# Amicus Curiae Brief — Corporation of the Presiding Bishop of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints v. Amos

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385012_0820%3A22

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1986
- **Citation:** 479 U.S. 929

## Text

IN THE

Supreme Court of the Unite?

OCTOBER TERM, 1986

>

THE CORPORATION OF THE PRESIDING BISHOP OF THE
CHURCH OF JESUS CHRIST OF LATTER-DAY SAINTS, ef ai.,

Appellants,
usta
CHRISTINE J. AMOS, ef ai.,
Appellees.
>
UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,
Appellant,
—T
CHRISTINE J. AMOS, ef ai.,
Appellees.

ON APr ALS FROM THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT
COURT FOR THE DISTRICT OF UTAH

BRIEF OF THE WOMEN’S LEGAL DEFENSE FUND,
THE NATIONAL COUNCIL OF JEWISH WOMEN, THE
NATIONAL COALITION OF AMERICAN NUNS AND
THE INSTITUTE OF WOMEN TODAY, AMICI CURIAE.

DONNA LENHOFF
Counsel of Record

Of Counsel: Women’s Legal Defense Fund
DEBORAH A. ELLIS 2000 P Street, NW
132 West 43rd Street Washington, D.C. 79036

New York, New York 10036 (202) 887-0634

Attorneys for Amici Curiae

TABLE OF CONTENTS

TABLE OF Ue (PP rrr ras? fl

INTEREST OF AMICI OO rrr rr rs

STATEMENT OF THE rr ne ef 8 © 4

SUMMARY OF ef

TTT TTT TT rTrrrrrrrrrrrrrrii |

I.

THE RELIGIOUS EMPLOYER'S

EXEMPTION UNDER TITLE VII WAS

NEVER INTENDED TO AUTHORIZE

THE KIND OF DISCRIMINATION

WHICH OCCURRED IN THIS CASE,

AND THE EMPLOYER IN THIS CASE

HAS NO CONSTITUTIONAL

ENTITLEMENT TO AN EXEMPTION

FROM FEDERAL ANTI-DISCRIMINA-

TION LAW. cc cece cee eeeceseeesseses el

A. The Exemption For Religiously-
ate loyers Was Never
Contemplate °

° y
Clear Non-Religious Eeploy-
ment In A Public nasium
Merely Because A Church Owns
The Dj petidenenees eoce cll
B. The Record In This Case Is
Any Evidence That A

vo
Free Exercise Right Of The
Church Will Be Violated If
Federal Anti-Discrimination

Law Is Applied To Mayson's
Dismissa

TYTTTTTTITTTriiriirirye . |

-i-

II. THE TITLE VII EXEMPTION FOR
RELIGIOUS EMPLOYERS AS APPLIED
TO A BUILDING MAINTENANCE
ENGINEER IN A PUBLIC GYMNASIUM
VIOLATES THE ESTABLISHMENT
CLAUSE AND ADVERSELY AFFECTS
THE EMPLOYEE'S RIGHT TO
FREEDOM OF CONSCIENCE.......202+++35

A. The Ex tion Is
Gnsonet i tat ional Here Because
Of Its Effects On Mayson's
Freedom of Conscience
And The Advantages Flowing
° e WEEMceccccccesccesccoosls
1. The Effect on Mayson's

Right to Freedom of
CORSSEGRSSc ccoccccocceocosons

2. The Exemption Gives
Religious Organizations
Advantages Over Non-
Religious Employers In
The Secular Economy.......41

B. Protecting Mayson Agains®
Discrimination t Cause

Entanglement Problems.........48

I-I. THE DISTRICT COURT DID NOT
ABUSE ITS DISCRETION IN AWARDING
MAYSON BREE co cccecoseseseeseeeeenn

CONC L.USION ee ef @e ee © re eff © © TYTTTiriirifteftfttsss.T..

-ii-

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases:

Albemarle Paper Co. v. Moody, 422
= Se We) ) PEE) Pa

Arizona Governing Comm. v. Norris,

i i i Ms cc ccccccoccceecc cc] co OO

Bob Jones University v. United States,
461 U.S. 574 LTTE TF 55

California v. Grace Brethren Church,

457 U.S. 393 PRweSPccecccccccccecceccscceceses

City of Los Angeles, Dep't of Water
Power v. Manhart, 435 U.S. 702
DUPE SPEER ee eeeeeebecccccccccc cc 3 Se 60

Denver Post of the Nat'l Soc'y of the
Volunteers of America v. N.L.R.B.,
732 F.20a 769 (10th Cir. 1984)... cee een eee 53

Dolter v. Wahlert High Sciool, 483
F. Supp. 266 (N.D. Iowa D9SO )cccccccccccceedd

E.O.C. v. Fremont Christian School,
1 F.2d 1362 (9th Cir. 1986)......19, 46, 47

a

E.E.0.C. v. Mississippi College, 626 F.2d
477 (Sth Cir. 1980), cert. denied,
453 U.S. 912 (19Bl).. cece eeeceseeelD, 27, 47

E.E.0.C. v. Pacific Press Pub. Ass'n,
676 F.2d 1272 (9th Cir. 1982)......19, 27, 47

E.E.0.C. v. Southwestern Baptist Theological
Seminary, 651 F.2d 277 (Sth Cir. 1981),
cert. denied, 456 U.S. 905 (1982)......19, 27

-iii-

Estate of Thornton v. Caldor, Inc.,

105 §.ct. 2914 (1985)... 2... e eee eee passim

Everson v. Board of Education, 330 U.S.
1 5666656566660 440 bneEe ae bedhoce becca

Gibbons v. District of Columbia, 116
U.S. 404 (0 SRS nos

Gillette v. United States, 401 U.S.
437 bt PEPTTTTPTSTTrTeTes eee 50, 51

Goldman v. Weinberger, 106 S.Ct. 1310

lecessoectuadeunaaawes see et ee @ ee © ececcecceceeda
Harper v. General Grocers Co., 590
F. 713 (8th Cir. 1979) see fe @ @ © *eeeeeeeeee -60

In re Chronicle Broadcasting Co., 599
F eGSeGe 2d 335 Ces 6 6965666666 666ceensesoll

Larkin v. Grendel's Den, Inc., 459 U.S.
116 (1982)... se @ee eocccccccesecccceceseeSsy 54

Larson v. Valente, 456 U.S. 228 (1982).....35

Lemon v. Kurtzman, 403 U.S. 602
LC UPPPPTTTITITT Tre eee” 48, 50, 52

Marbury v. Madison, 5 U.S. 137 (1803)......54

Marsh v. Chambers, 463 U.S. 783
(1983).... *e ff Coe eee eres eeeseessesesesle, 35

McClure v. Salvation Army, 460 F.2d 553
(Sth Cir.), cert. denied, 409 U.S.
896 Pe) PPPPPTYTITTTTTTerrrrrereeee > 20, 26

N.L.R.B. v. Catholic Bishop of Chicago,
440 U.S. 490 (1979)... *e ee eee eocccccece DO 57

Ninth & O Street Baptist Church v. E.E.0O.C.,
16 F.Supp, 1231 (WE F.Supp. (W.D. Ky. 1985), aff'd
mem., 802 F.2d 459 (6th Cir. 1986).........19

Ohio Civil Rights Comm'n v. Dayton
Christian Schools, Inc., 106 S.Ct. 2718
Tu 0.6646666400 65 6666606064600 43, 46, 56

People v. Woody, 394 P.2d 813 (Cal.

