inc. and
M.J.D. Construction Company, Inc. are
affiliated companies. Neither has any
subsidiaries or other affiliated companies.

(iv)

TABLE OF CONTENTS

QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDINGS

TABLE OF CONTENTS

TABLE OF CITATIONS

JURISDICTION

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

REASONS FOR DENYING THE WRIT

—
Le

NEITHER THE DECISION NOR
THE RECORD BELOW RAISES
THE QUESTIONS PRESENTED
IN THE PETITION

A.

The Third Circuit
Properly Required The
Federal District Court
to Follow Controlling
Third Circuit
Precedent And Retain
Jurisdiction Over
Claims For Damages And
Attorneys Fees

The Third Circuit
Correctly Held That
The Ongoing State
Proceeding Did Not
Provide An Adequate
Forum For Respondents '
Federal Claims

15

16

24

(v)

II. THE QUESTION PRESENTED
FOR REVIEW IS NOW MOOT IN
LIGHT OF THE RETURN OF AN
INDICTMENT BY THE STATE

GRAND JURY
CONCLUSION
APPENDIX:
APPENDIX COMPLAINT, filed

APPENDIX

APPENDIX

APPENDIX

December 26, 1984

LETTER DATED JUNE
28, 1985 FROM THE
HONORABLE SAMUEL
D. LENOX, JR.,
A.J.S.C., TO
ROBERT B. DONOVAN,
DEPUTY ATTORNEY
GENERAL

LETTER DATED MAY
12, 1986 FROM THE
HONORABLE SAMUEL
D. LENOX, JR.,
A.J.S.C., TO CLAPP
& EISENBERG,
ATTENTION: KATHY
M. HOOKE, ESQ.

TRANSCRIPT OF
HEARING ON MARCH
ll, 1985 BEFORE
THE HONORABLE
SAMUEL D. LENOX,
JR., pp.48-50

47

la

52a

54a

56a

(V1)

TABLE OF CITATIONS

Brennick v Hynes,
47 Ne Dp. R86
- (D.N L979

678 F.2d. 1200 (4th
Cir.), cert. denied,

459 U.S. 860 (1982).

Crane v. Fauver,
762 F.2d 325
ee i ee os el eg et ge Se phe

Fair Assessment
in Real Estate

: Association v.

; McNary, 454 U.S.

100 (1981).

Gerstein v. Pugh,
Saw Geme BOS tEeees ©« « « « © 6 oh Banat

+
Hawall Housing
Authority v. Midkiff,
Ser Uelle Bae tEwmer ke ree) F
34, 7

In re Neff,
206 F.2d 149

ee . Bw t

s Beewere © @¢ © © 6 @& €@

Kaylor v. Fields,
661 F.2d 1177

cm Gs ae : > « :
Mi j - CA Ethi _O] tt .

4 ot
Association, 4o9/ U.»s. 4
‘
ID « . . . . . . 20, <
7 | >
Jil
ie
“
I . ° Pape ; ‘ .
)
t r ° . . . . . . &&fy 2)
|
Onrosa V r D<
. +. f
| )
Bla Ky, ATIC « g .
\ (i95Y ° ° . . . +'
aa < A OA
iOOr! V e mS, 44
. j — -
“+ ,/Y . ‘ ° ° e ° °

Employment Service
v. Hodory, 431 U.S.
471 (1977)... :

(viii)

Ohio Civil Rights
Commission v. Dayton,
Christian Schools, Inc.,
477 U.S. , 106 S.Ct.

2718 (1986).

Pennhurst State Schoo]

& Hospital v. Halderman,
465 U.S. 89 (1984)

Potomac Electric Power
Company v. Sachs, et als.,
802 F.2d 1157 (4th Cir. 1986)

Rosetty v. Hamilton
Township Committee,
82 N.J. Super. 340,
848-49 (Law Div.),

affirmed per curiam,
96 N.J. Super. 66
(App. Div. 1967)

Smith v. Butler,
366 U.S. 161 (1961).

sovereign News Co. va
Falke, 448 F.Supp. 306
(N.D. Ohio), remanded

for reconsideration in
light of intervening
State law, 610 F.2d 428
(6th Cir.), cert. denied,

447 U.S. 923 (1580)

46

(v

‘thompson

4
52

(1974)

]

’

Toft v. Ketchum,
BN.J. 80, L113 A.2a

J/-* °
+ ’ * T y
a . i >»,
" a ——T , ‘
; f
ae t ew. +t . ° ° . . . ?
vv A141 4.4 > . XC A ,iiFf _
y ; + 4 ~ 4
Vad A A bh Uf | a ‘ iy
ry Ff be >
d . oe JO
; y )} bd
A P| ‘ . . 7 . . . . . 7
|
g a
a 4
eo
A . i ,
, ’ ’
: c . . . . . . .
. .
Ts y , _Y Y
i ALiN4 . ACA i di ;
ee 7 a
? . j . . . . . . . ; ;
)
yg 4
4
Gy,
) ‘
4
é ; d
‘ A
7% ,4°
+ + + +
é }
4 *wWJ-« . c . . . . . . . .
:
‘ rai
d * * . . . . . . .
4 ' "eo
? . . . . . . . . . . . ;

-l-

NO. 86-890

IN THE
SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES
OCTOBER TERM, 1986

DEAN DEAKINS, New Jersey Division of
Criminal Justice; IRVING DUBOW, New Jersey
Division of Criminal Justice; ROBERT GRAY,
New Jersey Division of Criminal Justice;
RONALD LEHMAN, New Jersey State Police;
ALBERT G. PALENTCHAR, New Jersey Division
of Criminal Justice; DONALD A. PANFILE, New
Jersey Department of Treasury; WALTER
PRICE, New Jersey Division of Criminal
Justice; WILLIAM SOUTHWICK, New Jersey
Division of Criminal Justice; RONALD SOST,
New Jersey Division of Criminal Justice;
JOHN DOE, an individual coordinating a
search of the premises of Foundation &
Structures, Inc.; JOHN DOE, an individual
supervising investigators in the New Jersey
Division of Criminal Justice; and JOHN DOE,
an individual training investigators in the
New Jersey Division of Criminal Justice,
Petitioners,
vs.

WILLIAM MONAGHAN, THEODORE DESANTIS, JOHN
JAMES, FOUNDATIONS & STRUCTURES, INC.,
WILLIAM E. MONAGHAN ASSOCIATES, AND MJD

CONSTRUCTION COMPANY, INC.,
Respondents.

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE
THIRD CIRCUIT

-2?-

RESPONDENTS’ BRIEF IN OPPOSITION

The respondents William Monaghan,
Theodore DeSantis, John James, Foundations
& Structures, Inc., William E. Monaghan
Associates, and MJD Construction, Inc.
respectfully oppose the application to have
a Writ of Certiorari issued to review the
Order of the United States Court of Appeals
for the Third Circuit entered in the
above-entitled proceeding on July 31, 1986.

JURISDICTION

Responden-s' complaint, filed in the
United States District Court for the
District of New Jersey, invoked federal
jurisdiction under 28 U.S.C. sec. 1331, 28
U.S.C. sec. 1343 and principles of pendent
Jurisdiction. Respondents otherwise rely

on the jurisdictional statement contained

in the "Petition For A Writ Of Certiorari

-3-
To The United States Court Of Appeals For
The Third Circuit,” hereafter "Petition."

STATEMENT OF THE CASE-

In an opinion filed July 3l, 1986, the
United States Court of Appeals for the
Third Circuit unanimously held that the
district court had ignored Third Circuit
precedents which required the federal
district court, when abstaining under

Younger v. Harris from adjudicating claims

for injunctive relief, to stay and not
dismiss claims for damages and attorneys
fees when these remedies were not available
in the pending state proceeding requiring
abstention. (Petitioners' Appendix 25a,
hereafter "Pet. App.")

The Third Circuit further held that
the district court had erred in abstaining

under Younger v. Harris because the state

grand jury proceeding at issue did not

provide an adequate forum for respondents’

-4-
federal claims. (Pet. App. 29a-30aj}. The
Third Circuit therefore reinstated
respondents' limited claims for equitable
ef as well. The Honorable Arlin M.
Adams, U.S.C.J., concurred in the holding
that the district court erred in dismissing
respondents' claims for Oamages but
dissented insofar as the reinstatement
extended to respondents' claims for
equitable relief. (Pet, App. 33a-44a).

The complaint under consideration Dy

the Third Circuit was filed on December 26,
1984. Respondents alleged that
petitioners, as individuals but under color
of state law, violated rights guaranteed
respondents under the United States
Constitution and under the common laws °
the State of New Jersey in connection with

tme execution of a state grand jury search

warrant on the premises of respondent

-5-
Foundations & Structures, Inc. on October
5, 1984.

Respondents alleged in their complaint
that those petitioners who executed the
warrant occupied the premises for nearly
eight hours, illegally barricading the
entrance to the site with a state vehicle,
searching exiting vehicles, recording
serial numbers of construction machinery on
the site and taking photographs. The
complaint alleged that petitioners used the
company telephone without authorization and
denied such use to others, and required
everyone on the multi-acre site--incluc ‘ng
non-employees--to line up and produce
identification. Respondents also alleged
that hundreds of documents that were
facially outside the scope of the warrant
or were protected by attorney-client or

work product privileges were

indiscriminately seized, including

-6-
documents in a folder plainly marked “Grand

Jury. (Respondents' Appendix A, hereafter

None of respondents had been informed
at the time the warrant was executed or at
tre time of the filing of the complaint
that they were targets of the state grand
jury investigation giving rise to the
warrant. Indeed, respondents aileged in
their complaint that. the warrant was
executed in furtherance of an unlawful
attempt to coerce respondents into
cooperating with state authorities in the
investigation of others. (Resp. App. A).
Respondents further alleged deprivation cof
liberty and interference with the right to
counsel and to be free from coerced self-
imcrimination. In addition to these
federal causes of action, respondents

asserted four causes of action arising

under state law, sounding in trespass,

-J-
conversion, unlawful confinement, and
intentional infliction of emotional
distress. (Resp. App. A).

Respondents sought compensatory and
punitive damages, limited injunctive
relief, and costs and attorneys fees
pursuant to 42 U.S.C. sec. 1983 and the
common laws of the State of New Jersey.
Respondents did not seek to enjoin any
proceeding or prosecution and did not move
for preliminary injunctive relief at the
time of the filing of the complaint.

