# Amicus Curiae Brief — Martin v. Occupational Safety and Health Review Comm'n

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385012_0739%3A12

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1991
- **Citation:** 499 U.S. 144

## Text

ee &

acne gig “2
x 7 L. A

TABLE OF CONTENTS

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

INTEREST OF AMICUS CURIAB

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT 0.

UNDER THE APPROPRIATE STANDARD OF
REVIEW, THE TENTH CIRCUIT PROPERLY
UPHELD THE COMMISSION’S DECISION ___.

A.

a

The Commission Is an Autonomous Adjudicative
Tribunal That Is Neither Subordinate to the
Secretary Nor Obligated to Defer to the Secre-
tary's Interpretation of Her Regulations

The Tenth Circuit’s Scope of Review Was Prop-
erly Limited to Determining the Reasonableness

Expertise of the Commission

Deference to the Commission Maintains the
Political Balance Between Business and Labor
Interests Struck by the OSH Act...

This Court's —— . ———
Liability of Respondent ...

Page
ii

10

12

14

15

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
CASES:

ABKCO Indus., Inc. v. Commissioner, 482 F.2d 150
WM nl

Acadian Gas Pipeline Sys. v. Federal Energy Reg-
ulatory Comm'n, 878 F.2d 865 (5th Cir. 1989)

American Iron and Steel Inst. v. Occupational
Safety and Health Admin., 577 F.2d 825 (3d Cir.
— W

B&B Insulation, Inc. v. Occupational Safety and
Health Review Comm'n, 583 F.2d 1364 (5th Cir.
9 ——ů̃

Bethlehem Steel Corp. v. EPA, 723 F.2d 1303 (7th
Cir. 1983) .

Bowman — “Jee. * Arbansas-Best Freight
Sys., Inc., 419 U.S. 281 (7

Bradley v. Commissioner, 324 F.2d 610 (4th Cir.
1963) ..

Brennen v. . Occupational ‘Safety end ‘Health Re-
view Comm'n, 491 F.2d 1340 (2d Cir. 1974).

Brennan v. Occupational Safety and Health Review
Comm'n, 501 F.2d 1196 (7th Cir. 1974)

Brennan v. Occupational Safety and Health Review
Comm n, 511 F.2d 1139 (9th Cir. 19795

Brennan v. Occupational Safety and Health Review
Comm'n, 513 F.2d 713 (8th Cir. 19755 —

Brock v. Bechtel Power Corp,, 803 F.2d 999 (9th
Cir. 1986)

Brock v. Cathedral Bluffs Shale Oil Co. 796 F.2d
533 (D.C. Cir. 1986)

Brock v. Chicago Zoological See’y, 820 F.2d 909
(7th Cir. 1987) . *

Brock v. Williams Enterprises of G. Ine. 832
F.2d 567 (11th Cir. 18877 „„ñ,

Commissioner v. Duberstein, 363 U.S. 278 (1960) ..

Diebold, Inc. v. Marshall, 585 F.2d 1327 (6th Cir.
1978) .

Director, Office 1 Workers’ “Compensation Pro-
grams v. General Dynamics Corp., 900 F.2d 506
(2d Cir. 1990) . =

Dobson v. Commissioner, 320 us. 429 (1943). tas

Page

11

14

11

iii
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued
Donovan v. A. Amorello & Sons, Inc., 761 F.2d 61

Ee
Donovan v. Anheuser-Busch, Inc., 666 F.2d 315
CE
Dunlop v. Rockwell Int'l, 540 F.2d 1283 (6th Cir.
EE
Estate of Simmie v. Commissioner, 632 F.2d 93
CC EE

Federal Labor Relations Auth. v. U.S. Dep’t of the
Treasury, 884 F.2d 1446 (D.C. Cir. 1989), cert.
denied, 110 S. Ct. 863 (19900:

Fluor Constructors v. Occupational Safety and
Health Review Comm'n, 861 F.2d 936 (6th Cir.
1111

Guy F. Atkinson Co. v. Commissioner, 814 F.2d
1388 (9th Cir. 1987), cert. denied, 485 U.S. 970

———
Kalaris v. Donovan, 697 F.2d 376 (D.C. Cir.),
cert. denied, 462 U.S. 1119 (1983)
Magneson v. Commissioner, 753 F.2d 1490 (9th
EEE
Marshall v. Cities Serv. Oil Co., 577 F.2d 126 (10th
r .
Marshall v. Western Elec. Inc., 565 F.2d 240 (2d
EEE EE
Merryman v. Commissioner, 873 F.2d 879 (5th
EE ES
Nickell v. Commissioner, 831 F.2d 1265 (6th Cir.
.

