# Amicus Curiae Brief — Pacific Mutual Life Insurance v. Haslip

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385012_0717%3A29

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1991
- **Citation:** 499 U.S. 1

## Text

FILED

No. 89-1279 1990
cuer,

Iu the Supreme Court of the United States —

OCTOBER TERM, 1989

PACIFIC MUTUAL LIFE INSURANCE COMPANY, PETITIONER
V.

CLEOPATRA HASLIP, ET AL., RESPONDENTS

On Writ of Certiorari to the
Supreme Court of Alabama

BRIEF FOR THE BUSINESS ROUNDTABLE AND THE
PRODUCT LIABILITY ADVISORY COUNCIL, INC.,
AS AMICI CURIAE SUPPORTING PETITIONER

ANDREW L. FREY
Counsel of Record

KENNETH S. GELLER

MARK I. LEvy

ANDREW J. PINCUS

4 Mayer, Brown & Platt

_ 2000 Pennsylvania Ave., N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20006
(202) 778-0602

Counsel For Amici Curiae

WILSON - Eres PRINTING Co., INC. - 789-0096 - WASHINGTON, D.C. 20001

QUESTION PRESENTED
This brief will address the following question:

Whether the punitive damages award in this case
violates the Due Process Clause because the amount of
the penalty imposed is not rationally related to the pur-
poses of fairly punishing the misconduct that occurred
or appropriately deterring such misconduct.

(i)

TABLE OF CONTENTS

QUESTION PRESENTED .0000.o222........cceccccccecceseeeeeeeeeees

INTEREST OF THE AMICI CURIAE ............... iiaiicieee

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT 00

LE

THE PUNITIVE DAMAGES AWARD IN THIS
CASE VIOLATES DUE PROCESS BECAUSE IT
IS NOT RATIONALLY RELATED TO THE PUR-
POSES OF PUNISHMENT OR DETERRENCE...

I. THE DUE PROCESS CLAUSE PROHIBITS

II.

DISPROPORTIONATE AND IRRATIONAL
AWARDS OF PUNITIVE DAMAGES ............

A. A Punitive Damages Award That Is Arbi-
trary And Irrational In Amount Deprives
The Defendant Of Property Without Due

B. A Punitive Damages Award Is Arbitrary
And Irrational If It Is Disproportionate To
The Objectives Of Imposing Punishment........

AN AWARD OF PUNITIVE DAMAGES IS
DISPROPORTIONATE AND IRRATIONAL
IF IT SUBSTANTIALLY EXCEEDS ANALO-
GOUS STATUTORY PENALTIES AND
BEARS NO REASONABLE RELATIONSHIP
TO THE NATURE OR GRAVITY OF THE
DEFENDANT'S CONDUCT ooo eeeeeeecenenene

A. Punitive Damages Are Disproportionate If
They Substantially Exceed The Statutory
Penalties Prescribed By The Legislature........

B. Punitive Damages Are Disproportionate If
They Do Not Bear A Reasonable Relation-
ship To The Misconduct For Which Punish-
ment Is Being Imposed ..........0..0.00000.00--eeeee ee

(iii)

10

18

iv
TABLE OF CONTENTS—Continued

1. Character of the defendant’s conduct
2. Injury caused by the misconduct ..........
5. Actual or potential gain to the defendant..

Ill. THE PUNITIVE DAMAGES AWARD IN
THIS CASE IS PLAINLY EXCESSIVE .........

A. The Award Is Grossly Disproportionate To

Statutory Penalties In Alabama And Other
Jurisdictions

PPPOE RESET SHOES SSS ESET OS SEES SEOSESESESSSSSSSSCCS

B. The $1,000,000 Penalty Bears No Reasonable
Relationship To The Gravity Of The Con-
duct Being Punished ..........

C. Alabama’s Post-Verdict Review Procedures
Do Not Eliminate The Unconstitutionality
Of The Punitive Award In This Case

CONCLUSION

PO OOS OS OS OO OOO SOS SSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSO 0855S S0S COSC COSOSSOSSEESOSOSOOSSSSS

21

23

28

29

Vv
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Cases: Page
AMPAT /Midwest, Inc. Vv. Illinois Tool Works Inc.,
896 F.2d 1035 (7th Cir. 1990) -...........................--- 11
Bell v. Wolfish, 441 U.S. 520 (1979) ....................-...- 8

Berkey Photo, Inc. v. Eastman Kodak Co., 608
F.2d 268 (2d Cir. 1979), cert. denied, 444 U.S.

. _ sles Ses 20
Browning-Ferris Industries of Vermont, Inc. V.

Kelco Disposal, Inc., 109 S. Ct. 2909 (1989) ........ passim
Chicago & N.W. Ry. v. Nye Schneider Fowler Co.,

I I cae iemetliesmenseententibneniensinnen 8,9
City of Newport v. Fact Concerts, Inc., 453 U.S.

A iinet it inainennaiitinesibins 15

City of Revere v. Massachusetts General Hospital,
PE ren 7
Daniels v. Williams, 474 U.S. 327 (1986) -................ 5
Enmund V. Florida, 458 U.S. 782 (1982) ................. 9
Gore V. United States, 357 U.S. 386 (1958) ............. 11
Hawkins v. Allstate Insurance Co., 733 P.2d 1073
(Ariz.), cert. denied, 484 U.S. 874 (1987)........ 20
Hustler Magazine, Inc. Vv. Falwell, 485 U.S. 46
I cli acct tas tatrentssinnededilipdepebansiiabadtiinnsinibietan 5
International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers
v. Foust, 442 U.S. 42 (1979) ........2-.222.222-----2---2----- 6
Lassiter V. Department of Social Services, 452 U.S.
TT scsi coethisstiihiandenininiaanieilianiininsinasidiissieaniedteniabipen 5
Life & Casualty Ins. Co. v. McCray, 291 U.S. 566
ins liechiclithneiiiinnaad inline tibiae daailttcmaneaitaneiiin 17
Logan Vv. Zimmerman Brush Co., 455 U.S. 422
iain iil inet cad Dnnainditesiaene 5
Memphis Community School Dist. v. Stachura, 477
NI MI cain cilettheabiipaiansinalpaiatbaniincen 18
Missouri Pac. Ry. Vv. Humes, 115 U.S. 512 (1985) .... 6
Missouri Pac. Ry. v. Tucker, 230 U.S. 340 (1918)... 7
New York Times Co. v. Sullivan, 376 U.S. 254

ID - dis setssicnttcanitncsiicinsiisnseeientinesiedsinibtabaltidessiabiabesettionen 5
North Georgia Finishing, Inc. v. Di-Chem, Inc., 419

BN I MI inc rcnsenianissiabciietiadaiisiaeiieibidinenen 5
Robinson V. California, 370 U.S. 660 (1962) -......... 20

Rowlett v. Anheuser-Busch, Inc., 832 F.2d 194
ela 15-16, 17

vi
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued
Page
Seaboard Air Line Ry. v. Seegers, 207 U.S. 78

RSE RR wees one DSCNS CSI 19
Smith v. Wade, 461 U.S. 30 (1983) 6,18
Solem v. Helm, 468 U.S. 277 (1988) .................. passim
Southwestern Tel. & Tel. Co. v. Danaher, 238 U.S.

a a aaa 7
Stack v. Boyle, 342 U.S. 1 (1951) )
St. Louis, 1.M. & S. Ry. v. Williams, 251 U.S. 68

SE Sich cele Sika ee renee eer 6, 8, 19
United States v. Busher, 817 F.2d 1409 (9th Cir.

1987 eee : iatemaiietineee tiles nce A RN 17, 19-20
United States v. Salerno, 481 U.S. 739 (1987) _...... 9
United States v. United Mine Workers, 330 U.S.

