# Reply Brief — Gentile v. State Bar of Nev.

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385012_0757%3A10

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Reply Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1991
- **Citation:** 501 U.S. 1030

## Text

i
APR 8

No. 89-1836
— = THE CLERK

IN THE .
Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1990

DOMINIC P. GENTILE,
- Petitioner

STATE BAR OF NEVADA,
Respondent

On Writ of Certiorari to the Nevada Supreme Court

REPLY BRIEF OF PETITIONER

MICHAEL E. TIGAR *
University of Texas School of Law

SAMUEL J. BUFFONE

TERRANCE G. REED

ASBILL, JUNKIN, MYERS & BUFFONE
CHARTERED

1615 New Hampshire Avenue, N.W.

Washington, D.C. 20009

(202) 284-9000

NEIL G. GALATZ
Las Vegas, Nevada

* Counsel of Record

WILSON - Eres PRINTING Co., Inc - 789-0096 - WASHINGTON, D.C. 20001

D
1991

Fly

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES .......... ii
FEES EE a 1
I. ATTORNEY SPEECH AND FAIR TRIALS
ARE NOT INCOMPATIBLE ................ 2
Il. RESPONDENT HAS FAILED TO JUSTIFY
A SPECIAL STATUS FOR ATTORNEY
SDT En Sad UE as en 9
Ill. THE RULE IS BOTH VAGUE AND OVER-
a ERSTE aE a SS NE 14

ii iii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued
CASES Page
; MISCELLANEOUS Page
Alderman v. United States, 394 US. 165 (1969)... ABA, Alternate Draft of the Model Rules of Pro-
or State Bar of Arizona, 433 U.S. 350 . fessional Conduct (1981) eeeeeooessess 4
Bridges v. California, 314 U.S. 252 (1941) 1, 11, 13, 14 gp owe Fo me Lawyers, ABA’ Seurnal om
Cammer v. United States, 350 U.S. 399 (1956) il . Weteioen 4 MG om i ba oe on
Craig v. Harney, 331 U.S. 367 (1947)... 12, 13 : 1908). ae American Law ™
Eaton v. Tulsa, 415 U.S. 697 (1974)... 1l Sechoston Rethinking Confidentiali oe. car aay
a : harias, g Confidentiality II: Is Con-
edema fidentiality Constitutional? 75 Iowa L. Rev. 601
ay cer Neen ccesseuvenmeceons 7
Hirshkop v. Snead, 594 F.2d 256 (4th Cir. 1979) . 15 Zunker, Public Perception of the Legal Profession,
In re Little, 404 U.S. 697 (1974) .. — 1 Texas Bar Journal 78 (January 1985) 10
In re Sawyer, 360 U.S. 622 (1959) . aaai 10, rr ee we neenenencecocce
Landmark Communications, Inc. v. Virginia, 435
15 SE 8) er 14

Levine v. United States Dist. Court for the Cent.
Dist. of California, 764 F.2d 590 (9th Cir.

1985) .. - - 3
Nebraska Press Ass’? n v. Stuart, 427 US. “539

CIGD acecenncerecccccceseeenenennnenmennneneneennne 1,3
Pennekamp v. Florida, 328 U.S. 331 (1946) i 13
Procunier v. Martinez, 416 U.S. 396 (1974)... 4
Seattle Times Co. v. Rhinehart, 467 U.S. 20

(1984) . ——— 7
Stroble v. California, 343 US. 181 (1952) suena 9
Virginia Pharmacy Bd. v. Va. Consumer Council,

, 2 eS 8) a ee 5
Wayte v. United States, 470 U.S. 598 (1985) 4
Wood v. Georgia, 370 U.S. 375 (1962) 11,14

RULES AND STANDARDS
8 SS), ee passim
ABA Model Rule 3.5 _........ cumini ats 7
NY) DS 11,14
NUN 5
Standard 8-1.1(a) of the ABA Standards Relating
to the Administration of Criminal Justice ___. = 3

