# Amicus Curiae Brief — Oklahoma Tax Comm'n v. Citizen Band of Potawatomi Tribe of Okla.

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385012_0722%3A14

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1991
- **Citation:** 498 U.S. 505

## Text

FICR

No. 89-1322 YEC 12
sd SSE F. SPAMOL, JR,
In The eon

Supreme Court of the United States
October Term, 1990
+

OKLAHOMA TAX COMMISSION,

Petitioner,

CITIZEN BAND POTAWATOMI INDIAN
TRIBE OF OKLAHOMA,

Respondent.

-_ =
—_

On Writ Of Certiorari To The
United States Court Of Appeals For The
Tenth Circuit

+

BRIEF OF THE SAC AND FOX NATION, THE UNITED
KEETOOWAH BAND OF CHEROKEE INDIANS IN
OKLAHOMA, WICHITA CADDO AND DELAWARE

INDUSTRIES, MUSCOGEE (CREEK) NATION,
YANKTON SIOUX TRIBE, CHEYENNE AND ARAPAHO
TRIBES OF OKLAHOMA AND THE ABSENTEE
SHAWNEE TRIBE OF OKLAHOMA AS AMICUS
CURIAE IN SUPPORT OF RESPONDENT

oe

G. WituiaM Rice, Eso."
Grecory H. Bicier, Esa.
N. Brent Parmer, Esa.

G. WituaM Rice, P.C.

124 N. Cleveland
Cushing, Oklahoma 74023
(918) 225-4800

*Counsel of Record

a

COCKLE LAW BRIEF PRINTING CO., (800) 225-4964
OR CALL COLLECT (402) 342-2831

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
Se ee Ce iccccciccescsvcescecses ii
INTEREST OF AMICUS CURIAE ...............6.- 3
SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT..................0055: 5
ST SE SU e ho 0s4656ssudueubéevesevesesss 7

I. THE CITIZEN BAND POTAWATOMI HAS
COMPLETE SOVEREIGN IMMUNITY FROM
SE GUNN 6c cccccseUhvecsveeveces 7

Il. THE TRACT OF LAND AT ISSUE IS INDIAN
COUNTRY SUBJECT TO EXCLUSIVE FEDERAL
AND TRIBAL JURISDICTION ABSENT AN
ACT OF CONGRESS TO THE CONTRARY.... 8

Ill. THE STATE IS WITHOUT AUTHORITY TO TAX
BECAUSE OF INTERFERENCE WITH TRIBAL
SEE cedcceceeulisecscecesvcces 16

IV. OKLAHOMA CANNOT TAX THE SALE OF
CIGARETTES BY THE POTAWATOMI TRIBE
BECAUSE CONGRESS HAS NEVER DIS-
SOLVED THE FEDERAL PRE-EMPTION BAR-
RIER TO STATE JURISDICTION............... 22

EEE Terr eT Ter TTT TrT TTT Tree 27

ii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page
Cases
Ahboah v. Housing Authority of Kiowa Tribe of
Indians, 660 P.2d 625 (Okla. 1983).............. 13, 17
Bates v. Clark, 95 U.S. 204 (1887) ........ 6. ce eeeeeeees 9

Bryan v. Itasca County, 426 U.S. 373 (1976)....17, 18, 25
California v. Cabazon Band of Mission Indians, 480

US. BER CGD oo cc cccccccscccscccsscsnnpeseueans 25
Cheyenne-Arapahoe Tribes v. Oklahoma, 618 F.2d 665

oo be 8 errr 13
C.M.G. v. State, 594 P.2d 789 (Okla.), cert. denied,

444 UG. SOB CIGTED .. cccccccccsccvcepescesevesncs 14
DeCoteau v. District Court, 420 U.S. 425 (1975)....... 12
Donnelly v. United States, 228 U.S. 243 (1913)......... 9

Housing Authority of the Seminole Nation v. Harjo,
790 P.2d 1098 (Okla. 1990)........... 0c cece eens 13, 17

Indian Country, USA v. Oklahoma Tax Commission,
829 F.2d 967 (10th Cir. 1987) cert. den. sub. nom.,
Oklahoma Tax Commission v. Muscogee (Creek)

Nation, __ U.S. __, 108 S.Ct. 2870 (1988)......... 13
Kennerly v. District Court, 400 U.S. 423 (1971)........ 23
Mattz v. Arnett, 412 U.S. 481 (1973) .............205- 20

McClanahan v. Arizona Tax Commission, 411 U.S.
a 18, 19

Merrion v. Jicarilla Apache Tribe, 455 U.S. 130 (1982) .... 27

Moe v. Confederated Salish and Kootenai Tribes, 425
US. G63 CISD ..- evcvvescustecessuaunen 19, 20, 25, 26

iii
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - Continued
Page.
Montana v. Blackfeet Tribe, 471 U.S. 759 (1985)..... 20, 24
Muscogee (Creek) Nation v. Hodel, 851 F.2d 1439

ETS actdenesvccsccccccvcccccccces. 20, 21
Puyallup Tribe, Inc. v. Washington Dept. of Game, 433

EEE GEE 7
Ramah Navajo School Bd., Inc. v. Bureau of Revenue

of New Mexico, 458 U.S. 832 (1982)................ 25
Santa Clara Pueblo v. Martinez, 436 U.S. 49 (1978)..... 7
Solem v. Bartlett, 465 U.S. 463 (1984) ................ 12
State v. Burnett, 671 P.2d 1165 (Okla. Cr. 1983) ...... 13
State v. Littlechief, 573 P.2d 263 (Okla. Cr. 1978)...... 13
State ex rel. May v. Seneca-Cayuga Tribe, 711 P.2d 77

cic ceceecstesecccoscess 13
Turner v. United States, 248 U.S. 354 (1919) ........... 7

United States v. Azure, 801 F.2d 336 (8th Cir. 1986).... 13
United States v. Burnett, 777 F.2d 593 (10th Cir.

ead cc cnessseesseccsccccccces 13
United States v. John, 437 U.S. 634 (1978)..... 12, 13, 14
United States v. Kagama, 118 U.S. 375 (1886) ei icewdes 8
United States v. King, 395 U.S. 1 (1969)............... 7

United States v. McGowan, 302 U.S. 535 (1938)..... 9,13
United States v. Martine, 442 F.2d 1022 (10th Cir.

United States v. Mazurie, 419 U.S. 544 (1975)

iv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES —- Continued

Page
United States v. Pelican, 232 U.S. 442 (1914).......... 13
United States v. Ramsey, 271 U.S. 467 (1926)........... 9
United States v. Sandoval, 231 U.S. 28 (1913) ....... 9, 13
United States v. South Dakota, 665 F.2d 837 (8th Cir.

