# Amicus Curiae Brief — Freeman v. Pitts

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385012_0719%3A17

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1992
- **Citation:** 503 U.S. 467

## Text

4 OCTOBER TERM, 1990

ROBERT R. FREEMAN, et al.,

(202) 371-1212

June 21, 1991

Petitioners,
3 WILLIE EUGENE PIrTs, et al.,
i Respondents.
t ON WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED STATES
p COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE ELEVENTH CIRCUIT
& BRIEF FOR THE LAWYERS’ COMMITTEE
(a FOR CIVIL RIGHTS UNDER LAW AS
| AMICUS CURIAE IN SUPPORT OF RESPONDENTS
i Herbert M. Wachtell, Co-Chairman Norman Redlich*
‘ William H. Brown III, Co-Chairman Stephen R. Neuwirth
es Norman Redlich, Trustee Jeffrey I. Lang
< Barbara R. Arnwine WACHTELL, LIPTON, ROSEN
~ Thomas J. Henderson & KATZ
> Paul Holtzman 299 Park Avenue
E, LAWYERS’ COMMITTEE FOR New York, New York 10171
: CIVIL RIGHTS UNDER LAw (212) 371-9200
1400 Eye Street, NW
ee : . Burke Marshall
; Washington, DC 20005 127 Wall Street

New Haven, Connecticut 06520
(203) 432-4953

Counsel for Amicus Curiae
* Counsel of Record

rs
‘
t
F
ie -

TABLE OF CONTENTS

SEEN ned bedndeweied escdssesbusedecanieess

Il. THE AFFIRMATIVE OBLIGATION TO
ELIMINATE THE VESTIGES OF DE JURE
SEGREGATION AS FAR AS PRACTICA-
BLE EXTENDS TO ALL ASPECTS OF A
SCHOOL SYSTEM, AND CANNOT BE
ACCOMPLISHED OR REVIEWED ON AN
SIC EA, DAZED 2. ccccccccccccceces

A. Incremental determinations of ‘‘unitary’’
status would be inconsistent with all prior
decisions of this Court..................

1. Dowell set forth the workable stan-
dards that do not allow an incremental
approach to determining when a school
system has achieved ‘‘unitary”’ status .

2. This Court has consistently recognized
that the racial identification of schools
results from interrelated features of a

\ single system that cannot be isolated

. from each other or subject to divisible

PAGE

Il.

3. This Court’s decisions are in full
accord with the empirical findings of
educators and social scientists ........

B. Incremental findings of unitary status
would frustrate the transition to unitary
school systems mandated by Brown and all
subsequent decisions of this Court .......

1. Incremental findings of unitary status
would allow vestiges of de jure segrega-
tion to survive the termination of court
jurisdiction in a school district .......

Incremental unitary findings would
preclude future use of programs that
implicate several facets of the school
a a

ed

3. Incremental review of unitary status
would give rise to repeated and pro-
Eo vc cuestecues ences

C. The vestiges of de jure segregation in
DeKalb County have had interrelated seg-
regative effects, and cannot be considered
eee eee tas peeteesees

THE DEKALB COUNTY SCHOOL SYSTEM
REMAINS UNDER AN AFFIRMATIVE
DUTY TO’ REMEDY, TO THE EXTENT
PRACTICABLE, CURRENT RACIAL
IDENTIFIABILITY OF THE SYSTEM’S
Nee ceuenobeccce

A. The demographic changes that have
occurred in DeKalb County cannot shield
the school authorities from responsibility
for remedying existing racial identity in the
school system—including in the area of
i ccccedeneercicecesee

PAGE

12

14

14

16

17

18

20

22

ili

B. Where a school board that has not com-
pleted the transition to a unitary system is
not obligated to implement further affirm-
ative remedial steps, school authorities,
when they do act, remain obligated to take
no action that would impede completion of
IS

i Cee scree sind pseabensées¥cevicvecsees

PAGE

iv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases: PAGE
Adams v. United States, 620 F.2d 1277 (8th Cir.), cert.

Goniad, 440 U.S. Gab TI etee o cccccccvccccccnces 17, 27n*
Board of Educ. of Oklahoma City v. Dowell, _

* > GS SF ERE ee ee passim
Bradley v. School Bd., 382 U.S. 103 (1965) ......... 4, 10
Brown v. Board of Education, 347 U.S. 483

Ss 60804060 Gapcabowsasds cthenneddceedawes 2, 6, 7, 9
Brown v. Board of Education, 349 U.S. 294

SED 64:50 esebacsnnseenbuernerasestnssesse enka 2, 4, 9

Clark v. Board of Educ., 705 F.2d 265 (8th Cir. 1983). 17
Columbus Bd. of Educ. v. Penick, 443 U.S. 449

CCUG diese bautheekdnbhacenkeeGuswssenbeseuas passim
Davis v. Board of School Comm’rs, 402 U.S. 33
CP iid cvansaees aks beunede tens snecs ebkss estas 4, 10

Davis v. East Baton Rouge Parish School Bd., 721
f 8. go ot rere ere 22

Davis v. School District, 309 F. Supp. 734 (E.D. Mich.
1970), aff'd, 443 F.2d 573 (6th Cir.), cert. denied,
et ee OD , Pee rr errr ee 27n*

Dayton Bd. of Educ. v. Brinkman (Dayton II), 443
Ss ME os 6cavedewsec cedueun dneenkeeneees passim

Evans v. Buchanan, 393 F. Supp. 428 (D. Del.), aff’d,
Ge BE We Ee 00:00 ob dcddcticansceseseiutenes 27n*

Green v. New Kent County School Bd., 391 U.S. 430
CRs vcnavdvsseseadsdebheedsanneaeesnuaneouse passim

PAGE

Hart v. Community School Bd., 383 F. Supp. 699
(E.D.N.Y. 1974), aff'd, 512 F.2d 37 (2d Cir. 1975). 27n*

Keyes v. School District No. 1, 413 U.S. 189
PiCth iid hig eeeete ieee an bate eee. passim

Lee v. Macon County Bd. of Educ., 616 F.2d 805 (Sth
es 6c Ce deasdebeeeenedendenesbucusces cue 22

Milliken v. Bradley (Milliken I1), 433 U.S. 267 (1977) 28

Morgan v. Burke, 926 F.2d 86 (Ist Cir. 1991) ....... 18
Morgan v. Nucci, 831 F.2d 313 (ist Cir. 1987) ...... 18
NAACP vy. Lansing Bd. of Educ., 559 F.2d 1042 (6th
Cir.), cert. denied, 434 U.S. 997 (1977) ........... 27n*
Pasadena Bd. of Educ. v. Spangler, 427 U.S. 424
DE mL LR eAE On aKdne dad ebenee sadn Chnaneawos 12
Penick v. Columbus Bd. of Educ., 429 F. Supp. 229
SS GU ice cdnccancecccnceceeweseanwnd 24, 26
Rogers v. Paul, 382 U.S. 198 (1965)........... 4, 9, 10, 15
Swann v. Charlotte-Mecklenburg Bd. of Educ., 402
Ss a Ls ck boo dae eae dbee ober cuonbeekoasen passim
United States v. Board of School Comm’rs, 573 F.2d
Ge Gens a6e0es0 ae dn eeone succes 27n*
United States v. Montgomery Bd. of Educ., 395 U.S.
PEE Las 4 GueNaucakveehens 68045 aedee eta 4, 10, 15
United States v. Scotland Neck Bd. of Educ., 407 U.S.
EP ye rr rs Pre 16, 29

United States v. Yonkers Bd. of Educ., 624 F. Supp.
1276 (S.D.N.Y. 1985), aff'd, 837 F.2d 1181 (2d Cir.
1987), cert. denied, 486 U.S. 1055 (1988).......... 27n*

vi

PAGE
Vaughns v. Board of Educ., 758 F.2d 983 (4th Cir.
66 6600044 6ObNOARGA CS RddA edhe eS deKOO Cede 22
Wright v. Council of Emporia, 407 U.S. 451
Dc, tiddesobddatede dunt tasddbeadanadaess 15-16, 29

Other Authorities:

Billingsley, et al., ‘‘School Segregation and Residential
Segregation: A Social Science Statement,’’ in School
Desegregation: Past, Present, and Future (W.G.
Stephan & J.R. Feagin, eds.) (1980)......... 14n*, 25, 26

A. Bryk, V. Lee and J. Smith, ‘‘High School Organi-
zation and its Effects on Teachers and Students,’’ in
Choice and Control in American Education, Vol. 1
(W.H. Clune and J.P. White, eds.) (1990)......... 12-13

