# Amicus Curiae Brief — Pattern Makers v. NLRB

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385012_0773%3A08

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1985
- **Citation:** 473 U.S. 95

## Text

In THe

Supreme Court of the Uni

Ocroper Term, 1984

PATTERN MAKERS’ LEAGUE OF NORTH AMERICA,
AFL-CIO, AND ITS ROCKFORD AND
BELOIT ASSOCIATIONS,

Petitioners,
v.

NATIONAL LABOR RELATIONS BOARD.
AND

ROCKFORD-BELOIT PATTERN JOBBERS ASSOCIATION,
Respondents.

Own Petrrion ror Writ or CERTIORARI TO THE
Unrrep States Court or APPEALS
FOR THE SEVENTH CIRCUIT

AMICUS CURIAE BRIEF ON BEHALF OF
SAFEWAY STORES, INCORPORATED; CALIFORNIA
PORSCHE-AUDI; SAN FRANCISCO AUTO CENTER;
EUROPEAN MOTORS, LTD.; LUCAS DEALERSHIP

GROUP; AND LYNCH COMMUNICATIONS TINCE INC.
IN SUPRORT OF AFFI

Lirruer, Menvevson, Faster & Tichy, — Lrrvuer, Menpetson, Fastirr A Tichy,
A PRoressionaL CORPORATION,

The World Trade Center,
650 California Street, 20th Floor, Suite 1653,
San Francisco, CA 94108-2693. Baltimore, MD 21202-3005,
(415) 433-1940, (301) 528-9545,
By: Wesiey J. Fastirr, By: Warren M. Davison,
Counsel of Record Lest Rovert STELLMAN,
Co R Caine. Roocer Darius Meape,

Attorneys for Amici Curiae Safeway
Stores, Incorporated; California
Porsche-Audi; San Francisco Auto

Center; Motors, Ltd.; Lucas
Dealership and Lynch Com-
munications Systems, Inc.

ly Co., baltimore, 21202

QUESTION PRESENTED

Whether the National Labor Relations Board and the
United States Court of Appeals for the Seventh Circuit
properly found that a union rule that restricts members
from resigning from the union during a strike imper-
missibly abridges the statutory right of employees to
refrain from engaging in union activities, and is therefore
violative of Section 8&(b)(1A) of the National Labor
Relations Act, as amended.

By Substantial Fines For Post-
Resignation Conduct, Constitutes “Re-
straint And Coercion” Violative Of
Section 8(b) 1A) Of The Act ...............
B. The Petitioners’ Contention That Mem-
bership In Labor Unions Is Entered
Into Freely And Voluntarily Is Mis-
leading And Erroneouuhhns

Amicus Curtak Bur)

Belknap, Inc. v. Hale. U.S. __, 103 S. Ct.
CT —ç—äʒẽ2—
Booster Lodge No. 405, Internationai As-
sociation of Machinists v. N.L.R.B., 412 U.S.
11•⁰ ————————————————————————
Buffalo Forge Co. v. United 2 — of
America, AFL-CIO, 428 U.S. 397 (1976)
Evans v. American Federation of Television

& Radio Artists, 354 F. Supp. 823 (S.D.N.Y.
1973), rev'd and remanded sub nom. Buckley

PAGE

wo wo — —

15

15

iii
PAGE
v. American Federation of Television & Radio
Artists, 496 F.2d 305 (2d Cir.), cert. denied,
GED UID. 26BB (IDF) cnccccccccsccccccccecccccccsssccsscsces 21

Haynes v. Annandale Golf Club, 110 Cal.
App. Supp. 765, 289 P. 806 (1930) 18

International Association of Machinists v.
Street, 367 U.S. 740 (1961) 22

International Association of Machinists and
Aerospace Workers, Local Lodge 1414 (Neu-
feld Porsche-Audi, Inc.), 270 NLRB No. 209,
116 LRRM 1257 (1984) 11-13

Leon v. Chrysler Motors Corporation, 358 F.
Supp. 877 (D.N.J. 1973) ...s. 18

Machinists Local 1327 (Dalmo-Victor), 231
NLRB 719 (1977), rev'd and remanded 608
F.2d 1219 (9th Cir. 1979), on remand, 263
NLRB 984 (1982), enforcement denied, 725
F.2d 1212 (9th Cir. 1984), petition for cert.
6 — —„—k—-—-¼¼ 8-11, 13, 14

N.L.R.B. v. Allis-Chalmers Manufacturing
Co., 388 U.S. 175 (1967) . 6, 14, 21, 22

N.L.R.B. v. General Motors Corp., 373 USS.
OT EFF 16,17
NLRB. ». Granite State Joint Board, Tex-
tile Workers Union of America, Local 1029,
AFL-CIO, 409 U.S. 213 (1975) 6-7, 8, 9, 14

N.L.R.B. v. Hershey Foods Corp., 513 F.2d

10GB s Cle. 100 16, 17
N.L.R.B. v. Mackay Radio & Teleg-aph Co.,

le fl, 15
N.L.R.B. v. The Boeing Company, 412 US.

