# Amicus Curiae Brief — Board of Education v. National Gay Task Force

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385012_0789%3A10

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1984
- **Citation:** 469 U.S. 813

## Text

Supreme Court, U.S.
a, FILED
O,
No. 83.200 dec 17 198

ALEXANDER L STEVAS
CLERK

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1984

THE BOARD OF EDUCATION OF THE CITY OF OKLAHOMA,
STATE OF OKLAHOMA,
8 Appellant,
THE NATIONAL GAY TASK FORCE,
Appellee.

On Appeal from the United States Court of Appeals
for the Tenth Circuit

BRIEF OF THE
NATIONAL EDUCATION ASSOCIATION
AND THE AMERICAN JEWISH CONGRESS
AS AMICI CURIAE IN SUPPORT OF APPELLEE

ROBERT CHANIN
(Counsel of Record)

ROBERT M. WEINBERG
DAVID M. SILBERMAN
BREDHOFF & KAISER
Suite 1300
1000 Connecticut Avenue, N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20036
Attorneys for Amici Curiae
National Education Association
and American Jewish Congress

WILSON - EPES PRINTING Co., INC. - 789-0096 - WASHINGTON. D.C. 20001

oS ~

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
1 ĩð e ii
INTEREST OF THE AMICI CURIAE ................ 1
SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT i 3 2
ARGUMENT 5
A. The Power of the State to Restriet Speech Out-
side of the Employment Context 7
B. The Power of the State to Restrict Non-
Classroom Speech by Public School Teachers 8
r 14

r —— 21

ii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page
Ambach v. Norwick, 441 U.S. 68 (197999 passim
Arnett v. Kennedy, 416 U.S. 134 (197 17-18
Baggett v. Bullitt, 377 U.S. 360 (1064) 16-17, 19

Board of Education v. Pico, 457 U.S. 853 (1982). 9, 14

Bob Jones University v. United States, US.

, 51 U.S.L.W. 4593 (May 24, 1983 11
Bolger v. Youngs Drug Products Corp, —— U.S.

, 51 L.W. 4961 (June 24, 1983))))) 8
Bose Corp. v. Consumers Union, —— U.S. ——,

52 L.W. 4513 (April 30, 1984) 9
Brandenburg v. Ohio, 395 U.S. 444 (1987) 7
Brown v. Board of Education, 347 U.S. 483

Ss Se 8 9
Buckley v. Valeo, 424 U.S. 1 (1979) 12,14
Butler v. Michigan, 352 U.S. 380 (1957) 8
Carey v. Population Services International, 431

INK .. See 8
Connick v. Meyers, 461 U.S. 138 (19833 6,9
Consolidated Edison Co. v. Public Service Commis-

MG, i 3,12
Cramp v. Board of Education, 368 U.S. 278

. Se Sea ee 16
Erznoznik v. City of Jacksonville, 422 U.S. 205

. ee ee ee 17
First National Bank of Boston v. Bellotti, 435 U.S.

111 Se ee Eke 12
Givhan v. Western Line Consolidated School Dist.,

GD GE GP eee 9
Gooding v. Wilson, 405 U.S. 518 (197277 . 814
Grayned v. City of Rockford, 408 U.S. 104 (1972) 14
Healy v. James, 408 U.S. 169 (19727 7
Hess v. Indiana, 414 U.S. 105 (1973yy⸗·)- -.-. 8
Hynes v. Mayor of Oradell, 425 U.S. 610 (1976). 3, 14
Meyer v. Nebraska, 262 U.S. 390 (1923 11
NAACP ͤ v. Button, 371 U.S. 415 (19683333 3, 14
NAACP v. Claiborne Hardware Co., 458 U.S. 886

... ͤ 7-8

Niemotko v. Maryland, 340 U.S. 268 (1951) 3 13-14

iii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Page
Pickering v. Board of Educaton, 391 U.S. 563
IT sts ˖ô »⸗Rd “ ‚— — passim
Pinus v. United States, 436 U.S. 293 (1978) 8
Plyler v. Doe, 457 U.S. 202 (1982) 9
Procunier v. Martinez, 416 U.S. 396 (1974) 19
Tinker v. Des Moines School Dist., 393 U.S. 503
EE STS SES SSA TT 11
University of California Regents v. Bakke, 438
EEE 12
Village of Hoffman Estates v. Flipside Hoffman
Estates, Inc., 455 U.S. 489 (198277 4,17
West Virginia Board of Education v. Barnette, 319
SES passim
Whitney v. California, 274 U.S. 357 (19277 7
Wieman v. Updegraff, 344 U.S. 183 (1952777 13
e passim

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1984

No. 83-2030

THE BOARD OF EDUCATION OF THE CITY OF OKLAHOMA,
STATE OF OKLAHOMA,
. Appellant,

THE NATIONAL GAY TASK FORCE,
Appellee.

