# Amicus Curiae Brief — English v. General Elec. Co.

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385012_0851%3A17

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1990
- **Citation:** 496 U.S. 72

## Text

IN THE

LERM

JOSEPH F. SPANIOL, JR

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1989

VERA M. ENGLISH,

a: Petitioner,

GENERAL ELECTRIC COMPANY,

Respondent.

On Writ of Certiorari to the
United States Court of Appeals
for the Fourth Circuit

BRIEF OF THE NUCLEAR MANAGEMENT
AND RESOURCES COUNCIL, INC.
AS AMICUS CURIAE SUPPORTING RESPONDENT

WILSON - Epes PrintinGc Co., Inc.

NICHOLAS S. REYNOLDs *
RICHARD K. WALKER
DONN C. MEINDERTSMA
BISHOP, CooK, PURCELL

& REYNOLDS
1400 L Street, N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20005-3502
(202) 371-5700

Counsel for Amicus Curiae
Nuclear Management and
Resources Council, Inc.

* Counsel of Record

- 789-0096 - WASHINGTON, 0.C. 20001

BEST AVAILABLE COPY

QUESTION PRESENTED

Whether Section 210 of the Energy Reorganization
Act, which provides a comprehensive federal administra-
tive remedy for employees at nuclear facilities as an in-
tegral part of the federal government’s program to en-
sure safety in the opera‘ions of those facilities, preempts
state law claims for intentional infliction of emotional
distress arising out of alleged discrii.ination in the
terms and conditions of employment in retaliation for
reporting a safety violation at a nuclear facility that is
fully compensable under Section 210.

(i)

TABLE OF CONTENTS

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES ................0..000.000000000.0.2.....
INTEREST OF THE AMICUS CURIAE ......00000000......
STATEMENT OF THE CASE ...WW000220.20...eeee eee
SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT ......W0

a ilticcennasecsencetnscsnneseecsssesencersessscences
I. CONGRESS INTENDED SECTION 210 OF

Il.

THE ENERGY REORGANIZATION ACT TO
BE THE EXC! USIVE REMEDY FOR EM-
PLOYEES IN THE NUCLEAR INDUSTRY
WHO CLAIM THAT THEY HAVE BEEN DIS-
CRIMINATED AGAINST FOR RAISING NU-
CLEAR SAFETY CONCERNS

A. Section 210 Must Be Read In Pari Materia
With Other Provisions Of The Comprehen-
sive Federal Regulatory Regime Governing
The Nuclear Industry, And When So Read
It Provides An Exclusive Federal Remedy
For Allegedly Retaliatory Acts Motivated
By An Employee’s Raising Nuclear Safety
Neen ccncnenemnnenonse

B. This Court’s Decisions In Pacific Gas & Elec-
tric Co. And Silkwood v. Kerr-McGee Corp.
Compel The Conclusion That The States
Have No Authority To Regulate Conduct
Such As That Alleged In Petitioner’s
EES

PETITIONER’S CLAIMS ARE PREEMPTED
FOR THE FURTHER REASON THAT THE
APPLICATION OF STATE LAW TO HER
ALLEGATIONS OF RETALIATION WOULD
STAND AS AN OBSTACLE TO, AND FRUS-
TRATE, FULL REALIZATION OF THE
OBJECTIVES OF FEDERAL LAW GOVERN-
ING THE REGULATION OF NUCLEAR
cs diiaiacesertesnnseenccecenessensetecesene

12

iv

TABLE OF CONTENTS—Continued
Page

III. THE DECISIONS OF THE COURTS BELOW
ARE CONSISTENT WITH THE PREEMP-
TION PRINCIPLES ARTICULATED BY
THIS COURT IN CASES ARISING UNDER
THE LABOR MANAGEMENT RELATIONS

Vv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases:

Allis-Chalmers Corp. v. Lueck, 471 U.S. 202
(1985) Sa Rime: Eon eer ae
Amalgamated Ass’n of Motor Coach Emp’ yees v.
Lockridge, 408 U.S. 274 (1971) ..............0.00000.....
Atkinson v. Gates, McDonald & Co., 838 F.2d 808
I UN, tears
Belknap v. Hale, 463 U.S. 491 (1983) ........ ae tee
Binkley v. Loughran, 714 F. Supp. 768 (M.D.N.C.
1988) ......... 5a cable beh tntaeeglalaiemedagiisdiciiien
Brown & Root, Inc. v. Donovan, 747 F.2d 1029
I SS Daa ae
Brown v. General Servs. Admin., 425 U.S. 820
I accs ris. soninctice staan cdeasiniacanedaaihaiiad a aa iadaaeadiidien
Commonwealth Edison Co. v. Pollution Control
Bd., 5 Ill. App. 3d 800, 284 N.E.2d 342 (1972)...
Crawford Fitting Co. v. J.T. Gibbons, Inc., 482
NES INEESSTENTDURERON VERON > RE RO NOCR WS
DeFord v. Secretary of Labor, 700 F.2d 281 (6th
ERECT RRne useage we cere ners my ceo Ae Aro eS Oe
Edgar v. MITE Corp., 457 U.S. 624 (1982) aes
Erlenbaugh v. United States, 409 U.S. 239 (1972)...
Farmer v. United Bhd. of Carpenters, 480 U.S.

Be IE sieretiecresiceintes sncetaicennntomianneone 25, 26, 27,

Great American Fed. Sav. & Loan Ass’n v.
Novotny, 442 U.S. 366 (1979) ...................000000.2..
Haig v. Agee, 453 U.S. 280 (1981) -.........--00202...
Hines v. Davidowitz, 312 U.S. 52 (1941)...
International Ass’n of Machinists v. Gonzales, 356
Se a isieeelotceaeae
International Paper Co. v. Oulette, 479 U.S. 481
BRE REESE earn one nceenmanrer nee Eee
Inter: *tional Union, United Auto. Workers v.
Russell, 356 U.S. 634 (1958) _................0-.22-22-2..-
Jackson v. Southern Cal. Gas Co., 881 F.2d 638
RIPE oe arses «Cae See
Kansas Gus & Elec. Co. v. Brock, 780 F.2d 1505
(10th Cir. 1985), cert. denied, 478 U.S. 1011
(1986) ........... ccinidanahseiiijusneaacetinalandicinesdiaiiameidiaidmmeld

Page

20
10

28, 29

vi
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Page
Lehman v. Morrissey, 779 F.2d 526 (9th Cir.
IPE IR ae te oe Or 29
Lingle v. Norge Div. of Magic Chef, Inc., 486 U.S.
i i ita ileal 27, 28
Linn v. United Plant Guard Workers of America,
Local 114, 388 U.S. 58 (1966) .............................. 26, 27
Masters v. Daniel Int’l Corp., 895 F.2d 1295 (10th
LIRR SR RR Rts Pe on Te PR 19
Mayon v. Southern Pac. Transp. Co., 805 F.2d
ee ee ee 29
Norman v. Niagara Mohawk Power Corp., 873
i ft | 5 Eee eceemnne nanan 25, 29
Northern Natural Gas Co. v. State Corp. Comm’n,
I I aie 17

Northern States Power Co. v. Minnesota, 447 F.2d
1143 (8th Cir. 1971), aff'd mem., 405 U.S. 10%5
ERECT SRE eC eT Tie, ane aE 10
Pacific Gas & Elec. Co. v. State Energy Resources
Conservation & Dev. Comm’n, 461 U.S. 190

(1968) .......... siecle int sii ta eal tall 4, 7, 8, 12, 13, 16, 17
Pane v. RCA Corp., 868 F.2d 631 (3d Cir. 1989) .... 29
Perez v. Campbell, 402 U.S. 687 (1971) -....0........... 17
Puerto Rico Dep’t of Consumer Affairs v. Isla

Petroleum Corp., 485 U.S. 495 (1988) ................ 22
Rice v. Santa Fe Elevator Corp., 331 U.S. 218
San Diego Bldg. Trades Council v. Garmon, 359

US. 336 (1008) ...................... 23, 24, 25, 27, 28, 29, 30
Schneidewind v. ANR Pipeline Co., 485 U.S. 293

REE ena ne oN Be A Ute siaiieiaes 17, 22
Sears, Roebuck & Co. v. San Diego County Dist.

