# Amicus Curiae Brief — Board of Education v. National Gay Task Force

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385012_0789%3A15

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1984
- **Citation:** 469 U.S. 813

## Text

i> FILED
No. 83-2030 DEC g4 1994

ALEXANDER L. STEVAS,

Oftice-Supreme Court, US. |

IN THE CLERK
SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES
OCTOBER TERM, 1984

THE BOARD OF EDUCATION OF THE CITY
OF OKLAHOMA CITY,
STATE OF OKLAHOMA,
Appellant,

Vv.
THE NATIONAL GAY TASK FORCE,
Appellee,

ON APPEAL FROM THE UNITED STATES
COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE TENTH CIRCUIT

BRIEF AMICUS CURIAE OF THE CENTER FOR
CONSTITUTIONAL RIGHTS, THE NATIONAL
LAWYERS GUILD, AND GAY FRIENDS &
NEIGHBORS, INC. IN SUPPORT OF APPELLEE
NATIONAL GAY TASK FORCE

RHONDA COPELON ANNE E. SIMON
Volunteer (Counsel of Record)
Staff Attorney SARAH WUNSCH

for The Center for CENTER FOR
Constitutional CONSTITUTIONAL
Rights RIGHTS

C LAW SCHOOL 853 Broadway

AT QUEENS COLLEGE 14th Floor

200-01 42nd Avenue New York, N.Y. 10003
Bayside, N.Y. 11361 (212) 674-3303

(718) 357-7584

Attorneys for Amici Curiae
December 24, 1984

4 pe

TABLE OF CONTENTS

I. EFFORTS TO SUPPRESS TEACHERS’
RIGHTS OF EXPRESSION HAVE

A LONG AND DISCREDITED HISTORY...
A. Anti-Slavery.........--ee06:
B. McCarthyism..........esee00:

II. OKLA. STAT. TIT.70,§6-103.15
IS A CONTENT-BASED RESTRICTION
ON SPEECH IN VIOLATION OF THE
FIRST AMENDMENT AND THE EQUAL
PROTECTION CLAUSE OF THE

III. OKLA. STAT. TIT.70,§6-103.15
IS IMPERMISSIBLY VAGUE AND

A. The Statute Permits the
Presumption that Mere Know-
ye po a Teacher's Advocacy
ay Rights Is Equivalent
to Harm to the Operation of

the School System..............

B. The speeete erates
a oy ny oe BR ill Engage-
ment by Teachers as Citizens

in a Variety of Public Advocacy
COMSEMES. ccccccccccesecccesesecs

-ii-

C. The Statute Impermissibly

Chills Teachers’ gement in
Scholarly Pursuits Essential
to Their Educational Mission.......

IV. THE STATUTE'S OFFICIAL CONDEM-
NATION OF PARTICULAR BELIEFS,
FAR FROM FURTHERING LEGITIMATE
GOALS, UNDERMINES IMPORTANT
CONSTITUTIONAL AND EDUCATIONAL

CONCLUSION... 2. cece cece cece eeereeeesses

iii
TABLE OF CASES AND AUTHORITIES

Cases Page
Adler v. Bd. of Educ. of City

of New York

ee ae EROS GD cece cicicccccces 53

Baggett v. Bullitt
35 ST MED. ccc cccccceces passim

Board of Educ., Island Trees, v.
ico
EE 32, 47

Brandenburg v. Ohio

395 U.S. Eri EEE 25
Communist Party of U.S. v.

Subversive Activities Control Bd.

367 U.S. | (1961) *esreoweeeeeeee#e8e8e#e#eee 26
Connick v. wyers

_ U.5. . Ct. 1684 (1983)..30, 34
Cr v. Bd. of Public Instruction

368 DE Me EEUUERScccccccoccccce 43

Crandall v. State of Connecticut
onn. 4 14

Fricke v. Lynch

491 F.Supp. 381 (D.R.1I. 1980)..... 56
G.A.A. v. Bd. of Regents

635 P.2d 1116 (Okla. 1981)........ 56

Gay Alliance of Students v.
tthews
544 F.2d 162 (4th Cir. 1976)...... 56

iv

Gay Lib v. Univ. of Missouri
st3 F.2d0 848 (8th Cir. 1977),

cert. denied sub nom.

Gay Student Services v. Texas A.&M.
Univ.
737 F.2d 1317 (5th Cir. 1984)....56

Grayned v. Rockford

Peccccccccccces 28

Griswold v. Connecticut

Healy v. James

Cir. I97Z)...... 31

M.P. v. S.P., 169 N.J. Super 425,
LOG A.Zd IZ56 (1979)... .. ee eeees 60

NAACP v. Alabama

Nat. Gay Task Force v. Bd. of Educ.
of the City of Oklahoma 4551
729 F.2d 1570 (10th Cir. 4)...passim

New York Times v. Sullivan
mepebenréseoesees 26

Palmore v. Sidoti
_ Wee 5 104 S$.ct. 1879 (1984)..60

Pickering v. Bd. of Ed. of
ati H.S.Dist.

gg. EE 34, 43

Police Dept. of the City of Chicago
v. Mosle

oBe 9S CUBIS). ccccceccccccce 26, 27
Schneider v. State

° ° 9) oeeeeeeeeeeeee 29
Shelton v. Tucker

PR eee ee passim

Slochower v. Bd. of Ed. of City of
N.Y.
Be ae. SSSR. CASSSD Fi dawn cdevices 17

Tinker v. Des Moines Independent

om. Sch, st.
4 = eg, ee ee 29, 30,

West Virginia State Bd. of Ed. v.
~ Barnette

ie ee ORR Ol. cueene 61, 62
Wieman v. Updegraff

DD i eats oS buh be a Ge

a7. Sa

Constitution and Statutes

See GOMORc, GRR « Badwdic cnacccsar passim

SEO BSG. a vccccccccsvcveccccsseees 10
Okla. Stat. tit. 70 §1-116 (1982).54

vi

Okla. Stat. tit. 70 §6-103.15..... passim
Okla. Stat. tit. 70 §6-103.3
FPO TT TTTTETTTLTTiTy 40
1820 S.C. Statutes at Large VII,
460 (Law of 1820, §VI).......06.- 10
Bae ee. 4006. BF, Wireocordeceve 10
1835-36 Va. Acts §44......cccceees 11

Other Authorities
Q. Bell, Virginia Woolf (1972)....50

Carlsen, American Literature
(McGraw-Hill Literature Ser les)

CRGSEP so cccceeeesoeeeweewe ees cece 50
Carlsen, British and Western Liter-
ature (McGraw-Hill Literature
ER RE oe ae 50

H. Carpenter, W. H. Auden (1981)..50

D. Caute, The Great Fear (1978)...passim

Countryman, Washington in The
States and subversion 282

(W. Gellhorn ed. 1952)........006. 18
C. ce (6 & F. Rice, English Liter-
ature (Ginn Literature Series) -
L. DeSalvo, Lighting the Cave: The
Relationshi Sotccen Vita
Sackville-west and Virginia Woolf,

gns

2 Dictiona of American Biograph
(A. Johnson & D. Malone 2d -

1958) wc cccccccccccccccccccscceeces 14

vii

K. Dover, Greek Homosexuality
(197G caasésue 4nd abebee bbb C66 6c 49

J. Early, Adventures in American

Literature, Classic Edition
(Adventures in Literature Series)

(19GB). cccccccccccccccccccccscccce 50

L. Edel, Bloomsbury: A House of
LAame (iGo ieascdeseianedsbasesecce 54

D. Faber, The Life of Lorena
Hickock, E. R.*s Friend (1980)....49

D. Farnan, Auden in Love (1984)...50

Gellhorn, A General View in The
States and Subversion 375

(W. Gellhorn ed. 1952)............ 16
Harsha, Illinois in The States and
Subversion 54 (W. Gellhorn ed.