On Appeal from the United States Court of Appeals
for the Tenth Circuit

BRIEF OF THE
NATIONAL EDUCATION ASSOCIATION
AND THE AMERICAN JEWISH CONGRESS
AS AMICI CURIAE IN SUPPORT OF APPELLEE

The National Education Association and the American
Jewish Congress file this brief amici curiae with the con-
sent of the parties.

INTEREST OF THE AMICI CURIAE

The National Education Association is a nationwide
employee organization with some 1.7 million members,
the vast majority of whom are employed by public school
districts. One of the principal purposes of the Associa-
tion is to protect the constitutional rights of its mem-

2

bers, including their right, as citizens, to speak on mat-
ters of public concern.

The American Jewish Congress is a membership or-
ganization of American Jews. Some of its members are
public school teachers, and all of its members hold a deep
and abiding commitment to preserving the freedoms se-
cured by the First Amendment.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

The statute at issue here restricts the right of teach-

ers, student teachers and teachers’ aides employed in the
Oklahoma public schools to make out-of-class statements
on matters of public concern—specifically, any state-
ment “advocating, ... encouraging or promoting” homo-
sexual activity can subject these individuals to the loss of
employment.

Although the Oklahoma statute would, outside of the
employment context, be unconstitutional in all or vir-
tually all of its applications (Part A), a more complex
analysis is called for when the state seeks to regulate the
speech of its own employees. Under Pickering v. Board
of Education, 391 U.S. 563 (1968), and its progeny, the
task is to balance the state’s interest—here, the interest
in inculeating fundamental values in school children—
against the right of the teachers, student teachers and
teacher aides, as citizens, to speak on matters of public
concern. Only if this balance favors the state can the
challenged statute be sustained.

The state’s inculcative interest is implicated most di-
rectly by what is said or done in the classroom. But
because a teacher serves as a role model for students, the
state also may “take account” of out-of-class speech in
making employment decisions. Ambach v. Norwick, 441
U.S. 68, 78 (1979). This does not mean, however, that
the state may exclude from the classroom any individual
who has engaged in speech which, in the state’s view,

makes that individual an “undesirable” role model for
students. Such a rule would be inconsistent with the
First Amendment in two respects.

First, the state’s interest in ineuleating students is lim-
ited by the First Amendment to inculcating those funda-
mental “values on which our society rests,” .imbach v.
Norwick, supra, 441 U.S. at 76; the state may not con-
stitutionally “prescribe what shall be orthodox in politics,
nationalism, religion or other matters of opinion,” West
Virginia Board of Education v. Barnette, 319 U.S. 624,
642 (1943). Even in regard to those subjects that may be
appropriate for inculcation, the state’s interest is not im-
plicated unless the speech in question constitutes a sub-
stantial and square challenge to the value that the state
seeks to inculcate.

Second, quite apart from placing this critical limitation
on the state’s interest in inculcation, the First Amend-
ment also secure to all citizens—including teachers—
“ ‘the liberty to discuss publicly and truthfully all matters
of public concern.’” Consolidated Edison Co. v. Public
Service Commission, 447 U.S. 530, 534 (1980). A rule
which automatically excluded an individual from teaching
because he or she chose, outside of the classroom, to exer-
cise this right could not be squared with the First
Amendment.

Because of the importance of the First Amendment
interests involved, it is essential that when the state at-
tempts to regulate a teacher’s out-of-class speech it does
so only with narrow specificity,” Hynes v. Mayor of
Oradell, 425 U.S. 610, 620 (1976), quoting NAACP v.
Button, 371 U.S. 415, 433 (1963), so as not “ ‘unduly to
infringe the protected freedom,“ Gooding v. Wilson, 405
U.S. 518, 522 (1972). (Part B)

The challenged Oklahoma statute fails to pass muster
under the foregoing principles. The statute reaches or
well may reach a great deal of speech that is protected

4

by the First Amendment and that does not implicate any
legitimate state interest: for example, statements that
oppose laws criminalizing private homosexual activity
between consenting adults, favor the enactment of laws
prohibiting discrimination against homosexuals, or sim-
ply might tend to lessen the stigma that generally is
attached to homosexuality in our society presumably can
subject the speaker to the statutory penalties for “advo-
cating, ... encouraging, or promoting” homosexuality. In-
deed, there is no speech on the subject of homosexual-
ity—other than speech unremittingly hostile to homo-
sexuals and homosexual rights-that a teacher (or a
lawyer advising a teacher) could consider safely be-
yond the reach of the statute. Because that is so, the
statute, taking into account both the “ambiguous as well
as the unambiguous scope,” Village of Hoffman Estates
v. Flipside Hoffman Estates, 455 U.S. 489, 494 n.6
(1982), is substantially overbroad.

The overbreadth problem is compounded by the fact
that the Oklahoma statute is not limited to speech that
is likely to come to the attention of school children, but
applies as well to speech that is likely to come to the
attention of “school employees.” Such speech does not
implicate any conceivable inculcative interest of the state.
This likewise is true with respect to the application of
the statute to out-of-class speech by teachers’ aides, who
do not serve as significant role models for school chil-
dren. And, it is also true, in the main, of statements
made before entering the teaching profession—statements
which can trigger the Oklahoma statute. Certainly the
only prudent course for anyone contemplating a career in
the Oklahoma public schools would be to avoid at any
time making any statements on the subject of homosex-
uality or the rights of homosexuals. (Part C(1)).

