# Respondents Brief — INS v. Rios-Pineda

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385012_0790%3A6

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Respondents Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1985
- **Citation:** 471 U.S. 444

## Text

Office -Supreme Court, US.
No. 83-2032 FILED
—_—— FEB 27 90°
IN THE

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES” °°""*

October Term, 1984

IMMIGRATION AND NATURALIZATION SERVICE

Petitioner
t

BERNARDO RIOS-PINEDA
AND
ESTARNILADA RIOS-PINEDA DE Rios
Respondents

ON WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
POR THE BIGCHTH CIRCUTT

BRIEF FOR THE RESPONDENTS

Lawrence H. Rudnick

ORLOW, FULLER, RUBIN & STEEI
936 Public Ledger Building
Philadelphia, PA 19106

215) 922-1151

Roman de La Campa
2219 Allan Street
Sioux City, lowa 51103
S14) 258-8552
Counsel for Respondents

» BEST AVAILABLE COPY

TABLE OF CONTENTS

TABLE OF CONTENTS... . 2.2... c cc cceccuees
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES.....................
STATEMENT OF THE CASE:

A. The Board of Immigration Appeals has author-
ity to deny Motions to Reepen to apply for sus-
pension of deportation in proper cases... .. .

applied the correct standard of review Seas
D. The litigation of the deportation proceeding

abuse of the judicial process ..............

E. The Court of Appeals did not err in finding an
abuse of discretion wherein the Board of Im-

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases: Page
Acosta v. Gaffney, 413 F. Supp. 927, rev d., 558 F.2d
BERD . cccccccccdceseseseeceeuesebennenee 22
Arakas v. Zimmerman, 200 F.2d 322............ —
Balani wv. INS, 669 F.2d 1157 ....... . oo ee eee 24
Bastidas v. INS, 707 F.2d 399... ..... .. . . eee eee 4
Batoon v. INS, 707 F.2d 398... ... . . . . 6. ew ewes 5
Christiansburg 0. EEOC, 434 US 412........... 19, 21
Citizens to Preserve Overton Park v. Volpe, 401 US
GD .ccccccccsececcetngseeceeeseueenen 17
Hughes v. Rowe, 449 US 5............... 20-21, 23,27
INS v. Bagamasbad, 429 US 24 ............. 6... 13
INS ov. Phinpathya, No. 82-91 (Jan. 10, 1984).. 9, 11, 15
INS o. Weng, 450 US 130 ....... 2... 2 cee ees passim
Lam Chuen Ching o. INS, 467 F.2d 644........... 24
LeBlanc o. INS 715 F.2d 685 ................ 4, 23-25
Rane ©. BEB, TED O.Be GED oc ccccccccccccccessess 14
Mendez v. Major, 340 F.2d 128. ................ 21-22
Morrissey vo. Brewer, 408 US 471........ ~~... .... 16
Ramos vw. INS, 695 F.2d 181.......... 2... 6666. 16, 29
Reyes wv. INS 673 F.2d 1087... ... .. «6. 6 we ee cen nee 14
Rios-Pineda v. INS, 673 F.2d 275.............. passtm
Rios-Pineda wv. INS, 720 F.2d 529.............. passim
Shin v. INS, T5O F.2d 122.............. 14, 16, 19, 26
Teamsters v. United States, 431 US 324 ........... 23
Valadez-Salas v. INS, 721 F.2d 251............... 22
u

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES— Continued)

Cases: Page
Vargas-Gonzalez v. INS, 647 F.2d 457 ............ 2
Villena v. INS 622 F.2d 1352................... 11-12
Wolff v. McDonnell, 418 US 539 ................. 16
Wong Hing Hang v. INS 360 F.2d 715............ 17
Woodby v. INS 385 US 276...................... 20
STATUTES AND REGULATIONS:
ECE EEC Edw ebusescccecccccccces 17
Neen. ccesccccccss 21
MEE ees Seco scccccsccccccccs 27
PEE ee bebe sdeccescccccsscs passim
DTCC E SG enededsecvececcccccs passim
eee Case sccccescecccccccs 20
IES SESS EEE OPE 20
EG aw acecbecccccceces passim
EES ESIS SOT SCPE ET ETETETY passim
ADMINISTRATIVE DECISIONS:
Matter of Reyes 18 I&N Dec. 249.......... 11, 14

MISCELLANEOUS: .

Davis, Administrative Law Treatise, Chap.
Sn coc cencceces 17-18
Tribe, American Constitutional Law, Sec. 10-8.. 25

I. STATEMENT OF THE CASE
A. Factual Background

A deportation hearing was held on December 12, 1978
in Omaha, Nebraska in which the Respondents appeared
before Immigration Judge Jessie M. Sellers. Most of the
facts of record are gleaned from the 31 page transcript of
that proceeding. (Pet. App. 80a-11 1a).

The Immigration Service on October 24, 1978 had in-
itiated deportation proceedings against the Respondents by
the issuance of an Order to Show Cause and Notice of Hear-
ing. (Pet. App. 112a). This document alleged that the Re-
spondents were not citizens of the United States, were na-
tives and citizens of Mexico, and had illegally entered the
United States on or about May 1, 1974. Counsel for the
Respondents admitted these factual allegations. (Pet. App.
85a-86a).

Respondent, Bernardo Rios-Pineda, entered the
United States for the first time in 1972. There is no clear
statement as to when during that year this Respondent en-
tered the United States. (Pet. App. 88a; 93a). Thereafter,
he departed the United States for approximately two
months during the year 1974. (Pet. App. 88a). Again, the
precise circumstances of his departure are unclear. How-
ever, it is apparent that the Respondent was arrested by
agents of the Immigration and Naturalization Service and
that he departed the United States. Further, he was not
provided a hearing before an Immigration Judge. (Pet.
App. 88a-89a). |

Thereafter, both Respondents entered the United
States in May of 1974, paying a smuggler to assist them,
$225.00 each. (id. at 96a).

At the time of the deportation hearing the Respondents
had one United States citizen child and Respondent,
Estarnilada Rios-Pineda de Rios, (herein after referred to as
the “female respondent”) was near to delivering a second
United States citizen child. The male Respondent was em-

l

2

ployed and the Respondents were purchasing a home. Nei-
ther Respondent had a criminal record. (Pet. App. 76a).

B. History of the Case

At the deportation hearing on December 12, 1978 the
attorney for the Respondents attempted to apply for sus-
pension of deportation, though no formal applications were
submitted. He also argued that the deportation of the Re-
spondents would be unconstitutional in light of their
United States citizen child. Counsel further argued that is-
suance of the Order to Show Cause was an abuse of dis-
cretion in light of a pending application for an alien labor
certification, and lastly he applied for voluntary departure
on behalf of the Respondents. All of the requested relief
was denied. (Pet. App. 72a-79a).