Petitioners moved to dismiss the
complaint on or about January 28, 1985,

contending, inter alia, that the district

court should refrain from exercising
jurisdiction under the principles of
equitable abstention set forth in Younger

v. Harris, 401 U.S. 37 (1971). On or about

February 15, 1985, respondents filed papers

in opposition to the motion to dismiss and

-8-

cross~-moved for preliminary relief in the
Form of return of certain of the documents
seized by petitioners on October 5, 1984.2

On February 19, 1985, four days after
respondents filed their cross-motion in
federal court for return of documents, the
State of New Jersey, Division of Criminal
Justice, obtained an order signed by the
Honorable Samuel D. Lenox, Jr., Assignment
Judge of the Superior Court of New Jersey,
Mercer County, requiring certain of the
respondents to show cause why certain of
the documents seized on October 5, 1984 and
later sealed by consent of counsel should
not be unsealed. These documents
constituted a subset of the documents which
were the subject of respondents' cross-

motion in federal court.

2 Petitioners imply that respondents had
previously moved for injunctive relief.
See Petition, p.6. The record clearly
shows that this suggestion is inaccurate.

-9-

The Order to Show Cause was obtained
from the state court ex parte and without
notice to respondents’ counsel. Papers
Filed in support of the Order to Show Cause
did not inform the state court of
respondents' pending motion before the
federal court which encompassed the very
Same documents. The subsequent appearances
of counsel before Judge Lenox in connection
with the Order to Show Cause focused
exclusively on the narrow issue of the
applicability of the attorney-client
privilege to the subset of documents that
had been sealed by consent of counsel.
During an appearance by counsel on March
ll, 1985, Judge Lenox informed respondents'
counsel that any relief by way of return of
documents would have to be obtained by
filing a separate motion under New Jersey

Court Rule 3:5-7(a) which might not even

have been heard by him. (Resp. App. D).

-10-

Judge Lenox denied respondents' motion
to quash the Order to Show Cause on March
ll, 1986 and on March 25, 1985, ordered
further submissions and affidavits on the
issue of the applicability of the asserted
orivileges. Having successfully defended
the ex parte Order to Show Cause in state
court, petitioners relied heavily on that
Order in arguing before the federal
district court that abstention was
required.

On March 8, 1985, the Honorable
Stanley S. Brotman, U.S.D.J., heard oral
argument on petitioners’ motion to dismiss
and on respondents' cross-motion.
Brotman reserved decision, ordering a stay
of all discovery and ordering the sealing
of the disputed documents pending
determination of the motions by the Court.

An order to this effect was entered on

March 25, 1985. (Pet. App. A).

elie

Subsequently, the State of New Jersey
allowed its application before Judge Lenox
to languish. On or about June 28, 1985,
Judge Lenox requested the State of New
Jersey to comply with orders of the state
court by specifying factual assertions in
the submitted affidavits to be the subject
of a hearing. (Resp. App. B). The State
of New Jersey took absolutely no action in
response to this letter for over 10 months.
Finally, on or about May 12, 1986, Judge
Lenox notified all parties that he
considered the State's motion withdrawn.
(Resp. App. C).

On August 6, 1985, the federal
district court dismissed respondents'

federal action under Younger vy. Harris.

The district court further held that
respondents had not met the requirements

for issuance of a preliminary injunction.

(Pet. App. C).

- i?-
Respondents filed a timely Notice of

Appeal on September 4, 1985. On December

3¢, 1985, over four months after dismissal
>= the federal complaint, two ct the six

respondents, William E. Monaghan and
Treodore DeSantis, were informed that they
were targets of a state grand jury
investigation.

On July 31, 1986, a unanisous United
States Court of Appeals for the Third
Circuit, reversing the federal district
ccurt, held that under controlling Third
Circuit precedent, the district court
plainly erred in not entering a stay and
retaining jurisdiction over respondents'
Claims for money damtiages and attorneys
fees. (Pet. App. 25a). The unanimous
Circuit court also affirmed the denial of
preliminary relief (Pet. App. 32a-33a). A

majority of the Third Circuit panel further

held that abstention was improper because

-l|3-
no state proceeding was ongoing which could
adjudicate the merits of respondents’
federal claims and because no indictments
had been returned against respondents at
the time that they filed their complaint in
the federal court. (Pet. App. 29a-30a).
The Honorable Arlin M. Adams, U.S.C.J.,
dissented from this part of the decision in
4 separate opinion.

On August 14, 1986, petitioners sought
en banc rehearing. A majority of the
active judges of the Third Circuit- denied
the petition in an order filed August 29,
1986 and again in an amended substitute
order filed September 4, 1986. (Pet. App.
E & F, respectively). Judge Adams again
dissented from these orders in separate
statements.

On September 10, 1986, over one year

after the complaint had been dismissed,

respondents William E. Monaghan, Theodore

-14-
DeSantis and Foundations & Structures, Inc.
were indicted by a state grand jury. As of
the date of this brief, three of the
respondents, John James, William E.
Monaghan Associates, and MJD Construction
Company, Inc., not only have not been
indicted, they have not even been informed
that they are targets of any continuinc

investigation.

4 Petitioners continually identify
respondents as “targets of a state grand
jury proceeding.” This characterization is
factually inaccurate with respect to all
respondents when the Complaint was
Gismissed and remains inaccurate with
respect to respondents John James, William
E. Monaghan Associates and MJD Construction
Company, Inc. Moreover, all respondents
alleged in the complaint that prosecutorial
activities were being directed against them
in an effort to intimidate respondents into
cooperating in an investigation of’ others.

-15-

REASONS FOR DENYING THE WRIT

NEITHER THE DECISION NOR THE
RECORD BELOW RAISES THE
QUESTIONS PRESENTED IN THE
PETITION.

Petitioners present two questions for
review: (1) whether federal courts are
barred from dismissing a claim for damages
when they abstain from adjudicating claims
for equitable relief in a suit brought
under 42 U.S.C. sec. 1983; and (2) whether
federal courts “must intrude” into an
ongoing state grand jury investigation by
virtue of a 42 U.S.C. Sec. 1983 action
Filed by targets of that investigation,
when the federal court plaintiffs may seek
redress from the State court which
supervised the grand jury and issued the
warrant. Neither the decision of the

Circuit Court of Appeals for the Third

Circuit nor the record below, fairly read,

-l16-
oresent these questions, and the petition

for certiorari must therefore be denied.

A. The Third Circuit Properly
Required The Federal District
Court To Follow Controlling
Third Circuit Precedents And
To Retain Jurisdiction Over
Claims For Damages and
Attorneys Fees.

The Third Circuit unanimously held
that the district court “plainly erred” in
dismissing respondents’ claim for money
damages and attorneys fees rather than
Staying the federal case pending the
outcome of proceedings at the state level.
(Pet. App. 25a, 33a, Adams, U.S.C.J.,
concurring in this part of the decision).
This determination was based on cases in
the Third Circuit which hold that the
federal district court should retain
jurisdiction over claims for damages and

attorneys fees when these remedies are not

available in an ongoing state proceeding

even when the pendency of that proceedine

-lj-
requires the district court to abstain from
adjudicating claims: for injunctive relief.

Crane v. Fauver, 762 F.2d 325, 328-29 (3d

Cir. 1985); Williams v. Red Bank Board of

Education, 662 F.2d 1008, 1022-24 (3d Cir.

1981). Because respondents' claims for
damages and attorneys fees could not have
been considered in the pending state
proceedings petitioners relied on, the
circuit court held that the district court
erred by dismissing those claims.
Petitioners offer as a question for
review a much broader question than that
actually determined by the Third Circuit.
The circuit court did not hold that federal
courts are barred from dismissing damage
claims in all cases when they abstain from
adjudicating claims for equitable relief
under 42 U.S.C. sec. 1983. Rather, the

circuit court's decision was limited to the

proper treatment of damage claims and

-18-
claims for attorneys fees when those claims
cannot be heard in the ongoing state

proceeding which counsels abstention. The

prior decisions of Williams v. Red Bank

Board of Education and Crane v. Fauver

established the parameters of what
constituted proper treatment of such claims
within the Third Circuit and the district
court was unanimously reversed for failing
to observe those parameters. The actual
holding of the circuit court in this
portion of the opinion simply reaffirms
basic principles of stare decisis and is

hardly worthy of the Court's certiorari

jurisdiction.
Even if the question presented by
petitioners could be read to challenge the

rule established within the Third Circuit

by the Williams and Crane v. Fauver cases,

certiorari would not be appropriate.

-l|9-
First, the Third Circuit rule on this
issue, although solidly grounded in

applicable law, has limited impact. It

rvy

affects only those rare Section 1983 cases
where an ongoing state proceeding is
involved but the relief sought includes
jJamages as well as injunctive relief and
out of those cases, only those within the
Third Circuit. No conflict arising with
the decisions of any other circuit court
appears to be involved.

Second, the Third Circuit rule is a

logical extension of the policies governing

Younger abstention. An adequate forum in

the ongoing state proceeding for the
plaintiffs' federal claims is required in

order for Younger abstention to be

appropriate. See, @.g., Hawaii Housing

Authority v. Midkiff, 467 U.S. 229, 237

(1984); Gerstein v. Pugh, 420 U.S. 103, 108

n.9 (1975). Williams v. Red Bank Board of

-20-
Education and its progeny in the Third
Circuit adapt this basic principle to |
preserve federal claims for damages and
attorneys fees which are unable to be
adjudicated in the state proceeding which
requires abstention. Refusing to dismiss
mitigates some of the practical
difficulties which a dismissal creates,
such as the possible running of the statute

of limitations.* See Williams v. Red Bank

4 The facts of this case demonstrate the
importance of preserving access to the
federal forum where there are allegations
of a bad faith prosecution and the
defendants in the damages action can
control the length of time that the state
proceedings will take. The relevant period
of limitations in this case is two years.
See N.J.S.A. 2A:14-2: Wilson v. Garcia, 471
U.S. 261 (1985). Most of the events giving
rise to respondents’ causes of action
occurred on October 5, 1984; formal
proceedings against respondents’ Monaghan,
DeSantis and Foundations & Structures, Inc.
were not even initiated until September 10,
1986, when the statutory period would
almost have run had the complaint not been
filed on or about December 26, 1984.
Without a stay, the federal claims of all
respondents, including those who were never
(footnote continuec)

-21-
Board of Education, 662 F.2d at 1023-24 «&
n.16. At the same time, as the Third
Circuit pointed out in the Williams case,
the mechanism of a stay accommodates the
State's interest in allowing its own
proceedings to go forward unimpeded, thus
furthering the underlying purposes of
Younger abstention. Id. at 1024. The
result thus achieved is consistent with,
and a logical extension of, Supreme Court

precedents. Indeed, Williams v. Red Bank

Board cf Education recently was cited with

general approval by this Court. See Ohio

Civil Rights Commission v. Dayton Christian

(footnote continued from previous page)
indicted or even told they were targets,
could be simply snuffed out by the State of
New Jersey--which employs all of the
defendants below--by simple lack of
diligence in pursuing its investigation.
Consider, for example, how the State of New
Jersey allowed the proceedings before Judge
Lenox to lapse once the abstention argument
had been made before the federal district

court.