Council of Carpentcrs, 436 U.S. 180 (1978) _....... 23
Silkwood v. Kerr-McGee Corp., 464 U.S. 238

aa acieaall 4, 13, 14, 15, 16
Smith v. Wade, 461 U.S. 30 (1983) —.......000000-...... 21

State of N.J., Department of Envtl. Protection v.
Jersey Cent. Power & Light Co., 60 N.J. 102, 351
Sa ts dcitdaieiatetnpdbnlinions 10

United Constr. Workers v. Laburnum Constr. Co.,

347 U.S. 656 (1954) -............00....... pone a 26, 27

vii
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Page

Vaca v. Sipes, 386 U.S. 171 (1967) .......0..0.. 26

Wisconsin Dep’t of Indus. v. Gould, Inc., 475 US.
ERTL a AN Se Ue ANNE RES SO OO IO CR 21

Administrative Decisions:

DeFord v. Tennessee Valley Auth., Case No. 81-
ERA-1 (Secretary’s Order on Remand) (Apr.
aE eee eet vee Ors ee a ND 27

In re General Elec. Co. (Wilmington, NC Facil-
ity), DD-89-1, 29 N.R.C. 325 (1989) —......000000..... 21

In re Tennessee Valley Auth., EA 86-093 (July 10,

a a a ie aed Be ia oa 21

In re Toledo Edison Co., EA 88-234 (Nov. 21,
te ASE aS Ire Ne RT rE 21

Statutes and Reguiations:

Atomic Energy Act of 1946, ch. 724, 60 Stat. 755
a eee nce n een ne Ie ONDE 7 eS 7

Atomic Energy Act of 1954, 42 U.S.C. §§ 2011
RR e seticlaeeciieris iaribhatiiasincesatsinctniiciensadstiencenitdeninmneinmnegn 6

ON I OF i oencceniecesoeccessseceensiemmen eels 8
..cssnmmenemuuennbinens 19
§ 234, 42 U.S.C. § 2282 ..... a 21
pe eee 7,16
fk Ee een 7,8,11
§ 274(b) (4), 42 U.S.C. § 2021 (b) (4) 0. 8
§ 274(c), 42 U.S.C. § 2021 (c) -.000-o oe. 8
§ 274(c) (1), 42 U.S.C. § 2021 (c) (1) 0... 9
§ 274(k), 42 U.S.C. § 2021(k) ................ alee 8
Energy Reorganization Act of 1974, 42 U.S.C.
I saneaniiciasaaanne 6,9
Rs Oe TI ccc ec erececeacecsceesrnvesed passim
§ 210(b) (1), 42 U.S.C. § 5851 (b) (1) 18
§ 210(b) (2), 42 U.S.C. § 5851 (b) (2) 0... 18
§ 210(b) (2) (B), 42 U.S.C. § 5851 (b) (2) (B).. 27
§ 210(g), 42 U.S.C. § 5851 (g) . Pa Opens 5, 21, 22, 23

Labor Management Relations Act of 1947, 29 |

EE:
8 ee 27, 28

viii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Page
National Labor Relations Act of 1935 —................. 23
§§ 7, 8, 29 U.S.C. §§ 157, 158 ........... ee. 24
10 C.F.R. Part 2, App. C (1989) -............222-..-.-ee 21
pk 8 EF eee 3
10 C.F.R. § 19.16(c) (superseded) ...........--...-------... 24
te I i cccccnctsnsincnmssecnnsstensnnbacnceis 19
Re ee I onc ccctcccccnccecncencensretesinenesnssancncecs 19
i catieenitneeemanannnonneise 19
a icc ccsccseicccancccscocccccsnccsowccsansnsonse 19
Se . saceteisedeneiedsinmnsionenienis 19
a te I Oe ID cc snccinccccccacccccnstcnccccssecenasoos 8
Te IE CI ciiciccccncitcccvninciesinncnconnccsncconsscss 19, 21, 24
Fr Ts cecesecndmnnnensebianionnaintn 19
Miscellaneous:
te me RS ES een eE 9, 25
124 Cong. Rec. 29785-87 (1978) -..... po SDR NCS ADEE on ONE 11
124 Cong. Rec. 37545, 38230 (1978) .. 2... 11
124 Cong. Rec. 38239, 37526 (1978) ............--.. 11
38 Fed. Reg. 22217 (1973) ....................... wt inet 24
47 Fed. Reg. 30452 (1982) ..............2---ceeeceeeeeeeeeeeeeee eee 24
Easterbrook, Statutes’ Domain, 39 U. Chi. L. Rev.
SET SS Oe EE ee 20
H.R. 13650, 95th Cong., 2d Sess. (1978) —.............. 11

H.R. Rep. No. 1796, 95th Cong., 2d Sess. (1978),
reprinted in 1978 U.S. Code Cong. & Admin.
AE ACR Mi se EE UL con OE eR 11

Memorandum of Understanding Between NRC and
Department of Labor; Employee Protection, 47
Fed. Reg. 54585 (1982) .........0.00.02..20222- ee. 18, 19

S. 2584, 95th Cong., 2d Sess. (1978) —................... 11

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1989

No. 89-152

VERA M. ENGLISH,

Petitioner,
V.

GENERAL ELECTRIC COMPANY,
Respondent.

On Writ of Certiorari to the
United States Court of Appeals
for the Fourth Circuit

BRIEF OF THE NUCLEAR MANAGEMENT
AND RESOURCES COUNCIL, INC.
AS AMICUS CURIAE SUPPORTING RESPONDENT

INTEREST OF THE AMICUS CURIAE

The Nuclear Management and Resources Council, Ince.
(“NUMARC”), is the organization of the nuclear power
industry that is responsible for coordinating the com-
bined efforts of all utilities licensed by the United States
Nuclear Regulatory Commission (“NRC” or “Commis-
sion’) to construct or operate nuclear power plants, and
of other nuclear industry organizations, in all matters
involving generic operational and technical issues affect-
ing the industry. Every electric utility responsible for
constructing or operating a commercial nuclear power
plant in the United States is a member of NUMARC.
In addition, NUMARC’s members include major
architect-engineering firms and all of the major nuclear

2

steam supply system vendors, including respondent Uen-
erai Electric Company.

Every member represented by NUMARC that is en-
gaged in NRC-licensed activities is subject to the stric-
tures o1 the nuclear regulatory scheme created by the
Atomic Energy Act of 1954, as amended, including Sec-
tion 210 of the Energy Reorganization Act, 42 U.S.C.
§ 5851 (“Section 210’), and to the regulatory oversight
f the NRC (formerly the Atomic Energy Commission).
NUMARC has an abiding interest in ensuring that the
congressionally crafted regulatory scheme governing its
members’ operations is construed and applied in a man-
ner consistent with the congressional goal of ensuring
that nuclear facilities are constructed and operated in
such a manner as to protect the health and safety of the
public.

NUMARC believes that petitioner’s claims are pre-
empted by federal law and were thus correctly dismissed
by the courts below. Further, it is NUMARC’s view that
the national objectives established by Congress in the
Atomic Energy Act and administered by the NRC, in-
cluding emphasis on early identification and remediation
of potential nuclear safety problems at nuclear facilities,
would be substantially impeded if employers in the in-
dustry were also subject to the vicissitudes of varying
state law conceptions of what does, and does not, advance
those policies.’

STATEMENT OF T.iE CASE

NUMARC adopts the Statement of the Case set forth
in respondent General Electric Co.’s (“GE”) brief.
Nevertheless, we respectfully invite the Court’s attention
to the following re:ord facts.

1 Pursuant to Rule 37 of the Rules of this Court, NUMARC has
filed with the Clerk the parties’ written consent to the submission
of this Brief

3

Having first sought remedies for alleged maltreatment
at .he hands of her employer before the Department of
Labor under Section 210 of the Energy Reorganization
Act, 42 U.S.C. § 5851 (Pet. App. 30a-56a), and before
the NRC under 10 C.F.R. § 2.206 (Pet. App. 57a-58a),
petitioner Vera M. English brought this diversity action
in district court in 1987. Claiming that she had been
wrongfuily terminated and that respondent had inten-
tionaliy caused her emotional distress, petitioner sought
compensatory damages of “at least’? some $1.3 million
(J.A. 21) and punitive damages of approximately $2.3
billion (Pet. App. 6a). Specifically with regard to her
emoticnal distress claim, petitioner allege’ that “GE in-
tentionally inflicted emotional distress on |her] as ‘pun-
ishment’ for her reporting violations to the NRC and to
make an example of her.” J.A. 20. She also alleged that
her employer’s actions constituted “extreme and outrage-
ous conduct.” Jd. The district court summarized the
particular conduct on which petitioner’s claims nad been
based as follows:

With respect to “extreme and outrageous” conduct
plaintiff alleges that GE’s management (1) re
moved her from her job in the Chemet Lab under
guard as if she were a criminal, exposing her to
contempt and ridicule; (2) assigned her to a de-
grading “make work” job; (3) derided her as para-
noid; (4) barred her from employment in controlled
areas; (5) subjected her to constant surveillance
in the workplace; (6) isolated her from fellow
workers and did not even permit her to eat in the
company lunchroom with her fellow workers; and
(7) conspired +o fraudulently charge her with vicla-
tions of safety and criminal statutes.

