# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Budinich v. Becton Dickinson & Co.

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385012_0844%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1988
- **Citation:** 486 U.S. 196

## Text

—

i | Supreme Court, U.S.

87-2 83 FILED

Case No. JUL 14 1987
Supreme Court of the United Shree F. SPANIOL, JR

rs

OCTOBER TERM 1987

JOSEPH G. BUDINICH,

Petitioner,

vs.

BECTON DICKINSON AND COMPANY,
a foreign corporation,

Respondent.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI FROM THE UNITED STATES
COURT OF APPEALS, TENTH CIRCUIT.
Case No. 84-2192

FRANK & FINGER, P.C.

By: Thomas E. Frank
Attorney for Petitioner
P.O. Box 1477
Evergreen, CO 80439
(303) 674-6955

_ _— x Sahl Sry a

I
PETITION

Joseph G. Budinich, by and through his undersigned attorney,
pursuant to 28 U.S.C. §1254, hereby petitions the United States Supreme
Court to review by Writ of Certiorari the decision of the United States Court
of Appeals, Tenth Circuit, Case No. 84-2192 entitled Budinich vs. Becton
Dickinson and Company, a foreign corporation. Pursuant to Rule 21 of the
United States Supreme Court, the Petitioner would show the Court as follows:

A. QUESTION PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

The question presented to the Supreme Court is whether the
Court’s holding in White v. New Hampshire, 455 U.S. 445 (1982), that an
award of attorney's fees under a federal statute is an ancillary part of the pro-
ceeding, applies to diversity action cases where state law, like Colorado’s,
provides that attorney's fees are a substantive part of the relief; or whether
State substantive law is controlling because of the principles announced in
Erie Railroad Co. v. Tompkins, 304 U.S. 64 (1938).

If State substantive law controls, then the Court of Appeals’ deter-
mination that it lacked jurisdiction to hear the appeal on the merits is er-
roneous. On the other hand, if White v. New Hampshire is controlling, the
Petitioner argues that the decision is new law relating to diversity cases and

that it should only be given prospective application.

B. PARTIES INVOLVED

The parties involved in the proceeding below are:

1. Joseph Budinich, Appellant
II. Becton Dickinson and Company, Appellee

C. TABLE OF CONTENTS Fort v. Roadway Express, Inc.

eee
1. | an rere Page |
Hanna v. Plumber
A. QUESTION PRESENTED FOR REVIEW ......... Page | 380 U.S. 460 (1965) ....................... Page 9
Mo, fk eee Page | Hofer v. Polly Little Realtors. Inc.
C. TABLE OF CONTENTS AND 534 P.2d 114 (Colo. App.. 1975) TV CEECLE TLE TTe pe eeeen Page 6
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES................ Page 2,3,4 |
Marietta v. Busto
D. REFERENCE TO OFFICIAL REPORTS.......... Page 4 691 P.2d 345, 347 (Colo. App., 1984)
cert. denied ___ U.S. ____., 105 §.Ct. 2024 (1985) ....... Page 8
els eres ee Page 4
Ortega v. Board of County Commissioners
F. CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS INVOLVED ... Page 5 657 P.2d 989 (Colo. App., 1982)............ 4 ee Page 8
G. STATEMENT OF THE CASE .................. Page 6 Rodriguez v. Handy
H. REASONS FOR ALLOWANCE OF THE WRIT ... Page 10 a Page 8
ye. eee Page 11 White v. New Hampshire |
Neen en Te ccccer Page 1,8,10
G8. ABPUIBEL .... 2. cccccdsveseeossctnbuceceneneuee Page 12
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
CASES CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS
Ball Corporation v. Loran Article IV, Section | — Full Faith and Credit............. Page 5, 10
42 Colo. App. 401, 496 P.2d 412 (Colo. App., 1979)....... Page 8
Brogan v. Bill Eager Motors, Inc. Article VI, Clause 2 — Supreme Law...................... Page 6
$61 P.28 377 Cole. Agp., 1977) .. 22.0 cccccncccvesess Page 6
Amendment X of the United States Constitution. ........... Page 5,10
Erie Railroad Co. v. Tompkins
; Fis EY, eee Page |
2 3

FEDERAL STATUTES

et A ceo cavacdbeusssncdadccssheaseus Page |

Pere ae ese Leterme pce}. Page 6

RIDER OPS LAP ene CAR Fer ape Page 4
STATE STATUTES

Title 8, Article 4 of the Colorado Revised Statutes ........... Page 8

RULES OF THE SUPREME COURT

By FRO ons cccccccnantctevectschecussecwuwewens Page 5, 10
SN PCED a ancccccccvecsaneeesvodbutoeaseteseucses Page 5, 10
PMc Sc ceo cvedtencdedeuuescueqdesentyeeneneceneans Page 4
SNEED 6 Sou ces cuecvoceuciedscncncsaeesteeeeeeSeabaeuns Page |
BD o vacccescccsvaccvccenctssseéssucuaeeeensnens ee

D. REFERENCE TO OFFICIAL REPORTS

The decision of the Tenth Circuit is published at 807 F.2d 155
(10th Cir., 1986).

E. JURISDICTION

Jurisdiction of this Court is invoked pursuant to 28 U.S.C.
§1254(1). The time requirements of 28 U.S.C. §2101 have been met, pur-
suant to the extension of time permitted by Rule 20 and the order of the
Honorable Justice Byron White dated June 25, 1987.

1. The date of judgment or decision that is sought to be reviewed
was December 12, 1986.

2. Denial of Petitioner's Motion For Reconsideration occurred on
March 26, 1987.

Petitioner's Application For Extension of Time to file Petition for
Writ of Certiorari was granted on June 24, 1987 permitting an extension by
and through July 14, 1987.

3. No cross petition for Writ of Certiorari was filed.

4. Jurisdiction is supported under Rule 17. 1(a) and 17.1(c) in that
the instant decision involves an important question of federal law which
should be settled by this Court; and the decision of the 10th Circuit is in con-
flict with other Circuit decisions which are detailed in Section G of this
Petition.

F. CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS INVOLVED

AMENDMENT 10. POWERS RESERVED TO THE STATES
OR PEOPLE.

‘The powers not delegated to the United States by the Constitu-
tion, nor prohibited by it to the States, are reserved to the States
respectively or to the people.”’

ARTICLE IV, SECTION |. FULL FAITH AND CREDIT.

**Full faith and credit shall be given in each State to the public acts,
records, and judicial proceedings of every other State. And the
Congress may by general laws prescribe the manner in which such
acts, records and proceedings shall be proved and the effect
thereof.”’

ARTICLE VI. CLAUSE 2 — SUPREME LAW.

‘*The Constitution and the laws of the United States which shall
be made in pursuance thereof; and all treaties made, or which shall
be made, under the authority of the United States, shall be the
supreme Law of the Land; and the Judges in every State shal! be
bound, thereby, any thing in the Constitution or laws of any State
to the Contrary notwithstanding.”

G. STATEMENT OF THE CASE

This matter centers on a dispute between the parties relating to
commissions on the sale of certain vapor sensing equipment sold to the United
States Air Force. The action was originally filed in the District Court in and
for the City and County of Denver, State of Colorado. The Defendant, Becton
Dickinson removed the action based on diversity jurisdiction pursuant to 28
U.S.C. § 1332.

After the close of discovery, the Defendant, Becton Dickinson

moved for summary judgment arguing that a company could change its com-
missions schedule at any time and the change was binding on its employees.

Plaintiff argued that the law of the State of Colorado required the
company to honor the commission terms for all orders received or orders in
process and that the change was only valid prospectively. Plaintiff's argu-
ment was rejected by the United States District Court in regard to certain
claims despite being supported by Colorado case law.' Certain claims were
not dismissed, including a claim of fraud and second commission claim. The

1. Colorado case law supporting Plaintiff's position on commissions due include Hofer v. Polly
Little Realtors, Inc., 534 P.2d 114 (Colo. App., 1975) and Brogan v. Bill Eager Motors, Inc..
$61 P.2d 377 (Colo. App., 1977).

remaining claims were tried to a jury. The jury was unable to render a ver-
dict and a mistrial was declared. Plaintiff moved for reinstatement of the
claims summarily adjudged and this motion was denied. A second trial was
held which resulted in a Plaintiff's verdict for the second commission claim
and a defense verdict for the fraud claim.

are claims for wages and Colorado mandates that attorney fees be included
as part of the remedy. Additionally, Plaintiff moved for new trial or amend-
ment of judgment alleging multiple errors both at trial and in deciding pretrial
motions, including the Motion for Summary Judgment.

The Court in a single order granted an award of attorney fees fin-
ding that such fees are not discretionary and must under Colorado law be in-
cluded in the judgment as part of the relief, but left open the issue of the
amount due, and denied the Motion for new trial or amendment of judgment.
Plaintiff was ordered to submit detailed records and explanations to justify
the attorney fee request while the motion was held in abeyance. This was ac-
complished in a supplemental filing.

The Court thereafter entered a supplemental order awarding at-
torney fees.

Plaintiff filed an appeal in what he believed to be a timely fashion
because the amount of the fees related back to what the trial court had found
to be part of the mandatory relief under Colorado law. This finding was made
in the trial court's order dated May 14, 1984 and appearing in the Appen-
dix as item II-C.

Immediately after the appeal was filed the Defendant moved for
summary disposition of the case on jurisdictional grounds relying on White,
supra.

The Court of Appeals required the respective parties to brief the
jurisdictional issues before submitting briefs on the merits.

On December 12, 1986 the Tenth Circuit Court of Appeals rul-
ed that it lacked jurisdiction to hear the appeal on the mevits. The Court of
Appeals’ decision that it lacked jurisdiction was based on the application of
White, supra. The Circuit Court found a need for a uniform and unqualified
rule. In so ruling, the Tenth Circuit found that Colorado substantive law as
determined by Colorado Appellate Courts was irrelevant to its determination.

Colorado's substantive law is that an attorney fee award, par-
ticularly under its wage claim statute, is not ancillary to the underlying pro-
ceeding, but is an inherent part of the claim. Ortega v. Board of County
Commissioners, 657 ?.2d 989 (Colo. App. 1982) cert denied; Ball Corpora-
tion v. Loran, 42 Colo. App. 401, 496 P.2d 412 (Colo. App. 1979); Marietta
v. Busto, 691 P.2d 345, 347 (Colo. App. 1984), cert. denied 105 S.Ct. 2024
(1985).

