# Appellees Brief — Board of Directors of Rotary International v. Rotary Club of Duarte

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385012_0821%3A12

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Appellees Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1986
- **Citation:** 479 U.S. 929

## Text

ccd. Veins tit > mile: Sea

| OD Ee ae Se

Ray le THE
Supreme Court of the Unit

OcToser Term. 1986

BOARD OF DIRECTORS OF
ROTARY INTERNATIONAL AND
ROTARY DISTRICT 530,
Appellants,
vs.

ROTARY CLUB OF DUARTE,
MARY LOU ELLIOT and
ROSEMARY FREITAG.

APPEAL FROM
THE COURT OF APPEAL OF CALIFORNIA
SECOND APPELLATE DISTRICT

APPELLEES’ BRIEF

CAROL AGATE
Counsel of Record

SANFORD K. SMITH

BLANCHE C. BERSCH

PAUL HOFFMAN

FRED OKRAND
ACLU Foundation of
Southern California
633 South Shatto Place
Los Angeles, CA 90005
(213) 487-1720

Attorneys for Appellees

Lawyers Brief Service / Legal Publishers / (213) 383-4457 / (714) 720-1510 \
\> )

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

Should the Court dismiss the appeal
because the record does not provide
an adequate basis upon which to
decide the questions posed by the
appellants?

Do the associational interests of a
large, public service organization
override the application of Cali-
fornia’s public accommodations sta-
tute?

Is the California public accommoda-

tions law unconstitutionally vague

or overbroad?

TABLE OF CONTENTS

PAGE
QUESTIONS PRESENTED .......24.2-. i
SABLE OF CONTENTS ... sc cvecee Si
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES ........ iv
JORSGOECTION «ec cece es 0 * 6 ee

STATEMENT OF THE CASE ......24.24. 4

PROCEEDINGS . . * * * * * * * * * el al 12
SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT ........-. 16
ARGUMENT . * * . * * * * * * * * al * 2 &

I. INTERNATIONAL'S ASSOCIATIONAL
INTERESTS DO NOT CVERRIDE CALI-
FORNIA'S PUBLIC ACCOMMODATIONS
LAW. . . . . . . . * . * 7 * * * 23

A. International's Association-
al Activities Are Not of an
Intimate Nature ....... 3l

1. International is not
GMBESe «© 6 c @ 8s 6S eee

2. International is not
Ot te ee |

3. International is not
secluded from others
in the community ..... 38

B. International's Associational
Activities Are Not of an Ex-
pressive Nature ....... 40

ii.

RR

C. California Has a Compelling
Interest in Eliminating Sex
Discrimination. ....... 50

II. IF THE LOCAL CLUBS WERE COVERED
BY THE UNRUH ACT THEIR ASSOCIA-
TIONAL INTERESTS WOULD NOT BE
VIOLATED . . «© © © © © © © «© «© « 65

A. International's Vagueness
and Overbreadth Arguments
Were Not Timely Presented
to the California Courts. .. 76

B. The Unruh Act Is Not Un-
constitutionally Vague. ... 77

1. International has no
standing to raise its
vagueness argument... . 79

2. The term "arbitrary" has
a clear meaning under
the Act. . «- «© © «© © « « « 80

3. The term “business es-
tablishment" has a clear
meaning under the Act and
Sm @pee lew. .« « «© © «© co cc CBE

Cc. The Unruh Act Is Not Uncon-

stitutionally Overbroad. .. 89

IV. CERTIORARI SHOULD NOT BE
GRANTED . . . . . . . . . . . . . Si) e
CONCLUSION ..-«-+«-e«e 2 © © © «© «© L02

APPENDIX: SUPERIOR COURT ORDER AND
JUDGMENT, DATED SEPT. 16 1986

MINUTE ORDER IN CURRAN v.
MOUNT DIABLO COUNCIL,
DATED JULY 25, 2985

iii.

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

PAGES
CASES

Alcorn v. Anbro Engineering, Inc.,
2 Cal. 3d 493, 468 P.2d 216, 86
Cas. Mper. GBB CA978) . « ew wc ec eo e BI

Black v. Cutter Laboratories, 351
U.S. 292 (1956) ie 6s 68-6 « « Se

Broadrick v. Oklahoma, 413 U.S. 601
95, 96, 97

Brown v. Loudon Golf & Country Club,
573 f. Supp. 399 (E.D. Va. 1983)
45, 71, 72

Cain v. French, 25 Cal. App. 499,
66: 7s Dee Caeeer @«@6¢6ee eee FE

Charleston Federal Saving & Loan
Association v. Alderson, 324 U.S.
182 (1985) . . . . . . . . . . . . 3

Clay v. Sun Insurance Office, Ltd.,
377 U.S. 179 (1964) Tee cine c &

Commonwealth Human Relations Commis-
sion v. Loyal Order of Moose,
Lodge No. 107, 448 Pa. 451, 294
A.2a 594, appeal dismissed 409
Vee BUGS CEevar csc sc ee eee ew ee

Connally v. General Construction Co.,
269 U.S. 365 (1926) ..«-s« ec «© « «

Cornelius v. Benevolent Protective
Order of the Elks, 382 F. Supp.
1182 (DBD. Comm. 1974) . «© «© «© «© e « 74

iv.

ital

Curran v. Mount Diablo Council of the
Boy Scouts of America, 147 Cal.
App. 3d 712, 195 Cal. Rptr. 325
(1983) . ~ «© « «© « « « 87, 88, 92,

Fernandez v. Wynn Oil Co., 653 F.2d
1273 (9th Cir. 1981) . «© «© « « « »

Frontiero v. Richardson, 411 U.S.
677 (1973) _ > . . . . . > > . >. >.

Godchaux Co. v. Estopinal, 251 U.S.
179 (1919) . >. . . . >. . > . om 76,

Grayned v. City of Rockford, 408
U.S. 104 (1972) . . . . . . . . .

Hanson v. Denckla, 357 U.S. 235
(1958) . >. . >. . >. 7: . . >. . > . o

Harry Gill Co. v. Superior Court,
238 Cal. App. 2d. 666, 48 Cal.
Rptr. 93 (1965) . «© «© «© «© © © « «

Hensley v. Eckerhart, 461 U.S. 424
(1983) . . . . . . . . . . . . .

Hishon v. King & Spalding, 467 U.S.
69 (1984) o © « « 29, 39, 40, 45,

Hoffman Estates v. Flipside, Hoffman
Estates, 455 U.S. 489 (1982) 79,

In re Cox, 3 Cal. 3d 205, 474 P.2da
992, 90 Cal. Rptr. 24 (1970)
83, 85,

93

49

19

77

78

13

94

98

96

Isbister v. Boys' Club of Santa Cruz,
707 P.2da 212,

40 Cal.

Cal. Rptr. 150 (1985)

3d 72,

219

20, 81, 85, 86, 88, 90, 91,

Koire v. Metro Car Wash, 40 Cal. 3d
24, 707 P.2d 195, 219 Cal. Rptr.
133 (1985)

Los Angeles Department of Water &

Power v. Manhart, 435 U.S. 702

(1978)

Marina Point v. Wolfson, 30 Cal. 3d
721, 640 P.2d 115, 180 Cal. Rptr.
496 (1982)

80,

Marsh v. Edwards Theatre Circuit,
Inc., 64 Cal. App. 3d 881, 134 Cal.
Rptr. 844 (1976)

81,

Mississippi University for Women v.
Hogan, 458 U.S. 718 (1982) ...

Moore v. City of East Cleveland, 431

U.S.

Moose Lodge, No. 107 v. Irvis, 407
163 (1972)

U.S.

494 (1977)

NAACP v. Alabama ex rel. Patterson,
357 U.S.

449 (1958)

National Organization for Women v.
Little League Baseball, 127 N.J.
Super. 522, 318 A.2d 33 (1974) ..

Nesmith v. YMCA, 367 F.2d 96 (4th
1968)

Cir.

New York v.

(1982)

Ferber,

45,

458 U.S.

67,

747

71,

92

55

82

85

83

31

75

46

54

72

95

Norwood v. Harrison, 415 U.S. 455
(1973) . . > . . . . . >. . . . + . 40

O'Connor v. Village Green Owners
Association, 33 Cal. 3d 790, 662
P.2d 427, 191 Cal. Rptr. 320
(1983) ..- «eee eee eevee 89

Order of Travelers v. Wolfe,
331 U.S. 586 (1947) . ++ ++ «+ « 80

Orloff v. Los Angeles Turf Club, 36
Cal. 2a 734, 227 P.2d 449 (1951) 81

Pearson v. Northwest Airlines, Inc.
309 F.2d 553 (2d Cir. 1962) eo « « 89

Pines v. Tomson, 160 Cal. App. 3d
370, 206 Cal. Rptr. 866 (1984). . 56

Pruneyard Shopping Center v. Robins,
447 U.S. 74 (1980) . . . . . . . . 56

Radio WOW v. Johnson, 326 U.S. 120
(1945) . . . . . . 7. . . . . . . . 76

Railway Mail Association v. Corsi,
326 U.S. 88 (1945) « + «© «© © © «© « 30

Richards v. United States, 369 U.S.
l, 15 (1962) > > . . . . . . . . 80

Richmond Newspapers, Inc. Vv.
Virginia, 448 U.S. 555 (1980) . . 2

Roberts v. United States Jaycees,
468 U.S. 609 (1984) «++ « passim

Ross v. Forest Lawn Memorial Park,
1.3 Cal. App. 3d 988, 203 Cal.
Rptr. 468 . . . . > . . . oe . . . 83

vii.

Rotary Club of Duarte v. Board of
Directors, 178 Cal. App. 3d
1035 (1986) ......2++-s+-. passim

Runyon v. McCrary, 427 U.S. 160
(1976) . . . . . . * . 7 . . . . . 30

Sail'er Inn, Inc. v. Kirby, 5 Cal. 3d
1, 20 485 P.2d 529, 95 Cal. Rptr.
oe Guevae eee ee eee eee se COS

Sierra Club v. Morton, 405 U.S. 27
(1972) . . > . _ . . . . . . . . . 99

Smith v. Organization of Foster
Families, 431 U.S. 816 (1977) ° « 32

Stoumen v. Reilly, 37 Cal.2d 713,
234 P.2d 969 (1951) eeeeeee BS

Thornhill v. Alabama, 310 U.S. 88
(1939) > > . * . . = >. . >. . . . > 95

Tillman v. Wheaton-Haven Recreation
Association, 410 U.S. 431 (1973)
36, 38, 53, 88

United States v. Trustees of the
Fraternal Order of Eagles, 472
F. Supp. 1174 (E.D. Wis. 1979) 71, 72

United States v. Slidell Youth
Football Association, 387 F. Supp.
474 (E.D. La. 1974) bee edcee se

United States Jaycees v. McClure,
709 F.2d 1560 (8th Cir. 1983) ... 44

United States Jaycees v. McClure,
305 N.W.2d 764 (Minn. 1981) 41, 44, 64

viii.

United States Power Squacrons v.
State Human Rights Appeal Board,
59 N.Y¥.2d 401, 452 N.E.2d 1199,
465 N.Y.S.2d 8671 (1983) .. +. 36, 37

Village of Belle Terre v. Boraas,
416 U.S. 1 (1974) . «26 «© «© © © «© « 34

Watts v. Indiana, 338 U.S. 49 (1949) 64

Wengler v. Druggists Mutual Insurance
Co., 446 U.S. 142 (1980) ...++ +. 35

Wright v. Cork Club, 315 F. Supp.
1143 (S.D. Tex. 1970) . «+++ + 45

Wright v. Salisbury Club, Ltd.,
632 F.2d 309 (4th Cir. 1980) ... 71

Wynn v. Monterey Club, 111 Cal. App.