IN THE
Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1990

No. 89-1836

DOMINIC P. GENTILE,
Petitioner
Vv.
STATE BAR OF NEVADA,
Respondent

On Writ of Certiorari to the Nevada Supreme Court

REPLY BRIEF OF PETITIONER

INTRODUCTION

Respondent and amicus Solicitor General urge this
Court to find, on this record, an irreconcilable conflict be-
tween First Amendment free speech and Sixth Amend-
ment fair trial interests. They ask the Court to do here
what it has wisely refused to do in the past, “assign
priorities as between First Amendment and Sixth Amend-
ment rights, raising one as superior to the other.”
Nebraska Press Ass’n v. Stuart, 427 U.S. 539, 561
(1976).?

1 See also, Bridges v. California, 314 U.S. 252, 260 (1941) (“For
free speech and fair trials are two of the most cherished policies of
our civilation, and it would be a trying task to choose between
them”’).

2

Respondent and amicus conjure up this constitutional
collision by asserting that a special class of speakers——law-
vers—-are entirely exclided from claiming the same First
Amendment rights afforded all other speakers. By con-
trast, Petitioner asks this Court to follow its prior prece-
dent, and to reconcile the competing constitutional inter-
ests, hy upholding the traditional idea that less restric-
tive alternatives to content-based suppression of truthful
speech will protect litigants and the justice system from
unfair trials. In particular, Petitioner submits that fair
trials and free speech by lawyers can co-exist, and the
record in this ease offers ample, uncontradicted, evidence
that this is so.

Moreover, this Court’s precedent demonstrates that the
way to avoid a collision between free speech rights and
fair trial interests lies in application of the working prin-
ciples developed under the clear and present danger test.
Respondent would avoid a careful assessment of the al-
leged threat to fair trial interests claimed to exist in this
case, and would further ask this Court to ignore the tra-
ditional judicial practices which can, and did here, ensure
both trial fairness and speech rights. To create a con-
stitutional confrontation between the Sixth and First
Amendments, the State Bar and amicus ask the Court to
find that the judicial use of available less restrictive
means of preserving fair trials creates sufficient inde-
pendent harm to fair trial interests to justify speech sup-
pression. As we spell out below, the justice system pro-
vides ample constitutionally permissible devices to hold
lawvers to their oaths.

I. ATTORNEY SPEECH AND FAIR TRIALS ARE
NOT INCOMPATIBLE.

The record in this case, as acknowledged by the Nevada
Supreme Court, establishes that Mr. Gentile’s comments
caused no actual prejudice to the Sanders case. (Cert.
App. 4a). Moreover, the Bar presented no direct evidence

3

of potential prejudice flowing from Mr. Gentile’s remarks.
Even the American Bar Association, appearing as amicus
in support of its Rule, does not contend that the Rule ap-
plies to the facets of this ease. ABA Amicus Brief, at
2 n.2.

Confronted with the absence of any record basis to
sustain a finding of potential prejudice, Respondent at-
tempts to divert this Court’s attention by offering a series
of inapposite hypotheticals which it claims are the neces-
sary consequence of sustaining the First Amendment. in-
terests at stake in this case.” Respondent’s “parade of
horribles” begins with criticism of this Court’s Nebraska
Press opinion as establishing an unworkable and impos-
sibly stringent standard,” one which would force burden-
some trial management efforts upon courts to protect
against even the most egregious examples of attorney
speech. Respondent’s Brief, at 12. Respondent then
portrays Petitioner’s arguments as requiring absolute
deference to the protection of attorney speech regardless
of the consequence to the fair administration of justice.
In the process, Respondent rejects any possible compati-
bility between attorney speech and Sixth Amendment fair

2 Respondent also seeks to divert th Court's attention from the
specific factual findings made below, in which the Disciplinary
Board identified only six statements as ethical violations (JA. 2-3),
by arguing that other statements made by Mr. Gentile which were
not the subject of discipline also violated various ethical rules. See,
e.9., Respondent’s Brief, at 2, 36.

