# Amicus Curiae Brief — Oklahoma Tax Comm'n v. Citizen Band of Potawatomi Tribe of Okla.

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385012_0722%3A13

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1991
- **Citation:** 498 U.S. 505

## Text

(\ > Supreme Court, U.S.
No. 89-1322 -— FILED

1990

In The ' JOSEPH F. SPANIOL, JR.
CLERK

ce

Supreme Court of the United_States __

October Term, 1990
+

OKLAHOMA TAX COMMISSION,

Petitioner,

V.

THE CITIZEN BAND POTAWATOMI INDIAN TRIBE
OF OKLAHOMA,

Respondent.

+

On Writ Of Certiorari To The
United States Court Of Appeals For The
Tenth Circuit

+

BRIEF AMICI CURIAE OF
THE CHEYENNE-ARAPAHO TRIBES OF
OKLAHOMA, THE ALABAMA-COUSHATTA
INDIAN TRIBE OF TEXAS, THE UNITED
INDIAN NATIONS OF OKLAHOMA,
(additional amici listed inside)
IN SUPPORT OF RESPONDENT

+

Metopy L. McCoy*

YVONNE TERESA KNIGHT

Kim JEROME GOTTSCHALK
Native AMERICAN RIGHTS FUND
1506 Broadway

Boulder, CO 80302

(303) 447-8760

Counsel for The Cheyenne-Arapaho Tribes
of Oklahoma, The Alabama-Coushatta
Indian Tribe of Texas, and The United
Indian Nations of Oklahoma

*Counsel of Record for All Amici

December, 1990

it

Reip P. CHAMBERS

Sonosky, CHAMBERS &
SACHSE

1250 I Street, N.W.,

Suite 1000

Washington, DC 20005

(202) 682-0240

Counsel for the Assiniboine
and Sioux Tribe of the
Fort Peck Reservation

JEANNE S. WHITEING

Rosert S. THompson, III

Wuiteinc & THOMPSON

1136 Pearl Street

Boulder, CO 80302

(303) 444-2549

Counsel for the Blackfeet
Tribe of Indians of the
Blackfeet Reservation; and
the Walker River Paiute
Tribe

THomMasS W. FREDERICKS

FREDERICKS, PELCYGER
& HESTER

1881 9th Street, Suite 216

Boulder, CO 80302

(303) 443-1683

Counsel for the Fort Belknap
Indian Community; and
the Fort Mojave Indian
Tribe of Arizona, California
and Nevada

BERTRAM E. HirscH

81-33 258th Street

Floral Park, NY 10004

(718) 347-3022

Counsel for Native Village of
Tyonek; and the Sisseton-
Wahpeton Sioux Tribe

JupitH A. SHAPIRO

Hosss, StrAus, DEAN &
WILDER

1819 H Street, N.W.,

Suite 800

Washington, DC 20006

(202) 783-5100

Counsei for the Miccosukee
Tribe of Indians of Florida;
the Poarch Band of Creek
Indians; the Three
Affiliated Tribes of the Fort
Berthold Reservation; the
Oglala Sioux Tribe of the
Pine Ridge Reservation; the
St. Regis Band of Mohawk
Indians of New York; the
Seminole Tribe of Florida;
and the Menominee Indian
Tribe of Wisconsin

Jack F. Trore ANITA FINEDAY

ASSOCIATION ON AMERICAN Solicitor General
INDIAN AFFAIRS Mille Lacs Band of
95 Madison Avenue Chippewa Indians

New York, NY 10014 HCR 67, Box 194
(212) 689-8720 Onamia, MN 56359

Counsel for the Association Counsel for the Mille Lacs
on American Indian Affairs Band of Chippewa
Indians

ADDITIONAL AMICI

Assiniboine and Sioux Tribe of the Fort Peck Reservation;
Blackfeet Tribe of Indians of the Blackfeet Reservation;
Fort Belknap Indian Community;

Fort Mojave Indian Tribe of Arizona, California and
Nevada;

Menominee Indian Tribe of Wisconsin;

Miccosukee Tribe of Indians of Florida;

Mille Lacs Band of Chippewa Indians;

Native Village of Tyonek;

Oglala Sioux Tribe of the Pine Ridge Reservation;
Poarch Band of Creek Indians;

St. Regis Band of Mohawk Indians of New York;
Seminole Tribe of Florida;

Sisseton-Wahpeton Sioux Tribe;

Three Affiliated Tribes of the Fort Berthold Reservation;
Walker River Paiute Tribe;

Association on American Indian Affairs

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES..... eu nasliceranennke iii
INTEREST OF THE AMICI CURIAE............... 1
SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT...............0000008 2
ARGUMENT ....... [SdsabaNncnks sod dsaeeeTheesaees 4

I. THE STATE IS BARRED BY FEDERAL LAW
AND POLICY FROM SUING THE TRIBE FOR
BACK TAXES OWED BY NON-MEMBER TAX-
PAYERS, PLUS INTEREST AND PENALTIES... 4

A. Permitting The State To Sue The Tribe For
Back Taxes, Penalties, And Interest Would
Frustrate Federal Law And Policy Protecting
Tribal Self-Government And Would Contra-
dict Longstanding Principles Underlying
The Federal Doctrine Of Tribal Sovereign
EN 0 Sec dsvcectiewenaendabedsdecess 5

B. Regarding Future Taxes, Assuming Arguendo
Such Taxes Are Valid, The State Has
Remedies For Prospective Relief If Tribes
Should Fail To Collect Them............... 11

Il. THE STATE’S ARGUMENTS ABOUT THE CON-
TINUED EXISTENCE OF THE ORIGINAL
BOUNDARIES OF THE RESERVATION ARE
IRRELEVANT TO THIS CASE INVOLVING
LAND HELD IN TRUST FOR THE TRIBE;
MOREOVER, CONTRARY TO THE STATE’S
CONTENTIONS, SUCH LAND IS SUBJECT TO
Cee PGs 6 ev evtencncteesccccces 13