3a 789, 168 Cal. Rptr. 878 (1980) 83
STATUTES
26 U.S.C. §274(a) (2) ~. «© «© «© «© «© «© « 60
28 U.S.C. $1257(2) -. © «© «© © «© «© « 2 A?
28 U.S.C. §1257(3) . ~ «© «© «© © © © © & 3
42 U.S.C. §§2000e et seq. (Title VII

of the Civil Rights Act of 1964)

39, 49

California Civil Code §51 (The
Unruh Civil Rights Act) ... . passim

ix.

RULES

California Rules of Court,
Rule 29(b) (1) “a a a

SECONDARY AUTHORITIES

Avner & Bacharach, Let's Make a

N.Y. St. B.J., Oct. 1965, p. 12 .

’

Bartlette, Poulton, Callahan,

Somers, :

Back, Mgmt. Wkly., Nov. 8, 1982

Burns, The Exclusion of Women from
influential Men's Clubs: The

, 18 Harv. C.R.-C.L.

L. Rev. 321 (1983) ...
1 Gale, Encyclopedia of

Associations (2lst ed. 1987) ..

1 Gale, Encyclopedia of

Associations (15th ed. 1980) ..

Ginsburg, Women as Full Members of

ideal, 6 Hum. Rts. 1 (1975) ..

Jost, Judges Make Private Clubs a

, L.A. Dly. J.,
Sept. 22, 1986, Pp. 2, col. 4...

Schefrau,

(No Women Need Apply), Women &
Found./Corp. Philanthropy (1981)

Stern, Gressman & Shapiro,
Court Practice" (6th ed.

“Supreme
1986)

2,

76

64

64

44

65

65

3

Willard, “Roberts v. United States

Jaycees and the Affirmatio., of
State Authority to Prohibit Sex
Discrimination in Public Accommo-
Activity, the Exercise of Expres-

," 38 Rutgers L.

of Discrimination
. Parra

Note, 33 U. Kan. L. Rev. 771 (1985)

xi.

62

62

No. 86-421

os Ga eer ee tatey ela

ee a ae

IN THE SUPREME COURT
OF THE UNITED STATES

OCTOBER TERM 1986

BOARD OF DIRECTORS OF ROTARY INTERNA-
TIONAL AND ROTARY DISTRICT 530,

Appellants,
Vv.

ROTARY CLUB OF DUARTE, MARY LOU ELLIOT
and ROSEMARY FREITAG.

APPELLEES’ BRIEF

JURISDICTION
This Court has no jurisdiction

over this appeal. The issue of the
validity of the California public accom-
modations law (the "Urruh Act") as being

repugnant to the Constitution of the

-l-

United States was not drawn into ques-
tion in the proceedings below, as re-
guired by 28 U.S.C. sec mn 1257(2).
The quotations on pages 3 and 4 of
appellants’ ("International") brief
demonstrate that they did not question
the validity of the Unruh Act in the
manner necessary to invoke this Court's

appellate jurisdiction under that sec-

tion. See, e.g. Richmond Newspapers,
Inc. v. Virginia, 448 U.S. 555, 562 n.4

(1980); Hanson vy. Denckla, 357 U.S. 235,
244 (1958); Stern, Gressman & Shapiro,

"Supreme Court Practice" 113 (6th ed.
1986).

International argued in the courts
below that its federal rights prevented
the application of the statute to it,
not that application of the statute to
its set of facts would render the stat-
ute void under federal law.

@2-

Charleston Federal Savings & Loan

Association v. Alderson, 324 U.S. 182
(1945), quoted by International [at 4-

5], supports appellees ("Duarte"), not
International. As Stern, Gressman &
Shapiro states, citing Alderson in
support,

“(Ij}t is necessary for appeal
purposes that the litigant make
specific and plain in the state
court his contention that the
application of the statute to
his particular circumstances
would make the statute void
under federal law. If he choos-
es not to phrase his claim in
that manner but argues instead
that his federal rights prevent
application of the state statute
to him, an adverse decision
amounts to a denial of his
assertion of federal rights
rather than a validation of the
state statute, and review can be

had in the Supreme Court only

via certiorari under §1257(3)."

At 113.
That is the case here.}

STATEMENT OF THE CASE
Rotary International is a public

service organization [Joint Appendix
("J.A.") 35) of 19,788 clubs? in 157
countries. [Appellants' brief ("app.
br.") 7) Im 1982 the total individual
membership for all of the clubs was
907,750. [[¢.}) The average size is
therefore 46 members, with a range from
fewer than 20 members to more than 900.
[Appendix to Jurisdictional Statement

(".S. App.") G-15}

lIf the Court agrees, as we believe
it should, that jurisdiction does not
lie, we urge that certiorari not be
granted. This matter is argued more
fully at point IV of this brief.

“Rotary has since grown to over
21,000 clubs. 1 Gale, Encyclopedia of
Associations 1053 (21st ed. 1987).

-4-

~a + te ell

ee ee ee ae -. ae «

A fundamental principle of Inter-
national is that the local clubs are
substantially autonomous. [J.A. 35)
Members join Rotary through the local
clubs [{J.A. 79] and each club drafts
its own by-laws, which include the
method it uses to enlarge its member-
ship. [J.A. 88; exh. A-3 to deposition
of Herbert A. Pigman, International's
general secretary, 1981 Manual of
Procedure ("Manual") 315 (see J.S. App.
G-6-8)}] Altnough International has
recommended procedures for admitting
new members (as detailed in its brief
at 7-8), it does not require the clubs
to abide by these requirements. [J.S.
App. G-18)

Individual clubs do not have any
authority over the admission to mem-
bership of new clubs in Rotary Inter-
national. The members of the clubs have

-5-

no authority over who may become
members of the other clubs. [J.A. 53)
While the admission of new clubs is
nominally within the authority of the
i7?7-man board of directors [Manual
247), it is International's general
secretary who actually decides which
ones are admitted. [J.A. 53]

When clubs become affiliated with
International, there are certain mini-
mal rules they are obliged to follow.
These rules include having only busi-
ness, crafts and professional men as
members [J.A. 35, 61], meeting once a
week [Manual 303}, and acceptina at
their meetings any Rotarians v. .t.ng
from other clubs. [J.A. 85] They are
also required to use International's
Classification system [J.A. 86-88;

Manual 239-40, 303-04}, which in theory

ieee a eet

limits membership to one person per
profession, business or craft classifi-
cation. [7.A. 61; Manual 240) Clubs
must charge new members an admission
fee of at least $20 and annual dues of
at least $25. [J.A. 51] Finally, both
International and the local clubs are
prohibited from taking any political
or religious positions. [J.A. 59;
Manual 309; S.J. App. G-47, 65)
International continually strives
for growth, both in the number of clubs
([J.A. 50-54; J.S. App. G-33; Manual
292} and within each individual club.
[J.A. 61-66, 70-73] International's
board of directors has a duty to ex-
teng Rotary throughout the world by the
organization of new clubs. [Manual 292)
Clubs are grouped into districts, with
a district governor in charge of each
one. [J.A. 48] District governors are

-J=-

expected to organize a Rotary Club in
every community. [Id.] An objective of
Rotary International is to include in
each local club a representative from
every business, profession and insti-
tution in the community, and the dis-
trict governors are also expected to
help each club fill these membership
objectives. [J.A. 36] There is no upper
limit to the size of a club. [J.A. 61-
62)

Rotary International's wide-rang-
ing activities include a secretariat of
300 persons with offices in six coun-
tries [J.A. 36] and 403 district gover-
nors worldwide. [J.S. App. G-14) Its
business operations run into millions
of dollars a year [J.A. 52, 56, 67, 74-
75; Manual 297; J.S. App. G-5) and it
maintains a busy publishing house,
“producing books, manuals, pamphlets,

ee

le ee

and periodicals" in as many as 19
languages [J.A. 83} and numbering in
the hundreds. [J.S. App. G-5)

Public relations is used to
achieve growth. International and the
clubs publicize their activities. [J.A.
22-23, 41-42, 46, 49, 60, 64, 70-73,
95-96] Signs are hung by the road to
announce Rotary's presence in town.
[J.A. 44] The number of media represen-
tatives who may be members is unlimited
(J.A. 88], and local clubs are encour-
aged to have full representation of
the press on their rosters. [J.A. 40)
Clubs are asked to have non-Rotarians
at their meetings to inform the commu-
nity about Rotary [J.A. 25, 39, 66-67)
and are urged to provide speakers about
Rotary to other groups. [J.A. 40] They
are to inform the public what Rotarians
are doing in the community [J.A. 42)

and try to have their weekly meetings
reported in the local press. [J.A. 71}
Clubs have joint meetings with other
service clubs [J.A. 39] and community
organizations. [J.A. 42] The general
public is involved in Rotary activi-
ties. [J.A. 41-43, 77]

Internaticnal licenses commercial
firms to use its official emblem and
receive royalties for the use. [J.A.
67] International's magazine, "The
Rotarian" (exh. F to Pigman depo-
sition; J.S. App. G-43], solicits
commercial advertising [J.A. 74] and
is sold to libraries, hospitals,
schools and other reading rooms.
(Manual 319) An annual directory is
published "(fjor the convenience of
Rotarians who travel," listing hotels
owned or operated by Rotarians. [J.A.
75)

-10-

It is common practice for members
of local clubs to deduct their dues
from their income tax:s or to have the
dues paid by their companies. [J.-S.
App. C-25-26; R.T. 68-69; J.A. 34)
International encourages local clubs
to have members give “confidential
business advice and assistance to
Rotarians who may request such help"
and urges clubs to provide cl‘nics for
discussing economic probiems. [J.A.
40) It issues publications that illus-
trate business problems and their
solutions [J.A. 24] and holds meetings
at which Rotarians learn management
techniques that help increase their
business or professional skills. [J.A.
14]

Although International's rules
prohibit the admission of women into
local clubs, women do participate in

-ll-

Rotary activities. [J.A. 44-45, 68)
They attend meetings [J.A. 25, 39, 67),
and young women 14 to 28 years old may
join Interact or Rotaract, organiza-
tions sponsored by International.
(Manual 193. 198, 204) International
encourages the participation of women
relatives of Rotarians in "ladies
committees" and other associations of
women relatives of Rotarians [J.A. 44-
45, 68), and these women are authorized
to wear the Rotary lapel button. [J.A.
68)
PROCEEDINGS

In 1977, the Rotary Club of Duarte
("Duarte") admitted women into its
organization. Subsequently, Rotary
International and its District 530 or-
Gered Duarte to expel its women mem-
bers. When Duarte refused, Interna-
tional expelled the club itsel¢s. {[J.s.

App. C-7-8)
-12-

ral

~~. eee sd

After following International's
internal appeal procedures to no avail,
Duarte and its women members filed this
lawsuit charging International with
violating, inter alia, the Unruh Civil
Rights Act, California Civil Code
section 51. [J.S. App. C-8]

At the trial there were no disput-
ed facts relating to the issues raised
in this appeal.? The Los Angeles Supe-
rior Court held that International had
not violated the Act.‘ The California

3The only facts in dispute related
to an estoppe’ cause of action which was

not appealed.