Pet. App. 27a.

The district court held that petitioner’s claims fell
squarely within the scope of Section 210, which consti-
tuted her exclusive remedy. Petitioner appealed the rul-
ing on her emotional distress claim, and the Fourth Cir-

4

cuit agreed with the lower court that Section 210 pre-
empted that claim. Petitioner obtained a writ of cer-
tiorari from this Court.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

I.

In the federal legislation governing the nuclear indus-
try enacted over the past four decades, Congress has
completely occupied the field of nuclear safety regulation.
Only rarely has it provided for a role hy the states, and
then only in narre-vly limited circumstances. Section
210 was enacted as a part of the intricate and compre-
hensive federal scheme for ensuring the safe construction
and operation of nuclear facilities. Its employee protec-
tion features are a means to that end, not an end in
themselves. Section 210 therefore must be read in pari
materia with the statutory scheme already in place
when it was enacted. Such a reading compels the con-
clusion that, if Congress had intended to permit the
states to provide an alternative and duplicative system
of remedies for retaliation claims that fall within the
ambit of Section 210, it surely would have said so.

This Court’s decisions in Pacific Gas & Electric Co. v.
State Energy Resources Conservation & Developmert
Comm’n, 461 U.S. 190 (1983), and Silkwood v. Ker: -
McGee Corp., 464 U.f. 238 (1984), recognize the com-
plete occupation of this field by Congress. Those deci-
sions also affirm that, absent an express provision au-
thorizing the states to act in this area or clear and abun-
dant evidence of a congressional intent to permit them
to do so, state law is precluded from any role. Neither
of these factors exists with respect to claims, such as
petitioner’s, that are cognizable under Section 210.
There thus is no basis for finding that petitioner’s claims
are within any of the limited exceptions to the broad
preemptive sweep of federal nuclear energy law.

5
II.

Even had Congress not occupied the field of nuclear
safety regulation, petitioner’s claims would be preempted
for a further reason: application of state law to facts
such as those alleged in her complaint would interfere
with full realization of the purposes embodied in the
federal regulatory scheme. The much longer statute of
limitations applicable to petitioner’s state law claim sub-
verts the provisions in federal law calculated to ensure
that information about potential nuclear safety issues
comes to the attention of federal authorities in timely
fashion. Further, state law apparently would permit
awards of punitive damages irrespective of an NRC
decision to impose, or not to impose, civil penalties pro-
vided for in the federal regulatory scheme. aAnd state
law contains no provision comparable to Section 210(g),
which would preclude those who violate federal nuclear
safety requirements from obtaining a remedy. These
differences inevitably give rise to the potential for state
law interference with the fulfillment of federal objectives.

III.

The decisions below are also entirely consistent with
this Court’s preemption decisions under the Labor Man-
agement Relations Act, 29 U.S.C. §§ 141-187 (“LMRA”).
The Court has held that state laws regulating conduct
arguably prohibited by the LMRA are preempted because
Congress has committec the resolution of such matters to
the National Labor Re:ations Board (“NLRB”), just as
Congress has designated the Secretary of Labor and the
NRC as the federal agencies with authority to address
retaliation claims brought by nuclear industry employees.

Cases cited by petitioner in which the LMRA has been
held not to preempt state claims have been grounded in
the fact that the NLRB is generally powerless to provide
any remedy for personal injuries of the sort ‘hat state
law may address. Section 210, on the other hand, sun-
plies a remedy for retaliation claims such as petitioner’s.

6

Because petitioner’s claim here is essentially the same
claim that she litigated before the Secretary of Labor
under Section 210, it clearly does not involve a collateral
matter only peripherally related to the subjects of inter-
est in Section 210 proceedings. Furthermore, federal oc-
cupation of the field of nuclear safety regulation leaves
no room for a balancing of competing state and federal
interests in the issues raised in the petitioner’s complaint.

ARGUMENT

I. CONGRESS INTENDED SECTION 210 JF THE
ENERGY REORGANIZATION ACT TO BE THE
EXCLUSIVE REMEDY FOR EMPLOYEES IN THE
NUCLEAR INDUSTRY WHO CLAIM THAT THEY
HAVE BEEN DISCRIMINATED AGAINST FOR
RAISING NUCLEAR SAFETY CONCERNS.

A. Section 210 Must Be Read In Pari Materia With
Other Provisions Of The Comprehensive Fedcral
Regulatory Regime Governing The Nuclear Indus-
try, And When So Read It Provides An Exclusive
Federal Remedy For Allegedly Retaliatory Acts
Motivated By An Employee’s Raising Nuclear
Safety Concerns.

In 1978, Congress amended the Energy Reorganization
Act cf 1974 by adding a new Section 210, Pub. L. No.
95-601, 92 Stat. 2951 (1978), 42 U.S.C. § 5851. This
provision, applicable only to the nuclear industry, pro-
vides specific administrative procedures and full com-
pensatory remedies to employees of NRC licensees and
their contractors who allege that they have been dis-
criminated against for engeging in any “action to carry
out the purposes” of the Energy Reorganization Act or
the Atomic Energy Act of 1954, 42 U.S.C. §§ 2011 et seg.

Far from legislating in a regulatory vacuum, as peti-
tioner implies was the case, Congress added this new
safety provision—Section 210—to what is likely the most
comprehensive federal regulatory scheme ever enacted.
From the beginning, that scheme completely excluded
state regulation and subsequently has permitted limited

7

regulation by the states only by express decree. When
placed in its proper context, there is ample evidence that
Congress intended Section 210 to be the exclusive remedy
for employees in the nuclear industry who allege that
they have been retaliated against for raising radiological
safety concerns.

This Court has recounted the history of the regulation
of the nuclear industry before. Pacific Gas & Electric
Co. v. State Energy Resources Conservation & Dev.
Comm'n, 461 U.S. 190, 206-12 (1983). In brief, Con-
gress’ first legislation in this area created a federal gov-
ernment monopoly over the production and use of fission-
able material. Atomic Energy Act of 1946, ch. 724, 60
Stat. 755 (1946). In the Atomic Energy Act of 1954,
Congress implemented its determination that the private
sector should participat2 in the development of atomic
energy for power production purposes, but only under the
exclusive regulatory oversight of a federal agency. The
1954 Act thus created the Atomic Energy Commission
(“AEC”), which was charged with the licensing of pri-
vate construction, ownership, and operation of commercial
power reactors and which retained exclusive jurisdiction
to license the acquisition, transfer, possession, and use of
nuclear materials. ‘Upon these subjec-s, no role was left
for the States.” Pacific Gas & Electric Co., 461 U.S. at
207.

When Congress permitted states to regulate at all in
this area, it did sb expressly. Congress even found it
necessary to provide expressly that the 1954 Act reserved
to the states their traditional power to regulate the “gen-
eration, sale, or transmission of electric power produced
through the use of nuclear facilities ....” Section 271,
42 U.S.C. $2018. As the Court indicated in Pacific Gas
& Electric Co., there are very few instances in the stat-
utes governing the nuclear industry in which Congress
has relinquished power to the states.

In 1959, Congress added another such provision, Sec-
tion 274, 42 U.S.C. § 2021. The 1959 amendment granted

8

the AEC the authority “by agreements with state gover-
nors to discontinue [the Commission’s] regulatory author-
ity over certain nuclear materials under limited condi-
tions.” Pacific Gas & Electric Co., 461 US. at 209.
Under such agreements, the NRC cedes its authority to
“Agreement States,” and consequently there is no “dual
regulation” in such states. Thus, the 1959 amendment
permitted state regulation of nuclear materials to a very
limited extent and only where the state has entered into
an explicit agreement with the federal government and
restricted amounts of nuclear materials are involved. In
the 1959 amendment Congress again included an express
provision to make clear its intent with respect to the effect
of Section 274 on pre-existing AEC and state regulatory
authority.” Section 274(b) (4) and (c) make clear that
the AEC retained its authority over large quantities of
special nuclear material and with respect to the construc-
tion and operation of any production or utilization facil-
ity. 42 U.S.C. § 2021(b) (4), (e).®

2In Section 274(k), 42 U.S.C. § 2021(k), Congress declared that
Section 274’s narrowly circumscribed provisions for the exercise of
state authority should not be construed as implying any further
restrictions on the states. Petitioner suggests that Section 274(k)
creates an exemption from the generally preemptive effect of the
Atomic Energy Act for all forms of state regulation of nuclear
facilities for economic and other nonsafety purposes. Pet. Br. at
21-22. But this contention ignores this Court’s pronouncement in
Pacific Gas & Electric Co. that “Seciion 274(k), by itself, limits
only the pre-emptive effect of ‘this section,’ that is, § 274, and does
not represent an affirmative grant ef power to the States.’ 461 U.S.
at 210 (emphasis added).