Finally, the portion of the Oklahoma statute that pro-
vides that a teacher may not be denied employment un-
less it has been determined that he or she has been “ren-

5

dered unfit” because of the speech in question cannot save
the statute from invalidation. The factors that the statute
indicates are to be considered in making the unfitness
determination are so vague and general that it is impos-
sible to predict in advance how the unfitness issue will be
resolved in any particular case; thus the unfitness provi-
sion does not in any way diminish the chilling effect of
the law. Moreover, only two of the listed factors are even
arguably related to the state’s inculcative interest, and
these factors are not even prerequisites to a determination
of unfitness. (Part C (2)

ARGUMENT

Although this case was decided in the court below on
the basis of narrow, well-established constitutional] prin-
ciples, and should, we believe, be decided on the basis of
the same principles in this Court, there are in the back-
ground broader and far more difficult issues. It is appro-

priate at the outset, therefore, to make clear what is—
and is not—before this Court.

To begin with, this case does not concern the power of
the state to regulate sexual activity. The only portion of
the challenged Oklahoma statute which dea!s with such
activity (70 Okla. Stat. § 6-103.15(A)(1)) was sustained
by the lower court, and no party has sought review of
that holding here. Nor does this case concern the power
of the state to prescribe what is taught, or more broadly
what is said, in public school classrooms. The Oklahoma
statute is not limited to classroom speech, but is directed
to any speech which poses a “substantial risk” that it
“will come to the attention of school children or school
employees.” Jd. § 6-103.15(A)(2). This means that,
whatever the state’s power to regulate classroom speech,
that power cannot be relied upon to defend the challenged
statute.

What is at issue here, then, is the power of the state to
regulate out-of-classroom speech by teachers, student teach-

ers and teachers’ aides (hereinafter generally referred to
as teachers“), and, correlatively, the First Amendment
right of these individuals to speak on matters of public
concern.“ Neither appellant nor the State of Oklahoma, as
amicus curiae, disagree with the lower court’s conclusion
that the portion of the Oklahoma statute that was struck
down (70 Okla. Stat. § 6-103.15(A)(2), hereinafter
“Oklahoma Statute”) reaches statements pertaining to
the subject of homosexuality “which are aimed at legal
and social change,” 729 F.2d at 1274; indeed, the Okla-
homa Attorney General forthrightly acknowledges that
the statute applies to “advocate[s] of social causes,”
Okla. Br. at 20, and thus may be used “to remove ‘gay
rights’ activists from teaching,” id. at 22.2 The lower
court held the Oklahoma statute unconstitutionally over-
broad precisely because of its coverage of such
Appellant and Oklahoma argue, however, that this hold-
ing is cortrary to Pickering v. Board of Education, 391
U.S. 563 (1968), under which, they assert, the state may
make any statement by a teacher pertaining to homo-
sexuality a ground for dismissal. Thus, the dispute here
as to the overbreadth vel non of the Oklahoma statute
involves the proper application of Pickering in a setting
quite different from the one that was presented by that
case. It is to that dispute that this brief is addressed.

There is no question but that the Oklahoma statute applies
principally, if not exclusively, to speech by a teacher “as a citizen
upon matters of public concern,” as opposed to speech by a teacher
“as an employee upon matters only of personal interest.” Connick
v. Myers, 461 U.S. 138, 147 (1983). Accordingly, the speech is not
unprotected under Connick.

2 Appellant and Oklahoma emphasize the fact that, although the
statute can be triggered by speech of the type described in text, a
teacher can be denied employment only if it is determined that
“because of” the speech he or she “has been rendered unfit” to
teach. 70 Okla. Stat. § 6-103.15(B)(2), (C). We discuss the
significance of this provision of the Oklahoma statute infra, at
pp. 19-21

7

A. The Power of the State to Restrict Speech Outside of
the Employment Context

Pickering recognized in the employment context an ex-
ception to the constitutional principles that otherwise
would apply to state action restricting speech, and it is
helpful by way of background to reiterate what those
principles are. Outside of the employment context,
“(t]he critical line heretofore drawn for determining
the permissibility of regulation [based on the ideas ex-
pressed by the speaker] is the line between mere advo-
cacy and advocacy ‘directed to inciting or producing im-
minent lawless action.’” Healy v. James, 408 U.S. 169,
188 (1972), quoting Brandenburg v. Ohio, 395 U.S. 444,
447 (1967) (per curiam). That line first was laid down
by Justice Brandeis in Whitney v. California, 274 U.S.
357 (1927), where he wrote, “even advocacy of violation
[of law], however reprehensible morally, is not a justifi-
cation for denying free speech where the advocacy falls
short of incitement and there is nothing to indicate that
the advocacy would be immediately acted on.” 274 US.
at 376 (concurring opinion; emphasis added).* See also
to the same effect, e.g., NAACP v. Claiborne Hardware
Co., 458 U.S. 886, 927 (1982) (“mere advocacy of the
use of force or violence does not remove speech from the