ARERR NOISE UOTE, scat 2 ie 3 OES A 9
United States v. United States Steel Corp., 251 U.S.

se ale ee See 20
Waters-Pierce Oil Co. v. Texas, 212 U.S. 86

RIT Ee nT ie staat ine ea adel 6, 7,8
Weems v. United States, 217 U.S. 349 (1910) _...... 11, 13

Constitution and Statutes:

United States Constitution
I A ee 7,8
A A RRC ER TS. SE a ee passion

TET RTT aE SS TS 15

Ala. Code:
EE eT ee a eae 22
Se eee 22
EE NT Ree A IN, CNL! 22
re me aa) 22
EERE ee Seo Senn 21
§ 1BA-B-12 (&) (1) one ceccceeeeeeeeeceeeee 21
EEE STE Sa ENR, a Ue 22
eee ae ee aE ee 22
EE Se ee ee ee ee 22
EET eee eae ee 22
— SEEINP Ir a See See 22
EE See One ae eS 21

vii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

RDG nnn.cceccccccc2oce--cosnccsccccncccessescnssenecesnonseres
I ances cece concnsvescnenscseecscecorenesenccconcsonesonsose

Miscellaneous :

ABA Special Comm. on Punitive Damages, PUNI-
TIVE DAMAGES: A CONSTRUCTIVE EXAMINATION

I: siveiatnsantensnitanciinsptensiitanmcctintiinttianpeensespazineaies

American Coilege of Trial Lawyers, REPORT ON
PUNITIVE DAMAGES (1989) ...........--.-...---------0-0-----+

J. Bentham, AN INTRODUCTION TO THE PRINCIPLES
OF MORALS AND LEGISLATION (1892 ed.) ..............

Cooter, Punitive Damages for Deterrence: Whe

19
19

14, 20

and How Much?, 40 ALA. L. REv. 1143 (1989) .... 20, 24

Dobbs, Ending Punishment in “Punitive” Dam-
ages: Deterrence-Measured Remedies, 40 ALA.
a cae ccatitncleeianeninen

Elliott, Why Punitive Damages Don’t Deter Corpo-
rate Misconduct Effectively, 40 ALA. L. REv. 1053
CEN eecctecestnsecintenstcqnetammnassnmnmmnmansanunrencsmanameees

Ellis, Fairness and Efficiency in the Law of Punt-
tive Damages, 56 S. CAL. L. REV. 1 (1982) .........

Ellis, Punitive Dam- es in Iowa Law: A Critical
Assessment, 66 IOWA L. REV. 1003 (1981) -.........

1 & 2 J. Ghiardi & J. Kircher, PUNITIVE DAMAGES
LAW AND PRACTICE (1985) .......... a i

H.L.A. Hart, PUNISHMENT AND RESPONSIBILITY

I i canciscstnictssdetsecinniimanevnimnninpitinasittemcuansces

P. Huber, LIABILITY: THE LEGAL REVOLUTION AND
ITs CONSEQUENCES (1988) ..................-.--------000-----

Huber, No-Fault Punishment, 40 ALA. L. REV. 1037

(a

viii
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Page
C. McCormick, HANDBOOK ON THE LAW OF DAM-
TET A ATR I ae aS 18
1 M. Minzer, et al., DAMAGES IN TorRT ACTIONS
RTI ‘Suiinianherneniadesitinttatenesenendaetstiditiiaias: yliki Nite 18
Morris, Punitive Damages in Tort Cases, 44 HARV.
L. REV. 1173 (1981) 000 18
Owen, Punitive Damages in Products Liability Liti-
gation, 74 MICH. L. REV. 1258 (1976) 20
K. Redden, PUNITIVE DAMAGES (1980 & 1987
CAL FINDINGS (1987) 000 4
K. Redden, PUNITIVE DAMAGES (1980 & 1987
SRR SEE s PEA Que oS ee oe 17
RESTATEMENT (SECOND) OF TorTS (1979)... 6, 16, 17
Wheeler, A Proposal for Further Common Law
Development of the Use of Punitive Damages
in Modern Product Liability Litigation, 40 ALA.
es Ce UP GED Gectecensttedn ee ee 20

Iu the Supreme Court of the Mnited States

OCTOBER TERM, 1989

No. 89-1279

PACIFIC MUTUAL LIFE INSURANCE COMPANY, PETITIONER
V.

CLEOPATRA HASLIP, ET AL., RESPONDENTS

On Writ of Certiorari to the
Supreme Court of Alabama

BRIEF FOR THE BUSINESS ROUNDTABLE AND THE
PRODUCT LIABILITY ADVISORY COUNCIL, INC.,
AS AMICI CURIAE SUPPORTING PETITIONER

INTEREST OF THE AMICI CURIAE

The Business Roundtable is an association of the chief
executive officers of approximately 200 of the largest
companies in the Nation. The Roundtable examines
public issues that affect the economy and develops posi-
tions that seek to reflect sound economic and social
policies. The Product Liability Advisory Council, Inc.,
is an association of major industrial companies formed
for the purpose of filing amicus curiae briefs in cases
involving significant issues affecting the law of product
liability. Amici have an interest in the resolution of th‘s
case because their members frequently are defendants
in actions in which punitive damages are sought. Amici’s
members thus face on a daily basis the threat of irra-

9

tional and excessive punitive damages awards that is an
omnipresent feature of the current punitive damages
systen.,.'

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

. It 1S well settled that the Due Process Clause prohibits
civil monetary penalties that are arbitrary and irrational.
The decisions of this Court establish that a civil penalty
violates due process if it is disproportionate to the ob-
Jectives sought to be achieved by the imposition of such
punishment. That analysis is fully applicable to punitive
damages awards: an award that is not rationally related
to the retributive and deterrent purposes of punitive
damages is unconstitutionally excessive,

Under the proportionality analysis of Solem v. Helm
163. U.S. 277 (1983), an award of punitive damages is
arbitrary and irrational if it (a) is disproportionate to
criminal and civil penalties established by the legislature
for similar conduct or (b) bears no reasonable relation-
ship to the nature and gravity of the defendant’s conduct
The legislative process is well suited for determining the
level of punishment that is appropriate in light of the
type of misconduct involved and the penalties provided
for other categories of wrongdoing: accordingly, the leg-
islature’s judgment provides a significant objective bench-
mark for judging the excessiveness of the punishment
meted out by a jury in the context of a punitive damages
award. In addition, punitive damages must be rationally
related to the nature of the defendant’s wrong, including
in particular the degree of the defendant's culpability and
‘to the extent not already accounted for in the compen-
satory damages award) the amount of the gain to the
defendant or loss to the plaintiff that resulted from the
misdeeds.

1 Letters from the parties consenting to the fling of this brief
have been filed with the Clerk of this Court.

3

Applying this standard here, it is clear that the
$1,000,000 punitive damages award is excessive and ir-
rational. The award is grossly disproportionate to legis-
latively prescribed penalties in Alabama and elsewhere
for even the most severe wrongdoing. Such penalties sel-
dom exceed the range of $10,000 to $100,000—a level of
punishment some 10 to 100 times lower than the punitive

damages award selected by the jury.

Likewise, the award bears no conceivable relationship
to the misconduct being punished. If Lemmie Ruffin,
the miscreant insurance agent, is viewed as the object of
the punishment, his actions, while intentional and serious,
caused only a small gain to himself and slight harm to
Mrs. Haslip ‘her actual damages were $4,000 and her
total compensatory damages were $40,000) in relation to
the enormous punitive award. If, on the other hand, Pa-
cific Mutual is being punished for corporate wrongdoing,
a large award is equally unjustified. Ruffin did not en-
gage in his misconduct pursuant to any company policy
(indeed, he violated company policy!, nor did he act with
the knowledge or approval of corporate management; his
actions were not in any way in furtherance of the com-
pany’s interest, since his defaleation benefited only him-
self and occurred at the expense of the company. Thus,
while we doubt that Pacific Mutual is properly subject
to punishment at all in these circumstances, it certainly
cannot be held liable for anything approaching $1,000,000
in punitive damages.

