# Appendix — Martin County, Florida v. Robert Makemson and Robert G. Udell Okeechobee County, Florida v. Robert Lee Dennis

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385012_1103%3A3

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Appendix
- **Published:** January 1, 1987
- **Citation:** 479 U.S. 1043

## Text

ROBERT MAKEMSON, et al., Petitioners, v. MARTIN
COUNTY, Respondent. Supreme Court of Florida. Case
No. 66,780. July 17, 1986. Application for Review of the
Decision of the District Court of Appeal—Certified
Great Public Importance. Robert Makemson, in proper
person, Stuart, Florida; and Robert G. Udell, in proper
person, Stuart, Florida, for Petitioners. Michael H. Ol-nick,
County Attorney, Stuart, Florida, for Respondent. Michael
Zelman, Miami, Florida, for Florida Criminal Defense
Attorneys Association and National Legal Aid and
Defender Association, Amicus Curiae. Robert A. Ginsburg,
Dade County Attorney, and Eric K. Gressman, Assistant
County Attorney, Miami, Florida, for Metropolitan Dade
County, Amicus Curiae.

(ADKINS, J.) In Martin County u Makemson, 464 So.2d
1281 (Fla. 4th DCA 1985), the Fourth District quashed
the trial court’s order declaring unconstitutional section
925.036, Florida Statutes (1981), and allowing petitioners
to be compensated for their representation of an indigent
criminal defendant in amounts exceeding the statutory
maximum fees. The district court, while upholding the
statute’s validity, noted that “an absolute fee cap works
an inequity in some cases,” 464 So.2d at 1283, and
certified to this Court four quest’ ns as being of great
public importance. We have jurisdicuon, article V section
3(bX4), Florida Constitution, and find the fee maximums
unconstitutional when applied to cases involving
extraordinary circumstances and unusual representation.

Prior to setting out the certified questions, we
turn to the factual predicate on which they were based.
Petitioner Robert Makemson, a resident of Martin County,
was appointed by the court pursuant to section 925.036
to represent one of four defendants. The representation

App. 1

spanned a nine-month period, as each defendant had
been charged with first-degree murder, kidnapping and
armed robbery. Because the victim of the crime was a
member of a prominent local family, the entire resources
of the prosecutor were brought to bear on the case.
Three prosecutors and two special investigators sat at
the counsel table, and over one hundred witnesses and
fifty depositions were involved in the trial.

After the four cases were severed, each defendant
sought and ultimately obtained a change of venue.
Petitioner therefore spent his sixty-four hours in court
on the case at the Lake County courthouse, some one
hundred and fifty miles from his home. Upon completion
of the representation, petitioner asked for compensation
for the total 248.3 hours spent on the case in an amount
based upon a calculation using an hourly rate established
by the chief judge of the circuit. While expert testimony
established the value of his services at a minimum of
$25,000, he asked for and obtained $9,500. Six thousand
dollars has been placed in escrow pending disposition
of this appeal, as the statute would allow only $3,500 as
compensation for the representation. §925.036(2Xd), Fla.
Stat. (1985).

The trial court additionally found it necessary to
accept petitioner Robert Udell’s low bid of $4,500 as
compensation for the representation of the defendant
upon appeal although the statute would allow only
$2,000. §925.036(2\e), Fla. Stat. (1985). The court also
set the funds aside prior to the representation, in spite
of the statute’s terms providing for payment “at the
conclusion of the representation.” §925.036(1), Fla. Stat.
(1985).

App. 2

The trial court expressed the dilemma it faced:

[TJhis court is confronted with conflicting laws,
one of which requires competent counsel for a
defendant who has been sentenced to death
and the other stating that defense counsel can
be paid only $2,000 for his services. The lowest
bid for these services was $4,500, which is
more than twice what the Legislature has
allowed. One of these laws must yield to the
other. There is no doubt in the court’s mind
that the Legislature, if confronted with the
problem, would admit that the law requiring
competent counsel was paramount and superior
to the law allowing a mere $2,000 fee for the
dreadful responsibility involved in trying to
save a man from electrocution. Therefore this
court finds that FS. 925.036 in setting rigid
maximum fees without regard to the
circumstances in each case is arbitary and
capricious and violates the due process clause
of the United States and Florida Constitutions.
See Aldana v. Holub, 381 So.2d 231 (Fla. 1980).
In simpler language, the Statute is impractical
and won't work.

The trial court additionally found the statute
unconstitutional as an impermissible legislative intrusion
upon an inherent judicial function. Art. V, §2; art. III,
§2, Fla. Const. The statute then in force, identical to
the present statute, provided as follows:

(1) An attorney appointed pursuant to s.

925.035 or s. 27.53 shall, at the conclusion of
the representation, be compensated at an

App. 3

hourly rate fixed by the chief judge or senior
judge of the cireuit in an amount not to exceed
the prevailing hourly rate for similar
representation rendered in the circuit; however,
such compensation shall not exceed the
maximum fee limits established by this section.
In addition, such attorney shall be reimbursed
for expenses reasonably incurred, including
the costs of transcripts authorized by the court.
If the attorney is representing a defendant
charged with more than one offense in the
same case, the attorney shall be compensated
at the rate provided for the most serious offense
for which he represented the defendant. This
section does not allow stacking of the fee limits
established by this section.

(2) The compensation for representation
shall not exceed the following:

(a) For misdemeanors and juveniles
represented at the trial level: $1,000.

(b) For noncapital, nonlife felonies,
represented at the trial level: $2,500.

(e) For life felonies represented at the
trial level: $3,000.

(d) For capital cases represented at the
trial level: $3,500.

(e) For representation on appeal: $2,000.

§ 925.036, Fla. Stat. (1981).

App. 4

§ 925.036, Fla. Stat. (1981).

The Fourth District quashed the trial court's
declaration of unconstitutionality and certified to this
Court the following four questions:

I. [Is the statute] unconstitutional on its
face as an interference with the inherent
authority of the court to enter such orders as
are necessary to carry out its constitutional
authority?

II. If the answer to the first question is
negative, could the statute be held
unconstitutional as applied to exceptional
circumstances or does the trial court have the
inherent authority, in the alternative, to award a
greater fee for trial and appeal than the statutory
maximum in the extraordinary case?

III. If the answer to the second question is
affirmative, should the trial court have awarded
an attorney’s fee above the statutory maximum
for proceedings at the trial level, given the
facts presented to it by trial counsel by his
petition and testimony?

IV. Ifthe answer to the second question is
affirmative, should the trial court have awarded
an attorney’s fee above the statutory maximum
for proceedings at the appellate level before
the services were rendered and with the facts
known to it at the time of the award?

App. 5

464 So.2d at 1283-86.

We answer the first question in the negative and
the remaining questions in the affirmative. While we
cannot find the statute facially unconstitutional, as it is
ordinarily well within the legislature’s province to
appropriate funds for public purposes and resolve
questions of compensation, article III, section 12, Florida
Constitution; State ex rel Caldwell v. Lee, 27 So.2d 84
(Fla. 1946); State v. Ruiz, 269 Ark. 331, 602 S.W. 2d 625
(1980), we find that the statutory maximum fees, as
inflexibly imposed in cases involving unusual or
extraordinary circumstances, interfere with the
defendant's sixth amendment right “to have the assistance
of counsel for his defence.” The statute, as applied to
many of today’s cases, provides for only token
compensation. The availability of effective counsel is
therefore called into question in those cases when it is
needed most.

Although facially valid, we find the statute
unconstitutional when applied im such a manner as to
curtail the court’s inherent power to ensure the adequate
representation of the criminally accused. At that point,
the statute loses its usefulness as a guide to trial judges
in calculating compensation and becomes an oppressive
limitation. As so interpreted, therefore, the statute
impermissibly encroaches upon a sensitive area of judicial
concern, and therefore, violates article V, section 1, and
article II, section 3 of the Florida Constitution. As
eloquently expressed by Indiana’s Supreme Court in
Carlson u State ex rel. Stodola, 247 Ind. 631, 633-34,
220 N.E.2d 532, 533-34 (1966):

App. 6

The security of human rights and the safety
of free institutions require freedom of action
on the part of the court. . Our sense of
justice tells us that a court is not free if it is
under financial pressure, whether it be from a
city council or other legislative body . . . One
who controls the purse strings can control
how tightly those purse strings are drawn,
and the very existence of a dependent.

More fundamentally, however, the provision as so
construed interferes with the sixth amendment right
to counsel. In interpreting applicable precedent and
surveying the questions raised in the case, we must not
lose sight of the fact that it is the defendant’s right to
effective representation rather than the attorney’s right
to fair compensation which is our focus. We find the
two inextricably interlinked.

While in our decision of Metropolitan Dade County
v. Bridges, 402 So.2d 411 (Fla. 1981), the majority found
the statute mandatory rather than directory in its fee
limits and constitutional, each member of the Court
expressed the conviction that such an interpretation,
as applied in certain circumstances, would intrude upon
sixth amendment rights. Even the majority noted that:

Unless it is demonstrated that the maximum
amounts designated for representation in
criminal cases by section 925.036 are so
unreasonably insufficient as to make it impossible
for the courts to appoint competent counsel to
represent indigent defendants, we cannot say
that section 925.036 violates the sixth
amendment right to counsel.

