# Opposition Brief — United States v. Smith

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385012_0744%3A3

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1991
- **Citation:** 499 U.S. 160

## Text

In The

Supreme Court of the United States
October Term, 1989
*

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, ET AL.
Petitioners,

MARCUS 5S. SMITH, ET AL.,
Respondents.

—o

On Petition For A Writ Of Certiorari
To The United States Court Of Appeals
For The Ninth Circuit

>

BRIEF OF RESPONDENTS
MARCUS, HILDEGARD AND DOMINIQUE SMITH
IN OPPOSITION

*

Water A. Ovenrewsxi*

Asury Jom. Garoner

SiuimMan, Rocers, Ganpat, Porpy
& Ecwrre, PA.

One Montrose Metro

11921 Rockville Pike, Suite 300

Rockville, MD 20852

(301) 230-5218

“Counsel of Record

May 18, 1990

(12 RL) LAW BRD) PRINTING. CO). GD 2 oem
(mM CALL COM LMT co Me Pe

RECT AVAL ADIL CHD

QUESTION PRESENTED

Whether the Federal Employees Liability Reform and
Tort Compensation Act supercedes the Gonzalez Act and
deprives the Smiths of the cause of action against a
military physician (expressly recognized in subsection (f)
of the Gonzalez Act) for medical negligence committed
within the scope of his military medical duties overseas.

iv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases

Aviles v. Lutz, 887 F2d 1046 (10th Cir. 1989)......... 22
Bradley v. Kissinger, 418 F. Supp. 64 (D.D.C. 1976) .... 10
Chew Heong v. United States, 112 U.S. 536 (1884)...... 9
Henderson v. Bluemink, 511 F.2d 399 (D.C. Cir. 1974) .... 17
Mitchell v. Carison, 896 F.2d 128 (Sth Cir. 1990)..... 22
Morton v. Mancari, 417 U.S. 535 (1974) , 10

Newman v. Soballe, 871 F.2d 969 (lith Cir. 1989)
..4 7, 14, 21, 22

Posadas v. National City Bank of New York, 296 US

497 (1936) 10
Rayonier, Incorporated v. United States, 352 U.S. 315

(1957) | 15
——- Sev. and Loan Ass'n v. Federal Home Loan

Bank of San Francisco, 724 F. Supp. 683 (N._D. Cal

1989) 12

Smuth v. Marshall, 885 F.2d 650 (9th Cir 1989) passim

State of South Carolina v. Stoll, 84 U.S. (17 Wall.)
425 (1873) )

Linsted States v. Vuitch. 402 US. 62 (1971) 9

Washington v. U.S. Postal Service, 1990 W.L. 36239
(N.D. Tl. 1990) 12

Westfall ». Erwin, 484 US. 292 (1988) 15, 16, 22, 23

ed >

Vv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - Continued

Wood v. United States, 41 U.S. (16 Pet.) 342 (1842)..... 4

STATUTES:

Federal Employees Liability Reform and Tort
Com tion Act of 1988, Pub. L. No. 100-694,
102 Stat. 4563 (1988) (codified at 28 U.S.C.

§ 2679 (Supp. 1989))...... 22... 6. cece cence eens passim
a 12, 16
ee eisbescecsecccccccccccccccceces 5
errr beessecdsccccccccccccocess passim
ccc e ec cccceccescccectooscecces 13
ccc crpeccccssseccsccccccccccces 13
ere ceseccccesscoccsccccccces 2, 5, 24
Nee ccasccccsccccces 12
ee esas ccecccccsercccvcccccccce 12, 19
Neen en seseccccesceees 20
a5 UGC. 6 BEFPDMI)..................---.0000000e. 18
28 U.S.C. § 2679(b)(2)....... eee ee 3, 11, 18, 19, 20
MT ikrcrcscrsccsescescccccccvccscess 19
ese cbbececeserccencccccescce: 19
EEE PTT TTTTETETET TTT TT 21
ee . cceccccscvencess 21, 22, 23
Ce 12, 13, 16

38 U.S.C. § 4116(a)........

vi

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - Continued

Page
BD WE BH GRU cc cvccccccccccccseceenseccvesscces 13
Ge Ge Oe esc cccccccsent oeeeeeceessereeseess 12, 16
GD WA © Tie ccc cccccccccsSeccccccccscccecsccess 11
GB CRE © Bes vc cc ccccccccccscccecccesccesoscess 12
MISCELLANEOUS:
S. Rep. No. 94-1264, 1976 U.S. Code Cong. and
Se, Wen GED « ng 0'6.06806646660000060 00004 11, 16

No. 89-1646

>
In The

Supreme Court of the United States
October Term, 1989

2
UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, ET AL.,
Petitioners,
V.

MARCUS 5S. SMITH, ET AL.,

Respondents.

+

On Petition For A Writ Of Certiorari
To The United States Court Of Appeals
For The Ninth Circuit

+

BRIEF OF RESPONDENTS
MARCUS, HILDEGARD AND DOMINIQUE SMITH
IN OPPOSITION

2

Respondents Marcus, Hildegard and Dominique

‘Smith respectfully ask that the Petition for a Writ of

Certiorari sought by the United States to review the judg-
ment of the United States Court of Appeals for the Ninth
Circuit entered September 26, 1989 be denied.

