# Amicus Curiae Brief — Trinova Corp. v. Michigan Dept. of Treasury

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385012_0701%3A10

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1991
- **Citation:** 498 U.S. 358

## Text

-
-
&
‘
’, > , ’ ‘
%
‘
s
‘

a;

t uot

+ whe Be ee
4 x ee a

Ts
t ¢
o4
PT e
: P
Le? a
ne: rie OPC. aie
P > t® alee:
“a” —* ;

pied Be
" s

’
~

ae s

PA _
- 4 Caren > 50 bots PE fee ‘Fae R? Sf

Lh ngs eS
ba * a |

a

BLE COPY

sep FF ea pwr Sue
; >

Oot :
a oe ae i
We >» § ‘a cae

ee a

¥ ais f as

" : *
:? . 4 oe ats bak Sa

. ee
“ ft 5G F yes

Mt Delt

aie

- BEST AVAILA

- «

: fe
“ ug Ter
oS; f PB! aie -

tis inate area ~

hm Alien”. 5

¥
*

QUESTION PRESENTED

Whether Michigan’s Single Business Tax, Mich. Comp.
Laws § 208.1 et seq., is consistent with the Commerce and
Due Process Clauses of the federal Constitution.

(i)

TABLE OF CONTENTS

EE EE

THE SBT IS FAIRLY APPORTIONED AND
THEREFORE IS CONSISTENT WITH
THE COMMERCE AND DUE PROCESS
eee

I.

A.

B.

The SBT Is A Tax On The Unitary Course
es MeOGIWieW on.

Costs Of Production Or Value Added Cannot
Be Ascertained Through Geographical Ac-
ES

Sales Are Crucial Components Of The Uni-
tary Course Of Business Activity And May
Be Used To Apportion Petitioner’s Tax
Nee sestenecsoeecnccoaenes

The SBT Should Be Upheld As A Variant
Of A Concededly Constitutional Gross Re-
Teens ssuseceenncerceces

Il. THE SBT DOES NOT DISCRIMINATE
AGAINST INTERSTATE COMMERCE ...........

A

(ili)

18

iv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES: Page
Amerada Hess Corp. v. New Jersey Taxation Di-
vision, 109 S.Ct. 1617 (1989) . 0... auiaeicaell passim
American Trucking Ass’ns v. Scheiner, 483 US.
Se IE NS AO a Ne 29
Armco Inc. v. Hardesty, 467 U.S. 638 (1984) . 27

Armco Steel Corp. v. Department of Revenue, 102
N.W.2d 552 (Mich.), app. dismissed, 364 U.S.

Bee IN aise eee ee eee 6, 21, 22
ASARCO Ine. v. Idaho State Tax Comm’ n, 458

U.S. 307 (1982) Pee A SEAS as
Bass, Ratcliff & Gretton, Ltd. v. State Tax Comm’n,

Se ks en I a cakclice tent, ee ee 9
Boston Stock Exchange v. State Tax Comm'n, 429

eh RE i iisesiencninadeciec eden aoe ieee . 37,29
Butler Brothers v. McColgan, 8315 U.S. 501

INE oscsvisnenecstanmcoctedeieiastesd eee ee 9
Compiete Auto Transit, Ine. v. Brady, 430 U.S. 274

(| Snr ma me rte MIO 7, 8, 22, 23
Container Corp. v. Franchise Tax Board, 463 U.S.

I II ccicarnsancinesatrninncamanniaumnes 9,10, 17, 18, 19
D.H. Holmes Co. Me Namare, 108 S.Ct. 1619
sy Wy IE nsusacncnsetnenncsaneasncnbiiideddca abiotic ae 19
Exxon Corp. v. Department of Revenue, 447 U.S.

207 (1980) . ae. &, 9, 16, 18, 19, 20
Exxon Corp. v. Gov ernor . of Maryland, 437 U.S.

BET TOPE sctecccsscremninincinannae te 28
Ford Motor Co. v. Beanchamp, 308 U. S, 331

L,I a ee AMM SMe ae 18
General Motors Corp. v. W ashington, 377 US S 436

(1964) .. phnanbacns cokancaisaetparteamatmeie Mn 22
Goldberg v. ie eet, 109 S.Ct. 582 (1989) ... 6a
Halliburton Oil Well Co. v. Reily, 373 U.S. 64

CIID cacsnncoiesinicceittnncuccdcumcsen tech ah Se ee 29

Hughes v. Alexandria Scrap Ce: 426 US. 794

RII ones cnnscmnetssetinbinctabn eee 27
Japan Line, Ltd. v. County of Los Angeles, 441

U.S. 484 (1979) ................. co 20
Maryland v. Louisiana, 451 U. S. 725 (1981). ee 29

Vv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Page
McGoldrick v. Berwind-White Coal Mining Co.,
eens Te I iseeicincntedanneedasthacsientibcniclanpaantitie 22
McLeod v. J.E. Dilworth Co., 322 U.S. 327
ED sssvilinloiscsnicscccaciicstinatisasatisisaienialenilasaniaispesiabiaicaniiane 22, 25
Mobil Oil Corp. v. Commissioner of Taxes, 445
Be, I ED - acnitieivavbeniniaaceaistesbiclamacnccsdedhcidnc a tenad 8,9, 17
Mobil Oil Corp. v. Department of Treasury, 373
Rf mB ee | en ee 2-3, 14, 25
Moorman Manufacturing Co. v. Bair, 4837 U.S.
SN? 1 IIIT ieiesintziiabsntsibcncdemeabiealeetamienticieiiausaiel 8, 22, 23, 30
National Geographic Society v. California Board
of Equalization, 430 U.S. 551 (1977) ................... 22
Standard Pressed Steel Co. v. Washington Reve-
nue Dep’t, 419 U.S. 560 (1975) ............................. 22
Town & Country Dodge, Inc. v. Department of
Treasury, 362 N.W.2d 618 (Mich. 1984) ............. 13-14
Tyler Pipe Industries, Inc. v. Washington Dep’t of
Revenue, GBR UB. BEB (IGRI) cccncccccnccsecccccss.s00ss 22
Underwood Typewriter Co. v. Chamberlain, 254
Ss. ee SII sccniseciticcsssisceensstiesetsiadentenmteanadenabiidieaibabisinaitan 9,10
Westinghouse Electric Corp. v. Tully, 466 U.S. 388
UII sia:as 1c diiisndt heen ecinatelbeas ed dilecdbiaseateshb deed aad anaesaaen 29
Wisconsin v. J.C. Penney Co., 311 U.S. 435
RIRIPIIIET ncccsiasthonnscornanntiectnnsintuablicigh idianamimsnsastaenaael 8, 14, 19, 23

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS:

Commerce Clause, U.S. Const. Art. I, § 8, cl. 3........4, 7, 15,

21, 27
Due Process Clause, U.S. Const. Amend. XIV, § 1... 4, 7,
15, 21
STATUTES:

Single Business Tax, Mich. Comp. Laws § 208.1
ris cake oceecernntstnceeectendletnasasdendsaieanaaneuntaneane passim
i ipsa Sar a ce 2,11
NEI vcs ccicstiviainbionen Sapdueecabtaiedaemannceaaaanaa 2
RAR aa ean eee ine EAE NR eR koe caw en 2,14
ae TNO cc ee 3

SP IID a decnsetetecsesactnsenncarsnens cocchacaciecbehianiats 20, 28

vi

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Dactcaceae cigs NN REN a Re NS

ot a A NEES AES SII SRT EME Wee neue ea

Ooo be, aE EI EN Sie ne

§ 208.45 ........ setainecinisinnlainessoinimapslaunnsatineusiehandesnasisbabaeeis

owes uit ETA OE ee aR

Mich. Stat. Ann. §§ 7.557(1)-(24) (1955 Cum.
Supp.), repealed 1967 Mich. Pub. Acts 281.
1987 Mich. Pub. Acts 39, § 2, reprinted at Note to
Mich. Comp. Laws § 208.69 (Supp. 1990) _.......

MISCELLANEOUS:

Aaron, Introduction in The Value Added Tax (H.
ve ectge th | RE LIE EE Ae Teste

tions, The Michigan Single Business Tar: A
Different Approach to State Business Taxation

een, A ee RAT WN Se ACRES RB A 20,

American Bar Ass’n, The Choice Between Value
Added and Sales Taration at the Federal and
State Levels in the United States, Fourth Re-
port of the Special Comm. on the Value-Added
Tax of the Section on Taxation, 29 Tax. Law.
rep cache, kas Te ee)

CSOSSS SESS SSS SSSseeseSoseoesesesseseooscesece

Business Tar: Theory and Mechanics, 22
Wayne L. Rev. 1069 (1976)

21, 27

12, 26

23

vii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Page
Lindholm, The Origin of the Value-Added Tax, 6

ig TRG Tic eee WIE secckcdashnccespeenenrasccesmsenceuncuesapsoans 21
Lock, Rau & Hamilton, The Michigan Value-Added

Taz, 8 Natl Tax J. 367 (1966) ....................... mat 20, 21
McDaniel, A Value Added Tax for the United

States? Some Preliminary Reflections, 6 J.

