# Amicus Curiae Brief — Countyof Riverside v. McLaughlin

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385012_0756%3A16

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1991
- **Citation:** 500 U.S. 44

## Text

a>

No. 89-1817

In the Supreme Cou

OF THE

United States

OCTOBER TERM 1990

COUNTY OF RIVERSIDE and Coils Byrp,
SHERIFF OF RIVERSIDE COUNTY,
Petitioners,

VS.

DONALD LEE MCLAUGHLIN, et al..
Respondents.

On Writ Of Certiorari To The United
States Court of Appeals For the Ninth Circuit

BRIEF OF AMICUS CURIAE IN
SUPPORT OF RESPONDENTS ON
BEHALF OF THE YOUTH LAW CENTER

CLAUDIA WRIGHT

MARK I. SOLER

LOREN M. WaARBOYS

YouTtu Law CENTER
114 Sansome Street, Suite 950
San Francisco, CA 94104
Telephone: (415) 543-3379

Attorneys for Amicus Curiae

TABLE OF CONTENTS

TABLE OF AUTHIORITIES .. i. cc eee cceees

INTEREST OF AMICUS CURIAE............

PETE Dace ewecvocceccacecoscess

The principle of standing

established in Gerstein is

essential to remedy constitutional

violations in institutional cases. .........

CRETE bo cence nreveseescencesovéeees

il iii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
PAGE Schall v. Martin, 467 U.S. 253 (1984) ............ 4
CASES | Sosna v. Iowa, 419 U.S. 393 (1974) ............. 2
Avery v. Powell, 695 F. Supp. 632 (D.N.H. 1988).... 3 Tucker v. Phyfer, 819 F.2d 1030
es pace decccees 3
Ball v. Wagers, 795 F.2d 579 (6th Cir. 1986)....... 3
United States Parole Commission v.
City of Los Angeles v. Lyons, 461 U.S. 95 (1983)... 3 Geraghty, 445 U.S. 388 (1980) ...... ee 29
Cruz v. Collazo, 84 F.R.D. 307 (D.P.R. 1979) ...... 3 White v. Matthews, 559 F.2d 852 (2d Cir. 1977).... 3
D.B. v. Tewksbury, 445 F. Supp. 896 Wilkerson v. Bowen, 828 F.2d 117 (3rd Cir. 1987)... 3
Se Ga studoekeusceséaceunnal 7
Gary H. v. Hegstrom, 831 F.2d 1430 STATUTES
PU CED bcbabeéakvewekecadhen va 7
EEE 1
Gerstein v. Pugh, 420 U.S. 103 (1975)........... 1,2
Juvenile Justice and Delinquency
In re Thornburgh, 869 F.2d 1503 (D.C. Cir. 1989).. 3 Prevention Act, 42 U.S.C. § 5600, et seq. ... 7
Jones v. Diamond, 519 F.2d 1090 (Sth Cir. 1975) ... 3
OTHER AUTHORITIES
Milonas v. Williams, 691 F.2d 931
(10th Cir. 1982), cert. Federal Rules of Civil Procedure, Rule 23......... 2
denied, 460 U.S. 1069 (1983) ............. 5
Reed v. Bowen, 849 F.2d 1307 (10th Cir. 1988).... 3

Robinson v. City of Chicago,
868 F.2d 959 (7th Cir. 1989)............. 3

1
INTEREST OF THE AMICUS CURIAE

The Youth Law Center is a non-profit public
interest law organization which is dedicated to the pro-
tection of the rights of young people. The attorneys and
staff of the Youth Law Center engage in a variety of
advocacy activities, including litigation over violations of
constitutional and statutory rights of children. The
litigation docket of the Center includes a large number
of cases that challenge the conditions and procedures of
institutional confinement. The majority of these cases
are class action cases conducted pursuant to 42 U.S.C. §
1983.

The Youth Law Center represents youth in civil
rights litigation in jails, juvenile detention centers, juve-
nile training schools, and adult prisons. It is the rule in
these cases, rather than the exception, that named plain-
tiffs and class representatives who are confined at the
commencement of the litigation are released or trans-
ferred, or otherwise undergo some change in legal sta-
tus, during the pendency of the litigation. Classes of
juvenile plaintiffs are generally even more transitory
than classes of incarcerated aduits because periods of
detention or other confinement tend to be relatively
brief. In our cases we often rely on the principles artic-
ulated by this Court in Gerstein v. Pugh, 420 U.S. 103,
110 n. 11 (1975), when issues of standing or mootness
are raised. Gerstein provides an exception to the gener-
al rule in cases involving transitory claims for cases
"capable of repetition, yet evading review.” This Amicus
brief in support of the respondent will address the im-

2

portance of that exception in the context of institutional
litigation.