4The findings of fact Internation-
al ascribes to the trial court [see,
e.g., app. br. 6, 9, 10, 1l, 12) were
legal conclusions based on uncontested
facts. An appellate court is not bound
by a trial court's "findings" when there
is no conflicting evidence presented.
Harry Gill Co. v. Superior Court, 238
Cal. App. 2d 666, 670, 707 P.2da 195, 48
Cal. Rptr. 93 (1965).

Court of Appeal reversed, 178 Cal.
App. 34 1035, 224 Cal. Rptr. 213 (1986)
[J.S. App. C), holding that the appli-
cation of International's male-only
rule to Duarte violates the Unruh Act.

The court of appeal later modi-
fied its opinion by revising its ear-
lier statement that "the membership
criteria set forth by International

- is selective... ." [Cited at
app. br. 9 and appearing at J.S. App.
C-35) In the modified opinion, that
quotation was deleted and replaced by
the statement: "While the classifica-
tion principle .. . might at first
blush appear to be selectiv2, Rotary's

own literature dispels this notion."5
[J.S. App. C-1)

International petitioned for
rehearing in the California Court of
Appeal. That petition was rejected, as
was International's petition for re-
‘iew in the California Supreme Court.
[J.S. App. D] On June 23, 1986, the
court of appeal granted a 30-day stay
of execution of its judgment. On July
18, 1986, the court denied a further

stay.
On July 25, 1986, (then) Justice

Rehnquist also denied a stay. Thereaf-
ter, on September 16, 1986, pursuant to

the judgment of the court of appeal

Sas a consequence, contrary to
International's brief, the court of
appeal did not say membership is
selective.

[J.S. App. C-40-41), the trial court
issued a judgment
“mandating the Board of Direc-
tors of Rotary International and
Rotary District 530 to reinstate
- « « Duarte's charter... and
permanently enjoin[ing them)
from enforcing or attempting to
enforce its male-only membership
restriction against Rotary Club
of Duarte.” See attached appen-
dix, pp- 1-2.
On November 3, 1986, this Court
postponed jurisdiction and accepted
the case for briefing and argument.
SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT
Large public service organizations
like Rotary International are subject
to the non-discrimination requirements
of California's public accommodations
law. Under that law, International may
not exclude women from the advantages
of membership in Rotary. This inter-
pretation of the Unruh Act has been

established by the California courts

and may not be challenged in this
Court.

In the courts below, Duarte did
not seek an order compelling any local
Rotary Club to admit women as members.
Instead, they sought to prevent Inter-
national from requiring it to exclude
women.©® The judgment below is limited
solely to the relief sought, leaving
open the issue of whether local Rotary
clubs in California must admit women.

International has submitted a
brief based on the assumption that the
lower court judgment applies the Unruh

SBecause this case was litigated in
this context the record is wholly inade-
quate to consider whether the First
Amendment would prevent the application
of the Unruh Act to local Rotary clubs.
For this reason, this Court should not
exercise its certiorari jurisdiction if
it finds, as it should, that no juris-
diction exists under 28 U.S.C. §1257(2).

See §IV, infra.

Act to all local Rotary clubs in Cali-
fornia, while ignoring the actual
nature of the judgment below. There-
fore, appellees have responded to this
hypothetical case in the event this
Court decides to consider that issue.
However, the real issue is whether
California may prevent International
from imposing its discriminatory man-
date on local Rotary clubs in Califor-
nia that choose to associate with
women.

Rotary International is not the
kind of organization that requires
constitutional protection from state
public accommodations laws. It is a
huge operation with a great many busi-
ness-like attributes. It is a signifi-
cant force in communities across the
United States and is a forum in which
members receive significant business

-18-

a

and professional advantages. Indeed,
the record in this case supports the
conclusion that men join Rotary in
large part to obtain these advantages,
while also joining in the public serv-
ice goals of Rotary.

International's male-only policy
is a vestige of the turn of this centu-
ry when Rotary was founded. There were
few women community or business leaders
in that era because of the stereotypi-
cal thinking about women and overt
discrimination against them’ which this
Court has decried in many opinions.
See, e.g., Frontiero v. Richardson, 411
U.S. 677 (1973). International seeks to

elevate its discriminatory practices

7Even International's Board of
Directors has recognized that the male-
only rule has no place in a modern
world. [Exh. F to Pigman deposition 50)

-l|9-

into an issue of fundamental constitu-
tional principles of freedom of associ-
ation. However, these claims trivialize
those principles.

The state interests embodied in
California's Unruh Act are indisputably
compelling, as this Court unequivocally
recognized in Roberts v. United States
Jaycees, 468 U.S. 609, 623 (1984). The
elimination of unjustified and discrim-
inatory barriers to the full and equal
participation of women in community
life is a major objective of government
at the local, state and national level.
The Unruh Act is intended to be as
sweeping an instrument to eradicate
such barriers as the United States
Constitution will allow. Isbister v.
Boys' Club of Santa Cruz, Inc., 40
Cal. 3d 72, 707 P.2d 212, 219 Cal.

Rptr. 150 (1985). In our consti-

ee Soe ee ae ee

ee ee ee

en ee ee

tutional scheme states retain the right
to pursue a vision of equality in com-
munity life beyond that which is re-
quired by the Fourteenth Amendment.
Pruneyard Shopping Center v. Robins,
447 U.S. 74, 81 (1980).

Moreover, California has pursued
its compelling interest in gender
equality in a content-neutral manner
which is least disruptive of the rights
of non-governmental organizations to
operate as they choose. International
has not been singled out for any reason
other than its attempt to mandate gen-
der discrimination in the Rotary Club
of Duarte. The simple command of the
Unruh Act is that the blanket exclusion
of women from participation in large
public service organizations cannot be
sustained without a justification
peculiar to the specific goals, struc-

-21-

ture and’ operation of the organi-
zation. In the case of Rotary, the
court of appeal found no such justifi-
cation. [J.S. App. C-37}

California's content-neutral in-
terest in gender equality must be
weighed against International's inter-
est in freedom of association. The
spectre presented by International, of
big government forcing the entry of
women into cloistered little Rotary
Clubs across the country, cannot be
squared with reality or the record in
this case.

There is no dispute that the
members of local Rotary clubs have
interests which trigger some degree of
First Amendment scrutiny. However,
International's desire to hold on to
its blanket male-only rule implicates
these interests only in the most atten-

-22-

Cee ee ee ee ee ee eee oe

vated manner. International itself, of
course, has no meaningful First Amend-
ment associational interests. It is an
organization of local clubs and thus
has no human members with such inter-
ests. Thus, International seeks to
assert the associational interests of
persons not involved in these proceed-
ings.

Whether this Court evaluates the
character of the asserted associational
interests from the standpoint of the
impersonal, theoretical interests In-
ternational possesses or the hypotheti-
cal local Rotary club members Interna-
tional seeks to represent, the charac-
ter of the asserted interests does not
qualify for constitutional protection.

At no level of Rotary is the
organization “intimate” in the sense
described by the line of cases relied

-23-

upon by this Court in Roberts. There
are no doubt groups of men or women in
our society who seek an oasis from
public life in the form of small pri-
vate clubs, but Rotary is not built
upon this premise. The whole concept of
Rotary is to create in each community

a growing cadre of community leaders
who are active and involved in communi-
ty and business life. Rotary clubs are
not the intensely personal, private
associations that provide the kind of
interpersonal relationships found in
family life. International's claim of

a right of associational intimacy has
as little merit as the similar claim by
the Jaycees, rejected in Roberts.

The fact that local Rotary clubs
appear to choose their members with
“selectivity” does not modify this con-
clusion. First, there is no evidence in

-24-

te, rm mg ~

the record that local Rotary clubs jin
fact choose their members in a selec-
tive manner. Each one chooses its menm-
bers in its own way. Even the form of
selectivity that International claims
is involved in this case is not the
same form of selectivity which suggests
the kind of intimate relationships
worthy of constitutional protection.
There is a wide range of relationships
which have a degree of intimacy. But
constitutional protection for intimacy
has been reserved for a small core of
human relationships, primarily those
resembling families. Roberts, 468 U.S.
at 619. International's proposed expan-
sion of this core would severely under-
mine the pursuit of equality in our
society and should be rejected.
Similarly, International's asser-
tion of expressive associational inter-

-25-

ests must be rejected. In this area,
this is a much easier case than Ro-
berts. The Jaycees take political
positions and engage in publi debate,
actions prohibited by International's
rules. Those rules do not allow the
kind of expressive activities to which
this Court has offered constitutional
protection over the years. The purpose
of Rotary is to perform public service
in @ non-political, non-ideological
manner. Even if these activities
contain a kernel of expression in a
First Amendment sense, the character
of these interests is clearly tan-
gential to the core concerns of Rotary.
Moreover, the judgment below per-
mitting the Rotary Club of Duarte to
admit women as members barely touches
upon, much less impairs, such expres-
sive activities. Women are already per-

-26-

mitted to participate in a wide range
of Rotary activities as non-members. It
is difficult to perceive what the
impact of the California Court of
Appeal's judgment on International's
expressive interests could possibly be.
International's brief before this Court
identifies no credible injury to such
interests.

The cases and principles relied
upon by International arise most often
in the context of this Court offering
essential constitutional protection for
the disadvantaged and minorities. Al-
though these are neutral principles
applicable to all groups, the applica-
tion of these constitutional principles
to International would shield the
assertion of power and privilege in a
manner that is unwarranted and de-
structive of legitimate state author-

-27-

ity in pursvit of the goal of equality
in our society.

International's vagueness and
overbreadth arguments similarly trivi-
alize those doctrines. The Unruh Act
has been in existence for decades and
there is an extensive body of case law
interpreting it. International cannot
seriously contend that organizations
in California have no notice of its
meaning. The Act is well within the
range of clarity of language and mean-
ing which raises no serious constitu-
tional vagueness question.

Nor is the Unruh Act substantially
overbroad. There is no evidence that
the California courts have ever inter-
preted the Act to reach constitution-
ally protected activity. The California
courts have carefully considered First
Amendment defenses raised by Urvuh Act

-28-

defendants and have insisted that the
Act be interpreted to satisfy constitu-
tional requirements. In these circum-
stances the "strong medicine” of the
overbreadth doctrine should not be
applied even if the Court finds, as it
should not, that the Act might have
some application to constitutionally
protected activity.
ARGUMENT
I. INTERNATIONAL'S ASSOCIATIONAL
INTERESTS DO NOT OVERRIDE CALIFOR-
NIA'S PUBLIC ACCOMMODATIONS LAW.

International's freedom of associ-
ation arguments have been answered by
this Court in Roberts v. United States
Jaycees, 468 U.S. 609 (1984), and Hish-

on v. King & Spalding, 467 U.S. 69
(1984). International fails to demon-

strate how the court of appeal's judg-

ment threatens anyone's associational

interests. This Court has held that
-29-

when associational rights are claimed
in defense of discrimination, the
challenge must fail unless such a
threat is shown. See, e.g., Runyon v.
McCrary, 427 U.S. 160, 176 (1976);
Railway Mail Association v. Corsi, 326
U.S. 88, 96 (1945).

In Roberts, a local chapter of the
Jaycees admitted women. Thereafter, the
national organization imposed sanc-
tions upon it. Jd. at 614. The United
States Jaycees argued that Minnesota's
attempt to impose its public accommoda-
tions act upon it violated its right to
freedom of association. Id. at 615.

This Court rejected that argument,
explaining that freedom of association
exists in two forms: intimate associa-
tion and expressive association. What-
ever freedom of association interests
were implicated by the application of

-30-

the Minnesota law to the Jaycees, they

did not outweigh the state's compelling
interest in protecting its women resi-

dents from discrimination.

