# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — INS v. Rios-Pineda

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385012_0790%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1985
- **Citation:** 471 U.S. 444

## Text

OCTOBER TERM, 1983

IMMIGRATION AND NATURALIZATION SERVICE,
PETITIONER

v.

BERNARDO RIOS-PINEDA
AND
ESTARNILADA RIOS-PINEDA DE RIOS

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE
EIGHTH CIRCUIT

Rex E. LEE
Solicitor General

RICHARD K. WILLARD
Acting Assistant Attorney General

KENNETH S. GELLER

Deputy Solicitor General
ELLIOTT SCHULDER

Assistant to the Solicitor General

JAMES A. HUNOLT
Attorney
Department of Justice
Washington D.C. 20530
(202) 633-2217

QUESTION PRESENTED

Whether the Attorney General and his delegates
have discretion to deny an alien’s motion to reopen de-
portation proceedings for the purpose of seeking sus-
pension of deportation under 8 U.S.C. 1254(a)(1) be-
cause the alien has acquired the necessary seven years’
“continuous physical presence” only by filing frivolous
appeals and has in other ways exhibited disregard for
the immigration laws.

(I)

Aguitin v. INS, 700 F-24564 .... << e 16

401 U.S. 921 ee i on cee 4

FPC v. Saute Sener Co., 344 U.S. 17 Gdvtie< 15
H , 344 U.S.

i de Cee Cok cecceéocceces 15

Gonzalez-Cuevas v. INS, 515 F.2d rae 4

v. INS, 554 F.2d 17 Sa rare 16, 17

SE Ee a a 10, 11, 12, 13, 17

INS v. Wang, 450 U.S. 139 = 7. eee 10, 11-12, 13,

16, 17, 18, 19

Jay v. Boyd, 351 U.S. 345 ................-- 11

Kimm v. Rosenberg, 363 U.S. 405 ........... 11

(m1)

Page

hing 20 044 ..... 16

LeBlanc v. INS, 715 F.2d 685 béeeccieeweses ED

Men Keng Chang v. Juigni, 669 F.2d 275 . 16

Meove vw. Es eo 11

Muigai v. INS, 682 F.2d 334 ............... 16
NLRB v. Food Store Employee:

347, 417 U.S. 1 ..... benbonin 15
Gas G, Gy GE Kade cecdsecceacces 17
Pang sere INS, 663 F.2d 417 ....... 16
Ramirez-Gonzales v. INS, 695 F.2d 1208 .... 16

4
17
15
18
8 U.S.C. 1101 et seq.:
ED “acawccccodcetndsoucéee 5
8 U.S.C. — bedeaddemiidesidtecseds 4
13
4
ED oc cede cctlisesddcdebeose 6, 11, 18

(1)

suck period he was and isa person of c
acter, 5 and i is a persor der

1972 (App.. infra, 17a). In early 1974, he returned 10
Mente under Geant of leportation (id. at 2a, ita,
to 8 U.S.C. - 1251CaX2) (AP. infra 2a, iba Ta

a ee Fn

sober 1588 a _ : R.

snd dint ssbeenatbattion ter tehos coeds tech Beson
The immigration judge tented hs request a an appt

summer of 1972 and thus had not been in the

Mr. Rn Pn kof eighty

a inter alia, that respondents had used a professional
20 dapast wallaatasiily puiar to tautitntion of eportatic

nqnant tennant aires eatetetenmatibn ss
ter his departure under the threat of deportation (App., infra,
29a-30a).

Be et cgpeel te Be BEA, serpentente dained tat thelr
tation of their citizen child. The BIA rejected this claim as with-
out merit (App., infra, 22a-23a, citing, e.g., Rubio de Cachu v.
INS, 568 F.2d 625 (9th Cir. 1977); Acosta v. Gaffney, 558 F.2d
1153 (3d Cir. 1977); Gonzalez-Cuevas v. INS, w15 F.2d 1222
975); Faustino v. INS, 432 F.2d 429 (2d Cir. 1970),

cert. denied, 401 U.S. 921 (1971)). Respondents also claimed
that they wer entitled to relief under 8 U.S.C. 1182(c), which
permits relief from exclusion or deportation for “aliens lawfully
admitted for permanent residence.” The BIA found respondents
ineligible for such relief because they had never been admitted

5)

2. In July 986 ) suapentente Sid a peifien far sv

tation pursuant to 8 U.S.C 1106a(aX3).

. oe ee ee
cal present inthe United States fora continous Pe

Se) ict oh te tae of ie saa oi
Sonzalez v. INS, 647 F.2d 457, 459

their responses to the questions would violate their privilege
and that respondents submitted no evidence that their testi
mony had been compelled (App., infra, 24a). Indeed, the BIA

observed (ibid ) that counsel had freely conceded respondents
ant to 8 CFR. 242.16. Respondents’ final ergument was that
the order to show cause was invalid as to Mr. Rios-Pineda be-
cause at the time it was issued an application for labor certifica-
tion was pending before a state agency. The BIA held that the
commencement of deportation proceedings against a deportable
alien is a matter within the discretion of the District Director
(App., twfra, 23a).

« Brief for Petitioners at 2-3, Rios-Pineda v. U.S. Depart-
ment of Justice, No. 86-1619 (8th Cir.).

5 Id. at 4.

6

(5th Cir. 1981)). The court directed the Board to hold
the proceedings in abeyance for 60 days to give respon-
dents an opportunity to file a motion to reopen their de-
portation proceedings (App., infra, 20a). In addition,
the court cautioned the Board “to give careful and thor-
ough consideration to the * * * motion to reopen if, in-
deed, one is filed” (id. at 20a n.5). The court stated that
if no motion to reopen were filed within 60 days, the
Board could dismiss the proceedings (id. at 20a).

3. Respondents filed a motion to reopen, accompan-
ied by applications for suspension of deportation. In
their motion to reopen, respondents alleged that they
had been in the United States for a continuous period of
seven years from the ‘ime of their entry on May 1,
1974, that they are persons of good moral character,
and that deportation would result in extreme hardship
to them and their citizen children (R. 17-18). With re-
spect to the latter claim, respondents alleged that their
two citizen daughters, then seven and three years of
age, would be deprived of their rights to an education
in United States schools and to social assistance if re-

7

(R. 20-41). Apart from their allegations of hardship, re-
spondents pointed to certain language in the court of
appeals’ decision which, they asserted, showed that the
court had already accepted their extreme hardship
claim (R. 19).®

The BIA denied respondents’ motion to reopen
(App., infra, 1la-15a). It held that respondents failed
to make a prima facie showing of extreme hardship nec-
essary to establish eligibility for suspension of deporta-
tion (id. at 13a-14a). The Board noted that respondents
had submitted no affidavits in support of their extreme
hardship claim (id. at 13a). It examined “the documents
and the vague allegations forwarded by counsel” and
concluded that they were not sufficient to establish a
prima facie showing of extreme hardship (id. at
13a-14a).

