# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — United States v. American College of Physicians

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385012_0915%3A02

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1986
- **Citation:** 475 U.S. 834

## Text

g4-1737%! | errers™
, WAY 3 1985

No. ALEXANDER L. STEVAS,

Iu the Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1984

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, PETITIONER
Vv.

AMERICAN COLLEGE OF PHYSICIANS

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE FEDERAL CIRCUIT

REx E. LEE
Solicitor General

GLENN L. ARCHER, JR.
Assistant Attorney General

ALBERT G. LAUBER, JR.
Assistant to the Solicitor General

ROBERT A. BERNSTEIN
ROBERT S. POMERANCE
Attorneys
Department of Justice
Washington, D.C. 20530
(202) 633-2217

(oO

QUESTION PRESENTED

Whether income derived by a tax-exempt medical
association from the sale of commercial advertising
space in its monthly journal is “unrelated business
income” subject to tax under Sections 511 through
513 of the Internal Revenue Code.

(1)

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
Opinions below ............ SEES Ro 1
Jurisdiction ............ i scesinsnenions 1
i snetiinmennnin 2
a cnanees la 2
Reasons for granting the petition —...........2...0-.e.e.. x
i neeasstonnnconsess 26
EE I la
Appendix B .... ........ NASER Oa 22a
Ca reenstanntionnnnncesnns . 28a
re AALS oO 24a
a _._._ssssipespniniennouneneseenenentesen 34a
EE EES 35a
EE EE 55a
ELE seisasaiads 65a
LEE SEES TT . Fla
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Cases:

American College of Physicians v. United States,
EET .. 17,21
C.F. Mueller Co. v. Commissioner, 190 F.2d 120...... 9

Massachusetts Medical Soc’y v. United States, 514
ELE eR 17

National Muffler Dealers Ass’n v. United States,
EE ates 22
Roche’s Beach, Inc. v. Commissioner, 96 F.2d 776.. 9
United States v. Cartwright, 411 U.S. 546 .............. 22

(III)

IV

Statutes, regulations and rule: Page

Internal Revenue Code of 1954 (26 U.S.C.) :

B GOL ............----0-0----ceenneeneevnesnneccnnnennnees ent 2, 35a
§ 501 (c) (3) -...-.-------n----cecenee ceeneeeeseesereteeneneeeenenene 2
$ 602 (a) .......-....-. vatatinataidinndiinaiinanies Urea 9
— EEE ES SEO Te 2, 37a
S§ 511-513 .........--------------ceeneeeeneneneeceeseeeneeeeeees ce 4
§§ 511-515 ................-- inal aie aseal cele 9
© GID ............--n-ne-ceecensenenesneesscseveneansnnenssosnnsnsansneeses 2, 38a
|) } Seenererernennnnnn re penn Ee 2,17, 40a
S 513 (a) ......--.----c--ccenceeneeneeesssncennesenenenses oe 4,10
§ 513 (a) (2) ......------------c--ceeeeneneeneeeeeeeseeneee tenet 6
§ 513(c) .....--. a ial __..4, 7, 8, 14, 15, 16, 17, 19
Revenue Act of 1950, ch. 994, 64 Stat. 906 ef seq..... 9
Tax Reform Act of 1969, Pub. L. No. 91-172, 83
Stat. 487 et S€Q. .........--------------eeeeeeesesseneneseeeneenntnneess 14
Treas. Reg.:
By SERA Se eo ce et 2
§ 1.512 (a)-1(f) --.-.--...-.------------- as
§ 1.512(a)-1(f) (1) -.......-------. Ree ee nnneRCHee Ss 4,17
§ 1.512 (a)-1(f) (2)-(7) .....----------------- eee 17
SVB 18 nnn. n.nnnnsecnncnnennenceeenceseecenenseneeeeseennensenees 2
8 0) tS) eeeneennnnnrnrnnnnnn neers 44a
§ 1.518-1 (b) .................--------------- eee
§ 1.518-1(d) (2) .....------------------ec-eeeeeeeeteeee Reber 4, 20
§ 1.513-1(d) (4) (iv) -.........- _...6, 12, 18, 18, 19, 20, 21
GT 2) 7 ae ale 25
Red. BR. Civ. P. 41 (8) .......-----.--0-------2-e-sercecesoeesseseennnensss 26
Miscellaneous:
Folio: 00/1982 ...........----------cce--eeeceneeeeeeeernseeerensneneeneees 23
Pelé: £00 / 1984 ........2--00--20.2200200--00000000002 indichiiaiaciiaaaiaan 23
32 Fed. Reg. (1967) :
DP. BOOS ...........-------c-ecenseneeneseenssenseensnnnenenssnnsnnnseees 11
D. 17GBT .........-..-------c0ne-ncenerencenennernsnsenetsnssneenoennnsnes 11, 15
D. 17G5Q ...........----n--0--nene-erenceeeenseesesnnsenennenesnnenesees 12
40 Fed. Reg. 58637 (1975) .........-----------------eee0----00000-" 17

H.R. Rep. 2319, 81st Cong., 2d Sess. (1950) .......... ‘a 10

Miscellaneous—Continued :

H.R. Rep. 91-413, 91st Cong., 1st Sess. Pt. 1

REED, PPR oe a OLE Cees
Lehrfeld, The Unfairness Doctrine: Commercial
Advertising Profits as Unrelated Business In-
come, 23 Tax Law. 349 (1970)... 10,
Middleditch & Webster, The new unrelated busi-
ness income Regs: what they mean; how to
cope with them, 28 J. Tax. 174 (Mar. 1968)...
Moore, Current Problems of Exempt Organiza-
tions, 24 Tax. L. Rev. 469 (1969)...
Rev. Rul. 76-93, 1976-1 C.B. 170...
S. Rep. 2375, 81st Cong., 2d Sess. (1950)...

S. Rep. 91-552, 91st Cong., Ist Sess. (1969) 16,

Staff of Joint Comm. on Internal Revenue Tax-
ation, 91st Cong., 1st Sess., Summary of Prob-
lems Included in Tax Reform Hearings Dealing
with Tax-Exempt Organizations (Comm. Print
1969) ..... Se vere Sen eso NE Se

Staff of Senate Comm. on Finance, 91st Cong.,
Ist Sess., Tax Reform Act of 1969 H.R. 13270:
Technical Memorandum of Treasury Position
ee

Tax Reform Act of 1969: Hearings on H.R. 13270
Before the Senate Comm. on Finance, 91st Cong.,

I 13,

Tax Reform 1969: Hearings Before the House
Comm. on Ways and Means, 91st Cong., 1st Sess.

UNIT rbinnessinnminccnsieiaiitininidiadlataiiating tale ena 13,

U.S. Postal Service, Revenue, Pieces and Weight
SPITE) Wiacidianicndeadanabnicdlimancntlat ett SE Mai tee tien iets
Webster, Unrelated Business Income, 23 Tax. Law.
lg, SSRI DR aes ese nan EO
Weithorn & Liles, Unrelated Business Income Tax:
Changes Affecting Journal Advertising Reve-

nues, 45 Taxes 791 (1967)... 11, 138,

Page

13, 18

10
17, 18

21

15

14, 15

14, 24

23

18, 23

$u the Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1984

No.
UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, PETITIONER
Vv.
AMERICAN COLLEGE OF PHYSICIANS

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE FEDERAL CIRCUIT

The Solicitor General, on behalf of the United
States, petitions for a writ of certiorari to review the
judgment of the United States Court of Appeals for
the Federal Circuit in this case.

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the court of appeals (App., infra,
la-2la) is reported at 743 F.2d 1570. The opinion
of the Claims Court (App., infra, 24a-33a) is re
ported at 3 Cl. Ct. 531.

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the court of appeals (App., infra,
22a) was entered on September 17, 1984. A timely
petition for rehearing was denied on December 5,
1984 (App., infra, 23a). On February 26, 1985, the
Chief Justice extended the time within which to pe-
tition for a writ of certiorari to and including May
4, 1985. The jurisdiction of this Court is invoked
under 28 U.S.C. 1254(1).

(1)

2

STATUTES INVOLVED

The relevant portions of Sections 501, 511, 512,
and 513 of the Internal Revenue Code of 1954 (26
U.S.C.), and of Sections 1.512 and 1.513 of the
Treasury Regulations on Income Tax (26 C.F.R.),
are set out in a statutory appendix (App., infra,
35a-54a).

STATEMENT

1. The basic facts were stipulated below (C.A.
App. 18A-22A). The American College of Physicians
is an association exempt from tax under Section 501
(c) (3) of the Internal Revenue Code.’ Its main pur-
poses are to uphold high standards of medical educa-
tion and practice and to encourage medical research
(App., infra, 24a-25a). Membership in the College
is open only to those engaged in practice, teaching,
research, or other professional activities in the field
of internal medicine (id. at 2a). Respondent had ap-
proximately 32,000 members in 1975 (C.A. App.
19A).

In furtherance of its tax-exempt educational pur-
poses, respondent publishes a monthly journal entitled
Annals of Internal Medicine. The journal contains
scholarly articles relevant to the practice of internal
medicine and is highly regarded in its field (App.,
infra, 2a). The journal is provided to respondent’s
dues-paying members without charge and to nonmem-
bers on a per-issue basis or by subscription (id. at
25a). Its circulation in 1975 was roughly 73,000 (id.
at 3a). Each issue contains commercial advertise-
ments (including classified ads) relating to medical
services and products, primarily drugs (id. at 25a).

1 Unless otherwise noted, all statutory references are to the
Internal Revenue Code of 1954 (26 U.S.C.), as in effect for
the tax year at issue (the Code or I.R.C.).

3

It is respondent’s policy to limit its advertising to
those products and services that are useful in the
practice of internal medicine (id. at 3a). Proffered
advertisements are screened as to subject matter and
as to the accuracy of their content (ibid.).

Many of the advertisements appearing in Annals

re identical with those appearing in medical journals
published by taxable commercial publishers, such as
the American Journal of Medicine, which is put out
by a division of Dun and Bradstreet (App., infra,
28a; C.A. App. 21A).? Some of the advertisements
are eye-catching, others strictly factual; some cover
a fraction of a page, others several p..zes; some are
in black and white, many in bright color (App., infra,
28a). The advertisements are not dispersed through-
out the journal but rather are grouped in discrete
“stacks” at the beginning and end of each issue; the
same format is generally followed in medical journals
published by taxable commercial publishers (id. at
3a). The advertisements are deleted when the An-
nals are permanently bound.

The advertisements appearing in Annals are pre-
pared by the advertisers and not by respondent
(App., infra, 3a). Some of the ads are for estab-
lished drugs and devices and are repeated from month
to month (id. at 28a) No effort is made to coordi-
nate the advertising with the journal’s editorial con-
tent; thus, it would be coincidental for a drug that
is discussed in an article to be featured in an adver-
tisement in the same ‘ssue (id. at 28a n.3). Advertis-
ing space is made available at rates competitive with

* Selected advertisements appearing in Annals of Internal
Medicine and in American Journal of Medicine during Janu-
ary and February 1975 are reproduced in the appendix
(App., infra, 55a-75a).

4

those charged for advertising space in other medical
journals, whether published by taxable or tax-exempt
entities (id. at 3a). According to a policy statement
appearing in the July 1977 issue of Annals, what
“justifies the incorporation of drug advertising in
this journal” is the need to obtain “the financial sup-
port of drug houses” (C.A. App. 71A). Thus, it is
an important source of revenue to respondent.

9 Sections 511 through 513 of the Code impose a
tax on the “unrelated business income” of otherwise
tax-exempt organizations like respondent. An “unre-
lated trade or business” is one the conduct of which “is
not substantially related * * * to” (I.R.C. § 513(a)),
i.e., does not “contribute importantly to” ( Treas.
Reg. § 1.513-1(d) (2)), the accomplishment of the or-
ganization’s charitable purposes. Section 513(c), en-
titled “Advertising, Etc., Activities,” provides that an
activity, such as advertising, which bears the ear-
marks of an unrelated trade or business “does not
lose identity as [such] merely because it is carried
on within * * * a larger complex of other endeavors,”
such as educational endeavors, that reflect an organ-
ization’s tax-exempt function. The Treasury Regu-
lations generally provide that “amounts realized by
an exempt organization from the sale of advertising
in a periodical constitute gross income from an un-
related trade or business” (Treas. Reg. § 1.512(a)-
1(f)(1)).

Respondent’s gross advertising revenue from
Annals in 1975 was $1,376,322 (App., infra, 3a).
After taking into account allowable offsets and de-
ductions, respondent reported “unrelated business
taxable income” of $153,388 on its 1975 tax return
(id. at 4a). Respondent timely filed that return and

5

paid unrelated business income tax of $55,965 for
thet year (tbid.).

On June 12, 1979, respondent filed an administra-
tive claim for refund of the tax thus paid (App.,
infra, 4a). When the IRS demurred, respondent, on
August 17, 1982, instituted this refund suit in the
Claims Court (ibid.). Respondent’s principal conten-
tion was that its solicitation and publication of com-
mercial advertising was “substantially related” to
the performance of its educational purposes because
“the advertising contains factual and technical data
which * * * can help physicians keep up” with re-
cent developments in medicine (id. at 27a-28a).

