# Amicus Curiae Brief — Frisby v. Schultz

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385012_0830%3A09

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1988
- **Citation:** 487 U.S. 474

## Text

Supreme Court, U;
FILED

FEB 25 1998

No. 87-168 WOSEPH F. sPaivoy,
erie

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States
OCTOBER TERM, 1987

RUSSELL FRISBY, et al.
Appellants,

Vv.

SANDRA C. SCHULTZ, et al.,
Appellees.

On Appeal from the United States Court
of Appeals for the Seventh Circuit

BRIEF AMICUS CURIAE OF THE NATIONAL
INSTITUTE OF MUNICIPAL LAW OFFICERS IN
SUPPORT OF APPELLANT, TOWN OF

BROOKFIELD
ROY D. BATES DOUGLAS N. JEWETT
City Attorney City Attorney
City Hall Municipal Building
P.O. Box 147 Tenth Floor, Law Department
Columbia, SC 29217 Seattle, WA 98104
WHALAS fH. TAUBE WILLIAM I. THORNTON, JR.
Corporation Counsel City
. ity Attorney

of Chebanse 101 Citv Hall
359 E. Hickory D a NC 27701
P.O. Box 51 ae -

Kankakee, IL 60901

MARVA JONES BROOKS
City Attorney
Department of Law
1100 Omni International
Atlanta, GA 30335
(Attorneys continued on inside front cover)

CASILILAS PRESS @ TNC K STREET, NW. SUITE 10. WASHINGTON. DE e

ROGER F. CUTLER
City Attorney

Salt Lake City

324 S. State, 5th Floor
Salt Lake City, UT 84111

ROBERT J. ALFTON
City Attorney

A-1700 Hennepin County
Government Center
Minneapolis, MN 55487

JAMES K. BAKER
City Attorney

600 City Hall
Birmingham, AL 35203

JOSEPH N. deRAISMES
City Attorney

P.O. Box 791/1777 Broadway
Boulder, CO 80306

FRANK B. GUMMEY, III
City Attorney

City Hall, Suite 213

P.O. Box 551

Daytona Beach, FL 32015

ROBERT J. MANGLER
Corporation Counsel
1200 Wilmette Avenue
Wilmette, IL 60091

NEAL E. McNEILL
City Attorney

200 Civic Center
Room 316

Tulsa, OK 74103

ANALESLIE MUNCY
City Attorney

1500 Marilla

Room 7DN

Dallas, TX 75201

DANTE R. PELLEGRINI
City Solicitor

313 City-County Building
Pittsburgh, PA 15219

CLIFFORD D. PIERCE, JR.
City Attorney

Room 314, City Hall
Memphis, TN 38103

CHARLES S. RHYNE

Counsel of Record

BENJAMIN L. BROWN

JAN MAJEWSKI

RACHEL S. ULLMAN

1000 Connecticut Avenue, N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20036

(202) 466-5424

Attorneys for National Institute
of Municipal Law Officers as
Amicus Curiae

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
TABLE OF CONTENTS
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES ii
INTEREST OF THE AMICUS CURIAE
STATEMENT OF THE CASE 3
SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT 3
ARGUMENT 4

I LOCAL GOVERNMENTS MAY REQUIRE THAT
PICKETING NOT TAKE PLACE IN
RESIDENTIAL AREAS IN ORDER TO
ADVANCE PRIVACY AND PUBLIC SAFETY
GOALS 4

A. AN ORDINANCE RESTRICTING
PICKETING AT RESIDENCES IS
NARROWLY TAILORED TO SERVE
SIGNIFICANT GOVERNMENTAL
INTERESTS. : ; egere 6

B. AMPLE ALTERNATIVE CHANNELS
OF COMMUNICATION REMAIN OPEN
WITH A BAN ON RESIDENTIAL
PICKETING ... . : 13

Il. AN ORDINANCE BANNING PICKETING AT
RESIDENTIAL DWELLINGS IS NOT
SUBSTANTIALLY OVERBROAD BECAUSE
IT DIRECTLY ACCOMPLISHES PRIVACY
AND SAFETY GOALS WITHOUT INFRINGING
UPON CONSTITUTIONALLY PROTECTED
ACTIVITIES 15

CONCLUSION 19

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases

Berman v. Parker,
348 U.S. 26 (1954). .

