# Amicus Curiae Brief — International Union, United Automobile, Aerospace & Agricultural Implement v. Johnson Controls, Inc.

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385012_0705%3A12

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1991
- **Citation:** 499 U.S. 187

## Text

No. 89-1215

IN THE ; we 1 Oo
Supreme Court of the United St F. SPANIOL, JF

OCTOBER TERM, 1989 t . —

>

INTERNATIONAL UNION, UNITED AUTOMOBILE, AEROSPACE AND
AGRICULTURAL IMPLEMENT WORKERS OF AMERICA, ef ai.,

Petitioners,

—_V—

JOHNSON CONTROLS, INC.,
Respondent.

BRIEF AMICUS CURIAE IN SUPPORT OF PETITION FOR A WRIT
OF CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE SEVENTH CIRCUIT BY AMERICAN CIVIL LIBERTIES
UNION AND ACLU OF WISCONSIN; AMALGAMATED CLOTHING
& TEXTILE WORKERS UNION; AMERICAN ASSOCIATION OF UNI-
VERSITY WOMEN; AMERICAN FEDERATION OF STATE, COUNTY
& MUNICIPAL EMPLOYEES; AMERICAN PUBLIC HEALTH ASSO-
CIATION; AMERICAN SOCIETY OF LAW & MEDICINE; CENTRAL
NEW YORK COUNCIL ON OCCUPATIONAL SAFETY & HEALTH;
COALITION OF LABOR UNION WOMEN; COMMITTEE FOR RE-
SPONSIBLE GENETICS; COMMUNICATION WORKERS OF AMER-
ICA; EMPLOYMENT LAW CENTER; ENVIRONMENTAL DEFENSE
FUND; INTERNATIONAL CHEMICAL WORKERS UNION; MASSA-
CHUSETTS COALITION FOR OCCUPATIONAL SAFETY & HEALTH
(MASSCOSH); NATIONAL ABORTION RIGHTS ACTION LEAGUE;
9 TO 5 NATIONAL ASSOCIATION OF WORKING WOMEN;

{Amici Continued On Inside Cover)

MARLA HASSNER JOAN E. BERTIN
30 Rockefeller Plaza (Counsel of Record)
New York, New York 10112 ELISABETH A. WERBY

AMERICAN CIVIL LIBERTIES
UNION FOUNDATION
132 West 43rd Street |
New York, New York 10036
(212) 944-9800

Attorneys for Amici Curiae

Of Counsel

LL LL LLL CS TL

¥$ PA

NATIONAL BLACK WOMEN’S HEALTH PROJECT; NATIONAL
ORGANIZATION FOR WOMEN, INC.; NATIONAL WOMEN’S
HEALTH NETWORK; NATIONAL WOMEN’S LAW CENTER;
NATIONAL WOMEN’S POLITICAL CAUCUS; NATURAL RE-
SOURCES DEFENSE COUNCIL; NEW YORK COALITION ON OCCU-
PATIONAL SAFETY & HEALTH (NYCOSH); NONTRADITIONAL
EMPLOYMENT FOR WOMEN (NEW); NORTH CAROLINA OCCUPA-
TIONAL SAFETY & HEALTH PROJECT (NCOSH); NOW LEGAL DE-
FENSE & EDUCATION FUND; OCCUPATIONAL SAFETY & HEALTH
LAW CENTER; OIL, CHEMICAL & ATOMIC WORKERS INTERNA-
TIONAL UNION; PHILADELPHIA AREA PROJECT ON OC-
CUPATIONAL SAFETY & HEALTH (PHILAPOSH); PLANNED PAR-
ENTHOOD FEDERATION OF AMERICA, INC.; ROCHESTER COUN-
CIL ON OCCUPATIONAL SAFETY & HEALTH (ROCOSH); SANTA
CLARA CENTER ON OCCUPATIONAL SAFETY & HEALTH (SC-
- COSH); SERVICE EMPLOYEES INTERNATIONAL UNION; SILICON
VALLEY TOXICS COALITION; UNITED MINE WORKERS OF AMER-
ICA; WESTERN NEW YORK COUNCIL ON OCCUPATIONAL
SAFETY & HEALTH (WNYCOSH); WIDER OPPORTUNITIES FOR
WOMEN; WOMEN EMPLOYED; WOMEN’S LAW PROJECT; WOM-
EN’S LEGAL DEFENSE FUND; NICHOLAS ASHFORD, J.D., PH.D.;
DAVID BELLINGER, PH.D.; EULA BINGHAM, M.D.; MARK CUL-
LEN, M.D.; PHILIP J. LANDRIGAN, M.D.; MARVIN S. LEGATOR,
M.D.; DONALD, MATTISON, M.D.; HERB NEEDLEMAN, M.D.;
JOHN F. ROSEN, M.D.; JEANNE STELLMAN, PH.D.; and DIREC-
TORS OF OCCUPATIONAL MEDICINE PROGRAMS (EDDY
BRESNITZ, M.D.; STEVE HESSL, M.D.; PHILIP J.
LANDRIGAN, M.D.; LAURA WELSH, M.D.)

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES ....... « » ahh
INTEREST OF AMICI CURIAE ..... e e' ek
ee > © ot
REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT. «4
I. THE CASE PRESENTS ISSUES OF
GREAT PUBLIC IMPORTANCE ..... 4
A. The Case Is Of Critical
Importance To Working Women
and their Families ......7
B. This Case Is Important To
The Development Of Rational
Workplace Health Policy. .. 16
II. ‘REVIEW IS NEEDED TO RESOLVE
CONFLICTS AMONG THE CIRCUITS
REGARDING THE CONSTRUCTION AND
APPLICATION OF TITLE VII OF THE
CoVam MiGwee ACT. . ...cwcae 31
A. Review Is Needed To Clarify
The Meaning The PDA. .... 32

B. Review Is Required To Define
The BFOQ Defense ...... 38

C. Review Is Necessary To Provide TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Guidance To The Enforcement
agemey . ww i ew ttl el we Cases Page

ee ee ee a oe
422 U.S. 405 (1975). . «© « «© © © o's « 37

Chambers v. Omaha Girls Club, Inc.,
834 F.2d 697 (8th Cir. 1987) ..... 41

7} ae 528 P.2d .205 (Kan.

i | Ee ; Se ee ae
Connecticut y.—Tsal. 457 U.S. 440
(1982) 7 >. — . > . > _ >. >. > > 37

Diaz v. Pan American World Airways,
442 F.2d 385 (5th Cir.), cert. denied,
606 GsBs OER. CRRA s © « © wo 0 eo eo wo SF

Dothard v. Raw wLADEGI on, 433 U.S. 321
(1977)5, . . * *. 7. . . . . De 41

EEOC v. University of Pennsylvania,
U.S. , 58 U.S.L.W. 4093
(eeeeery GD, S9RB)s © «© wo eo et ewe ew ea

Fernandez v. Wynn Oil Co. 653 F.2d 1273
(9G Cat. AGER). « « « . es o « 46

Grant v. General Motors, aneea. filed
(6th Cir., No. 89-3478)... ‘ > of

oiie -iii-

Hayes v. Shelby Memorial Hospital,
726 F.2d 1543 (11th Cir. 1984)
wadileele ces 6 ee eee ee OS, MoM, BM

Vv ’
459 N.Y.S.2d 814 (N.Y. App. 1984). . . 29

't W W Vv.

Mannars.. 435 U.S. 702 (1978)
. . *e . . 7 . . . > Ade 36, 37

Mullex_y. Oregon, 208 U.S. 412
(1908) > . . 7 o . . . . . . . 15

Needham v. White Laboratories, 847
F.2d 355 (7th Cir. 1988), cart. ‘denied,
454 U.S. 927 (1981)... . . 29

Newport News Shipbuilding and Dry Dock v.
E.E.0.C., 462 U.S. 669 (1987). ... . 34
t*

Oil, Chemical & Atomic Workers Internat'1l
Union v._American Cyanamid Co.., 741 F. eA
444 (D.C. Cir. 1984)... ° a

Orr v. Orr, 440 U.S. 268 (1979)... . 37

Price-Wa ouse v opkins,
U.S. , 109 S.Ct. 1775 (1989)

Reiser v. Lohner, 641 P.2d 93
f a a ea

Roberts v. Patel, 620 F. Supp. 323
(B.D. Til. 3905) «2s «© ec eo wo eo wo eo oe OD

5

ucker v. Hi u io ids Board,
669 F.2d 1179 (7th Cir. 1982). ... . 40

-iv-

WwW i j 4 urston,
Con wees Ban Geeeele-+.« © « « © 6 6 e 37

Tullis v. Lear School, Inc., 874 F.2d
aGGe Gane Gale Beeic « «© 6 ott et we ew 4

United Steelworkers of America v.
Marshall, 647 F.2d 1189 (D.C. Cir. 1980),
cert. denied, 453 U.S. 913 (1981). . . 23

Walker v. Merck & Co., Inc., 648
F. Supp. 931 (M.D. Ga. 1986), aff'd,

831 F.2d 1069 (llth Cir. 1987) .... 29

mS MS OK See
U.S. , 109 S.Ct. 2115 (1989). . .5

Washington v. bayis, 426 U.S. 229
[aevGn.» «se s ete aes atk ee oo SS

Western Air Lines, Inc. v. Criswell,
GTa Gems GOS CBeeels « «© ts ew oe 6 23, 40

Wright v. Olin Corp., 697 F.2d 1172

(4th Cir. Beebe 6 «& s 9, 28, 35, 36,38
ni Vv. unt ospital,
692 F.2d 986 (5th Cir. ee 6 6 e's

Statutes

Occupational Safety and Health Act,
ee eS ee eee | |

Pregnancy Discrimination Act
ee) passim

-V=-

Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of
1964, 42 U.S.C. §§2000e, et seq.