Potomac Elec. Power Co. v. Director, Office of
Workers’ Compensation Programs, 449 U.S. 268

EEE
Saginaw Mining Co. v. Mazzulli, 818 F.2d 1278
SES LT
Secretary of Labor v. Cannelton Indus., Inc., 867
ä
Si bla v. Commissioner, 611 F.2d 1260 (9th Cir.
r ..

United Steelworkers v. Schuykill Metals Corp.,
628 F234 314 (Sth Cir. 1967) ................................

Page

12

11

9, 12

11

iv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Page
Vukasovich, Inc. v. Commissioner, 790 F.2d 1409
1 — ne eee Seen 11
Welch v. Helvering, 290 U.S. 111 (1933 6
STATUTES:
Administrative Procedure Act, 5 U.S.C. § 70 8
Federal Mine Safety and Health Act of 1977, 30
U.S.C. § 823 (a), (b) ................ . 6
Internal Revenue Code,
r .. 10
e . 10
e . TE 12
26 U.S.C. § 7443 (b), (e), (f)) 6
e . 10
r . EE TIS 10
Longshore and Harbor Workers’ Compensation
Act,
r X...... 5
r — 5
Occupational Safety and Health Act of 1970, 29
J EE . passim
I — 4
ee 6
ES ⁊ sae 6
REGULATIONS:
1111 ee 7
LEGISLATIVE HISTORY:

Legislative History of the Occupational Safety and
Health Act of 1970, Senate Committee on Labor
and Public Welfare (19717 passim
S. Rep. No. 181, 95th Cong., Ist Sess. 49 (1977),
reprinted in 1977 U.S. Code Cong. & Admin.
Sees 6 OS ee 4,6

MISCELLANEOUS:
Tax Court Rule 142, 26 U.S.C. foll. § 7458 6

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1990

No. 89-1541

ELIZABETH H. DOLE, SECRETARY OF LABOR,
UNITED STATES DEPARTMENT OF LABOR,
1 Petitioner,
OCCUPATIONAL SAFETY AND HEALTH REVIEW
COMMISSION and CF&I STEEL CORPORATION,
Respondents.

On Writ of Certiorari to the United States
Court of Appeals for the Tenth Circuit

BRIEF OF AMERICAN IRON AND STEEL INSTITUTE
AS AMICUS CURIAE IN SUPPORT OF RESPONDENTS

The American Iron and Steel Institute (“AISI”)
respectfully files this brief as amicus curiae in support of
Respondents. Written consents have been obtained from
counsel for Petitioner and Respondents pursuant to Su-
preme Court Rule 37.3. The letters reflecting consent
have been filed with the clerk’s office.

INTEREST OF AMICUS CURIAE

The American Iron and Steel Institute is a national
trade association whose 40 domestic member companies
account for approximately 80 percent of the raw steel
production of the United States. The issue presented by

this case is relevant to issues commonly encountered by
AISI’s member companies. AISI’s member companies
have a strong interest in the interpretation and enforce-
ment of regulations governing coke production, such as
those at issue in this case, because coke production is
important to the manufacture of iron and steel. AISI
was a party to the development of and the initial chal-
lenge to the coke oven emissions standards that were the
basis of the citation issued by Petitioner the Secretary
of Labor the Secretary“ to Respondent CF&I Steel
Corporation. See American Iron and Steel Inst. v. Oc-
cupational Safety and Health Admin., 577 F.2d 825
(3d Cir. 1978).

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

Properly formulated, the question facing this Court is
whether the United States Court of Appeals for the Tenth
Circuit utilized the appropriate standard of review in its
review of the decision of the Occupational Safety and
Health Review Commission the Commission“). The
answer to that question is yes.

The Commission is an autonomous independent adjudi-
catory beard that is neither subordinate to the Secretary
nor obligated to defer to the Secretary’s interpretation of
her regulations under the Occupational Safety and Health
Act. The Commission is, therefore, fundamentally dif-
fereat from any of the boards created by Congress under
other statutory schemes that the Solicitor General claims
to be analogous.

Moreover, the independence the Commission enjoys
from the Secretary was a conscious legislative choice to
break a political deadlock that existed between labor and
management over passage of the Occupational Safety and
Health Act. The Commission’s role in the statutory
scheme is far more substantial than a mere finder of
fact as the Secretary would have it. This Court should
not destroy the political balance struck by Congress;
rather, it should enforce the legislative compromise.