In addition, the Board concluded that the motion to
reopen should in any event be denied in the exercise of
its discretion (App., infra, 14a-15a). The BIA ob-
served, in this regard, that respondents were able to

ire seven years’ presence and the equity of a sec-
ond child only by pursuing what it considered to be friv-
olous appeals, and it concluded that denial of a motion

relief is acquired only by means of such dilatory tactics
(id. at 14a). The BIA also noted that respondents en-
tered the United States in May 1974 with the assistance
of a paid smuggler and that on that occasion Mr. Rios-
Pineda was returning within only two months of a

* The portion of the court of appeals’ opinion relied on by re-
spondents stated (App., infra, 19a):

8

forced departure after he had failed to depart voluntar-
ily (id. at 14a-15a). Concluding that these adverse fac-
tors outweighed the equities in respondents’ favor, the
BIA denied the motion to reopen as a matter of discre-
tion (id. at 15a).

4. The court of appeals again reversed and remanded
(App., infra, la-10a). The court concluded that it had
implicitly decided respondents’ extreme hardship claim
in their favor in its earlier decision and that this deter-
mination was binding on the Board as the “law of the
case” (App. infra, 5a-7a). The court reviewed the fac-
tors supporting its earlier “holding” that respondents
had established a prima facie case of extreme hardship
and concluded that that holding was not clearly errone-
ous (id. at 7a).7

In the alternative, the court of appeals ruled that
even if respondents’ prima facie eligibility for suspen-
sion of deportation had not been decided by the court in
its prior opinion, the Board abused its discretion in
declining to find that respondents had made a sufficient
showing of extreme hardship to warrant recpening of
their deportation proceedings (App., infra, 7a-8a n.3).
The court pointed out that Mr. Rios-Pineda had claimed
his mother, a resident of Mexico, as a dependent on his
federal income tax returns and that the Board had
never considered the hardship to respondents that de-
portation might entail with respect to respondents’ abil-
ity to continue su ing Mr. Rios-Pineda’s mother
(id. at 7a n.3). as Coeenes epnetoat the
Board failed to consider possibility that respon-
dents’ citizen children only speak English, thus yn cata
ing the educational and social hardship if they are
a re
n.3).

7 These factors were that Mr. Rios-Pineda had been regularly
employed since 1974, that respondents had made a substantial
down payment on a home, and that their citizen children had
lived in the United States since birth (App., infra, 7a).

* The court of failed to mention that respondents’ mo-
tion to reopen not refer to respondents’ obligation to sup-

\

9

The court of appeals also held that the BIA’s discre-
tionary denial of respondents’ motion to reopen was
based on improper factors (App., infra, 8a-9a). The
court disagreed with the BIA’s characterization of re-
spondents’ appeals as “frivolous,” noting that the court
had “twice considered petitions which, regardless of
their ultimate success, have required further proceed-
ings to fully and fairly decide the [respondents’} claim of
their right to stay in this country” (id. at 9a). In addi-
tion, the court concluded that the Board erred in rely-
ing on respondents’ “disregard” of the immigration
laws, as manifested by their use of a paid smuggler and
by Mr. Rios-Pineda’s repeated refusal to depart volun-
tarily, because “(such ‘disregard’ is necessarily present
in some form in most deportation proceedings” (ibid).

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION

Since respondents’ entry with the assistance of a pro-
fessional smuggler in 1974, they have never lawfully
been in the United States. After Mr. Rios-Pineda’s ap-
prehension, the INS granted him ample opportunity to
return voluntarily to Mexico in lieu of deportation, but
he failed to depart. At their deportation hearing in De-
cember 1978, both respondents conceded deportability
and were ordered deported. Respondents succeeded in
avoiding deportation, however, by seeking discretion-
ary relief from deportation despite their ineligibility for
such relief and by filing frivolous appeals. By these dila-
tory tactics, respondents managed to satisfy the seven-
year eligibility requirement for suspension of
deportation.

The court of appeals has concluded that the Attorney
General may not exercise his discretion to deny respon-
dents’ motion to reopen based on their resort to dila-
tory tactics and their blatant disregard of the immigra-

port Mr. Rios-Pineda’s mother and did not allege that respon-
dents’ daughters only speak English.

10

tion laws. The decision below means that for respon-
dents and other deportable aliens, the use of adminis-
trative and judicial review procedures for purposes of
delay not only will be condoned, but will in fact be
rewarded.

This case thus presents an important question con-
cerning the nature and scope of the Attorney General’s
authority to deny a deportable alien’s motion to reopen
deportation proceedings as a matter of administrative
discretion, without regard to whether the alien has es-
tablished a prima facie case of eligibility for the ulti-
mate relief sought. This Court has held that the Attor-
ney General and his delegates may exercise their
discretion to deny an alien’s request for extraordinary
relief regardless of eligibility. INS v. Bagamasbad, 429
U.S. 24 (1976). In addition, the Court has adverted, in
recent cases, to the broad discretion enjoyed by the At-
torney General and his delegates in deciding whether to
grant or deny a motion to reopen. INS v. Phinpathya,
No. 82-91 (Jan. 10, 1984), slip op. 5 n.6; INS v. Wang,
450 U.S. 139, 143-144 n.5 (1981). The decision «f the
court of appeals, unless overturned, would severely re-
strict that broad discretion with respect to the thou-
sands of motions to reopen filed each year by de-
portable aliens.

1. Both the ultimate relief requested by respondents
(suspension of deportation) and the procedure by which
they are attempting to obtain that relief (a motion to
reopen deportation proceedings) are designed to deal

In order to be eligible for suspension of deportation,
an alien must have been physically present in the
United States for a continuous period of seven years,
must have been a person of good moral charcter during
that time, and must be able to show that his deporta-
tion would cause “extreme hardship” to himself or to

citi-
zen or an lawfully admitted for permanent resi-
dence. 8 U.S.C. 1254(a)(1). The “extreme hardship” and

11

“continuous physical presence” requirements both re-
flect the exceptional nature of the suspension remedy.
See INS v. Wang, 450 U.S. at 145; INS v. Phin-

, slip op. 7. If an alien meets all three eligibility
requirements, the Attorney General must then decide
whether suspension relief is warranted in the exercise
of his “unfettered discretion.” Jay v. Boyd, 351 U.S.
345, 354 (1956). See Kimm v. Rosenberg, 363 U.S. 405,
408 (1960). The Attorney General need not even decide
whether an alien has satisfied the statutory eligibility
requirements, however, where he determines that the
alien’s application would be denied as a matter of dis-
cretion. See INS v. Bagamasbad, supra; LeBlanc v.
INS, 715 F.2d 685, 688-692 (lst Cir. 1983); Moore v.
INS, 715 F.2d 18, 16 n.2 (1st Cir. 1983).

