# Amicus Curiae Brief — Milkovich v. Lorain Journal Co.

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385012_0686%3A09

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1990
- **Citation:** 497 U.S. 1

## Text

ARGUMENT. ce tna C ——a

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United Stites ° *”

JOSEPH F. SAPNIOL, JR.

OCTOBER TERM, 1989 CLERK
<>
MICHAEL MILKOVICH, SR.,
Petitioner,
—against —

THE LORAIN JOURNAL Co., THE NEWS HERALD and

THEODORE DIADIUN, Respondents.

ON WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE SUPREME COURT OF OHIO

BRIEF AMICI CURIAE OF DOW JONES & COMPANY, INC., THE
AMERICAN SOCIETY OF NEWSPAPER EDITORS, ASSOCIATED
PRESS, CABLE NEWS NETWORK, INC., CAPITAL CITIES/ABC,
INC., CBS INC., GANNETT CO., INC., THE HEARST CORPORA-
TION, MAGAZINE PUBLISHERS OF AMERICA, INC., McCLATCHY
NEWSPAPERS, INC., THE MIAMI HERALD PUBLISHING COM-
PANY, NATIONAL BROADCASTING COMPANY, INC., NEWSDAY,
INC., NEWSWEEK, INC., THE NEW YORK TIMES COMPANY, THE
REPORTERS COMMITTEE FOR FREEDOM OF THE PRESS, REU-
TERS INFORMATION SERVICES INC., SEATTLE TIMES COMPANY,
SCRIPPS HOWARD, INC., THE SOCIETY OF PROFESSIONAL JOUR-
NALISTS, TRIBUNE COMPANY, UNITED PRESS INTERNATIONAL,
INC., THE WASHINGTON POST AND WESTINGHOUSE BROAD-
CASTING COMPANY, INC., IN SUPPORT OF RESPONDENTS

Of Counsel: ROBERT D. SACK
LESTER E. GREENMAN GIBSON, DUNN & CRUTCHER
S. WHITNEY RAHMAN 200 Park Avenue
GIBSON, DUNN & CRUTCHER New York, New York 10166
200 Park Avenue (212) 351-4000
New York, New York 10166 Counsel of Record for
RICHARD J. TOFEL Amici Curiae
Dow Jones & Company, Inc.

Legal Department

200 Liberty Street, 11th Floor
New York, New York 10281

(Additional Counsel Listed on Inside Cover)

— Fae tae

Of Counsel:

RICHARD M. SCHMIDT, JR.
COHN AND MARKS
1333 New Hampshire Avenue, N.W.,
Suite 600
Washington, D.C. 20036
Attorneys for the American
Society of Newspaper Editors

RICHARD N. WINFIELD

ROGERS & WELLS

200 Park Avenue

New York, New York 10166
Attorneys for the Associated Press

STEVEN W. KORN
BENITA BAIRD

CELESTE PHILLIPS
Cable News Network, Inc.
One CNN Center

Box 105366

Atlanta, Georgia 30348

DEVEREUX CHATILLON
Capital Cities/ ABC, Inc.
47 West 66th Street

New York, New York 10023

DOUGLAS P. JacoBs
Associate General Counsel
CBS Inc.

51 West S2nd Street

New York, New York 10019

BARBARA L. WARTELLE
Senior Legal Counsel
Gannett Co., Inc.

1100 Wilson Boulevard
Arlington, Virginia 22234

HARVEY L. LIPTON
ROBERT J. HAWLEY

The Hearst Corporation
959 Eighth Avenue

New York, New York 10019

JOSEPH H. COOPER

The New Yorker

25 West 43rd Street

18th Floor

New York, New York 10036

LAURA R. HANDMAN

LANKENAU & BICKFORD

1740 Broadway

New York, New York 10019

SLADe R. METCALF

SQUADRON, ELLENOFF, PIESENT
& LEHRER

$51 Fifth Avenue

New York, New York 10176

Attorneys for Magazine Publishers
of America

RICHARD J. OVELMEN
BAKER & MCKENZIE

1600 Barnett Tower

701 Brickell Avenue

Miami, Florida 33131
Attorneys for the Miami Herald

Publishing Company

Desra O. FOUST

McClatchy Newspapers, Inc.
2100 Q Street

Sacramento, California 95816

SANDRA S. BARON
GAYLE C. SPROUL

National Broadcasting Company, Inc.