ARGUMENT

The principle of standing established in Gerstein
is essential to remedy constitutional violations in
institutional cases.

The courts have long recognized that cases may
arise in which constitutional violations have occurred,
but are of such short duration that individual plaintiffs
may lose their standing to pursue injunctive relief. The
class action is the vehicle by which injunctive relief may
be pursued in such cases. Sosna v, Iowa, 419 U.S. 393,

399 (1974); Gerstein v, Pugh, 420 U.S. 103, 110 n. 11

(1975); United States Parole Commission v. Geraghty,
445 U.S. 388, 398 (1980).

Lawyers at the Youth Law Center, as well as our
colleagues at the American Civil Liberties Union Na-
tional Prison Project, the Mental Health Law Project,
the National Center for Youth Law, and others, includ-
ing independent litigators such as the counsel of record
fur the piaintiffs here, comply with the procedural re-
quirements described in the above cases: when injunc-
tive relief is sought, named plaintiffs and plaintiff repre-
sentatives are incarcerated in the institution in question,
and are suffering from the alleged harms, at the com-
mencement of litigation. A request for class certifica-
tion is included in the complaint. This practice meets
the standing requirement of Sosna and Gerstein and

3

assures the adequacy of representation of the class _
required by Rule 23, Fed. R. Civ. P. As a general mat-
ter, named plaintiffs and plaintiff representatives must
be members of the class at the time of class certifica-
tion. However, Sosna and Gerstein provide for an
exception in the event of transitory claims for which no
individual will retain standing long enough for the court
to rule on class certification.' The plaintiffs in this case
have clearly met these requirements.

The situation is different for constitutional claims
by individual plaintiffs. In City of Los Angeles v. Lyons,
461 U.S. 95, 105 (1983), the Court made clear that in
order for an individual plaintiff to retain standing to
pursue injunctive relief, he must make a showing of a
"real and immediate threat” of a future constitutional
violation, id, at 105, regardless of any violations that
might already have occurred. In that case, since Lyons
could not make such a showing, his claim for injunctive
relief was dismissed. In a class action, the standing
requirement is satisfied because members of the class
continue to face the “real and immediate threat” of

' These principles are widely accepted among the federal
courts. See White v. Matthews, 559 F.2d 852, 857 (2d Cir. 1977);
Wilkerson v. Bowen, 828 F.2d 117, 121 (3rd Cir. 1987); Jones v.
Diamond, 519 F.2d 1090, 1097 (5th Cir. 1975); Ball v. Wagers, 795
F.2d 579, 581 (6th Cir. 1986); Robinson v. City of Chicago, 868 F.2d
959, 968 (7th Cir. 1989); Reed v. Bowen, 849 F.2d 1307, 1310 (10th
Cir. 1988); In re Thornburgh, 869 F.2d 1503, 1509 n. 7 (D.C. Cir.
1989); Cruz v. Collazo, 84 F.R.D. 307, 316 (D.P.R. 1979); Avery v.
Powell, 695 F. Supp. 632, 642 n. 13 (D.N.H. 1988); But cf. Tucker v.
Phyfer, 819 F.2d 1030 (11th Cir. 1987) (proposed named piaintitf
aged out of class before class certification was requested).

4

future constitutional violation. The Gerstein exception
for class actions was not addressed in Lyons.

The gist of the argument of the defendants is that
the principle of Lyons should be extended to apply to
class action cases. Simply put, their argument is that for
any plaintiff who has suffered a constitutional violation
to be eligible for injunctive relief, regardless of whether
he is a member or representative of a class suffering
similar violations, a showing must be made that the
violation at issue will happen, to him, again. Defen-
dants argue that it should not matter that the violation
will occur to other members of the class, even if the
unconstitutional conduct is the result of clearly stated
policy and is certain to reoccur. The suggestion of the
defendants is a novel one, and is unsupported by prece-
dent. Perhaps that is why the issue was so quickly dis-
posed of by the Ninth Circuit.”