Justice Brandeis elaborated :

Those who won our independence by revolution were not
cowards. They did not fear political change. They did not
exalt order at the cost of liberty. To courageous, self-reliant
men, with confidence in the power of free and fearless reason-
ing applied through the processes of popular government, no
danger flowing from speech can be deemed clear and present,
unless the incident of the evil apprehended is so imminent that
it may befall before there is opportunity for full discussion.
If there be time to expose through discussion the falsehood
and fallacies, to avert the evil by processes of education, the
remedy to be applied is more speech, not enforced silence.
Only an emergency can justify repression. Such must be the
rule if authority is to be reconciled with freedom. [274 U.S.
at 377.)

8

protection of the First Amendment“); Carey v. Popula-
tion Services International, 431 U.S. 441, 448 (1974);
Hess v. Indiana, 414 U.S. 105 (1973).

Given the above line, it is clear that, outside of the
employment context, the Oklahoma statute would be un-
constitutional in all or virtually all of its conceivable
applications. Simply stated, the lesson of the cited cases
is that under the First Amendment citizens have a right
to advocate homosexual activity even where such activity
is unlawful, so long as the speaker is not “inciting or
producing imminent lawless activity.”

Nor would the state’s regulatory power be any greater,
still outside the employment context, with respect to par-
ticular statements directed at adults but likely to “come
to the attention of school children.” This Court re-
peatedly has rejected the proposition that the First
Amendment permits the state to “reduce the adult popu-
lation. . to [hearing] only what is fit for children.”
Butler v. Michigan, 352 U.S. 380, 383 (1957). “The
level of discourse reaching the mailbox simply cannot be
limited to that which would be suitable for a sandbox.”
Bolger v. Youngs Drug Products Corp., —— U.S. ——,
51 U.S.L.W. 4961, 4965 (June 24, 1983). See also Pin-
kus v. United States, 436 U.S. 293, 298 (1978).

In sum, divorced from the employment context, there
is no doubt that the speech to which the Oklahoma stat-
ute is addressed would be fully protected by the First
Amendment.

B. The Power of the State to Restrict Non-Classroom
Speech by Public School Teachers

Because this case arises in the employment context,
a more complex analysis is necessary. “[T]he State has
interests as an employer in regulating the speech of its
employees that differ significantly from those it possesses
in connection with regulation of the speech of the citi-

zenry in general.” Pickering, supra, 391 U.S. at 568.
“The problem in any case is to arrive at a balance be-
tween the interests of the teacher, as a citizen, in com-
menting upon matters of public concern and the interest
of the State, as an employer, in promoting the efficiency
of the public services it performs through its employees.”
Id. When that balance favors the state, and only then,
“employment-related sanctions may be imposed on the
basis of such statements.” Bose Corp. v. Consumers
Union, —— US. ——, 52 US.L.W. 4513, 4518 n.22
(April 30, 1984).

Pickering and its progeny involved speech by a public
employee “critical of his ultimate employer,” Pickering,
supra, 391 U.S. at 572, and the interest asserted by the
state, as employer, was an interest in “orderly school
administration,” id. at 569—that is, in maintaining
“discipline,” “harmony among co-workers,” and “close
working relationships,” id.; see Connick v. Myers, supra,
461 U.S. at 150-154; Givhan v. Western Line Consoli-
dated School Dist., 439 U.S.C. 410, 414 & n.3 (1979)
(dictum). In this case, a very different state interest
has been invoked in an effort to justify the Oklahoma
statute: an interest in inculeating in school children “the
basic morals and values of society,“ Okla. Br. at 7. The
issue, then, is how this asserted state interest is to be
accommodated with “the interest of the teacher, as
a citizen, in commenting upon matters of public concern.”
Pickering, supra, 391 U.S. at 568.

There is no doubt that “education has a fundamental
role in maintaining the fabric of our society,” Plyler v.
Doe, 457 U.S. 202, 221 (1982), and because of this, the
state has an interest in inculeating in students the
“values on which our society rests,” Ambach v. Norwick,
441 U.S. 68, 76 (1979). See also, e.g., Board of Educa-
tion v. Pico, 457 U.S. 853, 864 (1982) (plurality opin-
ion); Brown v. Board of Education, 347 U.S. 483, 493
(1954). That state interest is most directly implicated

10

by what a teacher says and does in the classroom, where
the inculeation is supposed to occur. But because “a
teacher serves as a role model for his students, exerting
a subtle but important influence over the perceptions and
values,” Ambach v. Norwick, supra, 441 U.S. at 78, even
out-of-class speech may, under certain limited circum-
stances, implicate the state’s ineuleative interest. Ac-
cordingly, the state, in making employment decisions,
“may take account of a teacher’s function as an exam-
ple for students, which exists independently of particular
classroom subjects.” Id. at 80.