1981), cert. denied, 459 U.S. 823 (1982)............. 14
United States v. Testan, 424 U.S. 392 (1976)............ 7
United States v. United States Fidelity & Guaranty

Co., SOD UB. SOG CIBER. 0. cc cccccccccccccsccccceess 7
Warren Trading Post v. Arizona Tax Commission, 380

CBE, Ge GEE 6 Wis 6 be cidcwsencscecenccseudeeneeses 26
Washington v. Confederated Tribes of the Colville Res-

ervation, 447 U.S. 134 (1980) ............... 19, 25, 26
White Mountain Apache Tribe v. Bracker, 448 U.S.

Ce 6 kd n06oksnneadctsavnsebsskesedupecessies 24
Williams v. Lee, 358 U.S. 217 (1959)... .... 6... eee 19

Worcester v. Georgia, 31 U.S. (6 Pet.) 515 (1832)...11, 23

CONSTITUTION
Ce. Cot. ost. 2, BG Ge B Gree we svccsccsvcieness 22

FEDERAL STATUTES AND REGULATIONS

vg -£. 2 SS) Sy. Perr 8
Dawes Severalty Act, 24 Stat. 388 (1887)......... 19, 20
Act of March 3, 1891, ch. 543, § 8, 26 Stat. 1016 .... 14
Curtis Act, 30 Stat. 495 (1GSG) .... 2c ccccccccscces: 21

Vv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - Continued

Page
Oklahoma Enabling Act, 34 Stat. 267 (1906)......... 21
Act of February 15, 1929, ch. 216, 45 Stat. 1185...... 8
Indian Reorganization Act, 48 Stat. 984 (1934)..... 3, 20

Oklahoma Indian Welfare Act, 49 Stat. 1967 (1936) ..3, 21

Act of Aug. 15, 1953, P.L. 83-280, 28 U.S.C. § 1360
as amended and supplemented by 25 U.S.C.

D PRE $660 ecdinedehieresbancactevavetean: 9, 23, 25
Act of Sept. 13, 1960, 74 Stat. 903................ 15, 16
Act of August 11, 1964, 78 Stat. 392 ............. 15, 16
Act of January 2, 1975, 88 Stat. 1922................ 15
oobi ctl ivicuesucaescisinadeds 1
i A Ee a ree 5, 10, 12
ee IE 6 5.04560 5 040s 6 cad nevinanseuamesees 16
ee ING hos on one's nachna keneseneaeeeas 13
SE Is von 60a ncasscadessuseuee gates 12, 13
IG So gion evauevavguves vepaeateouee s
Pe te iu 9. 6 0.5605 2ocs denss ccuekdnenkenereees 9
eR Wid nas bi4-0< bee Vécapedausenasdeeene 5, 16
NE EVE ird0. 0 00 edad ene CNUEIGeennsuin 9
Ee aed Ae aR heka bdcncadacdsdaaetsoddineel 9
ES 6 6a0A Ne was concave censebchucedanes 9
Pe a CS deindcravardeGuacnecetensankiowe 5
ee ee EG a5 tpn kekencededinnanrecussonepederees 5

vi

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES —- Continued

Page
Se EE as dng eskekideceekavaedenees€nuesatass 5
BP WA. & THe OE Bic cc cc ccccccccccnccccccccces 9, 25
Se ee Se ee na cecccovcsdcscesed os cnek eeu 3

OTHER AUTHORITIES
F. Cohen, Handbook of Federal Indian Law (1942 ed.) . .8, 10
The Federalist No. 3 (J. Jay) (C. Rossiter ed. 1961) .... 22

The Federalist No. 42 (J. Madison) (C. Rossiter ed.
CE cin cic cGGided REPEC RDRRE RED ORERENHREN C4068 23

PPC ret ere Ter P errr Ter TT TTT TEE Tee 24

State and Indian Tribal Taxation on Indian Reserva-
tions — Is It Too Taxing?, 1989 Harvard Law Sym-
posium, Susan Williams and Kevin Gover (1990,
President and Fellows of Harvard College)........ 17

No. 89-1322

oo
In The

Supreme Court of the United States
October Term, 1990

o
OKLAHOMA TAX COMMISSION,
Petitioner,
v.

CITIZEN BAND POTAWATOMI INDIAN
TRIBE OF OKLAHOMA,

Respondent.

+

On Writ Of Certiorari To The
United States Court Of Appeals For The
Tenth Circuit

—+

BRIEF OF THE SAC AND FOX NATION, THE UNITED
KEETOOWAH BAND OF CHEROKEE INDIANS IN
OKLAHOMA, WICHITA CADDO AND DELAWARE

INDUSTRIES, MUSCOGEE (CREEK) NATION,
YANKTON SIOUX TRIBE, CHEYENNE AND ARAPAHO
TRIBES OF OKLAHOMA AND THE ABSENTEE
SHAWNEE TRIBE OF OKLAHOMA AS AMICUS
CURIAE IN SUPPORT OF RESPONDENT

>.

Pursuant to Supreme Court Rule 37, the Sac and Fox
Nation, United Keetoowah Band of Cherokee Indians in
Oklahoma, Wichita Caddo and Delaware Industries, Mus-
cogee (Creek) Nation, Yankton Sioux Tribe, Cheyenne and
Arapaho Tribes of Oklahoma and the Absentee Shawnee
Tribe of Oklahoma (hereinafter referred to as “The

Tribes”), file this brief amicus curiae on the side of respon-
dent and in opposition to the petitioner in this case. Both
respondent and the petitioner have consented to the fil-
ing of this brief of amicus curiae.

The Tribes are federally recognized Indian tribes with
longstanding treaty relationships with the United States
and are established, well organized tribal governments.
Petitioner challenges the decision below by contending
that Oklahoma, and thus the Tribes, have no Indian reser-
vations. Such a ruling is argued to mean that the Tribes
and their members are subject to virtually total state
authority and control on all Indian-owned lands
restricted against alienation by federal law. A holding by
this Court in favor of petitioner on these grounds would
have a devastating impact on the Tribes and their mem-
bers, for it would deprive the Tribes of virtually all their
traditionally exercised governmental authority.

The Tribes’ governmental interests are vital. The
Tribes submit the attached brief to show that the jurisdic-
tional status of Indian owned restricted lands resides
with the Tribal and Federal government. The Tribes also
wish to address the history of decisions by this Court and
the lower federal and state courts precluding state juris-
diction, and upholding federal and tribal jurisdiction,
over Indian lands in Oklahoma, including allotments,
reserved lands and subsequently acquired lands. Both
Congressional policy, and the consistency of federal and
state court decisions upholding federal jurisdiction and
denying state authority serve as reason for this Court to
affirm the decision of the Court of Appeals for the Tenth
Circuit.