App. 7

402 So.2d at 414-45.

In Rose u Palm Beach County, 361 So.2d 135 (Fla.
1978), we invoked the doctrine of inherent judicial power
in order to declare statutory maximums on witness
compensation and travel expenses directory rather than
mandatory. While noting that the doctrine should be
invoked only in situations of clear necessity, we held
that “if the statute is deemed to establish an absolute
maximum in all situations, then it must be said to
improperly infringe the prerogative of the court in
effectuating the constitutional right to compulsory
process.” 361 So.2d at 135.

Having approached the instant question with due
caution, we must once again affirm the proposition that
“the courts have authority to do things that are absolutely
essential to the performance of their judicial functions,”
Id., for we must find that the sixth amendment’s guarantee
of effective assistance of counsel at least equals in
fundamentality and importance its sister provision setting
forth the right of the accused “to have compulsory
process for obtaining witnesses in his favor.” U.S. Const.
amend. VI. We can do no less than to zealously safeguard
each.

We find that the trial court has here met its burden
of showing that its action in exceeding the statutory
maximums was necessary in order to enable it to perform
ts essential judicial function of ensuring adequate
representation by competent counsel. Wakulla County
» Dewis, 395 So.2d 540 (Fla. 1981). Thus, we answer the
‘herd question certified affirmatively; the facts were
sufficiently “extraordinary” to warrant the action taken.

App. 8

A survey of the repeated attacks on the validity of
the statute highlights the strong tension between the
counties’ treasuries, as protected by the statutory
maximum fees, and the attorneys seeking compensation
more fair than that the legislature would grant. As
previously pointed out, we must focus upon the criminal
defendant whose rights are often forgotten in the heat
of this bitter dispute. In order to safeguard that
individual's rights, it is our duty to firmly and

resolve any conflicts between the treasury
and fundamental constitutional rights in favor of the
latter. As we noted in City of Tallahassee u Public
Employees Relations Commission, 410 So.2d 487, 490
(Fla. 1981), ſtſhe unconstitutionality of a statute may
not be overlooked or excused for reasons of inconvenience.”
This ruling may indeed require some financial adjustment
in the counties’ budgeting process, and the exploration
of some alternatives. We note, however, that the counties’
fears may be in part misplaced. Petitioners seek only
“reasonable,” and not “market value” compensation.
Token compensation is no longer to be an alternative.

We find that a significant pattern emerges upon
examining the case law involving the statute’s validity.
It has long been the trial courts, most intimately aware
of the complexity of the case and the effectiveness of
counsel, which have time after time found the statute
unconstitutional in order to exceed its guidelines and
award a fee more nearly approaching fairness. Until
this opinion, these courts have been continually reversed
upon appeal. See, e.g., Wakulla County u Davis, 395
So.2d 540 (Fla. 1981); Broward County u Wright, 420
So.2d 401 (Fla. 4th DCA 1982); Dade County u Strauss,
246 So.2d 137 (Fla. 3d DCA 1971), cert. denied, 253
So.2d 864 (Fla. 1971), cert. denied, 406 U.S. 924 (1972).

App. 9

We can no longer afford to ignore the message these
courts have been attempting to send.

Respondent Martin County refers us to precedent
emphasizing the lawyer’s common law duty to represent
the indigent for no compensation, Jn interest of D.B.
and D.S., 385 So.2d 83 (Fla. 1980); and referring to
service at the statutory fee rate as a form of pro bono
public service to the poor in criminal proceedings. Broward
County v. Wright. These cases, in our view, fail to
address the true concerns in issue. First, we may not
allow the guarantee of effective representation in today’s
courtrooms to be diluted by reference to the state of
affairs at the common law.

Second, even if the statute as presently implemented
may be viewed as a form of pro bono service, it is an
extremely haphazard and unfairly imposed system in
practice. When the United States Supreme Court, in
Gideon v. Wainwright, 372 U.S. 335 (1963), found
fundamental the right to effective counsel and established
the state’s duty to provide representation to the indigent, it
by no means intended to place the weight of this duty
upon the shoulders of a few individual practitioners
appointed by the court. The system as it presently
stands forces these individuals, in the most difficult
cases, to bear a burden which is properly the state's
with only token compensation for their efforts. As noted
in the dissent in McKenzie v. Hillsborough County, 288
So.2d 200, 202 (Fla. 1973):

No citizen can be expected to perform civilian
services for the government when to do so is
clearly confiscatory of his time, energy and
skills, his public service is inadequately

App. 10

compensated, and his industry is unrewarded

. I do not believe that good public conscience
approves such shoddy, tawdry treatment of an
attorney called upon by the courts to represent
an indigent defendant in a capital case.

We simply cannot on the one hand instruct the
bench and bar, as we did in Wilson v. Wainwright, 474
So.2d 1162, 1165 (Fla. 1985), that “[a] perfunctory
appointment of counsel without consideration of counsel's
ability to fully, fairly and zealously advocate the defendant’s
cause is a denial of meaningful representation which
will not be tolerated,” and at the same time deny the
courts the ability to exceed the fee limits when necessary
to do justice.

Certain pressing realities facing practitioners in
today’s courts can no longer be ignored. First, the
increasing complexity of some of today’s cases calls for
the investment of more time and effort in order to
effectively represent one’s client. These complexities
also raise the spectre of later claims of ineffective
assistance of counsel, which in certain types of cases
may be expected to be eventually raised regardless of
any factual basis for the claim. Practicing attorneys are
aware how such claims, even if found meritless, may
adversely impact upon one’s hard-bought professional
reputation.

Second, rising costs mut be figured into the
equation. While the statute allows for the reimbursement
of expenses reasonably incurred, section 925.036(1),
Florida Statutes (1985), the statutory fee will in many
instances be insufficient to cover even overhead expenses
during the proceeding. The legislature's amendments

App. 11

to the statute in chapter 81-273, Laws of Florida (1981)
make clear its compromise addressing the issue of
adequate compensation. This amendment deleted the
provision allowing reasonable compensation” in capital
cases, section 925.035(1), Florida Statutes (1979), and
raised the statutory fee limits. The fee limits presently
in force stand too far from fair compensation, as applied
to certain cases, to be allowed to stand. The link between
compensation and the quality of representation remains
too clear. See the dissent in Mackenzie, 288 So.2d at
202 (“The adage that ‘you get what you pay for’ applies
not infrequently. In our pecuniary culture the calibre of
personal services rendered usually has a corresponding
relationship to the compensation provided.”); Gideon v.
Wainwright, 327 U.S. at 344 (“[TJhere are few defendants
charged with crime, few indeed, who fail to hire the
best lawyers they can get to prepare and present their
defense.”).

Finally, we answer the fourth question certified.
Because the trial judge found it necessary to accept a
bid. exceeding the statutory limit in order to ensure
representation upon appeal, he acted within his
authority in doing so. Because the statute does, however,
provide for compensation “at the conclusion of the
representation,” we note that in light of this opinion
trial courts should not in the future need to determine
the compensation to be paid prior to the representation
~ in order to obtain competent counsel.

In summary, we hold that it is within the inherent
power of Florida’s trial courts to allow, in extraordinary
and unusual cases, departure from the state’s fee
guidelines when necessary in order to ensure that an
attorney who has served the public by defending the

App. 12

accused is not compensated in an amount which is
confiscatory of his or her time, energy and talents.
More precise delineation, we believe, is not necessary.
Trial and apellate judges, well aware of the complexity
of a given case and the attorney’s effectiveness therein,
know best those instances in which justice requires
departure from the statutory guidelines. We recede
from that portion of Bridges which is inconsistent with
this opinion, and, in sum, find the statute directory
rather than mandatory in nature.

We therefore quash the Fourth District’s quashal
of the trial court’s order granting just compensation
for petitioners’ services in this case.

It is so ordered. (BOYD, OVERTON, EHRLICH,

SHAW and BARKETT, JJ., Concur. McDONALD, C. J.,
Concurs in result only.)

App. 13

MARTIN COUNTY, Petitioner,
v.

Robert MAKEMSON, Esquire, and
Robert G. Udell, Esquire,
Respondents.

No. 83-1138.

Distriet Court of Appeal of Florida,
Fourth Distriet.

March 6, 1985.

Court- appointed attorneys sought fees for trial and
appeal of a criminal case. The Circuit Court, Martin
County, Philip G. Nourse, J., awarded them fees, and
county petitioned for writ of common-law certiorari.
The District Court of Appeal, Glickstein, J., held that:
(1) trial court incorrectly awarded excess fee to court-
appointed trial counsel by determining statute which
limited attorney’s fees to be unconstitutional, and (2)
trial court’s award of attorney fee to court-appointed
appellate counsel had to be quashed, since statute
governing attorney's fees provided for award of
compensation at the conclusion of the representation”
and the award to appellate counsel was made at the
beginning of appeal, not at the conclusion.

Writ granted; award quashed.

Anstead, C.J., filed dissenting opinion.

App. 14

1. Attorney and Client — 132

Trial court incorrectly awarded excess fee to court-
appointed trial counsel in criminal case by determining
statute which limited attorney's fees to be
unconstitutional. West’s FS. A. § 925.036.

2. Attorney and Client — 132

Trial court’s award of attorney fee to court-
appointed appellate counsel in criminal case had to be
quashed, since statute governing attorney's fees provided
for award of compensation “at the conclusion of the
representation” and the award to appellate counsel was
made at the beginning of appeal, not at the conclusion.
West's FS. A. § 925.036.

Michael H. Olenick, Stuart, for petitioner.

Robert Makemson of Summers & Makemson, PA.,
Stuart, pro se respondent.