SUMMARY OF THE ARGUMENT

The Petition for a Writ of Certiorari is based upon a
fundamental misstatement of the holding of the United

States Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit in Smith v.
Marshall, 885 F.2d 650 (9th Cir. 1989).

Contrary to the United States’ assertion, the court of
appeals did not hold that the Federal Employees Liability
Reform and Tort Compensation Act (“the FELRTCA”) is
inapplicable “whenever an exception to the Federal Tort
Claims Act would preclude an award of damages against
the United States”. Petition at 8.

To the contrary, the court of appeals held (1) that as a
military physician Dr. Marshall is susceptible to suit for
medical negligence committed within the scope of his
military medical duties overseas as provided in the
Gonzalez Act, 10 U.S.C. §1089(f); (2) that Dr. Marshall
enjoys immunity from personal liability (i.e. indemnifica-
tion by the United States) for any judgment rendered
against him in that action as provided in the Gonzalez
Act; and (3) that the FELRTCA does not deprive the
Smiths of the cause of action against Dr. Marshall pro-
vided in the Gonzalez Act.

The holding in Smith is consistent with the language,
purpose and legislative history of the Gonzalez Act, a
federal statute which specifically addresses the immunity
vel non of military physicians for claims based on medical
negligence committed within the scope of their military
medical duties overseas.

The holding in Smith is also consistent with the FEL-
RTCA, which was enacted to protect federal employees
from a perceived erosion in common law tort immunity

and was not intended to affect the immunity of federal
employees already protected by the Gonzalez Act and
other federal immunity statutes.

Consistent with this purpose, the FELRTCA and its
legislative history provide no evidence that Congress in-
tended to supercede or impliedly repeal the Gonzalez
Act. To the contrary, the FELRTCA expressly states that
the exclusive remedy provision (on which the United
States relies for the proposition that Dr. Marshall is abso-
lutely immune from suit) “does not extend or apply to a
civil action against an employee of the Government
which is brought for a violation of a statute of the United
States under which such action against the individual is
otherwise authorized.” See 28 U.S.C. §2679(b)(2).

As such, established principles of statutory construc-
tion support the court of appeals’ holding that the FEL-
RTCA does not supercede the Gonzalez Act, that Dr.
Marshall is susceptible to suit under the Gonzalez Act
and is entitled to immunity from personal liability for any
judgment entered against him in the Smiths’ action.

There is no controversy among the courts of appeals
concerning the proper resolution of the issue in Smith. To
the contrary, in the only other discovered case addressing
whether the FELRTCA supercedes a pre-existing federal
immunity statute, the United States Court of Appeals for
the Eleventh Circuit also held that a military physician-
defendant was specifically protected by the Gonzalez Act
and was therefore not among those federal employees

affected by the FELRTCA. See Newman v. Soballe, 871 F.2d
969 (11th Cir. 1989).

If the United States were to prevail on the position
advanced in the Petition, the parents of a severely injured
tort victim, now seven years old and without cognitive
life, will never recover damages that would at least ad-
dress the enormous cost of caring for their brain-devas-
tated child, and a military physician will avoid a
judgment for which the United States would ultimately
have indemnified him.

The court of appeals in Smith properly held that the
FELRTCA does not support this result and that the
Gonzalez Act expressly precludes it.

+>

REASONS WHY THE WRIT SHOULD BE DENIED

I. THE UNITED STATES MISSTATES THE HOLDING
OF THE COURT OF APPEALS IN SMITH ov. MAR-
SHALL

The United States’ assertion that the Supreme Court
of the United States should grant certiorari to review the
decision of the United States Court of Appeals for the
Ninth Circuit in Smith v. Marshall, 885 F.2d 650 (9th Cir.
1989), is based on a fundamental misstatement of the
holding in that case.

Contrary to the United States’ assertion, the court of
appeals in Smith v. Marshall did not hold that the FEL-
RTCA is inapplicable “and thus exposes federal employ-
ees to suit in their individual capacity - whenever an
exception to the Federal Tort Claims Act would preclude
an award of damages against the United States.” Petition

at 8. On the contrary, the court of appeals was not called
upon to decide an issue of such breadth. Instead, the
court of appeals properly delineated the only issues be-
fore it as follows: 1) whether an American military physi-
cian working in a foreign country is immune from a
malpractice suit under the Gonzalez Act, 10 U.S.C. § 1089
(1976)' and 2) whether an American military physician
working in a foreign country is immune from suit under
the recently-enacted Federal Employees Liability Reform
and Tort Compensation Act of 1988, Pub. L. No. 100-694,
102 Stat. 4563 (1988) (codified as amended at 28 U.S.C.
§ 2679 (Supp.1989)) See Smith v. Marshall, 885 F.2d at 651,
App. at 1-2a.?