3 Petitioner was employed at a GE fuel fabrication plant licensed
by the NRC to possess and use special nuclear material pursuant to
Section 53 of the Act (42 U.S.C. § 2073) and 10 C.F.R. Part 70
of NRC regulations. Because GE is authorized to possess large
quantities of special nuclear material at the plant, much more than
that contemplated in Section 274(b)(4) of the Act (42 U.S.C.
§ 2021(b)(4)), such a plant is subject only to NRC regulation, not
“Agreement State” regulation. Thus, for purposes of preemption
analysis, the GE plant is akin to the utilization facilities (i.e.,
nuclear reactors) that are similarly subject only to NRC regulation

9

In the Energy Reorganization Act of 1974, Congress
restructured fedural control over the nuclear industry.
The Act abolished the AEC and assigned its licensing
and regulatory functions to the NRC. The 1974 Act did
not alter in any way the role the states were to play in
the regulation of nuclear power. Finally, in 1978, Con-
gress amended the Energy Reorganization Act by adding
Section 210. Again, the new legislation provided no new
authority to the states. On the contrary, the legislative
aistory of Section 210 establishes that Congress intended
the provision as an addition to legislation governing
nuclear safety, and one that was to be meshed with the
existing body of law.

Finally, while new section 210 of the Energy
Reorganization Act of 1978 provides the Department
of Labor with new authority to investigate an al-
leged act of discrimination in this context and to
afford a remedy should the allegation prove true, it
is not intended to in any way abridge the |Nu-
clear Regulatory] Commission’s current authority
to investigate an alleged discrimination and take ap-
propriate action against a licensee-employer, such as
a civil penalty, license suspensiv:: or license revoca-
tion. Further, the pendency of a proceeding before
the Department of Labor pursuant to new section
210 need not delay any action by the Commission to
carry out the purposes of the Atomic Energy Act
of 1954.

124 Cong. Rec. 29771 (1978) (statement of Sen. Hart).

In similar circumstances, this Court has ccnsistently
held that amending legislation such as Section 210 must
be read in pari materia with the previously enacted tegis-
lative scheme of which it is made a part.‘ This rule, the

(Section 274(c)(1) of the Act, 42 U.S.C. § 2021(c)(1)) and that
are referred to in such cases as Pacific Gas and Electric Co.

4 See Naig v. Agee, 453 U.S. 280, 300-01 (1981) (statute enacted
52 years after passage of the Passport Act and making it unlawful
to travel abroad without a passport even in peacetime must be read
in pari materia with the Passport Act): Crawford Fitting Co. v.
J.T. Gibbons, Inc., 482 U.S. 437, 445 (1987) (Fed. R. Civ, P. 54(d)

10

Court has explained, “is but a logical extension of the
principle that individual sections of a single statute
should be construed together, for it necessarily assumes
that whenever Congress passes ¢. new statute, it acts
aware of all previous statutes on the same subject.”
Erlenbaugh v. United States, 409 U.S. 239, 244 (1972)
(citation and footnote omitted).

Prior to the passage of Section 210 in 1978, it was
generally recognized that Congress had preempted state
regulation of matters subject to the federal regulatory
scheme. In the leading preemption case of that time,
Northern States Power Co. v. Minnesota, 447 F.2d 1143
(8th Cir. 1971), aff'd mem., 405 U.S. 1035 (1972), the
Eighth Circuit had held that Congress had preempted the
state’s attempt to regulate radioactive waste releases
from nuclear power plants, even though Congress had
said nothing about the states’ role in this area and even
though compliance with both the federal and state stand-
ards was possible. The circuit court found that the 1959
amendment to the Atomic Energy Act itself evidenced
a congressional intent to exclude state regulation of the
operation of nuclear power facilities, except to the extent
that a state had entered into a cooperative agreement
with the federal government to regulate certain nuclear
materials.

(T|he federal government has exclusive authority
under the doctrine of pre-emption to regulate the
construction and operation of nuclear power plants,
which necessarily includes regulation of the levels
of radioactive effluents discharged from the plant.

/d. at 1154.°

must be read in pari materia with previously enacted limitations on
the power of courts to tax litigants with the costs of litigation in
28 U.S.C. §§ 1821, 1920).

5 See also State of N.J., Department of Envtl. Protection v.
Jersey Cent. Power & Light Co. 60 NJ. 102, 351 A.2d 337
(1976) (state regulation of cessation of nuclear power plant’s func-

1)

Because Congress must necessarily have been aware
of the body of nuclear energy law already in existence
at the time of Section 210’s enactment in 1978, it was
surely cognizant of the structure and underlying policies
of the Atomic Energy Act onto which Section 210 was
engrafted, of the fact that only very narrowly circum-
scribed powers had been left to the states, and of the
necessity for express provision for state authority in any
area in which it was intended that the states be left
free to act. When Section 210 is considered in its
proper context, there can be no doubt as to its pre-
emptive effect over claims such as petitioner’s here.

Moreover, in the case of Section 210, it is not neces-
sary to rely only upon the usual presumption that Con-
gress was aware of the historical practice of making
specific provision for any exceptions in the preemptive
sweep of federal law governing the nuclear industry.
At the very same time that Congress was considering
Section 210, it also had before it proposals to amend
Section 274.° Thus, the Congress that enacted Section
210 was itself directly involved at the same time with
amending one of the few provisions of the Atomic En-

uioning, emission of radioactive waste and dilution of that waste is
impermissible because regulation of those matters has been vested
in the AEC); Commonwealth Edison Co. v. Pollution Control Bd.,
5 Ill. App. 3d 800, 284 N.E.2d 342 (1972) (federal law preempts
state environmental control statute to the extent it authorized state
regulation of radiation from nuclear power plants).

® Indeed, when it passed the Senate, S. 2584, the bill that con-
tained what was to become Section 210, also contained provisions
(Sections 16-18 of the bill) to amend certain portions of Section
274 having to do with the exercise of state authority with regard to
radiological by-product materials (uranium mill tailings). 124 Cong.
Rec. 29785-87 (1978). These provisions were dropped from the con-
ference bill, however, “in light of other legislation before the
Congress to regulate mili tailings.” H.R. Rep. No. 1796, 95th Cong.
2d Sess. 18, reprinted in 1978 U.S. Code Cong. & Admin. News 7304,
7311 (1978) (Conference Report). That other legislation was H.R.
13650, which passed the House and Senate on October 14, 1978.
124 Cong. Rec. 37545, 38230 (1978). Senate Bill 2584 also passed
both houses on October 14, 1978. Jd. at 38239, 37526 (1978).

12

ergy Act or the Energy Reorganization Act that ex-
pressly cedes limited authority to the states. Under
these circumstances, it strains credulity to suggest that
at the time of Section 210’s passage there was an un-
stated congressional intention to cede authority to the
states to provide alternative and duplicative remedies for
conduct directly addressed by Section 210.

B. This Court’s Decisions In Pacific Gas & Electric Co.
And Silkwood v. Kerr-McGee Corp. Compel The
Conclusion That The States Have No Authority To
Regulate Conduct Such As That Alleged In Peti-
tioner’s Complaint.

This Court affirmed in Pacific Gas & Electric Co.
that “the Federal Government has occupied the entire
field of nuclear safety concerns, except the limited powers
expressly ceded to the states.” Jd. at 212 (footnote
omitted). In addition, the Court made it clear that any
attempt by a state to regulate “the construction or
operation of a nuclear powerplant,” even if motivated
solely by “nonsafety concerns,” would be plainly im-
permissible because the exercise of such regulatory au-
thority would “directly conflict with the [NRC’s] ex-
clusive authority” over such matters. /d. Moreover, in
language iat is particularly pertinent to resolving the
issue in the present case, the Pacific Gas & Electric Co.
decision emphasized the profoundly preemptive effect
of federal occupation of this field.

When the Federal Government completely occupies
a given field or an identifiable portion of it, as it
has done here, the test of pre-emption is whether
“the matter on which the State asserts the right to
act is in any way regulated by the Federal Act.”

Id. at 212-13 (quoting Rice v. Santa Fe Elevator Corp.,
331 U.S. 218, 236 (1947) (emphasis added) ).

The language of petitioner’s complaint in this case
reveals .1at she has sought to bring a claim under state
law that embraces matters squarely addressed by Sec-
tion 210. The complaint’s description of the “extreme
and outrageous conduct” alleged asserts that such

13

conduct was “motivated by GE’s desire to punish her
for raising safety concerns” (J.A. 16, 20), that her
employer was motivated by a desire to demonstrate that
it would “severely punish employees who insisted on
compiiance with safety regulations and reported GE
violations to the NRC as required by law” (J.A. 16),
and that the treatment to which she allegedly had been
subjected had all occurred “because she had exposed and
threatened to continue to expose as sham, management’s
pretended concern with employee and public health and
safety” at the facility where she had been employed
(J.A. 16-17).