Robert G. Udell, Stuart, pro se respondent.
GLICKSTEIN, Judge.

This is a petition for certiorari brought by a county
which originally named as respondents the trial judge’

We have dismissed the trial judge from this appeal after
issuing an order to petitioner to show cause why the trial judge
should not be dismissed as a respondent. See our opinion upon the
inappropriateness of naming trial judges as respondents in petitions
for certiorari directed to the orders they enter, in Arvida Corporation
v. Hewitt, 416 So.2d 1264 (Fla. 4th DCA 1982).

App. 15

who awarded attorney's fees to court-appointed
attorneys for the trial and appeal, respectively, of a
criminal case, and the two attorneys to whom they
were awarded. The trial judge, in awarding the fees,
declared section 925.036, Florida Statutes (1981),? which
authorized but limited them, to be a legislative
usurpation of an exclusive judicial power, contravening
Article V, Section 1 of the Florida Constitution.

*Section 925.036, Florida Statdtes (1981) provides:

(1) An attorney appointed pursuant to s. 925.035 or s.
27.53 shall, at the conclusion of the representation, be
compensated at an hourly rate fixed by the chief judge or
senior judge of the circuit in an amount not to exceed the
prevailing hourly rate for similar representation rendered in
the circuit; however, such compensation shall not exceed the
maximum fee limits established by this section. In addition,
such attorney shall be reimbursed for expenses reasonably
incurred, including the costs of transcripts authorized by the
court. If the attorney is representing a defendant charged
with more than one offense in the same case, the attorney
shall be compensated at the rate provided for the most serious
offense for which he represented the defendant. This section

does not allow stacking of the fee limits established by this
section.

(2) The compensation for representation shail not exceed
the following:

(a) For misdemeanors and juveniles represented at the
trial level: $1,000. —

(b) For noncapital nonlife felonies represented at trial level:
$2,500.

(e) For life felonies represented at the trial level: $3,000.
(d) For capital cases represented at the trial level: $3,500.

(e) For representation on appeal: $2,000.

App. 1

——— ——ę—*———ꝛ̃S —

The highest court of this state considered attacks
upon the pre- 1981 version of this statute based upon
other Florida constitutional provisions, as well as the
United States Constitution, and has repelled them. In
Metropolitan Dade County u Bridges, 402 So. 2d 411,
414 Fla. 1981), it said:

Neither the due process nor equal proteetion
clauses are implicated by section 925.036. In
MacKenzie v. Hillsborough County, 288 So.2d 200
(Fla.1973), we upheld the constitutional validity of
section 925.035 which established a maximum of
$750 as reasonable compensation to counsel appointed
to represent an indigent in a criminal case. This
statute was challenged on the basis that it contravened
the equal protection and due process clauses of the
Constitutions of the United States and of the State
of Florida. Initially, we reiterated that the right to
recover attorney s fees as a part of the costs in an
action did not exist at common law and that it
therefore was provided for by the legislature's
enactment of section 925.035. [emphasis added].

The trial court here disregarded a major caution
sign which expressly appears in Metropolitan Dade
County v. Bridges. Notwithstanding that it was only a
plurality decision, three of the justices agreed upon the
following:

We also hold that this section [925.036] is
mandatory and not directory and that the trial
court erred in construing it by adding the language
which would permit the trial court to award fees
higher than those specified by statute where the
court determined exceptional circumstances to exist.

App. 17

Id. at 413. Two of the justices dissented in part, expressing
their conclusion that the trial court had the power to
award a fee in excess of the statutory maximum in
extraordinary circumstances. A third justice agreed in
essence with these latter two justices by ruling the
statute to be directory, not mandatory. The remaining
justice concluded that the statute was sufficiently
constitutional on its face to repel the specific attacks
being made upon it; however, he rejected the exceptional
circumstance test being applied to individual cases and
concluded it should be determined by a showing relating
to lawyers or types of cases as a class.

After Metropolitan Dade County, Marion County
v. DeBoisblanc, 410 So.2d 951 (Fla. 5th DCA), pet. for
rev. denied, 419 So.2d 1196 (Fla.1982), expressly rejected
the contention upon which the trial court made its
judgment in this case. In DeBoisblanc, the facts of
which were strikingly similar to those of the present
case, the fifth district said:

The issue in this case is whether or not the
trial court has an inherent power to award an attorney
fee irrespective of any attempted limitation by the
state legislature. Section 925.036, Florida Statutes,
became effective October 1, 1978. The Florida
Supreme Court previously has upheld the
constitutionality of a statutory fee limit, which
was the predecessor of the 1978 enactment.
MacKenzie v. Hillsborough County, 288 So.2d 200
(Fla.1973). Recently, the Florida Supreme Court
again has upheld the constitutionality of the fee
limitation statute against an attack that it violates
the equal protection and due process clauses of the
Constitutions of the United States and of the State

App. 18

of Florida. Metropolitan Dade County v. Bridges,
402 So.2d 411 (Fla.1981). This court, applying the
MacKenzie precedent, has upheld the constitutionality
of the specific statutory limitation challenged by
this appeal. County of Seminole v. Waddell, 382
So.2d 357 (Fla. 5th DCA 1980).

In Waddell the trial court had not directly
passed upon the validity of the statutory limitation,
but had held it to be directory rather than mandatory.
We reversed on authority of MacKenzie and the
clear wording of the statute. See also Pinellas County
u Maas, 400 So.2d 1028 (Fla. 2d DCA 1981); Dade
County u Goldstein, 384 So.2d 183 (Fla. 3d DCA
1980). In the instant situation, the trial court, despite
the precedents of MacKenzie and Waddell purported
to invalidate section 925.036 on the ground that it
was “a mandatory usurpation by the legislature of
constitutional power vested solely in the judiciary
under Article V, Section 1 of the Florida Constitution
(1968), which power is removed from the legislature
by Article II, Section 3, Florida Constitution
(1968) . . . . This holding by the trial court is in
direct conflict with Bridges and MacKenzie and,
therefore, must be reversed.

Id. at 952-53.

Later, this court relied upon Metropolitan Dade

‘County to uphold the constitutionality of the 1981 version
of the statute and its mandatory nature in Broward
County v. Wright, 420 So.2d 401 (Fla. 4th DCA 1982).

[1] With such plethora of authority, the trial court

was incorrect in awarding an excess fee to trial counsel

App. 19

by determining the statute to be unconstitutional.
Moreover, it ignored another well-known caution sign
spotlighted by the Metropolitan Dade County Court:

A legislative enactment is presumed valid and
will not be declared unconstitutional unless it is
demonstrated beyond a reasonable doubt that the
statute conflicts with some designated provision of
the constitution. Whenever reasonably possible and
consistent with the protection of constitutional rights,
courts will construe statutes in such a manner as
to avoid conflict with the constitution.

402 So.2d at 413-14. Accordingly, we grant the writ and
quash the award to trial counsel.

[2] We do likewise as to the award to appellate
counsel, not only because of all of the foregoing decisions
but also because of the express language of the statute
which provides for the award of compensation “at the
conclusion of the representation.” Here, the award to
appellate counsel was made at the beginning of the
appeal, not at the conclusion.

Notwithstanding everything we have said, we feel
that an absolute fee cap works an inequity in some
cases. We therefore request that the Florida Supreme
Court visit the difficult questions which the present
case poses, as being of great public importance.
Accordingly, we certify the following with the additional
thoughts recited herein:

I

We first ask whether section 925.036, Florida Statutes
(1983) is unconstitutional on its face as an interference

App. 20

with the inherent authority of the court to enter such
orders as are necessary to carry out its constitutional
authority.

Although this is a question of our state constitution,
and other states’ holdings on this question are not
dispositive, we have nevertheless considered the decisions
of other states on the subject. In Smith u State, 118
N.H. 764, 394 A.2d 834 (1978), the New Hampshire
Supreme Court ruled as did the present trial judge,
Justice Grimes speaking for the court:

We hold that RSA 604-A:5 and Laws 1975 ch. 505,
§ 1.01(04), (05) are unconstitutional insofar as they
shift much of the State’s obligation to the legal
profession and intrude impermissibly upon an
exclusive judicial function.

We are convinced that the profession must be
relieved of this burden and that the burden must
pass to the citizens of New Hampshire, whose duty
it has been since 1966. The members of the bar,
being taxpayers, will of course share in it. We also
believe, however, that the bar should continue to
contribute something more. To accomplish the ends
of this decision, court-appointed attorneys should
be paid a reasonable fee, but one somewhat less
than that which an ordinary fee-paying client would
pay.

It remains to be determined just what
“reasonable compensation” means and who is to
decide the matter in this and future cases. The
obligations and responsibilities of the bar are matters
of judicial concern alone. See Schware v. Bd. of Bar

App. 21

Examiners, 353 U.S. 232, 248, 77 S.Ct. 752 [761], 1
L.Ed.2d 796 (1957) (Frankfurter, J., concurring);
N.H. Judicial Council 5th Report 20-21 (1954); State
v. Rush, 46 N.J. 399, 411, 217 A.2d 441, 447 (1966);
In re Lacey, 11 Cal.2d 699, 701, 81 Pad 935, 936
(1938). Since the obligation to represent indigent
defendants is an obligation springing from judicial
authority, so too is the determination of reasonable
compensation for court-appointed attorneys a matter
for judicial determination. The power to regulate
officers of the court is a power inherent in the
judicial branch. Implicit in that power is the authority
to fix reasonable compensation rates for court-
appointed attorneys. The legislature recognized
this authority in enacting RSA 604-A:4; which
provides that ſelach court before which the counsel
represented the defendant shall fix the compensation
and reimbursement to be paid the counsel.” Thus,
we hold that it is for the trial courts of New
Hampshire to fix the amount of compensation due
in each case hereinafter provided. The rate awarded

. by the court should neither unjustly enrich nor, as
the present fee schedule does, unduly impoverish
the court-appointed attorney.