The Tenth Circuit's interpretation of White, supra, to Plainiff's
knowledge, is the broadest application of that decision yet made. The deci-
sion appears to conflict with two other Circuits’ approach. The Fifth Circuit
and Eleventh Circuit have both expressed the need to make a threshold deter-
mination whether attorneys fees are recognized as an inherent part of the
relief. See Fort v. Roadway Express, Inc., 746 F.2d 744 (11th Cir., 1984)
and Rodriguez v. Handy, 802 F.2d 817 (Sth Cir., 1986). Once this deter-
mination is reached, the courts will determine if White, supra is applicable.

While Plaintiff agrees that a uniform rule is needed relating to at-
torney fee application, Plaintiff believes that the rule established by the Tenth
Circuit is erroneous and is contrary to the Constitutional reservation of powers
to the State.

The power of States to govern their internal affairs and to enact
their own substantive laws is firmly and unquestionably guaranteed by the
Tenth Amendment to the United States Constitution. The laws of Colorado,
albeit legislatively enacted or judicially determined, are entitled to Full Faith
and Credit pursuant to Article IV, Section |, not only by other States but also
by the federal system, including Federal Courts.

Colorado's substantive law cannot be as easily dismissed as has
been done by the Tenth Circuit. The determination of whether attorney's fees
are an inherent part of the claim is a ‘‘substantive determination.’’ Once
made, procedural ramifications come to bear. See, Hanna v. Plumber, 380
U.S. 460 (1965).

A difference of substantive determination by this Court as to at-
torney fees granted under federal statute and by the Colorado Courts relating
to attorney fees under Colorado statute is not offensive to the federal system
of government. Each decision is entitled to full faith and credit in its own
right. Neither decision is right or wrong, nor is there an actual conflict. There
is only a perceived conflict because the two systems have reached different
conclusions. But under our Constitutional system, each entity is entitled to
establish their own substantive laws and have those laws applied.

Reconciliation of the perceived conflict is, however, possible. The
uniform rule that the Tenth Circuit searches for is one that holds where the
underlying claim is based on Federal Statute, the application for attorney fees
is ancillary. Whereas, if the underlying claim is based on State law, the

substantive law of the State forum controls. Adopting this rule preserves both
the integrity of White, supra and the Constitutional mandate of the Tenth
Amendment and the Full Faith and Credit Clause the the United States

Constitution.

H. REASONS FOR ALLOWANCE OF THE WRIT

Granting the petition in this matter will allow the Court to
elaborate on its holding in White v. New Hampshire, supra. The Court will

clarify whether White, supra applies to diversity jurisdiction cases where State

substantive law is or may be that attorney fees are part of the statutory
remedy. An examination of this question is essential based on the Tenth
Amendment and the Full Faith and Credit clause of the United States Con-
stitution. Rule 17.1(c) is applicable.

Additionaily, there is conflict in the Circuits as to how White,
supra. should be applied in other than Section 1988 attorney fee claims. This
makes applicable the provision of 17.1(a).

Lastly, litigants in the Federal Court are entitled to have a clear,
concise and comprehensive rule to follow. No such rule will exist until this
Court announces the substantive law. The Circuit Courts will continue mak-
ing ad hoc decisions which may or may not be in conformity with the

Constitution.

10

1. APPENDIX

The Appendix containing the required information is attached.

Respectfully submitted,
FRANK & FINGER, P.C.

BY: Mernas lk Frauke

Thomas E. Frank, #3374
Attorneys for Petitioner
29025D Lakepoint Center
P.O. Box 1477
Evergreen, CO 80439
(303) 674-6955

II.

IIl.

Ill
APPENDIX

ORDERS SOUGHT TO BE REVIEWED

A. Per curiam opinion entered December 12, 1986 in the
United States Court of Appeals for the Tenth Circuit... .. Page 13

B. Denial of Motion For Reconsideration reviewed as a
motion for recall entered March 26, 1987 in the United
States Court of Appeals for the Tenth Circuit............ Page 21

ORDERS RELATING TO THE OPINION SOUGHT
TO BE REVIEWED

A. Order of May 31, 1983 granting in part and denying in

part Defendant’s Motion For Summary Judgment and

Order denying Plaintiff's Motion For Partial Summary

Judgment entered in the United States District Court for
Es Sekt evedees vex vicsscnwu es oe Page 23

B. Judgment of March 26, 1984 entered in the United
States District Court for the District of Colorado ........ Page 30

C. Order of May 14, 1984 entered in the United States
District Court for the District of Colorado.............. Page 32

D. Order of July 3, 1984 entered in the United States
District Court for the District of Colorado.............. Page 46

E. Order of August 1, 1984 entered in the United States
District Court for the District of Colorado.............. Page 52

ADDITIONAL APPENDED MATERIALS

A. Petition for rehearing filed in the United States Court
of Appeals for the Tenth Circuit.............. 0.00004. Page 55

12

APPENDIX L.A
PER CURIAM OPINION ENTERED DECEMBER 12, 1986

IN THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE TENTH CIRCUIT

13

PUBLISH

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
TENTH CIRCUIT

JOSEPH G. BUDINICH,
Plaintiff-Appellant,
Vv.

BECTON DICKINSON AND COMPANY,
a foreign corporation,

ee

Defendant-Appellee.

APPEAL FROM THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
FOR THE DISTRICT OF COLORADO
(D.C. NO. 82-F-462)

Submitted on the briefs pursuant to Tenth Circuit Rule 9:

William S. Finger of Nicholls, Kusic, Frank & Finger, Evergreen, Colorado,
for Plaintiff-Appellant.

Terre Lee Rushton of Kelly, Haglund, Garnsey & Kahn, Denver, Colorado,
for Defendant-Appellee.

Before McKAY, SETH, and TACHA, Circuit Judges.

PER CURIAM.

14

In accordance with 10th Cir. R. 9(e) and Fed. R. App. P. 34(a),
this appeal came on for consideration on the briefs and record on appeal.

This action arises out of an employment contract under which
plaintiff served as defendant's western regional manager for a salary plus
commission on sales. Prior to plaintiff's completion of a major sale to the
United States Air Force, defendant's commission structure was modified,
resulting in a substantial reduction in the commission ultimately paid to plain-
tiff. Although he protested, plaintiff continued his employment with defen-
dant. Sometime later, and shortly before an order for spare parts and a sup-
plemental purchase order were placed by the Air Force, defendant terminated
plaintiff's employment.

Plaintiff initially brought this diversity action asserting claims for
breach of contract, quantum meruit, misrepresentation, and outrageous con-
duct. Following a lengthy procedural course, during which plaintiff's claims
were revised somewhat as a result of the district court’s grant of partial sum-
mary judgment for defendant, the case was tried to a jury, which found for
defendant on plaintiff's misrepresentation and implied contract (for commis-
sion on the spare parts order) claims but awarded plaintiff $5,000 on an im-
plied contract theory regarding the supplemental purchase order.

The district court entered judgment on the verdict on March 26,
1984. Plaintiff timely filed an original and an amended new trial motion
challenging various substantive rulings by the district court, as well as a
motion for attorney's fees. On May 16, 1984, the new trial motions were
disposed of, but the district court reserved determination of the amount of
attorney's fees to be awarded to plaintiff. The district court ultimately issued
its final order regarding the fees issue on August 2, 1984, and plaintiff filed
his sole notice of appeal from the court’s post-trial orders on August 29, 1984.

Defendant has moved for summary dismissal of this appeal as un-
timely, relying on the principle we first announced in Cox v. Flood, 683 F.2d
330 (10th Cir. 1982). In Cox and several later cases, this court held that
judgments finally disposing of the merits are appealable even though

15

questions relating to attorney's fees have been left undecided. Id. at 331; see,
e.g., Art Janpol Volkswagen v. Fiat Motors, 767 F.2d 690 (10th Cir. 1985);
cf. Dataq, Inc. v. Tokheim Corp., 736 F.2d 601 (10th Cir. 1984). Accord-
ingly, an appeal on the merits must be filed within the requisite time period
following entry of final judgment thereon, notwithstanding that a motion for
attorney's fees may be pending. See West v. Keve, 721 F.2d 91 (3d Cir.
1983); Smillie v. Park Chemical Co., 710 F.2d 271 (6th Cir. 1983). Since
plaintiff did not file a notice of appeal from the district court's May 16, 1984,
order disposing of his new trial motions until August 29, 1984, when he ap-
pealed the district court’s award of $1,000 in attorney's fees, defendant con-
tends that the former appeal must be dismissed as untimely.

Plaintiff seeks to avoid the effect of the authorities cited by arguing
that, unlike our previous decisions, the present case involves a situation where
attorney's fees are an inherent part of the relief sought and, consequently.
must be determined before the judgment on the merits can be considered final.
While there is some authority for the type of suitational approach advocated
by plaintiff, see F.H. Krear & Co. v. Nineteen Named Trustees, 776 F.2d
1563 (2d Cir. 1985); McQurter v. Atlanta, 724 F.2d 881 (11th Cir. 1984);
Holmes v. J. Ray McDermott & Co., 682 F.2d 1143 (Sth Cir. 1982), cert.
denied, 459 U.S. 1107 (1983), we believe the better course is followed in
those circuits which treat all attorney's fees motions as procedural equivalents
and uniformly require separate notices of appeal when such motions are
resolved after judgment has been rendered on the merits. See Exchange
National Bank v. Daniels, 763 F.2d 286 (7th Cir. 1985): Morgan v. Union
Metal Manufacturing, 757 F.2d 792 (6th Cir. 1985); International Association
of Bridge, etc., Local Union 75 v. Madison Industries, Inc., 733 F.2d 656
(9th Cir. 1984); West v. Keve, supra.

A uniform, unqualified rule is especially appropriate in the pre-
sent context for several reasons. First, the de facto, case-by-case analysis re-
quired by the situational approach, and the consequent uncertainty it would

promote until an inclusive and coherent set of principles could be worked out.