* Contrary to Respondent's expressed concern that the Nebraska
Press standard is unworkabie as applied to counsel, federal courts
have issued gag orders on counsel using a clear and present danger
test. See, e.g., Levine v. United States Dist. Court for the Cent
Dist. of California, 764 F.2d 590, 595 (9th Cir. 1985). This allegedly
unworkable standard has been employed without difficulty by the
ABA and by several states. See Standard 8-1.1(a) of ABA Stand-
ards Relating to the Administration of Criminal Justice (1978) :
Respondent’s Brief, at 20 n.21 (listing states which have adopted
clear and present danger test). Indeed, California has no ethical!
rule relating to attorney speech on pending litigation.

4

trial interests. Respondent’s error lies not only in its
mischaracterization of Petitioner’s position but, more
fundamentally, in a misapprehension of this Court’s
teaching.

Where the State seeks to suppress presumptively pro-
tected speech, it must establish both that the practice in
question furthers a _ substantial government interest
and that the proposed limitations on speech are no greater
than necessary to protect the identified governmental in-
terest. See Wayte v. United States, 470 U.S. 598 (1985) ;
First Nat’l Bank of Boston v. Bellotti, 435 U.S. 765, 786
(1978); Procunier v. Martinez, 416 U.S. 396 (1974).
The first step in this analysis is for the State to define
the countervailing interest it seeks to protect, and to
establish its importance vis a vis speech rights.

Here, despite the repeated references in the briefs of
Respondent and the Solicitor General to the State’s in-
terest in a fair trial, their argument reveals that the
interest they seek to protect is not that of a fair trial,
but rather a more general interest in limiting speech
by attorneys. For example, the Solicitor General con-
tends that speech about pending litigation by a non-
lawyer is fully protected by the First Amendment, and
suggests that defendants can make the same statements
uttered here either directly or through non-lawyer spokes-
persons. Solicitor General’s Amicus Brief, at 7. The
Solicitor General suggests that while non-lawyers may
freely disseminate information prejudicial to fair inter-
ests, the same information cannot be uttered by lawyers.
Id. at 25. The Solicitor General even asserts that the
prosecution cannot be held accountable for speech by
its agents, including the police. Jd. at 23 n.15. Respond-
ent would also accept other potential sources of comment
on the judicial process, arguing that the press and non-
participants in the trial process are afforded full First
Amendment protection. Respondent’s Brief, at 21.

5

Such selective prohibition of speech prejudicial of fair
trial interests is incompatible not only with the justice
system’s need to preserve fair trials but also with the
State’s obligation to provide them, Hence, the willingness
of the Solicitor General and Respondent to authorize
prejudicial speech by non-lawyers demonstrates that the
State is not seeking to further fair trials, but rather its
generic interest in regulaiing attorneys. As against this
narrow State interest,‘ the First Amendment takes
precedence.®

* The nature of this interest has not been clearly articulated by
Respondent. Even the ABA, which similarly contends that trial
fairness is not the only interest justifying its Rule, see ABA Amicus
Brief, at 7, fails to clarify what this interest is. This Court has
held that the suppression of attorney speech to foster “professional-
ism” cannot withstand First Amendment scrutiny. See Bates v.
State Bar of Arizona, 433 U.S. 350, 364 (1977). Cf. Virginia Phar-
macy Bd. v. Va. Consumer Council, 425 U.S. 748, 770 (1976) (legis-
lature may not suppress informative pharmacist speech in order to
protect reputation of profession).