67 (1973) . —.—...—.—./i.....—.—ꝰ3ꝰͤU·:ũ . .—.ͤ 14
Professional Engineers Local 151 (General

Dynamics Corp.), 272 NLRB No. 164, 117
LRRM 1443 (1984) .. 17

iv
PAGE
Radio Officers’ Union v. NL.RB., 347 US. No. 83-1894
0 Lee 16
Scofield v. N.L.R.B., 394 U.S. 423 (1969) ........ 6-7, 8, 9, 14 In THE
Statutes Supreme Court of the United States
National Labor Reiations Act, 29 U.S.C. Sec.
151 et seq.: Ocroser Term, 1984
Section 7, 29 U.S.C. Sec. —— EE passim | PATTERN MAKERS’ LEAGUE OF NORTH AMERICA,
Section 8(b)(1)(A), 29 U.S.C. Sec. BELOIT ASSOCIATIONS,
158(b)( 1 NA — . passim Petitioners,
Section 8(b)(2), 29 U.S.C. Sec. 158(b)(2) ...... 12 ve
NATIONAL LABOR RELATIONS BOARD,
Miscellaneous AND
6 Au. Jur. 2p Associations and Clubs, Section ROCKFORD-BELOIT PATTERN JOBBERS ASSOCIATION,
8908 ———— —-—-— 18 Respondents.
Bureau of National Affairs, Collective Bar- Ow Peririon ror Wait or CERTIORARI TO THE
gaining Negotiations and Contracts, vol. 2, Unrrep States Court or APPEALS
pp. 87:1-87:4 (1983) PPPTTTTITITITITTT 2 TTT 19, 20 FOR THE SEVENTH Crrcult
Ogden, Dalmo-Victor: A Troubled Sleep De-
serves a Hershey Kiss, 35 Lasor LJ. 374 AMICUS CURIAE BRIEF ON BEHALF OF
—— a 16 SAFEWAY STORES, INCORPORATED; CALIFORNIA
Wellington, Union Fines and Workers’ PORSCHE-AUDI; SAN FRANCISCO AUTO CENTER;
Rights, 85 Yate L. J. 1022 (1976) ........ 10, 16, 17, 20-21 EUROPEAN MOTORS, LTD.; LUCAS DEALERSHIP

GROUP; AND LYNCH COMMUNICATIONS SYSTEMS, INC.

IDENTIFICATION OF PARTIES SUPPORTED

This amicus curiae brief is filed in full support of the
positions asserted by the National Labr- Relations Board
(hereinafter referred to as “the NLRB” or “the Board”) and
by the Rockford-Beloit Pattern Jobbers Association
(hereinafter referred to as “the Association” or “the

2

Employers”), the Respondents in this case. We
respectfully urge that this Court affirm the decision of the
United States Court of Appeals for the Seventh Circuit
which, in agreement with the Board, concluded that the
Petitioners’ restriction on its members’ right to resign
their Union membership during a strike violates Section
&(b\ 1A) of the National Labor Relations Act, as
amended.”

INTEREST OF AMICI CURIAE

Safeway Stores, Incorporated is currently signatory to
more than 100 collective bargaining agreements with
various labor unions whose members are covered by those
agreements. California Porsche-Audi; European Motors,
Ltd.; San Francisco Auto Center; and Lucas Dealership
Group are automobile dealerships located in the State of
California, each of whom has collective bargaining
relationships with several labor organizations covering
each dealership’s non-supervisory employees. Lynch
Communications Systems, Inc. is an electronic manu-
facturing corporation whose employees are similarly
represented by a labor organization.

Most of these collective bargaining agreements contain
union security provisions, requiring the employees
* We hereby certify that we have obtained the consent of all

the parties, including the Solicitor General of the United States
on behalf of the Respondent National Labor Relations Board, to

respective parties are attached hereto as Appendices to this
Brief, and are filed simultaneously with the filing of this brief
with the Court.

2 61 Stat. 136, 73 Stat. 519, 29 U.S.C., Section 158(b)\(1)(A),
which is quoted in relevant part on page 2 of the Petitioners’
Brief. Hereinafter, the National Labor Relations Act is referred
to as “the Act”; the Pattern Makers’ League of North America,
AFL-CIO, and its Rockford and Beloit Associations are col-
lectively referred to as “the Union” or “the Petitioners.”
References to the records, appendices, and other relevant
documents will conform to those in the Petitioners’ Brief.