Broadrick v. Oklahoma,
413 U.S. 601 (1973)

Carey v. Brown,
447 U.S. 455 (1980)

Clark v. Community for Creative Non-Violence,
468 U.S. 288 (1984)

Gregory v. Chicago,
394 U.S. 111 (1969)

Kovacs v. Cooper,
336 U.S. 77 (1949)

Martin v. City of Struthers,
319 U.S. 141 (1943)... .

Members of the City Council v. Taxpayers
for Vincent, 466 U.S. 789 (1984) .

Metromedia, Inc. v. City of San Diego,
453 U.S. 490 (1981). .

New York v. Ferber,
458 U.S. 747 (1982)

Perry Education Assn. v. Perry Local
Educators’ Assn., 460 U.S. 37 (1983)

Police Department of Chicago v. Mosley,
408 U.S. 92 (1972)

Secretary of State of Maryland v. Joseph H.
Munson Co., 467 U.S. 947 (1984)

15

5,6, 11

13,14

14

7, 8,9, 12,13

6, 10

15, 16

16,17

Page

Schultz v. Frisby,
619 F.Supp. 792 (E.D. Wis. 1985),
affd mem., No. 85-2950 (7th Cir. April 30, 1987) passim

Taxpayers for Vincent v. Members of the City
Council, 682 F.2d 847 (9th Cir. 1982),
rev'd, 466 U.S. 789 (1984) 7

United States v. Albertini.
472 U.S. 675 (1985).

United States v. O'Brien.
391 U.S. 367 (1968)

United States Constitution

U.S. Const. amend | 3,4, 8.15

Ordinances

Brookfield, Wis., Gen. Code § 9.17 (1985) 5, 6, 10, 13, 17

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States
OCTOBER TERM, 1987

No. 87-168

RUSSELL FRISBY, et al.,

Appellants,
v.

SANDRA C. SCHULTZ, et al.,
Appellees.

On Appeal from the United States Court
of Appeals for the Seventh Circuit

BRIEF AMICUS CURIAE OF THE NATIONAL
INSTITUTE OF MUNICIPAL LAW OFFICERS IN
SUPPORT OF APPELLANT, TOWN OF
BROOKFIELD

INTEREST OF THE AMICUS CURIAE

This brief amicus curiae is filed pursuant to Rule 36
of the Rules of this Court on behalf of the more than
1,900 local governments that are members of the Na-
tional Institute of Municipal Law Officers (NIMLO).
Both parties have consented to the filing of this brief
and their letters of consent have been lodged with the
Court

NIMLO is a national organization comprised of
municipalities and local government units, which are
political subdivisions of states. NIMLO is operated by

the chief legal officers of its members, variously called
city attorney, county attorney, city or county
solicitor, corporation counsel, director of law, and
other titles. The Appellant, Town of Brookfield, is a
member of NIMLO.

The accompanying brief is signed by the municipal
attorneys constituting the governing body of
NIMLO, both on behalf of NIMLO and for the
political subdivision of the state, territory, or com-
monwealth of which they are the authorized legal of-
ficer. thereof.

The local government attorneys who operate
NIMLO are responsible for advising their city govern-
ments on the best lawful methods for promoting
health and safety within their jurisdictions. These at-
torneys also represent their governments in litigation
resulting from the implementation of municipal
regulations, such as the non-picketing ordinance
before this Court. The United States Court of Appeals
for the Seventh Circuit has held that the Town of
Brookfield’s ordinance prohibiting picketing before or
about a residence or dwelling was unconstitutional.