Counsel for the Respondents then filed a timely appeal
on December 20, 1978 to the Board of Immigration Ap-
peals. Among the arguments made was that deportation of
the Respondents would effect a “de facto deportation” of
their citizen child. A brief was submitted to the Board of
Immigration Appeals (Pet. App. 69a-70a). The Board of Im-
migration Appeals on May 30, 1980 dismissed the appeal
rejecting the de facto deportation argument. The Board
also rejected all of Respondents’ other arguments. There
was no discussion of the denial of voluntary departure. (Pet.
App. 64a-68a).

The Respondents then filed a Petition for Review with
the United State Court of Appeals for the Eighth Circuit.
The Court in March of 1982 reversed and remanded for
further proceedings, Rios-Pineda v. INS, 673 F.2d 225.
The Court did not rule on any of the arguments made by
the Respondents, except to note that the seven years re-
quired for suspension of deportation were undisputably
met at that time.

The precise nature of the proceedings contemplated by
the Court of Appeals was unclear. The Court quoted from
Vargas-Gonzalez v. INS, 647 F.2d 457, 459 (5th Cir. 1981)

3

to the effect that a“ rima facie” case entitling the Respond-
ents to reopening upon the presentation of a proper pro-
cedural motion was appropriate. The Court further noted
that the Respondents had made a substantial showing that
they should be afforded relief on the basis of the evidence
submitted. Rios-Pineda, at 227. However, the Court then
remanded the case to the Board to permit the Respondents
to submit a proper Motion to Reopen within a 60 day period
and instructed the Board to rule upon the claim that they
were entitled to suspension of deportation. Rios-Pineda, at
228. The Court plainly contemplated that a Motion to Re-
open would be filed and that it would have to be carefully
considered by the Board of Immigration Appeals.
Rios-Pineda, at 228 n4andn5. |

On remand to the Board of Immigration Appeals the
Board once again denied all relief. The Board ruled on July
16, 1982 and gave three basis for its decision. (Pet. App.
lla-15a). First, the Board held that the Respondents had
not properly filed a motion within the sixty days provided
by the Court of Appeals. The Respondents had mistakenly
filed the motion with the Appellate Trial Counsel of the
Immigration Service, rather than with the District Director
in Omaha, Nebraska.

Secondly, the Board found that the Respondents did
not set forth in their motion and supporting documents a
prima facie case that would merit reopening and which
would permit an application for suspension of deportation
pursuant to §244(a)(1) of the Immigration and Nationality
Act. The Court found that the Respondents did not estab-
lish a prima facie case of extreme hardship.

Lastly, the Board stated that in any event it would deny
as a matter of discretion because it found that the appeals
taken by the Respondents were “frivolous”. The Board
found that where eligibility for relief was gained by frivo-
lous appeals or other dilatory actions that it would deny a
Motion to Reopen as a matter of discretion. The Court also
considered that the Respondents had used a paid smuggler
and had failed to depart after being given voluntary depar-

4

ture by the Immigration Service, and the male Respondent
having returned to the United States two months after hav-
ing departed.

The Respondents then filed a second Petition for Re-
view to the United States Court of Appeals for the Eighth
Circuit. Once again, that Court reversed and remanded.
See Rios-Pineda v. INS, 720 F.2d 529 (1983). The Court
first found that the Motion to Reopen was properly filed
and that the procedural error of counsel would not be given
conclusive effect. Rios-Pineda, at 532.

The Court next found that the Board's denial of the
Motion to Reopen for want of a prima facie showing of ex-
treme hardship was in error. The Court noted that its nor-
mal standard for review of the Board's finding regarding a
prima facie case of extreme hardship was an “abuse of dis-
cretion standard”, citing this Court's decision in INS v.
Wang, 450 US 139, 143, 144-145 (1981). The Court then
went on to apply the “law of the case” doctrine. The Court
interpreted its prior decision as requiring reopening. The
Court further found that its prior decision was not “clearly
erroneous” and hence was within the law of the case doc-
trine. Rios-Pineda, at 532-533. In any event, the Court
found that the Board's denial for lack of extreme hardship
was an abuse of discretion. Rios-Pineda, at 533 n3.

Lastly, the Court found the Board's denial as a matter
of discretion to be in error. The Court assumed that the
Board had the power to deny a Motion to Reopen to apply
for suspension of deportation, even where a prima facie
case had been established, in the exercise of its discretion.
Rios-Pineda, at 534. The Court found that it could not ac-
cept the reasons given by the Board for its discretionary
denial.

First, the Court rejected the Board's finding that the
seven year period had accrued by the filing of “frivolous
appeals”. The Court found that a discretionary denial based
upon abusive litigation could, under proper circumstances,
form the basis of a denial of a Motion to Reopen, citing
LeBlanc v. INS, 715 F.2d 685, 693 (Ist Cir. 1983). The

5

Court then found that the petitions filed had not been friv-
olous. The Court noted that the petitions had resulted in
the necessity of further proceedings.

The Court next rejected the Board's reliance on the use
of a paid smuggler to deny the motion as “arbitrary, irra-
tional, and contrary to the law”, citing Batoon v. INS, 707
F.2d 399, 401 (9th Cir. 1983). The Court noted that dis-
regard of the immigration laws in some form was essential
to deportation proceedings. The Court therefore remanded
to the Board with directions that it reopen the deportation
proceedings for a full hearing before an Immigration Judge
in order to determine whether suspension of deportation
was merited.

The Solicitor General then petitioned this Court for a
Writ of Certiorari which Writ has been granted. The Pe-
tition requested review only of the Court of Appeals re-
versal of the Board of Immigration Appeals denial as a mat-
ter of discretion. The propriety of the filing of the Motion
and whether a prima facie case of extreme hardship ex.sted
were expressly not the subject of the Solicitor General's
petition. Petition for Certiorari, pages 18-19 n14.

Il. SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

A. The Board of Immigration Appeals does have au-
thority to deny motions to reopen to apply for suspension
of deportation as a matter of discretion in proper cases.

Both abuse of the judicial and administrative system
and disregard for the immigration laws under proper cir-
cumstances can form the basis of a proper denial by the
Board of Immigration Appeals of such a Motion to Reopen.
Neither the appeals taken by the Respondents, nor their
“disregard” of the immigration laws justifies denial of their
Motion as a matter of discretion.

B. The applicable regulations, 8 CFR §3.2 and 3.2, as
well as §244(a)(1) of the Immigration and Nationality Act,
grant broad discretion to the Attorney General and his del-

egates to deny motions to reopen to apply for Suspension of

Deportation. However, this discretion is not unfettered.
The Board of Immigration Appeals caa deny a Motion

to Reopen to apply for suspension of deportation where it

further consideration of a suspension application, absent
such clear misconduct, as it is difficult to weigh the
ship that would occur to the American citizen children +t

this preliminary stage. The Board of Immigration Appeals
is not free to arbitrarily pick and chose those Motions which

This standard of review was correctly applied to the
facts of this cas - and the Court of Appeals did not substitute
its views for that of the administrative agency. The Court of
Appeals did not improperly intrude on the prerogatives of
the executive branch.