U.S. Department of Labor, Occupational
Safety and Health Admin., Occupational
Exposure to 1,2-Dibromo-3-Chloropropane
(DBCP), 43 Fed. Reg. 11514

(eeeers « Wese << ee 6 Be Ws dé 6 8

Preamble to the Final Standard For
Occupational Exposure to Lead, 43 Fed.
Re; Beeees: Caeeee 6s < wie «ce 6-4 22

EEOC Proposed Rulemaking: Interpretive
Guidelines on Employment Discrimination
and Reproductive Hazards, 45 Fed. Reg.
7514 (1980). (Proposed Guidelines
Withdrawn, 46 Fed. Reg. 3916). .... .7

EPA Regulation of Fuels and Fuel Additives,
Supplemental Notice of Proposed Rulemaking,
50 Fed. Reg. 9401 (1985)........ 22

EPA Intent to Cancel Registrations of
Pesticide Products containing
Dibromochloropropane (DBCP), 50 Fed.

Ris Bee eee até 6 Gc 8S 8 6 hs

EPA Proposed Guidelines for Assessing Male
Reproductive Risk, 53 Fed. Reg. 24850
(1988) * o . . . . . 7. . . . . . . > . 25

EPA Proposed Amendments to the Guidelines
for the Health Assessment of Suspect
Developmental Toxicants, 54 Fed. Reg.
9386, 9389 (1989) eo © 0'« 29, 2p, 26, 327

Final Standard for Occupational Exposure
to Lead, Medical Surveillance Guidelines,

229 C.F.R. §1910.1025, Appendix c

I ar ge i/o
Miscellaneous

Ass'n of Schools of Public Health and

National Institute for Occupati_nal Safety

and Health,

Proposed National Strategies
for the Prevention of Leading Work-Related
D J | I j >

, Part 2

eT aS ae

te

Becker, From Muller v. Oregon to Fetal

yuinerability Policies, 53 U. Chi. L. Rev.

1219 (1986)... ‘

-7,

8,

9

, 14,

21

31

Binsacca et al., Factors Associated with

Low Birth Weight in an Inner City

opu :

ES baoGee ois ws

Cia
Problems, 77 Am. J. Pub. Health 505

14

Bureau of the Census, U.S. Department of
Commerce, Current Population Reports,

Series P-20, No. 427, Fertility as American

Women: June 1987 (1988).

Bureau of the Census, U.S. Department of
Commerce, Special eg Analyses,

CDS-80-8, Wome
Change (1983). — e 6

ee

ecades of

Bureau of National Affairs, Pregnancy _
and_ Employment: The Complete Handbook

-vii-

av

nd

10

INTEREST OF AMICI CURIAE

This brief amici curiae is submitted
pursuant to Rule 37.2 of the Rules of this
Court and is filed in support of
Petitioners.+/

Amici are organizations and individu-
als concerned about the pervasive policies
of enrloyers such as Johnson Controls which
exclude virtually all women from jobs
involving alleged hazard to a potential
fetus. Amici have significant expertise
that may assist the Court in this case.
Specifically, both individually and
collectively, amici are knowledgeable about
the nature and extent of sex-based

exclusionary practices nationwide, and

i/ The Parties have consented to the filing
of this brief, and their letters of consent are
being filed with the Clerk of this Court pursuant
to Rule 37.2 of the Rules of this Court.

-j-

their effects on the employment rights and
health status of all workers.2/
INTRODUCTION

The majority of an en banc panel of
the seventh Circuit has concluded, over the
vigorous dissents of four of its members
(Judges Cudahy, Easterbrook, Flaum and
Posner), that Title VII of the Civil Rights
Act of 1964, 42 U.S.C. §§2000e, et seg., as
amended ("Title VII"), does not prohibit an
employment policy that restricts opportuni-
ties for women who are willing and able to
work, because of the chance that they may
become pregnant and that a workplace hazard
may harm the fetus. In a radical departure
from Title VII law, the court below further

concluded that the victims of discrimi-

2/ Individual statements of interest for the
amici are set forth in an Appendix to this brief.

-2-

nation bear the burden of proving the
policy's invalidity.

The court was asked to review a grant
of summary judgment, on a limited record
containing material disputes about the
employer's evaluation of the risks of
employment. Instead of applying the
statute as written or remanding for further
factual development, the court discredited
the plaintiffs' evidence demonstrating that
the policy is scientifically insupportable
and held that they had not met the newly-
imposed burden of proof.

Review by this Court is a to
Clarify the application of Title VII to
such sex-based policies, since the courts
of appeals have adopted divergent posi-
tions. With regard to burden of proof, the
Seventh Circuit's holding conflicts with

those of the Fourth and Eleventh Circuits

and is inconsistent with recent decisions
of this Court. Finally, although the court
below has placed risk assessment at issue,
it has limited the scope of the inquiry in
a manner that is at odds with scientific
principles and conclusions.

The implications of the case for
women's employment rights under Title VII
are manifest. Less apparent, but equally
significant, are its ramifications for the
overall assessment and management of work-
place health hazards and for the way in
which private dispute resolution affects
the development of public health policy.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

I. THE CASE PRESENTS ISSUES OF GREAT
PUBLIC IMPORTANCE. .

On a record described by Judge Posner
in dissent as a ."tissue of speculation,"
Pet.App.72a, the Seventh Circuit has

concluded that an employer who plainly

-4-

restricts the employment rights of women?/
did not violate Title VII's prohibition on
discrimination in employment, because the
workers themselves did not prove that the
employer's policy was invalid.4/ Instead,
the court openly deferred to the employer's

decision that it was better for women as a

3/ Johnson Controls' policy has a "striking
sweep." Pet.App. 97a (Easterbrook, J., dissenting).
All women are required to disclose whether they are
fertile or sterile. No woman physically capable of
conceiving will be placed in a job in which any
employee has had a blood lead level exceeding
30ug/dl anytime during the past year or in any job
that might lead to a promotion to such a job. "As
a practical matter, this means every industrial job
at Johnson's battery plants. The firm advised its
hiring offices to tell women that 'we have no open-
ings for women capable of bearing children.'" Id.

4/ Under Title VII, the employer has always
borne the burden of proof to justify a demonstrably
discriminatory policy. E.g., Dothard v. Rawlinson,
433 U.S. 321 (1977). That rule has been altered in
cases involving disparate impact, but not in those
involving intentional discrimination. Compare

_ U.S. 9

Wards Cove Packing Co. v. Atonio
109 S.Ct. 2115 (1989) with Price-Waterhouse v.
Hopkins, U.S. __, 109 S.Ct. 1775 (1989) (mixed

motive). Notwithstanding its questionable
relevance, the court below retroactively applied

Wards Cove to this case.

class to be sterilized, unemployed, or
underemployed, than to risk exposing even a
potential fetus to workplace hazards. By
requiring courts applying Title VII to
ignore the statutory language and instead
to “unravel medical mysteries," Pet.App.90a
(Easterbrook, J., dissenting), the decision
below threatens both millions of working
women and their families and the develop-
ment of rational occupational health care
policies. Judge Easterbrook's comment that
this “is likely the most important sex
discrimination case in any court since ...
Congress enacted Title VII," Pet.App.99a,
is no exaggeration.
A. The Case Is Of Critical
Importance To Working Women And
Their Families.
It has been estimated that as many as

20 million women could be affected if

policies like Johnson Controls are permis-

2h ewe nee

sible under Title VII.2/ Numerous large
corporations are known to have similar
practices,®/ and it is believed that such
policies are even more pervasive. For
example, in the only known attempt to
document the prevalence of such practices,
the Massachusetts Department of Public
Health and the University of Massachusetts
Occupational Health Program conducted a

study of chemical and manufacturing firms

2/ Pet.App. 87a (Easterbrook, J.,
dissenting); id. at 73a (Posner, J. dissenting)
("jobs of millions of women" at stake); EEOC
Proposed Rulemaking: Interpretive Guidelines on
Employment Discrimination and Reproductive Hazards,
45 Fed. Reg. 7514 (1980) ("as many as 20 million
jobs may involve exposure in the workplace to
alleged reproductive hazards") (proposed guidelines
withdrawn, 46 Fed. Reg. 3916 (Jan. 16, 1981)); U.S.
Department of Health and Human Services, 34
Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report 537, 538
(Sept. 6, 1985) (estimating approximately 15
million workers "exposed to selected agents known
or suspected to be toxic to reproductive

, 53 U. Chi. L. Rev.

&/ Becker, supra note 5, at 1240 n.103.

~ Pe

in that state. Responses were voluntary.
Nearly 20% of responding companies
restricted women allegedly because of
concern for fetal health, even though both
sexes faced similar reproductive risks.//
Workplace restrictions are most
oppressive and extreme in occupations
traditionally characterized by entrenched
cender-based segregation.8/ Johnson
Controls' policy, effectively excluding
women from all employment in its battery
plants, is typical of restrictions in the
traditionally male, petro-chemical industry

where wages are high and women are per-

Med. 267 (1989).

