# Respondents Brief — California v. Greenwood

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385012_1107%3A07

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Respondents Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1988
- **Citation:** 486 U.S. 35

## Text

Suprema Court, U.S,

{ BILLED
| SEP 12 wer
No. 86-684 JOSEPH F. SPANIOL, JR,
E1L.ERK
In The

Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1986

ra’
Vv

THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA,

Petitioner,
vs.

BILLY GREENWOOD AND DYANNE VAN HOUTEN,
Respondents.

o- - --—-

On Writ of Certiorari To The
Court of Appeal of California,
Fourth Appellate District, Division Three

ty
Vv

BRIEF FOR RESPONDENT DYANNE VAN HOUTEN

hh
—_—

Ricuarp L. ScHWARTZBERG
401 Civie Center Drive West
Suite 820

Santa Ana, California 92701
714-835-3339

Counsel for Respondent
Dyanne Van Houten

COCKLE LAW BRIEF PRINTING CO., (800) 225-6964
or call collect (402) 342- 2831

_ BEST AVAILABLE COPY

en ote ae

QUESTIONS PRESENTED*

Twice the California Supreme Court concluded that
trash left at curbside is protected under the Fourth
Amendment from the federal Constitution’s proscription
against unreasonable searches and seizures. Where police
lacked probable cause or any reasonable suspicion Billy
Greenwood had committed a crime, eschewed any attempts
to obtain a search warrant, could point to no exemption
to the warrant requirement, and yet repeatedly searched
Billy Greenwood’s trash, did the court of appeal err in
concluding that the search and subsequent seizure violated
Billy Greenwood’s and Dyanne Van Houten’s reasonable
expectation of privacy? As a matter of public policy,
should the Court conclude individuals have a right to ex-
pect that police will not conduct warrantless and un-
supported excursions into their trash and that such ex-
pectations are both reasonable and legitimate? Should
police be required to possess probable cause to believe an
individual’s trash left at curbside contains evidence of a
crime before conducting a warrantless search?

*All parties to the proceeding in the California Court of
Appeal, Fourth Appellate District are listed in the caption.

il

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page(s)
Questions Presented ccc seni i
Table of Authorities —....... ' —
Constitutional and Statutory Provisions Involved ... 1
ee ef 2
Summary of Arguncat $$ _._... 5
EEE 10

I. THE MERE FACT AN INDIVIDUAL
PLACES TRASH AT CURBSIDE FOR PICK-
UP DOES NOT DETERMINE HIS REASON-
ABLE EXPECTATION OF PRIVACY UN-
DER THE FOURTH AMENDMENT |. 10

A. Property Law Concepts Are Irrelevant For
Determining A Defendant’s Reasonable Ex-
pectation Of Privacy . ssiilag sihacies

B. The Use Of pata Law Onan To Re-
solve Whether An Individual Has A Le-
gitimate Expectation Of Privacy Fails To
Account Fo. Changes In —— And
Personal Values ................. inicio 12

C. Although The Great t Weight Of Auiediey
Finds Garbage Searches To Fall Outside
The Fourth Amendment, They Uniformly
Err In Basing Their Conclusion Upon
Abandonment Primeiples 0... 14

Il. THE WARRANTLESS AND UNSUPPORT-
ED SEARCH OF BILLY GREENWOOD’S
GARBAGE VIOLATED DYANNE VAN HOU-
TEN’S REASONABLE EXPECTATION OF
PRIVACY MANDATING SUPPRESSION OF
THE FRUITS OF THAT SEARCH |.) «14

ili

TABLE OF CONTENTS—Continued
Page(s)

A. Billy Greenwood’s Decision To Place His
Trash At Curbside For Collection Met The
Subjectivity ee Of Katz v. United
| ieee a 14

B. Possession Of An essiation Of ieee
In Garbage Left For Collection Is Both Rea-
sonable And Legitinmate 0... ccc eccccccccceecsee 18

Ill. THE COURT MUST AT THE VERY LEAST
ADOPT A RULE REQUIRING THE POLICE
HAVE PROBABLE CAUSE PRIOR TO CON-
DUCTING WARRANTLESS SEARCHES OF
TRASH LEFT AT CURBSIDE .. a,

A. United States v. Ross Establishes A Middle
Ground Where An Individual Has A Legiti-
mate But Lowered Expectation Of Privacy.. 24

B. The Court Should Adopt A Rule Govern-
ing Trash Services That Where An Indi-
vidual Has Exhibited A Reasonable Expec-
tation Of Privacy In Trash Police May
Conduct Warrantless Searches Only —
el aT 25

C. The Search Of Billy Greenwood’s Trash
Was Without Probable Cause Mandating
The Quashing Of The Search Warrant For
EO 27

EE 28

iv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Pave(s)
CasEs
Abel v. United States, 362 U.S. 217 (1960) — 11, 21
Arkansas v. Sanders, 442 U.S. 753 (1979) ncceccceccenrenrennnen 24
California v. Ciraolo, 476 U.S. —, 106 §.Ct. 1809,

90 L.Ed.2d 210 (1986) Foe a! Cr CS Rn 11
California v. Krivda, 409 U.S. 33 (1972) onnceccccccceecsocesneenen 5, 21
California v. Krivda, 412 U.S. 919 (1973) 5, 21
California v. Rooney, — U.S. —, 107 S.Ct. 2852,

97 L.Ed.2d 258 (1987) 11,15
Carroll v. United States, 267 U.S. 132 (1925) 24, 25
Delaware v. Prowse, 440 U.S. 648 (1979) on ceccceeeeeeneene 19
Ex Parte Jackson, 96 U.S. 727 (1878) a 13
Illinois v. Gates, 462 U.S. 213 (1983) nn eneceeccsocesneeeneeenee 27, 28
In re Lance W., 37 Cal. 3d 873 (1985) .... 15
Katz v. United States, 389 U.S. 347 (1967) ........... 5, 8, 11, 14,

15, 16, 19
Magda v. Bensen, 536 F.2d 111 (6th Cir. 1976) 10
Oliver v. United States, 466 U.S. 170 (1984) .... 11, 19
People v. Edwards, {1 Cal. 2d 1096 (1969) ................ 7, 20, 21
People v. Greenwood, 182 Cal. App. 3d 729 (1986) ........ 5
People v. Huddleston, 38 Ill. ao 3d 277, 347 N.E.

Be We IID hsicsstshcaisstaldeiinccd ipneiaielihltdapeitninieehitecoipcirivie 10, 2i
People v. Krivda, 5 Cal. 3d 357 (1971) . 0, 7, 21
People v. Krivda, 8 Cal. 3d 623 (1973) —........... 5, 13, 21
People v. Whotte, 113 Mich. Si 12, 317 N.W.2d

SUR. III” iccacicissccusincciggbelenriatieilaiaens eh BS

Robbins v. California, 453 U.S. 420 (1984) 0.