4

ARGUMENT

THE PUNITIVE DAMAGES AWARD IN THIS CASE
VIOLATES DUE PROCESS BECAUSE IT IS NOT
RATIONALLY RELATED TO THE PURPOSES OF
PUNISHMENT OR DETERRENCE

There can be no doubt that “{a] wards of punitive dam-
ages are skyrocketing.” Browning-Ferris Industries of
Vermont, Inc. v. Kelco Disposal, Inc., 109 8S. Ct. 2909,
2924 (1989) (O’Connor, J.. concurring and dissenting).
In the past, punitive damages were awarded in only a
small fraction of cases where the challenged conduct was
egregiously offensive; today, as this case illustrates, the
distinction between the culpability sufficient to support
liability for compensatory damages and the culpability
warranting punitive damages has all but collapsed. In
the past, punitive damages were awarded in modest
amounts; today, as this case illustrates, many awards
are breathtakingly large. In the past, punitive damages
awards generally bore a discernible relationship to the
offensiveness of the defendant’s behavior and roughly ac-
corded with fines applicable to analogous criminal con-
duct; today, as this case illustrates, punitive damages
often simply reflect sympathy for the plaintiff or the size
of the defendant's pocketbook. See, e.g., P. Huber, Lia-
BILITY: The LEGAL REVOLUTION AND ITs CONSEQUENCES
127 (1988); M. Peterson, et al.. PUNITIVE DAMAGES:
EMPIRICAL FINDINGS 65 (1987).

Petitioner Pacific Mutual Life Insurance Company has
presented a number of substantial] constitutional chal-
lenges to the million dollar punitive damages award in
this case. We fully agree with Pacific Mutual that due
process forbids the imposition of any punishment on ac-
count of its actions ‘see pages 23-25, infra) and that the
jury’s verdict was the product of a gravely flawed set of
procedures. However, assuming arguendo that some pun-
ishment of Pacific Mutual could be sustained following
the trial that was held and on the facts shown, we none-

5

theless believe that the amount of punitive damages
awarded by the jury deprives Pacific Mutual of its prop-
erty without due process because the punishment is

wholly disproportionate to the company’s wrongful con-
duct and does not rationally advance the purposes of
exacting punitive damages.

OCESS CLAUSE PROHIBITS DIs-
. palette AND IRRATIONAL AWARDS
OF PUNITIVE DAMAGES
A. A Punitive Damages Award That Is Arbitrary And
Irrational In Amount Deprives The Defendant Of
Property Without Due Process.

The Due Process Clause of the Fourteenth Amendment
“ ‘protect{s| * “ * against arbitrary action|s| of govern-
ment’ * * * regardless of the fairness of the procedures
used to implement them.” Daniels v. Williams, 474 U.S.
327, 381 (1986) (eitation omitted). See also, e.q¢., Las-
siter V. Department of Social Services, 452 U.S. 18, 24
(1981) ‘(due process “expresses the requirement of ‘fun-
damenta! fairness’’’). And, as the Court has repeatedly
held, the protections of the Due Process Clause extend to
“civil * * * defendants |seeking| to protect their prop-
erty.” Logan v. Zimmerman Brush Co., 455 U.S. 422,
429 (1982). It follows that a disproportionate award of
punitive damages-—one that bears no rational relation-
ship to the purposes for which the damages have been
exacted-—violates due process of law.

There can be no doubt that the imposition of punitive
damages constitutes a government-compelled deprivation
of property... Accordingly, the Due Process Clause re-

2A punitive damages award plainly is state action subject to the
Due Process Clause. It is embodied in the judgment of a stat
court-- which itself constitutes state action. and state law obligates
the defendant to pay the judgment. See Hustler Magazine, Ine. ¥.
Falwell, 485 U.S. 16 (1988); New York Times Co v. Sullivan, 376
U.S. 254, 265 (1964). See also North Georgia Finishing, Ine. V.
Di-Chem, Inc., 419 U.S. 601 (1975).

6

quires that the deprivation not be arbitrary or irr tional.
As this Court recently noted, punitive damages are in-
tended to “advance the interests of punishment and de-
terrence.” Browning-Ferris, 109 S. Ct. at 2920. See also
Smith v. Wade, 461 U.S. 30, 49, 54 (1983): International
Brotherhood of Electrical Workers v. Foust, 442 US.
42, 48 (1979) (citation and internal quotation marks
omitted) (“Punitive damages are not compensation for
injury. Instead, they are private fines levied by civil
juries to punish reprehensible conduct and to deter its
future occurrence’); RESTATEMENT (SECOND) OF TORTS
* 908 comment a (1979). Therefore, an award of puni-
tive damages satisfies due process only if it reasonably
serves to punish and deter. Any part of a punitive dam-
ages judgment that is larger than necessary to accomp-
lish those purposes has no legitimate justification and
amounts to nothing less than an arbitrary, irrational, and
fundamentally unfair transfer of the defendant's prop-
erty to the plaintiff.

In light of these principles, it is not surprising tha‘
this Court has long recognized that the Due Process
Clause prohibits excessive civi! monetary penalties in liti-
gation between private parties. In Waters-Pierce Oil Co.
Vv. Texas, 212 U.S. 86, 111 (1909), in considering a due
process chalienge to a state civil penalty, the Court stated
unequivocally that the Constitution would be violated by
“fines * * * [that] are so grossly excessive as to amount
to a deprivation of property without due process of law.”
Similarly, in St. Louis, 1L.M. & S. Ry. v. Williams, 251
U.S. 63 (1919), the Court recognized that the Due Proc-
ess Clause “places a limitation upon the power of the
States to prescribe [civil] penalties” that are “wholly
disproportioned to the offense and obviously unreason-
able.” 251 U.S. at 66-67; see also Missouri Pac. Ry. v.
Humes, 115 U.S. 512, 523 (1885) (reviewing constitu-
tionality of statutory double-damages penalty under the
Due Process Clause}.

The Court has applied these principles to invalidate dis-
proportionate civil penalties. For example, in Missouri

‘

Pac. Ry. Vv. Tucker, 230 U.S. 340 (1913), the Court
struck down a penalty of $500 for a $3.02 overcharge,
holding that the penalty was “grossly out of proportion
to the possible actual damages” and therefore in viola-
tion of due process. 230 U.S. at 351 (citing Waters-
Pierce: : see also Southwestern Tel. & Tel. Co. Vv. Dana-
her, 238 U.S. 482, 490-491 (1915) ‘invalidating penalty
on due process grounds}. The Court recently acknow!-
edged these precedents in the decision in Browning-
Ferris. 109 S. Ct. at 2921; see also id. at 2923 ( Bren-
nan, J., concurring) .'

Although the Court has not heretofore had occasion to
apply the Due Process Clause to a punitive damages
award, we can imagine no reasoned justification for
limiting the protection against excessive civil penalties
to penalties imposed pursuant to statute. The harm to a
defendant from an irrational government-imposed civil
penalty is no less simply because the penalty is imposed
pursuant to a common law rule. To the contrary, the
danger of arbitrary government action, and therefore
the need for constitutional proteciion, is far greater when
a jury is permitted to exercise essentially unbridled dis-
cretion in fixing the amount of the penalty. See Brown-
ing-Ferris, 109 S. Ct. at 2925 (Brennan, J., concurring) ;
see also pages 11-12, infra.

The conclusion that the Due Process Clause provides
protections in this context analogous to those afforded
by the Fxcessive Fines Clause with respect to criminal
fines is consistent with this Court's decisions in other
areas in which the Eighth Amendment does not apply
due to technical limitations on its scope. In City of Re-
vere V. Massachusetis General Hospital, 465 U.S. 239
(1983), for example, the Court held that, even though
the Eighth Amendment was inapplicable, the Due Proc-
ess Clause required that medical care be provided to a

3 Significantly, even the plaintiff in Browning-Fercis did not dis-
pute that the Due Process Clause imposes a substantive limit on
punitive damages awards. 88-556 Resp. Br. 7 29.

8

person injured while being arrested. “In fact,” the Court
stated, “the due process rights of a person in [that] situ-
ation are at least as great as the Eighth Amendment pro-
tections available to a convicted prisoner.” 463 U.S. at
244; see also Bell v. Wolfish, 441 U.S. 520, 535-536 &
n.16 (1979) (Due Process Clause protects pretrial de-
tainees, who are not entitled to Eighth Amendment pro-
tection because they have not been convicted).

The same approach is proper in the present context.
The Court's conclusion in Browning-Ferris that techni-
cal limitations on the Excessive Fines Clause place puni-
tive damages awards to private parties beyond thai
Clause’s reach does not justify exempting such awards
from all constitutional scrutiny. Indeed, it would be as-
tounding if the Due Process Clause offered no protection
against irrational government action that deprived a de-
fendant of an exorbitant sum of money simply because
the deprivation occurred in the context of private civil
litigation and was labeled “punitive damages.”

B. A Punitive Damages Award Is Arbitrary And Irra-
tional If It Is Disproportionate To The Objectives
Of Imposing Punishment.