But to acknowledge that the state may “take account
of a teacher’s function as an example for students,” does
not mean, as appellant and its supporting amici curiae
seem to contend, that the state has absolute and unlim-
ited power to exclude from the classroom any individual
who has engaged in speech which, in the state’s view,
makes that individual an “undesirable” role model for
students. The inexorable consequence of this position
would be that no teacher could publicly address any sub-
ject of public concern without fear of discharge; that
consequence is made explicit by the Oklahoma Attorney
General in his amicus brief, when he urges a rule pursu-
ant to which a state could “require that a public school
teacher remain neutral with regard to public advocacy
of issues which are controversial. Okla. Br. at 3-4.
See also id. at 20. As we demonstrate below, any such
rule would flout the values underlying the First Amend-

ment in two respects.

1. The First Amendment limits the matters as to
which state inculeation is proper. Under that Amend-
ment, the state may not constitutionally “prescribe what
shall be orthodox in politics, nationalism, religion, or
other matters of opinion,” West Virginia Board of
Education v. Barnette, 319 U.S. 624, 642 (1943). “In

11

Meyer v. Nebraska, [262 U.S. 390, 402 (1932)], Mr.
Justice McReynolds expressed this Nation’s repudiation
of the principle that a State might so conduct its schools
as to ‘foster a homogenous people.” Tinker v. Des
Moines School Dist., 393 U.S. 502, 511 (1969). And as
Justice Jackson observed in Barnette, supra, “|p]robably
no deeper division of our people could proceed from any
provocation than from finding it necessary to choose what
doctrine and whose program public educational officials
shall compel youth to unite in embracing.” 319 U.S. at
641.

Accordingly, while the state may seek to inculcate in
students those fundamental “values on which our society
rests,” Ambach v. Norwick, supra, 441 U.S. at 76, the
state may not inculcate a particular view—.e., “prescribe
what shall be orthodox,” Board of Education v. Barnette,
supra, 319 U.S. at 42—on such matters as abortion, the
nuclear freeze, capital punishment, and the like. And
because the state may not constitutionally present to stu-
dents, as “right,” one side of these and other issues of
public concern in classroom discussion, it follows a for-
tiori that the state may not exclude someone from teach-
ing because he or she, outside the classroom, publicly takes
the “wrong” stand on such matters, i.e., a stand with
which state officers disagree.

Moreover, even in regard to a value as to which incul-
cation is permissible, a sharp distinction must be drawn
between statements by a teacher that constitute a square
attack or repudiation of that value and statements con-
cerning a public issue which issue, in the state’s view, is
related to that value. Only the former type of statements
threaten the state’s ability to inculcate fundamental
values and thus only statements of that type are of legiti-
mate concern to the state. The point is best made by an
illustration. Because of the firm “public policy against
racial discrimination,” Bob Jones University v. United
States, —— U.S.—, 51 U.S.L.W. 4593, 4599 (May 24,
1983), we assume that the state may attempt to inculcate

12

in students a belief in non-discrimination. Clearly, the
state’s interest in inculeating that value would be impli-
cated if a teacher, outside of the classroom, publicly cham-
pioned white supremacy or racial segregation. But the
state interest would not in any way be jeopardized by a
teacher who, again outside of the classroom, opposed af-
firmative action. No matter how deeply a particular
school board believed that [in order to get beyond rac-
ism, we must first take account of race,” University of
California Regents v. Bakke, 438 U.S. 265, 407 (1978)
(opinion of Blackmun, J.), it would be impermissible for
that board, in the guise of fostering a belief in nondis-
crimination, to deny a teaching position to someone be-
cause he or she is an opponent of affirmative action.

2. Quite apart from placing this critical limitation on
the state’s interest in inculeation, the First Amendment
also secures to all citizens—including those who choose
to become teachers ‘the liberty to discuss publicly and
truthfully all matters of public concern,“ Consolidated
Edison Co. v. Public Service Commission, 447 U.S. 530,
534 (1980). That liberty is protected both as an end in
itself and also as a means “ ‘to secure “the widest possible
dissemination of information from diverse and antago-
nistic sources” ’ and ‘ “to assure unfettered interchange of
ideas for the bringing about of political and social changes
desired by the people.“ Buckley v. Valeo, 424 US. 1,
49 (1976). Consequently, under the First Amendment
“speech concerning public affairs is more than self-
expression ; it is the essence of self-government.’ And self-
government suffers when those in power suppress com-
peting ideas on public issues ‘from diverse and antago-
nistie sources.“ First National Bank of Boston v. Bel-
lotti, 435 U.S. 765, 777 n.12 (1978) (citations omitted).
Thus, to exclude an individual from teaching because he
or she, outside of the classroom, does not “remain neutral
with regard to public advocacy of issues which are con-
troversial. . . „ Okla. Br. at 3-4, or is “an advocate of

13

social causes,” id. at 20, would strike at the very heart of
the First Amendment.