EEE ee

Vv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Page(s)
Smith v. Maryland, 442 U.S. 735 (1979) 12,17
Smith v. State, 510 P.2d 793 (Alas. 1973). ........... 6, 10, 21, 23
Sou'h Dakota v. Opperman, 428 U.S. 364 (1976) ........... .- &
State v. Brown, 20 Ohio ae 3d 36, 484 N.E.2d
215 (1984) . ok abe 10
State v. Chine 250 A.2d 203 (Supp. Jud.Ct.Me.
EIN caliente soveinasslieoncadinniisnatadietdanaadniaatanusatagiiiiiie Oameiidaese 21
State v. Johnson, 413 A.2d 931 _ Jud.Ct.Me.
UIE cciucistensaniiaiens ; 21
State v. Olquist, 327 N.W.2d 587 (Minn. 1982)... 16, 20
State v. Purvis, 249 Or. 404, 438 P. 2d 1002 (1968)... 10

State v. Schultz, 388 So.2d 1326 (Fla.App. 1980)... 10, 22
State v. Stevens, 123 Wise.2d 303, 367 N.W.2d 788

| 10, 22
State v. Tanaka, 701 P.2d 1274 (Hawaii 1985) .......... 21, 27
Terry v. Ohio, 392 U.S. 1 (1968) 27
United States v. Biondich, 652 F.2d 743 (8th Cir.

1981) . 9, 20
United States v. Burne! e, 698 F.2d 1038 (9th Cir.

IG" “iccniiveiieciealenie 10, 12
United States v. Chadwick, 433 U.S. 1 (1977). 9, 24
United States v. Crowell, 586 F.2d 1020 - Cir.

1978) . ana 9, 20
United States v. Dela Espriella, 781 F.2d 1432

(9th Cir. 1986) 10
United States v. Dunn, — U.S. —, 107 S.Ct. 1134,

94 L.Ed.2d 326 (1987) site 11, 13, 20

United States v. Dzialak, 441 F.2d 212 aie Cir.
1971) . ait Goeacumiieamemaid ae

vi

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Page(s)
United States v. Jacobsen, 466 U.S. 109 (1984)... 5,13
United States v. Kahan, 350 F.Supp. 784 (8.D.

N.Y. 1972) 8, 22
United States v. Minker, 312 F.2d 632 (3rd Cir.

IIT" tacicebisrieehcetshadlehblieieanetiscnaiteaeiclannaslaehiintahiahabadtinlinntonee. 10
United States v. Mustone, 469 F.2d 970 (1st Cir.

1972) 10
United States v. Reicherter, 647 F.2d 397 (3rd Cir.

1981) 10, 17
United States v. Rass, 456 U.S. 798 (1982) ............... 24, 25, 27
United States v. Shelby, 573 F.2d 971 (7th Cir.

1978) 10
United States v. Sumpter, 669 F.2d 1215 (8th Cir.

1982) 20
United States v. Terry, 702 F.2d 299 (2nd Cir.

1983) 9, 10, 16, 20
United States v. Vahalik, 606 F.2d 99 (Sth Cir.

A 9

United States v. Van Leeuwen, 397 U.S. 249 (1970) ....... 13

CoNSTITUTION
Cal. Const. art. 1, § 28 —............ 2,15
I ID TET cceanctiasdenipuniniinaibetinincnintenial passim
STaTUTES
Orange County Municipal Code § 3-3-85 18
Orange County Municipal Code § 4-3-45 0... 18

West Cal.Amn. Pemal Code § 739 nec eeecsensesseseseessseeseee ae

Vii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

West Cal.Ann. Penal Code § 995

Page(s)

4

West Cal.Ann. Penal Code § 1538.5

West Cal.Ann. Penal Code § 11350

West Cal.Ann. Penal Code § 11351

2
2
2

Ruues or Court

Rules of the U.S. Supreme Court, Rule 21

OTHER
LaFave, W., Search and Seizure 2d (1978)

15

ee eweeeteneeeeseeees

Note, 60 N.Y.U.L. Rev. 725 (1985)
Orwell, G., 1984 (1983 Ed.)

No. 86-684

io
a

In The
Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1988

~—f>
a

THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA,

Petitioner,
vs.

BILLY GREENWOOD AND DYANNE VAN HOUTEN,
Respondents.

—~Q—

On Writ of Certiorari To The
Court of Appeal of California,
Fourth Appellate District, Division Three

BRIEF FOR RESPONDENT DYANNE VAN HOUTEN

Bee
Vw

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY
PROVISIONS INVOLVED

Fourth Amendment of the United States Constitution,
tion,

The right of the people to be secure in their persons,
houses, papers, and effects, against unreasonable

1

2

searches and seizures, shall not be violated, and no
Warrants shall issue, but upon probable cause, sup-
ported by Oath or affirmation, and particularly de-
scribing the place to be searched, and the persons or
things to be seized.

California Constitution Article 1, 4 28, subdivision (cd),

Except as provided by statute hereafter enacted by a
two-thirds vote of the membership in each house of the
Legislature, relevant evidence shall not be excluded in
any criminal proceeding, including pretrial and post
conviction motions and hearings, or in any trial or
hearing of a juvenile for a criminal offense, whether
heard in juvenile or adult court... .

“y
ww

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

In a complaint filed July 30, 1984, respondent Dyanne
Van Houten was alternatively charged by the Orange
County District Attorney with simple possession of cocaine
and possession of cocaine for purposes of sale.’ R. 1.2 A
preliminary examination was conducted before a magistrate
on October 2, 3 and 4, 1984. R. 7-249. Concurrent with the
preliminary examination the magistrate heard respondent’s
joint motion to suppress evidence.’

'West Cal.Ann. Penal Code §§ 11350, 11351.
2The record is referenced to the clerk's transcript on appeal.

3West Cal.Ann. Penal Code § 1538.5 (1982) provided that,
“la] defendant may move for return of property or to suppress
as evidence against him any tangible or intangible thing ob-
tained as a result of a search or seizure on either of the follow-
ing grounds: (1) The search or seizure without a warrant was
unreasonable. (2) The search or seizure with a warrant was
unreasonable because ... . (f) [i]f the property or evidence
relates to a felony offense initiated by complaint, the motion

(Continued on following page)

3

The sole evidence admitted against respondents was
the product of a search warrant served on respondent
Greenwood’s residence. At the preliminary examination,
Jenny Stracner testified she was a narcotics investigator
for the City of Laguna Beach. R. 129. In February based
upon information received from an anonymous informant,
she began a practice of monitoring the trash at Billy Green-
wood’s residence. R. 113. She would ask the trash col-
lectors to pick up the trash at Greenwood’s residence, keep
it separate from all other trash in the truck, and bring it
down the street where she would wait. R. 129.

The trash was brought in a segregated area of the
trash truck in a dark trash bag tied at the top. R. 102.
There was no evidence any contraband or contents couid
be seen without opening the bag. Inside the bags officer
Stracner found items she believed indicated drug use;
bindles with residue, straws with residue, and baggies with
residue. R. 91.