BGS odie wed etcovees dbkubibaddaaene 18

(2GUEOL LAL. cote ete alteobat celebs 54

A. Hodges, Alan Turing: The Enigme
(19GBS) occcccccesecves a TEITTTTTTT

R. Hofstadter & W. Metzger, The

Development of Academic Freedom in
the ve Teese ees eet vescenad etc o. ane

13, 15
P. Lazarsfeld & W. Thielens, Jr.,
The Academic Mind (1958).......... Bae we
53

viii

R. Martin, The Homosexual Tradition
in American Poetry (1979)......... G9, 51

H. McFarland, Psychological Theo
and Educational Feactins (1971)... 52

V. Navasky, Naming Names (1981)...17
R. Nye, Fettered Freedom: Civil

Liberties and the Slave
Controversy 1530-1500 11963) cccces passim

O'Brien, "The Thing Not Named":
Willa Cather as a P-sbian Writer,

O Signs 576 (1984).... 0... 49
Okla. City Times, Jan.26, 1978....58

T. om et Racially Separate or
Together? (1971). 0... cece cece ee eee 59

Plato, The §S osium (W. Hamilton
Ss. Stee eacendéccetéeces 49
Prendergast, Maryland in The States
and Subversion 140 (W. Gellhorn ed.
S9GES oaen ©is cadboemerusd evvnc caus 18
Richmond Enquirer, Aug. 29, 1856..10

P. Robinson, Willa: The Life of

Willa Cather (1983)............... 50
W. S. Sevese » The Controversy Over
The Distribution of Abolition
terature -1860 (1938)....... 7 10,
1

Schmidt, Visions of Violence:
Rimbaud and Verlaine in
Homosexualities and French
Literature 228 (G. Stambolian &

De ee Ge Bee e céocecccccecece 49

ix
C. Summers, E. M. Forster (1983)..50

C. Willie & S. Greenblatt,

Community Politics and Educational
one UIN1)..--.-- ——e 59, 60
P. ee SR Walt Whitman: The Making

of the Poet (1984)... . 0... ee ee eee

whe

INTEREST OF AMICI™
THE CENTER FOR CONSTITUTIONAL RIGHTS

(CCR) is a non-profit legal and educa-
tional corporation founded in 1966,
dedicated to advancing and protecting the
rights and liberties guaranteed by the
Bill of Rights. CCR has been involved in
numerous cases challenging interference
with first amendment rights, particularly
where the government has sought to
restrict the expression of unpopular
opinions and ideas. See, e.g., United
States v. United States District Court,

407 U.S. 297 (1972) (internal security
wiretaps subject to warrant procedures) ;
People v. Uplinger, 460 N.Y.S.2d 514
(N.Y. 1983), cert. dismissed as improvi-

dently granted, U.S. , 104 S.Ct. 2332

*

The parties have given written
consent to the filing of this brief
amicus curiae; letters of consent have
been filed with the Clerk of this Court.

afie

(1984) (invalidating state law punishing

y-— Public speech by gay people),

THE NATIONAL LAWYERS GUILD (NLG) is
an organization of nearly 8,000 lawyers,
law teachers, law students and legal
workers. Since its inception in 1937,
the NLG has worked consistently on behalf
of groups seeking equality and social
justice. Some NLG members are teachers
who take part in public discussion and
efforts to end discrimination against gay
men and lesbians. They are harmed by
statutes such as Okla. Stat. tit 70
§ 6-103.15 which threaten them with job
loss for exercising their first amendment
rights of speech and association.

GAY FRIENDS AND NEIGHBORS, INC.
(GFN) is an organization of approximately
400 gay men and lesbians in the New York
area, including teachers in both public
and private schools. GFN is representa-

tive of many grassroots organizations

_~

throughout the country that provide the
local lesbian and gay community with a
place to discuss topics of common
interest. Through outreach programs to
the larger community it has established
lesbians and gay men as a part of the
diverse neighborhood in which its members
live. These activities are impermissibly
threatened by government restrictions
which cut off communication about the
rights of gay people and the realities of
being gay.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

The test of freedom of expression is
the ability of this nation to tolerate
startling ideas and stand up against
campaigns of intolerance. Our history is
a checkered one: early critics of

government were punished under the Alien

ale

and Sedition Laws, later ones, by the
anti-Communist or anti-"subversive” laws
and purges of the McCarthy period.
Expression of heretical ideas was banned
during the abolitionist period and again
during the fundamentalist upsurge of the
late nineteenth century. On the other
hand, largely due to the timely inter-
vention of the federal judiciary and this
Court, some efforts to quash dissenters,
such as opponents of the Vietnam War,
have been cut short by vigorous enforce-
ment of the first amendment.

School teachers have often been
prime targets in campaigns against
heterodoxy. But efforts--most particu-
larly content-based ones--to deny teach-
ers their rights as citizens and scholars
to participate in advocacy and inquiry
outside the school, as well as to engage

in responsive discussion within, are

a3e

deadly to the central goals of education
at every level.

It is the special task of teachers
to foster those habits of
-mindedness and critical inquiry

ich alone make for responsible
citizens, who, in turn, make
possible an enlightened and
effective lic opinion. Teachers
must fulfill their function by
precept and practice, by the very
atmosphere which they generate; they
must be exemplars of open-mindedness
and free inquiry. They cannot carry
out their noble task if the
conditions for the practice of a
responsible and critical mind are
denied to them.

Wieman v. Updegraff, 344 U.S. 183, 196-97
(1952) (Frankfurter, J. concurring).

The Oklahoma statute which punishes
and stigmatizes teachers for speaking on
issues of homosexuality and gay rights is
an old problem in new guise. It singles
out non-condemnatory speech about homo-
sexuality for proscription, although the
issues such speech addresses are of great
public importance. This prohibition does
not implement any proper neutral rule of
discipline in public or school

=e

employment; rather, it acts only as a
means to suppress a particular point of
view.

The statute's negative impact on
first amendment rights is effected both
through singling out a special disfavored
content and by relying on an impermis-
sibly vague, as well as overbroad,
statutory structure. The teacher is put
at risk of losing her/his job simply
because someone else has reported to the
authorities that she/he said certain
things. This triggering mechanism, in
combination with the yague and open-ended
nature of the disfavored speech,
encourages reporting to school
authorities of what teachers say off the
job, in their capacity as citizens. The
sweep of the statute's substantive
prohibition is so broad as to encompass
peaceful advocacy of civil rights and

changes in the law, at the core of first

_™

amendment protections. Because of its

encouragement of informing, the statute
even reaches to private discussions of

public issues.

The statute clearly puts teachers at
risk in a variety of settings. Seeking
to avoid trouble resulting from the
expression of their views, teachers will
choose not to express them. The chill
thus imposed by the statute also extends
to the scholarly and professional activ-
ities of teachers, since it penalizes
utterances in any context that might
reflect the forbidden views on
homosexuality.

None of the adverse consequences of
the statute has any legitimate justifica-
tion. On the contrary, the statute
impoverishes the educational experience
of children by silencing and intimidating
their teachers. Instead of transmitting

the importance of our constitutional

heritage, it denies and contradicts the
fundamental constitutional and social
values of open discussion, tolerance, and

advocacy of change.

