# Reply Brief — Mathews v. United States

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385012_0982%3A8

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Reply Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1988
- **Citation:** 485 U.S. 58

## Text

No. 86-6109

IN THE
Supreme Court of the Cited States

{) ih | | V1 “Qs |

On Writ Of Certiorari To The lL nited Stats
Court Of Appeals For The Seventh Circuit

REPLY BRIEF FOR PETITIONER

TABLE OF CONTENTS

TABLE OF AUTHORITII

SUMMARY OF REPLY AI! ME?
RepLy ARGUMENT
| DETERMINATION OF WHETHI » Ds
Was ENTRAPPED. LIKE THE DETERMINA
WHETHER THE DEFENDANT G

ENT, ls A QUESTION FOR THE JU!

ases
‘ 1Sey
H Livy
\

, i

Sherri
‘ rrs
"
; ; eq
y
, fi“ (]
) ert
5 P j
,
gy
;
‘
; ;
, .
1 «
»
iv
7: r4 ’
; ’
,
’ .
:
;
eo
; ;
,
. :
’
‘
‘ >
- :

j
’ ;
+ (7 Z
. ;
~ le
state
. 4
‘
7 ’
.
~~. 4
;
; ;
. ‘
.
; ;
+ :
7 *
~ F ’
,
~ * rs
~~ $s
; ;
. ’

States, 276 U.S. 416 92
led States 25 U.S. 4384 1976
de, No. 84-1321 (Feb. 26, 1986
ted States. 356 U.S. 369 (195%
ed States. 227 U.S. 435 (19382
iJemima 513 F i GI Sen Cir
(,reenfieid 94 r 2a 179 pth
lackson, 700 F.2d 181 (5th Cir
Johnston, 426 F.2d 112 87th '
1, 401 U.S. 921 (1971
Ke 4 (48 F.2d O91 Df _i
\ ; y) & 7 4 r Za LU wh
tey, 706 F.2d 145 (5th Cir. 198
Rhodes 71 F.2d 5 (Stn '
U.S. 1012 (198
Rogers, 755 F.2d 533 (7th Cir
Russe 411 U.S. 423 (19%
Timberlake , 559 F.2d 1375 (oth |
4
Pig al ‘ ore Z hy

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

107
‘cy
r ivi
198
r -
m4
,
, _
Qe
r wi
i~

>
:

>

re

SUMMARY OF REPLY ARGUMENT

I. Inits search for truth, the jury should have available to it
all evidence bearing upon the guilt or innocence of the accused.
It is not inconsistent for a defendant to assert his innocence and
yet claim entrapment. He could argue that he had not formed
the subjective criminal intent necessary to find him guilty of
the offense, and argue alternatively that if the jury found
sufficient objective indicia of his criminal intent, the offense
was the product of the government's creative activity.

II. The question of whether the record contains sufficient
evidence to entitle Mr. Mathews to an entrapment instruction
is not squarely before this Court. Nevertheless, the record
clearly establishes that DeShazer induced Mathews to commit
the offense by playing upon Mathews’ dire financial circum-
stances and DeShazer’s own dilemma of explaining a large sum
of money to his wife. There is no evidence that Mathews was
predisposed to commit the offense. Although Mathews had
previously borrowed money from DeShazer, nothing in the
record demonstrates that either party believed those
exchanges were anything but personal loans. Thus, the govern-
ment failed to prove beyond a reasonable doubt that Mathews
was predisposed to commit the offense.

REPLY ARGUMENT

I. DETERMINATION OF WHETHER A DEFENDANT
WAS ENTRAPPED, LIKE THE DETERMINATION OF
WHETHER THE DEFENDANT IS GUILTY OR INNO-
CENT, IS A QUESTION FOR THE JURY.

Contrary to all of this Court’s precedent, the government
argues that the defendant who claims he was entrapped but
denies having the intent to commit the offense is somehow
gaining a windfall if the jury adopts the entrapment defense.
That view assumes that the defendant is guilty but is allowed to
go free because of the government's overreaching. It is on that
basis that some circuits require the defendant to first admit his
guilt before he can claim entrapment.