Id. at 838-39.

We have found no agreement by other states that
such statute is facially unconstitutional as a usurpation
of the judicial role. In fact, the entire current of the law
has been flowing in a direction opposite to that of New
Hampshire's highest court. See Bias u State, 568 P2d
1269, 1271 (Okla. 1977) and cases cited therein.

Finding no guidance there, we look to federal practice.
Lawyers were first required for indigent defendants at

App. 22

trial as a matter of federal constitutional law in Gideon
u Wainwright, 372 U.S. 335, 83 S.Ct. 792, 9 L.Ed.2d 799
(1963); Argersinger v. Hamlin, 407 U.S. 25, 92 S.Ct.
2006, 32 L.Ed.2d 530 (1972), and in appeals as of right,
Douglas u California, 372 U.S. 353, 83 S.Ct. 814, 9
L.Ed.2d 811 (1963). Gideon pronounced the sixth
amendment right to counsel a fundamental right made
obligatory upon the states by the fourteenth amendment.
Justice Douglas, concurring, said:

rights protected against state invasion by the Due
Process clause of the Fourteenth Amendment are
not watered down versions of what the Bill of Rights
guarantees.

372 U.S. at 347, 83 S.Ct. at 798, 9 L.Ed.2d at 807.

Congress responded to Gideon by the enactment
in the following year of the Criminal Justice Act of
1964, Pub.L. No. 88-455, 78 Stat. 552, 553 (1964) as
amended 18 US. L. § 3006 Ad) (1976). The appealability,
or non-appealability, of attorney fee awards under the
federal statute is discussed in In re Baker, 693 F.2d 925
(9th Cir.1982), which held it was not appealable and
reviewed decisions of other circuits. We note, however,
that Congress has recognized the need for a fee increase
for attorneys representing indigents in federal courts.
Because the fees allowed to these attorneys have failed
to cover even their overhead in recent years, attorneys
were finding it economically infeasible to accept

»The statute is discussed generally in 9 A.L.R. Fed. 569. Its
history can be reviewed in United States u Bailey, 581 F.2d 984
(D.C.Cir.1978); United States u Johnson, 549 FSupp. 78 (D.C.D.C.1982)
and United States v. Tutino, 419 F.Supp. 246 (D.C.N.Y. 1976).

App. 23

representation. This declining participation might have
precipitated a representational crisis, but legislators
have hopefully forestalled it by doubling the hourly
rate permitted to such lawyers.‘

II

If the answer to the first question is negative,
could the statute be held unconstitutional as applied to
exceptional circumstances or does the trial court have
the inherent authority, in the alternative, to award a
greater fee for trial and appeal than the statutory
maximum in the extraordinary case?

In Bridges, as we have stated earlier in this opinion,
the Supreme Court of Florida as it was constituted in
1981 could not agree how to handle the “exceptional
circumstance.” We have also recognized the admonition
that trial and intermediate appellate judges should not
have an itchy trigger finger anxious to shoot down
statutes by aiming at their constitutionality. Some states
have held such statutes to be unconstitutional, however,
when applied to “exceptional circumstances”; so this
state’s highest court would not be alone in so doing.
See Bias u State, 568 Pad 1269 (Okla.1977), which was
guided by the reasoning in People ex rel Conn u
35 Ill.2d 24, 219 N.E.2d 337 (1986), which held that in a
case wherein counsel were appointed to defend indigent
prisoners charged with murder at trial 150 miles from
their home county and were forced to expend personal
funds for defense expenses and forego their law practices,

‘Strasser, Congress Doubles Fees for Lawyers, Nat’! L.J., Oct.
22, 1984, at 3.

App. 24

the statute which limited reimbursement to $500 for
each defendant in a capital case could not be
constitutionally applied. The court said counsel “are
suffering an extreme, if not ruinous, loss of practice
and income.” Id. at 341.

However, the underlying basis for the Illinois decision
was a determination by the state’s highest court of a
court’s inherent power:

At this time it is necessary to hold only that
in the extraordinary circumstances presented in
this case, the court’s inherent power to appoint
counsel also necessarily includes the power to enter
an appropriate order ensuring that counsel do not
suffer an intolerable sacrifice and burden and that
the indigent defendant’s right to counsel is protected.

If such judicial power did not exist, the courts
probably could not proceed, and certainly could
not conclude the trial of indigent defendants in
cases such as this. To permit the petitioners to
withdraw after nine weeks of trial would be a
prodigious waste of resources already spent, and
would provide no assurance that a dilemma similar
to the one existing now would not likewise result
after the appointment of new counsel. We hold that
upon the record presented here the petitioners are
clearly entitled to payment of their costs and fees
forthwith, as ordered by the trial court. A permanent
solution to the problem presented is an appropriate
subject for the legislature. The problem having
now been exposed we trust that the General
Assembly will respond. See State u Rush, 46 N.J.
399, 217 A.2d 441.

App. 25

—

Id. at 340. A discussion of other state cases ing upon
a court’s inherent power, or lack of it, as the basis for an
award of attorneys’ fees to counsel representing indigents
is found at 59 A.L.R.3d 569, 617.

In Hall v. Cole, 412 US. 1, 4-5, 93 S.Ct. 1943, 1945,
1946, 36 L.Ed.2d 702, 707 (1973), the United States
Supreme Court said:

Although the traditional American rule
ordinarily disfavors the allowance of attorneys’ fees
in the absence of statutory or contractual
authorization, federal courts, in the exercise of
their equitable powers, may award attorneys’ fees
when the interests of justice so require. Indeed,
the power to award such fees “is part of the original
authority of the chancellor to do equity in a
particular situation,” Sprague v. Ticonic National
Bank, 307 U.S. 161, 166, 59 S.Ct. 777, 780, 83 L.Ed.
1184 (1939), and federal courts do not hesitate to
exercise this inherent equitable power whenever
“overriding considerations indicate the need for
such a recovery.” Mills u Electric Auto- Lite Co.,
396 U.S. 375, 391-392, 90 S.Ct. 616, 625, 24 L.Ed.2d
593 (1970); see Fleischmann Distilling Corp. u Maier
Brewing Co., 386 U.S. 714, 718, 87 S.Ct. 1404, 1407,
18 L.Ed.2d 475 (1967). (footnotes omitted)

See also Sierra Club u Lynn, 502 Fd 43, 65 (5th
Cir. 1974), citing Hall, and the lengthy dissent by
Associate Justice Hooper, in County of Fresno v.
Superior Court of Fresno County, 82 Cal.App.3d 191,
198, 146 Cal.Rptr. 880, 884 (1978). Randolph was
discussed in Brown v. Board of County Commissioners
of Washoe County, 85 Nev. 149, 451 Pad 708 (1969); then

App. 26

in Daines u Markoff, 92 Nev. 582, 555 P.2d 490 (1976),
the court discussed both Randolph and its earlier
decision, saying as to the latter:

We also indicated that in extraordinary
circumstances a court possessed the inherent power
to award fees in excess of the statutory

Id. at 493. The opposite view is voiced in State v. Ruiz,
269 Ark. 331, 602 S.W.2d 625 (1980).

III

If the answer to the second question is affirmative,
should the trial court have awarded an attorney’s fee
above the statutory maximum for proceedings at the
trial level, given the facts presented to it by trial counsel
by his petition and testin. ony?

The statute expressly provides for the
determination of the fee at the conclusion of the services,
which occurred here. It is interesting to compare,
however, the testimony in this case and that in People u
Sanders, 58 Ill.2d 196, 317 N.E.2d 552 (1974). Bearing in
mind it was Illinois which initiated the “inherent power”
notion in this area, that state’s highest court held that
“extraordinary circumstances” did not exist in Sanders.
This was notwithstanding that both counsel had
represented the indigent defendant for two years in
defending him for the armed robbery and murder of a
Chicago policeman; had conducted a three week trial;
had successfully obtained a lengthy sentence rather
than the death penalty; and had devoted 463 hours to

App. 27

the preparation and trial of the case. The trial court
awarded a fee of $250 and $50 for expenses. Both
appellate courts affirmed. The Nevada decisions earlier
cited herein also concluded extraordinary
circumstances” did not exist.

. IV
*

If the answer to the second question is affirmative,
should the trial court have awarded an attorney's fee
above the statutory maximum for proceedings at the
appellate level before the services were rendered and
with the facts known to it at the time of the award?

We have located no authority for the premature
award of an appellate fee in this state. Randolph was
awarded prior to trial, however, not at the conclusion of
representation.

LETTS, J., concurs.
ANSTEAD, C.J., dissents with opinion.
ANSTEAD, Chief Judge, dissenting.