5 Indeed substantial doubt exists whether the Solicitor General
believes that the rules of ethics it seeks to enforce here would apply
to prosecutors. The Solicitor argues that a lawyer’s license, pre-
sumably including that of prosecutors, carries with it ethical obliga-
tions that limit speech, and offers as an example the ethical prohibi-
tion on communications with persons represented by counsel. See
Solicitor General’s Amicus Brief, at 17, citing ABA Model Rule 4.2.
Assistant Attorney General Robert S. Mueller, who is a signatory
to the Solicitor’s brief, has taken a contrary position in other
pending federal litigation. In United States v. Lopez, Cr. 89-0687
(N.D. Cal.), Mr. Mueller filed a “Brief Of The Criminal Division
Of The Department Of Justice” on February 11, 1991 in which he
argued that this very ethical rule did not apply to federal prosecu-
tors due to the Supremacy Clause and also because the separation
of powers doctrine limits the ability of federal courts to impose
ethical rules on federal prosecutors. Respondent distances itself
from this public position of the Attorney General when it argues
that “it seems highly likely that the state bar’s ethical provisions
will be recognized as binding on federal prosecutors, as a matter of
federal common law.” Respondent’s Brief at n.33, p. 34.

6

Respondent also fails to demonstrate that the means
chosen to vindicate this asserted State interest, here the
discipline of Petitioner, is no greater an infringement on
speech rights than is necessary to protect the State's
interest. Petitioner fully agrees with the contention of
the Solicitor General that lawyers have a duty not to
make comments prejudicial to a fair trial. Solicitor Gen-
eral’s Amicus Brief, at 7. Here, no such prejudicial com-
ments were made. The narrower issue this case presents
is what the State Bar must show to punish speech that
does not prejudice fair trial rights.

Lacking evidence of actual or potential prejudice in
the record, Respondent and its amici turn to extreme
hypothetical cases to argue that lawyers can cause prej-
udice. For example, Respondent expresses concern about
lawyer commentary on inadmissible evidence, and the
Solicitor General worries that the First Amendment will
be used to justify breaches of a !awyer’s duty to main-
tain client confidences or to violate the ethical prohibi-
tion on contacting represented parties.* The concerns are
real, but the proposed response is wrong, especially under
the circumstances of -his case, where none of these con-
cerns are present.

Certainly, publication of inadmissible material, as the
police did in the Sanders case with the public announce-
ment of lie detector and drug test results, is a signifi-
cant step closer to a serious threat of prejudice, and in
appropriate circumstances may cunstitute a clear and
present danger to fair trial interests. No such speech
was made by Petitioner here. Similarly, the First Amend-
ment should offer no defense for the breach of a lawyer's
duty to maintain client confidences any more than it
shields a lawyer who discloses national security secrets
or third party privacy matters that are the subject of a
protective order. See Seattle Times Co. v. Rhinehart, 467

® But see footnote 5, supra.

7

U.S. 20 (1984); Alderman v. United States, 394 U.S.
165 (1969)." Again, no such breach of these duties is
alleged here.

Petitioner does not suggest that the First Amendment
relieves attorneys of their duties to their clients or to the
court. Petitioner parts company with Respondent, how-
ever, when it contends that the Sixth Amendment elimi-
nates the free speech rights of attorneys without proof
of actual prejudice or even a serious and imminent threat
to fair trial interests.

Respondent’s “parade of horribles” assumes that trial
judges are powerless to protect themselves with anything
but burdensome curative measures which would delay
the trial until an impartial jury could be selected. Re-
spondent’s Brief, at 23-24. Respondent has miscast our
argument as requiring such absurd results. We have
conceded the authority of the trial court to utilize case
management techniques, including practices ranging from
voir ire to gag orders and contempt findings, to main-
tain the fair administration of justice. All parties agree
that trial judges can, upon a proper showing, issue pre-
cise and specific orders to protect the fairness of trials
or the privacy interests of affected parties. See Seattle
Times Co. v. Rhinehart, 467 U.S. 20 (1984); Alderman
v. United States, 394 U.S. 165, 181-85 (1969). In addi-

7 A lawyer’s agreement to preserve client confidences is a contract-
based limitation on speech premised on a relationship of profes-
sional employment which can be enforced by contract or tort action.
Some commentators have argued that, in limited circumstances, the
First Amendment does protect an attorney’s disclosure of client
confidences from ethical prohibitions. See Zacharias, Rethinking
Confidentiality I]: Is Confidentiality Constitutional? 75 lowa L.
Rev. 601 (1990). Obviously, the Court is not called upon to resolve
this issue in this case. Similarly, any er parte contact of a sitting
juror by an attorney does not seek to inform the public and carries
a high risk of prejudicing jurors; it can be prohibited by a gag
order or by Rule, see ABA Model Rule 3.5, and it merits punish-
ment under an actual prejudice or clear and present danger test.