8/ See Becker, supra note 5, at 1237-41.

2 at eR So

a ee ere Saami Bg eaten eRe OUR at. ~——

ceived as marginal workers.2/ In these
jobs, open only recently to women , 29/
sterility has become a term and condition
of employment. Indeed, Mary Craig, one of
the plaintiffs in this case, submitted to
surgical sterilization because she believed
that was "the only way [she] would be
guaranteed continued employment."

Complaint at 479(f) .41/

2/ For example, the policy adopted by the
Olin Corporation in 1978 excluded women from five
of eleven lines of progression-in one division and
some jebs elsewhere. Wright v. Olin Corp., 697
F.2d 1172, 1182 (4th Cir. 1982). General Motors'
policy "virtually forecloses the employment of
women altogether" at its battery plants. Scott,
"Keeping Women in their Place", in Double Exposure
180, 181 (Chavkin, ed. 1984). And see Grant v.
General Motors, appeal filed (6th Cir., No. 89 -
3478). |

10/ See, e.g., Becker, supra note 5, at 1239
n.100.

11/ at American Cyanamid's Willow Islard,
West Virginia plant, women were initial)y told they
would be excluded from most production jobs if they
were fertile. The policy was subsequeritly
narrowed, but only after five women submitted to

(continued...)

Restrictive policies may be less participation in nearly every area of

extreme in other industries, but they economic life:
nonetheless severely limit women's A female bus or taxi driver is
exposed to noxious fumes and the
loyment opportunities. Both Hayes v. risk of accidents, all hazardous
er | i to a child she carries. Would it
Shelby Memorial Hospital, 726 F.2d 1543 follow that taxi and bus compa-
nies can decline to hire women?
(llth Cir. 1984) and Zuniga v. Kleberg _That an employer could forbid
pregnant employees to drive cars,
County Hospital, 692 F.2d 986 (5th Cir. because of the risk accidents
pose to fetuses? For all we can
1982), involved x-ray technicians who were tell, Johnson's argument compels
us to answer "yes" to these
fired when they became pregnant, even questions ....
though both were well within universally Pet.App.92a (Easterbrook, J. dissenting).
accepted safety limits for pregnant Accord, Hayes, 726 F.2d at 1553 n.15.
women.12/ Since virtually no activity is "(L)ike other controversies of great
risk-free, deference to an employer's potential consequence, [this case] demands
analysis of fetal risk could limit women's -+. some insight into social reality."

Pet.App.6la (Cudahy, J., dissenting).
Al/ (...continued)

sterilization. Oil, Chemical & Atomic Workers Clearly, for those women whose jobs are at
, 741 F.2d
444, 445-46 (D.C. Cir. 1984). , stake, and for their families, restrictive
12/ AT&T has also barred pregnant women from policies, whatever their form, present
jobs at computer chip processing plants because of ;
unconfirmed reports of reproductive hazards. issues of economic urgency. Judge Coffey's

ee aan Seen
00 ation,
wh yg po (1987) at 66.

suggestion that women are balancing mere

-10- -11-

"financial reward" against the health of
their future children, Pet.App.2la, is
simply a distortion. The truth is that
most women work because they have to;
whether in single parent or in two wage-
earner households, women's contributions to
family income are critical.43/ Johnson
Controls' policy and others like it thus
require women to make an impossible choice,
between their fertility and their jobs.

These social and economic realities
were recognized by Congress more than a
decade ago when it specifically prohibited
discrimination based on pregnancy:

The loss of a mother's salary

will have a serious effect on the

family unit, making it difficult
for parents to provide their

13/ For example, sixty percent of women in
the labor force are single, divorced, widowed, or
are married to men earning less than $15,000 per
year. Women's Bureau, Office of the Secretary,
U.S. Department of Labor, Fact Sheet No. 88-2,

Facts on Women Workers, 49 (1988).

-12-

children with proper nutrition
and health care. For some women
and their families, it will mean
dissipating family savings and
security, or being forced to go
on welfare.

Policies restricting women's
employment, even if well-intentioned, +2/

have negative health effects. Studies have

14/ Comm. on Labor and Human Resources, 96th
Cong., 2d Sess., Legislative History of the Preg-
nancy Discrimination Act of 1978 (Comm. Print 1979)
at 3 (statement of Senator Williams) (hereinafter
"legis. Hist.").

15/ Johnson asserts a vague "moral" concern
for fetuses, but this assertion lacks credibility.
As Judge Easterbrook noted, it did not consider the
negative effects its policy might have on fetuses.
Pet. App. 94a. Nor did it consider either the
impact of the policy on current children of female
workers or the full range of other serious health
effects on adults. See pp. 21-25, infra. The
extént to which potential tort liability may have
motivated Johnson Controls is unknown on the
limited record available. While suits by offspring
of both male and female workers are possible, there
is no evidence that employers are likely to face
significant liability only from children of female
workers. See Becker, supra note 5, at 1245.
Johnson may have declined to offer this
justification because Title VII does not recognize
a cost-based defense. E.g., Los Angeles Dep't Water
& Power v. Manhart, 435 U.S. 702 (1978).

-13-

shown a full range of adverse social and
health effects associated with both
unemployment and low wage wor. 48/ In
particular, poverty and the lack of
adequate prenatal care are strongly
correlated with low birth weight and
prematurity, the causes of most infant
morbidity and mortality in the United
States.12/ Thus, Judge Easterbrook noted,
"Surely Title VII does not allow an

employer to adopt a policy that simulta-

i6/ eS a eee

See ee ant Relal Eomeion S. Doc. No.
198, 98th Cong., 2d Sess. 3 (1984). See also
Becker, supra note 5, at 1230-31, 1243.

1// see, Binsacca st al., Factors Associated

The Role of Financial Problems, 77 Am. J. Pub.
Health 505 (1987). See also U.S. House of

Representatives, Select Comm. on Children, Youth

and Families, Caring for New Mothers: Pressing
Problems, New Solutions, A Fact Sheet and Hearing
Summary, (unpublished) (Oct. 24, 1989).

-14-

—_ —_— re ee

‘ Se i is th ee es i -— _

Tee ee ee

neously makes both women and their children
worse off." Pet.App.95a.

As a final matter, although Johnson
Controls' policy treats all women as if
they will become pregnant, in fact the
average woman in this country bears only
two children, and working women in
particular carefully time and plan their
pregnancies.18/ fhe decision below would
exclude most women from Title VII's
coverage, allegedly to safeguard their
reproductive functions .+2/ Others would

pay a heavy price, in the loss of procre-

18/ Bureau of the Census, U.S. Department of
Commerce, Current Population Reports, Series P-20,
No. 427, Fertility of American Women: June 1987 at
9 (1988) ; Bureau of the Census, U.S. Department of
Commerce, Special Demographic Analyses, CDS-80-8,

: cade ange at 8 (1983) .

19/ Muller v. Oregon, 208 U.S. 412 (1908), is
instructive in revealing how women have histori-

cally been restrained by law in ways that promote
their childbearing activities and require them to
discharge maternal functions in specific ways.

-15-

ative freedom, to secure their statutory
rights.

B. This Case Is Important To The

Development Of Rational Workplace.

Health Policy.

Under a literal reading of Title VII,
as amended by the Pregnancy Discrimination
Act ("PDA") 42 U.S.C.§2000e(k), the sole
issue for judicial determination in a case
challenging a sex/pregnancy-based policy is
whether affected women are being treated
the same for all employment related
purposes as others "similar in their
ability or inability to work"?

Nonetheless, the court below ignored
the plain language of the statute and
adopted an approach which required

examination of the scientific validity of

Johnson Controls' policy. See generally,

Section II, infra. It determined that, in

the occupational context, employers are to

-16-

be given wide discretion in making risk
decisions, Pet.App.49a, even when their
policies discriminate, and that the burden
of persuasion falls on the victim to prove
that such policies are invalid. See infra,
note 34.

The rule in the Seventh Circuit thus
requires women workers to bear the burden
of scientific uncertainty. Other circuits
have adopted a different rule. In both the
Fourth and Eleventh Circuits, the burden of
uncertainty is borne by the employer who
must prove the scientific validity and

necessity of such a policy.29/ As a

20/ Specifically, the Seventh Circuit would
require workers to disprove, inter alia, (1) that
there is a substantial health risk to "the unborn
child" and (2) that "transmission of the hazard ...
occurs only through women." Pet.App. 25a. In
contrast, the Fourth and Eleventh Circuits place
the burden on the employer to show "that the body
of opinion believing that significant risk [to a
fetus] exists is so considerable that, ‘an informed
employer could not responsibly fail to act on the

(continued...)

-17<-

practical matter, the allocation of this
burden is outcome determinative. Practices
that would be defensible under the Seventh
Circuit's approach would likely fail to
withstand scrutiny under the analysis
adopted by the other two circuits.

Inconsistency, however, is only part
of the problem. The decision below reveals
how litigation focusing on a specific risk
may undermine public health goals by
failing to take into account the complex
process by which public risks are
appropriately identified, evaluated, and
managed:

Risk assessment [is]comprised of
some or all of the following

20/ (...contirmed)
assumption that this opinion might be the accurate
one.'" Hayes, 726 F.2d at 1548 (citing Wright, 697
F.2d at 1191). The employer's proof that the
hazard does not affect male reproductive function
must be of similar quality. Id. Evidence that the

employer selectively protects against fetal risk
would indicate pretext. Id. at 1547-8 n.5.