NIMLO believes that the Brookfield residential
non-picketing ordinance challenged in this case is a
valid exercise of the town’s broad municipal police
power. The Seventh Circuit's decision does not proper-
ly recognize a municipality's broad power to restrict
expressive conduct when it interferes with the public
good. If allowed to stand, this decision will severely
curtail the ability of local governments to use their
police powers to foster and protect the health, safety
and welfare of their citizens. Accordingly, NIMLO has
a significant interest in the issues raised by this case.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Amicus adopts the statement of the case and the
facts as presented by Anpellants.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

Local governments possess the requisite police
power to enact ordinances which protect the public, in-
cluding public safety, health, and welfare (peaceful ond
quiet enjoyment). The Town of Brookfield ordinance is
a valid exercise of that power because it protects the
public safety and privacy interests of its residents.
T he ordinance does not violate the First Amendment
in accomplishing its public safety and welfare goals
since it is content neutral, is narrowly tailored to serve
a significant government interest and leaves open am-
ple alternative channels of communication.

The . ordinance is content neutral as it bans all
picketing in certain designated areas. It is narrowly
tailored to achieve its goal of protecting public safety
and welfare concerns because even one picketer would
disrupt traffic and tranquility in the neighborhoods.

The U.S. Constitution does not guarantee the right
to maximum media coverage of one’s views, only the
right to express them. Several alternative channels of
communication remain open which would not interfere
with the interests the ordinance is trying to protect.

Finally, the ordinance is not substantially over-
broad as it directly accomplishes its privacy and
public safety goals without infringing upon constitu-
tionally protected activities. The ordinance does not
operate on a fundamentally mistaken premise. It
realistically attempts to regulate conduct that

harasses those at home and presents substantial risks
to public safety.

ARGU MENT

I LOCAL GOVERNMENTS MAY REQUIRE THAT
PICKETING NOT TAKE PLACE IN RESIDENTIAL
AREAS IN ORDER TO ADVANCE PRIVACY AND
PUBLIC SAFETY GOALS.

Local governments, by virtue of their police
power, may enact ordinances to promote public
welfare. See Berman v. Parker, 348 U.S. 26, 33-34
(1954). Public welfare is a broad concept which in-
cludes “public safety, public health, morality,
peace and quiet, [and] law and order.” Jd. at 32-33.
An ordinance that advances public welfare but
also restricts expressive activities protected by
the First Amendment will be upheld if it is a
“reasonable time, place, or manner restriction.”
Clark v. Community for Creative Non-Violence,
468 U.S. 288, 293 (1984). In Perry Education
Assn. v. Perry Local Educators’ Assn., 460 U.S.
37, 45 (1983), the Court determined that restric-
tions on expression meet the reasonable time,
place or manner standard if they are “content-
neutral, are narrowly tailored to serve a signifi-
cant government interest, and leave open ample
alternative channels of communication.”

‘This Court has also used the framework set torth in United
States v. O'Brien, 391 U.S. 367, 377 (1968) for determining
whether a restriction on expression is valid under the First
Amendment. According to O'Brien,

ja] government regulation is sufficiently justified if it
is within the constitutional power of the Government:
if it furthers an importart or substantial government
interest; if the governmental interest is unrelated to
the suppression of free expression; and if the incidental
restriction on alleged First Amendment freedoms is no

Brookfield’s ordinance promotes residential privacy,
tranquility and public safety by prohibiting picketing
at a dwelling or residence. This ordinance is clearly
content-neutral and serves significant governmental
interests.

The Bruokfield ordinance makes it “unlawful for any
person to engage in picketing before or about the
residence or dwelling of any individual in the Town of
Brookfield.” Brookfield, Wis., Gen. Code § 9.17 (1985).
Ordinances that have been struck down for discri-
minating against picketers based on the content of
their expression have afforded preferential treatment
to expression on a particular topic? The Brook-
field ordinance does not exempt any type of residen-
tial picketing from its prohibition. It is, therefore,
content-neutral.

By removing picketing activities from residential
areas, the Brookfield ordinance seeks to promote the
“well-being, tranquility, and privacy” of those at
home. Brookfield, Wis., Gen. Code § 9.17 (1985). It

greater than is essential to the furtherance of that in-
terest.
Id. at 377.

