# Amicus Curiae Brief — K Mart Corp. v. Cartier, Inc. (No. 86-495)

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385012_1086%3A22

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1988

## Text

, US,
J FIL gy
Nos. 86-495, 86-624, and 86-625
— i aay
IN THE
° JOSEPH F. SPan;
Supreme Court of the United Mates cone"! -*
OCTOBER TERM 1986 ie
K MART CORPORATION,
Petitioner,
V.
CARTIER, INC., ef al.
47TH STREET Puoro, INc.
Petitioner,

Vv.

COALITION TO PRESERVE THE INTEGRITY
OF AMERICAN TRADEMARKS, ef al.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA
Petitioners,
V.

COALITION TO PRESERVE THE INTEGRITY
OF AMERICAN TRADEMARKS, et al.

On Writs of Certiorari to the United States Court of Appeals
for the District of Columbia Circuit

BRIEF FOR AMICI CURIAE
YAMAHA INTERNATIONAL CORPORATION and
YAMAHA ELECTRONICS CORPORATION, USA

DaAvip Lu ROBERT E. WAGNER*

Corporate Legal Counsel LINDA A. KuczMa

YAMAHA INTERNATIONAL ALAN L. BARRY
CORPORATION ROBERT E. BROWNE

6600 Orangethorpe Avenue Amy L.H. RockWELL
Buena Park, California 90622 WALLENSTEIN, WAGNER, Harris,
(714) 522-9214 STRAMPEL & AUBEL, Lip.
- 100 South Wacker Drive
Chicago, Illinois 60606
(312) 641-1570

May 7, 1987 Attorneys for Amici Curiae
"Counsel of Record

CHAS. P. YOUNG COMPANY

fi
;
|
:
;
|
:
-_
Bs
‘
:
¥
o*
.
x
\
{
. ;
4

|
}
| ry

TABLE OF CONTENTS

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES.................
INTEREST OF AMICI CURIAE................
SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT.................
TD

I.

Il.

THE CUSTOMS SERVICE REGULATION
DIMINISHES THE SUBSTANTIVE
RIGHTS OF U.S. TRADEMARK REGIS-
EGS rk hohe babe ora dos ees 042-0

A. The Customs Service Regulation Un-
dermines Common Law Trademark Func-
a a og bee

B. The Customs Service Regulation
Profoundly Diminishes the Exclusive
Right of Use Accorded Domestic Trade-
mark Registrants Under the Lanham Act

C. Enforcement of the Customs Service Reg-
ulation Deprives Many U.S. Registrants
of Substantive Due Process Rights .....

D. The Customs Service Regulation Imposes
Compulsory and Uncontrolled Trademark
Licensing on a Substantial Class of Do-
mestic Trademark Registrants .........

SECTION 526 OF THE TARIFF ACT IS
CONSISTENT WITH AND NECESSARY
TO PROTECT THE RIGHTS GRANTED TO
U.S. REGISTRANTS UNDER THE
SE rr ree See

A. Absent the Custom Service Regulation,
Section 526 Provides an Efficient and
Crucial Means for Protection of a USS.
Registrant’s Trademark Rights ........

B. The Statutory Preference to Domestic
Registrants Under § 526 Serves a Legiti-
|S Ee re ee

i A |

10

13

16

1s

19

il

Page
C. The Antitrust Enforcement Rationale for
the Customs Service Regulation Has No
Justification In Section 526 ........... 22
Ill. THE CUSTOMS SERVICE REGULATION 1
ADVERSELY {MPACTS ON BOTH

YAMAHA AND CONSUMERS AND IS
AGAINST PUBLIC POLICY............. 26

CURCTAIBOON 2... ccccccccucceseuen eal 30

- ill

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES Page
A. Bourjois & Co., Inc. v. Katzel, 275 F. 539 (2d Cir.
1921), rev'd, 260 U.S. 689 (1923)...........- 5, 15
Appolinaris Co., Ltd. v. Scherer, 27 F. 15 (S.D.N.Y.
Nee keds ee dcckveseeccensccces 5
Avedis Zildjian Co. v. Fred Gretsch Mfg. Co., 251
F.2d 530 (2d Cir. 1958) .........----- eee: 17

Bell & Howell: Mamiya Co. v. Masel Supply Co., 548
F.Supp. 1063 (E.D.N.Y. 1982), vacated and re-
manded, 719 F.2d 42 (2d Cir. 1983) ...... 20, 22, 22

Carl Ziess Stiftung v. V.E.B. Carl Zeiss, Jena, 298
F.Supp. 1309 (S.D.N.Y. 1969), aff'd as modified
433 F.2d 686 (2d Cir. 1970), cert. denied, 403

MME Coc cece wc cc rcseressccces 25
Certain Airtight Cast-Iron Stoves, No. 337-TA-69,

215 U.S.P.Q. 963 (U.S. ITC 1980) ........-. 20
Continental T.V., Inc. v. GTE Sylvania Inc., 433

ee eee 7, 22, 23, 24
Dallas Cowboy Cheerleaders, Inc. v. Pussycat

Cinema, Ltd., 604 F.2d 200 (2d Cir. 1979).... 15
Federal Trade Commission v. Borden Co., 383 U.S.

aU Gus sevescccccvsccccsevcoers 7

Georg Jensen & Wendel, A/S v. Georg Jensen
Handmade Silver, Inc., 111 F.2a 169 (C.C.P.A.

ESSE Tee eee 17
Hamilton-Brown Shoe Co. v. Wolf Bros. & Co., 240

PMID ccc cere v ccc secs ccssecees 12
In re Borden, Docket No. 8978, 891 ATRR, E-1

(0. een 14

International Boxing Club of New York v. United
States, 358 U.S. 242 (1959)............-55-- 23

iv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Page
Johnson & Johnson, Inc. v. Wallace A. Erickson &

Co., 627 F.2d 57 (7th Cir. 1980)............ 13
McLean v. Fleming, 96 U.S. 245 (1878) ........ 5, 12
Midwest Fur Producers Assn. v. Mutation Mink

Breeders Assn., 127 F.Supp. 217 (W.D.Wis.

Aer ee |, ES RY Rhy 14
Mishawaka Rubber & Woolen Mfg. Co. v. SS. Kresge

oe fe eS lt | ere meee 8
Old Dearborn Distributing Co. v. Seagram- Distillers

Ce, TP Ws CD ov ccc cccccneees cs 12
Osawa & Co. v. B & H Photo, 589 F.Supp. 1163

GREG c WUD 6 6 ose eo ae ereeace 15, 17, 20, 23, 24, 25
Park’N Fly, Inc. v. Dollar Park and Fly, Inc., 469

ECS EE a Ore Pa 7, 6, 11, 16
Pennsylvania Coal Co. v. Manon, 260 U.S. 393

dae os heh wa saa oe ane tae 13
Quabaug Rubber Co. v. Fabiano Shoe Co., Inc., 567

fp B fi os Hh. y eee nee 17
Syntex Laboratories, Inc. v. The Norwich Pharmacal

Company, 427 F.2d 566 (2d Cir. 1971)....... 6
St. Charles Mjy. Co. v. St. Charles Furniture Corp., ‘

482 F.Supp. 397 (N.D. Ill. 1979) ........... 11
Timken Roller Bearing Co. v. United States, 341 U.S.

Pg i dcin vhs ds ce aenwerenveeuuie 25
United Drug Co. v. Theodore Rectanus Co., 248 U.S.