At bottom, then, her cause of action for intentional
infliction of emotionai distress consists of nothing more
or less than claims that her employer retaliated against
her because of her involvement in raising nuclear safety
concerns, precisely the sort of conduct that Section 210
was intended to regulate. Thus, “ ‘the matter on which
the State asserts the right to act,’” Pacific Gas & Elec-
tric Co., 461 U.S. at 213—here the actic’ « a nuclear
industry employer in allegedly retaliating against one
of its employees for raising concerns about nuclear safety
—is directly the subject of federal regulation. Inasmuch
as this is not one of the strictly circumscribed areas in
which Congress has expressly preserved the traditional
regulatory authority of the states, the application of
North Carolina law to the facts alleged by petitioner
is perforce preempted.

The Court’s decision in Silkwood v. Kerr-McGee Corp.,
464 U.S. 238 (1984), rejnforces the conclusion that peti-
tioner’s claim is preempted because it intrudes upon a
field fully occupied by the federal government. The ma-
jority in that case held that state tort law remedies for
personal injuries resulting from physical exposure to
radiation are not preempted by federal law. In so
holding, the Court also made clear that it was recog-
nizing only a limited exception to the general rule enun-
ciated in Pacific Gas & Electric Co. that all matters

14

concerning nuclear safety and the operation of nuclear
facilities are the exclusive province of the federal regu-
latory regime.

The majority in Silkwood first noted that the decision
of Congress to prohibit the states from intruding on the
safety aspects of nuclear development had derived from
a belief that the NRC was more qualified than the states
to determine the appropriate safety standards to be em-
ployed at nuclear facilities. 464 U.S. at 250.

If there were nothing more, this concern over the
States’ inability to formulate effective standards
and the foreclosure of the States from conditioning
the operation of nuclear plants on compliance with
state-imposed safety standards arguably would dis-
allow resort to state-law remedies by those suffering
injuries . .m radiation in a nuclear plant. There
is, howeve: ample evidence that Congress had no
intention of © »bidding the States to provide such

remedies.
Id. at 250-51.

The evidence to which the majority opinion referred
consisted of two critical facts. First, Congress had pro-
vided no federal remedy for the victims of svch in-
juries. Jd. Second, and “|m|ore importantly, the only
congressional discussion concerning the relationship be-
tween the Atomic Energy Act and state tort remedies
indicates that Congress assumed that such remedies
would be available.” Jd.’

But neither of these factors is present in cases involv-
ing the application of state law to alleged acts of retalia-
tion for raising nuclear safety concerns. In Section 210,
Congress has provided an explicit and detailed federal
administrative remedy for those who suffer retaliation
under circumstances such as those alleged by petitioner

here.

7 The Court also noted that in congressional deliberations on the
1966 amendments to the Price-Anderson Act, a provision that would
have created a federal tort to replace existing state remedies had
been expressly considered and rejected. Id. at 254-55.

15

Moreover, neither petitioner nor her supportin ict
have pointed the Court to any evidence ‘that Aca
has at any time assumed that state tort remedies would
be available in cases in which retaliation for raising
nuclear safety concerns is alleged. Quite simply, there
is no indication whatsoever in the legislative history of
Section 210 or any of the other provisions of the Atomic
Energy Act or the Energy Reorganization Act suggest-
ing that Congress even considered, let alone chose to
tolerate, the availability of state remedies in such cases.

The majority opinion in Silkwood frankly acknowl-
edged that “there is tension between the conclusion that
safety regulation is the exclusive concern of the federal
law and the conclusion that a State may nevertheless
award damages based on its own law of liability.” Jd
at 256. The Court also made clear that tolerance of that
tension was possible only because the evidence of a con-
gressional intent to allow it to exist was abundant. but
then emphasized that applicability of its ruling to claims
in other areas was not to be presumed:

We do not suggest that there could never be an
instance in which the federai law would pre-empt
the recovery of damages based on state law. But
insofar as damages for radiation injuries are con-
cerned, pre-emption should not be judged on the
basis that the Federal Government has so completely
occupied the field of safety that state remedies are
foreclosed but on whether there is an irreconcilable
conflict between the federal and state standards or
whether the imposition of a state standard in a
damages action would frustrate the objectives of
the federal law.

Id. (emphasis added). Absent the compelling evidence of
congressional intent that supplied the foundation for the
narrow exception. recognized by the majority in Silkwood
for radiation injury claims, the fact that Congress has
completely oceupied the field of nuclear safety compels
the conclusion that state law remedies are preempted.

16

Petitioner seeks to avoid this straightforward applica-
tion of the Pacific Gas & Electric Co. and Silkwood deci-
sions by asserting that the interests of the states in
granting their citizens the right to litigate intentional
infliction of emotional distress claims have “nothing
whatsoever to do with nuclear energy or nuclear power.”
Pet. Br. at 14. But if that were the test, the entirety
of the Court’s discussion of congressional intent in Si/k-
wood would have been nothing more than surplusage,
for it can just as wel! he sa‘d that the personal injury
law of the states was also not conceived with nuclear
energy in mind.

Moreover, petitioner’s argument misses one of the cen-
tral points o’ the Court’s decision in Pacific Gas &
Electric Co., which is that the purpose underlying state
laws affecting nuclear facilities only becomes relevant if
the state is acting pursuant to authority expressly re-
served to it by federal law.‘ Before even reaching its
analysis of the purpose of the state law at issue in that
case, the Court was careful first to emphasize that any
state regulation of the construction or operation of a
nuclear power plant “even if enacted out of nonsafety
concerns, would nevertheless directly conflict with the
NRC’s exclusive authority over plant construction and
operation.” 461 U.S. at 212 (emphasis added).

Management of the workforce at a nuclear facility,
including the exercise of the prerogatives to discipline
and discharge employees, is indisputably a vital part of
the operation of that facility. Especially where, as here,
state law is sought to be applied to the exercise of man-
agement prerogatives in the context of a workplace dis-
pute that is alleged to have at its core an issue of radio-
logical safety, the suggestion that this would not con-
stitute state regulation of the operation of a nuclear

8 As is discussed supra, Pacific Gas & Electrie Co. involved an
extension of the traditional economic regulation of electric utilities,
a sphere of state regulatory activity explicitly preserved by Section
271 of the Atomic Fnergy Act, 42 U.S.C. § 2018.

17

facility is simply untenable. Thus, whether thought was
given in the conception of North Carolina emotional
distress law to its effects on the operation of nuclear
facilities has utterly no bearing on the fact that federal
law preempts state intrusions in such matters, regard'ess
of whether such conflicts with exclusive federal authority
were intended by the authors of state law.

II. PETITIONER’S CLAIMS ARE PREEMPTED FOR
THE FURTHER REASON THAT THE APPLICA-
TION OF STATE LAW TO HER ALLEGATIONS OF
RETALIATION WOULD STAND AS AN OBSTACLE
TO, AND FRUSTRATE, FULL REALIZATION OF
THE OBJECTIVES OF FEDERAL LAW GOV-
ERNING THE REGULATION OF NUCLEAR
FACILITIES.

Even if Congress had no. completely occupied the field
of nuclear safety, petitioner’s action here must be held
to be preempted because the application of state law in
the circumstances of her case would “‘stand[{] as an
obstacle to the accomplishment and execution of the full
purposes and objectives of Congress.’” Pacific Gas &
Electric Co., 461 U.S. at 204 (quoting Hines v. Davido-
witz, 312 U.S. 52, 67 (1941)). Indeed, when state law
“presents the ‘prospect of interference with the federal
regulatory power,’ then the state law may be pre-empted
even though ‘collision between the state and federal regu-
lation may not be an inevitable consequence.’ ” Schneide-
wind v. ANR Pipeline Co., 485 U.S. 293, 310 (1988)
(quoting Northern Natural Gas Co. v. State Corp.
Comm’n, 372 U.S. 84, 91-92 (1963)). And where an
application of state law may frustrate the objectives of
federal law, it is the effect rather than the purpose of
the state law that controls the preemption analysis. Jn-
ternational Paper Co. v. Oulette, 479 U.S. 481, 498-99
‘aa Perez v. Campbell, 402 U.S. 637, 651-52

Permitting state court actions such as petitioner’s
would frustrate the intent of Congress to ensure expe-

18

ditious processing of Section 210 claims. While the stat-
ute of limitations in Section 210 is 30 days, 42 U.S.C.
§ 5851(b) (1), the limitations period applicable to peti-
tioner’s infliction of emotional distress claim under
North Carolina law is apparently three years. Pet. App.
22a. Where Section 210 mandates that the Secretary of
Labor issue her decision within 90 days in the adminis-
trative process embraced by Congress, 42 U.S.C. § 5851
(b) (2), it is common knowledge tnat litigation in the
courts can take many years to concede. The significance
of these provisions calling for exp: <itious resolution of
Section 210 claims is made more apparent when con-
sidered in conjunction with (a) the further requirement
of Section 210(b} (1) that the Secretary of Labor notify
the NRC upon receipt of a Section 210 complaint, and
(b) the Memorandum of Undersianding between the De-
partment of Labor and the NRC in which they agree
“to cooperate with each other to the fullest extent pos-
sible” in the investigation of Section 210 matters. 47
Fed. Reg. 54585 (1982).