Based upon these findings, she sought and obtained a
search warrant for 1575 Fayette, Laguna Beach. J.A. 27.
On April 6, 1984, she and other police officers executed the
search warrant on the house.* J.A. 43.

During the search of respondent Greenwood’s house,
officer Richard Seapin went upstairs to search additional

(Continued from previous page)

may be made in the municipal or justice court at the prelim-
inary exarnination.”

Effective January 1, 1987, the procedures contained in sub-
division (f) were radically modified but do not affect the present
proceedings.

‘There was a subsequent search based upon a second search
warrant. However, only the first search involved Ms. Van
Houten.

rooms. R. 160. On the floor he observed a purse. Officer
Seapin opened the purse and looked inside seeing a sheet
of magazine, crumpled up. R. 161. Seapin removed the
paper from the purse, opened it and found white powder
which he turned over to officer Straener. R. 161-162.

The purse contained un identification card with Dy-
anne Van Houten’s name and picture. R. 163. When offi-
cer Jimenez went downstairs with the purse and asked
whose it was, Dyanne Van Houten claimed it. R. 175.
Van Houten was then arrested. R. 70. The white powder
was determined to be cocaine. R. 61.

The magistrate denied Van Houten’s motion to sup-
press evidence and held her to answer solely upon the pos-
session charge. J.A. 9. Nine days later petitioner filed
an information charging the identical criminal counts as
alleged in the complaint.’ J.A. 10. On February 1, 1985,
a motion to dismiss was heard in the superior court based
upon the magistrate’s denial of the motion to suppress evi-
denee. The motion to set aside the information was grant-
ed and the charges were dismissed. J.A. 75.

5West Cal.Ann. Penal Code § 739 (1985) permits the filing
of an information based upon the evidence presented to the
magistrate notwithstanding the magistrate’s order discharging
a defendant on a selected count. A defendant's remedy is to
seek to set aside the count(s) charged in this manner. West
Cal.Ann. Penal Code § 995 (1985).

6West Cal.Ann. Penal Code § 995, subdivision (a)(2) (1985)
provides, “[s]ubject to subdivision (b) of Section 995a, the
indictment or information shall be set aside ~ the court in
which the defendant is arraigned, upon his or her motion, in
either of the following cases: [{]] If it is an information: (A)
That before the filing thereof the defendant had not been
legally committed by a magistrate. (B) That the defendant had
been committed without reasonable or probable cause.”

5

Petitioner appealed to the Fourth District Court of
Appeal, Division Three. In a published opinion, People v.
Greenwood, 182 Cal. App. 3d 729, 227 Cal.Rptr. 539 (1986),
the court concluded that People v. Krivda, 5 Cal. 3d 357, 96
Cal.Rptr. 62, 486 P.2d 1262 (1971), (Krivda I) cert. grtd.
and remanded California v. Krivda, 409 U.S. 33 (1972), and
People v. Krivda, 8 Cal. 3d 623, 105 Cal.Rptr. 521, 504 P.2d
457 (1973) (Krivda II), cert. den., California v. Krivda,
412 U.S. 919 (1973), compelled suppression of evidence ob-
tained from a warrantless, non-exigent seizure of a trash
bag and its contents. The California Supreme Court de-
nied petitioner’s application for review.

S

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

This Court has repeatedly,

‘* ‘emphasized that the mandate of the Fourth Amend-
ment requires adherence to judicial processes,’ United
States v. Jeffers, 342 U.S. 48, 51, and that searches
conducted outside the judicial process, without prior
approval by the judge or magistrate, are per se un-
reasonable under the Fourth Amendment—subject only
to a few specifically established and well-delineated
exceptions.’’ Katz v. United States, 389 U.S. 347, 357
(1967), footnotes omitted.

Unquestionably, when police, individually or through the
employment of an agent, break the seal on a closed, opaque
container to observe and seize its contents, both a search
and seizure occurs within the meaning of the Fourth
Amendment. As Justice Stevens pointed out in United
States v. Jacobsen, 466 U.S. 109, 114 (1984),

‘*{]jetters and other sealed packages are in the general
class of effects in which the public at large has a legiti-
mate expectation of privacy; warrantless searches of
such effects are presumptively unreasonable.’’

The issue before the Court is to what extent Billy
Greenwood possessed and is permitted to possess a reason-
able and legitimate expectation of privacy in the closed,
opaque container he left for the garbage man to transport
to a county owned and operated landfill for disposal. If
his expectation of vrivacy receives the Court’s stamp of
approval, then the warrantless and unsupported search and
seizure of the bag and its contents was unreasonable and
subject to suppression. If not, its contents, and the road
maps of all citizens it contains will be forever open to the
capricious actions of the police and our various govern-
mental agencies, restrained only by the size of their budgets,
their sense of morality and the degree of their curiosity.’

Privacy in a free society is perhaps the cornerstone of
what separates Americans from those totalitarian states
we collectively abhor. As Walter Crenkite commented in
his introduction to George Orwell’s 1983 edition of 1984,

‘*7984 is an anguished lament and a warning that we
may not be strong enough or wise enough nor moral
enough to cope with the kind of power we have learned
to amass. That warning vibrates powerfully when we

7A sign of this fear, whether real or imagined, invaded the
decision of the Alaska Supreme Court when the court deter-
mined that under some circumstances police could conduct
warrantless and unsupported trash searches. As the majority
concluded, “we are unwilling to announce a general rule sanc-
tioning official gathering and analysis of an individual’s refuse.”
Smith v. State, 510 P. 2d 793, 795 (Alas. 1973), cert. den. Smith
v. Alaska, 414 U.S. 1086 (1973).

allow ourselves to sit still and think carefully about
orbiting satellites that can read the license plates in a
parking lot and computers that can tap into thousands
of telephone calls and telex transmissions at once and
other computers that can do our banking and purchas-
ing, can watch the house and tell a monitoring station
what television program we are watching and how
many people there are in the room.’’

No one questions that the refuse of our lives, whether
labelled trash or garbage,* is the road map of our exis-
tence. Anthropologists daily explore the very trash heaps
of societies long-ago made extinct utilizing their waste as a
window into their sophistication, morality and daily rit-
uals. As the California Supreme Court reiterated in
People v. Krivda, supra, 5 Cal. 3d 357, 366,

‘*! w]e can readily ascribe many reasons why residents
would not want their castaway clothing, letters, medi-
cine bottles or other telltale refuse and trash to be
examined by neighbors or others, at least not until the
trash had lost its identity and meaning by becoming
part of a large conglomeration of trash elsewhere. Half
truths leading to rumor and gossip may readily flow
from an attempt to ‘read’ the contents of another’s
trash.’’ See also People v. Edwards, 71 Cal. 2d 1096,
1104, 80 Cal. Rptr. 633, 458 P.2d 713 (1969).