SA Tie, es WI v cate scneicaciiaacdecdontshanaienpenanssnintes 23
Mitchell, Taxes Repealed and Amended, 22 Wayne

ids OU, MI nls ia sernatagticiceuecuen ene = 27
R. Musgrave & P. Musgrave, Public Finance in

Theory and Practice (5th Ed. 1989) _... 15, 23, 23-24
Note, Value-Added Taxation: Its Concept and Ef-

fects, 39 U. Cin. L. Rev. 331 (1970) ..................... 26
Smith, Value-added tar: the case for, Harv. Bus.

Rev. 77 (Nov.-Dec. 1970) _.............. me aN HE AEB! 12, 24, 25
C. Sullivan, The Tar on Value Added (1965)........ 23
Taxation and Economic Policy Office, Michigan

Department of Treasury, Analysis of the Michi-

gan Single Business Tax (1985) ................ 12, 13, 24, 27
Uniform Division of Income for Tax Purposes Act,

Ue Seen sociadantintncemide teens dees aig 3
3 U.S. Dep’t of the Treasury, Tax Reform for

Fairness, Simplicity, and Economic Growth

4S : Pata 12, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1989

No. 89-1106

TRINOVA CORPORATION,

¥. Petitioner,

STATE OF MICHIGAN,
: Respondent.

On Writ of Certiorari to the Michigan Supreme Court

BRIEF OF THE
COUNCIL OF STATE GOVERNMENTS,

U.S. CONFERENCE OF MAYORS,
NATIONAL CONFERENCE OF STATE LEGISLATURES,
NATIONAL LEAGUE OF CITIES,
NATIONAL GOVERNORS’ ASSOCIATION,
NATIONAL ASSOCIATION OF COUNTIES, AND
INTERNATIONAL CITY MANAGEMENT ASSOCIATION;
JOINED BY THE MULTISTATE TAX COMMISSION
AS AMICI CURIAE IN SUPPORT OF RESPONDENT

INTEREST OF THE AMICI CURIAE

Amici Council of State Governments, U.S. Conference
of Mayors, National Conference of State Legislatures,
National League of Cities, National Governors’ Associa-
tion, National Association of Counties, and International
City Management Association are organizations whose
members include state, county, and municipal govern-
ments and officials throughout the United States; they
have a compelling interest in legal issues that affect state
and local governments. Amicus Multistate Tax Commis-
sion is the official administrative agency of the Multistate

2

Tax Compact.' The Comniission has a vital and continu-
ing interest in tax disputes that may affect the adminis-
tration of state tax systems.

This case involves a constitutional challenge to Michi-
gan’s Single business Tax, the State’s principal levy on
business. Petitioner’s argument calls into question meth-
ods that now are used by virtually all States to apportion
the values of interstate businesses for purposes of state
taxation; it also, at a time that many States are facing
severe budget problems, challenges an innovative system
of taxation that encourages investment and _ produces
stable revenues. Amici therefore submits this brief to as-
sist the Court in the resolution of this case.*

STATEMENT

1. Michigan’s principal tax on business is a Single
Business Tax (SBT), Mich. Comp. Laws (MCL) § 208.1
eft seq., that it imposes on all “business activity in | Mich-
igan| which is allocated or apportioned to | Michigan ].”
MCL § 208.5111). This taxable “business activity” is
broadly defined to include the “transfer of legal or equi-
table title to or rental of property, * * * or the perform-
ance of services, or a combination thereof.’ MCL
+ 208.5(2). As interpreted by the Michigan Supreme
Court, “[t]he subject of the [SBT] thus encompasses the
complete range of entrepreneurial activities of which com-
pensating employees is but one part.” Pet. App. 22a.

Calculation of the value of this taxable “business ac-
tivity’ begins with federal taxable income. MCL §§ 208.3
(31, 208.9. See Pet. App. lla; Mobil Oj/ Corp. v. Depart-
ment of Treasury, 373 N.W.2d 730, 732, 741-742 n.15

1 The Compact has been entered into by 18 States and the Dis-
trict of Columbia as full members; 12 additional States have joined
the Compact as associate members. This briet should not be read
to reflect the views of any member Staite that files a separate brief
in this case.

“The parties’ letters of consent pursuant to Rule 37 of the Rules
of this Court have been filed with the Clerk of the Court.

3

(Mich. 1985). To this figure the taxpayer makes several
additions that “reflect the business consumption of labor
and capital” (Pet. App. lla), including ‘‘compensation,
depreciation, dividends, and interest paid by the taxpayer
to the extent deducted from federal taxable income.’
Ibid. See MCL §&§ 208.9(2)-(6). If the taxpayer is a
multistate business, it then determines the portion of this
business activity that is taxable in Michigan. It does so
by attributing to Michigan the percentage of the firm’s
tax base (that is, the portion of its business activity) chat
is equivalent to the percentage of the firm’s total busi-
ness activity that it conducts in Michigan, as calculated
by use of a three-part formula that itself is the average
of three ratios: the ratio of the firm’s in-state sales to
its total sales; the ratio of its in-state property to its _
total property; and the ratio of its in-state payroll to its *
total payroll. MCL § 208.45. See Pet. App. 1la-12a.°
Once apportioned (and as modified by certain adjust-
ments not at issue here), the tax base is multiplied by
the SBT tax rate of 2.35°. to determine the taxpayer's
liability. MCL § 208.31(1). See Pet. App. 13a.

2. Petitioner is an Ohio corporation that manufactures
automobile components. Although most of its manufac-
turing takes place elsewhere, petitioner has fourteen sales
and clerical personnel in Michigan. In 1980, the tax year
at issue here, petitioner also made some 26.6% of its
sales—worth $103,981,354—in the State. Pet. App. 7a.

For the year in question, petitioner had a total tax
base of $221,125,319. Pet. App. lla n.10. Using the
SBT’s three-part formula, petitioner concluded that just
under 9% of this base, or $19,838,700 should be attrib-
uted to Michigan. Jd. at 12a-13a n.12. Petitioner then
was permitted to reduce this figure to $12,492,671 through
application of a so-called excess compensation deduction

3The apportionment formula is taken from the Uniform Di-
vision ef Income for Tax Purposes Act (UDITPA), TA U.L.A, 322.
See Pet. App. 12a n.12.

: 4
(the details of which have no bearing cn the constitu-
tional issues now before the Court). Jd. at 13a n.13.
Petitioner owed $293,528 on this amount, which it paid.
Id. at 7a.

Petitioner subsequently brought this suit, seeking a re-
fund and challenging the constitutionality of the SBT
apportionment formula under the Commerce and Due
Process Clauses. Pet. App. Ta-8a, 20a-2la. While peti-
tioner acknowledged that the business income (or loss)
portion of the tax base was subject to formulary appor-
tionment, it contended that the three-part formula could
not be applied to the compensation and depreciation ele-
ments of the tax base. Instead, petitioner argued that
Michigan could tax only “actual” Michigan compensation
and depreciation. See id. at 24a. Because petitioner's
actual Michigan compensation was $511,774 and _ its
actual Michigan depreciation was $2,152—and_ because
petitioner had a substantial business Joss for the year in
question—it concluded that it had a negative tax base and
accordingly had no tax liability. See id. at 8a & n.4. The
Michigan Court of Claims accepted petitioner’s conten-
tion (id, at 42a-5la), but the Michigan Court of Appeals
reversed, Id. at 30a-41a.

The Michigan Supreme Court affirmed that judgment,
sustaining the constitutionality of the SBT’s apportion-
ment provision. Pet. App. la-28a.! The court noted that
this Court “long ago upheld the constitutionality of
formulary apportionment” (id. at 23a), “reject|ing]
separate accounting as a means to identify business ac-
tivity by reference to a discrete geographic boundary.”
Id. at 22a. The court added that it did “not believe that

4 Petitioner had brought suit under MCL § 208.69, which author-
ized relief when the statutory apportionment formuia failed fairly to
reflect the extent of the taxpayer's business activity in Michigan.
See Pet. App. 5a-9a, M3a-lda. The court concluded that relief was
available under Section 208.69 only when failure to modify the
formula would result ip a constitutional violation. Pct. App. 16a-
l7a. The court went on to find no such violation here. Section

208.69 has since been amended, See pave 13, infra.