A. Under Solem v. Bartlett And Other Cases Of
This Court, Disestablishment Is Irrelevant To
Issues Of Jurisdiction Over Trust Land.... 13

ii

TABLE OF CONTENTS - Continued
Page

B. Under A Long Line Of Cases Preceding And
Including United States v. John, The Tribal
Trust Land In This Case Is Territory Subject
To the Tribe’s Jurisdiction ...............-. 16

CI oho nen eccsdveccccensesceveesseonees 24

ili

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page
Cases
Ahboah v. Hous. Auth. of the Kiowa Tribe, 660
Fe I ME ie vccccncecescnesdseceesccoue 15
Bates v. Clark, 95 U.S. 204 (1877) .............00005. 18
Blue Legs v. United States Bureau of Indian
Affairs, 867 F.2d 1094 (8th Cir. 1989).............. 12
California State Bd. of Equalization v. Chem-
ehuevi Indian Tribe, 474 U.S. 9 (1985) ............. 5
California v. Cabazon Band of Mission Indians,
ey Se ba dandorecguccsesenns rr | eS
Cheyenne-Arapaho Tribes of Oklahoma v. State of
Oklahoma, 618 F.2d 665 (10th Cir. 1980) .......... 15
City Vending of Muskogee, Inc. v. Oklahoma Tax
Comm’n, 898 F.2d 122 (10th Cir. 1990), cert.
Ce Ee is OE Ee FP GED oo ce ccccccs 12
DeCoteau v. District County Court, 420 U.S. 425
Ts HEG 6a 56 A Mi woh Sise'n6 6546080008 Konkceened 14, 18
Donnelly v. United States, 228 U.S. 243 (1913)....... 18

Duro v. Reina, __ U.S. __, 110 S.Ct. 2053 (1990).... 19
Edelman v. Jordan, 415 U.S. 651 (1974)............. 7, 8

Indian Country, U.S.A., Inc. v. Oklahoma Tax
Comm’n, 829 F.2d 967 (10th Cir. 1987), cert.
denied sub nom., Oklahoma Tax Comm’n v. Mus-
cogee (Creek) Nation, 487 U.S. 1218 (1988)..... 15, 18

Mattz v. Arnett, 412 U.S. 481 (1973)................. 17
Missouri Pac. R.R. v. Ault, 256 U.S. 554 (1921)....... 8

iv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - Continued
Page

Moe v. Confederated Salish and Kootenai Tribes of
the Flathead Reservation, 425 U.S. 463 (1976)..5, 19, 20

O’Neill v. State Highway Dep’t, 50 N.J. 307, 235
eB TTT TTT TTL OL TTT EEE 7

Oklahoma Tax Comm'n v. Graham, 489 U.S. 838,
2 . hl ee rarer 10

Oklahoma Tax Comm’n v. United States, 319 U.S.
REE Ia eee mts Cm cys Saye eC 20

Oliphant v. Suquamish Indian Tribe, 435 U.S. 191
MOT PEST TPT TTT TTT TTT TET TCE ETE 19

Pittsburg & Midway Coal Mining Co. v. Yazzie,
909 F.2d 1387 (10th Cir. 1990), petition for cert.
filed, 59 U.S.L.W. 3327 (U.S. Oct. 18, 1990) (No.
OOP Te TTT TTT TTT Te Teer TTTETe 15

Santa Clara Pueblo v. Martinez, 436 U.S. 49 (1978) ...6, 7

Solem v. Bartlett, 465 U.S. 463 (1984)......... 13, 14, 16
State ex rel. May v. Seneca-Cayuga Tribe of Okla-

homa, 711 P.2d 77 (Okla. 1985) ................ 15, 18
State of Alaska v. Native Village of Venetie, 856

ae B) 8. Re ere 18
Three Affiliated Tribes of the Fort Berthold Reser-

vation v. Wold Engineering, 476 U.S. 877 (1986) ..... 6
Turner v. United States, 248 U.S. 354 (1919).......... 7

United States v. Cherokee Nation of Oklahoma,
I a a. SN ee 20

United States v. John, 437 U.S. 634 (1978)....16, 17, 19

Vv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - Continued

Page
United States v. McGowan, 302 U.S. 535 (1938)...... 17
United States v. New York. Rayon Importing Co.,
Nee eheeeusvanes 8
United States v. Pelican, 232 U.S. 442 (1914)......... 17
United States v. Sandoval, 231 U.S. 28 (1913)........ 18
United States v. United States Fidelity & Guaranty
Rg Be Ws BUD GOED cc ccccccccscccess 7, 8, 13, 20
United States v. Wheeler, 435 U.S. 313 (1978)......... 6
Washington v. Confederated Tribes of the Colville
Indian Reservation, 447 U.S. 134 (1980)..... 5, 11, 12
UNITED States STATUTES
PAE GE Ts Me ee I Be on vc cc cece ccccvces 17
Fe te ID soo vcccccunvonsasavccscees 20
RE a ee ee 18, 19
The Indian Self-Determination and Education
Assistance Act of 1975, 25 U.S.C. §§ 450-450n...... 8
The Indian Financing Act of 1974, 25 U.S.G.
it PT seu eiee eis oees66s0< Riguenddieuseeswucs 8
in ec eaeeuubeuseeaea 20

The Indian Gaming Regulatory Act of 1988, 25
Se I ea sn ce pocceccceteceusensacues 8, 10