As this Court observed in INS v. Wang, 450 U.S. at
140-141, the Immigration and Nationality Act does not
expressly provide a vehicle for reopening deportation

after a final order of deportation has been
issued. The INS, however, has provided by regulation
for such a procedure. 8 C.F.R. 3.2, 3.8.° The regulations
permit the BIA to reevaluate its prior disposition of
cases in which significant developments have occurred
subsequent to the hearings and decisions therein. This
Court in Wang addressed the nature of the BIA’s dis-

* 8 C.F.R. 3.2 provides in pertinent part:
Motions to reopen in deportation proceedings shall not be
granted unless it appears to the Board that evidence
to be offered is material and was not available and

12

cretionary authority over motions to reopen. The Court
stated (450 U.S. at 143-144 n.5):

If INS discretion is to mean , it must
be that the INS has some latitude when
to reopen a case. The INS should have the to
be restrictive. Granting such motions too

13

cat ef hand by the BIA (ADP. infra, 212-242

mente that had been rejected by the BIA.** In xdditio:

ee oe ee
pte od wh rns ;
they were in custody. and they presented no evidence that thei
as the BIA observed in rejecting this claim (App., infra, 24a),
respondents were represented at the hearing by counsel who

review. ~ This decision con-

Se pondent:

the “extreme hardship”
authority to issue such a “holding.” If the court in fact invended
00 OS ee ee ote
of deportation, “it usurped an administrative function.” FPC v.
Idaho Power Co., 344 U.S. 17, 20 (1962). See South Prairie
Construction Co. v. Local No. 627, International Union of Op-
erating Engineers, 425 U.S. 800, 805-806 (1976); NLRB v. Food
Store Employees Union, Local 347, 417 U.S. 1, 16 (1974). It
therefore follows that the court below could not properly rely on
its earlier “holding” as support for the proposition that respon-
dents’ prior appeals were not frivolous.

6 F 2am Ageme INS, 700 F.2d 564,
Cir. 1983); Muigai v. INS, 682

1982); Men Keng Chang v. Jiugni, 669 F.2d 275,
(5th Cir. 1982); Pang Kiu Fung v. | 2d
419 (2d Cir. Mea, Sithns w. INS,

645 (3d Cir. on

a8?
eB
=e

cme ae for this ==

v. INS, 7s Fi at 68; Agate. INS, 700 F.2d at

ang (450 U.S. at 143-144

deny reopening wheres undputed that the aber

tru where the motion to reopen is forthe purpose of

INS, 613 F.2d 51, sot (th Ci 1980) Hibbert.

eber v. INS, 520 F.2d 44

BEN pd eybnns te 7 Aggy wong =
s “‘right to be restrictive’ 7 x ay: my

** We note that if the court of appeals had upheld the BIA’s
reasonable exercise of discretion in denying the motion to reo-

First, the court’s reliance on the “law of the case” doctrine is
misplaced becavse, as we have already pointed out (see note 12,
supra), if the court in its imitial decision in fact held that re-

made oat a prima facie case, it acted outside the

pny gee kg ye he eer +o yt

le authorities in passing on applications for sus-
pooh

deportation.
biishod prime facio alighiity in their Gition ts seopen, io 2

la

APPENDIX A

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE EIGHTH CIRCUIT

No. 82-1894

BERNARDO RI0S/PINEDA AND
ESTARNILADA RIOS/PINEDA DE RIOS, PETITIONERS,

Vv.

UNITED STATES DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE,
IMMIGRATION & NATURALIZATION SERVICE,
RESPONDENT

Submitted: March 16, 1983
Filed: Nov. 9, 1983

ON PETITION FOR REVIEW OF
ORDER OF IMMIGRATION AND
NATURALIZATION SERVICE

Before HEANEY and FAGG, Circuit Judges, and
HANSON, * Senior District Judge.

HEANEY, Circuit Judge.

This case is before us for a second time. The petition-
ers are Bernardo Rios-Pineda and his wife, Estarnilada
Ramos de Rios. We are asked in this petition to review
the July 16, 1982, decision of the Board of Immigration
Appeals denying the petitioners’ motion to reopen de-

* The HONORABLE WILLIAM C. HANSON, Senior Dis-
trict Judge for the Northern and Southern Districts of Iowa, sit-

ting by designation.

2a

portation proceedings against them. We do not consider
the instant petition in a vacuum. We are aware, as
were both parties at oral argument in March of this
year, of recent legislative action which would render it
moot. Specifically, proposals to reform our federal im-
migration laws, backed by the present executive admin-
istration and twice passed by the United States Senate,
would grant amnesty from deportation to millions of im-
-migrants presently within our borders. See 129 Cong.
Rec. 86905-S6987 (daily ed. May 18, 1983) (considera-
tion and passage of S. 529, 98th Cong., Ist Sess.
(1983)). The petitioners would be beneficiaries of this
much-awaited legislation. Because it is increasingly ap-
parent that the House of Representatives will not act
on these proposals this year, however, we have no
choice but to decide this case based on an immigration
policy embodied in laws passed in substance over two
decades ago.

Bernardo Rios-Pineda entered this country for the
first time in the summer of 1972. He returned to
Mexico for approximately two months in 1974. On May
1, 1974, he and his wife entered the United States with-
out inspection at San Ysidro, California, and soon made
their way to Omaha, Nebraska. Bernardo has worked
at Union Packing Company in Omaha since 1974. The
petitioners have two daughters born in Omaha as
United States citizens: Ana Belia, who is now nine
years of age; and Brenda Lee, who is four years old.

The Immigration and Naturalization Service (INS) is-
sued orders to show cause why the petitioners should
not be deported in October of 1978. After a deportation
hearing on December 12, 1978, an on gem judge
denied, inter alia, Bernardo’s for suspen-
sion of deportation under 8 U.S.C. § 1254(a\1) (1982)
(as amended). Section 1254(aX(1) provides that the At-

torney General may suspend the deportation of a per-

3a

son not lawfully admitted into the country if that
person
has been physically present in the United States

Id.
The immigration judge—acting for the Attorney Gen-
eral’s delegate, the INS—denied Bernardo’s application
under this section solely because he failed to meet the
seven-year continuous presence requirement. The
Board of Immigration Appeals (Board) dismissed the
petitioners’ appeal from this decision on May 30, 1980.
We reviewed the Board’s May 30, 1980, dismissal in
our first opinion on this case, Rios-Pineda v. United
States Department of Justice, 673 F.2d 225 (8th Cir.
1982). In that opinion, we noted that both Bernardo and
Estarnilada met the seven-year continuous presence re-
quirement while the petition for review was under con-
sideration by our Court. Citing Vargas-Gonzalez v.
INS, 647 F.2d 457 (5th Cir. 1981), and outlining the pe-
titioners’ employment and family situation, we con-
cluded “that Bernardo and Estarnilada * * * have
‘made a substantial showing that the Board should
properly afford [them] relief on the basis of the addi-
tional evidence available subsequent to the initial hear-
ing.’” Rios-Pineda vy. United States Department of Jus-
tice, supra, 673 F.2d at 227. Accordingly, we reversed
the Board’s decision and granted the petitioners sixty
days in which to file a “motion to reopen” their deporta-
tion proceedings, at which time the Board was directed
to “promptly consider and rule upon their claim that

they are entitled to suspension of deportation under 8
U.S.C. § 1254(a)(1).” Id. at 228 (footnote omitted).

i
!
7

i
z
:
E

#8
:
:
3
g
'

help them avoid inspection [in 1974] and by failing to
depart voluntarily.”