G. Forehand and M. Rogasta, ‘‘A Handbook for Inte-
grated Schooling,’’ U.S. Dept. of Health, Education
re 13, 14

W.D. Hawley, et al., Assessment of Current Knowl-
edge About the Effectiveness of School Desegrega-
tion Strategies, Vanderbilt University Study, Vol. 1
nae hahe essen nnneeebekesss baneeed 4a keene 14

W.D. Hawley, ‘‘Equity and Quality in Education:
Characteristics of Effective Desegregated Schools,”’
in Effective School Desegregation (W.D. Hawley,

ED ih 6 ooh hb 4nd bb5 0 eke hed bs 6ekssdeddesss 13
Hughes, Gordon and Hillman, Desegregating Ameri-

a Sree re Tr TTT TTT Te 13
G. Orfield, Must We Bus? Segregated Schools and

Pie FOS GFF occ ccvccwesccccccccescesees 14n*

D. Pearce, Breaking Down Barriers: New Evidence on
the Impact of Metropolitan School Desegregation on
Housing Patterns (1960). ......ccccccccccccccccess 27

Vii

S. Purkey and M. Smith, ‘Effective Schools—A
Review,’’ 83(4) Elementary School Journal 440

R. Scott and J. McPartland, ‘‘Desegregation as
National Policy: Correlates of Racial Attitudes,’’ 19
Amer. Educ. Research J. 397 (1984) ..............

Sheehan, ‘“‘A Study of Attitude Changes in Desegre-
gated Intermediate Schools,’’ 53 Sociology of Educa-
ae ES 8 ONE Oh0K 4b hh 6H KE Tee We EdeERKEKOS

Tauber, ‘‘Housing, Schools, and Incremental Segrega-
tive Effects,’’ 441 Annals of the American Academy
of Political and Social Science 157 (1979) .........

Tauber, Demographic Perspectives on Housing and
School Segregation, 21 Wayne L. Rev. 833 (1975)..

Tauber, ‘‘School Desegregation and Racia! Housing
Patterns’’ in New Directions for Testing and Mea-
surement: Impact of Desegregation (D. Monti, ed.)
SE i cd ewediccecdanebececteasseedseeukseuseues

Taylor, Brown, Equal Protection and the Isolation of
the Poor, 95 Yale L.J. 1700 (1986) ...............

U.S. Commission on Civil Rights, Racial Isolation in
Ge FUE BEGG CIGGFTD occ cccvccacccccccccacecs

U.S. Commission on Civil Rights, Fulfilling the Letter
and Spirit of the Law: Desegregation of the Nation’s
Cc occa dasnuesebeuaqueeeseeaes

PAGE

13

14n*

26

27

27

13

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1990
No. 89-1290

_>

ROBERT R. FREEMAN, et al.,
Petitioners,

—_V—

WILLIE EUGENE PITTS, et al.,

Respondents.

ON WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED STATES
COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE ELEVENTH! CIRCUIT

>

BRIEF FOR THE LAWYERS’ COMMITTEE
FOR CIVIL RIGHTS UNDER LAW AS
AMICUS CURIAE IN SUPPORT OF RESPONDENTS

CONSENT OF PARTIES

Petitioners and respondents have consented to the filing of
this brief, and their letters of consent are being filed sepa-
rately herewith.

INTEREST OF AMICUS

The Lawyers’ Committee for Civil Rights Under Law
(‘‘Lawyers’ Committee’) was established in 1963 at the
request of President Kennedy to help assure civil rights to all
Americans by affording legal services otherwise unavailable
to minorities and the poor pursuing claims for equal treat-

‘

ment under the law. The Lawyers’ Committee is a non-profit
private corporation that has enlisted the services of thousands
of members of the private bar in cases involving voting, edu-
cation (including school desegregation), employment, hous-
ing, municipal services, the administration of justice and law
enforcement.

The Lawyers’ Committee has a long history of direct sup-
port of and participation in cases in the federal courts fur-
thering school desegregation. This Court’s decision will
undoubtedly have significant implications in other school
desegregation cases. Amicus submits that its experience in
school desegregation litigation enables it to provide a perspec-
tive different from the parties and other amnici on the issues
before this Court.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

The DeKalb County public schools were segregated in
1954. They were segregated in 1969, when this case began,
and they remain segregated today. At no time has petitioner
school board fulfilled the obligation imposed on it by Brown
v. Board of Education, 347 U.S. 483 (1954), 349 U.S. 294
(1955), and Green v. New Kent County School Bd., 391 U.S.
430 (1968), to achieve a unitary school system. Contrary to
what it would have this Court believe now, it is not operating
a school system overwhelmed by demographic changes that
frustrated its efforts to achieve ‘‘a unitary system in which
racial discrimination would be eliminated root and branch.”’
Swann vy. Charlotte-Mecklenburg Bd. of Educ., 402 U.S. 1,
15 (1971). It made no such efforts. To the contrary, as the
Court below said (887 F.2d at 1440-41):

Despite our [previous] admonishments [in this case], the
district court ruled that the DeKalb County School
Board (‘‘DCSS’’) is under no affirmative duty to take
steps to desegregate an acknowledged segregated system
in the area of student assignment because the DCSS
closed all of its de jure black schools in 1969.

* * * -

3

Black students constitute 47 percent of the DCSS popu-
lation. Despite the system’s racial balance, 50 percent of
the black students attend schools with black populations
of more than 90 percent. Similarly, 27 percent of the
DCSS’s white students attend schools with white popula-
tions of more than 90 percent. The DCSS operates a
segregated school system.

Under these circumstances the district court was plainly
wrong, under the decisions of this Court, in denying any fur-
ther relief to plaintiffs except in the limited area of faculty
reassignments, and in refusing further supervision of the
school board other than in that regard. The Court below
accordingly was plainly right in reversing the district court
and requiring it to see to it that the school board continue to
take ali practicable steps to achieve a unitary system. As this
Court recently said, the inquiry was properly directed to the
question ‘‘whether [the school board has] complied in good
faith with the desegregation decree since it was entered,’’
which it clearly has not, and ‘‘whether the vestiges of past
discrimination [have] been eliminated to the extent practica-
ble,’’ which certainly has not happened. See Board of Educ.
of Oklahoma City v. Dowell, as ani S08 ax oe
630, 638 (1991).

Petitioner seeks to avoid the force of the application of
these principles in two ways. The first, as the Court below
noted, is by reliance on its action of closing the black schools
of its dual system in 1969, thus taking a preliminary step
towards the elimination of racial student assignments. In this
way petitioners persuaded the district court to treat the mat-
ter of student assignments as a closed book that could not be
reopened despite the overwhelming evidence of racial segrega-
tion in the system, and despite petitioner’s admitted failure to
eliminate the vestiges of de jure segregation in other facets of
school operations, such as faculty, staff, and facilities. See
Green v. New Kent County School Bd., supra, 391 U.S. at
435; Board of Educ. of Oklahoma City v. Dowell, supra, 111
S. Ct. at 638. Secondly, petitioner relies on the evidence of
concededly large population moves into the county in the

4

past decade and a half, causing significant changes in the size
and racial composition of the school population.

Neither of these factors should be held to excuse petitioner
from its well-established duty to eliminate vestiges of de jure
racial segregation and achieve a unitary system in which
racial discrimination is eliminated rvot and branch.

With regard to the first point, the decisions of this Court
since Green, supra, have consistently required school boards
and supervising district courts to treat the task of eliminating
the vestiges of racial discrimination in terms of the entire
school system rather than its component parts. De jure segre-
gation is a system-wide constitutional violation. The remedy
requires examining and treating all aspects of the school sys-
tem as one problem, needful of coordinated attention. See
Brown v. Board of Education, 349 U.S. 294 (1955) (Brown
Il); Green, supra; Swann v. Charlotte-Mecklenburg Bd. of
Educ., 402 U.S. 1 (1971). See also Davis v. Board of School
Comm’rs, 402 U.S. 33, 37 (1971); Rogers v. Paul, 382 U.S.
198 (1965); Bradley v. School Bd., 382 U.S. 103, 105 (1965);
United States v. Montgomery Bd. of Educ., 395 U.S. 225,
231 (1969). Thus in Keyes v. School District No. 1, 413 U.S.
189 (1973), the Court expressly applied a presumption that
discriminatory action in a particular aspect of the system
would necessarily spread to and affect other components of
the system. Jd., 413 U.S. at 196, 201-2, 214. See also Dayton
Bd. of Educ. v. Brinkman (Dayton IT), 443 U.S. 526 (1979);
Columbus Bd. of Educ. v. Penick, 443 U.S. 449, 467 (1979).
The system approach was reiterated in Dowell this year. See
Dowell, supra, 111 S. Ct. at 636, 638. Here petitioner’s fail-
ure to deal with its whole system in a unitary fashion is
admitted. See Point I, infra.

