# Petitioners Brief — Oklahoma v. Castleberry

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385012_0794%3A04

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petitioners Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1984
- **Citation:** 469 U.S. 979

## Text

is
a

No. soctaail

INTHE ~~~

we on
te

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES ~~~ ~-

OCTOBER TERM, 1983

THE STATE OF OKLAHOMA
Petitioner,
Vv.
TIMOTHY R. CASTLEBERRY
and
NICHOLAS RAINERI
Respondents.

ON WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
OKLAHOMA COURT OF CRIMINAL APPEALS

BRIEF OF PETITIONER

. MICHAEL C. TURPEN
ATTORNEY GENERAL OF OKLAHOMA

DAVID W. LEE*
ASSISTANT ATTORNEY GENERAL
CHIEF, CRIMINAL AND FEDERAL DIVISIONS

HUGH A. MANNING
ASSISTANT ATTORNEY GENERAL
112 State Capitol Building
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma 73105
(405) 521-3921

ATTORNEYS FOR PETITIONER
*Counsel of Record

— @,

ec

i

QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

1. Whether, under the Fourth Amend-

ment principles set forth in United States

v. Ross, 456 U.S. 798 (1982), when an of-

ficer has probable cause to believe that
there is contraband in a specific contain-
er in a vehicle, and probable cause exists
to support a search of the entire vehicle,
he is required to obtain a search warrant
for the vehicle and the compartments and
containers therein.

2. Whether, when officers arrest a
suspect on probable cause, and the sus-
pect, who is standing next to the vehicle,
is able to place a container inside a
vehicle, the police may search the con-
tainer as a search incident to arrest or

pursuant to the automobile exception rule.

ii

TABLE OF CONTENTS

QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW...
OPINION BELOW. . . «© «© «© © © «© © «© «
JURISD ICTION s 7 e * oe * s eo o * * *

RELEVANT CONSTITUTIONAL
PROVISIONS e s s s oe eo o * . . * . @

STATEMENT OF THE CASE. .......

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT. . . .« «© «© «© « «

ARGUMENT
PROPOSITION I

TH” SEARCH OF THE SUITCASES

IN THE TRUNK OF THE VEHICLE
WAS JUSTIFIED UNDER THE AUTO-
MOBILE EXCEPTION PRINCIPLE
BECAUSE A MAGISTRATE WOULD
HAVE BEEN JUSTIFIED IN ISSU-
ING A SEARCH WARRANT AUTHOR-
IZING THE SEARCH OF THE ENTIRE
VEHICLE SINCE PROBABLE CAUSE
WOULD SUPPORT THE BELIEF THAT
THE VEHICLE CONTAINED CONTRA-
BAND e @ @ s @ s e o s © s * s s

10

14

iii

TABLE OF CONTENTS

PROPOSITION II

THE SEARCH OF THE BAND-AID BOX

FOUND IN THE FRONT SEAT OF THE
VEHICLE WAS JUSTIFIED UNDER THE
AUTOMOBILE EXCEPTION PRINCIPLE

AND AS A SEARCH INCIDENT TO A

LAWFUL ARREST . . «© «© «© © «© « «@ 58

CONCLUSION . . * . ° ° ° * sd . . . ° 63

iv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases:

Arkansas v. Sanders, 442 U.S.

753 (1979). . . . « © «© © 11,12,13,15
22,23,35,36
49,50,54,59

Bivens v. Six Unknown Federal

Narcotics Agents, 403 U.S. 38
Tid71

). e s es e ® @ ° * . eo ® * 34

Carroll v. United States, 267
U.s. 132 (1925)... + « o21,24,53

castlepery v. Oklahoma, 678
P. Cr. . J @ & o 1
Chambers v. Maroney, 399

ewe e e e e e e 25,41,44,56

Colorado v. Bannister, 449
U.S. 1 (1980) oe @ eo e@ e@ _ e ee eo 23,24

cuRe v. Murphy, 412 U.S. 291

@ e@ e @ oo e @ o oe o @ eo @ 41
Davis v. Mississippi, 394

eo eo s @ ® @ _ @ eo @ 40

Delaware v. Prouse, 440 U.S.
Teuate @ e©eee0e80e¢e 36

Dunaway v. New York, 442 U.S.
ee...
Florida v. Meyers, 104 S.Ct.

st ¢- & & & & @& @& ©€@ 57

Vv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases:

Illinois v. Gates, 103 S.Ct.
Be¢6@¢ee6& © @ She eeoateoae

Illinois v. Ltt aa 103

o t. eo o eo J >. o oe 40,47
I.N.S. V. popes enna 104

a t. 4). e e © e ° © 34
Kirby v. Illinois, 406 U.S.
Srv tt ee CA
jzenagen v. Thomas, 458

e eo @o J J @ oe e 7 oe 56

New York v. Belton, 453 U.S.
© © © © © ec 0 30,31,41,62,63

Oliver v. United States, 104
S.Ct. 1735 (1984) ......e. 48,61

Payton v. New York, 445 U.S.
). e ° © ° e e@ e e @ ° 37

Robbins v. California, 453
U.s. 420 (1981) 7 eo e J o oe oe — 38

Schmerber v. California, 384
U.s. 757 (1966) eo s @ °° © ° °° s 51

Segura v. United States, 104
Ste. 3380 (1984) . ....-s + 37,44

vi

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases:

Page
South Dakota v. Opperman, 428
ewe 2. .6@ 7-8 -¢ . . 41,44
Spinelli v. United States,
>. > ) >. . >. >. . 28
Stone v. Powell, 428 U.S.
>. >. >. 7 > 7. > . >. _ 34
Texas v. Brown, 460 U.S.
. > >. > >. >. >. > -24,28,36
Texas v. White, 423 U.S.
>. >. >. . > > > >. >. >. 24,57
United States v. Calandra,
qi4 U.s. 330 (1974) >. >. >. . >. 34
United States v. Chadwick,
. . . . . . 11,13,15,22
23,36,49,50,59
United States v. Cortez,
>. >. > i . >. >. 28
United States v. Edwards, 415
0.s. 800 T1974) >. > > > >. * > 40
United States v. Jacobsen, 104
S.ct. 1652 T1964) . . . . -35,37,50
United States v. Janis, 428
0.s. 33 Tid76) _ >. >. > >. > >. 34

vii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page
Cases:
United States v. Johns, 707
F.2d 1093 (9th Cir. 1983)... 51
United States v. Leon, 104
S.ct. 3405 (1984) -_ © * -32,33,3°
United States v. Mendenhall,
_ >. 7. >. >. > > > 43

United States v. Nigro, 727
F.2d 100 (oth Cir. +584). eee 57

United States v. Place, 103
S.Ct. 2637 (1983) : = 2 ©@ ¢ -35,43,50

United States v. Robinson,
Se ) « «© « « «40,47,60

United States v. Ross, 456
U.S. 798 (1902)... . i,10,11,15,16
23,25,26,30,49
54,56,59,60

United States v. Sheposrs: 714
_ Ir. >. >. a. >. 52

United States v. Watson, 423

. . . . . . * . . . 39

Warden v. Hayden, 387 U.S.