»)

This court has long held, however, that the entrapment
defense is not in the nature of a confession and avoidance. The
Sorrells Court expressly held that “This . . . is a misconcep-
tion. The defense is available, not in the view that the accused
though guilty may go free, but that the government cannot be
permitted to contend that he is guilty of a crime where the
government officials are the instigators of his conduct.” Sor-
rells v. United States, 287 U.S. 435, 452 (1932). Very simply,
there is no crime if the defendant's conduct is found to be the
product of entrapment.

In that light, there is no impermissible inconsistency in
submitting to a jury both the claim that the defendant lacked
the intent to commit the offense and the claim that the defend-
ant was entrapped. Sorrells, 287 U.S. at 452. The defendant
may logically assert that although he committed certain acts
comprising the elements of the offense, he had not formed the
intent necessary to transform those actions from innocent
conduct to a criminal offense. At the same time, the defendant
may claim that if the jury concludes from all of the evidence
that he did have the required criminal intent, he did so at the
government's instigation.

The well-established fundamental premise of the
entrapment defense is “the notion that Congress could not have
intended criminal punishment for a defendant who has com-
mitted all the elements of a prescribed offense but was induced
to commit them by the government.” United States v. Russell,
411 U.S. 423, 435 (1973). The government interprets that lan-
guage as requiring the defendant to admit all elements of the
crime. The government's reliance is without foundation in the
law: nothing in this Court’ decisions requires a defendant to
admit any elements of the offense before he may claim
entrapment. On the contrary, this court expressly leaves such
matters to the jury. Sherman v. United States, 356 U.S. 369,
377 (1958). In any given case there exists the very real pos-
sibility that the government may have succeeded in creating
the circumstantial, objective appearance of intent, without

having actually implanted the criminal design in the defend-
ant’'s subjective mind. On that premise, a defense of both inno-
cence and entrapment is not only entirely logical and
consistent, but best serves the criminal trial’s function as a
“search for truth.” Nix v. Whiteside, No. 84-1321, slip op. at 8
(Feb. 26, 1986)

In Mr. Mathews’ case, it is entirely consistent for him to
admit that he received money from Mr. DeShazer, acknow!-
edge that DeShazer was his client at the Small Business
Administration, but deny that he took the money with the
intent that it would affect Mathews’ handling of DeShazer's
SBA matters. Intent, for purposes of submission to the jury,
was established purely through DeShazer’s juxtaposition of
discussions about SBA matters with talk about the loan he was
offering to Mathews, or even through the physical transfer of
money. Mathews denied that he would have ever taken the
money if it had been offered in relation to his SBA work. His
denial constitutes a denial of the intent element of the offense.
Yet he could have argued to the jury that if in fact the jury
decided that Mathews had formed the criminal intent essential]
to a finding of guilt, the jury should consider whether that
intent, as well as the physical act, was induced by DeShazer
acting 9s a government agent.

While the government acknowledges, as it must. that a
criminal jury trial is a search for the truth, e.g., United States
v. Greenfield, 554 F.2d 179, 182 (5th Cir. 1977), its view would
preclude criminal defendants from presenting to the jury a
significant portion of the evidence in a given case. “(T]he incon-
sistency rule subverts the truth-seeking function of the trial by
unreasonably requiring a defendant to present to the jury only
what he believes to be the most credible set of facts available. In
large part, the jury is thereby deprived of the benefit of view-
ing the bases for the accused's indictment in their entirety.”
Note, Pleading the Entrapment Defense: The Propriety of
Inconsistency, 28 N.Y.L. Sch. L. Rev. 1025, 1074 (1983)
(emphasis in original). Whether a defendant has been

entrapped is a jury question, “as part of its function of deter-
mining the guilt or innocence of the accused.” Sherman v.
United States, 356 U.S. 369, 377 (1958). Once inducement, the
factual predicate for an entrapment claim, is established, “non-
entrapment” is simply an additional element which the pros-
ecution must prove. United States v. Demma, 513 F.2d 981. 983

.2 (9th Cir. 1975)(citing Sorrells, 287 U.S. at 448). The pros-
ecution accomplishes this by proving predisposition. These
entrapment issues cannot be removed from the jury's consider
ation, simply because a defendant contests another element of
the government's proof.