+

INTEREST OF AMICUS CURIAE

The Tribes are important federally-recognized Indian
tribes with a continuous treaty relationship with the
United States, which began in the earliest years of the
Republic, having well-organized tribal governments. The
governmental authority of the Tribes would be seriously
compromised if the Court were to rule favorably on the
contentions presented by petitioner. Petitioner argues
that the absence of a reservation equates to full state
governmental authority over the Indian Country of the
Tribe. The Tribes have a vital interest in protecting their
governmental authority, and their corresponding exemp-
tion from state jurisdiction. This authority and exemption
are established in prior decisions of this Court.

Some of the Tribes participating in this brief adminis-
ter their own tribal court supported by Bureau of Indian
Affairs grants and contracts, tribal tax revenues, and
tribal funds. Other Tribes participating in this brief par-
ticipate in the Court of Indian Offenses administered by
the Anadarko Area Office or the Muscogee Area Office of
the Bureau of Indian Affairs, 25 C.F.R. § 11.1 (1987). Most
of the Tribes are organized with a written constitution
approved by the Secretary of the Interior pursuant to the
Oklahoma Indian Welfare Act of June 26, 1936, 49 Stat.
1967 (25 U.S.C. § 503) (hereinafter O.1.W.A.) Some of the
Tribes have also incorporated the provisions of the Act of
June 18, 1934, 48 Stat. 984 (25 U.S.C. § 461 et seq.) (Indian
Reorganization Act) with Secretarial approval.

Pursuant to these fundamental foundations, these
Indian tribes have enacted, and enforce, a myriad of
statutes which regulate the conduct of all persons withi.

the Indian Country subject to the jurisdiction of their
particular tribe. Some of the laws enacted by one or more
of the tribes include provisions authorizing the incor-
poration of business and non-profit corporations,
removal or discipline of elected tribal officials, the regula-
tion of the gaming industry, regulation of the mineral
mining industry including oil and gas mining, regulating
security agreements and the filing and enforcement of
liens, provisions for the levy and collection of tribal taxes
including taxes on all forms of tobacco, regulation of
certain industries, provisions providing for public health
facilities ard public housing, provisions defining the
punishment for criminal offenses and providing for
police and fire protection, as well as provisions for com-
plete trial and appellate court systems with what is
believed to be model tribal laws relating to tribal courts,
civil, criminal, appellate, and juvenile procedure, and
rules of evidence. Interpreters.are provided in the tribal
courts when needed.

In addition to these statutory enactments, the courts
of these tribes enforce tribal traditions and customs as the
common law of the affected tribe in a manner similar to
that in which American customs and traditions are
enforced as the common law in state and federal courts.
Actions relating to marriage, divorce, child custody,
guardianships, probate of estates, contract rights, tortious
conduct, and requests for relief in equity are not uncom-
mon.

These laws are enforced within the Indian Country of
each tribe. This consists, at a minimum, of the trust or
restricted allotments and lands owned by the tribe
reserved from allotment or acquired in trust by the

United States or restricted against alienation by the
United States pursuant to Acts of Congress, 25 U.S.C.
§§ 177, 335, 465, 501. Each tribe maintains the position
that their original reservation boundaries were not dises-
tablished, or that at worst, their reservation was dimin-
ished but not disestablished in the allotment process. This
question has not yet been authoritatively determined
under the modern definition of Indian Country, or the
modern test for reservation disestablishment or diminish-
ment as adopted by this Court in response to the enact-
ment of 18 U.S.C. § 1151.

The Tribes have a direct interest in the outcome of
this action insofar as the Oklahoma Tax Commission
requests this Court to render a sweeping decision judi-
cially abolishing federally recognized tribal governments
and Indian Country without Congressional sanction.

>

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

1. Indian Tribes have always been recognized as
being immune from suit absent their consent or the con-
sent of Congress. This immunity is black letter Hornbook
law which Congress has taken pains to retain in several
statutory enactments. Without an express waiver of the

Tribe’s sovereign immunity, the Oklahoma Tax Commis-
sion cannot prevail.

2. Indian Country is the appropriate, Congression-
ally approved, term of art to describe the territorial area
of tribal self-government. The Potawatomi tribal store is
located on a tract of land within the original Potawatomi
reservation in what is now Oklahoma. This tract of trust

property is Indian Country, and is subject only to Federal
and Tribal jurisdiction.

3. The Oklahoma Tax Commission's attempt to tax
the Potawatomi Tribe directly interferes with Tribal self-
government and economic development. Oklahoma’s
attempt to levy and collect taxes from the Tribe reduces
Tribal governmental revenues and destroys the ability of
the Tribe to create a positive legal infrastructure for eco-
nomic development with the Indian Country subject to its
territorial jurisdiction.

4. Congress has never lifted the Constitutional and
statutory pre-emption of state authority concerning the
Indian Country of the Potawatomi and other Tribes in
Oklahoma. The original framers of the Constitution
clearly intended Congress to have exclusive control over
trade with the Indians regardless of whether the non-
Indian party was buying or selling. While Congress has
made provision for certain states to exercise jurisdiction
in some cases over non-Indians engaged in such transac-
tions, Oklahoma has not obtained such authorization. In
the absence of compliance with the federal prescription
for obtaining such authority, Oklahoma cannot divest the
Congress of its exclusive authority.

+

ARGUMENT

I. THE CITIZEN BAND POTAWATOMI HAS COM-
PLETE SOVEREIGN IMMUNITY FROM OKLA-
HOMA CLAIMS.

The Oklahoma Tax Commission’s arguments attempt
to deny the tribes their traditional sovereign immunity.
This Court has stated that Congress has plenary power
over the tribes but the Court also recognizes that it is
Congress which creates shifts in Federal policy towards
Indians, not the courts. The courts may not invade the
legislative function.

Indian tribes have long been recognized as pos-
sessing the common-law immunity from suit
traditionally enjoyed by sovereign powers.
Turner v. United States, 248 U.S. 354, 358, 39 S.Ct.
109, 110, 63 L.Ed. 291 (1919); United States v.
United States Fidelity & Guaranty Co., 309 US.
506, 512-513, 60 S.Ct. 653, 656, 84 L.Ed. 894
(1940); Puyallup Tribe, Inc. v. Washington Dept. of
Game, 433 U.S. 165, 172-473, 97 S.Ct. 2616,
2620-2621, 53 L.Ed. 2d 667 (1977). This aspect of
tribal sovereignty, like all others, is subject to
the superior and plenary control of Congress.
But “without congressional authorization,” the
“Indian Nations are exempt from suit.” United
States v. United States Fidelity & Guaranty Co.,
supra, 309 U.S. at 512, 60 S.Ct. at 656.

