# Amicus Curiae Brief — Sable Communications of California, Inc. v. Federal Communications Commission

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385012_1026%3A18

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1989
- **Citation:** 488 U.S. 1003

## Text

iv ilo) ; ———

Nos. 88-515 and 88-525 FILED

IN THE 27 1389
Supreme Court of the United Statgs-os*" © SA »

OcTOBER TERM, 1988

SABLE COMMUNICATIONS OF CALIFORNIA, INC.,
. Appellant,
FEDERAL COMMUNICATIONS COMMISSION and
RICHARD L. THORNBURGH,
ATTORNEY GENERAL OF THE UNITED STATES,
A ppe llees.
FEDERAL COMMUNICATIONS COMMISSION and
RicHARD L. THORNBURGH,
ATTORNEY GENERAL OF THE UNITED STATES,
2 Cross-A pp llants,
SABLE COMMUNICATIONS OF CALIFORNIA, INC.,
( ‘ross-A ppe llee.
On Appeal from the United States District Court
for the Central District of California

BRIEF OF ACTION FOR CHILDREN’S TELEVISION,
AMERICAN CIVIL LIBERTIES UNION,
CAPITAL CITIES ABC, INC. CBS INC.

INFINITY BROADCASTING CORPORATION,
MOTION PICTURE ASSOCIATION OF AMERICA, INC,
NATIONAL ASSOCIATION OF BROADCASTERS,
NATIONAL BROADCASTING COMPANY, INC,
NATIONAL PUBLIC RADIO,

PEOPLE FOR THE AMERICAN WAY,
PUBLIC BROADCASTING SERVICE,
RADIO-TELEVISION NEWS DIRECTORS ASSOCIATION,
THE REPORTERS COMMITTEE FOR
FREEDOM OF THE PRESS,

SOCTETY OF PROFESSIONAL JOURNALISTS,
AND TRIBUNE BROADCASTING COMPANY
AS AMICI CURIAE
IN SUPPORT OF APPELLANT, CROSS-APPELLEE

[ Counsel listed on inside cover]

Ieee ee remem eecmeeecnenneeennnmne
WiLeon - Eres Preintine Co.. Inc. - 789-0006 - Wasnineron, OC. 20001

Of Counsel:

SaM ANTAR

MARIAN E. LINDBERG
CaPpimTraL Cities, ABC, INC.
1330 Avenue of the Americas
New York, New York 10019

Of Counsel:
HOWARD F.. JABCKEL
CBS INc.
51 West 52 Street
New York, New York 10019

Trmotny B. DYK
Counsel of Record

Teresa D. BAER
Witmer, CUTLER & PICKERING
2445 M Street, N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20037-1420
(202) 663-6000

Counsel for Amici and Capital
Cities / ABC, Inc. and CBS Inc.

HENRY GELLER
DONNA LAMPERT
1776 K Street, N.W.
Suite 900
Washington, D.C. 20006
Counsel for Action for
Children's Television

JoHN A. POWELL
C. EDwIn BAKER
AMERICAN CIviL LIBERTIES
UNION FOUNDATION
132 West 43rd Street
New York, New York 10036
Counsel for American Civil
Liberties Union

STEVEN A. LERMAN
DENNIS P. CORBETT
LAURA B. HUMPHRIES
LEVENTHAL, SENTER
& LERMAN
2000 K Street, N.W.
Suite 600
Washington, D.C. 20006
Counsel for Infinity
Broadcasting Corporation
Fritz E. ATTAWAY
1600 I Street, N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20006
Counsel for Motion Picture
issociation of America, Ine.

[ Additional Counsel! Listed on Following Pages |

Of Counsel:
SUSAN M. Liss
JAN G. LEVINE
PEOPLE FOR THE
AMERICAN Way
2000 M Street, N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20036

HENRY L. BAUMANN

STEVEN A. BOOKSHESTER
1771 N Street, N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20036

Counsel for National
Association of Broadcasters

HOWARD MONDERER

MOLLY PAUKER
1331 Pennsylvania Ave., N.W.
Suite 700 South
Washington, D.C. 20004

Counsel for National
Broadcasting Company, Inc.

ANDREW JAY SCHWARTZMAN
MepDtIaA ACCESS PROJECT
2000 M Street, N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20036

Counsel for People for the
American Way

PauLa A. J AMESON

NANCY H. HENDRY
1320 Braddock Place ~
Alexandria, Virginia 22314

Counsel for Public
Broadcasting Service

J. LAURENT SCHARFF

JAMES M. SMITH
REED SMITH SHAW & McCCLAY
1200 18th Street, N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20036

Counsel for Radio-Television
News Directors Association

[ Additional Counsel Listed on Following Page]

Of Counsel:

Davip D. HILLER

CHARLES J. SENNETT
TRIBUNE COMPANY
435 North Michigan Avenue
Chicago, Illinois 60611

March 27, 1989

JANE E. KIRTLEY
800 18th Street, N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20006
Counsel for The Reporters
Committee for Freedom
of the Press

Bruce W. SANFORD

R. B. QUINN
BAKER & HOSTETLER
1050 Connecticut Ave., N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20036

1111 19th Street, N.W.

Washington, D.C. 20036
Counsel for Tribune

Broadcasting Company

TABLE OF CONTENTS

ET iirseiiscecwitiilintihaceiinennis iain ilies

Ty accsticheninesieinsiaicisticinenniisibbniiapeiapaiastineiintiaitbiainn

I. INDECENT SPEECH IS PROTECTED BY
THE FIRST AMENDMENT ..................0.......

Il. A BLANKET BAN ON INDECENT SPEECH
IS UNCONSTITUTIONAL ....

Ill. THE TERM “INDECENT” IN SECTION
223(b) IS UNCONSTITUTIONALLY VAGUE
ok ER eS sa

See TTI TIT csccsstrerenensesesssisbesneiniaciciensiahiniiihiiitinantitimatatai

Page

ii
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES Page
Action for Children’s Television v. FCC, 852 F.2d
I IS Ee 10, 11, 14, 27

Action for Children’s Television v. FCC, petition
for review filed, No. 88-1916 (Dec. 30, 1988),

stay granted (D.C. Cir. Jan. 23, 1989) ............... 4
American Booksellers Association v. McAuliffe,

533 F. Supp. 50 (N.D. Ga. 1981) ......................... 11
American Booksellers Association v. Webb, 643

F. Supp. 1546 (N.D. Ga. 1986) —........................... 11
Bantam Books, Inc. v. Sullivan, 372 U.S. 58

I aaa ak alae 8, 11, 29
Bethel School District No. 403 v. Fraser, 478 U.S.

RRS EES RES SE Sr een Soe oO 15

Black v. Cutter Laboratories, 351 U.S. 292 (1956)... 23
Bolger v. Youngs Drug Products Corp., 463 U.S.

Sie SITE asuncdensssintrionteinatnansantnatahaniiieniiniataial 8, 11, 14, 18, 20
Bose Corp. v. Consumers Union, 466 U.S. 485

I ieee ial ar aciian eeticiateln eal aaa acmiamaint 13
Brown v. Oklahoma, 408 U.S. 914 (1972) ............ 30
Butler v. Michigan, 352 U.S. 380 (1957) 0000000. 6, 11,18
Carlin Communications, Inc. v. FCC, 749 F.2d 113

8 EERE SE eee cSruaoonr nea 3,7
Carlin Communications, Inc. v. FCC, 787 F.2d

— BR ee 7

Carlin Communications, Inc. v. FCC, 837 F.2d
546 (2d Cir.), cert. denied, 109 S. Ct. 305

SSE SSES REE SEIN RS URE Ee Rare enw tare ewe sence 7, 8,10, 11, 29
City of Los Angeles v. Preferred Communications,

* BF 2. xe 13
Cohen v. California, 403 U.S. 15 (1971) 000000. passim
Columbia Broadcasting System v. Democratic Na-

tional Committee, 412 U.S. 94 (1973). 13
Community Television of Utah, Inc. v. Roy City,

555 F. Supp. 1164 (D. Utah 1982). 10, 11, 14

Community Television of Utah, Inc. v. Wilkinson,
611 F. Supp. 1099 (D. Utah 1985), aff'd sub
nom. Jones v. Wilkinson, 800 F.2d 989 (10th
Cir. 1986) (per curiam), aff'd, 480 U.S. 926
FS ee 15

~ iii
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

e Page
Consolidated Edison Co. v. Public Service Com-
mission, 447 U.S. 530 (1980) 0... 20

Cruz v. Ferre, 755 F.2d 1415 (11th Cir. 1985)..10, 11, 14
Erznoznik v. City of Jacksonville, 422 U.S. 205

RE 2 Te ee 9
FCC v. Pacifica Foundation, 438 U.S. 726 (1978) ..passim
Gagliardo v. United States, 366 F.2d 720 (9th

SL ee Se 22
Ginsberg v. New York, 390 U.S. 629 (1968)........ 12, 15
Grayned v. City of Rockford, 408 U.S. 104 (1972). 21
Hamling v. United States, 418 U.S. 87 (1974)... 22
Home Box Office, Inc. v. Wilkinson, 531 F. Supp.

gee ee 10, 11
Hustler Magazine v. Falwell, 108 S. Ct. 876

PEER ee eee een 9, 11, 30
Hynes v. Mayor of Oradell, 425 U.S. 610 (1976) .... 21
Kolender v. Lawson, 461 U.S. 352 (1983)... 21
Landmark Communications, Inc. v. Virginia, 435

oy HE eee ae eee 13
Lewis v. City of New Orleans, 408 U.S. 913

ES Seren cer aa eee 30
Marbury v. Madison, 5 U.S. (1 Cranch) 137

PRR EE ley ee as A 12
Meredith Corp. v. FCC, 809 F.2d 863 (D.C. Cir.