16

is particularly unsuited to a jurisdictional rule that requires forfeiture of an
appeal for noncompliance. See Daniels, supra at 293; 15 C. Wright, A.
Miller & E. Cooper, Federal Practice and Procedure § 3915 at 398-40]
(Supp. 1985); see also Alcorn County v. U.S. Interstate Supplies, Inc., 731
F.2d 1160, 1165 n.4 (Sth Cir. 1984) (Fifth Circuit acknowledging the dif-
ficulties its situational approach may cause litigants). Second, to be consis-
tent, those courts holding that under particular cirumstances fees are an in-
tegral part of the judgment, which is therefore not final until the matter of
fees is resolved, must also hold that motions relating to such fees are, in ef-
fect, motions to alter or amend judgment and thus subject to the time con-
straints of Fed. R. Civ. P. 59%e). This result, however, cannot be endorsed
in light of the Supreme Court's analysis and decision in White v. New Hamp-
shire, 455 U.S. 445 (1982) (holding Rule 59e) inapplicable to requests for
fees under 42 U.S.C. § 1988). Of course, the White holding specifically
applies only to § 1988 requests, but nothing in the opinion indicates that
motions seeking fees pursuant to other authority should be treated any dif-
ferently. See id. at 450-55. Third, divining the degree of relationship between
attorney's fees and the compensation sought in any particular case is a pro-
cedure of uncertain desien and questionable validity. The Third Circuit has
expressed this concern in more specific terms:

We reject as altogether too metaphysical the distinction bet-
ween fees that are ‘‘compensation for injury’’ and those that are
not. All awards of fees make the prevailing party better off.
Whether this benefit is ‘‘really’’ a way to compensate for the
underlying hurt or instead a way to reduce the cost of litigation,
thus making redress of the underlying hurt more likely and leav-
ing the prevailing party with a greater net award, is a question of
semantics rather than substance. Resolution of this question would
depend on the legislative (or bargaining) history of a given statute
or contract — if indeed such a question ever has a sensible answer.

Daniels, supra at 294. Finally, we note that the adoption of a per se rather
than situational approach is certainly consistent with, if not compelled by, this

17

court's unqualified holdings in prior decisions. See, e.g., Cox, supra at 331
(‘‘judgments finally disposing of the merits are appealable even though ques-
tions relating to attorney's fees have been left undecided’’); Clulow v.
Oklahoma, 700 F.2d 1291, 1293 n.1 (10th Cir. 1983) (‘outstanding motions
for fee awards are no longer to be considered as affecting the finality and ap-
pealability of decisions on the merits*’).

Plaintiff also argues that, since this is a diversity action, the rule
of Erie Railroad Co. v. Tompkins, 304 U.S. 64 (1938), precludes the applica-
tion of the principles developed by this court in Cox and subsequent cases.
In plaintiff's view, the law of Colorado, the forum state, which apparently
would permit joint appeal of the merits and attorney's fees determinations
under the present circumstances, see Marietta v. Busto, 691 P.2d 345, 347
(Colo. App. 1984), cert. denied, 105 S. Ct. 2024 (1985), must be applied.
We disagree. State law governs only those issues that are properly
characterized as substantive; matters of procedure are controlled by federal
law. Hanna v. Plumer, 380 U.S. 460 (1965); Hardin v. Manitowoc-Forsythe
Corp., 691 F.2d 449 (10th Cir. 1982). The specification of the time for fil-
ing a notice of appeal from the judgment of a federal district court is clear-
ly a question e* .ederal procedure and as such is governed by federal law.
See generally Art Janpol Volkswagen, supra, and Daniels, supra (both cases
applying federal law to the issue presently under consideration, without
acknowledgment of any Erie problem). Diversity cases decided by courts
following the situational approach, such as Certain British Underwriters v.
Jet Charter Service, Inc., 739 F.2d 534, 535-36 (11th Cir. 1984) and Ox-
ford Production Credit Association v. Duckworth, 689 F.2d 587, 588-89 (Sth
Cir. 1982), which hold the underlying determination of the relationship of
fees to the merits to be a matter of state law, are not necessarily inconsistent
with the result reached here. Indeed, these decisions do apply federal law —
i.e., the situational approach developed by the particular circuit — to the

ulumate issue of appellate jurisdiction.
For the reasons discussed above, we hold that the principle first

18

enunciated in Cox applies in diversity as well as federal question cases
regardless of the perceived relationship between the fee award and the deter-
mination of the underlying controversy. Furthermore, we find plaintiff's plea
for nonretroactive application of our decision to be entirely out of place.
While this court has not yet expressly ruled on the issues raised by plaintiff's
proposed exception to Cox, not one of our post-Cox decisions even suggests
that the situational approach advocated by plaintiff might be adopted or that
diversity cases would somehow warrant special treatment. We are neither
overruling clear past precedent nor deciding an issue of first impression whose
resolution was not clearly foreshadowed. See EEOC v. Gaddis, 733 F.2d
1373, 1376 (10th Cir. 1984). If nonretroactivity were required under these
circumstances, \ irtually every appellant with enough intellectual ingenuity
to state his position in terms of an as yet unconsidered exception to an ex-
isting rule would be able to side-step the ‘new principle of law’’ hurdle
imposed in Gaddis.

Accordingly, plaintiff's attempted appeal from the district court's
judgment on the merits must be dismissed. The notice of appeal, filed more
than thirty days after the denial of plaintiff's motions for new trial, was un-
timely and ineffective. Fed. R. App. P. 4(a) (1) and (4).

Defendant has also moved to dismiss this appeal as it relates to the
district court's order of August 2, 1984, which finally resolved the issue of
attorney's fees. Defendant contends that plaintiff's notice of appeal, filed after
said order but before the fees were taxed as costs in accordance with the
court's direction, was premature. This argument is without merit. The tax-
ation of costs is a ministerial function, and, as such, its completion is not a
prerequisite to the finality of the district court's underlying order regarding
fees. See United States v. 2, 186.63 Acres of Land, 464 F.2d 676, 678 (10th
Cir. 1972).

Without a single reference to any supporting authority, plaintiff
asserts that the district court’s award of fees is contrary to existing standards
and inadequately vague. We cannot agree. Indeed, in light of the thorough

19

analysis evident in the district court's orders addressing the matter, and the
unsupported, perfunctory objections raised by plaintiff on appeal, very lit-
tle need be said about the fee award. The determination of a reasona>'s fee
under Colo. Rev. Stat. § 8-4-114 is a question of fact for the trial court and
should not be disturbed on review unless patently erroneous and unsupported
by the evidence. Hartman v. Freedman, 591 P.2d 1318, 1322 (Colo. 1979).
Plaintiff has failed to demonstrate such error here.

The motion for summary disposition is GRANTED and the ap-
peal DISMISSED as to all issues except the award of attorney's fees. The
judgment of the United States District Court for the District of Colorado
awarding attorney's fees to plaintiff in the amount of $1,000 is AFFIRMED.
Plaintiff's request for additional briefing is inappropriate and, in light of the
disposition of this appeal, moot. The mandate shall issue forthwith.

20

APPENDIX I.B

DENIAL OF MOTION FOR RECONSIDERATION REVIEWED
AS A MOTION FOR RECALL ENTERED MARCH 26, 1987
IN THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR
THE TENTH CIRCUIT

21

JANUARY TERM — March 26, 1987

Before Honorable Monroe G. McKay, Honorable Oliver Seth, and Honorable
Deanell Reece Tacha, Circuit Judges, United States Court of Appeals

JOSEPH G. BUDINICH,

)
)
Plaintiff-Appellant, )
)
si : No. 84-2192
BECTON DICKINSON AND COMPANY, )
a foreign corporation, )
‘ Seen ao
P I '
Defendant- Appellee ) nen
ORDER OF MAY 31, 1983 GRANTING IN PART AND
This matter comes on for consideration of plaintiff's petition for DENYING IN PART DEFENDANT'S MOTION FOR SUMMARY
ee - a 2 he enate JUDGMENT AND ORDER DENYING PLAINTIFF'S MOTION
ee ee eee eee Ee FOR PARTIAL SUMMARY JUDGMENT ENTRED IN THE
Upon consideration thereof, the motion is denied. UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT FOR THE
DISTRICT OF COLORADO

/ signed /
ROBERT L. HOECKER, Clerk

hw

te
tw
a

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
FOR THE DISTRICT Or COLORADO

Civil Action No. 82-F-462

JOSEPH G. BUDINICH,

Plaintiff,

VS.
BECTON DICKINSON AND COMPANY,
Defendant.

ORDER GRANTING IN PART AND DENYING IN PART
DEFENDANT'S MOTION FOR SUMMARY JUDGMENT AND
ORDER DENYING PLAINTIFF’S MOTION FOR PARTIAL
SUMMARY JUDGMENT

Chief Judge Sherman G. Finesilver:

THIS MATTER is before the Court on Plaintiff's Motion for Par-
tial Summary Judgment and on Defendant’s Motion for Summary Judgment.
Plaintiff seeks summary judgment only as to his First Claim for Relief while
Defendant seeks summary judgment on all claims in Plainuff's Complaint.
The jurisdiction of this Court is invoked pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1332, diver-
sity of citizenship.

The parties have been given the opportunity to thoroughly brief
all issues presented by the two motions. Upon careful consideration of those
briefs, the evidence presented, and the applicable law, we are of the view that
Plaintiff's Motion for Partial summary Judgment should be DENIED and that
Defendant's Motion for Summary Judgment should be GRANTED IN PART
and DENIED IN PART. Because of the imminence of the trial in this case,
and therefore the necessity for a speedy resolution of these motions, the Court

will not set forth a detailed review of either the facts or the law which

support this Order. The Court reserves the right to do so at a later date.

The disputes in this case arise out of the parties’ employment rela-
tionship. Plaintiff was employed by Defendant in either late 1978 or early
1979 as the Western Regional Sales Manager for Defendant. He was
employed in that capacity until his termination on November 30, 1981. Part
of Plaintiff's compensation as a regional sales manager was a commission on
sales of Defendant’s products within his region. Prior to October 1979,
Defendant utilized a commission schedule which paid 2% on total net sales
from base to quota and 4% on total net sales exceeding annual quota. Defen-
dant modified its commission schedule at its quarterly national sales meeting
in October, 1979. The revised commission schedule provided for a $10,000
ceiling on a commission earned on any one sale.