It is settled that a waiver of sovereign
immunity ‘cannot be implied but must be
unequivocally expressed.’ United States v. Testan,
424 U.S. 392, 399, 96 S.Ct. 948, 953, 47 L.Ed.2d
114 (1976), quoting, United States v. King, 395

U.S. 1, 4, 89 S.Ct. 1501, 1502, 23 L.Ed.2d 52
(1969).

Santa Clara Pueblo v. Martinez, 436 U.S. 49, 58-59 (1978).

Until such time as Congress determines that it is time
to reduce or extinguish the sovereign immunity of the
tribes the courts must continue the tribes’ protection from
unconsented suit, especially from the states. United States
v. Kagama, 118 U.S. 375 (1886).

Il. THE TRACT OF LAND AT ISSUE IS INDIAN
COUNTRY SUBJECT TO EXCLUSIVE FEDERAL
AND TRIBAL JURISDICTION ABSENT AN ACT
OF CONGRESS TO THE CONTRARY

The term “Indian Country” is perhaps first defined
by statute in the Act of June 30, 1834, 4 Stat. 729 (1834) as
“all that part of the United States . . . to which Indian title
has not been extinguished”, and included within its terms
the area which now comprises the State of Oklahoma. The
effect of the early statutes defining Indian Country was
summarized by the noted Indian law scholar, Felix
Cohen, in his Handbook of Federal Indian Law 6 (1942 Ed.)
as follows:

Indian country in all these statutes is terri-
tory, wherever situated, within which tribal law
is generally applicable, federal law is applicable
only in special cases designated by statute, and
state law is not applicable at all’.

' The complete prohibiticn as to the application of state
law in the Indian Country has been modified to the extent
Congress has deemed proper. 18 U.S.C. § 1161 (liquor laws);
Act of February 15, 1929, Ch. 216, 45 Stat. 1185 (health and

(Continued on following page)

Although the 1834 definition of Indian Country was
not included in the Revised Statutes of the United States,
and therefore repealed, it provided a useful mechanism
for the Court to apply statutory laws relating to “Indian
Country” and “Indian Reservations”. Donnelly v. United
States, 228 U.S. 243, 269 (1913). In a series of now famous
cases, the Court developed a definition of “Indian Coun-
try” at common law which included Indian reservations;
Bates v. Clark, 95 U.S. 204 (1887); Donnelly v. United States,
228 U.S. 243 (1913), trust and restricted Indian allotments;
United States v. Pelican, 232 U.S. 442 (1941); United States v.
Ramsey, 271 U.S. 467 (1926), and areas set aside for the use
and occupancy of Indians (dependent Indian commu-
nities) although not called a “reservation”. United States v.
Sandoval, 231 U.S. 28 (1913); United States v. McGowan, 302
U.S 535 (1938).

In Bates v. Clark, 95 U.S. 204, 209 (1887), the Court
stated:

It follows from this that all the country
described by the act of 1834 as Indian Country
remains Indian Country so long as the Indians
retain their original title to the soil, and ceases
to be Indian Country whenever they lose that

(Continued from previous page)

education) (25 U.S.C. § 231); 25 U.S.C. §§ 232, 233 (New York);
18 U.S.C. § 1162 (criminal jurisdiction in Public Law 83-280
states); 28 U.S.C. § 1360 (civil jurisdiction in Public Law 83-280
states); 25 U.S.C. §§ 1321 et seq. (assumption and retrocession
of civil or criminal jurisdiction by states which are not manda-
tory Public Law 83-280 states). Oklahoma was not granted, and
has never assumed, jurisdiction over Indian Country within its
borders pursuant to Public Law 33-280.

10

title, in the absence of any different provision by
treaty or by act of Congress.

Although the Indian Country status had been tied to
aboriginal ownership of the soil, this Court in Donnelly
extended the application of the term to lands reserved for
tribes carved from the public domain. Tribal ownership,
however, remained the benchmark ‘indicia of Indian
Country status for Indian reservations as a historical
consequence of the 1834 act. In pre-1948 decisions of this
and other courts, as well as those cases which rely with-
out critical analysis upon such decisions, the ownership
of title to the soil was often critical to the status of land as
Indian Country or “reservation” land.

The foregoing decisions left open the question of
whether land within the exterior boundaries of an Indian
reservation which was held in fee (in other words an
“open” or assimilated” reservation) was Indian Country.
Cohen, Handbook of Federal Indian Law 8 (1942 Ed.). The
practical effect of this “open reservation” issue was
whether federal and tribal jurisdiction remained exclu-
sive in reservation areas where allotments had been taken
and the surplus sold, or where trust periods had expired,
or where restrictions against alienation had been
removed.

In 1948, Congress resolved this issue in favor of
federal and tribal jurisdiction over trust or fee patented
lands within reservations, and codified the Supreme
Court’s existing common law classification of Indian
Country by the Act of June 25, 1948, 62 Stat. 757, codified
in its present form at 18 U.S.C. § 1151, which states:

Except as otherwise provided in sections
1154 and 1156 of this title, the term “Indian

11

Country”, as used in this chapter, means (a) all
land within the limits of any Indian reservation
under the jurisdiction of the United States Gov-
ernment, notwithstanding the issuance of any
patent, and, including rights-of-way running
through the reservation, (b) all dependent
Indian communities within the borders of the
United States whether within or without the
limits of a state, and (c) all Indian allotments,
the Indian titles to which have not been extin-
guished, including rights-of-way running
through the same.

Oklahoma was not excepted from the terms of this Act.
The impact of this Congressional action was to render
obsolete Court decisions which tied Indian Country sta-
tus of Indian lands to issues of land title, and to define by
statute the territorial area for the operation of tribal gov-
ernment. The question of continuing land ownership
remains relevant only in the context of Indian allotments
outside Indian reservations. This Court, while often
speaking in terms of “reservation” or “allotment” or
“dependant Indian community” as relevant in a particu-
lar circumstance has, since 1948, clearly held that “Indian
Country” is the legally recognized term of art defining
the territorial area for the exercise of tribal self-govern-
ment. United States v. Mazurie, 419 U.S. 544, (1975)?;

2 “Cases such as Worcester, supra, and Kagama, supra,
surely established the proposition that Indian tribes within
‘Indian Country’ are a good deal more than ‘private, voluntary
organizations.’ ” Mazurie at U.S. 557.