-22-

Schools, Inc., 477 U.S. , 91 L.Ed.2d

512, 522 2.2, 106 S.Ct. 2718 (1986).
Petitioners argue, however, that the
State courts of New Jersey can award
damages and attorneys fees in suits brought
under 42 U.S.C. sec. 1983. It has long
been settled, however, with respect to
Section 1983 actions that: “(t]he federal
remedy is supplementary to the state remedy

-

." Monroe v. Pape, 365 U.S. 167, 183

(1961). Fair Assessment in Real Estate

Association v. McNary, 454 U.S. 100 (1981),

relied upon by petitioners, is wholly
inapposite. That case held that an action
for damages under 42 U.S.C. sec. 1983 could
not be brought to challenge the allegedly
unconstitutional administration of a state
tax system. The Court expressly limited

its holding to the unique area of state

taxpayer suits. Id. at 105.

-23-
Petitioners’ further arguments, that
respondents’ state law claims may only be
adjudicated in state court by virtue of the

doctrine of Pennhurst State School &

Hospital v. Haldecman, 465 U.S. 89 (1984)95

and that a stay rather than dismissal may
still interfere with the state court
proceeding, touch on discretionary factors
which may have influenced the district
court in dismissing the complaint in its
entirety. As the Third Circuit opinion
makes clear, however, the precedents
controlling the decision at the district
level do not make the decision to dismiss
Or stay discretionary but require a stay
under the circumstances of this case.
Petitioners’ arguments therefore miss the

point.

2 The Third Circuit rejected petitioners'

arguments under Pennhurst State School &
Hospital v. Halderman as being totally

unsupported by any authority or credible
argument. (Pet. App. 26a).

-24-
Thus, petitioners’ question for review
on this issue ignores the limited nature of
the circuit court's holding and the

fsndamental principles of stare dec

Further, any unarticulated challenge to the
circuit rule which was reaffirmed in this
case is totally without merit and not of
sufficient national impact to require the
attention of the Court pursuant to its
certiorari jurisdiction. The petition for
certiorari must therefore be denied.
B. The Third Circuit Correctly
Held That The Ongoing State
Proceeding Did Not Provide An
Adequate Forum For
Respondents' Federal Claims.
Contrary to what is suggested by
petitioners’ first question presented for

review, the Third Circuit did not require

the federal court to ignore Younger

abstention precepts and to intrude into an

ongoing state grand jury investigation

“where the federal complainants may seek

-25-

redress from the state court which
supervised the grand jury and issued the
warrant." The Third Circuit reversed the
district court's decision to abstain
precisely because what it called the
"critical factor" in the abstention
analysis was missing, that is, “the
availability in the pending state

proceeding of an adequate opportunity to

adjudicate the constitutional claims raised
in the federal litigation." (Pet. App.
29a), emphasis added. Petitioners gloss
over the precise ruling of the court by
referring very vaguely to the availability
of “redress from the state court" and
therefore suggest for review a question
that was never determined below.

A long line of Supreme Court cases
requires the adequate forum for the

piaintiff's federal claims to be provided

by the ongoing state proceeding which

-26-
otherwise counsels abstention. A forum
provided by a separate state proceeding is

not sufficient. See Ohio Civil Rights

Comm'n v. Dayton Christian Schools, 91

L.Ed.2d at 522 (State administrative
proceedings implicating important state
interests can give rise to abstention so
long as federal plaintiff will have full
and fair opportunity to litigate
constitutional claims “in the course of
those proceedings”); Hawaii Housing
Authority v. Midkiff, 467 U.S. at 237

(Comity and federalism counsel abstention
whenever federal claims have been or could
have presented in state judicial proceeding

implicating important state interest);

Middlesex Ethics Committee v. Garden State
Bar Association, 457 U.S. 423, 432 (1982)

(Pertinent inquiry is whetter state

proceeding giving rise to abstention

affords adequate opportunity to raise the

-27-

constitutional claims, quoting Moore v.

Sims, 442 U.S. 415, 430 (1979)); Gerstein

v. Pugh, 420 U.S. at 108 n.9 (Federal claim

not barred by Younger v. Harris where it

cculd not be raised as defense in criminal

prosecution); Qhio Bureau of Employment

Services v. Hodory, 431 U.S. 477, 477

(1970) (Younger abstention concerned with
considerations of comity and federation as
they relate to State's interest in pursuing
ongoing state proceeding and as they
involve ability of state courts to consider
federal constitutional claims in that
context), emphasis added. That the
required state forum for adjudicating
federal claims must be provided by the same
ongoing proceeding otherwise warranting
abstention is also indirectly supported by
the longstanding principle that generally

“available” state remedies need not be

exhausted before the federal forum is open, -

-28-

e.g., Monroe v. Pape, 365 U.S. 167, 183

(1961).

At the core of the Third Circuit's
opinion was the limited role of the state
grand jury to which the federal court was
being asked to defer. The Third Circuit
pointed out that under the state law, the
state grand jury is primarily accusatory in
function; it can do no more than issue a
charge that a defendant has violated the
Criminal law. (Pet. App. 30a). Therefore,
under Hawaii Housing Authority and
Middlesex County Ethics Committee, the

Third Circuit found that the state grand

jury investigation at issue in this case
could not qualify as a proceeding

warranting abstention because the grand
jury did not function in an adjudicatory

role and because, at the time of the filing

of the complaint, there had been no formal

-29-

charge to initiate any judicial proceeding.
(Pet. App. 29c-30a).®

This reasoning and result are clearly
correct. Under New Jersey state law, a
grand jury proceeding is not a "judicial
proceeding™ because it makes no binding
determinations of law and fact. See

Rosetty v. Hamilton Township Committee, 82

N.J. Super. 340, 348-49 (Law Div. 1964),

affirmed per curiam, 96 N.J. Super. 66

(App. Div. 1967).
Hawaii Housing Authority v. Midkiff

demonstrates that Younger abstention is not

required when state judicial proceedings
have not been initiated at the time when
proceedings of substance take place in

federal court. See 467 U.S. at 238-239.

By the time appellees in Hawaii Housing

® Cf. Steffel v. Thompson, 415 U.S. 452

(1974) (Abstention not appropriate where
prosecution is merely threatened, not
pending).

- 30-
Authority filed suit in federal district
court, the Hawaii Housing Authority had
held a public hearing concerning the
proposed acquisition of some of the
appellees’ property, had found that
acquisition of those lands would effectuate
the public purposes of the Hawaii Land
Reform Act, had directed appeliees to
negotiate a price for the sale of the
designated properties with existing lessees
and, when those negotiations were
unsuccessful, had ordered appellees to
submit to compulsory arbitration. 467 U.S.
at 234.

In a unanimous opinion by all those
Justices participating in the decision,’
the Court held that the decision not to
abstain had been properly made. The Court

stated that:

7 Justice Marshall did not participate in
the decision.

-3l-
Under Younger-abstention
doctrine, interests of comity
and federalism counsel federal
courts to abstain from juris-

diction whenever federal claims
have been or could be presented

in ongoing state judicial pro-

ceedings that concern important

state interests.
Id. at 237-38, emphasis added. The Court
held that in the case before it, “state
judicial proceedings had not been initiated
at the time proceedings of substance took
place in federal court.” Id. at 238,
emphasis added.8

The Court further held that the
extensive administrative proceedings which

had taken place did not satisfy the

requirement of a state judicial proceeding

8 Although not part of the circuit court's
discussions, proceedings of substance had
already taken place in the federal court as
early as March 25, 1985 when the district
court entered an order prohibiting the
State of New Jersey from reviewing
documents which were the subject of
respondents’ cross-motion in the federal
court. (Pet. App. A). That Order was in
effect until August 6, 1985. (Pet. App.
3).

-32-
because the administrative proceedings were
not part of, and were not themselves, a
*sdicial proceeding. Id. at 238.?

The adjudicatory nature of the-ongoing
State proceeding was equally important in
Viddlesex Ethics Committee v. Garden State
Bar Association, 457 U.S. at 433. The

Supreme Court noted that the attorney

disciplinary proceedings at issue in that
case were initiated by the filing of a
complaint and found that the New Jersey
Supreme Court considered those proceedings
to be “judicial in nature,” id., quoting

vy. K hum, 18 N.J. 280, 284, 113 A.2d
671, cert. denied, 350 U.S. 887 (1955).

Contrary to petitioners’ arguments,

Ohio Civil Rights Comm'n v. Dayton

9 The Court based this conclusion on a
provision in the Land Reform Act which
stated that the mandatory arbitration
proceeding would be in advance of and would
not constitute any part of, a condemnation
or eminent domain action.

-~3j-

Christian Schools does not undercut the

principles of Hawaii Housing Authority and

Ethics Committee. Ohio

ty
Civil Rights Comm'n reiterates the

principle that abstention is applicable tc

State administrative proceedings “in which
important state interests are vindicated,
so long as in the course of those
proceedings the federal plaintiff would
have a full and fair opportunity to
litigate his constitutional claim.” 91
L.Ed. 2d at 522, emphasis added. The
acministrative proceeding at issue in Qhic

ivii Rights Comm'n was a state division of

>ivil rights hearing which had commenced by
way of the filing of formal complaint

against the appellee private school after a
finding of probable cause. The proceeding

was Clearly adjudicative in nature and nm

extended discussion of this issue was

necessary. Moreover, in light of the

-34-

Court's requirement that a forum for the
appellee's constitutional claims be
provided in the course of the
administrative proceeding and its
conclusion that the proceeding at issue met
that standard, the Court's further
Statement that judicial review of the
administrative proceeding was “in any
event” sufficient to provide a forum, 91
L.Ed.2d at 523, must be read as obiter
dictum. In a footnote, the Court
reaffirmed the Hawaii Housing Authority
determination that administrative
proceedings that are not judicial in nature
under state law do not give rise to
abstention. 91 L.Ed.2d at 522 n.2.