I ana Ea 27
Miller v. California, 413 U.S. 15 (1978) ................ 8
NAACP v,. Alabama, 377 U.S. 288 (1964)... 21
New York Times Co. v. Sullivan, 376 U.S. 254

eke es) Re i eas Sa 21
Pacifica Foundation v. FCC, 556 F.2d 9 (D.C.

Cir. 1977), rev'd, 438 U.S. 726 (1978) 14, 23
Papachristou v. City of Jacksonville, 405 U.S. 156

ee ee ee eS ee eee 21
Papish v. Board of Curators, 410 U.S. 667 (1973)

gg ERE eer 2 ee eer ee 9

Red Lion Broadcasting Co. v. FCC, 395 U.S. 367

ET a ae ee 4
Rosenfeld v. New Jersey, 408 US. 901 (1972)... 30
Rostker v. Goldberg, 453 U.S. 57 (1981) 12

Roth v. United States, 354 U.S. 476 (1957)... 9, 22

iv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Rowan v. United States Post Office Department,
U.S. 728 (1970) ..
Rushia v. Town of Ashburnham, 582 F. Supp. 900
D. Mass. 1983)
San Francisco Arts & Athletics, Inc. v. United
States Olympic Committee, 107 S. Ct. 2971
(1987)
Schad v. Borough of Mt. Ephraim, 452 U.S. 61
a eee
Schneider v. State, 308 U.S. 147 (1939) —............
Smith v. Goguen, 415 U.S. 566 (1974) —........
Speiser v. Randall, 357 U.S. 513 (1958)
Syracuse Peace Council v. FCC, No. 87-1516, slip
om (D.C. Cir. Feb. 10, 1968) —...................
Tallman v. United States, 465 F.2d 282 (7th Cir.
=
Tattered Cover, Inc. v. Tooley, 696 P.2d 780 (Colo.
gS se Serer
United States v. Simpson, 561 F.2d 53 (7th Cir.
EE ee ee a Ee
United States v. 12 200-ft. Reels of Super 8mm
OS
Walters v. National Association of Radiation
Survivors, 473 U.S. 305 (1985) 2...
Whitney v. California, 274 U.S. 357 (1927)........
Wilkinson v. Jones, 480 U.S. 926 (1987) (mem.)..
Wisconsin v. Yoder, 406 U.S. 205 (1972)...
Young v. American Mini Theatres, Inc., 427 U.S.
RNR Ie a aa

ADMINISTRATIVE DECISIONS

Audio Enterprises, Inc., 64 Rad. Reg. 2d (P&F)
Fa arta IS FNS Pee Sea OE
Citizens Complaint Against Pacifica Foundation,
56 F.C.C.2d 94 (1975), rev'd sub nom. Pacifica
Foundation v. FCC, 556 F.2d 9 (D.C. Cir.
1977), rev'd, 438 U.S. 726 (1978)

SRO Ree eee eee eee ee eee

Decency in Broadcasting, Inc., 94 F.C.C.2d 1162

I aii le =
Eastern Educational Radio (WUHY-FM), 24
F.C.C.2d 408 (1970)

Page

18

24
22

v

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Enforcement of Prohibitions Against Broadcast
Obscenity and Indecency in 18 U.S.C. § 1464,
4 FCC Red 457 (1988).

Enforcement of Prohibitions Against the Use of
Common Carriers for the Transmission of Ob-
scene Materials, 50 Fed. Reg. 42,699 (1985),
rev'd, Carlin Communications, Inc. v. FCC, 787
F.2d 846 (2d Cir. 1986)

Enforcement of Prohibitions Against the Use of
Common Carriers for the Transmission of Ob-
scene Materials, 2 FCC Red 2714, stay denied,
2 FCC Red 3672 (1987), aff'd sub nom. Carlin
Communications, Inc. v. FCC, 837 F.2d 546 (2d
Cir.), cert. denied, 109 S. Ct. 305 (1988)...

Enforcement of Prohibitions Against the Use of
Common Carriers for the Transmission of Ob-
scene Materials, 2 FCC Red 3672 (1987)...

Harriscope of Chicago, Inc. 65 Rad. Reg. 2d
(P&F) 1512 (1989)

Infinity Broadcasting Corp. of Pennsylvania, 2
FCC Red 2705, reconsideration and clarification
granted in part, denied in part, 3 FCC Red 930
(1987), vacated in part and remanded sub nom.
Action for Children’s Television v. FCC, 852
P26 8268 (AC. Gir. 1008)...

Infinity Broadcasting Corp. of Pennsylvania, 3
FCC Red 930 (1987), vacated in part and re-
manded sub nom. Action for Children’s Televi-

Page

17

16,17

sion v. FCC, 852 F.2d 1332 (D.C. Cir. 1988). passim

Intercambio, Inc., 64 Rad. Reg. 2d (P&F) 1663
ES
Kansas City Television, Ltd., Order, FCC 88-274
ES Ee eee
Letter to Hon. John E. Bourne, Jr.. from Chief,
Mass Media Bureau (Apr. 7, 1988)...
Letter to Thomas Byrne from Chief, Mass Media

vi
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Pacifica Foundation, 95 F.C.C.2d 750 (1983)...

Pacifica Foundation, Inc., 2 FCC Red 2698, re-
consideration and clarification granted in part,
denied in part sub nom. Infinity Broadcasting
Corp. of Pennsylvania, 3 FCC Red 930 (1987),
vacated in part and remanded sub nom. Action
for Children’s Television v. FCC, 852 F.2d 1332
(D.C. Cir. 1988).

WGBH Educational Foundation, 69 FC. Cc 24 1250
= 24

CONSTITUTIONAL, STATUTORY, AND REGULA-
TORY PROVISIONS

and Related Agencies for the
ing September 30, 1989, and
poses, Pub. L. No. 100-459,

ie
:

sateen Cle
SID. ncmeianmmeae
47 U.S.C. § 544(4) (2) (A) | 3
17 C.F.R. § 73.3999 4

LEGISLATIVE HISTORY
Cable-Porn and Dial-a-Porn Control Act: Hear-
ing on S. 1090 Before the Subcomm. on Criminal
Law of the Senate Comm. on the Judiciary,
99th Cong., Ist Sess. (1985)... 19
Telephone Decency Act of 1987: Hearings on
H.R. 1786 Before the Subcomm. on Telecom-
munications and Finance of the House Comm.
on Energy and Commerce, 100th Cong., Ist
Sess. (1987) 10, 19, 24, 25, 26
133 Cong. Ree. $14,794-96 (daily ed. Dee. 1,
a icmmemuats 1B, 16, 25

vii
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

134 Cong. Rec. H1690-91 (daily ed. Apr. 19,

Remarks on Signing the Augustus F. Hawkins-

Robert T. Stafford Elementary and Secondary
School Improvement Amendments of 1988, 24
Weekly Comp. Pres. Doe. 540 (Apr. 28, 1988).

MISCELLANEOUS
Wall St. J., May 26, 1987, at 35, col. 2...

Page

13
16

19

In THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OcTOBER TERM, 1988

Nos. 88-515 and 88-525

SABLE COMMUNICATIONS OF CALIFORNIA, INC.,
2. Appellant,

FEDERAL COMMUNICATIONS COMMISSION and
RIcHARD L. THORNBURGH,
ATTORNEY GENERAL OF THE UNITED STATES,

Appellees.

FEDERAL COMMUNICATIONS COMMISSION and
RICHARD L. THORNBURGH,
ATTORNEY GENERAL OF THE UNITED STATES,
Cross-A ppellants,

v.

SABLE COMMUNICATIONS OF CALIFORNIA, INC.,
Cross-A ppellee.