25 U.S.C. § 2701(4)
25 U.S.C. § 2710(d)(7)(A) ii)... oo ee eee cee eeeee ee 12

vi

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - Continued

Page

2D US.C. © TOO) 2 nc ccccccccscccccccccccssccccccsss 20
42 U.S.C. § GB2ING) ... 2. cic cece ccc ececcccccceccees 20
42 U.S.C. § 5318(m)(2).. 2... cece cece eee eee eeeeees 10
42 U.S.C. §§ 6903(13)(A), 6903(15) and

Leven ceneee ene eeneuseageeys 12
LecIsLATIVE History
H.R. Rep. No. 93-907, 93d Cong., 2d Sess.,

reprinted in 1974 U.S. Code Cong. & Admin.

ee ces heehnee ¥ades e5GeeEs ekecaews 9
StaTE STATUTES
Okla. Stat. Ann. 68, §§ 305(a) and (c)...........-.--: 12
MiscELLANEOUS
F. Cohen, Handbook of Federal Indian Law (1982

ee BE eee ee eee Edens t0seeee een’ 18, 20
Note, In Defense of Tribal Sovereign Immunity, 95

Harv. L. Rev. 1058 (1SGZ) .... cc ccccccccccccccceces 10

INTEREST OF THE AMICI CURIAE

Amici curiae are seventeen (17) federally-recognized
Indian tribes, one regional tribal organization, and one
national Indian-interest organization.1 Am. have a sub-
stantial interest in the issues raised in this case. The
issues involve the scope of the doctrine of tribal sover-
eign immunity from suit as that doctrine is expressed in
federal law, and the geographic territory over which that
doctrine and other principles of federal Indian law apply.

The United Indian Nations of Oklahoma was formed
in the 1980’s to help support and advance Indian tribes
on-issues of concern to the health and welfare of Indian
people in the region of the State of Oklahoma. Its mem-
bership consists of twenty-nine (29) federally-recognized
Indian tribes.2 The Association on American Indian
Affairs is a non-profit organization dedicated to protect-
ing the rights and improving the welfare of American
Indian and Alaska Native communities nationwide. It

1 Counsel for Petitioners and counsel for Respondents
have consented to the filing of the brief of amici in support of
Respondents. The consents are submitted for filing herewith.

2 They are, the Absentee-Shawnee Tribe; Alabama-Cou-
shatta Tribe of Texas; the Apache Tribe; the Caddo Tribe; the
Cheyenne-Arapaho Tribe; the Cherokee Nation; the Chickasaw
Nation; the Choctaw Nation; the Comanche Tribe; the Mus-
cogee (Creek) Nation; the Eastern Delaware Tribe; the Fort Sill
Apache Tribe; the Iowa Tribe of Oklahoma; the Kaw Tribe; the
Kickapoo Tribe of Kansas; the Kickapoo Tribe of Oklahoma; the
Kickapoo Tribe of Texas; the Kiowa Tribe; the Otoe-Missouria
Tribe; the Pawnee Tribe; the Ponca Tribe; the Sac and Fox Tribe;
the Seminole Nation; the Seneca-Cayuga Tribe; the
Thlopthlocco Creek Tribe; the Tonkawa Tribe; the Western Del-
aware Tribe; the Wichita Tribe; and the Wyandotte Tribe.

was founded in 1922 and is the largest Indian-interest
organization in the country, with a membership of about
14,400 individuals, Indian and non-Indian.

Amici urge this Court to affirm its prior holdings that
the sovereignty of Indian tribes includes the right to be
immune from suit without their consent or the consent of
Congress, and that such sovereignty is properly exercised
within the bounds of tribal trust lands such as are
involved here. Amici tribes currently exercise their sover-
eign authority over their trust lands and other Indian
country within their jurisdiction. They do so under this
Court’s prior holdings and under other federal law con-
firming their sovereignty and sovereign immunity.

Immunity from suit is especially important to amici
in cases such as this, which pose a grave danger to tribal
public treasuries. Indeed, a fundamental purpose of the
doctrine of sovereign immunity is to protect against raids
on public treasuries. Diminishment of their treasuries
would hinder the ability of tribes to provide essential
governmental services and engage in economic develop-
ment, and thereby undermine the congressional goal of
tribal self-government and economic self-sufficiency.
Thus, tribal achievement of this congressionally
expressed goal hinges on continued protection of their
sovereignty by this Court.

+

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

Absent consent, a state cannot sue an Indian tribe to
recover back taxes, penalties, and interest. Federal
law confirms the sovereign immunity of tribes from

unconsented suits. This Court has steadfastly held that in
the absence of congressional consent it cannot abrogate
that immunity and the State here points to no evidence of
congressional consent to its suit. The Court’s continued
protection of tribal sovereign immunity is particularly
warranted where a raid on a tribal treasury is threatened,
such as here. Such raids on public treasuries are contrary
to general principles of sovereign immunity in American
jurisprudence and would clearly frustrate important fed-
eral interests in assisting Indian tribes in achieving gov-
ernmental and economic self-sufficiency.

Remedies exist by which the State may enforce its
applicable tax laws prospectively, such as seizing
unstamped cigarettes off the reservation, or assessing the
wholesaler rather than the tribal retailer. The State here
chose not to fully pursue these remedies. Instead, after
allowing its taxes to go uncollected over a period of many
years, and without pointing to any law or compelling
reason, it asks this Court to overturn scores of precedent
and facilitate raids on tribal treasuries by generally abro-
gating tribal sovereign immunity. This Court should
decline that invitation and refer the State to Congress, the
branch of the federal government properly charged with
consenting to suits against sovereign Indian tribes.

The State also seeks to avoid the application of the
federal doctrine of tribal sovereign immunity and other
principles of Indian law by arguing that the reservation
boundaries in this case have been disestablished; that the
tribal land involved here is not subject to tribal jurisdic-
tion; and that Indian tribes in Oklahoma and their lands
are somehow different and therefore exempt from the
normal rules of Indian law.