This is a case in which the defendant's life was not
only at risk, but in which the death penalty was actually
imposed. I believe that it has been sufficiently
demonstrated in the record below that the maximum
amounts designated by statute for representation in
this case for trial and appellate counsel are so
unreasonably insufficient as to make it impossible for
the trial court to appoint competent counsel for the
indigent involved. Hence, I would approve the decision

App. 28

of the trial court under the narrow facts presented for
the same reasons I expressed in Okeechobee County v.
Jennings, No. 83-1179 (Fla. 4th DCA Mar. 6, 1985), an
opinion issued simultaneously herewith. The trial judge
himself best expressed the dilemma he faced:

That this court is confronted with conflicting
laws, one of which requires competent counsel for
a defendant who has been sentenced to death and
the other stating that defense counsel can be paid
only $2,000 for his services. The lowest bid for
these services was $4,500, which is more than twice
what the Legislature has allowed. One of these
laws must yield to the other. There is no doubt in
the court’s mind that the Legislature, if confronted
with the problem, would admit that the law
requiring competent counsel was paramount and
superior to the law allowing a mere $2,000 fee for
the dreadful responsibility involved in trying to
save a man from electrocution. Therefore this court
finds that FS. 925.036 in setting rigid maximum
fees without regard to the circumstances in each
case is arbitrary and capricious and violates the
due process clause of the United States and Florida
Constitutions. See Aldana v. Holub, 381 So.2d 231
(Fla. 1980). In simpler language, the Statute is
impractical and won't work.

Surely something is wrong with a system that prevents
a reasonable fee from being assessed in a capital case
but authorizes the state to provide counsel for private
landowners in eminent domain proceedings where the
fees have been as high as $800,000. State Dept. of Natural
Resources u Gables-By-The Sea, Inc., 374 So.2d 582
(Fla. 3d DCA 1979).

App. 29

IN THE CIRCUIT COURT OF THE
NINETEENTH JUDICIAL CIRCUIT
IN AND FOR
MARTIN COUNTY,

STATE OF FLORIDA

CASE NO. 82-854-CF-A-01

IN THE CIRCUIT COURT OF THE
FIFTH JUDICIAL CIRCUIT
IN AND FOR
LAKE COUNTIES,
STATE OF FLORIDA

CASE NO. 82-912-CF-A-01

STATE OF FLORIDA,
Plaintiff
vs.
J. B. PARKER,
Defendant.
ORDER

THIS CAUSE having come before the court upon
various motions and the court having before it ROBERT
MAKEMSON, Trial Counsel for the Defendant, J. B.
PARKER. MICHAEL OELNICK, County Attorney for
Martin County, Florida; ROBERT G. UDELL, Esquire;
JAMES MIDELIS, Assistant State Attorney for the
Nineteenth Judicial Circuit; and HOWARD H. BABB,

App. 30

JR., Public Defender for the Fifth Circuit; the court
finds as follows, to-wit:

(1) That Robert Makemson did an excellent job
as trial counsel for the Defendant, J. B. Parker, under
exceptional circumstances and conditions, in a courthouse
about one hundred and fifty miles away from his place
of business.

(2) That subsequent to the trial, this court appointed
the Public Defender of the Fifth Judicial Circuit to
represent the Defendant, J. B. Parker in the Florida
Supreme Court.

(3) That the Supreme Court of the State of Florida
has entered its order forbidding and precluding the
Office of the Public Defender of those counties within
the jurisdiction of the Fifth District Court of Appeal
from further representing indigent defendants in
prosecuting their appeals from sentences of death to
the Supreme Court of the State of Florida.

(4) That the Defendant, Mr. Parker, is entitled to
the appointment of counsel as he is not permitted to
represent himself on appeal from a sentence of death to
the Supreme Court of the State of Florida.

(5) That it is the obligation of this court to appoint
and find competent counsel for Mr. Parker. That this
court, through the Court Administrator for the Nineteenth
Judicial Circuit, circulated to all of the lawyers in the
four counties of the Nineteenth Judicial Circuit, including
St. Lucie, Martin, Indian River and Okeechobee Counties, a
request for “bids” to any lawyer to undertake the
representation of Mr. Parker as is evidenced by the bid

App. 31

attached hereto, marked Exhibit “A” and by reference
made a part hereof.

(6) That this court received three bids to represent
Mr. Parker. One of the bids did not state a minimum fee
as required and this court considered that a non-bid. A
second bid received by this court was not in the form
requested in the “Notice to Bid.” The only other bid
received by this court was the bid of Robert G. Udell,
Esquire in the amount of $4,500.

(7) That, Florida law requires the Supreme Court
of Florida to hear appeals in cases involving the imposition
of the sentence of death and since the Defendant cannot
represent himself and argue his case before the Supreme
Court, a lawyer must be provided at public expense.

(8) That the court further finds if no compensation
or too low compensation be allowed, there will be no
available attorney to represent the Defendant.

(9) That the low bid within this Circuit for the
appellate representation was the sum of $4,500, which
is $2,500 more than what the Florida Legislature has
allowed. (See FS. 925.036.) It is therefore

ORDERED AND ADJUDGED as follows, to-wit:
(1) That the Public Defender of the Fifth Judicial

Circuit in and for Lake County, Florida, be and he is

hereby relieved of the responsibility of representing
the Defendant, J. B. Parker.

App. 32

(2) That all post judgment pleadings having been
completed in this case with this order and this court
having previously ordered that the Clerk of the Circuit
Court in and for Martin County, Florida retain all pleadings
and evidence in this case and prepare and certify the
record on appeal. This court hereby relieves the Clerk
of Circuit Court in and for Lake County, Florida from
any further responsibility in this matter.

(3) That this court is confronted with conflicting
laws, one of which requires competent counsel for a
defendant who has been sentenced to death and the
other stating that defense counsel can be paid only
$2,000 for his services. The lowest bid for these services
was $4,500, which is more than twice what the Legislature
has allowed. One of these laws must yield to the other.
There is no doubt in the court’s mind that the Legislature,
if confronted with the problem, would admit that the
law requiring competent counsel was paramount and
superior to the law allowing a mere $2,000 fee for the
dreadful responsibilty involved in trying to save a man
from electrocution. Therefore this court finds that FS.
925.036 in setting rigid maximum fees without regard
to the circumstances in each case is arbitrary and
capricious and violates the due process clause of the
United States and Florida Constitutions. See Aldana u
Holub, 381 So.2d 231 (Fla. 1980). In simpler language,
the Statute is impractical and won't work.

(4) This court further finds that the Statute is
unconstitutional in that the Florida Supreme Court has
inherent and constitutional jurisdiction of practice and
procedure in all courts under Article 5, Section 2, Florida
Constitution, and the Legislature’s attempt to set

App. 33

attorney's fees in court-appointed cases unconstitutionally
encroaches upon that authority.

(5) Last, but not least, the court would like to
point out that under the Separation of Powers doctrine,
any interference by the Legislature or executive branch
of government in the operation of the courts in carrying
out their constitutionally mandated duties is
unconstitutional.

THEREFORE, this court (having declared FS.
925.036 (1981) unconstitutional) hereby orders Martin
County to pay the court-appointed trial attorney, ROBERT
MAKEMSON, the sum of NINE THOUSAND FIVE
HUNDRED AND 00/100 ($9,500.00) DOLLARS for his
representation of the Defendant at trial of which $3,500
shall be paid at this time. The balance of this fee,
($6,000.00) shall be placed in escrow pending the result
of any appeal of this order by Martin ty. This
court further finds that the said i attorney
has expended SIXTY-THREE and 34/100 ($63.34
DOLLARS for costs in representing the Defendant,
and Martin County is hereby ordered to pay SIXTY-
THREE and 34/100 ($63.34) DOLLARS to ROBERT
MAKEMSON as reimbursement for his costs.

FURTHER, the court (having declared FS. 925.036
(1981) unconstitutional) accepts Mr. Robert G. Udell's
lowest bid of $4,500 and herey appoints him to represent

4Mr. J. B. Parker in said appeal to the Supreme Court of
the State of Florida, and subsequent proceedings, and
orders Martin County to set aside in an escrow account
the sum of $4,500 pending the outcome of any appeal of
this award by Martin County.

App. 34

DONE AND ORDERED in Chambers, at Fort Pierce,
St. Lucie County, Florida, this 4th day of May, 1983.

s / Philip G.Nourse

PHILIP G. NOURSE, CIRCUIT —
JUDGE

Copies furnished to:

Michael Oelnick, County Attorney for Martin County
Robert Makemson, Esquire

Robert G. Udell, Esquire

James Midelis, Assistant State Attorney

Howard H. Babb, Jr., Public Defender, 5th Circuit

—

App. 35

ROBERT LEE DENNIS, et al., Petitioners, v.
OKEECHOBEE COUNTY, Respondent. Supreme Court
of Florida. Case No. 66,829. Opinion filed July 17, 1986.
Application for Review of the Decision of the District
Court of Appeal—Certified Great Public Importance.
Robert Lee Dennis, in proper person, Okeechobee, Florida;
John R. Cook, in proper person, Okeechobee, Florida;
and J. Blayne Jennings, in proper person, Gifford, Florida,
for Petitioners. Kyle S. VanLandingham, Okeechobee,
Florida, for Respondent. Michael Zelman, Miami, Florida,
for Florida Criminal Defense Attorneys Association
and National Legal Aid and Defender Association, Amicus
Curiae. Robert A. Ginsburg, Dade County Attorney,
and Eric K. Gressman, Assistant County Attorney, Miami,
Florida, for Metropolitan Dade County, Amicus Curiae.