On Appeal from the United States DP strict Court
for the Central District of California

BRIEF OF ACTION FOR CHILDREN’S TELEVISION,
ET AL. AS AMICI CURIAE
IN SUPPORT OF APPELLANT/CROSS-APPELLEE

INTEREST OF THE AMICI CURIAE'

The amici* are a group of commercial broadcasters,
public broadcasters, cable interests, public interest

' Written consent to the filing of this brief has been obtained
from the parties to this case. The consent letters accompany this
brief.

* The amici are listed on the cover of this brief. The lead amicus,
Action for Children’s Television, has participated in earlier Federal
Communications Commission and court proceedings, seeking to im-

groups, and associations which represent broadcasters,
journalists, program suppliers, listeners, and viewers.
Amici do not here challenge existing constitutional

indecent material. In broadcasting, this material gener-

the level of children in the name of protecting children.
* Brief for the Cross-Appellants/ Appellees at 23 .15 (hereinafter

raised in this case by Sable Communications of California, Inc.
Amicus American Civil Liberties Union opposes any prohibitions on
obscenity as a violation of the First Amendment; it does not view
that issue as raised by the questions on which probable jurisdiction
was noted.

418 U.S.C. § 1464 provides that “(w)hoever utters any obscene,
indecent, or profane language by means of radio communication

HP

i

3

He

He

Ht tbe i
Hae gigi
ee

THERE

Hr fi
i

ie HH

at

ae

ais

g

id. at 23 0.15. Also, this case in-
of a variety of Mecking mechaniems in a
msitens Ghnmn thes dmtediinn Gon t tannituaiineh eal Gaitenn

iH

(as in cable) appear to be an unsatisfactory methed of assisting
parental control. See Carlin Communications, Ine. o. POC, 749 F.2d

‘TS, 121 (2d Cir. 1984) (setting aside regulation involving time

channeling for telephone medium)

* The statute requires that the Commission “promulgate regula-
tions in accordance with section 1464, tith 18 United States Code,

Mid
Hl

- ill

A

1)

HAN Ett

BUsigges

i

PE
Hel

He

it.

Al

87-1516, slip op. (D.C. Cir. Feb. 10, 1989), and many

broadcast regulation, see, ¢.¢.. Syracuse Peace C

j

sees teen tachend Girne euane Gamniee enneiee

questions, which the Court need not reach here

® See cases cited in note 33 m/fre

5

as live news programs dealing with angry political dem-
onstrations, informational programs about serious health
issues like AIDS, and the broadcast of other news and
public affairs programming involving those persons who,
for whatever reason—cultural impoverishment, social dis-
affection, or the evolution of community mores—regularly
and publicly use language which some consider offensive.
The Commission’s standard also extends to presentations
of serious drama, motion pictures, modern dance, drama-
tizations of serious works of literature, and satirical
material.” Amici believe that they could not realistically
portray American society in the programs which they
offer if they were effectively barred from including ma-
terial deemed to be indecent because it is offensive to
some. Amici believe that the Constitution does not re-
quire that political, social, and artistic representations be
sanitized so that they are always fit for children, and
that the First Amendment protects the important role of
the media in mirroring both what is desirable and what
is offensive in modern America."

Amici believe that any blanket ban on indecent speech
within any medium would not only prevent the presenta-
tion of material with substantial social value but, because
of the vagueness and overbreadth of the definition of in-
decency, would also have a substantial chilling effect on
the dissemination of material that is not indecent. Amici
believe that such a ban violates the First Amendment
rights not only of the producers and distributors of such
materials but also of the adult audiences that they serve.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

Section 223(b) is unconstitutional because it totally
bans protected speech. Under current law, obscenity is
not protected, but this Court has repeatedly made clear
that the First Amendment protects indecent, non-obscene
speech. It is equally clear that government cannot impose

10 See page 28 infra.

11 As this Court noted in Cohen v. California, 403 U.S. 15, 25
(1971), “one man’s vulgarity is another’s lyric.”

a blanket ban on protected speech and thus “reduce the
adult population” to seeing and hearing “only what is
fit for children.” Butler v. Michigan, 352 U.S. 380, 383
(1957). Congress’ determination that a total ban is nec-
essary cannot prevent this Court from examining the
strength and legitimacy of the asserted governmental
interest.

In fact, this statute rests on an impermissible govern-
mental objective. The government’s sole legitimate in-
terest in regulating indecent speech is, at most, to assist
parents in supervising their children, not to supersede
parental authority entirely. A variety of mechanisms
are available to assist such parental supervision. Thus,
in broadcasting, indecency may be regulated through
channeling broadcasts to hours when most parents are
able to supervise their children; in cable, parents must
initially choose to subscribe to a particular service, and,
if they choose to subscribe, may use lockboxes to screen
material they believe their children should not watch;
and in print, the sale of indecent materials to minors
may be barred because that bar does not block adult
access to the material. In the telephone medium, blocking
devices, scrambling, and access codes promote the same
goal of parental choice. However, the government can-
not go so far as to ban adult access entirely, as prior
cases have uniformly held.

The indecency standard incorporated by the statute is
also unconstitutionally vague and overbroad. The Com-
mission has ruled that it will apply in the telephone con-
text the same generic definition of indecency that it now
applies in broadcasting. In contrast to the prevailing
rule with respect to obscenity, the serious literary, ar-
tistic, political, and scientific value of the speech does not
bar a finding that it is indecent. Nor is it necessary that
the material appeal to the prurient interest. The Com-
mission has declined to provide any meaningful illumina-
tion of this standard, but has left electronic publishers to
interpret it at their peril. The vagueness and over-
breadth of this standard chills speech that is fully pro-

7

tected by the First Amendment, including news, public
affairs, information, drama, satire, and artistic expres-
sion of great value to the adult audience.

ARGUMENT
INTRODUCTION

Before the blanket ban on telephone indecency (the
“Bliley-Helms Amendment”)'? was enacted, the Commis-
sion sought to regulate indecency in the telephone me-
dium through the use of access codes, scrambling, block-
ing devices, and other mechanisms that facilitate parental
choice."* Despite the existence of these mechanisms, Con-
gress in April 1988 imposed a blanket ban on the dissem-
ination of telephone indecency, and thereafter took the
same action for the broadcast medium."* These amici
urge that the blanket ban on telephone indecency, like
any other blanket ban on indecent speech, is unconstitu-
tional both because it totally bans protected speech and
because the definition of indecency is unconstitutionally
overbroad and vague.'®

12 Augustus F. Hawkins-Robert T. Stafford Elementary and Sec-
ondary School Improvement Amendments of 1988, Pub. L. No. 100-
297, § 6101, 102 Stat. 423 (1988).

18 The permissibility and adequacy of these various regulations
have been extensively litigated. See Carlin Communications, Inc. v.
FCC, 837 F.2d 546 (2d Cir.) (upholding regulations involving access
codes, scrambling, and credit card payments insofar as they con-
cerned obscenity), cert. denied, 109 S. Ct. 305 (1988); Carlin Com-
munications, Inc. v. FCC, 787 F.2d 846 (2d Cir. 1986) (setting aside
regulation involving weeess codes with respect to the New York
Telephone Company system because there was no evidence that
access codes were technically feasible on that system and were the
least restrictive means to limit minors’ access); Carlin Communi-
cations, Inc. v. FCC, 749 F.2d 113 (2d Cir. 1984) (setting aside
regulation involving time channeling and credit card payments).

14 See note 7 supra.
15 This brief does not address the question whether FCC vr.
Pacifica Foundation, 438 U.S. 726 (1978), was correctly decided.

In this connection, we note that the Second Circuit has held that
no regulation of indecency is permissible in the telephone medium,

I. INDECENT SPEECH IS PROTECTED BY THE
FIRST AMENDMENT.

Although the government does not say so explicitly, the
premise of its argument supporting the ban on indecent
telephone speech is that the First Amendment does not
protect indecency.'® In this respect, the government’s ar-
gument is fatally flawed. Under current law, the First
Amendment does not protect obscene speech.'" But it has
long been clear that ‘indecent,” non-obscene speech is
protected.

This Court has repeatedly recognized that the protec-
tions of the First Amendment extend to indecency. For
example, in Bantam Books, Inc. v. Sullivan, the Court
held unconstitutional a state law regulating indecent and
other speech “manifestly tending to [contribute] to the
corruption of the youth” because the law “provide|d] no
safeguards whatever against the suppression of non-
obscene, and therefore constitutionally protected, mat-
ter.” '* In Cohen v. California, this Court invalidated a
conviction imposed for wearing a jacket bearing a four-
letter word in a courthouse corridor because the speech
was protected and could not be suppressed.” More re-
cently, in Bolger v. Youngs Drug Products Corp., the
Court invalidated a ban on mailing advertisements for
contraceptives, holding that the material was protected
and that “|tihe level of discourse reaching a mailbox
simply cannot be limited to that which would be suitable

even that designed to aid parental supervision. Carlin Communica-
tions, Inc., 837 F.2d at 558-60. This question need not be reached
here to invalidate the present legislation.