30 Rockefeller Plaza
New York, New York 10112

ALBERTO IBARGUEN
NANCY E. RICHMAN
Newsday, Inc.

235 Pinelawn Road
Melville, New York 11747

1735 Eye Street, N.W., Suite 504
Washington, D.C. 20006

CONSTANCE A. HEYMANN
NATALIE T. LEVY

Reuters Information Services Inc.

1700 Broadway
New York, New York 10019

Washington, D.C. 20071

New York, New York 10106

TABLE OF CONTENTS

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES ...........cccesecccess

i ti SE cccsetcccscecsvcesvceessecce

POINT ONE—CONSTITUTIONAL DOCTRINE
HAS REPLACED THE COMMON LAW FAIR
COMMENT PRIVILEGE IN PROTECTING
EXPRESSIONS OF OPINION FROM DEFAMA-
Be OED ba cevecedcccccccescccecccos:

POINT TWO—IN DRAWING THE _ LINE
BETWEEN FACT AND OPINION, THE LODE-
STAR MUST BE THE PROTECTION OF THE
FREE FLOW OF IDEAS AND OPINIONS.......

POINT THREE—A STATEMENT OF OPINION
DISAGREEING WITH SWORN TESTIMONY
DOES NOT FORFEIT CONSTITUTIONAL PRO-

POINT FOUR—THE CHALLENGED STATE-
MENTS ARE CONSTITUTIONALLY PRO-
TECTED EXPRESSIONS OF OPINION..........

SET saceseconvetcecevevececcceuceceeces

17

23

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases: PAGE
A.S. Abell Co. v. Kirby, 227 Md. 267, 176 A.2d 340

GE ne vccccccccencqeasedduséceosncéecenseesess 6, 7
Action Repair, Inc. v. American Broadcasting Cos.,

776 F.2d 143 (7th Cir. 1985) ......... cc cece eee eee 12
Addington v. Texas, 441 U.S. 418 (1979)............ 23
Aldoupolis v. Globe Newspaper Co., 398 Mass. 731,

S00 N.E.2d 794 (1986) ....... ccc ccc c cece eee eeees 24
Amcor Investment Corp. v. Cox Arizona Publications,

Inc., 690 S.W.2d 775 (Mo. 1985) ...........00005- 12
Ault v. Hustler Magazine, Inc., 860 F.2d 877 (9th Cir.

1988), cert. denied, 109 S. Ct. 1532 (1989) ........ 14
Baker v. Los Angeles Herald Examiner, 42 Cal. 3d

254, 228 Cal. Rptr. 206, 721 P.2d 87 (1986), cert.

GG, Ge Gee Te Gc cc cccéccccccecececes 14
Bennett v. Transamerica Press, 298 F. Supp. 1013

Gees. GD Mand che cdcbdeceuoncuceseceusesees< 24
Bland v. Verser, 299 Ark. 490, 774 S.W.2d 124 (1989) 15
Bose Corp. v. Consumers Union of United States, Inc.,

GD Ue GED Gc ccccccccccocescceceed 4, 15, 16, 17
Bose Corp. v. Consumers Union of United States, Inc.,

692 F.2d 189 (ist Cir. 1982), aff'd, 466 U.S. 485

GRRE oc ccccndscccecececcesocecensceesnesesesées 15
Brewer v. Memphis Publishing Co., 626 F.2d 1238 (Sth

Cir. 1980), cert. denied, 452 U.S. 962 (1981) ...... 12, 13

Brooks v. Paige, 773 P.2d 1098 (Colo. App. 1989). ..26, 27

Brown v. Kelly Broadcasting Co., 48 Cal. 3d 711, 771
P.2d 406, 257 Cal. Rptr. 708 (1989) ..............