-18-

components: hazard identifi-
cation, dose-response assessment,
exposure assessment, and risk
characterization.... [R]isk
management combines the risk
assessment...with socioeconomic,
technical, political, and other
considerations, to reach a
decision as to whether to control
future exposure...and, if so, the
level of control.

The decision below failed to address
some crucial issues of risk assessment and
risk management, and as to others, made
critical interpretive errors. As a result,
its conclusions are at odds with those
reached by other courts and public health

officials.22/ Specifically, its approach

2// EPA Proposed Amendments to the Guidelines
for the Health Assessment of Suspect Developmental
Toxicants, 54 Fed. Reg. 9386, 9389 (proposed Mar.
6, 1989) (hereafter, "Proposed Guidelines for
Developmental Toxicants") .

22/ These problems are, to some extent,
inherent in litigation, which ordinarily focuses on
a specific risk, and often fails to examine the
alternatives:

[A] regulatory agency can engage in ad
hoc calculations [about risk] because
(continued...)

-19-

is inconsistent with: a) regulatory
conclusions about the effects of lead
exposure; b) scientific consensus about the
mechanisms and effects of reproductive
toxicants; c) wide-spread reliance on the
significance of experimental (animal) data
in making risk assessments; and d) legal
doctrines permitting individuals to engage

in their own risk-benefit analyses.

a.

range oO a

lead. The Seventh Circuit focused its

22/ (...continued)
its iness is not the dispensation of
ve justice.... Courts and

juries, ‘on the other hand, are almost
certain to ignore the difficult half of
the excess risk calculation, dismissing
it as too speculative to be worth the
effort. Nevertheless, if prudent risk
management is the ultimate objective,
we cannot conduct only one half of the
ie ole 3

Rev. 277, 326 (1985) .

-20-

inquiry on the nature and extent of poten-

tial risk to a fetus. The court provides

no explanation or justification for its
LO

exclusive focus on fetal risks, and there

is, in fact, no basis for concluding that

the fetus is entitled to a higher level of

workplace protection than workers them-

selves receive. Nothing in either Title

VII or the Occupational Safety and Health
Act, 29 U.S.C. §651, et seq., permits this
irrational and inherently sex-based
approach to workplace health protection.
The result in the court below is thus at
odds with conclusions reached by federal
regulators as to the range of serious risks

from lead exposure. 23/ The company's

23/ OSHA specifically found that male
workers and their future children require
protection from reproductive injury at the same
level that Johnson Controls "protects" women, Final
Standard for Occupational Exposure to Lead, Medical
Surveillance Guidelines, 29 C.F.R. §1910.1025,

(continued. . -)

-21i-

experts failed to acknowledge these
findings. 24/ The Seventh Circuit "essen-
tially [took] judicial notice that OSHA is
wrong," Pet.App. 94a (Easterbrook, J.,
dissenting), and approved a policy that
recognized wate one, sex-specific risk,

among many documented risks to which

23/ (...contimued)
Appendix C (1989), and rejected an industry
proposal to exclude fertile women from such jobs.
Preamble to the Final Standard For Occupational
Exposure to Lead, 43 Fed. Reg. 52952, 52966 (1978).

The U.S. Environmental Protection Agency
("EPA") has documented effects on the
cardiovascular system in adult males at very low
levels of lead exposure, below those set by Johnson
Controls for women. EPA Regulation of Fuels and
Fuel Additives, Supplemental Notice of Proposed
Rulemaking, 50 Fed. Reg. 9401 (1985). The EPA
concluded that reduction of lead in gasoline would
result in 5,350 fewer myocardial infarctions, 1,115
fewer strokes and 5,160 fewer deaths among white
males aged 40 to 59 in 1986 alone. Environmental

Protection Agency, Costs and Benefits of Reducing
Lead _ in Gasoline: Final Regulatory Impact
Analysis, V-45 (1985).

24/ Because these experts were never
subjected to cross-examination at trial, it is not
clear how they might have responded to specific

questions about the findings of federal health agencies.

-22<

federal health officials accord equivalent
protection. 23/

b. The court misapprehended the sig-

vi ale re duc-

tive harm. The circuit court discounted
evidence of impairment of male reproductive
function. Pet.App. 33a-35a. Its conclu-
sions in this regard are in conflict with
an emerging scientific consensus recog-
nizing~- the significance of all reproductive
impairments and the complex process by
which toxins operate on the reproductive
systems of both men and women:

"Reproductive toxicants'...
impair reproduction by

23/ Where the conclusions of a regulatory
agency have been sustained after careful
consideration, see United Steelworkers of America
Vv. Marshall, 647 F.2d 1189, 1256-58 (D.C. Cir.
1980), cert. denied, 453 U.S. 913 (1981), minimally
a court should conduct a thorough analysis of the
evidence before concluding that health regulators
had failed to make appropriate risk assessments.

Cf. Western Air Lines, Inc. v. Criswell, 472 U.S.
400 (1985).

-23-

interfering with or altering
normal physiologic processes,
regulatory mechanisms, organ
function, or the genetic
integrity of sperm or e993 cells
in an exposed person.

The U.S. Environmental Protection

Agency ("EPA") makes it plain that exposure

of either parent to reproductive toxins can

affect not only sexual function and the
ability to procreate, but also pregnancy
outcome and the health of a future child.
Evidence of injury to sperm is highly
significant:
An increase in abnormal sperm
morphology has been considered
supportive evidence that the
agent has gained access to the

germ cells. Exposure of males to
toxic agents may lead to sperm

26/ Ass'n of Schools of Public Health and
National Institute for Occupational Safety and

Health, Proposed Nat lonal Strategies for the

oy Part 2, at 3 (1988) (hereinafter "NIOSH
Proposed National Strategies") .

-24-

abnormalities in their
progeny.

The National Institute for Occupa-

tional Safety and Health ("NIOSH") con-

cludes that:

All_ undisputed episodes of occupa-
tional disorders of reproduction in

workers.... The weight of scientific
evidence demonstrates that thresholds
exist for nonmutagenic reproductive
and developmental effects so that
exclusionary policies based on sex are
inappropriate and unnecessary in
principle.

c. The court improperly discounted

animal data. The court found that animal

27/ EPA Proposed Guidelines for Assessing

Male Reproductive Risk, 53 Fed. Reg. 24850, 24851
(citations omitted) (1988).

If the effects seen in evaluation of
male reproductive end points are the
result of mutagenic events (e.g.,
interaction with germ-cell DNA), then
there is potential for transmissible
genetic damage.

Id. at 24855. See also Proposed Guidelines for
Developmental Toxicants, supra note 21, at 9390 (1988).

28/ NIOSH Proposed National Strategies, supra

note 26, at 8-9 (emphasis added).

-25-

data demonstrating that lead may cause harm
to offspring from paternal exposure was
"speculative and unconvincing."
Pet.App.34a. As Judge Easterbrook noted,
it is an accepted principal of toxicology
and risk assessment that animal studies
provide valuable, if not essential, data.
Pet.App.96a-97a. The history of regulation
of toxic exposures reveals the critical
relevance of this type of data. For
example, thalidomide was known to cause
birth defects in some, but not all, animal
species before its destructive effects on
humans were observed.22/ If the animal
data had been considered more important,
the tragic birth defects attributable to

that drug might have been avoided.

29/ Proposed Guidelines for Developmental
Toxicants, supra note 21, at 9390.

-26-

Similarly, before it was discovered
that the pesticide DBCP caused sterility in
human males, it was known that DBCP caused
sterility in male animals.329/ Indeed, EPA

concludes that:

in almost all cases [of known human
developmental toxicants], the
experimental animal data would have
predicted a developmental effect in
humans. .

It has thus endorsed the "basic assumption"

that:

an agent that produces an adverse
developmental effect in experi-
mental animals is assumed to pose
a potential hazard to humans.

30/ U.S. Department of Labor, Occupational
Safety and Health Admin., Occupational Exposure to
1,2-Dibromo-3-Chloropropane (DBCP), 43 Fed. Reg.
11514 (1978). See also EPA Intent to Cancel
Registrations of Pesticide Products containing
Dibromochloropropane (DBCP), 50 Fed. Reg. 1122

(1985) (DBCP also carcinogenic and mutagenic in animals).

ay Proposed Guidelines for Developmental
Toxicants, Supra note, 21 at 9390, 9387. As EPA
explains, animal studies can produce information in
a short time period, include a large number of
subjects, and control for potentially confounding
(continued. . .)