The immediate controversy arose with the completion of a large
contract with the United States Air Force for the purchase of 157 portable
vapor dectors (*‘PVD’s’*) manufactured by Defendant. With the signing of
the definitive award/contract on August 6, 1981, Plaintiff was paid a com-
mission on the sale of $10,000. On November 3, 1981, Plaintiff wrote a letter
to Defendant demanding payment of a commission pursuant to the original
commission schedule in effect prior to October, 1979. Plaintiff was ter-
minated on November 30, 1981. Subsequent to his t¢. mination, Defendant
entered into a separate contract with the Air Force for the purchase of an
additional 77 PVD’s and modified the original contract to include spare parts
and accessories. Plaintiff brought this suit for breach of his employment con-

tract, quantum meruit, false representation, wrongful discharge, and

outrageous conduct. Plaintiff seeks additional compensation on the August
6, 1981 contract pursuant to the original commission schedule and the pay-
ment of a commission on both the subsequent contract with the Air Force and
the modification of the first contract.

Summary judgment is appropriate only where the pleadings, af-
fidavits, depositions, admissions, or other evidence submitted demonstrate

that there are no genuine issues of materia! fact and that the moving party is

25

entitled to judgment as a matter of law. See eg. Caycev. Carter Oil Company,
618 F.2d 669 (10th Cir. 1980); Webbe v. McGhie Land Title Company, 549
F.2d 1358 (10th Cir. 1977); Rule 56, Federal Rules of Civil Procedure.
Where different inferences can be drawn from the same evidence, or where

questions of credibility are present, summary judgment is not appropriate.
Norton v. Liddel, 620 F.2d 1375 (10th Cir. 1980); Eagle v. Louisiana
Southern Life Insurance Company, 464 F.2d 607 (10th Cir. 1972).

In his First Claim for Relief, Plaintiff alleges that Defendant
willfully and intentionally breached the provisions of the employment con-

tract with Plaintiff by unilaterally modifying the commission schedule.
Both parties have moved for summary judgment on this claim. The law in
Colorado' is that in the absence of ‘‘special consideration or an express
stipulation as to the duration of employment, an indefinite general hiring is
terminable at will by either party.’” Lampe v. Presbyterian Medical Center,
590 P.2d 513, 514 (Colo. App. 1978). The parties are in agreement that the
terms and conditions of Plaintiff's employment are set out in several let-
ters exchanged by Plaintiff and Defendant in October, 1978. There is nothing
in either letter that could reasonably be interpreted to construe Plaintiff's

employment as being other than one terminable at will.

An employment contract that is terminable at will is also
modifiable at will; a modification having the effect of terminating the existing
contract and substituting in its place a new contract with the modified terms.
Gebhard v. Royce Aluminum Corporation, 296 F.2d 17 (ist Cir. 1961);
Bartinikas v. Clarklift of Chicago North, Inc., 508 F. Supp. 959 (N.D. Iil.

1981). Thus, Defendant's modification of its commission schedule in

October, 1979, was not a breach of Plaintiff's employment contract. Addi-

tionally, it is undisputed that Plaintiff continued to work for Defendant as its

|. Because Plaintiff's employment with Defendant was centered in the State of Colorado, and
because Colorado has an overriding interest in protecting its citizens in their employment, we
find that the law of Colorado rather than that of either New York or New Jersey applies in
this case.

26

Western Regional Sales Manager more than twenty-five months after the
commission schedule was modified. During that period he accepted his full
salary and commission based on the modified schedule. While Plaintiff voiced
his disapproval of the modified schedule prior to its adoption, there is no
evidence whatsoever to indicate that he ever objected to the schedule once
adopted or refused to accept commissions earned under the new schedule.
Such conduct constitutes acceptance of the modified contract as a matter of
law. See Gebhard v. Royce Aluminum Corporation, supra., at 19. Thus,
Plaintiff's Motion for Partial Summary Judgment is DENIED and Defen-
dant’s Motion for Summary Judgment, as to Plaintiff's First Claim for Relief,
is GRANTED.

Having found the existence of an express employment contract

during the entire term of Plaintiff's employment with Defendant, summary
judgment must also be granted with respect to Plaintiff's Second Claim for
Relief, but only to the extent that Plaintiff claims additional commission from
the August 6, 1981 contract. While breach of contract and quantum meruit

may be plead as alternative theroies of recovery, once an express contract pro-
viding for a fixed commission is established, Plaintiff is not entitled to recover
on a quantum meruit. See eg. Jensen v. Neai, 124 P. 471 (Colo. 1912);
Reitler v. Olson, 187 P. 313 (Colo. 1919); cf. Palmer v. Gleason, 389 P.2d
90 (Colo. 1964).

The Court does not, however grant summary judgment on Plain-

tiffs Second Claim for Relief as it relates to any commission which may or
may not be due Plaintiff on the two contracts completed subsequent to his ter-
mination. The Colorado courts have made it clear that there is a distinction
between the time when a commission is earned and when it is due and
payable. Weick v. Rickenbaugh Cadillac Company, 303 P.2d 685, 687
(Colo. 1956). In the instant case, it is not clear from any of the letters eviden-

cing Plaintiff's employment when a commission is earned. The affidavits sub-
mitted, and the other evidence, demonstrate a genuine issue of material fact

on this point. Arguably, if Plaintiff can establish that a commission is earned

27

some time prior to the actual execution of the contract documents in the two
subsequent sales to the Air Force, then he would be entitled to recover the
reasonable value of his services on those two sales. Thus, summary judgment
is inappropriate on this issue.

In his Third Claim for Relief, Plaintiff asserts fraudulent mis-
representation and/or concealment regarding Defendant’s commission
schedules and the ability of defendant to modify said schedules without his
consent. We find that Plaintiff has demonstrated sufficient material issues of
fact in dispute with respect to Defendant’s representations and intent to with-
stand summary judgment on these claims. Defendant’s Motion for Summary
Judgn . on Plaintiff's Third Claim for Relief is DENIED.

Finally, Plaintiff alleges that he was terminated in order to deprive
him of further commissions on subsequent sales of PVD’s to the Air Force.
He asserts that such conduct constitutes a wrongful discharge in violation of
Colorado law. He also alleges that such conduct is outrageous as that tort has
developed in Colorado. Taking the facts, as we must, in the light most
favorable to Plaintiff, we nonetheless conclude that summary judgment is ap-
propriate on Plaintiff's Fourth Claim for Relief. We do not agree with Plain-
tiff that Colorado has adopted or even evinced an intent to adopt a *‘public
policy’’ exception to the terminable at will doctrine. Even if such were the
case, Plaintiff can point to no specific legislatively recognized policy which
would protect him in this case. See Lampe v. Presbyterian Medical Center,

supra. [where the Court of Appeals refused to hold for the plaintiff in spite
of the existence of a ‘‘broad general statement of policy contained in a
statute.’*}] The fact remains that Plaintiff's employment was terminable at will,
without cause. Plaintiff has not stated a cause of action for wrongful
termination.

While the question whether Defendant has engaged in extreme and
Outrageous conduct is often a question of fact for the jury, the Court must
make the threshold determination of whether reasonable persons could dif-
fer on the question. See Rawson v. Sears Roebuck & Company, 530 F. Supp.

28

776, 780 (D. Colo. 1982); Vigoda v. Denver Urban Renewal Authority, 624
P.2d 895, 898 (Colo. App. 1980). Taking the facts in the light most favorable
to Plaintiff, we conclude that Defendant's conduct did not approach that level
of conduct properly characterized as ‘‘outrageous.’’ Compare with Rugg v.
McCarty, 476 P.2d 753 (Colo. 1970); Meiter v. Cavanaugh, 580 P.2d 399
(Colo. App. 1978). Defendant is entitled to summary judgment on Plaintiff's
Fourth Claim for Relief.

ORDER

IT IS HEREBY ORDERED that Plaintiff's Motion for Partial
Summary Judgment is DENIED.

IT IS HEREBY FURTHER ORDERED that Defendant’s Motion
for Summary Judgment is GRANTED IN PART and DENIED IN PART.
Plaintiff's First and Fourth Claims for Relief are dismissed in toto. Plaintiff's
Second Claim for Relief is dismissed only as it relates to a claim for addi-
tional commission on the August 6, 1981 sale. In all other respects, the
Motien is denied. |

DATED at Denver, Colorado this 31st day of May, 1983.

BY THE COURT:

/ signed /

SHERMAN G. FINESILVER, Chief Judge
United States District Court

29

APPENDIX II.B
JUDGMENT OF MARCH 26, 1984 ENTERED IN THE

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT FOR THE
DISTRICT OF COLORADO

30

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
FOR THE DISTRICT OF COLORADO
Civil Action No. 82-F-462
JOSEPH G. BUDINICH,
Piaintiff,

VS.
BECTON DICKINSON AND COMPANY,

Defendant.

JUDGMENT

THIS CAUSE having come on regularly for trial before the Court,
The Honorable Sherman G. Finesilver, District Judge presiding, and a jury
having been duly impannelled and sworn to try the issues herein and the trial
having proceeded to conclusion and having been duly submitted to the jury
and the jury having subsequently rendered its verdict. It is

ORDERED that judgment is entered in favor of the plaintiff and
against the defendant on plaintiff's claim for implied contract as to the con-
tract for the sale of 79 additional PVD units, in the amount of $5,000.00,
together with interest at the rate of 10.60% from the date of entry of this
judgment. It is

FURTHER ORDERED that judgment is entered in favor of the
defendant and against the plaintiff on plaintiffs claims of fraudulent conceal-
ment, misrepresentation and claim for implied contract as to the contract for
the sale of spare parts and accessories and those claims are hereby dismissed.

DATED at Denver, Colorado this _ 26th day of March, 1984.