These arguments are meritless in light of established
legal principles. Cases of this Court firmly establish that
questions of boundary disestablishment are irrelevant to
issues of jurisdiction over trust land such as are involved
in this case. Other cases and congressional enactments
confirm that land validly set aside for tribal use and
subject to federal protection is subject to tribal jurisdic-
tion; which is precisely the status of the land here.
Finally, this Court and Congress have consistently treated
Indian tribes in Oklahoma the same as tribes elsewhere,
and the Court should continue to do so in this case.

+

ARGUMENT

I. THE STATE IS BARRED BY FEDERAL LAW AND
POLICY FROM SUING THE TRIBE FOR BACK
TAXES OWED BY NON-MEMBER TAXPAYERS,
PLUS INTEREST AND PENALTIES.

In Part I of this brief, amici will address the issue of
whether the Oklahoma Tax Commission (“the State”) may
raid the public treasury of the Citizen Band Potawatomi
Indian Tribe of Oklahoma (“the Tribe”) to collect back
taxes, penalties, and interest, and will show why federal
law and policy prohibit that action. Amici will also
address the issue of the State’s existing remedies regard-
ing applicable future taxes, and will show why those
remedies are adequate and are all that this Court can
provide as a matter of law.

3 Amici have chosen not to address the issue of whether
the state taxes in this case are wholly invalid as applied to the
Tribe’s sales under the “legal incidence” test set forth by this

(Continued on following page)

5

A. Permitting The State To Sue The Tribe For Back
Taxes, Penalties, And Interest Would Frustrate
Federal Law And Policy Protecting Tribal Self-
Government And Would Contradict Longstand-
ing Principles Underlying The Federal Doc-
trine Of Tribal Sovereign Immunity.

In reliance on Moe, Colville, and Chemehuevi, the State
has assessed the Tribe for almost $2.7 million dollars due to
state taxes which the Tribe allegedly failed to collect over a
period of almost four years.* The taxes, penalties, and inter-
est that the State seeks must come directly from the Tribe’s
treasury. As an intrusion on core tribal interests in self-
government and economic self-sufficiency, such assessment
is impermissible under federal law.

(Continued from previous page)

Court in Moe v. Confederated Salish and Kootenai Tribes of the
Flathead Reservation, 425 U.S. 463 (1976) (“Moe”); Washington
v. Confederated Tribes of the Colville Indian Reservation, 447
U.S. 134 (1980) (“Colville”); and California State Bd. of Equal-
ization v. Chemehuevi Indian Tribe, 474 U.S. 9 (1985) (“Chem-
ehuevi” ).

The Court in these cases apparently holds that involuntary
tribal assistance in collecting the state taxes does not violate
federal law or interfere with tribal self-government. E.g., Moe,
425 U.S. at 483. This is tantamount to a grant of authority to
states to regulate Indian tribes, albeit subject to a “minimal
burden” test. Amici respectfully submit that this result is erro-
neous, since directly subjecting tribes to state laws and in effect
making them collection agents for the states does infringe on
tribal self-government. We will not, however, address this
issue in this brief.

4 The taxes themselves are less than one third of the total
amount the State seeks. Penalties, and interest, which of course
accrues over time, make up the rest of the amount.

Notwithstanding the State’s suggestions to the con-
trary, Indian tribes are sovereign governments.° Tribal
sovereignty is recognized in and confirmed by federal
law.

The powers of Indian tribes are, in general,
inherent powers of a limited sovereignty which
has never been extinguished. . . . Indian tribes
are unique aggregations possessing attributes of
sovereignty over both their members and their
territory. .. . They are a good deal more than
private, voluntary organizations. The sover-
eignty that the Indian tribes retain is of a unique
and limited character. It exists only at the suf-
ferance of Congress and is subject to complete
defeasance. But until Congress acts, the tribes
retain their existing sovereign powers.

United States v. Wheeler, 435 U.S. 313, 322-23 (1978) (cita-
tions omitted).

Sovereign immunity is “a necessary corollary to
Indian sovereignty and self-governance.” Three Affiliated
Tribes of the Fort Berthold Reservation v. Wold Engineering,
476 U.S. 877, 890 (1986). Accordingly, as sovereign gov-
ernments, “Indian tribes have long been recognized as
possessing the common-law immunity from suit tradi-
tionally enjoyed by sovereign powers.” Santa Clara Pueblo
v. Martinez, 436 U.S. 49, 58 (1978) (“Martinez”). This Court
has recognized that Congress can waive tribal sovereign
immunity, but the Court itself cannot judicially abrogate

5 The State suggests that Indian tribes in Oklahoma are
somehow “different” than Indian tribes elsewhere. In Part II of
this brief, amici will discuss how this Court and Congress
historically have treated Oklahoma tribes the same as tribes
elsewhere, and how that view continues to guide Congress.

it. “This aspect of tribal sovereignty, like all others, is
subject to the superior and plenary control of Congress.
But without congressional authorization, the Indian
Nations are exempt from suit.” Martinez, 436 U.S. at 58,
citing United States v. United States Fidelity & Guaranty Co.,

309 U.S. 506 (1940) and Turner v. United States, 248 U.S.
354 (1919).

Thus, the Court historically has refused to allow
unconsented suits against Indian tribes. In United States v.
United States Fidelity & Guaranty Co., the Court disallowed
a judgment obtained in state court against two tribes for
royalties allegedly due under coal land leases.

We are of the view, however, that the Missouri

judgment is void in so far as it undertakes to fix

a credit against the Indian Nations. . . . These

Indian Nations are exempt from suit without
congressional authorization.

United States v. United States Fidelity & Guaranty Co., 309
U.S. at 512. Finding no congressional authorization, the
Court concluded that “without legislative action the doc-
trine of immunity should prevail.” Id. at 515.