A. International's Associa-
tional Activities Are Not

of an Intimate Nature.
Relationships that are entitled to

freedom of intimate association

“are distinguished by such
attributes as relative small-

ness, a hi —— of selec-
tivity in Cole ons to begin and
maintain the affiliation, and
seclusion from others in criti-

cal aspects of the relationship.
Roberts at 620.

These criteria were drawn from the
Court's cases which recognize a degree
of constitutional sanctuary for the
intimacy of family relationships and
other reletionships which are akin to
family relationships. See, e.g., Moore

v. City of East Cleveland, 43: U.S.
494, 503-04 (1977) (cohabitation with

-3l-

relatives); Smith v. Organization of

Foster Families, 431 U.S. 816 (1977)
(raising and educating children). The

intensity and “distinctly personal"
aspects of such relationships were
central to the scope of constitutional

protection afforded to then.

The Jaycees were “outside of the
category of relationships worthy of
this kind of constitutional protec-
tion.” Roberts at 620. International's
characteristics place it, too, outside

the scope of constitutional protection.

1. International is not
small.

With a total membership in 1982 of
907,750 Rotarians in 19,788 local
clubs, International is three times
larger than the Jaycees, which had
295,000 members in 7,400 chapters.

Roberts at 613.

* Geer? —

International has a staff of 300,
with offices in six countries. It oper-
ates a multi-million dollar business
and maintains a sizeable publishing
house.

A basic policy of International is
to have the greatest possible growth.
It has extension programs dedicated to
forming new clubs. District governors
are expected to try to organize a Ro-
tary Club in every community and to
fill as many of each club's classifica-
tions as possible. An organization this
large and growth-oriented cannot claim
the right to intimate association.

This Court has held that the size
of an organization is one relevant fac-
tor in weighing associational rights.
However, in certain situations, even
members of a small and intimate group
may have their associational rights

-33-

give way in the face of a more compel-
ling state interest.

Thus, in Village of Belle Terre v.
Boraas, 416 U.S. 1 (1974), six persons
were living together in a single house
large enough to accommodate them. A
village ordinance prohibited more than
two unrelated persons from living and
cooking together in a household, al-
though there was no such prohibition
for persons related by blood, adoption
or marriage. The Court sustained the
ordinance on the ground that the zoning
power of the city sufficiently overcame
the individual rights of the occupants.

If groups as small and intimate as

those in Belle Terre may have their

-34-

associational rights® overridden by a
zoning ordinance, then certainly so
large and impersonal an organization as
International may not prevail in the
face of a state's effort to eradicate

sex discrimination.

2. International is not
selective.

The mere fact that an organization
is "selective" in its membership does
not mean that a state may not prohibit
it from discriminating in that selec-
tion. The question is whether the
selectivity is substantially related to
the objectives sought to be achieved.
Wengler v. Druggists Mutual Insurance
Co., 446 U.S. 142, 150 (1980). Thus,

8tThe Court stated, at 7, that the
right of association was not involved in
the record before it. Even so, the
Court's ruling impinged on the intimate
relationship of the people involved who
wanted to live together.

-35-

aaa aaa

for example, an organization may be so

selective that it is open only to endo-
crinologists. That does not mean it can
therefore exclude black or female endo-
crinologists, especially if its goal is
to include a broad spectrum of those in
the profession.

The reason “selectivity” is a
factor in cases such as this is that
the concept helps in determining wheth-
er the organization is “truly pri-

vate."9 As the court explained in

United States Power Squadrons v. State
Human Rights Appeal Board, 59 N.Y.2d

401, 412, 452 N.E.2d 1199, 465 N.Y.S.24
871 (1983), important in determining

whether an organization is "private,"

*This phrase is from this Court's
opinion in Tillman v. Wheaton-Haven
Recreation Association, Inc., 410 U.S.
431, 439 (1973)

—— — Sag. cue, ee es be «

is that the "membership is determined
by subjective, not objective criteria."

International accepts new clubs on
purely objective criteria. The essen-
tial qualification for a club to join
International is that it be in a conm-
munity with at least 40 occupational
categories, and have as members at
least 20 men from different businesses
or professions. [Exh. C to Pigman
deposition, Extension Manual; J.S.
App. G-20-22) The decision to admit a
new club is effectively made by only
one person, the general secretary. The
members of International have no say in
that decision.

The admission of individual men-
bers is done by the local clubs, not by
International, which does no selecting

at all.

-37-

3. International is not se-
cluded from others in the
community.

A club is entitled to associa-

tional protection against a civil

rights statute only if it is "truly

private." Tillman v. Wheaton-Haven
International is simply not "truly
private” within the meaning of the
constitutional protection for intimacy.

International puts itself forward,
actively, into community affairs. Its
clubs are urged to promote the Rotary
name and activities at every opportuni-
ty, seek unlimited members from the
local press, have non-Rotarians attend
meetings and send speakers about Rota-
ry to outside groups.

At international or regional meet-
ings held in convention halls, Interna-
tional expects that the rental and

-38-

other expenses will be paid by “the
city government, or the chamber of
commerce, tourist association or a
similar group.” [J.A. 46] With Rotary
signs at the entrance to cities and
towns all over the world, Interna-
tional is dedicated to calling public
attention to itself. These are not
marks of a “private,” secluded, non-
business organization.

Even an organization as secluded
as a law firm partnership may not use
its associational rights to excuse its
compliance with an anti-discrimination
law. In Hishon v. King & Spaiding, 467
U.S. 69 (1984), the question was wheth-
er the federal law against employment
discrimination, Title VI: of the Civil
Rights Act of 1964 (42 U.S.C. *§2000e
et seq.), prohibited a law firm from
discriminating in its partnership deci-

-39-

sions. This Court held that law firms
are not beyond the reach of Title VII,
repeating its earlier holding that

"(ijnvidious private discrim-
ination may be characterized as
a form of exercising freedom of
association protected by the
First Amendment, but it has
never been accorded affirmative
constitutional protections."

Hishon at 78, quoting Nogwood v.
Harrison, 413 U.S. 455, 470

(1973).
B. t ational's Associational
ctiviti ot x-
pressive Nature.

This Court should not consider the
issue of expressive association since
it was not raised below. Furthermore,
International has not explained in what
expressive associational activities it
is engaged.

In Roberts, this Court explained
the freedom of expressive association
as

“a right to associate for the
purpose of engaging in those

-40-

activities protected by the
First Amendment--speech, assem-
bly, petition for the redress of
grievances, and the exercise of
religion." 468 U.S. at 618.

Thus freedom of association is a
derivative right, applicable when it
aids in the exercise of an express
First Amendment right. No express First
Amendment right is involved here.

Even when a First Amendment right
is involved, freedom of association
does not necessarily override a public
accommodations law. In Roberts, this
Court held that the Jaycees' right to
expressive association did not override
the Minnesota law. The Jaycees, howev-
er, does engage in public expression.
It has taken stands on the draft,
school funding, the Vietnam War and
pornography, among other issues.
United States Jaycees v. McClure, 709
F.2d 1560 (8th Cir. 1983).

As for Rotary International, there
is no possible issue of infringement on
its exercise of free speech or reli-
gion, since its policy specifically
prohibits it or its clubs from taking
any political or religious positions.
(Manual 161) Thus this case raises no
issue of infringement of expressive
rights.

In its struggle to distinguish
itself from the Jaycees, International
notes that women were invited to par-
ticipate in the Jaycees' activities,
while on the other hand, Rotary has no
official women's affiliates. (App. br.

20)

However, women do participate in
Rotary activities. There are organiza-
tions of women auxiliary to local
clubs. To be sure, "formal official,
legal recognition" [J.A. 68] is not

-42-

given to these organizations, but
their presence and assistance is en-
couraged and commended by Internation-
al's board. Members of these committees
are authorized to wear the Rotary lapel
button. There is also no ban on women
attending meetings or being speakers.
There are also women and girls in
International's youth and young adult
Clubs, called Interact (for 14 to 18
year-olds) and Rotaract (18 to 28).
Whatever might be the extent of women's
participation in Rotary, in the Jay-
cees, as associate members, they
accounted for only 2% of the

membership. Roberts at 613.1°

10wnile International tries to show
how dissimilar it is from the Jaycees,
it also argues how much like Kiwanis it
is. [App. br. 21] That is because of
this Court's passing reference to "the
Kiwanis Club" in Roberts. At 630. That
reference was based on an illustrative

-43-

International's argument that
Duarte bears the burden of justifying
the application of the Unruh Act to In-

ternational [app. br. 46] is not well

remark by the Minnesota Supreme Court as
to "the Kiwanis International Organiza-
tion." United States Jaycees v. McClure,
305 N.W.2da 764, 771 (Minn. 1981).
Neither in that court, in the federal
courts, 534 F. Supp. at 773 and 709 F.
2d at 1577, nor in this Court was there
sufficient evidence upon which to judge
the real nature of Kiwanis. The evidence
consisted merely of Kiwanis Internation-
al's constitution and by-laws, a roster
of the Minneapolis club members, and a
thumbnail sketch of the International
from 1 Gale, Encyclopedia of Associa-
tions (15th ed. 1980) [Roberts, appel-
lants' brief 27] The most that can be
said, as this Court did, is that there
exists "a formal procedure for choosing
members on the basis of specific and
selective criteria." There is no evi-
dence as to whether the procedure is
actually followed. [See cases cited
infra.]) Nor is there evidence of whether
there are any of the other considera-
tions mentioned by this Court in
Roberts, at 620, which would guide a
court in deciding which rights--the
anti-discrimination or the associa-
tional--should prevail.

-44-

taken. The one who discriminates bears
the burden of proving the justification
for the discrimination. As this Court
said in Roberts, "The Jaycees have
failed to demonstrate that the Act im-
poses any serious burdens on the male
members' freedom of expressive associa-
tion.” 468 U.S. at 626. Similarly, in
Hishon, "(The law firm] has not shown
how its ability to fulfill [the duties
of a lawyer] would be inhibited by a
requirement that it consider petitioner
for partnership on her merits.” 467 U.S.
at 626. This confirmed what lower courts

had held. See, @.G-r Nesmith Vv. YMCA,

397 F.2d 96 (4th Cir. 1968); Brown v.
Loudon Golf & Country Club, 573 F. Supp.
399, 402 (E.D. Va. 1983)

International asserts that Rotary
would be severely injured if women were
admitted [app. br. 26, 34], but it does

-45-

not explain why or how Rotary would be
injured. There seems to be a silent
assumption that women are so different
from men that their very presence will
contaminate the organization. It is just
such assumptions that this Court refused
to accept in Roberts. See, e.g., 468
U.S. at 627-28.

The admission of women would not
damage International. The very purpose
of the Jaycees was the development of
Opportunities for young men. 468 U.S. at
612-13. Yet this Court held that the
presence of women would not interfere
with that purpose. Id. at 627. The
object of Rotary International is public
service. The presence of women obviously
would not interfere with that purpose.

International points to NAACP v.
Alabama ex rel. Patterson, 357 U.S. 449,
451 (1958), to argue that it is entitled

-46-

to protection for its objectives. [App.
br. 27) Of course it is. Again, its
objective is public service and the
presence of women will not interfere.
Even its secondary objective of fellow-
ship will not be adversely affected by
the presence of women, especially since
women are already present in any case.

(See discussion at IB.)