ili

PAGE
Bucher v. Roberts, 198 Colo. 1, 595 P.2d 239 (1979). 14

Buckley v. Littell, 539 F.2d 882 (2d Cir. 1976), cert.
denied, 429 U.S. 1062 (1977) ......... ccc eee eeeees 21

Camer v. Seattle Post-Intelligencer, 45 Wash. App. 29,
723 P.2d 1195 (1986), cert. denied, 482 U.S. 916
| PEPE PPrrerrrrTiTrr rrr ir ririrriirrir Tee 12

Chaves v. Johnson, 230 Va. 112, 335 S.E.2d 97 (1985) 15

Cianci v. New Times Publishing Co., 639 F.2d 54 (2d
GE, FR ob cccedecccencecosccccccdveccceess 13, 23, 24

Coleman v. MacLennan, 78 Kan. 711, 98 P. 281 (1908) 10

Curtis Publishing Co. v. Birdsong, 360 F.2d 344 (Sth
Gs MD cnccccesececcadcsosbeecncnceseeceséuss 10

Curtis Publishing Co. v. Butts, 388 U.S. 130 (1967).. 9, 17
Edmonds v. Delta Democrat Publishing Co., 230 Miss.

ee, Ge Be Oe I co ndcctécecccccooesesee 6
Edwards v. National Audubon Soc’y, 556 F.2d 113 (2d
Cir.), cert. denied, 434 U.S. 1002 (1977) .......... 24

Eikhoff v. Gilbert, 124 Mich. 353, 83 N.W. 110 (1900) 7
El Paso Times v. Kerr, 706 S.W.2d 797 (Tex. Ct. App.

1986), cert. denied, 480 U.S. 932 (1987)........... 15
Falls v. Sporting News Publishing Co., 834 F.2d 611

GE Gas FRG ac ccccccccccccecccccececscecesoeces 14
Ferguson v. Watkins, 448 So. 2d 271 (Miss. 1984) ... 1]
Finck v. City of Tea, 443 N.W.2d 632 (S.D. 1989)... 15
Friedman v. Boston Broadcasters, Inc., 402 Mass. 376,

S23 .B.3G GSD CIDER) . occ ccccccccccccccccccccess 14
Frigon v. Morrison-Maierle, Inc., 760 P.2d 57 (Mont.

SE, cuposseeedereuccoueesuescebcueasdensedeses 14

iv

PAGE

From v. Tallahassee Democrat, Inc., 400 So. 2d 52
(Fla. Dist. Ct. App. 1981), petition denied, 412 So.

Ge Gee Ee boddecés dacdsbasdadbboosescees< 12
Fudge v. Penthouse Int’l, Ltd., 840 F.2d 1012 (lst

Cir.), cert. denied, 109 S. Ct. 65 (1988)........... 12, 13
Garrison v. Louisiana, 379 U.S. 64 (1964)........... 4
Gernander v. Winona State University, 428 N.W.2d

oe Gee Gs SS Be cdvccveceseecccscscecs 14
Gertz v. Robert Welch, Inc., 418 U.S. 323

Se b600 6h ne nceateucdededecaeesel 2, 4, 5, 10, 11, 12,

13, 14, 15, 16, 17,
18, 19, 20, passim

Goodrich v. Waterbury Republican-American, Inc.,

188 Conn. 107, 448 A.2d 1317 (1982)............. 14
Greenbelt Cooperative Publishing Ass’n v. Bresler, 398
ee © Gee ohn ccacccesstenccuceucasctésacesedés 10

Haas v. Painter, 62 Or. App. 719, 662 P.2d 768,
review denied, 295 Or. 297, 668 P.2d 381 (1983)... 15

Harte-Hanks Communications, Inc. v. Connaughton,

ff EE re ee ne 18
Havalunch, Inc. v. Mazza, 294 §S.E.2d 70 (W. Va.
sé cnkdéecddadbbeskanedesebenssedeéechicetes 15

Healey v. New England Newspapers, Inc., 520 A.2d
147 (R.1. 1987), cert. denied, 110 S. Ct. 63 (1989) . 15

Henderson v. Times Mirror Co., 669 F. Supp. 356 (D.
Colo. 1987), aff’d, 876 F.2d 108 (10th Cir.