3

involved to join the union and remain union members
throughout the life of the contract. Some of the unions
with whom these employers have such collective
bargaining relationships also have constitutional pro-
visions similar to that at issue herein, restricting
members’ rights to resign, specifically during strikes.
Moreover, these employers have been, and may in the
future be, faced with union sponsored strikes and work
stoppages. During such strikes, these employers receive
numerous inquiries from employees, faced with financial
hardship, who desire to exercise their statutorily
guaranteed right to refrain from concerted activity, but
who have expressed an inability to exercise their right
due to fear of substantial union fines.

Accordingly, as a party to these numerous collective
bargaining agreements, and faced with strikes in which
their employees’ right to return to work is endangered by
coercive union fines, each amicus curiae has a strong
interest in protecting its employees’ Section 7 rights, as
well as resolving the lawfulness of restrictions upon these
rights.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

Unfair labor practice charges were filed by the
Association against the Union arising out of the Union’s
imposition of substantial fines upon eleven employees
employed by various employer members of the
Association. These employees had resigned from the

5 This right is embodied in Section 7 of the Act, 29 U.S.C.
Section 157, which states, in pertinent part:
Employees shall have the right to self-organization, to
form, join, or assist labor organizations, to bargain
collectively through representatives of their own choosing,
and to engage in other concerted activities for the purpose
of collective bargaining or other mutual aid or protection,
and shall also have the right to refrain from any or all such
(Emphasis added.)

(App. 28a n.3.)

It is the position of the ami curiae that the Labor
Board and the Court of Appeals for the Seventh Circuit
correctly concluded that “[t]he Section 7 right to refrain
from union activities encompasses the right of members to
resign from the union,” and that “because League Law 13

discipline, it frustrates the overriding policy of labor law
that employees be free to choose whether to engage in
concerted activities.” (App. 5a-Ga). Recognizing that
unions have an interest in preserving strength during a
strike, we nevertheless submit that such interest, which is
neither embodied in the Act nor reflected in any of the
extensive legislative history recited in the Petitioners’
Brief, does not stand in pari materia with the recognized,
guaranteed statutory right of the individual employee to
refrain from participating in concerted activities. Accord-
ingly, we urge that the interest of a union to adopt rules
that are calculated to require that its employees-members
stand “shoulder-to-shoulder” during a strike or a work
stoppage must yield, when balanced against the statutory
right of employees to refrain from union activities by
resigning from union membership. Although we contend
that such statutory right must always be found to override
the unions’ institutional self interests when the two

5

conflict, we note that such result is particularly warranted
where, as here, employees sought to resign from union
membership during the course of a protracted strike which
had caused them substantisl personal and financial
hardship.

We show below, contrary to the contentions raised by
the Petitioners in their brief, that the imposition of
substantial fines upon employees who have attempted to
resign their union membership in the midst of a pro-
tracted strike is clearly intended as a significant deterrent
to the employees’ attempt to resume employment contrary
to the wishes of their Union. As such, these fines directly
and proximately impinge upon the employment relation-
ship so as to fall squarely outside the limited immunity
afforded to labor organizations by the proviso to Section
&(b\ 1A) of the Act, 29 U.S.C. Section 158(b)\(1)(A), to
“prescribe their own rules with respect to the acquisition
or retention of membership therein.”

Finally, we show that Petitioners’ suggestion that
employees are unconditionally bound by their unions’
rules, including restrictions on their right to resign, is
erroneously premised upon the notion that employees who
become members of labor organizations do so freely and
voluntarily, and thai they are free to resign at times other
than during periods of strikes or lockouts or when such
activities are “imminent.” Such a notion ighores the

their continued employment.

A. Resrrictinc A Unton Memper's Ricut To Resien, Ano
Enrorcine Tuat Restriction By SusstanTiac Fives For
Post-Resicnavion Conpuct, Constrrutes “Restraint AND
Coercion” Viocatrve or Section 8b 1A) Or Tur Act.

In NLAB. v. Granite State Joint Board, Textile
Workers Union of America, Local 1029, AFL-CIO, 409 US.
213 (1972), and later in Booster Lodge No. 405, Inter-
national Association of Machinists v. N.L.R.B., 412 US. 84
(1973), this Court heid that a union violated Section
&(bM1MA) of the Act when it fined an employee who

The unions had contended that this Court's earlier
decisions in N.L.R.B. v. Allis-Chalmers Manufacturing

1
g
.
il
Ei
f
'

iH

N

ö
4

1
et
1
t
i

|

409 U.S. at 217. Turning to the bitter realities recited in
the facts of that case, the Court then noted that most of
the affected employees who chose to resign their mem-
bership and work behind the union picket line did so after
the seventh month of a strike which “was still in progress

regime.
409 U.S. at 217-18.