16 See Gov't Br. at 25. That position is taken explicitly by a
number of the amici supporting the government. See Brief of
Morality In Media, Inc. as Amicus Curiae at 10-16; Brief Amici
Curiae of Citizens for Decency Through Law, Inc., et al. at 7-17.

1? Miller v. California, 413 U.S. 15, 23 (1973).
18 372 U.S. 58, 70 (1963) (emphasis supplied).
19 403 U.S, 15 (1971).

9

for a sandbox.” * Only last term in Hustler Magazine v.
Falwell, the Court unanimously held that an offensive
political cartoon using sexual innuendo was protected by
the First Amendment.”

In FCC v. Pacifica Foundation;* upon which the gov-
ernment places primary reliance,” this Court, while sus-
taining channeling, also held that the First Amendment
protects indecent broadcasts. In his dissent, Justice Bren-
nan commented on the Court’s “unanimous agreement
that the Carlin monologue is protected speech.” ** In his
plurality opinion, Justice Stevens noted that indecent
speech, while subject to channeling in the broadcast me-
dium, is “not entirely outside the protection of the First
Amendment.” * And in his concurrence, Justice Powell
explicitly stated his view that the First Amendment pro-
tects indecent speech. He noted that, except in the con-
text of commercial speech, the Court is not “free gen-
erally to decide on the basis of its content which speech
protected by the First Amendment is most ‘valuable’ and
hence deserving of the most protection, and which is less
‘valuable’ and hence deserving of less protection.” *

*° 463 U.S. 60, 74 (1983).

21 108 S. Ct. 876 (1988). As this Court has noted:

The portrayal of sex, e.g. in art, literature and scientific
works, is not itself sufficient reason to deny material the con-
stitutional protection of freedom of speech and press. Sex, a
great and mysterious motive force in human life, has indis-
putably been a subject of absorbing interest to mankind
through the ages; it is one of the vital problems of human
interest and public concern.

Roth v. United States, 354 U.S. 476, 487 (1957) (footnote omitted) ;

see also Erznoanik v. City of Jacksonville, 422 U.S. 205 (1975);

Papish v. Board of Curators, 410 U.S. 667 (1973) (per curiam).

22 438 U.S. 726 (1978).

28 See Gov't Br. at 25.

* Pacifica, 438 U.S. at 763 (Brennan, J., dissenting).
28 Jd. at 746 (plurality opinion).

28 Jd. at 761 & n.3 ( Powell, J., concurring).

aa a ae

He
re a5 Hil

ih

ai

—>

mite

fi

ii
{!

Te

ggekty

# 4agi{u!
Bee sf34]

i

afi

F

.-

Hit

Ht

Z

:

EE
=68

i

iat

12

The cases cited by «he government do not support its
argument.** Ever since Marbury v. Madison,” this Court
has made clear that the courts must independently inter-
pret the Constitution. Nor is a congressional determina-
tion as to the need for legislation to be given weight
where the government seeks to suppress speech under the
First Amendment. This rule dates back to Justice
Brandeis’ concurrence in Whitney v. California.“ Ad-
dressing a statute barring the ad~ocacy of criminal syn-
dicalism, Justice Brandeis stated that:

This legislative declaration . . . does not preclude
enquiry into the question whether, at the time and
under the circumstances, the conditions existed
which are essential to validity under the Federal
Constitution. . . . Whenever the fundamental rights
of free speech and assembly are alleged to have been
invaded, it must remain open to a defendant to pre-
sent the issue whether there actually did exist at the
time a clear danger; whether the danger, if any, was
imminent; and whether the evi! apprehended was

36 The government’s cases are not remotely on point. See Walters
v. National Ass'n of Radiation Survivors, 473 U.S. 305, 330-31 n.12
(1985) (upholding statutory limitation on attorneys’ fees in benefit
cases before the Veterans’ Administration, and noting that in reach-
ing that conclusion the Court “need not rely on” Congress’ findings
on the question); Rostker v. Goldberg, 453 U.S. 57, 64 (1981)
(sustaining statute excluding women from registering for the
draft as not a violation of due process, relying on congressional
findings because of “Congress’ authority over national defense and
military affairs” ).

Ginsberg v. New York, 290 U.S. 629 (1968), does not hold that
deference to legislative judgments is appropriate in First Amend-
ment cases. That case held only that, because “obscenity is not pro-
tected expression,” sustaining the statute at issue there “require[d]
only that we be able to say that it was not irrational for the legisla-
ture to find that exposure to material condemned by the statute is
harmful to minors.” /d. at 641.

375 U.S. (1 Cranch) 137 (1803).

38 974 U.S. 357 (1927, (Brandeis, J., joined by Holmes, J., con-
curring).

13

one so substantial as to justify the stringent restric-
tion interposed by the legislature.”

The Supreme Court has reaffirmed the rule in more re-
cent cases. In Landmark Communications, Inc. v. Vir-
ginia, the Court stated that “[d]eference to a legislative
finding cannot limit judicial inquiry when First Amend-
ment rights are at stake,” *’ and explained that “|wlere
it otherwise, the scope of freedom of speech and of the
press would be subject to legislative definition and the
function of the First Amendment as a check on legisla-
tive power would be nullified.” *

In any event, Congress has made no finding in enact-
ing the blanket ban on telephone indecency that such a
ban is necessary to achieve a constitutional objective. The
primary focus of the legislative history of the Bliley-
Helms Amendment insofar as it concerns indecency was
the desire to prevent all children from hearing material
deemed to be “indecent.” ** That is not a legitimate gov-
ernmental objective.

39 Jd. at 378-79 (Brandeis, J., joined by Holmes, J., concurring).
40 435 U.S. 829, 843 (1978).

41Jd. at 844; see also City of Los Angeles v. Preferred Com-
munications, Inc., 476 U.S. 488, 496 (1986) (“Where a law is
subjected to a colorable First Amendment challenge, the rule of
rationality which will sustain legislation against other constitutional
challenges typically does not have the same controlling force.”) ;
Bose Corp. v. Consumers Union, 466 U.S. 485, 505 (1984) (in First
Amendment cases, the Court “has regularly conducted an independ-
ent review of the record both to be sure that the speech in question
actually falls within the unprotected category and to confine the
perimeters of any unprotected category within acceptably narrow
limits in an effort to ensure that protected expression will not be
inhibited”). In the broadcast medium, courts pay close attention
to what Congress has done, but are not required to defer to con-
gressional judgments. See, e.g., Columbia Broadcasting Sys. v.
Democratic Nat'l Comm., 412 U.S. 94, 102-03 (1973).

42 See, e.g., 134 Cong. Rec. H1690-91 (daily ed. Apr. 19, 1988)
(remarks of Rep. Bliley); 133 Cong. Rec. 816,794-96 (daily ed.
Dec. 1, 1987) (remarks of Sen. Helms).

14

In the area of indecency, the only arguably legitimate
governmental purpose is to aid parents in supervising
their children. This Court has noted that the “primary
role of the parents in the upbringing of their children is
now established beyond debate as an enduring American
tradition.” ** In the broadcast medium, that purpose is
achieved by the channeling of indecent speech to protect
“unsupervised children.” ‘* The government’s role is thus
limited to “facilitat{ing] parental supervision of chil-
dren’s listening.” *

In cable too, the sole government interest lies at most
in assisting parents in supervising their children. The
cases have emphasized the parental manageability of cable
television, explaining that:

(Pjarents must decide whether to allow Cablevision
into the home. Parents decide whether to select sup-
plementary programming services. .. . Those serv-
ices publish programming guides which identify
programs containing “vulgarity,” “nudity,” and “vio-
lence.” Additionally, parents may obtain a “lock-
box” or “parental key” device enabling parents to
prevent children from gaining access to “objection-
able’ channels of programming.”

43 Wisconsin v. Yoder, 406 U.S. 205, 232 (1972); see also Bolger,
463 U.S. at 73-75.

44 Pacifica, 438 U.S. at 757 (Powell, J., concurring) (emphasis
supplied). While this Court in Pacifica relied in part on the argu-
ment that adults should also be protected from indecent material,
438 U.S. at 748-49, the Court has since disavowed this rationale,
see Bolger, 463 U.S. at 71-72. In Pacifica, Justice Powell relied
heavily on Judge Leventhal’s thoughtful dissenting opinion in the
court of appeals, 438 U.S. at 757 n.1 (Powell, J. concurring), which
likewise turned on the assumption that channeling is appropriate
to enable adult supervision, Pacifica Found. v. FCC, 556 F.2d 9,
32-36 (D.C. Cir. 1977) (Leventhal, J., dissenting). Judge Leven-
thal concluded that the Commission could “assist parents in their
protection of young children.” Jd. at 37 (Leventhal, J., dissenting).