Henry v. Halliburton, 690 S.W.2d 775 (Mo. 1985)... 14

Hodgins v. Times Herald Co., 169 Mich. App. 245,
Gp See Se GD bo cbse bccbesseccesscvcocss 14

PAGE

Hoeppner v. Dunkirk Printing Co., 254 N.Y. 95, 172
Des Be Gee oc cccccccceccccceccccccccccecocces 27

Hoffman Co. v. E.I. Du Pont de Nemours and Co.,
202 Cal. App. 3d 390, 248 Cal. Rptr. 484 (1988) .. 11

Hoffman v. Washington Post Co., 433 F. Supp. 600
(D.D.C. 1977), aff’d, 578 F.2d 442 (D.C. Cir. 1978) 12

Hotchner v. Castillo-Puche, 551 F.2d 910 (2d Cir.

1976), cert. denied, 434 U.S. 834 (1977)........... 21
Hustler Magazine, Inc. v. Falwell, 485 U.S. 46

GEE Scccceccceccces: ceccecesocecoocescecess 4, 9, 16
Immuno AG v. Moor-Jankowski, 74 N.Y. 548, 549

N.Y.S.2d 938, 549 N.E.2d 129 (1989)...... 10, 12, 14, 15
Information Control Corp. v. Genesis One Computer

Corp., 611 F.2d 781 (9th Cir. 1980) .............. 20
Jamerson v. Anderson Newspapers, Inc., 469 N.E.2d

1243 (Ind. Ct. App. 1984) ........ ccc cece cee ees 14
Janklow v. Newsweek, Inc., 788 F.2d 1300 (8th Cir.

SD OE GED 005 n00500606es6eeesecoeesooseses 12

Jenkins v. KYW, A Division of Group W, Wes-
tinghouse Broadcasting & Cable, Inc., 829 F.2d 403

dL ETOP PPTTTTT TTT ITT TTT TT TTT 13
Jones v. Palmer Communications, Inc., 440 N.W.2d
BBS GOW FRE s cc cccccccccccccccccccccccccccces 15

Julian v. American Business Consultants, Inc., 2
N.Y.2d 1, 155 N.Y.S.2d 1, 137 N.E.2d 1 (1956)... 6

Kapiloff v. Dunn, 27 Md. App. 514, 343 A.2d 251 (Ct.
Spec. App. 1975), cert. denied, 426 U.S. 907 (1976) 14

Keller v. Miami Herald Publishing Co., 778 F.2d 711
(hithe Cie. 96S) oc cccccccccccccccccsccseccces 10, 13, 14

vi
PAGE
Koch v. Goldway, 817 F.2d 507 (9th Cir.
Fe Peccenccesseveovesseoseséberseebessosocoes 11, 12, 13
Kotlikoff v. Community News, 89 N.J. 62, 444 A.2d
Fee Ge cdbsccndssecscesecscocccsscdedecovcs 11, 14

Lauderback v. American Broadcasting Cos., 741 F.2d
193 (8th Cir.), cert. denied, 464 U.S. 1190 (1985).. 24

Letter Carriers v. Austin, 418 U.S. 264 (1974)....... 10
Lindsey v. Board of Regents of the University System

of Georgia, 607 F.2d 672 (Sth Cir. 1979).......... 13, 14
MacConnell v. Mitten, 131 Ariz. 22, 638 P.2d 689

Pe evektievcdebacdscdsndsdsnddabbibedadiésiecs 14
Maidman v. Jewish Publications, Inc., 54 Cal. 2d 643,

355 P.2d 265, 7 Cal. Rptr. 617 (1960) ............ 7
Marchiondo v. Brown, 98 N.M. 394, 649 P.2d 462
> Bee ecvbscctcecdscddebsbeddiisdededs adésoecen< 14
Marchiondo v. New Mexico State Tribune Co., 98

N.M. 282, 648 P.2d 321 (Ct. App. 1981).......... 11
Mashburn v. Collin, 355 So. 2d 879 (La. 1977)...... 12, 14
Meridian Star, Inc. v. Williams, 549 So. 2d 1332 (Miss.

i tdes ieadedssonncdteabedibbendaddbeubieses 14
Miskovsky v. Tulsa Tribune Co., 678 P.2d 242 (Okla.