> >. >. > >. >. . >. 7 >. >. 55
Welsh v. Wisconsin, 104
S.ct. 2091 (1584) - >. 7 > 7 >. 37

viii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Statutes:

28 U.S.C

Federal

« § 125713) . « « «

State

Okla. Stat. Ann., tit. 63,

§ 2-401

Okla. Stat. Ann., tit. 63,

§ 2-402

Other Author-
ities Cited:

LaFave,

Search and Seizure,

§ 7.2 (Supp. 1984). - @ Be ©

31

No. 83-2126

IN THE
SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

OCTOBER TERM, 1983

THE STATE OF OKLAHOMA
Petitioner,
Vv.
TIMOTHY R. CASTLEBERRY
and
NICHOLAS RAINERI
Respondents.

BRIEF OF PETITIONER

OPINION BELOW

The decision of the Oklahoma Court of
Criminal Appeals from which the certiorari

is sought is reported as Castleberry v.

Oklahoma, 678 P.2d 720 (Okl.Cr. 1984).

This Opinion was filed on January 23,
1984, and the State of Oklahoma's (herein-
after referred to as “the State") Petition
for Rehearing was denied on April 5, 1984.
The Court's mandate was issued on April 11,
1984.

2
JURISDICTION

The jurisdiction of this Court is in-
voked pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1257(3).

RELEVANT CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS

The Fourth Amendment to the Constitu-
tion of the United States provides:

"The right of the people to be
secure in their persons, houses,
papers, and effects, against unrea-
sonable searches and seizures, shall
not be violated, and no Warrants
shall issue, but upon probable
cause, supported by Oath or affir-
mation, and particularly describing
the place to be searched, and the
persons or things to be seized."

STATEMFNT OF THE CASE

Nicholas Raineri (hereinafter refer-
red to as the “Defendant Raineri"™) and
Timothy R. Castleberry (hereinafter refer-
red to as the “Defendant Castleberry"),
were both convicted after a jury trial on
two counts of Possession of a Controlled

Dangerous Substance With Intent to Distri-

3

bute, Okia. Stat. Ann., tit. 63, § 2-401
in the District Court of Oklahoma County,
State of Oklahoma. The Defendant Castle-
berry was also convicted in a subsequent
jury trial for the offense of Possession
of a Controlled Dangerous Substance, Okla.
Stat. Ann., tit. 63, § 2-402.

The Defendant Raineri was sentenced
to nine years imprisonment and a $5,000.00
fine on Count 1 and seven years imprison-
ment and a $5,000.00 suspended fine on
Count 2. The Defendant Castleberry was
sentenced to ten years imprisonment and a
$5,000.00 fine on Count 1 and seven years
imprisonment and a $5,000.00 suspended
fine on Count 2. The Defendant Castleber-
ry was sentenced to eight years imprison-
ment on the separate charge of Possession
of a Contcolled Dangerous Substance.

The two cases were consolidated on

appeal and the convictions of both Defen-

4

dants were reversed in a decision of the
Oklahoma Court of Criminal Appeals report-
ed at 678 P.2d 720 (Okl.Cr. 1984) (A. 27).

The facts presented at trial revealed
that at approximately noontime on June 9,
1981 (Tr. I, 6),> Officer R.D. Taylor of
the Oklahoma City Police Department, Nar-
cotics Division (Tr. I, 5), received a
telephone call from an informant, previ-
ously unknown to him but referred by a
fellow police officer (Tr. I, 18). The
informant advised him that the informant
had seen a large quantity of marijuana,
some cocaine, and white pills in Room i113
at the Southgate Inn, a motel located on

Interstate 35 in Oklahoma City. The

2 The following transcript designa-
tions will be used: Tr. I - Transcript of
proceedings held on September 1-2, 1981
(F-82-227) (trial of the Defendants Cast-
leberry and Raineri}; Tr. II - Transcript
of trial proceedings held on September
23-24, 1981 (F-82-228) (trial of the De-
fendant Castleberry).

5

informant told Taylor that he or she had
been in the room within the past ten hours
(Tr. I, 18). The informant gave _ the
officer a description of the men in the
room and of the suitcase containing some
of the narcotics. The informant also told
the officer that one of the men was Tim
Castleberry and the other was named Nick.
The officer was also informed that they
were driving a 1980 or 1981 blue Thunder-
bird with Florida license plates (Tr. I,
6-7).

Officer Taylor immediately drove to
the location. He drove through the park-
ing lot and observed a blue 1980 or 1981
Thunderbird with Florida license plates
parked immediately in front of Room 113.
Taylor parked his vehicle approximately
five parking spaces away from the Thun-
derbird and went to see the desk clerk.

After advising her that he was a police

6

officer, he inquired as to who was staying
in Room 113 (Tr. I, 7). The desk clerk
stated that it was registered to a Tim
Castleberry, that he had paid only for the
previous night and that checkout time was
at 1:00 p.m. (Tr. I, 8). It was approxi-
mately 12:50 p.m. at this time (Tr. I,
18).

The officer returned to his car and
waited (Tr. I, 8). He had previously

cal’ ad for assistance (Tr. I, 7). After
waiting five or ten minutes, Officer
Taylor observed the Defendant Castleberry
exit the motel room carrying a baby blue
leather suitcase (Tr. I, 8), and place it
in the trunk of the car. This suitcase
matched the description of one given by
the informant which the informant stated
contained some of the drugs (Tr. I, 6,8,

12,26).

7

Castleberry left the trunk open and
the Defendant Raineri came out carrying
two plaid suitcases, which were also
placed in the trunk. Then a young male
came out and went to a red car parked next
to the Thunderbird. The Defendant Cast-
leberry returned with another blue suit-
case, which he placed in the backseat of
his vehicie.

After inquiring about his backup, Of-
ficer Taylor approached the car while the
door and the trunk were still open (Tr. I,
9). Taylor testified that he could detect
the smell of marijuana coming from the
trunk (Tr. I, 11). All three men were
standing outside. He held his badge in
one hand and his service revolver in the
other, auvised the men he was a police
officer, and ordered them to place their
hands on the car.

8

The Defendant Raineri placed his
hands on the vehicle as ordered (Tr. I,
10), but the Defendant Castleberry, after
closing the trunk of the car, reached
behind his back. The officer asked him
twice to place his hands on the car but
Castleberry refused to do so. Finally,
the Defendant Castleberry threw something
from behind his back into the car (Tr. I,
11). Officer Taylor then attempted to
physically force the Defendant Castleberry
to place his hands on the car, but even-
tually had to wrestle him to the ground.

While on the ground, the Defendant
Castleberry reached up, locked the car
door, and closed it. The car keys re-
mained in the car door.

At this time, with the situation
under control, Officer Taylor's partner,
Officer Bill Citty arrived. Officer Tay-

lor gave Officer Citty the car keys, told

9

him he had smelled marijuana coming from
the trunk, and asked him to open the
trunk. The Defendant Raineri was at the
passenger side of the car with his hands
on top, and the Defendant Castleberry was
laying on the ground with his head next to
the left rear tire (Tr. I, 21). Officer
Citty opened the trunk and also smelled "a
very strong odor” of marijuana (Tr. I,
26). Officer Citty opened the plaid suit-
cases and found that they were filled with
marijuana (Tr. I, 12,26). Officer Taylor
then advised the men that they were under
arrest (Tr. I, 12,26).