D. The litigation of the deportation proceedings in-
cluding the appeal to the Board of Immigration Appeals and
two Petitions for Review was not an abuse of the judicial
process.

The litigation was not conducted in bad faith or utterly
without a reasonable basis. The arguments advanced by the
Respondents were not so clearly foreclosed as to amount to
frivolous litigation.

The Court of Appeals correctly found that the Board's
decision was contrary to law within the meaning of the
abuse of discretion standard in that it relied upon factors
not present in this record. The Court of Appeals correctly
found that no abuse of judicial process had occurred

7

E. The Court of Appeals correctly found that the
had abused its discretion in-

Ill. ARGUMENT

A. The Board of Immigration Apreais has Authority to Deny
Motions to Reopen to Apply for Suspension of Deportation
in Proper Cases.

The C overnment petitioned this Court for certiorari to
posed was whether the

$1254(a\(1) where it is alleged that the requisite seven years
“continuous physical presence” was obtained by naling “friv-
olous appeals’ and that the alien had in other ways exhib-
ited disregard for the immigration laws. The United States
Court of Appeals for the Eighth Circuit answered both
parts of the posed question in the affirmative.

The Court of declined to follow Ninth Circuit
precedent and find that the Board lacked authority to deny
a Motion to Reopen to apply for suspension of deportation
once a prima facie case of eligibility has been established.
Rios Pineda v. U.S. Dept. of Justice, INS, 720 F.2d 529,
533 (1983). The Court assumed that cases from the First
Circuit and statements from this Court's decision in INS v.
Wang, 450 US 139, 143 and 145, were to be applied and

that the Board could deny the alien's Motion to Reopen “in
the exercise of discretion.” Rios Pineda, at 534.

The Court of Appeals further -onceded, “While in
some cases an abuse of judicial processes might be a factor
relevant to a discretionary refusal to reopen deportation
proceedings, (citation omitted), the appeals and petitions
for review in this case do not fall into the ‘frivolous’ cate-
gory.” Rios-Pineda, at 534.

Lastly, the Court did not categorically reject the “dis-
regard” of the immigration laws as a proper factor to sup-
port a denial of a Motion to Reopen as a matter of discre-
tion. The Court found that the “disregard” in this case was
of a kind necessarily present in most deportation proceed-
ings and that the Board's reliance on that factor was “arbi-
trary, irrational, and contrary to the law.” (Citation omit-
ted) Rios-Pineda, at 534.

It is important to note at the outset that the Court of
Appeals did not disagree with the answer suggested to the
question posed in the Certiorari Petition by the Solicitor
General. The rhetoric contained in the Government's Briet
would lead one to believe that the Court of Appeals had
acted in a manner completely at odds with its view of the
proper application of the immigration laws. Such is not an
acc. “ate preception. This case involves a narrow issue re-
garding the application of legal precepts to a particular set
of facts.

Like the Court of Appeals, the Respondents concede
that the Board of Immigration Appeals has authority to
deny a Motion to Reopen as a matter of discretion in a
proper case both because the seven years of continuous
physical presence were obtained as a result of appeals that
amounted to an abuse of the judicial and/or regulatory proc-
ess and/or the record contained unequivocal evidence of
disregard of our immigration laws to such an extent as to
paren dyer pitas de. ag yen (emmeagal
rences that are apparent from the record.

As will be developed infra, deo Raspandente wil cat
forth their detailed disagreement with the Government re-

garding the nature of the discretion to be exercised by the

Board as well as the application of the legal precepts to the
facts of this case.

The Respondents will first consider the statutory and
regulatory frameword of the Immigration and Nationality
Act and Regulations as applied to this case. The Respond-
ents will next consider the appropriate scope of appellate
review. Lastly, the Respondents will address whether the
Respondents Motion to Reopen was properly denied in the
exercise of the Board's discretion based on “frivolous ap-
peals” and “disregard” of the immigration laws.

B. Statutory and Regulatory Framework.

Suspension of deportation is a remedy provided by sec-
tion 244(a\(1) of the Immigration and Nationality Act, 8
USC §$1254(a\(1). The remedy is available for persons having
seven years of continuous physical presence in the United
States; see INS v. Phinpathya, No. 82-981 (Jan. 10, 1984);
persons who have been of good moral character for the re-
quired seven years, and persons who in the opinion of the
Attorney General would suffer extreme hardship or their
citizen or permanent resident spouses, children, or parents
would suffer extreme hardship.

The statutory eligibility requirements are prefaced by
a grant to the Attorney General to determine “in his dis-
cretion” whether to suspend deportation and adjust the sta-
tus of an alier to one lawfully admitted for permaneat res-
idence. Thus, an alien claiming susupension of deportation
must establish continous physical presence and good moral
character as a matter of law. Further, he must convince the
Attorney General in his discretion that he and/or desig-
nated family members) would suffer extreme hardship.
Lastly, he must convince the Attorney General that he
merits a favorable exercise of discretion. See Bastidas v.
INS, 609 F.2d 101, 102-104 (3rd Cir., 1979).

Motions to Reopen deportation proceedings in general
are governed by regulations of the Department of Justice
found at 8 CFR §3.2 and §3.8

8 CFR §3.2 provides, inter alia, for a Motion to Reopen
to be filed by a party affected by a decision. Motions,

_. . shall not be granted unless it appears to the Board
that evidence sought to be offered is material and was
net available and could not have been discovered or
presented at the former deportation hearing, nor shall
any Motion to Reopen for the purpose of affording the
alien an opportunity to apply for any form of discre-
tionary relief be granted if it appears that the alien's
right to apply for such relief was fully explained to him
and an opportunity to apply therefore was afforded him
at the former hearing unless the relief is sought on the
basis of circumstances which have arisen subsequent to
the hearing.

8 CFR §3.8 is essentially procedural. 8 CFR $3. S(a)
requires Motions to Reopen to state the rew facts to be
proved and requires affidavits or other evidentiary mate-
rial. See INS v. Wang, supra, at 143. $3. 8(b) and (c) govern
the distribution of Motion papers and subsection (d) gov-
erns rulings on the Motion

Reading the Government's Brief, one would assume
that a great deal more is said in these provisions than is
actually there. These provisions set forth a relatively simple
and orderly procedure for the filing of Motions to Reopen.
There is little of a substantive nature. 8 CFR $3.2 does
require as a predicate to the opening of deportation pro-
ceedings that the evidence sought to be offered be mate-
rial, not have been available and which could not have been
discovered at the time of the former hearing. Further, the
discretionary relief sought must not have been available
and if available, such availability have been made known io
the alien at the former hearing. As applied to this case, the
only relevant requirements of the regulations are that the
evidence submitted be material and that the availability of

11

the evidence have arisen subsequent to the deportation
hearing on December 12, 1978.