Even if Qhio Civil Rights Comm'n could
be read to hold that a forum for the
federal claims exists as long as those

Claims may be raised in a judicial review

of the state proceeding, neither logic nor

-35-
the facts in this specific case support the
conclusion that a “review” of the state
grand jury proceedings through a criminal
prosecution provides an adequate forum for
respondents' federal claims. First, a
criminal trial is in no sense a "review" of
the grand jury proceeding; it is a wholly
separate inquiry to determine guilt or
immocence. See In re Neff, 206 F.2d 149,
152 (3d Cir. 1953); Rosetty v. Hamilton
Township Committee, 82 N.J. Super. at 348-

49.

Second, even putting aside the
question of remedies, a criminal trial
cannot provide judicial review of all of
the federal claims of the respondents in
this case. For example, respondents’
Claims of unlawful coercion and deprivation

of liberty stand independently of any

Claims which may be raised by way of

defense. See Middlesex Ethics Committee,

-36-
457 U.S. at 437 (State forum must be
available for “all relevant issues");

Gerstein v. Pugh, 420 U.S. at 108 n.9

(Abstention not appropriate where claim
relating to pretrial detention may not be
raised as a defense at trial). Moreover,
three of the respondents have not been
indicted at all and the indictments of
respondents Monaghan, DeSantis and
Foundations & Structures, Inc. may yet be
dismissed.

Potomac Electric Power Company v.

Sachs, et als., 802 F.2d 1157 (4th Cir.

1986), upon which petitioners rely is
factually distinguishable. The only
federal claim in that case was PEPCO's
claim that the federal Toxic Substances
Control Act preempted Maryland's laws and
regulations concerning the disposal of

hazardous wastes. The Fourth Circuit held

that this claim could be raised as a

-37-

defense if PEPCO were indicted by the state
grand jury. Moreover, the opinion does not
consider the general adequacy of a criminal
prosecution as a “review” of grand jury
action and does not analyze the function of
the state grand jury under Maryland law.19

The clear holding of the Third Circuit
was that the state grand jury investigation
was not adjudicative in nature under New
Jersey law and that it therefore could not,
in the pre-indictment stage, provide an
adequate forum for the consideration of
respondents' federal claims. Accord,

Brennick v. Hynes, 471 F. Supp. 863 (D.N.Y.

10 The PEPCO court also relied heavily on a
peses Fourth Circuit decision, Craig v.
Barney, 678 F.2d 1200 (4th Cir.), cert.
denied, 459 U.S. 860 (1982). Craig vy,
Barney, like Kaylor v. Fields, 661 F.2d

1177 (8th Cir. 1981) and Notey v. Hynes,
418 F. Supp. 1320 (E.D.N.Y¥. 1976), also
cited by petitioners, was decided prior to
Middlesex County Ethics Committee and
Hawaii Housing Authority and contains no
substantive discussion of the relevant
issues.

-38-
1979). In reaching this determination, the
circuit court correctly relied on Hawaii
Housing Authority and Middlesex County

The circuit court also correctly

rejected petitioners’ vague reliance upon
N.J.Ct.R. 3:5-7(a) and the ex parte Order
to Show Cause which petitioners obtained
from Judge Lenox. N.J.Ct.R. 3:5-7(a) is
strictly limited to providing a mechanism
for a return of documents unlawfully
seized. Moreover, that rule, as the Third
Circuit correctly determined and as
petitioners attempt to obscure in their

petition, is a general rule of criminal

procedure, outside of and independent of,
the state grand jury proceeding which was

the purported basis for abstention. (Pet.

App. 30a-3la). Even putting aside

-39-
questions of standing!! and the limited
nature of the relief available, the Third
Circuit correctly held that the mere
availability of this independent remedy
does not counsel abstention. Monroe vy.
Pape, 365 U.S. at 183. Petitioners have
ignored the context.of the circuit court's
discussion in accusing the Third Circuit of
writing “new law” which conflicts with

Supreme Court precedents. (Pet. at 10).

: a |

~+ R. 3:5-7(a) allows an application for
return of documents to be made only by “a
person aggrieved by an unlawful search and
seizure and having reasonable grounds to
believe that the evidence may be used
against him in a penal proceeding,” Pet. at
pp.3-4, emphasis added. At the time the
complaint was dismissed, respondents had
not even been informed that they were
targets of the state grand jury
investigation and in fact alleged that the
documents had been seized as part of a
general pattern of unlawful coercion and
intimidation. Three of the respondents,
even at this date, have no basis to believe
that any of the documents will be used
against them in a penal proceeding. Under
these circumstances, the Third Circuit's
reservations concerning the availability of
the R. 3:5-7(a) procedure were well
founded.

-40-

The appearance of counsel before Judge
Lenox on three occasions in connection with
the Order to Show Cause was even more
limited in scope than an application under
R. 3:5-7. The only issue before Judge
Lenox was the applicability of the
attorney-client and work product privileges
to the small subset of documents that were

the subject of the Order to Snow Cause.

hese

ct

The Third Circuit correctly held
proceedings, instituted ex parte by the
State of New Jersey, were not relevant to

the full scope of respondents’ claims.
(Pet. App. 3la-32a).

Petitioners also suggest that
certiorari is appropriate because the
circuit court “has held abstention
inappropriate when a state judiciary is

immediately available and has explicitly
expressed its willingness to adjudicate the

m in . laims” and that this

-4l-
decision is likely to confuse the
development of this area of the law.”
(Pet. at 10), emphasis added.

As has already been demonstrated, this
was not the holding of the Third Circuit.
Moreover, this argument rests on a complete
Gistortion of the record not only as to the
scope of the claims before Judge Lenox but
as to the “expressed wiliingness” referred
to above and elsewhere in the petition,
e.g., Pet. at 9, 13, 18-19. Far from
expressing willingness to adjudicate
respondents’ federal claims, Judge Lenox
expressly declined to hear any issues other
than those relating to attorney-client
and/or work product privileges. (Resp.
App. D).

It is clear therefore that the factual
premise for petitioners’ first Question

Presented For Review is missing, that is,

respondents had no redress for their claims

-42-
in the pending state proceeding allegedly

warranting abstention and the Third Circuit

so held. Certiorari of this question

should therefore be denied. Smith v.

Butler, 366 U.S. 161 (1961).

II. THE QUESTION PRESENTED FOR
REVIEW IS NOW MOOT IN LIGHT
OF THE RETURN OF AN INDICT-

MENT BY THE STATE GRAND JURY

As the Third Circuit aptly stated, the

issue underlying respondents’ request for

equitable relief is “whether the Younger

doctrine requires a district court to
abstain in a case in which the federal
plaintiff is a target of an ongoing New
Jersey state grand jury investigation.”
(Pet. App. 26a-27a). It is this question
which forms the basis of the petitioners’
application for the issuance of a writ of

certiorari from this Court.

But the question presented for review

is no longer germane to this case. As the

-43-
petitioners have dutifully reported to this
Court, a state grand jury indicted
respondents Monaghan, DeSantis, and
Foundations & Structures, Inc. on September
10, 1986, six days after the Third Circuit
denied the petition for rehearing en banc.
The grand jury did not, however, include
respondents James, William J. Monaghan
Associates and MJD Construction Company,
Inc. in this indictment. It is apparent
that the grand jury has concluded its
investigation in this matter. The State's
argument that the Third Circuit's decision
will interfere with an ongoing grand jury
proceeding is therefore moot.

With regard to the three indicted
respondents, neither the district court nor
the Third Circuit has had the opportunity
to consider the changed circumstances

Drought about by the recent indictment.

Neither of these courts has ruled on

-44-
whether the return of this state grand jury
indictment would, at this point, require
federal court abstention under the Younger
doctrine. Upon remand from the Third
Circuit, the district court would have to
address this subsequent development. The
discrict court should be given this
opportunity, especially since there is no
longer any ongoing grand jury proceeding
which the Third Circuit's ruling could even
arguably impair. The question presented
for review is limited to the grand jury
proceeding.

As to the other three respondents--
James, William E. Monaghan Associates, and
MID Construction Company, Inc.--the record
in this case is absolutely devoid of even
the slightest hint that they were ever
targeted in the grand jury investigation.

Petitioners have never contended that these

respondents were targets of the grand

-45-
jury's—probe, and they have not been
indicted. Given the apparent conclusion of
the grand jury's investigation, the Third
Circuit's decision in favor of these
respondents can in no way be said to have
any impact whatever on the state grand jury

process.}2 As to these respondents, then,

12 Indeed, the concerns expressed by
petitioners and the amici curiae herein
regarding the impact which the Third
Circuit decision could have on the state
grand jury process would appear to be
greatly overblown. In the fifteen years
Since Younger v. Harris was handed down by
-his Court, only a handful of courts have
been called upon to address abstention
issues in the context of a state grand jury
investigation. See in addition to the
cases discussed at pp.36-38 and n.10 supra,
Sovereign News Co. v. Falke, 448 F. Supp.
306 (N.D. Ohio’. remanded for
reconsideratio.. in light of intervening
state law, 610 F.2d 428 (6th Cir.), cert.
denied, 447 U.S. 923 (1980). This relative
infrequency dispels the notion that the
Third Circuit's decision could cause
widespread disruption in state law
enforcement activities. At the same time,
the rarity of the issue demonstrates its
relative lack of importance within the
federal system. In all other respects, the
brief filed by amici curiae simply restates ~
the mischaracterizations of petitioners
(footnote continued)

-46-

the question presented for review is, and
always has been, factually inapposite.}3

In light of the mootness of the.
question which the petitioners have
presented for review, the grant of a writ
of certiorari would be both improvident and
unnecessary. Vitek v. Jones, 436 U.S. 407
(1978); ne v “ ne., 359
U.S. 180, 183 (1959). Respondents
Monaghan, DeSantis and Foundation &

Structures, Inc., respectfully request that

(footnote continued from previous pace)
which have been fully addressed herein.
The amici curiae brief is particularly
notable, however, by its failure to
distinguish actual prosecution with
threatened prosecution. See Steffel vy.
Thompson, 415 U.S. 452 (1974). Finally,
Since the questions presented for review in
this case are moot, the amici curiae are
essentially seeking an advisory opinion of
this Court.