In Clark v. Community for Creative Non-Violence, 468 U.S.
288, 298 (1984), the Court determined that the O'Brien
framework was “little, if any, different from the stanaard applied
to time, place or manner restrictions.” (footnote omitted).

*In Police Department of Chicago v. Mosley, 408 U.S. 92 (1972)
the Court invalidated an ordinance which exempted peaceful
labor picketing from its ban on picketing at a school. In Carey v

Brown, 447 U.S. 455 (1980), the Court invalidated an ordinance

for exempting labor picketing from its ban on residential
picketing. On the face of these ordinances, preferential treatment
was given to labor disputes.

also eliminates an activity that “obstructs and in-
terferes with the free use of public sidewalks and
public ways of travel.” Jd. It is well established that a
government has a significant interest in protecting
public safety, Metromedia, Inc. v. City of San Diego,
453 U.S. 490, 507-08 (1981), as well as in protecting
the tranquility of the home, Carey v. Brown, 447 U.S.
455, 471 (1980). That the Brookfield ordinance serves
significant governmental interests is not in question.

Amicus submits that a residential ban on picketing
is narrowly tailored to serve these significant govern-
mental interests and leaves open alternative channels
of communication.

A. AN ORDINANCE RESTRICTING PICKETING AT
RESIDENCES IS NARROWLY TAILORED TO
SERVE SIGNIFICANT GOVERNMENTAL IN-
TERESTS.

This Court requires that content neutral time, place,
or manner restrictions be narrowly tailored to serve
significant governmental interests. Perry Education
Assn. v. Perry Local Educators’ Assn., 460 U.S. 37, 45
(1983)

The Frisby trial court determined that Brookfield’s
ordinance was not a narrowly tailored manner of ad-
vancing privacy and safety interests. Schultz v.
Frisby 619 F.Supp. 792, 797 (E.D. Wis. 1985), affd
mem., No. 85-2950 (7th Cir. April 30, 1987). The court
said that “[o]ne can imagine neutral time, place, and
manner regulations short of a ban on residential pick-
eting, which would go a long way toward the Town's
safety and domestic privacy goals...An absolute
ban, however, against a form of protected speech can-
not be permitted to stand.” Jd. (emphasis added).

On several occasions this Court has considered the
meaning of “narrowly tailored,” and has never inva-
lidated an otherwise constitutional time, place and
manner regulation merely because it is possible to “im-
agine” less restrictive alternatives to achieve a given
objective. Amicus submits, therefore, that the deci-
sion of the trial court was the result of the court's
misapplication of the “narrowly tailored” prong of the
time, place or manner test.

In Members of the City Council v. Taxpayers for
Vincent, 466 U.S. 789 (1984), this Court considered
whether an ordinance which banned the posting of
signs on public property was narrowly tailored to
serve the City’s interest in reducing blight. The Court,
of Appeals had invalidated the ordinance because, in
its opinion, less restrictive alternatives were available
to achieve the City’s interests. Taxpayers for Vincent
v. Members of the City Council, 682 F.2d 847,852 (9th
Cir. 1982), rev'd, 466 U.S. 789 (1984). The court stated,
“Instead of a general ban, the City might regulate
the size, design, and construction of the posters . . .in-
stitute clean up or removal requirements... or pro-
vide more stringent regulations for the areas of the Ci-
ty more in need of protection.” Jd. at 852-53. This Court
reversed, and did not consider less restrictive alter-
natives when determining whether the ordinance, as
applied, was a narrowly tailored time, place and man-
ner restriction on expression’ 466 U.S. at 808-10. The

‘The Court implied that a “least drastic means” analysis is only
appropriate when reviewing a facial challenge based on over-
breadth. 466 U.S. at 801

correct inquiry, this Court determined is, “whether the
scope of the restriction on appellee's expressive activi-
ty is substantially broader than necessary to [serve]
the City’s [legitimate governmental interest].” 466
U.S. at 808 (emphasis added).