Because radiological safety may be implicated in any
Section 210 complaint, it is vital and in the public in-
terest that the NRC be apprised at the earliest possible
time of the allegations of an employee who claims to be
the victim of retaliatiun for raising nuclear safety con-
cerns. Such allegations of wrong(oing are important to
the NRC for two reasons. First, they may involve is-
sues of nuclear hardware or procedures that bear di-
rectly and immediately on safe operations. Second, they
may alse involve the qualifications (in terms of manage-
ment ability and attitudes) of licensees to p ssess and
use nuclear materials. This information must be timely
received by the NRC to permit it to respond rapidly to
such issues and to any “chilling effects’ on the identi-
fication of safety concerns that cases of retaliation may
cause among the workforce in general. See Kansas
Gas & Elec. Co. v. Brock, 780 F.2d 1505, 1509 (15th
Cir. 1985), cert. denied, 478 U.S. 1011 (1986) (*“{I]|n-
tertwined with an employment discrimination ccmplaint

19

could be matters specifically concerning substantive ques-
tions of nuclear safety which are better determined by
the NRC, a body with competence on nuclear issues.’’).”

The NRC, acting pursuant to its authority under Sec-
tion 161 of the Atomie Energy Act, 42 1.S.C. § 2201,
see 47 Fed. Reg. 30452 (1982), has promulgated regu-
lations that are the correlative of Section 210. E.g., 10
C.F.R. § 70.7 (1989)."° Where the NRC determines that
this regulatory provision has been violated, it may take
action to (a) suspend, modify or terminate the licensee’s
license; (b) impose a civil penalty; or (c) initiate
“lo]|ther enforcement action.” 7d.

This fundamental scheme for protecting public health
and safety will be undermined if the decision of when
ar in what forum an action by an aggrieved party
should be brought is left to the choice of that party. And
this would be doubly true if plaintiffs could simply re-
name their retaliation claims, calling them infliction of
emotional distress ciaims as petitioner has done here,
and thereby avail themselves of the opportunity to ob-

® Indeed, the Tenth Circuit in Brock initially noted, in its review
of an Order of the Secretary in a Section 210 proceeding, that it
was “troubled by a jurisdictional question. ... [T]he Secretary of
Labor should not be involved with matters pertaining to nuclear
safety, such matiers more appropriately coming withi. the ex-
pertise of the NRC.” Jd. at 1508. The court concluded, however,
that t!.e Memorandum of Understanding entered into between the
two agencies acted to “safeguard the rights of all parties involved
in such an employment proceeding.” Jd. at 1509. The Tenth Circuit
has subsequently ruled that states have no role to play in this
context. Masters v. Daniel Int'l Corp., 895 F.2d 1295 (10th Cir.
1990) (Section 210 preempts state law claim for retaliatory dis-
charge).

’ The proscriptive language of 10 C.F.R. § 70.7, and parallel pro-
visions in §§ 30.7, 40.7, 50.7, 60.9, and 72.10, is essentially the same
as that ut Section 210. See also 10 ©.F.R. § 19.20 (“Employment
discrimination by a licensee or a contractor or subcontractor of a
licensee against an employee for engaging in protected activities . .
is prohibited.” ).

20

tain millions of dollars (or $2.3 billion, as petitioner has
sought here) in punitive damages. In such circum-
stances there would be few who would retain any in-
terest in having their disputes resolved through the ad-
ministrative process that Congress went to the trouble to
create.

This Court’s vpinions have consistently indicated that
the creation of a detailed and comprehensive scheme of
administrative remedies by Congress gives rise to a pre-
sumption that resort to alternative fora, which may offer
procedural advantages and the possibility of more et-
tractive remedies to those seeking relief, was not con-
templated. See, eg., Great American Fed. Sav. & Loan
Ass’n v. Novotny, 442 U.S. 366, 375-76 (1979) (plain-
tiffs whose rights under Title VII of the Civil Rights
Act of 1964 had been violated not allowed to seek rem-
edies under 42 U.S.C. § 1985(3) because of factors such
as the availability of longer statute of limitations, puni-
tive damages and jury trial under the latter statute, and
“(plerhaps most importantly, the complaint could com-
pletely bypass the administrative process, which plays
such a crucial role in the scheme established by Congress
... 2): Brown v. General Servs. Admin., 425 U.S. 820,
832 (1976) (balance, completeness and structural in-
tegrity of administrative procedure established in Title
VII of Civil Rights Act of 1964 for processing claims of
government employees held inconsistent with assertions
that such remedies were designed only to supplement
other juicial remedies) ."’

11 See also Brown & Root, Inc. v. Donovan, 747 F.2d 1029, 1035
(5th Cir. 1984):
The fact that Congress has produced so many detailed provi-
sions governing the nuclear industry indicates the legislature
may well have attempted to approach the line where it believed
the added costs of regulation exceed benefits. Edgar v. MITE,
457 U.S. 624 (1982) (holding that additional protection af-
forded investors by state securities statutes would “overpro-
tect” investors to their detriment); see Easterbrook, Statutes’
Domain, 50 U.Chi.L. Rev. 533, 542 (1983). If this is so, for

a court to interpret the statute to authorize “more in the same
7

s

21

Moreover, it is especially doubtful that Congress in-
tended to permit those claiming that they have been re-
taliated against for raising nuclear safety concerns to
have access to punitive damages awards in state tort
actions where such awards would only replicate mecha-
nisms in the federal regulatory scheme designed to effect
the same objective. “[DJeterrence of future egregious
conduct is a primary purpose . . . of punitive damages.”
Smith v. Wade, 461 U.S. 30, 49 (1983). But in the case
of conduct that would violate Section 210 and 10 C.F.R.
$ 70.7, the NRC already has the authority to impose civil
penalties for deterrent purposes. Atomic Energy Act
§ 234, 42 U.S.C. § 2282." Indeed, the NRC has already
exercised that authority to impose a $20,000 civil penalty
against respondent for the very conduct at issue in the
present proceedings. In re General Electric Co., DD-
89-1, 29 N.R.C. 325, 334 (1989) (based on findings of
the Administrative Law Judge in petitioner’s Section 210
proceeding). See Pet. App. 57a-58a."* As this Court has
held, a conflict between federal and state law is immi-
nent whenever both federal and state remedies are
brought to bear on the same activity. Wisconsin Dep’t
of Indus. v. Gould, Inc., 475 U.S. 282, 286 (1986) ‘hold-
ing state law preempted that imposed sanctions on em-
ployers that repeatedly violated federal labor laws).

Finally, that Congress chose in Section 210(g) to deny
a remedy under federal law to employees who themselves
commit a violation of the Atomic Energy Act or the

vein” will result in regulation where costs exceed benefits, up-
setting the balance intended by Congress.

12 The regulatory provisions relating to NRC enforcement actions
and the imposition of civil penalties in appropriate cases are found
at 10 C.F.R. Part 2, App. C (1989).

13 See also In re Toledo Edison Co., EA 88-234 (Nov. 21, 1988)
(imposing $80,000 penalty for violation of 10 C.F.R. § 50.7, and
ordering that license be modified to require notification of employee
involvement in safety-related matters); In re Tennessee Valley
Auth., EA 86-093 (July 10, 1986) (imposing $150,000 penalty for
violations of § 50.7).

22

Energy Reorganization Act is likewise supportive of the
conclusion that petitioner’s claims in this case are pre-
empted.'* Whenever Congress erects a comprehensive fed-
eral scheme, combining action (such as providing a rem-
edy for most employees subjected to retaliation for rais-

ing nuclear safety concerns) with inaction (such as -

denying remedies otherwise available to those who them-
selves violate the law), a “pre-emptive inference” may be
drawn. Puerto Rico Dep’t of Consumer Affairs v. Isla
Petroleum Corp., 485 U.S. 495, 503 (1988).