5

‘business activity’ as defined under the act is susceptible
to accurate analysis when only one component of the total
business effort is examined.” /d. at 23a. Noting the enor-
mous volume of petitioner’s sales in Michigan (id. at
24a), the court concluded that “the averaged ratios of
Trinova’s payroll, property, and sales ‘actually reflect a
reasonable sense of how |its Michigan business activity
was] venerated,’ clearly satisfying the constitutional re-
quirements of internal and external consistency.” Jd. at
25a (bracketed materia! added by the court).

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

A. Petitioner concedes, as it must, that this Court re-
peatedly has upheld use of the three-part apportionment
formula in dividing income for purposes of state taxa-
tion. Its attempt to avoid the force of these holdings
rests on three propositions: that the SBT is a tax on
segregable increments of “value added’; that these in-
crements of value (in contrast with concededly appor-
tionable income: are readily capable of precise terri-
torial allocation; and that the use of sales ratios in the
apportionment formula is in any event inappropriate be-
cause sales activity is irrelevant to the determination of
a value added tax. Each of these propositions is incor-
rect. Petitioner mischaracterizes the SBT, and _ petition-
er’s economic assumptions are inconsistent with this
Court’s holdings.

1. At the outset, it is clear that the SBT was not in-
tended to tax individual increments of value. It reaches
all of a firm’s “business activity,” a term that is de-
fined to include sales. And the incidence of the tax—the
“business activity” upon which it is imposed—expressly
was understood by the legislature to be a unitary and
indivisible course of conduct commencing with a firm’s
purchase of raw materials and ending with its sale of
the manufactured product. The theory of the tax there-
fore is thet 9 firm cannot identify the “value added” by
isolated elements of its activity, a theory that makes
formulary apportionment unavoidable.

6

2. Petitioner contends that the taxed activity is not
unitary because the costs of production (which peti-
tioner equates with the ‘value added”) can be localized.
But that assertion is inconsistent with the analysis that
this Court traditionally has used to decide tax appor-
tionment cases. The same factors that make it impossi-
ble to tie the generation of income to a _ particular
location—centralization of management and purchasing,
economies of scale, functional integration, and so on—-
also frustrate attempts to compartmentalize the costs
associated with particular elements of business activity.
In this case, for example, the existence of a large mar-
ket for petitioner’s goods in Michigan necessarily af-
fected the efficiency with which petitioner was able to
make use of its labor and capital further up the pro-
duction chain; it hardly is necessary to prove that an
effective marketing operation is important to assure full
use of production facilities.

4. Similar problems inhere in petitioner’s argument
that sales activity is irrelevant to the concept of value
added. Sales are prerequisites to the effective use of
manufacturing and a labor force; in fact, the Court has
approved the use of sales ratios in apportionment pre-
cisely because they reflect a share of the activities by
which value is generated. And since the services that
Michigan provides to petitioner and its customers make
possible petitioner’s continuing business operations, there
is nothing unfair in the State’s seeking to tax a share of
the values gencrated by those operations. Against this
background, it is not surprising that the Court already
has upheld use of the familiar three-part formula to ap-
portion a tax that was virtually identical to the SBT.
Armco Steel Corp, v. Department of Revenue, 102 N.W.2d
592 (Mich.), app. dismissed, 364 U.S. 337 (1960).

Indeed. invalidating the SBT would be an exercise in
the most wooden formalism because—as petitioner con-
cedes—*he tnx would be immune from constitutional at-
tack were it simply labeled a levy on gross receipts. And

the artificiality of petitioner’s argument is especially ap-

7

parent because value adde? taxes almost universally are
understood to be, in practical operation, a form of sales
tax. The label placed on the tax cannot change the na-
ture of the economic values reflected in the tax base.

B. Petitioner also argues that the SBT discriminates
against out-of-state businesses because, through use of a
sales factor in the apportionment formula, it taxes “site-
specific’ out-of-state values while not taxing ‘“site-
specific’ in-state values. But this claim rests entirely on
petitioner’s prior assertions that the costs of production
are, in fact, “site specific,” and that sales have no rela-
tionship to value added. Once it is understood that Mich-
igan imposes the SBT on a unitary course of business
activity that includes both production and sales, it is
evident that out-of-state firms have no grownd to com-
plain because values are transferred neither into nor out
of the State.

ARGUMENT

I. THE SBT IS FAIRLY APPORTIONED AND THERE-
FORE IS CONSISTENT WITH THE COMMERCE
AND DUE PROCESS CLAUSES.

The principles that control the resolution of this case
have become familiar. States may, of course, tax enter-
prises that operate in interstate commerce, so long as
they do so within the parallel constraints set by the Com-
merce and Due Process Clauses. In relevant part,’ those

5 Lider the now-familiar test first set out in Complete Auto
Transit, Inc. v. Brady, 430 U.S. 274, 279 (1977), the Court will
“sustain[ | a state tax ‘against Commerce Clause challenge when
the tax is applied to an activity with a substantial nexus with the
taxing State, is fairly apportioned, does not discriminate against
interstate commerce, and is fairly related to the services provided
by the State.’” Amerada Hess Corp. v. New Jersey Taration Di-
vision, 109 S.Ct. 1617, 1621 (1989), quoting Complete Auto, 430 U.S.
at 279. The Court also has made clear that “the Complete Auto
test encompasses due process standards.” Amerada Hess, 109 S.Ct.
at 1625. In this case, petitioner concedes the existence both of nexus
and of a fair relationship between the tax and the services provided
by the State; its principal challenge is to the apportionment prong

8

provisions require that any state tax be “ ‘fairly appor-
tioned’ (Amerada Hess Corp. v. New Jersey Taxation
Division, 109 S.Ct. 1617, 1621 (1989), quoting Complete
Auto Transii, Inc. v. Brady, 430 U.S. 274, 279 (1977))
so that there is ‘ta rational relationship between the in-
come attributed to the State and the intrastate values of
the enterprise.” Mobi! Ot] Corp. v. Commissioner of
Tawes, 445 U.S. 425, 436-437 (1980). See Exxon Corp.
v. Department of Revenue, 447 U.S. 207, 219 (1980) ;
Moorman Mensfacturing Co. v. Bair, 4837 U.S. 267, 272-
273 (1978). As a result. a valid “tax cannot be ‘out of
all appropriate proportion to the business transacted by
the |taxpayer| in that State.’” Ewvxron Corp., 447 U.S.
at 220 (citation omitted). At the same time, however,
“lal state is free to pursue its own fiscal policies, un-
embarrassed by the Constitution, if by the practical oper-
ation of a tax the state has exerted its power in rela-
tion to opportunities which it has given, to protection
which it has afforded, to benefits which it has conferred
by the fact of being an orderly, civilized society.” Wais-
consin v. J.C. Penney Co., 311 U.S. 435, 444 (1940).

The Court also has made clear that, when the tax base
of a multistate enterprise “bears relation to benefits and
privileges conferred by several States[,] * * * apportion-
ment is ordinarily the accepted method” of determining
the share of multistate valves subject to taxation by a
single State. Mobil Oi! Corp., 445 U.S. at 446. This typically
is accomplished through use of a formula that attributes
to the taxing State a percentage of the multistate firm’s
tax base ‘in most States, net income) that is equivalent
to the percentage of the firm’s total business activity
conducted in that State. This latter proportion may be
calculated by taking the ratio of the firm’s in-state
sales to its total sales," the ratio of its in-state property

of the Complete Auto test. Petitioner also asserts that the SBT
is discriminatory, a contention we discuss below.

® See, ¢.g., Moorman, 437 U.S. at 273-275.

9

to its total property,’ the ratio of its in-state payroll to its
total payroll—or, as is true in Michigan (and in most
other states), by taking the average of these three
proportions. Needless to say, the Court’s approval of
these formulary apportionment methods means that,
“tals this Court has on several occasions recognized, a
company’s internal accounting techniques are not bind-
ing on a State for tax purposes.” Ewwon Corp., 447 U.S.
at 221.