-27-

ss > - The Seventh Circuit would
defer to employers' fetal risk assessmen* -
and allow them to impose their value judg-
ments on fuliy competent adult women.
E.g., Pet.App. 492, 58a. In the medical
context, individuals engage in their own
risk-benefit analysis, once federal
regulators have determined tht a
particular drug or treatment, although not
risk free, is nevertheless effective and
beneficial. Physicians and drug manufac-
turers who have properly tested and

manufactured their products, are required

3Y/ (...contimued)
variables, all of which are difficult when studying
humans. Ironically the Seventh Circuit itself
relied on animal data in concluding that lead poses
a risk to the fetus in utero, since some of the
expert opinion it cited was based on animal
studies: E.g., Depositior: of E.K. Silbergeld,
pp.49-52, cited at Pet.App. 15

-28-

to conform to the standards for obtaining
"informed consent" from the patient or, if
the patient is a minor (or a fetus), froma
parent .32/

. * *

The Seventh Circuit's failure to
apply the statute as written requires case
by case determinations of workplace risks.
The result will be a haphazard and con-

fusing array of policies that may conflict
/

=

32/ See, generally, 1 S. Pegalis and H.
Wachsman, American Law of Medical Malpractice at

98-103 (1980) and 2 M. Dixon and F. Woodside, Drug
Product Liability § 11.02[1] (1989). A pregnant
woman's informed consent is binding on the
subsequently born child. Cf. Hughson v. St. Francis
Hospital, 459 N.Y.S.2d 814 (N.Y. App. 1984);
Roberts v. Patel, 620 F. Supp. 323 (N.D. Ill.
1985); Reiser v. Lohner, 641 P.2d 93 (Utah 1982);
Charley v. Cameron, 528 P.2d 1205 (Kan. 1974).
Likewise, a warning provided to a pregnant woman,
if otherwise adequate, is sufficient to preclude a
“failure to warn" claim by the child against the
prescription drug manufacturer. See, e.g., Needham
v. White Laboratories, 847 F.2d 355 (7th Cir.
1988), cert. denied, 454 U.S. 927 (1981); Walker v.

Merck & Co., Inc., 648 F. Supp. 931 (M.D. Ga.
1986), aff'd, 831 F.2d 1069 (llth Cir. 1987).

-29°-

with each other and with the work of
federal health officials. As Judge
Easterbrook noted: e

It is painful to see conflicts of
this kind settled by litigation;
judges cannot unravel medical
mysteries by observing scien-
tists' demeanor on the stand.
This is not how scientists
resolve disputes among themselves
--+. Scientists formulate
hypotheses, collect data, and
apply statistical methods to
assess them; judges and —_
find this process alien.

33/ In litigation, scientific developments
become frozen in time; the record is merely a
snapshot of developments at a particular moment.
But the scientific process is continuing. The

inquiry is shaped by assumptions that derive, in
part, from social forces. Once there is consensus

as to the relevant assumptions, scientific
knowledge accrues through an evolutionary process.
See T. Kuhn, The Structure of Scientific
Revolutions (2d. ed. 1970). At that point,
developments may occur at a rapid pace, supported
by simultaneous refinements of technology and
methodology.

Crises involving thalidomide and other drugs
focused research attention on female-mediated birth
defects. U.S. Department of Health and Human
Services, 34 Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report
537, 538 (Sept. 6, 1985). Less attention has been
directed at male-mediated reproductive effects.

(continued. .

-30-

Pet.App. 90a.

II. REVIEW IS NEEDED TO RESOLVE CONFLICTS
AMONG THE CIRCUITS REGARDING THE
CONSTRUCTION AND APPLICATION OF TITLE
VII OF THE CIVIL RIGHTS ACT.

This case involves critical issues
regarding the meaning and applicability of
Title VII and the PDA in challenges to
"fetal protection" policies. On these
issues, the Seventh, Fourth and the

Eleventh Circuits have taken inconsistent

approaches, and definitive guidance is

necessary. See EEOC v. University of

Pennsylvania, U.S. , 58 U.S.L.W.

4093, 4094 (January 9, 1990).34/ Review is

33/ (...continued)
Becker, supra note 5, at 1259 n.170. This does not
constitute evidence of differential-sensitivity,
but rather may simply reflect that the inquiry is
at a different point in the evolutionary process.
See Needleman and Bellinger, Commentary, 46 Envtl.
Res. 190 (1988).

34/ petitioners have addressed in some detail
the conflict in the circuits with regard to burden
of proof. See Petition at 11, 17-21. Pursuant to

(continued... )

-3l-

further needed because lack of uniformity
and consistency in the courts has presented
grave problems for effective enforcement of
Title VII, as is evident from efforts of
the Equal Opportunity Enforcement Commis-
sion ("EEOC") to reconcile the various ap-
pellate court decisions with its own obli-
gation to give effect to the statutory
mandate.

A. Review Is Needed To Clarify The
Meaning Of The PDA.

The PDA was enacted to insure that
women would not remain marginal workers,
limited by assumptions about pregnancy and

its effects on their capacity to work. 32/

34/ (...contimed)
Rule 37.1 of the Rules of the Supreme Court, Amici
do not present additional argument that this
significant conflict merits the Court's review of

this case, but endorse and adopt Petitioner's argument.

35/ The PDA provides:

The terms 'because of sex' or 'on the
(continued...)

-32-

Its legislative history emphasizes the
serious social and evensnic costs of en-
ployment discrimination against pregnant
women. 26/ This case represents an
opportunity for the Court to clarify the
meaning and application of this important
federal law. The Court has construed the
PDA on two prior occasions, but in neither
instance did it address the primary focus

of the Act, employment discrimination

33/ (...continued)
basis of sex' include ... because of or
on the basis of pregnancy, childbirth or
related medical conditions; and women
affected by pregnancy,- childbirth or
related medical conditions shall be
treated the same for all employment
purposes ... as other persons not so
affected but similar in their ability or
inability to work. 42 U.S.C. §2000e(k) .

38/ ‘These costs include the "devastating
a ee ae eee eee eee anlary
[would] .have on the family unit." Legis. Hist
Supra, note 14, at 116 (Statement of Senator
Williams). See pp. 12-15, supra.

°@

-33-

against women who are or may become
pregnant. 32/

The PDA makes "“dist’.nctions based on
women's ability to bear children sex
discrimination," Pet.App.76a (Easterbrook,
J., dissenting) and therefore mandates the
conclusion that Johnson Controls' policy is
not neutral.38/ The Seventh Circuit
majority virtually ignored the PDA.

Rather, the court purported to rely on

37/ Newport News Shipbuilding and Dry Dock v.
E.O.C. j the
E.E.0.C., 462 U.S. 669 (1987) considered
validity of a health plan that provided female
employees with benefits for pregnancy related
conditions, but denied equivalent benefits to the

spouses male workers. In
: os , 479 U.S.

Savings and Loan Association v. Guerra

272 (1987), the Court considered whether a state
statute requiring employers to provide leave and
reinstatement only to pregnant women was preempted
by Title VII.

38/ Judge Posner agrees that the PDA "shows
that the present case really is a disparate
treatment case, that is, a case of intentional
discrimination ...." Pet.App. 65a.

-34-

Wright v. Olin, 697 F.2d 1172, and Hayes v.
Shelby Memorial Hospital, 726 F.2d 1543.39/
In Wright, the court rejected the
argument that the PDA required the case to
be analyzed as one of overt discrimination:
"Without regard to whether that would make
any difference on the facts of this case,
we reject it as conceptually unsound...."

697 F.2d at 1184 n.17. Without further
mention of the PDA, the Court concluded
that the disparate impact/business neces-
sity model was best suited for analysis of

such an exclusionary policy,492/ in part’

39/ As explained below, those courts took
different approaches to the effect of the PDA.
However, because the elements of the rebuttal case
as set forth in Hayes parallel those of the
business necessity defense articulated in Wright,
see Hayes, 726 F.2d at 1548 n.8, the Johnson
majority was able to find the approaches taken by

the Fourth and Eleventh Circuits similar. Pet.App.
24a-25a.

40/ tt stated that while the "facial

neutrality" of the rule might be subject to logical
(continued...)

=-35-

because the policy could never be defended
as a bona tide coempationss qualification
("BFOQ"), id. at 1185 n.21, the only statu-
tory defense for intentional discrimina-
tion. 42 U.S.C. 2000e-2(e). See Los
Angeles Dep't Water & Power v. Manhart, 435
U.S. 702 (1978).

Unlike the Seventh and the Fourth
Circuits, the Eleventh Circuit did "tend to
Bae that the hospital's restrictive
policy presented a case of overt discrimi-
nation to which the only affirmative
defense is BFOQ. Hayes, 726 F.2d at 1547-
48. It nevertheless treated the policy as
merely raising a presumption of facial
discrimination which could be rebutted by
evidence showing that it was neutral "in

the sense that it effectively and equally

40/ (...contimed)
dispute, the dispute would involve "mere semantic
quibbling." Wright, 697 F.2d at 1186.

-36-

protects the offspring of aii employees."
But see Connecticut v. Teal, 457 U.S. 440
(1982) and Manhart, 435 U.S. at 716-17.
Decisions in the Seventh, Eleventh and
Fourth Circuits are thus in substantial
disarray with regard to the significance of
the PDA. In contrast, they are uniform in
their apparent reliance on benign motive to
justify a departure from the statutory
scheme. Although it is well-established in
Title VII that good faith or benign motive
is not a defense to discrimination, 41/
these courts have altered the rules in
cases involving patently discriminatory

policies allegedly intended to protect

41/ Albemarle Paper Co. v. Moody, 422 U.S.
405, 422-23 (1975). Cf. Orr v. Orr, 440 U.S. 268
(1979) (equal protection case). A showing of a
facially discriminatory policy triggers the employ-
er's affirmative obligation to prove the exisence
of a BFOQ. Cf. Trans World Airlines, Inc. v.
Thurston, 469 U.S. 111, 121-22 (1985) (age discri-
mination case). See also Petition at 17-19, 25-26.