Following a trial, the Claims Court (Kozinski, C.J .)
entered judgment for the United States. The court
found respondent’s principal argument—that the ad-
vertising in Annals “performs an educational func-
tion, supplementing the journal’s editorial content”
—to be “unpersuasive” (App., infra, 27a-28a). To
begin with, the court noted, the “evidence is clear
that [respondent] did not use the advertising to pro-
vide its readers a comprehensive or systematic pre-
sentation of any aspect of the goods or services pub-
licized” (id. at 28a (footnote omitted) ). Rather,
“the comprehensiveness and content of the advertis-
ing package [was] entirely dependent on each manu-
facturer’s willingness to pay for space and the imagi-
nation of its advertising agency” (id. at 30a). The
advertising, moreover, was “typical commercial pub-
licity” (id. at 28a). “Many ads were identical to
those appearing in medical journals published by non-
exempt organizations,” any differences in format re-
flecting “the advertiser’s marketing strategy rather
than their probable importance to the reader” (id. at
28a-29a). Some of the advertising, the court ob-
served, was for well-known and established products

6

like Valium, Insulin, and Maalox, a fact that “under-
min[ed] the suggestion that the advertising was prin-
cipally designed to alert readers of recent develop-
ments” (id. at 28a & n.4).

After thus evaluating the facts, the court noted
that the Treasury Regulations provide that “advertis-
ing income of journals like Annals generally is tax-
able” (App., infra, 29a, citing Treas. Reg. § 1.512
(a)-1(f)). In holding that respondent’s advertise-
ments fall within this general rule, the court relied
particularly on an Example set forth in the Regula-
tions that “closely resembles the situation here”
(App., infra, at 29a). That Example, involving a
tax-exempt publisher of a professional journal, con-
cludes that “the publication of advertising designed
and selected in the manner of ordinary commercial
advertising is not an educational activity of the kind
contemplated by the exemption statute” (Treas. Reg.
§ 1.513-1(d) (4) (iv) (Example 7)). The court found
that respondent’s advertising package served no
“identifiable educational objective that goes substan-
tially beyond the informational content” necessarily
possessed by any advertising, that any educational
function that the advertising may have served “was
incidental to its purpose of raising revenue,” and
hence that “the advertising in Annals did not con-
tribute importantly to the College’s tax-exempt pur-
poses” (App., infra, 30a).°

’ The Claims Court also rejected (App., infra, 30a-34a)
respondent’s alternative contention that its product advertis-
ing was carried on “primarily for the convenience of its mem-
bers” and was exempt from unrelated business income tax on
that basis. See I.R.C. §513(a)(2). The Federal Circuit
upheld the Claims Court’s findings in this respect (App.,
infra, 19a) and we have no occasion to address that alterna-
tive contention here.

7

3. The Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit
reversed (App., infra, la-2la). Rejecting the trial
court’s findings, it concluded that the advertising in
Annals contributes importantly to the accomplish-
ment of respondent’s educational purposes by “ap-
pris[ing] internists of developments in their field”
(id. at 19a).

The court turned first to the legislative history ac-
companying Congress’s enactment (in 1969) of Sec-
tion 513(c), which, as noted above, is entitled “Ad-
vertising, Ete., Activities.” While acknowledging
language in the committee reports suggesting that
Congress “may have believed that advertising income
should be taxed,” the court dismissed this legislative
history on the ground that it “addresses advertising
generally and does not grapple with specific factual
situations” (App., infra, 12a-13a). As the court read
the legislative history, Congress did not intend to
“adopt a blanket rule” that commercial] advertising
revenues should be taxed, but rather left to the courts
a case-by-case, ad-by-ad determination about whether
or not particular advertisements are “substantially re-
lated” to an entity’s tax-exempt function (id. at 17a-
19a & n.23).

The court of appeals agreed with the Claims Court
that the “primary purpose” of respondent’s advertis-
ing was commercial and that its “educational func-
tion * * * may well have been secondary to the pur-
pose of raising revenues” (App., infra, 19a). The
court held, however, that “[t]he commercial char-
acter of the activity is not * * * determinative” (id.
at 16a), and concluded that the trial judge, “ap-
parently distracted by the commercial character of
the advertisements,” had erroneously evaluated them
under “a more rigorous standard than is supported

8

by the statute” (id. at 16a, 18a). The court of ap-
peals did not discuss, or even mention, the Treasury
Regulations upon which the Claims Court had based
its decision. Rather, relying on testimony of respond-
ent’s expert witnesses that the trier of fact had found
“unpersuasive” (id. at 16a-17a, 28a), the court of
appeals concluded that “the sales of advertising in
Annals are substantially related to the exempt pur-
pose of the College to educate internists” and that
the Claims Court’s conclusion to the contrary was
“clearly erroneous” (id. at 19a).

The government’s petition for rehearing, with sug-
gestion for rehearing en banc, was denied (App.,
infra, 23a).

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION

The court of appeals has decided an important ques-
tion of federal tax law in a way that conflicts di-
rectly with Congress’s clearly-expressed intent in en-
acting Section 513(c). The decision below grants an
exempt professional organization the very competitive
edge over its taxpaying commercial counterparts that
Congress was at pains to deny when it amended the
Code specifically to bring advertising revenues within
the reach of the unrelated business income tax. The
decision below sub silentio invalidates long-standing
Treasury Regulations that Congress considered in
1969 and upon which it placed its explicit imprimatur.
The court of appeals’ open-ended construction of the
statutory phrase “substantially related” has consid-
erable administrative importance: it will pave the
way for many hundreds of trade and professional
organizations to escape tax on their advertising in-
come, and will impose tremendous burdens on limited
IRS audit resources. The Claims Court is a court of

9

nationwide jurisdiction—any taxpayer can have its
case heard there, with review in the Federal Circuit,
simply by filing a refund suit—and the decision be-
low is thus likely to be uncontradicted unless certi-
orari is granted. Review by this Court is therefore
appropriate at this time.

l.a. The unrelated business income tax has its
genesis in the Revenue Act of 1950, ch. 994, 64 Stat.
906 et seg. Before that law was enacted, charitable
organizations that carried on ordinary trades or bus-
inesses were able to escape tax on their profits on
the theory that the charitable “destination” of the
revenues took precedence over their commercial
“source.” Thus, a nationwide vendor of macaroni
(C.F. Mueller Co. v. Commissioner, 190 F.2d 120 (3d
Cir. 1951)), and a commercial bathing beach fa-
cility (Roche’s Beach, Inc. v. Commissioner, 96 F.2d
776 (2d Cir. 1938) ), successfully claimed tax-exempt
status simply because their business profits went to
charity.

In the Revenue Act of 1950, Congress responded
to this problem in two ways. First, it enacted the
so-called “anti-feeder” provision (I.R.C. § 502(a)),
under which organizations “operated for the primary
purpose of carrying on a trade or business for profit”
cannot claim tax exemption solely on the ground that
their profits go to charity. Second, Congress enacted
the “unrelated business income tax,” now codified in
Sections 511 through 515 of the Code. Those provi-
sions generally require organizations that otherwise
qualify for tax exemption to pay tax at regular cor-
porate rates on income derived from any trade or
business “the conduct of which is not substantially
related (aside from the need of such organization
for income or funds or the use it makes of the profits

10

derived) to the exercise or performance by such or-
ganization of its charitable, educational, or other
[tax-exempt] purpose” (I.R.C. §513(a)).

The chief impetus behind the new tax was Con-
gress’s desire to put the business operations of tax-
exempt organizations on an equal footing with those
of their taxable commercial counterparts. The House
Report stated that “[t]he problem at which the tax
on unrelated business income is directed * * * is pri-
marily that of unfair competition.” H.R. Rep. 2319,
Sist Cong., 2d Sess. 36 (1950). The tax falls on
business revenues, not on membership dues or invest-
ment income, since Congress regarded such sources
of income as a traditional and proper mainstay
for charitable institutions. S. Rep. 2375, 81st Cong.,
2d Sess. 30-31 (1950). As amended by Congress in
1950, the Code “does not deny [a tax] exemption
where the organizations are carrying on unrelated
active business enterprises, or require that they dis-
pose of such businesses, but merely imposes the same
tax on income derived therefrom as is borne by their
competitors” (H.R. Rep. 2319, supra, at 37).

b. During the ensuing years, uncertainty arose as
to whether the unrelated business income tax ex-
tended to profits derived by tax-exempt organiza-
tions from the solicitation and sale of advertising
space in their publications. See Lehrfeld, The Un-
fairness Doctrine: Commercial Advertising Profits as
Unrelated Business Income, 23 Tax Law. 349, 351-
352 (1970). The main argument against applying
the tax in these circumstances was that the journal’s
articles and editorial content furthered the sponsor-
ing organization’s tax-exempt goals. Since the com-
mercial advertisements arguably were part and par-
cel of a single trade or business (“publishing”) with

11

an ultimately educational end, the unrelated business
income tax was said to be inapplicable. See, e.v.,
Weithorn & Liles, Unrelated Business Income Tax:
Changes Affecting Journal Advertising Revenues, 45
Taxes 791, 798-800 (1967).

In 1967, the Treasury issued a Proposed Regula-
tion formally announcing its intention to “fragment”
tax-exempt publications into two components—com-
mercial advertising, the income from which would
be subject to unrelated business income tax, and
articles and editorial content, the income from which
would remain tax-free. Prop. Reg. §1.513-1, 32
Fed. Reg. 5993 (1967). Following receipt of public
comments, the Regulation was issued in final form
eight months later. 32 Fed. Reg. 17°57 (1967). It
has remained substantially unchanged ever since.

Articulating the “fragmentation” concept, the new
Regulation set forth the general rule that income-
producing activities “do not lose identity as [a]
trade or business merely because they are carried on
within a larger aggregate of similar activities or
within a larger complex of other endeavors which
may, or may not, be related to the exempt purposes
of wie organization.” Treas. Reg. § 1.513-1(b), 32
Fed. Reg. 17657. “Thus,” the Regulation explained,
“activities of soliciting, selling, and publishing com-
mercial advertising do not lose identity as [a] trade
or business even though the advertising is published
in an exempt organization periodical which contains
editorial matter related to [its] exempt purposes”
(ibid.).

To illustrate this principle, the Treasury set forth
a pair of examples, each involving a professional
association (“Z”) that publishes a monthly journal
containing scholarly articles and commercial advertis-

12

ing. Treas. Reg. § 1.513-1(d)(4)(iv) (Examples
6 & 7), 32 Fed. Reg. 17659. In Example 6, Z pub-
lishes “general consumer advertising” for products
like “soft drinks, automobiles, articles of apparel, and
home appliances.” The Treasury concluded that such
advertising revenues represented “gross income from
[an] unrelated trade or business” (Treas. Reg.
§ 1.513-1(d) (4) (iv) (Example 6)). In Example 7,
the facts are the same as in Example 6, “except that
the advertising in Z’s journal promotes only products
within the general area of professional interest of
its members.” Example 7 elaborated the hypotheti-
eal facts as follows:

Following a practice common among taxable
magazines which publish advertising, Z requires
its advertising to comply with certain general
standards of taste, fairness, and accuracy; but
within those limits the form, content, and man-
ner of presentation of the advertising messages
are governed by the basic objective of the adver-
tisers to promote the sale of the advertised prod-
ucts. While the advertisements contain certain
information, the informational function of the
advertising is incidental to the controlling aim
of stimulating demand for the advertised prod-
ucts and differs in no essential respect from the
informational function of any commercial adver-
tising. Like taxable publishers of advertising,
Z accepts advertising only from those who are
willing to pay its prescribed rates.

Acknowledging that “continuing education of its
members * * * is one of the purposes for which Z is
granted exemption,” the Treasury nevertheless con-
cluded that “the publication of advertising designed
and selected in the manner of ordinary commercial
advertising is not an educational activity of the kind

13

contemplated by the exemption statute.” Treas. Reg.
§ 1.513-1(d) (4) (iv) (Example 7). Thus, “Z’s pub-
lication of advertising does not contribute impor-
tantly to the accomplishment of its exempt purposes;
and the income which it derives from advertising
constitutes gross income from unrelated trade or bus-
iness” (ibid.).

ce. The new Regulation triggered a storm of pro-
test from tax-exempt publishers. During 1968, Con-
gressmen sympathetic to their interests introduced
numerous bills to block the Regulation’s implemen-
tation. See Lehrfeld, supra, at 364-365; Weithorn &
Liles, supra, at 792 n.8. These initiatives were un-
successful. Extensive hearings were then held, at-
tended by spokesmen for both the exempt and the
non-exempt press. See Jax Reform, 1969: Hear-
ings Before the House Comm. on Ways and Means,
91st Cong., 1st Sess. (1969) [hereinafter cited as
House Hearings]; Tax Reform Act of 1969: Hear-
ings on H.R. 13270 Before the Senate Comm. on
Finance, 91st Cong., 1st Sess. (1969) [hereinafter
cited as Senate Hearings]. Tax-exempt publishers
of medical journals were well represented.‘ The wit-
nesses repeatedly characterized the challenged Reg-
ulation as establishing a “presumption” or a “per se
rule” that professional journal advertising income is
subject to unrelated business income tax.’ Those op-

*See, e.g., House Hearings 1259 (American Medical
Ass’n) ; id. at 1211 (American Dental Ass’n); id. at 1117
(American Psychiatric Ass’n); id. at 1110 (American Col-
lege of Physicians, respondent here).