Taylor then told cCitty that’ the
informant had told him that “there was a
large amount of powder" in the blue suit-
case and that he wanted Citty to check it
(Tr. I, 26). Officer Citty then broke
open the blue leather suitcase and found

that it contained a large sum of cash and

10

a clear plastic baggy containing approxi-
mately ten ounces of white powder (Tr. I,
12,27). The powder was later determined
to be methaquaalone powder (Tr. I, 37).

Officer Citty then opened the car
door and searched the interior (Tr. II,
13). In that search, he found a white
Band-Aid box on the dashboard of the
vehicle which contained approximately an
ounce of white powder (Tr. II, 14,5960).
This white powder was later determined to

be cocaine (Tr. II, 68).

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

In the present case, it the facts
known to Officer Taylor when he approached
the Defendants had been presented to a
magistrate, a search warrant based upon
probable cause would have been issued for
the search of the automobile. Therefore,

under the principles of United States v.

11
Ross, 456 U.S. 798 (1982), all containers
and compartments in the vehicle could have
been searched withous a search warrant
pursuant to the “automobile exception”
rule. This search would include the
luggage in the trunk and the Band-Aid box
an the passenger compartment.

The fact that the officers knew of
the specific location of some of the pnar-
cotis should not mean that they wer: re-
quired to obtain a search warrant for the
containers or compartments concealing
such. A rule such as this would inject a
great amount of uncertainty into what is
at the present time a workable, straight-
forward rule regarding searches of automo-
biles.

The present case differs from that in

Arkansas v. Sanders, 442 U.S. 753 (1979)

and United States v. Chadwick, 433 9.S. 1
(1977) in that in those cases the only

12

potential location of the narcotics was
the suitcase and footlocker, and not a
vehicle which might have been transporting
such. In Arkansas v. Sanders, supra,
there was no reason to believe that the
taxicab which was carrying the suitcase
was a possible repository for naarcotics
and therefore, the fact that the suitcase
was merely resting in the automobile
taxicab did not give rise to the “automo-
bile exception" justification for the
search.

In the present case, however, there
was probable cause to believe that drugs
had been moved from the motel room where
they had been seen by an informant to the
vehicle parked outside the motel room.
The fact that information provided by the
informant was that he or she had seen
"some" of the drugs in a suitcase (imply-
ing that the rest of the drugs were in

13
other places in the room), that the Defen-
dants' were in the process of loading
their automobile at check-out time, that
the automobile had Florida licenses plates
on it, that the Defendants wee staying at
a motel located on a major interstate
highway, that the Defendant Castleberry
threw an object into the car when ap-
proached by Officer Taylor and subsequent-
ly locked the car, is part of the evidence
which supports the view that the vehicle,
as a whole, was the “suspected locus" of
the object of the search. The relation-
ship between the objection of the search

and the vehicle in Sanders and Chadwick

was purely coincidental. Here, the rela-
tionship between the vehicle and the
object of the search is apparent.

The additional intrusions into the
contents of the luggage and the Band-Aid
box were minimal when viewed in the con-

14
text of the right of the police to arrest
and search the person and effects of the
Defendants and impound and search their
vehicle. The interests of the public in
clear rules and efficiency in the alloca-
tion of police resources are also consid-
erations when determining whether a search
warrant should have been obtained in the

present case.

ARCUMENT

PROPOSITION I

THE SEARCH OF THE SUITCASES IN THE
TRUNK OF THE VEHICLE WAS JUSTIFIED
UNDER THE AUTOMOBILE EXCEPTION PRIW-
CIPLE BECAUSE A MAGISTRATE WOULD
HAVE BEEN JUSTIFIED IN ISSUING A
SEARCH WARRANT AUTHORIZING THE
SEARCH OF THE ENTIRE VEHICLE SINCE
PROBABLE CAUSE WOULD SUPPORT THE
BELIEF THAT THE VEHICLE CONTAINED
CONTRABAND .

The Oklahoma Court of Criminal Ap-
peals held that the officers illegally
searched the suitcases found in the trunk

of the vehicle, finding that the search

15

fell within the dictates of Arkansas v.

Sanders, 442 U.S. 753 (1979) and United

States v. Chadwick, 433 U.S. 1 (1977),

rather than those of United States v.

Ross, 456 U.S. 798 (1982). One of the
pertinent parts of the Opinion of the
Oklahoma Court of Criminal Appeals in
this regard is as follows:

"If the officer has probable cause
to believe there is contraband some-
where in the car, but he does not
know exactly where, he may search
the entire car as well as any con-
tainers found therein. [Citations
omitted] . . . If, on the other
hand, the officer has only probable
cause to believe there is contraband
in a specific container in the car,
he must obtain the container and
delay his search until a search war-
rant is obtained.” 678 P.2d at 724;
A. 34.

The Court held that since the suit-
cases and the Band-Aid box were the “sus-
pected locations” of the contraband,
"[t)he officer should have detained the
containers until a search warrant had been

obtained." 678 P.2d at 724; A. 36.

16
The State contends that the ruling of
the Oklahoma Court of Criminal Appeals is
at odds with that of this Court in United

States v. Ross, supra. In Ross, the

Supreme Court specifically held that once
probable cause is found, a vehicle may be
searched without a warrant and "(t]he
scope of a warrantless search based on
probable cause is no narrower--and no
broader--than the scope of the search
authorized by a warrant supported by pro-
bable cause." 456 U.S. at 823.

The facts of the present case are
such that a magistrate would have issued a
search warrant for the search of the
Defendants' entire vehicle. Officer
Taylor had been advised that a man named
Tim Castleberry and another man named Nick
were in possession of a large quantity of
marijuana, some cocaine and “some other

white pills" (Tr. I, 6). The informant

17

had been in the room within the past ten
hours (Tr. I, 18). Officer Taylor was
given a physical description of the Defen-
dants, the motel and room number where
they were staying, and of the suitcase
that “some of the narcotics [were] in"
(Tr. I, 6). The informant also told him
that the Defendants were driving a late
model 1980 or 1981 blue Thunderbird with
Florida tags (Tr. I, 5-6).

The information was fully corrobcrat-
ed when Officer Taylor arrived at the
motel. When he drove through the parking
lot he observed a blue 1980 or 1981 Thun-
derbird with Florida license plates parked
“immediately” in front of the room speci-
fied by the informant (Tr. I, 7). The
motel clerk confirmed that the room re-
ferred to by the informant was registered

to a Tim Castleberry (Tr. I, 7-8).

18

After returning to his car and wait-
ing appropriately five or ten ninutes,
Taylor observed Defendant Castleberry
leave the motel room carrying a blue suit-
case which matched the description of the
suitcase that the informant had stated
contained “some” of the narcotics (Tr. I,
6,6,12,26). Castleberry placed this
suitcase in the trunk of the Thunderbird.
The Defendant Raineri loaded two plaid
suitcases into the trunk and Castleberry
returned with another blue suitcase, which
he placed in the backseat of the car
(Tr. I,9).

Officer Taylor had also been advised
by the motel clerk that the Defendant
Castleberry had paid for only one night
and that check-out time was 1:00 p.m.
Taylor arrived at the motel at approxi-
mately 12:50 p.m. (Tr. I, 18).