FOR THE COURT:

/ signed /

JAMES R. MANSPEAKER. Clerk _
United States District Court

31

APPENDIX II.C

ORDER OF MAY 14, 1984 ENTERED IN THE UNITED
STATES DISTRICT COURT FOR THE DISTRICT OF COLORADO

32

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
FOR THE DISTRICT OF COLORADO

Civil Action No. 82-F-462

JOSEPH G. BUDINICH,

Plaintiff,
VS.
BECTON DICKINSON AND COMPANY,
Defendant.
— ORDER —

Sherman G. Finesilver, Chief Judge

IN THIS ACTION, Plaintiff originally sought recovery of com-
pensatory and punitive damages, as well as costs and interest, on the follow-
ing theories of recovery: breach of contract, quantum meruit, misrepresen-
tation and/or fraudulent concealment, and wrongful termination. On May 31,
1983, the Court granted in part and denied in part Defendant’s motion for
summary judgment. The Court dismissed Plaintiff's claims for breach of con-
tract and wrongful termination, and dismissed, in part, Plaintiff's claim for
quantum meruit, to the extent that said claim soughtadditiona! commissions
ona sale which took place on August 6, 1983. A trial on this matter was held
commencing June 6, 1983. Said trial resulted in mistrial. Tne matter proceed-
ed to a retrial on March 19, 1984. A jury verdict was returned on March 23,
1984, in favor of the Defendant on Plaintiff's claims of fraudulent conceal-
ment and/or misrepresentation, and quantum meruit as to the sale of spare
parts and accessories. The jury found in favor of the Plaintiff on his claim
for quantum meruit as to the sale of 79 additional PVD units, and awarded
the Plaintiff damages in the amount of $5,000.00.

33

This matter is before the Court on the following motions: (1) Mo-
tion For New Trial, Amendment Of Judgment, Relief From Judgment Or
Order, filed by Plaintiff on April 2, 1984; (2) Amended Motion For a New
Trial, Amendment Of Judgment, Relief From Judgement Or Order, filed by
Plaintiff on April 6, 1984; (3) Motion For Attorney's Fees, filed by Plain-
tiff on April 2, 1984; (4) Motion To Review Taxation Of Costs, filed by
Plaintiff on April 13, 1984; and (5) Motion To Review Taxation Of Costs,
filed by Defendant on April 16, 1984.

The Court has thoroughly reviewed the briefs, statements and af-
fidavits submitted by the parties in support of their respective positions on
said motions. Upon a careful consideration of these matters, the Court finds
as follows: (1) The Motion For New Trial, Amendment Of Judgment, Relief
From Judgment Or Order, filed by Plaintiff on April 2, 1984, should be
DENIED; (2) The Amended Motion For A New Trial, Amendment Of Judg-
ment, Relief From Judgment Or Order, filed by Plaintiff on April 6, 1984,
should be DENIED IN PART AND GRANTED IN PART; (3) The Motion
For Attorney's Fees, filed by Plaintiff on April 2, 1984, will bb GRANTED
to the extent that the Court finds that Plaintiff is entitled to an award of

reasonable attorney's fees; and (4) The Motion To Review Taxation Of Costs,
filed by Plaintiff on April 13, 1984, and the Motion To Review Taxation Of
Costs filed by Defendant on April 16, 1984, will be HELD IN ABEYANCE

pending a determination of the amount of attorney's fees to be awarded in

this case.

Plaintiff's Motion For New Trial, Amendment Of Judgment, And
Relief From Judgment Or Order lists numerous grouds upon which Plaintiff
maintains that he is entitled to a new trial or an altered or amended judgment.
Each of these ground were considered and rejected by the Court prior to the
trial or during the course of the trial on this matter. Plaintiff's motion does
not provide the Court with any additional information or basis upon which
we should alter our earlier rulings. Although tire Court has again thoroughly
reviewed the grounds asserted by the Plaintiff, the Court again finds that such

34

grounds are individually and collectively without merit. Accordingly, the
Court finds that Plaintiff's motion should be DENIED.

Plaintiff's Amended Motion For New Trial, Amendment Of Judg-
ment, And Relief From Judgment Or Order (‘Plaintiff's Amended Motion’’)
raises, for the first time, a claim for prejudgment interest on the $5,000.00
Judgment entered in his proceeding. Plaintiff asserts that he is entitled to pre-
judgment interest pursuant to C.R.S. §5-12-102, from February, 1982, the
time at which Defendant booked the order for 79 PVD units which formed
the basis fo the $5,000.00 Judgment in this case. Although Defendant main-
tains that Plaintiff is not entitled to prejudgment interest in this case, Defen-
dant does not contest that the prejudgment interest, if awarded, should be
calculated from February, 1982 until the date Judgment entered in this case.

C.R.S. §5-12-102(1) provides a statutory basis for prejudgment
interest when money or property has been wrongfully withheld:

Except as provided in section 13-21-101, C.R.S., when there

is no agreement as to the rate thereof, creditors shall receive
interest as follows: (a) When money or property has been
wrongfully withheld, interest shall be an amount which fully
recognizes the gain or benefit realized by the person withholding
such money or property from the date of wrongful withholding to
the date of payment or to the date judgment is entered, whichever
first occurs; or, at the election of the claimant... .
(b) Interest shall be at the rate of eight percent per annum com-
pounded annually for all moneys ... after they are wrongfully
withheld or after they become due to the date of payment or to the
date judgment is entered, whichever first occurs. (Emphasis
added).

The mandatory language of C.R.S §5-12-102(1) clearly indicates that pre-
judgment interest is recoverable under this statute as a matter of right where
a Plaintiff falls within the requirements of the statute. See e.g., Hayes v.
North Table Mountain Corp. , 608 P.2d 830 (Colo. Ct. App. 1980). Further-
more, C.R.S. §5-12-102(3) provides that ‘‘Interest shall be allowed as

provided in [C.R.S. §5-12-102(1)] even if the amount is unliquidated at the
time of wrongful withholding or at the time when due.’’ See also Jasken v.
Sheehy Constr. Co., 642 P.2d 58 (Colo. Ct. App. 1982).

Defendant maintains, in part, that Plaintiff is not entitled to an

award of prejudgment interest because Plaintiff's Amended Motion was not
filed in a timely manner. Plaintiff responds that the Amended Motion was
filed in a timely manner pursuant to Rule 6(e) of the Federal Rules of Civil
Procedure. The Court is of the view that Plaintiff's request for prejudgment
interest is untimely if considered as a motion pursuant to Rule 59(b) and 59(e)
of the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure. The Court finds, however, that
Plaintiff's request is timely and appropriate when considered as a motion for
the correction of a clerical error under Rule 60(a) of the Federal Rules of Civil
Procedure.

Rule 59 of the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure provides that a
motion for a new trial and a motion for amendment of judgment must be serv-
ed not later than 10 days after entry of judgment. In addition, Rule 6(b) of
the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure expressly states that this time period may
not be enlarged by the Court. See 6A Moore's Federal Practice 459.09{1 |
(and the cases cited therein).

In the instant case, as noted above, Judgment entered on March
26, 1984. Plaintiff filed and served 1... 4mended Motion on April 6, 1984,
eleven days after entry of Judgment. Tt. fore, Plaintiff's motion was not
filed in a timely manner as required by Rule 59 of the Federal Rules of Civil
Procedure.

We are not persuaded by Plaintiff's argument that the ten day
period was extended by three days pursuant to Rule 6(e) of the Federal Rules
of Civil Procedure. Rule 6(e) provides for an extension of time for actions
which must be taken within a prescribed period after the service of a nctice
or other paper when such service is effected by mail. Rule 6(e), F.R.Civ.P.
The time for filing a motion pursuant to Rule 59 of the Federal Rules of Civil
Procedure is not enlarged by Rule 6(e) because the ten day period in which

36

they must be filed runs from entry of judgment rather than from receipt of
notice. See Flint v. Howard, 464 F.2d 1084 (ist Cir. 1972); Wright & Miller,
Federal Practice and Procedure § 1171; 2 Moore’s Federal Practice 46.12.
See aiso Reynolds v. Hunt Oil Co. , 643 F.2d 1042 (Sth Cir. 1981); Merrill
Lynch, Pierce, Fenner & Smith, Inc. v. Kurtenback, 525 F.2d 1179 (8th Cir.
1975). We find particularly persuasive on this point the reasoning articulated
by the First Circuit Court of Appeals in Flint v. Howard, supra:

A second alleged ground for rehearing is a plea to add the
three-day grace period described in Rule 6(e), Fed.R.Civ.P., to
the time allowed for filing a Rule 52 or 59 motion. The problem
with this argument is that Rules 52 and 59 both provide that the
10 days within which a motion for reconsideration must be filed
begins to run from ‘‘entry of judgment’’ rather than from receipt
of notice and Rule 6(b), Fed.R.Civ.P., prohibits enlargement of
such time. Petitioner’s ingenious and undocumented effort to justify
an additional three-day mailing period does not persuade us.

Flint v. Howard, 464 F.2d at 1086. Accordingly we find that Plaintiff's
Amended Motion should be DENIED to tive extent that it seeks to assert a
claim under Rule 59 of the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure.

Although the issue was not raised, as such, by the Plaintiff, the

Court is of the view that Plaintiff's request for prejudgment interest should
be considered as a timely request under Rule 60(a) of the Federal Rules of
Civi: Procedure.

Rule 60(a) provides, in pertinent part:

Clerical mistakes in judgments, orders or other parts of the record
and errors therein arising from oversight or omission may be cor-
rected by the court at any time of its own initiative or on the
motion of any party and after such notice, if any, as the court
orders.

Rule 60(a), Fed.R.Civ.P. Motions filed under Rule 60(a) are clearly not
restricted by the ten day rule established by Rule 59 of the Federal Rules of

37

Civil Procedure.

Where a prevailing party has an unconditional statutory right to
prejudgment interest on an award, the failure to include the interest in the
judgment is a *‘clerical mistake’’ that can be corrected under Rule 60(a). See
Hayden v. Scott Aviation, Inc., 684 F.2d 270 (3rd Cir. 1982); Glick v. White
Motor Co., 458 F.2d 1287, 1293-94 (3rd Cir. 1972); Gilroy v. Erie-
Lachawann R.R., 44 F.R.D. 3, 4(S.D.N.Y.); In re Merry Queen Transfer
Corp., 266 F. Supp. 605, 607 (E.D.N.Y. 1967) modified in other respects
sub nom., O'Rourke v. Queen Transfer Corp., 370 F.2d 781 (2nd Cir.
1967); Wright & Miller, Federai Practice and Procedure §2854. Cf.
Goodman v. Heublein, 682 F.2d 44 (2nd Cir. 1982) (Court acknowledged
that where state substantive law provided right io prejudgment interest, failure

to provide such interest could be characterized as clerical error under Rule
60(a); however, rule was inapplicable where award of prejudgment interest
under ADEA was governed by federal, not state, law). But see Chicago &
N.W.Ry.Co. v. Union Packing Co., 527 F.2d 592 (8th Cir. 1976). On the

other hand, if granting prejudgment interest is within the discretion of the

court, the judgment must be amended pursuant to Rule 59 of the Federal
Rules of Civil Procedure. See Stern v. Shouldice, 706 F.2d 742 (6th Cir.
1983), cert. denied 164 S.Ct. 487 (1984); Scola v. Boat Frances, R., Inc.,
618 F.2d 147 (Ist Cir. 1980).