In particular, when an enterprise is “unitary’’—that
is, when its multistate activities are interconnected with
one another—-the Court has refused to limit taxation of
the firm’s income to the State in which separate account-
ing shows that the income was produced. As the Court
has noted:

apportionability often has been challenged by the
contention that income earned in one State may not
be taxed in another if the source of the income may
be ascertained by separate geographical accounting.
The Court has rejected that contention so long as the
interstate and extrastate activities formed part of a
single unitary business. * * * In these circum-
stances, the Court has noted that separate account-
ing, while it purports to isolate portions of income
received in various States, may fail to account for
contributions to income resulting from functional in-
tegration, centralization of management, and econo-
mies of scale. * * * Because these factors of profit-
ability arise from the operation of the business as a
whole, it becomes misleading to characterize the in-
come of the business as having a single identifiable
“source.”
Mobil Oi! Corn., 445 U.S. at 488. See Container Corp. v.
Franchise Tax Board, 463 U.S. 159, 181 (1983); Hawon
Corp., 447 U.S. at 222-223; Butler Brothers v. McColqgan,
315 U.S. 501, 508 (1942); Bass, Ratcliff & Gretion, Lid.
v. State Tax Comm’n, 266 U.S. 271, 282-283 (1924);
7 See, e.g., Underwood Typewriter Co. v. Chambeviain, 254 U.S.
113 (1920).

10

Underwood Typewriter Co. v. Chamberlain, 254 U.S. 113,
120-121 (1920).

Where unitary firms are involved, the Court accord-
ingly has permitted States to use virtually any rational
approach in apportioning the tax base. And the three-
factor apportionment formula used by Michigan “ ‘has
become something * * * of a benchmark against which
other apportionment formulas are judged.’” Amerada
‘less, 109 S.Ct. at 1621-1622, quoting Container Corp.,
463 U.S. at 170. That formula “has gained wide approval
precisely because payroll, property, and sales appear in
combination to reflect a very large share of the activities
by which value is generated.” Container Corp., 463 U.S.
at 183.

Petitioner acknowledges the force of these governing
principles ( Br, 23-24), and evidently recognizes that it is
a unitary business of the sort whose tax base ordinarily
is subject to formulary apportionment. See Pet. App. 17a
n.18. But petitioner nevertheless insists that Michigan
may not use the three-part formula in identifying the
values that are taxable in-state under the SBT. Peti-
tioner’s attempt to escape the force of this Court’s deci-
sions approving use of formulary apportionment rests on
three propositions: that the SBT is a tax on segregable
incremenis of “value added” by a multistate business
(Br. 25); that these increments of value (in contrast,
according to petitioner, with concededly apportionable
income or profit) “are readily capable of precise terri-
torial allocation both in theory and practice” (Br. 25):
and that use of sales ratios in the apportionment formula
is in any event inappropriate because “sales, in and of
themselves, have no proper independent function in the
cetermination of a value added tax” (Br. 34). In our
view, however, each of these propositions is demonstrably
incorrect: petitioner’s description of the SBT is simply
inaccurate, and its economie assumptions are flatly incon-
sistent with the teachings of this Court.

11

A. The SBT Is A Tax On The Unitary Course Of Busi-
ness Activity.

At the outset, petitioner fundamentally misdirects what
should be the proper inquiry here. Its arguments are
aimed at a sort of imaginary, theoretical value added tax
(VAT) that is imposed on individual increments of
value, that “is based on the origin principle of taxing
value where it is added” (Br. 25), and that entirely dis-
regards sales activity. But that tax is, very simply, not
the Michigan SBT. While the SBT is, of course, “a form
of value added tax” (Pet. App. 9a-10a), Michigan’s levy
in terms is imposed on all of a firm’s “business activity
in | Michigan] which is allocated or apportioned to | Mich-
igan|.”” MCL § 208.31(1). And the incidence of this
tax—the “business activity” upon which it is imposed—
was understood by the legislature to be a unitary and in-
divisible course of conduct commencing with a firm’s pur-
chase of raw materials and ending with its sale of the
manufactured product.

The SBT accordingly defines taxable “business activ-
ity” as broadly including any “transfer of legal or equi-
table title to or rental of property, whether real, per-
sonal, or mixed, tangible or intangible, or the perform-
ance of services, or a combination thereof.”” MCL § 208.3
(2). This definition, of course, specifically includes sales
activity.” As the court below explained, in an interpreta-
tion of state law that is conclusive here, “{t]he subject
of the {|SBT]| thus encompasses the complete range of
entrepreneurial activities of which compensating employ-
ees is but one part.”’ Pet. App. 22a." See id. at 18a.

8 As petitioner recognizes (Br. 33 n.24), the SBT treats a sale
as having occurred in Michigan whenever a product is shipped to
a purchaser in the State, “regardless of the free on board point or
other conditions of the sales.” MCL § 208.52(a). See Pet. App.
24a-25a n.25. Granting the existence of nexus to tax, petitioner
does not—and plainly could not—find anything unconstitutional in
this provision.

® Petitioner’s statement (Br. 25) that the SBT “is based on the
origin principle of taxing value where it is added” is nonsensical.
As commonly used in the VAT setting, the term “origin principle”

12

Indeed, while petitioner evidently finds it significant
that the SBT makes use of the addition method of com-
putation (Br. 37),'° the Michigan Legislature has made

-——-

simply means that the tax is imposed at the point of production; the

term “destination principle” means that the tax is imposed at the-

point of consumption. See, e.g., 3 U.S. Dep’t of the Treasury, Tax
Reform for Fairness, Simplicity, and Economic Growth 11-12 (1984)
(hereinafter cited as “3 Tax Reform”) (“If a product is taxed
where it is produced, it is said to be taxed on the basis of its
origin or place of production. Alternatively, if a product is taxed
where it is consumed, it is taxed on the basis of its destination or
location of consumption.”). These concepts have relevance in the
context of international trade (see id. at 11-13); it is not at all
clear that they are meaningful in discussing the SBT, which is an
apportioned tax on all business activity, from production through
sale. But insofar as petitioner’s business is concerned, it is plain
that the SBT was intended to reach the properly apportioned part
of all unitary values associated with the production and sale of its
products in Michigan, and in that sense is imposed at the point of
consumption.

1” As petitioner seems to acknowledge (Br. 5) and as economists
universally recognize, the method of calculation 1d
of costs or subtraction of expenses—-is irrelevant ¢
the tax because the two methods will produ
“the result of the subtraction is identical wit!

dition.” Smith, Value-added tax: the cas: 7"

77, 78 (Nov.-Dec. 1970). See, e.g., American Ba

Between Value Added and Sales Tavration af the } Ss
Levels in the United States, Fourth Report of the =: mm. on
the Value-Added Tax of the Section on Taxation, 20 Tax. Law.
457, 458-459 (1976) (“The addition method reaches the same result
las the subtraction method] by the opposite means.”): Aaron,

Introduction, in The Value Added Tar 1, 2 (UW. Aaron ed. 1981

Barlow & Connell, The Single Business Tar, in Michiagan'’s Fiseal
and Economic Structure 673, 673 (CH. Brazer ed. 1982) (methods
“identically equal”); Haughey, The Economie Lovie of the Single
Business Tar, 22 Wayne L. Rev. 1017, 1018 (1976) (“equivelent
methods”). That plainly was the understandine of those who
drafted and administer the SBT: addition and subtraction are
“two alternative, but equivalent ways of caleulating value added.
* * * The important point is that, conceptually, these two caleula-
tions are equal.” Taxation and Economic Policy Office, Mich. Dep't
of Treasury, Analysis of the Michigan Single Business Tar 20
(1985) (hereinafter cited as “SBT Analysis” ) emphasis in origi-

13

explicitly clear that the tax is a levy on what it meant
to treat as a unitary course of business activity. In 1987
the SBT was amended to provide that “the apportionment
provisions of this act shall fairly represent the business
activity attributed to the taxpayer in this state, taken as
a whole and without a separate examination of the spe-
cific elements of the tax base such as depreciation, com-
pensation, or income.” MCL § 208.69(3) (Supp. 1990).
This amendment “express|ed| the original intent of the
legislature that the single business tax imposed under the
single business tax act * * * is an indivisible value added
type of tax and not a combination or series of several
smaller taxes.” 1987 Mich. Pub. Acts 39, § 2, reprinted
at Note to MCL § 208.69 (Supp. 1990).'' The theory of
the tax therefore is that it is impossible to identify the
“value added” by isolated elements of a firm’s business
activity, a theory that makes formulary apportionment
unavoidable.

The SBT thus includes values associated with all busi-
ness activity (‘including sales) in the tax base,'? and was

nal). See Pet. App. 10a. Michigan chose the addition method of
computation simply as a convenience for taxpayers, because “taxpay-
ers can use business income as required for federal business taxes as
the starting point in the computation.” SBT Analysis at 21. See
Haughey, supru, 22 Wayne L. Rev. at 1025.

' The Michigan Supreme Court noted this amendment (Pet. App.
19a n.20, 27a n.29), although the court found it unnecessary to rely
upon the statutory change in rejecting petitioner's contention that
““business activity’ as defined under the act is susceptible to accu-
rate analysis when only one component of the total business effort
is examined.” Pet. App. 23a. See also id. at 22a. For its part,
the court of appeals below noted that under Michigan law the legis-
lature “can amend a statute to make plain what the legislative
intent had been all along from the time of the statute’s enactment

[The] timing indicates that the |1987) amendment was a
legislative interpretation of the original act rather than a substan-
tial change of it.” Pet. App. 40a.