19

Armed with this information, Officer
Taylor approached the Defendants with his
gun drawn and his badge displayed, advis-
ing them that he was a police officer and
to put their hands on the car (Tr. I, 10).
As he approached the trunk he could detect
the odor of marijuana (Tr. I, 11). The
Defendant Raineri complied with this
command, but Castleberry, after closing
the trunk, placed his hands behind his
back and ignored two requests from Taylor
to take his hands from behind his back and
place them on the car (Tr. I, 11). Cas-
tleberry then threw an object into the car
(Tr. I, 11). Officer Taylor then atteapt-
ed to force Castleberry to place his hands
on the car, and in the process had to
wrestle him to the ground. Castleberry
then reached up, locked the car door and
closed it (Tr. I, 11).

20

The State submits that, based upon
this information, a magistrate would have
found probable cause to believe that the
vehicle contained contraband and would
have been justified in issuing a search
warrant allowing the police to search the
entire car.

The evidence points to the fact that
the vehicle was a repository for narco-
tics. Officer Taylor observed the car
being loaded with luggage when he arrived.
Check out time was at hand. The informant
had seen various types of drugs in Room
113, including marijuana, cocaine and what
were described as “white pills" (Tr. I,
6). At least one of the suitcases matched
the description of one which contained
"some" of the drugs (Tr. I, 6,8,12,26).

Other facts known to Officer Taylor
axe also important. Defendant Castleberry

threw an object into the car when ap-

21
proached by a law enforcement officer.
The car was parked at a motel located on a
major interstate highway and was display-

2 All of this

ing Florida license plates.
would lead a reasonable person to conclude
that drugs were being removed from the
motel room to the car. Certainly a magi-
strate would find that, at the very least,
probable cause existed to believe that
narcotics were being “concealed" in the
vehicle. Carroll v. United States, 267
U.S. 132, 153 (1925).

It is significant that the informant
had advised Officer Taylor that “sonme" of

the narcotics had been in a blue suitcase.

— ilinois v. Cates, 103 s.ct.
2317, 2334 { preme Court stated
that the fact that the defendants’ automo-
bile traveled from Florida to Illinois
supported the belief that it contained
drugs, noting that “Florida is well-known
as a source of narcotics and other illegal

drugs."

22
Therefore, this case is distinguishable

from the situations in Arkansas v. San-

ders, 442 U.S. 753 (1979) and United
States v. Chadwick, 433 U.S. 1 (1977),
where the information indicated that all
of the contraband was in one container.
In the present case, contraband could have
been concealed in any of the suitcases,
the object thrown into the car, or any
other containers or compartments in the
vehicle where drugs could have been placed
after their removal from the motel room.
It is also important to remember that
Officer Taylor testified that he detected
the odor of marijuana coming from the
trunk as he walked up to the vehicle,
which means that marijuana could have been
stored in any compartment or container in
the trunk.

As previously noted, the Oklahoma
Court of Criminal Appeals based their

23
holding on the reasoning that if officers
know specifically in what container con-
traband may be located, a search warrant
must be issued before the container is
searched. The State believes that this

was an incorrect and narrow reading of

United States v. Ross, supra, Arkansas v.
Sanders, supra, and United States v. Chad-
wick, supra, and is inconsistent with
other Supreme Court cases dealing with the
automobile exception as well.

In Ross the police were told by the
informant the specific location where the
drugs were located, i.e., the trunk. 456
U.S. at 800. Despite that fact, this
Court did not require that the police ob-
tain a search warrant for the trunk.

In Colorado v. Bannister, 449 U.S. 1
(1980) the police obviously knew of the
exact location of items which they

seized, lug nuts and lug wrenches, since

24

the police observed those items in plain
view in the glove compartment and on the
floorboard of the back seat. This Court
held that the Colorado Supreme Court was
incorrect in holding that a search warrant
should have been obtained, applying the
automobile exception principles of Car-
roll. See also Texas v. Brown, 460 U.S.
730 (1983) where facts similar to Ban-
nister existed although the warrantless
seizure and subsequent search was upheld
under the plain view doctrine.

In Texas v. White, 423 U.S. 67 (1975)
the police knew of the location of the
items they were seeking since a bank em-
ployee observed the defendant “stuff some-
thing" between the seats of his automo-
bile. Nothing in the Court's opinion sug-
gested that the police should have ob-
tained a search warrant for the location
where the suspected fruits or instrumen-

talities of the crime were hidden.

25

In Chambers v. Maroney, 399 U.S. 42
(1970) this Court upheld the warrantless
search of a glove found in an automobile
even though they presumably may have known
that the glove contained change taken dur-
ing a robbery since one of the robbers had
directed the victim to place coins in the
glove. Obviously, the Court did not hold
that the police should have obtained a
search warrant for the glove.

The clear holding of United States Vv.
Ross, supra, is that "[i)f probable cause
justifies the search of a lawfully stopped
vehicle, it justified the search of every
part of the vehicle and its contents that
may conceal the object of the search."
456 U.S. at 825. If the police have an
idea that certain compartments or con-

\iners conceal items they are searching
for (in this case the blue suitcase) they
should not be required to obtain a search

26

warrant for an automobile if probable
cause exists to believe that contraband
may be hidden in other parts of the auto-
mobile. In Ross, the Court stated that
"[a] warrant to support a search of the
vehicle would support a search of every
part of the vehicle that might contain the
object of the search." 456 U.S. at 821.

It is the State's view that Officers
Taylor and Citty had probable cause to
believe that contraband could be concealed
in the automobile generally and that the
"automobile exception" rule should apply
in the present case. The fact that the
informant had not been used by Officer
Taylor previously (although the informant
had been referred to him by another police
officer) is merely a factor to be weighed
in the “totality of circumstances." See

Illinois v. Gates, supra, where an anony-

mous letter was sufficiently corroborated

27

by other police information. In the
present case, the State has previously
mentioned the observations of Officer
Taylor which corroborated the informant's
information, as well as the fact that the
vehicle possessed Florida tags and was
parked at a motel located on Interstate
Highway 35.

Furthermore, the refusal of Castle-
berry to cooperate with the officer's
commands, (which were issued with the
assistance of a drawn gun), followed by
Castleberry's disposing and locking up of
an object he was hiding behind his back,
surely reflect a consciousness of guilt.

In a concurring opinion in Illinois v.

Gates, supra, Justice White stated that
"the proper focus should be on whether the
actions of the suspects, whatever their
motive, give rise to an inference that the

informant is credible and obtained his

28
information in a credible manner." 103
S.Ct. at 2348. Justice White also noted

in his concurring opinion in Spinelli v.

United States, 393 U.S. 410, 427 (1969):

"Because an informant is right about
some things, he is more probably
right about other facts."

In Texas v. Brown, supra, the Supreme

Court observed that "probable cause is a
flexible, common-sense standard" and that
"it does not cemand any showing that such
a belief be correct or more likely true
than false.” 460 U.S. at 742. It was
further noted that "[a] ‘practical, non-
technical’ probability that incriminating
evidence is involved is all that is re-

quired.’ Brinegar v. United States, 338

U.S. 160, 176 (1949)." The Court then

quoted from United States v. Cortez, 449

U.S. 411, 448 (1981), as follows:

"The process does not deal with hard
certainties, but with probabilities.
Long before the law of probabilities

29

was articulated as such, practical
people formulated certain common-
sense conclusions about human behav-
ior; jurors as factfinders are per-
mitted to do the same-and so are law
enforcement officers. Finally, the
evidence thus collected must be seen
and weighed not in terms of library
analysis by scholars, but as under-
stood by those versed in the field
of law enforcement."