13 may in Potomac Electric Power
Company v. Sachs, supra, the petitioners

have filed a supplemental brief with this
Court, informing it chat the State of
Maryland has recently notified them that
they are no longer the subject of an
ongoing Grand Jury investigation.

-~47-
tris Court deny the writ of certiorari and
allow the matter to be remanded to the
Sistrict Court for further proceedings in

light of the state grand jury indictment.
ONCLUSION
For the foregoing reasons, this Court
should deny the writ.
Respectfully submitted,

EDWARD N. FITZPATRICK
Attorney of Record for
Respondents Theodore
DeSantis, John James,
Foundation & Structures,
Inc., William E. Monaghan
Associates, and MJD
Construction Company, inc.

CLAPP & EISENBERG

A Professional
Corporation

80 Park Plaza

Newark, New Jersey 07102

(201) 642-3900

PATRICK T. MCGAHN
Attorney of Record for
Respondent William E.
Monaghan

-48-

MCGAHN, FRISS & MILLER

1421 Atlantic Avenue

Atlantic City, New
Jersey 06401

(609) 345-3261

- - —— ee
ROBERT ETTWEIS
"a v BrOK E

> '* ss a
+ e 7 -~ a - -

insei anc m tne srie

la
APPENDIX A

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
FOR THE DISTRICT OF NEW JERSEY

McGahn, Friss & Miller

1421 Atlantic Avenue

Atlantic City, New Jersey 08401

Attorneys for William Monaghan, John James,
Foundations & Structures,

Inc.,

William E. Monaghan
Associates

and MJD Construction Company,
Inc.

(609) 345-3261

Clapp & Eisenberg

A Professional Corporation

80 Park Plaza

Newark, New Jersey 07102

Attorneys for Theodore DeSantis and Co-
Counsel for
John James, Foundations &
Structures, Inc.,
William E. Monaghan
Associates
and MJD Construction Company,
Inc.

(201) 642-3900

COMPLAINT AND DEMAND FOR JURY TRIAL

* To The Members of the Court: We have
lodged 9 copies of the Exhibits A-D to
the Complaint with the Clerk's Office.

2a

WILLIAM MONAGHAN, THEODORE DESANTIS,

JOHN JAMES, FOUNDATIONS & STRUCTURES,
INC., WILLIAM E. MONAGHAN ASSOCIATES,
and MJD CONSTRUCTION COMPANY, INC.

Plaintiffs,
vs.

DEAN DEAKINS, New Jersey Division of
Criminal Justice; IRVING DUBOW, New
Jersey Division of Criminal Justice;
ROBERT GRAY, New Jersey Division of
Criminal Justice; RONALD LEHMAN, New
Jersey State Police; ALBERT G.
PALENTCHAR, New Jersey Division of
Criminal Justice; DONALD A. PANFILE, New
Jersey Department of Treasury; WALTER
PRICE, New Jersey Division of Criminal
Justice; WILLIAM SOUTHWICK, New Jersey
Division of Criminal Justice; RONALD
SOST, New Jersey Division of Criminal
Justice; JOHN DOE, an individual co-
ordinating a search of the

premises of Foundations & Structures,
Inc.; JOHN DOE, an individual
supervising investigators in the New
Jersey Division of Criminal Justice; and
JOHN DOE, an individual training
investigators in the New Jersey Division
of Criminal Justice,

Defendants.

3a

Plaintiffs, William Monaghan,
Theodore DeSantis, John James, Foundations
& Structures, Inc. ("F. & S."), William E.
Monaghan Associates (“Monaghan
Associates"), and MJD Construction
Company, Inc. ("MJD"), say:

l. This is a civil action
arising under the United States
Constitution, particularly under the
Fourth, Fifth, Sixth and Fourteenth
Amendments to the United States
Constitution; under federal law,
particularly the Civil Rights Act of 1964,
Title 42 of the United States Code,
Section 1983; and under the laws of the
State of New Jersey.

2. The court has
jurisdiction over this action pursuant to

28 U.S.C. 1343 and principles of pendent

jurisdiction.

4a

3. The jurisdiction of the
court is further invoked pursuant to 28
U.S.C. § 1331.

4. Venue 1s proper pursuant
to 28 U.S.C. § 1391(b).

5. Plaintiff William
Monaghan is a citizen of the United States
of America and a resident of Seaville in
the Township of Upper, Cape May County,
State of New Jersey. Mr. Monaghan is a
part owner of F. & S., Monaghan Associates
and MJD.

6. Plaintiff Theodore
DeSantis is a citizen of the United States
of America and a resident of the Borough
of Woodbine, County of Cape May, State of
New Jersey. Mr. DeSantis is a part owner
of F. & S., Monaghan Associates and MJD.

7. Plaintiff John James is a

citizen of the United States of America

and a resident of Somers Point, County of

5 a
Atlantic, State of New Jersey. Mr. James
is a part owner of F. & S., Monaghan
Associates and MJD.

8. Plaintiff F. & S. is a
New Jersey corporation with its principal
place of business at Route 49, Tuckahoe,
New Jersey.

9. Plaintiff William E.
Monaghan Associates ("Monaghan
Associates") is a New Jersey general
partnership with offices located at Route
49, Tuckahoe, New Jersey.

10. Plaintiff MJD
Construction Company, Inc. ("MJD") is a
New Jersey corporation with offices
located at Route 49, Tuckahoe, New Jersey.

ll. Defendants Dean Deakins,
Irving DuBow, Robert Gray, Albert
Palentchar, Walter Price, Ronald Sost,

William Southwick are now, and at all

times material hereto were, duly

6 a
appointed, employed and acting
investigators of the State of New Jersey
Division of Criminal Justice.

12. Defendant Donald A.
Panfile is now, and at all times material
hereto was, a duly appointed, employed and
acting investigator of the State of New
Jersey Department of Treasury.

13. Defendant Ronald Lehman
is, and at all times material hereto, was,
a duly appointed, employed and acting
investigator of the New Jersey State
Police.

14. Defendant John Doe, an
individual coordinating a search of the
premises of F. & S. on October 5, 1984,
is, and at all times material hereto, was,
duly appointed, employed and acting as an

investigator, or in a related capacity

with, the New Jersey Division of Criminal

7a
Justice, or other division or agency of
the State of New Jersey.

15. Defendant John Doe, an
individual supervising investigators in
the New Jersey Division of Criminal
Justice, is, and at all times material
hereto was, duly appointed, employed and
acting as a supervisor of investigative
personnel within the New Jersey Division
of Criminal Justice.

16. Defendant John Doe, an
individual training investigators in the
New Jersey Division of Criminal Justice,
is, and at all times material hereto was,
duly appointed, employed and acting as a
trainer of investigators in the New Jersey
Division of Criminal Justice.

17. At all times material to
this Complaint, except as expressly set

forth in Counts IV, V, VI and VIII, ali

defendants acted toward plaintiffs under

8a

color of the iaws of the State of New
Jersey and under color of the regulations,
sustoms and practices of the New Jersey
Division of Criminal Justice, the New
Jersey Department of the Treasury, the New
Jersey State Police, or similar state
agency.

ls. Plaintiffs sue all

Gefendants in their individual capacities.

Paragraphs 1-18 as if set forth fuliy
nerein.

2. On October 5, 1984,
plaintiff William Monaghan was awakened at
approximately 7:00 a.m. at his home by
defendants Dean Deakins and Ronald Sost
who identified themselves to Mr. Monaghan

as investigators for the New Jersey

Division of Criminal Justice. Mr. Monaghan

9a
has a serious diabetic condition; he
follows a strict morning routine which was
completely upset by defendants’ early
arrival. Defendants gave no explanation
or apology for the earliness of their call
Defendants’ early arrival and insistence
on a special “private” place to talk also
upset the normal routine of other
household members, causing distress to
them and to Mr. Monaghan. Defendants
Deakins and Sost sought to interview Mr.
Monaghan and to gain his cooperation as a
witness in connection with certain
investigations being conducted in Cape May
County Mr. Monaghan had previously
testified before a Grand Jury on related
matters and had retained counsel as
defendants Deakins and Sost knew. He
Stated that his attorney had instructed

him not to answer questions about these

matters except with the attorney present

10 a
and called his attorney. After agreeing
with the request of Mr. Monaghan's
attorney not to interview Mr. Monaghan
further until a meeting at 12:30 p.m. that
day, defendants Deakins and Sost continued
to pressure Mr. Monaghan concerning
certain construction projects in Cape May
County, threatening to make him and his
construction companies the focus of
further criminal investigations and
possible prosecutions and otherwise
attempting to coerce certain statements
from Mr. Monaghan.

3. After leaving the home of
plaintiff Monaghan early on the morning of
October 5, 1984, defendants Deakins and
Sost were seen to communicate with unknown
individuals on a walkie-talkie.

4. On or about 7:30 a.m. on

the morning of October 5, 1984, two of the

dGefendants arrived at the home of Theodore

lla
DeSantis in Woodbine, New Jersey. Mr.
DeSantis was not home. Defendants used
their vehicle to block Mr. DeSantis’
driveway until Mr. DeSantis’ son told them
that Mr. DeSantis was at a job location in
Sea Isle City. Two of the defendants
approached Mr. DeSantis shortly thereafter
on location in Sea Isle City, and
addressed plaintiff DeSantis ina
threatening and coercive manner concerning
his acting as a witness in certain
investigations which were ongoing in Cape
May County. Mr. DeSantis had also
previously testified before the Grand Jury
and had retained counsel which defendants
knew. When Mr. DeSantis told defendants
that he refused to discuss the matter
without consulting with counsel, said
defendants left. Defendants Deakins and

Palentchar returned at about 9:15 a.m.,

Stating that plaintiff DeSantis had to

l2 a
make an immediate decision and otherwise
harassing and attempting to coerce Mr.
DeSantis, despite Mr. DeSantis’ refusal to
discuss the matter without counsel
present. Defendants Deakins and
Palentchar left after Mr. DeSantis engaged
in a telephone conversation with his
attorney.