In the instant case, as noted above, the Court is of the view that

prejudgment interest is available to the Plaintiff as a matter of right pursuant
to C.R.S. §5-12-102(1). Accordingly, the Court finds that Plaintiff's request
for prejudgment interest can be considered a timely request pursuant to Rule
60(a) of the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure.

Defendant maintains that Plaintiff's request for prejudgment
interest, even if timely, should be denied because Plaintiff did not raise or
address this issue at or before the trial in this case. The Court finds this argu-
ment to be without merit. The Court initially notes that Plaintiff's Complaint

contained a request for an award of interest. Furthermore, courts have

38

consistently held that a plaintiff's failure to pursue his request for prejudg-
ment interest during the trial, or even to demand such interest in his com-
plaint, does not amount to a waiver of his right to interest. See Mallis v.
Bankers Trust Co., 717 F.2d 683 (2nd Cir. 1983) (and cases cited therein).
Accordingly, the Court finds that Plaintiff has not waived his claim for pre-
judgment interest in the instant case.

Defendant’s final objection to Plaintiff's claim for prejudgment
interest is that C.R.S. §8-4-101 does not authorize prejudgment interest in
the instant case. The Court acknowledges that C.R.S. §8-4-101 does not
authorize an award of prejudgment interest in this case; however, the basis
for such an award, as noted above, is C.R.S. §5-12-102. C.R.S. §8-4-101,
et seq., is relevent to this discussion, if at all, as a means for determining the
time from which the interest in question should be calculated. As noied above,
in Hayes v. North Table Mt. Corp., supra, the Colorado Court of Appeals

held that interest on a brokerage commission, awarded pursuant to C.R.S.
§5-12-102, was due on the commission from the date that the commission was
due and payable. C R.S. §8-4-104 lends additional support to this conclusion.
The Colorado Court of Appeals, in interpreting C.R.S. §8-4- 104(2), has con-
cluded that commissions not fully earned at the time of termination need not
be paid under this provision at the time of termination; however, such wages
become immediately due at the time they were fully earned. See Hofer v.
Polly Little Realtors, Inc., 37 Colo. App. 86, 543 P.2d 114 (1975). Accord-
ingly, the Court finds that Plaintiff is entitled to an award of prejudgment
interest on the $5,000.00 commission which formed the basis of the jury ver-

dict in this case from the date that the commission was due and payable.

Plaintiff maintains that this right to prejudgment interest commenc-
ed in February, 1982, at the time the Defendant booked the 79 PVD order
for $600,013.00. Defendant does not contest Plaintiff's assertion that pre-
judgment interest, if it is to be awarded in this case, should be calculated from
February, 1982. Furthermore, the Court ntoes that the pretrial order in this

case lists, as an “‘uncontroverted fact,’ that *‘a formal written contract was

39

executed in January, 1982 regarding the $600,013.00 purchase of additional
PVD units.’’ Therefore, the Court finds that Plaintiff is entitled to an award
of prejudgment intrest on the $5,000.00 judgment in this case, said interest
to be calculated from February, 1982 until judgment entered in this case, at
a rate of eight percent per annum compounded annually.
In his motion for attorney’s fees, Plaintiff maintains that he is
entitled to an award of reasonable attorney’s fees pursuant to C.R.S.§8-4-114.
C.R.S. §8-4-114 provides:
Whenever it is necessary for an employee to commence a civil
action for the recovery or collection of wages and penalties due
as provided by sections 8-4-104 and 8-4-105, the judgment in such

action shall include a reasonable attorney fee in favor of the win-
ning party, to be taxed as part of the costs of the action.

The Colorado Court of Appeals has explained that recovery of attorney’s fees
under C.R.S. §8-4-114 is a matter of right. and only the amount of such a

recovery is within the discre‘:on of the trial court:

Section 114, in providing that the judgment ‘‘shall include a
reasonable attorney fee in favor of the winning party,”’ leaves
nothing to the discretion of the trial court except to determine what
is a ‘‘reasonable fee.”’
Keeton v. Rike, 559 P.2d 262, 263 (Colo. Ct. App. 1977). See also Hofer
v. Polly Little Realtors, supra.

The Court is of the view that the $5,000.00 judgment in this case
is based on a claim for wages within the meaning of C.R.S.§8-4-104,
8-4-105. Commissions are clearly within the definition of *‘wages’’ for pur-
poses of these provisions. See C.R.S. §8-4-101(9); Hofer v. Polly Little
Realtors, Inc., supra. Therefore, the Court finds that Plaintiff is entitled to

an award of reasonable attorneys fees with respect to the recovery of said
wages pursuant to C.R.S. §8-4-114.

The Court rejects Defendant’s argument that attorney’s fees are
not recoverable under C.R.S. §8-4-114 for a claim based on quantum meruit.

40

C.R.S. §8-4-114, in defining *‘wages or compensation’’ for purposes of these
provisions, specifies that the terms include amounts owed ‘*. . . whether the
labor or service is performed under contract, subcontract, partnership, sub-
partnership, station plan, or other agreement for the performance of labor or
service if the labor or service to be paid for is performed personally by the
person demanding payment.’’ Furthermore, C.R.S.§8-4-104 provides, in per-
tinent part, that wages or compensation become due and payable **. . . when
an employee not having a written contract for a definite period quits or resigns
his employment.’ These provisions clearly suggest that C.R.S. §§ 8-4-104,
8-4-05 and 8-4-114 are not limited to cases involving wages or compensa-
tion due pursuant to a written contract. Therefore, the Court finds that at-
torneys fees are recoverable under C.R.S. §8-4-114 regardless of whether
a plaintiff's claim is based on breach of contract or quantum meruit.

The Court also rejects Defendant’s argument that C.R.S. §8-4-104
conditions recovery of attorney's fees upon a determination of the employer’ s
lack of a good-faith legal justification for the refusal to pay wages in a timely
fashion. The provis‘n to which the Defendant apparently refers, C.R.S.
§8-4-104(3) provide: for a penalty to be added to the compensation legally
proven to be due, in an amount equal to fifty percent thereof, if an employer
refuses to pay wages or compensation without a good-faith legal justification
for such refusal. However, an award of attorney’s fees under C.R.S.
§8-4-114 is not dependent on an imposition of a penalty under C.R.S.
§8-4-104. See Keeton v. Rike, supra, Hofer v. Polly Little Realtors, Inc.,
supra. Accordingly, the lack of a finding in this case regarding Defendant’s

good-faith legal justification in refusing to pay the wages in question does not
affect Plaintiff's claim for attorney’s fees under C.R.S. §8-4-114.
Defendant’s final objection to Plaintiff's motion for attorney's fees
is that Plaintiff has failed to file adequate records in support of his request
as required by Rule 104 of our Local Rules of Practice. The Court is of the
view, however, that this goes to the reasonableness of the attorney’s fees in

question, as opposed to Plaintiff's right to such an award.

4]

Accordingly, the Court finds that Plaintiff is entitled to an award
of reasonable attorney’s fees pursuant to C.R.S. §8-4-114, with respect to
the $5,000.00 judgment in the instant case.

As noted above, the reasonableness of an award of attorney’s fees
under C.R.S §8-4-114 is within the discretion of the trial court. In the
instant case, we are of the view that the amount requested by Plaintiff,
$52,198.00, would not be a reasonable award of attorney’s fees pursuant to
C.R.S. §8-4-114.

Although Plaintiff was technically the ‘‘winning party”’ in this
action, in that the jury awarded the Plaintiff $5,000.00 in damages, it is
necessary to keep in mind that the Plaintiff recovered on only one of several
claims that he originally filed in this case. As noted above, a portion of Piain-
tiffs claims were dismissed on summary judgment, while others were
rejected by the jury. The Court is of the opinion that the ‘*proportionate

recovery rule,’’ traditionally applied in cases involving claims for attorney's

fees under 28 U.S.C. §1988, must also be appiied to claims for attorney's -

fees under C.R.S. §8-4-114. In Scheriff v. Beck, 452 F.Supp 1254 (D.Colo.
1978), the Court explained:

[W]e recognize the rule in the Tenth Circuit that ‘‘when a party
has prevailed in a court action . . . he may be entitled to attorney's
fees proportionate to the extent of his recoyery.’’ Pearson v.
Western Electric Co., 542 F.2d 1150, 1153 (10th Cir. 1976).
(citations omitted)... Applying the proportionate recovery rule
plaintiff's fee request must again be reduced. Plaintiff was permit-
ted to present three separate civil rights claims to the jury and
recovered only on one. Any recovery granted should take into ac-
cont this disparity.

Id. at 1259. See also Keyes v. School Dist. No. 1, 439 F.Supp. 393 (D.Colo.
1977); Perkins v. New Orleans Athletic Club, 429 F.Supp. 661 (E.D.La.
1976). Accordingly, we are of the view that Plaintiff is not entitled to

recovery of all of the attorney's fees incurred.

The Court also notes that any attorney’s fees awarded under
C.R.S. §8-4-114 are to be ‘‘taxed as part of the costs of the action.’’ See
C.R.S. §8-4-114. In this case, as will be discussed below, the award of costs
may be affected by the offer of judgment submitted by Defendant under Rule
68 of the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure. Accordingly, any award of at-
torney’s fees may be significantly reduced as a result of Defendant's offer
of judgment.

In light of these factors, as well as the factors outlines in Mau v.
E.P.H. Corp., 638 P.2d 777 (Colo. 1981) and Battle v. Anderson, 614 F.2d
251 (10th Cir. 1980), the Court is of the opinion that the amount requested
by the Plaintiff does not represent a ‘‘reasonable’’ amount of attorney's fees
under C.R.S. §8-4-114. As will be described below, Plaintiff will be permit-
ted to submit the necessary documentation in order to support his claim for

a reasonable award of attorney's fees in this case.

