# Joint Appendix — Oklahoma v. Castleberry

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385012_0794%3A05

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Joint Appendix
- **Published:** January 1, 1984
- **Citation:** 469 U.S. 979

## Text

(3) DEC 21 1984

No. 83-2126 CLERK

IN THE
SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

OCTOBER TERM, 1983

THE STATE OF OKLAHOMA
Petitioner,
Vv.
TIMOTHY R. CASTLEBERRY
and
NICHOLAS RAINERI

Respondents.

ON WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
OKLAHOMA COURT OF CRIMINAL APPEALS

JO'NT APPENDIX

DAVID W. LEE
ASSISTANT ATTORNEY GENERAL
CHIEF, CRIMINAL AND FEDERAL DIVISIONS
112 State Capitol Building
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma 73105
(405) 521-3921
COUNSEL FOR PETITIONER

CHARLES FOSTER COX
Attor at Law
500 N.W. 13th Street
Oklahoma City, OK 73103
(405) 235-7507
COUNSEL FOR RESPONDENTS ‘

PETITION FOR CERTIORARI
FILED JUNE 11, 1984 VW
CERTIORARI GRANTED NOVEMBER 5, 1984 % J

-i-
INDEX
Page

Relevant Docket Entries in CRF-81-
2676, State of Oklahoma v.
Timothy R. Castleberry, Dis-
trict Court, Cklahoma County,
TE @Q6e6eeGGeeecerveec ss

Relevant Docket Entries in CRF-81-
2678, State of Oklahoma v.
Nicholas Raineri and Timothy
R. Castleberry, District Court,
Oklahoma County ....+.++++s++s 2

Relevant Docket Entries in the
Court of Criminal Appeals of
the State of Oklahoma in F-82-
227 and P-82-228. ode 9) ON (a tT ia a 4

Motion to Suppress in CRF-81-2676. ... 5
Motion to Suppress in CRF-81-2678. ... 7?

Judgment and Sentence on Conviction
in CRF-81-2676, State of Oklahoma
v. Timothy R. Castleberry ..... 9

Judgment and Sentence on Conviction
in CRF-81-2678, State of Okla-
homa v. Timothy R. Castleberry,
Count I . > >. . >. > >. >. >. >. >. >. >. >. 1 2

Judgment and Sentence on Conviction
in CRF-81-2678, State of Okla-
homa v. Timothy R. Castleberry,
Count II. >. >. >. > >. 7 >. >. >. >. > > >. 15

-ii-

Judgment and Sentence on Conviction
in CRF-81-2678, State of Okla-
homa v. Nicholas Raineri, Count

I . * * . > > * . . . . > * . .

Judgment and Sentence on Conviction
in CRF-81-2678, State of Okla-
homa v. Nicholas Raineri, Count

II. > . . >. * * . . . . * . .

Opinion of Court of Criminal
Appeals of the State of Okla-
homa, F-82-227 and F-82-228 ..

Order Denying Rehearing, F-82-227
and F-82-228. - BS oe ey Ser Se ae

18

21

24

39

DISTRICT COURT FOR
OKLAHOMA COUNTY, OKLAHOMA

RELEVANT DOCKET ENTRIES

State of Oklahoma v.
Timothy R. Castileberry

Date Description
6-10-81 Information Filed

6-11-81 Arraignment. The Defendant ap-
pears in person and with his attor-
ney, Charles Cox. Bond is set at
$2,000.00.

7-1-81 Preliminary hearing. Defendant
Castleberry represented by Charles
Cox is bound over for trial.

7-2-81 Defendant Castleberry formally
arraigned. Defendant appears repre-
sented by Charles Cox.

8-18-81 Motion to Suppress filed on be-
half of Defendant.

9-23 & 24-81 Jury trial for Defendant
Castleberry. Defendant is represent-
ed at trial by Charles Cox. Defen-
dant Castleberry is found guilty of
the lesser included offense of Pos-
session of Cocaine and the jury set
his punishment at imprisonment for a
term of eight (8) years.

10-16-81 Defendant Castleberry is formal-
ly sentenced as set forth above.

11-3-81 Notice of Appeal filed on behalf
on Defendant Castleberry.

2

DISTRICT COURT FOR
OKLAHOMA COUNTY, OKLAHOMA

RELEVANT eet ENTRIES
State of Oklahoma v. Nicholas Raineri
an . stleberr

Date Description
6-10-81 Information Filed

6-11-81 Arraignment. The Defendants
Castleberry and Raineri appear in
person and with their attorney,
Charles Cox. Bond is set at $4,000
for both.

7-1-81 Preliminary hearing. Defendants
Castleberry and Raineri represented
by Charles Cox and both bound over
for trial.

7-2-81 Defendants Castleberry and Rain-
eri formally arraigned. Defendants
appear represented by Charles Cox.

8-18-81 Motion to Suppress filed on be-
half of Defendants Castleberry and
Raineri.

9-1 & 2-81 Jury trial for Defendants
Castleberry and Raineri. Defendants
are represented at trial by Charles
Cox. Defendant Castleberry is found
guilty of the offense of Possession
of Methaquaalone With Intent to
Distribute in Count I and the jury
set his punishment at imprisonment
for a term of ten (10) years with a
fine of $5,000.00; in Count II the
Defendant Castleberry is found guilty

3

of Possession of Marijuana With
Intent to Distribute and the jury set
his punishment at imprisonment for a
term of seven (7) years and a fine of
$5000.00. Defendant Raineri is found
guilty of the crime of Possession of
Metagquaalone With Intent to Distri-
bute in Count I and the jury set his
punishment at imprisonment for a term
of seven (7) years with a fine of
$5,000.00. In Count II the Defendant
Raineri is found guilty of Possession
of Marijuana With Intent to Distri-
bute and the jury set punishment at
imprisonment for a term of seven (7)
years and a fine of $5000.00.