1 Dec ceceeeeececcceeeeeeeeeeeoccoseoesoeoeeee

Rayburn v. General Conf. of Seventh-Da
Adventists, 772 F.2d 1164 (4th Cir. 1585),
cert. denied, 106 S.Ct. 3333 (1986)....14, 20

Reynolds v. United States, 98 U.S. 145
(1 79) cee *e © fe 8 @ se eneteeneeeneee#es#se## sheeeeseocosnnes 4

Rostker v. Goldberg, 453 U.S. 57 (1981)....51

Russell v. Belmont College, 554 F.Supp.
667 (M.D. Tenn. LPErdccccccccccccccccccccceldls

Sangster v. United Air Lines, Inc., 633
Food 864 (9th Cir. 1980), cert. denied,
451 U.S. 971 CL9SlLpccccccccccccccccsccece sO

Seeger v. United States, 380 U.S. 163
C1LFGSS pcccccccccesccecccceccceecceccceseeesedO

Serbian Eastern Orthodox Diocese v.
Milivojevich, 426 U.S. 696 (197°)......44.. 57

Sherbert v. Verner, 374 U.S. 398
(\°) FFPPPPPPTTTTPTTTTTT Tr TTT rTiiriTrirTs | 56

Sias v. City Demonst¢ating Agency, 588
F.2d 692 (9th Cir. LPF Odccccccccccccceccce sO

Thomas v. Review Board, 450 U.S. 707
(1981)... ceees *e fe @ Sr PrrrrT Te TT eTTTTTTTTTTT. os.

-Yyo

Tony & Susan Alamo Foundation v. Sec'y
of Labor, 105 §.Ct. 1953 (1985)........passim

United States v. Lee, 455 U.S. 252
TNS 6 626060066666000¢00¢0000R0e 31, 38, 58

United States v. Nixon, 418 U.S. 683

( Bpoccccccccccccccccccsccccccccccecceeee DG

Wallace v. Jaffree, 105 S.Ct. 2479
6 PEGE pa» ST ee, ot 37, 48

Walz v. Tax Commission, 397 U.S. 664
(AIO) cccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccs MAIS

Welsh v. United States, 398 U.S. 333
Tt .6e ceed neeeees 60s Seeeebooeneeséouectl

Whitney v. Greater N.Y. Corp. of Seventh-
Day Adventists, 401 F.Supp. 1363
(S.D.N.Y. Decsskdbececeeeteccoccecesoss cell

Wisconsin v. Yoder, 406 U.S. 205
Ts 6666006660606066666s00RC0ee cue 32, 55

Zorach v. Clauson, 343 U.S. 306 (1952).....42

Constitutional Provisions and Statutes:

U.S. Const.:

Amend. I ee veneeee##fee#e#ee#e#ee#e#e#e#e# @ se eveeseene @e#e#ee#e - passim
Establishment ClauSe....++e+e+e+-+DasSsim
Free Exercise Clause. lessees epassim

Civil Rights Act of 1964, Title VII,
42 U.S.C. §2000e, et SOQs se eeeeeeeeees sPassim

42 U.S.C. §2000e-1 (§$702)....+++++-+-passim
42 U.S.C. §2000e-1 C29SEdccccccccecceses 0

42 U.S.C. §2000e-2(e) (lL). cee eecesevcveees 20

42 U.S.C. +. LD rrr TrTrTrTrrrririrt |.

Fair Labor Standards Act, 29 U.S.C. §201,
CE SCG reece secccceseccssecssessssessssessds

Internal Revenue Code:
26 U.S.C. S3309(D) cece eevee eeeeee Dd

Miscellaneous:

H.R. 1746, P.L. 92-261, Committee Print
prepared for the Committee on Labor and
Public Welfare (1972), reprinted in
Legislative History of the Equal

Employment Opportunity Act........++.+.+.-passim

J. Heinerman & A. Shupe, The Mormon
Corporate Empire (1985)........12, 32, 44, 45

Laycock, Towards a General Theory of

the Religion Clauses: The Case of Church
Labor Reiations and the Right to Church
Autonomy [not underlined in brief],

B81 Colum. L.Rev. 1373 (1981)..seeeeeeeeeeee22

M. Larson and C. Lowell, Praise the Lord
For the Tax Exemption (1969).....cceeeeeees 13

M. Larson and C. Lowell, The Religious
Empire CIDTES)cccccccecccccecesceessececeeocoese

L. Levy, The Bstablishment Clause:
Religion and the First Amendment

(1986) .cccccvvcccccccccccccccessseceesseses tO

D. Robertson, Should Churches Be Taxed
(19GB) cccccccccccccccccccececceceseeccocseehe

Fortune Magazine, May 23, 1983, at 22......12

-vii-

New York Times, February 11, 1987, at A20,

Col. De nedbneebeedeesssebeseteseoeeseeeesesne

-viii-

INTEREST OF AMICI cuRIAE!/

This brief amici curiae is submitted,

pursuant to Rule 36.2 of the Rules of this
Court, by the Women's Legal Defense ‘und, the
National Council of Jewish Women, the
National Coalition of American Nuns, and the
Institute of Women Today, and is filed in
support of appellee Arthur Frank Mayson.

The Women's Legal Defense Fund is a non-
profit, tax exempt membership organization

founded in 1971 to provide pro bono legal

assistance to women who have been the victims
of discrimination based on sex. The Fund
devotes a major portion of its resources to
combating sex discrimination in employment
through litigation of significant employment

discrimination cases, operation of an

1/ The parties have consented to the filing of this
brief, and their letters of consent are being filed
with the Clerk of Bhe Court pursuant to Rule 36.2 of
the Rules of this Court.

employment discrimination counseling program,
and agency advocacy before the Equal
Employment Opportunity Commission and other
federal agencies charged with enforcement of
the equal opportunity laws.

The ational Council of Jewish Women
("NCJW") was founded in 1893. It is an
Organization made up of two hundred sections
across the country which are active in
advocacy and community service. NCJW is the
Oldest major Jewish women's organization in
the United States and its members are
volunteers dedicated in the spirit of Judaism
to the advancement of human welfare and the
democratic way of life.

The National Coalition of American Nuns
is a Chicago-based organization of 2,000
sisters from religious orders throughout the
United States. Founded 18 years ago, it is
dedicated to studying, speaking about, and

working for human rights and social justice.

The Institute of Women Today is a
nationwide organization founded fourteen
years ago by Catholic, Protestant, and Jewish
women's groups. It is dedicated to a search
for the religious and historical roots of
women's liberation.

Amici believe that religious
Organizations should not be exempt from Title
VII's prohibition against religious
discrimination when they are engaged in
secular activities. Singling out religious
employers for a special exemption that does
not apply to comparable employers in the non-
profit or profit sector not only has the
effect of preferring religious over other
employers, but also significantly dilutes
Title VII's protections against religious
discrimination, has adverse implications for
the employment rights of women, and impinges

on employees’ free exercise rights.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Introduction

Plaintiff Mayson is a building
maintenance engineer in a public gymnasium
owned and operated by the Church of the
Latter Day Saints (“the Church") .2/ Because
of a broad, prophylactic exception carved out
by Congress to Title VII of the Civil Rights
Act in 1972, and an analogous exception under
Utah law, the Church claims it was legally
entitled to require Mayson to choose between
his religious beliefs and his job. But it is
clear that, in granting statutory exemptions
or any other legal entitlement, government
may not burden the free exercise rights and
interests of some in a constitutionally
unnecessary attempt to accommodate the
religious interests of others. It is

2/ Reference to the Church includes the Corporation of
the Presiding Bishop of the Church of Jesus Christ of

Latter-day Saints and the Corporation of the President
of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints.

-4-

irrelevant that a religious institution, and
not the state, caused the harm to Mayson; the
statutory exception itself, carving out
different rules based solely on the religious
status of the employer, demonstrates that
this case involves more than merely private
conduc... And the direct impact of the
exemption on the free exercise rights of
individuals like Mayson distinguishes the
case from those involving free exercise

Claims which have no such effect. Compare

Estate of Thornton v. Caldor, Inc., 105 S.Ct.

2914 (1985) (impact of statute on non-
believers violates Establishment Clause) with
Wisconsin v. Yoder, 406 U.S. 205 (1972) (no

impact on identifiable non-believers).
Appellants’ arguments, relying on the
free exercise interests of the Mormon Church,
and viewing the case as involving only
private conduct, ignore the fact that any

benefits accruing to the Church are obtained

in reliance on the statutory exemption and
are received only at the cost of Mayson's

free exercise rights.