On petition for review of the Board’s July 16, 1982,
decision, Bernardo and Estarnilada contend that the
Board abused its discretion in summarily denying their
motion to reopen. They assert that the motion and sup-
porting exhibits were filed with

2
:
HE
S

contentions and remand to the Board to grant their mo-
tion to reopen and to afford them an opportunity to
fully substantiate their claims that deportation would

5a

cause extreme hardship to themselves or their United
States citizen children.

First, we hold that their motion to reopen was prop-
erly filed within the constraints set out in our earlier
order of remand. See Rios-Pineda v. United States De-
partment of Justice, supra, 673 F.2d at 228 & n.4.
While we agree that the motion apparently did not
reach the party designated in 8 C.F.R. § 3.8 (1983)
within the sixty-day period set forth in our decision, the
record shows that the motion was received by other
Board officials witiin that time period. A memorandum
from the INS District Director in Omaha to the Board’s
national office on June 24, 1982, acknowledged that the
motion had been mailed directly to the Board on May 7,
1982.' Thus, the Board received the motion within sixty
days of our March 12, 1982, opinion, even though the
precise offizer designated in the regulations was not
forwarded the motion until later. See id. § 3.8(b). We
refuse to give this technical error in filing dispositive
significance in a case of such importance to the petition-
ers and their family.

Next, we agree with the petitioners that the Board
erred in denying the motion to reopen for want of a
prima facie showing of the extreme hardship necessary
to be eligible for section 1254(a)(1) relief. Normally, we
review the Board’s findings regarding a prima facie
case of extreme hardship sufficient to merit reopening
under an abuse of discretion standard. See /NS v.
Wang, 450 U.S. 139, 142, 144-145 (1981) (per curiam);
Diaz-Salazar v. INS, 700 F.2d 1156, 1159-1160 (7th
Cir.), cert. denied, 108 S. Ct. 3112 (1983); Aiyadurai v.
INS, 683 F.2d 1195, 1199 (8th Cir. 1982). Where an is-
sue has previously been decided on appeal, however,
that decision binds a tribunal on remand as the law of

' We assume that the reference to the Board in the text of
this memorandum was to its regional office in Nebraska.

6a

the case unless the decision was clearly erroneous or
would result in a manifest injustice. Otten v. Stonewall
Insurance Co., 588 F.2d 210, 212-213 (8th Cir. 1976).
The “law of the case” doctrine is equally applicable in
instances of remand to administrative agencies and re-
mand to lower courts. City of Cleveland v. Federal
Power Commission, 561 F.2d 344, 346 (D.C. Cir. 1977).
See also Todd & Co. v. SEC, 687 F.2d 154, 156-157 (3d
Cir. 1980).

In the instant case, we concluded that the fulfillment
of the seven-year continuous presence requirement
pending our review merited remand for further pro-
ceedings on the petitioners’ section 1254(aX(1) claims.
Rios-Pineda vy. United States Department of Justice,
supra, 673 F.2d at 227-228. Implicit in this conclusion
was our decision that a prima facie case of extreme
hardship, along with the other requirements of section
1254(aX(1), had already been established; thus, we re-
manded for prompt consideration and ruling on peti-
tioners’ “claim” for section 1254(a)(1) relief, not just for
extra time to file a motion to reopen in the normal
course. Jd. at 228 (emphasis added).* The Fifth Circuit
case cited in support of our remand was likewise one in
which the court found a prima facie case meriting full
consideration on remand. Vargas-Gonzalez v. INS,
supra, 647 F.2d at 459 & n.4. Therefore, our holding of

prime tarts cighity Gracin Manga

"4 We realise that in the closing footnote to our previous opin-
ion, we stated that the Board should give “careful and thorough
cunssteaatton So tap aun iain bo v.
United States Department of Justice, 673 F.2d 225, 228 n.5 (8th

7a

was the law of the instant case, not challenged by the
Board before this Court en bane or on certiorari to the
Supreme Court.

As we view this holding today, we conclude that it is
not clearly erroneous. The only prima facie factor which
conceivably could have been decided against the peti-
tioners after the seven-year continuous presence re-
quirement was met would be the extreme hardship to
the petitioners or their United States citizen children.
The record of this case in 1982 clearly established that
Bernardo had been regularly employed by Union Pack-
ing Company since 1974, and that the petitioners had
made a substantial down payment on a home. Addition-
ally, the petitioners’ citizen children had lived in the
United States since birth. These facts are reinforced by
the exhibits filed by the petitioners on remand after our
1982 decision. And importantly, neither the immigra-
tion judge nor the Board questioned any element of
prima facie eligibility, besides the seven-year prerequi-
site, before our 1982 opinion. These circumstances are
sufficient to support our previous holding of prima facie
eligibility. Furthermore, we find no manifest injustice
to the Board in affirming this holding as the law of the
case, if indeed any such injustice could be experienced
by an agency of the government.*

3 Even were we to hold that the petitioners’ prima facie eligi-
bility for suspension of deportation was not a matter previously
decided by this Court, we would find that the Board abused its
discretion in declining to find the requisite extreme hardship to
merit reopening the deportation proceedings herein. A careful
examination of the exhibits filed with the petitioners’ motion to
reopen reveals that for several years, Bernardo claimed his
mother in Mexico, Guadalupe Pineda, as a dependent on his
United States federal income tax returns. The burden placed on
the petitioners by deporting them in the face of such family ties
and responsibilities has never been considered by the Board. In
addition, the motion to reopen indicates that the petitioners’
United States-born children may only speak English, increasing