That point was made in Mississippi

University for Women v. Hogan, 458 U.S.
718 (1982). Men were not allowed to

enroll for credit in the nursing school
of a university founded for the purpose
of "the moral and intellectual advance-
ment of the girls of the state." At 720.
They were, however, allowed to audit
Classes. This Court rejected the univer-
sity's contention that its gender-based
discrimination was substantially and
directly related to its objective,

Saying: "To the contrary, MUW's policy
of permitting men to attend classes as
auditors fatally undermines its claim
that women, at least those in the School
of Nursing, are adversely affected by
the presence of men." At 730.

The real reason for International's
exclusion of women seems to be that the
organization started at a time when few
women were in business. As Mr. Pigman
explained, it became "part of the tradi-
tion and practice." [J.s. App. G-51}
That is a flimsy basis upon which to
deny women today the benefits of the
public accommodations law.

The only concrete injury Interna-
tional suggests is the potential harm to
its worldwide operation, but even then
it does not say how its operation would
be harmed. In some of the countries that
have Rotary Clubs, women members might

-48-

oe ee ee es P<

a Tee oe

not be accepted. [App. br. ll, 16, 34)
But International fails to explain how,
if some California clubs admit women,
other countries would be impacted. All
the admission of women means is that
visiting foreigners might find women at
Rotary meetings. But they already do,
since women attend as guests.

Attitudes in other cultures were at

issue in Fernandez v. Wynn Oil Co., 653
F.2d 1273 (9th Cir. 1981). The Court re-

jected the argument that a company could
refuse to hire a woman as director of
international operations because South
American customers would not do business
with a woman. Even though "the United
States cannot impose standards of non-
discriminatory conduct on other
nations," no foreign nation can compel
the non-enforcement of Title VII of the
Civil Rights Act of 1964. Id. at 1277.

-49-

International is proud of its abil-
ity to operate worldwide because of its
concern for diverse cultures. [App. br.
11} California residents are entitled

to similar consideration.

C. California Has a Compelling
interest in Eliminating Sex
Discrimination.

As this Court emphasized in Ro-
berts, "(a)jssuring women equal access
to . . . goods, privileges, and advan-
tages clearly furthers compelling state
interests." 468 U.S. at 626. The types
of "goods" (e.g., commercial programs
and benefits, and leadership skills),
"privileges" and "advantages" (e.g.,
business contacts) offered by partici-
pation in the Jaycees are also provided
by participation in Rotary.

International attempts to distin-
guish itself by stating that the Minne-

sota court relied on the fact that the

-50-

Jaycees "sells goods and extends privi-
leges in exchange for annual membership
dues."11 (App. br. 15, 28, 29] But, in
fact, International does the same
thing. As the Conference of Private

Organizations said in its amicus curiae

brief in Roberts,

"The U.S. Jaycees is far from
unique in having a large nation-
wide membership, which it —
ously seeks to expand...

The membership recruiting of

the U.S. Jaycees is not unlike
the practices or [sic] other re-
stricted-class membership asso-
ciations, such as national
fraternal and service organiza-
tions." [At 11-12)

International is one of those service
organizations. It, too, "sells" its
memberships through its constant em-

phasis on growth and publicity.

lithis Court in Roberts, while
noting that comment, at 616, does not
rely on it.

-5l-

International argues that Roberts
does not govern because of the differ-
ences between the Jaycees and Rotary.
In fact, the two organizations are
remarkably similar. Both are non-profit
membership corporations with education-
al and charitable purposes. Roberts at
612-13. [J.A. 35] Like the Jaycees,
Rotarians join through local chapters,
pay an initiation fee and annual dues,
are entitled to participate in local,
district (instead of state), regional
and national activities. Rotary Inter-
national, like the Jaycees, strives
for membership growth and keeps a high
public profile. The national headquar-
ters of both organizations employs a
staff to develop materials for local
chapters to enhance individual develop-
ment, community development and men-
bers' management skills. Both have

-52-

ee ee ne en |

various products available to members.
See Roberts at 613-14.

International argues that "Rotary
clubs are not engaged in the commercial
distribution of publicly available
goods and services." [App. br. 26] In
its brief in Roberts it said "The Jay-
cees do not exist for the purpose of
providing goods and services to the
general public." [At 17) The point
was not significant in Roberts and
should not be significant here.

In fact, many decisions have made
it clear that in order for an organiza-
tion to be subject to public accommoda-
tions statutes it is not necessary that
it be engaged in the commercial distri-
bution of publicly available goods and
services. See, e.g., Tillman v.
Wheaton-Haven Recreation Association,
410 U.S. 431) (1973) (a community swin-

-53-

ming pool); United States v. Slidell
Youth Football Association, 387 F.
Supp. 474 (E.D. La. 1974); National
Organization for Women v. Little Leaque
Baseball, 127 N.J. Super. 522, 318 A.2d
33 (1974); United States Power Squad-
ns v
Board, 59 N.Y¥.2d 401, 452 N.E.2d 1199,
465 N.Y.S.2d 871 (1981) (boating). The
question is not whether an organization
is commercial, but whether it is of
that private nature which will enable
it to overcome a state's compelling
interest in protecting against sex
discrimination.

States have broad authority to
pursue their own vision of equality and
Civil liberties, subject only to a
showing that countervailing constitu-
tional interests are seriously threat-

ened. Pruneyard Shopping Center v.

Robins, 447 U.S. 74 (1980) (California
may grant broader rights to engage in
First Amendment activity in shopping
centers than required by the First
Amendment).

The Unruh Act effectuates Califor-
nia's century-old public policy of en-
suring equal access for all members of
the community to important institutions
in public life. California courts have
consistently underscored the importance
of eradicating gender discrimination.
See Koire v. Metro Car Wash, 40 Cal. 3d
24, 34, 707 P.2d 195, 219 Cal. Rptr.
133 (1985) ("men and women alike suffer
from the stereotypes perpetrated by
sex-based differential treatment") ;
Sail'er Inn, Inc. v. Kirby, 5 Cal. 3d
1, 20 485 P.2d 529, 95 Cal. Rptr. 329
(1971) (legislative classifications
based on gender are suspect for pur-

-55-

poses of equal protection analysis) ;
Pines v. Tomson, 160 Cal. App. 3d 370,
392, 206 Cal. Rptr. 866 (1984) ("Cali-
fornia's interest in eradicating dis-
crimination on the basis of ... sex
is unquestionably 'compelling,'" citing
Roberts, 468 U.S. at 623). Similar
interests underlie the Unruh Act's
prohibition against the exclusion of
women from all but "truly private"
groups.

The Unrwh Act has implemented the
state's policy of gender equality in
the manner least disruptive of the
internal operations of International.
It does not require that all women or
any given woman be admitted to Rotary,
but it prohibits the blanket exclusion
of women from participation.

According to this Court in Roberts:

-56-

"Minnesota's compelling interest
in eradicating discrimination
against its female citizens jus-
tifies the impact that applica-
tion of the statute to the
Jaycees may have on the male
members' associational free-
doms." 468 U.S. at 623.

The rationale for the state's

compelling interest is explained in

Roberts:

"By prohibiting gender dis-
crimination in places of public
accommodation, the Minnesota

Act protects the State's citi-
zenry from a number of serious
social and personal harms. [Dis-
crimination] both deprives per-
sons of their individual dignity
and denies society the benefits
of wide participation in politi-
cal, economic, and cultural
life.

"That stigmatizing injury, and
the denial of equal opportuni-
ties that accompanies it, is
surely felt as strongly by per-
sons suffering discrimination on
the basis of their sex as by
those treated differently
because of their race." Roberts
at 625.

-57-

One of the state's interests is in
seeing that women do not suffer from the
loss of business opportunities. People
join business and professional associa-
tions to advance their careers.12 So,
too, they join Rotary to advance their
careers. International claims this is
not so. That claim does not stand up to

scrutiny.

12tnternational criticizes the
court of appeal for not having referred
to the women plaintiffs' acknowledgment
"that they did not feel that they had
been impeded in their pursuit of their
business and/or professional careers or
financially damaged by any actions of
Rotary International." [App. br. 30]
The court of appeal properly ignored the
point because it was irrelevant. The
women plaintiffs were not impeded in the
pursuit of their careers since they were
admitted to the Duarte club. As for
their not having joined for the express
purpose of promoting their careers, that
does not mean it was not an unstated
purpose, as it undoubtedly is for most
Rotarians.

-58-

The evidence substantiates that
Rotary membership is an important busi-
ness advantage. Club members must con-
sider it to be, since they deduct their
dues as business expenses from their
income taxes or have the dues paid by
their businesses. Even International's
witness, a former cemeterian, had his
dues paid by his company when he was
employed. A former treasurer of the
Bakersfield Rotary Club testified that
95-96% of the local members' dues were
paid by their companies.

The IRS has allowed such deduc-
tions [J.S. App. C-25], thereby recog-
nizing the primary business nature of
the organization. The Internal Revenue
Code provides that social club dues are
deductible if the club is used primarily
for business and the use is directly
related to the conduct of the business.

-59-

26 U.S.C. §274(a)(2). Either many Rotar-
ians are breaking the law or the claim
that membership is not for business
purposes is a hypocritical one.

International's general secretary
insists that community service is the
only reason for the Rotary Clubs’ exis-
tence. [J.S. App. G-33-34] If that were
true, it is unclear why membership
should be limited to business and pro-
fessional people. Surely a laborer can
work in charitable activities. Rotary,
by limiting membership to business and
professional leaders, provides an op-
portunity for its members to make the
right contacts.

The limit of one member per occupa-
tion serves to protect the classifica-
tion holder's right to maintain his
monopoly over beneficial contacts with
members in other businesses. The excep-

-60-

tions for Rotarians who come from other

clubs or a second person in each classi-
fication highlight the rationale for the
rule. Those people may join, but only if
the club's holder of the classification

approves. [J.A. 86]

Even International acknowledges
that Rotary provides important con-
tacts. The Rotary Vocational Service
handbook headlines: "In modern times, it
is only by the power of association that
men of any calling exercise their influ-
ence in the community." [Exh. B to
Pigman deposition, vol. 3, Vocational
Service 33 (see J.S. App. G-9-11)] That
heading is followed by a discussion of
ethical business practices:

"Daily relations with business
or professional associates can
provide every Rotarian with
opportunities to demonstrate
personally to his customers,
clients, suppliers, competi-

tors, or colleagues that the

-6l-

ideal of Service can help form a
truly solid basis upon which to
achieve business and profes-
sional success." [J.A. 92]
Another way of stating it is in the
well-known axiom of the business world:

"who you know is at least as important

as what you know." Burns, The Exclusion
of Women from Influential Men's Clubs:

The Inner Sanctum and the Myth of Full
Equality, 18 Harv. C.R.C.L. L. Rev. 321,

322 (1983) .23

Although many of the business bene-
fits of Rotary are through personal con-
tacts, there is direct help as well.

Local clubs are expected to establish

13 See also, Willard, "Roberts v.
United States Jaycees and the Affirma-
tion of State Authority to Prohibit Sex
Discrimination in Public Accommodations:
Distinguishing 'Private' Activity, the
Exercise of Expressive Association and
the Practice of Discrimination," 38 Rut-
gers L. Rev. 341, 374-75 (1986); Note,
33 U. Kan. L. Rev. 771, 787 (1985), and
authorities cited.