Pass awtee veda catnaeneedatssvawkeds s 12
United States v. E. I. du Pont de Nemours & Co., 351

Se Ae Eb kh sie ~ ee aed Oneal 22
United States v. Guerlain, Inc., 155 F.Supp. 77

I, ES o0'o'k hws ccbn aw kouieee cel 22

oe

Vv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Page
Warner Bros., Inc. v. Gay Toys, Inc., 65> F.2d 76
(2d Cir. 1981). ......-- 0. eee cece cece eceees 6
Watson v. E. Leitz, Inc., 254 F.2d 777 (D.C. Cir.
ere Prey ere ees ek ee ey. 17
STATUTES
15 U.S.C. §§ 1051-1127 (1982), Lanham Trade-
ee A og dc ch bebe ents Cane se eee ewnes4 passim
15 U.S.C. § 1057(b) (1952), Lanham Trademark
Act § 7(b) .. 0... eee cece e eet eeeee 9, 10, 11, 12
15 U.S.C. § 1064(c) (1982), Lanham Trademark
8 2.) eee 10
15 U.S.C. § 1065 (1982), Lanham Trademark Act
OWE ios cas ee yas cedar rntnapnses evades 1]
15 U.S.C. § 1115(b) (1982), Lanham Trademark
Act § 32(b) . 0.0... cc eee ee reece eens 10, 11, 12, 25
15 U.S.C. § 1116 (1982), Lanham Trademark Act
OOD rick ccna nese sViews ates gietouswe se’) 1]
15 U.S.C. § 1124 (1982), Lanham Trademark Act
COE oo ik ea cere a kees i env sens mee reer sree 25
15 U.S.C. § 112%) (1982), Lanham Trademark
vay | ||) ee 19
15 U.S.C. § 1127 (1982), Lanham Trademark Act
¢ | See ee _...6, 7, 9, 10, 15
17 U.S.C. §§ 601-603 (1982), Copyright , Pere 19
18 U.S.C. § 1001 (1982) .......--- eee rere 21

19 U.S.C. §§ 1202-1700 (1982), Tariff Act of 1930 3
19 U.S.C. § 1337 (1982), Tariff Act of 1930, § 337 19

19 U.S.C. § 1526 (1982), Tariff Act of 1930,
COE i cc encevccnceevessnee new iccces ese passim

vi
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Page
TREATIES

Paris Convention for the Protection of Intellec-
tual Property, March 20, 1883, as revised, 2]
iF me BA Be = ee eee 19, 28

General Inter-American Convention for Trade-
Mark and Commercial Protection, Feb. 20,

SORE Sy ee CPP Cree Pe ay Pere ee 28
LEGISLATIVE MATERIALS
S. Rep. No. 1333, 79th Cong., 2d Sess. 3, 5 (1946),
reprinted in U.S. Code Cong. Ad. News
MEN GAELS SE CACETANE Ue cons naan 8, 9, 11, 15

ADMINISTRATIVE REGULATIONS AND RULES

Supreme Court Bule 96.2 ...............000. 2
19 C.P.R. § 193.21 (3966) .evss .. 2... 220s eee passim
ee ee eI on op wa cewewetee« 26
eG OD nos cow cwceeeuasesces 26
er I 6 ok ccd ccbeubncde sess 21

SECONDARY MATERIALS

1A Callmane, Unfair Competition, Trademarks

and Monopuly, § 4.53 (4th ed. 1981) ........ 14
1 McCarthy, Trademarks and Unfair Competi-

hom, Baw Gee OG. FOE)... ec eesccvess 5)
1 McCarthy, Trademarks and Unfair Competi-

tion, § 3:4 (Gad ed. 1964)... ... 2... . ccc acee 6

1 McCarthy, Trademarks and Unfair Competi-
thom, See Come oc. 1986)... iw iw cc ccc cccs §

vil

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

1 McCarthy, Trademarks and Unfair Competi-
tion, § 18:14 (2nd ed. 1984) .........------:

Atwood, Import Restrictions on Trademarked Mer-
chandise—The Role of the United States Bureau of
Customs, 59 Trade-Mark Rep. 301 (1969) ....

Derenberg, Territorial Scope and Situs of
Trademarks and Good Will, 47 Va. L. Rev. 733
I ov cack kage we eens ntsedednes er

Handler, Trademarks—Assets or Liabilities, 45
Trade-Mark Rep. 661 (1958) .......-.--+++-

Sullivan, Antitrust 51 (1977) ......------+++55

Note, Abuse of Trademarks: A Proposal for Compul-
sory Licensing, 7 U. Mich. J.L. Ref. 644 (1974)

Underwriters Laboratories, Inc. Regulation 469

Page

14

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM 1986

Nos. 86-495, 86-624, and 86-625

K MART CORPORATION,
Petitioner,
V.

CARTIER, INC., et al.

477TH STREET PHOTO, INC.,
Petitioner,

Vv.
COALITION TO PRESERVE THE INTEGRITY -
OF AMERICAN TRADEMARKS, ef al.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, ef al.,
Petitioners,

Ve

COALITION TO PRESERVE THE INTEGRITY
OF AMERICAN TRADEMARKS, ef al.

On Writs of Certiorari to the United States Court of Appeals
for the District of Columbia Circuit

BRIEF OF AMICI CURIAE
IN SUPPORT UF THE POSITION OF RESPONDENTS

YAMAHA INTERNATIONAL CORPORATiON
YAMAHA ELECTRONICS CORPORATION, USA

INTEREST OF AMICI CURIAE

YAMAHA INTERNATIONAL CORPORATION and its
wholly-owned subsidiary, YAMAHA ELECTRONICS COR-
PORATION, USA, are California corporations located and
doing business in Buena Park, California. (Referred to

2

jointly hereafter as “Yamaha”). Yamaha is the exclusive
U.S. distributor of musical instruments and sound equip-
ment manufactured by Nippon Gakki Seizo Kabushiki
Kaisha a/k/a Nippon Gakki Co., Ltd. of Japan. Yamaha is
the owner by assignment of several U.S. trademark registra-
tions.’ Pursuant to Supreme Court Rule 36.2, the written
consent of the parties accompanies this brief.

Since 1960, Yamaha has been engaged in the business of
advertising, promoting and selling musical instruments and
sound equipment across the country under the “Yamaha”
trademarks. Such equipment includes stereo system com-
ponents, digital sound field processors, compact disc players,
speakers, mixing consoles, sound and tone generators,
recorders, digital rhythm programmers, sound synthesizers,
electric pianos and keyboards, and music computer systems.
This equipment is well-known for its high quality perform-
ance and is used by consumers and professionals. Over the
years, Yamaha has organized and my?’ itained an extensive
dealer network across the United States through well devel-
oped dealer licensing and training programs, for the distribu-
tion and sale of “Yamaha” musical instruments and sound
equipment.

Yamaha has extensively advertised its products, including
at trade shows, seminars, and training sessions, spending at
least $50 million over the last few years, including over $15
million in 1986 alone. Utilizing its trademarks in advertis-
ing and in identifying its products, Yamaha has a vital
interest in excluding imported goods bearing trademarks
identical to its registered marks. Hence, Yamaha’s interest
in the issue before the Court results from its desire and
obligation to protect consumers and the good will associated
with its famous trademarks, as well as to preserve the integ-
rity of its dealer network and distribution system.

‘For example, “Yamaha”, Registration No. 893,186 regis-
tered on June 23, 1970 and “Yamaha Tuning Fork Design”,
Registration No. 1,013,806 issued on June 17, 1975.

3

In a single step, certain U.S. registrants can record their
trademarks with Customs, receiving protection at ports of
entry throughout this country. Once recorded, goods bearing
the registered trademark, whether “genuine”, a copy, or
counterfeit, cannot be imported into the country without the
trademark owner’s consent. Instead of detecting and pursu-
ing infringers in separate civil actions, an owner of a
recorded registration can rely on Customs to stop such goods
at the border. Thus, a multiplicity of lawsuits by the ade-
mark owner to enforce its rights and stop any infringements,
is avoided, significantly reducing the cost of enforcement
and eliminating duplicative civil actions.