Wholly apart from this Court’s repeated insistence on
system-wide analysis and treatment, the incremental approach
urged by petitioner and embraced by the district court will
not work in practice. Achievement of a unitary system means
elimination, to the extent practicable, of racially identifiable
schools. It is common experience that racial segregation in
faculty and staff, such as that petitioner has permitted to per-
sist in ‘his case, along with disparities in facilities and
resources, contributes to the perception of schools as

5

**black’’ or ‘‘white.’’ Thus, the need for system orientation,
rather than an incremental, piece-by-piece approach, is recog-
nized and endorsed by th» extensive literature on school
desegregation. See Point I, infra.

The extensive demographic changes that have taken place
in DeKalb County since the entry of the judgment in this case
in 1969 do not diminish the legal and constitutional obliga-
tions of petitioner. The school authorities did not cause the
onrushing tide of people into DeKalb County. But during this
period of influx the schools remained racially identifiable
because of the decisions of the DeKalb County school board
which never eliminated faculty and staff segregation and,
notwithstanding purportedly racially neutral student assign-
ment practices in 1969 and 1970, assigned black students pre-
dominantly to those schools where black faculty and staff
were located. Given that ‘‘people gravitate toward schools,”’
as this Court has recognized, the school authorities cannot
walk away from their responsibility for the persistence of
racially identifiable schools whose racial stamp encouraged,
and was reinforced by, the diversion of the flow of people
into two streams—white and black. See Point II, infra.

Petitioner thus remains responsible for taking all practica-
ble steps to remedy existing racial identification of the
DeKalb County schools—including in the area of student
assignments—until all vestiges of de jure segregation have
been eradicated. Throughout the transition to a unitary sys-
tem, the DeKalb County school board is also obligated to
take no action, with respect to any aspect of the school sys-
tem, that would impede the completion of the transition. The
Court below correctly left the question of exactly what steps
are necessary to eliminate coupletely the dual system to the
school board itself, and, in the event of default by school
authorities in that responsibility, to the discretion of the dis-
trict court. See Point II, infra.

6

ARGUMENT

I

THE AFFIRMATIVE OBLIGATION TO ELIMINATE

THE VESTIGES OF DE JURE SEGREGATION AS FAR

AS PRACTICABLE EXTENDS TO ALL ASPECTS OF A

SCHOOL SYSTEM, AND CANNOT BE ACCOMPLISHED
OR REVIEWED ON AN INCREMENTAL BASIS

Since Brown v. Board of Education, this Court has consist-
ently reaffirmed the affirmative duty of school boards to
complete the transition from a de jure segregated school sys-
tem to a system in which the vestiges of past discrimination
have been eliminated to the extent practicable. This Court
has recognized that various discriminatory acts or omissions
in a single school system have interrelated effects that cause
and perpetuate the vestiges of de jure segregation, including
racially identifiable schools, and that discrimination in one
particular component of the system cannot be considered in
isolation. Thus the Court has consistently applied system-
wide remedies to address the system-wide nature of the con-
stitutional violation. This Court’s decision in Board of Educ.
of Oklahoma City v. Dowell reiterated these principles and
set forth the workable standards for determining when a for-
merly de jure segregated school system has been brought into
compliance with the Constitution—and thus when court juris-
diction in a desegregation case can properly be withdrawn.

As demonstrated below, however, incremental findings of
‘‘unitary’’ status—and with them incremental terminations of
court authority to impose remedies addressing particular
facets of a school system—would effectively preclude the type
of review of school systems, and of ‘‘every facet of school
operations,’ mandated by Dowell and the prior decisions of
this Court. Such incremental ‘‘unitary’’ findings would
require district courts, based on the implementation by a
school board of particular non-discriminatory practices, to
sequentially ‘‘carve out’’ discrete areas of the school system
from further judicial consideration—notwithstanding that

7

central vestiges of discrimination affecting those discrete
areas, including the racial identity of schools, had never been
remedied. Such incremental reviews of unitary status would
certainly inhibit the ability of district courts to determine, as
Dowell now requires, whether at a given point in time all ves-
tiges of past discrimination have been eliminated from the
school system to the extent practicable.

Incremental reviews of ‘‘unitary’’ status also would inevita-
bly prove unworkable in practice. Such reviews would require
district courts to treat in isolation facets of school systems
that are, as educators and social scientists have recognized,
integrally related in fact. Such findings could also preclude
the use of such remedies as magnet schools or majority-to-
minority transfer programs that necessarily require court con-
sideration of various facets of the schoo] system—facets that
may already have been ‘‘carved out’’ from the remedial
power of the district court by an earlier finding of ‘‘unitari-
ness.’’ Moreover, the opportunity for such incremental find-
ings can only be expected to give rise to repeated and
protracted litigations, as school boards continually seek to
narrow the scope of district court review even before the
transition to a ‘‘unitary’’ system has been completed.

This Court should instead reaffirm the principles articu-
lated in Brown and all subsequent cases: only the transition
to a racially nondiscriminatory school system can cure the
constitutional violation of de ji re segregation and justify the
removal of judicial jurisdiction over the school district.

A. Incremental determinations of ‘‘unitary’’ status would be
inconsistent with all prior decisions of this Court.

1. Dowell set forth the workable standards that do not
allow an incremental approach to determining when a
school system has achieved ‘‘unitary’’ status.

In Board of Educ. of Oklahoma City v. Dowell, U.S.
, 111 S. Ct. 630 (1991), this Court reiterated that a
school desegregation decree can be dissolved only when a
school board has ‘‘made a sufficient showing’’ that ‘‘a school
system . . . has been brought into compliance with the com-
mand of the Constitution.’’ Jd., 111 S. Ct. at 636, 638. This

8

Court set forth the inquiry necessary to determine whether
such compliance has been achieved: district courts should
consider ‘‘whether [a school board has] complied in good
faith with the desegregation decree since it was entered, and
whether the vestiges of past discrimination [have] been elimi-
nated to the extent practicable.’’ Jd. at 638. |

This Court then explained in plain terms the standard for
determining whether the vestiges of de jure segregation have
in fact been eliminated as far as practicable. Reiterating that
every facet of the school system must be free from those ves-
tiges, this Court instructed that:

the District Court should look not only at student
assignments, but ‘‘to every facet of school operations—
faculty, staff, transportation, extra-curricular activities
and facilities.’’ Green, 391 U.S., at 435, 88 S. Ct., at
1693. See also Swann, 402 U.S., at 18, 91 S. Ct., at
1277 (‘‘[E]xisting policy and practice with regard to fac-
ulty, staff, transportation, extra-curricular activities, and
facilities’? are ‘‘among the most important indicia of a

segregated system’). Id. at 638

Dowell thus embodies fundamental tenets, articulated in
Green, Swann and he other precedents of this Court, requir-
ing a school board to demonstrate that the school ‘‘system

has been brought into compliance with ... the
Constitution’’—consistent with the constitutional mandate
that all vestiges of the de jure system be eliminated to the
extent practicable. This constitutional mandate would be seri-
ously undermined if district courts were incrementally denied
the power, with regard to particular facets of the school sys-
tem, to consider appropria d practicable remedies to
ensure a complete transition to a unitary system in which
racial discrimination would be eliminated root and branch.

9

2. This Court has consistently recognized that the racial
identification of schools results from interrelated fea-
tures of a single system that cannot be isolated from
each other or subject to divisible remedy.

The constitutional violation addressed in Brown, as in all
subsequent cases through Dowell, was the operation of
racially segregated systems, and not merely the existence of
particular discriminatory policies in discrete areas. This Court
thus anticipated systemic, rather than incremental, remedies:
district courts were instructed to apply remedies that ‘‘may
call for elimination of a variety of obstacles in making the
transition to school systems operated in accordance with the
constitutional principles set forth in [Brown J].’’ Brown v.
Board of Education (Brown II), 349 U.S. 294, 300 (1955).