In United States v. Albertini, 472 U.S. 675 (1985),
the Court again emphasized that a government entity
has a degree of leeway in determining reasonable
restrictions on speech under the First Amendment.
Respondent had received a letter barring him from the
Hickam military base and was subsequently convict-
ed of violating a statute prohibiting those who had re-
ceived such letters from entering a military base.
Respondent asserted that the statute violated the
First Amendment because its restriction on speech
was greater than what was essential to further the
government's interest in security. The Court found

that barring respondent from Hickam was
not “essential” in any absolute sense to the
security at the military base. The military
presumably could have provided him with a
military police chaperone during the open
house. This observation, however, provides
an answer to the wrong question by focusing
on whether there were conceivable alterna-
tives to enforcing the bar letter in this case.
The First Amendment does not bar applica-
tion of a neutral regulation... merely
because... there is some imaginable alter-
native that might be less burdensome on
speech... Instead, an incidental burden on
speech is no greater than is essential... so
long as the neutral regulation promotes a
substantial government interest that would

7]

be achieved less effectively absent the regula-
tion.

472 U.S. at 688-89 (emphasis added).

A regulation is, therefore, narrowly tailored if it is
not “substantially broader than necessary,” Vincent,
466 U.S. at 808, or “promotes a substantial govern-
ment interest that would be achieved less effectively
absent the regulation,” Albertini, 472 U.S. at 689. The
Brookfield ordinance satisfies both the Vincent and
the Albertini tests. Moreover, although this Court has
not required that a regulation be the least restrictive
way to achieve significant governmental interests,
Brookfield’s ordinance also satisfies that standard.

The Frisby trial court said that the Town's safety
concerns could be achieved “by limiting the time of
picketing and the number of persons who may picket
at one time.” Schultz v. Frisby, 619 F.Supp. 792, 797
(E.D. Wis. 1985), affd mem., No. 85-2950 (7th Cir.
April 30, 1987). This reasoning does not take into ac-
count the physical layout of the Town's subdivisions
or the limited number of traffic safety officers which
are available.

Brookfield is a residential suburb with eight police
officers and a police chief. Jd. at 793. It has a subdivi-
sion of residential homes with streets that are only
thirty feet wide and have no sidewalks, curbs or street
lights. Id. at 793-94.

In the present case, picketers carried signs and
shouted, /d. at 795, while standing on streets just
wide enough to accommodate one car in each direc-
tion, J.A. 49-50. This type of behavior is inherently
distracting and posses a significant risk to public safe-

10

ty. Indeed, the trial court agreed that “[t]he safety of
picketers and passers-by is a serious concern where
streets are narrow, there are no sidewalks, and traffic
may be heavy.” Jd. at 796.

Because picketing increases the risk of traffic
hazards, it is similar in this respect to billboards,
which are “real and substantial hazards to traffic safe-
ty.” Metromedia, Inc. v. City of San Diego, 453 U.S.
490, 509 (1981). In Metromedia this Court considered
whether an ordinance banning most offsite billboards
was constitutional. Although the ordinance was ulti-
mately declared invalid for favoring commercial
speech over noncommercial speech, the Court said
that “we cannot conclude that the City has drawn an
ordinance broader than is necessary to meet its inter-
est.” 453 U.S. at 512.

Picketers pose a greater threat to public safety than
do billboards. They move about, approach those pass-
ing by, carry signs and shout their messages, while
billboards are stationary. In light of the distracting
actions of picketers, the narrow streets, lack of
sidewalks, and small police force available to ade-
quately regulate traffic problems, limiting the time
and number of picketers would not eliminate the risk
to public safety. Brookfield’s ordinance restricting
picketing to areas other than “before or about’
residential dwellings, Brookfield, Wis., Gen. Code
§ 9.17 (1985), is no broader than necessary to protect
public safety.