12

DeCoteau v. District Court, 420 U.S. 425 (1975)3; United

States v. John, 437 U.S. 634 (1978)4; Solem ». Bartlett, 465
U.S. 463 (1984).5

It is obvious that the term “Indian Country” encom-
passes reservation areas, and the areas enumerated in
section 1151 are to be treated equally as those areas are all
“Indian Country”. The reservation is indeed “Indian

3 In footnote 2 of the opinion, the court stated: “If the
lands in question are within a continuing “reservation,” juris-
diction is in the tribe and the Federal Government “notwith-
standing the issuance of any patent. . . . On the other hand, if
the lands are not within a continuing reservation, jurisdiction
is in the State, except for those land parcels which are “Indian
allotments, the Indian titles to which have not been extin-
guished, including rights-of-way running through the same.”
While § 1151 is concerned on its face, only with criminal
jurisdiction, the Court has recognized that it generally applies
as well to questions of civil jurisdiction.” (citations omitted).
After concluding that the Sisseton-Wahpeton reservation had
been disestablished, the Court concluded: “In such a situation,
exclusive tribal and federal jurisdiction is limited to the
retained allotments. 18 U.S.C. § 1151(c).” Id. at U.S. 446.

4 At page 649 of the opinion, the Court stated: “With
certain exceptions not pertinent here, § 1151 includes within
the term “Indian Country” three categories of land. The first,
with which we are here concerned, is [Indian reservations].” In
the accompanying footnote 17, the Court stated in part: “Inas-
much as we find in the first category a sufficient basis for the
exercise of federal jurisdiction in the case, we need not con-
sider the second and third categories [of Indian Country].”

> In footnote 8 at page 467 of the opinion the Court stated:
“Regardless of whether the original reservation was dimin-
ished, federal and tribal courts have exclusive jurisdiction over
those portions of the opened lands that were and have
remained Indian allotments. In addition, opened lands that
have been restored to reservation status by subsequent Acts of
congress fall within the exclusive criminal jurisdiction of fed-
eral and tribal courts.” (citations omitted).

13

Country”, and the laws applicable to the reservation are
logically applicable to the areas set out in 1151(b) and (c).
See, DeCoteau v. District Court, 429 U.S. 425 (1975), United
States v. John, 437 U.S. 634 (1978), United States v. Pelican,
232 U.S. 442 (1914), United States v. Sandoval, 231 U.S. 28
(1913).

Every modern Court which has considered the ques-
tion has determined that “Indian Country” exists in Okla
homa including: (1) restricted allotments, State v. Burnett,
671 P.2d 1165 (Okla. Crim. 1983); United States v. Burnett,
777 F.2d 593 (10th Cir. 1985), cert. denied, 476 U.S. 1106
(1986); (2) trust allotments, State v. Littlechief, 573 P.2d 263
(Okla. Crim. 1978) (agreeing with unpublished federal
district court decision to the same effect, see, 573 P.2d at
264), and (3) tribal trust lands, compare, State ex rel. May v.
Seneca-Cayuga Tribe, 711 P.2d 77 (Okla. 1985) (Quapaw
tribal lands) with Indian Country USA v. Oklahoma Tax
Commission, 829 F.2d 967 (10th Cir. 1987) cert. den. sub.
nom., Oklahoma Tax Commission v. Muscogee (Creek) Nation,
__ US. __, 108 S.Ct. 2870 (1988) (tribal lands of Creek
Nation) See also; Cheyenne-Arapaho Tribes v. Oklahoma, 618
F.2d 665 (10th Cir. 1980); Ahboah v. Housing Authority of
Kiowa Tribe of Indians, 660 P.2d 625 (Okla. 1983), Housing
Authority of the Seminole Nation v. Harjo, 790 P.2d 1098
(Okla. 1990).®

6 Additionally, there exists in Oklahoma trust and
restricted Indian allotments and other Indian lands that consti-
tute “dependent Indian communities” under Section 1151(b).
See United States v. McGowan, 302 U.S. 535 (1938); United States
v. Sandoval, 231 U.S. 28, 46 (1913); United States v. Azure, 801

(Continued on following page)

14

According to Petitioner, the trust land of the
Potawatomi at issue herein is not a reservation and there-
fore not protected from state intrusion. The Tax Commis-
sion demonstrates in almost every respect a total
misunderstanding of Federal Indian law and the nature
of Indian Country. The Petitioner attempts to show that
the tract of land does not fit the definition of reservation
as that word was used in the 1891 statute.? The Tax
Commission even goes to the absurd point of criticizing
the lower court because it found the land to be Indian
Country by only “quoting the text” of this Court’s test in
United States v. John, 437 U.S. 634 (1978) that the land be
set apart for the use of Indians as such. There is simply
no magic in the use of the term “reservation”, since lands
set aside for use of Indians because of their status as
Indians are Indian Country whether referred to as reser-
vation or by some other term. United States v. McGowan,
302 U.S. 535 (1938).

Indian Country, USA, supra, addressed many of the
same issues raised yet again by the Tax Commission. In
denying state authority to regulate tribal bingo on tribal

(Continued from previous page)

F.2d 336, 339 (8th Cir. 1986); United States v. South Dakota, 665
F.2d 837 (8th Cir. 1981), cert. denied, 459 U.S. 823 (1982); United
States v. Martine, 442 F.2d 1022, 1023 (10th Cir. 1971). Oklahoma
cases have applied this standard as well to preclude state
jurisdiction on Indian lands in Oklahoma. C.M.C. v. State, 594
P.2d 798 (Okla.), cert. denied, 442 U.S. 992 (1979) (Chilocco
Indian School is a dependent Indian Community and thus
“Indian country;” there is accordingly no state juvenile court
jurisdiction).
” Act of March 3, 1891, ch. 543, § 8, 26 Stat. 1016.

15

trust lands belonging to the Creek Nation, the Tenth
Circuit carefully reviewed the turn of the century legisla-
tion and policy that, as with the Potawatomi, conveyed
away much of the Creek Nation’s land, and which addi-
tionally seriously affected the Creeks’ government. The
court concluded that:

Although the federal legislation described above
seriously undermined the authority of the Creek
Nation, we are not persuaded that ye mere
intended or acted to completely abolish Creek
Nation jurisdiction over tribal lands, to divest
the federal government of its authority, or to
permit the assertion of jurisdiction by the State
of Oklahoma.