‘2 In a sense, sales are the foundation of the SBT tax base. In

calculating that base, “the starting point is business income” as
reflected in the taxpayer's federal return. Town & Country Dodge,

14

written on the understanding that particular business
activities (or, in petitioner’s terms, particular increments
of value added) are not segregable. Whether a theoreti-
cal VAT might regard sales as irrelevant, or might treat
the value added by particular business activities as divis-
ible—points we address below—accordingly is beside the
point. The incidence of the tax actually at issue here, the
SBT, is on petitioner’s unitary course of business activ-
ity, and “|f{or constitutional purposes the decisive issue
turns on the operating incidence of a challenged tax.”
J.C. Penney, 311 U.S. at 444. As the court below there-
fore explained, “to conclude that a taxpayer's business
activity is not fairly apportioned because a single com-
ponent of that activity, when viewed by geographical ac-
counting, is not accurately reflected under the statutory
apportionment scheme belies the very definition of busi-
ness aciivity” in Michigan law. Pet. App. 22a.

With this understanding of the SBT, Michigan’s three-
part formula plainly does a constitutionally adequate job
of apportioning the tax base upon Which the levy ex-
pressly is laid. The tax in principal part is imposed upon
“values” produced by activity involving sales, labor, and
capi'al; given the incidence of the tax, “the averaged
raios of Trinova’s payroll, property and sales ‘actually
reflect a reasonable sense of how |its Michigan business
activity was] generated.’” Pet. App. 25a ‘bracketed
Inc. v. Department of Treasury, 362 N.W.2d 618, 623 (Mich. 1984).
See Mobil Oil Corp. v. Department of Treasury, 573 NW.2d 030,
732, 742 (Mich. 1985). Gross receipts are, in turn, the starting point

ms

in calculating federal business income; to derive an income figure

for federal tax purposes, the taxpayer deducts specified expenses
from gioss receipts. Under the SBT, this process is then reversed;

the taxpayer adds back to federal taxable income most expenses,
principally those that were deducted from gross receipts in com-

. . . . - ‘ ‘ ‘ “ ‘ . — ly
puting the federal income figure. See MCL § 208.9. See weneratl

Kasischke, Computation of the Michivan Smale Besiness Tar:

Theoru ond Mechanics, 22 Wayne L. Rev. 1069, 1079-s00 To T6
. +4: a © oe wi

In the ayvregate, these additions prodnece a tax base that eqM

enterprises.

aient to yvross receipts min payments made to other busine

15

material added by the court ) (citation omitted). Unless
the Commerce and Due Process Clauses preclude the
State from treating business activity as a unitary course
of conduct, then, the SBT cannot be disturbed.

B. Costs Of Production Or Value Added Cannot Be
Ascertained Through Geographical Accounting.
Although petitioner never comes to grips with the
nature of the SBT as a tax on business activity,’® the
centerpiece of its assault on the apportionment of VATs
generally is its contention that increments of added
“value” may be—and therefore must be—taxed at the
place where they are generated. “In this respect,” peti-
tioner adds, “the components of added value are von-
spicuously unlixe the abstruse and elusive elements of
profit that justify apportionment of net income” (Br.
26). This assertion is the crucial element both of peti-
tioner’s attempt to avoid formulary apportionment of the
SBT tax base (see Br. 23-28) and its contention that the
SBT taxes values that are added outside of Michigan ‘see
Br. 31, 34-35).

At the outset, as respondent correctly notes (Resp. Br.
47-50), petitioner’s attempt to equate the costs of pro-
duction with particular increments of added “value” mis-
states the theory of the VAT. VATs typically are under-
stood to operate on the principle that “{elach increment
in price reflects the value added at that stage, with the
value or price of the final product equal to the sum of the
increments or values added at the various stages.” R.
Musgrave & P. Musgrave, Public Finance in Theory and
Practice 400 (5th ed. 1989) ‘emphasis added). And that
value—as reflected in price—has no necessary ‘and cer-
tainly no precise! correlation to the costs of production.
The theory of VATs generally, as of the SBT in particu-

' Petitioner briefly notes that the court below treated the SBT
as a tax on unitary business activity, labeling that court's analysis
“simply ineonsistent with the practical and intended effect of th:
tax.” Br. 28. In fact. there can be no doubt that the Michigan
Supreme Court correctly identified the intended incidence of the tax.

Which in terms reaches “business activity.’

16

lar, accordingly is that taxable value is determined by
the market’s reaction to the enterprise’s unitary course
of business activity.”

But even if the case is viewed in petitioner’s own terms,
its analysis is fatally flawed, for petitioner never explains
why costs of production differ in principle from the ele-
ments of profit that concededly cannot be confined geo-
graphically. And the omission is telling. In fact, the
came factors that make it impossible to tie the genera-
tion of income to a particular location—centralization
of management and purchasing, economies of scale, func-
tional integration, and so on—also frustrate attempts to
compartmentalize the costs associated with particular
elements of business activity (or, to put it in petitioner’s
terms, the value added by such activity). In this case,
for example, the existence of a reliable (and very large)
market and distribution network for petitioner’s goods in
Michigan necessarily affected the efficiency with which
petitioner was able to make use of its labor and capital
further up the production chain; the price petitioner paid
for labor in Ohio (the measure, in petitioner’s view, of
the value added there) turned in part on the scope and
success of its sales activity in Michigan. This seems self-
evident; it hardly is necessary to prove that “{a|n effec-
tive marketing operation is important to assure ful! or
nearly full use of [production] capacities.” Exxon Corp.,
447 US. at 226. Plainly, such efficiencies ‘arise from the

14 The peculiarity of petitioner’s concept of the VAT, in which
costs of production are equated dollar-for-dollar with value added,
is made clear by considering the case of a firm---like petitioner
itself—whose costs of production exceed its value added because it
had a net loss. In such a case, under petitioner’s view, the “value”
added to a product by application of the costs of production must
somehow have been reduced by the failures of entrepreneurship that
led to the net loss. It is difficult to imagine any coherent theory
of value that produces such an effect. In fact, petitioner really seems
to imagine that VATs are combinations of two wholly distinct taxes,
one on profits and one on the costs of production. But that is not
the usual understanding of the VAT and, as we explain above,
plainly is not the theory upon which the SBT is imposed.

17

operation of the business as a whole.” Mobil Oil Corp.,
445 U.S. at 438.

There is nothing novel in these observations. To the
contrary, the very definition of the unitary enterprise “is
that there be some sharing or exchange of value not
capable of precise identification or measurement.” Con-
tainer Corp., 463 U.S. at 166 (emphasis added). See id.
at 178 (emphasis in original) (“The prerequisite to a
constitutionally acceptable finding of unitary business is
a flow of value”). As a result, geographical accounting
“often ignores or captures inadequately the many subtle
and largely unquantifiable transfers of value that take
place among the components of a single enterprise.” Jd.
at 164-165.

In Container Corp., the Court applied this understand-
ing to reject a multinational taxpayer’s argument that,
because wage rates were lower at its overseas plants than
at its domestic facilities, California’s use of the three-
factor apportionment formula allocated too much of the
firm’s income to the State. As the Court explained, it

may well be that in addition to the foreign payroll
going into the production of any given [item] by a
foreign subsidiary, there is also California payroll,
as well as other California factors, contributing—
albeit more indirectly—to the same production. The
mere fact that this possibility is not reflected in [the
taxpayer’s] accounting does not disturb the under-
lying premises of the formula apportionment method.

463 U.S. at 182. While petitioner asserts (for reasons
that it nowhere explains) that the Court’s observation
has relevance only to taxes on profits (Br. 27-28), the
important point for present purposes is what the Court
itself has characterized as Container Corp.’s recognition
that “the costs of a unitary business cannot be deemed
confined to the locality in which they are incurred.”
Amerada Hess, 109 S.Ct. at 1622. In Container Corp.’s
words, costs (or value added) other than those identified
by geographical accounting may “go[] into the produc-
tion of any given” good.