Green v. New Kent County School Bd., 391 U.S. 430
(1968), reiterated in unambiguous terms that the constitu-
tional violation of de jure segregation is system-wide and that
even a facially non-discriminatory student assignment plan
can be rendered ineffective by vestiges of de jure segregation
in other facets of the system. The ‘‘Green factors’’ reflect
how in de jure segregated systems, ‘‘[r]acial identification of
the system’s schools was complete, extending not just to the
composition of student bodies at the . .. schools but to
every facet of school operations—faculty, staff, transporta-
tion, extracurricular activities and facilities.’’ Green, 391 U.S.
at 435. In Green, the New Kent County school board’s sole
reliance on a student assignment plan thus ‘‘ignored the
thrust of Brown IT’ by failing to address the school system
as an integrated whole. In remanding Green, the Supreme
Court expressly instructed the district court to consider, for
example, student assignments ‘‘in light of considerations
respecting other aspects of the school system such as the mat-
ter of faculty and staff desegregation.’’ Jd. at 442 n.6.

This consideration of school systems, rather than an incre-
mental focus on discrete aspects of a school district, reflected
earlier Court decisions that had recognized the interrelated
effects of discrimination in such discrete areas as faculty and
student assignments. In Rogers v. Paul, 382 U.S. 198 (1965)
(per curiam), for example, the Court held that students have

10

standing to challenge discriminatory faculty assignments not
only because ‘‘racial allocation of faculty denies [students]
equality of educational opportunity,’’ but also because a seg-
regated faculty can ‘‘render[{ ] inadequate an otherwise consti-
tutional pupil desegregation plan.’’ Jd. at 200 (emphasis
added). Similarly, in Bradley v. School Bd., 382 U.S. 103,
105 (1965) (per curiam), the Court recognized ‘‘the relation
between faculty allocation on an alleged racial basis and the
adequacy of the desegregation plans.’’ See also United States
v. Montgomery Bd. of Educ., 395 U.S. 225, 231-32 (1969)
(desegregation of faculty and staff is ‘‘a goal that we have
recognized to be an important aspect of the basic task of
achieving a public school system wholly free from racial dis-
crimination’’) (emphasis added). Indeed, in Davis v. Board of
School Comm’rs, 402 U.S. 33, 37 (1971); this Court reiter-
ated the general principle that it constitutes reversible error to
treat particular areas of a school district ‘‘in isolation from
the rest of the school system.’’

In light of the system-wide nature of the constitutional vio-
lation, this Court since Green has consistently approved
system-wide, rather than incremental, remedies to achieve the
mandates of the Fourteenth Amendment. District courts have
**not merely the power but the duty to render a decree which
will so far as possible eliminate the discriminatory effects of
past as well as bar like discrimination in the future,’’ Green,
391 U.S. at 438 n.4. This Court has reiterated that the inter-
action among, and the combined effect of, discrimination in
various components of a school system causes and can per-
petuate the vestiges of de jure segregation.

Swann, emphasizing a district court’s ‘‘broad power to
fashion a remedy that will assure a unitary school system,”’
thus explained that the quality of school buildings and equip-
ment, or the organization of sports activities, for example,
can contribute to a school’s racial identification—
notwithstanding non-discriminatory student assignment prac-
tices. Swann v. Charlotte-Mecklenburg Bd. of Educ., 402
U.S. 1, 16 (1971) (emphasis added). In particular, the failure
to integrate faculty and staff will normally perpetuate such
racial identity: ‘‘[iJndependent of student assignment, where
it is possible to identify a ‘white school’ or a ‘Negro school’

1]

simply by reference to the racial composition of teachers and
staff . . . a prima facie case of violation of substantive con-
stitutional rights under the Equal Protection Clause is ©
shown.’’ Jd. at 18.

Keyes similarly highlighted the extent to which the various
facets of a schoo] system must be evaluated together to deter-
mine whether the school] district has fulfilled its affirmative
constitutional obligation. As the Court explained, ‘‘[iJn addi-
tion to the racial and ethnic composition of a school’s stu-
dent body, other factors, such as the racial and ethnic
composition of faculty and staff and the community and
administration attitudes toward the school, must be taken
into consideration.’’ Keyes v. School District No. 1, 413 U.S.
189, 196 (1973) (emphasis added). The Court in Keyes recog-
nized the interrelationship of the various ‘‘Green factors’’ in
perpetuating the unconstitutional racial identification of
schools: ‘‘the use of mobile classrooms, the drafting of stu-
dent transfer policies, the transportation of students, and the
assignment of faculty and staff, on racially identifiable bases,
have the clear effect of earmarking schools according to their
racial composition.’’ Id. at 201-02 (emphasis added). On
remand, the school board in Denver District No. 1 thus bore
the burden of showing that school board actions affecting
various aspects of the schoo! system, ‘‘considered together,”’
were ‘‘not factors in causing the existing condition of segre-
gation in these schools. Jd. at 214 (emphasis added).

Similarly, in Dayton, the school board had failed to rem-
edy the segregated school system by allowing the interplay of
various facets of the district—including faculty assignment,
attendance zones, school construction and grade structure—
to perpetuate the racial identity of the schools. See Dayton
Bd. of Educ. v. Brinkman (Dayton II), 443 U.S. 526 (1979).
This Court placed particular emphasis on the Dayton school
board’s failure to integrate faculty and staff: the district
court had erroneously ‘‘ignored . . . the significance of pur-
poseful segregation in faculty assignments in establishing the
existence of a dual school system.’’ Jd. at 536 (citation omit-
ted). Explaining that such ‘‘purposeful segregation of faculty
by race was inextricably tied to racially motivated student
assignment practices,’’ this Court remained unwilling to

12

‘‘deprecate the relevance of segregated faculty assignments as
one of the factors in proving the existence of a school system
that is dual for teachers and students.’’ Jd. at 536 & n.9
(emphasis in original). See also Columbus Bd. of Educ. v.
Penick, supra, 443 U.S. at 467 (1979) (‘‘[t]he practice of
assigning black teachers and administrators only or in large
majority to black schools ... served as discriminatory,
system-wide racial identification of schools’’).

This Court’s decisions have thus consistently required that
the system—and not isolated, discrete parts—be rid of the
vestiges of de jure segregation and its perpetuation. Nothing
in the Court’s decision in Spangler suggests or should allow a
different result. See Pasadena Bd. of Educ. v. Spangler, 427
U.S. 424 (1976). There, this Court considered whether a dis-
trict court properly refused to modify a desegregation decree
which provided that, in perpetuity, no Pasadena school could
have ‘‘a majority of any minority’’ students; this Court con-
cluded that the district court ‘‘exceeded its authority’’ by
“‘enforcing its order so as to require annual readjustment of
attendance zones.’’ Jd. at 432, 435. That decision, however,
did not bar the district court from continuing to provide
appropriate and practicable remedies necessary to complete
the constitutionally mandated transition to a unitary system.
Indeed, to the extent this Court even considered the issue, it
observed that ‘‘an injunction often requires continuing super-
vision by the issuing court and always a continuing willing-
ness to apply its powers and processes on behalf of the party
who obtained equitable relief.’’ Jd. at 437 (quotation omit-
ted).

3. This Court’s decisions are in full accord with the
empirical findings of educators and social scientists.

Rejecting the ‘‘view that schools are relatively static con-
structs of discrete variables,’’ education specialists have gen-
erally recognized that schools are ‘‘dynamic social systems
made up of interrelated factors.’’ S. Purkey and M. Smith,
“Effective Schools—A Review,’’ 83(4) Elementary School
Journal 440 (1983). See also A. Bryk, V. Lee and J. Smith,
**High School Organization and its Effects on Teachers and

13

Students,’’ in Choice and Control in American Education,
Vol. 1 (W.H. Clune and J.P. White, eds.) 139 (1990). Thus,
effective desegregation has required a system-oriented, rather
than incremental, approach. As one educator has observed:

Too often schools seem to focus on only one goal or
strategy to achieve effective desegregation. It seems
important to stress the need to develop comprehensive
plans and strategies. Generally speaking, the attainment
of one goal will enhance the possibilities of achieving
another.

W.D. Hawley, ‘‘Equity and Quality in Education: Character-
istics of Effective Desegregated Schools,’’ in Effective School
Desegregation 298-99 (W.D. Hawley, ed.) (1981).