Congress intended that the decisions of the Commission
be reviewed under the narrow “arbitrary and capricious”
standard of the Administrative Procedure Act. Consist-
ent with this standard, the Tenth Circuit properly held
that the Commission’s decision was reasonable.

The Tenth Circuit also appropriately deferred to the
specialized expertise of the Commission in matters of oc-
cupational safety and health. The Commission is due
the same level of deferential review granted to other
specialized tribunals, such as the United States Tax Court.

Finally, since the Commission only decided that the
Secretary had charged Respondcnt under the improper
regulatory provision and not that no violation had oc-
curred, upholding the Tenth Circuit would not, as the
Solicitor General suggests, sanction the activity which
brought about the charge in the first place.

ARGUMENT

UNDER THE APPROPRIATE STANDARD OF RE-
VIEW, THE TENTH CIRCUIT PROPERLY UPHELD
THE COMMISSION’S DECISION

Petitioner’s arguments can be distilled into a simple
syllogism: The Secretary is the policy-making authority
under the Occupational Safety and Health Act of 1970,
29 U.S.C. §§ 651-678 (“OSH Act”); the Commission has
only adjudicatory authority. When the policymaker dis-
agrees with an adjudicatory body over the interpretation
of a regulation, the policymaker’s interpretation must
prevail. Therefore, in this case the Secretary’s interpre-
tation is entitled to judicial deference, and the Tenth Cir-
cuit erred in according deference to the Commission’s in-
terpretation. Petitioner’s reasoning is simple enough, but

4

it does not accurately portray existing law nor properly
state the issue before this Court.“

The proper issue is the appropriate standard of review
to be used by a court of appeals reviewing a decision of
an independent, specialized adjudicatory tribunal—in this
case, the Commission. In deciding that question, this

1 Potomac Elec. Power Co. v. Director, Office of Workers’ Com-
pensation Programs (“Pepceo”), 449 US. 268 (1980), relied on
by the Solicitor General, does not support the broad proposition
for which the Solictor General cites it. Pepco, and the cases cited
therein, involved appeals from a nonindependent adjudicatory tri-
bunal that is fundamentally different in makeup from the Com-
mission. Other cases supporting deference to the policymaker re-
lied on by the Solicitor General involved direct appeals from an
agency or department to a court. Different issues are involved
when the statute has interposed an autonomous expert tribunal
between the policymaker and the courts.

2? Implicit in Petitioner’s formulation of the question presented
is the assertion that, where the Secretary and Commission dis-
agree, the proper role of the Court is to review directly the reason-
ableness of the Secretary’s actions. Such a position flatly contra-
dicts the plain language of the OSH Act, which provides that per-
sons, including the Secretary, may obtain review only of a
“final order of the Commission.” 29 U.S.C. 5 660 (a), (b). In
other words, at issue is not the Secretary's view but the Com-
mission’s decision. Were it otherwise, the Commission would be
only a fact-finding body with authority similar to an administra-
tive law judge. There is nothing in the legislative history to
support this result, even though it is inherent in the Solicitor
General’s formulation of the issue.

The Federal Mine Safety and Health Act of 1977, upon which
Petitioner relies, is unlike the OSH Act in this regard because its
legislative history explicitly provides that “the Secretary's interpre-
tations of the law and regulations shall be given weight by both the
Commission and the courts.” S. Rep. No. 181, 95th Cong., Ist Seas.
49 (1977), reprinted in 1977 U.S. Code Cong. & Admin. News 3401,
3448 (emphasis added). This admonition suggests that the Secre-
tary’s actions under the Federal Mine Safety and Health Act mmy be
directly reviewed by courts; there is no similar suggestion in the
OSH Act.

Petitioner, the Longshore and Harbor Workers’ Compen-
sation Act the “LHWC Act”) establishes a Benefits Re-
view Board (“Benefits Review Board”) which is com-
posed of members who are appointed by the Secretary for
no fixed term and who serve at her pleasure. 33 U.S.C.
§ 921(b); Kalaris v. Donovan, 697 F.2d 376, 397 (D.C.
Cir.), cert. denied, 462 U.S. 1119 (1983). The Bene-

poena records and has no investigatory or contempt power.
See 33 U.S.C. §921 (establishing authority of Benefits
Review Board). Thus, the Benefits Review Board is but
an appendage of the Secretary. Indeed, it has been char-
acterized as a quasi-judicial body of “lesser dignity.”
Kalaris, 697 F.2d at 396 n.82. The decisions of tri-
bunals such as the Benefits Review Board are therefore
properly accorded no special deference by the courts.