.. . The language of the Oklahoma [enabling]
act, read in its historical context, suggests that
Congress intended to preserve its jurisdiction
and authority over Indians and their lands in
the new State of Oklahoma until it accomplished
the eventual goal of terminating the tribal gov-
ernments, assimilating the Indians and dissolv-
ing completely the tribally-owned land base
events that never occurred and goals that Con-
gress later expressly repudiated. The State has
failed to cite any acts of Congress that clearly
reveal an intent to divest the federal and tribal
governments of jurisdiction over Creek tribal
lands and to confer such authority on the State
of Oklahoma.

829 F.2d at 978, 979-980. (footnote omitted)

The Tax Commission also ignores the different lan-
guage used in the two acts conveying the land back to the
Potawatomi, Act of Sept. 13, 1960, 74 Stat. 903 and Act of
August 11, 1964, 78 Stat. 382, and the third placing it in
trust, Act of Jan. 2, 1975, 88 Stat. 1922. The first two

16

unequivocally state that “title of the tribe” to the lands
conveyed “shall be subject to no exemption from taxation
or restriction on use, management or disposition because
of Indian ownership.” Act of Sept. 13, 1960, 74 Stat. 903,
and Act of August 11, 1964, 78 Stat. 392. The third rele-
vant act avoids such language and instead states that the
land shall be conveyed “to the United States in trust for
the Citizen Band of Pottawatomie.” The first two acts had
to use very specific language to preclude the land from
falling within the definition of Indian Country and thus
the special laws that would otherwise apply to tribally
owned land.® It is beyond reason for the Tax Commission
to argue that lands taken into trust for a tribe in Okla-
homa are not “Indian country” under 18 U.S.C. § 1151(a).

III. THE STATE IS WITHOUT AUTHORITY TO TAX
BECAUSE OF INTERFERENCE WITH TRIBAL
SELF-GOVERNMENT.

The federal government maintains a federal policy
encouraging Indian economic development and tribal
self-government. If the tribal businesses must pay both
State and tribal taxes on top of federal taxes, then con-
trary to the Oklahoma Tax Commission’s statements,
there is not a level playing field. Instead, economic devel-
opment in Indian Country would be devastated by hav-
ing to pay triple taxation, or the Tribal government will
have to forego sorely needed tax revenues and its ability

8 See 25 U.S.C. § 177 flatly prohibiting purchase, grant,
lease or other conveyance of lands or any claim or title thereto
by any tribe unless such alienation was pursuant to treaty or
convention pursuant to the Constitution.

17

to exercise its governmental functions by creating a legal
infrastructure within which to conduct trade and other
business. Bryan v. Itasca County, Minnesota, 426 U.S. 373,
388, 96 S.Ct. 2102, 2111 (1976) noted the destructive effect
of allowing the tribe to be subject to state and local tax.

State taxes would limit the tribes ability to raise and
maximize tribal revenues, to determine whether to make
certain property or transactions tax exempt, or to limit
taxation of certain property or businesses in order to
encourage economic development, all of which would
directly infringe on their ability to govern their own
affairs.? Such taxes frustrate federal efforts to aid Indian
Country. Congress annually appropriates approximately
one billion dollars a year for Federal Indian programs.
Almost half of this appropriation, $500 million, is then
immediately pulled back out of Indian Country through
federal and state taxes. id note 9, p. 188.

The Oklahoma Tax Commission’s attempt in this case
to assess the Potawatomi taxes in the amount of $2.3
million is substantively and procedurally defective. The
State of Oklahoma has neither civil nor criminal jurisdic-
tion within Indian Country. Housing Authority of the Semi-
nole Nation v. Harjo, 790 P.2d 1098 (Okia. 1990), Ahboah,
supra. It is absolutely inconceivable that Congress would
allow any significant state taxation in areas where the
tribes are responsible for both civil and criminal jurisdic-
tion. Furthermore, the responsibility of exercising civil

9 See State and Indian Tribal Taxation on Indian Reservations -
Is It Too Taxing?, 1989 Harvard Law Symposium, Susan Wil-
liams and Kevin Gover. pp. 180-181. (1990, President and Fel-
lows of Harvard College).

18

jurisdiction carries with it the responsibility of regulat.ng
interactions with both Indian and non-Indian.

The Potawatomi, unlike any state government, are
asked to exercise criminal and civil jurisdiction while
having tax monies drained by both the federal and state
taxing authorities. The State of Oklahoma has revenues
drained from only one authority (federal), while tribal
governments are responsible for both civil and criminal
jurisdiction in the Indian Country within the State. Thus
state taxation within “Indian Country” located in Okla-
homa has not been allowed or authorized by Congress.

A key consideration in determining the authority of a
state to tax within “Indian Country” is whether the state
has civil and criminal jurisdiction. In McClanahan v. Ari-
zona State Tax Comm'n, 411 U.S. 164, 178-179 (1973), the
Court, in dealing with such a situation, explained:

... a Startling aspect of this case is that appellee
apparently concedes that, in the absence of com-
pliance with 25 U.S.C. 1322(a), the Arizona
courts can exercise neither civil nor criminal
jurisdiction over reservation Indians . . . But the
appellee nowhere explains how, without such juris-
diction, the State’s tax may either be imposed or
collected .. . Unless the State is willing to defend
the position that it may constitutionally admin-
ister its tax system altogether without judicial
intervention . . . the admitted absence of either
c.vil or criminal jurisdiction would seem to dis-
pose of the case. (Emphasis added).

Indeed, conferring civil and criminal jurisdiction upon a
state may still leave the state without taxing authority
over Indians in “Indian Country”. Bryan v. Itasca County,
426 U.S. 373 (1976). But there has never been any case

19

which has held that a state may tax Indians within any
part of “Indian Country” where that state has no general
civil or criminal jurisdiction unless Congress has specifi-
cally legislated to grant the states taxing power.

Neither Moe v. Confederated Salish and Kootenai Tribes,
425 U.S. 463 (1976) nor Washington v. Confederated ‘ribes of
the Colville Reservation, 447 U.S. 134 (1980), involved tribes
which provided services to the taxpayers. But in Okla-
homa the Potawatomi provide the protection of its civil
laws to all individuals doing business within its jurisdic-
tion. This protection and exercise of jurisdiction extends
to both Indian and non-Indian alike.

Requiring the Tribes to provide both civil and crimi-
nal protection within its jurisdiction while draining tax
monies to sources outside that jurisdiction is unconscion-
able. A tribe’s interest compared to others in raising
revenue for essential government programs is stronger
when the taxpayer is the recipient of tribal services.
Washington v. Confederated Tribes of Colville, 447 U.S. 134
(1980). This is especially true when as in this case the
tribe is the taxpayer. The State of Oklahoma argues for
the right to extract tax monies from the Potawatomi juris-
diction while the burden of exercising civil and criminal
jurisdiction is on the Tribe. This frustrates tribal self-
government and therefore state taxation is not allowed.
Williams v. Lee, 358 U.S. 217 (1959). Further, the same
federal preemption barrier to State taxation which existed
in McClanahan is present in this case.