Statement of the Facts

This case involves a church which,
although not compelled to do so by its
religious doctrine, has elected to own and
operate a public gymnasium. The Deseret Gym
("Gym") solicits membership from the public
at large, 549 F.Supp. at 801,2/ through
advertisements which do not refer to any
religious affiliation, R.Xl at 42-44.4/
Nothing about its operation suggests a
religious character. In addition to
traditional gymnasium facilities, this gym
also offers many features of a modern health

3/ References to 54° F.Supp. 791 (D. Utah 1984), and
618 F.Supp. 1029 (D. Utah 1985), are to the published
district court opinions in this case.

4/ Citations to the record are to the volume number
and page.

club or spa: barber and beauty shops,
massage salons, and a snack bar. 594 F.Supp.
at 801. Smoking is permitted in certain
areas, id., even though religious doctrines
of the Church prohibit tobacco for Church
members, Brief For Appellants in No. 86-179
at 4n.7 ("C.P.B. Brief"). The Gym has a
history of employing non-Mormons and
unobservant Mormons and continues to employ
Gulmast Khan, a non-Mormon, as squash
instructor and manager of the pro shop. R.
II at 123; XI at 57, 162-63; III at 135-36.
Appellee Mayson was employed for sixteen
years as a building maintenance engineer at
the Gym. R.II at 121. There is no dispute
that he pt ormed his duties in a fully
Satisfactory, if not admirable, fashion. See
594 F.Supp. at 796, 802. His job entailed no
religious duties, id. at 802, and no
religious criteria had ever been imposed on
Mayson until 1980, when he was informed that

he would be terminated if he failed to
qualify for a “temple recommend. "3/ Mayson,
a Mormon, objected to these requirements
that, among others things, he attend church
every Sunday and pay ten percent of his gross
income as a tithe to the Church. He was
fired when he refused to comply. 594 F.Supp.
at 796.

Mayson filed charges of religious
discrimination and subsequently filed suit
under Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of
1964, 42 U.S.C. §2000e, et seg., as amended
("Title VII"). The Church moved to dismiss
or in the alternative for summary judgment,
on the ground that the challenged employment

practices were exempt pursuant to §702, 42

3/ Temple recommends are given only to members who

tithe, attend church regularly, and abstain from
coffee, tea, alcohol and tobacco. C.P.B. Brief at 4
n.?. The Church concedes that conditioning employment
on temple recommends is not based on religious belief;
instead, the requirement is merely “administratively
convenient.” Id.

U.S.C.§2000e-1, which provides, in pertinent

part:

This subchapter shall not

apply ... to a religious

corporation, association,

educational institution, or

society with respect to the

employment of individuals of a

particular religion to perform

work connected with the

carrying on by such

corporation, association,

educational institution, or

society of its activities.

Mayson principally contended that, as applied
to him, the exemption violated the
Establishment Clause because it had the
effect of establishing or endorsing religious
employers in their secular activities, while
burdening his free exercise rights because it
forced him to make a choice between his job
and his beliefs.

On the basis of uncontested facts and
affidavits, the district court made a factual
finding that the Gym's “primary function is
to provide facilities for physical exercise,"

and that “nothing in the running or purpose

-9-

of [the Gym] suggests that it was intended to
spread or teach the religious beliefs and
doctrine and practices of sacred ritual of
the Mormon Church or that it was intended to
be an integral part of church
administration.” 594 F.Supp. at 800-01. The
court also found that none of Mayson's duties
was even tangentially related to any
religious belief or ritual of the Mormon
Church. Id. at 802. It therefore concluded
that there was no evidence to even “remotely
suggest” that a religious tenet of the Mormon
Church necessitated Mayson's termination. Id.
at 818.9/

Pursuant to these factual findings, the
district court held that no free exercise
rights of the Church were implicated in this

6/ In this connection, the court also noted that in an
application for a broadcasting license, the Church had
represented its belief to the F.C.C. that “it is
‘morally evil’ to deny anyone the right to
employment...." In re Chronicle Broadcasting Co., 59
F.C.C.2d 335, 337 (1976). 594 F.Supp. at 818.

-10-

case and that no constitutional injury would
result if the exemption from general
employment discrimination prohibitions did
not apply to Mayson's termination. The lower
court then held that application of the
exemption to Mayson would have a constitu-
tionally impermissible effect of establishing
religion, and ordered judgment for Mayson,
including back pay. The Church did not
Oppose his reinstatement. 618 F.Supp. at
1029.

The Church essentially contended in the
court below, as in this Court, that its
pervasive religious doctrine infuses all its
actions with religious significance and
justifies the expansive exemption granted by
§702. While there is no doubt that the
Church and its adherents are fully entitled
to a belief in the inseparability of the
religious and the secular, the implications

of this contention reach far beyond the

-ll-

private sphere of belief and worship
protected by the Free Exercise Clause. The
Church is involved in a variety of activities
which are ordinarily undertaken by secular,
profit-making organizations, including radio
and television broadcasting, commercial real
estate, stock and bond investing, insurance
underwriting, and agriculture. J. Heinerman

& A. Shupe, The Mormon Corporate Empire, 46-

125 (1985). In 1983, total assets of the
Church were estimated to be 7.89 billion
dollars.2/ As the largest private property

owner and one of the largest employers in

1/ 5. Heinerman & A. Shupe, supra, at 125 (1985). The

Mormon Church would thus rank thirty~second in assets
on the list of "Fortune 500" industrial companies,
ahead of Xerox Corporation, which had 7.66 billion
dollars of assets on December 31, 1982. Fortune
Magazine, May 23, 1983, at 22. Although the Mormon
Church is obviously one of the "world's ... most
economically prosperous religious organizations,” N.Y.
Times, February 11, 1987, at 20, col. 3, some other
religious sects similarly have the wealth and
inclination to acquire substantial pieces of the
secular economy. See generally M. Larson & C. Lowell,
The Religious Empire (1976); D. Robertson, Should
Churches Be Taxed, 113-38 (1968).

-12-

Utah, the Church's extensive economic
interests give it substantial control over
the economic life of the state. Id. at 92,

122; M. Larson & C. Lowell, Praise the Lord

for Ta Exemption, 203-09 (1969). The claim

for exemption thus implicates large numbers
of jobs with no religious content, except
that invested by virtue of the Church's
belief that religion should pervade its

members' lives.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

Had Mayson been employed by any other
public gymnasium, unaffiliated with a church
entity, his termination for failure to meet a
religious test of faith would assuredly
violate Title VII. That Act was intended to
provide comprehensive protection against
employment discrimination. Indeed, as
revealed in the Congressional debates over

both the current exemption, at issue in this

-l|3-

case, and its predecessor, an exemption from
coverage for religious employers was promoted
as constitutionally necessary to meet the
free exercise interests of such employers.

It is incontrovertible that religious
employers engaged in religious activity have
such interests which, even without a
statutory exemption, are entitled to
extraordinary deference under First Amendment

standards. See, e.g., Rayburn v. General

Conf. of Seventh-Day Adventists, 772 F.2d

1164 (4th Cir. 1985), cert. denied, 106 S.Ct.

3333 (1986). However, religiously-affiliated
employers who undertake activities that have
little or no relationship to spiritual or
ecclesiastical concerns occupy a vastly
different position with regard to any attempt
to be relieved of the obligations imposed on
all other similar employers.

If the Catholic Archdiocese of New York

purchased the New York Yankees, would it be

-14-

entitled to fire all players who are not
Catholic, or those Catholics who do not
attend mass? The answer of the Mormon Church
in this case would be yes. But it is clear
that the First Amendment affords no such
right and equally clear that the architects
and enacters of the Title VII exemption did
not contemplate its use in such a fashion.
See Point I, infra. Even if they had, it
would still be the province of this Court to
hold that such a constitutionally unnecessary
preference to religion results in both an
impermissible establishment of religion and
in the denial of free exercise rights of
individuals, like Mayson, suffering from
religious discrimination. The effects of the
exemption on third parties, like Mayson,
create an insuperable Establishment Clause
barrier to application of the exemption in

this situation, Estate of Thornton v. Caldor,

Inc., supra, and other financial and symbolic

-15-

effects indicate that the exemp..on operates
here to benefit and endorse religion. Tony

and Susan Alamo Foundation v. Sec'y of Labor,
105 S.Ct. 1953 (1985). See Point IIA, infra.