-37-

against fetal harm. Defendants may not
simply pick and choose among defenses,
however, the defense must match the prima
facie case. |

B. Review Is Required To Define The
BFOQ Defense.

The Seventh Circuit held, in the
alternative, that Johnson Controls' policy
was justified as a BFOQ. In this respect,
it conflicts with both Wright and Hayes.
Both the Fourth and Eleventh Circuits
explicitly acknowledged that a sex-based
rule barring fertile women could not meet
the stringent BFOQ standard because there
was no showing or even assertion that women
were unable to perform the jobs at issue.
Wright, 697 F.2d at 1185 n.21; Hayes, 726
F.2d at 1549. As Judge Easterbrook noted,
the PDA "has a built-in BFOQ standard:
unless pregnant employees differ from

others ‘in their ability or inability to

-38-

work,' they must be treated 'the same' as
other employees." Pet.App. 73a.

Johnson Controls does not assert that
women are incapable of performing the jobs
from which they are barred. The Seventh
Circuit concluded, however, that the "in-
dustrial safety-based concern of protecting
the unborn child from lead exposure" was
part of the "essence" of Johnson Controls'
battery-making business, and that the sex-
based policy was reasonably necessary to
further this objective. Pet.App. 54a.
Overall, the court construed the BFOQ

defense to "give meaningful and thoughtful

consideration to the interests of all those
, ‘ ; ;

affected by a company's policy, in this

case the employer, the employee and the

-39-

unborn child." Pet.App. 42a (emphasis in
original) .42/

Until the Seventh Circuit's decision
below, neither this Court nor any federal
appellate court conducting a BFOQ analysis
had ever held that the essence of the
business extends beyond the specific

requirements and demands of the particular

job.43/ cf., e.g., Western Air Lines, Inc.

42/ The court below adopted a policy of
deference to employers' decisionmaking in its BFOQ
analysis. Pet.App.49a. This’constitutes yet
another serious erosion of important Title VII
principles. Cf. , 426 U.S. 229,
247 (1976) (Title VII prohibits deference to the
"seemingly reasonable" acts of employers) ;
Criswell, 472 U.S. at 421-22 and n.36 (employers

to show more than a "rational basis in
fact" to satisfy BFOQ standard of Age
Discrimination in Employment Act).

43/ ven customer preferences do not justify
facial discrimination, as the Seventh Circuit
itself has - See Rucker v. Higher
Baucation Promeg meme Board, 669 F.2d 1179, 1181 (7th Cir.
1982) (black clientele's prefererse for black ~
ceusthaan Gans Gai Sain GE Gineideinatcen) |
Fernandez v. Wynn Oil Co. 653 F.2d 1273, 1276-77

9th Cir. 1981) (customer preference does not
7 ™ ie (continued. . .)

-40-

v. Criswell, 472 U.S. 400 (1985) (essence

of airline's business is safe transporta-

tion of passengers); Dothard v. Rawlinson,

433 U.S. 321 (1977). (essence of prison
official's job is to maintain prison
control and security) ; Tullis v. Lear
School, Inc., 874 F.2d 1489 (11th Cir.
1989) (essence of school bus driver's
business is safe transport of passengers) ;
Chambers v. Omaha Girls Club, Inc., 834
F.2d 697 (8th Cir. 1987) (essence of
business is to provide role model for
adolescent girls). There is simply no
basis for the Seventh Circuit's conclusion
that the statute permits employers to stand

in loco parentis for the potential fetuses

43/ (...continued)
qualify gender as a BFOQ); Diaz v. Pan American
, 442 F.2d 385, 389 (5th Cir.), cert.
denied, 404 U.S. 950 (1971) (customer preference
for female flight attendants does not justify
policy excluding males).

-41-

of its women workers. Such a result would
be beyond the scope of the BFOQ provision
and directly contrary to the ppa.44//

C. Review Is Necessary To Provide
Guidance To The Enforcement
npaaey . |

The EEOC's duty to enforce Title VII

imposes practical demands to investigate
and litigate cases in all jurisdictions.
Conflicts among the circuits on the
appropriate framework for analyzing "fetal
hazard" cases have made this a virtually

impossible task. This is_evident from the

EEOC's recent effort to clarify its
approach. See EEOC, Policy Guidance on

44/ While achieving workplace safety is a
laudable and desirable goal, it should not and need
not be accomplished at the cost of prohibited forms
of employment discrimination. The potential for
such discrimination extends to all workers, as
genetic characteristics may be associated with
differential susceptibility to workplace hazards.
While the ability to predict such susceptibility
may be useful to individuals in making employment
decisions, these predictive tools should not be
used as a basis for discrimination.

-42-

United Auto Workers v. Johnson Controls,

-Inec., Daily Lab. Rep. (BNA) No. 18, at D-1

(January 26, 1990). (Pet.App. 127a, et
seq.) .42/

As the EEOC observes, the Seventh
Circuit's decision in this case represents
a "significant departure from the analyti-
cal framework previously developed by the
courts." The EEOC has thus termed "prob-
lematic" the Seventh Circuit's "hybrid
approach" to a claim of facial discrimina-
tion:

[I]t is more consistent with
Title VII's structure and purpose
to allow a defendant in a case
challenging a facially discrimin-

atory fetal protection policy
only the statutory defense of

Fair Empl. Prac. Manual (BNA) 401:6013 (Oct. 3,
1988), the EEOC had recognized that exclusionary
policies constitute overt sex discrimination, "per
se violations" of Title VII. As an interim
measure, it instructed its staff to follow the lead
of the existing court decisions.

-43-

proving that sex is a ‘bona

fide occupational qualifica-

tion...'

Pet.App. 134a (citations omitted).

The Commission's position, however,
leaves unresolved a number of key issues.
Recognizing the conflicting rules in the
circuits with regard to the appropriate
defense and the type of evidence that would
establish it, the Commission frankly
requests "judicial interpretation of the
language of the BFOQ provision." Pet.App.
135a. In part, because of the "reality"
that each of the circuit courts has
permitted some defense to an exclusionary
policy, id. at n.6, the Commission is
"unwilling to say that no possible defense
is available," id. Nevertheless, it recog-
nizes “considerable merit" in Judge Easter-

brook's views to that effect. Id. at n.7.

-44-

|

In sum, the Commission is torn between
the practical necessity to investigate and
prepare cases for courts that have
permitted defenses and the obligation to
enforce the statute as written. The lack
of consensus in the courts has created
overwhelming enforcement difficulties,
which can only be resolved by guidance from
this Court, as the EEOC itself suggests.

CONCLUSION

For the above-stated reasons, the

petition for a writ of certiorari should be

granted.

Respectfully submitted,

JOAN E. BERTIN
(Counsel of Record)
ELISABETH A. WERBY
American Civil Liberties
Union Foundation
232 West 43rd Street
New York, New York 10036

MARLA HASSNER
30 Rockefeller Plaza
New York, NY 10112

Of Counsel

Attorneys for Amici Curiae

March 1, 1990

-45-

wa

PPENDIX

Statements of Interest of Amici Curiae
The AMERICAN CIVIL LIBERTIES UNION
(ACLU) is a nationwide, non-partisan
organization of over 250,000 members. The
Women's Rights Project of the ACLU

Foundation was established to work toward

the elimination of the pervasive problem of

gender-based discrimination. It has
participated in the litigation of many
cases challenging sex discrimination in
employment and discrimination against women
of child-bearing capacity. The American
Civil Liberties Union of Wisconsin is the
Wisconsin state affiliate of the ACLU.
The AMALGAMATED CLOTHING AND TEXTILE
WORKERS UNION (ACTWU) is an international
trade union, with 260,000 members in the
apparel, textile and related industries.
It has many members -- both women and men

A-1

-- exposed to lead and other reproductive
chemical hazards in a wide variety of
industries. Many of these workers would be
directly affected by the principles
established in this case.

The AMERICAN ASSOCIATION OF UNIVERSITY
WOMEN (AAUW), a national organization of
over 140,000 college-educated women and
men, is strongly committed to promoting and
achieving legal, social, educational and
economic equity for women. For more than a
century AAUW has worked toward those goals
by responsible participation in public
policy issues at local, state, national and
international levels. AAUW supports
constitutional protection for the rights of
all individuals and opposes all forms of
discrimination. Therefore, AAUW has a
strong interest in the outcome of this

case.

The AMERICAN FEDERATION OF STATE,

COUNTY AND MUNICIPAL EMPLOYEES, AFL-CIO,

(AFSCME), which represents approximately
one million public employees, is the
nation's largest public employee labor
union. AFSCME represents many men and
women in the health care and sanitation
industries whose jobs continuously expose
them to hazardous toxic substances and
chemicals.

The AMERICAN PUBLIC HEALTH
ASSOCIATION, founded in 1872, is a non-
governmental society whose membership,
including its state and local affiliates,
is comprised of approximately 50,000 health
professionals interested in promoting high
scientific standards, action programs, and
public policy for good health. Its
reproductive health policy, adopted in

1979, “condemns the corporate practice of

A-3

forcing women to choose between their jobs
and the right to reproduce [and urges
governmental agencies to develop]
occupational exposure standards that
protect women, men, and the fetus."