10-16-81 Defendants Castleberry and
Raineri are formally sentenced as set
forth above, with each sentence on
Count II to run concurrently with
Count I and the fines as to Count II
are suspended.

11-3-81 Notice of Appeal filed on behalf
on Defendants Castleberry and Rain-
eri.

J

RELEVANT DOCKET ENTRIES IN
THE COURT OF CRIMINAL APPEALS
OF THE STATE OF OKLAHOMA
IN F-82-227 AND F-82-228

5-13-82 Defendant Castleberry's and Rai-
neri's Motion to Consolidate Appeals
in Case Nos. F-82-227 and F-82-228
filed.

7-23-83 Order of Court of Criminal
Appeals granting Defendants' Motion
to Consolidate Appeals.

1-23-83 Opinion of the Oklahoma Court of
Criminal Appeals in consolidated Case
Nos. F-82-227 and F-82-228.

2-13-84 State files Petition for Re-
hearing.

4-5-84 Order Denying Rehearing.

5-9-84 Order Staying Execution of Man-
date.

5
IN THE DISTRICT COURT WITHIN AND FOR
OKLAHOMA COUNTY
STATE OF OKLAHOMA
THE STATE OF OKLAHOMA
Plaintiff,
vs.

No. CRF-81-2676

TIMOTHY R. CASTLEBERRY

ed

Defendant.

MOTION TO SUPPRESS

COMES NOW the defendant above named
and moves this Court to suppress as evi-
dence against him in this case, all evi-
dence, whether tangible or intangible,
obtained as a result of the Defendant's
search or arrest for the reason that the
search of the Defendant and the arrest of
the Defendant was illegal and in violation
of the Defendant's rights under the United
States Constitution and Statutes and Con-

stitution of the State of Oklahoma.

6

/s/ Charles F. Cox
CHARLES F. COX
500 Northwest 13th Street
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
73103
Telephone: (405) 235-7507

ATTORNEY FOR DEFENDANT

VERIFICATION

STATE OF OKLAHOMA )
) ss
COUNTY OF OKLAHOMA )

I, Charles F. Cox, of lawful age and
having been duly sworn, depose and state
as follows: That I am the attorney for
defendant in the above and foregoing
Motion to Suppress; that I have read said
Motion and am familiar with the contents
thereof; that the statements and facts
contained in said Motion are true and
correct to the best of my information,
knowledge and belief.

/s/Charles F. Cox
Charles F. Cox

Subscribed and sworn to before me
this /s/ 22 day of /s/ July , 1981.

/s/ Linda Campbell
NOTARY PUBLIC

My Commission Expires:

/s/ Aug. 2, 1981

-
I® THE DISTRICT COURT WITHIN AND FOR
OKLAHOMA COUNTY
STATE OF OKLAHOMA
THE STATE OF OKLAHOMA
Plaintiff,
No. CRF-81-2678

vs.

TIMOTHY R. CASTLEBERRY
and NICHOLAS RAINERI

me ee ee ee ee ee ee

Defendants.

MOTION TO SUPPRESS

COMES NOW the defendants above named
and move this Court to suppress as evi-
dence against them in this case, all evi-
dence, whether tangible or intangible,
obtained as a result of the Defendants'
search or arrest for the reason that the
search of the Defendants and the arrest of
the Defendants was illegal and in viola-
tion of the Defendants’ rights under the
United States Constitution and Statutes

and Constitution of the State of Oklahoma.

8

/s/ Charles F. Cox
CHARLES F. COX
500 Northwest 13th Street
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
73103
Telephone: (405) 235-7507

ATTORNEY FOR DEFENDANT

VERIFICATION

STATE OF OKLAHOMA )
) ss
COUNTY OF OKLAHOMA )

I, Charles F. Cox, of lawful age and
having been duly sworn, depose and state
as follows: That I am the attorney for
defendant in the above and foregoing
Motion to Suppress; that I have read said
Motion and am familiar with the contents
thereof; that the statements and facts
contained in said Motion are true and
correct to the best of my information,
knowledge and belief.

/s/Charles F. Cox
Charles F. Cox

Subscribed and.sworn to before me
this /s/_22 day of /s/ July , 1981.

/s/ Linda Campbell
NOTARY PUBLIC

My Commission Expires:

/s/ Aug. 2, 1981

i)
THE STATE OF OKLAHOMA )
) Ss.
OKLAHOMA COUNTY )
IN THE DISTRICT COURT OF THE
SEVENTH JUDICIAL DISTRICT OF THE
STATE OF OKLAHOMA, SITTING IN AND FOR
OKLAHOMA COUNTY, OKLAHOMA
THE STATE OF OKLAHOMA,
Plaintiff,
-Vs- No. CRF-81-2676

TIMOTHY R. CASTLEBERRY,

mee ee ee ee ee ee ee

Defendant.