However, under the current regulation as authored by
Customs, Yamaha is deprived of the benefits of a genuine
goods exclusion order when recording its registered
trademarks. Yamaha is thus precluded from receiving the
full benefit of protection under the Tariff Act of 1930, 19
U.S.C. §§ 1202-1700 (1982) from “grey market” imports. Asa
result, Yamaha has instituted civil actions against importers
and distributors of grey market goods to protect its trade-
mark rights. Absent the demise of the Customs regulation,
Yamaha’s statutory trademark rights will continue to be
violated, resulting in harm to consumers and to Yamaha's
good will and reputation.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

The Customs regulation, 19 C.F.R. § 133.21 (1986), only
exists to implement the Tariff Act of 1930, § 526, 19 U.S.C.
§ 1526 (1982) which is derived from the Lanham Trademark
Act, 15 U.S.C. §§ 1051-1127 (1982). Yet, in this appeal the
arguments on the validity issue of the regulation have
focused primarily on the interpretation and legislative his-
tory of §526 and the regulation. These arguments have
inexplicably failed to consider the trademark genesis of § 526
and consequently, the impact of the Customs regulation on
the substantive rights of domestic trademark registrants pro-
vided under the Lanham Act. However, when analyzed as

4

such, it is clear that this administrative regulation arbitrar-
ily diminishes the substantive rights of many U-S. trade-
mark registrants by (1) undermining the common law
functions of trademarks, (2) permitting-an invasion of regis-
trants’ statutory exclusive right of trademark use, (3) depriv-
ing registrants of substantive due process rights, and, (4)
imposing compulsory and uncontrolled trademark licensing
on registrants. In short, an administrative agency, Customs
Service, has setup a regulation which is contrary to the
trademark laws created by Congress and interpreted and
enforced by the courts of the United States.

By contrast, the language of § 526 is in accordance with
the Lanham Act and decades of precedent recognizing the
right of American exclusive distributors to enforce
trademarks. As a procedural trade statute, § 526 provides an
efficient mechanism for protection of trademarks of domestic
registrants against infringing imported goods. It does not
impart substantive trademark rights nor conflict with the
Lanham Act or other international reciprocity treaties. Fur-
ther, the language of § 526 does not mandate a regulation to
protect against anticompetitive situations. As the current
regulation is out of step with trademark law, so is it out of
step with this Court’s antitrust precedent.

Viewing the Customs regulation from the perspective of
the underlying trademark law, these Amici believe this
Court will conclude that the regulation irreconcilably con-
flicts with modern trademark and antitrust law as well as
the express language of § 526.

ARGUMENT

I. THE CUSTOMS SERVICE REGULATION DIMIN-
ISHES THE SUBSTANTIVE RIGHTS OF USS.
TRADEMARK REGISTRANTS

In defending the validity of the Customs regulation, Peti-
tioners have ignored the substantive rights granted U:S.
trademark registrants under modern Statutory trademark

5

law. This appeal has become mired in a swamp of
ambiguous legislative history and conflicting precedent con-
cerning the interpretation of § 526 and the Customs regula-
tion. However, when the emasculating affect of the Customs
regulation on the rights of U.S. trademark registrants is
considered, the invalidity of the regulation is apparent.

A. The Customs Service Regulation Undermines Common
Law Trademark Functions

Considering the evolution of American trademark law, the
Customs regulation is hopelessly irreconcilable with modern
principles of such law. The foundation of American trade-
mark law rests upon the proposition that a trademark
symbolizes the good will of the product or service in connec-
tion with which the mark is employed. McLean v. Fleming,
96 U.S. 245 (1878). Though this fundamental proposition is
unchanged, the commercial and legal perceptions of how
trademarks function in the U.S. has gradually evolved dur-
ing this century to meet the needs of consumers and trade-
mark owners. For example, trademarks were once thought
to represent to consumers only the source or origin of the
product or service in connection with which the mark was
used. 1 McCarthy, Trademarks and Unfair Competition
§ 3:3 (2nd ed. 1984). This strict “source” function of
trademarks complemented the theory of trademark “univer-
sality” whereby goods manufactured abroad under a trade-
mark and then imported and sold in the United States were
held not to infringe the rights of the U.S. trademark owner.
The belief was that because the goods originated from the
same foreign source, the public could not be deceived.
Appolinaris Co., Ltd. v. Scherer, 27 F. 18 (S.D.N.Y. 1886); A.
Bourjois & Co., Inc. v. Katzel, 275 F. 539 (2d Cir. 1921), rev'd,
260 U.S. 689 (1923). However, this Court rejected the theory
of “universality” in 1923. -Jd. 260 U.S. at 692.

Evolving to meet commercial reality, the “source” func-
tion of trademarks was broadened, legislatively in 1962 and
judicially, to mean that the consumer expected all goods

6

bearing the same mark to come from a single, albeit, anony-
mous or indistinguishable source. Trademark Act of 1962,
§ 45, Sec. 21, Pub.L.No. 87-772, 76 Stat. 769, 774 (15 U.S.C.
§ 1127, as amended (1962)); Syntex Laboratories, Inc. v. The
Norwich. Pharmacal Company, 437 F.2d 566 (2d Cir. 1971).’
Therefore, in order to be confused, “a consumer need not
believe that the owner of the mark actually produced the
item it places on the market” since a trademark functions as
an indicia of affiliation, sponsorship and approval. Warner
Bros., Inc. v. Gay Toys, Inc., 658 F.2d 76, 79 (2d Cir. 1981).

Despite the broadening of the “source” function, the Cus-
toms regulation which is based on the archaic trademark
law, improperly denies certain domestic registrants such as
Yamaha, the complete benefits of § 526. Arguing that con-
sumers know that grey market goods are of foreign manufac-
ture or are distributed by a U.S. company related to a foreign
manufacturer, Petitioners assert “no confusion of source”’
exists as to such goods. Brief for Petitioner K mart Corp. at
38. This argument focuses on the archaic “source” function
of trademarks ignoring modern, broader protection from con-
fusion of any kind including affiliation, sponsorship and
approval.

The Customs regulation also ignores other accepted trade-
mark functions such as the “quality” or “guarantee” func-
tion. 1 McCarthy, Trademarks and Unfair Competition § 3:4
(2nd ed. 1984). Hence, a mark not only indicates a singie
anonymous source, but also serves as a badge of quality

*The Syntex court held that in amending the Trademark Act
of 1962, 15 U.S.C. §§ 1051-1127 (1982), Congress evinced “a clear
purpose to outlaw the use of trademarks which are likely to
cause confusion, mistake or deception of any kind, not merely of
purchasers nor simply as to source of origin.” Syntex, 437 F.2d
at 568.

7

representing a level of consistent quality of goods or serv-
ices. Park’N Fly, Inc. v. Dollar Park and Fly, Inc., 469 US.
189, 193 (1985) (“trademarks desirably promote competition
and the maintenance of product quality.”); Federal Trade
Commission v. Borden Co., 383 U.S.°637, 651 (1966) (Stewart &
Harlan, JJ., dissenting) (“An important ingredient of the
premium brand inheres in the consumer’s belief, measured
by past Satisfaction and the market reputation established by
Borden for its products, that tomorrow’s can will contain the
same premium product as that purchased today.”)

These trademark functions of quality and source indica-
tion are vital tools for modern business industries such as
authorized dealer networks and franchises. The Customs
regulation creates havoc with these businesses by aiding and
abetting the unauthorized use of trademarks on goods being
distributed outside of an authorized distribution system. As
a result, such goods are beyond the quality and warranty
control of the trademark owner.

To avert this adverse impact on the quality function of
trademarks, some importers of grey goods provide warranty
services.! But in these instances, who is the single, albeit
anonymous entity which assures that all grey marketers
render the same, consistent quality of product support serv-
ices? The answer is, quite simply, no one. This Court has
recognized that “{Sjervice and repair are vital for many
products, such as automobiles and major household appli-
ances. The availability and quality of such services affect a
manufacturer’s goodwill and the competitiveness of his prod-
uct.” Continental T.V. v. GTE Sylvania, 433 U.S. at 55. Yet,

>The quality function of trademarks is codified by the Trade-
mark Act of 1946, 15 U.S.C. § 1127 (definition of “related
company’).

‘Some grey marketers may offer no warranty services. In
Continental T.V., Inc. v. GTE Sylvania Inc., 433 U.S. 36, 59 (1977),
this Court observed that “{Bjecause of market imperfections
such as the so called ‘free rider’ effect, these services might not
be provided by retailers in a purely competitive situation... .”

8

the Customs regulation permits inconsistent and unpredict-
able levels of warranty and quality control, to the economic
and legal detriment of the consumer and trademark owner.