ARGUMENT

I. EFFORTS TO SUPPRESS TEACHERS' RI. HTS
OF EXPRESSION HAVE A LONG AND
DISCREDITED HISTORY

The various campaigns to stifle
thought and protect orthodoxy in the U.S.
shared certain characteristics. They
have involved ideas which quest.on the

status quo and were experienced as deeply

threatening to personal or political
security or the hegemony of a particular
moral code. They have sometimes emerged
when the hated ideas had achieved the
status of an issue of public importance.
Sometimes they have served as a device to
delegitimate advocacy on a broad range of

social issues. Each campaign that has

oe

not been quickly undercut by the courts
silenced educators, distorted education
and touched off ideological witch-hunts
and vilifications. Each, in turn, has
been repudiated when the dangers to

freedom were finally recognized.

A. Anti-Slavery

The South responded to a series of
slave insurrections in the 1830s by broad
and sweeping attempts to control anything

which might foster insurrections.

A
prime candidate for such control was
education, both of Blacks and whites. At
root, however, this campaign was not

directed simply at preventing uprisings,

lror treatments of this period, see
Nye, Fettered Freedom: Civil Liberties
and the Slavery Controversy 1830-1860

; W. Savage, er
the Distribution of Abolition Literature

+ mMorstaacter an .

= ;
wien, noe The Develo t of Academic
Free in the U.S., TSICbT (1955).

-10-

but at teaching in "(e]very school and
college in the South. . . that Slave
Society is the common, natural, rightful,
and normal state of society. .. wn To
this end, it was deemed necessary to
forestall any mention or discussion of
even the mildest criticism of slavery by
teachers, in schools, or in textbooks.
Statutes were passed forbidding
slaves or free Blacks to teach, the
distribution of anti-slavery literature, *

or the questioning of a slave owner's

Richmond Enquirer, Aug. 29, 1856;
cited in Nye, supra n. 1, at 90.

3z.g., 1832 Va. Acts § 1,20; Revised

Statutes of North Carolina, 1836-37, p.

: cited in Savage, supra n. l,
at 5 n. 25).

4Eog., 1832 Va. Acts, § 7, 21;

Statutes at Large of South Carolina, VII,
460 (Law of 1870 Section Vl) (cited in

Savage, supra n. 2 at 6 n. 28); on the
statutory attempts to circumvent the
intent of the federal Mails Law of 1836,
see Nye, supra n. 1, at 80-81.

-ll-

property right in his slaves. Enforce-
ment of these controls on the content and
manner of expression was relatively
simple in the lower schools "since these
schools were closely controlled by the
community they served." Nye, supra,

n. 1, at 90. Control in colleges
required greater vigilance, but "by 1840
a rigorous regimentation of
opinion [existed] concerning slavery and

topics related to it." Id. at 91.° A
University of Virginia professor noted in
1857 that "a funeral pall" had been drawn
over rational discussion; critical views

that had previously been openly expressed

E.g., 1835-36 Va. Acts § 44.

Sr g., Judge Nathan Green of
Cumberland University (Tennessee), a

slave owner, expressed antislavery views
in his law class and was attacked as "a
dangerous man to the South, not fit to
95 te - saa youth.” Nye, supra

mn. 1, at .

-12-

were now withheld or whispered in
confidence. Hofstadter and Metzger, supra
n. 1, at 256.’
Savage Observes that the pall
extended to written expressions as well.
The South attempted to close every
avenue through which objectionable
literature might reach it. There
was little fear of these books
reaching slaves. ... [Tjhe
real fear was that [anti-slavery]

doctrines would circulatg among
the whites in the South.

Savage, supra n. 1, at 101.
In the North, the effort to forbid

antislavery speech lost ground after

tt is interesting to note, however,
that even given the intensity of the
campaign to silence anti-slavery speech,
high state courts were sometimes
reluctant to prohibit mere speech without
direct incitement. Savage, supra n. l,
at 101-02, 113-17.

8) iterature committees condemned
leading texts in history and philosophy
and The Southern Educational Journal
announced a series of "revise
textbooks. Savage, supra n. l, at
118-19; Nye, supra n. 1, at 96-97.

-13-

1840. Nonetheless, a distinction was
usually made between those who "condemned
slavery abstractly on moral grounds or
proposed gradual or ultimate emancip:-
tion, and the ‘immediate’ abolitionists”
Hofstadter and Metzger, supra n.1l, at
259. A number of student abolitionist
societies were suppressed and some
anti-slavery faculty were pressed to
resign, Nye, supra n.1, at 107-13, in
order “to keep order, to avoid the
agitation of an unpopular question." Id.
at 113.7

Special hostility was shown to those
who sought to educate Blacks. In 1833,

thus, when a faculty and student
abolitionist discussion group at Lane
Seminary (Cincinnati, Ohio) began working
with local Blacks to organize clubs and
schools, the Board outlawed discussions
which might “excite party animosities,"
forbade meetings, and outlawed public
addresses. Forty students and two
professors withdrew in protest. Nye,
supra n.l, at 110-12.

slibe

Prudence Crandall admitted a Black girl
to her girls’ school, and announced her
intention of opening a school exclusively
for Black girls. Her home was attacked
and she narrowly escaped physical vio-
lence. The legislature passed a law
designed to prevent the opening of the
school, by requiring that non-inhabitant
Blacks could be admitted to Connecticut
schools only by permission of the local
selectmen. Crandall was arrested and
imprisoned. 2 Dictionary of American
Biography 503-04 (A. Johnson & D. Malone,
2d ed. 1958) She was convicted, but the
conviction was reversed on appeal for
insufficiency of the indictment.

Crandall v. State of Connecticut, 10
Conn. 339 (1834).

This brief sketch indicates how fear
of the effects of anti-slavery ideas led
to attempts to control the range of their
impact in Northern schools and to a broad

-15-

and sweeping attempt to control any
contact with them in Southern schools.

It led ultimately to a complete
misunderstanding of the plantation
system, and fostered intolerance
of frank discussion of other
problems connected with

pena EE By 1855 the South had
lest all sense of proportion in
regard to slavery, ing claims
for the system that few
intelligent slaveholders thirty
years earlier would have accepted
as reasonable. Because Southern
teachers and scholars had been
denied their function for thirty
years, the South could neither
understand nor tolerate self
criticism.

Nye, supra n. 1, at 100-01.

Not only the South suffered the
loss. “The suppression of academic
discussion was a token of a more general
and more important suppression of thought
and criticism that in the end took the
entire subject [of abolition] out of the
sphere of discussion and inte the realm
of force." Hofstadter and Metzger, supra
n. 1, at 261.

-16-

B. McCarthyism
In the 1940s and 1950s, the intense

scrutiny of beliefs produced by "“an-
ti-subversive" campaigns affected people
in all walks of life, 10 but "nowhere
[was] concern about subversive activities
. more steadily manifest than in the
educational process." Gellhorn, A
General View, in The States and Subver-
sion 375 (W. Gellhorn, ed. 1952) (herein-
after, "States and Subversion"). It was
expressed in legislation in over 30
states requiring some form of "loyalty"

ll

oath by teachers;°*state legislative

10, partial listing of occupations
affected was given by Justice Black in
his concurrence in Speiser v. Randall,
357 U.S. 513, 531 ¢ ,

11p, Caute, The Great Fear 404
(1978). The uncometteatieaatity of these
oaths was established in tt v.

Bullitt, 377 U.S. 360 (1 , more than a
decade after they had been instituted.

-17-

12

committees”; and in actions by local

school authorities. +?
Official condemnation and suspicion
of “subversion” called forth a vast array
of informants, both amateur and profes-
sional, and engendered efforts to encour-
age or coerce reporting on other people

in a wide variety of circumstances. 4

1 Detailed histories of several such
investigations are set forth in States
and Subversion, supra p. 16.

13the New York City device of
dismissing teachers who had invoked the
fifth amendment in response to questions
about their political views and
associations was held unconstitutional in

Slochower v. Bd. of Ed. of City of W.Y.,
350 U.S. S51 (1936), six years after New

York began fir teachers on that basis.
Caute, supra n. 11, at 434. Slochower
did not —"héuever, result in the
reinstatement of teachers fired for
invoking the wee + Id. at 439. Not
until 1973 were pension rights restored
to some of the teachers who had been
fired. Id. at 442.