Indeed, given the values underlying the First Amend-
ment, teachers are the last group to whom the right of
self-expression on matters of public concern should be
denied. For, as Justice Frankfurter explained:

IIIn our entire educational system, from the pri-
mary grades to the universities. . [i]t is the spe-
cial task of teachers to foster those habits of open-
mindedness and critical inquiry which alone make
for responsible citizens who, in turn, make possible
an enlightened and effective public opinion. Teach-
ers must fulfill their function by precept and prac-
tice, by the very atmosphere which they generate;
they must be exemplars of openmindedness and free
inquiry. They cannot cary out their noble tasks if
the condition for the practice of a responsible and
critical mind are denied them. [Wieman v. Upde-
graf, 344 U.S. 183, 196 (1952) (Frankfurter, J.,
concurring) (emphasis added) .]

The short of the matter is simply this: “inculcation”
is not a talisman whose invocation automatically and
inevitably overrides the interest of teachers in self-
expression outside of the classroom. When the state’s
inculeative interest is asserted to justify an employment
sanction, it is necessary first to determine whether the
state interest is a legitimate one—i.e., whether the state
is seeking to inculcate a fundamental value rather than
attempting to prescribe orthodoxy on a matter of public
concern. And if the state interest is legitimate, it then
becomes necessary to balance carefully that interest
against the teacher’s interest in being free to make the
particular statement that is claimed to interfere with
the state’s ability to inculcate the particular value.

In the latter regard, the problem posed for this Court
is nothing new: [al djustment of the inevitable conflict

14

between free speech and other interests is a problem as
persistent as it is perplexing.” Niemotko v. Maryland,
340 U.S. 268, 275 (1951) (Frankfurter, J., concurring).
And as Justice Blackmun has noted in an analogous con-
text, that adjustment is best accomplished by a “delicate
accommodation” of the competing interests, rather than
by “choosing one principle over another.” Board of
Education v. Pico, supra, 457 U.S. at 882 (concurring
opinion).

Because of this concern for the competing interests in-
volved, it is essential that any state regulation of a teach-
er's out-of-class speech not, in attaining a permissible
end, unduly . .. infringe the protected freedom.’” Gooding
v. Wilson, 405 U.S. 518, 522 (1972). In concrete terms,
this means that the state may regulate “ only with nar-
row specificity,” Hynes v. Mayor of Oradell, 425 US.
610, 620 (1976), quoting NAACP v. Button, 371 US.
415, 433 (1963), for as this Court often has recognized,
„ul ncertain meanings inevitably lead citizens to ‘ “steer
far wider of the unlawful zone” . . . than if the bound-
aries of the forbidden areas were clearly marked.“
Grayned v. City of Rockford, 408 U.S. 104, 108 (1972).
Thus, to provide First Amendment freedoms the “breath-
ing space” they need to survive, “(t]he test is whether
the language of [a particular statute] affords the ‘preci-
sion of regulation [that] must be the touchstone in an
area so closely touching our most precious freedom.“
Buckley v. Valeo, supra, 424 at 41.

C. The Oklahoma Statute

Measured against the foregoing principles, the Okla-
homa statute is unconstitutional on its face. For as we
proceed to show, this is not a statute drawn with “nar-
row specificity” so as not “unduly to infringe the pro-
tected freedom.” Rather, the Oklahoma statute in several
respects encompasses within its reach a great deal of
constitutionally protected speech which is of no legiti-

15

mate concern to the state, and the statute is drafted in
such vague terms as “inevitably to lead those to whom it
applies to ‘ “steer . . . wide[] of the unlawful zone.“

1. To begin with, the Oklahoma statute applies not
only to “soliciting [or] imposing” homosexual activity,
but also to any statements that “advocat[e], . . en-
couragſe] or promot[e]” such activity. 70 Okla. Stat.
§ 6-103.15(A)(2). As the court below demonstrated
and as the Oklahoma General freely acknowledges, see
p. 6, swpra—the statute thus reaches or well may reach
statements on issues of clear public concern: for exam-
ple, statements opposing laws that criminalize private
homosexual acts between consenting adults or statements
favoring the enactment of laws that prohibit discrimina-
tion against homosexuals.* Yet such statements do not
jeopardize the state’s ability to inculeate any fundamen-
tal value.

Moreover, because the terms “advocate, encourage or
promote” are so broad, there is no speech on the subject
of homosexuality—other than speech unremittingly hostile
to homosexuals and homosexual rights—that can be con-
sidered safely beyond the reach of the Oklahoma law. A
teacher who sought legal counsel as to what speech is
permissible under the statute would have to be told by
any lawyer concerned about protecting that teacher’s in-
terests that it is impossible to know how far the statute
extends; that virtually any speech on the subject of homo-
sexuality or the rights of homosexuals could be deemed to

*It is noteworthy in this regard that although appellant suggests
that the lower courts should have abstained from deciding this
case, the only unsettled issue of state law that appellant believes
should have been certified to the Oklahoma Supreme Court pertains
to the unfitness requirement, see p. 20, infra, and not to the mean-
ing of “advocating . . . encouraging, or promoting” homosexual
activity. See Appellant Br. at 13-18.