JUDGMENT AND SENTENCE ON CONVICTION

Now, on this 16th day of October,
1981, the same being a juridical day of
said court, and the time duly appointed
for judgment in the above-entitled cause,
and said cause coming on for judgment, and
the defendant TIMOTHY R. CASTLEBERRY being
personally present in open court, and
being duly represented at all appearances
before the court by his attorney of re-
cord, CHARLES FOSTER COX, and having been
legally charged with the offense of POS-
SESSION OF A CONLROLLED DANGEROUS SUB-
STANCE WITH INTENT TO DISTRIBUTE, TO-WIT:
COCAINE, and having been duly informed of
the nature of the charge and having been
duly arraigned thereon, and having duly
and properly pleaded not guilty to said
offense after having been duly advised of

10

his rights; and having been duly and
legally tried and convicted of the crime
of TO THE INCLUDED OFFENSE OF POSSESSION
OF A CONTROLLED DANGEROUS SUBSTANCE,
TO-WIT: COCAINE, and the defendant having
been asked by the court whether he has any
legal cause to show why judgment and
sentence should not be pronounced against
him, and he stating no sufficient cause to
show why judgment and sentence should not
be pronounced against him, and he stating
ro sufficient cause why judgment and
sentence should not be pronounced against
the defendant, and none appearing to the
court, it is the judgment of the court
that said defendant is guilty of the crime
of TO THE INCLUDED OFFENSE OF POSSESSION
OF A CONTROLLED DANGEROUS SUBSTANCE,
TO-WIT: COCAINE

It is Therefore, Ordered, Adjudged
and Decreed by the Court that TIMOTHY R.
CASTLEBERRY is sentenced to a term of
EIGHT (8) years under the direction and
control of the Department of Corrections
of the State of Oklahoma; and said defen-
dant is committed to the said Department
of Corrections at the Oklahoma State Pen-
itentiary at McAlester, Oklahoma, pursuant
to the Oklahoma Corrections Act of 1967
and pursuant to the rules of said Depart-
ment, for the crime of TO THE INCLUDED
OFFENSE OF POSSESSION OF A CONTROLLED DAN-
GEROUS SUBSTANCE, TO-WIT: COCAINE; said
term of sentence to begin at and from the
delivery of the defendant to the Warden of
the State Penitentiary at McAlester, Ckla-
homa; and that said defendant pay the cost
of this prosecution, taxed at $77.00, for
which judgment is' hereby rendered against
the defendant; and thereupon the defendant
is by the court notified of his riaht of

appeal.

11

It Is Further Ordered, Adjudged and
Decreed by the court that the Sheriff of
Oklahoma County, Oklahoma, transport said
defendant to the said State Penitentiary
at McAlester, Oklahoma, and that the War-
den of said penitentiary detain the said
defendant according to this judgment, sen-
tence and order, and that the clerk of
this court, do immediately certify, under
the seal of the court, and deliver to the
Sheriff of Oklahoma County, Oklahoma, two
copies of this judgment, sentence and
order, one of the copies to accompany the
body of the said defendant to said peni-
tentiary at McAlester, Oklahoma, and to be
left therewith at the said penitentiary,
said copy to be warrant and authority for
the imprisonment of the said defendant and
the other copy to be warrant and authority
of said Sheriff of Oklahoma County, Okla-
homa, for the transportation and imprison-
ment of the said defendant as hereinbefore
provided. Said last named copy to be re-
turned to the Clerk of said Court with the
proceedings thereunder endorsed thereon.
(Seal)

/s/ Homer Smith
HOMER SMITH,
District Judge

Attest:

DAN GRAY,
~ Court Clerk

By /s/ Kim Williams , Deputy Court Clerk

12

THE STATE OF OKLAHOMA )
) SS.
OKLAHOMA COUNTY )

IN THE DISTRICT COURT OF THE
SEVENTH JUDICIAL DISTRICT OF THE
STATE OF OKLAHOMA, SITTING IN AND FOR
OKLAHOMA COUNTY, OKLAHOMA,
THE STATE OF OKLAHOMA,
Plaintiff,
-vs- No. CRF-81-2678

TIMOTHY R. CASTLEBERRY,

me ee ee ee ee ee

Defendant.

JUDGMENT AND SENTENCE ON CONVICTION

Now, on this 16th day of October,
1981, the same being a juridical day of
said court, and the time duly appointed
for judgment in the above-entitled cause,
and said cause coming on for judgment, and
the defendant TIMOTHY R. CASTLEBERRY being
personally present in open court, and
being duly represented at all appearances
before the court by his attorney of re-
cord, CHARLES F. COX, and having been
legally charged with the offense of COUNT
1: POSSESSION OF METHAQUAALONE WITH
INTENT TO DISTRIBUTE, and having been duly
informed of the nature of the charge and
having been duly arraigned thereon, and
having duly and properly pleaded not
guilty to said offense after having been
duly advised of his rights; and having
been duly and legally tried and convicted

13

of the crime of COUNT 1: POSSESSION OF
METHAQUAALONE WITH INTENT TO DISTRIBUTE
and the defendant having been asked by the
court whether he has any legal cause to
show why judgment and sentence should not
be pronounced against him, and he stating
no sufficient cause to show why judgment
and sentence should not be pronounced
against him, and he stating no sufficient
cause why judgment and sentence should not
be pronounced against the defendant, and
none appearing to the court, it is the
judgment of the court that said defendant
is guilty of the crime of COUNT 1: pos-
SESSION OF METHAQUAALONE WITH INTENT TO
DISTRIBUTE

It is Therefore, Ordered, Ad judged
and Decreed by the Court that TIMOTHY R.
CASTLEBERRY is sentenced to a term of TEN
(10) years under the direction and control
of the Department of Corrections of the
State of Oklahoma; and said defendant is
committed to the said Department of Cor-
rections at the Oklahoma State Penitenti-
ary at McAlester, Oklahoma, pursuant to
the Oklahoma Corrections Act of 1967 and
pursuant to the rules of said Department,
for the crime of COUNT 1: POSSESSION OF
METHAQUAALONE WITH INTENT TO DISTRIBUTE;
said term of sentence to begin at and from
the delivery of the defendant to the
Warden of the State Penitentiary at McAl-
ester, Oklahoma; and that said defendant
pay the cost of this prosecution, taxed at
$45.76, for which judgment is hereby
rendered against the defendant; and there-
upon the defendant is by the court noti-
fied of his right of appeal.