8a

Finally, we must address the Board’s exercise of dis-
cretion over and above the establishment of a prima
facie case of eligibility, an issue which we did not con-
sider in our prior decision. The Ninth Circuit has held
that once a prima facie case of eligibility under section
1254(a)(1) is established, the Board abuses its discretion
in refusing to reopen and grant a hearing on the mat-
ter. Villena v. INS, 622 F.2d 1352, 1361 n.12 (9th Cir.
1980); Urbano de Malaluan v. INS, 577 F.2d 589, 593
(9th Cir. 1978). Decisions by other courts intimate,
however, that the Board may exercise the Attorney
General’s discretion, reflected both in statute and regu-
lations, to deny a motion to reopen even after the peti-
tioner has established a prima facie case of eligibility.
See INS v. Wang, supra, 450 U.S. at 143 n.5; LeBlanc
v. INS, 715 F.2d 685, 692 (1st Cir. 1983); Moore v.
INS, 715 F.2d 18, 16 n.2 (1st Cir. 1983). Even assuming
that the latter approach is correct and applicable to a
motion to reopen on remand from an appellate court,
we cannot accept the reasons given by the Board to

their educational and social hardship should they be forced to go
to Mexico with their parents, especially in the case of Ana Belia
who has completed several years of education in Omaha. The
Board’s decision on remand from this Court failed to consider
these specific factors, alone or in the aggregate with others in
the record, as relevant to a prima facie showing of extreme
hardship. Such disregard is an abuse of discretion. See Batoon
v. INS, 707 F.2d 399, 401-402 (9th Cir. 1983); Antoine-Dorcelli
v. INS, 703 F.2d 19, 20-21 (1st Cir. 1983); Ramos v. INS, 695
F.2d 181, 186 & n.12, 188 (5th Cir. 1983); Santana-Figueroa v.
INS, 644 F.2d 1354, 1356 (9th Cir. 1981).

Furthermore, several courts have recognized the difficulty in
declaring no extreme hardship to an immigrant’s United States
citizen children without a hearing. £.g., Luna v. INS, 709 F.2d
126, 128 (1st Cir. 1983); Urbano de Malaluan v. INS, 577 F.2d
589, 594 (9th Cir. 1978). We agree with these courts and con-
sider this an important factor in reviewing any denial of a mo-
tion to reopen in which extreme hardship to United States citi-
zen children is alleged and supported by evidence.

9a

support its denial of the petitioners’ motion to reopen
“in the exercise of discretion.”

The Board first held that the petitioners prolonged
their presence in this country, thus meeting the seven-
year requirement of section 1254(a)(1), by filing “frivo-
lous appeals.” While in some cases an abuse of judicial
processes might be a factor relevant to a discretionary
refusal to reopen deportation proceedings, see LeBlanc
v. INS, supra, 715 F.2d at 693, the appeals and peti-
tions for review in this case do not fall into the “frivo-
lous” category. Indeed, this Court has now twice <con-
sidered petitions which, regardless of their ultimate
success, have required further proceedings to fully and
fairly decide the petitioners’ claim of their right to stay
in this country. The other discretionary factor consid-
ered by the Board in denying the motion to reopen was
the petitioners’ “disregard” of our immigration laws by
using a paid smuggler to illegally enter this country and
refusing to depart voluntarily. Such “disregard” is nec-
essarily present in some form in most deportation pro-
ceedings, however, and we find reliance on this factor
to be “arbitrary, irrational, [and] contrary to the law.”
Batoon v. INS, 707 F.2d 399, 401 (9th Cir. 1983) (cita-
tion omitted). Consideration of these improper and ir-
relevant factors tainted the Board’s exercise of discre-
tion and is therefore grounds to reverse the denial to
reopen the petitioners’ case. See Chung v. United
States INS, 602 F.2d 608, 612 n.7 (8d Cir. 1979).

In short, we find that the Board abused the discre-
tion which remained after our remand of this case by
refusing to give the petitioners a full and fair opportu-
nity to present their evidence of extreme hardship and
failing to render a reasoned decision based upon that
evidence. The Board was not free to reconsider the
prima facie case issue, and it abused the Attorney Gen-
eral’s discretion in denying the petitioners’ motion re-
gardless of their prima facie showing. We do not ques-

10a
tion the Board’s sincerity in attempting to implement

the immigration policy which languishes in our federal —

statutes. We do require that policy be followed to the
letter and in a spirit of total fairness to those persons
who may be permanently exiled from our shores as a
result of its implementation. We therefore remand to
the Board with directions that it reopen the petitioners’
deportation proceedings, with a full hearing before an
immigration judge if requested, in order to make a rea-
soned determination of their eligibility for a section
1254(a1) suspension of deportation by virtue of the re-
sultant extreme hardship to themselves or either of
their daughters, Ana Belia or Brenda Lee.

Reversed and remanded.
A true copy.
Attest:

CLERK, U.S. COURT OF APPEALS,
EIGHTH CIRCUIT.

lla

APPENDIX B

UNITED STATES DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE
BOARD OF IMMIGRATION APPEALS
WASHINGTON, D.C. 20530

July 16, 1982
Files: A22 733 395—Omaha
A22 733 397

In re: BERNARDO RIJOS-PINEDA
ESTARNILADA RAMOS DE R/JOS

IN DEPORTATION PROCEEDINGS

MOTION

ON BEHALF OF RESPONDENTS:
Roman de la Campa, Esquire
2219 Allan Street
Sioux City, Iowa 51103

ON BEHALF OF SERVICE:
Anthony Kieffer
Acting General Attorney

CHARGE:
Order: Sec. 241(a)(2), I&N Act (8 U.S.C.
1251(aX2))—Entry without inspection

APPLICATION: Motion to reopen

This case is before us on remand from a decision on
the Eighth Circuit Court of Appeals dated March 12,
1982, ordering the Board to allow the respondents 60
days in which to properly file a motion to reopen to ap-
ply for suspension of deportation. The respondents
have submitted a motion to reopen. The motion will be
denied and our order of May 30, 1980, will be
reaffirmed.

In a decision duved December 12, 1978, the immigra-
tion judge found the respondents deportable on their
own admissions to having entered without inspection on

12a

May 1, 1974. He further refused to accept the male re-
spondent’s application for suspension of deportation for
failure to establish 7 years of continuous physical pres-
ence, and denied both respondents’ requests for volun-
tary departure in the exercise of discretion. An appeal
from that decision was dismissed by the Board on May
30, 1980. The respondents filed a petition for review of
our decision on July 16, 1980. The Court remanded the
record because the respondents acquired 7 years of
physical presence during the pendency of the appeal.

The male respondent is a 30-year-old native and citi-
zen of Mexico. At deportation proceedings, he testified
that he first entered the United States in the summer
of 1972, but his suspension application states that his
first entry was in June 1971. The record reflects that he
left the United States in March 1974 pursuant to an
administrative grant of voluntary departure and re-
turned with the assistance of a smuggler on May 1,
1974. The female is a 33-year-old native and citizen of
Mexico who entered the United States on May 1, 1974,
with her husband. The respondents have two United
States citizen children born November 8, 1974, and
February 9, 1979.

According to the order of the Circuit Court, the re-
spondents were granted 60 days from March 12, 1982,
to file a proper motion to the Board in accordance with
the controlling regulations which the Court noted to be
8 C.F.R. 3.2 and 8 C.F.R. 3.8. Under the provisions of
8 C.F.R. 3.8(b), an alien must submit a motion to reo-
pen in triplicate to the officer of the Service having
administrative jurisdiction over the place where the

were conducted so that one copy is avail-
able each for that officer, the officer who rendered the
initial decision in the case, and the Board.