Resolving the first of these issues, the court of ap-
peals properly held that the Gonzalez Act expressly gov-
erns the immunity vel non of military physicians who
commit acts of negligence within the scope of their mili-
tary medical duties, that subsection (f) of the Gonzalez

' The Gonzalez Act, 10 U.S.C. § 1089, also known as the
Medical Malpractice Immunity Act, is part of Chapter 55 of the
United States Code, entitled “[mjedical and dental care”. The
purpose of Chapter 55 “is to create and maintain high morale
in the uniformed services by providing an improved and uni-
form program of medical and dental care for members and
certain former members of those services, and for their depen-
dents.” See 10 U.S.C. § 1071.

2 Citations to “App.” are to the Appendix to the Petition.

Act plainly permits suit against individual military physi-
cians for medical negligence committed overseas,? that
subsection (f) of the Gonzalez Act accords such physi-
cians immunity from personal liability through indemni-
fication for any judgment rendered against them, and that
the Gonzalez Act therefore “does not give Dr. Marshall
[absolute] immunity from the Smiths’ suit.”4 See Smith v.
Marshall, 885 F.2d at 653, App. at 6a.

310 U.S.C. § 1089(f) provides:

The head of the agency concerned may, to the extent
that the head of the agency concerned considers
appropriate, hold harmless or provide liability insur-
ance for any person described in subsection (a) for
damages for personal injury, including death, caused
by such person’s negligent or wrongful act or omis-
sion in the performance of medical, dental, or related
health care functions (including clinical studies and
investigations) while acting within the scope of such
person’s duties if such person is assigned to a for-
eign country or detailed for service with other than a
Federal department, agency, or instrumentality or if
the circumstances are such as are likely to preclude
the remedies of third persons against the United
States described in section 1346(b) of title 28, for
such damage or injury.

* The court of appeals properly noted that this conclusion
is consistent with the position of the majority of courts which
have interpreted the Gonzalez Act and with the legislative
history, which demonstrates that Congress did not intend to
leave victims of medical negligence committed by American
military physicians in foreign countries without a judicial rem-
edy. Smith v. Marshall, 885 F.2d at 653, App. at 6a.

After the filing of briefs on Dr. Marshall’s suscep-
tibility to suit under the Gonzalez Act, the United States
withdrew its Gonzalez Act argument entirely, thereby
conceding that Dr. Marshall is susceptible to suit under
the Gonzalez Act for medical negligence committed by
him overseas and must be indemnified for a judgment
subsequently rendered against him. In its place, the Unit-
ed States asserted that the FELRTCA, which was enacted
during the pendency of the appeal, provided an “inde-
pendent source” of immunity for Dr. Marshall which
superceded [and therefore impliedly repealed] the
Gonzalez Act. Id. at 654. The United States relied solely
upon this interpretation of the FELRTCA to support its
contention that Dr. Marshall was entitled to absolute
immunity. See Smith v. Marshall, 885 F.2d at 651, App. at
3a.

Rejecting this contention, the court of appeals con-
cluded that the FELRTCA “did not take away the Smiths’
[Gonzalez Act] cause of action against Dr. Marshall,” that
the FELRTCA is therefore inapplicable to this case, and
that “we join the Eleventh Circuit in holding that [the]
FELRTCA does not bar medical malpractice claims
brought against military personnel serving abroad.” Id. at
656, App. at 12-13a.

5 The United States did so based on the Eleventh Circuit's
decision in Newman v. Soballe, 871 F.2d 969 (11th Cir. 1989),
which was decided after oral argument in Smith. See Smith v.
Marshall, 885 F.2d at 651, App. at 3a.

Thus, Smith v. Marshall does not hold that the FEL-
RTCA is inapplicable whenever an exception to the Fed-
eral Tort Claims Act would preclude an award of
damages against the United States, only that the FEL-
RTCA does not bar medical malpractice claims cognizable
under the Gonzalez Act for the medical negligence of
military personnel serving abroad. Id.

Significantly, the United States has not asked this
Court to review those aspects of the Smith decision which
concern Dr. Marshall’s susceptibility to suit and entitle-
ment to indemnification under the Gonzalez Act. Instead,
the United States asks this Court to review the court of
appeals’ holding that the FELRTCA does not supercede
the Smiths’ Gonzalez Act remedy against Dr. Marshall.

Il. THE COURT OF APPEALS IN SMITH v. MAR-
SHALL PROPERLY HELD THAT THE FEDERAL
EMPLOYEES LIABILITY REFORM AND TORT
COMPENSATION ACT DOES NOT SUPERCEDE
OR IMPLIEDLY REPEAL THE GONZALEZ ACT

Underlying each of the positions advanced by the
United States is the erroneous assertion that FELRTCA

© For this proposition, the United States apparently relies
on a portion of the Smith opinion, not part of the holding, in
which the court of appeals reasoned that the Gonzalez Act
expressly provides for a remedy against an individual military
physician for medical negligence committed within the scope
of his military medical duties in a foreign country and conse-
quently that a subsequently-enacted statute which, like the
FELRTCA, simply fails to address a remedy for the same

wrong was insufficient to “take away” the Smiths’ Gonzalez
Act remedy.

impliedly repealed the Gonzalez Act. As set forth below,
established principles of statutory construction preclude
such a finding and further establish that Smith v. Marshall
was properly decided.