This inference cannot be dispelled by offering, as peti-
tioner does (Pet. Br. 40 n.18), the facile suggestion that
permitting employers to raise Section 210(g) as a de-
fense to state infliction of emotional distress claims
avoids any “actual conflict” between the two bodies of
law. The critical question, quite simply, is not whether
an “actual conflict” can be avoided, but whether the
application of state law “presents the ‘prospect of in-
terference with the federal regulatory power.”
Schneidewind, 485 U.S. at 310. The existence of a pos-
sibility that an individual whose own illegal acts have
eliminated her eligibility for a federal remedy might
nevertheless obtain a remedy, including punitive dam-
ages, in a state infliction of emotional distress action
would completely subvert the congressional judgment on
how the balance should be struck in such situations.
Moreover, even if employers would be in a position to
assert a defense to a state law claim based on Section
210(g) (a matter that may vell have to be determined
under the law of the state in which the claim is brought),
state courts and juries wou'd inevitably have to become
entangled in the administration of the Atomic Energy
Act. For a state court or jury to rule on a Section 210

14 Section 210(g), 42 U.S.C. § 5851(@), provides:
Subsection (a) of this section shall not apply with respect to
any employee who, acting without direction from his or her
employer (or the employer’s agent), deliberately causes a vicla-
tion of any requirement of this chapter or of the Atomic Energy
Act of 1954, as amended.

23

(g) defense, they would first have to determine whether
the employee in fact “cause[d] a violation of any re-
quirement of” the Energy Reorganization Act or the
Atomic Energy Act—-a question appropriately reso!ved
only with the assistance of considerable technological ex-
pertise, and a question to which Congress intended that
there be a uniform answer.

In sum, each of the three aspects of the federal statu-
tory scheme cited by the district court (Pet. App. 19a-
24a) in support of its conclusion that petitioner’s claims
were preempted demonstrates that the application cf
state 'aw to such claims would inevitably interfere with
the fulfillment of objectives embodied in federal law. In
the absence of clear evidence of a congvessional intent
to tolerate such interference, claims such as petitioner’s
are necessarily preempted.

lil. THE DECISIONS OF THE COURTS BELOW ARE
CONSISTENT WITH THE PREEMPTION PRINCI-
PLES ARTICULATED BY THIS COURT IN CASES
ARISING UNDER THE LABOR MANAGEMENT
RELATIONS ACT.

It is, of course, in the context of the history and com-
prehensive scope of federal nuclear safety regulation that
petitioner’s claim must be analyzed. Nonetheless, peti-
tioner and supporting amici contend that the decisions of
the courts below are not consonant with the principles
articulated dy this Court in federal labor law preemption
cases. But as demonstrated below, the lower courts’ rul-
ings that petitioner’s claim is preempted are in fact en-

tirely consistent with those principles. /

Shortly after Congress passed the National Labor Re-
lations Act (“NLRA”) in 1935, this Court ruled that the
Act, while silent on the role states were to play, pre-
empted state regulation of matters that Congress had
entrusted to the jurisdiction of the NLRB. See Sears,
Roebuck & Co. v. San Diego County Dist. Council of
Carpenters, 436 U.S. 180, 190-91 (1978); San Diego

,

24

Bldg. Trades Council v. Garmon, 359 U.S. 236 (1959).
In Garmon, the Court ruled that state laws regulating
conduct arguably governed by Sections 7 or 8 of the Act,
29 U.S.C. §§ 157, 158, cannot stand because “Congress
has entrusted administration of the labor policy for the
Nation to a centralized administrative agency, armed
with its own procedures, and equipped with its specialized
knowledge and cumulative experience.” Jd. at 242. This
strand of LMRA displacement of state law has been
styled as “Garmon preemption.”

The need to protect the “primary jurisdiction” of fed-
eral agencies charged by Congress to administer complex
and interrelated federal schemes—the underpinning of
Garmon—likewise dictates that petitioner’s claim in this
case has been preempted. Under the Atomic Energy Act
and the Energy Reorganization Act, Congress has vested
the NRC with the responsibility to regulate the conduct
of its licensees. The Commission in fact long ago as-
sumed the authority to investigate allegations of retalia-
tion against employees wno have attempted to pursue
the safety goals of nuclear regulation by voicing nuclear
safety concerns. E.g., 10 C.F.R. § 19.16(c) (“No licensee
shall discharge or in any manner discriminate against
any worker because such worker has” voiced nuclear
safety concerns.) (promulgated in 1973, 38 Fed. Reg.
22217, 22219 (1973), superseded in 1982 when 10 C.F.R.
£ 70.7 and its counterparts were first promulgated, 47
Fed. Reg. 30452 (1982)). And, as noted above, the
Commission has imposed penalties on its licensees when
allegations of discrimination have been substantiated,
either through the Commission’s own investigation or in
Department of Labor proceedings.

In 1978, Congress extended to the Secretary of Labor
he power to provide full compensatory remedies to ag-

15 Congress amended the Act in 1947, Labor Management Rela-
tions Act, ch. 120, 61 Stat. 136 (1947), 29 U.S.C. $8 141-187 (1988).
The Act will hereinafter be cited as the “LMRA.”

25

grieved employees who comply with the procedures set
forth in Section 210, but was careful not to curtail the
pre-existing authority of the Commission in this field.
124 Cong. Ree. 29771 (1978). The Commission and the
Secretary fulfill complementary and supportive roles in
this scheme. See Norman v. Niagara Mohawk Power
Corp., 873 F.2d 634, 637 (2d Cir. 1989) (“In a field as
specialized and technical as that of nuclear energy, the
importance of this interplay between the two agencies
cannot be overemphasized.”) (citing, inter alia, Garmon
in holding that Section 210 is an exclusive remedy).

Where, as in Garmon and this case, Congress has cre-
ated an intricate scheme that directs federal agencies
to address and remedy a discrete type of dispute, no
room remains for states to regulate in the same field.
Thus, what has been said of Garmon also holds true
here: “The technique of administration and the range
and nature of those remedies that are and are not avail-
able is a fundamental ~.:t and parcel of the operative
‘egal system established b: the” federal scheme, and even
“supplemental” state laws may not apply. Amalgamated
Ass’n of Motor Coach Employees v. Lockridge, 403 U.S.
274, 287 (1971).

Here, petitioner’s claim is in all material respects iden-
tical to that which she has already presented to the Sec-
retary of Labor: that the respondent engaged in acts
calculated to cause her emotional distress because she had
raised nuclear safety concerns. Pet. App. 32a-40a; J.A.
7-20. In light of this “identity of issues,” petitioner’s
reliance on Farmer v. United Brotherhood of Carpenters,
430 U.S. 290 (1977), is misplaced. In an unfair labor
practice proceeding, the NLRB would not be concerned
with the emotional harm visited upon a charging party
by conduct arguably subject to the LMRA. 7d. at 304
(“Whether the statements or conduct of the respondents
also caused Hill severe emotional distress and physical
injury would play no role in the Board’s disposition of

26

the case.”)."* In contrast, petitioner’s allegation that
respondent intentionally caused her mrtal distress be-
cause she had voiced safety concerns was «<n issue actu-
ally litigated in her claim for compensatory relief before
the Department of Labor. In sum, petitioner’s reliance
on Farmer ignores the fact that the Department of
Labor entertained a claim for redress of the very injury
of which she complains, while the NLRB would not have
done so.

Moreover, in each of the cases relied on by petitioner
in which the Court has ruled that the LMRA does not
preempt a state claim, the Court emphasized that the
Board would have been powerless to provide a full rem-
edy because in enacting the LMRA “Congress did not
establish a general scheme authorizing the Board to
award full compensatory damages for injuries caused by
wrongful conduct.” International Union, United Auto.
Workers v. Russell, 356 U.S. 634, 642-43 (1958).'7 In

16 See also Linn v. United Plant Guard Workers of America,
Local 114, 383 U.S. 53, 63-64 (1966) (“The malicious publication of
libelous statements does not in itself constitute an unfair labor
practice. ... The injury that the statement might cause to an in-
dividual’s reputation—whether he be an employer or union official—
has no relevance to the Board’s function.”); Belknap v. Hale, 463
U.S. 491, 511 (1983) (“It is no less true here than it was in Linn
v. Plant Guard Workers ... that ‘[t]he injury’ remedied by the state
law ‘has no relevance to the Board’s function.’”’). Cf. Vaca v. Sipes,
386 U.S. 171, 182 n.8 (1967) (The “public interest in effectuating
the policies of the federal labor laws, not the wrong done the in-
dividual employee, is always the Board’s principal’ concern in fash-
ioning unfair labor practice remedies.’ ).