Unlike its predecessor, these regulations do not grant
to the Attorney General express discretion to deny Motions
to Reopen. See Arakas v. Zimmerman, 200 F.2d 322,
323-324 n2 (Grd Cir. 1952), cited in Matter of Reyes, 18
1&N Dec. 249, 253 (BIA 1982). Even the Board itself con-
siders its authority limited to its “sound discretion” Maefter
of Reyes, supra, at 353.

Were this Court writing on a clean slate, the
Government s claim of broad discretion based upon these
regulations would be in substantial doubt. Motions to Re-
open are e@ressly not to be granted unless the require-
ments set forth above have been met. Given normal canons
of construction, it may well have been inferred where these
two requirements were met that Motions to Reopen should
be granted. The use of the permissive word “may appears
in the first sentence and appears to modify only the Board 's
authority to reopen on its own Motion. The word may does
not appear to apply to Motions submitted by “an affected
party”.

However, this Court has stated in INS 0. Wang, 450
US 139, 143 and 145, that the regulations may be construed
narrowly, as they are framed in the negative, to provide the
Board with discretion to determine under what circum-
stances proceedings should be reopened, citing Villena v_
INS, 622 F.2d 1352 (9th Cir. 1980) (en banc) (Wallace, J..
dissenting), and quoting tudge Wallace regarding the
broad scope of INS discretion with regard to Motion to Re-
open.

Last term, in INS v. Phinpathya, No. 82-91 (Jan. 10
1984) this Court stated, “Although Respondent has filed a
Motion with BIA asking that her deportation proceeding be
reopened, the granting of the Motion is entirely within
BIA's discretion. See 8 CFR $3.2 (1983), INS c. Wang, 450
US 139, 143-144, 144 95 (1981).” See Slip. Op. at p.5, n6
While neither of these statements is the holding in the case
before the Court, each is a strong indication that the Board

possesses discretionary power over Motions to Reopen de-
portation proceedings. It is important to remember that the

primary issue in Wang was whether the Court of Appeals
hed eucsoded tis autherity tn cubstituting ts own judigr-
ment as to what constituted “extreme hardship” where that
determination had been committed by the text of the stat-
ute to the Attorney General. The issue before the Court in
Phinpathya was whether the “continuous physical pres-
ence” requirement had been met. The quote cited above
arose in a context in which the Court was dealing with the
Respondent's assertion that the case before the Court was
moot Neither statement of this Court was in the context of
a holding regarding the nature of the Board's authority.

This Court's citation to Judge Wallace's dissent in Vil-
lena as well as the Court's own language reveal that the
Government s claims for “unfettered” discretion is without
foundation in this Court's recent decisions. In Wang, after
finding the Court of Appeals for the 9th Circuit had com-
mitted an error in ignoring the text of 8 CRF §3.2 and §3.5
as to the form of evidence which must be submitted. this
Court stated:

By requiring such a hearing on such a Motion, the
Court of Appeals circumvented this aspect of the reg-
ulation, which was obviously designed to permit the
Board to select for hearing only those Motions reliably
indicating the specific recent events thet «onld render
a matter of extreme hardship for the alien
or his children. (Footnote omitted) (Wang, at 143)

This quoted passage indicates the Court's concern that
the Board's regulations be strictly adhered to so that the
Board could easily identify those cases which met the re-
quirements of the regulations Further, footnote 5 which
follows this passage refers to Judge Wallace's dissenting
opimion in Villena A reading of Judge Wallace's dissenting
opinion reveals that his primary concern was that the 9th
Circuit's decision would require the Board to reopen de-

13

before immigration judges. Judge Wallace was concerned
that the Board need not reopen deportation proceedings
where an alien made out a prima facie showing of statutory
eligibility, but where the Board would deny the application
in any event as a matter of discretion. Thus, even where an
alien could demonstrate that he met the extreme hardship
requirement, the Board could deny as a matter of discre-
tion under its statutory authority under 8 USC 1254(a)(1),
as there would be no point in granting the Motion to Re-
open as the application would in any event be denied.

The Respondents do not question the soundness of
Judge Wallace's observations. The Board ought not be re-
quired to grant a Motion to Reopen where the underlying
substantive relief sought will not be granted as a matter of
discretion. Cf INS v. Bagamasbad, 429 US 24 (1976). How-
ever, the Government goes much further and argues that
the Board has authority to determine ad hoc and without
standards whether an individual merits reopening inde-
pendent of any statutory guidelines. Petitioner's Brief,
17-22. None of the cases cited by the Government supports
the claim for “unfettered” ability to pick the motions that
will be granted.

Since this Court's prior decisions indicate that the
Board has broad authority to grant Motions to Reopen and
since in any event the Board plainly has authority under the
underlying statute to deny the discretionary relief as a mat-
ter of discretion, the Respondents do not question the au-
thority of the Board to deny Motions to Reopen as a matter
of discretion where suspension of deportation is sought
even where a prima facie case is otherwise set forth. The
use of the term “prima facie case” is somewhat misleading
in this context. Part of the applicant's prima facie case is to
demonstrate that he merits reopening as a matter of dis-
cretion pursuant to the underlying statute. Thus, where he
has not demonstrated that he merits the relief sought as a
matter of the Attorney General's discretion, then he has not
set forth a prima facie case. Cf. INS v. Bagamasbad, supra.

14

The Respondents’ disagreement with the Government
is over the breadth of the Board’s authority. In a case of an
application for suspension of deportation, that authority un-
der the regulations is coextensive with the authority under
the statute itself. See Shin v. INS, 750 F.2d 122, 125 (D.C.
Cir. 1984). Where the Board finds that substantial adverse
factors exist in the record which plainly outweigh favorable
factors, then no further proceedings are required as the
moving party will not obtain the relief requested in anv
event. This makes further proceedings unnecessary for all
of the parties.

It is important to note that at this preliminary stage it
is sometimes difficult to rule upon a Motion to Reopen to
apply for suspension of deportation. The degree of hardship
to be weighed is difficult to ascertain. See Reyes v. INS, 673
F.2d 1087, 1090 (9th Cir. 1982) and Luna v. INS, 709 F.2d
126, 128 (Ist Cir. 1983). The Board asserts that it has au-
thority to deny Motions to Reopen for suspension of de-
portation based on discretionary factors. As noted above,
the Respondents do not disagree with this position in the
abstract. It is the application to the case at bar and to other
cases with which the Respondents take issue. A Motion to
Reopen is an inappropriate procedural stage in which to
sift, and weigh facts. Where a case presents a fair issue of
eligibility as a matter of discretion, and where it is difficult
to ascertain the particular hardship that would be entailed,
the Board should not be permitted to pretermit further
proceedings. There are cases where it is plain that the
Board will and should be permitted to pretermit further
consideration. See Matter of Reyes, 18 1&N Dec. 249, 254
(BIA, 1982) where the alien attained the necessary seven
years by absconding.