Such an extension of the principles of Lyons
would have a profound negative effect upon the ability
of classes of incarcerated or institutionalized plaintiffs to
obtain relief from illegal conduct which results in viola-
tions of their constitutional rights. This possibility is
cause for concern in situations such as that presently at
issue, i.e., the systematic denial of prompt probable
cause determinations before incarceration, but becomes
even more disturbing upon consideration of other types
of violations that frequently occur in institutions, such as

2 It is also clear that if this argument were accepted, this Court
would not have had jurisdiction to decide Gerstein, as well as Schall
v. Martin, 467 U.S. 253 (1984), which was decided after Lyons.

5

extended isolation, lack of proper sanitation, inadequate
fire safety, and improper use of mechanical restraints.
Life-threatening practices continue to occur in institu-
tions, and often the only effective means of protecting
plaintiffs is the federal court injunction. The Youth Law
Center has had substantial experience in such situations.

For example, in Milonas v, Williams, 691 F.2d
931 (10th Cir. 1982), cert, denied, 460 U.S. 1069 (1983),
a class of juvenile plaintiffs challenged conditions at the
Provo Canyon School in Utah. The oppressive and
dangerous conditions included the practice of grasping
children’s hair and pulling backward, called the "hair
dance”; locking children up in tiny isolation cells for
long periods of time; and subjecting children to poly-
graph tests as part of their "therapy". The damages
portion of the case was tried before a jury, and the court
later entered a permanent injunction prohibiting the
challenged practices. The Court »f Appeals for the
Tenth Circuit specifically considered the issue of stand-
ing. Id, at 936-38. On the date the lawsuit was filed,
the District Court had ordered that the named plaintiffs
be removed from the facility and placed elsewhere
because of the threat of retaliation against them. The
class had not been certified at that time. The defen-
dants challenged the standing of the named plaintiffs.
The Court of Appeals applied the rule of Gersteis: in
affirming the District Court decision that the named
plaintiffs met the standing requirements, because they
were in the facility at the time the complaint was filed,
and that the class was properly certified.

In Bobby M. v, Martinez, Civ. Case No. TCA 83-

6

7003 MMP (N.D. Fla. January 5, 1983) (Complaint), a
class of over 1200 children challenged the conditions of
their confinement in three Florida training schools. A
preliminary injunction was issued that prohibited the
practice of “hogtying” which consisted of binding hands
and feet with metal handcuffs and strapping the con-
necting chains of the cuffs together behind the child’s
back. It was discovered that children as young as ten
years old were subjected to this practice, and were al-
lowed to remain chained in this fashion for several
hours or days at a time. Even after the state Inspector
General condemned the practice in a report to the
Legislature, the practice persisted until it was enjoined
by the federal court. Id. (Order on Preliminary Injunc-
tion, July 14, 1983.) The District Court issued another
injunction that prohibited the extensive use of isolation
of children in strip cells. Id, (Order on Use of Security
Units and Lockup, July 5, 1984.) Children ten, eleven
and twelve years of age were often held in isolation for
periods of more than a month, without access to books,
television, or regular contact with other people. Be-
cause of these injunctions, mechanical restraints and
isolation are no longer used in these institutions.
During the investigation of the Bobby M. case,
plaintiffs’ counsel discovered a group of teenage boys
with chicken pox who, because they were thought to be
infectious, were housed in a storage closet that had no
ventilation, no toilet or bath facilities, and no sheets for
their plastic covered mattresses. A consent decree was
entered in the case which required the state to provide
adequate medical care. Id, (Consent Decree, May 8,

1987.)

Danny O. v. Bowman, Civil No. 84-1272 (D.
Idaho July 12, 1985) (Judgment) involved children held
at the State Youth Services Center in St. Anthony, Ida-
ho. Children were punished in this institution by being
placed in strait jackets, attached to hooks, and hoisted
to hang upside down from the ceiling. They were also
forced to stand against walls and sit on chairs for excru-
ciatingly long periods of time, often for days. The case
was tried before the federal court and these practices
were found to violate the constitutional rights of the
plaintiffs and were prohibited.