Both parties have moved this Court to review the taxation of costs
by the Cierk of the Court. The amount of costs to be taxed in this case
depends to a great extent, however, on the final resolution of Plaintiff's re-
quest for attorney’s fees under C.R.S. §8-4-114. Any attorneys fees awarded
must be included in the costs taxed in this action. Furthermore, just as the
offer of judgment in this case could reduce any award of attorney's fees, an
award of attorney's fees could conceivably alter the role that the offer of judg-
ment would normally play in the taxation of costs. Accordingly, the parties’
motions to review taxation of casts will be HELD IN ABEYANCE pending
a determination of a reasonable award of attorney’s fees in this case.

The Court is of the view that the parties should be able to reach

an agreement which would resolve the issues in this case which remain viable
at this time. The Court is of the opinion that the interests of both parties would
be weil served if the parties could reach an agreement, in light of the factors
cited above, as to a reasonable award of attorney's fees in this action. The
added time, effort and expense which will be required to have this matter
resolved by the Court, will most likely eliminate any benefit that either party

43

could hope to receive from an award of costs or attorney's fees in this action.
Accordingly, the parties are DIRECTED to make every effort to resolve this
matter. The Court is to be advised, in writing, by 5:00 p.m. on May 30,
1984, regarding the results of the parties’ efforts.

| In the event that the parties are unable to resolve these matters,

Plaintiff is DIRECTED to file with the Court, by 5:00 p.m. on June 6, 1984,
a Statement, together with all documents requried by Rule 104 of our Local
Rules of Practice, in support of his claim for reasonable attorney's fees. Plain-

tiffs statement should include, to the greatest extent possible, a discussion
of the amount of fees, reasonably necessary to the recovery of the $5,000.00
judgment in this case, which were incurred before and after the filing of
Defendant's offer of judgment. Defendant is DIRECTED to file a response
to Plaintiff's statement by 5:00 p.m. on June 15, 1984. Unless otherwise

ordered, the Court will rule on this matter without oral argument.
— ORDER —

For the reasons stated above, the Motion For New Trial, Amend-
ment of Judgment, Relief From Judgment Or Order, filed by Plaintiff on
April 2, 1984, is DENIED.

The Amended Motion For A New Trial, Amendment of Judg-
ment, Relief From Judgment Or Order, filed by Plaintiff on April 6, 1984,
is GRANTED to the extent that Plaintiff is awarded prejudgment interest on
the $5,000.00 judgment in this case, said interest to be calculated from
February, 1982 until judgment entered in this case, at a rate of eight percent

per annum compounded annually. Plaintiff's Amended Motion, in all other
respects is DENIED.

The Motion For Attorney’s Fees, filed by Plaintiff on April 2,
1984, is GRANTED to the extent that Plaintiff is entitled to reasonable
attorney's fees in this case. A determination of the amount of attorney's fees
to be awarded will be HELD IN ABEYANCE pending completion of the

briefing schedule outlined in this order.

The Motion To Review Taxation Of Costs filed by Plaintiff on
April 13, 1984, and the Motion To Review Taxation Of Costs filed by Deten-
dant on April 16, 1984, will be HELD IN ABEYANCE pending a determina-
tion of the amount of attorney’s fees to be awarded in this case.

DATED at Denver, Colorado this 17th day of May, 1984.

BY THE COURT:

/ signed /

Sherman G. Finesilver, Chief Judge
United States District Court

45

APPENDIX II.D

ORDER OF JULY 3, 1984 ENTERED IN THE UNITED
STATES DISTRICT COURT FOR THE DISTRICT OF COLORADO

46

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
FOR THE DISTRICT OF COLORADO

Civil Action No. 82-F-462
JOSEPH G. BUDINICH,

Plaintiff,
VS.
BECTON DICKINSON & COMPANY,
Defendant.
— ORDER —

Sherman G. Finesilver, Chief Judge

PLAINTIFF originally brought this action seeking recovery of
compensatory and punitive damages on the following theories of recovery:
breach of contract, quantum meruit, misrepresentation and/or fraudulent con-
cealment, and wrongful termination. On May 31, 1983, the Court granted
in part and denied in part Defendant’s motion for summary judgment, and
dismissed Plaintiff's claims for breach of contract, wrongful termination,
outrageous conduct, and quantum meruit on the original contract entered into
by the parties. A trial on this matter was held commencing June 6, 1983. Said
trial resulted in a mistrial. The matter proceeded to a retrial on March 19,
1984. A jury verdict was returned on March 23, 1984, in favor of the Defen-
dant on Plaintiff's claims of fraudulent concealment and/or misrepresenta-
tion, and quantum meruit as to the sale of spare parts and accessories. The
jury found in favor of the Plaintiff on his claim for quantum meruit as to the
sale of 79 additional PVD units, and awarded the Plaintiff damages in the
amount of $5,000.00. On May 14, 1984, the Court entered an order deny-
ing Plaintiff's motion for a new trial, amendment of judgment, and relief from
judgment or order. The Court granted in part and denied in part Plaintiff's

amended motion for a new trial, amendment of judgment and relief from

47

judgment or order, and awarded the Plaintiff prejudgment interest on the
$5,000.00 judgment previously entered in this case. Plaintiff's motion for at-
torney’s fees was granted to the extent that the Court found that Plaintiff is
entitled to an award of reasonable attorney’s fees; however, the Court held
in abeyance a determination of the amount of attorney’s fees to be awarded
to the Plaintiff.

This matter is before the court on the following motions: (1) a
motion for attorney’s fees, filed by Plaintiff on April 2, 1984; (2) a motior
to review taxation of costs, filed by Plaintiff on April 13, 1984; and (3) a mo-
tion to review taxation of costs, filed by Defendant on April 16, 1984. The
Court has thoroughly reviewed these motions, as well as the briefs, affidavits
and exhibits submitted by the parties in support of their respective positions
on said motions. Upon a careful consideration of these matters, the Court
finds that Plaintiff is entitled to an award of attorney’s fees in the amount of
$1,000.00, to be taxed as costs in the instant case. The Court further finds
that Plaintiff is entitled to an award of costs in this case; however, said award
will be limited by the offer of judgment filed by Defendant pursuant to Rule
68 of the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure. The Court expressly approves
and upholds the method of taxation of costs and the amount of costs award-
ed to the Defendant by the Clerk of the Court on April 10, 1984.

Plaintiff originally requested an award of $52,198.00 in attorney’s
fees with respect to the $5,000.00 judgment entered in this case. This amount
was apnarently based on the attorney’s fees incurred by the Plaintiff with
respect to all of the claims for relief asserted by the Plaintiff in the instant
case. In our May 14, 1984 order, the Court explained that in calculating the
attorney's fees to be awarded in the instant case it is necessary to consider
that the Plaintiff recovered on only one of several claims that he originally
asserted against the Defendant. A portion of Plaintiff's claims were dismissed
on summary judgment, while others were rejected by the jury. Plaintiff's
claim for attorney's fees obviously must be reduced to take into account these
factors. See e.g. Pearson v. Western Electric Co., 542 F.2d 1150 (10th Cir.

48

1976); Scheriff v. Beck, 452 F.Supp. 1254 (D.Colo. 1978).

Plaintiff, in response to the Court’s May 14, 1984 order, submitted
a claim for attorney’s fees in the amount of $17,132.74, based on Plaintiff's
estimate of the fees to be awarded under the ‘‘proportionate recovery”
analysis described by the Court. In addition, Plaintiff submitted an alternative
claim for $18,855.00 in attorney’s fees based on a ‘‘hypothetical case basis’’
as the prevailing party on the claim for which judgment was entered in the
amount of $5,000.00. The Court is of the view that Plaintiff's requests are
unreasonable, and that Plaintiff should be awarded a total of $1,000.00 for
reasonable attorney’s fees in the instant case.

Initially, the Court notes that even if Plaintiff's request was con-
sidered reasonable, the request must be substantially reduced as a result of
the offer of judgment filed by Defendant pursuant to Rule 68 of the Federal
Rules of Civil Procedure. As the Court explained in our May 14, 1984 order,
any award of attorney’s fees in this case must be taxed as costs, and come
within the limitations of a valid offer of judgment pursuant to Rule 68 of the
Federal Rules of Civil Procedure. Defendants submitted an offer of judgment
on February 15, 1984, in the amount of $27,000. Said offer was rejected by
the Defendant, and the offer clearly exceeds the amount of judgment entered
in this case together with the amount of costs (including the amount of at-
torney’s fees sought by the Plaintiff) prior to the date the offer was made. Fur-
thermore, the Court finds Plaintiffs arguments regarding the validity of the
Defendant's offer of judgment to be without merit. The Court has thoroughly
reviewed Defendant’s offer of judgment, and finds that it is sufficient to meet
the requirements of Rule 68 of the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure.
Therefore, the Court finds that Plaintiff is not entitled to an award of any costs
which might have been incurred after February 15, 1984. Accordingly, Plain-
tiff is not entitled to an award for any, attorney’s fees incurred after February
15, 1984.

Plaintiff's request must be further reduced to accurately reflect the
limited recovery achieved by the Plaintiff. As we have repeatedly noted,

49

Plaintiff was the ‘‘prevailing party’’ in this case with respect to only one of
several claims that he originally brought against the Defendant. In terms of
the legal issues involved in Plaintiff's various claims, the discovery
reasonably required for presentation of the claims, and the relief requested
with respect to the Plaintiff's claims, the single claim upon which the Plaintiff
ultimately prevailed was clearly the most limited in scope of all the Plaintiff's
claims. Where a plaintiff has enjoyed only a limited success, a reasonable fee
must be determined in relationship to the results obtained, and a reduced
award is justified where the relief is limited in comparison to the scope of the
litigation as a whole. See Hensley v. Eckerhart, 103 S.Ct. 1933 (1983).
Upon a review of the records submitted by the Plaintiff, the Court
finds that the Plaintiff's request for attorney’s fees contains claims for time,

travel and discovery which were not necessary or related to the $5,000.00
judgment entered for the Plaintiff. The Court is not willing to require the
Defendant to bear the burden of financing Plaintiff's largeiy unsuccessful
lawsuit, particularly in light of the offer of judgment that was filed by Defen-
dant pursuant to Rule 68 of the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure. Further-
more, the Court is of the view that equitable considerations support an
extremely limited award of attorney’s fees in the instant case. The Defendant
clearly prevailed on several claims in this case, and Defendant is arguably
a ‘‘prevailing party’’ entitled to an award of attorney’s fees under C.R.S.
§8-4-114. See e.g. Hartman v. Freedman, 591 P.2d 1318 (1979). Although
the Defendant did not file a motion for an award of attorney’s fees in this case,
and the Court makes no finding as to whether the Defendant would have been
entitled to such an award, a realistic examination of which party actually

‘*prevailed’’ in this case clearly suggests that the Plaintiff should receive at
most an extremely limited award of attorney’s fees.