It is privacy, not the receptacle, which must be pro-
tected by this Court by acknowledging that society should

8For purposes of analyzing whether “trash” is constitution-
ally protected, it is unfortunate the “package” is so labelled
bringing with it the connotations associated with scavengers,
rodents and bag ladies sifting through banana ego and used
dinner napkins. Included within the bag are also letters from
children at college divulging their indiscretions, our financial
records, our discarded drug prescriptions and innermost family
secrets.

expand rather than contract the available venues within
which privacy in a crowded and electronically invaded na-
tion may be protected. As Judge Motley so correctly
pointed out,

‘*{t}he concept of privacy is paramount in deciding a
claimant’s standing to invoke the protection of the
Fourth Amendment. Courts should be hesitant to
narrow that concept because, in this society, the sphere
of personal privacy has become more and more con-
fined. In a real sense, if courts begrudge the scope of
the privacy expectations of the populace, not only will
there be less freedom of the person, but his or her ex-
pectations of freedom will wither and with them the
values of individuality and privacy from increasingly
intrusive government control.’’ United States v. Ka-
han, 350 F. Supp. 784, 793-794 (S.D.N.Y. 1972), aff’d
in part 415 U.S. 239 (1974).

Whether the Court analyzes the issue presented in
terms of the law of property or the oft-referenced test in-
terpreted by Justice Harlan in Kaiz, it still remains for
this Court to make a value judgment regarding where a
homeowner /citizen’s right to keep his life private ends
and the government’s right to intrude begins.? It is not
enough to say that if a citizen wants privacy in his refuse,
he must do something more than merely locking it in a

*Professor LaFave suggests in this treatise the analysis the
Court engages in in most respects is a mere tautology; the
Fourth Amendment protects those interests that may justifiably
claim Fourth Amendment protection. 1 W. LaFave, Search and
Seizure 2d § 2.1 (1978). In short, the Court engages in a weigh-
ing process pitting a determination of what deserves protection
from government intrusion in addition to the degree of free-
dom lost (cost) versus the need for effective law enforcement
(effect). To that extent, some compromise may be necessary
to balance the interests of the citizen and the State. See Issue
ill, ante.

9

closed, opaque container." United States v. Terry, supra,
702 F.2d 299, 309. As Chief Justice Burger pointed out,
in general,

‘‘Tb]y placing persona! effects inside a double-locked
footlocker, respondents manifested an expectation of
privacy that the contents would remain free from pub-
lic examination.’’ United States v. Chadwick, 433
U.S. 1, 11 (1977). emphasis added.

Surely it is not the container or the means of closure which
separates Billy Greenwood from Chadwick.

Our society, with ever-increasing density, electronic
sophistication, justified paranoia and very real threats
brought on by drugs and disease, still looks to the Con-
stitution to protect the very liberties threatened by these
developments and their cures. A momentary perusal of
current literature demonstrates that the topic of drug test-
ing in the work place and electronic eavesdropping offe
both solutions to these problems and potential infringement
of individual liberty. The issue the Court must now de-
termine is whether the benefits of permitting wholesale

Courts have found various excuses for denying the ob-
vious; closed, opaque containers do not expose their contents
to the world. Thus United States v. Biodich, 652 F.2d 743, 745
(8th Cir. 1981); United States v. Crowell, 586 F.2d 1020, 1025
(9th Cir. 1978); and United States v. Vahalik, 606 F.2d 99, 101
(5th Cir. 1979) each predicated their respective decisions upon
the failure of the defendant to make special arransements with
the garbage men (what could they have done?). Similarly
United States v. Terry, 702 F.2d 299, 309 (2nd Cir. 1983) sug-
gested a defendant shred or burn his trash or personally deliver
refuse to a garbage grinding machine. Unfortunately, the
thought of every citizen possessing a shredder large enough to
consume a weekly household of trash, violating local ordinances
by transporting their own trash or worse yet burning it (the Air
Quality Maintenance District of Los Angeles and the Environ-
mental Protection Agency notwithstanding) is no answer to
privacy interests.

10

searches of our nation’s trash are justified by the loss of
those protections. Further, if law enforcement is to be
permitted to search trash unencumbered by a search war-
rant, should some restraint be placed upon the exercise of
that right?

ri
Vv

ARGUMENT

I

THE MERE FACT AN INDIVIDUAL PLACES
TRASH AT CURBSID™ FOR PICK-UP DOES
NOT DETERMINE HIS REASONABLE EX-
PECTATION OF PRIVACY UNDER THE
FOURTH AMENDMENT.

4. Property Law Concepts Are Irrelevant For
Determining A Defendant’s Reasonable And
Legitimate Expectation Of Privacy.

While a number of state courts and federal circuits
have concluded that the only analysis necessary in deter-
mining whether a defendant has a legitimate expectation
of privacy is to conclude garbage is abandoned property,"

"United States v. Dzialak, 441 F.2d 212, 215 (2nd Cir. 1971);
United States v. Reicherter, 647 F.2d 397, 399 (3rd Cir. 1981);
United States v. Minker, 312 F.2d 632, 634-635 (3rd Cir. 1963);
United States v. Mustone, 469 F.2d 970, 972 (5th Cir. 1972);
Magda v. Bensen, 536 F.2d 111, 112 (6th Cir. 1976); United
States v. Shelby, 573 F.2d 971, 973 (7th Cir. 1978); United States
v. Burnette, 698 F.2d 1038, 1047 (9th Cir. 1983); United States
v. Dela Espriella, 781 F.2d 1432, 1437 (9th Cir. 1986); United
States v. Crowell, supra, 586 F.2d 1020, 1025; United States v.
Terry, supra, 702 F.2d 299, 309; People v. Huddleston, 38 Ill.
App. 3d 277, 347 N.E.2d 76, 80 (1976); Smith v. State, supra,
510 P.2d 793, 795; State v. Brown, 20 Ohio App. 3d 36, 484
N.E.2d 215, 218 (1984); State v. Purvis, 249 Or. 404, 438 P.2d
1002, 1005 (1968); State v. Schultz, 388 So.2d 1326, 1330 (Fla.
App. 1980); State v. Stevens, 123 Wisce.2d 303, 367 N.W.2d 788
(1985).

—

11

property law concepts such as abandonment play little or
no role in the privacy decision. Beginning with the Court’s
decision in K atz v. United States, supra, 389 U.S. 347 the
Court made it clear that,

‘*the Fourth Amendment protects people, not places.
What a person knowingly exposes to the public, even
in his own home or office, is not a subject of Fourth
Amendment protection. [Citations]. But, what he
seeks to preserve as private, even in an area acces-
sible to the public, may be constitutionally protected.’’
Id., at 351-352.