18

Indeed, only last Term the Court squarely held that,
“just as * * * revenue—as part of a unitary business—
is not confined to a single State * * *, so too the costs
of producing this revenue are unitary in nature. See
Container Corp., 463 U.S. at 182.” Amerada Hess, 109
S.Ct. at 1622. In Amerada Hess, unitary oil companies
argued that they should be permitted to deduct from the
income that was subject to taxation in New Jersey wind-
fall profits taxes that they had paid on the production of
oil out-of-state; “[t|hey argue[d] that the denial of a
deduction for an out-of-state expense causes a State to
tax more than its fair share of a unitary business’ in-
come.”” /bid. But because the costs of a unitary business
cannot be confined geographically, the Court held that,
‘“‘when a State denies a deduction for a cost of a unitary
business, the resulting net figure is still a unitary one.”
Ibid. See generally Ford Motor Co. v. Beauchamp, 308
U.S. 331 (1939).

Again, the significance of this holding for petitioner’s
argument is plain: costs of production—which, in peti-
tioner’s terminology, are the values added—cannot be
localized. Just as the profit that a multistate firm de-
rives from its retail outlet in Wisconsin might be boosted
by economies of scale effected elsewhere (see Exaxon, 447
U.S. at 225-227), so, too, at the other end of the process,
petitioner’s costs of production in Ohio surely are affected
by the scope of its sales operation in Michigan. It ac-
cordingly is petitioner’s scheme, in which increments of
value would be ‘“‘wrenched from the unitary whole and
conceptually confined to operations within a single State”
(ASARCO Inc. v. Idaho State Tax Comm’n, 458 U.S.
307, 333 (1982) (O’Connor, J., dissenting) ), that would
produce a grossly distorted system of apportionment.

C. Sales Are Crucial Components Of The Unitary
Course Of Business Activity And May Be Used To
Apportion Petitioner’s Tax Base.

Similar problems inhere in petitioner’s argument (Br.
30-31, 32, 33-34) that sales activity is irrelevant to the

19

concept of value added and therefore cannot be used as
part of Michigan’s apzortionment formula. In fact, the
Court has made clear that sales ratios have an appro-
priate role in apportionment precisely because, in com-
bination with payroll and property, they “reflect a very
large share of the activities by which value is gener-
ated.” Container Corp., 463 U.S. at 183. After all, as
we explain above, sales and marketing are prerequisites
to effective use of manufacturing facilities and a labor
force. See, e.¢., Exxon Corp., 447 U.S. at 226. Indeed, it
seems self-evident that, in the most practical sense, many
of petitioner’s activities (or, more precisely, the 26.6%
of petitioner’s activities that terminated in Michigan
sales) would be wholly valueless to petitioner were it not
for the market made available by Michigan. As a con-
sequence, there is nothing unfair in Michigan’s imposi-
tion of a tax-on the appropriate portion of the values
generated by those activities.

Petitioner’s conduct of extensive sales activity in Michi-
gan has special relevance to the nature of the due proc-
ess guarantee that it invokes. In perhaps the Court’s
most oft-quoted comment on the nature of the constitu-
tional limits on state taxing authority, it explained that
“the sole constitutional test for a case like the present
one” is “whether the taxing power exerted by the state
bears fiscal relation to protection, opportunities and
‘benefits given by the state. The simple but controlling
question is whether the state has given anything for
which it can ask return.” J.C. Penney, 311 U.S. at 444.
And the State plainly has done that here, offering peti-
tioner and its customers “ ‘police and fire protection, the
benefit of a trained work force’” (Amerada Hess, 109
S.Ct. at 1624 (citation omitted) ), “public roads” (D.H.
Holmes Co. v. McNamara, 108 S.Ct. 1619, 1624 (1988) ),
and the other “fruits of civilization for which, as Mr.
Justice Holmes was fond of saying, we pay taxes.” J.C.
Penney, 311 U.S. at 446."° It is these benefits provided

15 See, e.g., Amerada Hess, 109 S.Ct. at 1624; D.H. Holmes Co.,
109 S.Ct. at 1624; ASARCO, 458 U.S. at 315; id. at 332 (O’Connor,

20

by Michigan that make possible the continuing business
operations that petitioner conducts elsewhere. This analy-
sis plainly has application to the SBT, for “ ‘[t]he logic
or rationale of the |VAT] rests squarely on the benefit
received principle of taxation—government services are
essential to the operation of any business enterprise * * *
and part of these public service costs should properly be
included in the cost of doing business.’” Advisory
Comm’n on Intergovernmental Relations, The Michigan
Single Business Tax: A Different Approach to State
Business Taxation 4 (1978) (citation omitted) (herein-
after cited as “Michigan SBT’’).

Against this background, it should come as no sur-
prise that the Court already has upheld against constitu-
tional attack another Michigan VAT that was virtually
identical to the SBT. From 1953 until 1967 Michigan
levied a Business Activities Tax that “employ|[ed] as its
measure or base the economist’s measure of value added.”
Lock, Rau & Hamilton, The Michigan Value-Added Tax,
& Nat’l Tax J. 357, 357 (1955). While that tax differed
from the SBT in some particulars, its principle was the
same: it included in the tax base “a company’s payroll,
profits, and capital outlay less depreciation allowed” (id.
at 361), and it used the familiar three-factor formula
to apportion the values of multistate firms. Jd. at 363.
See Mich. Stat. Ann. §§ 7.557(1)-(24) (1955 Cum.
Supp.!, repealed 1967 Mich. Pub. Acts 281."*

J., dissenting); Exron Corp., 447 U.S. at 228: Japan Line, Ltd. v.
County of Los Angeles, 441 U.S. 434, 445 (1979).

16 While the taxes differed in the exemptions they offered (none
of which are relevant here), the principal substantive difference
between the Business Activities Tax and the SBT lay in the area
of depreciation. The SBT allows firms to exclude apportioned cap-
ital expenditures from the tax base in the year incurred (MCL
§ 208.23(a)); in subsequent years depreciation is included in the
tax base. Under the Business Activities Tax, the initial capital
expenditure was not excluded, but firms were permitted to exclude

21

In a case bearing remarkable similarities to this one,
the Business Activities Tax was challenged on Due
Process and Commerce Clause grounds by an Ohio corpo-
ration that paid less than 1/1000 of its payroil, and had
less than 1/40,000 of its property—but made almost
10% of its total sales—in Michigan. See Armco Steel
Corp. v. Department of Revenue, 102 N.W.2d 552, 555-
556 (Mich.), app. dismissed, 364 U.S. 337 (1960). Not-
ing that the tax actually levied on the Ohio firm
amounted to only about 1/10 of one per cent of its Michi-
gan sales, the Michigan Supreme Court held that “{t]his
is not an unreasonable tax on business activities in Mich-
igan. The tax as apportioned bears a real and reasonable
relationship to the privileges, opportunities and protec-
tion [the taxpayer] enjoys in conducting its interstate
business in this State.” Jd. at 563. This Court found so
little merit in the taxpayer’s challenge to the state court’s
conclusion that it dismissed the appeal for want of a sub-
stantial federal question. 364 U.S. 337 (1960). That
judgment should be dispositive of petitioner’s essentially
identical arguments here.

depreciation of real property in subsequent years. See Lock, Rau,
& Hamilton, supra, 8 Nat’l Tax J. at 359-360; Michigan SBT at 17.
The taxes also differed in their methods of computation. While the
SBT adds together elements of the tax base, the Business Activities
Tax used the subtraction method, starting with gross receipts and
subtracting certain taxes, amounts paid other firms for raw ma-
terials, and real property depreciation. See ibid. As we explain
above, however, the method of calculation has no effect either on the
tax base or on the theory of the tax. See note 10, supra. The
Business Activities Tax thus is consistently regarded as having
been a form of VAT. See, e.g., Michigan SBT at 17; Due, Economics
of the Value Added Tax, 6 J. Corp. L. 61, 61-62 n.4 (1980) ; Haughey,
supra, 22 Wayne L. Rev. at 1024, 1026; Lindholm, The Origin of the
Value-Added Tax, 6 J. Corp. L. 11, 12 & n.10 (1980); Lock, Rau &
Hamilton, supra, 8 Nat’l Tax J. at 357. In addition, the Business
Activities Tax, like the SBT, allowed the taxpayer, at its option, to
use as the tax base 50% of its gross receipts apportioned to Michi-
gan. See id. at 360.

22

D. The SBT Should Be Upheld As A Variant Of A
Concededly Constitutional Gross Receipts Tax.

1. The wholly artificial nature of petitioner’s conten-
tions is made clear by its concession (Br. 35-36)—a con-
cession compelled by this Court’s decisions—that Michi-
gan’s tax would be immune from constitutional attack were
it labeled a tax on gross receipts. As the Court has noted
in similar circumstances, in response to a challenge to an
Iowa income tax, “it would be an exercise in formalism to
declare [the taxpayer’s] income tax assessment unconsti-
tutional * * *. For it is evident that [the taxpayer] would
have had no basis for complaint if, instead of an income
tax, Iowa had imposed a more burdensome gross-receipts
tax on the gross receipts from sales to Iowa customers.”
Moorman, 437 U.S. at 280. See id. at 281 (Brennan, J.,
dissenting) (“I agree with the Court that, for purposes of
constitutional review, there is no distinction between a
corporate income tax and a gross-receipts tax.”’).