14

It Is Further Ordered, Adjudged and
Decreed by the court that the Sheriff of
Oklahoma County, Oklahoma, transport said
defendant to the said State Penitentiary
at McAlester, Oklahoma, and that the War-
den of said penitentiary detain the said
defendant according to this judgment, sen-
tence and order, and that the clerk of
this court, do immediately certify, under
the seal of the court, and deliver to the
Sheriff of Oklahoma County, Oklahoma, two
copies of this judgment, sentence and
order, one of the copies to accompany the
body of the said defendant to said peni-
tentiary at McAlester, Oklahoma, and to be
left therewith at the said penitentiary,
said copy to be warrant and authority for
the imprisonment of the said defendant and
the other copy to be warrant and authority
of said Sheriff of Oklahoma County, Okla-
homa, for the transportation and imprison-
ment of the said defendant as hereinbefore
provided. Said last named copy to be re-
turned to the Clerk of said Court with the
proceedings thereunder endorsed thereon.
(Seal)

(DEFENDANT TO PAY A FINE OF $5,000.00)

/s/ CHARLES L. OWENS
CHARLES L. OWENS, District Judge

Attest:

DAN GRAY, _
Court Clerk

By /s/ Mary Evelyn Moncrief, Deputy Court
Clerk

15

THE STATE OF OKLAHOMA )
) Ss.
OKLAHOMA COUNTY )

IN THE DISTRICT COURT OF THE
SEVENTH JUDICIAL DISTRICT OF THE
STATE OF OKLAHOMA, SITTING IN AND FOR
OKLAHOMA COUNTY, OKLAHOMA.

THE STATE OF OKLAHOMA,
Plaintiff,
-vVs- No. CRF-81-2678

TIMOTHY R. CASTLEBERRY,

ee ee ee ee ee ee ee

Defendant.

JUDGMENT AND SENTENCE ON CONVICTION

Now, on this 16th day of October,
1981, the same being a juridical day of
said court, and the time duly appointed
for judgment in the above-entitled cause,
and said cause coming on for judgment, and
the defendant TIMOTHY R. CASTLEBERRY being
personally present in open court, and
being duly represented at all appearances
kefore the court by his attorney of re-
cord, CHARLES F. COX, and having been
legally charged with the offense of COUNT
2: POSSESSION OF MARIHUANA WITH INTENT TO
DISTRIBUTE, and having been duly informed
of the nature of the charge and having
been duly arraigned thereon, and having
duly and properly pleaded not guilty to
said offense after having been duly ad-
vised of his rights; and having been duly

16

and legally tried and convicted of the
crime of COUNT 2: POSSESSION OF MARIHUANA
WITH INTENT TO DISTRIBUTE and the cefen-
dant having been asked by the court whe-
ther he has any legal cause to show why
judgment and sentence should not be pro-
nounced against him, and he stating no
sufficient cause to show why judgment and
sentence should not be pronounced against
him, and he stating no sufficient cause
why judgment and sentence should not be
pronounced against the defendant, and none
appearing to the court, it is the judgment
of the court that said defendant is guilty
of the crime of COUNT 2: POSSESSION OF
MARIHUANA WITH INTENT TO DISTRIBUTE

It is Therefore, Ordered, Adjudged
and Decreed by the Court that TIMOTHY R.
CASTLEBERRY is sentenced to a term of
SEVEN (7) years under the direction and
control of the Department of Corrections
of the State of Oklahoma; and said defen-
dant is committed to the said Department
of Corrections at the Oklahoma State Pen-
itentiary at McAlester, Oklahoma, pur-
suant to the Oklahoma Corrections Act of
1967 and pursuant to the rules of said
Department, for the crime of COUNT 2:
POSSESSION OF MARIHUANA WITH INTENT TO
DISTRIBUTE; said term of sentence to begin
at and from the delivery of the defendant
to the Warden of the State Penitentiary at
McAlester, Oklahoma; and that said defen-
dant pay the cost of this prosecution,
taxed at $45.75, for which judgment is
hereby rendered against the defendant; and
thereupon the defendant is by the court
notified of his right of appeal.