In addition, the Customs regulation also impairs the
important advertising element in promoting a merchant’s
goods and services. 1 McCarthy, Trademarks and Unfair
Competition § 3:5 (2nd ed. 1984). Yamaha and its authorized
dealers commit millions of dollars to promote products bear-
ing registered “Yamaha” marks with the expectation that
they alone will enjoy the resulting good will and economic
gains from these expenditures. Such expenditures are
incurred since trademarks function as a highly efficient
means to create consumer demand and acceptance for the
goods and services. See Mishawaka Rubber & Woolen Mfg. Co. v.
SS. Kresge Co., 316 U.S. 203, 205 (1942). Yet, the Customs
regulation bequeaths to grey marketers the good will of
Yamaha and hands over the commercial magnetism
symbolized by “Yamaha” trademarks. That grey marketers
intend to poach upon the commercial magnetism is proven
by the more than coincidental fact that grey marketing
occurs regularly with famous trademarks such as “Yamaha”
and those of other Respondents.

Hence, the Customs regulation is inconsistent with
modern trademark law, failing to protect the dual interests
of trademark owners and consumers as mandated by the
courts and Congress. Park’N Fly, 469 U.S. at 198; S. Rep. No.
1333, 79th Cong., 2d Sess. 3, 5 (1946), reprinted in U.S. Code
Cong. & Ad. News 1274.° The regulation inexplicably denies
a certain class of domestic registrants including Yamaha, the

*Congress has explained that of the two bases of trademark
protection, “. . . one is to protect the public so that it may be
confident that, in purchasing a product bearing a particular
trademark which it favorably knows, it will get the product
which it asks for and wants to get. Secondly, where the owner
of a trademark has spent energy, time and money in presenting
to the public the products, he is protected in his investment for
its misappropriation by pirates and cheats. This is the well-

(footnote continued on next page)

9

procedural protections of § 526 and substantive rights of 15
U.S.C. § 1057(b). This denial is premised on an arb-trarily
defined degree of ownership or relationship between the
domestic trademark registrant and a foreign entity or, that
the goods are made overseas where the mark is applied to the
goods with permission of the U.S. trademark owner.’ If the
Customs regulation denies § 526 prote*tion to such select
domestic registrants’ then the regulation directly conflicts
with substantive trademark law by failing to consider the
quality and advertising functions of trademarks. Such
denial of § 526 protection thereby permits widespread grey
marketing, with the Customs regulation laying the good will
of and investment in the U.S. trademark owners’ marks open
to the unauthorized use of others, further exposing the con-
sumer to confusion and quality problems. Thus, select
domestic registrants, like Yariaha, incur the expense and

(footnote continued from preceding page)
established rule of law protecting both the public and the
trademark owner.” /d. 8. Rep. No. 1333, 2d Sess. 3, 5 (1946).

*Several Petitioners, such as K mart Corporation, refer to the
goods as being “trademarked” by a foreign source. This term is
misleading because it connotes the birth of protectable trade-
mark rights by mere affixation of the mark to the goods. How-
ever, it is clear at both common law and under the US.
Trademark Act that protectable trademark rights do not arise
until the mark is used in U.S. commerce by an authorized
entity. 15 U.S.C. § 1127 (definition of “trademark” and “use in
commerce”). Moreover, it ignores the fact that any rights the
purchaser obtains are limited to those granted under the laws of
the country where the transaction occurs.

"No Petitioner has or can explain the dichotomy which exists
under the current Customs regulation where confusion of source
is assumed to exist for domestic trademark registrants qualify-
ing for § 526 protection, while confusion of source is assumed
not to exist for other domestic trademark owners denied § 526
protection. This paradox illustrates that there is no legal justifi-
eation for the Customs regulation.

10

exert the effort but, receive no protection under or benefit
from § 526.

B. The Customs Service Regulation Profoundly Dimin-
ishes the Exclusive Right of Use Accorded Domestic
Trademark Registrants Under the Lanham Act

Because of its irreconcilable conflict with trademark law,
tue Customs regulation inevitably results in a deprivation of
substantive statutory rights granted to Yamaha as a trade-
mark registrant under the Lanham Act. Specifically,
Yamaha, as a registrant, is deprived of its “exclusive right to
use the mark in commerce in connection with the goods and
services specified in the Certificate of Registration.” 15
U.S.C. §§ 1057(b), 1115(b). The Custon.. segulation deprives
many trademark registrants of the most cherished substan-
tive right evidenced by a federal registration issued under
the Lanham Act, the exclusive right of use.

By denying the complete benefits of § 526 protection to
certain domestic U.S. trademark registrants, the Customs
Service places its imprimatur on grey market goods. The
introduction of these goods into commerce and the use of the
trademark to sell the goods without the domestic registrant’s
consent, undeniably invades the exclusive right of use recog-
nized by the Lanham Act. The value of the trademark to the
U.S. trademark registrant clearly becomes diminished since
the trademark registrant is unable to control the use of its
mark or quality or servicing of goods in the grey market.*

The importance of the “exclusive right of use” was
emphasized by this Court’s pronouncement that unless an
incontestable registration could be asserted to enjoin infringe-
ment by others, the “exclusive right”, recognized by the

*Loss of control may lead to a registrant’s loss of its statutory
right to exclusive use of the mark on the ground of abandon-
ment. 15 U.S.C. § 1064(c) (cancellation of registration on the
ground of abandonment); 15 U.S.C. § 1127 (definition of “aban-
donment of mark’”’).

11

Lanham Act, would be rendered meaningless.’ Park’N Fly,
469 U.S. at 196. Under the Lanham Act, the invasion of the
exclusive right of use triggers a registrant’s immediate right
to injunctive relief “to prevent the violation of any right of
the registrant of the mark registered in the Patent and
Trademark Office.” 15 U.S.C. § 1116; See also St. Charles Mfg.
Co. v. St. Charles Furniture Corp., 482 F.Supp. 397 (N.D.IIL.
1979).

The enforcement of a registrant’s exclusive right to use a
trademark or service mark promotes the Lanham Act goals
of providing “national protection of trademarks in order to
secure to the owner of the mark the goodwill of his business
and to protect the ability of consumers to distinguish among
competing producers.” Park’N Fly, 469 U.S. at 198 (citing S.
Rep. 1333, 2d Sess. 3, 5 (1946)). By sanctioning, carte
blanche, an invasion of the statutory exclusive right of use,
the Customs regulation is contrary to and frustrates the
legislative goals of the Lanham Act at a time when effective
protection of American intellectual property against unfair
foreign trade is critical to the survival of American busi-
nesses and jobs.

Petitioners attempt to justify the invasion of the exclusive
right of use on the ground that the regulation assumes
(without provision for factual investigation), that domestic
trademark registrants having a certain degree of foreign
ownership, have not developed independent good will in the
United States apart from any commercial recognition or
good will which the mark may symbolize elsewhere in the

*Registration of a mark on the Principal Register is prima
facie evidence of a registrant’s ownership, the validity of the
registration and of the exclusive right of the registrant to use
the mark in commerce in connection with the goods specified in .
the Certificate of Registration. 15 U.S.C. § 1057(b). After 5
years on the Principal Register, the registration assumes the
status of incontestability and hecomes “conclusive evidence” of
the registrant’s exclusive right to use the mark. 15 U.S.C.
§§ 1065, 1115(b).

12

world. This argument is contrary to the prima facie presump-
tions of validity and ownership which are accorded all US.
trademark registrations. The statutory presumptions of own-
ership and validity carry with them the assumption that
good will exists and is appurtenant to the mark because by
definition, a trademark is a symbol of good will and can have
no existence apart from the good will which it represents.
McLean, 96 U.S. at 252; United Drug Co. v. Theodore Rectanus
Co., 248 U.S. 90, 97 (1918); 15 U.S.C. § 1057(b). When a
registration is granted, it is presumed by statute, that the
registrant holds good will in the registered mark. Certainly,
no administrative agency, including the U.S. Customs Serv-
ice, can promulgate a regulation without opportunity for a
fair hearing, depriving U:S. citizens of statutorily recognized
rights and evidentiary presumptions.