(ADKINS, J.) We have for review Okeechobee County
v. Jennings, 473 So.2d 1314 (Fla. 4th DCA 1985), in
which the Fourth District quashed the trial court’s
finding of the unconstitutionality of the statutory fee
limits imposed by section 925.036, Florida Statutes (1981)
upon compensation for the representation of indigent
criminal defendants.,Citing as authority its opinion of
Martin County v. Makemson, 464 So.2d 1281 (Fla. 4th
DCA 1985), it re-certified to this Court the four questions
presented in that case. We have jurisdiction. Art. V.
§3(b\4). Fla. Const.

We recently answered the certified questions in
Makemson u Martin County, No. 66,780 (Fla. July 17,
1986) [11 FL. W. 337], and quashed the district court’s
decision, upholding the trial court’s finding of the statute's
unconstitutionality as applied to representation in
extraordinary or unusual circumstances. We find that
the trial court’s findings as expressed in its order,

App. 36

quoted in Jennings, 473 So.2d at 1315, amply established
the need to grant fees in excess of the statutory guidelines
in order to ensure adequate representation in the cause.

It is so ordered. (McDONALD, C.J., and BOYD,
OVERTON, EHRLICH, SHAW and BARKETT, JJ.,

Concur.)
— * *

App. 37

OKEECHOBEE COUNTY,
Florida, Appellant,

V.

J. Blayne JENNINGS, Robert Lee Dennis,
John R. Cook, Michael D. Gelety, Appellees.

No. 83-1179.
District Court of Appeal of Florida, Fourth District.
March 6, 1986.
Mandate Withheld April 4, 1985.

Appeal from the Circuit Court for Okeechobee
County; Dwight L. Geiger, Judge.

Kyle S. Van Landingham, Okeechobee, for appellant.

Robert Lee Dennis, Okeechobee, pro se appellee.
J. Blayne Jennings, Grifford, pro se appellee.
John R. Cook, Okeechobee, pro se appellee.

No appearances for appellees Gelety, Kibbey, and
Udell.

PER CURIAM.

We treat the appeal as a petition for certiorari,
grant the writ and quash the order herein on the authority

App. 38

of Martin County v. Makemson, 464 So.2d 1281 (Fla.
4th DCA 1985); and we certify to the Supreme Court of
Florida the same question as we did in that case as
being of great public importance.
“>
LETTS and GLICKSTEIN, JJ., concur.

ANSTEAD, C.J., concurs specially with opinion.
ANSTEAD, Chief Judge, concurring specially.

This is an appeal from an order of the trial court
holding that section 925.036, Florida Statutes (1981),
which limits the fees payable to private attorneys specially
appointed to represent indigents in criminal cases, is
unconstitutional as applied to the facts of this case. I
recognize that this decision is controlled by our opinion
in Makemson. However, were I free to do so I would
approve the trial court's action.

In the court below the lawyers who originally
accepted appointment as special public defenders came
to the court in the midst of the proceedings and asked
that the statutory cap on fees be relaxed. In essence,
the lawyers contended that because of the complexity
of the cases and the necessity to devote inordinate
amounts of time to prepare and try the cases, to continue
with representation would result in financial ruination
to them. They asserted that they were trapped between
the choices of continuing and suffering the disastrous
financial consequences or withdrawing and leaving the
defendants withcut counsel. After taking evidence,
including expert testimony that lawyers were not generally
available in the area to take such complex cases for the

App. 39

statutory fees allowed, the trial court entered an order
voiding the statutory cap for the purpose of assessing
fees in these cases. The court set out its reasons in a
written order:

This Court bases its decision upon the following
findings:

Cases of this type, that is trafficking controlled
substance and conspiracy to trafficking controlled
substance are characterized as some of the most
complex criminal defense cases. This particular
case has over one hundred and thirty state’s witnesses
listed to testify or may possibly testify. There are
some four thousand pages of the State’s evidence
that may be introduced. There are eight defendants
currently in the case. Most of the witnesses should
be deposed by each defense counsel or at least
interviewed by them. The case involves the use of
interception of oral communication by use of body
bugs, informers, some investigation by Federal,

both Federal and State agencies. The defense of
entrapment has been asserted. Currently it is
estimated that over six weeks at approximately
four days a week and four hours per day will be
required to select a jury in the case. To this point,
there have been four weeks of evening motion sessions
at three hours per day, two to three times a week.
(As of February 25, 1983). It is estimated that the
trial will take between four to eight weeks, once
the evidence starts. That would be approximately
four days a week six hours in court time per day.
Discovery and pre-trial time has taken between
forty and one hundred sixty five hours per lawyer.
As per defense lawyer. It is extremely unlikely

App. 40

—

that any competent lawyer would accept representing
a defendant in this case as special public defender
for a fee of twenty five hundred dollars or less. If a
lawyer knows that the fee in the case would be
limited to twenty five hundred dollars or less, and
that lawyer is not independently wealthy, that
competent counsel could not be found who would
accept representation as special public defender in
‘is ease either from the outset of the case or from
jury selection forward. A reasonable expected fee
in this case, for a private lawyer, would be an amount
between thirty and forty thousand dollars, exclusive
of out of court costs or out of pocket costs.

In Metropolitan Dade County v. Bridges, 402 So.2d
411 (Fla. 1981), the facial validity of section 925.036 was
upheld by a plurality opinion in which three justices
rejected attacks of unconstitutionality predicated on
due process, equal protection and right to counsel
concerns.' The Bridges plurality opinion stated:

We further hold that Ross has failed to
demonstrate that an indigent defendant’s right to
counsel has been impinged upon in any way by this
statute. Indigent defendants are not denied counsel
by section 925.036. At common law, it was the
professional obligation of the lawyer to accept an
assignment to represent an indigent party when
directed to do so by the court, but there was no
right to compensation from the government or any
other source for representation of the poor. Jn the

This court has, of course, followed Bridges and limited fees to
the statutory maximums. Broward County v. Wright, 420 So.2d
401 (Fla. 4th DCA 1982); Soven v. Palm Beach County, 422 So.2d 91
(Fla. 4th DCA 1982).

App. 41

Interest of D.B., 385 So.2d 83 (Fla. 1980). Since
Gideon u Wainwright, 372 U.S. 335, 83 S.Ct. 792, 9
L.Ed.2d 799 (1963), which established a fundamental
constitutional right to counsel in various classes of
cases, questions have arisen as to whether lawyers
should be relieved of their historical duty to
represent the poor. Questions have even arisen as
to whether requiring a member of the Bar to
represent an indigent with no compensation or
minimum compensation amounts to a taking of
property without due process of law. We have held
that lawyers should not be completely relieved of
their responsibility to represent the poor although
we have recognized the concomitant obligation
the government to provide legal representation
when such is constitutionally required, and we have
held that requiring a lawyer to perform his historical
professional responsibility to represent the poor
does not constitute an unfair “taking” of private -
property in violation of due process. Jn the Interest
of D.B.

Unless it is demonstrated that the maximum
amounts designated for representation in criminal
cases by section 925.036 are so unreasonably
insufficient as to make it impossible for the courts
to appoint competent counsel to represent indigent
defendants, we cannot say that section 925.036
violates the sixth amendment right to counsel. In
the present case, the defendant represented by
Ross was not denied his sixth amendment right to
representation by section 925.036, nor is it
contended that he was denied such right.

App. 42

402 So.2d at 414-15. A fourth justice concurred in the
result but reserved the right to reconsider the right to
counsel issue “should it be demonstrated that the
monetary limitations placed by the legislature on the
compensation paid to court appointed attorneys
representing indigent criminal defendants be so
unreasonable as to make it impossible to secure effective
counsel to those individuals.” Jd. at 415 (Sundberg,
Chief Justice, concurring specially). Three justices
dissented and would have approved a result permitting
the assessment of fees above the statutory limits in
cases involving such extraordinary circumstances that
the amount of time required to be spent by the appointed
lawyer on the case would render the fee allowed under
the statute a meaningless token.’

There is a division of authority in other jurisdictions
as to the validity of similar statutory limitations on
fees. Some states, under circumstances similar to those
involved herein, have struck down statutory caps on
attorneys’ fees. In People ex rel Conn v. Randolph, 35
IIl. 2d 24, 219 N.E.2d 337 (1966), the court held that fee
limits could be unconstitutional in extraordinary
circumstances. In such cases, the courts have the
inherent power to abrogate such limits. “(T]he statute
cannot constitutionally be applied where it appears, as
here, that appointed counsel cannot continue to serve
because they are suffering an extreme, if not ruinous,
loss of practice and income and must expend large
out-of-pocket sums in the course of trial.” Jd. at 341.

Two of the justices, Sundberg and England, who concurred
in the majority decision in Bridges are no longer on the Supreme
Court.

App. 43

Randolph was adopted in Bias u State, 568 P2d 1269
(Okla. 1977); Daines v. Markoff, 92 Nev. 582, 555 P2d
490 (1976); and Application of Armani, 83 Misc. 2d 252,
371 N.Y.S.2d 563 (1975).

In Smith u State, 118 N.H. 764, 394 A.2d 834
(1978), the New Hampshire Supreme Court held that
the Legislature violated the separation of powers
doctrine by establishing a fee limit because the
determination of fees is solely a judicial responsibility.

The obligations and responsibilities of the bar are
matters of judicial concern alone. See Schware v.
Bd. of Bar Examiners, 353 U.S. 232, 248, 77 S.Ct.
752 [761], 1 L.Ed.2d 796 (1957) (Frankfurter, J.,
concurring); N.H. Judicial Council 5th Report 20-21
(1954); State u Rush, 46 N.J. 399, 411, 217 A.2d 441,
447 (1966); In re Lacey, 11 Cal.2d 699, 701, 81 P2d
935, 936 (1938). Since the obligation to represent
indigent defendants is an an obligation springing
from judicial authority, so too is the determination
of reasonable compensation for court-appointed
attorneys a matter for judicial determination. The
power to regulate officers of the court is a power
inherent in the judicial branch. Implicit in that
power is the authority to fix reasonable
compensation rates for court-appointed attorneys.