The record before us indicates that the respondents’
motion papers were not properly filed with the District
Director in Omaha until May 21, 1982, some 10 days af-

13a

ter the expiration of the period granted by the Court.
Although at the top of a typed motion, counsel has writ-
ten “Submitted: by certified mail May 6, 1982,” the mo-
tion is itself undated and the envelope in which it was
mailed has not been included in the record. We are con-
sequently unable to determine the actual date on which
the motion was mailed. However, a memorandum from
the Appellate Trial Attorney forwarding the respon-
dents’ motion, which was improperly filed with that of-
RRR gr oO app tated 18,
1982.

Even assuming that the respondents’ motion was
mailed within the time permitted by the Court, it can-
not be considered properly filed in a timely manner be-
cause it was not submitted to the District Director in
Omaha as required by the reguiations until May 21,
1982. We believe that the respondents’ failure to prop-
erly file their motion to reopen within the period al-
lowed is sufficient cause for denial of the motion.

Even were the motion properly filed, we would con-
clude that the respondents have not made a prima facie
showing of extreme hardship to establish eligibility for
suspension of deportation. The respondents’ motion
consists of their suspension application, copies of birth
and marriage certificates, income tax returns, a letter
of employment, a cuntract for the purchase of a home,
and the typed motion of their attorney. The respon-
dents have submitted no affidavits attesting to the ex-
treme hardship they may suffer from deportation. The
motion signed by their attorney refers only to the psy-
chological hardship of the respondents resulting from
their inability to enjoy the higher standard of living ir.
this country, which they have acquired despite their
“low skills and education,” and to the hardship of their
children in being deprived of their rights as citizens to
be educated in American schools and to receive social
assistance. Having considered the documents and the

l4a

vague allegations forwarded bv counsel, we are not per-
suaded that they are sufficient vo establish a prima facie
showing of extreme hardship. See Lec «. /NS, 550 F.2d
554 (9 Cir. 1977); Matter of Reyes, Interim Decision
____ (BIA June 30, 1982).

warded tn thatr eqpedd to Go Reaed ouged Sum «

not address
the merits of the contentions forwarded in the petition
to review, but stated that the Board could dismiss the
appeal if the respondents failed to file a proper motion
within the specified time. Where an alien’s eligibility
for relief from deportation has been acquired after a de-
portation order is in effect only by the filing of frivolous
applications or appeals o: by other evasive or dilatory
actions, the denial of a motion to reopen has been con-
sidered appropriate. See Men Keng Chang v. Jiugni,
669 F.2d 275 (5 Cir. 1982); Owm v. INS, 613 F.2d 51 (4
Cir. 1980); Hibbert v. INS, 554 F.2d 17 (2 Cir. 1977);
Lee v. INS, supra; Matter of Reyes, supra.

In denying the respondents’ request for voluntary de-
parture, the immigration judge noted thai they both
entered the United States with the assistance of a paid
smuggler and that the male respondent was returning

15a

after a forced absence of only 2 months. Prior to the
male respondent’s departure, he had been granted
administrative voluntary departure which was ex-
tended once and he nevertheless failed to leave
voluntarily.

Considering the facts that the respondents acquired
their 7 years of physical presence and the additione!
factor of their second child more than 2 years after they
were ordered deported and that they have evidenced
their disregard for our immigration laws by paying a
smuggler to help them avoid inspection and by failing to
depart voluntarily, we believe that these adverse fac-
tors outweigh the equities which have been identified
by the respondents in their motion. Accordingly, we do
not believe that reopening of proceedings is warranted
as a matter of discretion. The motion to reopen will be
denied.

ORDER: The motion to reopen is denied and our de-
cision ordering the respondents deported is reaffirmed.

‘s/ Davip L. MILHOLLAN

Davip L. MILHOLLAN
Chairman

Board Member James P. Morris has abstained from
consideration of this case.

l6a

APPENDIX C

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE EIGHTH CIRCUIT

No. 80-1619

BERNARDO RIOS-PINEDA, A 22 733 395, HUSBAND,
AND ESTARNILADA RAMOS DE Rios, A 22 733 397,
WIFE, PETITIONERS,

v.

U.S. DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE, IMMIGRATION AND
NATURALIZATION SERVICE, IMMIGRATION AND
NATURALIZATION SERVICES, OMAHA, NEBRASKA,
RESPONDENT.

PETITION FOR REVIEW OF AN
ORDER OF THE BOARD OF IMMIGRATION AND
NATURALIZATION SERVICE,

Submitted: March 11, 1981
Filed: March 12, 1982

Before HEANEY, HENLEY and McMILLIAN, Cir-
cuit Judges.

HEANEY, Circuit Judge.

Bernardo Rios-Pineda and his wife, Estarnilada
Ramos de Rios, seek review of the Board of Immigra-
tion Appeals’ May 30, 1980, decision which held that: (1)
Bernardo and Estarnilada are deportable under 8
U.S.C. § 1251(a\(2); (2) voluntary departure under 8
U.S.C. § 1254(e) is inappropriate; (3) Bernardo is ineli-
gible for relief under 8 U.S.C. § 1182(c); and (4)

17a

Bernardo is statutorily ineligible to be considered for
suspension of deportation under 8 U.S.C. § 1254(a)(1).
For the reasons set forth below, we reverse the Board
of Immigration Appeals’ decision and remand for fur-
ther proceedings consistent with this opinion.

Bernardo Rios-Pineda and Estarnilada Ramos de
Rios were married in Mexico in 1971. In the summer of
1972, Bernardo unlawfully entered the United States,
but returned to Mexico sometime around March of 1974
after he was apprehended by Immigration and Natural-
ization Service (INS) officials in Chicago.'

On May 1, 1974, Bernardo and Estarnilada entered
the United States without inspection at San Ysidro,
California, and subsequently made their way to Omaha,
Nebraska, where they have resided ever since.
Bernardo has worked for the Union Packing Company
in Omaha continuously since 1974 and Estarnilada has
been a housewife.

At the time of the December 12, 1978, deportation
hearing before an Immigration Judge, Bernardo was
earning $6.40 an hour for his job at Union Packing.”
The couple owned an autombile and were buying a
home fo which they had initially paid a $3,000
downpayment. Bernardo and Estarnilada are the par-
ents of two daughters, both of whom were born in
Omaha: Ana Belia, born on November 8, 1974; and
Brenda Lee, born on February 9, 1979.

On October 24, 1978, separate show cause orders
alleging deportability under Section 241(a)(2) of the Im-
migration and Nationality Act (8 U.S.C. § 1251(a\(2)),

' Bernardo testified at his December 12, 1978, deportation
hearing that he was allowed to leave the United States in 1974
and that no deportation hearing was conducted at that time.