As in other areas of substantive due process, the gov-
erning constitutional standard is one of rationality. This
Court's decisions establish that punishment violates the
Due Process Clause if it is “wholly disproportioned to
the offense and obviously unreasonable.” St. Louis, 1.M. &
S. Ry., 251 U.S. at 67. See also Chicago & N.W. Ry. vy.
Nye Sehocice Fowler Co., 260 U.S. 35, 44 (1922) ito
be valid, “penalties * * * must be moderate and reason-
ably sufficient to accomplish their legitimate object”;
those that ave “plainly arbitrary and oppressive” viola.c
the Due Pivcess Clause); Waters-Pierce, 212 U.S. at 111
(“grossly excessive” civil penalties violate due process).

Of cous. ‘he question whether a penalty is “unreason-
able” or ‘“‘disproportion|ate| to the offense” cannot be an-
swered in a vacuum or by a wholly subjective and stand-
ardless inquiry of the kind all too many courts currently

9

engage in when reviewing punitive damages awards. This
Court has firmly rejected such an ad hoe approach,
instead assessing the constitutionality of civil penalties
by evaluating whether they are no more than is ‘“reason-
ably sufficient to accomplish their legitimate object.”
Nye Schneider Fowler Co., 260 U.S. at 44. That is the
same approach the Court has utilized in other contexts
in which it must evaluate the proportionality and reason-
ableness of government action.

For example, in determining whether a criminal sen-
tence is disproportionate to a particular offense and thus
violates the Cruel and Unusual Punishments Clause, the
Court inquires whether the sentence is justified by refer-
ence to the purposes of criminal penalties—deterrence
and punishment. Enmund v. Florida, 458 U.S, 752, 500-
801 (1982). That analogy is particularly probative in
view of the fact that punitive damages have the same
deterrent and pena! purposes as criminal sanctions.

Similarly, bail is excessive within the meaning of the
Eighth Amendment if it is “set at a figure higher than
an umount reasonably calculated to fulfill thje] purpose”
of bail—ensuring the presence of the defendant. Stack
v. Boyle, 342 U.S. 1, 5 (1951). See also United States Vv.
Salerno, 481 U.S. 729, 754 (1987) ‘emphasis added)
(‘when the government has admitted that its only in-
terest is in preventing flight, bail must be set by a court
at a sum designed to ensure that goal, and no more”) ;
United States v. United Mine Workers, 330 U.S. 258,
304 (1947) (a court should calculate the appropriate
fine for civil contempt by looking to the purposes ‘or
which the fine is imposed}.

Here too, courts should judge the rationality of the
government action by reference to its purposes. So long
as an award of punitive damages is “no more’ than is
“reasonably calculated” to serve the purposes of deter-
rence and punishment, it will pass muster under the Due
Process Clause. If, on the other hand, the award ex-
ceeds any amount reasonably justified in light of these

10

purposes, it is a disproportionate and irrational sanction
that violates the Constitution.’ As we now discuss, this
Court's decision in Solem Vv. Helm, 463 U.S. 277 (1983),
provides the appropriate judicial standard for this
inquiry.

Il. AN AWARD OF PUNITIVE DAMAGES IS DISPRO-
PORTIONATE AND IRRATIONAL IF IT SUBSTAN-
TIALLY EXCEEDS ANALOGOUS STATUTORY
PENALTIES AND BEARS NO REASONABLE RE-
LATIONSHIP TO THE NATURE OR GRAVITY OF
THE DEFENDANT'S CONDUCT

The basic framework for analyzing the proportionality
of civil penalties was established in So/em v. Helm, which
involved the closely related question of how to determine
whether criminal penalties are disproportionate to the
defendant’s wrongdoing. First, the Court compared “the
gravity of the offense and the harshness of the penalty”
(463 U.S. at 290-291). Next, it assessed the reasonable-
ness of that reiationship by measuring it against the
sentences that could be imposed for other offenses in the
same jurisdiction and the sentences authorized for the
same offense in other jurisdictions. /d. at 291-292, 298-
300. These factors—modified so as to shift the focus to

4Some have suggested that the haphazard and unpredictable
character of today’s punitive damages awards is a virtue because
it prevents companies from treating misconduct simply as a cal-
culable cost of doing business. See Brief of Consumers Union of
the United States, «ft al., as Amici Curiae in Browning-Ferris, at 42-
51. Such irrationality is not only unacceptable as an instrument
of government but ineffectual to control misconduct. A predictable,
properly proportioned punishment is the most effective possible
deterrent, because the actor would know in advance that it would
lose, not gain, by engaging in the conduct in question. See Elliott
Why Punitive Damages Don’t Deter Corporate Misconduct Eifec-
tively, 40 ALA. L. REV. 1053 (1989). Moreover, the argument that a
system of punishment must be irrational and unpredictable in orde:
to be effective would apply equally to criminal sanctions, but this
Court made clear in Solem v. Helm, 4623 U.S. 277 (1983), that crim-
inal penalties must be proportional to the offense and rational in
light of the purposes for which the sanction is imposed.

11

punitive damages rather than criminal sentences--should
also guide the present inquiry. Browning-Ferris, 109
S Ct. at 2933-2934 (O’Connor, J., concurring and
dissenting ).°

In applying the Solem factors, however, it is impor-
tant to appreciate the critical distinction between a crim-
inal sentence imposed by a court pursuant to statutory
standards and a punitive damages verdict announced by
a jury in the exercise of virtually untrammeled discre-
tion. A jury s unguided award of punitive damages is
not entitled to judicial deference comparable to that
which is appropriate for punishments that fall within a
legislatively prescribed range.

A legislature’s decision to authorize the imposition of
a particular sanction for a particular type of miscon-
duct reflects a finding—either explicit or implicit—that
there is a reasonable relationship between the sanction
and the misconduct. In view of the legislature's superior
ability to gather relevant facts, ascertain and express
the values of the community, and establish a proportional
system of sanctions by considering each offense as part
of the broader universe of wrongful conduct and fixing
the proper relationship between various categories of of-
fenses, the legislature’s determinations of reasonableness
plainly should be accorded “substantial deference.” Solem,
463 U.S. at 290; see also Gore v. United States, 35% US.
223, 392 (1958) | the proper apportionment of punishment
is “peculiarly [al question|| of legislative policy”) ;
Weems v. United States, 217 U.S. 349, 378 (1910).

5 The evaluation of the rationality of a punitive damages award
should reflect as well the common-sense principle that “[t]he
yreater the sanction, the more confidence there should be that it is
justified.” AMPAT/Midwest, Inc. v. Illinois Tool Works Inc., 896
F.2d 1035, 1044 (7th Cir. 1990). A court should look more closely
at a punishment of, for example, $500,000 than at one of $5,000.
Large awards, such as those of $1 million or more, should receive
especially close scrutiny.

12
“Substantial deference’ is appropriate, though, only
when the legislature has in fact authorized the sanction
uncer review. As Justice Brennan observed in Brown-
ing-Ferris, “scrutiny of awards made without the bene-
fit of a legislature’s deliberation and guidance |{should]
be less indulgent than * * * consideration of those that
fall within statutory limits.” 109 S. Ct. at 2923 ‘con-
curring opinion!; see also id. at 2934 (O’Connor, J.,
concurring and dissenting) (substantial deference should
be accorded to legislative judgments |.

A jury hearing a single case differs from a legislature
in at least one especially relevant respect. The jury con-
siders its case in isolation and in retrospect. Unlike a
legislature, the jury lacks the information and expertise
needed to place the particular defendant's actions in the
context of the entire range of behavior that society deems
wrongful and has no knowledge of the scale of punish-
ments to which other wrongdoers are subjected. An
unguided jury is therefore much less likely than a legis-
lature to be able to devise a punishment that is appro-
priately proportioned to the relative wrongfulness of the
defendant’s conduct. According!y, in applying the Solem
standard to an award of punitive damages, courts should
give little deference to the jury’s determination of the
proper punishment but rather should closely scrutinize
the reasonableness of such an award in determining
whether it passes muster under the Due Process Clause.
Browning-Ferris, 109 S. Ct. at 2923 ‘Brennan, J., con-
curring!) (it is appropriate to “look longer and harder at
an awerd of punitive damages based on such skeletal
guidance than * * * at one situated within a range of
penalties as to which responsible officials had deliberated
und then agreed”’).