8

tion, trial lawyers, no strangers to the doctrine of waiver,
will not create prejudicial publicity in the vain hope that
a court will be sympathetic to a request to cure a prob-
lem of the lawyer’s making."

Finally, if an inflammatory press conference is held
by the prosecution or defense on eve of trial, it may
result in swift and certain punishment by contempt
either because it violates a gag order or because it con-
stitutes misconduct. In this electronic age, the evidence
of such misconduct would be near at hand, and it would
readily be used to sustain a finding of a clear and
present danger to the proceedings.

Indeed this case provides a cogent example of how
Respondent has overstated the problem, and trivialized
the available remedies that do not infringe the right of
free speech. Neither the state prosecutor nor the trial
court raised any claim of prejudice in the Sanders case.
Hence, those with the greatest interest in identifying
actual or potential prejudice from Mr. Gentile’s remarks
claimed none. The trial court simply engaged in tradi-
tional voir dire, which it employed with no adverse effect
on trial fairness or efficiency. Faced with a record bar-
ren of any prejudice, Respondent substitutes for such
evidence the speculation that the timing of Mr. Gentile’s
comments renders them especially likely to prejudice pro-
spective jurors. This argument also lacks merit.

Mr. Gentile’s comments occurred on the day of his
client’s arraignment, the same day that Mr. Gentile
learned of the scheduling of a trial date some six months
in the future. Respondent, and the Nevada Supreme
Court, have inferred from the timing of Petitioner’s
statements that it was chosen to maximize the potential
prejudice because of alleged increased public attention
to the case at the time of arraignment. To the contrary,

* See also, Petitioner's Brief, at 39 (describing tactical reasons
why defense attorneys are reluctant to speak about pending
matters).

9

and as the record bears out, Mr. Gentile’s comments were
timed to nave the least possible impact on fair trial
interests.

As Mr. Gentile testified below,’ after researching the
issue, he relied on this Court’s prior precedent sustain-
ing the fairness of a capital trial because six weeks was
a sufficient time to dissipate any potential prejudice from
the prosecution’s public disclosure of the defendant’s in-
criminating confession. See Stroble v. California, 343
U.S. 181 (1952). Here, Mr. Gentile knew that the trial
would take place at least six months after the date of
arraignment, a far more substantial period of time for
the dissipation of any potential prejudice. Moreover, the
press accounts of the Sanders case bear out this assess-
ment: most of the media attention is clustered around
either the early police disclosures or the Sanders trial.
See J.A. 84-134. Mr. Gentile’s comments were made
when trial was not imminent. Accordingly, Mr. Gentile’s
remarks were appropriately timed not to pose a risk of
potential prejudice.

Il. RESPONDENT HAS FAILED TO JUSTIFY A SPE-
CIAL STATUS FOR ATTORNEY SPEECH.

Lacking proof of prejudice from Mr. Gentile’s com-
ments, the State Bar and the Solicitor General offers a
more general argument that attorneys enjoy unique cred-
ibility with the public, and argue therefore that attorney
speech always represents a special danger of causing
prejudice in all circumstances. Of course, they offer no
empirical or other evidence to support this conclusion.
Nor has the State Bar or supporting amici responded to
the uniform conclusion of researchers, as cited in Peti-
tioner’s opening brief," that the general risk of juror
prejudice from all extrajudicial speech, including attor-

* J.A. 59-60.
1 Petitioner's Brief, at 29-30.

10

ney speech, is negligible. Before an attorney can be be-
lieved he must be heard, and the voir dire in this case,
as well as the available research, indicate that there is no
substantial risk of prospective juror exposure to lawyer
speech.