C. Enforcement of the Customs Service Regulation
Deprives Many U.S. Registrants of Substantive Due
Process Rights

By refusing to grant Yamaha and other foreign-owned
U.S. companies a grey goods exclusion order, the Customs
Service, through its regulation, is destroying a key property
right held by such trademark owners. As discussed, under
the Lanham Act, a federal trademark registration recognizes
valuable rights, the most important of which is the right to
the exclusive use of the trademark. 15 U.S.C. 1057(b);
1115(b). It is in this sense of “exclusive right” that
trademarks can be categorized as a form of “property”’.
Hamilton-Brown Shoe Co. v. Wolf Bros. & Co., 240 U.S. 251
(1916). Moreover, there is no doubt that good will, together
with its symbol—the trademark—are legally classified as
“property”. Old Dearborn Distributing Co. v. Seagram- Distillers
Corp., 299 U.S. 183, 194-195 (1936).

Customs’ adherence to its regulation and refusal to issue
genuine grey goods exclusion orders to domestic registrants
who are foreign-owned deprives these trademark owners of
incidents of ownership which impart significant value to

~13

their trademark property. The impairment of the regis-
trants’ statutory exclusive right to use their trademarks so
diminishes the trademarks’ values so as to amount to a
“taking” of the registrants’ property without just compensa-
tion in violation of the registrants’ Fifth Amendment rights.
Cf. Johnson & Johnson, Inc. v. Wallace A. Erickson & Co., 627
F.2d 57, 59 (7th Cir. 1980)."° This Court recognized long ago,
that as a general rule, “|w\hile property may be regulated to
a certain extent, if the regulation goes too far it will be
recognized as a taking.” Pennsylvania Coal Co. v. Mahon, 260
U.S. 393, 415 (1922).

Customs enforcement of its regulation amounts to nothing
less than the “taking” of a U.S. trademark registrant’s statu-
tory property without just compensation. Moreover, the gov-
ernment’s encroachment on the statutory rights of a
tradmark owner does not constitute a reasonable exercise of
police power for a legitimate “public use”. In this regard, it
is noteworthy that the regulation was not intended to protect
the public’s safety or to otherwise protect the public’s inter-
est. Rather, the regulation merely serves to secure and
increase the monetary profits of a few grey market enter-
prises. Customs’ enforcement of its regulation amounts to an
illegal “taking” of trademark rights which unjustly deprives
some U.S. registrants of due process of law.

D. The Customs Service Regulation Imposes Compulsory
and Uncontrolled Trademark Licensing on a Substan-
tial Class of Domestic Trademark Registrants

For the substantial class of domestic trademark registrants
who cannot qualify under the Customs regulation for com-
plete § 526 protection, the U.S. Customs Service grants to
grey marketers the right to use a domestic registrant’s mark
to import, advertise and sel! the goods in the United States

“In this case, the Seventh Circuit found that a patentee
cannot be deprived of his property in the patent right of
exclusion without due process of law.

14

without the registrant’s consent. Because of the discrimina-
tion inherent in the regulation, the Customs regulation
amounts to compulsory, royalty-free licensing of the U.S.
trademarks owned by domestic registrants not qualifying for
§ 526 protection.

Compulsory trademark licensing is an extremely punitive
remedy and only considered where it has been shown that a
trademark has been used contrary to competitive and con-
sumer interests. 1A Callmann, Unfair Competition,
Trademarks and Monopoly § 4.53 (4th ed. 1981).'' There is
no evidence that either the U.S. Customs Service or any
court, department or administrative agency has ever con-
ducted an investigation or issued administrative or judicial
findings which would justify exacting from certain domestic
trademark registrants the highly punitive remedy of com-
pulsory, royalty-free trademark licensing.

In addition to the fact that the Customs regulation is
tantamount to compulsory licensing, it is also “naked” licens-
ing of the various trademarks of those domestic trademark
registrants which do not qualify for § 526 protection. Naked
licensing results when a trademark registrant fails to exer-
cise sufficient quality control over the goods and services
being offered in connection with the trademark by a licensee.
1 McCarthy, Trademarks and Unfair Competition § 18:14
(2nd ed. 1984). Naked licensing both deceives the public,
which expects the same level of quality from all goods or
services bearing a particular mark, and prevents the trade-
mark owner from controlling both the quality of the goods,
the use of his trademark and his business reputation which
is intimately linked with the trademark. Naked or uncon-
trolled trademark licensing can lead to abandonment of

" E.g., The Federal Trade Commission requested compulsory
royalty-free trademark licensing in the FTC Realemon case, Jn
re Borden, Inc., Docket No. 8978, 891 ATRR, E-1 (1978); See also
Note, Abuse of Trademarks: A Proposal for Compulsory Licensing, 7
U. Mich. J.L. Ref. 644 (1974).

ae

15

trademark rights as the mark may ultimately lose its signifi-
cance as an indication of source and quality. See 15 U.S.C.
§ 1127 (definition “abandonment of mark”); Midwest Fur
Producers Assn. v. Mutation Mink Breeders Assn., 127 F.Supp.
217 (W.D.Wis. 1955) (naked licensing held, resulting in aban-
donment and estoppel to assert trademark rights).

When the Customs Service permits the passage of grey
market goods through the Customhouses without consent of
Yamaha and other domestic trademark registrants, such
registrants have lost their right to control the use of their
marks and their reputations. Cf Dallas Cowboy Cheerleaders,
Inc. v. Pussycat Cinema, Ltd., 604 F.2d 200, 205 (2d Cir. 1979).
The regulation thus frustrates another of the statutory goals
of the Lanham Act, the ability of a trademark owner to
control the good will of his business and the product quality
symbolized by the trademark, as weli as protecting th abil-
ity of consumers to rely on a trademark as a badge of product
quality. See Park’N Fly, 469 U.S. at 198; S. Rep. No. 1333, 2d
Sess. 3, 5 (1946).

To defend the Customs regulation and the grey marketing
it promotes, it has been urged that a grey marketer may
invade a U.S. registrant’s exclusivity because this is consist-
ent with the implied trademark license which a grey
marketer allegedly acquires by purchase of the goods from a
foreign source. This argument clearly relies on the archaic
“exhaustion” concept of_international trade which suggested
that once a foregin trademark owner placed his goods bear-
ing the mark into international commerce, an assignee in
another country could not locally own or assert trademark
rights superior to those of the foreign owner. Osawa & Co. v.
B & H Photo, 589 F.Supp. 1163, 1174 (S.D.N.Y. 1984). How-
ever, the concept of exhaustion was inextricably linked with
the theory of trademark universality which this Court
rejected in favor of trademark territoriality. A. Bourjois & Co.
v. Kaztel, 260 U.S. at 692. Where a trademark owner in a
different territory has acquired, or by law possesses, an
independent good will as symbolized by the trademark, the

16

exhaustion concept is of no relevance. See Derenberg, Territo-
rial Scope and Situs of Trademarks and Good Will, 47 Va. L.
Rev. 733, 736-37 (1961) (establishment by domestic mark
holder of localized good will justifies trademark protection
against grey market imports).

As noted above, a domestic owner of a U.S. trademark
registration possesses a prima facie presumption under the
Lanham Act that the registered mark possesses good will.
The Customs regulation denegrates this statutory presump-
tion and imposes a contrary presumption that domestic
trademark registrants who do not qualify for § 526 protec-
tion do not possess independent good will in the United
States.

II. SECTION 526 OF THE TARIFF ACT IS CONSISTENT
WITH AND NECESSARY TO PROTECT THE
RIGHTS GRANTED TO U.S. REGISTRANTS UNDER
THE LANHAM ACT

Section 526 and the Customs regulation must not be con-
sidered in a vacuum as Petitioners advocate. While § 526 is
commonly understood to be a customs or trade regulation
statute, application and understanding of this statute cannot
be undertaken without considering the manner in which it
interfaces with trademark law. The language and history of
both § 526 and the Lanham Act confirm that § 526 of the
Tariff Act simply provides an additional remedy to a regis-
tered trademark owner as a further means of enforcing its
statutorily recognized right of exclusivity of use under the
Lanham Act. Section 526, on its face, grants protection to
U.S. owners of registered trademarks without limitation. By
availing themselves of § 526, owners of U.S. registrations
should be able to secure certain procedural benefits to
enhance the protection of their registered trademarks. How-
ever, the Customs regulation arbitrarily interferes with the
enjoyment of these statutorily-granted procedural benefits.