Studies have consistently shown that student assignments
alone do not eliminate the racial identity of schools, and that
effective (or ineffective) desegregation results from the inter-
play of such student assignments with other factors. See,
e.g., G. Forehand and M. Rogasta, ‘‘A Handbook for Inte-
grated Schooling,’’ U.S. Dept. of Health, Education and
Welfare 11-12 (1976) (desegregation is a multi-dimensional
process affected by the various facets of the system). See also
Sheehan, ‘‘A Study of Attitude Changes in Desegregated
Intermediate Schools,’’ 53 Sociology of Education 51-59
(1980); R. Scott and J. McPartland, ‘‘Desegregation as
National Policy: Correlates of Racial Attitudes,’’ 19 Amer.
Educ. Research J. 397-414 (1984); Hughes, Gordon and Hill-
man, Desegregating America’s Schools (1980) (noting various
measures of inequality within schools that must be reviewed
to develop an effective desegregation plan).

Among other things, educators and social scientists alike
have concluded that faculty and staff integration are essential
components of effective school desegregation. After studying
school districts in various cities, the United States Commis-
sion for Civil Rights concluded in 1967 that the maintenance
of faculty and staff segregation perpetuates schools’ racial
identifiability. U.S. Commission on Civil Rights, Racial Iso-
lation in the Public Schools 67 (1967) (‘‘[t]he racial identity
of Southern schools is maintained in a variety of ways’’

14

including ‘‘continued -segregation of teaching staff’’).* A
1976 report prepared by the Education Testing Service for the
Department of Health, Education and Welfare similarly con-
sidered the inclusion of racial minorities on faculty and
administrative staffs to be ‘‘perhaps . . . our most important
recommendation.’’ See G. Forehand and M. Ragosta, ‘“‘A
Handbook for Integrated Schooling,’’ supra, at 11-12. See
also W.D. Hawley, et al., Assessment of Current Knowledge
About the Effectiveness of School Desegregation Strategies,
Vanderbilt University Study (Vol. I) 86 (1981).

B. Incremental findings of unitary status would frustrate the
transition to unitary school systems mandated by Brown
and all subsequent decisions of this Court.

1. Incremental findings of unitary status would allow
vestiges of de jure segregation to survive the termina-
tion of court jurisdiction in a school district.

Because incremental reviews of unitary status focus only on
whether isolated discriminatory practices have been elimi-
nated from a particular facet of the school system during
some period of time, such incremental inquiries by definition
disregard those vestiges of de jure segregation—including, in
particular, the racial identification of schools—that result
from the interrelated effects of the various forms of discrimi-
nation in the school system. Where such incremental findings

* The Civil Rights Commission later reiterated that ‘‘[a]dequate
minority representation on the school staff is critical to integrated educa-
tion.’’ Fulfilling the Letter and Spirit of the Law: Desegregation of the
Nation’s Public Schools 122 (1976). See also Tauber, ‘‘Housing, Schools,
and Incremental Segregative Effects,’’ 441 Annals of the American Academy
of Political and Social Science 157-67 (1979) (manipulation of student assign-
ment process, ‘‘combined with segregative assignment of teachers, have com-
bined to cause, enhance, and maintain racial identifiability of schools. . . in
Milwaukee’’); G. Orfield, Must We Bus? Segregated Schools and National
Policy 369 (1978) (in Cleveland, ‘‘[t]he racial identity of the schools was rein-
forced by intense faculty segregation’’); Billingsley, et al., ‘‘School Segrega-
tion and Residential Segregation: A Social Science Statement,’’ in Schoo/
Desegregation: Past, Present, and Future 235-36 (W.G. Stephan & J.R.
Feagin, eds.) (1980).

15

are permitted, school boards can sequentially demonstrate
that particular discriminatory practices affecting particular
facets of the school system have been eliminated, while ves-
tiges of de jure segregation—particularly the racial identifica-
tion of schools—continue to operate. If particular
discriminatory practices are considered incrementally and in
isolation, the sum of the parts of the system will be less than
the constitutionally mandated whole—a school system
cleansed of the vestiges of de jure segregation.

This means, in turn, that after a particular facet of the
school system would be ‘‘carved out’’ from further judicial
review based on the implementation of particular non-
discriminatory practices, vestiges of de jure segregation could
continue to operate so that even those non-discriminatory
practices could soon be rendered ineffective. This is precisely
what this Court has always sought to avoid, as this Court has
recognized that the continuing vestiges of prior discrimination
in such areas as faculty assignments and funding can render
even non-discriminatory student assignment policies inade-
quate to remedy violations of the Fourteenth Amendment.
Green, supra, 431 U.S. at 439-42. See also Rogers v. Paul,
supra, 398 U.S. at 200 (segregated faculty can ‘‘render[ ]
inadequate an otherwise constitutional pupil desegregation
plan’’); United States v. Montgomery Bd. of Educ., supra,
395 U.S. at 231.

At the same time, if particular facets of the school system
were to be carved out from further judicial consideration, a
school board could presumably become free to take actions
in those discrete areas that actually have the effect of imped-
ing the transition to a unitary system—so long as these
actions do not otherwise constitute new violations of the
Fourteenth Amendment. Cf. Dowell, 111 S. Ct. at 638 (if the
Oklahoma City School board achieved unitary status in the
city school system, further school board actions would be
judged under ‘‘appropriate equal protection principles’’).
Such a result would plainly impede the constitutionally man-
dated transition to a system in which vestiges of de jure seg-
regation have been eliminated to the extent practicable. It
would also disregard that ‘‘[pJart of the affirmative duty
imposed by [this Court’s] cases, as. . . decided in Wright v.

16

Council of Emporia, 407 U.S. 451 (1972), is the obligation
not to take any action that would impede the process of dis-
establishing the dual system and its effects.’’ See Dayton,
supra, 443 U.S. at 538. See also United States v. Scotland
Neck Bd. of Educ., 407 U.S. 484 (1972); Columbus, 443 U.S.
at 460; Swann, 402 U.S. at 20-21.

Ultimately, this would mean that at whatever point in time
a school board will have finally succeeded in obtaining
sequential ‘‘unitary’’ findings for all facets of the school sys-
tem, remaining vestiges of de jure segregation may already
have operated to re-establish segregation in those areas where
incremental unitary findings have been made. At this point, it
would become virtually impossible to conduct any meaningful
inquiry as to whether the school board had in fact taken all
practicable steps to eliminate all vestiges of prior
discrimination—the very inquiry Dowell prescribed.

2. Incremental unitary findings would preclude future
use of programs that implicate several facets of the
school system.

In many cases, incremental findings of unitary status
would also preclude the use of remedies, such as optional
transfer programs and magnet schools, that would otherwise
be the most practicable means of completing the transition to
a school system in which the vestiges of de jure segregation
have been eliminated.

Remedies such as optional majority-to-minority transfer
programs have ‘“‘long been recognized as a useful part of
every desegregation plan.’’ See Swann, 402 U.S. at 26. Such
plans allow members of the majority racial group of a partic-
ular school to transfer to other schools where they will be in
the minority. While this Court has explained that transfer
provisions are ‘‘an indispensable remedy for those students
willing to transfer . . . in order to lessen the impact on thern
of the state-imposed stigma of segregation,’’ Swann, 404
U.S. at 26, such optional transfer plans—that require adjust-
ment of student assignments, faculty assignments, transporta-
tion, or the allocation of school resources—would be

17

precluded in any district where any of those implicated facets
of the school system had already been declared ‘‘unitary’’.

A similar result would follow in the case of magnet school
programs, which draw students with particular qualifications
from throughout the district to a particular school. See Clark
v. Board of Educ., 705 F.2d 265, 272 (8th Cir. 1983) (direct-
ing establishment of magnet schools to promote ‘‘equal edu-
cational opportunity’’); Adams v. Unite States, 620 F.2d
1277, 1296-97 (8th Cir. 1980) (endorsing magnet schools as a
**‘technique[ ] to ensure students . . . will receive equal edu-
cational opportunities’’). Implementation of magnet school
plans plainly implicates the allocation of school resources,
student assignments, faculty assignments, and, in some cases,
transportation. The use of such magnet school remedies,
however, would be precluded where any of those facets of
the school system had already been ‘‘carved out’’ from fur-
ther judicial consideration. *

3. Incremental review of unitary status would give rise
to repeated and protracted litigation.

In a regime allowing incremental ‘‘unitary’’ findings, dis-
trict courts could remove from further judicial considera‘.on
particular facets of the educational system, notwithstanding
that the school system has not yet been brought into compli-
ance with the Constitution. It is not difficult to contemplate
the annual or even more frequent litigation that would ensue,
as school boards could continually seek to ‘‘carve out’’ more
and more components of the educational process.