It is an established rule of statutory construction that
implied repeals are not favored and that if effect can
reasonably be given to consecutive statutes, the presump-
tion is that the earlier statute is intended to remain in
force.” United States v. Vuitch, 402 U.S. 62 (1971); Chew
Heong v. United States, 112 U.S. at 536.

Established principles of statutory construction also
dictate that a statute dealing with a narrow, precise and
specitic subject is not submerged by a later-enacted stat-
ute covering a more generalized spectrum and that ab-
sent a clear intention otherwise, a specific statute will not
be controlled or nullified by a general one, regardless of

? To find an implied repeal,

[t}]here must be a positive repugnancy between the
provisions of the new laws and those of the old, and
even then the old law is repealed by implication only
pro tanto, to the extent of the repugnancy .. . It must
appear that the later provision is certainly and clear-
ly in hostility to the former. If, by any reasonable
construction, the two statutes can stand together,
they must so stand. If harmony is impossible, and
only in that event, the former law is repealed in part,
or wholly, as the case may be.

Chew Heong v. United States, 112 U.S. 536 (1884), quoting Wood v.
United States, 41 U.S. (16 Pet.) 342 (1842) and State of South
Carolina v. Stoll, 84 U.S. (17 Wall.) 425 (1873).

10

the priority of enactment.® Morton v. Mancari, 417 U.S.
535, 550-51 (1974). “The issue breaks down to whether a
clear intention otherwise” can be discovered, whether, in
short, it can be fairly concluded that the [later statute]
operated as a pro tanto repeal of [the earlier one].” Bradley
v. Kissinger, 418 F. Supp. 64 (D.D.C. 1976). Such an inten-
tion on the part of the legislature to repeal must be clear
and manifest. Posadas v. National City Bank of New York,
296 U.S. 497, 503 (1936). It is not enough to show that the
two statutes produce differing results when applied to
the same facts for that no more than states the problem;
rather, when two statutes are capable of co-existence, it is
the duty of the courts to regard each as effective. Morton
v. Mancari, 417 U.S. at 551.

As between the FELRTCA and the Gonzalez Act, only
the Gonzalez Act addresses the narrow issue as to the
form of immunity applicable to a military physician with
respect to claims arising out of medical negligence com-
mitted within the scope of his military medical duties

8 In Morton v. Mancari, this Court articulated:

The reason and philosophy of the rule is that when
the mind of a legislator has been turned to the de-
tails of a subject, and he has acted upon it, a subse-
quent statute in general terms, or treating the subject
in a general manner, and not expressly contradicting
the original act, shall not be considered as intended
to affect the more particular or positive previous
provisions, unless it is absolutely necessary to give
the latter one such a construction, in order that its
words shall have any meaning at all.

417 U.S. at 551.

11

in a foreign country.? As such, unless the FELRTCA ex-
pressly repeals the Gonzalez Act, there is no foundation
for a finding that the FELRTCA applies to this case.

Far from expressly repealing the Gonzalez Act, the
FELRTCA expressly contemplates that other federal stat-
utes may authorize actions against individual federal em-
ployees and expressly provides that the FELRTCA shall
not be construed in derogation of such statutes. See 28
U.S.C. § 2679(b)(2). Thus, Section 5 of the FELRTCA states
that the exclusive remedy provision on which the United
States relies “does not extend or apply to a civil action
against an employee of the Government which is brought
for a violation of the Constitution of the United States

. or for a violation of a statute of the United States
under which such action against an individual is other-
wise authorized.” See 28 U.S.C. § 2679(b)(2), App. at
22a.

* As set forth in the legislative history of the Gonzalez Act,
Congress expressly recognized that the Federal Tort Claims Act
does not apply to actions arising overseas and designed sub-
section (f) indemnification to immunize a military physician
from personal liability for all claims arising in foreign coun-
tries. See S. Rep. No. 94-1264, 1976 U.S. Code Cong. and Ad-
min. News 4443, 4451.

10 While the United States questions, without the benefit
of authority, whether a Gonzalez Act suit against a military
physician is properly characterized as a “violation” of the
Gonzalez Act within the meaning of Section 5, no discovered
cases have held otherwise.

In addition, at least one court has held that the FELRTCA
does not immunize an individual federal employee from suit
under 42 U.S.C. § 1985, a federal statute which provides a

(Continued on following page)

12

Thus, Congress has nowhere demonstrated an inten-
tion to repeal the Gonzalez Act or the host of other pre-
FELRTCA immunity statutes tailored to the concerns of
specific branches or functions of government. See e.g. 22
U.S.C. § 2702 (1980) (immunity statute covering State
Department employees); 38 U.S.C § 4116 (1965) (immu-
nity statute covering Veterans Administration employ-
ees); 42 U.S.C. § 2458a (1976) (immunity statute covering
NASA employees); 42 U.S.C. § 233 (1970) (immunity stat-
ute covering Public Health Service employees); 10 U.S.C.
§ 1054 (1986) (immunity statute covering Department of
Defense employees).