1983), cert. denied, 465 U.S. 1006 (1984).......... 15
Mittelman v. Witous, 1989 lil. Lexis 172, 1989 Westlaw

DE Gy EE caectesecnsondeoesestoeeooroces 11, 14
Moffatt v. Brown, 751 P.2d 939 (Alaska 1988) ...... 14
Mr. Chow of New York v. Ste. Jour Azur S.A., 759

eee ee Ge > Edbccccsecedetecosceccece: 13, 19

PAGE
Myers v. Plan Takoma, Inc., 472 A.2d 44 (D.C. 1983) 14

Nanavati v. Burdette Tomlin Memorial Hospital, 857
F.2d 711 (3d Cir. 1988), cert. denied, 109 S. Ct. 1527

EPPO POPTTTTT TTT TTITTTTTT TTT TTT Le 13
Nash v. Keene Publishing Co., 127 N.H. 214, 498 A.2d
BED GFE co cccdcdecocescccscosocccccoccccccecoes 14
Nevada Independent Broadcasting Corp. v. Allen, 99
Nev. 404, 664 P.2d 337 (1983) ........ 0c ee eceeee 11, 14
New York Times Co. v. Sullivan, 376 U.S. 254
CR oc occccccece cccccccoccoscccccoess 2, 4, 6, 8, 9, 10,
19, 23, 26

Oliman v. Evans, 750 F.2d 970 (D.C. Cir. 1984) (en
banc), cert. denied, 471 U.S. 1127
Gs coseeeeoessccedoes 3, 6, 10, 12, 14, 19, 20, 21, 26

Orr v. Argus-Press Co., 586 F.2d 1108 (6th Cir. 1978),
cert. denied, 440 U.S. 960 (1979) ...... 6.6 ccc ceues 12, 13

Palm Beach Newspapers, Inc. v. Early, 334 So. 2d 50
(Fla. Dist. Ct. App. 1976), petition denied, 354 So.
2d 351 (Fla. 1977), cert. denied, 439 U.S. 910 (1978) =14

Parks v. Steinbrenner, 131 A.D.2d 60, 520 N.Y.S.2d

BIB CITED cc ccccccceccccccccccccccccccceceoccoes 27
Pearce v. E.F. Hutton Group, Inc., 664 F. Supp. 1490
GB. TGR cccccccccccccccccccccccccccccceses 11
Pearson v. Fairbanks Publishing Co., 413 P.2d 711
(Abadke 1966) 2. occ cccccccccccccccccccccccccecess 6
Philadelphia Newspapers, Inc. v. Hepps, 475 U.S. 767
GED coccccsoccccccccccccceesecces 3, 4, 16, 17, 22, 23

Potomac Valve & Fitting, Inc. v. Crawford Fitting
Co., 829 F.2d 1280 (4th Cir. 1987)......... tel Ea
20, 21, 22, 26

PAGE

Renwick v. News & Observer Pub., 63 N.C. App. 200,
304 S.E.2d 593 (1983), rev’d on other grounds, 310
N.C. 312, 312 S.E.2d 405, cert. denied, 469 U.S. 858

GO vccccccccccecesecsncecessescecadeoocesocces 15
“ey «olica v. Oswald, | Dall. 319 (Pa. 1788)........ 9
Riley v. Moyed, $29 A.2d 248 (Del. 1987)........... 14

Rinaldi v. Holt, Rinehart & Winston, Inc., 42 N.Y.2d
369, 397 N.Y.S.2d 943, 366 N.E.2d 1299, cert.

Go, Ge Ws Ee enc cdccnsscoceceesesscex 24
Rinsley v. Brandt, 700 F.2d 1304 (10th Cir. 1983).... 14
Roth v. United States, 354 U.S. 476 (1957).......... 9
Ryan v. Herald Ass’n, Inc., 566 A.2d 1316 (Vt.

Seessbebbsnnccesecdésustibnedibledanteckeccces 11, 15
S&W Seafoods Co. v. Jacor Broadcasting, 17 Media L.