employees who, in the words of the Scofield Court, left
their union in order to “escape the rule,” many unions,
including the Pattern Makers League, were quick to adopt
constitutional or bylaw provisions that have the intention
and effect of locking employees into their union mem-
bership during strikes or lockouts, or when such events
appeared “imminent,” without the opportunity freely to
resign. However, the Board on at least three different
occasions has rejected union attempts to accomplish, by
the mere insertion of restrictive language regarding
resignation, the indirect restriction of resignation rights
which this Court would not permit directly in Scofield and
Granite State

In the first such case, Machinists Local 1327 (Dalmo-
Victor), 231 NLRB 719 (1977), rev'd and remanded 608
F.2d 1219 (9th Cir. 1979), on remand, 263 NLRB 984
(1982), enforcement denied, 725 F.2d 1212 (9th Cir. 1984),
petition for cert. pending, four of the five Board members
concluded (Member Jenkins dissenting) that an amend-
ment promulgated by the International Association of
Machinists in its constitution as a response to this Court's
Granite State decision® constituted a violation of Section
jn a concurring opinion in Granite State, 409 US. at 218,
Chief Justice Burger made the following pertinent observations:

The balance is close and difficult; unions have need for
solidarity and at no time is that need more pressing than

special protection to the associational ri ts of individuals
in a variety of contexts; through Section of the Labor Act,

Bib 1A) of the Act.’ In so ruling, Board Members
Fanning and Zimmerman reasoned that:

Tme Supreme Court's remarks in Granite State,
read in conjunction with the Scofield requirement
that union members must be free to leave the
union and escape the rule, lead inescapably to the
conclusion that a member's right to resign from a
union ies both to strike and nonstrike situ-
ations. We hold today that a union rule which
limits the right of a union member to resign only to
nonstrike periods constitutes an unreasonable
restriction on a member's Section 7 right to resign.

263 NLRB at 986.

Then-Chairman Van de Water and Member Hunter, in
a lengthy concurring opinion in Dalmo-Victor, offered the
following further analysis which led them to conclude that
any restriction imposed upon a union member's right to
resign was unreasonable and thus violative of Section
Bibi 1A):

Foo of the four majority Members (former Member Fanning
and Member Zimmerman) had concluded that “the right of
union members to resign is not absolute,” and, in the interest of
protecting the union’s “right” to maintain its strike objectives
they created a rule permitting unions to restrict resignations for

to 30 days. 263 NLRB at 987. Member Hunter and former

irman Van de Water, however, would have found il any
D at

that the restriction upon resignation contained in the Machin-
> aa Constitution clearly violated Section 3b) 1A) of

10

263 NLRB at 990, 991 n.47.“

Finally, the concurring Board Members rejected the
union’s contention that the institutional interests of the
union in preserving “strike solidarity” stood on equal

their union or its strike:

It is difficult to believe that union leaders are so far
removed from their rank and file that they cannot predict
how many deserters will encounter during a strike. T
the extent that union ials do have honest doubts about
their capacity to wage protracted economic war (a source of
concern if one accepts the underlying rationale of Allis-
— 2 —— —
are

secret ballot. , unions meant to be democratic
institutions. If unfettered freedom to resign so depletes a
union’s ranks over time that the of its strike is

is tempted to say that members have

Scarcely three months after it issued its decision in
Dalmo-Victor, a unanimous Board, this time consisting of
Chairman Van de Water and Members Fanning, Hunter
and Zimmerman, concluded in the case at bar that League
Law 13, which attempted to restrict resignation of the
League’s members during periods of strikes, lockouts, or
when such events appeared “imminent,” contravened
Section 8(b\ 1A) of the Act. The Court of Appeals for the
Seventh Circuit affirmed the Board's decision (App. la-8a)
and granted enforcement of its remedial order requiring
the Union to “[clease and desist from giving force and
effect to League Law 13” and “imposing fines and other
penalties upon former members for conduct in which they
engaged after their effective resignation from (the
Union]. (App. 17a.)

Finally, in June 1984, the Board for a third time struck
down, as violative of Section 8(b)(1)(A), a union's attempt
to restrict its members’ right to resign during a strike in
order to return to work without fear of monetary
sanctions. In International Association of Machinists and
Aerospace Workers, Local Lodge 1414 (Neufeld Porsche-
Audi, Inc, 270 NLRB No. 209, 116 LRRM 1257 (1984), a
Board majority consisting of Chairman Dotson and
Members Hunter and Dennis reaffirmed the Board's
earlier rulings on the issue, determining that:

12
M hen a union seeks to delay or otherwise impede

embership, restrict * a , ‘
mine the policies of Section 2 the cocend
proviso to Section &a\3)" that serve to prohibit a
union from compelling full membership.