The brief of the Tax Commission argues that the
Indian Reservations in Oklahoma have been disestab-
lished pursuant to the Dawes Severalty Act. Brief of Pet.

20

at pp. 13-21. This ignores two fundamental facts. First,
what now comprises the State of Oklahoma required two
separate allotment acts to deal with all the tribes in
Oklahoma. The Dawes act by its own language did not
affect the Five Civilized Tribes in Indian Territory and
thus could not change the nature of their reservations. On
the other hand, the Commissioner’s reports referenced in
Petitioner’s brief did not apply to the Citizen Band
Potawatomi or other Tribes located in what was, at that
time, the Oklahoma Territory. Second, to quote from this
Court in Moe v. Confederated Salish and Kootenai Tribes, 425
U.S. 463, 478-479 (1976):

The State’s argument also overlooks what this
Court has recently said of the present effect of
the General Allotment Act ana related legisla-
tion of that era: ‘Its policy was to continue the
reservation system and the trust status of Indian
lands, but to allot tracts to individual Indians
for agriculture and grazing. When all the lands
had been allotted and the trust period expired,
the reservation could be abolished ... The policy
of allotment and sale of surplus reservation land
was repudiated in 1934 by the Indian Reorgani-
zation Act.’ citing Mattz v. Arnett, 412 U.S. 481,
93 S.Ct. 2245 (emphasis added).

In Muscogee (Creek) Nation v. Hodel, 851 F.2d 1439
(D.C. Cir. 1988) the appellate court relied upon this
Court’s holding in Montana v. Blackfeet Tribe, 471 U.S. 759
(1985) for the effects of a general repealer clause in a
statute dealing with Indians

[T]he canons of construction applicable in
Indian law are rooted in the unique trust rela-
tionship between the United States and the
Indians. [S]tatutes are to be construed liberally

21

in favor of the Indians, with ambiguous provi-
sions interpreted to their benefit. If there is any
ambiguity as to the inconsistency and/or the
repeal of the Curtis Act, the OIWA must be
construed in favor of the Indians, i.e., as repeal-
ing the Curtis Act and permitting the establish-
ment of Tribal Courts.

Muscogee (Creek) Nation v. Hodel, 851 F.2d, at 1445. (cita-
tions omitted.)

Thus, even to the extent some Indian Tribes in east-
ern Oklahoma (the “Indian Territory”) lost a portion of
their governmental powers at the end of the last century,
the O.1.W.A. restores the Indian Tribes in Oklahoma to
their original exclusive jurisdiction over those transac-
tions occurring within their country to the exclusion of
the state. Ata minimum the O.I.W.A. requires the state to
show an affirmative subsequent Congressional delegation
of authority to the state to enter the Indian Country
within Oklahoma. The state las yet to show that it has
received such a Congressional grant of power, except for
the above discredited reliance on the Allotment Acts. In
other words, prior to the creation of the State of Okla-
homa, the Tribes exercised undiminished and exclusive
authority in civil matters arising in their country for the
simple reason that no state existed to challenge that
authority. Given the prohibition against assertion of state
jurisdiction imposed by the Oklahoma Enabling Act, and
the failure of the Oklahoma Tax Commission to show any
explicit general Congressional grant of authority to tax or
regulate trade with the Indians since statehood in 1907,
the State’s position must fail.

22

IV. OKLAHOMA CANNOT TAX THE SALE OF CIGA-
RETTES BY THE POTAWATOMI TRIBE BECAUSE
CONGRESS HAS NEVER DISSOLVED THE FED-
ERAL PRE-EMPTION BARRIER TO STATE JURIS-
DICTION.

The Oklahoma Tax Commission would have the
Court believe that this controversy is solely one of State
vs. Tribal authority. In truth, it is a question of the author-
ity of the Federal government vis-a-vis the State.

Article I, Section 8, Clause 3 of the Constitution of the
United States vests the sole power to control commerce
between citizens or subjects of the United States and the
Indian Tribes exclusively in the Congress of the United
States. The founding fathers explained their reasons for
vesting such authority exclusively in Congress instead of
a sharing arrangement with the States - as had been the
case under the Articles of Confederation — in the follow-
ing manner:

[T]he prospect of present loss or advantage, may
often tempt the governing party in one or two
States to swerve from good faith and justice; but
those temptations not reaching the other States,
and consequently having little or no influence
on the national government, the temptation will
be fruitless, and good faith and justice be pre-
served. ... Not a single Indian war has yet been
occasioned by the aggressions of the present
Federal Government, feeble as it is, but there are
several instances of Indian hostilities having
been provoked by the improper conduct of indi-
vidual States...

See, The Federalist No. 3, p. 43-44 (C. Rossiter ed. 1961)
(NAL Penguin, Inc. Publisher), and further:

23

The regulation of commerce with the Indian
tribes is very properly unfettered from two lim-
itations in the Articles of Confederation, which
render the provision obscure and contradictory.
The power is there restrained to Indians, not
members of any of the States, and is not to
violate or infringe the legislative right of any
State within its own limits. What description of
Indians are to be deemed members of a State is
not yet settled, and has been a question of fre-
quent perplexity and contention in the federal
councils. And how the trade with Indians,
though not members of a State, yet residing
within its legislative jurisdiction can be regu-
lated by an external authority, without so far
intruding on the internal rights of legislation, is
absolutely incomprehensible. This is not the
only case in which the Articles of Confederation
have inconsiderately endeavored to accomplish
impossibilities; to reconcile a partial sovereignty
in the Union, with complete sovereignty in the
States; to subvert a mathematical axiom by tak-
ing away a part and letting the whole remain.

See, The Federalist No. 42, pp. 268-269 (C. Rossiter, ed.
1961) (NAL Penguin, Inc. Publisher). Far from allowing
the situation occasioned by the Articles of Confederation
to remain, the Constitutional Convention intentionally
framed the Commerce Clause to remove from the States
all authority concerning commerce with the Indian Tribes
by non-Indians. Worcester v. Georgia, 31 U.S. (6 Pet.) 515
(1832).

In Kennerly v. District Court, 400 U.S. 424 (1971), the
Court recognized that Public Law 83-280, 28 U.S.C. §1360
as amended by 25 U.S.C. §1322 was a “governing Act of
Congress” concerning state authority to regulate matters

24

involving Indians in the Indian Country thereby preclud-
ing reliance on an “infringement test” or application of a
balancing test. Simply stated, Congress intended that
States comply with this act in order to acquire jurisdiction
over commerce with Indians in the Indian Country.