Saginaw Mining Co. v. Mazzulli, 818 F.2d 1278, 1283
(6th Cir. 1987); see also Director, Office of Workers’
Compensation Programs v. General Dynamics Corp., 900
F.2d 506, 510 (2d Cir. 1990).

In contrast, the Commission is composed of members
who are appointed by the President, with the advice and
consent of the Senate, for a fixed term and are removable
by the President only “for inefficiency, neglect of duty, or
malfeasance in office. 29 U.S.C. § 661(a)}, (b. Unlike
the Benefits Review Board, the Commission is authorized
to promulgate its own internal rules, to order deposition
testimony, and to subpoena records, and has certain in-
vestigatory and contempt powers. Compare 29 U.S.C.
§ 661(g)-(i) with 33 U.S.C. 5921. Thus, in its makeup
and authority, the Commission is more like the United
States Tax Court Tax Court”), the Federal Mine
Safety and Health Review Commission (“Mine Safety
Commission”), and other specialized independent tribuals
that play a significant policy role apart from individual
departmental or agency heads. See 26 U.S.C. § 7443(b),
(e), (f; 30 U.S.C. § 823/a), (b.

However, unlike either the Mine Safety Commission
or the Tax Court, which have been instructed by Con-
gress to defer to the head of the administrative agency
whose decision they are reviewing,’ the Commission is,
in the words of its sponsor, Senator Javits, “an autono-
mous, independent commission which, without regard to

In the legislative history of the Federal Mine Safety and
Health Act, Congress unambiguously stated that “the Secretary's
interpretations of the law and regulations shal] be given weight by
beth the Commission and the courts.” S. Rep. No. 181, 95th Cong
Ist Sess. 49 (1977), reprinted in 1977 U.S. Code Cong 4 Admin.
News 3401, 3448. Under the Internal Revenue Code, the taxpayer
has the burden of proving the invalidity of the Internal Revenue
Service Commissioner's determination of tax deficiency, which is
presumptively correct. Tax Court Rule 142, 26 U.S.C. foll. § 7453
(1989). Welch v. Helvering, 290 U.S. 111, 115 (1933); Merryman
v. Commissioner, 873 F 2d 879, 882 (Sth Cir. 1989).

7

the Secretary, can find for or against him on the basis
of individual complaints. See Legislative History of the
Occupational Safety and Health Act of 1970, Senate
Committee on Labor and Public Welfare (1971) (“Leg-
islative History”) at 463.*

In contrast, nothing in the OSH Act or its legislative
history suggests that the Commission is to accord defer-
ence to the Secretary or treat the Secretary’s actions as
presumptively correct. Indeed, as courts have held under
the OSH Act, the Secretary has the burden of proving all
elements of an alleged OSH Act violation, which suggests
that the Commission owes no deference to the Secretary.
See, e. g., B&B Insulation, Inc. v. Occupational Safety and
Health Review Comm'n, 583 F.2d 1364, 1372 (5th Cir.
1978); Brennan v. Occupational Safety and Health Re-
view Comm'n, 511 F.2d 1139, 1143 (9th Cir. 1975

* See also Legislative History at 462 (Commission is al utono-
mous and independent” and “is expressly set forth to be an inde-
pendent commission”) (statement of Sen. Javits); id. at 463
(Commission “would not be a Labor Department instrument”)
(statement of Sen. Javits); id. at 473 (“an independent enforce-

burden of proof on the Secretary, the Commission stated that
“Commission case law on burdens of proof is in no way affected
by the deletion of present § 2200.73 .. parties . may continue
to be guided by that case law.” 51 Fed. Reg. 32,002, 32,013 (1986).

8

B. The Tenth Circuit’s Scope of Review Was Properly
Limited to Determining the Reasonableness of the Com-
mission’s Interpretation