In Illinois v. Gates, supra, it was

stated:

"As these comments illustrate, pro-
bable cause is a fluid concept--
turning on the assessment of proba-
bilities in particular factual
contexts-not readily, or even use-
fully, reduced to a neat set of
legal rules. Informants' tips
doubtless come in many shapes and
sizes from many different types of
persons. .. . ‘Informants' tips,
like all other clues and evidence
coming to a policeman on the scene
may vary greatly in their value and
reliability." Rigid legal rules are
ill-suited to an area of such diver-
sity. ‘One simple rule will not
cover every situation.'" (Citation
omitted). 103 S.Ct. at 2328-2329.

A rule that would require police to
obtain a warrant when they knew of the

locality of the object in an automobile

30
would cause mugh confusion in an area
which the Court in Ross referred to as
"this troubled area." 456 U.S. at 817.
Instead of the straight-forward rule of
Ross, which looks to the overall existence
of probable cause to search a vehicle and
its compartments and containers, endless
litigation over whether the officer knew
cf the location of the contraband or
fruits or instrumentalities of a crime

would be inevitable.
This Court has repeatedly stressed
the need for rules that are clear and are
therefore, easy to apply uniformly.

United States v. Ross, supra, 456 U.S. at

803-804. In New York v. Belton, 453 U.S.

454 (1981) the Supreme Court quoted Duna-

way v. New York, 442 U.S. 200, 213-214

(1979) as follows:

""fa) single, familiar standard is
essential to guide police officers,
who have only limited time and ex-
pertise to reflect on and balance

31
the social and individual interests
involved in the specific circun-
stances they confront.'" 453 U.S.
at 458.
The need for straightforward and predic-
table rules is in the interest of both the

police and the citizens who may be sub-

jected to police activity. New York v.

Belton, supra, 453 U.S. at 459-460.
Further evidence of the inappropri-
ateness of a rule permitting an automobile
container or compartment search depending
upon whether the officer knew the specific
location within the automobile of the ob-
ject of the search is the fact that it
holds the potential for a police officer
to be able to broaden his or her authority
to make warrantless searches by revealing
less than all of their probable cause in-

formation. See LaFave, Search and Sei-

zure, § 7.2, p. 200 (Supp. 1984).

32

The exclusionary rule already has
several built-in aspects that are in
opposition to a system of crjminal justice
supposediy based upon a search for truth
in the assigning of guilt or innocence:
(1) the suppression of evidence that is
directly relevant to the guilt of the
person accused of an offense against
society; (2) the fact that police who lie
with regard to where evidence was found
are rewarded with the admission of the
evidence whereas those officers whc tell
the truth are punished by the suppression
of the evidence and possibly the release

of the criminal; and (3) the award of

freedom to a criminal based upon conduct

3 In United States v. Leon, 104 S.
Ct. 3405, 3409 (1984) the Court noted that
there existed a tension between the exclu-
Ssionary rule and procedures “under which
criminal defendants are ‘acquitted or con-
victed on the basis of all of the evidence
which exposes the truth.‘'"

33
of an officer and not upon the free will
decision of an individual to commit or not
to commit the crime, in other words, the
separation of the relationship between
choice, and responsibility for’ that
choice.

If the reasoning of the Court of
Criminal Appeals is upheld, therefore,
another mechanism at odds with the search
for the truth would exist, as an officer
who withholds facts which give him know-
ledge of the exact location of the object
of the search would be rewarded by being
allowed \ to search the entire vehicle
without search warrant whereas full dis-
closure of his knowledge would mean that
he would be required to take the time and
trouble to acquire one. |

The disadvantages of the exclusionary
rule generally have been thoroughly dis-

cussed by this Court. United States v.

34
Leon, 104 S.Ct. 3405, 3412-3416 (1984);

Stone v. Powell, 428 U.S. 465 (1976);

Bivens v. Six Unknown Federal Narcotics

Agents, 403 U.S. 388, 412-421 (1971). (Bur-
ger, C.J. dissenting). The applicability
of the rule varies with the interests of
the individual in a particular type of
case and the interests of the public.

(1984); United States v. Janis, 428 U.S.

433 (1976); Stone v. Powell, supra; United

States v. Calandra, 414 U.S. 338 (1974).

Whether the exclusionary sanction is
appropriately imposed in a particular case
generally “must be resolved by weighing the
costs and benefits of preventing the use
in the prosecutor's case-in-chief of
inherently trustworthy tangible evidence

pure oe” United States v. Leon, supra,

104 S.Ct. at 3412. Exceptions to the gen-

eral rule requiring search warrants exist

35
because the Court has found that "societal
costs of obtaining a warrant ... out-
weigh the reasons for prior recourse to a

neutral magistrate." Arkansas v. Sanders,

supra, 442 U.S. at 759.

In United States v. Place, 103 S.Ct.

2637, 2642 (1983) the Court stated that it
was necessary to “balance the nature and
quality of the intrusion on the individu-
al's Fourth Amendment interests against
the importance of the governmental inter-
ests alleged to justify the intrusion." In

United States v. Jacobsen, 104 S.Ct. 1652,

1661 (1984) the Supreme Court found that
the “additional intrusion" occasioned by a
field test of cocaine after a container
had previously been opened by private
persons did not violate the Fourth Amend-
ment.

The Court has held that there is a

"“dimmished expectation of privacy” when

36
one places his or her personal effects

into an automobile. United States v.

Chadwick, 433 U.S. 1, 12 (1977). For

example, the "configuation, use and regu-
lation of automobile often may dilute the
reasonable expectation of privacy that
exists with respect to differently situ-

ated property." Arkansas v. Sanders,

supra, 442 U.S. at 761.

Furthermore, when a person leaves the
privacy of his or her home and transports
items of personal property in an automo-
bile, constitutional protections cannot be
expected to be the same. One who travels
in an automobile is subject to being
stopped for an infinite number of reasons.

Delaware v. Prouse, 440 U.S. 648 (1979);

Texas v. Brown, supra, 460 U.S. at 733.

Additionally, activities undertaken in an

automobile are not generally private in

37

nature. As was observed in Segura v.

United States, 104 S.Ct. 3380, 3389

(1984):

"But the home is sacred in Fourth
Amendment terms not primarily be-
cause of the occupants ' possessory
interests in the premises, but be-
cause of their privacy interests in
the acitivities within." (Emphasis
original).

While the Fourth Amendment is obvi-
ously designed to protect against in-
fringements upon personal freedom in the
form of both invasions into expectations
of privacy and interference with property

interests, see United States v. Jacobsen,

104 §.Ct. 1652, 1656 (1984), the balancing
of these interests against the requirement
that a police officer be required to ob-

tain a search warrant from a magistrate

‘ Cf. Welsh v. Wisconsin, 104 S.Ct.
2091, 2094 (1984) and Payton v. New York,
445 U.S. 573, 578 (1980) where police in-
vasions of residences intruded upon indi-
viduals while they were in personal cir-
cumstances.