Another stated purpose of the ordinance is to
eliminate the emotional disturbance, distress and
harassment caused by picketers to those in their
homes. It is well established that a government's “in-

terest in protecting the well-being, tranquility, and
privacy of the home is certainly of the highest order in
a free and civilized society.” Carey v. Brown, 447 U.S.
455, 471 (1980). In Carey, the Court determined that,
although a local government may not discriminate
against picketers based on the content of their expres-
sion, “[wJe are not to be understood to imply... that
residential picketing is beyond the reach of uniform
and nondiscriminatory regulation.” 447 U.S. at 470.
“Preserving the sanctity of the home, the one retreat
to which men and women can repair to escape from the
tribulations of their daily pursuits, is surely an
important value. Our decisions reflect no lack of
solicitude for the right of an individual ‘to be let alone’
in the privacy of the home, ‘sometimes the last citadel
of the tired, the weary, and the sick.’ ” Carey, 447 U.S.
at 471, quoting Gregory v. Chicago, 394 U.S. 111, 125
(1969).

The Frisby trial court determined that Brookfield’s
interest in protecting its residents from emotional
disturbance, distress and harassment while in their
homes or in process of ingress thereto or egress
therefrom, could be adequately served by limiting
picketers to certain hours and by limiting the number
of picketers who may congregate at any one time.
Schultz v. Frisby,619 F. Supp. at 797. The trial court
has not considered the disturbing effect that even a
restricted number of persons picketing at limited
times would have on those captive in their homes. In
the present case, the picketers carried signs with emo-
tionally charged slogans and sang and cheered other
slogans that made uncharitable references to the
father of the family being picketed. /d. at 795. Adults
and children living in the subdivision found the pick-

| >)

eters’ activities to be objectionable and/or frightening.
(J.A. 50-53). As a result, one neighbor felt compelled
to reroute her trips to avoid the picketers, J.A. 76,
while a child who had been frightened by the picketers
refused to go to destinations near the picketing for a
week and a half, J.A. 82-83. Another neighbor was
disturbed by the picketers’ comments while at her
home. (J.A. 58-59). The police subsequently received
numerous complaints and reports from the communi-
ty. (J.A. 50-53). Limiting the hours of picketing and
the number of picketers might lessen the harassment
and emotional disturbance that such activities inflict
upon the residents of the community. This, however,
is not sufficient. Residents living in the community
have the right to be let alone in the privacy of their
homes. Nothing short of a total prohibition of residen-
tial picketing can adequately accomplish this goal.

A total ban of expression in a particular place has
been upheld as a reasonable time, place or manner
restriction. See Members of the City Council v. Tax-
payers for Vincent, 466 U.S. 789 (1984). In Vincent,
the Court upheld an ordinance which totally banned
the posting of signs on public property. It held that
“(bly banning these signs, the City did no more than
eliminate the exact source of the evil it sought to
remedy.” 466 U.S. at 808. The Court went on to say
that “the substantive evil — visual blight — is not
merely a possible by-product of the activity, but is
created by the medium of expression itself.” 466 US.
at 810.

The harm caused by picketing is not an incidental
by-product of the picketing. It is the act of picketing
itself that adversely impacts the tranquility of resi-

ential areas. The tactics employed by the picketers in
the present case were calculated to harass the
picketed family and their friends and neighbors. This
type of disturbance is the very problem that the Town
of Brookfield is seeking to avoid. The presence of even
one picketer engaged in this type of intrusive behavior
would disturb the peace and tranquility of home
dwellers. Thus, the Town's ordinance, as with the or-
dinance upheld in Vincent, does “no more than
eliminate the exact source of evil it sought to remedy.”
466 U.S. at 808.

B. AMPLE ALTERNATIVE CHANNELS OF COM-
MUNICATION REMAIN OPEN WITH A BAN ON
RESIDENTIAL PICKETING.

It has long been recognized by this Court that it “is
not enough to call forth constitutional protection for
what those charged with public welfare reasonably
think is a nuisance when easy means of publicity are
open.” Kovacs v. Cooper, 336 U.S. 77, 88-89 (1949).
The Town of Brookfield has determined that residen-
tial picketing has as its object the harassment of
residents “and without resort to such practice full op-
portunity exists... for the exercise of freedom of
speech and other constitutional rights.” Brookfield,
Wis., Gen. Code § 9.17 (1985). Indeed, Appellees have
not argued that easy alternative means of publicity
are unavailable to them. The basis of Appellees’ objec-
tion to the ordinance is that other available avenues of
communication might not enable them to receive as
extensive media coverage and would, therefore, not be
the easiest and most effective method of reaching the
greatest audience.