14) Navasky, Naming Names, (1981),
provides an in-depth s ° e
destructive effects of the systen of

(Footnote Continued)

-18-

Professional informants were crucial to a
number of investigations; many of them
were later discredited. See Caute, supra
n. 11, at 111-38; Harsha, Illinois in
States and Subversion, supra p. 16, at
90-91 (role of professionals in
investigation of University of Chicago
and Roosevelt College); Countryman,
Washington, in id. at 299-301 (role of
professionals in investigation of
University of Washington). No less
important, and even more unpredictable,
were private individuals who made occa-
sional complaints about alleged subver-
sive activities. Many of them were
“likely to be trivial and irrelevant."

Prendergast, Maryland, in id. at 168. +?

(Footnote Continued)
reporting about the alleged ideas and

associations of others.

15the particular prosecutor
mentioned in this article carefully
(Footnote Continued)

-19-

The open-endedness of the official
inquiries and their legitimation of any
and all suspicions sanctioned extensive
reporting efforts.

These concerted efforts had dev-
astating effects on many individuals.
Hundreds of teachers lost their jobs
outright. Caute, supra n. 11 at 406.
Many of them never returned to teaching
and wer’. barely able to survive finan-
cially. Id. at 551-56.

Several large public educational
systems, notably New York, Philadelphia,
and Los Angeles, as well as the Universi-
ty of California, were in turmoil for

years as wave after wave of

(Footnote Continued)

screened and dismissed such allegations.
But reliance on the good will and good
sense of prosecutors or legislative
investigators was often insufficient

rotection. Cf. tt v. llitt ,377
.S. at 373. “See wees Trr. a taf ra.

-20-

investigations and restrictions was
imposed.+® In New York City, the years
from 1949 to 1956 saw numerous
investigations, interrogations, firings,
and resignations. There was even a
period during which the Board of
Education adopted a policy requiring
teachers to “inform on their colleagues
when commanded to do so by the
Superintendent." Caute, supra n. 11, at
439-40. By the end of the decade, over
400 teachers had been fired, had re-
signed, or had been declared to be

16puring a year of constant crisis
in 1950-51 quae the attempted imposition
of a loyalty oath by the ts of the

University of California, 26 teachers
were fired, 37 resigned in protest, and
47 refused appointments were
offered; 55 courses had to cancelled.
Caute, supra n. 11, at 422-24.

«2l-

rehabilitated after intensive interro-
gation. Id. at 441.27

The investigations, interrogations,
and sanctions had severe and lasting
effects on many teachers who were not
directly attacked, and on the profession
as awhole. In 1955--as the worst was
ending--the Columbia University Bureau of
Applied Social Research conducted a
national survey of college teachers of

social science. !® P. Lazarsfeld and W.

17 the ae ote tectanes’’ the
"Feinberg Law," was clared

enamaetinghans’ in ishian v. Board of
Regents, 385 U.S. 58

18th sample included both tenured
and untenured teachers at public and
rivate institutions. This does not,
feomver. vitiate its application to the
situation of public elementary and
secondary schools. If anything, the
respondents to the survey were in more
secure positions, since many of them were
not subject to local school authorities,
and many of them were tenured. Cf.
Shelton v. Tucker, 364 U.S. 479, 482
sence of tenure system for
teachers).

-22-

Thielens, Jr., The Academic Mind (1958).

The survey showed that over one-third of
the 2,451 respondents had noticed an
increase in their colleagues’ unwilling-
ness, compared to six or seven years
earlier, to express unpopular views in

the community. Teachers were clearly

concerned about the negative effects of
exercising their rights as citizens. Id.
at 195. Twenty percent of the respon-
dents also reported that they noticed
that their colleagues had become less
willing to express unpopular political
views in the classroom. 1a.}?

Not surprisingly, attacks on a few

teachers had an in terrorem effect on

19since faculty members rarely sit
in on each other's classes, this figure
probably represents extremely obvious
retrenchments, noticeable to someone not
in close contact with the behavior. More
subtle changes defy recording in this
way.

=23-

many teachers. It is precisely this
aspect: of suppression of expression that
undergirds the legal recognition of the
chilling effects of such attacks, which
lead people to “avoid the risk of loss of
employment, and perhaps profession, only
by restricting their conduct to that
which is unquestionably safe." Baggett
v. Bullitt, 377 U.S. at 372.29 ome

aspect of this phenomenon is of particu-
lar interest here. The reported appre-
hension experienced by respondents in the

Academic Mind study increased as they

learned of more attacks on teachers in

their area. Their apprehensive response

20nchi11" is sometimes too mild a
description. One New York teacher was
threatened with discharge in 1949 because
she asked for time to consult a lawyer
before answering questions about her
gene associations in 1940 and 1941.

e night after she was questioned, she

rere suicide. Caute, supra n.1ll, at

=2h-

increased, however, independent of their
own political views. Even teachers who
had no reason to think that the content
of their views would meet with disap-
proval nevertheless were made appreciably
more nervous by content-based attacks on
their colleagues. Id. at 257-60. In
short, a concerted effort to silence
teachers about major public issues
affected virtually the entire political

spectrum within the profession.

TAT. TIT. 70 §6-103.15 IS A

a STENT -BASED RESTRICTION ON SPEECH
IN VIOLATION OF THE FIRST AMENDMENT

AND THE EQUAL PROTECTION CLAUSE OF

THE FOURTEENTH AMENDMENT.
The Oklahoma statute penalizes

speech affirming or even examining the

permissibility of homosexuality, if it is

likely to come to the attention of a

=25-

school employee or student. 72

As a
classic content-based regulation of
speech, it reflects one of the most

dangerous and destructive forms of

21,4. the Tenth Circuit makes clear,
the terms "advocating,... encouraging or
promoting public or private homosexual
activity" cannot be confined, as
m ge argue, to speech which urges
the performance of homosexual sodomy
still criminal in Oklahoma. See, NGTF v.
Board of Education of the Cit 73 .

, -7

r. 1984). ppybare Brandenberg v.
Ohio, 395 U.S. 444, 69). To
advocate that homosexual sodomy be
decriminalized "promotes," by
undercutting the condemnation of
homosexuality.

On the other hand the Brandenbur
issues raised by the "soliciting™ and
“imposing" terms of the statute are not
before the Court on this appeal. Under
Brandenburg, 395 U.S. 444 (1969),
adjudication of the constitutionality of
these sections requires that the distinct

uestions of the constitutionality of

lahoma's criminal homosexual sodomy law

be considered. Though the Circuit left
these provisions — it did not
decide their validity. ince appellees
did not cross-appeal the Circuit's
failure to decide, the issue must await
consideration in a separate case where

the privacy issues are fully and squarely
before the Court.

-26-

censorship which the first amendment was
designed to prohibit:

To permit the continued building
of our politics and culture and to
assure self-fulfillment for each
individual, our people are guaran-
teed the right to express any
thought, free from government
censorship. The essence of this
forbidden censorship is content
control. Any restriction on
expressive activity because of its
content would c etely undercut
the ‘profound national commitment
to the pmeneye that debate on
public issues should be uninhibit-
ed, robust and wide-open.’