* See, e.g., House Hearings 928 (Regulation “indicate[s]
that advertising is unrelated per se to an exempt purpose”) ;
id. at 1113 (Regulation is “designed * * * to preclude even the
possibility” that advertising income could escape tax); id.
at 1188 (“all advertising in an organization publication is

14

posing the Regulation argued that the Treasury
lacked statutory authority to “fragment” publishing
activity and to treat commercial advertising as a
“trade or business” distinct from the journal’s edi-
torial content. See, e.g., House Hearings 1111,
1128-1129, 1184, 1213. And they contended that
product advertising furthered their associations’ tax-
exempt purposes, e.g., by educating doctors about new
pharmaceutical products.*° The non-exempt press, on
the other hand, defended the Regulation as a check
upon the perceived inequity and anti-competitive
effect of affording a tax subsidy to their tax-exempt
counterparts. See, e.g., House Hearings 1150-1152,
1176-1177.

d. In the Tax Reform Act of 1969, Pub. L. No.
91-172, 83 Stat. 487 et seg., Congress resolved the
controversy by endorsing the Regulation and paving
the way for its enforcement. Congress added to the
Code new Section 513(c), entitled “Advertising, Etc.,
Activities.” It provides that the term “trade or busi-
ness” includes any activity “carried on for the pro-
duction of income,” and that “an activity does not
lose identity as a trade or business merely because it
is carried on within a larger aggregate of similar
activities or within a larger complex of other en-

now taxable”) ; id. at 1192 (Regulation effects “blanket taxa-
tion of all advertising”); id. at 1268 (Regulation creates a
“presumption regarding advertising”); Senate Hearings
1670 (“all advertising is to be considered unrelated”) ; id.
at 1705 (Regulation establishes “conclusive presumption * * *
that all advertising [is] taxable”).

® See, e.g., House Hearings 1111-1112 (American College
of Physicians); id. at 1119-1120 (American Psychiatric
Ass’n); id. at 1214 (American Dental Ass’n); id. at 1261
(American Medical Ass’n).

15

deavors which may, or may not, be related to the
exempt purposes of the organization.” Those words,
expressly sanctioning “fragmentation” of an activity
into exempt-purpose and unrelated-business compo-
nents, were taken almost verbatim from the 1967
Treasury Regulation promulgated to deal with the
commercial advertising problem. Compare I.R.C.
§ 513(c) with Treas. Reg. § 1.513-1(b), 32 Fed. Reg.
17657 (1967).

The legislative history accompanying Section 513
(c) plainly shows that Congress intended to codify
the treatment of advertising income prescribed by
the 1967 Regulation. The Treasury Department
took the position before Congress that the bill “codi-
fies previously existing Treasury regulations defin-
ing activities such as advertising, which will be
treated as unrelated business.” Senate Hearings 568
(testimony of Assistant Secretary for Tax Policy
Edwin S. Cohen) ; Staff of Senate Comm. on Finance,
91st Cong., Ist Sess., Tax Reform Act of 1969 H.R.
13270: Technical Memorandum of Treasury Posi-
tion 34 (Comm. Print 1969). The House Report
recites that the 1967 Regulation had “mainly af-
fected the advertising income of publications such as
medical journals,” and stated that “ly]Jour commit-
tee wants to make clear that such regulations are
valid.” H.R. Rep. 91-413, 91st Cong., 1st Sess. Pt. 1,
at 44 (1969). The Report then explains the new
Section 513(c) as follows (id. at 50):

Because of the ensuing controversy over this
problem your committee has decided to deal with
this subject by legislation. In general, it is in
agreement with the purpose of the regulations.
Your committee believes that a business compet-
ing with taxpaying organizations should not be

16

granted an unfair competitive advantage by op-
erating tax free unless the business contributes
importantly to the exempt function. It has con-
cluded that by this standard, advertising in a
journal published by an exempt organization is
not related to the organization’s exempt func-

tions, and therefore it believes that this income
should be taxed.

The Senate Report is equally explicit. It notes the
controversy over the 1967 Regulation and continues
as follows (S. Rep. 91-552, 91st Cong., Ist Sess. 75
(1969) ):

The committee agrees with the House that
the regulations reached an appropriate result in
specifying that when an exempt organization
carries on an advertising business in competi-
tion with other taxpaying advertising businesses,
it should pay a tax on the advertising income.
The statutory language on which the regulations
are based, however, is sufficiently unclear so that
substantial litigation could result from these
regulations. For this reason, the committee
agrees with the House that the regulations, in-
sofar as they apply to advertising and related
activities, should be placed in the tax laws.

The Report goes on to summarize the language of
new Section 513(c), and concludes: “Under this pro-
vision, advertising income from publications (whether
or not the publications are related to the exempt pur-
pose of the organization) is to constitute unrelated
business income to the extent it exceeds the expenses
related to advertising” (S. Rep. 91-552, supra, at
75). The Treasury was directed to “prescribe regu-
lations indicating the appropriate methods for allo-

17

cating income and expenses” as between taxable
product advertising and tax-exempt editorial con-
tent (id. at 76).’

2. Surveying this legislative history, the court of
appeals concluded that Congress in 1969 laid down
no “blanket rule” (App., infra, 12a) about commer-
cial advertising in tax-exempt professional journals.
The court believed, rather, that Congress had left the
door ajar and consigned to the courts a case-by-case,
ad-by-ad determination as to whether some adver-
tisements in some journals are “substantially re-

* Those regulations were issued six years later. 40 Fed.
Reg. 58637 (i975). They provide generally that “[u]nder
section 513 * * * and § 1.513-1, amounts realized by an
exempt organization from the sale of advertising in a pe-
riodical constitute gross income from an unrelated trade or
business.” Treas. Reg. § 1.512(a)-1(f)(1). They then set
forth detailed allocation rules for advertising income and ex-
penses. Treas. Reg. § 1.512(a)-1(f) (2) through (7).

As both the Senate Report and the commentators predicted,
the 1967 Regulation did generate “substantial litigation” (S.
Rep. 91-552, supra, at 75) concerning its application to tax
years antedating Congress’s enactment of Section 513(c).
Indeed, two courts declared the Regulation invalid as applied
to pre-1970 tax years, reasoning that the Treasury previous!
lacked statutory authority to “fragment” publishing activity
into taxable and tax-exempt components. See Massachusetts
Medical Soc’y v. United States, 514 F.2d 153, 154 (1st Cir.
1975) ; American College of Physicians v. United States, 530
F.2d 930, 933 (Ct. Cl. 1976). In so holding, the Court of
Claims recognized that Congress in 1969 “prospectively
amended [Section 513] to validate the 1967 regulations,” and
it accordingly limited its decision to tax years before the
effective date of that enactment (530 F.2d at 930-931 n.2).
The taxpayer in the First Circuit case—like respondent, a
tax-exempt publisher of a medical journal—“acknowledge[d]
that its advertising activities [came] within the new regula-
tions’ definition of an unrelated trade or business” (514 F.2d
at 154).

18

lated” to the publisher’s exempt purpose and are ‘thus
immune from tax (see App., infra, 13a, 19a & n.23).
In overturning the Claims Court’s findings, more
over, the court of appeals implied that the advertis-
ing in Annals is somehow distinguishable from the
common run of advertising that does fall within the
area of Congress’s attention and concern.

The court of appeals erred in each step of its anal-
ysis. To begin with, Congress in 1969 quite plainly
did adopt a presumption or “blanket rule” that com-
mercial advertising income of professional journals
is subject to tax. The 1967 Treasury Regulation,
which Congress explicitly approved and determined
to “place[ ] in the tax laws” (S. Rep. 91-552, supra,
at 75), was uniformly interpreted, both by the wit-
nesses who testified against it* and by leading com-
mentators, as creating a presumption to that effect.’
Indeed, the Regulation unequivocally states that “the
publication of advertising designed and selected in
the manner of ordinary commercial advertising is not
an educational activity of the kind contemplated by
the exemption statute.” Treas. Reg. § 1.513-1(d)
(4) (iv) (Example 7). And Congress made clear
that, under the statutory standard it was adopting,

® See pages 13-14 note 5, supra.

*See, e.g., Lehrfeld, supra, at 355 (“per se rule”);
Weithorn & Liles, supra, at 806 (“all journal advertising
constitutes unrelated business”) (emphasis in original) ;
Moore, Current Problems of Exempt Organizations, 24
Tax L. Rev. 469, 475 (1969) (“the regulations take the
position that all advertising revenues of journals of tax-
exempt organizations constitute a separate trade or busi-
ness”); Middleditch & Webster, The new unrelated business
income Regs: what they mean; how to cope with them, 28
J. Tax. 174, 175 (Mar. 1968) (“Under the new Regulations,
all advertising in an organization publication is now tax-
able”).

19

“advertising in a journal published by an exempt
organization is not related to the organization’s ex-
empt functions, and therefore * * * this income
should be taxed” (H.R. Rep. 91-413 Pt. 1, supra,
at 50). Although the presumption Congress en-
acted may admit of exceptions,” Congress plainly
intended that the exceptions would be rare indeed.”

Secondly, there is no suggestion anywhere in Sec-
tion 513(c) or its legislative history that Congress
intended the courts to confer ad hoc immunity from
the unrelated business income tax depending on their
subjective, case-by-case evaluation of how “impor-
tantly” particular advertisments contribute to a tax-
exempt publisher’s goals. The Regulations do pro
vide that whether an activity is “substantially re-
lated” to an exempt purpose generally “depends in

’* The chief exception recognized by the Treasury Depart-
ment concerns advertising published in a student-run campus
newspaper, where “solicitation, sale, and publication of the
advertising are conducted by students, under the supervi-
sion and instruction of the university.” Treas. Reg. § 1.513-
1(d) (4) (iv) (Example 5). The Example concludes that,
under these circumstances, publication of the advertising con-
tributes importantly to the university’s educational goals “by
means of student instruction of other students in the * * *
advertising activities and student participation in those activi-
ties.” See also Rev. Rul. 76-93, 1976-1 C.B. 170 (recognizing
exception for advertisement which contains no commercial
message but merely lists a company’s name, along with the
names of 59 other corporate “patrons,” on a single page).

“ As one commentator put it (rather ironically, as it turns
out): “[Ijt is arguable [after the enactment of Section
513(c)] that there can still be ‘related’ advertising. How-
ever, the legislative history and intent of the Congress is so
clear that the likelihood of this argument prevailing as to any
period after December 31, 1969 is very improbable.” Webster,
Unrelated Business Income, 23 Tax Law. 471, 476 (1970).

20

each case upon the facts and circumstances involved”
(Treas. Reg. § 1.513-1(d) (2)). However, Congress
and the Treasury Department have definitively under-
taken this calculus with respect to professional jour-
nal advertising activities in particular, and have de-
termined, as a matter of law, that “the publication
of advertising designed and selected in the manner of
ordinary commercial advertising is not an educa-
tional activity of the kind contemplated by the ex-
emption statute” (Treas. Reg. § 1.513-1(d) (4) (iv)
(Example 7)). There is simply no room for courts
to second-guess that determination by purporting to
“find facts,” and thereby defeat the very uniform-
ity and even-handedness of tax treatment that Con-
gress sought to achieve.

Finally, the court of appeals erred in thinking that
the advertising in Annals is somehow different from
the common run of advertising that Congress clearly
intended to tax. To the contrary, the pharmaceutical
product advertising involved here was at the core
of the problem Congress addressed in 1969. Far from
being exceptional, respondent’s advertising is of the
garden-variety commercial type and it vies success-
fully in the marketplace for advertisers’ dollars. The
court of appeals did not disturb the Claims Court's
findings that “[t]he advertising * * “ was typical
commercial publicity” (App., infra, 28a) and that
“(t]he advertising business of Annals was operated
in material respects like the advertising business of
any other publication” (id. at 33a). Respondent’s
ads, like those held taxable in the Regulation Con-
gress approved, are “designed and selected in the
manner of ordinary commercial advertising” and
their “informational function * * * is incidental to
the controlling aim of stimulating demand for the

21

advertised products” (Treas. Reg. § 1.513-1(d) (4)
(iv) (Example 7)). Indeed, the Court of Claims
found on an earlier occasion that “Annals regularly
competes for advertising income with commercially
published medical journals which, because of their
non-exempt status, must in some instances charge
higher rates than [respondent].” American College
of Physicians vy. United States, 530 F.2d at 931.
Contrary to the court of appeals’ belief, moreover,
it makes no difference that respondent’s advertise-
ments are “screened with respect to subject matter
[and] accuracy” (App., infra, 17a) or that they
“served to apprise internists of developments in their
field” (id. at 19a). The advertisements described
in the Regulation are also screened to ensure that
they “comply with certain general standards of taste,
fairness, and accuracy,” and those advertisements
also relate exclusively to “products * * * within the
general area of professional interest of [the associa-
tion’s] members” (Treas. Reg. § 1.513-1(d) (4) (iv)
(Example 7)). Indeed, the Regulation makes clear
that “professional interest” advertising, for products
like drugs and medical devices, and “general con-
sumer advertising,” for products like soft drinks, au-
tomobiles, and appliances, are to be treated exactly
the same way for purposes of the unrelated business
income tax. Compare id. (Example 6) with id. (Ex-
ample 7). The Regulation thus recognizes the sim-

“ See also Staff of Joint Comm. on Internal Revenue Taxa-
tion, 91st Cong., 1st Sess., Summary of Problems Included in
Tax Reform Hearings Dealing with Tax-Exempt Organiza-
tions 4 (Comm. Print 1969) (“The advertising income is sub-
ject to tax under the existing regulations whether or not the
advertising is with respect to a product which itself may be
related to the exempt activity of the organization involved”).