Section db of the Act, 29 U.S.C. Section 1582 makes
it an unfair labor practice for a union:

1 aa
contested by the Union, either in the Circuit Court of Appeals or
before this Court.

The second proviso to Section 81 of the Act, 29 U.S.
Section 158(a\3), states, in relevant part:

|
;
7
1
2
{

5

g
i
1
|

1?

continue to regula mduct over which it would
otherwise have no control. We find no basis in the
Act for allowing unions to alter unilaterally the
statutory structure so carefully elucidated by the

Supreme Court.
116 LRRM at 1260 (footnote omitted).

In sum, over the past two years, three separate Board
panels comprising a total of six (6) different Members
whose views reflect the entire political spectrum from
liberal to conservative, have unequivocally rejected, as
unlawful, attempts by labor unions to restrict the rights of
their members freely to resign from membership. They
have so ruled even where the resignations have occurred
during periods such as strikes or lockouts when, admit-
tedly, the institutional need of those organizations for
“solidarity” is paramount.

It is disingenuous, we submit, for the Union to rely upon
the aberrational decision of the Ninth Circuit in the
second Dalmo-Victor case (Machinists Local 1327 v.
N.LA.B., 725 F.2d 1212 (1984)), for the proposition that
League Law 13 falls comfortably within the protection of
the proviso to Section 8(b(1)(A), which “reserves to unions
the power to make reasonable rules regarding the
retention and acquisition of membership,” and that,
accordingly, fines against employees for accepting post-

'! Former Member Fanning, a Democrat who ruled to strike
down the Machinists Union's restrictive provisions regarding
resignation during strikes in the Dalmo-Victor case, and who
also concurred with the Board majority in the instart case, was
appointed to his last term by former President Carter. Member
Zimmerman, an Independent who joined Member Fanning in
the majority decision in Da/mo-Victor, as well as the majority

inion in the case at bar, was likewise appointed by President

Former Chairman Van de Water and Member Hunter,
who wrote concurring opinions in Dalmo-Victor, as well as the
opinion in the case at bar, are Republicans who were appointed
by President Current Board Chairman Dotson, a
Republican, and Dennis, a Democrat, both of whom
joined the majority opinion in Neufeld Porsche-Audi, supra,
were also appointed by President Reagan.

14

resignation employment with the struck employer do not
constitute “coercion” within the contemplation of the Act
(Petitioners’ Brief, p. 8, quoting 725 F.2d at 1216). Rather,
as the Court observed in N.L.R.B. v. The Boeing Company,
412 U.S. 67 (1973), contrary to the Union's contention
herein, “all fines are coercive to a greater or lesser
degree.” 412 U.S. at 73. Thus, resolution of the issue
herein centers not upon whether these particular fines
might be deemed “coercive” but, rather, on whether union
imposition of such fines could necessarily be said to
impinge upon the employment relationship. Thus, the
Boeing Court held that:

The underlying basis for the holdings of A/lis-
Chalmers and Scofield |supra| was not that reason-
able fines were non-coercive under the language of
Section 8(b\1)(A) of the Act, but was instead that
those provisions were not intended by Congress to
apply to the imposition by the union of fines not
affecting the employer-employee relationship and
not otherwise prohibited by the Act.

* * * * * *

At least since 1954, it has been the Board's
consistent position that it has not been empowered

by Congress. to pass judgment on the penalties
a union may impose on a member so long as the
penalty does not impair the member's status as an
employee

412 US. 73. 74-5 (footnotes and citations omitted).

We can imagine no greater imposition upon a member's
status as an employee, nor a greater effect upon the
employer-employee relationship as envisioned by this
Court in Boeing, Scofield, Granite State, and their
progeny, than a union rule that purports to restrict a
member's right to resign thereby subjecting that member
to substantial fines should he exercise his right to
abandon a strike in order to return to work to feed his

c

15

family. Indeed, in this very case, the Board's Admin-
istrative Law Judge found that one of the affected
employees was fined “$4,200 for damages due injury the
Beloit Association for deserting the strike by returning to
work” (App. 29a), while the other ten (10) individuals who
attempted to resign their membership in order to return to
work were fined in an amount “approximately commen-
surate with their earnings . for returning to work
during the strike.” (App. 28a.) If the cost of returning to
work is moat, all of, or even more than, the amount the
employee stands to ear1 by doing so, no employee can
safely accept employment for the duration of any strike,
no matter how long the strike laste end without regard to
the economic hardships imposed upon him and his family
or the imminence of his being permanently replaced by his
employer. See N.L.R.B. v. Mackay Radio & Telegraph Co.
304 U.S. 333 (1938); Belknap, Inc. v. Hale. US. __,
103 S. Ct. 3172, 3177 (1983).