With this preface, we now briefly sketch the factors
that should be considered in determining whether a puni-
tive damages award is so disproportionate to the de-
fendant’s misconduct as to violate due process.

13

A. Punitive Damages Are Disproportionate If They
Substantially Exceed The Statutory Penalties Pre-
scribed By The Legislature.

As in most states today, a jury’s award of punitive
damages in Alabama is not consirained by any legisla-
tively determined ceiling. In this circumstance, the ex-
cessiveness inquiry should first compare the penalty
selected by the jury with the sanctions set forth in rele-
vant criminai and civil penalty statutes in order to de-
termine whether the award is in line with punishments
fixed by the legislature for similar conduct. See Solem,
463 U.S. at 291-292: see also Weems, 217 U.S. at 380-381.
For the reasons just discussed, the legislature’s judgment
in setting criminal fines and civil penalties—which, like
punitive damages, are designed to further the goals of
punishment and deterrence—furnishes a powerful objec-
tive standard for a court assessing the reasonableness of
a punitive damages award.

If the jury’s punishment significantly exceeds the
penalty range established by the legislature in analogous
areas, that is a telling sign that the award is dispropor-
tionate. Indeed, in some cases that comparison may be
sufficient in itself to demonstrate the existence of a con-
stitutional violation. For example, if a corporation found
guilty of fraudulent trade practices could be fined a max-
imum of $50,000, it would be difficult to justify uphold-
ing a jury verdict of $5,000,000 to punish and deter the
identical conduct. Where such a comparison does not

® Another telltale indication of excessiveness would arise if the
verdict under examination were ubstantially out of line with other
awards of punitive damages. Browning-Ferris, 109 8. Ct. at 2934
(O’Connor, J., concurring and dissenting) ; Solem, 463 U.S. at 291-
292, 298-300. The converse, however, is certainly not true, for the
existence of other large punitive verdicts likely reflects nothing
more than the predictable results of having punitive damages set by
juries exercising unguided and unconstrained discretion. In par-
ticular, justifying an award in terms of its relation to only a few
of the highest previous awards will lead to an inexorable upward
spiral, as more and more large awards are justified by reference

14

conclusively establish the excessiveness of a sanction, a
court should turn to an examination of the proportional-
ity of the penalty to the gravity of the particular con-
duct being punished.

B. Punitive Damages Are Disproportionate If They Do
Not Bear A Reasonable Relationship To The Mis-
conduct For Which Punishment Is Being Imposed.

Another important factor under Solem is “the gravity
of the offense” for which punishment is being imposed.
463 U.S. at 290-291. From the standpoint of both just
retribution and deterrence, a greater wrong should be
punished more severely than a lesser wrong. H.L.A.
Hart, PUNISHMENT AND RESPONSIBILITY 9, 25 (1963) ;
J. Bentham, AN INTRODUCTION TO THE PRINCIPLES OF
MorALS AND LEGISLATION 179-182 (1892 ed.)}. This is
no less true for punitive civil damages than for criminal
fines.

Solem set forth a number of criteria by which the na-
ture of an offense may be measured. See 463 U.S. at
292-294. This Court’s due precess decisions also provide
guidance. See pages 8-9, supra. In addition, the common
law standards developed in the context of excessiveness
challenges to punitive damages awards look to several
considerations that may be relevant in determining the
evavily of particular conduct. Drawing upon these
sources, a punitive damages award can be-said to be
cisproportionate to the conduct for which punishment is
being imposed when it lacks any reasonable relation to
che character of the defendant’s misdeeds, to the injury
caused by the defendant’s actions, or to the actual or
potentia! gain to the defendant.

hiv i» not to say that each of these considerations
will be applicable or of equal weight in every instance;

their significance will depend upon the particulars of

the given case. Where, however, a punitive damages
to prior large awards, and in turn validate still higher awards in
the future

15

award appears disproportionate in relation to any of
these benchmarks, that is a strong signal that the award
does not rationally advance the objectives of imposing
punishment and thus is constitutionally infirm.

Furthermore, where the defendant is a corporation.
labor union, religious body or other organization whose
members or owners consist principally or entirely of
persons wholly innocent of the alleged wrongdoing, the
courts should be especially sensitive to the potential un-
fairness of imposing an excessively large punishment
upon blameless individuals. Here, for instance, Pacific
Mutual is owned by its policyholders, who, of course, had
no part in the wrongdoing but will be forced to bear the
full brunt of any punishment.’

1. Character of the defendant’s conduct

In analyzing the character of the defendant’s conduct.
a reviewing court should first and foremost consider the
relative seriousness of the wrongdoing for which the
punishment is being imposed. See Rowlett v. Anheuser-
Busch, Inc., 832 F.2d 194, 207 ‘ist Cir. 1987) (quoting
‘In holding that municipalities are not subject to punitive dam-
ages in actions ander 42 U.S.C. $ 1983, this Court observed that
“[rjegarding retribution, * * * an award of punitive damages
against a municipality ‘punishes’ only the taxpayers, who took no
part in the commission of the tort. * * * Neither reason nor justice
suggests that such retribution should be visited upon the shoulders
of blameless or unknowing taxpayers.” City of Newport v. Fact
Concerts, Inc., 453 U.S. 247, 267 (1981). “Under ordinary principles
of retribution,” the Court continued, speaking to a point quite
material to this case,
it is the wrongdoer himself who is made to suffer for his un-
lawful conduct. If a government official acts knowingly and
maliciously to deprive others of their civil rights, he may be-
come the appropriate object of the community’s vindictive
sentiments. A municipality, however, can have no malice in-
dependent of the malice of its officials. Damages awarded for
punitive purposes, therefore, are not sensibly assessed against
the governmental entity itself.
453 U.S. at 267 (citations omitted; emphasis in original).

16H

PESTATEMENT (SECOND) OF ToRTS § 908(2)) (the
award “must bear some relation to the ‘character of the
defendant's act’). There are several commonly accepted
yardsticks against which the nature of the defendant's
wrongful conduct may be measured. For example, as the
Court observed in Solem, “nonviolent crimes are less
serious than crimes marked by violence or the threat of
violence” (463 U.S. at 292-293).

In judging the gravity of the misconduct, the degree of
he defendant's culpability is also of central importance.
sce Solem, 463 U.S. at 293-294. A defendant would be
highly culpable where, for instance, it violated a fiduci-
ary duty to the plaintiff or otherwise abused a position
of trust. Similarly, if a defendant acted with what is
commonly called “actual malice’—i.e., with the specilic
intent or purpose io injure the plaintiff or others—it
would have behaved in a highly culpable manner that
would support a relatively higher level of punishment.
if. on the other hand, a defendant lacked any intent to
cause harm but acted in a manner that was later found
to have been “reckless” or in “disregard” of the plain-
tiff’s rights, only a lower level of punishment could be
justified (assuming that punitive damages would be ap-
propriate at all). While a state may have the constitu-
‘ional authority to subject reckless or even “grossly”
negligent conduct to punishment in the form of punitive
damages, principles of fundamental fairness require that
the anount of punishment in such a case be commen-
surate with the lesser degree of culpability.”

* Punitive damayes are not available unless a defendant is shown
to have acted wrongfully. See yvencrally RESTATEMENT (SECOND
oF TorTS § 908(1); 1 J. Ghiardi & J. Kircher, PUNITIVE DAMAGES
LAW AND PRACTICE $5.01 (1985). Thus, proof of the requisite
wrongdoing simply establishes that the conduct merits punishment
and does not speak to the appropriate size of the punishment, The
record would have to show something more, such as a specific intent
to enuse injury or an extraordinary level of wantonness, In corde:
to justify an especially large verdict

17

In addition, where the defendant is a corporation or
other erganization, its level or extent of culpability de-
pends upon the nature of the organization’s complicity
in the wrongful conduct. If the conduct was undertaken
pursuant to corporate policy or was approved by high-
ranking officers, a relatively greater sanction would be
permissible, both because the corporation could in such
a case fairly be said to be more “culpable” and because
higher-level corporate actors have the capacity to commit
greater wrongs in the name of the corporation. If, on
the other hand, the misconduct was the isolated act of
one or two low-level employees, the organization’s culpa-
bility would be less, and only a relatively smaller sanc-
tion would be reasonable.