In Gary H, v, Hegstrom, 831 F.2d 1430, 1433-37
(9th Cir. 1987) (Ferguson, J., concurring), children were
placed in filthy isolation cells for extended periods of
time. In Robert K. v, Bell, Civil Action No. 83-287-0
(D.S.C. April 30, 1984) (Consent Decree), the court
restricted the practice of placing mentally disturbed
children naked in four point restraints and forcibly
injecting them with psychotropic drugs. These are just a
few examples of the types of practices for which plain-
tiffs turn to the courts for protection. Actions for dam-
ages after the harm has been done, as suggested by the
defendants, are not sufficient to protect children from
these abusive violations.

Similar cases arise which involve children who
are held in adult jails. Even though this practice has
been roundly condemned, and federal statutes provide
incentives to its prohibition by the states, see Juvenile
Justice and Delinquency Prevention Act, 42 U.S.C. §
5600, et seq. (1974), it continues. In these instances

8

standing is a critical issue because confinement, as in
Gerstein, is usually brief. As the court noted in the
leading case of D,B. v, Tewksbury, 445 F. Supp. 896, 898
(D.C. Or. 1982),? "Children do not stay in CCCF for
long periods of time... 70 percent of the children who
were confined in CCCF in 1981 were released within 24
hours.” The case proceeded to trial as a class action
and resulted in a ruling that incarceration of any child in
that facility pending adjudication by the juvenile court
was a violation of the Fourteenth Amendment. The
conditions in this jail were truly appalling:

Children held in CCCF are not issued sheets,
mattress covers or pillows. They sleep on mat-
tresses covered with urethane and they are given
a wool blanket. Occasionally children are not
given mattresses. Those children placed in isola-
tion cells sleep on cement floors.

No child lodged in CCCF may have underwear.

Toilet facilities at CCCF ar not screened from
view... [f]Jemale children using the toilet or show-
er are visible to male corrections officers. Male
children using the toilet are visible to matrons.

Children in CCCF are sometimes placed in either
of two isolation cells. These are 8’x 8’ window-
less concrete block rooms, barren of all furniture

3 This case was not litigated by the Youth Law Center.

9

and furnishings. Sometimes it is very cold in the
isolation cells. Near the center of the isolation
cell there is a sewer hole which is the only facility
for urination and defecation.... When the mecha-
nism for the sewer is flushed by a corrections
staff officer, water and sewage gushes onto the
cell floor. 445 F. Supp. at 898-99.

Clearly individual damage actions were not the
answer for the hundreds of children who had been held
in this Oregon jail; injunctive relief was the only sensible
legal method for preventing further harm. It made
sense for the children and it also made sense for the
court. The remedial injunction is the only effective
means of ending such abuses. Damages are retrospec-
tive and restorative and are traditional actions at law;
injunctions are prospective and protective and are tradi-
tional actions in equity. 11 Wright and Miller, Federal
Practice and Procedure § 2941 (1973). Their purposes
are not interchangeable. Rule 23(b) Fed. R. Civ. P.
specifically anticipates injunctive claims in class actions.

These cases have been important in protecting
children from unconstitutional practices. Injunctive
relief would have been impossible in virtually all of
them if each member of the class had been required to
show that the challenged practices were certain to hap-
pen to each of them, personally, in the future, as would
be required under Lyons.

In their brief at p. 23, defendants ask "What
interest do the named plaintiffs have in vigorously liti-
gating the question of whether individuals who may be
arrested in the future will receive prompt probable
cause determinations which, according to the allegations
of their complaint, they did not (and indeed now can-

10

not) receive?” (emphasis in original) The answer is that
their interest is in protecting the unnamed members of
their class, whom they are charged with representing,
from the harm that they have suffered. Geraghty, supra,
445 US. at 398. This is the essence of the class action,
and the underlying rationale for all the principles and
procedures which have developed around such litigation.

CONCLUSION

In our federal system, courts are often faced with
the delicate balance of protecting plaintiffs’ constitution-
al rights while also protecting the important principles of
equity, comity, and federalism. But the defendants here
are asking the Court to go too far. The argument they
press would make it virtually impossible for institutional-
ized plaintiffs to pursue injunctive relief to protect them-
selves from policies and practices that result in viola-
tions of their constitutional rights. For these reasons,
the Court should leave long precedent undisturbed, and
should reject the argument of the defendants on the
issue of standing.

Respectfully submitted,

CLAUDIA WRIGHT

MARK I. SOLER

LOREN M. WARBOYS
YOUTH LAW CENTER

114 Sansome Street, Suite 950
San Francisco, CA 94104

Attorneys for Amici Curiae

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385012_0756%3A16. Public record. Not legal advice.