Petitioners’ position that U.S. distributors and trademark
registrants of foreign-made products such as Yamaha, are

17

not entitled to the procedural benefits of § 526 of the Tariff
Act is totally contrary to a long line of distinguished trade-
mark cases. For more than 40 years, courts have recognized
the exclusive rights of American distributors and permitted
trademark infringement suits to be maintained by exclusive
distributors and sellers of trademarked goods who had a
right by agreement with the owner of the trademark to
exclude even the owner from selling in their territory.”

Thus, it is settled law that a trademark may not only
signify the good will of a manufacturer, but may also signify
the independent good will of the exclusive distributor who
imports foreign-made goods and stands behind the goods sold
by it. Most importantly, these decisions permit U.S. dis-
tributors to maintain infringement actions regardless of the
foreign ownership of the distributors. The statutory inter-
pretation of §526 espoused by Petitioners conveniently
ignores the trademark heritage of this section and disregards
accepted case law demonstrating the invalidity of the
regulation.

A plain reading of § 526 consistent with fundamental
modern trademark law manifests the intention of this sec-
tion to include all U.S. registrants who are citizens of and
domiciliaries in the United States regardless of who their
stockholders are and/or what relationship they have with
foreign users of identical marks. Neither the legislative
reports nor the congressional debate contain any clear evi-
dence of a legislative intent to deny trademark protection
where the owner of the U.S. mark is owned or controlled by
the foreign manufacturer of trademarked goods.

"? See Quabaug Rubber Co. v. Fabiano Shoe Co., Inc., 567 F.2d 154,
159-160 (1st Cir. 1977); Watson v. E. Leitz, Inc., 254 F.2d 777, 780
(D.C. Cir. 1958); Avedis Zildjian Co. v. Fred Gretsch Mfg. Co., 251
F.2d 530, 532 (2d Cir. 1958); Georg Jensen & Wendel, A/S v. Georg
Jensen Handmade Silver, Inc., 111 F.2d 169, 172 (C.C.P.A. 1940);
and Osawa v. B & H Photo, 589 F.Supp. at 1179.

18

Petitioners ask this Court to ignore the express language
of § 526, which has remained unchanged by Congress for
over 60 years, in lieu of their own interpretation of the
sketchy and confused legislative history of this section. Peti-
tioners, the Customs Service and this Court, should not
attempt to legislate where Congress has had the opportunity
but has clearly chosen not to do so. Accordir gly, these Amict,
urge the Court to reject Petitioners’ spurious statutory inter-
pretation of § 526, on which they premise their defense of the
Customs regulation, and reaffirm the plain language of the
statute in view of its consistency with established trademark
law and thereby invalidate the regulation.

A. Absent the Customs Service Regulation, Section 526
Provides an Efficient and Crucial Means for Protection
of a U.S. Registrant’s Trademark Rights

As stated above, the procedure set forth in § 526 provides
one of the most efficient means of protection for a USS.
trademark owner. Rather than promote the effectiveness of
the recording procedure of § 526, the Customs regulation
undermines the procedural benefits of the statute. By not
being able to record its trademark at Customs to receive
protection from imported grey goods, the trademark owner is
unable to avail itself of the vast resources of the Customs
Service and guard against the unauthorized importation of
any infringing products. No comparable alternate means
exists for an individual trademark owner to police and con-
trol the importation and sale of infringing goods in this
country.

If the U.S. trademark owner cannot stop shipments of
infringing goods from the foreign source of such goods via an
exclusion order, it is faced with an endless pursuit of sepa-
rate infringers in the distribution chain, while infringing
gaods continue to pour into the country. Thus, the trade-
mark owner is unable to effectively combat the actual cause
of its infringement problems. Under the current regulation,
Yamaha is unable to avail itself of the full benefits of § 526

19

protection against grey imports and is thereby denied enjoy-
ment ci the meaningful protection of its trademark rights
intended by the Tariff Act and the Trademark Act.

B. The Statutory Preference to Domestic Registrants
Under § 526 Serves a Legitimate Purpose

Unlike the provisions of the Lanham Act, § 526 does not
extend its procedural advantages to foreign entities. Con-
trary to the view of the Federal Petitioners, § 526 does not
impart any additional substantive trademark rights on its
beneficiaries, and therefore is not inconsistent with § 44(b) of
the Lanham Act, 15 U.S.C. 1126(b) (1982), or with relevant
international treaties which require reciprocity of rights.
Brief for the Federal Petitioners at 10. See Paris Convention
for the Protection of Intellectual Property, March 20, 1883,
as revised, Art. 2, 21 U.S.T. 2140, T.I.A.S. No. 6923.

As a Customs and trade regulation statute, § 526 was
intended to protect American trade and domestic businesses.
This is a lawful and legitimate purpose which is also the
basis for similar procedural benefits accorded to U.S. owners
of other intellectual property.’ Contrary to Petitioners’
belief, this purpose is not defeated by enabling legitimate
domestic trademark registrants, whether partly or wholly
foreign owneu to enjoy the procedural benefits of the statute.
A company like Yamaha, which is incorporated in one of the
50 states, maintains a place of business in the U.S., employs
USS. citizens and pays U.S., State and local taxes, is no less of
an “American” company because its capital stock is foreign
owned. In fact, in defining a “domestic industry” in investi-
gations conducted under the Tariff Act of 1930, § 337, the

‘Under the Copyright Act, 17 U.S.C. §§ 601-603 (1982), only
a U.S. national or domiciliary can exclude the importation of
certain copyrighted works while under the Tariff Act of 1930,
§ 337, 19 U.S.C. § 1337, mer®handise may be excluded by the
International Trade Commission if it finds the existence of
unfair practices or unfair methods of competition causing
injury to a domestic industry.

20

International Trade Commission often includes domestically
formed entities which may be partly or wholly, foreign
owned. Certain Airtight Cast-Iron Stoves, No. 337-TA-69, 215
U.S.P.Q. 963 (U.S. ITC 1980).

Without offer of factual support, Petitioners would have
this Court accept the “negative” assumption of the Customs
regulation that every domestic company with foreign owner-
ship or manufacturing plants is not an “American” company
deserving of the procedural benefits of § 526. This assump-
tion is not only at odds with decades of case law recognizing
the separate existence of a corporation from its owner(s)",
but it is totally contrary to recent decisions where courts
considering this question have found a foreign-owned domes-
tic company to constitute a legitimate American business.
See Bell & Howell:Mamiya Co. v. Masel Supply Co., 548 F.Supp.
1063, 1079 (E.D.N.Y. 1982), vacated and remanded, 719 F.2d 42
(2d Cir. 1983); Osawa v. B & H Photo, 589 F.Supp. at 1165.

So long as an ongoing business is established in the United
States, the purpose of § 526 is fulfilled and, the equity owner-
ship of the business is irrelevant. For example, Yamaha
maintains an established place of business in the US.,
spends thousands of dollars on advertising and promoting its
trademarked products and services, provides warranty serv-
ices and sells products in the U.S. and carries on all other
activities engaged in by other American companies. U.S.
subsidiaries of foreign manufacturers which were set up for
legitimate business reasons, such as distribution, promotion,

“By assuming that foreign-owned domestic companies are
not legitimate American businesses, Petitioners attempt to
unjustifiably pierce the corporate veil and deem the domestic
companies to be the alter egos of their foreign owners. This
piercing is unwarranted without a showing that the domestic
companies we.e created for some deceitful purpose. Petitioners’
gross mischaracterization of these domestic businesses as corpo-
rate shells is equally unwarranted. There is no evidence sup-
porting or legal basis justifying Petitioners’ assum pts.

21

and servicing of trademarked products clearly fall within
the literal scope of § 526.