17

It Is Further Ordered, Adjudged and
Decreed by the court that the Sheriff of
Oklahoma County, Oklahoma, transport said
defendant to the said State Penitentiary
at McAlester, Oklahoma, and that the War-
den of said penitentiary detain the said
defendant according to this judgment, sen-
tence and order, and that the clerk of
this court, do immediately certify, under
the seal of the court, and deliver to the
Sheriff of Oklahoma County, Oklahoma, two
copies of this judgment, se-tence and
order, one of the copies to accompany the
body of the said defendant to said peni-
tentiary at McAlester, Oklahoma, and to be
left therewith at the said penitentiary,
said copy to be warrant and authority for
the imprisonment of the said defendant and
the other copy to be warrant and authority
of said Sheriff of Oklahoma County, Okla-
homa, for the transportation and imprison-
ment of the said defendant as hereinbefore
provided. Said last named copy to be re-
turned to the Clerk of said Court with the
proceedings thereunder endorsed thereon.
(Seal) (THIS COUNT 2 TO RUN CONCURRENTLY

WITH COUNT 1)

/s/ CHARLES L. OWENS
CHARLES L. OWENS, District Judge

Attest:

DAN GRAY,

Court Clerk

By /s/ Mary Evelyn Moncrief, Deputy Court
Clerk

18

THE STATE OF OKLAHOMA )
) ss.
OKLAHOMA COUNTY )

IN THE DISTRICT COURT OF THE
SEVENTH JUDICIAL DISTRICT OF THE
STATE OF OKLAHOMA, SITTING IN AND FOR
OKLAHOMA COUNTY, OKLAHOMA.

THE STATE OF OKLAHOMA,

Plaintiff,

)
)
-vVs- ) No. CRF-81-2678
)
NICHOLAS RAINERI, )

)

)

Defendant.

JUDGMENT AND SENTENCE ON CONVICTION

Now, on this 16th day of October,
1981, the same being a juridical day of
said court, and the time duly appointed
for judgment in the above-entitled cause,
and said cause coming on for judgment, and
the defendant NICHOLAS RAINERI being per-
sonally present in open court, and being
duly represented at all appearances before
the court by his attorney of record,
CHARLES F. COX, and having been legally
charged with the offense of COUNT 13:
POSSESSION OF METHAQUAALONE WITH INTENT TO
DISTRIBUTE, and having been duly informed
of the nature of the charge and having
been duly arraigned thereon, and having
duly and properly pleaded not guilty to
said offense after having been duly ad-
vised of his rights; and having been duly
and legally tried and convicted of the

19

crime of COUNT 13: POSSESSION OF METH-
AQUAALONE WITH INTENT TO DISTRIBUTE and
the defendant having been asked by the
court whether he has any legal cause to
show why judgment and sentence should not
be pronounced against him, and he stating
no sufficient cause to show why judaqment
and sentence should not be pronounced
against him, and he stating no sufficient
cause why judgment and sentence should not
be pronounced against the defendant, and
none appearing to the court, it is the
judgment of the court that said defendant
is guilty of the crime of COUNT 1: POS-
SESSION OF METHAQUAALONE WITH INTENT TO
DISTRIBUTE

It is Therefore, Ordered, Adjudged
and Decreed by the Court that NICHOLAS
RAINERI is sentenced to a term of nine (9)
years under the direction and control of
the Department of Corrections of the State
of Oklahoma; and said defendant is commit-
ted to the said Department of Corrections
at the Oklahoma State Penitentiary at
McAlester, Oklahoma, pursuant to the
Oklahoma Corrections Act of 1967 and
pursuant to the rules of said Department,
for the crime of COUNT 1: POSSESSION OF
METHAQUAALCNE WITH INTENT TO DISTRIBUTE;
said term of sentence to begin at and from
the delivery of the defendant to the
Warden of the State Penitentiary at McAl-
ester, Oklahoma; and that said defendant
pay the cost of this prosecution, taxed at
$45.76, for which judgment is hereby
rendered against the defendant; and there-
upon the defendant is by the court noti-
fied of his right of appeal.

20

It Is Further Ordered, Adjudged and
Decreed by the court that the Sheriff of
Oklahoma County, Oklahoma, transport said
defendant to the said State Penitentiary
at McAlester, Oklahoma, and that the War-
den of said penitentiary detain the said
defendant according to this judgment, sen-
tence and order, and that the clerk of
this court, do immediately certify, under
the seal of the court, and deliver to the
Sheriff of Oklahoma County, Oklahoma, two
copies of this judgment, sentence and
order, one of the copies to accompany the
body of the said defendant to said peni-
tentiary at McAlester, Oklahoma, and to be
left therewith at the said penitentiary,
said copy to be warrant and authority for
the imprisonment of the said defendant and
the other copy to be warrant and authority
of said Sheriff of Oklahoma County, Okla-
homa, for the transportation and imprison-
ment of the said defendant as hereinbefore
provided. Said last named copy to be re-
turned to the Clerk of said Court with the
proceedings thereunder endorsed thereon.
(Seal)

(DEFENDANT TO PAY A FINE OF $5,000.00)

/s/ CHARLES L. OWENS
CHARLES L. OWENS, District Judge

Attest:

DAN GRAY,
Court Clerk

By /s/ Mary Evelyn Moncrief, Deputy Court
Clerk

21

THE STATE OF OKLAHOMA )
) ss.
OKLAHOMA COUNTY )
IN THE DISTRICT COURT OF THE
SEVENTH JUDICIAL DISTRICT OF THE

STATE OF OKLAHOMA, SITTING IN AND FOR
OKLAHOMA COUNTY, OKLAHOMA.

THE STATE OF OKLAHOMA,
Plaintiff,

)
)
)
)
-vVs- ) No. CRF-81-2678
)
NICHOLAS RAINERI, )

)

)

Defendant.