Rep. (BNA) 1105 (Ga. Ct. App. 1989)............ 14
Scott v. News-Herald, 25 Ohio St. 3d 243, 496 N.E.2d

Geer Ge ectcnnckcansocdsadsssdBbbbessencctoves 15
Secrist v. Harkin, 874 F.2d 1244 (8th Cir.), cert.

CBee ee > SD whbcccedsébdésotecces 14
Smith v. Levitt, 227 F.2d 855 (9th Cir. 1955)........ 24
Southern Air Transport v. American Broadcasting

Cos., 877 F.2d 1010 (D.C. Cir. 1989)............. 24
Stepien v. Franklin, 39 Ohio App. 3d 47, 528 N.E.2d

Se GE ndenudscasadbudsocscesssessseeeesedse 24, 27
Stevens v. Tillman, 855 F.2d 394 (7th Cir. 1988)..... 13, 19
Stones River Motors, Inc. v. Mid-South Publishing

Co., 651 S.W.2d 713 (Tenn. Ct. App. 1983)....... 15

PAGE
Sweeney v. Schenectady Union Pub. Co., 122 F.2d 288
(2d Cir. 1941), aff'd, 316 U.S. 642 (1942)......... .
Triggs v. Sun Printing & Pub. Ass’n, 179 N.Y. 144, 71
DE, FED Gc ceccccecccccccceccccccceccececes 7
True v. Ladner, 513 A.2d 257 (Me. 1986)........... 14
Turner v. Welliver, 226 Neb. 275, 411 N.W.2d 298
ED ccccceccesencccescocenseccsccccccescecoces 14
Walker v. Associated Press, 388 U.S. 130 (1967)..... s
Walker v. Pulitzer Publishing Co., 394 F.2d 800 (8th
Ge, BD dccccccccdcccscceocececococesceeccsoss &
Wolston v. Reader’s Digest Ass’n, Inc., 443 U.S. 157
GIFTED cc ccccdecccetcesscoccccceccoscececcevesose 12
Woods v. Evansville Press, 791 F.2d 480 (7th Cir.
BEE. ccccccsdcccoccesecccccesoccosecocesececcss 14
Yancey v. Hamilton, 17 Media L. Rep. (BNA) 1012
Gi. BGEBD . cccccccccccccccccccccccecccsccccccees 14
Yerkie v. Post-Newsweek Stations, 470 F. Supp. 91 (D.
OE, Bee ccccccccccecescececcecescesececeeseces 11
Other:
36 C.J. Libel and Slander (1924) .... 2.26.66 eeeene 5
L. Eldredge, The Law of Defamation (1978)......... 5, 25
Franklin & Bussel, The Plaintiff’s Burden in Defama-
tion: Awareness and Falsity, 25 Wm. & Mary L.
Rev. GBS CIGBG...ccccccccccccccccccccccces 9, 18, 21, 23
Hill, Defamation and Privacy Under the First Amend-
ment, 76 Colum. L. Rev. 1205 (1976)...........++- 5, 6

Keeton, Defamation and Freedom of the Press, 54 Tex.
L. Rev. 1221 (IDI) 2. ccccccccccccccccccccccccees 6

PAGE
W. Lippman, Public Opinion (MacMillan paperback

OE Tee weecccccckcnccssdetobsesbousscoscecotes 18
Note, 62 Harv. L. Rev. 1207 (1949) ..............4.. 5
Note, Fact and Opinion After Gertz v. Robert Weich,

Inc.: The Evolution of a Privilege, 34 Rutgers L.

Pe, GS Gee Cv cesececcctcccccesesecescscoseese 8, 11
Petition for Writ of Certiorari, New England Newspa-

pers, Inc. v. Healey, No. 88-1939............6645. 22
W. Prosser, Handbook of the Law of Torts (2d ed.