Police Dept. of the City of Chicago v.
Mosley, 408 U.S. 92, 95-96 (1972),
quoting New York Times v. Sullivan, 376
U.S. 254, 270 (1964). Justice Powell

struck the same chord in Healy v. James:

The Court has previously de-
termined that the State may not
restrict speech or association
simply because it finds the views

ressed by any group to be
abhorrent... ‘the freedoms of
speech, press, petition and
assembly guaranteed by the First
Amendment must be accorded to the
ideas we hate or sooner or later
they will be denied to the ideas
we cherish.’

408 U.S. 169, 188 (1972) quoting

-27-

Communist Party of the U.S. v. Subversive
Activities Control Bd., 367 U.S. 1, 137

(dissent).

The justification given for the
content-based regulation of § 6-103.15 is
that the forbidden non-hostile views of
homosexuality may disrupt the school's
functioning when co-employees or students
learn that a teacher made these comments.
A similar justification was rejected in

Police Dept. v. Mosley, where the ordi-
nance, allegedly aimed at preventing

disruption in the schools, prohibited all
picketing near schools during school
hours, with the exception of labor
picketing. 2 The goal of preventing

22

The view that Mosley is
inapposite on the ground that it contains
an absolute prohibition on other than

labor picketing, whereas the Oklahoma
statute purports to establish more
particularized criteria for disruption,

(Footnote Continued)

-28-

disruption in the schools was obviously
deemed valid but the content-based manner
in which the state pursued that goal
violated the first amendment and the
equal protection clause of the fourteenth
amendment.

By contrast, the general antinoise
regulation in Gra v. City of
Rockford, 408 U.S. 104 (1972), was upheld
because it was directed at the actual
disruptive evil, noise, and no
presumptions were made that particular
thoughts were noisier than others. The
statute here, however, is aimed at
content, rather than at general,
content-neutral evil, and is therefore

impermissible. The very existence of

(Footnote Continued)

is fallacious. The structure and

presumptions of the statute operate just

as effectively to eliminate an entire

onan of communications. See Sec. III,
ra.

-29-

this special law directed at gay rights
advocates denies them equal protection of
the laws in relation to the exercise of
their first amendment rights.

The state's disapproval or “undif-
ferentiated fear or apprehension,” Tinker
v. Des Moines Indep. Com. Sch. Dist., 393
U.S. 503, 508 (1969), of non-condemnatory
speech about homosexuality which may come
to the attention of other school

=ployees or students cannot be equated,
as .“e statute doer, with interference
with legitimate school functions. "'Mere
legislative preferences or
beliefs...{are] insufficient to justify
such (regulation) as diminishes the
exercise of rights so vital to the
maintenance of democratic institutions.'"
Shelton v. Tucker, 364 U.S. at 489,
quoting Schneide: v. State, 308 U.S. 147,
161 (1939).

-30- -3l-

In Tinker, school officials could interference or disruption in the

not prohibit "a particular expression of normal activities of the school.

opinion” without demonstrating that it (emphasis in original). NGTF v. Board of
Education, 729 F.2d at 1276 (Barrett, J.

would "materially and substantially

interfere with the requirements of dissenting. )

appropriate discipline in the operation The disagreement that speech may
of the school.” 393 U.S. at 509.

fertainly broad restrictions on teacher

likewise engender cannot suffice to

23,

establish the kind of disruption r

expression outside the school must be even prediction of disruption required to

justified by substantial disruption of restrict the teacher from offering

school requirements as well. The comments considered sympathetic to gay

Ok statute roqeires , people in public discussions and debates.

Instead the statute makes the See Connick v. Meyers, __U.S. , 103
S.Ct. 1684, 1693 (1983); James v. Board

of Education, 461 F.2d 566, 572 (2d Cir.
1972) (prediction of disruption from

presumptive equation of dislike of an
_idea with harm. The dissenting judge

below expressed that view in his

statement that a teacher who “advocates” teacher expression within school cannot

or "encourages" homosexual behavior be based on disagreement about ideas

..-is in fact and in truth agit” eqquesqee) .
ing school children to partic = e
the abominable and detestable
crime against nature.. = > -
no need to demonstrate that suc Justice Black's catal of such
conduct would bring about a “disruptions"”,"” 393 U.S. at 517-18, was

material or substantial rejected by the Tinker Court.

-32-

To insist that the first and four-
teenth amendments protect the right of
teachers to speak on this subject in
numerous contexts outside the schools as
well as informally within does not
threaten, even on the broadest view, the
legitimate power of school authorities to
select on the basis of content among
subjects and books. This statute--by
operating against teachers in all con-
texts on the basis of explicit hostility
toward or fear of the content of their
speech--qualifies under the narrowest
definition of “suppression of ideas,”
Board of Educ. of Island Trees v. Pico,
102 §.Ct. at 2835 (Rehnquist, J. dissent-
ing). The policy of the Oklahoma statute
is not only akin to “férbidding the
criticism of United States policy...."

-33-

Id. at 2834.°4 It also exerts external
control--beyond the confines of the
school--to stifle participation in
community activities and public debate on
this single issue.

The cases involving public employees
who speak out about their employer's
policies or supervisors, either within
the workplace or outside do not apply
here. They do not involve content-based
restrictions. Nor are they relevant to a
statute restricting teacher speech
outside the workplace on issues of public
concern. However, even those cases make
clear that public employers may not
interfere with employee speech on matters
of substantial public concern absent some

demonstration that serious disruption of

24
lso on v sas, 393
U.S. 97 Sie ose (Stevect.

concurring).

-34-

legitimate workplace concerns is likely

to occur. Pickering v. Board of Ed. of
Tp. H.S. Dist., 391 U.S. 563 (1968).

In Connick v. Myers, 103 S.Ct. at
1692-93 (1983), substantial disrwption
was not required to uphold the firing of
an assistant district attorney because
the employee's speech “touch(ed] upon
matters of public concern in only a most
limited sense." Connick at 1693.

Rather, the employee's speech, was viewed

at heart as an employee complaint about
internal office policies.

In sum, while the state has a right
to determine the fitness of its teachers,
“that purpose cannot be pursued by means
that broadly stifle fundamental personal
liberties when the end can be more
narrowly achieved." Shelton v. Tucker,
364 U.S. 479, 488.

-35-

III. OKLA. STAT. TIT. 70, §6-103.15 IS
IMPERMISSIBLY VAGUE AND OVERBROAD.

A. The Statute Permits the Presumption
that Mere Knowledge of a Teacher's
Advocacy of Gay Rights Is Equivalent
to darm to the Operation of the

School System.
The Tenth Circuit properly held that

the factors to be considered under
§ 6-103.15(c) in determining unfitness do
not save the statute from unconstitution-
ality. 729 F.2d at 1275. In addition to
the reasons set forth by the Circuit,
amici wish to emphasize that, in
practice, the statute permits mere
knowledge of teacher advocacy on the part
of an employee or student to trigger the
dismissal process. Accordingly, a
teacher will easily fear that almost any
mention of homosexuality or gay issues
could come to the attention of the school
authorities.

The vice of this statute thus is not
only the fact that a teacher can be fired

for unfitness becausé some expressional

-36-

activity relating to gay rights came to
the attention of school children or
personnel, but also that merely for
making a non-condemnatory statement about
homosex- uality, a teacher's fitness can
be called into question. The law thus
encourages the reporting of expressional
activity that might otherwise remain
unnoticed or insignificant, and, there-
after, sets into motion a process in
which a teacher's integrity, morality,
and beliefs are stigmatized and subject
to inquisition.

The statute--in its procedural
operation as well as its blanket
censorial admonition--is reminiscent of
the schemes devised during the McCarthy
period to stifle protected expression of

beliefs relating to social conditions and

-37-

social change. 2° This statute does not
create a state apparatus for discovery
and reporting of offending comments
(compare Shelton v. Tucker, 364 U.S. 479,
480-81 (1960); Keyishian v. Board of
Regents, 385 U.S. 589, 594 (1967)), but

it encourages both crusading officials
and private groups and individuals to
broadly invade realms of protected
association and expression. See Sec.
1.B., supra.