22

ple reality that, to the extent the advertiser is charged
a fee as a condition of publication of the advertise-
ment, the message is that of the advertiser rather
than one to which the journal would choose to devote
its own, general resources. A long line of this Court’s
decisions confirms that interpretive rulings by the
Treasury, “if found to ‘implement the congressional
mandate in some reasonable manner,’ must be up-
held.” National Muffler Dealers Ass’n v. United
States, 440 U.S. 472, 476 (1979) (quoting United
States v. Cartwright, 411 U.S. 546, 550 (1973)).
And here the Regulation not only implements the
congressional mandate but was specifically endorsed
by Congress when it enacted the mandate in ques-
tion.

In sum, the decision below invalidates sub silentio
a Treasury Regulation that, having been explicitly
approved by Congress, the court of appeals appar-
ently did not dare invalidate in terms. In permitting
respondent to operate its commercial advertising
venture tax-free while its business rivals must pay
tax, the court of appeals has adopted a controlling
legal standard that flies in the face of Congress's
design to achieve parity of treatrrent between exempt
and non-exempt entities that publish advertisements
for profit.

3. The question presented has considerable admin-
istrative importance. The reasoning of the decision
below would apparently apply to virtually every tax-
exempt professional or trade journal in the country.
Associations of lawyers, chemists, engineers, com-
puter programmers, and water pollution experts, no
less than of doctors, can plausibly contend that their
members’ professional competency is enhanced by up-
dated information contained in advertisements for

23

new products and services. According to Folio:
400/192, a publishing industry compilation, there
were in 1981 some 5,730 trade journals in the coun-
try, earning about $2.8 billion in revenues, the bulk
of which came from advertising. Although it is diffi-
cult to tell how many of these journals currently are
published by tax-exempt organizations, estimates be-
fore Congress in 1969 put the number at 700, with
gross advertising revenues of about $110 million.
Weithorn & Liles, supra, at 791. Those numbers can
be expected to have grown since. According to postal
service statistics, some 150 million pounds of com-
mercial advertising were contained in exempt organ-
ization publications mailed during 1982 using special
second class postage rates. U.S. Postal Service, Reve-
nue, Pieces and Weight (1982).

The revenue impact of the decision below would
likewise be substantial. Tax-exempt publishing is a
big business. Of the 400 largest magazines in the
Nation in 1981, at least 45 were published by tax-
exempt organizations. In the medical field alone,
they include the Journal of the American Medical
Association (with 1983 advertising revenues of
$14,207,000) ; the New England Journal of Medicine
(with 1983 advertising revenues of $12,000,000) :
American Medical News (with 1983 advertising reve-
nues of $8,497,000) ; and respondent’s Annals of In-
ternal Medicine (with 1983 advertising revenues of
$4,637,000). See Folio: 400/1984, at 57, 60, 65.
Indeed, the IRS estimates (based on industry
sources) that between 20% and 25% of all commer-
cial advertising in the medical field is published in
exempt organization periodicals. The IRS advises
that there are either currently pending or closed
within the last two years some 200 examinations of
advertising in exempt organization periodicals, in

24

which tax deficiencies totalling $29.6 million have
been proposed. The Service estimates that almost
half its total collections from the unrelated business
income tax are attributable to revenues from com-
mercial advertising in professional and trade journals.

Aside from the revenue impact, the decision below
would impose formidable burdens on IRS audit re
sources. Under the (heretofore unquestioned) regu-
latory presumption that commercial advertising is
taxable, IRS examiners were not required to investi-
gate the “educational” function of advertisements
on a case-by-case basis; the agent’s task was simply
to identify the ad as being for a commercial product
or service. Under the decision below, by contrast,
IRS agents will apparently have to determine, on a
case-by-case, ad-by-ad basis, which commercial adver-
tisements “contribute importantly” to the publisher’s
exempt function and which do not.” As a witness
testified before Congress in 1969, “[t]o draw the
line on an individual basis * * * and to say that this
is advertising which is unrelated and that [that is]
advertising [which] is related would present to the
IRS[,] and taxpayers generally, an almost insur-
mountable audit problem.” House Hearings 1184

18 The court of appeals, for example, highlighted an adver-
tisement placed in Annals for Medical Economics ( App., infra,
60a), a magazine that offers financial and tax advice to doc-
tors, and suggested that it would not qualify as “substantially
related” to the College's exempt function. See id. at 19a &
n.23. But would the same be said about an advertisement
placed by an interior decorating firm that specializes in doc-
tors’ offices? And does a drug advertisement serve an educa-
tional purpose when the product is widely known and has been
available (say) for 15 years? The IRS advises that the
amount of time required to audit tax-exempt publishers might
increase by as much as 50° by the need to answer questions
like these.

25

(American Society of Association Executives). The
existing Treasury approach, by establishing a general
rule that commercial advertising is unrelated to ex-
empt purposes, produces logical tax consequences and
prevents journals from manipulating the tax outcome
simply by advising their advertisers to insert inciden-
tal “educational” boilerplate in their ads. The court
of appeals has discarded that analysis and has pro-
vided no workable standard to take its place.

Finally, the question presented is important be-
cause the unrelated business income tax has a sig-
nificant regulatory function. Congress designed the
tax, not just to raise money, but to keep the com-
mercial endeavors of exempt and non-exempt com-
petitors on a par. The decision below has flouted
that sharply-defined legislative policy.

4. The decision below is the first by a court of
appeals to consider the question presented here. The
Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit, however, is
a court of nationwide jurisdiction. Any taxpayer, re-
gardless of where he is domiciled or does business,
can have his case heard in the Claims Court, with
review in the Federal Circuit, simply by paying the
contested tax and suing for a refund. 28 U.S.C. 1491.
In the future, therefore, any solvent, well-advised
taxpayer affected by this issue will unquestionably
opt for the same venue as did respondent."* Unless

* We are aware of three cases now pending in trial courts
outside the Federal Circuit that raise the question presented
here. There is no assurance, however, that any of these
cases will reach a court of appeals. Indeed, our trial counsel
in one of the cases (American Medical Ass’n v. United States,
Civ. No. 82-C-7213 (N.D. Ill. 1982)) has been informed that
the taxpayer plans to move for a voluntary dismissal under
Fed. R. Civ. P. 41(a), a plan obviously motivated by the
decision below. In Florida Trucking Ass’n v. Commissioner,

26

this Court grants certiorari, therefore, the decision
below will in all likelihood prescribe the governing
legal standard on the subject. We believe that the
court’s error is too important, both to Congress and
to the IRS, to permit that to happen.

CONCLUSION

The petition for a writ of certiorari should be
granted.

Respectfully submitted.

Rex E. LEE
Solicitor General

GLENN L. ARCHER, JR.
Assistant Attorney General

ALBERT G. LAUBER, JR.
Assistant to the Solicitor General

ROBERT A. BERNSTEIN
ROBERT S. POMERANCE
Attorneys

May 1985

No. 4884-84 (T.C. 1984), the “relatedness” issue involves only
$3,225 in tax and may well wash out at the trial level; and in
American Academy of Family Physicians v. United States,
Civ. No. 84-0170-CV-W-4 (W.D. Mo. 1984), which is currently
in settlement negotiations, the “relatedness” issue involves
only $18,000 in tax and is dwarfed by numerous other issues
in the case.

APPENDIX A

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE FEDERAL CIRCUIT

Appeal No. 84-715

THE AMERICAN COLLEGE OF PHYSICIANS, APPELLANT
Vv.

THE UNITED STATES, APPELLEE

Decided: September 17, 1984

Before BALDWIN, SMITH, and NIEs, Circuit Judges.
SMITH, Circuit Judge.

In this federal income tax case, appellant Ameri-
can College of Physicians (College) appeals from a
judgment of the United States Claims Court’ hold-
ing the College is not entitled to the refund of taxes
paid on income earned from sales of advertising
space in the College’s journal, Annals of Internal
Medicine (Annals). We reverse.

Issue

The sole question presented in this appeal is one of
first impression for this court: whether the reve-

' American College of Physicians v. United States. 3 Cl. Ct.
531 (1983).

(la)

2a

nues derived by the College from advertising in An-
nals constitute “unrelated business taxable income”’
derived from a trade or business the conduct of
which is not substantially related to the exercise or
performance by the College of its tax-exempt pur-
poses or functions. This appeal involves the College’s
tax liability for the 1975 tax year.

Background

The College is an organization exempt from fed-
eral income taxation under 26 U.S.C. §§ 501(a) and
501(c)(3). Among its tax-exempt purposes are*
“(1) to uphold and to maintain high standards in
medical education, medical practice [and medical re-
search]; (2) to encourage research, especially in
clinical medicine, and (3) to foster measures for the
prevention of disease and for the improvement of
public health.” Membership in the College is limited
to members of the medical profession engaged in
practice, teaching, research, or other pursuits in the
field of internal medicine or in allied or related
specialties.

Annals, a highly regarded medical journal in the
field of internal medicine, is published by the College
in furtherance of its tax-exempt purposes. Annals
contains scholarly articles relevant to the practice of
internal medicine, advertisements relating only to
medical products, supplies, and equipment useful in
the practice of internal medicine, and notices of posi-
tions, desired or available, in connection with the
practice of internal medicine. Annals is available to
members of the College as a benefit of membership

2 These purposes, inter alia, are set forth in the College’s
Articles of Incorporation.

3a

and to nonmembers at a per issue price or by sub-
scription. Circulation in 1975 was roughly 73,000.

Advertisements in Annals are “stacked” in two
sections—at the front of, and behind, the editorial
content—of each issue. Advertisements in medical
journals published by commercial organizations are
generally also grouped in stacks, rather than dis-
persed throughout an issue. The trial judge found
that many of the ads appearing in Annals were iden-
tical to those appearing in medical journals published
by nonexempt organizations. He also found that the
advertising business of Annals was operated in ma-
terial respects like the advertising business of any
other publication.

Advertisements appearing in Annals were pre-
pared by the advertisers and not by the College. The
trial court found that the college did not use the ad-
vertising in Annals to provide its readers a com-
prehensive or systematic presentation of the goods
or services publicized. Advertising space was made
available in Annals at rates competitive with those
charged by commercial organizations for advertis-
ing space in their medical journals.

The College has a long-standing policy of accepting
only those advertisements relating to medical prod-
ucts (primarily drugs), supplies, and equipment use-
ful in the practice of internal medicine and those
classified advertisements of positions in connection
with the practice of internal medicine. Proffered ad-
vertisements are screened for accuracy and relevance
to internal medicine.

1975 Advertising Revenues.

In 1975, gross advertising income attributable to
Annals was $1,376,322. Direct advertising costs were

4a

$833,050. Circulation income and readership costs
attributable to Annals in 1975 were $1,057,754 and
$1,351,167, respectively. Another publication of the
College, the Bulletin, produced an overall loss of
$96,471. The College timely reported taxable income
of $153,388 and paid federal income taxes of $55,965
on that income for the 1975 tax year.

Proceedings Below.

On or about June 12, 1979, the College filed with
the Internal Revenue Service a timely claim for re-
fund of these taxes. Failing to receive notice of dis-
allowance of this claim, receipt of which was not
waived, the College, on or about August 17, 1982,
filed in the United States Claims Court suit for re
fund of the taxes. The trial court found that the
advertising published in Annals is not substantially
related to the College’s exempt purposes nor is it
published primarily for the convenience of the Col-
lege’s members. Accordingly, the revenues derived
from advertising in Annals were held to be taxable.
The College appeals.

The trial court’s findings of fact are not to be set
aside unless they are clearly erroneous. The legal
conclusions of the trial court will not be set aside
unless they are incorrect as a matter of law.’

Unrelated Business Taxable Income

The Internal Revenue Code provided at the rele-
vant time, with certain exceptions not applicable here,
that the income derived from the unrelated business

’ Fed. R. Civ. P. 52(a) ; Heisig v. United States, 719 F.2d
1153, 1158 (Fed. Cir. 1983).

5a

of an organization which is exempt from taxation
under 26 U.S.C. § 501(a) (1976) is taxable: *

There is hereby imposed for each taxable year
on the unrelated business taxable income (as de
fined in section 512) of every organization de
scribed in paragraph (2) a normal tax and a
surtax computed as provided in section 11. In
making such computation for purposes of this
section, the term “taxable income” as used in
section 11 shall be read as “unrelated business
taxable income’”’.