Moreover, there is no administrative rationale for the
“negative” assumption against foreign owned registrants
embodied in the Customs regulation. Petitioners speculate
that in the absence of the regulation foreign companies will
fraudulently apply for and receive grey goods exclusion
orders pursuant to § 526. However, these concerns can easily
be allayed by employing similar safeguards to those which
have long been commonly used by administrative agencies.
Various administrative agencies have effectively utilized and
accepted sworn affidavits and/or declarations under the pen-
alty of perjury to support statements of fact submitted for
government action.” See, eg., administrative declarations
under 18 U.S.C. § 1001 (1982).

Hence, there is no procedural justification for the Customs
regulation. Employing standard administrative safeguards
would allow all legitimate U.S. companies to record their
trademarks with Customs, but not foreclose a challenge to
the domesticity of a U.S. registrant when it seeks to enforce
its rights under § 526. Interested third parties would be free
to file a protest with Customs or raise the issue as a defense
in a suit between the parties. Under a literal interpretation
of § 526, certain U.S. registrants would not be forced to bear
the burden of being precluded from obtaining relief from
grey imports. Instead, the burden would be shifted to the
challenger as it should be in deference to the statutory rights
of exclusivity accorded to trademark owners.

'’ For example, in its administration of a bi-level fee schedule,
the Patent and Trademark Office relies on verified statements
made by the patent applicant concerning its size of employ-
ment. 37 C.F.R. § 1.27 (1984). On a larger scale, the IRS
routinely accepts tax returns signed by the taxpayer under the
penalty of perjury. Utilizing a similar procedure, Customs
could carry out the provisions of § 526 by requiring registrants
to submit sworn statements verifying their domicile and
citizenship.

22

C. The Antitrust Enforcement Rationale for the Customs
Service Regulation Has No Justification In Section 526

There is no justification for the Customs regulation as an
enforcement tool of U.S. antitrust law and policy. Enforce-
ment of § 526 in accordance with its express language, is in
harmony with antitrust law as articulated in Continental T.V.
v. GTE Sylvania, 433 U.S. 36 (1977)."* Petitioners’ reliance on
United States v. Guerlain, Inc., 155 F.Supp. 77 (S.D.N.Y. 1957),
in support of their argument that a literal reading of § 526
fosters anticompetitive practices is misplaced. The preceden-
tial value of Guerlain is minimal to non-existent in view of
its vacatur and its dismissal with prejudice. The apparent
reasoning behind the Guerlain court’s construction of § 526 as
limited to “independent” distributors was based on its view
of the merits of the antitrust claims.

Under current antitrust law, the Guerlain court’s definition
of the relevant market is fatally flawed. Indeed, a key legal
premise in Guerlain, that the relevant market consisted only
of the trademarked goods, has been discredited by this Court.
See, e.g., United States v. E.I. du Pont de Nemours & Co., 351
U.S. 377, 393 (1956). Moreover, as noted by the government
in its amicus curiae brief submitted to the Second Circuit in
connection with Bell & Howell v. Masel, the Guerlain court’s
analysis is inconsistent with current legal precedent and
sound economic analysis.” Citing this Court’s decision in

‘Petitioners urge this Court to recognize a different and
discriminatory rule as to antitrust policy when the trademark
owner is a foreign-owned company than when the trademark
owner is an “independent” American trademark owner. They
contend that enforcement of § 526 is acceptable for competitive
purposes if the registrant has no direct or indirect foreign
ownership, but would violate antitrust policy if the same regis-
trant has any foreign ownership.

"The first § 526 regulation which Customs promulgated was
an attempt to implement its perception of antitrust policy
which was undoubtedly influenced by the rationale of the
Justice Department in bringing the Gwerlain action. See

(footnote continued on next page)

;

23

International Boxing Club of New York v. United States, 358 U.S.
242, 251 (1959) and Sullivan, Antitrust 51 (1977), the govern-
ment also explained that properly defined, a trademarked
good is in a market of its own only where a supra-competi-
tive price for that good would not cause consumers to move to
other goods. The government further stated that it may not
be presumed that every trademark confers such power over
price. “That is a matter to be determined on the basis of the
competitive reality relevant to each product.” Brief for the
United States of America Amicus Curiae at 16. See Joint
Appendix as filed with the U.S. Court of Appeals for the
D.C. Cireuit at 321-342. The opinion of the district court in
Guerlain, which adopted the same theory as the Customs
regulation, has also been seriously criticized. See Osawa v.
B & H Photo, 589 F.Supp. at 1177; Bell & Howell v. Masel, 548
F.Supp. at 1077 and Handler, Trademark—Assets or Liabilities,
48 Trade-Mark Rep. 661 (1958).

While Petitioners contend that Respondents’ interpreta-
tion of the trademark laws and § 526 fosters anticompetitive
practices, discriminatory pricing and violations of antitrust
law and policy, they fail to produce a single shred of evi-
dence or economic data to support this contention. Petition-
ers also speculate, without any economic justification or
evidentiary support, that a literal interpretation of § 526 will
harm consumers economically. However, the remote possi-
bility of price savings to consumers must not in and of itself
override the statutory rights guaranteed to trademark regis-
trants under the Lanham Act. The economic rationale
underlying Continental T.V. v. GTE Sylvania is that compa-
nies such as authorized U.S. distributors and their authorized
dealers will be willing to make expenditures necessary to

(footnote continued from preceding page)

Atwood, Import Restrictions on Trademarked Merchandise—The
Role of the United States Bureau of Customs, 59 Trade-Mark Rep.
301 (1969). Nothing in § 526 or its legislative history even hints
that Congress intended to confer authority on Customs to condi-
tion the benefits of § 526 on its-analysis of antitrust policy.

24

make themselves strong competitors in the overall market-
place if they are protected from intrabrand competition.
Without their trademark assets, U.S. distributors would not
make the investments necessary to become important factors
in the United States market. Yet, it is standard economic
theory that the absence of a viable competitor, such as the
U.S. distributors, might well decrease price competition in
the long run to the detriment of consumers.

Moreover, there are numerous explanations why grey
marketers can sell goods cheaper than the exclusive U.S.
distributor, such as fluctuations in international currency
rates, differing costs and market conditions in other coun-
tries, maintenance of dealer networks and education pro-
grams, warranty services, advertising and other public
relations costs. Osawa v. B & H Photo, 589 F.Supp. at 1176.
These expenses are incurred in connection with the mainte-
nance and enhancement of the good will and reputation
which a trademark symbolizes. Continental T.V. v. GTE
Sylvania, 433 U.S. at 55. Such activities when undertaken by
the U.S. distributor create and maintain consumers’ desire
for products bearing the trademark. Indeed, if consumers’
desire for the trademarked merchandise was not perpetuated
by the U.S. distributors/trademark owners, grey marketers
would have no interest in seliing the products. Petitioners’
argument that arbitrary price discrimination is practiced by
foreign manufacturers to unjustifiably increase the cost of
trademarked goods to U.S. consumers is merely an attempt to
divert attention from the free-ride taken by grey marketers
on the good will and recognition built in the trademark by
the U.S. owner.

Even assuming that practices of some foreign manufactur-
ers are found to violate the antitrust laws, other remedies
exist which do not detract from the statutory rights accorded
to trademark owners. For instance, should antitrust viola-
tions be shown, a proper remedy would be the denial of
_enforcement of the trademark registration or imposition of
liability for violation of the antitrust laws. See, e.g., 15 U.S.C.

— ——

ee ee ee. Pee, ee

A emeee ee

25

§ 1115(b)(7) (use of a trademark to violate antitrust laws is a
defense to an incontestable trademark registration). —

Furthermore, the effectiveness of the Customs regulation
as an antitrust enforcement tool is highly suspect. Antitrust
questions are much too complex to be fairly decided solely by
reference to a short statement regarding corporate ownership
required under the Customs regulation. Customs’ determina-
tions on this basis take no account, for example, of whether
the similarly marked goods in fact compete with one another
or if so, what is the definition of the relevant market in
which they compete.” The Customs regulation automati-
cally presumes antitrust violations, without any considera-
tion of market conditions, from the sole fact of common
control of foreign and domestic trademark owners. More-
over, in view of the remedial alternatives which are avail-
able’ the regulation should not be allowed to stand and
preempt the statutory trademark rights of U.S. registrants.