16

“encourage” or “promote” homosexual activity and thereby
trigger the law; and that the only prudent course is to
avoid speaking on such subjects altogether.

In this regard, the instant case closely parallels Cramp
v. Board of Education, 368 U.S. 278 (1961) and Baggett
v. Bullitt, 377 U.S. 360 (1964). Those cases involved
loyalty oaths that were required of teachers: in Cramp
an oath that the teacher had never “knowingly lent
[his] aid, support, advice, counsel or influence to the
Communist Party,” 368 U.S. at 285, and in Baggett an

oath that the teacher “will by precept and example pro-\

mote respect for the flag and institutions of the United
States,” 377 U.S. at 362. In both cases, this Court—
without questioning the legitimacy of the state’s interest
in inculeating loyalty, patriotism and the like in stu-
dents—held the oaths to be unconstitutionally vague.
Writing for this Court in Baggett, Justice White stated:

We are dealing with indefinite statutes whose terms,
even narrowly construed, abut upon sensitive areas
of basic First Amendment freedoms. The uncertain
meanings of the oaths require the oath-taker . to
“steer far wider of the unlawful zone” than if the
boundaries of the forbidden areas were clearly
marked. Those with a conscientious regard for what
they solemnly swear or affirm, sensitive to the periis
posed by the oath’s indefinite language, avoid the
risk of loss of employment, and perhaps profession,
only by restricting their conduct to that which is
unquestionably safe. Free speech may not be so in-
hibited.

It will not do to say that a prosecutor’s sense of fair-
ness and the Constitution would prevent a successful
. . . prosecution for some of the activities seemingly
embraced within the sweeping statutory definitions.
The hazard of being prosecuted for knowing but

17

guiltless behavior nevertheless remains . . . . Well-
intentioned prosecutors and judicial safeguards do
not neutralize the vice of a vague law. [377 U.S. at
372, 373.]

The Baggett Court's comments are equally applicabl.
here. The Oklahoma statute applies or may well apply t:
a great deal of speech which does not threaten any legiti-
mate state interest, but which does fall within the core
protection of the First Amendment. And because of its
breadth, the statute has a “deterrent effect on legitimate
expression [that] is both real and substantial,” Erznoznick
v. City of Jacksonville, 422 U.S. 205, 206 (1975), requir-
ing teachers to steer clear of all discussion of homosex-
uality and homosexual rights in order to be “unquestion-
ably safe,” Baggett, supra, 377 U.S. at 372. “Free speech
may not be so inhibited.” Jd. Thus, taking into account
both the “ambiguous as well as the unambiguous scope of
the enactment,” Village of Hoffman Estates v. Flipside
Hoffman Estates, Inc., 455 U.S. 489, 494 n.6 (1982), the
conclusion is inescapable that the Oklahoma statute is sub-
stantially overbroad in violation of the First Amendment.“

5 This conclusion is not inconsistent with Arnett v. Kennedy, 416
U.S. 134 (1974), in which this Court sustained as not unduly vague
or overbroad a federal statute authorizing dismissal of federal
employees “for such cause as will promote the efficiency of the
service.” The statute at issue in Arnett was different from the
Oklahoma statute in several critical respects. To begin with, the
Arnett statute was designed “to give myriad different federal em-
ployees performing widely disparate tasks a common standard of
job protection,” id. at 159, and, as this Court observed, there “are
limitations in the English language with respect to being both
specific and manageably brief,” id. Moreover, the language of the
Arnett statute had been subject to limiting and clarifying interpre-
tations by the Civil Service Commission, id. at 160, and, because it
is a federal statute, this Court itself was able to authoritatively
construe the law to “exclude[] constitutionally-protected speech,”
id. at 162. Finally, there was a procedure available under the fed-
eral statute to provide “counsel [to] employees who seek advice on
the interpretation of the Act and its regulations.” Id. at 160.

The Oklahoma legislature, in contrast, was not here attempting to
set forth a “broad and general removal standard,” id. at 161, and

18

The overbreadth problem that inheres in the words
“advocating, . . . encouraging or promoting” is com-
pounded by the fact that, contrary to many of the state-
ments in the briefs on the other side, the statute is not
limited to speech that is likely to come to the attention
of school children. The statute applies to speech as to
which there is a “substantial risk” that it “will come to
the attention of school children or school employees.” 70
Okla Stat. § 6-103.15(A)(2) (emphasis added). Thus,
the statute, in terms, applies to private conversations
among school employees; statements made at faculty
meetings, union meetings, or other gatherings at which a
“school employee” may~be present; and even statements
made outside the presence of any school employee where
there is a “substantial risk” that the statements will be
reported to one or more such employees. It is irrelevant
for these applications whether any school children are
likely to hear the speech in question; this means that
the statute reaches to a significant degree speech which,
by definition, does not implicate any conceivable ineulea-
tive interest of the state.