Respondent posits that the public attaches greater cred-
ibility to attorney speech than that of all other speakers.
The hard reality is to the contrary. See L. Friedman, A
History of American Law 303-05 (2d ed. 1985) (de-
tailing low esteem in which lawyers held by American
public beginning in colonial period) ."'

Wholly apart from the issue of lawyer credibility gen-
erally, the publie is equally if not more likely to discount
the speech of lawyers as that of a partisan advocate of a
client.'* This public reaction is especially likely when
an attorney is an advocate against the amassed institu-
tional credibility of the State and its agents.

Most significant for constitutional purposes, the posited
“special impact” of lawyer speech upon the public is com-
pletely conjectural, and is not supported either by the
record in this case or by any supporting empirical study.’’

"! See also, Curtin, “Killing” All the Lawyers, ABA Journal 8
(September 1990) (describing low public image of lawyers);
Zunker, Public Perception of the Legal Profession, Texas Bar Jour-
nal 78 (January 1985) (lawyers will never win popularity contest
because every lawsuit has a loser, and delays inherent in judicial
process; lawyers “need to recognize and accept certain realities
about .. . how the public perceives us.” )

12 See Friedman, supra, at 304. (“At various points in history,
the lawyer has been labeled a Tory, parasite, userer, land speculator,
corrupter of the legislature, note shaver, panderer to corporations,
tool of the trusts, shyster, ambulance chaser, and loan shark. Some
of his bad odor is due to his role as hired hand. The rich and
powerful need lawyers and have the money to hire them.”’).

'" This brand of speculation is similar to that rejected in Jn re
Sawyer, 360 U.S. 622 (1959), where the government sought to

justify attorney discipline by arguing that attorney claims of

11

In fact, neither the drafters of ABA Model Rule 3.6, nor
the ABA’s Amicus Brief, mention lawyer credibility as a
reason for the suppression of lawyer speech.

In constructing its novel “special status” argument,
Respondent attempts to sidestep this Court’s precedent
applying the clear and present danger test to speech con-
cerning pending litigation by arguing that these cases
only dealt with press rights,‘ while the Solicitor General
tries to avoid these cases by arguing that they involved
only the speech rights of non-participants in the pending
litigation."* Neither contention is accurate. In addition,
Respondent simply ignores this Courts’ prior holding in
Wood v. Georgia, 370 U.S. 375 (1962), a case that re
jected Respondent’s principal argument that a speaker’s
status as an “officer of the court” eliminates his First
Amendment rights."

That this Court’s free speech precedent protects speech
about pending litigation by speakers other than the press
is established by several cases. See, e.g., Bridges v. Cali-
fornia, 314 U.S. 252, 276 (1941) (telegram by union
representative to Secretary of Labor about pending union
case); Wood v. Georgia, (letter from county sheriff to
sitting grand jury) ; Eaton v. Tulsa, 415 U.S. 697 (1974)
(speech by witness in criminal trial); Jn re Little, 404
U.S. 697 (1974) (speech by defendant in criminal! trial).

judicial error cause public doubt about judicial integrity. In the
judgment of this Court, “We can indulge in no involved speculation
as to petitioner’s guilt by reason of the imaginations of others.”
Id. at 635.

'* Respondent's Brief, at 12-13.

5 Solicitor General's Brief, at 11 (cases enunciating clear and
present danger principle “have all addressed the relationship be-
tween the judicial system and outsiders to the system.”’)

16 The Wood case involved a county sheriff, an acknowledged officer
of the court. In Cammer v. United States, 350 U.S. 399 (1956),
this Court, held that, unlike bailiffs and marshals, lawyers are not
“officers” of the court “within the conventional meaning of that
term.” Jd. at 405.

12

In each of these cases, this Court employed the same test
that the Court has applied to speech by the press. See,
e.g., Craig v. Harney, 331 U.S. 367 (1947). Similarly,
these cases refute the Solicitor General’s contention that
this Court has only provided full First Amendment pro-
tection to speakers who are not participants in pending
litigation. See also Petitioner’s Brief, at 16-18 (colonial

tradition of Jawyer commentary on pending litigation).