JUDGMENT AND SENTENCE ON CONVICTION

Now, on this 16th day of October,
1981, the same being a juridical day of
said court, and the time duly appointed
for judgment in the above-entitled cause,
and said cause coming on for judgment, and
the defendant NICHOLAS RAINERI being per-
sonally present in open court, and being
duly represented at all appearances before
the court by his attorney of record,
CHARLES F. COX, and having been legally
charged with the offense of COUNT 2:
POSSESSICN OF MARIHUANA WITH INTENT TO
DISTRIBUTE, and having been duly informed
of the nature of the charge and having
been duly arraigned thereon, and having
duly and properly pleaded not guilty to
said offense after having been duly ad-
vised of his rights; and having been duly
and legally tried and convicted of the

22

crime of COUNT 2: POSSESSION OF MARIHUANA
WITH INTENT TO DISTRIBUTE and the defen-
dant having been asked by the court whe-
ther he has any legal cause to show why
judgment and sentence should not be pro-
nounced against him, and he stating no
sufficient cause to show why judgment and
sentence should not be pronounced against
him, and he stating no sufficient cause
why judgment and sentence should not be
pronounced against the defendant, and none
appearing to the court, it is the judgment
of the court that said defendant is guilty
of the crime of COUNT 2: POSSESSION OF
MARIHUANA WITH INTENT TO DISTRIBUTE

It is Therefore, Ordered, Adjudged
and Decreed by the Court that NICHOLAS
RAINERI is sentenced to a term of SEVEN
(7) years under the direction and control
of the Department of Corrections of the
State of Oklahoma; and said defendant is
committed to the said Department of Cor-
rections at the Cklahoma State Peniten-
tiary at McAlester, Oklahoma, pursuant to
the Oklahoma Corrections Act of 1967 and
pursuant to the rules of said Department,
for the crime of COUNT 2: POSSESSION OF
MARIHUANA WITH INTENT TO DISTRIBUTE; said
term of sentence to begin at and from the
delivery of the defendant to the Warden of
the State Penitentiary at McAlester, Okla-
homa; and that said defendant pay the cost
of this prosecution, taxed at $45.75, for
which judgment is hereby rendered against
the defendant; and thereupon the defendant
is by the court notified of his right of

appeal.

23

It Is Further Ordered, Adjudged and
Decreed by the court that the Sheriff of
Oklahoma County, Oklahoma, transport said
defendant to the said State Penitentiary
at McAlester, Oklahoma, and that the War-
den of said penitentiary detain the said
defendant according to this judgment, sen-
tence and order, and that the clerk of
this court, do immediately certify, under
the seal of the court, and deliver to the
Sheriff of Oklahoma County, Oklahoma, two
copies of this judgment, sentence and
order, one of the copies to accompany the
body of the said defendant to said peni-
tentiary at McAlester, Oklahoma, and to be
left therewith at the said penitentiary,
said copy to be warrant and authority for
the imprisonment of the said defendant and
the other copy to be warrant and authority
of said Sheriff of Oklahoma County, Okla-
homa, for the transportation and imprison-
ment of the said defendant as hereinbefore
provided. Said last named copy to be re-
turned to the Clerk of said Court with the
proceedings thereunder endorsed thereon.
(Seal) (THIS COUNT 2 TO RUN CONCURRENTLY

WITH COUNT 1)

/s/ CHARLES L. OWENS
CHARLES L. OWENS, District Judge

Attest:

DAN GRAY, _ a
Court Clerk

By /s/ Mary Evelyn Moncrief , Deputy Court
Clerk

24

IN THE COURT OF CRIMINAL APPEALS
OF THE STATE OF OKLAHOMA

No. F-82-227
No. F-82-228

TOMOTHY R. CASTLEBERRY

and
NICHOLAS RAINERI
Appellants,
Vv.

THE STATE OF OKLAHOMA,
Appellee.

[Filed January 23, 1984]

OPINION

BRETT, Judge:

Timothy R. Castleberry and Nicholas
Raineri, appellants, were charged with
two (2) counts each of Possession of a
Controlled Dangerous Substance with Intent
to Distribute in the District Court of
Oklahoma County, Case No. CRF-81-2678.
The jury found the appellants guilty on

both counts, and assessed punishment for

25

Raineri at nine (9) years' imprisonment
and a fine of five thousand dollars
($5,000) for Count 1 and seven (7) years'
imprisonment plus a five thousand dollar
($5,000) fine for Count 2; and, for Cas-
tleberry, ten (10) years' imprisonment
plus a fine of five thousand dollars
($5,000) for Count 1 and seven (7) years'
imprisonment plus a five thousand dollar
($5,000) fine for Count 2. The trial
court sentenced the appellants according-
ly, additionally ordering the sentences to
run concurrently and suspending the fine
for Count 2 as to both appellants.

Appellant Castleberry was separately
convicted of Possession of a Controlled
Dangerous Substance, Cocaine, in Case
No. CRF-82-2676 in the Oklahoma County
District Court. The trial court sen-
tenced him to eight (8) years' impri-

sonment. The appeals from the judgments

26
and sentences are consolidated since the
same factual circumstances are involved in
each case.

At approximately noontime on June 9,
1981, Oklahoma City Police Officer R.D.
Taylor received a telephone call from a
previously unknown confidential informant
who told him that two men, one named
Castleberry, were staying in Room 113 of a
motel in Oklahoma City, driving a blue
Thunderbird with Florida license plates
and carrying various narcotics in blue
Suitcases. The informant also gave phy-
sical descriptions of the men to the
officer.