The College is an organization described in paragraph
(2)—an organization exempt from taxation under
26 U.S.C. § 501(a) not eligible for certain exceptions.
Section 512(a)(1) of title 26 of the United States
Code provides:

[T]he term “unrelated business taxable income”
means the gross income derived by any organiza-
tion from any unrelated trade or business (as
defined in section 513) regularly carried on by
it, less the deductions allowed by this chapter
which are directly connected with the carrying
on of such trade or business * * *.

Section 513 provides: °

The term “unrelated trade or business” means.
in the case of any organization subject to the
tax imposed by section 511, any trade or busi-
ness the conduct of which is not substantially
related (aside from the need of such organiza-
tion for income or funds or the use it makes of

*26 U.S.C. §511(a)(1) (1976).
*26 U.S.C. §513(a) (1976).

—

6a

the profits derived) to the exercise or perform-
ance by such organization of its charitable, edu-
cational, or other purpose or function constitut-
ing the basis for its exemption under section 501
* * * except that such term does not include any
trade or business—

(2) which is carried on, in the case of
an organization described in section 501(c)
(3) * * * by the organization primarily for
the convenience of its members * * *[.]

The definition provided in section 513 is explained
by Treas. Reg. § 1.513-1(a) (1976):

[Unless one of the specific exceptions of section
512 or 513 is applicable, gross income of an
exempt organization subject to the tax imposed
by section 511 is includible in the computation
of unrelated business taxable income if: (1) It
is income from trade or business; (2) such trade
or business is regularly carried on by the organi-
zation; and (3) the conduct of such trade or
business is not substantially related (other than
through the production of funds) to the organ-
ization’s performance of its exempt functions.

There is no dispute in this case that the advertising
income is from a trade or business that is regularly
carried on. Thus, the only remaining issues are
whether that activity is not substantially related to
an exempt purpose or function of the organization,
and, in any event, whether the advertising does not
constitute an “unrelated trade or business” because
it is covered by the exception of section 513(a) (2)
as a trade or business which is carried on by the or-

7a

ganization primarily for the convenience of its
members.

“Substantially Related” Standard

The relevant Treasury regulations outline the anal-
ysis required under the “substantially related” ele
ment of section 513: *

The presence of this requirement necessitates an
examination of the relationship between the bus-
iness activities which generate the particular in-
come in question—the activities, that is, of pro-
ducing or distributing the goods or performing
the services involved—and the accomplishment
of the organization’s exempt purposes.

The regulations proceed to delimit the type of rela-
tionship required: *

Trade or business is “related” to exempt pur-
poses, in the relevant sense, only where the con-
duct of the business activities has causal rela-
tionship to the achievement of exempt purposes
(other than through the production of income) ;
and it is “substantially related,” for purposes of
section 513, only if the causal relationship is a
substantial one. Thus, for the conduct of trade
or business from which a particular amount of
gross income is derived to be substantially re-
lated to purposes for which exemption is granted,
the production or distribution of the goods or the
performance of the services from which the

* Treas. Reg. § 1.513-1(d) (1) (1976).
" Treas. Reg. § 1.513-1(d) (2) (1976).

8a

gross income is derived must contribute impor-
tantly to the accomplishment of those purposes.
Where the production or distribution of the
goods or the performance of the services does
not contribute importantly to the accomplish-
ment of the exempt purposes of an organization,
the income from the sale of the goods or the per-
formance of the services does not derive from the
conduct of related trade or business. Whether
activities productive of gross income contribute
importantly to the accomplishment of any pur-
pose for which an organization is granted ex-
emption depends in each case upon the facts and
circumstances involved.

Further, the regulations provide that *

[i]n determining whether activities contribute
importantly to the accomplishment of an exempt
purpose, the size and extent of the activities in-
volved must be considered in relation to the na-
ture and extent of the exempt function which
they purport to serve. Thus, where income is
realized by an exempt organization from activi-
ties which are in part related to the performance
of its exempt functions, but which are conducted
on a larger scale than is reasonably necessary
for performance of such functions, the gross in-
come attributable to that portion of the activities
in excess of the needs of exempt functions con-
stitutes gross income from the conduct of unre-
lated trade or business. Such income is not de-
rived from the production or distribution of
goods or the performance of services which con-

* Treas. Reg. § 1.518-1(d) (3) (1976).

9a

tribute importantly to the accomplishment of
any exempt purpose of the organization.

Development of Section 513

Prior to 1950, the test for whether income re-
ceived by a tax-exempt organization was taxable was
the destination of those funds, not their source.’ The
predecessor provisions to sections 511-513 were pro-
mulgated in response to the abuse of tax-exempt status
by certain tax-exempt organizations which were op-
erating unrelated commercial enterprises purely as
a source of revenue.”®

The evils sought to be remedied by that legislation
were specific and limited, although at the time the
problem was spiraling. The First Circuit, in Massa-
chusetts Medical Society v. United States, noted that ™

[ijn his message to Congress in 1950 President
Truman sought legislation to correct “the few
giaring abuses of the tax exemption privilege,”
“tating that it had been “misused in a few in-
stances to gain competitive advantage over pri-
vate enterprise through the conduct of business
and industrial operations entirely unrelated to
educational activities.” * * *

* Trinidad v. Sagrada Orden, 263 U.S. 578, 581 (1924).

1” See C. F. Mueller Co. v. Commissioner, 190 F.2d 120
(3d Cir. 1951).

'! Massachusetts Medical Soc’y vy. United States, 514 F.2d
153, 154 (ist Cir. 1975) (quoting Hearings on Revenue Re-
vision Before the House Committee on Ways and Means, 81st
Cong., 2d Sess. 4, 5 (1950)). See also H.R. Rep. No. 2319,
8ist Cong., 2d Sess. 36-37 (1950), S. Rep. No. 23765, 8ist
Cong., 2d Sess. 29, 107 (1950).

10a

Similarly, the Court of Claims, in addressing whether
advertising in Annals was taxable during a different
tax year, stated

[t]he 1950 Act was a fairly limited measure, de-
signed to distinguish the customary activities of
exempt organizations from the operation of in-
dependent business enterprises entirely unrelated
to the educational purpose of the organization.
The publication of advertising in tax-exempt edu-
cational journals was a well-established practice
before 1950, and Congress did not intend to treat
such advertising on a par with an independently
run advertisement placement agency.

Prior to 1967, the Commissioner took no steps to
tax the advertising income of professional journals
of tax-exempt organizations. In that year, the Treas-
ury amended its regulations to provide that commer-
cial advertising does not lose its identity as a trade
or business “even though the advertising is published
in an exempt organization periodical which contains
editorial matter related to the exempt purposes of the
organization.” Hence, Treasury adopted a frag-
mentary definition of trade or business.

The First Circuit in Massachusetts Medical So-
ciety,"* and the Court of Claims, in American College
of Physicians,” rejected the fragmentary approach,

% American College of Physicians v. United States, 530
F.2d 930, 933 (Ct. Cl. 1976) (resolved on grounds other than
substantial relation of the activity to an exempt purpose).

“% Treas. Reg. § 1.513-1(b) (1968).

% Massachusetts Medical Soc’y, 514 F.2d 153.

1% American College of Physicians, 530 F.2d 930 (following
reasoning of First Circuit in Massachusetts Medical Soc’y).

lla

however, as inconsistent with the legislative history,
with the treatment of deductions in the regulations,
and with section 512(a) of the code, in favor of
treatment of the integrated publication of a periodi-
cal as a “trade or business.” In American College
of Physicians,” the court did not reach the sole issue
before us:

Since we view as dispositive the issue of whether
plaintiff's advertising activities, as a matter of
law, constituted a “trade or business” for tax
purposes—irrespective of whether the advertise-
ments themselves are or are not substantially re-
lated to plaintiff's exempt purpose—we find it
unnecessary to resolve this essentially factual
dispute.

In the interim before the regulations were declared
invalid, however, Congress enacted the Tax Reform
Act of 1969 amending section 513.

Effect of Tax Reform Act
of 1969 on Section 513.

The Government asserts that the enactment of sec-
tion 513 pursuant to the Tax Reform Act of 1969 re
flects a congressional intent to tax advertising reve-
nues as an unrelated trade or business. Subsection
(c) was added to section 513: "

(c) Advertising, etc., activities

For purposes of this section, the term “trade or
business” includes any activity which is carried
on for the production of income from the sale

* American College of Physicians, 530 F 2d at 931 n.3.
26 U.S.C. §513(c) (1976).

12a

of goods or the performance of services. For
purposes of the preceding sentence, an activity
does not lose identity as a trade or business
merely because it is carried on within a larger
aggregate of similar activities or within a larger
complex of other endeavors which may, or may
not, be related to the exempt purposes of the
organization. Where an activity carried on for
profit constitutes an unrelated trade or business,
no part of such trade or business shall be ex-
cluded from such classification merely because it
does not result in profit.

The Government avers that Congress expressly vali-
dated the regulations that were held invalid in Mas-
sachusetts Medical Society and in American College
of Physicians. The Government, quite properly, rec-
ognizes that congressional action was not in response
to the above cases.“ Rather, the Government asserts
that it reflects a broader policy decision to tax or-
ganizations such as the College. We disagree.

The Government relies on statements of the House
Ways and Means Committee to the effect that it was
anticipated that advertising income from a journal
published by an exempt organization would constitute
unrelated business income.” While the committee
may have believed that advertising income should be
taxed, it did not adopt a blanket rule. Rather, it

'® The Government recognizes that the cases were decided
subsequent to amendment of the code by the Tax Reform
Act of 1969 and involved tax years prior to the effective date
of the amendment.

” H.R. Rep. No. 413, 9ist Cong., ist Sess. at 50, reprinted
in 1969 U.S. Cope Conc. & Ap. News 1645, 1695-96. See also
S. Rep. No. 552, 9ist Cong., Ist Seas. at 75-76, reprinted mm
1969 U.S. Cope Conc. & Ap. News 1645, 2104-06.

13a

expressly preserved the exemption for those trade or
business activities that contribute importantly to the
exempt function. The legislative history addresses
advertising generally and does not grapple with spe-
cific factual situations. Congress heard testimony
that medical advertising in journals such as Annals
is substantially related to the exempt purposes of
organizations such as the College, yet, Congress made
no change to the “substantial relation” or “conven-
ience” tests of section 513(a). Instead, it amended
the statute only to provide that advertising activity
shall be treated as a separate trade or business for
purposes of analysis.

The Government’s reliance on HCSC-Laundry v.
United States* is unavailing. That case held that
a cooperative hospital service organization cannot
qualify for tax-exempt status under section 501(c)
(3) but, instead, may qualify only under section 501
(e). The laundry was previously held exempt under
section 501(c)(3)*" which was unchanged by the ad-
dition of section 501(e).

Section 501(e), however, provided exact guidance
in the treatment of cooperative service organizations
and, in so doing, omitted any specific exemption for
shared laundry organizations. In HCSC-Laundry,
the specific provision, subsection (e), was held to
control over the more general, subsection (c) (3),
particularly in view of their interrelationship.

A different section of the code is involved in this
case. Section 513(c) is not a “more specific” pro-

* HCSC-Laundry v. United States, 450 U.S. 1 (1981).

21 Northern Cal. Cent. Servs., Inc. v. United States, 591 F.2d
620 (Ct. Cl. 1979) (holding that despite enactment of
§ 501 (e), a cooperative hospital laundry remained a § 501 (c)
(3) exempt organization—a position expressly rejected in
HCSC-Laundry).

l4a

vision which governs the “more general” section 513
(a). Rather, subsection (c) defines the trade or bus-
iness to be analyzed under the substantially related
test of subsection (a). Nor are we convinced of the
congressional purpose asserted by the Government.
We conclude that the Government has not established
that Congress intended to tax all advertising revenues
of all journals of exempt organizations. Even were
we to agree that Congress did so intend, it failed to
carry that alleged intent forward into the statute
with language appropriate to effect that result.

We conclude that Congress, in enacting section 513
(c), intended for advertising activity to be treated
as a separate trade or business for purposes of the
unrelated business income tax provisions. Section
513(a) expressly requires that, although considered
a separate trade or business, the conduct of that ad-
vertising must be evaluated to determine whether
it is not substantially related to an exempt purpose
or function of the organization and to determine
whether the conduct of the trade or business is not
primarily for the convenience of the organization’s
members, before that income is taxable. The trial
judge undertook that analysis and we conclude that
he erred.

The trial judge attempted first to determine whether
the conduct of the trade or business is not substan-
tially related to the performance of the College’s tax-
exempt purposes. The College maintains that the
advertising performs an educational function; a sug-
gestion the court below found unpersuasive. The
trial court focused instead on the commercial char-
acter of the advertising and on the degree of simi-
larity to advertising activity carried on by commer-
cial organizations. While it recognized the advertis-

l5a

ing had some degree of educational content, the trial
court went on to state that:

To avoid the [unrelated business income tax,]
an exempt organization would have to run its
advertising business much differently than did
plaintiff. For example, it might make a con-
certed effort to provide advertising that compre-
hensively surveys a particular field, includes all
recent developments in that field, or otherwise
makes a systematic presentation on some subject
relevant to the organization’s exempt purposes.
To qualify for exemption, the advertising pack-
age as a whole must serve an identifiable educa-
tional objective that goes substantially beyond
the informational content of the individual ad-
vertisements. This standard is not met where,
as here, the comprehensiveness and content of
the advertising package is entirely dependent on
each manufacturer’s willingness to pay for space
and the imagination of its advertising agency.