45 ACT, 852 F.2d at 1343.

46 Cruz, 755 F.2d at 1420; see also Community Television of Utah,
Inc., 555 F. Supp. at 1172 (noting “the responsibility of a parent to
oversee the development of his child”).

15

In cable, courts have also made clear that “parents [must
be allowed] to provide materials for their children that
the children themselves cannot purchase... .”

So too, in reviewing statutes regulating the display of
books and magazines, this Court has consistently reaf-
firmed the role of parental choice. In Ginsberg v. New
York,** the opinion made clear that “constitutional inter-
pretation has consistently recognized that the parents’
claim to authority in their own household to direct
the rearing of their children is basic in the structure of
our society.” *” Explaining that laws prohibiting the dis-
tribution to minors of material that is obscene as to them
“aid discharge” of parents’ “primary responsibility for
children’s well-being,” *’ the Court went on to note ap-
provingly that “the prohibition against sales to minors
does not bar parents who so desire from purchasing the
magazines for their children.” *'

The authorities have consistently rejected a blanket
ban as neither necessary nor appropriate to aid parental
supervision.”» The government has not shown why the
fundamental role of parents in making choices for their
children, and in deciding how to raise their children, is
suddenly rendered irrelevant when the medium is the
telephone instead of broadcasting, cable, or print.

47 Community Television of Utah, Inc. v. Wilkinson, 611 F. Supp.
1099, 1115 (D. Utah 1985), aff'd sub nom. Jones v. Wilkinson, 800
F.2d 989 (10th Cir. 1986) (per curiam), aff'd, 480 U.S. 926 (1987)
(mem.).

#8 390 U.S. 629 (1968).
#9 Jd. at 639.
5° Td.

51 Jd. We note that parental choice is also facilitated in movie
theaters through the movie ratings system.

52 Bethel School District No. 403 v. Fraser, 478 U.S. 675 (1986),
does not support a contrary view, since the holding in that case
rests on the need for school officials to prevent disruption of the
school’s educational mission by indecent speech.

16

In seeking to justify the blanket ban, the government
suggests that Congress did act to support the role of
parental choice, and relies on a supposed congressional
determination that a total ban was necessary for that
purpose.” As we have already noted, such a congres-
sional finding would be entitled to no weight in the First
Amendment area,“ and in fact no such finding was
made here. There appears to be only a single sentence
in the legislative history addressing the question whether
parental supervision is sufficient. It appears in a legal
memorandum submitted by Citizens for Decency Through
Law which urged that it was a “virtual impossibility for
parents to monitor [telephone] use.” The government
nonetheless attempts to suggest that there was a con-
gressional finding that “neither access codes nor scram-
bling nor any other device so far developed can enable
parents to prevent children’s access.” The government
thus seeks to craft an elaborate and wholly speculative
rationale for totally banning indecent material to sup-
port parental choice.

There are a range of approaches to aiding parental
choice. The government is at a loss to explain why block-
ing devices, scrambling, and access codes,’ like channel-

53 Gov't Br. at 29-30.
54 See pages 12-13 supra.

55134 Cong. Rec. $4381 (daily ed. Apr. 20, 1988) (legal memo-
randum of Citizens for Decency Through Law) (footnote omitted).
The record also contains statements that children had secured
access. See, e.g., 133 Cong. Rec. 8$16,794-95 (daily ed. Dec. 1,
1987) (remarks of Sen. Helms). There is no suggestion that they
did so in circumstances where blocking, access codes, or scrambling
had been used to prevent it.

56 Gov't Br. at 30.

57 The Commission has specifically ruled that scrambling is an
“effective alternative method” of restricting minors’ access to tele-
phone services. Enforcement of Prohibitions Against the Use of
Common Carriers for the Transmission of Obscene Materials, 2
FCC Red 2714, 2720, stay denied, 2 FCC Red 3672 (1987), aff'd sub
nom. Carlin Communications, Inc. v. FCC, 837 F.2d 546 (2d Cir.),
cert. denied, 109 S. Ct. 305 (1988). The Commission also approved

17

ling in broadeasting, subscriptions and lockboxes in cable,
and prohibitions on the sale of printed materials to
minors, deo not allow parents to prevent their children
from having access to indecent telephone messages at
home if the parents choose to do so.*

However, the government urges that some “ ‘enter-
prising minors’” ” could evade their parents’ determina-
tion to deny access to indecent telephone services by visit-
ing a home at which parents had made a contrary deter-
mination.” But this argument is equally applicable to
every other medium of communications. A child whose
parents had determined not to buy a particular publi-
cation, not to subscribe to ‘or to lock out) a particular
cable service, or not to permit the viewing of a particular
television or radio program could visit a home where the
parents had made a contrary decision. Thus, the govern-
ment’s argument here amounts to nothing less than an
argument that speech characterized as “indecent” can be
denied entirely to the adult audience in every medium of
communications because of the possibility that some lim-
ited number of children, contrary to their parents’ wishes
and directions, could secure access to it. This theory
wholly loses sight of the importance of preserving adult
aecess to protected material.

requiring message providers to implement an access code system,
under which codes would be assigned only after an individual has
submitted a written application containing proof that he is an adult.
Id. at 2715, 2720. The Commission earlier approved prepayment by
credit card as well. Jd. at 2715. This case does not present issues
as to the permissibility or feasibility of requiring particular mecha-
nisms.

58 Gov't Br. at 30.

59 Jd. at 10, 35 (quoting Enforcement of Prohibitions Against
the Use of Common Carriers for the Transmission of Obscene
Materials, 50 Fed. Reg. 42,699, 42,706 n.54 (1985), rev'd, Carlin
Communications, Inc. v. FCC, 787 F.2d 846 (2d Cir. 1986) ).

© If blocking mechanisms are in place, such material would not
be available from pay telephones.

18

As we have indicated," the courts have consistently
rejected this position and invalidated blanket bans, and
this Court has done so explicitly in the Bolger® and
Butler ™ cases. While the government is correct that
Pacifica did not directly decide the specific question of
whether a “safe harbor” was constitutionally required,”
Pacifica approved only the Commission’s notion of chan-
neling broadcast speech.” The necessary implication of
the Court’s conclusion that indecency is protected speech
is that a blanket ban is unconstitutional. Similarly, in
those limited areas where other regulation of indecent
speech has been permitted, this Court has approved it
only where it did not have the “effect of suppressing, or
greatly restricting access to, lawful speech” within the
particular medium.”

Until now, this has been the view of those charged
with enforcing the statute as well. In stark contrast to
their present position, both the Commission and the
Department of Justice in the past repeatedly emphasized
that a_blanket ban on indecent speech would be uncon-
stitutional. In rejecting a proposal for an absolute ban
on broadcast indecency, the Commission stated:

*! See page 11 supra.

82 See Bolger v. Youngs Drug Prods. Corp., 463 U.S. 60 (1983);
see also Rowan v. United States Post Office Dep't, 397 U.S. 728,
738 (1970) (upholding statute under which a person offended by
advertisements sent through the mail can require that the mailer
cease mailing such advertising so as not to “risk that offensive ma-
terial come into the hands of his children’).

63 Butler v. Michigan, 352 U.S. 380 (1957).
*4 Pacifica, 438 U.S. at 750 n.28.
65 Jd. at 750; id. at 757 ( Powell, J., concurring).

66 Young v. American Mini Theatres Inc., 427 U.S. 50, 71 n.35
(1976) (plurality opinion); see also Schad v. Borough of Mt.
Ephraim, 452 U.S. 61, 74 (1981).

19

The unqualified reading of Section 1464 pressed by
{Morality In Media], under which the broadcast of
indecent material would be prohibited altogether
would, we believe, run afoul of this constitutional
premise.”

Testifying in 1987, the FCC’s General Counsel empha-
sized that “legal precedent suggests that government reg-
ulation in this area cannot go so far as to altogether ban
its dissemination to consenting adults.” * Thereafter, in
response to written questions from Congressman Thomas
J. Bliley, Jr., the sponsor of the legislation, she noted
that “in both broadcasting and dial-a-porn services, the
Commission has consistently regarded a total ban on the
dissemination of indecent, but not obscene, material to
be beyond the bounds permitted by Pacifica.” ® So too,
the spokesman for the Department of Justice testified
that he was “of the opinion that an outright ban of
indecent dial-a-porn messages would likely be found un-
constitutional by the courts.” ® President Reagan, in a
signing statement accompanying the legislation, also
noted that “current Supreme Court jurisprudence is un-
friendly to parts of this bill.” ™

67 Infinity Broadcasting Corp. of Pennsylvania, 3 FCC Red 930,
931 (1987) (footnotes omitted) (emphasis supplied), vacated in
part and remanded sub nom. Action for Children’s Television v.
FCC, 852 F.2d 1332 (D.C. Cir. 1988).