* Ironically, the circumstances in DeKalb County are a plain illustra-
tion of this result. If, indeed, it was appropriate to ‘carve out’’ the area of
student assignments from further district court consideration, then presum-
ably such an incremental finding could have been made as early as 1972—
after the school board had purportedly implemented a racially
non-discriminatory student assignment policy for several years. Such an
incremental finding of ‘‘unitary’’ status, however, would have precluded the
implementation in subsequent years of the very majority-to-minority transfer
programs and magnet school prograrns that the district court considered
necessary to effectuate the transition to a school system rid of the vestiges of
de jure segregation. See J.A. 216 (majority-to-minority transfer program
adopted in 1972); J.A. 217 (magnet school program adopted in 1980's).

18

Without having to establish that the racial identity of
schools, or any other vestiges of the de jure system, had been
eliminated, a school board could ask a district court to find
that practicable steps had been taken to eliminate discrimina-
tion in some discrete area. School boards could be expected
subsequently to seek one such ‘‘carve out’’ after another, as
such relief would self-evidently provide a means to limit the
school board’s obligations in the transition to a unitary sys-
tem. At the same time, individual litigations over the alleged
‘“‘unitary’’ status of each facet of a school system could
require protracted factual inquiry in each case—including
expert testimony, or documentary and other evidence con-
cerning developments in the school district.

There is, moreover, no reason to believe that school boards
would seek only to ‘‘carve out’’ the six general facets of
school systems identified in Green. Rather, motions could be
made for ‘‘unitary’’ findings with respect to particular por-
tions of a school district, particular schools, or even particu-
lar facets of a single school. Indeed, no limit could easily be
placed on the extent to which motions for incremental ‘‘uni-
tary’’ findings might be narrowly focused.

These scenarios by no means represent mere hypothetical
speculation. In the First Circuit, where incremental findings
of unitary status are permitted, see Morgan v. Nucci, 831
F.2d 313 (1st Cir. 1987), the Boston schoo! board has already
sought such incremental unitary findings for small fragments
of the system, including discrete groups within the system’s
overall teaching staff. See Morgan v. Burke, 926 F.2d 86, 92
(1st Cir. 1991) (school board sought to ‘‘fragment’’ progress
in desegregation into ‘‘very small parts’’ and proposed subdi-
viding faculty and staff into blacks and other minorities, a
proposal considered similar to subdividing student assign-
ments on a school-by-school basis).

C. The vestiges of de jure segregation in DeKalb County
have had interrelated segregative effects, and cannot be
considered in isolation.

The interrelated effects of the vestiges of discrimination in
various aspects of a school system are vividly illustrated in

19

this case. Here, the DCSS argues that it implemented a pur-
portedly neutral student assignment plan for some period
beginning in 1969.* Yet even during this period—as before
and at all times thereafter—schools in DeKalb County
retained their racial identity as a result of school board action
in such areas as faculty and staff assignments. Indeed, it is
undisputed that faculty and staff in DeKalb County have
never been desegregated. This meant that the implementation
of the DCSS’s neighborhood student attendance plan, even
from 1969 to 1972, in fact resulted in black students being
assigned predominantly to schools where the black faculty
and staff were located—thereby rendering ineffective on its
face a desegregation plan that under other circumstances
might have served to limit racial identifiability.

The DCSS’s own explanation for the continued segregation
of its faculty and staff illustrates the interrelated effects of
the vestiges of discrimination. The DCSS has attributed fac-
ulty and staff segregation largely to faculty and staff prefer-
ences to work in schools located near their residences. See
J.A. 76; J.A. 230. This explanation makes plain that school
construction, abandonment and expansion policies—viewed
by the DCSS and the district court as generally falling within
the purview of student assignment policies—have a significant
effect on determining the effectiveness of steps in the area of
faculty assignment.

In this case, moreover, the DCSS took actions during the
life of the desegregation decree that served to exacerbate the
interrelated effects of these perpetuated vestiges. The DCSS
built and expanded existing schools and drew attendance
zones in a manner that guaranteed racial homogeneity, both
of students and faculty, rather than racial integration. Thus
in 1976 the district court had found that the DCSS had
drawn attendance zones in such a way as to increase segrega-
tion within the system. J.A. 89-92. The following year, in the
context of considering an expansion of the Flat Shoals ele-
mentary school, the district court specifically advised the
DCSS to consider ‘‘alternatives to further construction, such

* The district court, however, was itself unable to determine how long
even these steps in the area of student assignments had been purportedly
effective. J.A. 214.

20

as alterations in attendance zones, and, possibly, some form
of busing, in order to remedy the overcrowding which is
bound to occur and to promote desegregation in the county
schools.’’ J.A. 122. Moreover, ‘‘in considering additions to
other predominantly black schools in the county,’’ the DCSS
was ‘‘admonished to keep this in mind.’’ The district court’s
admonition has gone unheeded.

The racial identities of schools were locked in place by the
DCSS’s continued resistance to effective minority transfer
and magnet schools programs. The DCSS consistently placed
arbitrary restraints on the number of black students able to
transfer to white schools, notwithstanding this Court’s
instruction in Swann that in order for a minority transfer
program to be effective, ‘‘space must be made available in
the school in which [the transferring student] desires to
move.’’ Swann, 402 U.S. at 26-27. Thus, in 1976, the district
court found that ‘‘the regulations imposed under the M-to-M
program perpetuate the vestiges of the dual system.’’ J.A. 83.
In 1979, the district court once again was forced to preclude
modifications sought by the DCSS to restrict the numbers of
black students able to transfer to white schools. J.A. 138-50.

The interrelated effects of the vestiges of discrimination in
the various facets of school operations collectively deter-
mined, and have perpetuated, the racial identities of the
schools in DeKalb County. While vestiges of the de jure sys-
tem remain, various facets of the school system have been
subject to their interrelated effects.

II

THE DEKALB COUNTY SCHOOL SYSTEM REMAINS

UNDER AN AFFIRMATIVE DUTY TO REMEDY, TO

THE EXTENT PRACTICABLE, CURRENT RACIAL
IDENTIFIABILITY OF THE SYSTEM’S SCHOOLS

Since 1954, the schools in DeKalb County have retained
their racial identity. Notwithstanding the adoption by the
DCSS of certain purportedly non-discriminatory practices in
the area of student assignment for some period beginning in
1969, it is not disputed that the DCSS never desegregated fac-

21 *%

ulty and staff and always assigned black students dispropor-
tionately to those schools in which black faculty and staff
could be found. Moreover, since 1969, the DCSS’s school
construction and abandonment policies have served primarily
to exacerbate the racial identifiability of the schools.

Notwithstanding the continuous racial identifiability of the
schools, the DCSS now claims it should be released from
further court supervision in the area of student assignments—
not because it has satisfied its affirmative duty to complete
the transition to a school system in which the vestiges of de
jure segregation have been eliminated, but because demo-
graphic changes during the life of the desegregation decree
purportedly contributed to existing segregated student assign-
ments in the district. Given the DCSS’s failure ever to take
the steps necessary to eliminate the blatant racial identifiabil-
ity of the county schools, however, there can be little doubt
that the DCSS itself influenced relevant demographic patterns
and their reinforcement of existing racial identification. This
Court has long recognized the causal relationship between the
perpetuation of racial identity of schools and demographic
patterns that serve to reinforce such racial identity. And, in
fact, while the demographic changes occurred, the DeKalb
County school board took steps that served to reinforce and
even exacerbate segregative effects of these patterns. The
DCSS accordingly remains under an affirmative duty to take
practicable steps to remedy the existing racial identification
that now exists in the district’s schools—including in the area
of student assignment.

It remains true that the scope of the affirmative duty to
effectuate the transition to a ‘‘unitary’’ school system is
defined by the scope of the constitutional violation. Even in a
case where a school board is no longer obligated to imple-
ment affirmative remedial steps, however, the school board,
when it does act, remains under a continuing obligation to
take no action that would hinder the constitutionally man-
dated transition to a school system in compliance with the
Fourteenth Amendment.

22

A. The demographic changes that have occurred in DeKalb
County cannot shield the school authorities from respon-
sibility for remedying existing racial identity in the school
system—including in the area of student assignments.