That Congress did not intend the 1988 enactment of
the FELRTCA to impliedly repeal pre-existing immunity
statutes is further demonstrated by its 1988 amendment
of the Veterans Administration Medical Malpractice Im-
munity Act, 38 U.S.C. § 4116"! to state that “the exception
[to the United States’ liability under the Federal Tort

(Continued from previous page)

remedy for specified conduct (conspiracy to interfere with civil
rights) which cannot accurately be described as a “violation”
of 42 U.S.C. § 1985. Washington v. U.S. Postal Service, 1990 W.L.
36239 (N.D.IIl. 1990). Another court has held that the FEL-
RTCA does not immunize federal employees from suits which
“arise under” the United States Constitution or federal stat-
utes. See Saratoga Sav. and Loan Ass'n v. Federal Home Loan Bank
of San Francisco, 724 F. Supp. 683 (N.D. Cal. 1989).

" Significantly, the Gonzalez Act was patterned after and
is substantially similar to 38 U.S.C. § 4116, a statute which
Congress enacted in 1965 to immunize Veterans Administra-
tion employees from personal liability for malpractice

(Continued on following page)

13

Claims Act, 28 U.S.C. § 1346(b)] provided in section
2680(h) of title 28 [retaining the United States’ sovereign
immunity for assault and battery] shall not apply” to
claims arising under that Act. This amendment demon-
strates Congress’ understanding that specific federal im-
munity statutes would remain effective notwithstanding
the FELRTCA. The 1988 amendment of the Veterans Ad-
ministration Medical Malpractice Immunity Act to pro-
vide a remedy for assault and battery,'? a cause of action
likely to arise out of a physician’s failure to provide a
patient with informed consent, also evidences Congress’
intent to tailor immunity statutes to the particular func-
tions of specific federal employees and to compensate
victims of their negligence.

Because the FELRTCA and its legislative history do
not support a finding that the FELRTCA impliedly re-
peals or otherwise supercedes the Gonzalez Act, the court
of appeals properly reconciled the statutes by holding, in
conformity with the only other court of appeals to have
addressed this issue, that as a military physician Dr.
Marshall is specifically protected by the Gonzalez Act

(Continued from previous page)

judgments and to compensate malpractice victims. See 38
U.S.C. § 4116. In addition to having identical purposes, each
act contains an almost identical opening subsection in which
the Federal Tort Claims Act is made the “exclusive remedy” for
specific torts. See 10 U.S.C. § 1089(a) and 38 U.S.C. § 4116(a).
Each act also contains a subsection which, in almost identical
terms, permits suit against an individual physician for medical
negligence arising in a foreign country and provides that the
physician shall be indemnified for any judgment rendered
against him in that action. See 10 U.S.C. § 1089(f) and 38 U.S.C.
§ 4116(e).

12 The Gonzalez Act so provides at 10 U.S.C. § 1089%e).

14

and is not among those federal employees affected by the
FELRTCA. See Newman v. Soballe, 871 F.2d at 969, 971
(11th Cir. 1989), and Section V, infra.

Ill. THE HOLDING OF THE COURT OF APPEALS IN
SMITH v. MARSHALL IS CONSISTENT WITH
THE PURPOSE AND LEGISLATIVE HISTORY OF
THE GONZALEZ ACT AND THE FEDERAL EM-
PLOYEES LIABILITY REFORM AND TORT COM-
PENSATION ACT

Properly stated, the holding in Smith is consistent
with the FELRTCA’s stated purpose “to protect federal
employees from personal liability for common law torts
committed within the scope of their employment”. See
Petition at 13, 21a. Indeed, the court of appeals held that
the Gonzalez Act plainly immunizes Dr. Marshall from
personal liability for any judgment rendered against him
in the Smiths’ action. As such, the holding in Smith does
not expose Dr. Marshall or other federal employees to
personal liability’? and is consistent with the stated pur-
pose of the Gonzalez Act and the FELRTCA.

Moreover, as stated in its preface, the FELRTCA was
enacted to protect federal employees from a perceived
erosion in common law tort immunity caused by this

13 Thus, the United States’ assertion that Smith v. Marshall
“renewls] the threat of individual liability,” “impedels] the
ability of the government to perform its responsibilities” and
“expose[s] a half million urban federal employees in the Ninth
Circuit to liability” is plainly wrong. Petition at 9.