2 The record reveals that an application for a labor certificate
for Bernardo was filed at the Nebraska Labor Department. Al-
though the record is not clear, it appears that Union Packing
Company filed the application on Bernardo’s behalf.

Judge in Omaha on December 12, 1978. The Immigra-
tion Judge held, inter alia, that an

pension of deportation pursuant to 8 U.S.C.
§ 1254(aX(1)® could not be considered as a matter of law

:
i

ice
Leis
Bare

19a
sult in extreme hardship to the alien or to his

Sa
° au-

8 C.F.R. § 2.1 (1979). [Footnotes omitted. }
Here, Bernardo and Estarnilada have been physically
present in the United States continuously since May 1,

Both of Bernardo and Estarnilada’s children, Ana Belia
and Brenda Lee, were born in Omaha and have resided
there since birth.

il

In remanding this cause to the Board for further pro-
ceedings, we direct the Board to hold this matter in
abeyance for sixty days from the date of this decision.
If Bernardo and Estarnilada file a proper motion to reo-
pen* within the sixty-day period, the Board shall
promptly consider and rule upon their claim that they
are entitled to suspension of deportation under 8
U.S.C. § 1254(aX(1).5 If no motion to reopen is filed
within sixty days, the Board may dismiss this matter.

Reversed and remanded.

A true copy.

Attest:

CLERK, U.S. COURT OF APPEALS,
EIGHTH CIRCUIT.

* If a motion to reopen is filed, it should be in accordance with
applicable INS regulations as described by the Supreme Court
in INS v. Jong Ha Wang, 450 U.S. 139, 140-141 & n.3 (1981).
See 8 C.F.R. $§ 3.2, 3.8 (1981).

5 We caution the Board to give careful and thorough consider-
ation to the new motion to reopen if, indeed, one is filed. See.
e.g., Prapavat v. INS, 662 F.2d 561 (9th Cir. 1981) (per
curiam).

2la

APPENDIX D

UNITED STATES DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE
BOARD OF IMMIGRATION APPEALS
WASHINGTON, D.C. 20530

May 30, 1980
Files: A22 733 395 - Omaha
A22 733 397
In re: BERNADO RIOS’~ PINEDA, and
ESTARNILADA RAMOS DE R/JOS
IN DEPORTATION PROCEEDINGS
APPEAL
ON BEHALF OF RESPONDENTS:
Roman de la Campa, Esquire
2219 Allan Street
Sioux City, Iowa 51103

CHARGE:
Order: Section 241(a)(2), I&N Act (8 U.S.C.
1251(aX2))—Entry without inspection
APPLICATION: Termination
The respondents appeal from the decision of an immi-
gration judge dated December 12, 1978, in which they

were found deportable as charged and denied the privi-
lege of voluntary departure. The appeal will be

The respondents, husband and wife, are both natives
and citizens of Mexico, who last entered the United
States on or about May 1, 1974. On October 24, 1978,
the Service issued an Order to Show Cause charging
the respondents with deportability under section
241(aX2) of the Immigration and Nationality Act, 8
U.S.C. 1251(aX(2), as aliens who had entered without

F

22a

At the deportation hearing, the respondents, repre-
sented by counsel, admitted the factual allegations of
the Order to Show Cause and conceded deportability
under section 241(aX(2) of the Act. The immigration
judge denied the male respondent’s request for suspen-
sion of deportation upon finding that he had not met the
seven year continuous physical presence requirement of
section 244(a)(1) of the Act, 8 U.S.C. 1254(a)(1). In ad-
dition, the immigration judge denied the male respon-
dent’s request for voluntary departure in light of his en-
try with the aid of a smuggler, the fact that he had
previously been permitted to leave the United States
without the issuance of an Order to Show Cause and
had re-entered illegally two months thereafter and his
apparent hesitancy to voluntarily depart from this
country. Although the immigration judge did not find
the same number of adverse factors present in the fe-
male respondent’s case, he denied her voluntary depar-
ture as a matter of discretion in order to preserve the
family unit.

On appeal, counsel for the respondent argues that the
deportation of the respondents violates the constitu-
tional rights of their minor United States citizen child.
In addition, it is maintained that the male respondent is
eligible for relief from deportation under section 212(c)
of the Act, 8 U.S.C. 1182(c) since he has continuously
resided in the United States for a seven year period.
Furthermore, it is contended that the i
should be terminated since the respondent’s employer
has filed for a labor certificate on his behalf. Finally,
counsel for the respondent argues that the immigration
judge’s interrogation of the respondents at the hearing vi-
fifth amendment of the United States Constitution.

Counsel’s contention that the deportation of the re-
spondents amounts to an unconstitutional deportation
of their United States citizen child is without merit. Al-

23a

though it has been recognized that the deportation of
alien parents may result in the de facto deportation of
minor citizen children, such deportation has not been
viewed as violating any constitutional rights of such
children. Rubio de Cachu v. INS, 568 F.2d 625 (9 Cir.
1977); Faustino v. INS, 482 F.2d 429 (2 Cir. 1970), cert.
denied, 401 U.S. 921 (1971); Acosta v. Gaffney, 558
F.2d 1153 (8 Cir. 1977); Aalund v. Marshall, 461 F.2d
710 (5 Cir. 1972). Alien parents who have violated the
immigration laws cannot gain favored status, directly
or vicariously, through their citizen children over those
aliens complying with the immigration laws. Gonzalez-
Cuevas v. INS, 515 F.2d 1222 (5 Cir. 1975).

Counsel’s contention that the male respondent is eli-
gible for section 212(c) relief is also without merit. Re-
lief under section 212(c) of the Act is specifically limited
to those “aliens lawfully admitted for permanent resi-
dence” in the United States. The respondent here en-
tered the United States without inspection and has
never been admitted to this country as a lawful perma-
nent resident. Consequently, he is ineligible for relief
under section 212(c) of the Act.

It is further maintained that the deportation proceed-
ings should be terminated against the male respondent
since the Order to Show Cause was issued while a labor
certificate application filed on his behalf was pending at
the Nebraska Labor Department. However, it is within
waalien to instit -nev mete ar against
w ute ion proceedings a
deportable alien. Where deportation proceedings have
commenced, neither the immigration judge nor this
pe eed mee ehh dh hw eA tar
decision prosecute by instituting deportation
ceedings. See Matter of Merced, 14 I&N Dec. 644 BIA
oa Matter of Geronimo, 13 I&N Dec. 680 (BIA

24a

Finally, counsel’s argument that the immigration
judge violated the respondents’ fifth amendment rights
against self-incrimination by forcing them to answer
questions posed to them is also without merit. Since the
respondents have been charged with entry without in-
spection, a federal criminal offense under section 275 of
the Act, 8 U.S.C. 1325, they could have refused to an-
swer, on fifth amendment grounds, any questions which
they reasonably believed had a tendency to incriminate
them. Matter of Carrillo, Interim Decision 2717 (BIA
1979); Matter of R, 4 1&N Dec 720 (BIA 1952). How-
ever, counsel did not object to any of the questions «
the time of the hearing, and no evidence in support of a
coercion claim has been submitted on appeal. There is
nothing in the transcript of the deportation hearing in-
dicating that the respondents’ admissions were induced
by coercion, duress, or improper action on the part of
the immigration judge. See Cuevas-Ortega v. INS, 588
F.2d 1274 (9 Cir. 1979). To the contrary, counsel for the
respondents plead to the factual allegations of the Or-
der to Show Cause on the respondents’ behalf and
freely admitted those allegations and conceded to the
deportability of the respondents. In fact, counsel aiso
waived the reading to the respondents of the rights
provided them under 8 C.F.R. 242.16. In light of the
foregoing, we conclude that the respondents were not
deprived of their rights against self-incrimination and
the appeal, accordingly, will be dismissed.