The court below found any educational function of
the activity to be incidental to the purpose of raising
revenue.

Having found the advertising in Annals not sub-
stantially related to the College’s exempt purposes,
the trial judge proceeded to determine whether it was
nevertheless carried on primarily for the convenience
of the College’s members in their capacity as mem-
bers of the College and not merely in their capacity
as physicians. He found that the advertising busi-
ness was not carried on primarily for the conven-
ience of the College’s members but, rather, for the
primary purpose of raising revenue.

The College argues that the court below fashioned
its own test—adding requirements unsupported by

l6a

statute, legislative history, or regulation. The trial
court’s test, avers the College, requires a noncom-
mercial primary purpose. The College asserts that
the trial court’s decision is contrary to authority, re-
lies on the Internal Revenue Service’s generalizations
that journal advertising is unrelated, and fails to
recognize distinguishing facts present in this case.
The Government, on the other hand, asserts that the
trial court’s decision is consistent with both the in-
tent of Congress and the applicable Treasury regu-
lations.

We agree with the College that the trial court erred
in imposing a more rigorous standard than is sup-
ported by the statute. The trial court did not, how-
ever, impose tax liability merely because the primary
purpose was found to be to raise revenue. It relied
on a variety of factors, among them the similarity
to the content and conduct of advertising in commer-
cial publications.

The commercial character of the activity is not,
however, determinative. Rather, it is the substan-
tiality of the relationship—the importance of the con-
tribution of that activity—to the performance of the
College’s exempt purposes or functions, that is de-
terminative. The trial court’s analysis places too
great an emphasis on the similarity of the activity
to commercial advertising. Sections 511-513 impose
tax liability for revenues derived from activities that
are not sufficiently related to the exempt purpose or
function of the organization; not by virtue of the
commercial character of that activity.

The exempt purpose or function urged by the Col-
lege was the medical education of internists includ-
ing, but not limited to, dissemination of medical and
pharmaceutical information. The College’s expert

17a

witnesses testified regarding the need for continuing
pharmacologic information, particularly in view of
the rapid pace of developments in internal medicine.
Testimony was also elicited regarding the essential
function performed by drug advertising to dissemi-
nate information on recent developments with respect
to new drugs, changes in dosage forms and strengths
of existing drugs, and additional indications and con-
traindications discovered based on use. Finally, the
College’s experts testified that the advertising per-
formed an essential “alerting” function to inform the
physician of recent developments by disseminating
information concerning those developments.

The trial court recognized that “all advertising is
educational or informational to some degree.” The
College introduced evidence that the advertising
carried in Annals is screened with respect to sub-
ject matter and its content controlled. Advertising
is accepted only of products and services related to
the practice of internal medicine. The accuracy of
information in the advertisements appearing in
Annals is regulated, in part by information man-
dated by the Food and Drug Administration. Fur-
ther, the College screens new advertisements for
relevance to the practice of internal medicine. Simi-
larly, classified advertising in Annals is limited to
advertisements directly relevant to the practice of
internal medicine. The advertisements are also in-
dexed by advertiser.

The trial court erred in requiring the activity to
meet a standard higher than set out in the statute.
We conclude the trial court erred in requiring that
“[t]o qualify for exemption, the advertising pack-
age as a whole must serve an identifiable educational
objective that goes substantially beyond the informa-

18a

tional content of the individual advertisements.”
The trial court was apparently distracted by the
commercial character of the advertisements and
failed to focus properly on the substantiality of the
relation of the information content of the advertise-
ments to the College’s educational) function.

Comprehensive and systematic presentation of var-
ious aspects of the goods or services advertised, as the
trial court would require, would doubtless enhance
the strength of the relationship between the informa-
tion content of the advertisements and the College’s
educational function. The failure to present the in-
formation in that manner, however, does not estab-
lish the lack of an important contribution to the
exempt function of the advertisements that were pub-
lished in Annals. While new advertisements could be
considered of greater educational value than old, re-
peated ads, the trial court failed to examine the con-
tribution of the old, repeated ads to the educational
function. Similarly, systematic presentation of ad-
vertisements on some subject relevant to the College’s
educational function would doubtless further that
educational purpose. However, the failure of the Col-
lege to take additional steps that may have resulted
in a more substantial relation to the exempt purpose
does not establish that the content of the advertise-
ments is not already substantially related to that
purpose.

It was not necessary, in order to resolve the issue
before it, for the trial court to find that the primary
purpose of the advertising activity was to raise reve-
nue. That finding is relevant only inferentially in
that, if its primary purpose was commercial, the ad-
vertising business was not carried on primarily for
the convenience of the College’s members. The record
presents a very close question, but we cannot con-

19a

clude, on the basis of the record before us, that the
trial court’s finding, that the advertising was not
carried on “primarily for the convenience of [the
College’s] members,” is clearly erroneous. That the
primary purpose may have been commercial, how-
ever, does not preclude a finding that the activity is
substantially related to an exempt function.

We conclude that the trial court’s finding, that the
advertising in Annals is not substantially related to
the College’s tax-exempt, educational purpose, was
clearly erroneous. While the educational function of
the advertising may well have been secondary to the
purpose of raising revenues, the evidence of record
establishes that the advertising in Annals fulfilled an
important educational function. The advertisements
served to apprise internists of developments in their
field. The trial court made no finding that the size
and extent of the activity was excessive. On the basis
of the evidence of record, the size and extent of the
advertising activity appears to be reasonable in rela-
tion to the editorial content of Annals.”

The evidence of record establishes that the contri-
bution of the advertisements to the exempt purpose
is an important one. We hold that the sales of ad-
vertising in Annals are substantially related to the
exempt purpose of the College to educate internists
and, therefore, are not taxable under section 511.

Not all the advertisements that were published in
Annals, however, would appear to be substantially
related to the exempt educational function.“ Treas-
ury Reg. § 1.513-1(d) (3) (1976) provides

* Treas. Reg. § 1.513-1(d) (3) (1976).

8 The trial court cited the example of an advertisement for
Medical Economics magazine, which offers financial and busi-
ness advice to the practicing physician.

20a

where income is realized by an exempt organiza-
tion from activities which are in part related to
the performance of its exempt functions, but
which are conducted on a larger scale than is
reasonably necessary for performance of such
functions, the gross income attributable to that
portion of the activities in excess of the needs of
exempt functions constitutes gross income from
the conduct of unrelated trade or business. * * *

The Government, however, does not argue in this ap-
peal that some portion of the advertising in Annals
was in excess of what would be reasonably necessary
for performance of the exempt function. Accordingly,
it is not necessary for us to resolve that issue in this

appeal.”
REVERSED

*“ Cf. Hi-Plains Hospital vy. United States, 670 F.2d 528, 533
(5th Cir. 1982) (holding that hospital pharmacy sales were
substantially related to exempt function and remanding case
to district court to resolve treatment of smal! amount of sales
that were not substantially related to exempt purpose).

Zila

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE FEDERAL CIRCUIT

Appeal No. 84-715

THE AMERICAN COLLEGE OF PHYSICIANS, APPELLANT

THE UNITED STATES, APPELLEE

NIES, Circuit Judge, concurring.

I concur in result and jein the opinion except in
the following respect. In my view, a portion of appel-
lant’s advertising business “is carried on . . . by the
organization primarily for the convenience of its
members.” In particular, the advertisements for posi-
tions in the field and for services and publications
directed to members in their professional capacity,
including the advertisement for Medical Economics
magazine, would fall under this exemption.

22a

APPENDIX B

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE FEDERAL CIRCUIT

No. 84-715
415-82T

THE AMERICAN COLLEGE OF PHYSICIANS, APPELLANT
Vv.

THE UNITED STATES, APPELLEE

JUDGMENT
On Appeal from the U.S. Claims Court

This Cause having been heard and considered, it is
Ordered and Adjudged: Reversed.

DATED September 17, 1984

Petition for Rehearing,
Denied, December 5, 1984
Suggestion for Rehearing
In Banc, Declined,
December 5, 1984.
ENTERED By
ORDER OF THE COURT

s/ George E. Hutchinson
GEORGE E. HUTCHINSON
Clerk

Issued as a Mandate: December 13, 1984

23a
APPENDIX C

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE FEDERAL CIRCUIT

No. 84-715

THE AMERICAN COLLEGE OF PHYSICIANS, APPELLANT
v.

THE UNITED STATES, APPELLEE

ORDER

A petition for rehearing and a suggestion for re-
hearing in banc having been filed in this case.

UPON CONSIDERATION THEREOF, it is Or-
dered by the court that the petition for rehearing be,
and the same is hereby, Denied.

The suggestion for rehearing in banc is declined
FOR THE COURT
s/ George E. Hutchinson

GEORGE E. HUTCHINSON
Clerk

Date: December 5, 1984

24a

APPENDIX D

IN THE UNITED STATES CLAIMS COURT

No. 415-82T

AMERICAN COLLEGE OF PHYSICIANS, PLAINTIFF
v.

THE UNITED STATES, DEFENDANT

[Filed Oct. 21, 1983]

OPINION
KOZINSKI, Chief Judge.

Plaintiff American College of Physicians, a tax-
exempt organization, challenges the Commissioner’s
determination that income earned from advertising
in the College’s journal, Annals of Internal Medicine,
is subject to the Unrelated Business Income Tax
(UBIT). 26 U.S.C. $§ 511-513 (1976).

Facts '

The College is an organization exempt from taxa-
tion under section 501(c)(3). Its tax-exempt pur-
poses are to uphold and maintain high standards in

| The court made oral findings of fact after trial which was
held on September 14, 1983.

25a

medical education, medical practice and medica] re-
search; to encourage research, especially in clinical
medicine; and to foster measures for the prevention
of disease and for the improvement of public health.
In furtherance of its exempt purposes, the College
publishes Annals of Internal Medicine which contains
scholarly articles relevent to the practice of internal
medicine. Annals has a worldwide reputation as one
of the most respected journals in its field. The journal
is provided to the College’s members without charge
and to nonmembers on a per issue basis or by sub-
scription.

Each monthly issue of Annals contains commercial
advertisements relating exclusively to medical prod-
ucts (primarily drugs) and classified notices relating
principally to employment in the practice or teaching
of medicine. These advertisements are not dispersed
throughout the journal but appear in discrete “stacks”
at the beginning and end of the publication. In gen-
eral, the College’s advertising rates are competitive
with those of other medical journals.

Questions Presented

Sections 511-513 of the Internal Revenue Code pro-
vide that the income of otherwise tax-exempt organi-
zations is taxable if it is earned by regularly conduct-
ing a trade or business not substantially related to
the organization’s exempt purposes. The parties have
stipulated that the College’s activity of soliciting and
publishing advertisements in Annals was a regularly
conducted trade or business. They disagree as to
whether it is substantially related to the College's
exempt purposes.

Even if publishing advertisements in Annals is held
not to be substantially related to the College’s exempt

26a

purposes, the income is nevertheless tax-exempt if the
advertisements are published primarily for the con-
venience of the College’s members. 26 U.S.C. § 513
(a)(2) (1976). The parties further disagree as to
whether the advertising in Annals meets this
standard.

Discussion

A. The Relatedness lasue

Under section 513(a) the income from a trade or
business is tax-exempt if the conduct of the trade or
business is substantially related to the performance
of the organization’s tax-exempt purposes. To come
within section 513, the relationship between the busi-
ness and the tax-exempt purpose must be a substan-
tial one, Le. it must “contribute importantly” to the
accomplishment of the organization’s exempt pur-
poses. Treas. Reg. § 1.513-1(d)(2) (1975).

1. Defendant argues that, to avoid the UBIT, the
very conduct or operation of the business, rather than
merely its product, must be substantially related to
the tax-exempt purpose. To illustrate this proposi-
tion, defendant refers to an example in the regula-
tions which concludes that income from advertise
ments solicited by a student-run newspaper is tax-
exempt. Treas. Reg. 1.513-1(d) (4) (iv) example (5)
(1975). Defendant explains that students working on
the paper are engaging in an educational activity:
learning how to run a newspaper. The publication
of advertising teaches students how to solicit business,
set prices and lay out ads. The income for the ad-
vertising is exempt, defendant argues, because the
very operation of the advertising business contributes
importantly to the educational function. Whether
the advertisements themselves advance the organiza-
tion’s tax-exempt purposes is, in defendant's view,
irrelevant.

27a

While defendant’s test fits neatly within the ex-
ample given, it is not clear that the Commissioner has
consistently followed it. See, e.g., Rev. Rul. 75-516,
1975-2 C.B. 220; Rev. Rul. 69-463, 1969-2 C.B. 131;
Rev. Rul. 69-267, 1969-1 C.B. 160.* At least until the
Internal Revenue Service itseif takes a position more
consistent with the view suggested by its attorney,
the court will consider whether the conduct or the
product of a business is related to the organization’s
tax-exempt purposes.