15

Court’s decision in Westfall v. Erwin,'4 484 U.S. 292 (1988),
not to amend or repeal immunity statutes already enacted
by Congress.'5 Indeed, this Court in Westfall appeared

14 Because the defendants in Westfall were executive
branch employees not covered by then-existing federal immu-
nity statutes, the sole issue in Westfall was the immunity vel
non to be accorded those employees under coramon law princi-
ples of immunity. In resolving this issue, this Court explained
that official immunity should obtain only when the central
purpose of official immunity, promoting effective government,
outweighs the human cost associated with depriving a tort
victim of a judicial remedy:

This Court has always recognized . . . that official
immunity comes at a great cost. An injured party
with an otherwise meritorious tort claim is denied
compensation simply because he had the misfortune
to be injured by a federal official. Moreover, absolute
immunity contravenes the basic tenet that individu-
als be held accountable for their wrongful conduct.
We therefore have held that absolute immunity for
federal officials is justified only when the contribu-
tions of immunity to effective government in partic-
ular contexts outweigh the perhaps recurring harm
to individual citizens.

484 U.S. at 294. This Court consequently held that federal
employees are not entitled to common law immunity unless
the challenged conduct is within the outer perimeter of the
employees’ duties and is discretionary in nature.

'S In addition, the established principle that liability under
the Federal Tort Claims Act is determined according to the
substantive law of the place in which the alleged negligence
occurred may mandate a finding that the substantive law of
Italy, not the [American] common-law of tort, will govern this
action. See e.g. Rayonier, Incorporated v. United States, 352 US.

(Continued on following page)

16

to endorse the Gonzalez Act and other existing function-
specific immunity statutes by articulating that whether
immunity is warranted in a particular context should
depend on the degree to which the official function
would suffer under the threat of potential litigation and
consequently that a determination as to the propriety of
shielding an official from suit should be based on a
“functional” inquiry, i.e., immunity attaches to particular
official functions, not to particular offices. In this Court’s
view, the adoption of a functional approach properly
addressed the concern that federal officials enjoy immu-
nity only insofar as the benefits of immunity outweigh
the costs. See Westfall v. Erwin, 484 U.S. at 296, n. 3.

Significantly, neither the Westfall decision nor the
legislative history of the subsequently-enacted FELRTCA
supports the United States’ assertion that the FELRTCA
was designed to cover the entire federal work force with
one unified scheme of immunity, thereby superceding
and impliedly repealing all pre-existing immunity stat-
utes (including those which, like the Gonzalez Act, ex-
pressly recognize that military physicians should be
qualifiedly rather than absolutely immune from tort lia-
bility in specific circumstances). See also 38 U.S.C. § 4116;
42 US.C. § 233; 10 U.S.C. § 1054 (other federal immunity

(Continued from previous page)

315 (1957). Neither the FELRTCA nor its legislative history
suggests that the FELRTCA was intended to apply in this
circumstance. The Gonzalez Act, on the other hand, was de-
signed to apply in precisely this circumstance. See S. Rep. No.
94-1264, 1976 U.S. Code Cong. and Admin. News 4443, 4451.

17

statutes which expressly provide that Veterans Adminis-
tration medical personnel, Public Health Service medical
personnel, and Department of Defense legal personnel
should be qualifiedly rather than absolutely immune for
tort claims arising in foreign countries.) To the contrary,
by suggesting that “Congress is in the best position to
legislate [applicable immunity standards]”, this Court in-
vited Congress to address the desirability of additional
function-specific immunity statutes tailored, like the
Gonzalez Act, to minimize the human cost of immunity
and to assure that deserving claimants not be deprived of
remedies without a significant and corresponding benefit
to the efficiency of government.1¢

IV. THE HOLDING OF THE COURT OF APPEALS IN
SMITH v. MARSHALL DOES NOT CONTRAVENE
THE EXPRESS LANGUAGE OF THE FEDERAL
EMPLOYEES LIABILITY REFORM AND TORT
COMPENSATION ACT

The United States asserts that the holding in Smith
contravenes the exclusive remedy provision of Section 5

16 Significantly, it has been recognized that the chief policy
underlying the creation of immunity for lower governmental
officials, the desire to encourage “the fearless, vigorous and
effective administration of policies of government,” does not
apply to the exercise of medical discretion. This is because the
threat of liability for medical negligence does not deter the
fearless exercise of medical discretion within government ser-
vice any more than it deters the fearless exercise of medical
discretion outside government service. See Henderson v. Blue-
mink, 511 F.2d 399, 403 (D.C. Cir. 1974).

18

of the FELRTCA’”. Even assuming arguendo that the FEL-
RTCA applies to medical negligence claims arising in a
foreign country, Section 5 does not mandate a finding that
federal employees are universally immunized for all torts
committed within the scope of employment regardless of
whether an alternative federal tort remedy obtains
against the United States or against the individual under
other federal statutes. Thus, while Congress could ex-
pressly have stated that “any other civil action against the
employee is precluded without regard to the existence of
a remedy against the United States or the existence of a
remedy against the individual under any other federal
statute,” it did not do so in Section 5 or elsewhere in the
FELRTCA.

Moreover, other portions of Section 5 of the FEL-
RTCA, codified at 28 U.S.C. § 2679(b)(2), preclude a find-
ing that Congress intended to immunize all federal
employees from suits specifically authorized under the

17 Section 5 provides:

[t]he remedy against the United States provided by
i346(b) and 2672 of this title . . . is exclusive of any
other civil action or proceeding for money damages
by reason of the same subject matter against the
employee whose act or omission gave rise to the
claim or against the estate of such employee. Any
other civil action or proceeding for money damages
arising out of or relating to the same subject matter
against the employee or the employee’s estate is
precluded without regard to when the act or omis-
sion occurred.