Sn co sceccecccecesesoesoocecoeoceceoosoesosees 5
R. Sack, Libel, Slander, and Related Problems (1980) 19
Restatement (Second) of Torts, § 566 (1977) ...... 2, 11, 22
Restatement of Torts, § 606(1) (1938) ............... 5
Titus, Statement of Fact Versus Statement of

Opinion—A Spurious Dispute in Fair Comment, 15

We Be ER, Ee Ge cccccccsesecceseccesse 5

- = en

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States
OCTOBER TERM, 1989
No. 89-645

>

MICHAEL MILKOVICH, SR.,
Petitioner,
—against—

THE LORAIN JOURNAL CO., THE NEWS HERALD and
THEODORE DIADIUN,

Respondents.

ON WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE SUPREME COURT OF OHIO

>

BRIEF AMICI CURIAE OF
DOW JONES & COMPANY, INC., ET AL.,
IN SUPPORT OF RESPONDENTS

This brief is respectfully submitted, with the consent of the
parties, pursuant to Rule 37 of the Rules of this Court, urg-
ing affirmance of the decision below of the Supreme Court
of Ohio on the grounds that the matter alleged herein to be
libelous constitutes opinion and that the First and Fourteenth
Amendments to the Constitution of the United States there-
fore bar Petitioner's action.

INTEREST OF AMICI

Amici include writers, editors and publishers of newspa-
pers, magazines and newswires, and owners of radio and tele-
vision stations and networks, involved in communicating

2

news, information and opinion to the American public, and
organizations of persons or entities involved in such com-
munication. Each of the amici is more fully described in the
Appendix annexed hereto. From time to time, amici or their
members are targets of libel actions in which the question of
legal protection for expression of opinion is an issue. The
question presented in this case is therefore a matter of contin-
uing and critical concern to amici. They and their constitu-
ents will be directly affected by the Court's resolution of the
question now before it.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

At common law, opinion was protected from defamation
judgments under the doctrine of fair comment. Designed to
preserve freedom of debate, fair comment became so entan-
gled in caveats and qualifications differing from jurisdiction
to jurisdiction that it did not adequately serve that goal. As
subject to the laws of many jurisdictions, there arose serious
danger, similar to that confronted in New York Times Co. v.
Sullivan, 376 U.S. 254 (1964), of unpopular opinion being
punished by unsympathetic local juries employing vague legal
standards. Against this backdrop, this Court observed in
Gertz v. Robert Weich, Inc., 418 U.S. 323, 339 (1974), that

non-actionable, (ii) emphatically repeating the Gertz state-
ment in defamation-related cases, (iii) implying that the cross-
ing of ‘‘the line between fact and opinion’’ by a
communication has constitutional ramifications, and (iv)
holding that, at least im cases treating media publications

3

about matters of public concern, the plaintiff has the burden
of proving falsity, so that an opinion in such a case, which is
incapable of being proved false, is necessarily non-actionable.

H
:
4
|
E}

ing fact from opinion. See Potomac Valve & Fitting, Inc. v.
Crawford Fitting Co., 829 F.2d 1280 (4th Cir. 1987). Finally,
as suggested by the logic of Philadelphia Newspapers, Inc. v.
Hepps, 475 U.S. 767 (1986), because of the importance of
assuring free debate, in cases where the balance is close,
questionable statements should be treated as protected opin-
jon rather than actionable assertions of fact. (Point Two.)
An opinion should not forfeit constitutional protection
solely because it implies an accusation of criminal activity.
This is particularly true with respect to statements contradict-
ing sworn testimony. Such expression is often simply a state-

:

general test of whether it conveys information
about the outside world or the author's attitude toward such
information. It is within the First Amendment protections for

doctrine of fair comment. The Court's statement in Gertz v.
Robert Weich, Inc., 418 U.S. 323 (1974), that “‘fujnder the
First Amendment there is no such thing as a false idea,” id.
at 339, however, has given rise to law that has replaced the
fair comment privilege. Opinion is now protected directly by
the First and Fourteenth Amendments to the United States
Constitution. All the federal circuits and courts in more than
two-thirds of the states adhere to this position. It is rooted in
the principles enunciated in New York Times Co. v. Sullivan,
376 U.S. 254 (1964), and receives support from the Court’s
opinions in Bose v. Consumers Union of United States, Inc.,
466 U.S. 485 (1984), Philadelphia Newspapers, Inc. v.
Hepps, 475 U.S. 767 (1986), and Hustler Magazine, Inc. v.
Falwell, 485 U.S. 46 (1988), as well as Gertz.