Although the Court had earlier suggested abandon-
ment was sufficient to negate a reasonable expectation of
privacy, Abel v. United States, 362 U.S. 217, 239 (1960),
later in Olwver v. United States, 466 U.S. 170 (1984), the
Court again rejected the notion that the touchstone of the
Fourth Amendment is a defendant’s property rights.

‘The existence of a property right is but one element

in determining whether expectations of privacy are

legitimate. ‘‘*The premise that property interests

control the right of Government to search and seize
has been diseredited.’’’’’. Jd. at 183.

For those very reasons the dissent in California v. Rooney,
— US. —, 107 S.Ct. 2852, 2858-2859, 97 L.Ed. 2d 258
(1987) recognized that property interests do not control
Fourth Amendment analysis, even where the property is
garbage. See also United States v. Dunn, — U.S. —, 107
S.Ct. 1134, 94 L.Ed. 2d 326 (1987); California v. Ciraolo,
476 U.S. —, 106 S.Ct. 1809 90 L.Ed. 2d 210 (1986).

12

B. The Use Of Property Law Concepts To Re-

solve Whether An Individual Has A Legitimate

Expectation Of Privacy Fails To Account For

Changes In Technology And Personal Values.

It is far too simplistic to label as abandoned property
an individual’s decision to place his life’s possessions in a
pail or bag at curbside for collection and end the inquiry.
This is because courts seem far too quick to define aban-
donment in property law terms; i.e., ‘‘the intention to
[permanently] retain’’ an interest in the object. United
States v. Burnett, supra, 698 U.S. 1038, 1047. If the Court
were to adopt such a simplistic approach, the problems
would be manifold.

Individuals permanently and without. reservation pro-
vide numerous tangible and intangible items to third per-
sons and yet retain and have a legitimate expectation of
privacy in them once they leave their possession. Al-
though this Court has sanctioned the warrantless use of
pen registers, Smith v. Maryland, 442 U.S. 735 (1979),
Katz sanctifies the words which leave our mouths and are
conveyed to a third party (the telephone company) for
transmission to a receiver."? Similarly, the Court has sanc-

The problems inherent in the Court’s erosion of what is
a legitimate expectation of privacy best come into play in Katz.
When Katz was decided in 1967, few would have anticipated
the widespread use of cordless telephones which permit home
eavesdropping, intentionally or unintentionally, by neighbors
and the police. Similarly, the advent of portable cellular tele-
phones will soon open the door to Dick Tracy-like wrist tele-
phones expanding the horizons of those interested in our con-
versations. Finally, telephone companies increasingly send our
conversations and electronically transmitted documents via sat-
ellite, a form of transport open to interception by anyone with
a twelve foot dish in their backyard. In short, as society be-
comes more sophisticated, privacy as defined by the Court
becomes a scarcer commodity. :

13

‘tioned a privacy interest in mail which every day is con-
veyed to both governmental and private entities for de-
livery to receivers. United States v. Jacobsen, supra, 466
U.S. 109; United States v. Van Leeuwen, 397 U.S. 249
(1970) ; Ex Parte Jackson, 96 U.S. 727 (1878).

It is for that very reason it is a mistake to attempt to
draw a bright-line that all persons whose trash is left for
collection lose a legitimate expectation of privacy based
upon the property law concept of abandonment. This
Court should reject a per se rule as was suggested by the
Government recently in United States v. Dunn, supra, —
U.S. —, 107 S.Ct. 1134, 1139, footnote 4, and the State of
California herein. As the Court aptly pointed out when
defining the concept of curtilage,

‘*la]pplication of the Government’s ‘first fence rule’
might well lead to diminished Fourth Amendment pro-
tection in those cases where a structure lying outside
a home’s enclosing fence was used for domestic ac-
tivities.’’

Similarly, a bright-line rule concluding all garbage
left for collection is abandoned and thus outside the Fourth
Amendment would diminish Constitutional protections
where facts clearly indicate both a reasonably held and
legitimate expectation of privacy.“ The Court should re-
ject abandonment as the touchstone of garbage searches.

Because People v. Krivda, supra, 8 Cal. 3d 623 compelled
the court of appeal and the superior court to suppress the fruit
of the trash search at issue here, no effort was made by either
party to establish respondents’ reasonable expectation of pri-
vacy and society's expectation trash left at curbside is protected.

14

C. Although The Great Weight Of Authority
Finds Garbage Searches To Fall Outside The
Fourth Amendment, They Uniformly Err In Bas-

ing Their Conclusion Upon Abandonment Prin-

ciples.

As pointed out earlier at note 10, and repeatedly by
petitioner and amicus, all federal circuits have concluded
garbage left at curbside forfeits the depositor’s reason-
able expectation of privacy. But in all but a few of the
decisions the result is a mere incantation of the apparent
axiom; garbage is abandoned and abandoned property is
unprotected by the Fourth Amendment.

It is this erroneous and facile reasoning the Court
must avoid in formulating a standard by which to judge
such searches. For although it appears that the weight
of authority finds garbage searches to be outside the
Fourth Amendment, such decisions were uniformly prem-
ised upon erroneous property law concepts condemned and
discarded by this Court.

II

THE WARRANTLESS AND UNSUPPORTED
SEARCH OF BILLY GREENWOOD’S GAR-
BAGE VIOLATED DYANNE VAN HOUTEN’S
REASONABLE AND LEGITIMATE EXPEC.
TATION OF PRIVACY MANDATING SUP-
PRESSION OF THE FRUITS OF THAT
SEARCH.

A. Billy Greenwood’s Decision To Place His
Trash At Curbside For Collection Met The Sub-
jectivity Component Of Katz v. United States.
Katz v. United States, supra, imposes a two-part test
for determining the protection afforded by the Fourth

15

Amendment. Justice Harlan, in interpre .ng the majority
opinion defined the test as,

‘*first that a person have exhibited an actual (subjec-
tive) expectation of privacy and second, that the ex-
pectation be one that society is prepared to recognize
as ‘reasonable.’ ’’ Id., at 361, (Harlan, J. concurring).

No court has defined what the subjective component
in Katz is but rather have discussed it solely within the
context of the specific facts of each case. Whether it re-
fers to a defendant’s actual expectation of privacy or
whether the court looks to the facts to determine whether
the dweller exhibited an expectation of privacy,'* the facts
here point to an expectation of privacy by Billy Green-
wood.'* Stronger than in Rooney where the dissent ‘‘as-
sumed [ __| under state law | Rooney] retained an owner-
ship or possessory interest in the trash bag and its con-
tents,’’’® the trash bag here was in an individual bag, de-

See Note, 60 N.Y.U.L. Rev. 725, 743-/44 (1985).

5Petitioner no longer argues respondent Van Houten lacked
standing to object to the search of Greenwood’s residence or
trash and thus has waived the issue before the Court. Rules
of the U.S. Supreme Court, Rule 21.