As the Ist Circuit Court of Appeals has noted iv Luna
v. INS, supra, it is difficult to ascertain the degree of hard-
ship without a hearing. Where the alien's conduct does not
plainly indicate that he will not be afforded the ultimate
relief, pretermittion is not appropriate.

Nt

15

As will be developed infra, the case at bar is not a case
where the alien's conduct so plainly demonstrates ineligi-
bility for the underlying relief that the Board should be
permitted to pretermit further proceedings, notwithstand-
ing that the three statutory requirements have been met. It
is important to note that the Government has not peti-
tioned for certiorari regarding the Court of Appeal’s finding
that the extreme hardship requirement has been met. See
Petition for Certiorari at pp. 18-19 n14. Thus, this Court is
presented with a case in which the Respondents have es-
tablished a prima facie case of seven years continuous phys-
ical presence, good moral character, and that their citizen
children would suffer extreme hardship were they de-
ported. The sole question posed is whether the Board may
in its discretion, on these facts, pretermit further proceed-
ings based upon their conduct.

The Government states that the Attorney General in
considering the Respondents’ Motion was to consider: 1)
whether the new evidence warranted reopening the pro-
ceedings, 2) whether the statutory requirements for eligi-
bility for suspension relief had been satisfied, and 3)
whether that relief was likely to be granted. Petitioner's
Brief at 12-13. This is analytically incorrect insofar as it pur-
ports to separate the consideration of the first factor from
the third factor. Whether reopening is warranted may not
be considered separately from whether the relief was likely
to be granted, at least in the suspension context. Whether
the Board abuses its discretion in denying a Motion to Re-
open should be gauged by whether its decision is rational
in light of the possibility of relief being obtained.

The government argues for an independent basis upon
which to deny Motions separate and apart from the under-
lying relief sought. Other than the indications of such au-
thority which it extrapolates from this Court's Wang and
Phinpathya footnotes, the Government offers a paucity of
authority for this proposition.

16

First, the government argues that because the Attor-
»ey General created the Motion to Reopen he should be
afforded considerable deference to determine whether its
requirements had been met. See Petitioner's Brief at pp.
17-18. The Government cites no history of the regulations
or any other convincing authority for this proposition.

It is well established that once having created an en-
titlement, even where such entitlement was not otherwise
required, governmental entities must then utilize fair pro-
cedures to determine who should receive the governmen-
tal benefit created. See Wolff v. McDonnell, 418 US 539,
557-558 (1974) and Morrissey v. Brewer, 408 US 471, 481
(1972). The Government is not free to arbitrarily pick and
choose those whom it deems to not merit reopening with-
out relation to the underlying relief sought. Shin v. INS,
supra, at 125, 127.

This seeming nuance of interpretational disagreement
is of significance. While the Board’s claim of authority pur-
ports to be a balancing test, it is no such test at all. As
applied by the Board, the principle of discretion permits a
one-sided review of the record. Where the Board simply
identifies what it considers to be significant negative fac-
tors, the Motion is denied. As interpreted by the Respond-
ents in the suspension application context the duty of the
Board is to review the record as a whole and to pretermit
further proceedings only where it is plain that underlying
relief cannot be granted, notwithstanding careful consid-
eration of the favorable factors contained in the record. Cf.
Ramos v. INS, 695 F.2d 181, 185-188 (Sth Cir. 1983) and
Shin vw. INS, supra.

*®
C. The Court of Appeals for the Eighth Circuit Applied the
Correct Standard of Review.

The United States Court of Appeals considered the
Board's discretionary denial on an “abuse of discretion
standard”. It is not disputed that this is the correct standard

17

of review. It is only the application of this standard to the
facts of this case which is in conflict.

What constitutes an abuse of discretion is a matter of-
ten considered by this Court and other courts. Precise def-
inition is difficult. See generally, Davis, 5 Administrative
Law Treatise, Chapter 29.3. This Court in Citizens to Pre-
serve Overton Park wv. Volpe, 401 US 402 (1971), reviewed
5 USC §$706(2)(A), of the Administrative Procedures Act, to
ascertain the meaning of the terms “arbitrary, capricious,
and abuse of discretion, or otherwise not in accordance
with law.” Citizens to Preserve Overton Park v. Volpe,
supra, at 416. This Court instructed that in reviewing a
determination, inquiry is made as to whether the decision
maker's ultimate choice involved a consideration of the rel-
evant factors and whether there was a clear error of judge-
ment. Among cases cited by the Court was the decision in
Wong Wing Hang, v. INS, 360 F.2d 715, 719 (2nd Cir.
1966).

This Court instructs that the Court of Appeals is not
empowered to substitute its judgement for that of the
agency. See Overton Park, at 416. However, the decision
must not be without rational explanation, inexplicably de-
part from established policy or rest on an inpermissible ba-
sis or on other considerations Congress could not have in-
tended to be relevant, Wang Hing Hang v. INS, supra, at
719. (per Friendly, J.). Further, pursuant to the Overton
Park decision, where a clear error in judgement has been
made, a Court of Appeals is entitled to set aside the
agency's decision.

The Court of Appeals herein found the Board's discre-
tionary denial to be an abuse of discretion with regard to
the alleged “frivolous appeals” as lacking in a legal basis.
Simply put, the Court of Appeals did not find that the ap-
peals taken were frivolous.

It is important to note at this point that a judgement as
to whether appeals are frivolous is not within the agency s
expertise. No particular deference is merited to an agency s
judgement in this regard. The Courts are frequently called

18

upon to make such determinations and are the real experts
in this type of decision making. Thus, applying well estab-
lished principles of administrative law, less deference is
due an administrative agency when making this type of de-
termination than where it applies its peculiar expertise in a
narrow area of law. See Davis, Administrative Law Trea-
tise, Chapter 29.3, pp. 343-344.

Secondly, the Court of Appeals found an abuse of dis-
cretion with regard to the alleged disregard of the immi-
gration laws. The Court of Appeals found that this type of
disregard of the immigration laws was inherent in most de-
portation cases and thus found the Board's reasoning irra-
tional or based upon considerations not intended by Con-
gress. Rios Pineda, at 534.

The Court of Appeals expressly did not substitute its
own judgement for that of the Board. The Court held that
the Board had not satisfactorily explained why the
Respondent's conduct was a particular abuse of the immi-
gration laws not inherent in deportation proceedings. 8
USC $1254(a)\(1) requires as a prerequisite to relief that an
alien be “deportable”.

The government states “The Court of Appeals commit-
ted serious error by failing to accord any geniune deference
to the Board's exercise of its discretion.”, Petitioner's Brief
at 29. The Government cites no particular aspect of the
Court of Appeal’s decision to support this contention. A
careful review of the text of the Court of Appeals decision
reveals considerable deference to the Board. The Court of
Appeals adhered to traditional guidelines for reviewing an
agency action on an “abuse of discretion standard”. The
Court premised its consideration of the subject by citation
to this Court's decision in INS v. Wang, supra, at 143 n5.
Obviously, it was mindful of the limits upon its authority.