The OSH Act does not set forth the standard of ju-

dicial review of Commission decisions. Given the absence
of any specific congressional direction, AISI believes that
the Commission’s final decision should be subject to the
standard of review of final agency action governed by
the Administrative Procedure Act (“APA”). 5 U.S.C.
§ 706. That was the standard the Commission's sponsor
stated would govern Commission decisions. According to
Senator Javits, the Administratice Procedure Act ap-
plies anyway, whether the Secretary is the enforcing
agent or the Commission is the enforcing agent.” Legis-
lative History at 463. Under the APA standard, courts
must uphold agency action unless it is arbitrary and
capricious, an abuse of discretion, or otherwise not in
accordance with law. 5 U.S.C. § 706. Numerous appel-
late courts have subscribed to precisely this standard in
reviewing Commission decisions. F. g., Fluor Construc-
tors, Inc. v. Occupational Safety and Health Review
Comm'n, 861 F.2d 936, 939 (6th Cir. 1988); accord
Brock v. Bechtel Power Corp., 803 F.2d 999, 1000 (9th
Cir. 1986); Donovan v. Anheuser-Busch, Inc., 666 F.2d
315, 324-25 (8th Cir. 1981); Marshall v. Cities Serv.

ence to the Secretary as required by the legislative history of the
LHWC Act. See Secretary of Labor v. Cannelton Indus, Inc., 867
F.2d 1482 (D.C. Cir. 1989) ; Brock v. Cathedral Bluffs Shale Oil Co.
796 F.2d 533 (D.C. Cir. 1986).

* Another possible standard, raised in passing by the First Cir-
cuit, would be de novo review with “the court making up its
mind independently about the rule’s meaning,” Donevan v. A.
Amorello 4 Sons, lune, 761 F.2d 61, 63 (ist Cir. 1985). Neither
the First Circuit, nor any other court, has seriovsly considered
such a course of action, which would overturn gene ally accepted
principles of administrative law. See, e.g. Federal i «bor Rela-
tions Auth. v. U.S. Dep't of the Treasury, 884 F.2d 1446, 1454
(D.C. Cir. 1989), cert. denied, 110 8. Ct. 863 (1990); Acadian
Gas Pipeline Sys. „. Federal Energy Regulatory Comm'n, 878 F.2d
865, 868 (5th Cir. 1989).

Oil Co., 577 F.2d 126, 130 (10th Cir. 1978); see also
Marshal! v. Western Elec. Inc., 565 F.2d 240, 244 (2d
Cir. 1977) (reviewing court’s “role ‘is to decide whether
the Commission’s interpretation of the regulation is un-
reasonable and inconsistent with its purpose, the normal
standard for review of the interpretation of a regula-
tion by the agency charged with its administration?“
(quoting Brennan v. Occupational Safety and Health Re-
view Comm'n, 491 F.2d 1340, 1344 (2d Cir. 1974))." By
definition, the “arbitrary and capricious” standard of

Bowman Transp., Inc. v. Arkansas-Best Freight Sye.,
Inc., 419 U.S. 281, 285 (1974).

The Tenth Circuit properly limited its review to exam-
ining whether the Commission's interpretation of the
coke oven respiratory regulation was reasonable. Pet.
App. 9a-lla.* Cireumscribed as it was by the narrow
scope of review mandated by the APA, the Tenth Circuit
was correct to limit its inquiry to the reasonableness of
the Commission's interpretation without ruling on the
reasonableness of the Secretary’s interpretation, to which
the Commission is not obligated to defer.”

In Brock v. Chicago Zoological Soc, 820 F.2d 909 (7th
Cir. 1987); United Steelworkers v. Schuykill Metals Corp., 828
F.2d 314 (5th Cir. 1987); and Brock v. Williams Enterprises of
Ga., Inc., 882 F.2d 567 (1ith Cir. 1987), relied upon by the
Solicitor General, the Seventh, Fifth, and Eleventh Circuits did
not address the appropriate scope of review of Commission deci-
sions.

* References to “Pet. App.” refer to the appendix to the Petition
for a Writ of Certiorari filed by the Solicitor General in this
Court on April 2, 1990.

* Although the Tenth Circuit stated that “it is certainly possible
to reach an alternate interpretation of the ambiguous regulatory

ei eg: 42 11225 25732 213 2 By
e e ea
e e 'H l
ien th eee i
i Hue Wee
itt t lit an
; 28 2 tells 11 i iel 11473
iI . fap fl.
121 5 1881113 + li 7222 +L
1115 Z 12075 Heal 75 ind
IId (REA 1 1

4 „ ne Be tt in;
Ae E Ta
HE i 41142135 I
A 1175 1111244 ai path

7 Hint FT et 1 fit
: 5 141 ite 17132 rH Hall 1
e
Aig 212 He 1111 e 11
ie lili cH Hall: 1

it
i
i

513 F.2d 713, 715-716 .
Marshall, 585 F.2d 1327, 1332, 1334 n.1
‘Commission entitled to great deference in
interpretation of OSH Act regulations;
“is founded primarily on the special expertise” of
Commission

it

|
|
,
|

U.S.C. $8 7401-7410) ; this, however, is a distinction without
tical significance.