Respondent’s search for some explanation why this
Court should abandon the “working principles” fashioned

over the last half century to accommodate both free
speech and fair trial interests ultimately comes to rest
upon the dissenting and concurring opinion in In re
Sawyer, 360 U.S. 622 (1959), while ignoring the actual
holding of that case."”

In the Sawyer case, an attorney had been disciplined
for making a public speech about a pending Smith Act
trial in which she was defense counsel. The attorney’s
comments ranged from criticism of the trial proceedings
to challenging the testimony of government witnesses,
with a general characterization of the proceeding as
shocking and unfair. Five Justices joined in a judgment
of the Court holding that the disciplinary authorities did
not, as a factual matter, prove that the attorney’s com-
ments impugned the integrity of the trial court, the
charge for which discipline was imposed. Id. at 625. In
the words of Justice Brennan, “Speculation cannot take
over where the proofs fail.” Jd. at 628. Most significant
for this case, the Court held:

Since no obstruction or attempt at obstruction of the
trial was charged, and since it is clear that the find-

'* Respondent chides Petitioner for not citing Sawyer. Respond-
ent’s Brief, at 14 n.12. In fact, Petitioner cited and quoted from the
Sawyer opinion in the petition for certiorari and correctly noted
that the Court declined to rule upon the constitutional issue raised
in this case. Pet. at 6 n.1.

13

ing upon which the suspension rests is not support-
able by the evidence adduced, we have no occasion to
consider the applicability of Bridges v. California,
314 U.S. 252 (1941); Pennekamp v. Florida, 328
U.S. 331 (1946); or Craig v. Harney, 331 U.S. 367
(1947), which have been extensively discussed in the
briefs. We do not reach or intimate any conclusion
_on the constitutional issues presented.

Id. at 626-27 (emphasis added; parallel citations omitted).

Accordingly, the Sawyer opinion did not resolve the
constitutional issue raised here, although the Court did
acknowledge that it reviewed the facts under the same
vigorous standard of review applicable to First Amend-
ment claims.'* More important, the Sawyer opinion iden-
tified the very cases Petitioner has previously cited as
relevant to this case—Bridges, Pennekamp, and Craig—
as pertinent authority for the resolution of this reserved
constitutional issue.

To claim that five Justices in Sawyer voted for its view
of the law, Respondent stitches Justice Stewart’s concur-
rence together with the opinions of four dissenters. This
argument evaporates when one reads Justice Stewart’s
words: he began with a justified encomium to lawyer’s
ethics, and he then noted that a professional obligation to
keep client confidences could not be overcome by a claim
of free speech. While we agree, this statement does not
support Respondent’s broad view. Finally, Justice
Stewart noted, as had the plurality, that the case would
be different if it involved an “attempt to obstruct or prej-
udice the due administration of justice.” Because that

18 360 U.S. at 640. The Respondent attempts to conceal the sig-
nificance of the Sawyer opinion’s plenary review by suggesting that
the Court’s searching factual review was prompted by the territorial
jurisdiction of the Hawaii courts, not by the Court’s constitutional
precedent. Compare Respondent's Brief, at 13 n.11 with Sawyer,
360 U.S. at 640.

14

case did not, as the present case does not, Justice Stewart
declined to join what he termed the “dissenting opinion.”

Ill. THE RULE IS BOTH VAGUE AND OVERBROAD.

The briefs of the State Bar and amici serve to
strengthen Petitioner’s contention that Rule 177 is both
vague and overbroad. None of the responding briefs of-
fers any reconciliation between the categories of speech
proscribed in Rule 177(2) and the simultaneous protec-
tion offered such speech in Rule 177(3). Nor has Re-
spondent or amici attempted to explain what is meant by
Rule 177(3)’s authorization of otherwise prohibited
speech as long as it is “without elaboration.” As Peti-
tioner explained in his testimony below, one section of
the Rule appears to prohibit precisely what the other
section approves. (J.A. 59). Unfortunately, in determin-
ing the proper limits of his speech, Petitioner could not,
as have Respondent and supporting amici, simply ignore
the apparent ambiguities in the Rule.”