Application of the exemption to secular
employment by religiousiy-affiliated
employers will not entangle government in
religious matters, since secular employment
by definition is not a religious matter. The
determination as to what is secular and what
is religious does not create an “entangle-
ment” problem within the meaning of the
Establishment Clause. It is the function and
duty of courts and agencies, not unreviewable
religious bodies themselves, to determine
entitlements to exemptions and constitutional
protections. That process inevitably
necessitates an initial separation of the
religious from the secular. This is the very
essence of First Amendment jurisprudence and

creates no entanglement problems as evidenced

-16-

by the numerous and various circumstances in
which this Court has undertaken and upheld
such inquiries. See Point IIB, infra.

. The district judge was well within his
discretionary power to award Mayson a “make-
whole” back pay remedy. The award was not
punitive but simply provided Mayson with
wages actually lost as a result of his
discriminatory termination. Its payment
could cause no hardship to the Church, but
its denial could severely affect Mayson. See

Point III, infra.

-l17-

I. THE RELIGIOUS EMPLOYER'S EXEMPTION UNDER
TITLE VII WAS NEVER INTENDED TO
AUTHORIZE THE KIND OF DISCRIMINATION
WHICH OCCURRED IN THIS CASE, AND THE
EMPLOYER IN THIS CASE HAS NO
CONSTITUTIONAL ENTITLEMENT TO AN
EXEMPTION FROM FEDERAL ANTI-
DISCRIMINATION LAW

A. The Exemption For Religiously-

ated Employers Was Never

on platec To Apr . earl
Non-Religious Emplo nt in

Public Gymnasium Mere cause A

Church Owns The Facility

Title VII embodies a national policy to
repudiate and eradicate the historical
tolerance of discrimination in private

employment on the basis of race, color, sex,

national origin, and religion. &/ Although

8/ For this reason, the Church's repeated invocation
of the “first 175 years of our nation's history,”
(C.P.8. Brief at 12, 16, 41) is of Little moment in
this case, even though an “unambiguous and unbroken”
historical practice has been sometimes important in
the Court's Establishment Clause adjudication, Marsh
v. Chambers, 463 U.S. 783, 792 (1983); see Walz v. Tax
Commissioner, 397 U.S. 664, 678 (1970). Cf. Bob Jones
University v. U.S., S61 U.S. 574, 604 (1983) ("the
Government has a fundamental, overriding interest in
eradicating racial discrimination in education--
discrimination that prevailed, with official approval,
(footnote cont'd)

-l18-

religious employers, like otHer employers,
are covered by Title VII's general
prohibitions against discrimination on the
basis of race, color, sex or national
origin, 2/ Congress recognized that they
required certain accommodation to their
legitimate religious concerns and
accomplished this in various ways. The
statute originally exempted employees of a

religious employer performing “work connected

for the first 165 years of this Nation's
Constitutional history").

9/ £.5., E.£.0.C. v. Fremont Christian School, 781
F.2d 1362 (9th Cir. 1986); £.£.0.c. v. Pacific Press
Pub. Ass'n, 676 F.2d 1272 (9th Cir. 1982); E.£.0.c. Ve
Southwestern Baptist Theological Seminary, 2d
th Cir. ), cert.denied, 4 U.S. 905 (1982);

E.E.0.C. v. Mississippi College, 626 F.2d 477 (Sth
Cir. 1980), cert. den ed, 4 U.S. 912 (1981); Ninth &
© Street Baptist Church v. E£.£.0.C., 616 F.Supp. 1231
W.D. Ky. ), aff'd mem., 802 F.2d 459 (6th Cir.
1986); Dolter v. Wahlert High School, 483 F.Supp. 266
(N.D. Iowa ; tney v. Greater N.Y. Corp. of

Seventh-Day Advent sts, Supp. ~D.N.Y
1975); see Russell v. Belmont College, 554 F.Supp. 667
(M.D. Tenn. 1982) (Equal Pay Act); cf. McClure v.
Salvation Army, 460 F.2d 553 (Sth Cir. 1972). These
cases reject the employers’ contentions that

application of Title VII to religious employers
violates the Religion Clauses of the First Amendment.

-19-

with the carrying on ... of its religious
activities.” 42 U.S.C. §2000e-1 (1964)
(emphasis added). Title VII also permits
such employers to use religious criteria in
their hiring practices whenever such criteria
could be justified as a “bona fide
occupational qualification reasonably
necessary to the normal operation of that
particular business or enterprise..." 42
U.S.C. §$2000e-2(e)(1).12/ In addition, the
lower courts have uniformly declined to
enforce Title VII standards to regulate the
relationship between a church and its
ministers or employees performing minister-

like responsibilities. 1!/

10/ The Church has never claimed that religion is a
BFOQ for the job at issue in this case. Arguably, the
BFOQ provision provides the only defense for the
Church's discrimination against Mayson, since the
exemption entitles them only to hire persons “of a
particular religion,” a qualification Mayson meets.

hi/ See Rayburn v. General Conf. of Seventh-Day
Adventists, supra; McClure, supra.

-20-

In 1972, the exemption for religious
employers was expanded by permitting them to
employ persons “of a particular religion” in
any of their activities. The exemption
evolved from debates and proposals which
focused largely on a comprehensive exemption
for schools and religious employers.
Amendment No. 815 to $.2515,12/ proposed by
Senators Ervin of North Carolina and Allen of
Alabama would have exempted schools and
religious organizations from all of Title
VII's requirements. The sponsors of the
amendment claimed that it was constitution-
ally required. Senator Ervin repeatedly
adverted to the necessity to maintain a “wall
of separation” between church and state, Leg.
Hist. at 1217, 1221, 1231, and to keep the
“political hands of Caesar” off all religious

12/ un. 1766, P.L. 92-261, Committee Print prepared

for the Committee on Labor and Public Welfare (1972),
reprinted in Legislative History of the Equal Employ-
ment Opportunity Act (hereafter “Leg. Hist."), p. 881.

-2l-

institutions. See, e.g., id. at 1230.
Senator Allen likewise characterized the
amendment as constitutionally necessary: “the
constitutional standard is separation of
church and state. And so far as interference
with the ‘free exercise’ of religion, the
separation must be full and complete. The
first amendment prohibition is absolute.” Id.
at 1255.13!

Notwithstanding the claim that this
comprehensive exemption was constitutionally
required, the Senate rejected it by a vote of
55 to 25. Subsequently, the same sponsors
offered another amendment, No. 809, which
contained a substantially narrower exemption
and was adopted as §702 with little

13/ sen. Allen was also particularly concerned about
the impact of the Civil Rights Act on Southern
schools. See Leg. Hist. at 853, 1254.

-22-

debate.14/ as a result, the legislative
history, which is largely limited to the
remarks of four senators, 15/ and which
primarily addressed the comprehensive
exemption for all schools and religious
employers and See all forms of discrimina-
tion, indicates little about the purpose of
most legislators in accepting the narrower
provision. What is clear from the debates
was that the sponsors of the exemption urged
it upon fellow legislators on the theory that
it was constitutionally compelled. Clearly,
the majority did not concur with regard to
total exemption; it is unclear whether
Amendment No. 809 was adopted because of

14/ Virtually all the legislative history cited by
appellants addressed the comprehensive amendment, No.
815, which was not enacted.

i5/ Senators Ervin spoke at length and quoted lengthy
Opinions of this Court; Senator Allen spoke in general
concurrence with Sen. Ervin. The sponsors of the
bill, Sens. Williams and Javits, asked a few
questions. Senator Stennis made a brief statement in
Opposition.

-23-

perceived First Amendment requirements or
because of political compromise or other
reasons.1&/ The debates display little or no
recognition that establishment problems or
free exercise concerns of employees might be
implicated by an overly-solicitous accommoda-
tion for religious employers.?/ Thus, the
debates do not reflect how Congress would
have balanced competing commands of the two

Religion Clauses. Indeed, there was no

16/ the assertion in appellants’ briefs, C.P.B. Brief
at 23, U.S. Brief at 21-22, that Congress may
accommodate religion in ways which exceed the
requirements of the Free Exercise Clause, as an
abstract proposition, is not at issue here. There is
no indication in the legislative history that that was
the Congressional intent. While the proposition that
accommodation may exceed free exercise rights may be
generally true, it is, of course, not the case when
that accommodation burdens free exercise rights of
individuals and effectuates an establishment of
religion. See Point IIA, infra.