‘*It is also curious that the regulation denying exclusion of
genuine-foreign-trademarked goods based on the relationship
between the U.S. and foreign markholders denies exclusion of
imports bearing counterfeit trademarks on the same basis.
What principle of antitrust law could possibly be served by
withholding the exclusion of counterfeits by reason of relation-
Ships between the domestic and foreign markholders?
Noteworthy is that §42 of the Lanham Act, unlike § 526,
extends protection to foreign holders of U.S. marks (under
certain circumstances) as well as to U.S. citizens and corpora-
tions. Osawa v. B & H Photo, 589 F.Supp. at 1177.

"Such alternatives include civil actions to challenge the
propriety of the issuance of the exclusion order based on anti-
trust violations, trebled damages actions, suits for unfair compe-
tition and defenses to infringement actions. See Timken Roller
Bearing Co. v. United States, 341 U.S. 593, 598-99 (1951); Carl Zeiss
Stiftung v. V.E.B. Carl Zeiss, Jena, 298 F.Supp. 1309, 1314
(S.D.N.Y. 1969), aff'd as modified, 433 F.2d 686 (2d Cir. 1970), cert.
denied, 403 U.S. 905 (1971); and 15 U.S.C. § 1115(b)7). -

26
III. THE CUSTOMS SERVICE REGULATION
ADVERSELY IMPACTS ON BOTH YAMAHA AND
CONSUMERS AND IS AGAINST PUBLIC POLICY

The Customs regulation has a decidedly adverse impact on
Yamaha and purchasers of grey market sound equipment.
In defense of the regulation, all Petitioners make two errone-
ous assumptions: (1) that goods bearing marks identical to
the registered U.S. marks are the same throughout the world
and, (2) that the trademark affixed to grey goods has the
same meaning to consumers, in fact and law, throughout the
world.”” From these erroneous assumptions, Petitioners con-
clude that the regulation is valid because through grey
marketing, consumers are receiving the same goods bearing
the same mark at allegedly lower prices. Both assumptions,
are completely: unsupported by both fact and law.

Yamaha strenuously disputes the assumption that all
goods manufactured or distributed by all trademark regis-
trants are the same throughout the world. Brief for Peti-
tioner 47th Street Photo at 2. Because of the myriad federal
and safety regulations governing the products sold by
Yamaha in the US., as a matter of law, products bearing the
“Yamaha” trademarks and intended for overseas distribu-
tion are “different because of the regulations.” For example,
FCC regulations specifically require products sold by
Yamaha to meet certain technical specifications, bear proper
labelling and to include FCC information in the owner's
manual. Compact dise players sold by Yamaha are subject to
FDA regulations due to the laser contained in the player. 21
C.F.R. §§ 1000, 1040 (1984). Additionally, products not
intended for the U.S. market do not carry Underwriters
Laboratories, Inc. (U.L.) warnings pursuant to U.L. Regula-
tion 469. Equipment intended for overseas markets may not
be able to handle the standard electrical current found in the

For example, Petitioners K mart and 47th Street Photo
preoccupy themselves with trademark law from Japan and the
European Economic Community. Brief for Petitioner K mart
at 44; Brief for Petitioner 47th Street Photo at 40, 42.

27

U.S. As a result of the foregoing, grey market sound equip-
ment drawn from overseas commerce, is distinctly different
than that intended for the U.S. market notwithstanding the
fact that it bears an identical mark.

In addition to the legally required differences between
U.S. sound equipment and grey market equipment, there are
other differences between the equipment mandated by the
needs and product uses in overseas markets. For example,
accessories and owners manuals differ from country to coun-
try. An owner’s manual in a foreign language is of little use
or benefit to a U.S. consumer.

Warranties represent another aspect of the differences
between genuine and grey market equipment. Warranties
and the accompanying services are not the same for equip-
ment sold in the U.S. and other parts of the world. A USS.
consumer who purchases sound equipment intended for a
foreign market expects the equipment to meet U.S. standards
and that his warranty will he the same as authorized equip-
ment because the grey market equipment bears a trademark
identical to the registered U.S. trademark. However, grey
market goods are often sold with no warranty. Consumers
frequently become confused as to why their warranty is not
the same as the warranty on authorized equipment since
they look to the trademarks as badges of quality and fully
expect the U.S. trademark owner to stand behind the quality
of the goods. Thus, the assumption that all grey market
goods are the same as goods intended for sale in the USS. is
erroneous.

The second erroneous assumption raised by Petitioners in
support of the Customs regulation is that trademarks affixed
to grey market goods possess the same meaning to consumers
as the U.S. registered marks. It is undisputed that the
bundle of substantive rights accorded trademark owners
vastly differs throughout the world as a matter of sovereign

28

law.?! For example, in many countries outside the United
States, enforceable trademark rights are born merely
through registration without regard to actual use of the
mark on any goods or services. Because the nature and
degree of trademark protection varies throughout the world,
a trademark applied to sound equipment outside the United
States may have a completely different legal function and
significance than does the same mark when applied to goods
in U.S. commerce.

Likewise, because the nature and quality of the goods,
warranty services and advertising varies with each country
based on market needs and economic and competitive con-
siderations, trademarks necessarily take on different mean-
ings for consumers in various countries. Thus, because
consumers throughout the world have different understand-
ings as to the kinds of goods, services and advertising
symbolized by a particular trademark, it is thoroughly erro-
neous to assume that famous trademarks such as “Yamaha”
have the same meaning to European consumers as does that
same mark to U.S. consumers.

Lastly, grey market sales frustrate and interfere with the
fundamental basis for the franchise system. It is difficult to
explain to an authorized dealer why he must or should
compete with an unauthorized dealer who utilizes-the
famous trademarks in the-sale of grey market goods. The
existence of grey market goods deters capital investment and
dealer participation, and interrupts orderly distribution of
goods and services under the trademark. It is only the
famous brand name of Yamaha that enables the grey market
dealer to effectively sell his products. Yet, it is Yamaha, the

21 See Paris Convention for the Protection of Intellectual Prop-
erty, March 20, 1883, as revised, Art. 6, 21 U.S.T. 2140, T.1.A.S.
No. 6923 (authorizing territorial assignments of trademark
rights subject to national law); General Inter-American Conven-
tion for Trade-Mark and Commercial Protection, Feb. 20, 1929,
Art. 11 (authorizing territorial transfers given reliable proof,
subject to national law of transfer and registration).

ee he 8 er eee

ee eo eet

]
:
|
:
:
'

:
:
:

29

trademark owner that has devoted the time and expense of
creating and maintaining U.S. consumers’ desire for its
products.

Unauthorized grey market dealers have no incentive to
protect the good will of the trademark. The marketing goal
of grey marketers is to sell only famous brand goods soiely
on the basis of price in order to reap a profit for themselves.
The commerciai magnetism of Yamaha’s trademarks allows
the grey marketers to sell grey goods with little or no invest-
ment of their own. In this manner, the grey market dealers
take a free ride on the advertising, servicing and good will
associated with the trademarks while contributing nothing.
Thus, the value of Yamaha’s trademarks are materially
diminished and could ultimately be destroyed. Under the
express language of the Tariff Act and without the regula-
tion, the quality and flow of goods under Yamaha’s regis-
tered trademarks could be properly monitored to avoid
consumer confusion and deception, thereby promoting the
welfare and investment of Yamaha and its authorized
dealers.

30

CONCLUSION
The judgment of the Court of Appeals should be affirmed

in its ent vety.

Davip Lu

Corporate Legal Counsel

YAMAHA INTERNATIONAL
CORPORATION

6600 Orangethorpe Avenue

Buena Park, California 90622

(714) 522-9214

Respectfully submitted,

ROBERT E. WAGNER*

LINDA A. KUCZMA

ALAN L. BARRY

ROBERT E. BROWNE

Amy L.H. ROCKWELL

WALLENSTEIN, WAGNER, HATTIS,
STRAMPEL & AUBEL, LTD.

100 South Wacker Drive

Chicago, Illinois 60606

(312) 641-1570

Attorneys for Amici Curiae

Yamaha International
Corporation

and Yamaha Electronics
Corporation, USA

*Counsel of Record

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385012_1086%3A22. Public record. Not legal advice.