Singing its ode to discretion, the Government fails to
point out with any precision what the Court of Appeals did
that was beyond its authority. The Government merely ar-
gues that the Attorney General has “unfettered” authority
to deny Motions. This argument is overblown and does not

19

correctly delineate the appropriate and traditional balance
between the broad authority of an administrative agency
and the appropriate role of a Court of Appeals in reviewing
that agency's decision on an “abuse of discretion” standard.
While the Court's authority is limited the Board's authority
is not unlimited, hence meaningful review in the Courts
continues to exist. See Shin v. INS, supra.

D. The Litigation of the Deportation Proceeding by Counsel

for the Respondents was not an Abuse of the Judicial
Process.

The Board and the Government argue that the course
of litigation by Counsel for the Respondents was frivolous
in conducting this litigation. The Board found and the Gov-
ernment argues that it then follows that the Respondents
should be deprived of their opportunity to present their
suspension application to an Immigration Judge and that
they should be deported from the United States forthwith,
notwithstanding any present merit in that application

Quite simply, this is an extraordinary sanction to be im-
posed

As noted above, the Respondents concede that the
sanction may be imposed in proper cases. However, it
should be imposed carefully and only where justified.

Neither the Board nor the Government suggests a
standard, other than their own subjective perception as to
what constitutes frivolous litigation, or even why standards
ought to be set at the “frivolous” level.

This Court has twice dealt with the analogous issue of
when attorney's fees ought to be awarded to a prevailing
defendant in Title VII litigation and in a 42 USC 1983 pro-
ceeding. In Christiansburg Garment Company v. EEOC,
434 US 412, 421-423 (1978), this Court considered when a
prevailing defendant ought to be awarded attorney's fees
under Title VII of the Civil Rights Act. The Court held that
where litigation was unreasonable, meritless or vexatious,
attorney's fees should be awarded. The Court found that

20

the term meritless should be understood to mean ground-
less and without foundation. The fact that a plaintiff had lost
was not in and of itself sufficient to meet that standard.
However, the term vexatious was to be understood as not
requiring subjective bad faith.

The Court held that where the EEOC had proceeded
on a question of first impression and whose contention was
not frivolous, attorney's fees would not be awarded.

Two years later in Hughes v. Rowe, 449 US 5 (1980), in
a per curiam decision, this Court reversed a Court of Ap-
peals that had awarded a $400 attorney s fee against a pris-
oner proceeding pro se pursuant to 42 USC §1983. This
Court interpreted 42 USC §1988 to award fees only where
the Christiansburg standard had been met. This Court
then reviewed the plaintiff's contentions and found that at
least one of the issues raised merited further consideration
and, hence, vacated the award of attorney's tees. This
Court noted that where even the Court of Appeals, in re-
jecting the plaintiff's claims had issued a seven page opinion
giving detailed treatment to the plaintiffs claim, that this
was a strong indication that it was not frivolous litigation.

It is well settled that deportation proceedings are civil
in nature. However, it is equally well settled that depor-
tation proceedings are of such import to the alien that an
increased burden of proof over that normally utilized in
civil cases is warranted. See Woodby v. INS, 385 US 276
(1966). Thus, an attorney's role in a deportation case may
analogized in certain respects to criminai counsel. Counsel
may legitimately consider himself bound to raise every ar-
guable issue on behalf of his client. Because one or more of
these arguments is found to be lacking in merit does not
make litigation as a whole meritless.

The Government in its brief follows the lead of the
Board in pointing to certain aspects of the litigation finding
them meritless. Petitioner's Brief at 23-27.

It is submitted that the litigation as a whole was not
utterly without a reasonable basis.

A BEST AVAILABLE COPY

21

Before considering the details of the litigation below,
the Respondents believe that the applicable standard
should be at minimum the Christiansburg standard. The
Board and the Courts should not be quick to infer an abuse
of the judicial process by the rejection of the ultimate relief
requested. The standard is whether the litigation as a whole
is so lacking in merit as to present conclusive evidence of
bad faith or have been so recklessly litigated as to be mer-
itless in the Christiansburg sense. It is important to note
that the correct analysis is that utilized by this Court in
Hughes v. Rowe in focusing on whether any of the issues
raised merited review.

The Respondents’ primary contention before the Im-
migration Judge, the Board and the Court of Appeals on the
first petition was that the deportation of the Respondents
would effect a “de facto deportation” of the citizen child.
The Government contends that this position was utterly
foreclosed at the time that it was raised. A careful review of
the decisions rendered at that time do not support the
Government's position.

First, this litigation took place within the jurisdiction of
the United States Court of Appeals for the Eighth Circuit.
In Mendez v. Major, 340 F.2d 128, 131 (Sth Cir. 1965), that
Court rejected a claim that aliens subject to the two-year
foreign residence requirement of §212(e), 8 USC 1182(e),
must be afforded a waiver of that requirement wherein they
had a United States citizen child. This decision arose in the
context of an application by aliens subject to the two-year
residence requirement as exchange aliens pursuant to
§101(a)(15\(J), 8 USC 1101(a)(15)(J), and §212(e) of the Im-
migration and Nationality Act. Such aliens entered the
United States with the knowledge that they were required
to depart at the conclusion of their visa. The Court of Ap-
peals decision relied expressly on Congressional pewer to
determine conditions underwhich aliens may enter or re-
main in the United States. The Court relied for authority
upon cases dealing with that authority. See Mendez v. Ma-
jor, supra at 131-132.

22

The Mendez decision was not binding upon the Re-
spondents. It simply did not raise the issue of de facto de-
portation of U.S. citizen children. The Respondents case
arose in deportation proceedings. Their contention was to
be considered in a different procedural and substantive
context.

The Respondents argued that their child and later chil-
dren were sufficiently assimilated into American life that
ceprivation of this status would be unconstitutional. This
argument differs from that offered in the §212(e) context
wherein the aliens themselves entered knowing that they
must depart within a set time frame. The Respondents’
claim was not definitively rejected in the Eighth Circuit
until Valadez-Salas v. INS, 721 F.2d 251, 252 (8th Cir.
1958).

Moreover, one District Court had accepted the Re-
spondents’ argument subsequent to the Eighth Circuit de-
cision. See Acosta v. Gaffney, 413 F. Supp. 827 (D.N.J.,
1976), reversed at 558 F.2d 1153 (3rd Cir. 1977). Although
ultimately reversed, Judge Stern's opinion was a forceful
argument for the proposition asserted by the Respondents.
The District Court relied upon its reading of at least one
Circuit's authority for the proposition that a de facto de-
portation would be unconstitutional.