The government and a minority of this Court have repeatedly
urged the implementation of an objective legal standard for
when a criminal defendant may claim the entrapment defense.
United States v. Russell, 411 U.S. 423, 441 (1973) (Stewart, J.,
dissenting); Sherman, 356 U.S. at 384-85 (Frankfurter, J.,
concurring); Sorrells, 287 U.S. at 453, 457 (Roberts, J., con-
curring). Under that view, the trial judge, not the jury, should
decide whether the government's conduct was lawful. Russell,
411 U.S. at 441 (Stewart, J., dissenting). This Court has
soundly rejected that approach, holding that the entrapment
determination is a jury issue. See Russell, 411 U.S. at 433-54

Mathews was improperly denied the opportunity to have the
jury consider his entrapment issue, solely because he refused
to admit that he was guilty of the offense. The jury should have
been allowed to decide whether Mathews committed the sub-
stantive elements of the crime and if so, whether the govern-
ment implanted the criminal design.

As alternative defenses, those two claims are logically con-
sistent. A defendant can consistently claim that, subjectively,
the government never succeeded in implanting the criminal
intent in his mind. But if the jury finds, from the objective facts
before it, that the government successfully implanted the crim
inal design, the intent certainly would have existed, and the
jury is required to move to the issue of whether the govern

ment’s proof was obtained through impermissible “creative
activity.” Sorrel/s, 287 U.S. at 451.

On the other hand, if the evidence created a circumstantial
perception that Mathews had the requisite intent (i.e., he took
money from someone who was his client and for whom he was
supposed to process various documents), the government may
not have successfully transferred the mens rea to Mathews.

To have induced the underlying activity is not necessarily
to have induced a particular state of mind, because the
activity may reflect any of several different motives. The
significant point is that to claim entrapment is to claim that
the government induced the acts necessary to constitute
the crime charged, whether or not the government also
induced the requisite state of mind.

Demma, 523 F.2d at 984 n.2. Nevertheless, the jury logically
could find that although Mathews claims an innocent state of
mind, the circumstantial evidence of intent was sufficient to
persuade the jury that he did have mens rea. Given the
entrapment defense, the jury also could find that the intent, as
well as the physical acts, were the government's creation.

When, as in this case, the testimony and other evidence can
arguably support claims of both innocence and entrapment, the
jury should be allowed to decide both issues. See Sherman, 356
U.S. at 377. Indeed, trial courts must instruct the jury on the
defendant's defense theory where the record contains any
evidentiary foundation for the theory, even if the evidence is
“weak, insufficient, inconsistent, or of doubtful credibility.”
United States v. Timberlake, 559 F.2d 1375, 1379 (5th Cir
1977).

There is no dispute that “(aj criminal prosecution. . .isnota
game.” L’nited States v. Rey, 706 F.2d 145, 147 (5th Cir. 1983).
It is irrefutably a serious matter with the potential to perma-
nently affect the course of a defendant's life. A defendant
should not be foreclosed from presenting those defenses and
allowing the jury to choose. Because there are instances when
alternative defenses can be supported by the evidence, if the

6

jury finds the defenses are factually and logically incompatible,
the defendant is the one who takes the risk and bears the brunt
of any resulting diminution in credibility. United States v.
Kelly, 748 F.2d 691, 701 n.1 (D.C. Cir. 1984) (“[wJhen [defend-
ant] chose to give testimony at odds with the entrapment
defense. he ran the risk of undercutting his own case.”);
Demma. 523 F.2d at 984. “{Slimultaneous denial of criminal!
intent and advancement of an entrapment theory almost
always will damage the likelihood of success of such defense.”
l’nited States v. Nations, 764 F.2d 1073, 1081 (Sth Cir. 1985).