2. Injury caused by the misconduct

Another red flag irdicating excessiveness is the pres-
ence of a gross disproportion between the punitive dam-
ages award and the injury inflicted by the defendant’s
conduct. Solem, 463 U.S. at 292-293. See also Life &
Casualty Ins. Co. v. McCray, 291 U.S. 566, 573 (1934)
‘sustaining penalty for wrongfully withholding payment
because the penalty amount bore a “reasonable propor-
tion to the possible actual damages”); United States v.
Busher, 817 F.2d 1409, 1415 (9th Cir. 1987). Other
things being equal, “jt|he absolute magnitude cf the
iharm involved] may be relevant” (Solem, 463 U.S. at
9931."

It by no means follows, however, that proportionality
in this factor establishes that a punishment is not exces-

* The extent of the injury inflicted generally is reflected by the
amount of compensatory damages. For that reason, common law
excessiveness standards identify the amount of compensatory dam-
ages as a relevant factor in assessing the propriety of a punitive
damages award. See, ¢.¢.. Rowlett v. Anheuser-Busch, Ince.. ®32
F.2d at 207 (quoting RESTATEMENT (SECOND) OF TORTS § 908(2)
“the award * * * must bear some relation to * * * ‘the nature and
extent of the harm to the plaintiff that the defendant caused’ ”
see generally K. Redden, PUNITIVE DAMAGES $3.5 A) (1980, & 1987

Supp

18

sive, especially when the harm to the plaintiff was unin-
tended by the defendant. The primary reason why harm
is deemed relevant to the level of punishment of crimes
is that society wishes to ensure greater deterrence of
more socially injurious acts than of less dangerous ones.
But in the context of civil tort actions, that objective is
already attained by the fact that the defendant’s duty to
make compensation will itself vary directly with the ex-
tent of the harm caused by his wrongful acts.

Thus, in many circumstances, compensaiory damages
awards themselves can fully satisfy the goals of punish-
ment and deterrence. See Memphis Community School
Dist. v. Stachura, 477 U.S. 299, 312-313 (1986); Smith
vy. Wade, 461 U.S. at 94 (O’Connor, J., dissenting! ; El-
lis, Punitive Damages in Iowa Law: A Critical Assess-
ment, 66 Iowa L. REV. 1003, 1660 (1981); Morris, Puni-
tive Damages in Tort Cases, 44 Harv. L. Rev. 1173, 1182
(1931). Particularly where the compensatory award is
sizeable, this element is likely to obviate the need for
punitive damages altogether or at least to reduce the
amount of such damages that are reasonably necessary
to punish and deter."

19 This is especially true where recovery for intangible harm
such as mental anguish or pain and suffering is a substantial com.
ponent of the compensatory award. Such damages often are so
large—and so far in excess of the defendant’s gain--that they fully

‘atisfy the purposes of punishment. It is well recognized that dam-

ages for pain and suffering —which “frequently constitute| | the
largest portion of awards"—-are inherently “indeterminate” and
thus are “left (o the discretion of the trier of fact’: because the
measurement of such damages is “essentially subjective” and “elu-
sive,’ awards for pain and suffering are “open-ended to the point
of inviting abuse” and are determined in the “virtually untrammeled
discretion” of the jury. 1 M. Minzer, ef al., DAMAGES IN TORT
ACTIONS 4-6, 4-10, 4-198, 4-205, 4-209 (1989). See also, e.g. ©
McCormick. HANDBOOK ON THE LAW OF DAMAGES 318-319 (1955
(damages for pain and suffering represent “an arbitrary allowance”
Coy which the jury givens ‘ne standard te go by: the principal
restraint on such awards is simply the “common sense of the jury”)

19

Accordingly, the size of the compensatory damages
award, while not irrelevant, is but one factor for a court
to consider in determining whether the amount of puni-
tive damages is so large as to offend the Due Process
Clause. Although some commentators have proposed that
punitive damages be considered presumptively excessive
if greater than a prescribed multiple (typically three)
of the amount of compensatory damages,'' a punitive
damages award should neither be conclusively unconsti-
tutional simply because it is more than three times the
compensatory award"? nor conclusively constitutional be-
cause it is less than a trebled compensatory award. In
the absence of legislative: reform, arbitrariness and irra-
tionality can be rooted out of the present punitive dam-
ages system only if this Court establishes a due process
standard that esenews fixed formulas and instead re-
quires a case-specific analysis of the rationality of the
jury’s verdict.

3. Actual or potential gain to the defendant

Much like the harm to the plaintiff, the punishment
inflicted by a punitive damages verdict may be so far
out of line with the amount that the defendant gained
or reasonably could have expected to gain from its mis-
conduct as to suggest irrationality. See Busher, 817 F.2d

11 See, e.g., American College of Trial Lawyers, REPORT ON PUNI-
TIVE DAMAGES 15 (1989); ABA Special Comm, on Punitive Dam-
ages, PUNITIVE DAMAGES: A CONSTRUCTIVE EXAMINATION 6-10 to
6-12 (1986).

12 Where the injury caused is slight or only nominal, basing the
penalty on the amount of compensatory damages may be inadequate
to provide appropriate punishment and deterrence. This Court
recognized as much in St. Louis, 1.M. & S. Ry. v. Williams, supra.
There the penalty imposed pursuant to statute ($75 for a $.66 over-
charge) was held not to be excessive because no individual pas-
senger would have an incentive to sue for such nominal actual
damages (this was before the advent of class actions) and because
the railroad could wrongfully obtain substantial profit from “the
numberless onnortunities for committing the offense” (251 US. at
67). See also Seahoard Air Line Ru. Vv. Seegers, 207 US. 7, 78

WHT

20

at 1415: Hawkins v. Allstate Insurance Co., 732 P.2d
1073, 1080-1081 (‘Ariz.), cert. denied, 484 U.S. 874
(1987): Dobbs, Ending Punishment in “Punitive” Dam-
ages: Deterrence-Measured Remedies, 40 ALA. L. REV.
831, 874-875 (1989): Owen, Punitive Damages in Prod-
ucts Liability Litigation, 74 MicH. L. Rev. 1258, 1319
(1976). In such an instance, it would be exceedingly dif-
ficult to justify the amount of punitive damages as
necessary or appropriate to achieve adequate punishment.
Bentham, at 179-181; Cooter, Punitive Damages for De-
terrence: When and How Much?, 40 ALA. L. Rev. 1143,
1179 & n.69 (1989)."*

Ill. THE PUNITIVE DAMAGES AWARD IN THIS CASE
IS PLAINLY EXCESSIVE

Application of the Solem framework to this case makes
it evident that the punitive verdict is grossly excessive

13 Evidence of Pacific Mutual’s “wealth” was not submitted to
the jury or relied upon by the Alabama courts to justify its punish-
ment and therefore does not appear to be an element of this case.
In general, the role of wealth in the excessiveness inquiry must be
‘imited if punitive damages awards are to be kept within reasonable
bounds. Punitive damages are awarded to deter and punish par-
ticular misecnduct, and the Constitution therefore dictates that the
defendant’s conduct be central to the selection of punishment. To
allow conduct-based limitations to be overridden by consideration
of the defendant’s finances would be irrational. The penalty would
not “fit the crime,” but instead would punish a large entity simply
for its status, even though such status in itself is not wrongful.
United States v. United States Steel Corp., 251 U.S. 417, 451
(1920); Berkey Photo, Inc. v. Eastman Kodak Co., 603 F.2d 265,
273-274 (2d Cir. 1979), cert. denied, 444 U.S. 1093 (1980); ef.
Robinson v. California, 370 U.S. 660 (1962). For these reasons,
and because in the case of organizations charged with economic
wrongdoing size has little rational nexus to effective deterrence,
the great weight of scholarly commentary opposes giving size or
wealth a major role in determining the size of punishment. See.
+.4., Cooter, 40 ALA. L. REv. at 1176-1177; Wheeler, A Proposal foi
Further Common Law Development of the Use of Punitive Damages
in Modern Product Liability Litigation, 40 ALA. L. Rev. 919, 950-952
(1989): Ellis, Fairness and Efficiency in the Law of Punitive Dam-
aaes, 56S. CAL. L. REV. 1, 61-63 (1982).