17 International Ass’n of Machinists v. Gonzales, 356 U.S. 617,
621 (1958) (“Although, if the unions’ conduct constituted an unfair
labor practice, the Board might possibly have been empowered to
award back pay, in no event could it mulct in damages for mental or
physical suffering.”) ; United Constr. Workers v. Laburnum Constr.
Co., 347 U.S. 656, 663-65 (1954) (“Here Congress has neither pro-
vided nor suggested any substitute for the traditional state court
procedure for collecting damages for injuries caused by tortious
conduct. . . . The Labor Management Relations Act sets up no
general compensatory procedure except in such minor supplementary
ways as the reinstatement of wrongfully discharged employees with

27

contrast, Congress devised Section 210 expressly to pro-
vide full compensatory remedies to employees who have
been discriminated against because they have engaged in
action to carry out the purposes of federal nuclear legisla-
tion. Section 210(b)(2)(B) provides that, in addition to
providing reinstatement and backpay, “the Secretary may
order [the respondent] to provide compensatory damages
to the complainant.” 42 U.S.C. § 5851(b)(2)(B). The
statute unambiguously permits the Secretary to compen-
sate the complainant for all losses sustained in connection
with the alleged discrimination.'’* Indeed, petitioner had
herself secured from the administrative law judge a judg-
ment under Section 210 awarding $70,000 as compensa-
tion for mental suffering and other damages before the
Secretary ruled that her claim had not been timely filed.
Pet. App. 55a."

back pay.”); Linn, 383 U.S. at 63-64 (“The Board can award no
damages, impose no penalty, or give any other relief to the defamed
individual.”); Farmer, 430 U.S. at 304 (“[T]he Board could not
award Hill damages for pain, suffering, or medical expenses.’’) ;
Belknap, 463 U.S. at 511 (“‘The Board can award no damages,
impose no penalty, or give any other relief’ to the plaintiffs in this
case.”) ; see also Lockridge, 403 U.S. at 318 (White, J., dissenting)
(noting that the Court’s decisions in Russell, Laburnum, and Linn
were all based on the “inadequacy of the existing Board rrocedure
to provide suitable remedies for those injured as a result of the
conduct”).

18 DeFord v. Secretary of Labor, 700 F.2d 281, 288 (6th Cir.
1983) (‘“Here, it is clear that Congress intended to allow ‘com-
pensatory damages,’ and nothing less. The statute is not ambiguous
on this point.”); DeFord v. Tennessee Valley Auth., Case No. 81-
ERA-1, slip op. at 4 (Secretary’s Order on Remand) (Apr. 30,
1984) (awarding $10,000 to -Section 210 complainant for “mental
pain and suffering and damage to reputation’).

19 Petitioner’s claim (Pet. Br. 31 n.12) that Lingle v. Norge
Division of Majic Chef, Inc., 486 U.S. 399 (1988), “lays to rest,”
fou. Garmon preemption purposes, the distinction this Court has
drawn for forty years regarding claims for which the NLRB could
provide a remedy and those for which it could not reveals a mis-
understanding of the different strands of labor preemption. Lingle,
a case addressing preemption by Section 301 of the LMRA, 29 U.S.C.
§ 185, expressly caucioned against such confusion, emphasizing that

28

Garmon notions of “primary jurisdiction” preemption,
then, fortify the conclusion that federal laws regulating
the nuclear industry preempt petitioner’s claim because
it seeks the application of state law to matters Con-
gress has entrusted to the regulatory authority of fed-
eral agencies. Nevertheless, it is incorrect to conclude
that the scope of Garmon preemption delimits the pre-
emptive scope of nuclear regulatory legislation. Section
210, unlike the “prohibited conduct” provisions of the
LMRA, was enacted in an area where Congress had
already legislated comprehensively and where a federal
agency already exercised dominion over the conduct for
which Section 210 provides a remedy. Indeed, Section
210 regulates an industry over which the federal gov-
ernment originally held a monopoly and state regula-
tion of which has always been narrowly circumscribed.
If anything, the preemptive inferences to be drawn from
the context of Section 210 are more compelling than
those attending the LMRA.

The distinctions between preemption in the nuclear
regulatory arena and under Garmon make petitioner’s
reliance on Farmer particularly inapt. By attempting to
fit her claim within the “Farmer exception,” petitioner
erroneously assumes that the balancing of state and
federal interests applicable in Garmon preemption can
also be properly applied to nuclear regulatory preemp-
tion. As demonstrated above, because Congress has com-
pletely occupied the entire field of nuclear safety, no
state law regulating in that field may apply. Simply
put, federal occupation of the field leaves no room for a
balancing of state and federal interests. See Allis-
Chalmers Corp. v. Lueck, 471 U.S. 202, 214 n.9 (1985)
(“The present tort suit would allow the State to pro-
vide a rule of decision where Congress has mandated
that federal law should govern. In this situation the bal-
ancing of state and federal interests required by Gar-

Garmon preemption and § 301 preemption involve different inquiries.
486 U.S. at 409 n.8.

29

mon pre-emption is irrelevant, since Congress . . . has
provided that federal law must prevail.”).

For this reason, petitioner’s claim is preempted re-
gardless of whether it involves interests “deeply rooted
in local feeling and responsibility,” Gavmon, 359 U.S. at
244, or laws of only passing interest. Moreover, peti-
tioner cannot contend that her claim is of only “periph-
eral” concern to the federal scheme inasmuch as her
claim, as demonstrated above, is among those that
Congress has vested the Secretary with authority to ad-
dress. Norman, 873 F.2d at 637 (distinguishing Farmer
and holding that Section 210 is an ex:lusive remedy)
(“We are not dealing here with a collateral matter that
is only peripherally related to the safety concerns im-
plicit in section 210 .... [T]he gravamen of the com-
plaint herein is section 210 harassment.”’).*” Moreover,
because petitioner’s claim presents precisely the same
issue that the Secretary can address and remedy, and
alleges conduct for which the NRC can impose an appro-

2° Farmer, either as an “exception” to or defining the limits of
the principles set out in Garmon, is unique to that type of preemp-
tion and cannot simply be applied as petitioner attempts to do in
this case, to all other areas in which Congress has displaced state
regulation. Indeed, a host of other federal laws have been held to
preempt state law intentional infliction of emotional distress claims
arising in the employment setting. E.g., Jackson v. Southern Cali-
fornia Gas Co., 881 F.2d 638, 645-46 (9th Cir. 1989) (Farmer not
applicable to LMRA § 301 preemption; intentional infliction of emo-
tional distress claim preempted) ; Pane v. RCA Corp. 868 F.2d 631,
635 (3d Cir. 1989) (ERISA preempts intentional infliction of emo-
t‘onal distress claim); Atkinson v. Gates, McDonald & Co., 828
F.2d 808 (5th Cir. 1988) (comprehensive scheme embodied in Long-
shoremen and Harbor Workers’ Compensation Act preempts state
law claim for intentional infliction of emotional distress); Mayon
v. Southern Pac. Transp. Co., 805 F.2d 1250, 1252-52 (5th Cir.
1986) (Farmer not applicable to Railway Labor Act preemption) ;
Lehman v. Morrissey, T79 F.2d 526 (9th Cir. 1985) (per curiam)
(remedial procedures created by Civil Service Reform Act preempt
federal employee’s claim for intentional infliction of emotional di. -
tress); Binkley v. Loughran, 714 F. Supp. 768, 771 (M.D.N.C.
1988) (LMRA § 301 preempts intentional infliction of emotional dis-
tress claim under North Carolina law).

30

priate penalty, the state’s interest in compensating vic-
tims of socially intolerable conduct and society’s inter-
est in punishing a nuclear licensee for engaging in such
conduct, are fully accomplished by the provisions of Sec-
tion 210 and the Atomic Energy Act.

In sum, there is no merit to petitioner’s contention
that the Atomic Energy Act and the Energy Reorganiza-
t'on Act do not preemnt her claim because the LMRA
might not do so. In both the labor and nuclear arenas
Congress has provided interrelated schemes of law, ad-
ministrative procedures, and remedies; and state laws
governing the same conduct regulated by the federal
scheme are necessarily preempted. It does not follow,
however, that an intentional infliction of emotional dis-
tress claim that would escape Garmon preemption also
escapes Section 210 preemption, because the Secretary,
unlike the NLRB, has been assigned to address such
claims where, as here, they are premised upon retalia-
tion for raising nuclear safety concerns. For these rea-
sons, the decisions of the courts below are fully consist-
ent with the principles of federal labor law preemption.

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, the judgment of the United
States Court of Appeals for the Fourth Circuit should

be affirmed.
Respectfullv submitted,

NICHOLAS S. REYNOLDs *
RICHARD K. WALKER
DONN C. MEINDERTS!'A
BISHOP, COOK, PURCE.
& REYNOLDS
1400 L Street, N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20005-3502
(202) 371-5700
Counsel for Amicus Curiae
Nuclear Management and
Resources Council, Inc.

* Counsel of Record

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385012_0851%3A17. Public record. Not legal advice.