Permitting the defendant to claim entrapment while he
denies guilt is entirely consistent with this Court's view of the
entrapment defense. Because Mr. Mathews was denied the
opportunity to present both alternative defenses to the jury,
his right to a fair trial, with the jury receiving all relevant
evidence and instructions, was denied. Reversal is therefore
mandated.

il. THE EVIDENCE AT TRIAL DEMONSTRATED SUF-
FICIENT GOVERNMENT INDUCEMENT TO WAR-
RANT AN ENTRAPMENT INSTRUCTION.

The government erroneously states that two independent
reasons supported the lower courts’ decisions denying Mr
Mathews the use of the entrapment defense. In fact, the lower
courts based their decisions entirely upon the Seventh Circuit
Court of Appeals’ rule that a defendant who wishes to claim
entrapment must first admit that he committed all of the phys-
ical acts and had the necessary criminal intent. (J.A. 3-4, 131)
E.q., United States v. Rogers, 755 F.2d 533, 550 (7th Cir. 1985);
l’nited States v. Johnston. 426 F.2d 112, 114 (7th Cir. 1970),
cert. denied, 401 U.S. 921 (1971). The trial court expressly
declined to address the sufficiency of the evidence. (J.A. 151).
The government argues extensively that the trial record con
tains no evidentiary support for the entrapment defense
Although this issue is not squarely before the court, it is easily
resolved by reference to the trial record and the law

Before the entrapment defense can be claimed, the evidence
must indicate government inducement to commit the offense.
Russell, 411 U.S. at 433; Demma, 523 F.2d at 984. Inducement
requires a showing of more than a government agent's “simple
request” to engage in a criminal activity, Casey v. United
States, 276 U.S. 413, 419 (1928), but can be established. as the
government acknowledges, by a showing of “persuasion or mild
coercion” or by “pleas based on need, sympathy or friendship.”
United States v. Jackson, 700 F.2d 181, 191 (5th Cir. 1983).

In United States v. Nations, 764 F.2d 1073 (5th Cir. 1985).
the court aeld that sufficient evidence of government induce-
ment was presented to allow the defendant to present the
entrapment claim to the jury. /d. at 1080. The informant, who
was the defendant's former brother-in-law and who admitted
he had a vendetta against the defendant. id. at 1074. “engaged
ithe defendant's] cooperation with a tale of financial woes, the
need to support a new spouse, and terminal cancer, al] the
while knowing that [the defendant's] sister recently had died of
cancer.” /d. at 1080.

Similar evidence of inducement exists in the instant case
Mathews and DeShazer had been friends for a number of years,
confiding in each other about a variety of personal concerns
(J.A. 9, 191, 106, 117-8; R. 38: 434-35). In December 1984 and
January 1985 DeShazer was “a desperate man” and blamed
Mathews because he was not meeting his defense department
contracts. (J.A. 95). DeShazer knew that Mathews was about
to lose his job, that Mathews’ wife had left him, that Mathews
had attorney fees to pay, and that Mathews had significant
household expenses. (J.A. 121-22). DeShazer told Mathews a
fictitious story about a friend loaning him $12,000.00. that he
needed $7,000.00 for mortgage payments, that he did not want
his wife to find out about the total amount because it could lead
to another divorce, and that therefore he would loan the dif-
ference to Mathews. (J.A. 81, 99, 121-22). He played on Math-
ews dire financial and employment circumstances, and talked
about not wanting another divorce when he knew Mathews

wile Nad )ust iert hin And he repeated the ofier over a penmod
. ? , >? c.
f two months. (J.A. 23, 35-36, 0/-69 25

Thus, the evidence presented provided a more than adequate
‘basis for a reasonable doubt on the ultimate jury entrapment
ssue of whether criminal intent omginated with the govert
ment.” Nations, 764 F.2d at 1080. In such cases, where the
record contains sufficient evidence to submit the entrapment
ssue to the jury, “the district court must instruct the tury (
acquit uniess the evidence proves Deyond a reasonaDie doubt
that the defendant was predisposed—that the cmminai intent

riginated with the defendant ia

. ,
Predisposition can be established Dy a defendants read
" "+ .+ > . . >

mpialsance OMmDIV WILI ne government agents sugyes

‘ y as haat Fiunt, ~~ ~) : ns | ~ ¢ 2°75 Th : yry

On OF Criminal activVILy. SVerTman, sO U .O. aLdiv ne govel
A + - " > - ‘ " . .
ment argued in Sferman that the defendants two prior