I4

This Court has rejected the notion that those wish-
ing to speak are entitled to use the easiest and most ef-
fective way to reach the greatest number of people.
See Kovacs v. Cooper, 336 U.S. at 88-89. Local govern-
ments may prohibit intrusions into the home that a
home dweller is incapable of avoiding. In Kovacs, the
Court upheld a municipal ordinance which prohibited
trucks from blaring amplified messages throughout
the municipality. The Court weighed the need for this
particular manner of expression against the loss of
tranquility that the activity inflicted upon those in
their homes. Jd. at 86-87. It determined that although
“more people may be more easily and cheaply reached
by [this expressive activity]” this could not justify the
resulting intrusion into a home dweller’s sanctuary.
Id. at 87-89. The Court stated other forums of com-
inunication were available which do not have this
disruptive effect. Jd. at 89.

Here, too, other methods of communication are
available for the picketers to effectively spread their
message in Brookfield’s residential areas. As the
Frisby trial court observed, the picketers “may
distribute leaflets in the. . neighborhood, (citing Mar-
tin v. City of Struthers, 319 U.S. 141, 146-49 (1943),
they may march past the. . .home [they seek to picket]
(citing Gregory v. Chicago, 394 U.S. 111 (1969)); and,
of course, they may picket other more public sites.”
Schultz v. Frisby, 619 F. Supp. 792, 797 (E.D. Wis.
1985), affd mem., No. 85-2950 (7th Cir. April 30,
1987). Not mentioned by the trial court is the oppor-
tunity for the picketers to promote their views over
the telephone, through door-to-door appeals or
through the mail. All of these alternatives are current-
ly available to the picketers and would not significant-

ly, if at all, increase their expenses. Brookfield’s or-
dinance, therefore, satisfies the last prong of the time,
place, or manner test and should be upheld under the
First Amendment.

Il. AN ORDINANCE BANNING PICKETING AT
RESIDENTIAL DWELLINGS IS NOT
SUBSTANTIALLY OVERBROAD BECAUSE IT
DIRECTLY ACCOMPLISHES PRIVACY
AND SAFETY GOALS WITHOUT
INFRINGING UPON CONSTITUTIONALLY
PROTECTED ACTIVITIES.

Appellees have suggested that regardless of whe-
ther Brookfield’s ordinance may constitutionally be
applied to them, it is facially overbroad and must be

invalidated.

This Court has indicated that invalidating an or-
dinance on facial overbreadth grounds is “strong
medicine” which should be used “sparingly and only as
a last resort.” Broadrick v. Oklahoma, 413 U.S. 601,
613 (1973). When an ordinance regulates activities
involving expression plus conduct, its overbreadth
“must not only be real but substantial as well, judged
in relation to the [ordinance]’s plainly legitimate
sweep. /d. at 615.

An ordinance is not “substantially” overbroad mere-
ly because one might be able to conceive of situations
where it infringes upon constitutionally protected ex-
pression without contributing to the general welfare
of those residing in a municipality. See New York v.
Ferber, 458 U.S. 747 (1982). In Ferber, this Court
upheld a statute prohibiting persons from promoting
sexual performances by children despite the existence
of constitutionally protected activities that would be
prohibited. The Court acknowledged

16

that some protected expression, ranging
from medical textbooks to pictorials in the
National Geographic would fall prey to the
statute. How often, if ever, it may be neces-
sary to employ children to engage in conduct
clearly within the reach of the [statute] in
order to produce educational, medical, or ar-
tistic works cannot be known with certainty.
Yet we seriously doubt, and it has not been
suggested, that these arguable impermissible
applications of the statute amount to more
than a tiny fraction of the materials within
the statute’s reach.