-62-

committees of members in different clas-
sifications who will give "confidential
business advice and assistance to Rotar-
ians who may request such help." [J.A.
40} International encourages clubs to
provide clinics for discussing economic
problems. Through Rotary publications
and vocational programs members study
business problems and their solutions.
Another service International
provides for its members is business
relations conferences. At these confer-
ences
"(tjhe Rotarian learns man-
agement techniques that help
improve his own business or
professional skills. He re-
ceives the inspiration of dis-
cussing business problems with
experts in his own or related
fields. And he enjoys the fel-
lowship of sharing ideas with
fellow Rotarians." [J.A. 14]

There are obviously business advan-

tages to Rotary membership and Califor-

-63-

nia women are being injured by their
exclusion.14 This Court should look to
the reality, not to International's
denials of its business-relatedness. As
was said in Watts v. Indiana, 338 U.S.
49, 52 (1949), “there comes a point
where this Court should not be ignorant
as judges of what we know as men."

In United ates cees v. Mc-
Clure, 305 N.W.2d 764 (Minn. 1981), the
Minnesota Supreme Court found that
membership in community-wide, service-

oriented, business-related organiza-

l4There is extensive literature
showing the political, economic and
cultural harm to women by exclusion from
organizations such as Rotary. See, e.g.,
"Avner & Bacharach, Let's Make a Deal--
When Private Means Business," N.Y. St.
B.J., Oct. 1985, p. 12; Bartlette,
Poulton, Callahan, Somers, "What's
Holding Women Back," Mgmt. Wkly., Nov.
8, 1982; Ginsburg, "Women as Full
Members of the Club: An Evolving
American Ideal," 6 Hum. Rts. 1

-64-

tions provides enhanced leadership
experience and an advantage in making
business contacts. Membership in Rotary
International does the same. Or as
Rotary states it in its official motto:
"He Profits Most Who Serves Best."
[J.A. 69]

II. IF THE LOCAL CLUBS WERE COVERED BY
THE UNRUH ACT THEIR ASSOCIATIONAL
INTERESTS WOULD NOT BE VIOLATED.
Whether the local clubs are covered

by the Unruh Act is not at issue in this
case. However, out of an abundance of
caution, we discuss the matter. Were the

judgment viewed as requiring local clubs

to admit women, such a judgment would

(1977); Jost, "Judges Make Private
Clubs a Public Wrong," L.A. Dly. J.,
Sept. 22, 1986, p. 2, col. 4; Schefrau,
"Welcome to the Club (No Women Need
Apply) ," Women & Found./Corp.
Philanthropy (1981).

=£ $=

not violate the clubs’ constitution-
ally-protected associational rights.

"A fundamental principle underly-
ing the administration of Rotary Inter-
national is the substantial autonomy of
the member Rotary Clubs." [J.A. 35]
However, International does suggest
guidelines, which provide a limited
basis upon which to consider the asso-
ciational rights of the clubs, under
this Court's holding in Roberts.

In Roberts, at 620, this Court
mentioned a number of factors--"size,
purpose, policies, selectivity, conge-
niality"--which aid in determining
whether associational interests can
preclude application of anti-discrimi-
nation laws. Just as those factors did
not lead to the conclusion that the
Jaycees clubs may discriminate, so too,
Rotary clubs may not discriminate.

-66-

International requires that there
be at least 20 men in a community
willing to be a club. Moreover, the
club must be in an area where there are
at least 40 classifications, which
means at least 40 prospective members.
There is no maximum number who can be
in the club, since continual growth is
an object of every local club. The goal
is to have every business, profession
and institution in the community repre-
sented. Yet, "[mjost private clubs have
limited membership." Nesmith v. YMCA,
397 F.2d 96, 102 (4th Cir. 1968).

Some clubs have over 900 members,
more tnan twice the size of the clubs
in Roberts. 468 U.S. at 621. The aver-
age club size is 46 as opposed to the
Jaycees' average of 40. 468 U.S. at
613. There is a high turnover rate,
between 10 and 20% a year. [R.T. 65]

-67-

The clubs that remain at or drop
below their founding number of 20 are
unsuccessful, rather than "intimate"
or “private.”

There is no evidence that the
Clubs are selective. International
argues that they are, detailing the
procedure for admitting members into
local clubs as outlined in the recom-
mended club by-laws. (App. br. 7-8] It
then concludes that the "foregoing
undisputed facts led the trial court
to find that Rotary Clubs are highly
selective in their membership." [App.
br. 9] But the procedures International
describes are nothing more than recom-
mendations; the local clubs are not
required to follow them. In fact,
International's general secretary

testified that "[tjhe method of elec-

-68-

ting a member is in the province of the
local Rotary Club." [J.S. App. G-18]

International's statement of facts
makes it sound as though all clubs use
the described election process. For ex-
ample, International claims that
"‘mjembership in Rotary is by invita-
tion only." [App. br. 7] It cites the
Pigman deposition [J.S. App. G-49) and
Focus on Rotary [Exh. B to Pigman
deposition, vol. 1] to support its
Claim. But these statements are contra-
dicted by the Manual of Procedure,
which Mr. Pigman, the general secre-
tary of Rotary International, said is
“an authoritative statement of Rotary
practices and principles." [(J.S. App.
G-7] According to the Manual, local
clubs are allowed to adopt their own
by-laws. [Manual 315; see also J.A. 88)
Whether they adopt the recommended

-69-

method and how they arrive at the so-
called one-person-per-business-or-
profession rule is for them to de-
cide.15 [J.S. App. G-18)

Even if these procedures were
requirements rather than recommenda-
tions, they would not necessarily
qualify the local clubs for an exemp-
tion from the public accommodations
law. Decisions under the federal public
accommodations law, involving blacks,
have held that even clubs with formal

membership requirements are subject to

15International's system does not
limit clubs to one member per classifi-
cation. There can be sub-classifica-
tions, such as criminal lawyer, corpo-
rate lawyer, probate lawyer, etc. [J.A.
87} And while there may be no more than
two active members in each classifica-
tion [J.A. 86], there may be an un-
limited number of senior active, past
service, press, clergy and diplomatic
corps members. [J.A. 39; Manual 249-50)
Thus, the so-called one-man classifica-
tion system is not that at all.

-70-

the law. See Wright v. Salisbury Club,
Ltd., 632 F.2d 309 (4th Cir. 1980) (two-

member sponsorship, membership commit-
tee approval, board approval); Nesmith
Vv. YMCA, 397 F.2d 96 (4th Cir. 1968)
(substantial annual dues, membership
committee, good moral character); Brown
vy. Loudoun Golf & Country Club, Inc.,
573 F. Supp. 399 (E.D. Va. 1983) (good
moral character, two-member sponsor-
ship, membership ceiling, substantial
initiation fee, board approval); Uni-

ted States v. Trustees of the Fraternal

Order of Eagles, 472 F. Supp. 1174
(E.D. Wis. 1979) (two-member sponsor-

ship, investigating committee, board
approval, member blackball, good moral
character, belief in God).

The courts in these cases consid-
ered the significant factor to be not
what the written procedures are, but

-7l-

whether they are actually used. Brown
at 403; Eagles at 1175. The burden is
on the club to show that its written
procedures actually result in member-
ship selectivity. Nesmith at 101; Brown
at 403; Eagles at 1176. International
has provided no evidence as to how the
clubs actually select members.
International's purpose is that
the membership be “inclusive, not ex-
Clusive." [J.A. 84] That is a "public,"
not a “private” characteristic.
International speaks of the local
Rotary Club as "a body of men who are
knit together in bonds of personal
friendship and service." (App. br. 10)
But any intimacy this suggests is
impossible because of International's
rule that all clubs must welcome visit-
ing Rotarians, strangers whom they have
never met. [J.A. 85) Once a club has

-72-

accepted a member, International and

every other local club must accept hin.
Local clubs are not secluded. The
formation of a new club is announced
in the media. All local clubs are ex-
pected to publicize their activities.
They send speakers out to community
groups to talk about Rotary and they
proclaim their presence to the world by
placing signs at the entrances of their
cities. Further, clubs are encouraged
to obtain full representation from all
the local press in the community.?}®
There is nothing private nor se-
cluded about Rotary club meetings. They
are supposed to have in attendance

employees, competitors, customers and

16This rule conflicts with the rule
prohibiting the admission of women, but
International apparently does not con-
template there being women reporters.

salesmen of the members, students and
others. Joint meetings are held with
other service clubs and community
services organizations. Appropriate
measures are supposed to be taken to
have the weekly meetings reported in
the press. The emphasis is on maintain-
ing a high profile.

Under International's own rules,
the clubs are not “secluded.” "Every
Rotary club must have its windows and
doors open to the whole world.” [J.A.
85)

Strangely, International cites
Cornelius v. Benevolent Protective
Order of the Elks, 382 F. Supp. 1182
(D. Conn. 1974) for guidance on the
interpretation of a “private club"
exemption. [App. br. 25) But the fac-
tors in Cornelius lead to the conclu-
sion that Rotary clubs are not private.

"To have their privacy protect-
ed, clubs must function as
extensions of members' homes
and not as extensions of their
businesses." 382 F. Supp. at
1204.

Rotary clubs are extensions of their

members' businesses, not their

homes. 17

III. THE UNRUH ACT IS NEITHER VAGUE NOR
OVERBROAD.

International argues that the Unruh
Act is unconstitutionally vague and
overbroad. Not only is neither true, but
this Court should not consider the

argument since it was not timely raised.

17Moose Lodge, No. 107 v. Irvis,
407 U.S. 163 (1972), also, does not
assist International. That case was
decided on a state action rationale, not
on associational grounds. Further, when
the very same Moose Lodge was challenged
under Pennsylvania's public accommoda-
tions act, it was held to be covered.
Commonwealth Human Relations Commission
v. Loyal Order of Moose, Lodge No. 107,
448 Pa. 451, 294 A.2d 594 (1972), appeal
dismissed for want of a substantial
federal question. 409 U.S. 1052 (1972).

-75-

A. International's Vaqueness
Were Not Timely Presented
to the California Courts.

International did not raise the
issues of vagueness or overbreadth in
its briefs in the trial court [C.T. 218,
294] nor in the court of appeal.

In its Petition for Rehearing be-
fore the court of appeal and in its
Petition for Review before the Califor-
nia Supreme Court, both of which were
denied without opinion, International
made an argument based on "uncertainty."
But this was too late, both under Cali-
fornia law, Cain v. French, 25 Cal. App.
499, 502, 144 P. 302 (1914); Rule 29(b)
(1), California Rules of Court, and in
this Court. See Radio WOW v. Johnson,

326 U.S. 120, 128 (1945); Godchaux Co.
v. Est , 251 U.S. 179, 181 (1919).

This Court ought not hear a matter that

-76-

was not properly presented to the courts
below. [(Id.]

In its brief, at 36-37, Interna-
tional sets forth a paragraph from its
brief in the court of appeal and claims
that it raised the vagueness and over-
breadth issue before that court. That
single paragraph was in connection with
International's argument that the Unruh
Act could be applied only to an organi-
zation “where such memberships comprise
a vehicle for public sale of goods,
services or commercial advantages."
[International's brief before the court
of appeal, p. 23] That was not an ade-
quate presentation of the point to the

lower court for decision.

B. The Unruh Act Is Not Un-
constitutionally Vague.

In Roberts this Court noted that

the

-7J=

"yoid for vagueness doctrine re-
flects the principle that ‘a
statute which either forbids or
requires the doing of an act in
terms so vague that [persons] of
common intelligence must neces-
sarily guess at its meaning and
differ as to its application,
violates the first essential of
due process of law.'" 468 U.S.

at 629, citing Connally v.
General Construction Co., 269

U.S. 385, 391 (1926).
See also Grayned v. City of Rockford,
408 U.S. 104, 108 (1972).