. Lot . rato ns . .¢ + . : ~ .
onvictions demonstrated his predisposition. As in Sherma

however. there is ample evidence in this case to support the

laim that the defendant was not predisposed. Mathews had
previously taken money from DeShazr. but according t
Vathews. it was alwavs deemed a personal joan with no cor

nection to Mathews duties at the SBA. There was no indicatior

> > : » > > + + . 7 , 4 >
hat either party. at the time of the earlier loans, Delleved (thal
> 7 > = > - . > y > >
ne prior transactions were anything otner than persona
ans. As for the loan upon which the instant offense is based
, ' : ’ og ’ ’ , a ’ |) ~ F , Yr ’ ’ Vi ,?
a: o¢ ce eal CSLAVDLUSIIC> al Lt laLe i a ews
, ’ rer ’ rit ’ r ’ ’ , ae . Ty}
a . eaveuiy AVUt iversa , ~ ALU . re | ; .
s ‘ ‘ = . > ; . .
f agence Tturtner snowed na m revruaryvy zo LYSo w ne
leSNazer suggested tne subdject ar Mathews had not

24 ' .
requested anv loans since July, 1984 At the very least Matt

ews own testimony raised the issue of inducement and lack
predispesition. The iry should Nave Deen permitted |t !
sider this in the ugnt of the law of entrapment
il iacK OF Dredispos nis an essentiai factor lo de estal
sneqd DetIore a detendant Ma laim entrapment. then Une
’ eave ’ iT ’ [ re ry ~ + = Lnhat Line “4 Ver? ment ry 1st r ¥ ‘
ra ’ ; 1rt aA ’ at ‘ if > +) if +> ‘ ‘4 té ¥ lal 7 was : rec st e4
: ’ .) ++ y . 2 ; ; ~ ; q+) .

254. 489 (1976): Nations. 764 F.2d at 1080: I’ nited Stat
Rhodes, 713 F.2d 463, 467 (9th Cir.). cert. denied. 466 U.S lO12

1983). If entrapment is established, there is no crime. Sor

MF TT C —— —_
8, 2O | »S. al bo2Z Therefore when inducement is raised [
t(riai evidence, non-entrapment is an element of ev rr’ rime

it is not for this Court, however—or indeed for anv entit

put the ur’) to decide whether the evidence established that
Mathews was or was not predisposed to commit the offense. A
liscussed earlier. the issue of gulit and the issue of entrapment
are Doth issues for the jury

In this ‘ase, despite a more than ade juale evidentiary four
lation, the jury was never allowed to decide the entrapme!
ssue because Mathews refused to admit that he was guilty. The
ssue presented for review is whether a lefendant snouild De
Liowed to ialim en rapme | wher ne ienies DOSSeSSING Set
requisite criminai intent. Resolutior I that issue render
innecessary the Courts analysis of whether the record below
I dead enougn *« aence { permit the eftendal il!
’ ’ ry ’

10)

CONCLUSION

4< stated in his original brief, Frederick Mathews
respectfully urges this Court to reverse Nis conviction and
grant him a new trial with the ability to claim the entrapment
defense without forfeiting his constitutional nights to remain
silent. to refrain from incriminating himself, and to require the
government to prove every element of the offense charged
beyond a reasonable doubt In so doing, this Court will elimi

ite a longstanding dichotomy lil the circuits while reiterating
and ciariiving its wel established holdings on tne entrapment

lefense

Respectfully submitted

Gimpec. RerLLy, GUERIN & BROW?
PrRaANKLYN M. GIMBE!
ippointed by this Cour
jerrrReyY A. KAUFMAN
MaRNA M. Tt MATTNI

4

M WaUuAce W SCONnSIT 4 My?

$14) 271-1440

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385012_0982%3A8. Public record. Not legal advice.