5. On or about 8:00 a.m. on
the morning of October 5, 1984, defendants
William Southwick, Donald A. Panfile,
Irving DuBow, Ronald Lehman, Walter Price,
and Robert Gray appeared at the premises
of F. & S. in Tuckahoe, New Jersey and
gained access to those premises by
presenting to plaintiff John James a
search warrant issued on October 4, 1984
by a judge of the Superior Court of New
Jersey, Law Division, Mercer County,

attached hereto as Exhibit A. Defendants

Deakins, Palentchar and Sost arrived

l3 a
subsequently and also gained access to the
premises under authority of said search
warrant.

6. Said warrant did not
authorize the arrest of any individuals
and did not state that the items subject
to search were contraband or
instrumentalities of a crime. Plaintiffs
Monaghan, James and DeSantis have done
business at the Route 49, Tuckahoe
location for approximately 20 years.

7. The above named
defendants, who remained on the property

f F. &6 S. for approximately eight hours
purporting at all times to act pursuant to
the authority of the aforesaid warrant,
proceeded to conduct a general and illegal
search of the premises of F. & S. beyond
the scope of the warrant in that:

Re All files, boxes,

desks, drawers,

,

liéa
briefcases and

receptacles within the

were iilegaliiy searched

were informed almost
immediately how files
were organized and were

given an index so that

rm

iles and records
listed on the warrant

located

rr
’
< |
®
rm
rn
»

Amnteriors oO

area, tne @entir©re fF >

S. property which

15 a
consists of several
acres, the exterior and
interior of repair and
maintenance buildings,
and of construction
machinery and vehicles
no matter where located

on the property.

3. All persons
present on the
premises, including
non-employees of F. &
S., were required to
enter the main office
and were illegally
detained until each

presented

identification

l6 a
4. The entrance tc
che property of F. & S.
was Darricaded for the
entire day by placing
one of defendants’
vehicles across the
open gate and vehicles
which attempted to
leave were illegally
searched.
5. Serial numbers of
construction machinery
and vehicles located on
the property and in
out-buildings were

illegally recorded.

6. Hundreds of

documents outside the

scope of the warrant

l7 a
were taken away by
defendants, including
(a) personal papers of
the individual
plaintiffs; (b)
financial records and
other documents
belonging to Monaghan
Associates and MJD; (Cc)
papers containing
privileged
communications between
all of the plaintiffs
and their attorneys.
Many of these documents
are essential to the
conduct of the ongoing
business of F. & S.,

Monaghan Associates and

MJD.

18 a

8. While the search was

progressing, plaintiff Monaghan was served

with three Grand Jury subpoenae duces

tecum, all issued on October 4, 1984, che
day before the search. The first two
subpoenae, attached to this Complaint as
Exhibits B and C respectively, list as
documents to be produced essentially the
same documents listed on the warrant,
demonstrating the unreasonable,
unnecessary and pretextual nature of the
search conducted on October 5, 1984.

9. The third subpoena,
attached hereto as Exhibit D, contained a
handprinted list of documents to be
produced. The four file folders listed
on the third subpoena were removed from F.
& S. file cabinets by one or more of the
defendants, taken into the defendants’
possession and then returned to Mr.

Monaghan together with the filled in

19 a
subpoena. Mr. Monaghan was then told by
one of the defendants that the folders
were not within the scope of the warrant
and that he was to produce them before the
Grand Jury on the date listed. The
Signature on the third subpoena is that of
a Deputy Attorney General who was at no
time present during the search. The
unlawful and unreasonable nature of the
search as shown by the fact that the
defendants intended to conduct a search
for documents outside the scope of the
warrant and brought a blank subpoena with
them for that purpose.

10. Said search was further
illegally conducted in that all or some of
the aforesaid defendants conducted
themselves rudely and arrogantly,

refusing, inter alia, to allow certain

outsiders access to telephones and

initially refusing to identify themselves,

and without nsenct authority making
unrestrained us c & S. telephones.
Ine or more of the defendants also made
statements intended to be overheard Dy
plaintiffs that if defendants did not find
what they were looking for at the offices
of F. & S., defendants would “tear the
house or houses apart” or words to a
similar effect.

ll. Said search was further

illegally conducted in that plaintiffs

were not given a complete and proper
return and inventory as is requirec under
the laws of the State of New Jersey.

l2. The above actions
defendants were assisted and aided by
defendant John Doe, an individual
coordinating said search, with whom
Defendants communicated before, after and

during said search.

2la

13. All of the above actions
of the named defendants and of defendant
John Doe were in violation of plaintiff's
rights under the Fourth and FPourteenth
Amendments to the United States
Constitution and plaintiffs were injured
thereby. In particular and without
limitation, the early morning arousal of
Mr. Monaghan, the subsequent harassment
and attempted coercion by defendants, the
extreme nature of the search and the
arrogant and deliberately intimidating
manner in which it was conducted resulted
plaintiff Monaghan's incurring a serious
insulin reaction on the afternoon of
October Sth, causing him great physical
and emotional distress. Further, and
without limitation, Mr. DeSantis has a
serious heart condition, for which he

takes medication and undergoes

nitroglycerin treatments. He is under a

22 a
doctor’s care and must avoid emotional
stress. The aforementioned unlawful acts
of the defendants caused Mr. DeSantis
great emotional stress, posing great risk
to his health and well-being. Further,
and without limitation, Mr. James is
severely afflicted with rheumatoid
arthritis which is aggravated by emotional
stress, and has other health problems. Mr.
James is also under a doctor's care. The
aforementioned unlawful acts of defendants
caused Mr. James great emotional distress,
further aggravating his arthritic
condition and impairing his health.

14. All of the foregoing
acts by defendants were done intentionally
and maliciously or with reckless and
wanton disregard for plaintiffs’
constitutional rights.

WHEREFORE, Plaintiffs William

Monaghan, Theodore DeSantis, John James,

23a

F. & S., Monaghan Associates and MJD
demand judgment against Defendants Dean
Deakins, Irving DuBow, Robert Gray, Robert
Lehman, Albert Palentchar, Donald A.
Panfile, Walter Price, William Southwick,
Ronald Sost, and John Doe, an individual
co-ordinating the aforesaid search,
jointly and severally, for:

l. Compensatory damages;

2. Punitive damages;

3. Preliminary injunction
requiring the return of
all documents seized by
the Defendants outside the
scope of the warrant and
all privileged documents;

4. Permanent injunction
requiring the return of
all documents seized by

Defendants;

24a
5.- Preliminary and permanent
injunctions enjoining
future unreasonable
searches and seizures; and
6. Such other relief as the
Court deems just,
including costs of suit

and attorneys fees.

COUNT 2.
l. Plaintiffs incorporate

Paragraphs 1-18 and Paragraphs 1-14 of
Count I as if set forth fully herein.

2. During the illegally
conducted search of the premises of F. &
S., Inc., one or more of the defendants
made statements to Mr. Monaghan and Mr.
DeSantis to the effect that any
information which plaintiffs Monaghan and
DeSantis might give at that time would be

considered voluntary.

25 a

3. The illegally conducted
search of the premises of F. & S. by
defendants was initiated after plaintiffs
Monaghan and DeSantis refused to speak
with certain of the defendants without the
presence of counsel, and was intended to
harass, intimidate and coerce plaintiffs
Monaghan and DeSantis into giving their
cooperation with defendants’
investigation.

4. Defendant John Doe, an
individual co-ordinating the search of F.
& S. premises, aided and assisted in the
illegal use of the aforesaid search
warrant as a tool to crverce and intimidate
plaintiffs Monaghan and DeSantis.

5. All of the above actions
of defendants were in violation of
piaintiffs Monaghan and DeSantis‘ rights
to liberty and due process under the Fifth

and Fourteenth Amendments and plaintiffs

26 a
Monaghan and DeSantis were injured
thereby.

6. The aforesaid actions of
defendants were also in violation of the
rights of all of the plaintiffs under the
Fourth and Fourteenth Amendment in that
the search of F. & S. premises under color
of the warrant and the seizure of
documents within and without the scope of
the warrant was unlawfully motivated.

7. All of the foregoing acts
by defendants were done maliciously and
intentionally or with wanton and reckless
disregard of the rights of the plaintiffs
under the United States Constitution.

WHEREFORE, Plaintiffs William
Monaghan, Theodore DeSantis, John James,
F. & S., Monaghan Associates and MJD
demand judgment against Defendants Dean
Deakins, Irving DuBow, Robert Gray, Robert

Lehman, Albert Palentchar, Donald A.

27 a

Panfile, Walter Price, William Southwick,
Ronald Sost, and John Doe, an individual
co-ordinating and assisting the aforesaid
search, jointly and severally, for:

l. Compensatory damages;

2. Punitive damages;

3. Permanent and preliminary injunction
requiring the return of all documents
seized by Defendants;

4. Preliminary and permanent injunctions
against future use of warrants for
purposes of intimidation and coercion; and
5 Such other relief as the Court deems
just, including costs of suit and

attorneys fees.

COUNT 3.
l. Plaintiffs repeat

Paragraphs 1-18, Paragraphs 1-14 of Count
I, and Paragraphs 1-7 of Count II as if

fully set forth herein.

28 a

2. After plaintiffs DeSantis
and Monaghan stated that they did not wish
to discuss certain matters without counsel
being present and after agreeing with
counsel that further discussions would not
take place, defendants (1) continued to
pressure and coerce plaintiffs Monaghan
and DeSantis without counsel being
present; (2) attempted to use the
execution of a search warrant to elicit
communications from plaintiffs Monaghan
and DeSantis without counsel being
present; (3) seized numerous privileged
communications between and among ali
plaintiffs and their attorneys and
numerous privileged communications which
were outside the scope of the warrant and
otherwise deprived plaintiffs of rights,
privileges and immunities secured to them
by the Fifth, Sixth and Fourteen

Amendments to the United States

29 a

Constitution and plaintiffs Monaghan and
DeSantis were injured thereby.

3. Defendant John Doe, an
individual co-ordinating the search of PF:
& S. premises, aided and assisted in the
foregoing violations of plaintiffs’
constitutional rights.

4. All of the foregoing acts
by defendants were done maliciously and
willfully or with wanton and reckless
disregard of plaintiffs' constitutional
rights.