17/ senator Williams alone acknowledged that “it might
very well be unconstitutional for Congress to permit
such discrimination,” referring to exempting
religiously-affiliated public hospitals. Leg. Hist.
at 1250. See also id. at 852 (similar comment by Sen.
Williams in discussion of Amendment No. 809).

-24-

recognition that a religious employer might
receive “unnecessary” benefits, tantamount to
establishment, or that such an employer might

use the exemption so as to deprive employees

of their own rights of conscience. 18/

Appellants posit that §702 was expanded
in order to prevent entanglement of the EEOC
and trial courts in determinations as to what

constitutes "religious activity." This was

18/ Senator Ervin expressed his opinion that churches
and religious employers were constitutionally entitled
to complete exemption for their hiring activities,
even for positions such as secretary or janitor. Leg.
Hist. at 1223. The Senate rejected this proposition
when it voted against the comprehensive amendment and
voted to continue to impose the prohibition against
race, national origin and sex discrimination. Even if
this were not the case, the examples cited by Senator
Ervin all involve actual employment by a church in its
own usual activities (maintenance of church property
and church fundraising). Nowhere in the legislative
history of Amendment 609 is there a recognition of the
possibility that churches might venture into
activities which, as a result of history, tradition
and common sense, can only be called secular. The
closest example is Sen. Ervin's statement that he
would exempt a distillery operated by a religious
order. Leg. Hist. at 1230. This comment likewise
occurred in discussion of Amendment No. 815, which was
rejected.

-25-

not a Congressional purpose, 12/ nor has this
kind of inquiry proved troublesome or entan-
gling in fact. Judges and administrative
personnel are frequently required to
determine whether an activity is religious
and therefore entitled to regulatory,
statutory or constitutional protections.
That inquiry is not only permissible, it is
the very essence of First Amendment

jurisprudence. Cf. Ohio Civil Rights Comm'n

v. Dayton Christian Schools, 106 S.Ct. 2718

(1986). |

Title VII caselaw displays the relative
ease with which constitutional parameters in
this area can be, and have been drawn. The
courts have evaluated claims for exemption

arising in a variety of contexts. For

19/ there is no reference in the legislative history
to any actual entanglement problems arising from EEOC
investigations or court cases. Prior to 1972, the
only reported decision analyzing §702 was McClure v.
Salvation Army, supra.

example, in E.E.0.C. v. Southwestern Baptist

Theological Seminary, supra, the court

carefully distinguished between those
employed by a seminary who performed
“minister-like” functions and those (such as
support and administrative staff) who did
not. 651 F.2d at 283-85. Indeed, the court
found no First Amendment obstacle to

requiring a church seminary to comply with

relevant Title VII data compilation and
reporting requirements for non-ministerial
positions, even though the seminary had a
demonstrated preference for having ordained
ministers perform such functions. In

E.E.O.C. v. Mississippi College, supra, the

Fifth Circuit concluded that the "ministe-
rial” exemption did not extend to all
teachers at a religious college, whose
employment was not strictly a matter of
“ecclesiastical concern." 626 F.2d at 485.

And in E£.E.0.C. v. Pacific Press, Supra, the

-27-

Ninth Circuit easily concluded that a
secretary at a religious book publishing
house was covered by Title VII. In these and
other Title VII cases, the courts have
emphasized the absence of any Establishment
Clause obstacle to the limited involvement in
religious affairs that the exercise of EEOC
“jurisdiction” ordinarily entails. Each
court concluded that, although applying Title
VII in such contexts requires some church-

state contact, there was no excessive

entanglement involved in the record-
keeping20/ and single-incident investigations
that are the most Title VII enforcement

ordinarily requires.

20/ this Court recently held that similar or greater
record-keeping and reporting requirements of the Fair
Labor Standards Act do not generate undue church-state
entanglement. Tony and Susan Alamo Foundation v.
Sec'y of Labor, supra.

These and other cases2!/ indicate that
courts and agencies may, and routinely do,
separate the religious from the secular and
evaluate claims of religiously-affiliated
employers for exemption from laws and
regulations. This process in the Title VII
area in particular does not create excessive
entanglement problems. No such concern
motivated Congress to enact the exemption at
issue here, nor, contrary to what the Church
urges, would it justify an application of the
exemption that has other constitutional

infirmities.

21/ See Point IIB, infra, for a review of ot»er areas
in which courts and agencies examine religious
exemption claims without problems of excessive
entanglement by government in religion.

-29-

B. The Record In This Case Is Devoid

Of Any Evidence That A Free
Exercise Right Of The Church Will
Be Violated If Federal Anti-
Discrimination Law Is Applied To

Mayson's Dismissal

“(T]he Free Exercise Clause's protection
of religious beliefs and of the Church as an
institution," C.P.B. Brief at 18, does not
require an exemption from Title VII's
prohibition of religious discrimination in
this case. The Free Exercise Clause's
protection for churches is broad but not

unlimited. See U.S. v. Lee, 455 U.S. 252,

257 (1982). It encompasses the Church's
freedom to carry on religious activities, to
build churches and schools, conduct worship
services, pray, proselytize, teach moral
values, select its own leaders, define its
own doctrines, resolve its own disputes, and

run its own religious institutions. 22/ In

22/ See Laycock, Towards a General Theory of the
Religion Clauses: The Case of Church Labor Relations
and the Right to Church Autonomy, 81 Colum. L. Rev.
(footnote cont'd)

-30-

tt ri

essence, the focus of the Free Exercise
Clause is on the right of the Church to
interact with its adherents on matters
relating to religion without state inter-
ference. The Free Exercise Clause does not
require that "doctrines of religious belief
[be] superior to the law of the land,"

Reynolds v. U.S., 98 U.S. 145, 25 L.Ed. 244,

250 (1879), and when a religious organization
chooses to engage in “commercial activity,"
it must ordinarily follow the "statutory
schemes which are binding on others in that

activity." U.S. v. Lee, 455 U.S. at 261.

The district court found that there was
no evidence to even "remotely suggest that
the Mormon Church holds any religious tenet
that requires all persons employed by its
corporate entities in secular, non-religious

activities to be templeworthy Mormons." 594

1373, 1388-1389 (1981) and cases cited therein.

-3l-

F.Supp. at 818. 23/ a preference for

employing observant Mormons may well be
"consistent" with the Church's beliefs,
C.P.B. Brief at 20, but that falls far short

of a claim that such a practice is compelled

by sincere religious conviction. It is only
the latter situation which is entitled to
deference under the Free Exercise Clause.

Wisconsin v. Yoder, 406 U.S. 205, 215 (1972)

("to have the protection of the Religion
Clauses, ... claims must be rooted in

religious belief"); Tony and Susan Alamo

23/ The absence of any Church doctrine that compels
religious preference hiring at the Gym is manifested
by the thin evidence put forth by the Church. In its
attempt to imbue the Gym with a religious aspect, the
Church primarily relies on the 1910 dedicatory

prayer. C.P.B. Brief at 7. To support its doctrine of
individual selt-sufficiency, the Church cites a 1936
Church Conference Report. Id. at 5. It is noteworthy
that 1936 was an election year and that supporters of
Alf Langdon used the just-announced Mormon plan of
individual self-sufficiency, with its concomitant
emphasis on refusal to accept government welfare
benefits as a campaign tactic against the New Deal's
government assistance programs. J. Heinerman & A.
Shupe, supra, at 185.

-32-

Foundation v. Sec'y of Labor, 105 S.Ct. at

1963 (constitutional protection dependent on
whether government “actually burdens the
Claimant's freedom to exercise religious
rights").