Officer Taylor proceeded immediately
to the location, observed a vehicle
matching the informant's description in
front of the specified room, and dis-
covered, from the motel clerk, that a

man named Castleberry was registered in

27
that room. He then returned to his car,
positioned some five parking spaces from
the other vehicle, and waited for back-
up assistance to arrive. After several
minutes, Officer Taylor observed’ the
appellants emerge from the room and put
several suitcases that matched the
informant's description into the trunk
of the car. At this point, Officer
Taylor announced himself as a police
officer, approached the car with his
badge in one hand and his weapon in the
other, and told the appellants to place
their hands on the car. Raineri did as
ordered, but Castleberry hastily closed
the trunk lid and threw a small white
object into the car. During a struggle
which ensued between Officer Taylor and
Castleberry, Castleberry reached up,

locked the car door and shut it.

28

At this point, Officer Citty ar-
rived and opened the trunk of the car
with keys Officer Taylor had removed
from the door of the car. The officers
opened the suitcases, found narcotics
and placed the appellants under arrest.
Officer Citty then searched the interior
of the car and discovered a white Band-
Aid box which contained a_ substance
later determined to be cocaine.

Appellants’ sole assignment of error
is that the trial court erred in overrul-
ing their motion to suppress, thereby
admitting evidence obtained as a result of
an unlawful arrest, search and seizure.
The Fourth Amendment of our federal con-
stitution prohibits unreasonable searches
and seizures. Searches conducted outside
the judicial process, without prior appro-

val by judge or magistrate, are per se

unreasonable under the Fourth Amendment,

29
subject only to a few specifically estab-
lished and well-delineated exceptions.

Katz v. United States, 389 U.S. 347, 88

S.Ct. 507, 19 L.Ed.2d 576 (1967).

The exceptions are jealously and
carefully drawn, and there must be a show-
ing by those who seek exemption that the
exingencies [sic] of the situation made

that course imperative. Coolidge v. New

Hampshire, 403 U.S. 443, 91 S.Ct. 2022, 29

L.Ed.2d 564 (1971). Thus, it is incumbent
on the State to show why the warrantless
search of the car and its contents was
permissible in the case at bar.

The State first contends that the
search was lawful as incident to a lawful
arrest. Appellants challenge both the
legality of the arrest and the scope of
the search.

Although Officer Taylor testified

that he did not arrest the appellants un-

30
til after the suitcases were opened, the
appellants were not free to move after the
officer advanced toward them with revolver
drawn and ordered them to place their
hands on the car. This Court has held
that when an officer restrains the indi-
vidual's freedom of movement, that person

is under arrest. Wallace v. State, 620

P.2d 410 (Ok1.Cr. 1980), Castellano v.

State, 585 P.2d 361 (Okl.Cr. 1978). Under
the circumstances, the appellants in the
present case were under arrest from the
moment Officer Taylor approached them and
announced his identity.

Appellants submit that the arrest was
unlawful because Officer Taylor did not at
that time have probable cause to make it.
The Oklahoma statutes allow a warrantless
arrest if the officer has reasonable cause
to believe a felony has been committed by

the person arrested. 22 0.S.1981, § 196.

31
If at the time of arrest the facts and
circumstances within the arresting offi-
cer's knowledge and of which he had rea-
sonably trustworthy information were
sufficient to warrant a prudent man in
believing that an offense had been or was
being committed, probable cause is estab-

lished and the arrest is lawful. Beck v.

Ohio, 379 U.S. 89, 85 S.Ct. 223, 13 L.Ed.
2d 142 (1964), Greene v. State, 508 P.2d

1095 (Okl.Cr. 1973).

In this case, appellants argue that
the officer had no basis for judging his
informant to be reliable or the informa-
tion trustworthy. We disagree. In

Grimes v. State, 528 P.2d 1397 (Ok1.Cr.

1974), this Court stated that an infor-
mant's trustworthiness could be estab-
lished if independent facts within the
officer's knowledge corroborated the

information. Here, the information was

32
sufficiently corroborated as the only
detail not confirmed before the arrest was
the presence of narcotics in the wit-
cases, an allegation Officer Taylor could
not lawfully verify before the arrest
under the given circumstances.

The search made subsequent to the
arrest, however, cannot be justified as a
search incident to a lawful arrest, for it
far exceeded the permissible bounds of
such a search, that is, the area within
the arrestee's immediate control from
which he might gain possession of a weapon

or destructible evidence. See Chimel v.

California, 395 U.S. 752, 89 S.Ct. 2034,

23 L.Ed.2d 685 (1969). Both appellants
were restrained--one was handcuffed, the
other was on the ground with an officer
pointing a gun at him--at the time of the
search. The car doors anc trunk were

locked, so once the officer gained posses-

33

sion of the keys, there was no danger of
appellants’ procuring a weapon or destroy-
ing evidence from the interior of the car.
A search incident to the arrest would
therefore justify neither a search of the
locked car nor a search of the suitcases
therein.

The State's only other justification
offered is that the warrantless search was
lawful because the officers had probable
cause to believe that narcotics were in
the s"itcases and exigent circumstances
required prompt action. The so-called
automobile exception on which the State

relies was first recognized in Carroll v.

United States, 267 U.S. 132, 45 S.Ct. 280,

69 L.Ed. 543 (1925). Cases subsequent to

Carroll caused some confusion about when

containers in cars may be searched, but

the Supreme Court clarified the law in

34
United States v. Ross, 456 U.S. 798, 102
S.Ct. 2157, 72 L.Ed.2d 572 (1982).

If the officer has probable cause to
believe there is contraband somewhere in
the car, but he does not know exactly
where, he may search the entire car as
well as any containers found therein. See

United States v. Ross, 456 U.S. 798, 102

S.Ct. 2157, 72 L.Ed.2d 572 (1982); Cham-

bers v. Maroney, 399 U.S. 42, 90 S.Ct.