Despite Appellant's attempt to make

it appear so (Br. at 31), the so-called

250ne aspect of that process was

stigmatizing people who expressed
particular ideas or had particular
associations by inferring, from the ideas
and associations, membership in a 7
disfavored group, e.g., the Communist
Party. In this case, there is a similar
attempt to equate protected advocacy of
gay rights with the (presumed to bed

isfavored status of being homosexual.
See, e.g., Brief Amicus Curiae of

Concerned Women for America Education and

Legal Defense Foundation at 16-20.

-38-

"unfitness" or "nexus" factors in the
statute do not in fact require any
showing beyond the receipt of knowledge
of the speech at issue. Not only is it
not mandatory that an additional adverse
effect be shown, but a school board
convinced that homosexuality is malum in
se is not foreclosed from treating
knowledge alone as satisfying the adverse
impact test, much as Judge Barrett's
dissent suggests. 729 F.2d at 1276.
Moreover, the proximity criteria

(§ 6-103.15(c)(2)) could, as the amicus,
Concerned Women for America Education and
Legal Defense Foundation, implicity
concedes, make actionable any statement
made within the community in the last ten
years. Brief at 14. The criteria of
extenuating or aggravating circumstances
detract nothing from the chilling effect.
They would not exculpate the teacher who
spoke out publicly. §6-103.15(c)(3).

-39-

Finally, § 6-103.15(c)(4) does not
establish a test for permissible, albeit
continuing statements; rather it creates
a presumption that continuing statements
are harmful per se.

The breadth of the statute is
further expanded by allowing mere know-
ledge of a stat2ment and impact on an
adult school employee to trigger
dismissal. Thus, if a school
employee--deliberately or inadvertently--
hears, witnesses, overhears, or receives
a report about a co-worker's protected
expression, and reports it to the
superintendent, the teacher can be
suspended or dismissed. Few teachers
will be willing to take the risk of such
inquiry and stigmatization.

Nor can it be assumed that either
the school superintendant, who recommends
dismissal in the first instance, or the

local Board of Education, which approves

-40-

26

the action, will exercise discretion

under the statute to confine its applica-

tion to circumstances that warrant it.
Both the superintendant and the elected
board are subject to local pressures to
mount an anti-homosexual campaign where
that seems desirable. As Justice White
said in Baggett v. Bullitt, “well-inten-
tioned prosecutors and judicial safe-
guards do not neutralize the vice of a
vague law." 377 U.S. at 373.

Thus the statute does not even
require a minimal showing of harm. The
potential for inhibition of protected
conduct is thus sweeping; the potential
for persecution--for reviving in a new
guise the various “witch” trials that

have marred our history--is enormous.

26ocla. Stat. tit. 70, §§6-103.3 et
seq.

-4]-

But “first amendment freedoms need

breathing space to survive..." Keyishian,

385 U.S. at 604. That breathing space is
choked off under the Uklahoma statute.

But, in our system, undifferentiated
fear or appre ion of disturbance
is not enough to overcome the right
to freedom of ression. Any
departure from absolute regimenta-
tion may cause trouble. Any varia-
tion from the majority's opinion may
inspire fear. Any word spoken, in
class, in the lunchroom, or on the
campus that deviates from the views
of another person may start an
argument or cause a disturbance.
But our Constitution says we must
take this risk, Terminiello v.
pyicage 337 U.S. T (1949); and our
story says that it is this sort of
hazardous freedom--this kind of
ss--that is the basis of our
national strength and of the
independence and vigor of Americans
who grow up and live in this
relatively permissive, often
disputatious, society.

Tinker v. Des Moines Independent
Com.Sch.Dist., 393 U.S. at 508-09.

-42-

B. The Statute Operates Impermissibly
To Chill Engagement By Teachers as
Citizens in a Variety of Public
Advocacy Contexts.

The Court has made clear that the

teacher as citizen cannot be required by

content-based regulation to forego the
exercise of first amendment rights in the
community outside the school as the price
of keeping a job. See, e.g: Wieman v.
Updegraff,. 344 U.S. 183 (1952); Shelton
v. Tucker, 364 U.S. 479 (1960); Keyishian

vw. Board of Regents, 385 U.S. 589 (1967).

These cases establish the strong
protection given to public school teach-
ers when they exercise first amendment
rights in the public sphere on matters of
public concern.

The statute applies most obviously
to advocacy in the public arena,
including speaking, writing, testifying
at legislative hearings, and attending

meetings and demonstrations that support

-43-

the rights of lesbians and gay men. */

This is precisely the kind of expression
that is classically guaranteed to all
citizens, including teachers, yet it is
gravely endangered by the statute. See
Keyishian v. Board of Regents, 385 U.S.
589 (1967); Pickering v. Bd. of Ed. of

Tp. H.S. Dist., 391 U.S. 563 (1968).2°8

Because the statute can be triggered

simply by a report of having heard a

27 such advocacy issues are on the
public agenda ages gt the country.
Decriminalization of private, consensual,
adult homosexual acts; civil rights
protection for lesbians and gay men and
non-discrimination in public employment
have been undertaken at all levels of
government and are under active
discussion in many areas.

28rar from being an example of
disregard for law, as Appellant suggests
(Br. at 34), the advocacy prohibited in
this case is almost exclusively that
which seeks change and acceptance of gay
rights through constitutionally protected
channels or petition for redress. See
Baggett v. Bullitt, 377 U.S. at 368;
Cr

2 v. Bd. of Public Instruction, 386

o4h-

teacher say certain things, it reaches
discussions of homosexuality in a wide
variety of semi-public yet protected
associational contexts. Whether or not
discrimination against lesbians and gay
men should be prohibited is the topic of
discussion in churches and church-related
groups, in unions, in political parties,
in medical, psychiatric, psychological
and social work organizations. See

generally, Amicus Curiae Brief on Behalf

of the Appellee by Lambda Legal Defense
and Education Fund. An advocate of gay
rights might wish to join a gay rights
organization or subscribe to journals
which advocate or discuss gay rights.
See, e.g., NAACP v. Alabama, 357 U.S. 449

(1958); Shelton v. Tucker, 364 U.S. 479

(1960). Any of these activities, if
publicized or reported to school author-
ities, could enmesh a teacher in the

statutory process.

-45-

The statute also presents a substan-
tial risk of exposure even from more
private informal gatherings and social
occasions. A restaurant conversation
erupts into a heated debate about gay
rights; a serious discussion is overheard
by the occupants of a neighboring booth.
In the face of these risks, caution and
silence may govern.

In Keyishian v. Board of Regents,
385 U.S. 589 (1967), state laws and

regulations permitting the dismissal of
public school teachers for pure speech
were struck down. The vague and poten-
tially overbroad scope of the banned
speech and the investigatory machinery
created to ferret it out for examination
were deemed by the Court to constitute 2
method of terrorizing teachers so as to
constrict their expression of political
ideas.

It would be a bold teacher who would
not stay as far as possible from

«4h<

utterances or acts which might
jeopardize his living by enmeshing
him in this intricate machinery.

The uncertainty as to the utterances
and acts proscribed increases that
caution in ‘those who believe the
written law means what it says.’

Keyishian, 385 U.S. at 601, quoting

Baggett v. Bullitt, 377 U.S. at 374.