458 U.S. at 773.

Here, Brookfield’s ordinance is limited to residential
areas. Because of the significant governmental in-
terest in protecting public safety and the peace and
tranquility of those in their homes, the legitimate
sweep of the ordinance encompasses most, if not all,
residential picketing. If any impermissible applica-
tions of the ordinance exist, they pale in comparison
to the ordinance’s plainiy legitimate reach.

Generally, an ordinance will not be invalidated on
substantial overbreadth grounds unless it prohibits a
substantial amount of conduct which does not inter-
fere with a legitimate goal of government. See Sec-
retary of State of Maryland v. Joseph H. Munson Co.,
467 U.S. 947, 967-68 (1984). In Munson, a statute
which imposed a twenty five percent limit on chari-
table fund raising expenses was struck down as being
facially overbroad. According to the Court the
statute’s overbreadth was substantial because the
statute was based “on a fundamentally mistaken
premise that high solicitation costs are an accurate

| 7

measure of fraud. That the statute in some of its
applications actually preventied] the misdirection of
funds from the organization’s purported charitable

goal [was] little more than fortuitous.” 467 U.S. at
966-67.

The Brookfield ordinance does not operate on a “fun-
damentally mistaken premise.” It was enacted based
on the premise that residential picketing harasses
those at home and presents substantial risks to public
safety. Brookfield, Wis., Gen. Code §9.17 (1985). It is
not “fortuitous” that this ordinance eliminates these
problems. The act of picketing before or about resi-
dences creates these problems; the ordinance elimi-
nates them.

Because the sweep of the Brookfield ordinance does
not encompass a substantial number of impermissible
applications, it should not be invalidated on over-
breadth grounds.

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, Amicus respectfully
urges that this Court reverse the decision of the
United States Court of Appeals for the Seventh Cir-

cuit.

Respectfully submitted,

ROY D. BATES
City Attorney

City Hall

P.O. Box 147
Columbia, SC 29217

WILLIAM H. TAUBE
Corporation Counsel
of Chebanse
359 E. Hickory
P.O. Box 51
Kankakee, IL 60901

MARVA JONES BROOKS
City Attorney

Department of Law

1100 Omni International
Atlanta, GA 30335

DOUGLAS N. JEWETT
City Attorney

Municipal Building

Tenth Floor, Law Department
Seattle, WA 98104

WILLIAM I. THORNTON, JR.

City Attorney
101 City Hall
Durham, NC 27701

ROGER F. CUTLER
City Attorney

Salt Lake City

324 S. State, 5th Floor
Salt Lake City, UT 84111

ROBERT J. ALFTON
City Attorney

A-1700 Hennepin County
Government Center
Minneapolis, MN 55487

JAMES K. BAKER
City Attorney

600 City Hall
Birmingham, AL 35203

JOSEPH N. deRAISMES
City Attorney

P.O. Box 791/1777 Broadway

Boulder, CO 80306

FRANK B. GUMMEY, III
City Attorney

City Hall, Suite 213

P.O. Box 551

Daytona Beach, FL 32015

ROBERT J. MANGLER
Corporation Counsel
1200 Wilmette Avenue
Wilmette, IL 60091

NEAL E. McNEILL
City Attorney

200 Civic Center
Room 316

Tulsa, OK 74103

ANALESLIE MUNCY
City Attorney

1500 Marilla

Room 7DN

Dallas, TX 75201

DANTE R. PELLEGRINI
City Solicitor

313 City-County Building
Pittsburgh, PA 15219

CLIFFORD D. PIERCE, JR.

City Attorney
Room 314, City Hall
Memphis, TN 38103

19

CHARLES S. RHYNE

Counsel of Record

BENJAMIN L. BROWN

JAN MAJEWSKI!

RACHEL S. ULLMAN

1000 Connecticut Avenue, N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20036

(202) 466-5424

Attorneys for National Institute
of Municipal Law Officers as
Amicus Curiae

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385012_0830%3A09. Public record. Not legal advice.