Examination of the Federal statutes and State
Constitutions have revealed that enabling acts
for eight States, and in consequence the consti-
tutions of those States, contain express dis-
claimers of jurisdicticn. Included are .. .
Oklahoma... . Effect of the disclaimer of jurisdic-
tion over Indian land within the borders of these
States — in the absence of consent being given for
future action to assume jurisdiction — is to retain
exclusive Federal jurisdiction until Indian title to
such lands is extinguished. (emphasis added).

S. Rep. No. 699, 83rd Cong., Ist Sess., 1953 U.S. Code
Congressional and Administrative News 2409, 2412 (leg-
islative history).

This statute, commonly referred to as P.L. 83-280,
expressly extends the civil and criminal laws having gen-
eral application to all persons and property within the
State into the Indian Country within the states subject
thereto, with certain limitations as to the application
thereof to Indians of the affected Indian Country. This
statue, then, is the sole Congressionally authorized gen-
eral mechanism for states to exert authority over com-
merce with Indians in the Indian Country.

It is absolutely clear that with rare exception Con-
gress has not allowed the taxation of Indians in “Indian
Country” by a state. Montana v. Blackfeet, 471 U.S. 759
(1985); White Mountain Apache Tribe v. Bracker, 448 U.S. 136

25

(1980); Ramah Navajo School Bd., Inc. v. Bureau of Revenue of
New Mexico, 458 U.S. 832 (1982); McClanahan, supra. Nor
may a state generally tax Indians in “Indian Country”
even if a state has assumed criminal and civil jurisdiction
over “Indian Country”. Bryan v. Itasca County, Minnesota,
426 U.S. 373 (1976). Apparently, however, if a state has
general civil and criminal jurisdiction within “Indian
Country” pursuant to P.L. 83-280, that state may tax non-
Indians in “Indian Country” if the tax burden does not
frustrate tribal self-government or federal policy.
McClanahan, supra, Moe v. Confederated Salish & Kootenai
Tribes, 425 U.S. 463 (1976); California v. Cabazon Band of
Mission Indians, 480 U.S. 202 (1987).

In Moe and Washington v. Confederated Tribes of the
Colville Reservation, 447 U.S. 134 (1980) the Court allowed
a tax on non-Indians. In Moe, the tax on non-Indians did
not frustrate triba: self-government and was not prohib-
ited by the federal preemption barrier which had been
removed by P.L. 83-280, 28 U.S.C. § 1360 as amended and
supplemented by 25 U.S.C. § 1322. The Oklahoma Tax
Commission is not in a situation similar to Moe and
Colville because the Tax Commission has taxed the tribe
directly through an assessment, and because Oklahoma
have never obtained jurisdiction over non-Indians
involved in commerce with Indians in the Indian Country
via P.L. 83-280.

The Tenth Circuit decision correctly dismissed the
arguments of the Oklahoma Tax Commission regarding
Washington v. Confederated Tribes of the Colville Reservation,
447 U.S. 134 (1980). That portion of the 10th Circuit's
decision correctly noted the distribution of jurisdiction

26

between the tribes, the state and the federal government
in Oklahoma. The decision in Colville is irrelevant in this
case because it relies upon Moe v. Confederated Salish and
Kootenai Tribes, 425 U.S. 463 (1976) which in turn is
grounded upon the fact that the ability of the state to tax
non-Indians engaged in transactions with Indians came
from the grant of authority from Congress found in Pub-
lic Law 83-280. In Moe, the non-Indian was liable for the
tax because Congress had not exempted taxation of non-
Indians when the general Conimerce clause preemption
was removed by Public Law 83-280.!° The non-Indian,
because Congress had made state law specifically appli-
cable to him, would be committing a crime by possession
of unstamped cigarettes. These cases simply do not apply
unless Congress has made state law applicable within the
Indian country in question because no crime would be
committed.

10 See, Warren Trading Post v. Arizona Tax Commission, 380
U.S. 685 (1965), in which the opposite result was reached, i.e. a
white person was not taxable by the state regarding transac-
tions with Indians in Indian country, in a state where the
federal preemption barriers to state tax law as to non-Indians
had not been removed by Public Law 83-280. To attempt to
create differences in the nature of goods such as cigarettes and
other items that are imported into Indian Country for resale
defies logic. The Warren Trading Post clearly imported pro-
cessed goods into the Indian country simply to resell them. The
only logical and consistent legal underpinning of these cases,
even if disavowed by this Court, flows directly from the deci-
sion of Congress, expressed by statute, to allow state tax laws
to apply to non-Indians within particular Indian country areas
at issue in Moe and Washington.

27

Therefore, the real issue here is whether Congress or
the Oklahoma Tax Commission have the authority to
regulate commerce between the Citizen Band Potawatomi
and subjects or citizens of the United States. Simply
stated, the Constitution vests Congress with the exclusive
authority to regulate such activities. Although Congress
has provided Oklahoma a mechanism to share in that
authority in part, Oklahoma has not seen fit to amend its
Constitution or enact specific legislation to comply with
the conditions required by Congress for the acquisition of
such authority.

The previous “cigarette tax cases” of this Court are
not to the contrary because in each case the State had
acquired jurisdiction as to “all persons and property” in
the Indian Country affected through Public Law 83-280
with the exceptions noted by this Court in those cases. It
would indeed be oxymoronic to recognize, on the one
hand, that Tribal sovereignty is subject only to the author-
ity of Congress, Merrion v. Jicarilla Apache Tribe, 455 U.S.
130, 147 (1982), and to allow, on the other hand, intrusion
by the State into the Tribe’s territorial jurisdiction as
established by Congress, and subjugation of the Tribe's
rights to self-government to the governing authority of a
State without the consent of the Tribe or Congress.

>

CONCLUSION

If the Court is to remain faithful to the intent of the
framers of the Constitution, it must uphold the authority
of Congress alone to regulate commercial transactions

28

involving Indians in the Indian Country and affirm the
United States Court of Appeals for the Tenth Circuit.

* Counsel of Record

Respectfully submitted,

G. Witu1aM Rice, Eso.*
Attorney General,
Sac and Fox Nation

Grecory H. Bicter, Eso.
N. Brent Parmer, Esq.

G. WituaM Rice, P.C.

124 N. Cleveland
Cushing, Oklahoma 74023
(918) 225-4800

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385012_0722%3A14. Public record. Not legal advice.