Id. at 838-39. Subsequently, in State u Robinson, 123
N.H. 665, 465 A.2d 1214 (1983), the court amended a
supreme court rule, formulated in response to Smith,
to include an exception for unusual circumstances. The
Federal statute also provides for an abrogation of fee
limits for extraordinary circumstances. 18 U.S.C. § 3006

App. 44

A(dX3). Georgia provides for such a waiver in these
circumstances by statute and court rule. Dickens v.
State, 147 Ga.App. 25, 248 S.E.2d 36 (1978).
Massachusetts and Montana have similar court rules.
Edgerly v. Commonwealth, 379 Mass. 183, 396 N.E.2d
453 (1979); State u Allies, 182 Mont. 323, 597 Pad 64
(1979). Michigan, Iowa, and South Dakota statutes allow
the trial judge to award a reasonable fee without limit.
Matter of Burgess, 69 Mich. App. 689, 245 N.W.2d 348
(1976); Hulse u Wifvat, 306 N. Wad 707 (Iowa 1981);
Johnson v. City Commission of the City of Aberdeen,
272 N.W.2d 97 (S.D. 1978).

In states that have no statute or court rule, the
traditional rule has been that attorneys must represent
indigent criminal defendants without compensation.
Sparks v. Parker, 368 So.2d 528 (Ala. 1979). In State v.
Ruiz, 269 Ark. 331, 602 S.W.2d 625 (1980), the court held
that a $350 statutory maximum fee for appointed counsel
was constitutional because each attorney had a duty to
provide his services without compensation. This result
was reached by similar reasoning in Keene v. Jackson
County, 3 Or. App. 551, 474 Pad 777 (1970). Some state
courts however, have refused to follow this rule. See
State ex rel Partain v. Oakley, 159 W.Va. 805, 227
S.E.2d 314 (1976); and State u Rush, 46 N.J. 399, 217
A.2d 441 (1966). Thus it appears that the states are in
disagreement on whether attorneys need be paid at all
for their representation of indigent defendants, and, if
so, whether a fee limit may be abrogated under any
circumstances.

I believe that it has been sufficiently demonstrated
in the record below that the maximum amounts
designated by statute for representation in these cases

App. 45

are so unreasonably insufficicnt as to make it impossible
for the trial court to appoint competent counsel for the
indigents involved. See Bridges. Hence, I believe this
case meets the criteria for the exception set out in
Bridges for avoiding the statutory cap and I would
approve the decision of the trial court under the narrow
facts presented. While I am in complete concurrence
with the supreme court's observations in Pridges as to
the obligation of lawyers to represent the indigent, I
am also cognizant of the great variations in complexity,
and attendant time demands, involved in criminal cases
to which lawyers may be assigned. In my view the
present statute's failure to recognize these distinctions
and to deal with them in a realistic and reasonable
manner, as exemplified in the case at hand, constitutes
a major flaw in the overall scheme.

The stakes, of course, in the form of fines,
imprisonment, and, in some cases even death, are at
their highest in criminal proceedings and the lawyer's
responsibility correspondingly greater. Under our
adversary system of justice the role of the defendant’s
advocate is critical in assuring a just result in each case
to the maximum extent possible under the law. Under
the adversary system, with the exception of certain
fundamental responsibilities placed on the prosecutor

App. 46

and the court, we rely on the defendant, acting through
his counsel, to discover and present all relevant defensive
and mitigating circumstances to the adjudicators.’

That we are no less committed to providing an indigent
defendant these fundamental safeguards was recently, and forcefully,
reaffirmed by the United States Supreme Court in a decision
upholding an indigent defendant's right to the services of a state-
provided psychiatrist where insanity is in issue:

This Court has long recognized that when a state brings its
judicial power to bear on an indigent defendant in a
criminal proceeding, it must take steps to assure that the
defendant has a fair opportunity to present his defense. This
elementary principle, grounded in significant part on the 14th
Amendment’s due process guarantee of fundamental fairness,
derives from the belief that justice cannot be equal where,
simply as a result of his poverty, a defendant is denied the
opportum y to participate meaningfully in a judicial proceeding
in which his liberty is at stake.

We recognized long ago that mere access to the courthouse
doors does not by itself assure a proper functioning of the
adversary process, and that a criminal trial is fundamentally
unfair if the state proceeds against an indigent defendant
without making certain that he has access to the raw materials
integral to the building of an effective defense. To implement
this principle, we have focused on identifying the “basic tools
of an adequate defense or appeal,” and we have required that
such tools be provided to those defendants who cannot afford
to pay for them.

Ake u Oklahoma. U.S. 105 S.Ct. 1087, 84 L.Ed.2d 53,
opinion issued February 26, 1985.

App. 47

The rights of the lawyer, too, must be figured in
the equation at some point. It would be unrealistic not
to recognize that there must be limits to the amount of
time a lawyer can be forced to devote to a case with
little or no compensation. This creates a problem that
is almost impossible to detect because of the variety of
ways a lawyer may defend a case. In most cases lawyers
do not serve involuntarily but rather volunteer either
by consenting to an “appointment” in a particular case
or by making it known that they will accept appointments
in certain types of cases if offered. We have not yet
faced the situation in Florida where the lawyer is forced
to serve over his objection and the client is thus faced
with being represented by a lawyer who doesn’t want
to serve him. It is also important to keep in mind that
there is an entitlement to competent counsel, not just
anyone on the bar rolls. In the legal profession, as in all
others, the “more” competent a lawyer is the greater
the remuneration he usually receives for his services.

Unlike medicine or engineering or plumbing, the
art or science of lawyering relies a great deal more on
individual personality and motivation for success. A
lawyer who “doesn’t have his heart in it” can lose a jury
trial in a hurry. In most instances, a lawyer's professional
ethics and personal concern for justice may motivate
him to devote whatever time and effort is necessary in
the individual case. Indeed, that is what keeps the
present system afloat. But it would be foolish to ignore
the very real possibility that a lawyer may not be
capable of properly balancing the obligation to expend
the proper amount of time in an appointed criminal
matter where the fees involved are nominal, with his
personal concerns to earn a decent living by devoting
his time to matters wherein he will be reasonably

App. 48

~

—

compensated. The indigent client, of course, will be the
one to suffer the consequences if the balancing job is
not tilted in his favor. In this case the trial court has
concluded that just such a dilemma existed and it acted
to relieve the dilemma by allowing a greater fee.

Government p public defenders, of course,
ordinarily represent indigents. The problem arises, only
when, as here, conflicts between codefendants require
other counsel to be inted. One solution to this
problem would be to appoint public defenders from
neighboring circuits, as opposed to private lawyers,
and have those public defenders serve on special
assignment for the time necessary. This is already the
practice when local prosecutors are unable to act in a
particular case because of conflict or other reasons,
and another prosecutor, usually one from another circuit,
is appointed. Of course, budgetary limitations and travel
expense may limit the efficacy of this solution. Another
possible solution may be to base the statutory fees on
an hourly rate rather than a cap for the total fee. Such
a scheme could keep the hourly rate modest but permit
lawyers to receive a fee based on the necessarily varying
amounts of time needed to defend cases of varying
degrees of difficulty; the major flaw not covered under
the present scheme.

I recognize that there are no easy answers. But |
think we can do better, and certainly should try.

BY ORDER OF THE COURT:
ORDERED that the Motion filed March 13, 1985

by Appellee, Richard Lee Dennis, to withhold the issuance
of the Mandate pending Supreme Court review is granted,

App. 49

conditioned upon said appellee, or any other party,
initiating proceedings in the Supreme Court of Florida.

ORDERED ‘that the March 18, 1985 Stipulated
Motion to remove Richard D. Kibbey, Esquire, as a
party apellee to these proceedings is granted.

ORDERED that the March 28, 1985 Motion to
remove Robert G. Udell, Esquire, as a party appellee to
these proceedings is hereby granted.

App. 50

[FILED 1983 MAY 9

IN THE CIRCUIT COURT OF THE
NINETEENTH JUDICIAL CIRCUIT
IN AND FOR
OKEECHOBEE COUNTY, FLORIDA.

CASE NO. 82-196-CF

STATE OF FLORIDA,
Plaintiff,

US-

VL. UNDERHILL, JOHN CLYDE SPEARS, GUSS
ROSS, JR., EDWARD ALBERT WOMBLE, JEAN
PIERRE CHASSAGNE, DOYLE DEWAINE
HAZELLIEF, ROY JEFFREY UNDERHILL, JODY
CLINTON UNDERHILL, LOWRY WARNER
DAVIS, ALAN BAKER PARROTT, GLENN GARY
CARDEN JAMES LAMAR MIDDLETON,

Defendants.
ORDER

THIS CAUSE came on to be heard upon motion of
the court appointed spes al public defenders in this
case regarding the applicability of Florida- Statutes
925.036; upon argument of court appointed counsel, the
county attorney of Okeechobee County, Florida, and
the State Attorney; and the Court being fully advised
in the premises, it 1s

App. 51

ORDERED AND ADJUDGED that Florida Statute
925.036 which provides a $2500.00 fee limitation for
appointed counsel in non capital, nonlife felonies is
unconstitutional as applied to this particular case. This
case is ripe for a decision at this time.