One of the fundamental purposes of sovereign immu-
nity in American jurisprudence is to protect against
unconsented suits for retrospective relief in the form of
money damages payable from the public treasury. See
Edelman v. Jordan, 415 U.S. 651 (1974) (suit prohibited
under Eleventh Amendment immunity); O'Neill v. State
Highway Dep't, 50 N.J. 307, 235 A.2d 1 (1967) (suit prohib-
ited under common law immunity). Such relief is prohib-
ited because it would deplete the public treasury as a
means of compensating for past wrongs, it would mean a

“monetary loss resulting from a past breach of a legal

duty.” Edelman v. Jordan, 415 U.S. at 668. To the extent the
State here seeks penalties and interest, that is doubly
offensive to the principles of sovereign immunity. Cf.
Missouri Pac. R.R. v. Ault, 256 U.S. 554 (1921); United
States v. New York Rayon Importing Co., 329 U.S. 654 (1947).

There has been no consent to suit against the Tribe in
this case. Absent consent, there is nothing left for this
Court to do but bar the State’s claimed relief under United
States v. United States Fidelity & Guaranty Co., supra. Sig-
nificantly, the State points to no congressional authoriza-
tion for its requested relief. Indeed, it cannot. Federal law
and policy overwhelmingly suggest that an unconsented
suit, particularly one which would raid a tribal treasury,
is contrary to federal interests. “[A] principal goal of
federal Indian policy is to promote tribal economic devel-
opment, tribal self-sufficiency, and strong tribal govern-
ment.” The Indian Gaming Regulatory Act of 1988, 25
U.S.C. § 2701(4) (1988). Considerable federal legislation
has been enacted to encourage Indian tribes to develop
their resources and economies and thereby strengthen
their governments. See, e.g., the Indian Gaming Regula-
tory Act of 1988, 25 U.S.C. §§ 2701-2721, the Indian
Financing Act of 1974, 25 U.S.C. §§ 1451-1544; and the
Indian Self-Determination and Education Assistance Act
of 1975, 25 U.S.C. §§ 450-450n.

In California v. Cabazon Band of Mission Indians, 480
U.S. 202 (1987) (“Cabazon”), this Court noted that the
federal policy of Indian self-government includes the
overriding goal of encouraging tribal self-sufficiency and
economic development. Cabazon, 480 U.S. at 216. The
Court held that “[t]hese are important federal interests.
They were reaffirmed by the President’s 1983 Statement

on Indian Policy.” Id. at 217. The President declared that
“[iJt is important to the concept of self-government that
tribes reduce their dependence on Federal funds by pro-
viding a greater percentage of the cost of their self-
government.” 19 Weekly Comp. Pres. Doc. 99 (1983), cited
in Cabazon, 480 US. at 217 n.20.

It is well-documented that Indian tribes are economi-
cally poor. In 1974, Congress noted that “[a]ll the tradi-
tional indicators of economic levels place Indians and
Indian reservations at the bottom of the scale. On every
reservation today there is almost a total lack of an eco-
nomic community.” H.R. Rep. No. 93-907, 93d Cong., 2d
Sess. 2, reprinted in 1974 U.S. Code Cong. & Admin. News
2873, 2874. Unlike states, most tribes cannot rely on taxa-
tion as a source of raising revenue, in part due to histori-
cal federal policies of allotment and cession which have
drastically reduced their land base. Taxation and eco-
nomic development are especially difficult for reserva-
tions that “contain no natural resources which can be
exploited.” Cabazon, 480 U.S. at 218.

Plainly, forcing tribes to expend their typically mea-
ger public monies for back taxes, penalties, and interest
would hinder or cripple their ability to engage in eco-
nomic development. It would also cut into or eliminate
tribal governmental operations and essential services
such as law enforcement, court systems, and social pro-
grams; services that, in light of reductions in the federal
budget, tribes increasingly must themselves fund. “Self-
determination and economic development are not within
reach if the Tribes cannot raise revenues and provide
employment for their members.” Cabazon, 480 U.S. at 219.

10

This Court should decline the invitation of the State
to judicially abrogate tribal sovereign immunity and
should hold that principles of tribal sovereignty as con-
firmed and recognized in federal law prohibit the State
from collecting back taxes, penalties, and interest from an
Indian tribe. See Oklahoma Tax Comm'n v. Graham, 489 U.S.
838, 109 S.Ct. 1519, 1521 (1989) (tribal sovereign immu-
nity is governed by federal law); and see generally Note, In
Defense of Tribal Sovereign Immunity, 95 Harv. L. Rev. 1058
(1982) (“the federal policies of tribal self-determination,
economic development, and cultural autonomy require
that the tribal immunity doctrine be maintained”). Immu-
nity from suit is one of the highest attributes of sover-
eignty. The state and federal governments have spent
tens of decades gradually shaping their laws regarding
sovereign immunity, e.g., tort claims acts, caps on liability,
statutes of limitations. Tribal laws should be allowed to
evolve in the same way.

Indeed, this Court ought to afford tribes more protec-
tion in the area of sovereign immunity than it does states.
States do not share the tenuous economic status of tribes.

Moreover, states have representatives in Congress and ~

tribes do not. With direct representation, states can pro-
tect themselves in ways that tribes cannot. Indeed, when
Congress has seen fit to step in and regulate economic
activities on Indian reservations in which both tribes and
states have an interest, it has done so. See the Indian
Gaming Regulatory Act of 1988, supra. The State’s sugges-
tion that the Court engage in such policy-making should
be rejected.

11

B. Regarding Future Taxes, Assuming Arguendo
Such Taxes Are Valid, The State Has Remedies
For Prospective Relief If Tribes Should Fail To
Collect Them.