The Church has never asserted this type
of claim, 594 F.Supp. at 818, nor would such
an assertion be persuasive. The Gym
advertises without reference to its religious
affiliation and it attracts both Mormons and
non-Mormons. Patrons at the Gym may engage
in conduct of which the Church disapproves on
religious grounds, such as smoking. See 594
F.Supp. at 801. The Gym has a history of
employing non-Mormons and unobservant
Mormons; the imposition or enforcement of the
requirement in 1980 that Mormon employees be
eligitle for a "temple recommend," was a
Clear departure from prior practice which was
not supported or explained by reference to

any doctrinal developments which necessitated

-33-

this change in the Gym's employment
practices. Nowhere does the Church suggest
that its members must attend the Gym, that
such attendance constitutes a religious act,
or that any religious significance gym
attendance may have is destroyed or
diminished by the presence of non-Mormon
employees or employees ineligible for a
“temple recommend." See 594 F.Supp. at

801. Indeed, as the district court found,
the record lacks any evidence or explanation
of its policy which would qualify it as a
sincerely and deeply held religious
conviction entitled to First Amendment

protection.

-34-

II. THE TITLE VII EXEMPTION FOR
RELIGIOUS EMPLOYERS AS APPLIED TO A
BUILDING MAINTENANCE ENGINEER IN A
PUBLIC GYMNASIUM VIOLATES THE
ESTABLISHMENT CLAUSE AND ADVERSELY
AFFECTS THE EMPLOYEE'S RIGHT TO
FREEDOM OF CONSCIENCE

Tne Court has consistently accommodated
both the “autonomy and freedom of religious
bodies while avoiding any semblance of

established religion," Walz v. Tax

Commission, 397 U.S. at 672, by examining a

statute's purpose, determining that its
principal or primary effect is neither to
advance nor inhibit religion, and assuring
that the statute does not foster an excessive
government entanglement with religion. Lemon

v. Kurtzman, 403 U.S. 602, 612-13 (1971); see

Walz v. Tax Commission, 397 U.S. at 669, 24/

24/ The Lemon factors have been used by this Court as
guidelines in at least 15 First Amendment cases. The
only departures are in Marsh v. Chambers, supra (two
centuries of an unbroken and unambiguous historical
practice) and Larson v. Valente, 456 U.S. 228 (1982)
("strict scrutiny’ standard applied to a statute which
was patently discriminatory on its face).

-35-

The purpose of any Congressional attempt
to accommodate religion is obviously

religious to some extent, see Wallace v.

Jaffree, 105 S.Ct. 2479, 2504 (1985)

(O'Connor, J., concurring); but that is not
enough to render a statute unconstitu-
tional. Neither is it true, however, that
every legislative attempt to accommodate
religion must be deemed, because the purpose
is laudable, to be per se constitutional.
Rather, “(t]he solution ... lies ... in
identifying workable limits to the govern-
ment's license to promote the free exercise
of religion." Id. Where, as here, the
legislature exempts only religious entities
and exceeds what was necessary to accommodate
their legitimate free exercise interests, and
the effect is to advance or endorse religious
activities at the expense of the individual's
freedom of conscience, fundamental Establish-

ment Clause principles are affronted.

-36-

A. The Exemption Is Unconstitutional
Here Because Of Its Effects On
Mayson's Freedom Of Conscience And
The Advantages Flowing To The
Church

l. The Effect on Mayson's Right to
Freedom of Conscience

This Court has on several occasions
"identified the individual's freedom of
conscience as the central liberty that
unifies the various clauses in the First

Amendment." E.g., Wallace v. Jaffree, 105

S.Ct. at 2487. As the facts of this case
demonstrate, §702 enables employers to coerce
religious loyalty from their employees in
violation of fundamental First Amendment
Principles. Jefferson's famous "Bill for
Religious Liberty," enacted in slightly
different form by the Virginia Legislature in
1786, declared that “even forcing [any man]
to support this or that teacher of his own

religious persuasion” offends an individual's

right to freedom of conscience.22/ Mayson

was told he would lose his job unless he
attended church and paid a tithe. See, €-q-,
Affidavit of Arthur Mayson, dated August 16,
1983. A religious employer's ability to
coerce employees into religious observance
through a religion-conscious statutory
exemption constitutes an unconstitutional

effect. See United States v. Lee, 455 U.S.

at 261.

Only last year this Court held that a
statute which has a similar impact on third
parties has the effect of impermissibly

advancing religion. Estate of Thornton v.

Caldor, Inc., supra. Section 702

distinguishes between religious and
nonreligious employers and employees and in

so doing, seriously burdens the non-

25/ Cited in Everson v. Board of Education, 330 U.S.
1, 13 (1947); See L. Levy, The Establishment Clause:
Religion and the First Amendment, 53-94, 58-60 (1986).

-38-

religicus. Thornton teaches that religion

may not be accommodated in an absolute manner
that burdens others; when "[t]the State ...
commands that ... religious concerns
automatically control over all secular
interests at the workplace," the Establish-
ment Clause is violated. 105 S.Ct. at 2918.
The statutory infirmities recognized in

Thornton are present here as well. That

statute granted concrete benefits and
preferred status to Sabbath observers, over
all others. As a result, employees may well
have been induced to become Sabbath observers
in order to obtain this benefit, but those
who, out of conscience, refused would be
penalized in having their needs for time off
considered last. Similarly, many of the
Church's employees may well have yielded to
the pressure to become "templeworthy" simply
to keep their jobs. Those, like Mayson, who

resisted as a matter of personal conscience,

-39-

have suffered loss of employment, an even
more severe consequence than could have
flowed from the Connecticut statute. Section
702 compounds the injury by granting
preferences to religious employers, as
well. They, like the Sabbath observers,
enjoy a preferred status from which they reap
concrete financial and competitive
advantages. See Point IIA-2, infra.

This Court has upheld religious
exemptions from laws of general applicability
only when the exemption does not burden the

religious liberty of others. Walz v. Tax

Commission, supra; Gillette v. United States,

401 U.S. 437 (1971). While the exemption for
non-profit organizations at issue in Walz may
have required all non-exempt taxpayers col-
lectively to shoulder additional tax burdens,
it did not infringe their religious liber-
ties. Similarly, upholding military service

exemptions in Gillette for individuals with

-40-

religious or moral objections to war had no
effect on the religious liberty of individ-
uals with no such beliefs.
2. The Exemption Gives Religious

Organizations Advantages Over Non-

Religious Employers In The Secular

Economy

As a direct result of the exemption for

religious organizations, the Church is
empowered to extract from employees
substantial economic concessions. One of the
reasons for Mayson's termination was his
noncompliance with the Mormon Church's
tithing requirement. There is no question of
the Church's right to impose a tithing
requirement--or any other requirement--on
freely-consenting members. However, the
ability to coerce the return of ten percent
of an employee's gross income gives church-
owned businesses an obvious competitive and
financial advantage over non-religiously-

owned ones. As this Court noted in Tony &

Susan Alamo Foundation v. Sec'y of Labor,

-4l1-

supra, 105 S.Ct. at 1961, "the payment of
substandard wages would undoubtedly give
petitioners and similar organizations an
advantage over their competitors ... and the
admixture of religious motivations does not
alter a business's effect on commerce."

A statutory exemption which empowers
employers to coerce obedience through
economic threats offends a fundamental
constitutional principle. The First
Amendment is premised on the notion that each
religion will succeed, not as a result of
government pressures or inducements but on
the intrinsic appeal of its beliefs to people
who are free to choose. “We sponsor an
attitude on the part of Government that...
lets each [religious group] flourish
according to the zeal of its adherents and

the appeal of its dogma". Zorach v. Clauson,

343 U.S. 306, 313-14 (1952). This premise is

undermined if secular employment becomes a

reward for the faithful. The potential for

such abuse is apparent. See Ohio Civil

Rights Comm'n v. Dayton Christian Schools,

Inc., supra; Tony & Susan Alamo Foundation v.