WHEREFORE, Plaintiffs William
Monaghan, Theodore DeSantis, John James,
FP. & S., Monaghan Associates and MJD
demand judgment against Defendants Dean
Deakins, Irving DuBow, Robert Gray, Robert
Lehman, Albert Palentchar, Donald
Panfile, Walter Price, William Southwick,

Ronald Sost, and John Doe, an individual

30 a

co-ordinating the aforesaid search,
jointly and severally, for:

l. Compensatory damages;

2. Punitive damages;

3. Preliminary injunctions requiring the
return of all privileged documents;

4. Preliminary and permanent injunction
enjoining future seizure of privileged
materials and interference with
plaintiffs' right to counse-; and

5. Such other relief as the Court deems
sust, including costs of suit and

attorneys fees.

COUNT 4.

l. Plaintiffs repeat
Paragraphs 1-18, Paragraphs 1-14 of Count
I, Paragraphs 1-7 of Count II, and
Paragraphs 1-4 of Count III as if fully

set forth herein.

3la

2. The property located at
Route 49 in Tuckahoe, New Jersey which was
entered by defendants Sost, Deakins,
DuBow, Gray, Lehman, Palentchar, Panfile,
Price and Southwick was, and is lawfully
owned by plaintiffs F. & S. and Monaghan
Associates. Although said Defendants
entered upon said property under color of
State law, their actions thereafter
exceeded the scope of the privilege
conferred by the warrant and they
committed a trespass ab initio on said
premises in violation of the rights of
plaintiffs F. & S. and Monaghan Associates
and plaintiffs F. & S. and Monaghan
Associates were injured thereby.
Defendants also committed a trespass ab
initio against personal property owned by
each of the plaintiffs in seizing
documents outside the scope of the warrant

and all plaintiffs were injured thereby.

32 a

3. All of the aforementioned
acts of the named defendants were done
maliciously and willfully and in reckless
and wanton disregard of rights secured to
plaintiffs under the common law of the
State of New Jersey.

WHEREFORE, Plaintiffs William
Monaghan, Theodore DeSantis, John James,
F. & S., Monaghan Associates and MJD
demand judgment against Defendants Dean
Deakins, Irving DuBow, Robert Gray, Robert
Lehman, Albert Palentchar, Donald A.
Panfile, Walter Price, William Southwick,
Ronald Sost, jointly and severally, for:
l. Compensatory damages;

2. Punitive damages;

3. Preliminary and permanent
injunctions requiring the
return of all documents

seized by Defendants;

33 a

4. Preliminary and permanent
injunction enjoining
future unlawful trespasses
on plaintiffs’ property
and against plaintiffs’
personal property; and

5. Such other relief as the
Court deems just,
including costs of suit

and attorneys fees.

COUNT 5.

l. Plaintiffs repeat
Paragraphs 1-18, Paragraphs 1-14 of Count
I, Paragraphs 1-7 of Count II, Paragraphs
i-4 of Count III, and Paragraphs 1-3 of
Count IV as if fully set forth herein.

2. Although defendants Sost,
Deakins, DuBow, Gray, Lehman, Palentchar,

Panfile, Price and Southwick entered upon

34 a
the property of F. & S. and seized
documents, books and records belonging to
all of the plaintiffs under color of state
law, their actions exceeded the authority
conferred upon them by that state law.
Said defendants wrongfully converted the
property of the plaintiffs and plaintiffs
were injured thereby.

3. Defendant John Doe, an
individual co-ordinating the search of the
premises of F. & S., aided and assisted in
the wrongful conversion of plaintiffs’
property in violation of plaintiffs’
rights under the common law of the State
of New Jersey and plaintiffs were injured
thereby.

4. The aforementioned acts
of said defendants were done maliciously

and willfully, or with wanton and reckless

disregard for the rights secured to the

35 a

plaintiffs under the common law of the
State of New Jersey.

WHEREFORE, Plaintiffs William
Monaghan, Theodore DeSantis, John James,
F. & S., Monaghan Associates and MJD
demand judgment against Defendants
Deakins, Irving DuBow, Robert Gray, Robert
Lehman, Albert Palentchar, Donald A.
Panfile, Walter Price, William Southwick,
Donald Sost, and John Doe, an individual
co-ordinating and assisting the aforesaid
search, jointly and severally, for:

l. Compensatory damages;

2. Punitive damages;

3. Preliminary and permanent
injunctions requiring the
return of all privileged
documents and all
documents seized by the
Defendants outside the

scope of the warrant; and

36 a
4. Such other relief as the
Court deems just,
including costs of suit

and attorneys fees.

COUNT 6.

l. Plaintiffs repeat
Paragraphs 1-18, Paragraphs 1-14 of Count
I, Paragraphs 1-7 of Count II, Paragrapns
1-4 of Count III, Paragraphs 1-3 of Count
IV, and Paragraphs 1-4 of Count V as if
set forth fully herein.

2. The property upon which
the offices of F. & S. are located is
enclosed by a wire fence at all points
from which access by road is possible.
Heavy woods surround the remainder of the
property. The single main entrance to the

property is through a gate at the front of

the property. Another gate in the fence at

the front of the property is normally left

—_oe

37 a

closed and was closed on October 5, 1984.
At approximately 8:00 a.m. on October 5,
1984, defendants parked a vehicle across
the front of the main gate, blocking all
access and exit from the F. & S. property
from that time until approximately 5:30
p.m.

3. By blocking said gate,
defendants intended to confine all persons
on the F. & S. property within the
boundaries of said property and unlawfully
did so confine these plaintiffs Monaghan
and DeSantis, who were at all time aware
of said unlawful confinement and were
injured thereby.

4. Defendant John Doe, an
individual co-ordinating the search of the
premises of F. & S. property, at all times
aided and assisted in the unlawful

confinement of plaintiffs Monaghan and

DeSantis whe were injured thereby.

38 a
5. The acts of defendants
described in this Count VII were done

maliciously and willfully and with wanton

and reckless disregard for the rights of
plaintiffs Monaghan and DeSantis under the
common law of the State of New Jersey.
WHEREFORE, Plaintiffs William
Monaghan, Theodore DeSantis, and John
James demand judgment against Defendants
Deakins, Irving DuBow, Robert Gray, Robert
Lehman, Albert Palentchar, Donald A.
Panfile, Waiter Price, William Southwick,
Ronald Sost, and John Doe, an individual
co-ordinating and assisting the aforesaid
searcn, jointly and severally, for:
1. Compensatory damages;

2. Punitive damages; and

os Such other relief as the Court deems
just, including costs of suit and

attorneys fees.

39 a
COUNT 7.

l. Plaintiffs repeat
Paragraphs 1-18, Paragraphs 1-14 of Count
[, Paragraphs 1-7 of Count II, Paragraphs
1-4 of Count III, Paragraphs 1-3 of Count
IV, Paragraphs 1-4 of-Count V and
Paragraphs 1-6 of Count VI as if fully set
forth herein.

2. The actions of defendants
in confining plaintiffs Monaghan, DeSantis
and James to the property of F. & S.
unlawfully deprived them of their liberty
without due process in violation of said
plaintiffs’ rights under the Fifth and
Fourteenth Amendments to the United States
Constitution and plaintiffs were injured
thereby.

3. Defendant John Doe, an
individual co-ordinating the search of the

premises of F. & S. property, aided and

assisted in the aforementioned violations

40 a

of plaintiffs' constitutional rights and
plaintiffs were injured théreby.

4. The acts of said
defendants described in this Count VIII!
were done maliciously and willfully or
with reckless and wanton disregard of
plaintiffs’ constitutional rights.

WHEREFORE, Plaintiffs William
Monaghan, Theodore DeSantis and John James
Cemand judgment against Defendants Dean
Deakins, Irving DuBow, Robert Gray, Robert
Lehman, Albert Palentchar, Donald A.
Panfile, Walter Price, William Southwick,
Ronald Sost, and John Doe, an individual
co-ordinating and assisting the aforesaid

search, jointly and severally, for:

l. Compensatory damages;
2. Punitive damages; and
3. Such other relief as the

Court deems just,

4la

including costs of suit

and attorneys fees.

COUNT 8.

Plaintiffs repeat
Paragraphs 1-18, Paragraphs 1-14 of Count
i, Paragraphs 1-7 of Count II, Paragraphs
1-4 of Count III, Paragraphs 1-3 of Count
IV, Paragraphs 1-4 of Count v, Paragraphs
1-6 of Count VI and Paragraphs 1-4 of
Count VII as if fully set forth herein.

2. The acts of defendants
described in the foregoing Counts I-VIII
constituted extreme and Outrageous conduct
intentionally or recklessly causing
physical injury and severe emotional
distress to plaintiffs Monaghan, DeSantis
and James.

WHEREFORE, Plaintiffs William
Monaghan, Theodore, DeSantis and John

James demand judgment against Defendants

42 a
Dean Deakins, Irving DuBow, Robert Gray,
Robert Lehman, Albert Palentchar, Donald
A. Panfile, Walter Price, William
Southwick, Ronald Sost, and John Doe, an
individual co-ordinating and assisting the
aforesaid search, jointly and severally,
for:

Re Compensatory damages;

2. Punitive damages;

3. Preliminary and permanent
injunctions enjoining
defendants from
intentionally inflicting
emotional distress on
plaintiffs Monaghan and
DeSantis in the future;
and 4. Such other relief
as the Court deems just,

including costs of suit

and attorneys fees.

43 a

COUNT 9.
lL. Plaintiffs repeat

Paragraphs 1-18, Paragraphs 1-14 of Count
I, Paragraphs 1-7 of Count II, Paragraphs
1-4 of Count III, Paragraphs 1-3 of Count
IV, Paragraphs 1-4 of Count V, Paragraphs
1-6 of Count VI, Paragraphs 1-4 of Count
VII and Paragraphs 1-2 of Count VIII as if
fully set forth herein.

2. At all times relevant to
this Complaint, Defendants Deakins, Sost,
Palentchar, DuBow, Gray, Price, Southwick,
investigators with the New Jersey Division
of Criminal Justice, were acting under the
direction and control of Defendant John
Doe, a supervisor of investigators in the
New Jersey Division of Criminal Justice.

3. Said defendant John Doe
had a duty to instruct, supervise, control

and discipline the investigator defendants

to execute search warrants and conduct

44a
investigations in a manner consistent with
plaintiffs' rights under the (U'nited States
Constitution and under the common laws of
the State of New Jersey.