Indeed the Court has repeatedly
stréssed the importance of preserving
such freedom in light of the particular
and important role played by teachers in
society:

The vigilant protection of constitu-
tional freedoms is nowhere more
vital than in the community of
American schools.... But, in view
of the nature of the teacher's
relation to the effective exercise
of the ae which are safeguarded
by the Bill of Rights and by the
Fourteenth Amendment, inhibition of
freedom of thought, in the case of
teachers brings the safeguards of
those amendments vividly into
operation.

Wieman v. Updegraff, 344 U.S. 183, 195

(1958) (Frankfurter, J. concurring).
Faced with the “threat of dismissal

from public employment" which is "a

-47-

potent means of inhibiting speech",

Pickering, 391 U.S. at 574, a group of

generally well educated adults with
knowledge of children's development will
not dare to share their ideas in the
world at large.*? The state of Oklahoma
has set forth no substantiated justifica-
tion for this sweeping result. Rather,
the statute is a prime example of the
“government as educator...seek[ing] to
reach beyond the confines of the school."

Bd. of Ed.,Island Trees v. Pico, 102

S.Ct. at 2833 (Powell, J., dissenting. )

Cc. The Statute Impermissibly Chills
Teachers’ Engagement In Scholarly
Pursuits Essential To Their Educa-
tional Mission.

The statute's impact on teachers'

ability to maintain or improve their

29the harm to the world outside the
school is great. For that world, "the
spectrum of available knowledge" will be
contracted. Griswold v. Connecticut, 381

U.S. 479, 482 (1965).

-48-

competence through professional activ-
ities outside of the school building is
sharp and deleterious. An understanding
of homosexuality can be essential to
understanding literature, interpreting
and applying the social sciences, or
illuminating history. Many teachers read
current scholarship in their fields and
discuss it with their colleagues. Many
teachers take advanced courses, both to
aid in their work and to prepare then-
selves for advancement in their jobs. Is
a copy of an article or book on homosexu-
ality impermissible "promotion"? Cf.

Keyishian, 385 U.S. at 599 (carrying a

copy of the Communist Manifesto on a
public street). This statute truncates
full participation in these activities,
and in some situations makes any partici-
pation impossible.

A particularly clear example is the

situation of high school teachers of

-49-

30

literature. A teacher who wants to

explore dispassionately the life and
works of widely anthologized authors runs

a serious risk of falling afoul of the

statute. The works of Walt Whitman, >!

32 33

Willa Cather, E. M. Forster, W. H.

30nhis is by no means the only
example. Teachers of U.S. history may
want to learn more about Eleanor
Roosevelt. See D. Faber, The Life of
Lorena Hickock, E.R.'s Friend (1980)
Teachers of French Language and
literature may want to deepen their
understanding of Verlaine, see Schmidt,
Visions of Violence: Rimbaud and
Verlaine, in Homosexualities and French
Literature 228-42 (G. Stambolian and E.
Marks, eds. 1979). Teachers of world
history and philosophy may want to
understand c posteat Greek culture and
social relations. See Plato, The
Symposium (W. Hamilton trans. 1951); K.
Dover, Greek Homosexuality (1978). Any
teacher may want to take courses in
women's studies, psychology, sociology,
or the history of sexuality.

31566 R. Martin, The Homosexual
Tradition in American Poetry 3-89 (1979);
. oweig, Walt Whitman: The Making of the
Poet (1984).

32

See O'Brien, "The Thing Not
(Footnote Continued)

-50-

34 and Virginia Woolf>> have been

Auden,
taught for years to students throughout

the u.s. 26 Must a teacher fear that

(Footnote Continued)

Named": Willa Cather as a Lesbian Writer,
gns ; P. Robinson, Willa:

The Life of Willa Cather (1983).

33566 C. Summers, E. M. Forster,
(1983). Forster, whose novel A Passage
to India is widely read, is also the
author of Maurice (Macmillan edition
1971), a novel with an explicitly
homosexual theme.

34See H. Carpenter, W. H. Auden
(1981); D. Farnan, Auden in Love (1984).

35se6 Q. Bell, Virginia Woolf
(1972); L. DeSalvo, Lighting the Cave:
The Relationship between Vita

Sackville-West and Virginia Woolf, 8
Signs 195 (1982).

36 For example, C. Craig and F.
Rice, English Literature (Ginn Literature
Series) (1964) contains works by Woolf,
Forster, and Auden. J. Early, et al,
Adventures in American Literature
Classic Edition (Adventures in Literature
Series) (1968) includes Whitman, Cather,
and Auden. Carlsen, et al, American
Literature (McGraw-Hill Literature
Series) (1984) contains Whitman and
Cather. Carlsen, et al, British and
Western Literature (McGraw-Hill
Literature Series) (1984) collects

(Footnote Continued)

aSite

discussing homosexuality and great
authors in the same breath would be
construed to violate the statute? The
statute clearly endangers a teacher's
ability to discuss--in any context--any
scholarly work that draws a positive
connection between an author's work and

her or his homosexuality. See, e.g.,

DeSalvo, supra n. 35, Martin, supra

n. 31. It therefore makes it impossible
for teachers to think. openly and effec-
tively. "It has an unmistakable tendency
to ehill that free play of the spirit
which all teachers ought especially to

cultivate and encourage." Wieman v.

(Footnote Continued)

Forster, Woolf, and Auden. Editions of
Adventures in American Literature and
both McGraw-Hill books are approved for
use in Oklahoma schools.

-§2-

Updegraff, 344 U.S. 183, 195 (1952)
37

(Frankfurter, J. concurring).
Finally, although the statute is
aimed primarily at speech outside the
school, it also muzzles the teacher's
ability to discuss or respond to issues
of homosexuality as they may be raised by
the curriculum or by the students
themselves. Just as this Court in

Keyishian, 385 U.S. at 600, implicitly

criticized the Feinberg Law for deterring
a teacher from informing a class about
the precepts of Marxism, here the statute

chills a teacher from even mentioning the

existence of homosexuality, its relevance
to the subject under study, or particular
views that it is an acceptable life

style. See also Epperson v. Arkansas, 393

37Se6 also, H. McFarland,
Psychological Theory and Educational
Practice 201 (1971).

—t™

U.S. 97, 116 (1968) (Stewart, J.
concurring in the result).

The Oklahoma statute constrains
discussion by alerting colleagues and
students to look for every allegedly
homosexual nuance in presentation. ©
Thus, the statute encourages the hearer
to participate in "a system which

searches for hidden meanings in a

teacher's utterances," Adler v. Board of

Education of City of New York, 342 U.S.

485, 510 (1952) (Douglas, J. dissenting),
and the speaker to “steer far wider of

the unlawful zone," Speiser v. Randall,

38the analogues to the McCarthy era
are not far to seek. “One historian gave
a reading assignment on the constitution
of the Soviet Union, ‘only to find that
the mere fact that I said they had a
constitution made the students think that
I was a Commie.'" Lazarsfeld and
Thielens, supra p. 16, at 197. Teachers
in the survey reported a wide range of
negative effects on their professional
functioning, both in class and outside.
Id. at 197-213.

-54-

357 U.S. 513, 526 (1958). For example:
What was the significance of the history
teacher's comments about the breadth of
John Maynard Keynes's interests, as
illustrated both by his marriage to a
Russian ballerina, Lydia Lopokova, and
his long relationship with an English
painter, Duncan Grant?>? Why did the
mathematics teacher talk at length about
Alan Turing, who developed the idea on
which modern computers are based? “9
In addition, the statute makes it
impossible for a trusted instructor or

41

guidance counselor” to respond

39 see L. Edel, Bloomsbury: A House
of Lions 145-47 (1979); C. Hession, John
Maynard Keynes (1984).