The Court of Appeals noted that the Supreme Court
had never directly spoken on this issue, Acosta v. Gaffney,
supra, at 1158 n5. However, it agreed with other Circuits
which had rejected the claim.

The Respondents do not herein argue that this Court
should affirm based upon the de facto deportation argu-
ment. What they do argue is that the raising of this issue
was not foreclosed by precedent and was not frivolous. A
noted United States District Court Judge had agreed with
the Respondents’ position. The fact that it was later re-
versed by a Court of Appeals does not render that Judge's
decision frivolous. Likewise, the Respondents contention
does not become frivolous simply because a number of
Courts’ have rejected it.

23

In Teamsters v. United States, 431 U.S. 324 (1977), this
Court construed §703(h) of Title VII in a manner that over-
ruled at least six United States Courts of Appeals and de-
cisions in at least 30 cases. There had not been a dissenting
opinion in any of those decisions. See Teamsters v. United
States, supra, at 378-379, n2, (Marshall dissenting.). Nev-
ertheless, this Court found merit in the Petitioner's argu-
ments. Simply because a number of Courts have ruled to
the contrary does not make the argument frivolous.

Utilizing the analytical framework of Hughes v. Rowe,
supra, should one of the issues raised by the Repondents
have been meritorious, then it may not be said that the
appeals were frivolous. As outlined above, it is submitted
that the “de facto deportation” issue, though not ultimately
of sufficient merit to permit the Respondents to prevail was
not frivolous or an abuse of judicial process. It is unneces-
sary for the Respondents to justify each and every claim
raised below. These claims did not serve to prolong the
litigation, nor did they multiply its complexity. Hence,
they are essentially irrelevant.

The essential thrust of the Government's brief is that
the Court of Appeals has encouraged frivolous and dilatory
tactics by their method of review of the Board’s determi-
nation that the Respondents had filed frivolous appeals.
The Court of Appeals merely noted that as a result of the
two petitions for review, further proceedings had been
found to be necessary. Rios Pineda, at 534. While it is cer-
tainly true that more extensive discussion from the Court of
Appeals would have been helpful, it is not apparent that the
Court of Appeals would take this view in subsequent cases.

The Court stated:

While in some cases an abuse of judicial processes
might be a factor relevant to a discretionary refusal to
reopen deportation proceedings, see LeBlanc v. INS,
supra, 715 F.2d at 693, the appeals and petitions for
review in this case do not fall into the “frivolous” cat-
egory. Indeed, this Court has now twice considered

24

petitions, which regardless of their ultimate success,
have required further proceedings to fully and fairly
decide the petitioner's claim of their right to stay in this
country. Rios Pineda, at 534.

The Government focuses entirely upon the second
sentence and ignores the first sentence. It is apparent that
the Court of Appeals did consider whether the petitions
filed were themselves frivolous separate and apart from the
further proceedings that the passage of time necessitated.
The Court expressly cited LeBlanc v. INS, supra, and did
note that the Board could deny based on frivolous appeals
in an appropriate case.

In LeBlanc v. INS, the First Circuit held that the
Board had the power to deny a Motion to Reopen to assert
a suspension claim as a matter of discretion. The Court
went on to review the Board's decision on an abuse of dis-
cretion standard, citing Balani v. INS, 669 F.2d 1157, 1160
(6th Cir. 1982). See LeBlanc v. INS, Supra at 693. The
Court went on to uphold as rational the Board’s reliance on
the factor of frivolous appeals and dilatory tactics. In that
case, Petitioners argued that their delaying tactics were
themselves favorable considerations. See also Lam Chuen
Ching v. INS, 467 F.2d 644, 645 (3rd Cir. 1972).

There is no inconsistency between the decision of
Court of Appeals herein and the decision of the First Cir-
cuit. The Court of Appeals for the Eighth Circuit applied
the same legal precept, that the Board could deny as a mat-
ter of discretion where the seven years were obtained by
frivolous litigation.

Further, the Court reviewed by the same standard of
review, “abuse of discretion”. The explication of that stand-
ard by the Courts is nearly identical. Compare Rios-Pineda,
at 534, and LeBlanc v. INS at 693. The Court in Rios-
Pineda differed only in that it found the appeals that were
taken were not frivolous.

While the standard of review of the Board's determi-
nation is that of an “abuse of discretion”, less deference is

25

due the Board when its decision rests on essentially a ju-
dicial basis and not on factors within their particular exper-
tise. This is especially true where the large part of the al-
legedly frivolous litigation took place before the Court of
Appeals.

The government acknowledges that the Board does
permit applications for suspension where the seven years
were accrued during the pending of appeals. Petitioner's
Brief at 33, n21. Thus, the Board does distinguish between
cases where the seven years have accrued on a
non-frivolous basis. The Board's decision is based upon its
review of this record and does not involve a particular ap-
plication of its expertise regarding the immigration laws.

The Government further argues in its Brief that the
decision of the Court of Appeals rewards dilatory tactics.
Petitioner's Brief at 30-33. Under the Court of Appeals
analysis, the Board retains the discretion to deny Motions
as a matter of discretion in abusive cases. The Court of Ap-
peals will only step in where that discretion is abused.

In general, the Petitioner argues for unbridled discre-
tion of the Board of Immigration Appeals. The Respondents
do not quarrel with the need for the Board to retain flex-
ibility and discretion in considering Motions to Reopen. A
restrictive standard of review is appropriate and was in fact
employed by the Court of Appeals herein.

The Government's argument in this case harkens back
to a time when the Courts distinguished between rights
and privileges. This argument has been long rejected in the
due process area. See Tribe, American Constitutional Law,
Sec. 10-8, pp 509-510 (1978). Simply because an alien does
not have a right to have his deportation proceedings re-
opened, does not mean that he is not entitled to a fair and
careful consideration of the Motion. Having held out a rem-
edy, the Board may not dispense the remedy without a
rational basis. Shin v. INS, supra.

The Government further argues that the seven year
requirement of 8 USC §1254(a)(1) will become a nullity as
a result of the Court of Appeal’s decision. Petitioner's Brief

26

at 30-33. This argument is obviously overblown. The solu-
tion to this problem lies with the agency itself. See Shin v.
INS, supra, at 130-131, (dissent). Although charged with
being deportable in 1978, it was nearly two years later
when the Board affirmed the orders of deportation. The
Board itself failed to promptly dispose of these cases.

Moreover, as noted above, the Board retains the au-
thority to deny Motions as a matter of discretion based
upon an appropriate record of dilatory tactics.

The Respondents applied for voluntary departure pur-
suant to §244(e) of the Immigration and Nationality Act.
The Immigration Judge denied this application. While nei-
ther the Respondents notice of appeal or brief raised this
issue before the Board, the Board plainly had authority to
consider it. See 8 CFR §3. l(c).