Surely, there are far less coercive means of enforcing a
union’s legitimate objective of group solidarity'’ during a
strike than by depriving an employee of his livelihood
through the use of fines equal to or greater than his
strike-period earnings. Aside from the not inconsiderable
peer pressure placed upon the employee by his fellow
workers, such less coercive means include suspension or
even expulsion from the union. While Section 8(a)(3) of the
Act'® protects an employee from losing his job as a result

i? While we agree that the desire to stand “shoulder-to-
shoulder” during a strike is an important union interest, this
interest is significantly diminished in the circumstances of the
so-called “sympathy” strike. In such situations, an employee
may be forced to remain out of work during the life of a
collective bargaining agreement, which is intended to protect
him from strikes or lockout, due to a dispute which has nothing
whatsoever to do with his employment. Buffalo Forge.Co. v.
United Steeworkers of America, AFL-CIO, 428 U.S. 397 (1976).

1 99 U.S.C. Section 158403). See footnote 10, supra, for the
text of its relevant proviso regarding discrimination by employ-
ers against employees for “non-membership in a labor
organization.”

16

of such union action, nevertheless there are both
tangible and intangible losses associated with loss of
union membership which a union member must weigh
before determining whether mid-strike resignation is
appropriate. Those losses may include, inter alia, the loss

Under the Supreme Court's decision in N.L.R.B. v. General
Motors Corp, 373 U.S. 724, 742 (1963), membership as a
condition of employment has been whittled down to its financial
core.” As this Court further observed:

It is permissible to condition employment upon mem-
bership, but membership, insofar as it has significance to
employment rights, may in turn be conditioned only upon
yment of fees and dues... .
Id. In his excellent article on the subject, Professor Wellington
refers to Radio Officers’ Union v. N.L.R.B., 347 U.S. 17 (1954),
where the Court noted that except for the payment of union dues
and fees provided for under a valid union security agreement,
“No other discrimination aimed at encouraging employees to
join, retain membership, or stay in good standing in a union is
condoned. (347 U.S. at 41-2.]” Wellington, supra, at 1050. He
then goes on to note that:
[Ak a matter of federal labor policy, the conclusion that a
worker may not be discharged for resigning is consistent
with the overriding intent of both Section 8(a)(3) and
Section 8(b\(1A) to separate employment rights from
union rights. Just as union discipline cannot be enforced by
either actual or threatened job discrimination, it seems
clear that no union security clause, however broad, can
justify discharge of a former member who has resigned to
escape union discipline, so long as he meets his minimal
financial obligations.
Id. at 1059-51 (footnotes omitted).

Unfortunately, as we discuss more fully at 19-22, infra,
most union members are not sufficiently familiar with this
rather sophisticated concept of labor law to understand or
appreciate their legally recognized right to resign their union
membership while still continuing to pay periodic dues in
accordance with the union security clause of their employer's
collective bargaining agreement. See N.L.R.B. v. Hershey Foods
Corp., 513 F.2d 1083 (9th Cir. 1975); Ogden, Dalmo-Victor: A
— Sleep Deserves a Hershey Kiss, 35 Lasor LJ. 374
(1984).

— — —

17

of union benefits,“ including pensions, insurance, strike
benefits, medical facilities, recreation centers, and de-
pendents’ scholarships, as well as the right to attend union
meetings and social functions or to be heard within the
union’s councils, the right to hold union office, and the
opportunity to participate in the formulation of bargaining
proposals and to vote for or against a proposed contract
once it has been agreed upon at the bargaining table.
General Motors, 373 U.S. at 737.“

Discouraging employees from accepting employment by
means of disciplinary fines is no less coercive than a
union’s overt attempt to force an employee to forego his
right to refrain from supporting its strike by threats and
intimidation.’” General Motors, supra; Hershey Foods,
supra. Both forms of conduct, we submit, are unlawful,
and cannot be condoned by this Court.

TS Such benefits would not, of course, include any that are
provided pursuant to a collective bargaining agreement between
the union and the employee's employer.

16 For a more detailed discussion of the effects of resignation
upon the employee-member, see Wellington, supra, at 1045-48.

Indeed, as recently as November 7, 1984, a unanimous
Board panel consisting of Chairman Dotson and Members
Zimmerman and Dennis determined, contrary to the agency's
administrative law judge, that a union which sought to impose a
reinitiation fee upon two members who had previously resigned
their membership but sought to rejoin in order to comply with
the terms of their employer s union security t with the
union, did so in derogation of the employees’ ion 7 “right to
refrain from joining unions as full members and to meet only
their financial core obligations.” The Board, therefore, concluded
that “the imposition of the additional initiation fees on the
Charging Parties acted as a penalty for the exercise of their
Section 7 rights.” Professional Engineers Local 151 (General
Dynamics Corp.,), 272 NLRB No. 164, 117 LRRM 1443, 1444
(1984).