38
prior to searching containers located in
an automibile demands that the entire cir-
cumstances of a particular case be exam-
ined. Obviously, administrative consid-
erations are relevant to this determina-

tion. In Robbins v. California, 453 U.S.

420, 433-434 (1981). Justice Powell ob-
served in his concurring opinion:

"Confronted with a cigarbox or a
Dixie cup in the course of a proba-
ble-cause search of an automobile
for narcotics, the conscientious
policeman would be required to take
the object to a magistrate, fill out
the appropriate forms, await the de-
cision, and finally obtain the war-
rant. Suspects or vehicles normally
will be detained while the warrant
is sought. This process may take
hours, removing the officer from his
normal police duties. Expenditure
of such time and effort, drawn from
the public's limited resources for
detecting or preventing crimes, is
justified when it protects an indi-
vidual's reasonable privacy § in-
terests. In my view, the plurali-~
ty's requirement cannot be so just-
ified. The aggregate burden of pro-
curing warrants whenever an officer
has probable cause to search the
most trivial container may be heavy
and will not be compensated by the
advancement of important Fourth
Amendment values."

39

The State contends that in the pre-
sent case, the additional intrusion into
the Defendants’ privacy interests caused
by the immediate search of the luggage
found in the automobile is outweighed by
the need for clear rules governing search-
es of automobiles and the freedom from the
practical inconvenience necessitated by
the warrant procedure every time justifi-
cation exists for the search of a contain-
er or compartment in a vehicle.

This is particularly true in light of
the restraints and invasions an individual
who is driving an automobi-e is subjected
to when there is probable cause to believe
that a container or compartment within
such is concealing contraband or the
fruits or instrumentalities of a crime.
That person can be immediately and public-

c
ly arrested without a warrant. He can

S United States v. Watson, 423 U.S.
411 (1976).

40
then be handcuffed, placed in a police

car, and taken to the police station. He

can then be mugged, fingerprinted, ° and

booked. He can be subjected to a complete
search of his person’ and any personal

effects carried with him can be fully

searched, examined and inventoried. His

clothing can be taken from him, searched,
and kept in “official custody."” In

appropriate cases, his fingernails can be

6
(1969).

7 United States v. Robinson, 414
U.S. 218 (1978).

8 Illinois v. Lafayette, 103 S.Ct.
2605 (1983).

9

Davis v. Mississippi, 394 U.S. 721

United States v. Edwards, 415 U.S.

800 (1974).

41

10 11

his blood can be taken
12

scraped, and he

can be placed in a lineup.
With regard to his automobile, the
entire passenger compartment can 0be

13 and the car can be seized,

14

searched
towed-in, and impounded, If undertaken
pursuant to standard police procedure, the
entire automobile and its contents can be

searched and inventoried.*>

10 Cupp v. Murphy, 412 U.S. 291
(1973).

11 Schmerber v. California, 384 U.S.
757 (1966).

12 Kirby v. Illinois, 406 U.S. 682
(1972).

13 New York v. Belton, 453 U.S. 454
(1981).

14 Chambers v. Maroney, 399 U.S. 42,
51 (1970).

15

South Dakota v. Opperman, 428 U.
S. 364 (1976).

\

42

Therefore, in this context, the
"additional intrusion" into an indivi-
dual's privacy and property interests is
outweighed by the previously mentioned
public interests-clear search and seizure
guidelines for the protection of the
police and public alike, the efficient use
of police resources which would be diluted
by the requirement of a search warrant,
and the compelling reasons why a criminal
proceeding should be allowed to receive
evidence directly related to the truth.
At this point a defendant's privacy inter-
ests are minimal and the only function of
the warrant requirement is to remove
police from their crime prevention and
detection responsibilities and to provide
defense attorneys with a tool to thwart
the admission of evidence constituting the
most conclusive proof of the defendant's

guilt.

43
Furthermore, it has previously point-
ed out that "[t]he public has a compelling
interest in detecting those who would
— in deadly drugs for _ personal

profit." United States v. Mendenhall, 446

U.S. 544, 561 (1980) (Powell, J., concur-

ring). In United States v. Place, supra,

104 S.Ct. at 2643, the Court stated that
it would weigh the "strong governmental
interest" in preventing the flow of narco-
tics into distribution channels “against
the nature and extent of the intrusion
upon the individual's Fourth Amendment
sights. . . .*

Additionally, if the police are al-
lowed to make an immediate search of the
containers in a vehicle, the guilt or
innocence of the person under suspicion is
quickly determined. Instead of being sub-
jected to an arrest and the attendant in-

dignities pending the obtaining of a

44

search wafrant, a suspect whose baggage is
searched on the scene and found not to
possess objects of the search can be imme-
diately released, his effects promptly
returned, and the impoundment of his
automobile avoidea.®

Further evidence of the gamesmanship
inherent in juggling the various theories
used to justify a search of an automobile
is that, in the present case, if Officers
Taylor and Citty had merely termed their
search an “inventory” search, it presuma-
bly could have been upheld on this basis

if undertaken pursuant to an established

police policy. South Dakota v. Opperman,

supra. It is difficult to imagine how

privacy interests in the contents of the

16 In Segura v. United States,
supra, 104 S.Ct. at 3387, the Court noted
that in Chambers v. Maroney, supra, “it
was reasonable to seize and impound an
automobile, on the basis of probable

cause, for ‘whatever period is necessary
to obtrain a warrant for the search.'"

45

luggage can be viewed as being important
if they are dependent solely upon the
particular label selected by the police
which defines their state of mind at the
start of the search. Additionally, scen-
arios which have results dependent upon
semantics such as this cannot help but
increase public and police cynicism toward
the entire process and undermine respect
for the law, which is supposedly based
upon reason.

The State contends that the mix of
do's and don'ts confronting Officer Taylor
places him and other officers, whose
primary justification for existence is to
protect the rest of us from physical harn,
in an unfairly complex position. Officer
Taylor found himself confronted by two
suspected and unknown drug distributors at
a moment when both had been caught in

possession of a quantity of drugs which

46

would send them to prison for many years.
One of the suspects refused to remove his
hands from behind his back after repeated
commands. The suspect made aéie sudden
movement to throw an object into the car.
Officer Taylor had to forceably wrestled
him to the ground while worrying about the
other suspect, who had his hands on the
car. During the struggle, Officer Taylor,
who was still waiting for his backup to
arrive, was bitten by the Defendant's dog
(Tr. I, 8).

When Officer Citty arrived they tken
had to make an instant decision concerning
principles which judges, scholars and law-
yers have debated for decades. The offi-
cers had to decide whether to make a
search, and what name to assign to that
search. Are they to make an “inventory
search," a “search incident to arrest," an

"automobile exception search,” a “plain

47
view search" or an “exigent circumstances
search"? These decisions had to be made
immediately after Officer Taylor had been
confronted with a situation in which great
danger could have been involved.

This case, therefore, presents facts
which support the statements of this Court
mentioned previously which reject the
step-by-step analysis concerning search
and seizure rules, and which are under-
standable by the police and the public.