California v. Rooney, supra, — U.S. —, —, 107 S.Ct. 2852,
2858, 97 L.Ed.2d 258 (White, dissenting). Under In re Lance W.,
37 Cal.3d 873 (1985) the California Supreme Court concluded
Article |, § 28, subdivision (d) of the California Constitution
merely eliminated from independent state grounds the judicial
remedy of suppression where a protected interest came in con-
flict with a decision of this Court. Thus, Krivda’s conclusion
trash left at curbside is protected under the California equivalent
of the Fourth Amendment still controls the privacy interest
ae by defendant. See Amicus Los Angeles Public De-
ender.

16

posited in an individual homeowner’s trash pail for which
only Billy Greenwood had an interest.”

As to the first portion of the Katz test, even courts
which have concluded the subjective expectation of privacy
in trash is not reasonable (legitimate) have conceded that
one may maintain such an expectation in garbage left for
collection. In denying suppression of the fruits of a war-
rantless trash search, the Minnesota Supreme Court never-
theless conceded,

‘‘a householder may ordinarily have some expecta-
tion of privacy in the items he places in his garbage
ean.’’ State v. Oquist, 327 N.W.2d 587, 591 (Minn.
1982).

As to courts which reject any such possibility, their
reasoning, like those decisions which without more found
trash abandoned and unprotected, is both simplistic in
their assumptions and flawed in their analysis. Thus, the
court in United States v. Terry, supra, 702 F.2d 299, having
noted the trash search involved a ‘‘green bag closed with
a brown tape’’ left on the sidewalk, concluded without evi-
dence,

‘‘mere use of taped opaque containers as indicating
an intent to retain a privacy interest ... are obviously
designed to assure tidiness in appearance rather than
privacy.’’ Id., at 309.

17There is no evidence in the record, one way or the oth-
er, whether Greenwood personally or subjectively harbored an
expectation of privacy. This is a consequence of respondents’
and petitioner's reliance upon the absolute rule of Krivda which
provided respondents with a reasonable and legitimate expec-
tation of privacy as a matter of law.

17

Or as the court concluded in United States v. Reicherter,
supra, 647 F.2d 397, 399,

‘it is inconceivable that the defendant intended to re-
tain a privacy interest in the discarded objects.’’

Such assumptions, though perhaps indicative of the court’s
personal views, do injustice to an individual’s right to
‘*seek to preserve as private’’ his possessions and beliefs."*

Here, all the Court knows is that Billy Greenwood, to
exhibit an expectation of privacy did everything short of
placing a label on the container or bag, or placing a sign
on his lawn, strictly prohibiting garbage men or scaven-
gers from opening the containers. The bags were opaque
and sealed at the top, leaving nothing visible to the on-
looker. Nothing suggested an intention to do anything
more than convey the item to the garbage man for one
purpose: for transportation to a hole in the ground where
a bulldozer would bury it for antiquity."* Jf a home owner
may have an expectation of privacy in his trash left at
curbside, Billy Greenwood did everything necessary to
manifest his intent that the contents of the bag remain
private.

'8The Court made a similar assumption in doubting that
‘people in general entertain any actual expectation of privacy
in the numbers they dial.” Smith v. Maryland, supra, 442 U.S.
735, 742. The difficulty confronting individuals in determining
what the Fourth Amendment protects is the apparent need to
determine what society is willing to or believes should be pro-
tected, a form of “constitutional rights” by opinion poll.

If there is any doubt as to respondent's subjective expec-
tation of privacy, he should be permitted on remand to make
the requisite showing.

18

B. Possession Of An Expectation Of Privacy In
Garbage Left For Collection Is Both Reasonable
And Legitimate.

The societal necessity of turning over refuse to gar-
bage collectors for disposal is not one merely engaged in
out of volunteerism or a higher moral sense of ecology. In
Orange County, California, and particularly in Laguna
Beach where respondent Greenwood resided, the options
of burying or burning refuse are equally unlawful. Orange
County Municipal Code § 4-3-45, subdivision (a) commands
that,

‘*solid waste created, produced, or accumulated in or

about an apartment house, a dwelling house, or other

place of human habitation shall be removed from the
premises at least once each week.’’

Further, any residential burning of trash is strictly banned
in Orange County Municipal Code § 3-3-85. In sum, the
act of delivering trash to third persons is compelled
through use of a governmental, penal statute. If that is
the case, the real question then should be whether in ac-
complishing that act the house dweller exhibits an expecta-
tion the contents will not be exposed to the eyes of the
world. Placing the trash in a closed, opaque container does
just that.

‘

In concluding that Rooney failed to establish a legiti-
mate expectation of privacy, the dissent argued two salient
facts: trash is delivered to third parties and that it is
foreseeable that police would search trash bags. Since

19

delivery to third persons is legally compelled, the real issue
posed by the dissent is foreseeability.”

What the dissent meant by foreseeability is not entirely
known. As is obvieus, many actions of government may
be foreseeable yet improper. The same reasoning would
apply if police conducted daily check-points on the high-
ways after supplying notice to the public in newspapers
and magazines; yet the Court has held such spot checks
violative of the Fourth Amendment. Delaware v. Prouse,
440 U.S. 648 (1979). Certainly Pacifie Bell’s warning to
customers that their cellular telephone conversations may
not be private does not, for Fourth Amendment purposes,
diminish the expectation of privacy in the telephone cali
predicated upon Aatz.

A home dweller’s garbage deserves protection. Oliver
v. United States, supra, 466 U.S. 170; 1 W. LaFave, Search

Although Katz appears to protect the sanctity of telephone
conversations based upon society’s belief such communications
are due protection, under the Rooney dissent one must question
the reasonableness of even telephone conversations when Pa-
cific Bell now warns its customers in each billing that, “i]t
is a crime under state and federal law to eavesdrop on telephone
conversations. Normally, you don’t have to worry about the
privacy of conversations you have on telephones located in
your home or business. However, if you make calls using a
cellular telephone or receive calls from people who do, you
need to be aware that your conversations on these phones may
not be entirely private ... [] For this reason, the California
Public Utilities Commission (CPUC) has asked that those placing
calls on cellular telephones advise the people they are calling
about the privacy issue at the beginning of each conversation.
The CPUC also asked us to inform you that there are ‘scram-
bling’ devices for cellular phones ... .”” Presumably, the same
warning should apply to cordless telephones widely utilized
in residences and businesses.

20

and Seizure 2d 2.1(d) (1978). This Court has long
recognized.

“ ‘the security of one’s privacy against arbitrary in-
trusion by the pclice’ is ‘at the core of the Fourth
Amendment.’ .g., Berger v. New York, 338 U.S. 41,
53; Schmerbe; v. California, 384 U.S. 757, 767; Wolf v.
Colorado, 338 U.S. 25, 27 [overruled on another point
in Mapp v. Ohio, supra, 367 U.S. 643].)’’ People v.
Edwards, supra, 71 Cal 2d 1096, 1103.

It is this fundamental privacy interest which the Court
must protect.”! People v. Whotte, 113 Mich. App. 12, 317
N.W.2d 266, 269 (1982) (Burns, J. di: senting).