2. Plaintiff does not contend that the conduct of
the advertising business is substantially related to
the College’s exempt purposes, so the inquiry is
whether the advertising itself is so related. Plain-
tiff’s theory is that the advertising performs an edu-
cational function, supplementing the journal’s edi-
torial content. Medicine is a constantly changing

2In Rev. Rul. 69-267, 1969-1 C.B. 160, for example, a hos-
pital operated a gift shop patronized by patients, visitors and
employees. The operation of the gift shop was held to be sub-
stantially related to the hospital’s exempt purposes because
“(bly providing a facility for the purchase of merchandise
and services to improve the physical comfort and mental well-
being of its patients, the hospital is carrying on an activity
that encourages their recovery and therefore contributes im-
portantly to its exempt purposes.” There is no indication
that the gift shop was operated by patients; its relationship
to the hospital’s tax-exempt purpose lay in the fact that the
goods and services it provided could enhance the comfort of
the patients. See also Rev. Rul. 69-268, 1969-1 C.B. 160
(hospital cafeteria is substantially related) ; Rev. Rul. 69-269,
1969-1 C.B. 160 (hospital parking lot is substantially related) .
While each of these operations might have been deemed
tax-exempt as operated primarily for the convenience of the
patients, see pp. 5-7 infra, the Commissioner chose instead
to rule that they were substantially related to the hospital’s
tax-exempt purpose.

28a

science and the advertising contains factual and tech-
nical data which, according to plaintiff, can help
physicians keep up.

The court finds plaintiff’s argument unpersuasive.
The evidence is clear that plaintiff did not use the
advertising to provide its readers a comprehensive or
systematic presentation of any aspect of the goods or
services publicized.* Those companies willing to pay
for advertising space got it; others did not. More-
over, some of the advertising was for established
drugs or devices and was repeated from one month
to another, undermining the suggestion that the ad-
vertising was principally designed to alert readers of
recent developments.* Some ads even concerned mat-
ters that had no conceivable relationship to the Col-
lege’s tax-exempt purposes. See, e.g., n. 7 infra.

The advertising, moreover, was typical commercial
publicity. Some ads were eye-catching, others strictly
factual; some covered a fraction of a page, others
several pages; some were in black and white, many
were in bright color. Many ads were identical to
those appearing in medical journals published by
non-exempt organizations. The differences between
ads plainly reflected the advertiser’s marketing strat-

3 The hit-or-miss nature of the advertising was highlighted
by one of plaintiff's own witnesses who suggested that ads
could help readers understand the journal’s editorial content
by supplementing articles discussing a particular drug or
medical device. Yet it is clear that no effort was made to
coordinate the advertising with the journal’s editorial content.
Thus, if an article discussed a particular new drug or device,
it would be pure coincidence for that product also to be
featured in an advertisement in the same issue of the journal.

* For example Annals often carried ads for Valium, Insulin
and Maalox. See, e.g., Annals of Internal Med., July 1975 at
1-0, 1-58 & 1-64.

29a

egy rather than their probable importance to the
reader. That the advertisements were placed in
stacks—a fact upon which plaintiff places significant
reliance—had no bearing on their purported educa-
tional function. It suggests instead that the ads
were considered distracting and out of step with the
sober and understated tenor of the journal’s editorial
content.

All advertising is, of course, educational or infor-
mational to some degree. However, Treasury Regula-
tions provide that advertising income of journals like
Annals generally is taxable. Treas. Reg. § 1.512(a)-
1(f) (1975). Example 7 under Treas. Reg. § 1.513-
1(d) (4) (iv) closely resembles the situation here,
positing a tax-exempt organization that sells adver-
tising space in its journal but limits the advertising
to matters within the professional interest of its

“members. The organization requires the advertising
to conform to certain standards of taste, fairness
and accuracy, but otherwise leaves the content and
form of the advertising to the discretion of the ad-
vertisers. Despite the informational character of the
advertising, the example concludes that “the publica-
tion of advertising designed and selected in the man-
ner of ordinary commercial advertising is not an
educational activity of the kind contemplated by the
exemption statute.”

To avoid the UBIT an exempt organization would
have to run its advertising business much differently
than did plaintiff. For example, it might make a
concerted effort to provide advertising that compre-
hensively surveys a particular field, includes all re-
cent developments in that field, or otherwise makes
a systematic presentation on some subject relevant to
the organization’s exempt purposes. To qualify for

30a

exemption, the advertising package as a whole must
serve an identifiable educational objective that goes
substantially beyond the informational content of
the individual advertisements. This standard is not
met where, as here, the comprehensiveness and con-
tent of the advertising package is entirely dependent
on each manufacturer’s willingness to pay for space
and the imagination of its advertising agency.

The court therefore finds that the advertising in
Annals did not contribute importantly to the College’s
tax-exempt purposes. Rather, any educational func-
tion it may have served was incidental to its purpose
of raising revenue.

B. The Convenience Issue

Even though the advertising in Annals is not sub-
stantially related to the College’s exempt purposes,
the income gained from it would nevertheless be tax-
exempt if the advertising business was carried on
primarily for the convenience of the College’s mem-
bers. 26 U.S.C. §513(a)(2) (1976).

1. There is little guidance on the subject of when
income subject to the UBIT nevertheless remains tax-
exempt because it derives from activities conducted
primarily for the convenience of the organization’s
members. The statute itself simply provides that “the
term ‘unrelated trade or business’ . . . does not in-
clude any trade or business . . . which is carried on
... by the organization primarily for the convenience
of its members... .” 26 U.S.C. § 513(a) (2) (1976).
In order to qualify under this language, it would
appear that the activity in question has to be carried
on for the convenience of the organization’s members
in their capacity as members. Were the statute con-
strued otherwise, there would be no end to the types
of goods or services an organization could provide its

3la

members while avoiding tax on the income so derived.
This would significantly undercut the purpose of the
UBIT.®

While the legislative history of section 513(a) (2)
is sparse, it supports this interpretation. The House
and Senate Reports give the examples of dining
rooms, restaurants and dormitories operated by a
university for use by its students as falling within
this exception. H.R. Rep. No. 2319, 8lst Cong., 2d
Sess. 37 (1950), reprinted in 1950-2 C.B. 380, 409;
S. Rep. 375, 81st Cong., 2d Sess. 29 (1950), reprinted
im 1950-2 C.B. 483, 505. Each of these examples in-
volves facilities that assist students in fulfilling their
role as students. For example, dormitories allow stu-
dents to live close to classrooms and libraries, and
to share quarters with other students. On campus
restaurants and cafeterias facilitate student inter-
action before, after and between classes.* See also

* Thus, tax-exempt organizations could, as a side-line, oper-
ate vacation resorts, catalogue shopping services, apartment
houses or any other enterprises so long as acceas were largely
limited to members. All such enterprises could be described
as operating for the convenience of the members, yet their
activities would be entirely unrelated to the organization’s
tax-exempt purposes. Allowing organizations to engage in
such enterprises tax free would raise concerns about unfair
competition with taxable entities; such concerns were the
principal impetus for enactment of the UBIT. See Disabled
American Veterans v. United States, 227 Ct. Cl. 474, 479
(1981) ; H.R. Rep. No. 2319, 8ist Cong., 2d Sess. 36 (1950),
reprinted in 1950-2 C.B. 380, 409; S. Rep. No. 2375, 81st
Cong., 2d Sess. 28 (1950), reprinted in 1950-2 C.B. 483, 504;
Treas. Reg. § 1.513-1(b) (1975).

*The Supreme Court has recognized that student inter-
action serves an important educational function. See Sweatt
Vv. Painter, 339 U.S. 629, 634 (1950) ;: McLaurin v. Oklahoma
State Regents, 339 U.S. 637, 641 (1950).

32a

St. Luke’s Hospital vy. United States, 494 F. Supp. 85,
92 (W.D. Mo. 1980) (pathology tests performed by
hospital primarily for the convenience of member
physicians).

The advertising here may have served the con-
venience of Annals readers in their capacity as phy-
sicians but not in their capacity as members of the
College. The difference is subtle but important. The
members’ interests as members concern such matters
as attending the College’s educational functions, par-
ticipating in research and testing, disseminating
health information to the public and promoting qual-
ity medical education. The members’ interests as
physicians are much broader an include all of the
aspects of medical practice. The advertising in An-
nals may assist practicing physicians by informing
them of new products, publicizing the availability of
positions and helping them sell their medical equip-
ment. The advertising does not, however, have any
connection with their responsibilities as members of
the College."

2. In any event, the court finds that the advertis-
ing business was not carried on primarily for the
convenience of the College’s members in any capacity.
In another context, the Supreme Court has inter-
preted the term “primarily” to mean “‘of first im-

T An advertisement for another publication, Medical Eco-
nomics, illustrates this point. The ad, which appeared regu-
larly in Annals, promised that Medical Economics would help
provide answers to such questions as whether “the new Seville
fis] worth its $12,479 base price” and that it would instruct
readers on how to “double [their] gain through a quirk in
the tax law.” Annals of Internal Med., July 1975 at I-40.
While such iseues may be of interest to the reader, their
resolution surely has no bearing on his responsibilities as a
member of the College.

33a

portance’ or ‘principally.’” Malat vy. Ridell [sic], 383
U.S. 569, 572 (1966) (construing section 1221(1) of
the Internal Revenue Code which denies capital gain
treatment to “property held . . . primarily for sale

. In the ordinary course of . . . business”). There
seems to be no reason to depart from this common
sense definition in interpreting section 513(a) (2).

The advertising business of Annals was operated
in material respects like the advertising business of
any other publication. All advertising serves the con-
venience of some of those seeing it, otherwise it
would be ineffective and unprofitable. However. the
primary purpose of advertising from the publisher’s
perspective is to make money. While the enhanced
convenience of the readers may have been a welcome
incidental benefit, the court finds that the College’s
primary purpose in carrying advertising in Annals
was to raise revenue.

Conclusion

The advertising published in Annals is not substan-
tially related to the College’s exempt purposes nor is
it published primarily for the convenience of the Col-
lege’s members.

The clerk is directed to dismiss the petition with
costs to the prevailing party.

34a
APPENDIX E

IN THE UNITED STATES CLAIMS COURT

No. 415-82 T

AMERICAN COLLEGE OF PHYSICIANS
v.

THE UNITED STATES

[Filed Oct. 24, 1983]

JUDGMENT
Pursuant to the opinion of October 21, 1983, it

was held that plaintiff is not entitled to recover with
the complaint to be dismissed.

IT IS ORDERED AND ADJUDGED this date,
pursuant to Rule 58, that the complaint is dismissed,
with costs to the prevailing party.

FRANK T. PEARTREE
Clerk of Court

35a
APPENDIX F

Internal Revenue Code of 1954 (26 U.S.C.), as
amended and as in effect for the years at issue ‘

Sec. 501. EXEMPTION FroM TAX ON CORPORA-
TIONS, CERTAIN TRUSTS, ETC.

(a) Exemption From Tazxation.—An organi-
zation described in subsection (c) or (d) or sec-
tion 401(a) shall be exempt from taxation un-
der this subtitle unless such exemption is denied
under section 502 or 503.

(b) Tax on Unrelated Business Income and
Certain Other Activities—An organization ex-
empt from taxation under subsection (a) shall
be subject to tax to the extent provided in parts
II and III of this subchapter, but (notwithstand-
ing parts II and III of this subchapter) shall be
considered an organization exempt from income
taxes for the purpose of any law which refers to
organizations exempt from income taxes.

(c) List of Exempt Organizations.—The fol-
lowing organizations are referred to in subsec-
tion (a):

(1) Corporations organized under Act of
Congress, if such corporations are instru-
mentalities of the United States and if, un-
der such Act, as amended and supplemented,
such corporations are exempt from Federal
income taxes.

(2) Corporations organized for the ex-
clusive purpose of holding title to property,
collecting income therefrom, and turning
over the entire amount thereof. less ex-

36a

penses, to an organization which itself is
exempt under this section.

(3) Corporations, and any community

chest, fund, or foundation, organized and
operated exclusively for religious, charita-
ble, scientific, testing for public safety, lit-
erary, or educational purposes, or for the
prevention of cruelty to children or animals,
no part of the net earnings of which inures
to the benefit of any private shareholder or
individual, no substantial part of the activ-
ities of which is carrying on propaganda, or
otherwise attempting to influence legislation,
and which does not participate in, or inter-
vene in (including the publishing or dis-
tributing of statements), any political cam-
paign on behalf of any candidate for public
office.
(4) Civie leagues or organizations not or-
ganized for profit but operated exclusively
for the promotion of social welfare, or local
associations of employees, the membership
of which is limited to the employees of a
designated person or persons in a particular
municipality, and the net earnings of which
are devoted exclusively to charitable, educa-
tional, or recreational purposes.

(5) Labor, agricultural, or horticultural
organizations.

(6) Business leagues, chambers of com-
merce, real-estate boards, boards of trade,
or professional football leagues (whether or
not administering a pension fund for foot-
ball players), not organized for profit and
no part of the net earnings of which inures

37a

to the benefit of any private shareholder or
individual.

(7) Clubs organized and operated exclu-
sively for pleasure, recreation, and other
nonprofitable purposes, no part of the net
earnings of which inures to the benefit of
any private shareholder.