In addition to the factors specifically discussed in this order, the
Court, in determining the amount of attorney’s fees to be awarded in this case,
has considered the factors articulated in Hensley v. Eckerhart, supra; Mau
v. E.P.H. Corp., 638 P.2d 777 (Colo. 1981); and Battle v. Anderson, 614

50

F.2d 251 (10th Cir. 1980). Upon a consideration of the relevant factors, the
Court finds that Plaintiff is eniitled to an award of reasonable attorney’s fees
in the amount of $1,000.00, to be taxed as costs in the instant case.

— ORDER —

For the reasons stated above, Plaintiff's motion for attorney's fees
is GRANTED to the extent that Plaintiff is awarded the amount of $1,000.00
in attorney's fees, to be taxed as costs in the instant case.

Defendant’s motion to review taxation of costs is DENIED. The
Court expressly approves and upholds the method of taxation of costs and the
amount of costs awarded to the Defendant by the Clerk of the Court on April
10, 1984.

Plaintiff's motion to review taxation of costs is GRANTED to the
extent that this matter is REMANDED to the Clerk o/ the Court for taxation
of costs in accordance with this order.

DATED at Denver, Colorado this 3rd__ day of July, 1984.

BY THE COURT:

/ signed /

Sherman G. Finesilver, Chief Judge
United States District Court

51

APPENDIX II.E

ORDER OF AUGUST 1, 1984 ENTERED IN THE UNITED
STATES DISTRICT COURT FOR THE DISTRICT OF COLORADO

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
FOR THE DISTRICT OF COLORADO

CIVIL ACTION NO. 82-F-462

JOSEPH G. BUDINICH,

Plaintiff,
VS.
BECTON DICKINSON & COMPANY
Defendant.
— ORDER —

SHERMAN G. FINESILVER, CHIEF JUDGE

THIS MATTER IS BEFORE THE COURT on the plaintiff's mo-
tion for amendment of order, or relief from judgment and order. Plaintiff
seeks an increase in the amount of attor-ey’s fees awarded to him by this
Court’s Order dated July 3, 1984. The gist of the motion is the Court’s award
of fees is unjust, arbitrary, without factual and legal basis, and in the nature
of a penalty. The Court has considered the plaintiff's motion. In addition, the
Court has carefully reconsidered its Order of July 3, 1984. The award of fees
was based on substantial evidence before the Court.

The July 3, 1984 Order takes into account the factors demanded
under the applicable case law to be considered in an award of attorney's fees.
Mau v. E.P.H. Corp., 638 P.2d 777 (1981): Battle v. Anderson, 614
F.2d 2*1 (10th Cir. 1890); Hensley v. Eckerhart, 103 S. Ct. 1933 (1983).

Budini«h rrevailed on one of six claims brought, winning a $5,000 ver-

dict ou: of $650,000 in damages originally sought. The plaintiff is entitled
to a reasonable attorney's fee. In the Order, the Court noted the claim
upon which Budinich did prevail was the most limited in scope of all
the claims. The claim was in no sense complex, either legally or factually.

The Court further noted the plaintiff's very limited success, and found, in

53

light of the scope of the litigation as a whole, a reduced award was indeed
justified. Hensley v. Eckerhart, 103 S.Ct. 1933 (1983).

In addition to the above findings, the Court also found the request
for fees contained time, travel and discovery which were neither necessary
nor related to the judgment entered for Budinich. The Court found a valid
offer of judgment had been made on February 15, 1984, by the defendant.
The amount of the offer was $27,000. Although the Court awarded no fees
to the Defendant, the Court did find the defendant was arguably a ‘‘prevailing
party’’, noting a realistic examination of which party actually ‘‘prevailed”’

suggested the plaintiff should receive at most an extremely limited award of
fees.

The Court is not insensitive to the purposes behind C.R.S.
§8-4-114. However, as states in the July 3 Order, the Court is unwilling to
require the defendant to finance a largely unsuccessful lawsuit against itself.
Accordingly, the plaintiff's motion for amendment of order, or relief from
judgment and order is DENIED.

Dated at Denver, Colorado, this _Ist__ day of August, 1984.

BY THE COURT:

/ signed /

SHERMAN G. FINESILVER, CHIEF JUDGE
UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

APPENDIX IIL.A

PETITION FOR REHEARING FILED IN THE UNITED
STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE TENTH CIRCUIT

55

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE TENTH CIRCUIT

No. 84-2192
JOSEPH G. BUDINICH,
Plaintiff-Appellant,
Vs.
BECTON DICKINSON AND COMPANY,
Defendant-Appellee.

PETITION FOR REHEARING

Appellant, Joseph G. Budinich, through the undersigned legal
counsel, Frank & Finger, P.C., hereby petitions pursuant to Rule 40 of the
Federal Rules of Appellate Procedure for rehearing of this Court's Judgment
entered December 12, 1986.

Appellant requests that the Court reconsider and determine the
issues of timeliness of this appeal, non-retroactivity, and the award of attorney
fees tor the reasons set forth herein.

Additionally, Appellant would note that an error appears in the
recitation of facts in that the opinion erroneously states that the pleading were
amended after Summary Judgment entered. This is not accurate. Amendment

occurred prior to Summary Judgment.

I. THE COURT'S HOLDING ON TIMELINESS OF
THE APPEAL SHOULD BE MODIFIED

The Court's holding that a uniform, unqualified rule that attorney
fee awards are collateral to the relief obtained is appropriate in cases where
federal law controls, but is inappropriate in pure diversity cases, where

substantive state law controls and is contrary to the federal law.

56

The Constitution of the United States established a rigid balance between the
rights granted to the federal government and those rights retained by the
states. In that regard, the Tenth Amendment to the United States Constitu-
tion specifically reserved unto the states all power not delegated to the United
States by the Constitution.

The right of the states to enact their own substantive standards has
been repeatedly upheld. Only where such law directly interferes or trans-
gresses on the Commerce Clause or areas expressly preempted have such
laws been held to be superseded by Congressional mandate. United States v.
Darby, 312 U.S. 100, 85 L.Ed. 609, 61 S. Ct. 451 (1941).

Colorado, in providing for labor relations in its state enacted a

statute requiring payment of wages on discharge and specifically provided
for an award of mandatory attorney fees for violation of that proscription.
By case law of the State of Colorado this provision has been determined to
be an inherent part of the relief where the statute is violated. Ortega v. Board
County Commissioners, 657 P.2d 989 (Colo. App. 1982 cert. denied);
Ball Corporation v. Loran, 42 Colo. App. 401, 496 P.2d 412 (Colo. App.,
1979); Marieta v. Busto, 91 P.2d 345 (Colo. App., 1984) vert. denied.
The federal judiciary has no power to modify, change or reverse
this substantive determination, unless the holding is unconstitutional or

preempted. No such argument of unconstitutionality or preemption is made
here.

Clearly, the provision providing for United States District Court’s
original jurisdiction over diversity actions, 28 U.S.C. §1332, which in and
of itself does not emanate from the United States Constitution, cannot preempt
Colorado substantive law. Kline v. Burke Construction Co., 260 U.S. 226,
67 L.Ed. 226, 43 S. Ct. 79 (1922).

Yet, that is exactly what this Court has done in its December 12,
1986 order. It has substantively changed the law of the State of Colorado.
That procedure is violative of fundamental Constitutional principles and a4
marked departure from the teachings of Erie Railroad Co. v. Tompkins, 304

57

U.S. 64 (1938) and even Hanna v. Plumer, 380 U.S. 460 (1965). The deter-
mination is most certainly ‘‘outcome determinative’’ and clearly a new pro-

nouncement of law.

Il. THE DECISION SHOULD BE GIVEN ONLY
PROSPECTIVE APPLICATION

The December 12, 1986 decision of the Court is a new determina-
tion of the law. For the first time in this Circuit or any other circuit to
Appellant's knowledge has a court grappled with the concept of whether state
substantive law on attorney fees controls in diversity cases, and its import to
the teachings of White v. New Hampshire, 455 U.S. 445 (1982).

Non-retroactivity is clearly inappropriate in this matter for the

reasons previously set forth in Appellant’s prior brief.

Ill. THE ATTORNEY FEE AWARD REQUIRES
FURTHER EXAMINATION

In disposing of the attorney fee award question, as it did, this
Court failed to perceive that briefs on the merits have not been filed or
authorized. The only issues briefed and submitted to the Court were briefs
on the merits of the question of summary disposition based on jurisdictional
arguments.

The District Court’s decision on attorney fees is clearly erroneous.
Facts and critical determinations, such as number of hours worked on the
claim, hourly rate, defendant engaging in extensive discovery and the like,
have never been presented because of the posture of the case. The Court, in
its holding that the attorney fee question is properly before it, now should
examine the merits.

Appellant asks only for fundamental fairness in presenting the
issues to the Court. The $1,000.00 attorney fee award is far less compensation

58

than is justified by any objective standard relating to time expense in prov-
ing the wage claim for the supplemental order.

An examination of the record with brief will easily clarify the er-
roneous attorney fee holding.

IV. CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, Plaintiff-Appellant requests rehearing
and modification of this Court’s order of December 12, 1986, and specifically
asks this Court to consider the appeal in its entirety on the merits.

Respectfully submitted,
FRANK & FINGER, P.C.

By: / signed /
William S. Finger, #7224
Attorneys for Plaintiff-Appellant
29025D Lakepoint Center
P.O. Box 1477
Evergreen, CO 80429

59

Certificate of Mailing

I hereby certify that on the 13 day of August 1987,
I placed three true and correct copies of the foregoing application for Peti-
tion for Writ of certiorari in the United States Mail, first class, postage ful-
ly prepaid and properly addressed to:

Terre Lee Rushton, Esq.

Kelly, Haglund, Garnsey
and Kahn

1441 18th Street

Suite 300

Denver, Colorado 80202

Thomas E. Frank

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385012_0844%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