4. Said defendant John Doe,
acting under color of state law,
negligently, or intentionally and
willfully, failed to properly instruct,
Supervise, control and discipline said
defendants.

5. Said defendant John Doe
had knowledge or, had he or she diligently
exercised his or her duty to instruct,
Supervise, control and discipline on a
continuing basis, should have had
knowledge that the wrongs done, as
heretofore alleged, were about to be
committed. Said defendant John Doe had
power to prevent or aid in preventing the

commission of said wrongs, could have done

so by reasonable dilicence, and, acting

45 a
under color of state law, neglected or
intentionally refused to do so.

6. Said defendant John Doe,
directly or indirectly, under color of
law, approved or ratified the unlawful,
deliberate, malicious, reckless and wanton
conduct of the defendant members of the
New Jersey Division of Criminal Justice.

76 As a direct and proximate
result of the acts of said defendant John
Doe, more particularly described in
Paragraphs 4-6 of this Count IX,
plaintiffs have been deprived of their
rights and privileges under the Fourth,
Pifth, Sixth and Fourteenth Amendments to
the United States Constitution and under
the common laws of the State of New
Jersey.

WHEREFORE, Plaintiffs William
Monaghan, Theodore DeSantis, John James,

F. & S., Monaghan Associates and MJD

46 a
demand judgment against Defendant John
Doe, an individual supervising
investigators in the New Jersey Division

of Criminal Justice, jointly and severally

for:
lL. Compensatory damages;
re Punitive damages;
3. Preliminary injunctions

requiring the return of
all documents seized by
the Defendants outside the
scope of the warrant and
all privileged documents;

4. Permanent injunction
requiring the return of
all documents seized by
Defendants; and

- ¥ Such other relief as the
Court deems just including

costs of suit and

attorneys fees.

47 a
NT_ 1

l. Plaintiffs repeat
Paragraphs 1-18, Paragraphs 1-14 of Count
I, Paragraphs 1-7 of Count II, Paragraphs
1-4 of Count III, Paragraphs 1-3 of Count
IV, Paragraphs i-4 of Count V, Paragraphs
1-6 of Count VI, Paragraphs 1-4 of Count
VII, Paragraphs 1-2 of Count VIII, and
Paragraphs 1-7 of Count IX as if fully set
forth herein.

2. Defendant John Doe, an
individual training and instructing the
defendant investigators in the New Jersey
Division of Criminal Justice, had a duty
to train and instruct said defendant
investigators to execute search warrants
and conduct investigations in a manner
consistent with plaintiffs' rights under
the United States Constitution and under

State law.

48 a

3. Said defendant John Doe,
acting under color of law, negligently or
intentionally and willfully failed to
properly train and instruct said defendant
investigators.

4. As a direct and
proximate result of failure described in
Paragraph 3 of this Count X, plaintiffs
have been deprived of their rights under
the Fourth, Fifth, Sixth and Fourteenth
Amendments to the United States
Constitution and under the common laws of
the State of New Jersey.

WHEREFORE, Plaintiffs William
Monaghan, Theodore DeSantis, John James,
FP. & S., Monaghan Associates and MJD
demand judgment against Defendants Dean
Deakins, Irving DuBow, Robert Gray, Robert

Lehman, Albert Palentchar, Donald A.

~
_

Panfile, Walter Price, William Southwick,

Ronald Sost, and John Doe, an individual

— mt lll -

49 a
training and instructing the defendant
investigators in the New Jersey Division
of Criminal Justice, jointly and

severally, for:

l. Compensatory damages;
Be Punitive damages;
3. Preliminary injunctions

requiring the return of
all documents seized by
the Defendants outside the
scope of the warrant and
the return or all
privileged documents;

4. Permanent injunction
requiring the return of
all documents seized by
Defendants; and

5. Such other relief as the
Court deems just,

including costs of suit

and attorneys fees.

50 a

MCGAHN, FRISS & MILLER

1421 Atlantic Avenue

Atlantic City, New Jersey 08401
Attorneys for William Monaghan,
Foundations & Structures,

William E. Monaghan Associates, and
MJD Construction Company, Inc.

By: _/s/ Patrick T. McGahn, Jr.
Patrick T. McGahn, Jr.

CLAPP & EISENBERG

A Professional Corporation

80 Park Plaza

Newark, New Jersey 07102

Attorneys for Theodore DeSantis
and Co-Counsel for

Foundations & Structures, Inc.,
William E. Monaghan Associates

and MJD Construction Company, Inc.

By: /s/ Kathy M. Hooke
Kathy M. Hooke

DEMAND FOR JURY TRIAL

Plaintiffs William Monaghan,
Theodore DeSantis, John James, Foundations
& Structures, Inc., William E. Monaghan
Associates and MJD Construction Company,

Inc. hereby demand a trial by jury with

respect to all Counts of the Complaint.

Sl a

MCGAHN, FRISS & MILLER

1421 Atlantic Avenue

Atlantic City, New Jersey 08401
Attorneys for William Monaghan,
Foundations & Structures,

William E. Monaghan Associates, and
MJD Construction Company, Inc.

By:_/s/ Patrick T. McGahn, Jr.
Patrick T. McGahn, Jr.

CLAPP & EISENBERG

A Professional Corporation

80 Park Plaza

Newark, New Jersey 07102

Attorneys for Theodore DeSantis
and Co-Counsel for

Foundations & Structures, Inc.,
William E. Monaghan Associates
and MJD Construction Company, Inc.

By:_/s/ Kathy M. Hooke
Kathy M. Hooke

52a

APPENDIX B

SUPERIOR COURT OF NEW JERSEY
Law Division

{Seal}
Chambers of Mercer County Court
Samuel D. Lenox, Jr. House, P.O. Box 8068
Assignment Judge Trenton, New Jersey

08650
Mercer County
June 28, 1985
Robert B. Donovan, Deputy Attorney General
Division of Criminal Justice
25 Market Street CN-085
Trenton, New Jersey 08625

Re: In the Matter of a Search

Warrant Dated October 4, 1984

Dear Mr. Donovan:

I have your letter of June 26, 1985
providing “a list of those individuals who
have made factual assertions that (your)
office wishes to be the subject of a plenary
hearing."

This letter does not provide full
compliance with the order of April 15, 1985.
That order provides:

-- the State of New Jersey shall
give notice to the Court and to
defendants of factual assertions,
if any, made in said affidavits
which it wishes to be the subject

S53 a
of a plenary hearing.

The order requires notice be given of
both the identity of the witnesses and the
substance of the factual assertions being
contested. You should designate those
portions of the affidavits which you dispute
and provide your own factual assertions with
regard thereto. it is only by framing the
issues in this manner that the parties may
prepare to present evidence at the plenary
hearing.

Very truly yours,
/s/ Samuel D. Lenox, Jr.
Samuel D. Lenox, Jr., A.J.S.C.

SDL,Jr.:mt

CC: Kathy M. Hooke, Esquire
Sharon Donofrio, Esquire

54 a
APPENDIX C

SUPERIOR COURT OF NEW JERSEY
Law Division

(Seal }
Chambers of Mercer County Court
Samuel D. Lenox, Jr. House, P.O. Box 8068
Assignment Judge Trenton, New Jersey

08650
Mercer County
May 12, 1986
Clapp & Eisenberg
80 Park Plaza
Newark, New Jersey 07102

Attention: Kathy M. Hooke, Esquire

Re: In the Matter of a Search
Warrant Dated October 4, 1984

Gentlemen:

In view of the time lapse described
in your letter of May 7, 1986, I consider
the motion to have been impliedly withdrawn.
If you wish I will enter a formal order
dismissing it without prejudice.

Any further judicial activity in
connection with this matter should be
brought before the court by the filing of
new pleadings.

55 a

Very truly yours,

/s/ Samuel D. Lenox, Jr.
Samuel D. Lenox, Jr., A.J.S.C.

SDL,Jr.:mt

CC: Robert B. Donovan, DAG
Sharon Donofrio, Esquire
Patrick T. McGahn, Esquire

56 a
APPENDIX D
SUPERIOR COURT OF NEW JERSEY

LAW DIVISION
MERCER COUNTY

IN THE MATTER OF A SEARCH : STENOGRAPHIC
WARRANT DATED OCTOBER 4, 1984: TRANSCRIPT
--~-~------------------------; OF MOTION

in Camera Heari ng

Place: Mercer County Courthouse
Trenton, New Jersey

Date: March ll, 1985

HONORABLE SAMUEL D. LENOX, JR.,
A.J.S.C.

Transcript Ordered By:

Patrick T. McGahn, Jr., Esq.
(Messrs. McGahn, Friss, Gindhart &
Miller)

(See inside)

57 a
THE COURT: Well --

MR. DONOVAN: Your Honor, I see no
reason why any arguments as to the
attorney-client privilege can't be raised.
Any arguments as to the sealed documents
cannot be raised in the immediate future.
If they research that, they are going to
make arguments dealing with other aspects of
the material or the manner in which
materials were seized, Your Honor. Those
arguments can well be made at any point in
time.

THE COURT: Well --

MR. McCGAHN: Your Honor, I would
submit --

THE COURT: They can also be made
before any judge.

MR. DONOVAN: Correct, your Honor.

THE COURT: That is a separate
motion. Rule 4:5-7 is entitled Motion to
Suppress Evidence and for return of
property, and it requires a motion by your
client and it can be made at any time until
after 30 days from the date of the plea, if
an indictment is returned. That's really
not what I have before me. I have an Order
to Show Cause in connection with sealed
documents. If you file another motion, it
may not come to me because that motion is
typically heard by a judge of the Criminal
Division. Right now, my only question
involves the documents under seal.

MS. HOOK: Well, as to those
documents, your Honor, we still think it

58 a

would be helpful, your Honor, for you to
have the applicable law.

THE COURT: Oh, certainly, yes. I am
talking about your statement that you are
going to broaden the issue. You are not
going to broaden the issue on this Order to
Show Cause because the Order to Show Cause
frames the issue. If you intend to raise
other issues, you will do so by your own
motion.

MS. HOOKE: And is your Honor saying
that that motion should be brought in the
normal course and assigned out under the
normal course?

THE COURT: You will file it and we
will decide what we will do with it
procedurally.

MS. HOOKE: Okay.

THE COURT: I don't know. I have to

see.

Sia.”

ery

7

Oe ee a ee,

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385012_1124%3A03. Public record. Not legal advice.