The Court has, of course, repeatedly sustained state
authority to impose gross receipts and similar taxes on the
in-state sales of multistate businesses.’’ Yet such taxes are
considerably more burdensome than the SBT: they need
not be apportioned at all. See, e.g., Goldberg v. Sweet, 109
S.Ct. 582, 589-591 (1989). In this light, the SBT, which
is equivalent to a tax of less than 3/10 of one per cent
of the gross receipts from petitioner’s Michigan sales (see
Pet. App. 7a), is hardly excessive. Compare Moorman,
437 U.S. at 280; Armco, 102 N.W.2d at 562.

Relying on McLeod v. J. E. Dilworth Co., 322 U.S. 327
(1944), in which the Court struck down a state sales tax
despite the State’s authority to impose an equivalent use

17 See, e.g., Tyler Pipe Industries, Inc. v. Washington Dep't of
Revenue, 483 U.S. 232, 243 (1987) ; Complete Auto, 430 U.S. at 289;
Standard Pressed Steel Co. v. Washington Revenue Dep't, 419 U.S.
560, 564 (1975); General Motors Corp. v. Washington, 377 U.S.
436, 448 (1964); McGoldrick v. Berwind-White Coal Mining Co.,
309 U.S. 33, 58 (1940). Cf. Goldberg v. Sweet, 109 S.Ct. 582, 589-
591 (1989); National Geographic Society v. California Board of
Equalization, 430 U.S. 551, 557 (1977).

23

tax, petitioner nevertheless takes issue with Moorman’s
analysis, asserting that the SBT cannot be validated by the
availabi ity of some alternative constitutional tax. But as

petitioner elsewhere acknowledges (Br. 28), the Court has |
since departed from the formalistic approach of holding the
label on the tax dispositive, looking instead to the prac-
tical operation of a tax and eschewing rules that “stand| |
only as a trap for the unwary draftsman.” Complete
Auto, 430 U.S. at 279. See id. at 288; J.C. Penney, 311
U.S. at 444. Moorman accordingly reflects the Court’s
current thinking, and there is no reason to depart from
its eminently practical analysis.

Indeed, the Court’s observations in Moorman have par-
ticular resonance in this case because the SBT may
fairly be viewed, in its practical operation, as a form of
tax on gross receipts. While a VAT has some relation-
ship to a tax on income, as we explain below, in effect
“la] value-added tax is a multistage sales tax.” 3 Tax
Reform at 5. See id. at 14. Economists almost uniformly
agree that “the value-added tax is not a genuinely new
form of taxation but merely a sales tax administered in
different form.” R. Musgrave & P. Musgrave, supra, at
399. Thus, “[i]t is essential for an understanding of the
value added tax to note that the levy is identical to a re-
tail sales tax of equivalent coverage and rate in both
revenue and distribution of the tax burden.” Due supra
6 J. Corp. L. at 62. See, e.g., R. Musgrave & P. Mus-
grave, supra, at 401; Carlson, Value-Added Tax: Ap-
praisal and Outlook, 6 J. Corp. L. 37, 38 (1980): Me-
Daniel, A Value Added Tax for the United States?
Some Preliminary Reflections, 6 J. Corp. L. 15 16-17
(1980). See generally C. Sullivan, The Tax on Value
Added 6, 209 (1965). The reason is plain: whether com-
puted through addition or subtraction, the tax base of
a pure VAT will include most of the costs of production in
combination with profit (or loss), an amount that neces-
sarily bears a close relationship to—but typically will
be somewhat less than—gross income. See, e.g., R. Mus-
grave & P. Musgrave, supra, at 402 (“the value-added

24

tax of the consumption type has the same base as a re-
tail sales tax with corresponding coverage’’).'®

For their part, the drafters of the SBT plainly un-
derstood that its real incidence has a close relationship
to that of a gross receipts tax. Indeed, as ‘“‘an alternative
tax computation method” (SBT Analysis at 38), the SBT
provides that, if a firm’s adjusted tax base exceeds 50%
of gross receipts apportioned to Michigan, “the adjusted
tax base may, at the option of the taxpayer, be reduced
by such excess.”” MCL § 208.31(2). Asa result, no firm’s
tax base may exceed 50% of its Michigan sales ™; because
the SBT rate is 2.35%, no firm’s tax liability ever should
exceed 1.175% of its gross receipts. See SBT Analysis

at 38.°°

To be sure, petitioner insists that this element of the
SBT is irrelevant, labeling it a “departure[] from a ‘pure’
VAT” and stating that most Michigan taxpayers compute
their tax base “without reference to their gross receipts.”
Br. 37. “Pure” VATs, however, are most often conceptu-
alized as involving use of the subtraction method of com-
putation, which uses gross receipts as its starting point.”
Moreover, as we note above—and as petitioner elliptically

18 For a fully integrated company that owns its own raw ma-
terials and produces its own. capita! equipment, the “value-added
tax base would be simply its net sales.” Smith, supra at 78. For
non-integrated firms, of course, the base would be equivalent to gross
receipts less purchases from other enterprises that have added value
to the product.

19 Petitioner states that “for some taxpayers (but not for peti-
tioner) the tax base is reduced” to 50% of apportioned gross re-
ceipts. Br. 37. In fact, petitioner could have used the gross receipts
option but declined to do so, instead taking advantage of another
deduction that permits a firm with high labor costs to reduce its
adjusted tax base by the percentage that its compersation divided
by its unadjusted tax base exceeds 639%. MCL § 208.31(5). See
Pet. App. 13a n.13.

*0In fact, for all firms, the SBT averages 0.4% of sales. SBT
Analysis at 7.

21 See, e.g., 3 Tax Reform at 5; Smith, supra, at 78.

Pete

25

acknowledges (Br. 5)—the addition and _ subtraction
methods of computation are interchangeable and yield
identical results; the SBT uses the addition method simply
as a convenience for taxpayers. See note 10, supra. This
accounting technicality cannot change the nature of the
economic values reflected in the tax base.

In McLeod’s terms ( assuming McLeod remains the
law), then, one may “look[{] behind the labels to the
thing described,” and validate the tax if “the —- =
[does] not offend the Federal Constitution.” 322 U.S. at
331. The “thing” here is a levy whose base is identical to
that of a modified, and plainly constitutional, tax on
gross receipts. Under such circumstances, invalidating
the SBT would be an exercise in the most wooden seman-
ticism.

2. It should be added that there are other ways of
viewing the SBT that also support use of formulary ap-
portionment. In its ultimate economic effect a VAT is
similar to a tax on all of the income generated by the tax-
payer’s business activity. As the Michigan Supreme Court
itself has explained, “i]t is apparent that the income tax
and the VAT are in reality opposite sides of the same
coin” because, “[p]ractically speaking, the main differ-
ence between an income tax and a VAT can be determined
by examining who is a taxpayer under each system.”
Mobil Oil, 373 N.W.2d at 740 (emphasis in original) .22
Because it is the firm’s unitary activities that are respon-
sible for the production of all of this income, formulary
apportionment is an appropriate method of taxing it.

Having said this, however, in our view the Court should
not attempt to resolve this case by applying highly ab-

*2 This is so because the value generated by the enterprise may
be characterized as income received (or lost) by someone else:
labor costs are equivalent to income received by employees, capital
costs are translated into rent and interest received by landlords
and lenders, and so on. See Mobil Oil, 373 N.W.2d at 740. More
precisely, a consumption-type VAT, as its name suggests, uses total
consumption as its tax base because it does not exclude depreciation.
See Smith, supra, at 79: 3 Tar Reform at 7.

26

stract economic concepts—as petitioner urges by pro-
pounding one economist’s (rather idiosyncratic) concept
of where value is added. See Br. 26 (citing Barlow &
Connell, supra, at 704). Economists differ among them-
selves on, among many other things, how best to character-
ize the value added tax. See Note, Value-Added Taxation:
Its Concept and Effects, 39 U. Cin. L. Rev. 331, 334-335
(1970). Resolution of these conflicts in economic theory
is an “ ‘essentially legislative task’” (Goldberg, 109 S.Ct.
at 588 (citation omitted)) that is not easily undertaken
by the courts. See ASARCO, 458 U.S. at 352 (O’Connor,
J., dissenting). And needless to say, particular economic
theories may not be reconcilable with this Court’s un-
derstanding of the Constitution.** In these circumstances,
it would be appropriate for the Court to accept the char-
acterization of the VAT provided by the Michigan Legis-
lature, and to be guided by the levy’s practical similarity
to (if not identity with) taxes that already have been held
constitutional.