The AMERICAN SOCIETY OF LAW AND
MEDICINE was founded in 1972 to provide a
forum for interdisciplinary discussion of
the complex issues at the interface of law,
medicine and health. Ongoing informational
efforts include the publication of two
quarterly journals, Law, Medicine and
Health Care, a leading forum for
interprofessional analysis of current
issues, and the American Journal of Law and
Medicine, a law review co-published with
the Boston University School of Law. For
the reasons stated in the attached brief,
the Society opposes discriminatory policies

that undermine public health goals.

A-4

The CENTRAL NEW YORK COUNCIL ON

- OCCUPATIONAL SAFETY AND HEALTH is a not-

for-profit organization dedicated to
workers' health and safety rights. Its
members include 40 area union locals,
individual organized and unorganized
workers, concerned health providers,
attorneys, educators, and others. It
believes the Seventh Circuit Court of
Appeals decision in this case undermines
the OSHA lead standard and the health of
all workers. Furthermore, the decision
simultaneously restricts women's employment
opportunities and leaves men exposed to
hazardous work conditions.

The COALITION OF LABOR UNION WOMEN is
a membership organization of 20,000 female
and male trade unionists who promote the
rights of working women. The Coalition of

Labor Union Women has, since its founding

A-5§

in 1974, advocated workplace rules and
practices that protect all workers.

The COMMITTEE FOR RESPONSIBLE GENETICS
is a group of approximately 600 scientists
and others concerned with social and
ethical implications of biotechnology,
including reproductive technology, which
promotes the broadest possible public
participation in development of reievant
decisions. The Committee for Responsible
Genetics opposes exclusionary employment
practices because they violate workers'
civil rights and fail to ensure the
reproductive health of all employees in the
workplace.

The COMMUNICATION WORKERS OF AMERICA
(CWA) is an international trade union,
representing 650,000 workers in information
industries. It has many members -- both

men and women -- exposed to toxic chemicals

A-6

in their work who are directly affected by
the principles established in this case.

The EMPLOYMENT LAW CENTER is the
principal project of the Legal Aid Society
of San Francisco and is nationally
recognized for its expertise regarding
state and federal laws prohibiting

employment discrimination. As an

Set

“~

organization concerned with securing full
equality in employment opportunities, the
Employment Law Center has a strong interest
in this case.

The ENVIRONMENTAL DEFENSE FUND (EDF),
is a non-profit advocacy organization with
over 60,000 members nationwide. Since its
founding in 1967, EDF has been a in
efforts to reduce human exposure to
environmental toxins, including substances
such as lead that are known to have serious

reproductive and other health effects. EDF

A-7

has participated extensively in
administrative, judicial and legislative
proceedings on the control of lead in
gasoline, drinking water, incinerator ash,
point source emissions, consumer products,
and in the workplace. EDF's concerns about
lead toxicity extend to male-mediated
effects of lead on reproductive function as
well as female-mediated reproductive
effects and other health effects on adults
and juveniles of both sexes.

The INTERNATIONAL CHEMICAL WORKERS
UNION, AFL-CIO is a national labor
organization headquartered in Akron, Ohio.
It has over 300 affiliated local unions,
in over 500 bargaining units representing
about 50,000 hourly workers in the U.S.
chemical industry. Many of its members are
occupationally exposed to lead. The Union

is concerned that a company may

A-8

discriminate in work assignments rather
than reducing exposure levels to make the
workplace safe for workers of both sexes.
This is a particularly critical concern
with exposure to material such as lead,
which has demonstrable reproductive effects
for men as well as women.

The MASSACHUSETTS COALITION FOR
OCCUPATIONAL SAFETY AND HEALTH (MassCOSH)
is a coalition of 85 labor organizations,
representing over 150,000 workers and 150
occupational health professionals in
Massachusetts. MassCOSH is dedicated to
improving health and safety conditions in
the workplace through technical assistance,
training, and education and political
action. MassCOSH, which has a reproductive
hazards project. and regularly conducts
workshops with member locals regarding

reproductive hazards in the workplace,

A-9

believes that all workers are entitled to a
safe workplace.

The NATIONAL ABORTION RIGHTS ACTION
LEAGUE (NARAL), has over 400,000 members in
40 state affiliates and the national
organization. Founded in 1969, NARAL is
the largest national organization dedicated
solely to keeping abortion safe, legal and
accessible. NARAL recognizes that
guaranteeing women the full range of
reproductive choices is critical to women's
autonomy and equality.

The NATIONAL BLACK WOMEN'S HEALTH
PROJECT, is a health, education and
advocacy organization which works to
improve the quality of life for African-
American women. It works to promote non-
discriminatory approaches to insure that
all African-American women have access to

health services, including abortion, that

A-10

maximize maternal health, reduce infant
mortality and produce healthy babies.
Because poor African-American women are
particularly vulnerable to economic
coercion, the impact of intetensey
policies may be particularly severe for
them.

The NATIONAL ORGANIZATION FOR WOMEN
(NOW) is a national membership organization
of approximately 150,000 women and men in
about 700 chapters throughout the country.
It is a leading advocate of women's
equality in all areas ef life. NOW has as
one of its priorities the right to full
employment opportunity without sacrificing
health or reproductive rights.

The NATIONAL WOMEN'S HEALTH NETWORK
(NWHN) is a public interest organization
whose membership, comprised of 10,000

individuals and 400 organizations

A-11

representing 500,000 women, seeks to give
women a voice in the health care system in
the United States. NWHN supports women's
right to have complete control over their
bodies, particularly the right to decide
when, where and how to give birth, and
opposes policies which condition employment
on the loss of fertility.

The NATIONAL WOMEN'S POLITICAL CAUCUS
(NWPC), is a nationwide membership
organization dedicated to the election and
appointment of more vomen to political
office. NWPC also works to ensure equality
for women in all aspects of life.

The NATIONAL WOMEN'S LAW CENTER is a
non-profit legal advocacy organization
dedicated to the advancement and protection
of women's rights and the corresponding
elimination of sex discrimination from all

facets of American life. Since 1972, the

A-12

g

Center has worked to secure equal
opportunity in employment for women
through, inter alia, the. full enforcement
of Title VII. It has a deep and abiding
interest in assuring that victims of
employment discrimination on the basis of
sex, including pregnarcy, have their rights
vindicated under the law.

The NATURAL RESOURCES DEFENSE COUNCIL,
INC. (NRDC), is a non-profit, membership
corporation headquartered in New York City.
NRDC has a national membership composed of
over 120,000 citizens dedicated to the
defense and preservation of the human
environment and the natural resources of
the United States. Among the purposes of
NRDC is to ensure that the laws designed to
protect human health are fully and properly
enforced and that all necessary steps are

taken to reduce all risks, to males and to

«

A=-13

\

females, resulting from exposure to toxic
chemicals.

The NEW YORK COUNCIL ON OCCUPATIONAL
SAFETY AND HEALTH (NYCOSH) is a non-profit
membership organization dedicated to the
right of all workers to safe and healthy
working conditions. Its membership
includes over 160 union locals and regional
councils, as well as individual workers,
medical and legal professionals and
community activists, all working together
to eliminate workplace hazards. NYCOSH,
which has a reproductive hazards committee,
believes that exclusionary policies are not
the appropriate solution to reproductive
hazards in ti workplace.

9 TO 5, .WATIONAL ASSOCIATION OF

WORKING WOMEN, is a nationwide membership

group dedicated to improving the status and

working conditions of office workers. For

A-14

more than fifteen years, 9 to 5 has been
concerned with bringing attention to the
health and safety hazards faced by working
women. We strongly believe that employers
should meet their legal obligations to
provide safe workplaces to all workers, and

are opposed to the exclusion of women as a

substitute for correcting job hazards.

The NORTH CAROLINA OCCUPATIONAL SAFETY
AND HEALTH PROJECT (NCOSH) is a private,
non-profit membership organization working
to improve occupational safety and health
conditions for all North Carolinians.
Approximately 70 local unions representing
27,000 workers and 400 health and legal
professicnals concerned about occupational
health are NCOSH members. NCOSH believes
that exclusionary employment practices and
policies are inappropriate and illegal

solutions to the problem of dangerous

A-15

occupational exposures. Exclusionary
policies violate the rights of women to
pursue equal employment and the rights of
all workers to a safe workplace.

The NOW LEGAL DEFENSE AND EDUCATION
FUND (NOW LDEF) was founded as a non-profit
women's rights law center in 1970 by
founders of the National Organization for
Women, and since that time has consistently
worked on important legal cases and in
advocacy and public education concerning
the rights of women. NOW LDEF has
particular concern for women's employment,
reproductive and economic rights, all of
which are threatened by irrational and
discriminatory workplace policies such as
that involved in this case.

The OCCUPATIONAL SAFETY AND HEALTH LAW
CENTER (OSHLC) is a public interest law

firm which represents individuals,

A-16

families, organizations, and unions in
health and safety matters. The OSHLC has
an on-going concern with regard to
reproductive rights and the protection of
both men and women on the job from any risk
to those rights.

The OIL, CHEMICAL AND ATOMIC WORKERS
INTERNATIONAL UNION (OCAW) has 100,000
members, a substantial number of whom are
employed in industries and are potentially
affected by exclusionary empl -yment
policies similar to the one at issue in
this case. The OCAW opposes exclusionary
policies which single out members of one
sex, and it actively seeks to develop and
encourage the use of policies which will
protect the health of all workers.