It is the denigration of privacy interests which is rep-
resented by those decisions which find an expectation of
privacy illegitimate. Thus decisions such as State v.
Oquist, supra, 327 N.W.2d 587 find no legitimate expecta-
tion of privacy absent any attempt at analyzing societal
privacy needs. See also United States v. Sumpter, 669
i’2d 1215 (Sth Cir. 1982). Similarly, decisions exempli-
fied by United States v. Biondich, supra, 652 F.2d 743
premise the expectation of privacy issue on whether the
defendant made ‘‘special arrangements with the garbage
collector,’’ id., at 745, or sought to burn, shred or bury the
trash. United States v. Terry, supra, 702 F.2d 299; United
States v. Crowell, supra, 586 F.2d 1020.

2IThe Court noted in United States v. Dunn, supra, — U.S.
—, 107 S.Ct. 1134, that the curtilage focus for Fourth Amend-
ment purposes is upon “whether the area harbors the ‘inti-
mate activity associated with the “sanctity of a man’s home
and the privacies of life.”’” JId., at 1139. Surely an individual’s
refuse is at the core of everything man does; from what he
reads (ideas) to what he writes (thoughts).

21

That is not to say the issue of the legitimacy of privacy
in refuse hasn’t been analyzed. Obviously thrice the Cali-
fornia. Supreme Court has examined the question and con-
cluded that a householder has a legitimate expectation of
privacy in trash left at curbside. People v. Krivda, supra,
5 Cal. 3d 357, (Krivda 1) cert. grtd. and remanded Cali-
fornia v. Krivda, supra, 409 U.S. 33, and People v. Krivda,
supra, 8 Cal. 3d 623 (Krivda II), cert. den., California v.
Krivda, supra, 412 U.S. 919; People v. Edwards, supra, 71
Cal. 2d 1096. In addition, the state of Hawaii and the
Federai District Court, Southern District of New York
supplemented by thoughtful dissents in Illinois,” Michi-
gan,” Alaska,™ Florida and Wisconsin support the propo-
sition that privacy in a householder’s trash should and
must be protected.*

In State v. Tanaka, 701 P.2d 1274 (Hawaii 1985) the
Hawaii Supreme Court found that not only did the defen-

2People v. Huddleston, supra, 38 Ill.App. 3d 277, 347 N.E.
2d 76 (Stouder, J., dissenting).

31n People v. Whotte, supra, 317 N.W.2d 266, Michigan
adopted the multiphasic test proposed by the Alaska Supreme
Court in Smith v. State. See n. 24, ante. Justice Burns dissented
arguing the rule adopted by the majority effectively infringed
upon the fundamental privacy interests of the individual.

*4Smith v. State, supra, 510 P.2d 793 (Rabinowitz, J. dissent-
ing). The majority announced a four part test for determining
the legitimacy of a house dweller’s expectation of privacy (lo-
cation of trash, numbers of residential units, who removed the
trash, and where it was searched), but concluded Smith failed
to meet the test.

The Supreme Judicial Court of Maine in passing upon a
trash search occurring after a barrel was removed from the de-
fendant’s garage concluded that placing the contraband in the
barrel did not constitute an abandonment within the meaning
of Abel v. United States, supra, 362 U.S. 217. State v. Chapman,
250 A.2d 203 (Sup.jud.Ct.Me. 1969), overruled State v. Johnson,
413 A.2d 931 (1980).

22

dant have an ‘‘actual expectation of privacy [ ] by the
placing of the item in an opaque, closed container,’’ id., at
1276, but that under the doctrine of independent state
grounds Hawaii would recognize the legitimacy of that ex-
pectation. Similarly, Judge Motley in United States v.
Kahan, supra, 350 F.Supp. 784 analogized the act of placing
refuse in the hands of garbage men for transportation to
a disposal site to both throwing the refuse into a shredder
or more appropriately, handing a letter to a mail carrier.
In both cases, what prevents government intrusion is not
the shape or character of the container, but the expecta-
tion by society that placing the items contained therein in
a closed container maintains the privacy the owner has
reasonably come to expect.

Judge Anstead, dissenting in State v. Schultz, supra,
388 So.2d 1326 observed,

‘*'ijJn my view, a homeowner, upon placing items in a
closed garbage container and placing the container in
a position on his property where the container can be
conveniently removed by authorized trash collectors,
is entitled to reasonably expect that the container and
the trash therein will be removed from his property
only by those authorized to do so, and that such trash
will be disposed of in a manner provided by ordinance
or private contract. By sealing the containers in a
secure manner and placing the containers on his own
property, the owner has done everything within his
own means to insure the privacy of the contents there-
of, short of delivering the containers to a central dis-
posal site himself.’’ Jd., at 1330.

26in a 4-3 decision of the Wisconsin Supreme Court, Justice
Heffernan dissented noting that “all [the defendant] did [was]
expose closed bags of garbage” rather than their contents to
public scrutiny. State v. Stevens, supra, 123 Wisc.2d 303, 367
N.W.2d 788 (Heffernan, J., dissenting).

23

In disposing of the argument that trash is open to the
prying eyes of anyone; be it man, woman or animal, who
chooses to sift through the refuse, Judge Anstead chided,

‘*(w)hile it is true that one cannot reasonably expect
trash containers to be completely safe from probing
dogs ... common sense tells us that one should be able
to expect that his property and the trash containers
will be free from search and seizure by the police,
neighbors and others who are and should be more
knowledgeable and respectful of the property and the
privacy rights of others.’’ IBID.

In sum, contrary to petitioner’s assertions, those courts
which have sought to determine the legitimacy of a house-
holder’s expectation of privacy in trash containers are
neither unanimous nor necessarily foolhardy. They merely
recognize that in a society which is slowly losing its ability
to retain its thoughts, ideas, fears, and concerns private
from the world, the courts should collectively recognize that
our garbage is merely a conduit for burying the products
of our individual lives. As Justice Rabinowitz noted,

‘*a free and open society cannot exist without the right
of the people to be immune from unreasonable inter-
ference by representatives of government. In order
to preserve and protect this right of privacy, our
Founding Fathers promulgated the fourth amendment
to the United States Constitution. As the United
States Supreme Court has repeatedly observed: [{]
The basic purpose of the Fourth Amendment, as recog-
nized in countless decisions of this Court, is to safe-
guard the privacy and security of individuals against
arbitrary invasions by government officials.’’ Smith
v. State, supra, 510 P.2d at 799, footnote omitted.

Finding an expectation of privacy in a householder’s trash
to be both reasonable and legitimate is one means by which

24

this Court may protect we as individuals and as a society
from inroads of government intrusion.

III

THE COURT MUST AT THE VERY LEAST
ADOPT A RULE REQUIRING THE POLICE
HAVE PROBABLE CAUSE PRIOR TO CON-
DUCTING WARRANTLESS SEARCHES OF
TRASH LEFT AT CURBSIDE.