ORDER: The appeal is dismissed.

/s/ DAVID L. MILHOLLAN

DAVID L. MILHOLLAN
Chairman

25a

APPENDIX E

UNITED STATES DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE
IMMIGRATION COURT

August 29, 1980
[Amending decision of December 12, 1978]

Files: A22 733 395-Omaha
A22 733 397-Omaha

In the Matter of
BERNARDO RIOS-PINEDA
AND

ESTARNILADA RAMOS DE RIOS, RESPONDENTS
IN DEPORTATION PROCEEDINGS

CHARGE: I&N Act, Section 241(a)(2), entry without inspection
LODGE: None

APPLICATION: Termination voluntary departure for the male

respondent
Termination voluntary departure for the fe-
male respondent

IN BEHALF OF RESPONDENT:
Roman de la Campa

2219 Allan Street

Sioux City, IA 51103

IN BEHALF OF SERVICE:
An Kieffer

Attorney
Omaha, Nebraska

DECISION OF THE IMMIGRATION JUDGE

The record relates to a man and wife, both natives
and citizens of Mexico, who are charged with entering
the United States without inspection.

The male respondent is a 27 year old, married male
alien, a native and citi
United States at or near San Ysidro, California, on
about May 1, 1974, without being inspected. On Octo-

ber 24, 1978, an Order to Show Cause issued against
the male respondent, alleging alienage, the above entry
information, and further alleging that at the time of the
entry he was not inspected by the United States Immi-
gration Officer.

The Order to Show Cause charges deportability un-
der provision of Section 241(aX2) of the Immigration
and Nationality Act, in that, respondent did enter the
United States without inspection.

The fernale alien is a 29 year old, married, female al-
ien, native and citizen of Mexico, who is charged with
entering the United States at or near San Ysidro,
California, on about May 1, 1974.

On October 24, 1978, an Order to Show Cause issued
against her alleging alienage the above entry informa-
tion, and further alleging that at the time of the entry
she was not inspected by a United States Immigration
Officer. The Order to Show Cause charges deportability
under Section 241(aX2) of the Immigration and Nation-
ality Act, in that respondent entered the United States
without inspection.

At a joint deportation hearing held before me this

on the Acosta decision, a District Court Decision rend-
ered by the United States District Court in New Jer-
i 558 F 2d 1153 (3

27a

Cir-1977). The Attorney for the respondents alleging
that as they are parents of a United States citizen (a
daughter) the deportatior of the respondents would re-
sult in a defacto deportation of the United States citizen
child. The father testified that he would not leave the
child in the United States, but would take the child
with them. Testimony was alleged to indicate that the
female respondent is expecting another child in January
of 1979.

The application for Suspension oi Deportation was
not allowed as the evidence of record indicates that the
male respondent is ineligible for such relief as a matter
of law. Section 244(a)(1) of the Immigration and Nation-
ality Act, lists eligibility requiremenis for such a relief,
whic: *s pertinent to this decision, that an alien must
have a continuous physical presence of more than sever
years to be eligible for such relief. Viewing the evi-
dence most strongly in favor of such an application, it
indicates that the respondent was first in the United
States during the summer months of 1972. The hearing
is being held in December | 978. It shows that the maxi-

mum residence or physical presence respondent has is
approximately six and a half years in the United

presence. See Matter of Barragan 13 i&N, DEC.
(BIA-1971)

Each of the respondents have made application for
2 oe nate se area eleanor
tion under (ee age re eer dota
gration and Nationality Act. Testimony in this connec-

culsen Eitan tele Gath andl Lite eensndess. ook
male respondent) paid a smuggler to enter the United

States, male respondent has been in the United States

Hirks
HH

the last two years, $6.40 an hour, displacing persons in

the United States lawfully of such employment. Al-
though the respondent professed at first that he would
not leave the United States if granted voiuntary depar-

ture on reflection he testified, that he would leave. |
before me today, I find that deportability has been es-
tablished in each case by clear, convincing and unequiv-
ocal evidence, which is the burden placed upon the
the rule laid down by the Supreme Court in Woodby vs.

Service by regulations, 8 CFR 242.14(a), which recites
INS, 385 U.S. 276, 87 S. ct 483, 17 L Ed 2d 362 (1966).
untary departure in lieu of deportation shall be granted
working earning $6.40 per hour for the past two years
displacing a person that is lawfully in the United States

of Barragan, 13 1&N Dec 759 (1971).

aE EPEAT
Hetil aun Hii AHA

ee at en
eilitilil Hinsalins
ne Hanh + a TTEE PEE 4
cal tataieaetltiuthe
HLH IEHI PETE Hi HHT

der his deportation from the United States. In the Mat-
ter of Arde, 13 I&N Dec 494 (BIA-1970).

The female respondent’s testimony indicates she also
had the use of a professional smuggler to enter the

so directed deportation to Mexico if ordered deported.
the above decision

|
:

tained in the Order to Show .
/s/ Jesse M. SELLERS .
Jesse M. SELLERS
Immigration Judge
August 29, 1980
Date

3la

APPENDIX F
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE EIGHTH CIRCUIT
SEPTEMBER TERM, 1983

No. 82-1894

BERNARDO R10S/PINEDA, ET AL, PETITIONERS.
v.

UNITED STATES DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE,
IMMIGRATION & NATURALIZATION SERVICE,

A TRUE COPY:
ATTEST: Robert D. St. Vrain

Clerk, U.S. Court of Appeals,
1/24/84

APPENDIX G

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE EIGHTH CIRCUIT

SEPTEMBER TERM, 1983

No. 82-1894

BERNARDO RI0s/PINEDA, ET AL., PETITIONERS,
vs.

UNITED STATES DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE,
IMMIGRATION & NATURALIZATION SERVICE,
RESPONDENT

PETITION FOR REVIEW OF ORDER
OF IMMIGRATION AND NATURALIZATION SERVICE

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385012_0790%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