It is well settled that when a school district has operated a
de jure segregated system, it bears the burden of demonstrat-
ing that the existence of racially identifiable schools is not the
result of school board action. See Dayton II, 443 U.S. at 537
(“‘systemwide nature of the violation furnished prima facie
proof that current segregation . . . was caused at least in
part by prior intentionally segregative official acts’’); Colum-
bus, 443 U.S. at 465 n.13 (burden on the school board was to
prove that its conduct was not a ‘“‘contributing cause’’ of
racial identifiability of schools); Keyes, 413 U.S. at 211 &
n.17 (burden is on the school board to prove that its conduct
did not ‘‘create or contribute to’’ the racial identifiability of
schools, or that racially identifiable schools are ‘‘in no way
the result of’’ school board action); Swann, 402 U.S. at 26
(“‘[t}he court should scrutinize [predominantly one-race]
schools, and the burden upon the school authorities will be to
satisfy the court that their racial composition is not the result
of present or past discriminatory action on their part’’).

Thus the Courts of Appeals, including the Court below,
have consistently held that a school system that has not
removed all vestiges of segregation cannot avoid the constitu-
tional obligation to do so on the basis of claims that ongoing
demographic changes have made the process more difficult.
See Vaughns v. Board of Educ., 758 F.2d 983, 988 (4th Cir.
1985); Davis v. East Baton Rouge Parish School Bd., 721
F.2d 1425, 1435 (Sth Cir. 1983); Lee v. Macon County Bd. of
Educ., 616 F.2d 805, 810 (Sth Cir. 1980). This doctrine
reflects the principle that school authorities cannot avoid the
continuing duty to desegregate a school system based on the
consequences of their failure, to date, effectively to dismantle
all features or vestiges of the dual system. These holdings are
supported by the decisions of this Court in Columbus and
Swann and are premised on the clear recognition by this
Court that patterns of segregated schooling influence housing
choices and cause or contribute to residential segre-

23

gation—with the result that the patterns of school segregation
are compounded and exacerbated.*

In this case, it would be difficult for the DCSS to maintain
its burden of demonstrating that existing racial segregation is
not the result of school board action, given the district’s pre-
viously described segregative actions. It is an insuperable bur-
den in light of the responsibility of school authorities for
influencing demographic patterns that have reinforced the
racial identity of the schools, and the actions of the schoo!
authorities that actually magnified the segregative effects of
those demographic changes.

It should come as no surprise that the demographic
changes in DeKalb County occurred in racially identifiable
patterns reinforcing the racial identifiability of the DCSS
schools. This Court has long recognized that ‘‘people gravi-
tate toward school facilities,’’ Swann, 402 U.S. at 20, and
that racially identifiable schools influence the gravitational
pull. Indeed, the DCSS’s claim that it should be released
from its affirmative duty to dismantle the dual system
because of demographic changes is certainly not novel, and
similar claims have already been rejected by this and lower
courts. In Columbus, for example, school authorities con-
tended that ‘‘because many of the involved schools were in
areas that had become predominately black residential areas
by the time of trial, the racial separation in the schools would
have occurred even without the unlawful conduct of [the
school board].’’ Columbus, 443 U.S. at 465 n.13. That

* This rule is not one of absolute liability without regard to the facts
and circumstances of a particular case, however, as the opinion of the Court
below might be read. This Court’s school desegregation precedent establishes
a framework according to which a previously de jure school district may seek
to demonstrate that segregation in its schools or programs is not the result of
the dual system, its failure to eradicate that system and its ef fects, or any
actions it has taken that have impeded that process. A school board that has
effectively implemented remedies to desegregate all aspects of a school sys-
tem and, therefore, has removed the racial identifiability and stigma that
influence housing choice and residential segregation, may be in a position to
demonstrate that subsequently occurring racial imbalance is not the product
of any failure to dismantle de jure schooling. Whatever the circumstances in
which a district could carry this burden, they are not presented by the DCSS
in this case.

24

argument—then as it should be now—was easily dispatched
by this Court: ‘‘the phenomena described by [the school
board] seems only to confirm, not disprove . . . that school
segregation is a contributing cause of housing segregation.”’
Id. (emphasis added). This Court found persuasive the dis-
trict court’s findings that notwithstanding adoption of an
ostensibly racially neutral attendance policy, the school
board’s failure to dismantle the dual school system perpetu-
ated racially identifiable residential patterns. See Penick v.
Columbus Bd. of Educ., 429 F. Supp. 229, 259 (S.D. Ohio
1977).

The DCSS obviously did not cause people to move into
DeKalb County. But as explained in Keyes, the perpetuation
of identifiably black or white faculty in schools

[has] the clear effect of earmarking schools according to
their racial composition, and this, in turn, together with
the elements of student assignment and school construc-
tion, may have a profound reciprocal effect on the racial
composition of residential neighborhoods within a
metropolitan area, thereby causing further racial concen-

tration within the schools.
—Keyes, 413 U.S. at 202.

By failing to eliminate the racial identifiability of its schools,
the DCSS cast the die for the occurrence of demographic
changes that would reinforce the racial identifiability of the
schools.

Moreover, once those demographic changes began and the
need arose for increased school capacity to accommodate the
increased student population, the DCSS affirmatively exacer-
bated the effects of the demographic changes on the school
system through its policy of expansion. Rather than build
schools or expand existing schools in areas that promised a
racially diverse student body, the DCSS instead built and
expanded schools in the peripheral parts of DeKalb County
that guaranteed racial homogeneity. Together with the neigh-
borhood student attendance plan and restricted minority
transfer programs, the new and expanded schools locked the
system into a separation of the races. Black schools were

25

located in areas within DeKalb County that assured their
racial identifiability would remain intact.

In Swann, this Court recognized that within a school sys-
tem that had yet to achieve unitary status, the location of
schools can have a powerful effect on residential patterns,
particularly when the students are assigned to schools on a
neighborhood zoning basis:

The location of schools may thus influence the patterns
of residential development of a metropolitan area and
have important impact on composition of inner-city
neighborhoods.

In the past, choices in this respect have been used as a
potent weapon for creating or maintaining a state-
segregated school system. In addition to the classic pat-
tern of building schools specifically intended for Negro
or white students, school authorities have sometimes,
since Brown, closed schools wh. n appeared likely to
become racially mixed through changes in neighborhood
residential patterns. This was sometimes accompanied by
building new schools in the areas of white suburban
expansion farthest from Negro population centers in
order to maintain the separation of the races with mini-
mum departure from the formal principles of ‘neighbor-
hood zoning.’ Such a policy does more than simply
influence the short-run composition of the student body
of a new school. Jt may well promote segregated resi-
dential patterns which, when combined with ‘neighbor-
hood zoning,’ further lock the school system into the
mold of separation of the races.

—Swann, 402 U.S. at 20-21
(emphasis added).

Studies by social scientists have confirmed that racially
identifiable schools influence demographic patterns so as to
reinforce the schools’ racial identifiability. See, e.g., Bil-
lingsley, et al., ‘‘School Segregation and Residential Segrega-
tion: A Social Science Statement,’’ in School Desegregation:
Past, Present, and Future 240 (W.G. Stephan & J.R. Feagin,
eds.) (1980). Indeed, as thirty-eight social scientists agreec *

26

a collective statement, ‘‘{a]ll discriminatory acts by school
authorities that contribute to the racial identifiability of
schools promote racially identifiable neighborhoods.’’ /d. at
236.

Moreover, a school board can trigger or influence a
racially identifiable demographic trend in neighborhoods by
‘‘signalling’’ that the racial identity of an existing school is to
change, or, in the case of a new school, what its racial iden-
tity will be. This is particularly so in communities undergoing
substantial demographic changes, because ‘“‘the changing
racial composition of a school’s pupils and staff serves as a
signal to the public—realtors, homeseekers, residents, etc.—
that school authorities expect the school to become all
black.’’ Tauber, Demographic Perspectives on Housing and
School Segregation, 21 Wayne L. Rev. 833, 843 (1975). See
also ‘‘School Segregation and Residential Segregation: A
Social Science Statement,’’ supra, at 235 (‘‘[c]Jhange in the
racial identifiability of a school can influence the pace of
change in racial composition in a ‘changing’ residential
area’’).

A significant, and perhaps most obvious, reason for this
relationship between racially identifiable schools and demo-
graphic patterns is that parents perceive that black schools
are generally inferior to white schools. See, e.g., Tauber,
Demographic Perspectives on Housing and School Segrega-
tion, supra, 21 Wayne L. Rev. at 843 (‘‘if predominantly
black schools were not perceived as inferior schools, then
schoo] attendance zones would play only a minor role in resi-
dential choices and in the behavior of real estate busi-
nesses’’).