21

and cannot be justified as a rational means of deterring
or punishing the wrongful conduct found to have oc-
curred.

To begin with, the jury’s determination of the size of
the punishment is not entitled to any appreciable defer-
ence. The amount of the verdict was not chosen by the
jury from a legislatively established spectrum of permis-
sible penalties for the kind of wrong Pacific Mutual was
found to have committed. Rather, the jury was told no
more than that “in fixing the amount [of punitive dam-
ages|, you must take into consideration the character and
degree of the wrong as shown by the evidence and the
necessity of preventing similar wrongs.” RT 897-898.
Because the punitive damages award thus represents the
view of only a single jury, with no experience of any
kind in selecting punishments, and exercising unlimited
and basically unguided discretion regarding the appropri-
ate sanction, deferential review is not appropriate. See
pages 11-12, supra,

A. The Award Is Grossly Disproportionate To Statu-
tory Penalties In Alabama And Other Jurisdictions.

As noted above, the first step in assessing the ration-
ality of a punitive damages award is to compare the
amount of the award with criminal fines and civil pen-
alties. Those legislatively established sanctions are fixed
with reference to the same goals of deterrence and pun-
ishment that underlie punitive damages and _ therefore
provide an objective standard for the proportionality
review.

We have canvassed all the criminal fines and civil
penalties prescribed by the Alabama legislature. None
comes close to the penalty imposed by the jury in this
case. Of greatest significance, the statutory penalties
most directly applicable to Ruffin’s conduct—embezzle-
ment, theft, larceny, and willful violations of the State
insurance code—are limited to $10,000. See Ala. Code
S$ 18A-5-11, 138A-5-12(ai 11), 27-1-12, 27-12-17, 27-12-23.

22

The amounts of Alabama’s other monetary punishments
range from $10 for relatively minor conduct '* to $50,000
for more serious wrongs.’* The $1 million penalty in
this ease is far outside that range.

It is especially noteworthy that, in fixing this range of
penalties, the Alabama legislature has distinguished for
purposes of punishment between individuals and organi-
zations such as corporations, which cannot be imprisoned
but can only be fined. Thus, in a variety of circumstances
—including insurance offenses—Alabama’s penal code
provides more severe fines for corporations, typically pre-
scribing a multiple of the maximum fine for individuals."”
But even after taking these differences into account, the
fine levels are far below the punishment imposed by the
jury here.

The verdict is equally excessive when viewed against
the statutory penalties for similar misconduct in other
jurisdictions. For example, the highest penalties auth-
orized by other states for willful violations of insurance
regulations, embezzlement, larceny, and theft generally

14 E.g., Ala. Code § 6-6-9 ($10; failure of summoned witness to
attend an arbitration without a sufficient excuse); Ala. Code § 13A-
12-3 ($10-$50; selling cigarettes to minors); Ala. Code § 14-6-21
($10-$100; person having custody of a jail allowing the jail to be-
come “foul or unclean”); Ala. Code § 22-9-78 ($5-$25; midwife’s
failure to report a death); Ala. Code § 34-23-52 ($10; late pay-
ment of pharmacists’ license fee).

15 E.g., Ala. Code § 8-19-11 (up to $25,000; violation of a deceptive
trade practice order) ; Ala. Code § 22-22A-5 ($100-$25,000 ; violation
of environmental regulations) ; Ala. Code § 22-30-19 ($50,000; vio-
lation of hazardous waste regulations ) ; see also Ala. Code § 5-5A-10
($1,000-$10,000 per day; engaging in banking without a permit) ;
Ala. Code § 5-20-7 (up to $10,000 per day; failure of credit card
company to comply with cease and desist order).

16 Ala. Code § 27-29-10 (insurer subject to a fine of up to $10,000
for violation; individual subject to a fine of up to $1,000 for same
conduct); Ala. Code § 34-7-25 (corporation subject to a $500 fine
for practicing cosmetology without a license; individual subject to
a $100 fine).

25

range from $10,000 to $100,000, with some states pro-
viding an alternative fine of two or three times the de-
fendant’s gain.'’ The verdict is thus grossly in excess of
the punishment level that legislatures have deemed ap-
propriate for misconduct of the type present in this case.
Accordingly, this factor alone establishes the impropriety
of the jury’s award.'*

At a minimum, the disparity suggests that the punitive
damages award is presumptively excessive. That conclu-
sion is confirmed by an examination of the relationship
between that penalty and the wrongful conduct.

B. The $1,0€0,000 Penalty Bears No Reasonable Rela-
tionship To The Gravity Of The Conduct Being
Punished.

As a preliminary matter, any assessment of the ration-
ality of the punishment in this case requires a careful
and precise identification of the conduct being punished
and of the rationale for imposing punishment on Pacific
Mutual. A proper analysis of that question reveals that
there is no acceptable basis for punishing Pacific Mutual:
even if there were, any imaginable rationale for doing so
cannot support the massive punishment imposed.

1. The Alabama courts did not identify the basis on
which the jury was permitted to punish Pacific Mutual.

17QOnly Arizona authorizes higher sanctions—fines of up to
$150,000 for individuals (see Ariz. Rev. Stat. § 13-801) and $1 mil-
lion for corporations (see Ariz. Rev. Stat. § 13-803). However,
these maxima, which are fixed by general sentencing provisions
applicable to a wide variety of offenses, reflect the legislature’s
judgment regarding the appropriate sanction for the most severe
felonies. They therefore provide no basis for upholding the punish-
ment in this case, which surely did not involve misconduct at the
upper limits of wrongfulness.

18 No different conclusion is supported by examination of other
punitive damages awards in Alabama, which, as petitioner has
demonstrated (see Pet. Reply Br. App. E1-E10), range over a large
seale. For the reasons we already have discussed (see note 6, supra),
such awards do not establish a rational yardstick against which to
measure the punishment in this case.

24

In fact. the Alabama Supreme Court, having once con-
cluded that the sale of health insurance policies to plain-
tiffs was done within the scope of Lemmie Ruffin’s ap-
parent authority (see Pet. App. B7-B10), never separate-
ly addressed whether this asserted basis for civil compen-
satory liability sufficed for the quite distinet task of de-
termining susceptibility to punishment. In fact, the two
questions are worlds apart. When the faithless Ruffin,
acting as an intermediary between Pacific Mutual and
Union Fidelity on the one hand and plaintiffs on the
other, purloined the insurance premiums, someone would
have to bear the resulting loss. The principles invoked by
the court below may serve to explain why, as between
two innocent parties, that loss should be borne by Pacific
Mutual as Ruffin’s employer. But it is surely a far dif-
ferent question whether an innocent party may properly
be punished. ‘ine Alabama Supreme Court simply as-
sumed an affirmative answer to that question by conflat-
ing the conceptually distinct punitive and compensatory
inquiries and conducting only the latter. See 1 & 2 J.
Ghiardi & J. Kircher, PUNITIVE DAMAGES LAW AND PRAC-
TICE $$ 2.04, 24.07 (1985); Cooter, 40 ALA. L. Rev. at
1181-1182: see also Huber, No-Fault Punishment, 40
ALA. L. REV. 1037, 1044 (1989) (“a sweeping new no-
tion of vicarious punishment [has developed, for a]s rec-
ently as 1967, the general rule was that an employer
would not face punitive damages for the unsanctioned
misconduct of an employee’’).

The analysis of the issue of punishability has been fur-
ther confused by the failure to distinguish between the
acts that were taken by Ruffin in furtherance of his
agency relationship with Union Fidelity and Pacific Mu-
tual (the sale of insurance policies and receipt of the
premiums) and the wrongful acts for which punishment
could constitutionally be imposed (the theft of the prem-
ium payments). The sale of the policies was within the
scope of Ruffin’s employment, but not punishavle because
not wrongful. The theft of the premiums, on the other
hand, while certainly wrongful and punishable, cannot

25

rationally be said to have been in the course of or within
the scope of Ruffin’s employment with Union Fidelity and
Pacific Mutual; rather, his self-ernrichment by diverting
to personal use funds paid to his employer was surely a
frolic and detour of his own."’