By denying voluntary departure, the Immigration
Judge subjected the Respondents to the bar of §212(a)(17)
of the Immigration and Nationality Act, which at the time
of his decision, would have been a permanent bar to their
return as permanent residents. The issue of voluntary de-
parture was a close one and plainly merited appeal to the
Board and into the Courts.

The Court of Appeals considered the issue of voluntary
departure pursuant to 8 USC §1254(e) as properly before
them. See Rios-Pineda v. U.S. Dept. of Justice, 673 F.2d
225, 226 (8th Cir. 1982). The Court did not address the
issue because it remanded on other grounds. Certainly, the
denial of voluntary departure posed a non-frivolous issue
separate and apart from the grounds discussed above. This
is particularly so wherein the Respondents had a possibility
of immigrating to the United States based on the employ-
ment of the male Respondent. See §212(a)(14) and
§203(a)(6) of the Immigration and Nationality Act, 8 USC
1182(a)(14) and 1153(a)(6).

In summary, taken as a whole, the appeals taken by the
Respondents where not so frivolous as to amount to an
abuse of the judicial or administrative process that merited
the denial of their suspension application without reference

27

to its merits. The Board abused its discretion in denying the
Motion wherein the petitions where not frivolous as a mat-
ter of law. Cf Hughes v. Rowe, supra.

E. The Court of Appeals did not Err in Finding an Abuse of
Discretion wherein the Board of Immigration Appeals De-
nied the Motion Based upon Disregard of the Immigration
Laws

The Board also relied upon the Respondents’ use of a
paid smuggler to help them avoid inspection, the male Re-
spondents’ return after a forced absence of only two months
and the failure to depart voluntarily, in the denial of the
Motion. (Petitioner's Appendix 13A-14A). It is not apparent
whether this served as a independent basis separate and
apart from the perceived lack of merit in the Respondents’
appeals. More likely, these grounds appear to be cumula-
tive factors in the Board’s consideration. From a reading of
the Board’s opinion, it cannot be said that these basis would
have independently led the Board to deny the Motion.

It is important to note that the Board merely mentions
these factors. The precise nature of these events, and even
the Board’s formulation of them, are in grave question
based upon this record.

The only fact that is clear is that the Respondents paid
$450 to a smuggler to enter the United States. Whether
that occurred in 1972 or 1974 is not clear from the record.
See Brief for Respondent, supra at 1.

The nature of the circumstances under which the male
Respondent departed the United States in 1974 are quite
unclear. See Brief for Respondents, supra at pg. 1. Most
puzzling, is the Board’s statement that “prior to the male
Respondent's departure, he had been granted administra-
tive voluntary departure which was extended once and he
nevertheless failed to depart voluntarily.” (Pet. App. 13a.)
If the Board is to be understood as utilizing the term “vol-
untary departure” in its technical and not normal usage, the
statement is inexplicable. First, nothing in the record be-

28

fore this Court or before the Court of Appeals evidences the
Board's statement of facts. It appears that the Board is re-
lying on some information, probably contained in the Im-
migration Service file, which was not made of record in the
deportation proceeding. Moreover, the male Respondent's
departure could not be considered to be a deportation, as
no judicial proceedings had ever been commenced. Fur-
ther, the Government never charged either in deportation
proceedings or in criminal proceedings that male Respond-
ent re-entered the United States after having been de-
ported.

Once again, the Respondents do not contest the
Board's discretionary ability to deny a Motion to Reopen
based upon “disregard of the immigration laws”. In an ap-
propriate case, disregard for the laws of the United States
may well form an independent and compelling basis upon
which to deny a Motion to Reopen. Once more, this is not
such a case.

As the Court of Appeals noted, disregard of our immi-
gration laws is necessarily present in some form in most, if
not all, deportation proceedings. Rios-Pineda, at 534. The
government argues in its Brief that the Board has the power
to distinguish among deportable conduct to decide which
merits the sanction of a preemptory denial of a Motion to
Reopen. Brief for Petitioner at 37. Counsel for Respondent
does not quarrel with this formulation. However, there is
no indication in the Board's decision that it did so. As noted
above, these factors appear to have been considered as
cummulative factors that supplemented and re-enforced
the Board's findings of the perceived lack of merit in the
underlying litigation.

Nothing in the Board's decision distinguished the Re-
spondents from “simple overstays”. If the Board is going to

make such determinations, it must do so expressly and with |

rational explanation. Cf. Ramos v. INS, supra, at 185-188.

It is indisputable that an alien must be “deportable” to
apply for suspension of deportation. Such is a statutory pre-
requisite. Thus, it is incumbant upon the Board to distin-

29

guish the egregious offenders from the less offensive. Noth-
ing in the Respondents’ conduct identifies them as such
egregious offenders.

The Government makes the astonishing argument that
“just as a fugitive from justice is not entitled to pursue relief
through the Courts, an illegal alien who remains in the
country by evading valid orders to depart should not be
entitled to discretionary administrative relief from depor-
tation.” Petitioner's Brief, at 37. This argument entirely
overlooks the nature of the suspension of deportation rem-
edy. The Government's position would be a pro tanto re-
peal of the suspension statute insofar as discretionary ad-
ministrative relief is concerned. _

The Government further argues as if the Respondents
had been fugitives who had absconded to accure the nec-
essary seven years. This is completely without factual basis
in this record and if argued by analogy is simply inapt.
Whether the Board can deny a Motion to Reopen where
the alien's acquire seven years by absconding is not before
the Court. For present purposes, Respondents can readily
assume that such a denial would be proper. The disregard
of the immigration laws discussed by the Board does not in
any way relate to the argument advanced by the Govern-
ment.

Once again, the Government alludes to a crushing ad-
ministrative burden on the INS. See Petitioner's Brief, at
39. No support for this assertion is apparent from the record
and none is suggested by the Petitioner. The Government
appears to be arguing for the ability of the Board to deny
Motions wholesale without consideration of the individual
merits of each.

The cases cited by the Government are simply inap-
posite to the principle asserted. None of these cases sup-
port the argument made.

In summary, the Respondents accept the authority of
the Board of Immigration Appeals to deny Motions to Re-
open based upon egregious “disregard of the immigration
laws’. No such egregious disregard was found by the Board

30

as an independent basis of denying the Motion. Moreover,
the Board utterly failed to distinguish the disregard present
in this case from that present in any Motion to Reopen to
apply for suspension of devortation.

IV. CONCLUSION

The Respondents respectfully request that this Court
affirm the decision of the United States Court of Appeals
and remand for further proceedings consistent with this
Court’s opinion and that of the U.S. Court of Appeals for
the Eighth Circuit.

Respectfully submitted,

Lawrence H. Rudnick

ORLOW, FULLER, RUBIN & STEEL
936 Public Ledger Building
Philadelphia, PA 19106

(215) 922-1181

Roman de La Campa
2219 Allan Street
Sioux City, Iowa 51103
(814) 258-8852
Counsel for Respondents

March 4, 1985

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385012_0790%3A6. Public record. Not legal advice.