Sec'y of Labor, supra. Section 702 would

expand the coercive powers of such employers.
For example, the tithing requirement could
reduce a minimum wage employee's wages below
the statutory level. This may constitute an
impermissible delegation of legislative

authority, see Larkin v. Grendel's Den, Inc.,

459 U.S. 116 (1982), and would subvert this
Court's ruling in Alamo. Even if the
violation does not rise to that level, the
examples demonstrate the power accorded
religious employers under the exemption, a

power denied other similarly situated

employers. 26/

26/ The relative infrequency of cases like this one
suggests that either the coercive power granted
employers is highly successful, or that religious
employers voluntarily forbear trom exercising that
(footnote cont'd)

-43-

The Church obtains approximately three-
quarters--an estimated 1.5 billion dollars in
1983--of its income from the tithing require-
ment. J. Heinerman & A. Shupe, supra, at
102. Enforcement of that requirement is
critical to the Church's continued economic
growth. The §702 exemption thus gives this
and other religious employers a powerful tool
to expand their influence into secular
economic activity, and correspondingly the
political and social life of the
community. 22/

The Church's claim that it may not only
discriminate on the basis of religion in all

power, since it is not necessary to their religious
integrity. Some support for this latter proposition
can be found in the fact that thirty-two religious
organizations opposed the Ervin-Allen proposal to
exempt religious organizations from Title VII coverage
altogether. Leg. Hist. at 1253.

27/ the danger is not confined to Utah or to this
Church. Other churches and sects likewise have
extensive economic holdings, or power in a particular
community, and could decide to exercise their rights
if the expansive interpretation of §702 is upheld.

-44-

its employment, but that it may impose
religious criteria, other than membership, on
employees or applicants, would increase the
power of religious employers under §702 ina
way which has particular relevance to the
employment of women. For example, the Mormon
Church actively encourages women to forego
employment in favor of remaining at home to
care for children, 28/ it precludes women from
acting as lay priests,29/ and it provides
that only women whose husbands are members of
the priesthood can enter the highest

heaven. Id. at 227. One member was
excommunicated by the Church in 1979, in part
for her vocal support of the Equal Rights
Amendment and criticism of the Church for its

28/ J. Heinerman & A. Shupe, supra, at 227-29 (women
encouraged in Church literature and by public speeches
of church elders to assume traditional roles).

29/ Id. at 227. All observant male Church members
over the age of 12 can be priests. Until 1978, blacks
were denied entry into the priesthood, as women still
are. Id. at 223.

-45-

opposition. 30/ Just as Mayson was fired for

failing to qualify for a “temple recommend,"
women could be fired from completely secular
jobs for failing to adhere to sex discrimina-
tory doctrines; important secular positions
could be reserved for members of the priest-
hood, by definition male, or for those
eligible to enter the highest heaven, and the
like. Ina state like Utah, a woman's
employment opportunities would thereby be
dramatically limited. If other fundamen-
talist religions took similar advantage of
the broadly stated exemption, the employment
opportunities of women could be significantly
diminished3!/--all in the name of religious
30/ 14, at 201-02.

31/ Some religious employers have already tried to
fire new mothers on a religiously-based assertion that
a mother of young children should not work outside the
home. See Ohio Civil Rights Commission v. Dayton
Christian Schools, supra. Other religious employers
have cited biblical authority that the husband is the
"head of household" to justify denial of fringe

benefits to married female employees, E.E.0.C. v.
(footnote cont'd)

-~46-

freedom, even where an employer has no
constitutionally protectable right. For
example, a nursing home owned by or
affiliated with an Orthodox Jewish temple
could fire nurses who did not participate in
ritual baths.

As in Thornton, the exemption here

Singles out religious groups for special and
absolute protection, and thereby "conveys a
message of endorsement." 105 S.Ct. at 2919
(O'Connor, J., concurring). The exemption
conveys a clear message of government
facilitation and approval of practices which
benefit and advance religion, by coercing
religious loyalty and penalizing non-
believers. The symbolic effects here

Fremont Christian School, 781 F.2d at 1364, and have
cited scriptures to rationalize hiring only males to
teach religion courses, E.E.0.C. v. Mississippi
College, 626 F.2d at 487 & n.12 ("pervasively
sectarian” college owned by Baptist Church). See also
E.E.0.C. v. Pacific Press Pub. Ass'n, 676 F.2d at 1275
(female employees of press owned by Seventh-Day

Adventist Church paid less than male employees).

-47-

contrast sharply to those in Walz v. Tax

Commissioner, supra, where the exemption from

property tax did not single out religious
Organizations, but applied to all non-profit
organizations.

B. Protecting Mayson Against

Discrimination Will Not Cause
Entanglement Problems

The Church proposes that the Lemon
factors be abandoned in exemption cases in
favor of an exclusive focus on entangle-
ment. This unusual suggestion not only lacks
precedent, but also fails to provide any
meaningful “limits to the Government's
license to promote the free exercise of

religion." Wallace v. Jaffree, 105 S.Ct. at

2504 (O'Connor, J., concurring). Under this
approach accommodation of religion would
almost always be upheld, notwithstanding
effects even of a constitutional dimension,
because exemption would almost always be less

entangling than regulation.

-48-

This approach cannot be reconciled with
this Court's precedents. The proposal
presumes that neutral rules which apply to
religious groups, along with everyone else,
are per se entangling and constitutionally
infirm under the Establishment Clause. For
instance, an exemption for religious groups
that believed in human sacrifice from state
criminal laws prohibiting murder would

qualify under the Church's test. But see

Reynolds v. U.S., 25 L.Ed. at 250.

Exemptions for all religious organizations
from minimum wage and other labor laws,
regulations and codes would likewise survive

scrutiny. But see Tony & Susan Alamo

Foundation v. Sec'y of Labor, 105 S.Ct. at

1953.

Second, the Church's novel proposition,
dubbed the "Walz-Gillette Analysis of Express
Exemptions," C.P.B. Brief at 29, follows

neither Walz v. Tax Commissioner, supra, nor

-49-

Gillette v. United States, supra. Although

decided before Lemon, both Walz and Gillette

analyzed the purpose and effect of the
exemption as well as the potential for
entanglement. Walz, 397 U.S. at 669;

Gillette, 401 U.S. at 450. Walz sustained

religious property tax exemptions in large
part because the exemption was not explicitly
based on religion but instead applied to a
“broad class of property owned by nonprofit,
quasi-public corporations...." 397 U.S. at
673. In Walz there was also a long
historical tradition of exempting such
property from property tax. Id. at 676-78.
Moreover, Walz demonstrates that there are no
entanglement problems in confining the
Church's exemption to its religious
activities: "“[I]n Walz, the State had a
continuing burden to ascertain that the

exempt property was in fact being used for

religious worship." Lemon v. Kurtzman, 403

-50-

U.S. at 614 (emphasis added). In Gillette

the Court first found no sectarian purpose
nor effect in a limited conscientious
objector exemption, and only then discussed
potential entanglement problems arising
because of a perceived likelihood of
fraudulent claims, i.e., that it would be
impossible to separate political from
religious objections to a particular war.

The Court also expressed deference to
Congress regarding its management of military

affairs. Cf. Goldman v. Weinberger, 106

S.Ct. 1310 (1986) and Rostker v. Golberg, 453

U.S. 57 (1981) (deference to military).
The Church, in characterizing this as an
"express exemption" case like Walz and

Gillette, as to which it posits that

entanglement considerations must prevail,
attempts to categorize this case and the
Court's precedents in a way which distorts

both. It is telling that the Church has

-5l-

failed altogether to cite Estate of Thornton

v. Caldor, Inc., supra, one of this Court's

most recent Establishment Clause cases and
the case most similar in its facts to the

present case. Thornton demonstrates that

entanglement considerations are not
necessarily paramount where accommodation to
religion implicates other protected rights;
where rights of third parties are infringed,
the "effects" element of the Lemon analysis
becomes critical: "this unyielding weighting
in favor of Sabbath observers over all other
interests ... has a primary effect that
impermissibly advances a particular religious
practice.” 105 S.Ct. at 2918.

The Church's suggestion that any First
Amendment exemption challenge should be
resolved so as to produce the least
government entanglement not only ignores the
impact of the exemption on innocent third

parties, see Point IIA-l, supra, but also

-52-

grossly overstates the difficulties
associated with governmental evaluation of
religious claims for exemption. Since at

least 1886, as illustrated by Gibbons v.