A. United States v. Ross Establishes A Middle
Ground Where An Individual Has A Legitimate
But Lowered Expectation Of Privacy.

In United States v. Ross, 456 U.S. 798 (1982) the Court
broke ground with a series of decisions which limited law
enforcement’s ability to conduct warrantless automobile
searches. See gen. Robbins v. California, 453 U.S. 420
(1981); United States v. Chadwick, supra, 433 U.S. 1; Ar-
kansas v. Sanders, 442 U.S. 753 (1979). In examining the

right to search where police have legitimately stopped an
automobile and possess probable cause to believe the auto
contains contraband, Justice Stevens writing for the Court
concluded that police,

‘*may conduct a search of the vehicle that is as thor-
ough as a magistrate could authorize in a warrant.
..’’ Id., at 800.

The holding, considerably more expansive in the degree
to vhich police could open closed containers found within
automobiles, appeared to be based upon the belief individ-
uals already possessed a lower expectation of privacy in
automobiles than in their homes. Thus the Court relied on
Carroll v. United States, 267 U.S. 132 (1925) and noted
that,

25

‘‘individuals always had been on notice that moveable
vessels may be stopped and searched on facts giving
rise to probable cause that the vehicle contains contra-
band, without the protection afforded by a magistrate’s
prior evaluation of those facts.’’ United States v.
Ross, supra, at 806, n. 8.

In sum, where an individual has a legitimate but lowered
expectation of privacy in an object easily moveable, the
Court has found a middle ground requiring police to be
armed with probable cause but foregoing the requirement
such cause first be tested by a neutral magistrate.”’

B. The Court Should Adopt A Rule Governing

Trash Searches That Where An Individual Has

Exhibited A Reasonable Expectation Of Privacy

In Trash, Police May Conduct Warrantless

Searches Only Upon Probable Cause.

Admittedly trash left at curbside is, like an automobile,
highly mobile. Carroll v. United States, supra. Assuming
arguendo the Court is disinclined to provide full Fourth
Amendment protection to a homeowner’s trash left at curb-
side, the Court should adopt a rule, similar to that in Ross,
holding that where an individual has exhibited a reason-
able expectation of privacy in trash left at curbside, police

27In South Dakota v. Opperman, 428 U.S. 364, 367-368
(1976), the Court in examining warrantless inventory searches,
concluded that an individual's, “expectation of privacy with re-
spect to one’s automobile is significantly less than that relating
to one’s home or office.” This resulted from (1) the mobility
of the vehicle and the individual’s reasonable expectations.
However, rather than follow a number of lower courts which
had either concluded inventory searches did not fall within
the protection of the Fourth Amendment or were not searches
at all, the Court found a middle ground concluding warrantless
searches following a valid seizure were reasonable.

26

may conduct warrantless searches only upon probable
eause. Such a rule would benefit both law enforcement
with minimal societal cost while at the same time preserv-
ing an individual’s reasonable and legitimate privacy in-
terest.

Clearly, whatever the level or degree of privacy in-
terest an individual has in trash left at curbside, it is not
identical to that experienced in the home. This is based
upon the fact that trash is open to scavengers (to what-
ever minimal degree in fact such behavior occurs) and is
placed in the custody of third persons.” It is the lowered
yet legitimate expectation of privacy which would be pro-
tected by imposition of the Ross rule with regard to trash
searches.

The requirement that law enforcement be possessed
with probable cause prior to searching an individual’s
trash protects society against arbitrary and capricious
searches by law enforcement. While not tested by a neu-
tral magistrate prior to a search, the search is ultimately
tested and thus checked by a court of law when the gov-
ernment seeks to utilize the fruits of the search at trial.
Law enforcement is not unduly hindered since society has
long accepted the cost of police action which must be predi-

28in the case of the use of the mail or telephone calls, in-
dividuals assume and perhaps must hope that others will re-
spect their privacy. Nothing guarantees that the mailman will
not violate the law and open the envelope or not break the
law and merely peer through it. Similarly, all an individual may
do is rely upon an implied covenant with private carriers they
will not break the package and inspect the contents. Finally,
party lines and inadvertent radio interception of telephone calls
regularly occur, yet individuals expect that once interception
occurs, the intervening party will hang up.

27

cated on more than hunch and rumor. [Illinois v. Gates,
462 U.S. 213 (1983); Terry v. Ohio, 392 U.S. 1 (1968).

In conclusion, the concerns of society would be pro-
tected from improper and capricious police actions while
at the same time insuring law enforcement’s ability to
obtain evidence of criminal actions without the necessity
of a warrant and the fear evidence of a crime would evapo-
rate. As the Hawaii Supreme Court convincingly noted,

‘*[pjeople reasonably believe that police will not in-
discriminately rummage through their trash bags to
discover their personal effects. Business records, bills,
correspondence, magazines, tax records and other tell-
tale refuse can reveal much about a person’s activities,
associations and beliefs ... [This] type of police sur-
veillance ... should not go unregulated, for a society in
which all our citizens ‘trash cans could be made sub-
ject of police inspection’ for evidence of more intimate
aspects of their personal life upon nothing more than
a whim is not ‘free and open.’’’ State v. Tanaka,
supra, 701 P.2d 1274, 1277, citing W. LaFave, Searches
and Seizures § 2.6(c) at 378 (1978).

C. The Search Of Billy Greenwood’s Trash Was

Without Probable Cause Mandating The Quashing

Of The Search Warrant For His Home.

Whether the search of Billy Greenwood’s trash were
conducted under the authority of a judicially issued search
warrant, a judicially recognized exigency or under the pro-
posed United States v. Ross rule, the search was unlawful.
Under any interpretation of the facts, officer Stracner
conducted the initial searches of respondent’s trash based
upon hunch, conjecture and the unsupported and uncor-
roborated information of an informant.

28

As the Court noted in Illinois v. Gates, supra, 462
U.S. 213, 239, the probable cause formula boils down to
making,

‘a practical, common-sense decision, whether, given all
the circumstances set forth in the [search warrant]
affidavit before [the magistrate], including the ‘ver-
acity’ and ‘basis of knowledge’ of persons supplying
hearsay information, there is a fair probability that
contraband or evidence of a crime will be found in a
particular place.’’

Since the evidence before the Court establishes that officer
Stracner acted solely upon an anonymous, untested tip and
utilized the searches themselves to develop probable cause,
the Court should find that the searches violated the Fourth
Amendment and suppress the fruits discovered therein.

i)

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons the dezision of the court of
appeal should be affirmed.

Respectfully submitted,

Ricuarp L. ScHwarRtTzBika
(Counsel of Record)

401 Civic Center Drive West
Suite 820

Santa Ana, California 92701
714-835-3339

Counsel for Respondent
Dyanne Van Houten

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385012_1107%3A07. Public record. Not legal advice.