See 28 U.S.C. § 2679(b)(1).

19

Gonzalez Act. These expressly provide that the “exclu-
sive remedy” provision on which the United States relies
“does not extend or apply to a civil action against an
employee of the Government which is brought for a
violation of a statute of the United States under which
such action against the individual is otherwise autho-
rized”. See 28 U.S.C. § 2679(b)(2) and discussion at Sec-
tion II, supra.

In a futile attempt to counter the clear import of this
provision, the United States asserts that the FELRTCA
supercedes the Gonzalez Act by providing, in subpara-
graph (4) of Section 6, codified at 28 U.S.C. § 2679(d)(4),
that an action or proceeding subject to paragraphs 1, 2
and 3 of the FELRTCA (including the exclusive remedy
provision) “shall proceed in the same manner as any
action against the United States filed pursuant to section
1346(b) of this title and shall be subject to the limitations
and exceptions applicable to those actions.” 28 U.S.C.
§ 2679(d)(4). Clearly, this provision articulates circum-
stances under which suit against the United States must be
dismissed, is insufficient to preclude suit against the re-
sponsible individual expressly authorized under other
immunity statutes, and therefore does not warrant an
inference that Congress intended to preclude a Gonzalez
Act suit against an individual physician for medical neg-
ligence committed within the scope of his military medi-
cal duties in a foreign country.

In a further attempt to support the assertion that the
FELRTCA “expressly” immunizes Dr. Marshall from suits
expressly authorized under the Gonzalez Act, the United
States turns to Section 6 of the FELRTCA, codified at 28
U.S.C. § 2679(d), which provides for substitution of the

20

United States as defendant (upon certification by the
Attorney General that the employee was acting within
the scope of his office or employment) and provides for
remand upon the district court’s determination that the

employee was not acting within the scope of his employ-
ment.

The United States seeks to infer from these provi-
sions of Section 6 that an action may not be remanded
(and therefore may not be maintained) against the employ-
ee unless the challenged conduct was outside the scope of
his employment. Clearly, Congress envisioned that suits
against individual federal employees which arise under
the Constitution and federal statutes (as provided in Sec-
tion 5 of the FELRTCA, codified at 28 U.S.C. § 2679(b)(2)),
would necessarily be pursued in federal court and there-
fore would not be remanded to state court.'* Beyond this,
the very fact that Congress envisioned and approved the
pursuit of constitutional or federal statutory actions
against individual federal employees is, without more,

sufficient evidence that Smith v. Marshall was properly
decided.

Finally, the manner in which Congress chose to inte-
grate the FELRTCA within Chapter 171 of the Federal
Tort Claims Act precludes a finding that Congress intend-
ed to foreclose suit against an individual based on

‘8 The FELRTCA contains no provision expressly or impli-
edly excepting it from the operation of 28 U.S.C. § 1447, the

federal statute which applies to all remands for lack of jurisdic-
tion. -

21

the foreign country exception to the Federal Tort Claims
Act.19 See 28 U.S.C. § 2680(k). Incontrovertibly, the FEL-
RTCA is part of Chapter 171 of the Federal Tort Claims
Act, a chapter which also includes the Section 2680 excep-
tions to the liability of the United States under the Feder-
al Tort Claims Act. Significantly, Section 2680 expressly
states that the provisions of Chapter 171 (including the
FELRTCA) shall not apply to claims arising in a foreign
country. See 28 U.S.C. § 2680(k). This express limitation
on the scope of the FELRTCA also supports the court of
appeals’ holding that the FELRTCA does not supercede
the Gonzalez Act or otherwise apply to this case. See
Newman v. Soballe, 879 F.2d at 971.

V. THERE IS NO CONTROVERSY AMONG THE
COURTS OF APPEALS CONCERNING THE
HOLDING IN SMITH v. MARSHALL

Erroneously, the United States asserts in its Petition
that the Fifth and Tenth Circuits have concluded that the
FELRTCA applies to all tort suits against federal employ-
ees who have acted within the scope of their employ-
ment, whether or not a claim falls within an exception to

19 That Congress chose to place the FELRTCA amendment
to the Federal Tort Claims Act within the confines of Chapter
171 cannot be ascertained from the amendment as it appears in
the Appendix to the Petition. Only by reading the amendment
in the United States Code or other integrated publications is it
apparent that the scope of the FELRTCA is expressly limited by
the subsection 2680 exceptions to the tort liability of the United
States, including Section 2680(k), which excepts the United
States from liability for claims arising in a foreign country.

22

the Federal Tort Claims Act. Petition at 11-12, citing Mit-
chell v. Carlson, 896 F.2d 128, 134-35 (5th Cir. 1990); Aviles
v. Lutz, 887 F.2d 1046, 1049 (10th Cir. 1989) (emphasis
original). In actuality, neither Mitchell nor Aviles involved
the issue as to whether the FELRTCA supercedes or re-
places a pre-existing federal immunity statute expressly
designed to cover the specific employee and conduct
there at issue.