68 1987 Hearings at 212 (testimony of FCC General Counsel) ;
see also Cable-Porn and Dial-a-Porn Control Act: Hearing on S.
1090 Before the Subcomm. on Criminal Law of the Senate Comm.
on the Judiciary, 99th Cong., Ist Sess. 16 (1985).

69 1987 Hearings at 246 (letter from FCC General Counsel) ;
see also id. at 255 (“any attempts to prohibit consenting adults
from receiving indecent but not obscene speech would be uncon-
stitutional) (letter from FCC General Counsel).

70 Jd. at 258 (letter from U.S. Attorney Brent D. Ward).

71 Remarks on Signing the Augustus F. Hawkins-Robert T.
Stafford Elementary and Secondary School Improvement Amend-
ments of 1988, 24 Weekly Comp. Pres. Doc. 541 (Apr. 28, 1988).

20

It is no answer to suggest, as the government tries to
do in its brief, that because “[a]dults remain free to
purchase recordings containing the identical messages at
book or record stores,” they are not denied access to
this material. If-a blanket ban is constitutional in one
medium, the government would no doubt argue that it
would be valid in other media as well. In any event, the
Court made clear long ago that free speech may not be
“abridged on the plea that it may be exercised in some
other place.” * Nor is it an answer to suggest that adult
access is not denied because messages conveyed through
the use of indecent speech can instead be conveyed
through the use of less offensive speech.** This Court
made clear in Cohen v. California that many messages
cannot in fact be conveyed in different words or forms
because “words are often chosen as much for their
emotive as their cognitive force.” It concluded that
“l'wle cannot sanction the view that the Constitution,
while solicitous of the cognitive content of individual
speech, has little or no regard for that emotive function
which, practically speaking, may often be the more
important element of the overall message sought to be
communicated.” ‘®

72 Gov’t Br. at 34.

73 Schneider v. State, 308 U.S. 147, 163 (1939); see also Bolger,
463 U.S. at 69-70 n.18; Consolidated Edison Co. v. Public Serv.
Comm'n, 447 U.S. 530, 541 n.10 (1980). Although the Court in
Pacifica noted that “[a]dults who feel the need may purchase tapes
and records or go to theaters and nightclubs to hear these words.”
438 U.S. at 750 n.28, the Court was obviously referring to the
broadcast of prerecorded material. Large quantities of material
that may be deemed to be indecent but that may not be prerecorded
—such as original programming and news —are available only
through the free medium of broadcasting. That people may be
able to purchas. different “offensive” material elsewhere is there-
fore constitutionally irrelevant.

74 Gov’t Br. at 25 n.16 (quoting Pacifica, 438 U.S. at 743 n.18
(plurality opinion) ).
75 403 U.S. 15, 26 (1971).

76 Jd.: see also San Francisco Arts & Athletics, Inc. v. United
States Olympic Comm., 107 S. Ct. 2971, 2978 (1987). In Justice

21

In short, indecent speech cannot be treated as though
it were the equivalent of obscenity and banned entirely.

Ill. THE TERM “INDECENT” IN SECTION 223(b) IS
UNCONSTITUTIONALLY VAGUE AND OVER-
BROAD.

If this Court were to invalidate the blanket ban on
indecent telephone communications, it would not need to
reach the questions concerning the Commission’s under-
lving indecency enforcement standard. If this Court
does reach that issue, we urge that the Commission’s
indecency enforcement standard is_ unconstitutionally
vague and overbroad.

The Supreme Court has repeatedly held that laws
seeking to regulate speech on the basis of its content must
be clear and precise so that those subject to regulation
are given adequate notice, and so that the regulation does
not cause speakers to “ ‘steer far wider of the unlawful
zone.” ™? “{A] governmental purpose to control or pre-
vent activities constitutionally subject to state regulation
may not be achieved by means wh:ch sweep unnecessarily
broadly and thereby invade the area of protected free-
doms.” * Precision is especially important where, as
here, criminal sanctions may be imposed for violation of
the statute.”

Stevens’ plurality opinion in Pacifica, he stated “[a] requirement
that indecent language be avoided will have its primary effect on
the form, rather than the content, of serious communication. There
are few, if any, thoughts that cannot be expressed by the use of
less offensive language.” 438 U.S. at 743 n.18 (plurality opin-
ion). This would appear to be directly contrary to the Court’s
holding in Cohen. In any event, the current indecency ban goes
much further than a ban on the repetitive use of the “seven dirty
words.”

7 New York Times Co. v. Sullivan, 376 U.S. 254, 279 (1964)
(quoting Speiser v. Randall, 357 U.S. 513, 526 (1958)); see Hynes
v. Mayor of Oradell, 425 U.S. 610, 620 (1975); Grayned v. City
of Rockford, 408 U.S. 104, 108-09 (1972).

78 NAACP v. Alabawaa, 377 U.S. 288, 307 (1964).

7 Kolender v. Lawson, 461 U.S. 352, 357 (1983); Smith v.
Gequen, 415 U.S. 566, 574 (1974); Papachristou v. City of Jack-

22

So far as we are aware, none of the federal statutes
prohibiting indecent speech has ever contained any defini-
tion of indecency,’ and there is no commonly accepted
definition of that term. Federal court decisions before
Pacifica struggled with the interpretation of the term
“indecent,” but none of them articulated a separate def-
inition of indecency.*' Indeed, before Pacifica the Com-
mission agreed that “ ‘indecency’ in 18 U.S.C. § 1464 had
never been construed authoritatively by the federal
th...

Like Congress and the courts, the Commission has had
substantial difficulty defining indecency. Before 1975, in
applying Section 1464, the Commission articulated a
definition of indecency as material that “is patently of-
fensive by contemporary community standards and ut-
terly without redeeming social value,” “ a definition quite
similar to the definition of obscenity except that appeal
to the prurient interest was not required. In the 1975
Pacifica case, the Commission articulated a new, and
seemingly broader, definition of indecency as “language
that describes, in terms patently offensive as measured
by contemporary community standards for the broadcast

sonville, 405 U.S. 156, 162 (1972). We note that the Court in
Pacifica expressly declined to “consider any question relating to the
possible application of § 1464 as a criminal statute.” 438 U.S. at
739 n.15, .ee also id. at 747 n.25 (plurality opinion) ; id. at 750.

80 See, e.g., 18 U.S.C. § 1464; 47 U.S.C. §223(b). The term
“indecent” in other federal statutes has been construed to be the
same as “obseere.” See Hamling v. United States, 418 U.S. 87, 110-
16 (1974); United States v. 12 200-ft. Reels of Super 8mm Film,
413 U.S. 123, 130 n.7 (1973); Roth v. United States, 354 U.S. 476,
491 (1957).

81 See, e.g., United States v. Simpson, 561 F.2d 23 (7th Cir.
1977); Tallman v. United States, 465 F.2d 282 (7th Cir. 1972);
Gagliardo v. United States, 366 F.2d 720, 725-26 (9th Cir. 1966).

82 Brief for Petitioner at 22, FCC v. Pacifica Found., 438 U.S.
726 (1978); see Citizens Complaint Against Pacifica Found., 56
F.C.C.2d 94, 97 (1975).

83 Fastern Educ. Radio (WUHY-FM), 24 F.C.C.2d 408, 413
(1970).

23

medium, sexual or excretory activities and organs... .”’ *
The existence of “social value’ was no longer sufficient
to render the material not indecent. On review, the court
of appeals found that definition to be unconstitutiorally
vague and overbroad.”

The Supreme Court did not reach this question or
approve the broad standard articulated by the Commis-
sion, but only its application to the particular broadcast
—a George Carlin monologue involving repeated use of
the “seven dirty words.” * Justice Stevens noted for the
majority that the “‘Court . . . reviews judgments, not
statements in opinions.’’’*’ He went on to explain that
in the Commission’s opinion “questions concerning pos-
sible action in other contexts were expressly reserved for
the future,” and he declined to consider the broader
question of the constitutionality of the standard.* In his
plurality opinion, he stated that the Court’s “review is
limited to the question whether the Commission has the
authority to proscribe this particular broadcast.” ” And
Justice Powell agreed in a separate concurring opinion
that the Court has appropriately refused to consider the
overbreadth challenge because “the Commission’s order
was limited to the facts of this case.” *' In the Commis-

84 Pacifica, 56 F.C.C.2d at 98.

85 Pacifica, 556 F.2d 9 (D.C. Cir. 1977).

86 Pacifica, 438 U.S. at 742-43 (plurality opinion).

87 Jd. at 734 (quoting Black v. Cutter Laboratories, 351 U.S. 292,
297 (1956) ).

88 Jd.

89 Jd. at 742-43 (plurality opinien). The Commission urged that
the Court need not pass on the constitutionality of its generic
definition because the Commission had addressed only the limited
question of whether the particular broadcast was indecent and had
not passed on the question of whether other material cited by the
broadcasters in the case would be considered to be indecent. See
Brief for Petitioner at 41-48, FCC v. Pacifica Found., 438 U.S.
726 (1978).