The Unruh Act is not vague in any
constitutional sense. It prohibits all
"arbitrary" discrimination in "business
establishments," as those terms have
been interpreted in numerous decisions
over the past decades. Persons of common
intelligence, and particularly large
organizations with access to legal
counsel, should not find the meaning and
application of the Unruh Act difficult
to understand. International's vagueness
argument should receive the same treat-

ment received by the Jaycees' vagueness

argument in Roberts. 468 U.S. at 629-30.

1. International has no
standing to raise its
vagueness argument.

International has no standing to
challenge the Unruh Act on vagueness
grounds, as the Act clearly applies to
gender discrimination. The Act says, in
plain English, that "all persons .
of this state... no matter what their
sex .. . are entitled to the full and
equal accommodations, advantages, etc."
As this Court emphasized in Hoffman
Estates v. Flipside, Hoffman Estates, 455
U.S. 489, 495 (1982):

"A [person] who engages in some
conduct that is clearly pro-
scribed cannot complain of the
vagueness of the law as applied
to the conduct of others."

This rule must be applied with
caution when First Amendment rights are

involved, but there is no basis for any

-79-

conclusion that the Unruh Act has any
significant adverse impact on the exer-
cise of First Amendment freedoms.1® See
§I, supra.

2. The term "arbitrary dis-
crimination" has a clear
meaning under the Act.

The critical point about the con-
cept of "arbitrariness" within the mean-
ing of the Unruh Act is that blanket ex-
clusionary policies of entire catego-

ries of persons will seldom be permit-

ted. Marina Point v. Wolfson, 30 Cal. 3d

18tnternational's "choice of law"
contention hardly merits comment. The
court below was correct in not consider-
ing Order of Travelers v. Wolfe, 331
U.S. 586 (1947), to be controlling. It
isn't. See Clay v. Sun Insurance Office,
Ltd., 377 U.S. 179, 183 (1964), limiting
the case to its facts, and Pearson v.
Northeast Airlines, Inc., 309 F.2d 553,
558 (2d Cir. 1962), considering, even
before Clay, that under this Court's
decision in Richards v. United States,
369 U.S. 1, 15 (1962), the case no
longer represented the law.

-80-

721, 738-40, 640 P.2d 115, 180 Cal.
Rptr. 496 (1982). Absent a compelling
specific justification for the blanket
exclusion of a class of persons, enti-
ties covered by the Unruh Act may ex-
clude people based only on a reasonable
individualized basis.

In Marina Point, for example, this
concept was applied to prohibit the
blanket exclusion of children from a
housing complex when there was no claim
that there were grounds to exclude the
particular child involved. In .sbister
v. Boys’ Club of Santa Cruz, Inc., 40
Cal. 3d 72, 707 P.2d 212, 219 Cal. Rptr.
150 (1985), the exclusion of all girls
from local recreational facilities was
found to be arbitrary.

In California, even true generali-
zations about a class may not be used
to justify the exclusion of a class

-8l-

member to whom the generalization does

not apply. Id. at 740, citing Los Ange-
les Department of Water & Power v. Man-
hart, 435 U.S. 702, 708 (1978) (pension
system based on actuarial fact that
women live longer than men invalidated
because it might not be true of an
individual woman). All people in Cali-
fornia must be treated as individuals
on their own merits by “business estab-
lishments of every kind whatsoever."
International asserts that the
Unruh Act's prohibition of “arbitrary"
discrimination “obliterates all freedom
of association.” [App. br. 46 (emphasis
in original)] There is simply no sup-
port in California law for this absurd
statement. If an association is "strict-
ly private" the Act places no limitation
at all on the association or its mem-
bers. If the association is covered by

the Act, it may still adopt certain
kinds of discriminatory policies if an
adequate justification exists.19 The
basic test, set forth in In re Cox, 3
Cal. 3d at 212, is whether the exclusion
is “rationally related to the services
and facilities performed." In Cox, the
California Supreme Court decided that
excluding the companion of a person with
long hair and unconventional dress from

public accommodations could not meet

this test. See also Orloff v. Los Ange-

19applying this basic principle,
California courts have permitted cer-
tain forms of discrimination based upon
the reasonableness of the justifica-
tions for discrimination under the cir-
cumstances. See, e.g., “2ss v. Forest
Lawn Memorial Park, 153 Cal. App. 3d
988, 203 Cal. Rptr. 468 (1984) ("punk
rockers" excluded from a private funeral
at the request of the mother of the
deceased); Wynn v. Monterey Club, 111
Cal. App. 3d 789, 796-98, 168 Cal. Rptr.
878 (1980) (compulsive gambler excluded
from a gambling club).

-83-

les Turf Club, 36 Cal. 2d 734, 227 P.2d
449 (1951) (person with a reputation as

a man of immoral character cannot be
excluded from a race track); Stoumen v.
Reilly, 37 Cal. 2d 713, 234 P.2d 969
(1951) (homosexuals cannot be excluded
from a bar and restaurart).

There is nothing in the Act which
prohibits the use of Rotary's “classi-
fication principle” to create an organi-
zation of diverse community leaders.

The rationale for this principle is not
"arbitrary." However, the policies of
groups covered by the Act cannot be
based on the blanket exclusion of wom-
en. Any given woman may be excluded
based on the criteria established by
the Rotary Club in question.

Although the basic prohibition in
the Unruh Act against arbitrary discrim-
ination may be difficult to apply in

-84-

some situations, such difficulties do
not render the Unruh Act unconstitution-
ally vague. There is a substantial body
of case law which shows the application
of the Act in any given situation. See,
e.g., Isbister v. Boys' Club of Santa
Cruz, supra; Marina Point v. Wolfson,
supra; In re Cox, sgupra.?° Internation-

al's real complaint is not that it can-

20rnternational makes an argument
that the Act is vague because the exclu-
sion of homosexuals is covered and the
exclusion of the physically handicapped
is not. [App. br. 41] However, the
citation to Marsh v. Edwards Theatres
Circuit, Inc., 64 Cal. App. 3d 881, 134
Cal. Rptr. 844 (1976), is disingenuous.
The decision in Marsh was based on the
fact that the California legislature had
enacted legislation specifically addres-
sing the rights of the handicapped which
controlled and that the owner of a movie
theater could not be compelled to make
structural changes to his building which
had been built in compliance with exist-
ing law at the time of its construction.
Moreover, Marsh cannot be read as a
blanket exclusion of physically handi-
capped persons from the coverage of the
Unruh Act in other contexts.

-85-

not ascertain the application of the
Act, but that the Unruh Act applies to

it.

Similarly, the Unruh Act's applica-
tion to "business establishments of
every kind whatsoever" does not render
the Act unconstitutionally vague.?21 Cal-
ifornia has chosen to eliminate arbi-
trary discrimination in every form of

organization to which the "nruh Act can

2lfhe California legislature speci-
fically broadened the scope of the Act
in response to court decisions which
adopted an unduly restrictive view of
its scope. In re Cox, supra; Isbister v.
Boys’ Club of Santa Cruz, Inc., gupra.

reasonably and constitutionally be
applied.22

The California courts have clearly
expressed their willingness to apply the
factors identified in Roberts to cir-
cumscribe the scope of the Act to avoid
infringing on countervailing constitu-
tional rights. They have recognized
that the Unruh Act does not apply to
"strictly private” clubs or institu-
tions. Curran at 730-32 (emphasis in
Original). "We therefore conclude that
the concept of organizational membership
per se cannot place an entity outside

the scope of the Unruh Act unless it is

221t should be noted that the trial
judge on remand in Curran v. Mount Dia-
blo Council of the Boy Scouts of Amer-
ica, 147 Cal. App. 3d 712, 195 Cal.
Rptr. 325 (1983), appeal dismissed 468
U.S. 1205 (1984) ruled that the scope of
the Unruh Act was defined by the protec-
tions afforded for freedom of associa-
tion under the Constitution. [See
attached appendix, pp. 7-8.)

-87-

shown that the organization is truly
private.” Id. at 732. Thns, the Califor-
nia courts adhere to the teaching of
this Court in Tillman, 410 U.S. at 439.
Although International contends
that it should fall within this exemp-
tion--that it is "truly private--it can
hardly take the position that it does
not have reasonable notice that the
Unruh Act applies to it. The California
courts have held that large organiza-
tions, like the Boy Scouts, Curran yv.
Mount Diablo Council of Boy Scouts of
America, supra, and Boys’ Clubs, Isbis-
ter v. Boys’ Club of Santa Cruz, Inc.»
supra, which play a prominent and in-
fluential role in the public life of our
communities are covered by the term
"business establishments" in the Unruh
Act. That meaning is plain. These Cali-
fornia precedents establish a constitu-
-88-

tional sanctuary for "truly private”
associations--but not for large public
service institutions which play a promi-
nent and influential role in the life of
the community.

Cc. A I N n-

stitutionally Overbroad.

International's overbreadth argu-
ment is similarly defective. The Unruh
Act has never been applied to “strictly
private" groups or to activities which
gualify for protection under the First
Amendment. A brief review of the cases
International finds most offensive to
its notion of freedom of association
demonstrates this fact.

In O'Connor v. Village Green Own-
ers Association, 33 Cal. 3d 790, 662
P.2d 427, 191 Cal. Rptr. 320 (1983), the
California Supreme Court held that a

non-profit homeowners’ association was

-89-

subject to the Unruh Act. Central to
this decision was the court's view that
the association operated very much like
a profit-making business establishment
in its management of the 629-unit con-
dominium project which was the subject
of the litigation. Although members of
the court disagre”.d about the intended
scope of the Unruh Act in these circum-
stances, no member of the court believed
that First Amendment freedoms were in
any way involved in the case.
Similarly, in Isbister, the First
Amendment interests implicated by the
operation of the recreational facilities
at issue were minimal. The Boys' Club,
as is true here, did not select its
members on the basis of personal, cul-
tural or religious affinity as a truly
private club might do. Id. at 81. The
only difference between the facilities

at issue in Isbister and recreational
facilities run by a profit-making group
was the non-commercial purpose animating
the organizers and directors of the
operation. Under the Unruh Act, as in
Roberts, a "business establishment"
need not have a profit-making motive. 23
In Isbister, the California Su-
preme Court carefully evaluated the

nature of the Boys' Club's First Amend-

23 International's use of Alcorn v.
Anbro Engineering, Inc., 2 Cal. 3d 493,
468 P.2d 216, 86 Cal. Rptr. 88 (1970),
to suggest that the Unruh Act is limited
to discrimination “in the course of fur-
nishing goods, services or facilities to
[an entity's) clients, patrons or cus-
tomers" is odd. [App. br. 46]. This is
clearly not the test that the California
courts employ. Nor is it a test re-
quired by the constitution. Roberts,
468 U.S. at 625. See §IC, Supra. More-
over, the primary point in Alcorn was
that the Unruh Act did not apply to
employment discrimination because the
California legislature had enacted com-
prehensive legislation in that area. 2
Cal. 3d. at 500.

-9l-

ment interests under the criteria es-
tablished in Roberts, and held that the
Boys' Club could be regulated under the
principles of that case. 40 Cal. 3d at
85. The court of appeal made a similar
analysis in this case. [(J.%. App. C-33-
38] See also, Curran v. Mount Diablo
Council of the Boy Scouts of America,
147 Cal. App. 3d at 729-32.

The California Supreme Court in
Isbister further demonstrated its con-
cern for safeguarding any countervailing
First Amendment interests by indicating
that "“[(wje reserve judgment as to wheth-
er any organization or entity serving a
substantial segment of the public on a
non-selective basis is a ‘business es-
tablishment' within the Act's meaning."
Id. at 81, n.8. Thus, the Court has
expressly reserved judgment on the
California Court of Appeal's decision in

Curran, a case relied heavily upon by
International. 24

The Unruh Act does not regulate
based upon the content of First Amend-
ment expression. Indeed, as discussed in
Section I B, supra, there is little, if
any, “expression” involved in the activ-
ities of Rotary.