If an Indian tribe is not assisting in collecting applica-
ble state taxes on cigarette sales, a state has at least two
means to address the problem prospectively. It may seize
unstamped cigarettes off the reservation, or it may assess
the wholesaler for the taxes. The State here did not even
attempt the first remedy and it made an apparent feeble
attempt at the second. For the most part, it chose to sleep
on its rights for several years. Now, without any legal
authority and with unclean hands, the State asks this
Court to fashion a new drastic remedy by judicially abro-
gating tribal sovereign immunity generally so that it may
raid a tribal treasury for back taxes, penalties, and inter-
est that accumulated during the time it inexplicably did
largely nothing. Not only is this drastic remedy contrary
to law, it is wholly unwarranted in light of existing
remedies available to the State.

To enforce their tax laws, states may seize unstamped
cigarettes off the reservation. This remedy was approved
in Colville, where the Court found the state’s interests
sufficient to justify such seizures and that the seizures did
not intrude on “core tribal interests.” Colville, 447 U.S. at
161-62. Nothing in the record here suggests the State tried
to seize cigarettes off the reservation. Nor has the State

6 Whether there is a third remedy in the form of a suit
against tribal officials for prospective injunctive relief is an
issue about which amici express no opinion, but do note that
such recourse was not even attempted by the State.

12

shown that its assessment of the Tribe directly does not
intrude on tribal interests. Clearly the State has ignored

both the holding and the reasoning of Colville on this
point.

The State could also, as the United States suggests,
assess the wholesaler for the taxes, rather than the tribal
retailer. Brief for the United States as Amicus Curiae at 18
n.17, citing Okla. Stat. Ann. 68, §§ 305(a) and (c). As the
United States notes, the State is aware of this remedy
because in the past it has assessed a wholesaler who
supplied some cigarettes to this Tribe. See City Vending of
Muskogee, Inc. v. Oklahoma Tax Comm'n, 898 F.2d 122 (10th
Cir. 1990), cert. denied, __ U.S. __, 111 S.Ct. 75 (1990).

The State hardly even tried to use its existing
remedies. And it has failed to put forth any basis in law
or reason why it is entitled to have this Court fashion a
new remedy in this case. If existing remedies are insuffi-
cient, the State’s answer lies with Congress. Congress can
and has acted to waive tribal sovereign immunity when it
sees fit to do so. E.g., the Resource Conservation and
Recovery Act of 1976 (“RCRA”), 42 U.S.C. §§ 6903(13)(A),
6903(15), & 6972(a)(1)(A). See also the Indian Gaming
Regulatory Act of 1988, 25 U.S.C. § 2710(d)(7)(A)(ii) (fed-
eral district courts have jurisdiction over suits by tribes
or states to enjoin class III gaming activity located on

Indian lands and conducted in violation of tribal-state
compact).

When Congress decides that tribal immunity from
suit should bow to overriding federal policy, Congress
knows how to waive such immunity. See, e.g., Blue Legs v.
United States Bureau of Indian Affairs, 867 F.2d 1094 (8th
Cir. 1989) (holding federal agencies and tribe liable under

13

RCRA to clean up solid waste disposal sites on reserva-
tion). There is, however, no congressional waiver of tribal
immunity in the area of state taxes or for suits by states
against tribes generally, and absent such a congressional
statement, this Court has expressly held that it cannot
imply one. United States v. United States Fidelity & Guar-
anty Co., supra.

Il. THE STATE’S ARGUMENTS ABOUT THE CON-
TINUED EXISTENCE OF THE ORIGINAL
BOUNDARIES OF THE RESERVATION ARE
IRRELEVANT TO THIS CASE INVOLVING LAND
HELD IN TRUST FOR THE TRIBE; MOREOVER,
CONTRARY TO THE STATE’S CONTENTIONS,
SUCH LAND IS SUBJECT TO TRIBAL JURISDIC-
TION.

In Part II of this brief, amici will address the State’s
argument that the reservation boundaries have been dis-
established, and will show why that argument is irrele-
vant as a matter of law to the issue raised in this case,
that of jurisdiction over activities on tribal trust land.
Amici will also address the issue of whether the tribal
land involved in this case is subject to federal and tribal
jurisdiction for the purposes of determining the issues
presented herein, and will show that indeed the land is so
subject to federal and tribal jurisdiction.

A. Under Solem v. Bartlett And Other Cases Of
This Court, Disestablishment Is Irrelevant To
Issues Of Jurisdiction Over Trust Land.

The State argues or implies that the boundaries of the
Tribe’s reservation have been disestablished. State’s

14

Opening Brief at 10-11. Cases of this Court, however,
hold that the issue of whether the boundaries of a reser-
vation have been disestablished is relevant only to issues
of jurisdiction over non-Indian fee land. Hence, the dises-
tablishment issue is plainly irrelevant to this case which
raises only issues of jurisdiction over activities on tribal
trust land.

In Solem v. Bartlett, 465 U.S. 463 (1984) (“Solem”), the
Court determined whether the boundaries of a reserva-
tion had been disestablished. But the reason that issue
was pertinent was because the underlying issue was
whether the state had jurisdiction over a portion of a
reservation which had been opened to settlement by non-
Indians by an act of Congress. Framing the narrow issue
before it up front, the Court noted the distinction
between the effect of reservation boundary disestablish-
ment on non-Indian fee land and its effect on trust land.

Regardless of whether the original reservation

was diminished, federal and tribal courts have

exclusive jurisdiction over those portions of the
opened lands that were and have remained

Indian allotments. In addition, opened lands

that have been restored to reservation status by

subsequent Acts of Congress fall within the

exclusive criminal jurisdiction of federal and
tribal courts.

Solem, 465 U.S. at 467 n.8 (citations omitted); accord
DeCoteau v. District County Court, 420 U.S. 425, 427-28
(1975) (“DeCoteau”).