In Illinois v. Lafayette, 103 S.Ct.

2605 (1983) the Court drew from its opin-

ion in United States v. Robinson, 414 U.S.

218, 235 (1974) and reiterated:

""A police officer's determination
as to how and where to search the
person of a suspect whom he has ar-
rested is necessarily a quick ad hoc
judgment which the Fourth Amendment
does not require to be broken down
in each instance into an analysis of
each step in the search.'"* 103 S.
Ct. at 2609.

48

In Oliver v. United States, 104 S&S.

Ct. 1735 (1984) the Court refused to apply
the open fields doctrine on a case-by-case
basis, stating:

"Nor would a case-by-case approach
provide a workable accommodation be-
tween the needs of law enforcement
and the interests protected by the
Fourth Amendment. Under this ap-
proach police officers would have to
guess before every search whether
landowners had erected fences suffi-
ciently high, posted a sufficient
number of warning signs, or located
contraband in an area sufficiently
secluded to establish a right of
privacy. The lawfulness of a search
would turn on ‘[a] highly sophisti-
cated set of rules, qualified by all
sorts of ifs, ands, and buts and re-
quiring the drawing of subtle
nuances and hairline distinctions .
- « «* New York v. Belton, 453 U.S.
454, 458, 101 S.Ct. 2860, 2863, 69
L.Ed.2d 768 (1981) (quoting LaFave,
"Case-By-Case Adjudication" versus
"Standardized Procedure": The
Robinson Dilemma, 1974 S&.Ct.Rev.
127, 142. This Court repeatedly has
acknowledged the difficulties crea-
ted for courts, police and citizens
by an ad hoc, case-by-case defini-
tion of Fourth Amendment standards
to be applied in differing factual
circumstances. See Belton, supra,
at 458-460, 101 S.Ct., at 2863- ;
Robbins v. California, 453 U.S. 420,

49

430, 101 S.Ct. 2841, 2847, 69 L.Ed.
24 744 (1981) (POWELL, J., concur-

ring); Dunaway v. New York, 442 U.S.
200, 213-214, 99 S.Ct. 2248, 2257-
2258, 60 L.Ed.2d 824 (1979); United
States v. Robinson, 414 U.S. ’

’ Ct. , 476, 38 L.Ed.2d
427 (1973). The ad hoc approach not
only makes it difficult for the
policeman to discern the scope of
his authority, Belton, supra, 453
U.S., at 460, 101 B.Cte, at 4; it
also creates a danger that constitu-
tional rights will be arbitrarily
and inequitably enforced." 104 S.
Ct. 1742-1743.

The State also contends that, as
stated previously, the search of the
luggage was justified since probable cause
existed to search the Defendants’ entire
automobile.

In United States v. Ross, supra, 456

U.S. at 814, this Court observed that "in

neither Chadwick or Sanders did the police

have probable cause to search the vehicle
or anything within it except the footlock-
er in the former case and the green suit-

case in the later." It is settled that

50
while law enforcement officers may some-
times seize containers and packages, even
with less than probable cause, United

States v. Place, Supra, 103 S.Ct. at 2641,

"the mere existence of probable cause to
believe that a container Or package con-
tains contraband plainly cannot justify a
warrantless examination of its contents,"

United States v. Jacobsen, supra, 104

S.Ct. at 1665 (White, J., concurring).
However, this case and other similar

cases differ from Arkansas v. Sanders,

supra, and United States v. Chadwick,

Supra, in that in the latter cases pro-
bable cause did not exist to support the
belief that evidence relevant to the
criminal offense in guestion could have
been in any location other than inside of

the footlocker in Chadwick and the suit-

case in Sanders. In Sanders there was no

reason to believe that the taxicab in

51
which the defendant was riding contained
any contraband. The suitcase was the only
possible location of any contraband.

In United States v. Johns, 707 F.2d

1093, 1097-1098 (9th Cir. 1983) the Ninth
Circuit rejected the defendants’ conten-
tion that a search warrant should have
been obtained for the search of containers
in two trunks which were seized, although
the search was held to be invalid due to a
three day delay in opening the containers.
The Court stated:

"The officers had probable cause to
search both vehicles, not just the
new-discovered bales. Their suspi-
cions did not focus solely on the
packages; it was not obvious that
all the contraband would be in the
bales. The appellees could have
easily secrete other drugs elsewhere
in the vehicles.

In United States v. Chadwick, 433
U.S. 1, 97 S.Ct. 2476, 53 L.Ed.24a
538 (1977), the police officers had
all the facts giving them probable
cause to believe that contraband was
in the footlocker and the suitcases
before those containers were placed

52

in the trunks of the cars. Placing
the containers in the car did not
give the officers probable cause to
search the entire vehicle. In Ross
and in this case, the officers’
suspicions were not so specific.
They did not know the exact nature
and packaging of the contraband
transferred from the airplanes to
the trucks before arriving on the
scene. The officers had probable
cause to search both trucks. Under
Ross, they also could have opened

e packages as part of that search.

In United States v. Shepherd, 714

F.2d 316 (4th Cir. 1983) a case with facts
similar to those in the present one, the
Fourth Circuit upheld the warrantless
opening of jugs of moonshine removed from
the trunk of a parked automobile. The
Court noted:

"We believe that the case before us
is more akin to Ross than to Chad-
wick and Sanders. Here the object
of the agents’ search was not direc-
ted solely to the interior of a few
jugs which were seen loaded into
the trunk of Shepherd's car. The
agents .ad good reason to suspect,
based on the inrormation they had
gathered as well as what they had
seen with their own eyes, that the
car was an instrumentality of Shep-

53

herd's illegal whiskey enterprise,
and that a search of the vehicle
would disclose additional evidence.
As it turned out, this hypothesis
proved correct: upon opening the
trunk the agents found thirty-eight
gallons of illegal liquor, far more
than they had observed from their
hiding place. Under Ross, once the
officers had probable cause to
search the vehicle, they also ac-
quired the authority to open any of
the closed containers found there-
in." 714 F.2d at 323.

In the present case, the entire
automobile could have been a hideaway for
drugs. Drugs could have been placed in
the glove compartment under the seat, in
the dashboard, over the sunvisor, in the
upholstery, in the trunk, under the hub-
caps or in the ashtrays. As stated pre-
viously, the mere fact that the police
knew of the location of “some” of the
durgs should not have prevented an intense
police search of the entire automobile

without a warrant. In Carroll v. United

States, supra, the police were allowed to

54
tear open the seat cushion in the search
for contraband.

Here the entire car was the “suspect-
ed locus" of possible contraband and the
relationship between the automobile and
the contraband was obviously more than

"purely coincidental." Arkansas v. San-

ders, supra, 442 U.S. at 767 (Burger, C.
J., concurring in the judgment). Since a
magistrate would have issued a search war-
rant for the entire vehicle, “every part
of the vehicle and its contents that may
conceal the subject of the search" could

be searched. United States v. Ross,

supra, 456 U.S. at 825.