Pacifica, 438 U.S. at 742 (plurality opinion).

*1 Jd. at 761 n.4 (Powell, J., concurring); see also id. at 755-56
(Powell, J., concurring).

24

sion rulings that followed over the next decade, the
agency adopted a narrow construction of its 1975 stand-
ard, limiting it to material similar to the Carlin mono-
logue.”

In sharp contrast to this limited approach, the Com-
mission in 1987 determined to regulate indecency more
broadly.* While purporting to adhere to the “patently
offensive” definition articulated in the Commission’s 1975
Pacifica decision, it effectively articulated a new stand-
ard, and made clear that it will no longer confine
indecency to the repetitive use of the “seven dirty words.”
The Commission also warned broadcasters generally that
they must interpret and apply its broad new standard or
face the possibility of sanctions, including the denial of
license renewal.”

The Commission has made clear that it intends to
apply this generic definition to telephone indecency as
well. On June 1, 1987, barely one month after articu-
lating the definition in the broadcasting area, the FCC’s
General Counsel reiterated that the Commission would
apply the broadeast standard in the telephone context.
She stated that while the “definition of indecency was
developed in the broadcast context,” * the Commission

% See, e.g., Pacifica Found., 95 F.C.C.2d 750 (1983) (finding
morning announcer’s use of several of “seven dirty words” not to
be indecent; WGBH Educ. Found., 69 F.C.C.2d 1250 (1978) (finding
not to be indecent television broadcasts dealing with “scatology, im-
modesty, vulgarity, nudity, profanity, and sacrilege”); see also
Decency in Broadcasting, Inc., 94 F.C.C.2d 1162 (1983).

93% nfinity Broadcasting Corp. of Pennsylvania, 3 FCC Red 930
(1987).

*% The failure to comply with Commission requirements always
presents the risk of loss of license and a ban on all further publica-
tion, a penalty which cannot be imposed on any other publisher.

% 1987 Hearings at 211 (testimony of FCC General Counsel) ;
see also Enforcement of Prohibitions Against the Use of Common
Carriers for the Transmission of Obscene Materials, 2 FCC Red
3672, 3673-74 (1987) (indicating that broadcast definition would
be applied).

25

has “been using this definition in determining which
dial-it messages appear to be indecent under current
Section 223.”

Congress in enacting the Bliley-Helms Amendment also
apparently contemplated use of this expanded indecency
standard. Senator Helms, sponsor of the 1988 amend-
ment in the Senate, made clear that the Commission’s
new interpretation of the broadcast indecency standard
was to continue to govern,” and subsequent to the en-
actment of the amendment, the Commission has continued
to apply its broadcast definition in the telephone context.”

On its face and stripped of the earlier construction
which limited the standard to repetitive use of the “seven
dirty words,” the definition of indecency is inherently
unclear. The Commission’s various opinions in this mat-
ter have only added to the confusion. Purporting to pro-
vide guidance, the Commission has stated that material
must not be “ ‘vulgar’ or ‘shocking,’” that “the manner
in which the language or depictions are portrayed” is
important,” that “material [that is] isolated or fleeting”’
may be acceptable,’ and that indecency “requires careful
consideration of context.”

The problem of vagueness has been seriously com-
pounded by the Commission’s specific statements that two

% 1987 Hearings at 212 (testimony of FCC General Counsel).

°7 133 Cong. Rec. $16,794 (daily ed. Dec. 1, 1987) (remarks of
Sen. Helms).

%8 Citing its 1987 broadcast decisions, the Commission has ex-
plained that it “believe[s] that the legislative history reveals that
Congress intended the term ‘indecent’ to be defined as that term
was defined in an analogous context in 18 U.S.C. § 1464.” Inter-
cambio, Inc., 64 Rad. Reg. 2d (P&F) 1663, 1678 (1988) (footnote
omitted); accord Audio Enterprises, Inc., 64 Rad. Reg. 2d (P&F)
1681, 1695 (1988).

% Infinity Broadcasting Corp. of Pennsylvania, 3 FCC Red at
932 (footnote omitted).

100 Jd. (footnote omitted).
101 Jd. (footnote omitted).

26

prongs of the Miller standard for obscenity have been
made inapplicable.’’? Thus, the material need not appeal
to the prurient interest and, most important, it may still
be deemed indecent even though it has serious literary,
artistic, political, or scientific value. The Commission’s
inability to define the role of serious merit has been par-
ticularly troublesome. The Commission has stated that
serious merit “is simply one of many variables, and it
would give this particular variable undue importance if
we were to single it out for greater weight or attention
than we give other variables.” The significance of
“serious merit” is not further explained, nor are parties
informed of what the other variables are. The Commis-
sion’s interpretation is all the more confusing because it
casts doubt on the very materials that the Commission
once approved and on the rulings that broadcasters have
been relying on for guidance for years.’

Indeed, the Commission appears to have concluded that
it is simply impossible to provide meaningful guidance
as to this shifting and elusive standard. The Commis-
sion stated that the term “patently offensive” must be
‘construled| ... with reference to specific facts,” ’ that
“its meaning can only be given greater specificity on a
case-by-case basis,” ** and that “we cannot list any par-
ticular language or material that will always be found
indecent.” *** Yet, the Commission has directed those

102 See 1987 Hearings at 211 (testimony of FCC General Counsel).
As the FCC’s General Counsel testified in the course of the legis-
lative history:

{Ijndecency is essentially sexually explicit speech that need
satisfy only the second prong of the three prong obscenity test;
that is, it need not appeal to the prurient interest nor lack
social, artistic, political or scientific value.

103 Infinity Broadcasting Corp. of Pennsylvania, 3 FCC Red at 932.

104 See cases cited in note 92 supra.

105 Infinity Broadcasting Corp. of Pennsylvania, 3 FCC Red at
932.

106 Jd.

107 Jd. at 937 n.28.

27

subject to its regulation to interpret and apply the new
standard:

They must apply a generic definition with reference
to the guidance provided by existing case law on the
matter. [They! may not reasonably expect to relieve
themselves of this legal obligation by demanding that
we exercise their editorial judgment for them.'’*

The Commission has acknowledged that the task con-
fronting broadcasters in particular is not an “easy one”
given the lack of an accepted definition or further guid-
ance from the Commission.’” It is readily apparent, as
the District of Columbia Circuit found in ACT, that
“vagueness is inherent” in this definition of indecency.'”
The Commission has thus failed to provide adequate
guidance as to the meaning of indecency and has ren-
dered “principled review” by the courts impossible.'™

Despite the government’s suggestion that the burden of
this vagueness will fall on pornography,’ the burden in
fact will fall heavily on protected speech.'*® The Com-
mission has stated specifically that the indecency ban
applies to the broadcast of news programs.’ And the

108 Jd. at 932.

109 Jd. at 933.

110 852 F.2d at 1344. That court held (we believe incorrectly)
that this Court’s decision in Pacifica prevented it from ruling that
tue Commission’s standard is unconstitutionally vague, and “wel-
come[d] correction” from “Higher Authority.” Jd. at 1339.

111 Compare Meredith Corp. v. FCC, 809 F.2d 863, 871 n.9 (D.C.
Cir. 1987) (“[WJe note our reluctance as a prudential matter to
delve into [Commission] determinations that do not readily lend
themselves to principled review’’.).

112 See Gov't Br. at 33.

113 This is in direct contrast to the Commission's earlier limited
application of the standard to the repetitive use of the seven dirty
words, which this Court found would deter “only the broadcasting
of patently offensive references to excretory and sexual organs and
activities.” Pacifica, 438 U.S. at 743 (plurality opinion) (footnote
omitted).

114 Infinity Broadcasting Corp. of Pennsylvania, 3 FCC Red at
937 n.31.

28

Commission’s indecency cases have involved a range of
material, including social satire,'’® political advertising,'’®
informational programs,'" classic works of literature,’**
modern drama addressing social issues,''? and motion pic-
tures.'*” To be sure, not all of these cases resulted in a
ruling that the material was indecent within the mean-
ing of Section 1464. But even in those cases in which
the Commission ruled that the material was not indecent,
its rulings had a particularly grudging quality and were
unlikely to give much clarity or comfort to those attempt-
ing to construe the definition in similar situations.