II. THE SBT DOES NOT DISCRIMINATE AGAINST
INTERSTATE COMMERCE.

Petitioner’s remaining argument (Br. 38-44)—that
the SBT discriminates against out-of-state firms—is
wholly without merit. At the outset, petitioner finds it
somehow suspect that the SBT was designed, in part, to
encourage the development of Michigan business. Br. 38,

23 This is true, for example, of the economic analysis upon which
petitioner principally relies. Among other things, that analysis takes
Michigan’s apportionment formula to task for “giving equal weight
to the labor and capital aspects of a firm’s activities, when in fact
those inputs are often very unequal.” Barlow & Connell, supra, at
704. But this Court, of course, has long upheld use of apportionment
formulas that give equal weight to payroll and property ratios, with-
out inquiry into the nature of a particular firm’s activities. It may be
added that the economic analysis cited by petitioner concludes that
consumption-type VATs “clearly introduce[] a bias favoring capital-
intensive methods” (id. at 697); most economists, in contrast, re-
gard consumption-type VATs as neutral between capital and labor.
See, e.g., 3 Tax Reform at 7.

27

43. But the Court has made clear that States may
“structur[e] their tax systems to encourage growth and
development of intrastate commerce and industry,” re-
jecting the contention that “a State may not compete
with other States for a share of interstate commerce;
such competition lies at the heart of a free trade policy.”
Boston Stock Exchange v. State Tax Comm’n, 429 U.S.
318, 336-337 (1977). See Armco Inc. v. Hardesty, 467
U.S. 638, 645-646 (1984). The Commerce Clause thus
does not “inhibit a State’s power to experiment with
different methods of encouraging local industry. Whether
the encouragement takes the form of a cash subsidy, a
tax credit, or a privilege intended to attract investment
capital, it should not be characterized as a ‘burden on
commerce.’” Hughes v. Alexandria Scrap Co., 426 U.S.
794, 816 (1976) (Stevens, J., concurring).

Indeed, the SBT was designed to spur Michigan -in-
dustry simply by reducing the excessive tax burden that
the State previously had imposed on capital. See SBT
Analysis at 19; Michigan SBT at 13, 20. Consumption-
type VATs are neutral as between labor- and capital-
intensive industries. See, e.g., 3 Tax Reform at 5-7. In
contrast, “‘[a]ll of the taxes repealed [upon enactment of
the SBT] were strictly on capital.” Haughey, supra, 22
Wayne L. Rev. at 1022. See Mitchell, Taxes Repealed
and Amended, 22 Wayne L. Rev. 1029 (1976). Although
it was hoped that the SBT accordingly would encourage
capital investment in the State, it also was understood
that “some labor intensive industries with regional or
national markets [might] leave Michigan” in response
to the new tax. Haughey, supra, 22 Wayne L. Rev. at
1022. But in either case, “these results are due to the
shift from one system to another and are not inherent
in the nature of the SBT.” Jd. at 1023. This redesign
of the State’s tax system along lines of neutrality is
hardly unconstitutional; any disparate effects that the
SBT has on different firms “results solely from differ-
ences between the nature of their businesses, not from
the location of their activities.” Amerada Hess, 109 S.Ct.

28

at 1624. See Exaon Corp. v. Governor of Maryland, 437
U.S. 117, 125-129 (1978) .**

Using a complex hypothetical (Br. 39-41), petitioner
also attempts to demonstrate that use of a sales factor in
Michigan’s apportionment formula discriminates against
out-of-state businesses because it “systematically under-
attributes to Michigan the site-specific tax base compo-
nents—compensation and depreciation—of in-state busi-
nesses while systematically overattributing to Michigan
those same site-specific tax base components of out-
of-state businesses.” Br. 43. Of course, just who is the
victim of this asserted discrimination depends on which
ox is being gored; Michigan businesses, viewing the SBT
as a form of gross receipts tax, might argue that they
suffer under the tax because non-Michigan firms are able
to apportion some of their Michigan sales out-of-state,
while some out-of-state sales by Michigan firms are ap-
portioned back in-state. And even viewing the issue in
petitioner’s own terms, whether or not a firm benefits
from use of a sales factor in apportionment of the SBT
turns on whatever varying values are plugged into peti-
tioner’s hypothetical.

More fundamentally, however, petitioner’s argument is
not really one of disparate treatment at all. Petitioner’s
claim of discrimination rests entirely on the validity oi
its prior assertions that the costs of production are, in
fact, “site-specific,” and that sales have no relationship
to value added. Once it is understood that the SBT falls
on a unitary course of business activity that includes
both production and sales, it is evident that neither out-
of-state nor Michigan firms have any ground to complain

24 Petitioner finds support (Br. 43-44) for its claim in what it
labels the SBT’s discriminatory capital acquisition deduction, which
apportions the cost of capital assets under a two-part payroll and
property formula. MCL § 208.23(a). As petitioner notes, however,
the constitutionality of that provision is not at issue here; as the
deduction provision’s apportionment formula differs from the one
under attack by petitioner, the provision plainly has no bearing
in this case.

~ aaa

29

about the statutory apportionment form's be 4 se values
are transferred neither into nor out of the State.

This comes clear from consideration of the decisions
relied upon by petitioner to establish discrimination. See
Br. 41-43. In most of them, the state tax statutes at issue
were “facially discriminatory” (Amerada Hess, 109 S.Ct.
at 1623); they imposed burdens (through higher tax
rates or lower credits) on out-of-state sales that were not
imposed on in-state sales. See Westinghouse Electric
Corp. v. Tully, 466 U.S. 388, 393-394, 400, 403-404
(1984); Maryland v. Louisiana, 451 U.S. 725, 732-734,
756-758 (1981); Boston Stock Exchange, 429 U.S. at 324-
325; Halliburton Oil Well Co. v. Reily, 373 U.S. 64, 67-
68, 70, 73 (1963). That plainly is not true of the SBT,
which taxes all business activity at the same rate, wher-
ever it occurs. The remaining decision cited by petitioner,
American Trucking Ass’ns v. Scheiner, 482 U.S. 266
(1987), involved a flat tax that failed the Court’s “in-
ternal consistency” test because, if adopted by every ju-
risdiction, it would have discouraged interstate activity.
See id. at 284; Amerada Hess, 109 S.Ct. at 1623. But
because petitioner does not deny that the SBT passes
the test of internal consistency (see Pet. App. 18a-19a) ,”°
Scheiner is irrelevant here.

The SBT thus does not “exert{] ‘an inexorable hy-
draulic pre sure on interstate businesses to ply their
trade within the State that enacted the measure.’ ”’ Amer-
ada Hess, 109 S.Ct. at 1623, quoting Scheiner, 483 U.S.
at 286-287. If all States adopted taxes identical to the
SBT, interstate activity would not be discouraged. And
a business that moves to Michigan will find itself with
higher Michigan payroll and property ratios and, accord-
ingly, a higher Michigan tax bill. Of course, Michigan

*5 That is evident from petitioner’s example. If Ghio and Michi-
gan each imposed taxes identical] to the SBT on petitioner’s hypo-
thetical businesses, the tax burdens on the two firms also would
be identical and the tax structure would not create any incentive
for either firm to operate in one State rather than the other.

ee

30

may succeed in wooing firms by reducing tax rates on
capital below those prevailing in other States, but any
advantage it gains from that approach will come because
its tax rates are low, not because they are discrimina-
tory. That is a wholly constitutional means of competing
for interstate business.

if we are correct, as we argue above, that business
activity may be viewed as a unitary and apportionable
course of conduct, petitioner’s claim of discrimination
ultimately amounts to a bald attack on the inclusion of
a sales factor in any apportionment formula. But the
Court has made clear that sales factors are an appropri-
ate part of the gauge of in-state business activity; the
Court has, for that matter, upheld use of a single-facior
apportionment formula based on sales. Moorman, 437
U.S. at 277. Michigan’s three-factor formula accordingly
is a reaconab!e and nondiscriminatory—indeed, a com-
mendably moderate—means of apportioning interstate
business activity.

CONCLUSION

The judgment of the Michigan Supreme Court should
be affirmed.

Respectfully submitted,

BENNA RUTH SOLOMON *
Chief Counsel
CHARLES ROTHFELD
STATE AND LOCAL LEGAL CENTER
444 North Capitol Street, N.W.
Suite 349
Washington, D.C. 20001
(202) 638-1445

* Counsel of Record for the
June 13, 1990 Amici Curiae

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385012_0701%3A10. Public record. Not legal advice.