4066 A. Hodges, Alan Turing: The
Enigma (1983).

41 the statute incorporates b
reference the definition of "teacher"
found at Okla. Stat. tit. 70, §1-116
(1982): “Any person who is employed to

(Footnote Continued)

~ «55-

evenhandedly or perhaps even at all to
student requests for counseling in regard
to issues of homosexuality that arise for
members of their family, friends, or for
themselves.

These are only some examples of the
potential scope of a law which singles
out content-based expression for poten-
tial punishment. Indeed, the statute
reflects an effort, reminiscent of the
prohibitions on discussions of slavery,
to hermetically seal the public schools
from exposure to legitimate protected
expression about an issue of major public
importance. The effort is futile, since
the issue is important in public debate
and participation of students in gay

rights advocacy in and outside the

(Footnote Continued)

serve as district superintendent, county
superintendent, principal, supervisor,
counselor, librarian, school nurse or
classroom teacher..."

aSiq

schools is both common and protected. “4
Yet the statute is nonetheless dangerous
to the fundamental values of the First
Amendment. By denying to teachers the

freedom to say anything in any context

420, numerous occasions, the courts
have upheld the constitutional rights of
gay student organizations denied official
recognition by their universities. See,
e.g., G.A.A. v. Bd. of Regents, 638 P.2d
Tits (Okla. I98I); Gay Alliance of
Students v. Matthews, (4th

Cir. 1976); Gay Lib v. Univ. of
Missouri, 558 F.2d 848 (8th Cir. 1977),
cert. denied sub nom. Ratchford v. Gra
Lib, 434 U.S. 1080 (1978); Cay Student
Services v. Texas A&M Univ. 7 F.2d 1317
(5th Cir vB) In each of these cases,

it was held that the policies and
purposes of the student organization did
not “'infringe reasonable campus rules,
interrupt classes or substantially
interfere with the opportunity of other
students to obtain an education,'" Ga

Lib v. Univ. of Missouri, 558 F.2d at 856
quoting Healy v. James, 408 U.S. 169, 189

In Fricke v. Lynch, 491 F.Supp. 381
(D.R.1. I980), the court overturned a
A school principal's decision not to
allow a student to escort his male lover
to the senior prom. The Court rejected
as a basis for exclusion the principal's
assertec fear of a violent reaction from
other students.

=37-

that might come to the attention of
school children or personnel, if it does
a, ree homosexuality and the gay
rights movement, the state denies
teachers the right to express their
commitments to social change and
scholarship outside the classroom, just
as it denies students the right to a

non-d.storted, non-intimidating

education.

IV. THE STATUTE'S OFFICIAL CONDEMNATION
OF PARTICULAR BELIEFS, FAR FROM
FURTHERING LEGITIMATE GOALS,
UNDERMINES IMPORTANT CONSTITUTIONAL
AND EDUCATIONAL VALUES

The mechanism by which this statute
operates may be more subtle but is no
less deadly to free discussion that the
loyalty oaths and mandatory investiga-
tions struck down by this Court in the
“subversive” teacher cases. By penaliz-

ing expression of views opposing a

particular bias, it in effect sanctions

-58-

the biased position. Fear and outrage at
homosexuality and the gay rights movement
are volatile and dangerous, given their
roots in religion and the conviction of
moralistic truths.’ The same fervor
that attended the anti-communist
witchhunts can be incited as to

44 Thus speech that might

homosexuality.
be unknown or disregarded or, at most,
the subject of interested or even hostile
comment, can explode into a major
controversy about the fitness of a
previously impeccable teacher.

Difference of opinion, even disgust, can

be transformed into unnecessarily

disruptive confrontation.

43Sce, e. the dissenting opinion
below, 725° “at 1276; Brief of the
State of Oklahoma Amicus Curiae, at 22.

44 H schools are not immune. See,

igh
National Kla*. Leader Terms Cit
Ton th Recruiting Good Good, Okla. City Times,

ate pootnote ter omens A

-59-

In short, the statute teaches
intolerance, because the perception of
official tolerance for or encouragement
of intolerant behavior can have a power-
ful effect. A substantial literature
suggests that indications of official
resistance to court-ordered school
desegregation remedies encouraged hos-
tile, and sometimes violent, community
reactions to the desegregation process.

C. Willie and S. Greenblatt, Community

Politics and Educational Change 324-28,

331 (1981); T. Pettigrew, Racially

Separate or Together? 130 (1971).

Reduction in hostility seems not to
require officials to go out of their way

to endorse the desegregation process, but

(Footnote Continued)

Jan. 26, 1978, at 1, col. 1, reporting on
anti- ond organizing by the Ku Klux Klan
in Oklahoma high schools.

-60-

merely to uphold normal legal processes.
Willie and Greenblatt at 324.

This Court has noted that "([p]rivate
biases may be outside the reach of the
law, but the law cannot, directly or

indirectly, give them effect." Palmore

v. Sidoti, U.S. _, 104 S.Ct. 1879,

1882 (1984).°> Indeed, the central
wisdom of the First Amendment is that:

[s]peech is often provocative and
challenging. It may strike at

ge goes 9 and preconceptions and
ave profound unsettling effects as
7 presses for acceptance of an
idea.

4>palmore dealt with racial
prejudice. Court around the country have
applied the same principle in cases where
societal prejudice against lesbian
mothers was advanced as a reason to
remove children from their custody. See,
e.g., M.P. v. S.P., 169 N.Super. 425, 404
wc 1 " .J. Super. 1979)(if
children remain with mother, despite
societal prejudice, they may "emerge
better eres to search out their own
standards of right and wrong, better able
to see that the majority is not always
correct in its moral judgments....").

le

Terminiello v. City of Chicago, 337 U.S.

1, 4 (1949). The Oklahoma statute defies
this basic constitutional principle.
Moreover, it undermines the importance of
the Constitution at a crucial point in
the training of citizens. The fact that

local public schools

are educating the young for citizen-
ship is reason for scrupulous
protection of Constitutional free-
doms of the individual, if we are
not to strangle the free mind ac its
source and teach youth to discount
important principles of our govern-
ment as mere platitudes.

West Virginia State Bd. of Ed. v.

Barnette, 319 U.S. 624, 637 (1943).

Should we subject our children to
the spectre of hatred and intolerance or
plant the seeds for tolerance and freedom
of spirit? The most fundamental
aspirations of the first amendment demand
that we cast our lot with the tasks of
tolerance and the free play of ideas.

The bleaker experiences of this nation

-62-

confirm that this is the only safe

course.

Freedom to differ is not limited
to things that do not matter much.
That would be a mere shadow of
freedom. The test of its
substance is the right to differ
as to things that touch the heart
of the existing order.

West Virginia State Board of Education v.

Barnette, 319 U.S. 624, 642 (1943).

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, this

Court should enforce the first amendment

and affirm the judgment of the court

below.

Rhonda Copelon
Volunteer Staff
Attorney for
Center for Consti-
tutional Rights
CUNY Law School at
Queens College
200-01 42d Avenue
Bayside, NY 11361
(718) 357-7584

Respectfully
submitted,

Anne E. Simon
(Counsel of
Record)

Sarah Wunsch
Center for
Constitutional
Rights

853 Broadway,
14th Floor

New York, NY
10003

(212) 674-3303

Attorneys for

Amici Curiae

*
Counsel gratefully acknowledge the
assistance of John Copoulos and Johnathan
Katz, Center for Constitutional Rights;
Julia Devin, American University School
of Law; Paris Baldacci, David Barr,
Alicia Fagan, Laura Gentile, Deborah
Greenberg, Sandy Lowe, and Amy Pearlman,
CUNY Law School at Queens College; Phil
Bratnober; George Chauncey; and Andrea
Dworkin, in the preparation of this

brief.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385012_0789%3A15. Public record. Not legal advice.