Sec. 511. LMPOSITION oF TAX ON UNRELATED
BUSINESS INCOME OF CHARITABLE,
ETC., ORGANIZATIONS.

(a) Charitable, Etc., Organizations Taxable at
Corporate Rates.—

(1) imposition of tax.—There is hereby
imposed for each taxable year on the unre-
lated business taxable income (as defined
in section 512) of every organization de-
scribed in paragraph (2) a normal tax and
a surtax computed as provided in section 11.
In making such computation for purposes
of this section, the term “taxable income”
as used in section 11 shall be read as “unre-
lated business taxable income.”’

(2) Organizations subject to tax.—

(A) Organizations described in sec-
tion 401(a) and 501(c).—The taxes
imposed by paragraph (1) shall apply
in the case of any organization (other
than a trust described in subsection (b)
or an organization described in section
901(¢c)(1)) which is exempt, except as
provided in this part or part II (relat-
ing to private foundations), from tax-

38a

ation under this subtitle by reason of
section 501(a).

(B) State colleges and wniversities.
—The taxes imposed by paragraph (1)
shal] apply in the case of any college or
university which is an agency or in-
strumentality of any government or
any political subdivision thereof, or
which is owned or operated by a govern-
ment or any political subdivision
thereof, or by any agency or instru-
mentality of one or more governments
or political subdivisions. Such taxes
shall also apply in the case of any cor-
poration wholly owned by one or more
such colleges or universities.

Spec. 512. UNRELATED Business TAXABLE IN-
COME.

(a) Definition.—For purposes of this titl—

(1) General rule.—Except as otherwise
provided in this subsection, the term “unre
lated business taxable income” means the
gross income derived by any organization
from any unrelated trade or business (as
defined in section 513) regularly*®arried on
by it, less the deductions allowed by this
chapter which are directly connected with
the carrying on of such trade or business,
both computed with the modifications pro-
vided in subsection (b).

39a

(b) Modifications.—The modifications re
ferred to subsection (a) are the following:

(1) There shall be excluded al] dividends,
interest, and annuities, and all deductions
directly connected with such income.

2) There shall be excluded all royalties
(including overriding royalties) whether
measured by production or by gross or tax-
able income from the property, and all de
ductions directly connected with such in-
come.

(3) In the case of rents—

(A) Except as provided in subpara-
graph (B), there shall be excluded—
(i) all rents from real property
(including property described in
section 1245(a)(3)(C)), and
(ii) all rents from personal
property (including for purposes
of this paragraph as personal! prop-
erty any property described in sec-
tion 1245(a)(3)(B)) leased with
such real property, if the rents at-
tributable to such personal prop-
erty are an incidental amount of
the total rents received or accrued
under the lease, determined at the
time the personal property is
placed in service.

(B) Subparagraph (A) shall not
apply—

(i) if more than 50 percent of
the total rent received or accrued

40a

under the lease is attributable to
personal property described in sub-
paragraph (A) (ii), or

(ii) if the determination of the
amount of such rent depends in
whole or in part on the income or
profits derived by any person from
the property leased (other than an
amount based on a fixed percentage
or percentages of receipts or sales).

(C) There shall be excluded all de-
ductions directly connected with rents
excluded under subparagraph (A).

Sec. 513. UNRELATED TRADE on BUSINESS.

(a) General Rule—The term “unrelated
trade or business” means, in the case of any or-
ganization subject to the tax imposed by section
511, any trade or business the conduct of which
is not substantially related (aside from the need
of such organization for income or funds or the
use it makes of the profits derived) to the exer-
cise or performance by such organization of its
charitable, educational, or other purpose or func-
tion constituting the basis for its exemption un-
der section 501 (or, in the case of an organiza-
tion described in section 511(a)(2)(B), to the
exercise or performance of any purpose or func-
tion described in section WOl(c)(3)), except
that such term does not include any trade or
business—

(1) in which substantially all the work
in carrying on such trade or business is

4la

performed for the organization without
compensation ; or

(2) which is carried on, in the case of an
organization described in section 501(c) (3)
or in the case of a college or university de
scribed in section 511(a)(2)(B), by the
organization primarily for the convenience
of its members, students, patients, officers,
or employees, or, in the case of a local asso-
ciation of employees described in section 501
(c)(4) organized before May 27, 1969,
which is the selling by the organization of
items of work-related clothes and equipment
and items normally sold through vending
machines, through food dispensing facilities,
or by snack bars, for the convenience of its
members at their usual places of employ-
ment; or

(3) which is the selling of merchandise,
substantially all of which has been received
by the organization as gifts or contribu-
tions.

> > > * *

(c) Advertising, Etc., Activities —For pur-
poses of this section, the term “trade or busi-
ness” includes any activity which is carried on for
the production of income from the sale of goods
or the performance of services. For purposes of
the preceding sentence, an activity does not lose
identity as a trade or business merely because it
is carried on within a larger aggregate of simi-
lar activities or within a larger complex of other
endeavors which may, or may not, be related to
the exempt purposes of the organization. Where
an activity carried on for profit constitutes an

42a

unrelated trade or business, no part of such
trade or business shall be excluded from such
classification merely because it does not result
in profit.

* * * * *

Treasury Regulations on Income Tax (1954 Code)
(26 C.F.R.):

§ 1.512(a)-1. Definition.

7 > * * * ,

(f) Determination of unrelated business tax-
able income derived from sale of advertising in |
exempt organization periodicals—(1) In gen-
eral. Under section 513 (relating to the defini-
tion of unrelated trade or business) and § 1.513-
1, amounts realized by an exempt organization
from the sale of advertising in a periodical con-
stitute gross income from an unrelated trade or
business activity involving the exploitation of an
exempt activity, namely, the circulation and
readership of the periodical developed through
the production and distribution of the reader-
ship content of the periodical. Paragraph (d)
of this section provides for the allowance of
deductions attributable to the production and
distribution of the readership content of the
periodical. Thus, subject to the limitations of
paragraph (d)(2) of this section, where the cir-
culation and readership of an exempt organiza-
tion periodical are utilized in connection with the
sale of advertising in the periodical, expenses,
depreciation, and similar items of deductions at-
tributable to the production and distribution of
the editorial or readership content of the periodi-
cal shall qualify as items of deductions directly

ee -

43a

connected with the unrelated advertising activ-
ity. Subparagraphs (2) through (6) of this
paragraph provide rules for determining the
amount of unrelated business taxable income at-
tributable to the sale of advertising in exempt
organization periodicals. Subparagraph (7) of
this paragraph provides rules for determining
when the unrelated business taxable income of
two or more exempt organization periodicals may
be determined on a consolidated basis.

(2) Computation of unrelated business tax-
able income attributable to sale of advertising—
(i) Excess advertising costs. If the direct ad-
vertising costs of an exempt organization period-
ical (determined under subparagraph (6) (ii)
of this paragraph) exceed gross advertising in-
come (determined under subparagraph (3) (ii)
of this paragraph), such excess shall be allow-
able as a deduction in determining unrelated
business taxable income from any unrelated
trade or business activity carried on by the or-
ganization.

* * 7 . >

(3) Income attributable to exempt organiza-
tion periodicals—(i) In general. For purposes
of this paragraph the total income attributable
to any exempt organization periodical is the sum
of its gross advertising income and is circulation
income.

(ii) Gross advertising income. The term
“gross advertising income” means all amounts
derived from the unrelated advertising activities
of an exempt organization periodical (or for
purposes of this paragraph in the case of a taxa-
ble organization, all amounts derived from the

44a

advertising activities of the taxable organiza-
tion).

See subparagraph (4) of this paragraph for a
discussion of the factors to be considered in de-
termining allocable membership receipts of an
exempt organization periodical under the stand-
ard described in the preceding sentence.

§ 1.513-1. Definition of unrelated trade or busi-
ness.

(a) In general. As used in section 512 the
term “unrelated business taxable income” means
the gross income derived by an organization
from any unrelated trade or business regularly
carried on by it, less the deductions and subject
to the modifications provided in section 512. Sec-
tion 513 specifies with certain exceptions that
the phrase “unrelated trade or business” means,
in the case of an organization subject to the tax
imposed by section 511, any trade or business
the conduct of which is not substantially related
(aside from the need of such organization for
income or funds or the use it makes of the
profits derived) to the exercise or performance
by such organization of its charitable, educa-
tional, or other purpose or function constituting
the basis for its exemption under section 501
*** * * © Therefore, unless one of the specific
exceptions of section 512 or 513 is applicable,
gross income of an exempt organization subject
to the tax imposed by section 511 is includible
in the computation of unrelated business tax-
able income if: (1) It is income from trade or
business; (2) such trade or business is regularly

45a

carried on by the organization; and (3) the con-
duct of such trade or business is not substan-
tially related (other than through the produc-
tion of funds) to the organization’s perform-
ance of its exempt functions.

(b) Trade or business. The primary objective
of adoption of the unrelated business income tax
was to eliminate a source of unfair competition
by placing the unrelated business activities of
certain exempt organizations upon the same tax
basis as the nonexempt business endeavors with
which they compete. On the other hand, where
an activity does not possess the characteristics
of a trade or business within the meaning of sec-
tion 162, such as when an organization sends
out low-cost articles incidental to the solicitation
of charitable contributions, the unrelated busi-
ness income tax does not apply since the organi-
zation is not in competition with taxable organi-
zations. However, in general, any activity of a
section 511 organization which is carried on for
the production of income and which otherwise
possesses the characteristics required to consti-
tute “trade or business” within the meaning of
section 162—and which, in addition, is not sub-
stantially related to the performance of exempt
functions—presents sufficient likelihood of un-
fair competition to be within the policy of the
tax. Accordingly, for purposes of section 513
the term “trade or business” has the same mean-
ing it has in section 162, and generally includes
any activity carried on for the production of in-
come from the sale of goods or performance of
services. Thus, the term “trade or business” in
section 513 is not limited to integrated aggre-

46a

gates of assets, activities and good will which
comprise businesses for the purposes of certain
other provisions of the Internal Revenue Code.
Activities of producing or distributing goods or
performing services from which a particular
amount of gross income is derived do not lose
identity as trade or business merely because they
are carried on within a larger aggregate of sim-
ilar activities or within a larger complex of
other endeavors which may, or may not, be re-
lated to the exempt purposes of the organiza-
tion. Thus, for example, the regular sale of
pharmaceutical supplies to the general public
by a hospital pharmacy does not lose identity as
trade or business merely because the pharmacy
also furnishes supplies to the hospital and pa-
tients of the hospital in accordance with its ex-
empt purposes or in compliance with the terms
of section 513(a)(2). Similarly, activities of
soliciting, selling, and publishing commercial ad-
vertising do not lose identity as a trade or busi-
ness even though the advertising is published in
an exempt organization periodical which con-
tains editorial matter related to the exempt pur-
poses of the organization. However, where an
activity carried on for the production of income
constitutes an unrelated trade or business, no
part of such trade or business shall be excluded
from such classification merely because it does
not result in profit.

(c) Regularly carried on—(1) General prin-
ciples. In determining whether trade or business
from which a particular amount of gross in-
come derives is “regularly carried on,” within
the meaning of section 512, regard must be had

47a

to the frequency and continuity with which the
activities productive of the income are conducted
and the manner in which they are pursued.
This requirement must be applied in light of the
purpose of the unrelated business income tax to
place exempt organization business activities
upon the same tax basis as the nonexempt busi-
ness endeavors with which they compete. Hence,
for example, specific business activities of an
exempt organization will ordinarily be deemed
to be “regularly carried on” if they manifest a
frequency and continuity, and are pursued in a
manner, generally similar to comparable com-
mercial activities of nonexempt organizations.

(d) Substantially related—(1) In general.
Gross income derives from “unrelated trade or
business,” within the meaning of section 513(a),
if the conduct of the trade or business which
produces the income is not substantially related
(other than through the production of funds) to
the purposes for which exemption is granted.
The presence of this requirement necessitates an
examination of the relationship between the busi-
ness activities which generate the particular in-
come in question—the activities, that is, of pro-
ducing or distributing the goods or performing
the service involved—and the accomplishment of
the organization’s exempt purposes.

(2) Type of relationship required. Trade or
business is “related” to exempt purposes, in the
relevant sense, only where the conduct of the
business activities has causal relationship to the
achievement of exempt purposes (other than
through the production of income); and it is

48a

“substantially related,” for purposes of section
513, only if the causal relationship is a substan-
tial one. Thus, for the conduct of trade or busi-
ness from which a particular amount of gross
income is derived to be substantially related to
purposes for which exemption is granted, the
production or distribution of the goods or the
performance of the services from which the gross
income is derived must contribute importantly to
the accomplishment of those purposes. Where the
production or distribution of the goods or the
performance of the services does not contribute
importantly to the accomplishment of the exemp:
purposes of an organization, the income from the
sale of the goods or the performance of the serv-
ices does not derive from the conduct of related
trade or business. Whether activities productive
of gross income contribute importantly to the
accomplishment of any purpose for w

[Text truncated at 120,000 characters. The full text is on the page linked above.]

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385012_0915%3A02. Public record. Not legal advice.