A hypothetical may illustrate a sit-
uation in which police should be allowed
to search an entire vehicle even though
they know of the location of some of the
objects of the search. Assume a robber

wearing a mask forced a bank teller at

55
gunpoint to place money in a suitcase.
The bank's employees observe the robber
run outside and place the suitcase in the
trunk. After driving a few blocks the
robber is stopped by the police and they
remove the suitcase from the trunk. The
robber does not have either the gun or the
mask. Should not the police be allowed to
search the suitcase and all containers and
compartments in the car without a warrant?
Ever though the “suspected locus" of the
ok ct of part of the search is the suit-
case, other parts of the vehicle may
contain other of evidentiary items, such

as the gun or the ski mask. Warden v.

Hayden, 387 U.S. 294 (1967). Also, it is
possible the robber could have stopped be-
tween the time he robbed the bank and the
time he was stopped and removed some of
the money from the suitcase. The critical

point is that since the entire vehicle may

:
b
:
q

56

be a repository for fruits or instru-
mentalities, pursuant to the dictates of
Ross, the police should be allowed to
search the entire vehicle, and its com-
partments and containers, including the
luggage. The facts of Chambers v. Maron-
ey, supra, provide a similar scenario and
demand a similar holding.

The fact that the automobile was not
moving in the present case is irrelevant.
In Michigan v. Thomas, 458 U.S. 259
(1982), this Court again rejected the
argument that because a vehicle has been
immobilized and the occupants are in cus-
tody the police are required to obtain a
search warrant for the contents. The
holding of the Court should apply to the
present cae:

"In Chambers v. Mar , 339 US 42
(1976), we held that when police
officers have probable cause to be-
lieve there is contraband inside an

automobile that has been stopped on
the road, the officers may conduct a

57

warrantless search of the vehicle,
even after it has been impounded and
is in police custody. We firmly re-
iterated this holding in Texas v.
White, 423 US 67 (1975). See also
United States v. Ross, 456 US 798,

» Re S - it is thus clear
that the justification to conduct
such a warrantless search does not
valish once the car has been immo-
bilized; nor does it depend upon a
reviewing court's assessment of the
liklihood in each particular case
that the car would have been driven
away, or that its contents would
have been tampered with, during the
period required for the police to
obtain a warrant.” 458 U.S. at 261.

See also Florida v. Meyers, 104 S.Ct. 1852

(1984); Texas v. White, supra, 423 U.S. 67

(1975); and United States v. Nigro, 727

F.2d 100, 104-107 (6th Cir. 1984).

For the reasons stated, the State
submits that all evidence found in the
Defendants’ automobile was obtained as a
result of a constitutionally permissible
search since there was probable cause to
believe that contraband drugs could have

been concealed in various parts of the

58
automobile and a magistrate would have
issued a search warrant for the entire

vehicle,

PROPOSITION II

THE SEARCH OF THE BAND-AID BOX FOUND
IN THE FRONT SEAT OF THE VEHICLE WAS
JUSTIFIED UNDER THE AUTOMOBILE ExX-
CEPTION PRINCIPLE AND AS A SEARCH
INCIDENT TO A LAWFUL ARREST.

The Oklahoma Court of Criminal Ap-
peals found that the search of the Band-
Aid box, which had been thrown into the
vehicle by the Defendant Castleberry as
the officer approached with his badge, was
illegal and the evidence found in that
container should also have been suppres-
sed. The Court stated that since the
"suspected locations of the contraband
were the suitcases and the Band-Aid box
which Castleberry threw in the car" the

officers “should have detained these con-

tainers until a search warrant had been

59
obtained.” 678 P.2d at 724; A.35-37. As
noted previously, the Court stated that,
under their interpretation of Ross,

Arkansas v. Sanders, and United States v.

Chadwick, supra, if an officer has proba-

ble cause to believe there is contraband
in a specific container in a car, he must
detain the container and delay his search
until a warrant is obtained. 678 P.2d at
724.

For the reasons stated in Proposition
I, the State contends that the holding of

this Court in United States v. Ross,

supra, is in conflict with this reasoning
under the automobile exception principle.
If the luggage in the trunk was validly
searched under this rule, then certainly
there was probable cause to search other
containers in the automobile, particularly
after drugs were discovered in the suit-

cases. The Court in Ross specifically

60

held that the rule allowing the search of
the automobile applied “equally to all
cortainers.” 456 U.S. a. 822. The facts
of the present case support the search of
the Band-Aid box, which was thrown into
the vehicle as the police approached.

The fact that Castleberry was able to
lock the car after he had thrown the box
inside shculd make no difference with
regard to the legality of the search. In
Ross, the detective, after arresting and
handcuffing the defendant, took the de-
fendant's keys and opened the trunk where
the sack containing the contraband was
found. 456 U.S. at 801.

Furthermore, under the principles of

United States v. Robinson, supra, 414 U.S.

218, since Officer Taylor had probable
cause to arrest Castleberry, he could have
searched the box as incident to the cust-

odial arrest. The fact that Castleberry

61
was able to throw the box into the car
after the officer approached him should
not prevent the seizure and search of the
box. In Oliver v. United States, supra,
ES States
104 S. Ct. 1735, 1743, this Court rejected
the contention that the defendants’ ac-
tions in erecting fences and signs “in
order to conceal their criminal activity,"
should provide a right to an expectation
of privacy in the premises, stating that:
"The test is not whether the indi-
vidual chooses to conceal assertedly
‘private’ activity. Rather, the
correct inquiry is whether the gov-
ernment’'s intrusion infringes upon
the personal and societal values
protected by the Pourth Amendment."
Therefore, the State contends that
the action of the Defendant Castleberry in
throwing the Band-Aid box into he car when
the police approached should not serve to
immunize it from a justified search.
This search of the interior of the

automobile, including the Band-Aid box,

=<

62
should also be upheld based on the search
incident to lawful arrest principle of the

Fourth Amendment. In New York v. Belton,

supra, this Court upheld the search of a
jacket found in the backseat of a vehicle
belonging to a defendant, who along with
his three companions, were in custody and
outside the vehicle at the time of the
search. This Court specifically held:

"(w)hen a policeman has made a law-
ful custodial arrest of the occu-
pants of an automobile, he may, as a
contemporaneous incident o that
arrest, search the possenger com-
partment of that automobile.

It follows from this conclusion that
the police may also examine the con-
tents of any containers found within
the passenger compartment, for if
the passenger compartment is within
reach of the arrestee, so also will
containers in it be within his
reach." 453 U.S. at 460.

The facts of this case parallel those
in Belton, supra. The evidence reveals
that Defendant Castleberry was standing
next to the vehicle door when he threw the

63

box inside. Therefore, the area was ob-
viously within his control at the time of
his arrest. Cf., New York v. Belton,
supra, (coat found in backseat of vehi-
cle).

CONCLUSION

For the reasons stated, it is re-

spectfully requested that this Court re-
verse the judgment of the Oklahoma Court
of Criminal Appeals in this case.

Respectfully submitted,

MICHAEL C. TURPEN

ATTORNEY CENERAL OF OKLAHOMA

DAVID W. LEE

ASSISTANT ATTORNEY CENERAL

CHIEF, CRIMINAL AND FEDERAL
DIVISIONS

HUGH A. MANNING

ASSISTANT ATTORNEY CENERAL
112 State Capitol Building
Oklahoma City, OK 73105
(405) 521-3921

COUNSEL FOR PETITIONER

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385012_0794%3A04. Public record. Not legal advice.