Solem and DeCoteau plainly establish that issues of
the existence of reservation boundaries are relevant only
to issues of jurisdiction over activities on non-Indian fee
lands, and are irrelevant to issues of jurisdiction over

15

trust lands, allotted and tribal. This rule has been repeat-
edly and unequivocally followed by the Tenth Circuit
Court of Appeals and the Supreme Court of Oklahoma
with respect to trust lands in Oklahoma. See Indian Coun-
try, U.S.A., Inc. v. State of Oklahoma ex rel. Oklahoma Tax
Comm'n, 829 F.2d 967, 975 n.3 (10th Cir. 1987), cert. denied
sub nom. Oklahoma Tax Comm'n v. Muscogee (Creek) Nation,
487 U.S. 1218 (1988) (disestablishment question is rele-
vant only to issues of jurisdiction over non-Indian lands;
not tribal lands, trust lands, and allotments); Cheyenne-
Arapaho Tribes of Oklahoma v. State of Okla. 1a, 618 F.2d
665 (10th Cir. 1980) (issue of reservation boundary dises-
tablishment irrelevant to jurisdiction over tribal trust
lands and trust allotments); State ex rel. May v. Seneca-
Cayuga Tribe of Oklahoma, 711 P.2d 77, 82 (Okla. 1985)
(trust allotments of tribe remain Indian country irrespec-
tive of reservation boundaries); Ahboah v. Hous. Auth. of
the Kiowa Tribe, 660 P.2d 625 (Okla. 1983) (individual trust
allotments are Indian country, whether within or without
continuing reservation boundaries); see also Pittsburg &
Midway Coal Mining Co. v. Yazzie, 909 F.2d 1387 (10th Cir.
1990), petition for cert. filed, 59 U.S.L.W. 3327 (U.S. Oct. 18,
1990) (No. 90-635) (allotted lands retain Indian country
status for territorial jurisdiction purposes even if reserva-
tion boundaries have been disestablished).”

7 While many of these cases involved only trust allot-
ments, that is simply because allotments happened to be the
facts in those cases. As the United States points out, it would
be perverse for the Court to find that a tribe had jurisdiction
over land held in trust for its members, but did not have
jurisdiction over land held for the tribe. Brief for the United
States as Amicus Curiae at 26 n.20. Clearly, there is no princi-
pled reason for distinguishing tribal trust land from trust
allotments in this situation.

16

This case raises only issues of jurisdiction over activ-
ities on tribal trust land. Hence, the question of the exis-
tence of reservation boundaries is irrelevant. Indeed, the
land here has never been opened to settlement by non-
Indians. Compare Solem, supra, 465 U.S. at 465. It has
always been held either by the Tribe or the federal gov-
ernment. See State’s Opening Brief at 11. Accordingly, this
Court should disregard the State’s argument to the extent
the State is claiming that its jurisdiction over activities on
the trust land is dependent on the existence or disestab-
lishment of the reservation boundaries.®

B. Under A Long Line Of Cases Pre-eding And
Including United States v. John, The Tribal
Trust Land In This Case Is Territory Subject To
The Tribe’s Jurisdiction.

The State also argues or assumes ,that, even if the
reservation boundaries have not been disestablished, the

8 Alternatively, should this Court find that the existence of
the reservation boundaries is relevant to this case, it should
remand to the district court for a determination of that exis-
tence under its test articulated in Solem, 465 U.S. at 470. In
Solem, recognizing the magnitude and importance of a finding
of disestablishment, the Court cautioned against generalized,
conclusory findings of disestablishment. Id. at 468-69. Rather, a
finding of disestablishment requires a particularized inquiry of
applicable acts of Congress, the historical circumstances sur-
rounding the passage of those acts, and the subsequent treat-
men: of the land by the federal government. The State’s
sweeping argument that the boundaries of Indian reservations
in Oklahoma generally have been disestablished is flatly incon-
sistent with Solem and prior rulings of this Court in disestab-
lishment cases.

17

land in this case is not subject to tribal jurisdiction for the
purposes of resolving the issues presented herein. State’s
Opening Brief at 21-27. The land, however, is subject to
the Tribe’s jurisdiction because it has been validly set
aside by Congress for the Tribe’s use, and is held in trust
for the Tribe by the federal government. This conclusion
is mandated by decisions of this Court involving similar
lands and congressional intent as manifested in federal
statutes.

This Court has long held that lands “declared by
Congress to be held in trust by the Federal Government”
for the benefit of a tribe are subject to federal and tribal
jurisdiction. United States v. John, 437 U.S. 634 (1978).
There, the Court stated:

The . . . lands in question here were declared by
Congress to be held in trust by the Federal
Government for the benefit of the Mississippi
Choctaw Indians who were at that time under
federal supervision. There is no apparent reason
why these lands, which had been purchased in
previous years for the aid of those Indians, did
not become a “reservation,” at least for the pur-
poses of federal criminal jurisdiction at that
time.

437 U.S. at 649 (citations omitted). Precisely the same
kind of lands as were involved in United States v. John are
involved in this case. The land here was set aside by
Congress and is held in trust for the Tribe. Act of Jan. 2,
1975, 88 Stat. 1922. See also Mattz v. Arnett, 412 U.S. 481
(1973) (undisposed-of ceded land restored to tribal own-
ership by. Congress); United States v. McGowan, 302 U.S.
535 (1938) (lands purchased out of federal funds and
occupied by tribe); United States v. Pelican, 232 U.S. 442

18

(1914) (allotted lands); United States v. Sandoval, 231 U.S.
28 (1913) (lands of Pueblo tribes held in fee); Donnelly v.
United States, 228 U.S. 243 (1913) (executive order tribal
lands); Bates v. Clark, 95 U.S. 204 (1877) (lands in original
Indian title); and see generally F. Cohen, Handbook on Fed-
eral Indian Law 27-41 (1982 ed.) (hereinafter “Cohen”).