The Act is content-neutral in the
scope of its coverage and in the acts it
prohibits. The fact that the Act has a
"bias" against any restriction of pub-
lic access in "business establishments"
[app. br. 47) is true but it is not evi-

dence of a lack of neutrality for First

24It should be noted that the
Claims in the Curran case involved
allegations of substantial business
activities on the part of the Boy Scouts
of America. 147 Cal. App. 3d at 718-19.
In any event, the California courts have
yet to resolve the First Amendment
Claims asserted by the Boy Scouts in
that case.

Amendment purposes. The Act is "biased"
against sex discrimination and that
"bias" is firmly established state
policy in California.?5

International's arguments express a
strong dissatisfaction with the public
policy of California. However, these
arguments are not a serious attempt to
apply the “overbreadth” precedents of
this Court. Like the vagueness doctrine,
the overbreadth doctrine is concerned
with the chilling effect of statutes
which threaten protected speech. This

case involves no regulation of speech at

25Nor does the unavailability of
fees to successful Unruh Act defendants
implicate any First Amendment inter-
ests, as International contends. [App.
br. 42, 47). There is no constitutional
principle that requires civil rights
plaintiffs and defendants to be treated
identically with respect to fee awards.
Hensley v. Eckerhart, 461 U.S. 424, 429
(1983).

all. The case law under the Unruh Act
does not demonstrate that the Act has
been applied to conduct or expression
protected by the First Amendment. There
is no reason to believe that California
courts will suddenly fail to consider
First Amendment interests.

This Court has recognized that
using the overbreadth doctrine is "mani-
festly, strong medicine" which should be
“employed by the Court sparingly and

only as a last resort." Broadrick v.
Oklahoma, 413 U.S. 601, 613 (1973); see

aiso, New York v. Ferber, 458 U.S. 747,

769 (1982). The doctrine has orcinarily
been applied in the context of criminal
statutes which by their terms reach, anc

thus "chill," protected expression.

Thornhill v. Alabama, 310 U.S. 88

(1940).

Few state anti-discrimination stat-
utes would survive scrutiny under the
overbreadth test International proposes.
Every application of such statutes
involves a potential claim that a de-
fendant is being compelled to come in
contact with persons he would prefer to
avoid. The “strong medicine” of the
overbreadth doctrine is too potent to
apply to the competing constitutional
interests in this area.

The crucial question for over-
breadth purposes is whether a statute
reaches a substantial amount of consti-
tutionally protected conduct. Hoffman
Estates v. Flipside, Hoffman Estates,
455 U.S. 489, 494-95 (1982); Broadrick
v. Oklahoma, 413 U.S. at 613. As demon-
strated above, the Unruh Act does not.

Indeed, there is no basis to believe
the Act reaches any protected activi-

ties. As this Court emphasized in Broad-
rick, at 615-16:

(W)here conduct and not merely
speech is involved, we believe
that the overbreadth of a stat-
ute must not only be real, but
substantial as well, judged in
relation to the statute's plain-
ly legitimate sweep. It is our
view that [the statute in ques-
tion) is not substantially
overbroad and that whatever
overbreadth may exist should be
cured through case-by-case
analysis of the fact situations
to which its sanctions, asser-
tedly, may not be applied.

The Calitornia courts have shown a
willingness to construe the Unruh Act to
avoid any constitutional difficulties.
Even were it possible to hypothesize
potentially unconstitutional applica-
tions of the Act, the sare could be said
for virtually any public accommodations
law. Therefore, there is no basis for
finding the Act unconstitutionally

overbroad.

-97-

IV. CERTIORARI SHOULD NOT BE GRANTED.
There are no grounds for this
Court to exercise its discretion by way
of certiorari. If it does, it should

deny the writ.

First, this case does not raise
novel issues. Rather, it is controlled
by the decision in Roberts v. United
States Jaycees, 468 U.S. 609 (1984). See
also Hishon v. King & Spalding, 467 U.S.
69 (1984).

Second, there is no conflict among
the lower courts on the issues presented
here.

Third, the record below does not
support the questions International
raises. International would like this

Court to decide whether an asserted

Claim of freedom of association out-
weighs an individual's right to be free
from discrimination under a state pub-

lic accommodations act. But, rather than
Claiming its own freedom of associa-
tion, it is claiming that of clubs which
are not parties to this lawsuit, includ-
ing that of the Duarte club, which is
the plaintiff.

International may not speak for
the local clubs, and certainly not for
Duarte. This is so not only because of
the autenomy of the local clubs [J.A.
35) but also because no action has been
taken nor threatened against them. They
have not been injured. See Sierra Club
v. Morton, 405 U.S 727, 739 (1972).

Accordingly, the case Internation-

al argues is not before this Court and

-99-

it is not supported by a record. ?®
Aside from the few rules International
imposes on the local clubs and evide
that Rotarians deduct their dues from
their income tax returns, there is no
evidence as to the actual practices of
the local clubs or their members.

The trial court's order requires
International to reinstate Duarte and
enjoins it from enforcing its male-only
policy against Duarte. See attached
appendix pp. 1-2.No order of any kind was
issued against Duarte nor any local
club. Nor was any order issued “requir-

fing] the admission of females to all~

26This Court should decline the
invitation of amicus curiae Boy Scouts
of America for the Court decide in this
case whether it and/or its troops may be
subject to a state's anti-discrimination
statute.

-100-

male local Rotary clubs" as stated by
International in its first Question
Presented [at i] and as argued by it
throughout its brief.?27

If a case involving a local club's
Genial of admission to a women should
arise, it will then be time enough to
consider the case in light of the facts
pertaining to that club.

2’The statement by the court of
appeal [(J.S. App. C-27) that Duarte is a
business establishment within the Unruh
Act is not the judgment in this case.
It was not necessary for the Court's
decision. The statement is appropriately
ignored because "(t)his Court...
reviews judgments, not statements in
opinions.” Black v. Cutter Labor-
atories, 351 U.S. 292, 297 (1956).

-10l1-

CONCLUSION
The appeal should be dismissed or

the decision below affirmed. Should the
Court treat the jurisdictional state-
ment as a Petition for Writ of Certior-
ari, the petition should be denied.

Respectfully submitted,

CAROL AGATE

Counsel of Record
SANFORD K. SMITH
BLANCHE C. BERSCH

PAUL HOFFMAN
FRED OKRAND

Attorneys for Appellees

January, 1987

-102-

APPENDIX

(TITLE OF COURT AND CAUSE OMITTED)
ORDER AND JUDGMENT ENTERED IN RESPONSE
TO COURT OF APPEAL DECISION

WHEREAS the Court of Appeal issued
an opinion herein on March 17, 1986

which is reported as Rotary Club of

Duarte v. Board of Directors, 178
Cal.App.3d 1035; and WHEREAS the Court

of Appeal directed this court to enter a
new and different judgment in favor of
Plaintiffs, 178 Cal.App.3d at 1067-1068;

NOW THEREFORE IT IS ORDERED AND
ADJUDGED AS FOLLOWS:

FIRST. An injunction is hereby
issued mandating the Board of Directors
of Rotary International and Rotary
District 530 to reinstate Rotary Club of
Duarte's charter thereby reinstating it
as a member of Rotary International and
Rotary District 530. See 178 Cal.App.3d
at 1067-1068.

A-1

SECOND. Rotary International and
Rotary District 530 are permanently
enjoined from enforcing or attempting to
enforce its male-only membership re-
striction against Rotary Club of Duarte.
See 178 Cal.App.3d at 1068.

THIRD. Nothing herein shall pre-
vent, or can it prevent, Rotary Interna-
tional from adopting or attempting to
enforce its membership rules or restric-
tions outside the State of California.
See 178 Cal.App.3d at 1066.

Costs are awarded to plaintiffs in

the sum of §$ :

DATED: Sept. 16, 1986 .

F
Max F. Deutz
Judge of the Superior Court

=

A-2

MINUTE ORDER OF JULY 25, 1985
HONORABLE P.G. BRECKENRIDGE, JR. JUDGE
CASE NO. C36552°
TI NT D
OF THE BOY SCOUTS OF AMERICA
Counsel for Plaintiff SLAFF, MOSK &
RUDMAN
BY: GEORGE SLAFF
AND ACLU FOUNDA-
TION OF SOUTH®RN
CALIFORNIA
BY: PAUL L.
HOFFMAN
Counsel for Defendant BUGHES BUBBARD
& REED
BY: RONALD C.
REDCAY AND
B. ERIN RUDERMAN

Motion of defendant-respondent Mount
Diablo Council of the Boy Scouts of
A-3

America, for Summary Judgment, OR in the
alternative, for summary adjudication of
issue
(fourth cont.)
(TAKEN UNDER SUBMISSION
7-9-85 Dept. 82)
Motion of defendant-respondent for
Summary Judgment, denied.
Motion for summary adjudi-ation of
issues granted, “Plaintiff-petitioner,
Timothy Curran was not a member of the
Boy Scouts of America on or immediately
before November 28, 1980, and therefore
was not expelled from membership in Boy
Scouts of America." However, plaintiff
is granted 30 days leave to amend to
allege that he was “excluded" from
membership. Plaintiff must file a
complete second amended com-
plaint/petition for Writ of Mandate.
Defendant's previously filed answer
A-4

shall have the same force and effect as

though filed responsively to such second

amended complaint.

Motion of plaintiff-petitioner Timothy

Curran for Summary Judgment, OR in the

alternative, for summary adjudication of

issues;

AND

Motion to amend complaint

(third cont)

(TAKEN UNDER SUBMISSION

7-9-85 Dept. 82)

Motion for summary judgment, denied.

Re plaintiff's motion for summary adju-

dication of issues:

l. Established as alleged by plaintiff
as without substantial controversy:
Nos. 16, 17, 19, 20, 21, 22, 26,
27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32;

2. Established as without substantial
controversy, but as modified by the

Court to conform to evidence:
A-5

No.

14.

15.

18.

23.

Defendant has for several
years operated a trading post
of service in Walnut Creek
where it sells a variety of
items.
Sales at the trading post
during 1983 grossed approxi-
mately $57,000 or $58,000,
with a difference between
gross sales and costs of ap-
proximately $8,000.
In 1983, $223,000 out of de-
fendant's total revenues of
$759,000 came from United Way.
The Boy Scouts of America
(BSA) licenses nationally
approximately 2000 stores to
sell uniforms, equipment,
books, and other official
scounting paraphernalia to
scout membership

A-6

3.

Issues still disputed

a)

b)

24, 25-(The Court has not
been provided with Tarr
deposition exhibits-how-
ever it appears that the
defendant's objection to
the terminology *net
profit" is well taken.

35-In this regard, the
Court is of the opinion
that the Unruh Act does
not apply to associations
which are protected by
the first and fourteenth
amendments to the U.S.
Constitution. There are
issues of fact and dis-
putes as to whether the
defendant is a truly
private organization
within the criterion

A-7

expressed in Roberts v.

U.S. Jaycees (1984) 104
S.CT 3244. See defen-

dant's response to issue
number 34 and Alexander
declaration.

Counsel for plaintiff to prepare and

serve an attorney order.

A copy of this minute order is mailed to

counsel as indicated above.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385012_0821%3A12. Public record. Not legal advice.