District of Columbia, 116 U.S. 404 (1886),

which denied tax exemption to church-owned
land, used not for religious purposes but
rather to produce income, administrative
agencies and courts have routinely
distinguished between religious and secular
activities of religious organizations.
Indeed, the inquiry into whether religious
Organizations are operating in the religious

Or secular realm is performed in a wide

variety of contexts .32/

32/ See, e.g., Tony & Susan Alamo Foundation v. Sec'y
of Labor, supra (applying Fair Labor Standards Act to
commercial activities of religious entity); California
v. Grace Brethren Church, 457 U.S. 393 (1982)
(exemption from unemployment tax under 26 U.S.C.
§3309(b) only when the organization is operated
“primarily for a religious purpose"); Denver Post of
the Nat'l Soc'y of the Volunteers of America v.
N.L.R.B., 732 F.2d 769, 773 (10th Cir. 1984) (NLRB has
jurisdiction over employees of religious hospital that
(footnote cont'd)

-53-

This Court has never held that, for
purposes of determining an entitlement to
exemption under the First Amendment, the mere
inquiry into whether an activity is religious
Or secular by itself constitutes excessive
entanglement. The First Amendment does not
authorize religious organizations to decide
unilaterally that their activities shall be
exempt from government regulation. In this,
as in other closely analogous situations, it
is the province of the courts, not of
unreviewable church-related bodies, to

determine "what the law is." Marbury v.

Madison, 5 U.S. 137 (1803). See also United

States v. Nixon, 418 U.S. 683 (1974)

(jurisdiction of courts, not executive, to

assess validity of claim of executive

privileges) .33/

functions "in essentially secular fashion").

33/ Any other rule would improperly delegate the
authority of the state to church officials. See
Larkin v. Grendel's Den, Inc., supra.

-54-

Indeed, government routinely scrutinizes
claims for religion-based exemptions arising
from a myriad of circumstances without

entanglement problems. See, e.g., Bob Jones

University v. United States, supra (tax

exemption for discriminatory private school);

Wisconsin v. Yoder, supra (claim for

exemption from compulsory high school

attendance); Sherbert v. Verner, 374 U.S. 398

(1963) (exemption claim relating to
unemployment compensation law requiring
claimant to be available to work on

Saturday); Welsh v. United States, 398 U.S.

333 (1970) (conscientious objector claim);

Tony and Susan Alamo Foundation v. Secretary

of Labor, supra (exemption from Fair Labor

Standards Act); People v. Woody, 394 P.2d 813

(Cal. 1964) (exemption from state ban on the
use of peyote). In such cases, when free
exercise objections to facially neutral state

requirements are advanced, courts and

-55-

administrative agencies necessarily inquire
into, and make judgments concerning, the
basis of the constitutional claim. See

Thomas v. Review Board, 450 U.S. 707 (1981)

and Sherbert v. Verner, supra (unemployment

boards); Seeger v. United States, 380 U.S.

163 (1965) (local draft board).

Both N.L.R.B. v. Catholic Bishop, 440

U.S. 490 (1979) and Ohio Civil Rights

Commission v. Dayton Christian Schools,

Supra, indicate that there is no excessive
entanglement in the inquiry into “objectively
ascertainable facts," Alamo, 105 S.Ct. at
1961, that determine entitlement to exemption
(e.g., will regulation infringe a sincerely
held religious belief? what are the counter-
vailing state interests?). Entanglement
concerns may, of course, arise if regulatory
burdens are actually imposed so as to enmesh
courts or agencies in the ongoing religious

activity of an organization, see N.L.R.B. v.

-56-

Catholic Bishop, supra, or in matters of

church @octrine or internal authority

structure. See Serbian Eastern Orthodox

Diocese v. Milivojevich, 426 U.S. 696

(1976) .34/ However, the initial
determination whether an employee is engaged
in a “religious” activity for purposes of
determining whether a statutory or
constitutional exemption should apply is not
per se entangling, as appellants contend.
The alternative they propose is to allow
religious organizations to be entirely self-
policing, a proposition in fundamental

conflict with First Amendment law. E.g.,

34/ Although the Court has acknowledged the abstract
possibility that inquiries arising in the course of
enforcing asserted state jurisdiction "may" impinge on
First Amendment rights, N.L.R.B. v. Catholic Bishop of
Chicago, 440 U.S. at 502, it has never suggested that
state jurisdiction cannot be invoked to inquire
whether jurisdiction may be asserted. Moreover, the
concern expressed in Catholic Bishop regarding the
NLRB's remedial powers is inapposite here. The issue
in this case is the constitutional authority to
determine entitlement and exemption.

-57-

Tony and Susan Alamo Foundation v. Sec'y of

Labor, supra; U.S. v. Lee, supra.

Iil. THE DISTRICT COURT DID NOT ABUSE
ITS DISCRETION IN AWARDING MAYSON
BACKPAY

In Albemarle Paper Co. v. Moody, 422

U.S. 405, 418-421 (1975), this Court
ennunciated a strong presumption in favor of
backpay awards in order to make persons whole
for injuries suffered on account of unlawfu)
employment discrimination. In awarding
Mayson backpay under the dictates of

Albemarle, the district court properly

exercised its equitable discretion to “make
[him] whole.”

The parties have stipulated that Mayson
is entitled to $55,896 in wages, plus pension
contributions. R. VI. at 139-42. Although
this amount is substantial to a building
engineer, it is inconsequential to the

Church, which is blessed with vast resources

-58-

Ao

and in all likelihood has spent nearly that
sum on attorneys’ fees to contest the award.
The Church challenges the back pay award
solely on the ground of its good faith. 32/
However, good faith is not a defense to a4

back pay remedy. Albemarle Paper Co. v.

Moody, 422 U.S. at 422. And the exemption of
section 713 of Title VII, 42 U.S.C. §2000e-
12, applies only to the narrow and carefully
circumscribed circumstances it addresses. In
any event, it was not an abuse of discretion
for the district court to award relief where
no statutory provision precluded it
expressly.

The Church attempts to undermine Title

VII's make-whole mandate by citing City of

Los Angeles Department of Water & Power v.

35/ The Church's good faith argument cannot even
arguably apply to the period after the Court's January
ll, 1984, decision adjudicating the unconstitution-
ality of Mayson's termination. Minimally, Mayson
should at least receive back pay from this date.

-59-

Manhart, 435 U.S. 702 (1978) and Arizona

Governing Committee v. Norris, 463 U.S. 1073

(1983), rare departures from the ordinary
remedial Title VII rule.36/ In both these
cases, however, which involved the unique
circumstance of pension funds, the determin-
ing factor in the Court's ruling was the
devastating effect on innocent third parties,
and in Norris, on state and local govern-
ments, of ordering retroactive relief.

Norris, 463 U.S. at 1105-1106; Manhart, 435

U.S. at 721-23. Here there are no similar

equitable considerations because no third

36/ In the few reported cases amici found in which
individual prevailing plaintiffs like Mayson were
denied backpay, there were independent reasons which
justified denial. Sangster v. United Air Lines, Inc.,
633 F.2d 864 (9th Cir. 1980), cert. denied, 451 U.S.
971 (1981) (upholding district court's decision
denying backpay because plaintiff did nothing to
mitigate damages); Harper v. General Grocers Co., 590
F.2d 713 (8th Cir. 1979) (upholding district court's
denial of backpay because plaintiff failed to
introduce any evidence of loss of earnings); Sias v.
City Demonstration Agency, 588 F.2d 692 (9th Cir.
1978) (remanding for reconsideration district court's
denial of backpay due to failure to mitigate damages).

-60-

——— oe

party will be harmed by Mayson's back-pay
award. Under the abuse of discretion
standard, and to vindicate Title VII's

mandate, Mayson's award should be upheld.

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, the Court

should affirm the judgment below.

Respectfully submitted,

DONNA LENHOFF*
Counsel of Record
Women’s Legal Defense
Fund
2000 P Street, NW,
Suite 400
OF COUNSEL: Washington, DC 20036
DEBORAH A. ELLIS (202) 887-0364

Attorneys for Amici
Curiae

*®* Thanks are extended to CUNY Law School
students Suzanne S. Donsky and Melvyn L. Meer
for their help in preparing this brief.

-6l1-

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385012_0820%3A22. Public record. Not legal advice.