;

if
l
fl
it
i

|
;
:

1199 (7th Cir. 1974)); Dunlop o. Rockwell Jnl, 540 F.2d 1283,
(6th Cir. 1976) ‘(court owes Commission's

3
:
IE

istory at 193. The bill that had been re-

Senate
sssuring a fair and independent method of furthering
the purposes of the OSH Act. As Representative Scherle

The true goal of any occupational safety and health
legislation can be simply stated. It is to foster im-
proved standards of safety and health for workers,
and to do it in a way that is both reasonable and

Legislative History at 1014.“ The need for fairness that
was identified by Representative Scherle was a prime

% The committee bill to which Representative Scherle objected
an independent adjudicatory commission. This

faults that the Representative identified with
bill followed] the oversimplified

F

883
2
5
:

While labor unions supported this scheme, it was roundly criticized
by employers. As Senators Dominick and Smith noted in their
dissent in the Committee Report, “the bill is opposed by the
Administration, employers, State occupational health and safety
agencies, and by national standards producing organizations while
its primary support comes from the leadership of large unions.”
Legislative History at 200. These Senators objected to the fact
that the Committee’s bill settled [all functions, including stand-
ard setting, investigation, prosecution, adjudication, and review”
in the Secretary of Labor. /d.

In contrast, Senator Javits’ amendment, which was added on
the floor of the Senate, established the Commission, which Repre-

measure of reassurance .. . by so simple a means as an autonomous
enforcement board . I see no reason why we should not do it.”
Legislative History at 470 (statement of Senator Javits).

14

motivating factor behind the Javits amendment. The
notion that an independent Commission would be fair to
both labor and business interests prompted Senator Jav-
its’ amendment. To adopt the Secretary’s position in this
case would be to reduce the Commission’s function to
that of a fact finder and remove the keystone to winning
business acquiescence to the OSH Act.

As the Seventh Circuit has reminded us, when a legis-
lative provision is the result of a compromise, it is not
the function of a court to undo the political balance
which has been reached:

{[W]here a statute strikes a political balance but
administration of the statute is entrusted to an
agency that may not embody that balance, it is dan-
gerous to defer automatically to the agency’s view.
An agency that may be dominated by one faction in
the legislative struggle that led to enactmert of a
compromise is not authorized to hand that faction a
victory that was denied it in the legislative arena
through the efforts of another faction. The court
must enforce the compromise, not the maximum
position of one of the interest groups among which
the compromise was struck.

Bethlehem Steel Corp. v. EPA, 723 F.2d 1303, 1309 (7th
Cir. 1983).

E. This Court’s Decision Does Note Relate to Any Lia-
bility of Respondent

Finally, the Solicitor General suggests that to uphold
the Court of Appeals would permit Respondent to escape
liability, although it had been explicitly warned and had
violated the Act. Brief for Petitioner at 37. The Com-
mission, however, did not suggest that Respondent’s fail-
ure to provide properly fitting respirators did not violate
the Act. All it held was that the Secretary had charged

Respondent under the wrong provision of the Regula-
tions. See Pet. App. at 40a-44a. This is precisely what

15

one would expect from a commission established to pro-
vide “an effective and fair method of enforcement,” of
the OSH Act. Legislative History at 880 (emphasis in
original)“

The Tenth Cireuit was therefore correct to uphold the
Commission’s decision.

CONCLUSION

The Tenth Circuit exercised appropriate judicial re-
view over the Commission’s order and, accordingly, its
decision should be affirmed.

Respectfully submitted,

Of Counsel:
BARTON C. GREEN ALBERT J. BEVERIDGE, III *
AMERICAN IRON AND STEEL CHRISTOPHER W. MAHONEY
INSTITUTE DIANE L. GILDERSLEEVE
1133 15th Street, N.W. BEVERIDGE & DIAMOND, P.C.
Washington, D.C. 20005 1350 I Street, N.W., Suite 700
(202) 452-7143 Washington, D.C. 20005
(202) 789-6000
Counsel for Amicus

Dated: September 19, 1990 * Counsel of Record

The Commission’s job is to reach the proper result, not to
reach the result advocated by one of the parties simply because of
who that party is. See General Dynamics, 900 F.2d at 510 (defer-
ence to agency head in role of litigant would deprive claimants
of impartial review).

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385012_0739%3A12. Public record. Not legal advice.