The PHILADELPHIA AREA PROJECT ON
OCCUPATIONAL SAFETY AND HEALTH (PHILAPOSH)

is a private, non-profit corporation which

A-17

seeks to promote the health and safety of ;
employees in Eastern Pennsylvania, Southern
New Jersey, and the State of Delaware.
PHILAPOSH has approximately 135 affiliated
local unions with a combined individual
membership of over 150,000. PHILAPOSH has
regularly participated in litigation which
raises important health and safety issues,
either as a party or as amicus curiae.
Over the last several years, PHILAPOSH has
presented a number of workshops and
conferences on reproductive hazards in the
workplace and issues of particular concern
to women workers.

PLANNED PARENTHOOD FEDERATION OF
AMERICA (PPFA) is a not-for-profit
corporation organized in 1922. It is the
nation's oldest and largest voluntary
family planning agency. Its 180 affiliates

in forty-three states and the District of

A-18

Columbia provide medical, educational and
counseling services to meet the family
planning needs of over two million
Americans per year. PPFA believes that the
ability to regulate one's own fertility is
a basic human right and is concerned that
female workers not be penalized in their
exercise of that right. The organization
further believes that a resolution of this
matter can and must be found that protects
the health interests of all workers of both
sexes and their children without
sacrificing the workers' right to equal
employment opportunity.

The ROCHESTER COUNCIL ON OCCUPATIONAL
SAFETY AND HEALTH (ROCOSH) is a non-profit
organization comprised of unions, health
and legal professionals, industrial
hygienists, educators, and concerned

individuals who believe all working people

A-19

are entitled to a safe and healthy

workplace. Our union affiliates represent

about 32,000 persons. ROCOSH is interested

in this case because of its belief that

working people should not have to choose

between making a living or preserving their

life and health. Upholding Johnson
Controls' "fetal protection policy" would
pervert OSHA's mandate that employers
provide a safe workplace and threaten
womens' employment opportunities. If
allowed to stand, this decision could have
implications for several workplaces in the
Rochester area.

SANTA CLARA CENTER FOR OCCUPATIONAL
SAFETY AND HEALTH (SC-COSH) is a group
representing 170 labor unions, workers and

occupational health professionals in

northern California, dedicated to improving

health and safety conditions in the
workplace.

The SERVICE EMPLOYEES INTERNATIONAL
UNION (SEIU) represents 925,000 workers in
the U.S. and Canada. Its workers work
primarily in the service sector, in a broad
spectrum of workplaces including hospitals,
offices, and food service facilities where
they are exposed to toxic substances that
adversely affect reproduction and health
generally. The use of exclusionary
practices, instead of a comprehensive
approach to health protection, could
threaten the economic status of a large

number of members.

The SILICON VALLEY TOXICS COALITION

’

based in San Jose, California, includes
labor unions, environmental organizations,
doctors and other public health workers,

firefighters, clergy, and neighborhood

A-21

organizations. It advocates that industry
and government must protect the public
health and works to prevent exposure of the
public to toxic substances.
The UNITED MINE WORKERS OF AMERICA,
[INTERNATIONAL UNION (UMWA)] is a 100-year
old organization which represents
approximately 150,000 miners and retirees
in North America. The UMWA is committed to
the complete elimination of impediments to
job opportunities based on race and gender.
The UMWA believes that employers must
remove, and protect against, work-related
health hazatds. Barring women or others
from jobs due to those hazards is an
evasion of the employer's responsibility
for workplace health and safety.
Moreover, such exclusionary policies do not
promote safety because men remain exposed

to the hazards. Rather, these practices

A-22

shift the risks and burdens of an unhealthy
work environment to those least able to
bear them.

The WESTERN NEW YORK COUNCIL ON
OCCUPATIONAL SAFETY AND HEALTH (WNYCOSH) is
an organization comprised of 60 area union
locals (representing 55,000 workers) and a
number of health professionals in the
Western New York area. WNYCOSH is part of
a consortium of organizations, including
the Cornell-Chemical Hazards Information
Program, the SUNY Buffalo Toxicolegy
Research Center, and the Union Occupational
Health Center Clinic, which cooperate in
providing educational and technical
assistance services to workers in the
region. WNYCOSH is concerned that any
judicial decision that_undermines the OSHA

lead standard is inappropriate since there

is evidence that lead constitutes a
reproductive hazard for both sexes.

WOMEN EMPLOYED, based in Chicago,
Illinois, has a national membership of
3,000. It assists working women with
problems of sex discrimination and health
and safety issues. The policy at issue in
this case threatens womens' employment
rights and is thus of concern to Women
Employed.

The WOMEN'S LAW PROJECT (WLP) is a
non-profit feminist law firm which seeks to
advance the legal and economic status of
women through litigation, public education,
and individual anseling. During the past
fifteen years of its existence, WLP's
activities have included work in the areas
of reproductive freedom, pregnancy
discrimination, and employment

discrimination. WLP is dedicated to

A-24

eliminating discrimination against women
based on childbearing capacity and to
securing the right of women workers to
equal access to safe workplaces.

WOMEN'S LEGAL DEFENSE FUND is a
national advocacy organization working to
advance the rights of women in the areas of
work and family. The Fund devotes a major
portion of its resources to combating sex
discrimination in employment through
litigation of a significant employment
discrimination counseling program, and
through agency advocacy before the EEOC and
other federal agencies that are charged
with enforcement of the equal opportunity
laws. It has had particular interest in
implementation of the Pregnancy
Discrimination Act, which it worked to pass

in 1978.

NICHOLAS A. ASHFORD, J.D., PH.D., is
an Associate Professor of Technology and
Policy at the Massachusetts Institute of
Technology. He has written extensively
regarding reproductive hazards in the
workplace. His publications include "Legal
Considerations of Reproductive Hazards in
Industry in the United States," in Pregnant
Women at Work, edited by Geoffrey
Chamberlain (The Royal Society of Medicine
and The Macmillan Press Ltd., London,
1984), and "The Control of Reproductive
Hazards in the Workplace: A Prescription
for Prevention," (with Charles C. Caldart),
Industrial Relations Law Journal, Volume 5,
Issue 3, pp. 523-563 (1983).

DAVID BELLINGER, PH.D., and HERBERT
NEEDLEMAN, M.D., are professors at the
Harvard University School of Medicine and

the University of Pittsburgh School of

A-26

Medicine, respectively. They join this
brief because their research was cited by
Johnson Controls as supporting its sex-
based policy, a conclusion they believe is
insupportable. They seek to ensure that
their research is placed in its proper
biological and epidemiological context.

EULA BINGHAM, M.D., is a professor of
environmenta] health at the University of
Cincinnati College of Medicine. She was
the Assistant Secretary of Labor for the
Occupational Safety and Health
Administration (OSHA) from 1977 through
January, 1981, during which time OSHA's
lead standard was promulgated. Thus, she
was the government official responsible for
reviewing and evaluating the submissions
regarding OSHA's lead standard.

PHILIP J. LANDRIGAN, M.D., is the

Director of the Division of Environmental

A-27

and Occupational Medicine at the Mount
Sinai School of Medicine. Previously, he
held numerous positions at the National
Institute for Occupational safety and
Health (NIOSH) and the Centers for Disease
Control (CDC), including Chief of
Environmental Hazards Activity, Cancer and
Birth Defects Division at cDc.

DONALD R. MATTISON, M.D., is a
Professor of Obstetrics and Gynecology and
Professor of Interdisciplinary Toxicology
at the University of Arkansas for Medical
Sciences. He is the Chairman of the Human
Toxicology and Risk Assessment Program,
National Research Council of the National
Academy of Sciences and has published
extensively on reproductive toxicology.

JOHN F. ROSEN, M.D., is the Head of
the Division of Pediatric Metabolism at the

Albert Einstein College of Medicine. In

A-28

1984, he served as the Chairman of the
Centers of Disease Control's Advisory
Committee on Childhood Lead Poisoning
Prevention, which has been cited by Johnson
Controls in support of its policy. opr.
Rosen does not concur with the conclusions
drawn by defendant from this report.

JEANNE STELLMAN, PH.D., is Associate
Professor of Clinical Health, School of
Public Health, Columbia University. Dr.
Stellman has directed the Women's
Occupational Health Resource Center, a non-
profit organization that generates
information regarding the occupational
health needs of women workers through
authoritative publications and research.

DIRECTORS OF OCCUPATIONAL MEDICINE

PROGRAMS
The following are directors of

university and hospital affiliated

A-29

occupational medicine programs. As
specialists in the relationship between
diseases and work or environment, they are
especially concerned with preventing
occupational health hazards. Their
organizational affiliations are listed for
identification purposes only:

EDDY BRESNITZ, M.D., Director of
Occupational Medicine at the Medical
College of Pennsylvania, Philadelphia,
Pennsylvania.

PHILIP J. LANDRIGAN, M.D., Director of
the Division of Environmental and
Occupational Medicine at the Mount Sinai
School of Medicine, New York, New York.

MARK CULLEN, M.D., Director of Yale-
New Haven Occupational Medicine Program.

MARVIN S. LEGATOR, M.D., Director of

Environmental Toxicology, Department of

Preventive Medicine and Community Health,
University of Texas Medical Branch.

LAURA WELCH, M.D., Director of the
Occupational Medicine Program at the George
Washington University Medical Center,

Washington, D.C.

A-31

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385012_0705%3A12. Public record. Not legal advice.