In the Indian Country statute, 18 U.S.C. § 1151, Con-
gress essentially adopted the test long adhered to by this
Court: lands that are validly set aside for the Indians’ use
and are subject to federal protection are subject to federal
and tribal jurisdiction. Accordingly, while Section 1151 is
found in the federal criminal code, this Court has stated
that the definition applies “to questions of both criminal
and civil jurisdiction.” Cabazon, supra, 480 U.S. at 207 n.5;
accord DeCoteau, supra, 420 U.S. at 427 n.2. This rule has
been widely followed by lower federal courts and state
courts. E.g., Indian Country, U.S.A., Inc. v. Oklahoma ex rel.
Oklahoma Tax Comm'n, supra, 829 F.2d at 973 (numerous
cases confirm the principle that the Indian country classi-
fication is the benchmark for approaching the allocation
of federal, tribal, and state authority with respect to
Indians and Indian lands); State of Alaska v. Native Village
of Venetie, 856 F.2d 1384, 1390 (9th Cir. 1988) (tribal taxing
jurisdiction extends to Indian country as defined in 18
U.S.C. § 1151); State ex rel. May v. Seneca-Cayuga Tribe of
Oklahoma, supra, 711 P.2d at 82 (definition of Indian coun-
try is relevant to questions of both criminal and civil
jurisdiction).?

% Indeed, it would be anomalous for this Court to find that
tribes do not have civil jurisdiction over territory which they

(Continued on following page)

19

Under this law and these principles, the land
involved in this case is subject to tribal jurisdiction for
the purpose of resolving the issues raised herein. This
Court should affirm the holding of the Court of Appeals
affirming the district court in this case on this point. The
land is indisputably tribal trust land. Indeed, the State
does not even argue that the land is not Indian country as
defined in section 1151. Its narrow view of land subject to
tribal jurisdiction simply runs counter to the long-time
view of Congress and this Court. E.g., United States v.
John, supra.

Essentially, the State’s argument about the land in
this case hinges on its theory that Indian tribes in Okla-
homa and their lands generally are somehow “different”
than tribes and tribal territory elsewhere. The State's
primary “authority” on this point is paper generated by
the Dawes Commission in allotting Oklahoma Indian
lands in the 1890's. It is true that reservations in Okla-
homa were subject to the federal allotment policy of the
late nineteenth century. But so were reservations else-
where, and the policy of allotment has long since been
repudiated by Congress. Moe, supra, 425 U.S. at 478-79.
Furthermore, the State’s attempt to rely upon the inter-
mingling of Indians and non-Indians on reservations,
which, as a practical matter resulted from the allotment

(Continued from previous page’

obviously have criminal jurisdiction over under section 1151.
Decisions of this Court such as Oliphant v. Suquamish Indian
Tribe, 435 U.S. 191 (1978) and Duro v. Reina, __ U.S. __, 110
S.Ct. 2053 (1990) hold that tribal criminal jurisdiction is more
limited than tribal civil jurisdiction. Under that theory, if tribes
have territorial jurisdiction for criminal purposes, a fortiori
they have it for civil purposes.

20

policy, as grounds for contending that the Tribe lost juris-
diction over its tribal trust lands was soundly rejected by
this Court in Moe, id. at 476; see also Cohen, supra, at 231.

Indeed, this Court has historically treated tribes in
Oklahoma the same as tribes elsewhere. Both United
States v. United States Fidelity & Guaranty Co., supra, and
Turner v. United States, supra, the cases in which this Court
upheld tribal sovereign immunity, involved Oklahoma
tribes. This Court recently applied normal rules of Indian
law and other federal law doctrines to an Oklahoma tribe
in United States v. Cherokee Nation of Oklahoma, 480 U.S.
700 (1987). Clearly, the dictum in the one case upon which
the State relies, Oklahoma Tax Comm'n v. United States, 319
U.S. 598 (1943), is inapposite. That case involved the
application of federal and state law to the personal prop-

erty of Indian individuals, not the trust property of
Indian tribes.

Moreover, the State’s argument cannot withstand the
voluminous evidence that the federal government today
treats Oklahoma tribes and their territory the same as it
treats tribes and their lands elsewhere. In virtually every
area in which it administers its trust responsibilities, Con-
gress affords Oklahoma tribes the same protection and
services as it does other tribes. See, e.g., 7 U.S.C.
§ 1985(e)(1)(D)(ii) (agricultural credit and loans); 25
U.S.C. § 2022b(b)(3) (educational grants and programs);
29 U.S.C. § 750(c) (handicapped vocational rehabilitation
services); 42 U.S.C. § 682(i)(6) (job opportunities and
basic skills training programs); 42 U.S.C. § 5318(n)(2)
(urban development grants); see also citations to other
similar statutes in the Brief for the United States as

21

Amicus Curiae in this case at 25-26 & n.19.!° In fact, the
federal government has publicly advocated its view that
the Tribe here is entitled to the same governmental and
territorial protection to which tribes elsewhere are enti-
tled. See Brief for the United States as Amicus Curiae in
this case.

+

CONCLUSION

For the reasons stated above, the decision of the
Court of Appeals should be affirmed regarding its hold-
ings that the Tribe is immune from suit, and that the trust
land is subject to tribal jurisdiction.

Respectfully submitted,

Metopy L. McCoy*

YVONNE TERESA KNIGHT

Kim JEROME GOTTSCHALK ‘
Native AMERICAN RIGHTS FUND
1506 Broadway

Boulder, CO 80302

(303) 447-8760

*Counsel of Record for All Amici

10 The references in some of these statutes to “former
Indian reservations in Oklahoma” is plainly intended to define
the outer boundaries of federal service areas as coinciding with
the original boundaries of the reservations, notwithstanding
that some reservations may have been judicially determined to
be diminished. Such references evince the continued signifi-
cance of these boundaries for important federal purposes.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385012_0722%3A13. Public record. Not legal advice.