1° The ABA’s amicus brief has disclosed a more basic ambiguity
in the standard applied in this case. The ABA’s brief asserts, without
citation, that the “substantial likelihood” of prejudice test of Rule
177(1) is different from, and less speech protective than, the clear
and present danger test. ABA Amicus Brief, at 12. Accord, Re-
spondent’s Brief, at 27 n.26. The drafters of Model Rule 3.6, how-
ever, indicated that they chose this standard because it was equiva-
lent to the clear and present danger standard. ABA, Alternate
Draft of Model Rules of Professional Conduct 275 (1981) (language
of what would become Rule 3.6 “incorporates a standard approxi-
mating clear and present danger” test and requires a “serious and
imminent threat” of prejudice, citing Landmark Communications,
Inc. v. Virginia, 435 U.S. 829, 844 (1978); Wood v. Georgia, 370
U.S. 375 (1962); Bridges v. California, 314 U.S. 252, 273 (1941) ).
The Solicitor General has also previously asserted that the “substan-
tial likelihood” test of Model Rule 3.6 was equivalent to a clear and
present danger test. Pet. Amicus Brief of Solicitor General, at 10.
When the authors and supporters of a Rule cannot agree on its
meaning, it can hardly be considered pellucid. This persistent uncer-
tainty as to what, precisely, is the standard articulated in Rule

15

In addition, Respondent offers no response to Petition-
er’s overbreadth challenge *’ other than to deny that Peti-
tioner has challenged the Rule on overbreadth grounds,
and to assert that the categories of speech identified in
the Rule are sufficiently narrow. Respondent’s Brief, at
31-32. The Solicitor General, in turn, denies that the
Rule prohibits categories of speech. Solicitor General’s
Amicus Brief, at 28. Neither offer any suggestion as to
how Petitioner’s speech violated the Rule other than to
repeat that it fell within one of the proscribed categories
of speech.

Finally, Respondent suggests that the Rule is not over-
broad because its broad language will not be literally en-
forced.*' Respondent and amici strive mightily to offer
narrow, if contradictory,” interpretations of the Rule.
For example, the applicability of Rule 177(2)’s prohibi-
tions to bench trials are justified solely because they will
rarely be invoked.** The extensive breadth of the Rule
cannot be justified by giving unbridled discretion to its
enforcers to pick and choose the targets of its enforce-
ment. The attorney discipline in this case teaches that
lesson.

177(1), both underscores it vagueness and offers yet another reason
not to depart from the longstanding working principles of the clear
and present danger test.

20 See Petitioner’s Brief, at 48-49.
21 See, e.g., Respondent’s Brief, at 31 n.31, 32 n.32.

22 For example, Respondent argues that intent is not an element
of an ethical violation, while the Solicitor General believes it is.
Compare Respondent’s Brief, at 32 n.32 with Solicitor General’s
Brief, at 7, 29 n.16.

*3 Respondent’s Brief, at 32 n.32; Solicitor General’s Brief, at 28
n.16. But see Hirshkop v. Snead, 594 F.2d 356, 371-72 (4th Cir.
1979) (en banc) (disciplinary rule prohibiting extrajudicial attorney
speech in bench trials unconstitutional after Pennekamp).

16

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, the judgment of the Nevada
Supreme Court should be reversed.

Respectfully submitted,

MICHAEL E. TIGAR *
University of Texas School of Law

SAMUEL J. BUFFONE

TERRANCE G. REED

ASBILL, JUNKIN, MYERS & BUFFONE
CHARTERED

1615 New Hampshire Avenue, N.W.

Washington, D.C. 20009

(202) 234-9000

NEIL G. GALATZ
Las Vegas, Nevada

* Counsel of Record

i.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385012_0757%3A10. Public record. Not legal advice.