The Commission’s finding that the broadeast of ex-
cerpts from Ulysses would not be indecent exemplifies
the approach. The Commission stated only that “we would
not expect that the Commission would find such refer-
ences, dispersed as they would have been throughout the
three-hour reading of this work of literature, to be pat-
ently offensive.” '*' It affords amici and others little prac-

115 See, e.g., Infinity Broadcasting Corp. of Pennsylvania, 2 FCC
Red 2705 (Howard Stern morning radio program), reconsideration
and clarification granted in part, denied in part, 3 FCC Red 930
(1987), vacated in part and remanded sub nom. Action for Chil-
dren's Television v. FCC, 852 F.2d 1332 (D.C. Cir. 1988).

116 See, e.g., Letter to Hon. John E. Bourne, Jr. from Chief, Mass
Media Bureau (Apr. 7, 1988) (political advertisement containing
the word “clocksucker” in reference to the local mayor’s desire to
purchase a clock for City Hall).

117 See, e.g., Letter to Mr. and Mrs. Roland Orle from Chief, Mass
Media Bureau (Apr. 7, 1988) (documentary on sex education).

118 See, e.g., Letter to Thomas Byrne from Chief, Mass Media
Bureau (Apr. 7, 1988) (Ulysses).

119 See, e.g., Pacifica Found., Inc., 2 FCC Red 2698 (play dealing
with AIDS and homosexuality), reconsideration and clarification
granted in part, denied in part sub nom. Infinity Broadcasting Cerp.
of Pennsylvania, 3 FCC Red 930 (1987), vacated in part and re-
manded sub nom. Action for Children’s Television v. FCC, 852 F.2d
1332 (D.C. Cir. 1988).

120 See, e.g., Kansas City Television, Ltd., Order, FCC 88-274
(released Aug. 5, 1988) (film “Private Lessons”).

121 Letter to Thomas Byrne at 2 n.1. One Commissioner stated
that “ ‘Ulysses’ is probably indecent” and that he is “amazed it
made it as a classic.” Wall St. J., May 26, 1987, at 35, col. 1.

29

tical guidance to know that they apparently need not
fear sanctions if they present a three-hour reading of
Ulysses, or indeed that cther established “works of liter-
ature” may be read aloud if the sexual references are
dispersed over a three-hour period. It is no answer to
suggest that careful study of the Commission’s decisions
will yield answers to these difficult questions of inter-
pretation. They do not, and many broadcasters are sim-
ply unwilling or unable to employ lawyers routinely to
attempt to advise them as to the appropriate course of
conduct. Thus, despite the government’s consistent ef-
forts in its brief to portray the statute as protecting
children against pornography, its intent and actual sweep
are far broader, a problem compounded by the vague-
ness of the Commission’s definition.

The Second Circuit, like the district court here, has
held the Commission’s standard unconstitutional.’ Those
rulings were clearly correct. This Court has consistently
struck down on vagueness grounds statutes which have
sought to regulate indecency, without clearly defining
that term. Thus, for example, in Bantam Books, Inc. v.
Sullivan, the Court held unconstitutional a state law
creating a commission that was “to educate the public
concerning [materials] containing obscene, indecent or
impure language, or manifestly tending to the corrup-
tion of the youth... .”'* Finding that the law was
unconstitutionally vague and that the commission had
not done anything to make it more precise, the Court
explained that “|t]he distributor is left to speculate
whether the Commission considers his publication obscene
or simply harmful to juvenile morality.” '* Similarly,
in Cohen v. California, the Court invalidated a conviction
imposed for wearing a jacket bearing a four-letter
word.'** The Court concluded that the statute did not
put one “on notice that certain kinds of otherwise per-

122 Carlin Comm ications, Inc., 837 F.2d at 558-60.
123 372 U.S. at 59.

124 Jd. at 71.

125 403 U.S. 15 (1971).

30

missible speech or conduct would nevertheless . . . not be
tolerated in certain places.” '** In Hustler Magazine v.
Falwell, the Court held that a parody which used sexual
innuendo was protected speech, noting that a standard
of “‘{o]utrageousness’ in the area of political and social
discourse has an inherent subjectiveness about it which
would allow a jury to impose liability on the basis of the
jurors’ tastes or views, or perhaps on the basis of their
dislike of a particular expression.” The legislation
here is similarly unconstitutional because it incorporates
an unconstitutionally vague and overbroad definition.

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, the decision of the United
States District Court for the Central District of Califor-
nia invalidating the indecency ban in Section 223(b)
should be affirmed.

Respectfully submitted,
Of Counsel: TiImoTHuy B. DYK
SAM ANTAR Counsel of Record
MARIAN E. LINDBERG TERESA D. BAER
CAPITAL Cit1Es/ABC, INC. WILMER, CUTLER & PICKERING
1330 Avenue of the Americas 2445 M Street, N.W.
New York, New York 10019 Washington, D.C. 20037-1420
O . (202) 663-6000
f Counsel: as .
Howarp F. JABCKEL Counsel for Amici and Capital
CBS INc Cities/ABC, Inc. and CBS Ine.

51 West 52 Street
New York, New York 10019

126 Jd. at 19; see also Rosenfeld v. New Jersey, 408 U.S. 901
(1972) (summarily vacating and remanding conviction under dis-
orderly persons statute prohiviting use of “offensive,” “profane,” or
“indecent” language in a public place); Brown v. Oklahoma, 408
U.S. 914 (1972) (summarily vacating and remanding conviction
under statute barring “any obscene or lascivious language or word
in any public place or in the presence of females”); Lewis v. City
of New Orleans, 408 U.S. 913 (1972) (summarily vacating and
remanding conviction under breach of peace statute prohibiting
wantonly cursing, reviling, or using “obscene or opprobrious lan-
guage” towards an on-duty police officer).

127 108 S. Ct. at 882.

HENRY GELLER
DONNA LAMPERT
1776 K Street, N.W.
Suite 900
Washington, D.C. 20006
Counsel for Action for
Children’s Television

JOHN A. POWELL
C. EDWIN BAKER
AMERICAN CIVIL LIRERTIES
UNION FOUNDATION
132 West 43rd Street
New York, New York 10036

Counsel for American Civil
Liberties Union
STEVEN A. LERMAN
DENNIS P. CORBETT
LAURA B. HUMPHRIES
LEVENTHAL, SENTER
& LERMAN
2000 K Street, N.W.
Suite 600
Washington, D.C. 20006
Counsel for Infinity
Broadcasting Corporation

Fritz E. ATTAWAY
1600 I Street, N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20006
Counsel for Motion Picture
Association of America, Inc.

HENRY L. BAUMANN

STEVEN A. BOOKSHESTER
1771 N Street, N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20036

Counsel for National
Association of Broadcasters

HOWARD MONDERER
MOLLY PAUKER
1331 Pennsylvania Ave., N.W.
Suite 700 South
Washington, D.C. 20004
Counsel for National
Broadcasting Company, Inc.

Of Counsel:

SUSAN M. Liss
JAN G. LEVINE
PEOPLE FOR THE
AMERICAN WAY
2000 M Street, N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20036

Of Counsel:

Davip D. HILLER

CHARLES J. SENNETT
TRIBUNE COMPANY
435 North Michigan Avenue
Chicago, Illinois 60611

March 27, 1989

32

Lots J. SCHIFFER

KAREN CHRISTENSEN
2025 M Street, N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20036

Counsel for National
Public Radio

ANDREW JAY SCHWARTZMAN
MepDIA ACCESS PROJECT
2000 M Street, N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20036

Counsel for People for the
American Way

PAULA A. JAMESON

Nancy H. HENDRY
1320 Braddock Place
Alexandria, Virginia 22314

Counsel for Public
Broadcasting Service

J. LAURENT SCHARFF

JAMES M. SMITH
REED SMITH SHAW & McCLay
1200 18th Street, N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20036

Counsel for Radio-Television
News Directors Association

JANE E. KIRTLEY
800 18th Street, N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20006
Counsel for The Reporters
Committee for Freedom
of the Press

Bruce W. SANFORD

R. B. QUINN
BAKER & HOSTETLER
1050 Connecticut Ave., N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20036

1111 19th Street, N.W.

Washington, D.C. 20036
Counsel for Tribune

Broadcasting Company

4

,
“|
.

i

| a : — t 1 7 - as : =
Poa = ‘ u . to q . : a A 7 7 i= * = Nas ie : : - ” ow =
ee me ad eae 5 a a = Ca a ae aa Se ee Ea ey Sa ve
bal 7 as | vi et Ls aa ae ot! = Hy a eee a a EF , a = “1 t ———* 5 4 ; ri
ead = “ 7% —) >

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385012_1026%3A18. Public record. Not legal advice.