Indeed, of all discovered cases concerning the FEL-
RTCA, only one case (in addition to Smith) has addressed
whether the FELRTCA supercedes another federal immu-
nity statute. See Newman v. Soballe, 871 F.2d at 969. In
Newman, as in Smith, the issue was whether t) er “RTCA
superceded the Gonzalez Act with resp » claims
against military physicians arising out of me.i uegli-
gence committed in a foreign country. Resoiving this
issue in the negative, the United States Court of Appeals
for the Eleventh Circuit properly held that “[a]s a military
physician, [the defendant] is specifically protected by the
Gonzalez Act and is therefore not among those federal
employees affected by the Westfall decision or the [FEL-
RTCA].” Id. at 971. The Court further noted that the
FELRTCA is part of Chapter 171 of the Federal Tort
Claims Act, the provisions of which, by the express terms
of Section 2680, do not apply to any claim arising in a
foreign country. Id. See also 28 U.S.C. § 2680(k).

As such, the only courts of appeals to have addressed
whether the FELRTCA supercedes the Gonzalez Act's
provision for a suit against an individual military physi-
cian based on medical negligence claims arising overseas
have unequivocally held that it does not. Consequently,

23

there is no split in the circuits concerning the holding
here at issue.

VI. THE HOLDING OF THE COURT OF APPEALS IN
SMITH v. MARSHALL IS A CORRECT STATE-
MENT OF FEDERAL STATUTORY LAW AND
ANY AMENDMENTS THERETO SHOULD BE
LEFT TO CONGRESS

Incontrovertibly, the United States’ arguments are
designed to one overwhelming end; to prevent Marcus
and Hildegard Smith from recovering for the heartbreak-
ing, emotionally and financially devastating injuries
which their son Dominique, now seven years old and
without cognitive life, suffered as an infant in Dr. Mar-
shall’s care. Clearly, Congress did not intend by enacting
the statutes at issue to deprive deserving claimants of a
remedy and would not have sanctioned the manner in
which the United States, for the last four years, has used
first one statute and then the other to prevent an inno-
cent, devastated family from obtaining the compensation
that would at least address the cost of caring for their
brain-devastated child. Nor did Congress intend to pre-
vent recompense simply because the child’s father had
the misfortune to be stationed abroad in the service of his
country when his child was born.

Clearly, both the Gonzalez Act and the FELRTCA
evince Congress’ intention to protect federal employees
from personal tort liability while simultaneously “provid-
ing persons injured by the common law torts of federal
employees with an appropriate remedy against the
United States.” App. at 20a. Equally clearly, the holding
of the court of appeals in Smith v. Marshall unequivocally

24

accords with the purpose of each statute by permitting
the Smiths to pursue a cause of action expressly recog-
nized in subsection (f) of the Gonzalez Act and by con-
firming the United States’ obligation, also set forth in
subsection (f), to immunize Dr. Marshall from personal
tort liability by indemnifying him from the judgment
entered in the Smiths’ action.?°

Under these circumstances, it is impossible to discern
error in the decision of the court of appeals. Indeed, if
there is error, as the United States asserts, it must be in
Congress’ failure to have expressly repealed all pre-exist-
ing immunity statutes when it enacted the FELRTCA, not
in the court of appeals’ failure to have adjudicated the
repeal of the Gonzalez Act and the many other specific,
well-tailored immunity statutes carefully crafted by Con-
gress during the past several decades. If Congress intend-
ed to repeal these statutes, there is today no evidence of
that intent, and it should be left to Congress to address
this issue in the future.

+

20 Curiously, the United States’ position in this matter
exposes military physicians now protected by Gonzalez Act
indemnification to the threat of personal liability for medical
malpractice judgments entered in foreign courts. Thus, the
United States conceded below that the Federal Tort Claims Act
has no jurisdictional reach in foreign tort actions and that the
only form of immunity available to military physicians sued in
foreign courts is the indemnification provided by subsection (f)
of the Gonzalez Act. The United States’ position that the FEL-
RTCA supercedes the Gonzalez Act would, if accepted, deprive
all military physicians now practicing overseas of the benefit
of their only source of immunity from personal liability for
foreign judgments, an untenable result which Congress did not
legislate or intend.

25

CONCLUSION

For the aforestated reasons, Respondents Marcus,
Hildegard and Dominique Smith respectfully request that
the Petition for a Writ of Certiorari be denied.

Respectfully submitted,

Wa ter A. OLENIEWSKI"*
AsHLeY Joe GARDNER
SHULMAN, Rocers, GANDAL, PoRrny
& Ecxer, P.A.
One Montrose Metro
11921 Rockville Pike, Suite 300
Rockville, MD 20852
(301) 230-5218
Attorneys fur Respondents
*Counsel of Record
May 18, 1990

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385012_0744%3A3. Public record. Not legal advice.