18

B Tue Prrrrioxkks Conrention THat Membersuir In Laon
Unions Is Enterep Iro Freety AND Voiuntarity Is
Misteapinc AND Erroneous.

The Petitioners rely heavily upon the notion (see
Petitioners’ Brief, pp. 34-38) that the Union's con-
stitutional restriction against resignation is further
justified by common law concepts concerning the right of
voluntary associations to restrict the conditions under
which their members may resign their membership. To
support this contention, the Petitioners recite a line of
cases in which various courts have determined that
voluntary associations such as country clubs, medical
societies, and automobile dealership advertising consortia
were free to promulgate rules restricting the manner and
method in which members could tender their resignation
from those associations. The common thread in those
cases, however, is that the persons who sought to resign
their membership from the particular organization “volun-
tarily submitted to the rule of the majority. Leon v.
Chrysler Motors Corporation, 358 F. Supp. 877, 885
(D.N.J. 1973) (emphasis added.

Clearly, the linchpin of each of these cases and, indeed,
of the Petitioners’ argument regarding the applicability of
the common law of voluntary associations, is the freedom

indeed. there is serious doubt as to the efficacy of
associational restrictions upon its members’ right to resign, even
assuming, arguendo, that its members do, in fact, freely and
voluntarily enter the association. According to one leading
treatise referred to by the Petitioners in their Brief (at p. 36):
A member may lawfully resign at any time from an
association or club and te.minate his liability for dues and
fees, upon payment of all accrued charges, and a bylaw
which restricts this right or makes the withdrawal subyect to

19
and voluntariness with which members joined their
respective associations. Thus, Petitioners argue:

with the further ing that other mem-

dictates that he may be bound by a union

he agreed requiring him to continue his
membership
(Petitioners’ Brief, p. 38; emphasis added.)

The underscored language recited above reflects the
Petitioners’ misleading and erroneous premise that, like
members of a golf club or medical society, union members
acquire their membership voluntarily, and that they are
free to leave at times other then p-.iods of strikes,
lockouts, or when such events are “imminent.” As we show
below, this premise is clearly invalid.

According to a recent comprehensive survey conducted
by the Bureau of National Affairs of over 400 collective
bargaining agreements from across the U.S. covering
bargaining units which include 50 or more employees,
some 73 percent of those contracts contained either union
ees to become and remain members of a labor union as a
condition of their continued employment. To the average
~ 1 Bureau of National Affairs, Collective Bargaining Nego-
tiations and Contracts, vol. 2 pp. 87:1-87:4 (1983).

20

worker covered by such provisions, which are contained in
a collective bargaining agreement dictating the terms and
conditions of his employment, mandatory membership
requires not simply that the employee pay an initiation
fee and periodic monthly dues, but that he join the union,
thereby assuming whatever might be the duties and
obligations of union membership, as well.

Most contractual union security agreements, including
the provisions contained in collective bargaining agree-
ments between the League and the Union in the case at
bar, are silent with respect to the rights of members to
resign from full membership, retaining only their “finan-
cial core” obligatioris to pay periodic dues and initiation
fees. Indeed, the only class of union security provision that
affirmatively notifies the worker of his limited financial
obligation is the “agency shop” clause, under which
employees are not required to join the union, but mere:y to
pay a service charge equal to or less than union dues.
However, the “agency shop” clause, according to the
above-referenced survey of nationwide collective bar-
gaining agreements, appears in only five percent of the
contracts surveyed.”

As Professor Wellington has cbserved:

[Most union security clauses fail to inform the
worker that his statutory obligation is limited to
payment of dues. This failure is hardly surprising.
... There is little reason to believe that the

So long as unions do not affirmatively discluse to newly
hired employees of unionized establishments — by a
specific constitutional provision, by less all-encompassing
union security agreements, or by clear and unambiguous

Wellington, supra, at 1051-52, citing and quoting from
Allis Chalmers, 388 US. at 215 (Black, J., dissenting). See also
Evans v American Federation of Television & Radio Artists, 354
F. Supp. 823 (S.D.N.Y. 1973), rev'd and remanded sub nom.

v. American Federation of Television & Radio Artists,
496 F.2d 305 (2d Cir.), cert. denied, 419 US. 1093 (1974).

22 23

have tended to obscure, rather than to emphasize, the CONCLUSION

financial core obligations so fervently espoused by the

Petitioners in their Brief. Thus, this Court has suggested For the foregoing reasons, Safeway Stores, Incorporated;
that even those employees who join labor unions and California Porsche-Audi; San Francisco Auto Center;

retain their membership in those organizations solely
under the assumption that such membership is a condition
of their continued employment, are presumed to have
undertaken full-fledged membership, absent clear evi-
dence to the contrary. Allis- Chalmers, 388 U.S. at 196-97,
citing International Association of Machinists v. Street, 367
U.S. 740, 774 (1961).