1975, 26 L.Ed.2d 419 (1970); Carroll v.

United States, 267 U.S. 132, 45 S.Ct. 280,

69 L.Ed. 543 (1925). If, on the other
hand, the officer only has probable cause
to believe there is contraband in a speci-
fic container in the car, he must detain
the container and delay his search until
a search wariant is obtained. See United

States v. Ross, 456 U.S. 798, 102 S.Ct.

2157, 72 L.Ed.2d 572 (1982); Arkansas v.

Sanders, 442 U.S. 753, 99 S.Ct. 2586, 61

35
L.Ed.2d 235 (1979); United States v. Chad-

wick, 433 U.S. 1, 97 S.Ct. 2476, 53 L.Ed.
2d 538 (1977).

The Ross court adopted Chief Justice
Burger's distinction set out in his con-

curring opinion to Arkansas v. Sanders,

442 U.S. 753, 99 S.Ct. 2586, 61 L.Ed.2d

235 (1979), wherein he explained that:

{I]t was the luggage being trans-
ported by respondent at the time of

the arrest, not the automobile in
which it was being carried, that was
the suspected locus of the contra-
band. The relationship between the
automobile and tine contraband was
purely coincidental, as in Chadwick.
The fact that the suitcase was
resting in the trunk of the automo-
bile at the time of respondent's
arrest does not turn this into an
‘automobile’ exception case. The
Court need say no more. (Citations
omitted). Id., at 766-767, 99 S.Ct.
at 2594.

United States v. Ross, 456 U.S. at 813,

102 S.Ct. at 2166-67, 72 L.Ed.2d at 586-
87.
The case at bar clearly falls within

the Chadwick - Sanders line of cases. The

36

suspected locations of the contraband were
the suitcases and the Band-Aid box which
Castleberry threw into the car. Accord-
ingly, we hold that the motion to suppress
was erroneously overruled. The officers
should have detained the containers until
a search warrant had been obtained.

We are not dealing with formalities.
The presence of a search warrant
serves a high function. Absent
some grave emergency, the Fourth
Amendment has interposed a magis-
trate between the citizen and the
police. This was done not to shield
criminals nor to make the home a
safe haven for illegal activities.
It was done so that an objective
mind might weigh the need to invade
that privacy in order to enforce the
law. The right of privacy was
deemed too precious to entrust to
the discretion of those whose job is
the detection of crime and the
arrest of criminals. Power is a
heady thing; and history shows that
the police acting on their own
cannot be trusted. And so the
Constitution requires a magistrate
to pass on the desires of the police
before they violate the privacy of
the home. We cannot be true to that
constitutional requirement and
excuse the absence of ae search
warrant without a showing by those

37

who seek exemption from the consti-
tutional mandate that the exigencies
of the situation made that course
imperative.

McDonald v. United States, 335 U.S. 451,

445-456, 69 S.Ct. 191, 193, 93 L.Ed. 153
(1948).

For the reasons herein stated, the
judgments and sentences appealed from
should be, and the same are hereby, RE-
VERSED.

CORNISH, J., specially concurs.

BUSSEY, P.J., dissents.

CORNISH, Judge, specially concurring.

I fully concur in Judge Brett's
analysis and application of the Supreme
Court's precedents in this case. I would
simply note that it has been settled in
this State for several years that probable
cause will not support a warrantless
search in the absence of an emergency,

i.e., “exigent circumstances":

38

{I]t is without question that the
existence of probable cause alone
will not satisfy a warrantless
search, Chambers v. Maroney, 399
U.S. 42, 90 S.Ct. 1975, 26 L.Ed.2d
419 (1970); Whitehead v. State, 546
P.2d 273 (OkI.Cr.1975;. Ordinarily,
if an officer has probable cause to
make a search, then he should go to
a magistrate for a warrant authori-
zing such a search. Only when there
are ‘exigent circumstances’ in addi-
tion to the existence of probable
cause may ar. officer legitimately
make a search without a warrant.

Blackburn v. State, 575 P.2d 638, 642

(Ok1.Cr. 1978).

Absent probable cause to search the
entire car, the officers were only author-
ized to seize the suspect containers and
hold them pending issuance of a search
warrant. Although probable cause existed
with regard to the containers, no exigent
circumstances were shown such as to just-

ify a warrantless search.

39
IN THE COURT OF CRIMINAL APPEALS OF THE

STATE OF OKLAHOMA

TIMOTHY R. CASTLEBERRY and )
NICHOLAS RAINERI, )
)
Appellants, )
)

-Vvs- ) Case No.

) F-8 2-227

THE STATE OF OKLAHOMA, ) F-82-228
)
Appellee. )

ORDER DENYING REHEARING

In an Opinion dated January 23, 1984,
this Court reversed the convictions for
drug offenses in Oklahoma County Case Nos.
CRF-82-2676 and CRF-82-2678. On February
13, 1984, the State filed a petition re-
questing this Court to grant a rehearing.

NOW THEREFORE, after considering the
petition and reviewing the record, this
Court finds that the petition for rehear-
ing should be, and the same is, DENIED.

The mandate shall issue forthwith.

40
WITNESS OUR HANDS AND THE SEAL OF

THIS COURT this /s/_ 5th day of /s/April,
1984.

/s/Hez.

J. Busse
. , ng ge

/s/Tom Brett
, Judge

ATTEST:

/s/Susan Hampton, Deputy
Clerk

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385012_0794%3A05. Public record. Not legal advice.