Swann, Keyes and Columbus teach that when assessing the
relationship between racially identifiable demographic trends
and school board action, the district court must consider the
acts (and omissions) of the school board before and during
the time period in which those trends occurred. An analysis
which considers only the present overlooks the vital question:
whether past actions have contributed t« present harm. This
“‘segregative snowball’’ effect, Penick v. Columbus Bd. of
Educ., 429 F. Supp. 229, 259 (S.D. Ohio 1977), has been rec-
ognized by numerous lower courts and taken into account

27

when determining the appropriate scope of relief required to
effectively desegregate a formerly de jure school system.*

Not surprisingly, racially identifiable demographic trends
are less likely in communities which have undergone success-
ful school desegregation. ‘‘School desegregation, if effectively
implemented, removes the racial identifiability of schools,
and hence removes one of the restrictions on housing choice
by white and black families.’’ Tauber, ‘‘School Desegregation
and Racial Housing Patterns,’’ in New Directions for Testing
and Measurement: Impact of Desegregation 63 (D. Monti,
ed.) (1982). ‘‘[S]chool desegregation has helped ease the tra-
ditional patterns of rigid residential segregation. . . . Once
the racial character of a neighborhood can no longer easily
be stamped by an identification of its schools as black or
white,- racial barriers in housing begin to lower."’ Taylor,
Brown, Equal Protection and the Isolation of the Poor, 95
Yale L.J. 1700, 1711 (1986) (citing D. Pearce, Breaking
Down Barriers: New Evidence on the Impact of Metropolitan
School Desegregation on Housing Patterns (1980)).

Here, by contrast, the district court’s reliance on demo-
graphic changes to relieve the DCSS of its duty to desegre-
gate the schools in DeKalb County simply ignored how
demographic changes responded to, and thus reinforced,
racially identifiable schools. Had the DCSS effectively acted
to remedy the vestiges of de jure segregation, the DCSS
would not today retain its dual characteristics.

The district court’s analysis of the DCSS’s responsibility
for the current racial identifiability of the schools in DeKalb
County overlooked the critical analysis: whether those ves-

* See, e.g., United States v. Yonkers Bd. of Educ., 624 F. Supp. 1276
(S.D.N.Y. 1985), aff'd, 837 F.2d 1181 (2d Cir. 1987), cert. denied, 486 U.S.
1055 (1988); United States v. Board of School Comm'rs, 573 F.2d 400, 408-
09 n.20 (7th Cir. 1978); NAACP v. Lansing Bd. of Educ., 559 F.2d 1042,
1049 n.9 (6th Cir.), cert. denied, 434 U.S. 997 (1977); Evans v. Buchanan,
393 F. Supp. 428, 436-37 (D. Del.), aff'd, 423 U.S. 963 (1975); Hart v. Com-
munity School Bd., 383 F. Supp. 699, 706 (E.D.N.Y. 1974), aff'd, $12 F.2d
37 (2d Cir. 1975); Davis v. School District, 309 F. Supp. 334, 742 (E.D.
Mich. 1970), aff’d, 443 F.2d $73 (6th Cir.), cert. denied, 404 U.S. 913 (1971 ).
See also Adams v. United States, 620 F.2d 1277, 1291 (8th Cir.) (public per-
ception of racial identity of a school is a powerful factor in shaping neigh-
borhood residential patterns), cert. denied, 449 U.S.” 826 (1980).

28

tiges of the de jure system, such as segregated faculty and
staff, which have perpetuated the racial identities of the
schools, contributed to the racially segregated character of
demographic changes. The burden properly belonged on the
DCSS to demonstrate that such segregative demographic
changes were not influenced by racial identity of the schools
that school authorities had themselves caused or perpetuated.
Moreover, the district court was clearly erroneous in conclud-
ing that the DCSS’s actions in response to the demographic
changes had achieved maximum practical desegregation in
light of the DCSS’s record with regard to the location of new
schools, the neighborhood student attendance plan, and the
restricted minority transfer programs—steps that exacerbated
the segregative effects of the demographic changes.

Because the current segregation of student assignments can
only properly be considered a vestige of de jure segregation
in DeKalb County, the DCSS continues to bear the duty to
implement affirmative steps to remedy, to the extent practica-
ble, this racial identifiability. Consideration of remedies, of
course, must be based upon the current circumstances in the
schoo] system rather than those existing at an earlier point in
the desegregation process. This case should be remanded to
the district court so that the school board itself can imple-
ment necessary remedies. In the event of default by the
school board in that duty, the district court will be in the best
position to fashion an appropriate remedy.

B. Where a school board that has not completed the transi-
tion to a unitary system is not obligated to implement fur-
ther affirmative remedial steps, school authorities, when
they do act, remain obligated to take no action that
would impede completion of the transition.

The continuing obligation of the DCSS to achieve the
transition to a unitary system is fully consistent with the
Fourteenth Amendment principle that a school board’s
affirmative duty in a given district is defined by the scope of
the constitutional violation. See, e.g., Swann, 402 U.S. at 16;
Milliken v. Bradley (Milliken II), 433 U.S. 267, 282 (1977).
This Court has, of course, long recognized that the vestiges

29

of de jure segregation can be manifest or perpetuated
through various means that are thus embodied within the vio-
lation of the Fourteenth Amendment. See Point 1, supra.

Moreover, as this Court reiterated in Dayton I], the obliga-
tion to effectuate the transition to a unitary system includes
‘“‘the obligation not to take any action that would impede the
process of disestablishing the dual system and its effects.’’
Dayton, 443 U.S. at 538. See also Wright v. Council of
Emporia, 407 U.S. 451 (1972); United States v. Scotland
Neck City Bd. of. Educ., 407 U.S. 484 (1972). This duty to
*‘do no harm’’ applies without regard to the purported moti-
vation for particular school board actions. During the transi-
tion to a school system in compliance with the Constitution,
““[t]he existence of a permissible purpose cannot sustain
[school board] action that has an impermissible effect’’ of
impeding ‘‘the effectiveness of the remedy ordered to disman-
tle the dual system.’’ Wright, 407 U.S. at 462, 470. Thus, in
both Wright and Scotland Neck, school authorities could not
erect new sitident assignment boundary lines where the effect
of such new boundaries would have been to undermine pro-
gress towards school desegregation in the districts. See
Wright, 407 U.S. at 460 (proposed action could be judged
only according to whether ‘‘it hinders or furthers the process
of school desegregation’’); Scotland Neck, 407 U.S. at 489.

This duty not to impede the transition to a unitary system
remains until the transition is complete. For example, even if
a school district has been implementing effective steps toward
the transition to a unitary system, and therefore may be
under no obligation to initiate further restructuring of the
school system in response to racial imbalances resulting from
demographic change, it nevertheless is obligated to take no
action that will impede or frustrate the transition. See also
p. 23n., supra. Accordingly, when such a district does act—
to adjust attendance zones, to construct or abandon schools,
to assign faculty, to implement pupil transfer programs—it is
obligated to act in a manner that does not exacerbate segre-
gation within the district or ‘‘serve to perpetuate or reestab-
lish the dual system.’’ Swann, 402 U.S. at 21.

A school board that is not obligated to take further affirm-
ative remedial steps thus cannot permissibly take the type of

30

action proposed by the DCSS in this case—expansion of a
high school in a section of the county with a predominantly
white population, where the result will be to draw students to
the school from currently less segregated schools and thereby
increase the separation of the races in the district.

The affirmative duty to bring a school district into compli-
ance with the Constitution would be rendered meaningless if
school authorities were free to take action during the period
0} transition that would hinder the process of schoo] desegre-
gation or even promote separation of the races in the system.

CONCLUSION ;

The judgment of the Eleventh Circuit Court of Appeals
should be affirmed.

June 21, 1991
Respectfully submitted,

Herbert M. Wachtell, /S/ NORMAN REDLICH

Co-Chairman Norman Redlich*
Wiham H. Brown III, Stephen R. Neuwirth
Co-Chairman Jeffrey 1. Lang

Nofman Redlich, Trustee
Barbara R. Arnwine
Thomas J. Henderson

Paul Holtzman

LAWYERS’ COMMITTEE FOR

CIVIL RIGHTS UNDER LAW

1400 Eye Street, NW
Washington, D.C. 20005
(202). 371-1212

WACHTELL, LIPTON, ROSEN
& KATZ .

299 Park Avenue

New York, New York 10171

(212) 371-9200

Burke Marshall
127 Wal Street

New Haven, Connecticut 06520

(203) 432-4953
Attorneys for Amicus Curiae

* Counsel of Record

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385012_0719%3A17. Public record. Not legal advice.