This Court bases its decision upon the following
findings:

Cases of this type, that is trafficking controlled
substance and conspiracy to trafficking controlled
substance are characterized as some of the most complex
criminal defense cases. This particular case has over
one hundred and thirty state’s witnesses listed to testify
or may possibly testify. There are some four thousand
pages of the State’s evidence that may be introduced.
There are eight defendants currently in the case. Most
of the witnesses should be deposed by each defense
counsel or at least interviewed by them. The case involves
the use of interception of oral communication by use of
body bugs, informers, some investigation by Federal,
both Federal and State agencies. The defense of
entrapment has been asserted. Currently it is estimated
that over six weeks at approximately four days a week
and four hours per day will be required to select a jury
in the case. To this point, there have been four weeks of
evening motion sessions at three hours per day, two or
three times a week. (As of February 25, 1983). It is
estimated that the trial will take between four to eight
weeks, once the evidence starts. That would be
approximately four days a week six hours in court time
per day. Discovery and pre-trial time has taken between
forty and one hundred sixty five hours per lawyer. As
per defense lawyer. It is extremely unlikely that any
competent lawyer would accept representing a defendant

App. 52

in this case as special public defender for a fee of
twenty five hundred dollars or less. If a lawyer knows
that the fee in the case would be limited to twenty five
hundred dollars or less, and that lawyer is not
independently wealthy, tiiat competent counsel could
not be found who would accept representation as special
public defender in this case either from the outset of
the case or from jury selection foward. A reasonable
expected fee in this case, for a private lawyer, would be
an amount between thirty and forty thousand dollars,
exclusive of out of court costs or out of pocket costs.

DONE AND ORDERED in chambers in Okeechobee,
Florida, this 9th day of May, 1983. (Bench ruling—
February 25, 1983).

/s/ [illegible]
CIRCUIT JUDGE

. Copies furnished to: ~

All Counsel and
Kyle S. Van Landingham, County Attorney

App. 53

CIRCUIT COURT MINUTE BOOK 46 PAGE 07
ORDER RE: ATTORNEY FEES FEBRUARY 25, 1983
BY THE JUDGE:

To supplement the record as far as finding of fact,
to those read into the record February 21, 1983, I find
the following additional facts: that cases of that type,
that is trafficking controlled substance and conspiracy
to trafficking controlled substance are characterized to
some of the most complex criminal defense cases. This
particular case has over one hundred and thirty state’s
witnesses listed to testify or may possibly testify. There
are some four thousand pages of the State’s evidence
that may be introduced. There are eight defendants
currently in the case. Most of the witnesses should be
deposed by each defense counsel or at least interviewed
by them. The case involves the use of interception of
oral communication by use of body bugs, informers,
some investigation by Federal, both Federal and State
agencies. And a defense asserted by a certain defendants
of entrapment. Currently it is estimated that over six
weeks at approximately four days a week and four days
per day will be required to select a jury in the case. To
this point, there have been four weeks of evening motion
sessions at three hours per day, two to three times a
week. It is estimated that the trial will take between
four and eight weeks, once the evidence starts that
would be approximately four days a week, six hours in
— time per day. Discovery and pre-trial time has

n between forty and one hundred sixty five hours
per lawyer. As per defense lawyer. It is extremely unlikely
that any competant lawyer would accept representing a
defendant in this case as special public defender for a

App. 54

fee of twenty five hundred dollars or less. I do find that
if a lawyer knows that the fee in the case would be
limited to twenty five hundred dollars or less, and that
lawyer is not independently wealthy that competant
counsel could not be found who would accept
representation as special public defender in this case.
That either from the outset of the case or from jury
selection forward. A reasonable expected fee in this
case, for a private lawyer, would be an amount between
thirty and forty thousand dollars. Thirty thousand dollars
and forty thousand dollars exclusive of out of court
costs. Or out of pocket costs. Based on these findings
and going back and reviewing the conclusions of law,
first concerning whether the court is limited to a fee of
twenty five hundred dollars per defendant. On Monday,
I did find specifically as a matter of law, that the court
is limited to a fee of twenty five hundred dollars per
defendant unless the application of that twenty five
hundred dollar limit which is set forth in Florida Statute
925.036 is unconstitutional as applied in a given case.
Secondly, concerning whether this particular case is
right for a decision as to whether there should be an
awarded excess of that maximum, I do find, as I did on
Monday, because of the nature of the case and the
actual amount of time that the case has taken to this
point, that the decision is right at this time, that the
case of right for decision at this time as an interim
measure. Third, then concerning whether the application
of Florida Statute 925.036, as limiting a fee, in a case of
this type to twenty five hundred dollars is unconstitutional
as applied to this particular case. That is, is avowed of
the sixth and fourteenth amendments of the Constitution
of the United States. I do find based upon the additional
findings of fact made today, that the application then is
unconstitutional as applied to the defendants in this

App. 55

particular case. Who have been, or who are being
representec by cpecial public defenders and I do find
then under the existing law as set forth in Broward
County vs Wright and in Rose vs Palm Beach County,
that this is the type of case which has demonstrated an
extreme case such as to mandate the exceeding of the
statutory limit for special public defender fees for indigent
or partially indigent defendants therefore, the motion
to exceed the statutory limit is granted as to the each
of the defendants no is receiving the services of public
defender or special public defender in this case, at this
time.

Now is there any question concerning the ruling or
is the ruling not complete in any fashion?

STATE OF FLORIDA
OKEECHOBEE COUNTY
THIS IT TO CERTIFY THAT
THIS IS A TRUE AND
CORRECT COPY OF THE
ORIGINAL.

GLORIA J. FORD, CLERK
BY P Dasher D.C.

DATE 10/9/86

App. 56

[FILED 1983 JUN 17]

STATE OF FLORIDA
OKEECHOBEE COUNTY
THIS IS TO CERTIFY THAT THIS IS A TRUE
AND CORRECT COPY OF THE ORIGINAL
BY CLIF BETTS, JR. CLERK
BY SUE CLARK D.C.
DATE 10/20/83

IN THE CIRCUIT COURT OF THE NINETEENTH
JUDICIAL CIRCUIT IN AND FOR
OKEECHOBEE COUNTY, FLORIDA

CASE NO. 82-196-CF

STATE OF FLORIDA,
Plaintiff

US-

VL. UNDERHILL, JOHN CLYDE SPEARS, GUSS
ROSS, JR., EDWARD ALBERT WOMBLE, JEAN
PIERRE CHASSAGNE, DOYLE DEWAINE
HAZELLIEF, ROY JEFFREY UNDERHILL, JODY
CLINTON UNDERHILL, LOWRY WARNER
DAVIS, ALAN BAKER PARROTT, GLENN GARY
CARDEN, JAMES LAMAR MIDDLETON,

‘ Defendants

AMENDED ORDER

THIS CAUSE came on to be heard on February
25, 1983, upon motion of the court appointed special
public defenders in this case regarding the applicability
of Florida Statutes 925.036; upon argument of court

App. 57

appointed counsel, the county attorney of Okeechobee
County, Florida, and the State Attorney; and the court
being fully advised in the premises, it is

ORDERED AND ADJUDGED

1. This case is ripe for a decision at this time.
2. The court finds as facts upon which to base its
decision:

a. The defendants for whom counsel have been
appointed in this case have been charged with trafficking
in controlled substance and conspiracy to trafficking
controlled substance. Preparation for and trial of cases
of this type are generally characterized as some of the
most complex criminal defense cases. In this particular
case the state may call as witnesses over one hundred
and thirty persons. The state has disclosed some four
thousand pages of evidence that may be introduced.
Currently eight defendants are charged and are being
tried together. Counsel for defendants opine that most
of the witnesses should be deposed or at least interviewed
by each counsel. The evidence already heard by this
court as of February 25, 1983, indicates interception of
oral communication by use of body bugs, informers,
and investigation by both Federal and State agencies.
Defendants have asserted the defense of entrapment.

b. As of February 25, 1983, it is estimated by
counsel for state and defendants that over six weeks, at
approximately four days a week and six in-court hours
per day will be required to select a jury in the case. As
of February 25, 1983, there have been approximately
thirty-six hours of evening sessions held in this case for
the purpose of the court hearing evidentiary motions.

App. 58

Counsel estimate that the trial will take between four
to eight weeks, once the jury is selected. The court
anticipates spending six hours per day, four days each
week, in the trial. Defense counsel have spent between
forty and one hundred sixty-five hours each in discovery
and pre-trial out-of-court preparation.

e. It is extremely unlikely that any competent
lawyer would accept representing a defendant in this
case as special public defender for a fee of twenty five
hundred dollars or less.

d. A defense counsel's fee which would be
reasonably expected in this case for privately obtained
counsel would be an amount between thirty and forty
thousand dollars, exclusive of out-of-pocket costs.

3. Based upon these facts the a on as
a matter of law that Section 925.036, Florida Statutes
(1981) which provides a twenty-five hundred dollar fee
limitation for appointed counsel in non-capital, non-life
felony cases is unconstitutional as applied to this particular
case.

DONE AND ORDERED this 15th day of June
1983 in chambers, nunc pro tunc.

s Dwight L. Geiger

DWIGHT L. GEIGER
Circuit Judge

cf: Counsel of Record
Kyle S. Van Landingham, Esq., County Attorney

App. 59

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385012_1103%3A3. Public record. Not legal advice.