A similar problem exists vis-a-vis the application of
the Oklahoma statute to out-of-class speech by a teachers’
aide (regardless of whether such speech is likely to
come to the attention of school children). Since it is
doubtful that such individuals serve as significant role
models, the state’s inculcative interest is likewise irrele-
vant to this aspect of the prohibition.

Finally, because the Oklahoma statute permits a school
board to “refuse[] employment or reemployment” to one

thus greater specificity was possible vis-a-vis the nature of the
proscribed speech. Furthermore, the Oklahoma law was “written
upon a clean slate,” and it “appear[s] as a clean slate now,” id. at
160, without any limiting or clarifying construction. And there is
no procedure available under the Oklahoma statute to “counsel
employees who seek advice on the interpretation of the Act.” Id.
In short, the holding in Arnett does not provide any basis for
sustaining the constitutionality of the Oklahoma statute.

19

who has made a statement covered by the statute, id.
§ 6-103.15(B), it necessarily applies to statements made
by an individual before he or she became a teacher or
aide—no matter how long ago the statements were made.
Although most such statements would not jeopardize the
state’s inculcative interest, anyone contemplating a career
in the Oklahoma public schools would, to be safe, avoid
making any public statement that could later trigger the
statute.

In sum, regardless of whether heterosexuality is the
type of fundamental value that the state constitutionally
may seek to inculcate in students, the state’s inculcative
interest cannot suffice to establish the constitutionality of
the Oklahoma statute. It is substantially overbroad in
violation of the First Amendment.“

2. We recognize, of course, that before a teacher may
be denied employment under the Oklahoma statute a
determination must be made that he or she has been
“rendered unfit because of [the speech in question],” 70
Okla. Stat. § 6-103.15(B) (2), and that the statute lists
four factors which “will be considered in making the
[unfitness] determination.” Id., § 6-103.15(C).7 But this

In our view, “no single adjudication by a state court could
eliminate the constitutional difficult ies! described in text;
“(rjather it would require ‘extensive adjudications, within the
impact of a variety of factual situations,’ to bring the challenged
statute .. . ‘within the bounds of permissible constitutional cer-
tainty.“ Procunier v. Martinez, 416 U.S. 396, 401 n. 5 (1970),
quoting Baggett v. Bullitt, supra, 377 U.S. at 378. Accordingly,
we believe the lower courts did not err in declining to abstain.

These factors are:
“1. The likelihood that the activity or conduct may adversely
affect students or school employees ;

2. The proximity in time or place of the activity or conduct
to the teacher’s, student teacher’s or teacher’s aide’s offi-
cial duties;

[Continued ]

provision does not save the statute from its unconstitu-
tional overbreadth.

The factors listed in the statute are so vague and gen-
eral that it is impossible to predict in advance how the
unfitness issue will be resolved in any particular case.
Thus, no teacher or prospective teacher desiring to speak
on the subject of homosexuality can feel safe in the
knowledge that an unfitness determination is required by
the statute, for there always will be a risk that a partic-
ular statement will be deemed to render the individual
unfit. Acordingly, the chilling effect of the statute re-
mains.

In addition, only two of the listed factors—i.e., fac-
tors 1 and 4—are even arguably related to the state’s
interest in inculeating fundamental values in students, and
a finding that the speech in question meets the standards
set forth in those factors is not a prerequisite to a deter-
mination of unfitness.* An individual could be excluded
from the classroom absent any finding that his or her
statements are likely to “adversely affect students
(factor 1) or “encourage or dispose school childen toward

T [Continued |
8. Any extenuating or aggravating circumstances; and
4. Whether the conduct or activity is of a repeated or con-
tinuing nature which tends to encourage or dispose school
children toward similar conduct or activity.”

Furthermore, these factors are not narrowly tailored to further
the state’s inculcative interest. Under the first factor a teacher's
statements can be deemed to render the teacher unfit if there is a
likelihood that the statement “may adversely affect students or
school employees”; because the factor is in

b
5
i
.
:

21

similar . activity“ (factor 4) based upon a finding
that some other factor listed in the statute is present, or
based upon a finding that there is an adverse] lelffeet“
on “school employees,” or a tendency to “dispose children”
to make similar statements, see n.7, supra.

In short, the unfitness provision does not cure the con-
stitutional defects in the Oklahoma statute.

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, the judgment of the United
States Court of Appeals for the Tenth Circuit should be
affirmed.

Respectfully submitted,

ROBERT CHANIN
(Counsel of Record)
ROBERT M. WEINBERG
Davin M. SILBERMAN
BREDHOFF & KAISER
Suite 1300
1000 Connecticut Avenue, N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20036
Attorneys for Amici Curiae
National Education Association
and American Jewish Congress

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385012_0789%3A10. Public record. Not legal advice.