It is sheer sophistry for the Petitioners to suggest that
‘their members joined “freely and voluntarily” and thereby
agreed to be bound by Union rules and regulations. To the
contrary, the typical employee's initial decision is not to
join or not join the union, but rather is to accept or not

accept a job with a unionized employer, governed by a (415) 433-1940, (301) 528-9545,

union security provision. Accordingly, in most cases, an By Wesuey J. Faser By Warren M Davison,
employee-member has not voluntarily chosen to join the Counsel of Record Li Rogert STELLMAN,

union, but instead has voluntarily chosen to work for an Cen R Caine. — —
employer, and joins the union merely as an imposed .
condition of that employment. Petitioners’ reliance upon Porsche-Audi, San Francisco Auto
cases purporting to construe the “common law of volun- — 111
tary associations” is, therefore, utterly misplaced and munications Systems. Inc

should be rejected by this Court.

APPENDIX

ApPpENDIXx 1

AMERICAN FEDERATION OF LABOR AND CONGRESS
or INDUSTRIAL ORGANIZATIONS

(Lego) 815 Sixteenth Street, N.W.

Washington, D.C. 20006
(202) 637-5000

November 19, 1984

Carol R. Caine, Esq.

Littler, Mendelson, Fastiff & Tichy
650 California Street, 20th Floor
San Francisco, CA 94109-2693

Re: Pattern Makers, et al v.
NLRB, et al., No. 83-1894

Dear Ms. Caine:

On behalf of the petitioners in the above-noted case, I
hereby consent to your request to file a brief amicus curiae
in support of the position of the respondents; my consent is
premised on the understanding that the brief will be filed
on or before the due date for respondents’ brief.

Sincerely,

Laurence Go tp,
Counsel of Record.

AppENDIX 2

Fany & Cueney, Lrp.

Attorneys at Law
Suite 202 NOV 26 1984
303 North Main Street ‘Stamped Date’
Rockford, Ilinois 61101

November 19, 1984

Wesley J. Fastiff, Esq.

Littler, Mendelson, Fastiff & Ticky
Attorneys at Law

20th Floor

650 California Street

San Francisco, California 94108

Re: Pattern Makers’ League of North America,
AFL-CIO, et al. v. National Labor Relations
Board and Rockford-Beloit Pattern Jobbers
Association, No. 83-1894

Dear Mr. Fastiff:

In response to your telephone request, Respondent,
Rockford-Beloit Pattern Jobbers Association consents to
your filing an amicus curiae brief in the above-captioned
case on behalf of Safeway Stores, Inc., European Motors,
California Porsche-Audi Lincoln-Mercury, San Francisco,
California, Auto Center, Lucas Dealership Group and
Lynch Communications Co., Inc. and supporting the

position of Respondents.
Very truly yours,

Fany & Cueney, Lro.,
Epwarp J. Fany,
Attorney for Rockford-Beloit
Pattern Jobbers Association.
EJF :|kj
ce: Lawrence Gold, Esq.
Rex E. Lee Esq.
Wilford W. Johansen, Esq.
Norton J. Come, Esq.

APPENDIX 3

U.S. DepartTMeENT or JusTICE
(Logo) Office of the Solicitor General

Washington, D.C. 20530
November 20, 1984

Carol R. Caine, Esq.

Littler, Mendelson, Fastiff & Tichy
650 California Street, 20th Floor
San Francisco, California 94108-2693

Re: Pattern Makers’ League of North America, et
al. v. National Labor Relations Board, et al.,
No. 83-1894

Dear Ms. Caine:

As requested in your letter of November 13, 1984, I
hereby consent to the filing of, a brief amicus curiae on
behalf of Lucas Dealership Group and Lynch Com-
munications Systems, Inc. (Nev.).

Sincerely,

Rex E. Les,
Solicitor General.

AppENDIX 4

U.S. DepaRTMENT OF JUSTICE
(Logo) Office of the Solicitor General

Washington, D.C. 20530
November 6, 1984

Carol R. Caine, Esq.

Littler, Mendelson, Fastiff & Tichy
650 California Street, 20th Floor
San Francisco, California 94108-2693

Re: Pattern Makers’ League of North America, et
al. v. National Labor Relations Board, et al.,
No. 83-1894

Dear Ms. Caine:

As requested in your letter of October 30, 1984, I hereby
consent to the filing of a brief amicus curiae on behalf of
Safeway Stores, Incorporated, California Porsche-Audi.
San Francisco Auto Center and European Motors, Ltd.

Sincerely,

Rex E. Lee,
Solicitor General.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385012_0773%3A08. Public record. Not legal advice.