Properly understood, therefore, Pacific Mutual has been
punished for being the victim of wrongful acts. (It was
a victim because Ruffin’s theft exposed it to liability
under the policies while depriving it of the premium pay-
ments that would cover the insurance risk.) We cannot
believe that the Constitution permits the punishment of
defendants because of crimes directed at least in part
against them, and from which they derive no benefit.

2. Assuming for present purposes that we are wrong
about the constitutional limits on the State’s power to
inflict punishment in a case such as this, it remains nec-
essary in considering the rationality of the punishment
to identify the actor and the conduct that properly are
the focus of the proportionality analysis. Pacific Mutual’s
punishment could not have been and was not imposed
here on the basis of any direct role by the company in
the wrongdoing, because the company had none: Ruffin
did not act pursuant to some company-wide policy, or
with the consent of management, or even in furtherance
of any interest of the company.”’

19 This case is thus different, for purposes of vicarious liability,
from one in which an insurance ager.t commits fraud in the course
of selling a policy. In the latter situation, even though the fraud
may not have been authorized and may have violated his employer's
policies, there is at least a sense in which the agent can be said
to be acting as the corporation in committing the wrongful acts.
For reasons that space does not permit us to explore here, we do
not believe that punishment of the corporation is constitutionally
permissible solely on the basis of vicarious liability even in such
circumstances. But that is a question the Court need not address
in this case, because Ruffin’s wrongful acts cannot in any sense
rationally be said to have been the imputable acts of his employer.

20 Respondents argued in their brief in opposition (at 4) that
“Pacific Mutual’s corporate responsibility was premised on corporat:
malfeasance” (emphasis in original), because the Birmingham office

26

This leads to two possible ways of looking at the case.
Under one view, the company’s vicarious liability for
punishment forces it to stand in Ruffin’s shoes and ac-
cept any punishment that could rationally have been im-
posed on Ruffin for his individual wrongdoing. Under
another, Pacific Mutual is being punished for “corporate
wrongdoing” occurring at the sales agent level. From
either perspective, however, the punishment of approxi-
mately $1,000,000 cannot be justified in the circumstances
of this case.*'

Viewing Ruffin as the subject of punishment, we readily
acknowledge that the misconduct (embezzlement of the in-
surance premiums), though not violent, is of some grav-
ity. But the loss inflicted on respondent Haslip—$4,000
in out-of-pocket expenses and some amount, perhaps ap-
proaching $40,000, for nonmonetary injuries **—is slight

manager allegedly had notice of Ruffin’s wrongful conduct. But if
the office manager countenanced Ruffin’s fraud, he was certainly
not acting on behalf of or in the interests of the company. See Pet.
Reply Br. 3-4. And, to the extent Pacific Mutual had notice of
Ruffin’s acts (but see id. at 1-4), that evidence is not relevant.
The jury was not asked to punish Pacific Mutual for failing to
supervise Ruffin (an act that would, at most, amount to ordinary
negligence and therefore provide no basis for imposition of punitive
damages). Rather, the punishment plainly was inflicted for Ruffin’s
diversion of the premium payments.

21 The judgment in this case does not specify the portion of re-
spondents’ recovery that constitutes punishment rather than com-
pensation. See Pet. App. B3. Nevertheless, as petitioner has dis-
cussed (Pet. Reply Br. 5-6 & n.3), the record makes clear that
the great bulk of the $1,040,000 awarded to respondent Haslip must
have been intended as punitive damages. Indeed, respondents them-
selves repeatedly characterized the punitive award in the court
below as greater than $1,000,000 Ala. Sup. Ct. Br. 58, 62. Because
the Alabama courts did not clarify the precise amount of the punish-
ment and upheld a punitive damages award that may be (and in
fact appears to be) some $1,000,000, analysis of the constitutional
issues in this Court should proceed on the premise that such dam
ages constitute the overw heiming share of the jury's verdict

22 If, as respondents have stated (see note 21, svpra), appres
mately $1 million of the award is punitive, the remainder of the
award—$40,000—must be compensatory.

27

in relation to the size of the punitive award and cannot
rationally explain it. So too for Ruffin’s gain, which was
but a tiny fraction of the punishment exacted.

. No different conclusion can be reached when consider-
ing the purposes of punishment. From the standpoint of
Just retribution, the penalty is wildly disproportionate.
The same is true for the goal of rational deterrence. A
fine of $1,000,000 far exceeds any amount that could
possibly be necessary and appropriate to deter Ruffin and
others like him from similar wrongdoing in the future.
Indeed, because the penalty is to be exacted from Pacific
Mutual, with which Ruffin could have no hope of a con-
tinuing relationship, the size of the penalty is bound to he
entirely immaterial to Ruffin and therefore entirely in-
capable of achieving deterrence. In sum, if Pacifie Mu-
tual is being made to stand in the shoes of Lemmie Ruf-
fin for purposes of punishment, the verdict is egregiously
excessive.

Precisely the same conclusion follows if the punishment
is viewed as being inflicted for corporate wrongdoing. In
contrast to Ruffin himself, the character of the company’s
conduct involves no conscious or deliberate wrongdoing
of any kind. And the punitive award remains just as
disproportionate to respondents’ loss when viewed from
(his perspective. Moreover, the element of gain to the
“offender” vanishes entirely. Even if the company could
have avoided any liability to respondents, the diversion
of the insurance premiums from Union Fidelity and
Pacific Mutual to Ruffin would have gained it not one
cent; as matters eventuated, Pacific Mutual was ‘quite
apart from punishment) left with the responsibility of
providing health insurance but without the benefit of the
corresponding premium income.

Nor, for a variety of reasons, does a deterrence ra-
tionale better support a large award against Pacific Mu-
tual than it would against Ruffin himself. First, although
the company itself is a large entity, the responsibility

28

for any misconduct is limited to the lowest level of the
company. It would plainly be irrational to treat fraud
or theft by R=ffin as equivalent to similar conduct under-
taken or authorized at higher levels of the company:
tuffin simply lacked the capacity to engage in corporate
wrongdoing of the same scope as those with greater
authority. By the same token, the company is bound to
be less resistant to disciplining an employee such as
tuffin than a high-ranking officer and therefore will be
deterred by a far lower penalty from countenancing mis-
conduct by one at Ruffin’s level in the corporate hierarchy.
l’urthermore, because the scheme for which Pacific Mu-
tuai is being held responsible was bound to be discovered
when one of the respondents incurred medical expenses
and could result only in losses to the company, a purely
nominal fine will satisfy fully any need to deter future
“misconduct” of this sort.

Because anything beyond a relatively modest monetary
sanction far exceeds what is justifiable to punish and
deter the type of conduct in question here, the award
against Pacific Mutual is constitutionally excessive and
must be set aside.

C. Alabama’s Post-Verdict Review Procedures Do Not
Eliminate The Unconstitutionality Of The Punitive
Award In This Case.

Respondents contend ‘Br. in Opp. 14-16) that the
state-law review of the size of the punitive damages
award conducted by the courts below assured satisfac-
tion of any proportionality inquiry mandated by the Due
Process Clause. That is simply incorrect. The Alabama
courts did not even purport to conduct the kind of pro-
portionality review required by the Due Process Clause.

The trial court made only the conclusory finding that the

award was “not excessive as a matter of law.” even

“-Of course, even if they had, an erroneous conclusion that th:
sanction was not arbitrary would net insulate the award from
review by this Court

29

though it was “for a great amount of monev" and the
court “would in all likelihood have rendered wu lessje
amount.” Pet. App. Al5. And the Alabama Supreme
Court observed merely that “jury verdicts are presume?)
correct, and that presumption is strengthened when 1
presiding judge refuses to grant a new trial.” /v/. at
B13. Such perfunctory review in the course of uphold-
ing the punishment under state law does not preciuce
scrutiny of the jury’s exorbitant award under the fede ral
Constitution.
CONCLUSION

The judgment of the Alabama Supreme Court should

be reversed.

Respectfully submitted.

ANDREW L. FREY
Counsel of Record

KENNETH S. GELLER

MARK I. LEvy

ANDREW J. PINCUS
Mayer, Brown & Platt
200 Pennsylvania Ave... NAW.
Washington, D.C. 20006
(202) 778-0602

Counsel For Amici Curiae

JUNE 1990

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385012_0717%3A29. Public record. Not legal advice.