5

Under the common law, to recover for defamation a plain-
tiff was ordinarily required to prove only that a defamatory
statement had been published about him. See L. Eldredge,
The Law of Defamation §5 at 15-16 (1978). In order to
escape liability, the defendant had to establish either that the
statement was true (‘‘justification’’) or that it fell within the
protection of one of several specific privileges, of which ‘‘fair
comment’’ was the most prominent.

A defendant’s fair comment plea required that he first
prove that his statement was indeed comment or opinion,’
precisely the issue that, in the constitutional context, troubled
and divided the court below. See, e.g., W. Prosser, Hand-
book of the Law of Torts 622 (2d ed. 1955); Titus, Statement
of Fact Versus Statement of Opinion—A Spurious Dispute in
Fair Comment, 15 Vand. L. Rev. 1203, 1204 (1962) (‘‘the
availability of the defense of fair comment oftentimes turns
upon whether or not a particular statement will be placed
into one cubbyhole called ‘fact’ or in another called
‘opinion’ *’); Note, 62 Harv. L. Rev. 1207, 1212 (1949) (‘‘the
distinction, more often announced than defined, between
comments and statements of fact is often crucial to the out-
come of fair comment litigation’’). A defendant relying on
the common law privilege was also required to establish that
his communication was about a matter of public concern;
that it was based upon a true or privileged statement of fact
or on facts otherwise known or available to the public; that it
represented his actual opinion; and that it was not made
solely for the purpose of causing harm to the target of the
opinion. Restatement of Torts, § 606(1) (1938).

Additionally, from court to court and state to state, the
privilege was hedged about with caveats and qualifications.
Courts variously required, for example, that the communica-
tion at issue ‘‘not be ‘unreasonably violent or vehement’ or

1 **The terms comment and opinion are used interchangeably in the
cases. . ."” Hill, Defamation and Privacy Under the First Amendment, 76
Colum. L. Rev. 1205, 1227 (1976). Cf. Gertz v. Robert Weich, Inc., 418 1).S.
323, 339-40 (1974) apparently treating the words as synonyms; 36 C.J. Libel
and Slander § 285 (1924).

6

‘excessively vituperative’; that it . . . ‘be a reasonable infer-
ence from facts truly stated’; that it . . . be presented in a
‘proper manner’ and be ‘based upon reasonable or probable
cause’; and especially that it. . . ‘be fair.’ ’’ Hill, Defama-
tion and Privacy under the First Amendment, 76 Colum. L.
Rev. 1205, 1229-30 (1976) (footnotes omitted). Typically,
“courts [were] content with general statements that the fair-
ness or reasonableness of the comment [was] for the jury.’’
Id. at 1233 (footnote omitted).

The purpose served by the common law protection for
comment was essentially the same as that which later
impelled the Court to establish constitutional limitations on
defamation judgments: to insure that ‘‘debate on public
issues [be] uninhibited, robust and wide-open. .. .”’ New
York Times Co. v. Sullivan, 376 U.S. 254, 270 (1964).? While
the common law tradition was, as members of this Court
have recognized, ‘‘rich and complex,’’ see, e.g., Ollman v.
Evans, 471 U.S. 1127, 1129 (1985) (Rehnquist, J., dissenting
from denial of certiorari, quoting Hill, supra, at 1239), its
very richness and complexity rendered the fair comment priv-
ilege inadequate to fulfill its purpose of protecting free
expression.

Thus, under the common law privilege:

¢ A publisher suffered a substantial libel judgment
for publishing an editorial referring to the plaintiff—
who had accused the city police commissioner of
incompetence—as ‘‘infamous’’ and harboring ‘‘a
motive.’’ The grounds: that the apparently ample facts

2 See, e.g., Pearson v. Fairbanks Publishing Co., 413 P.2d 711, 714
(Alaska 1966) (‘‘freedom of discussion and debate on public issues’’);
Edmonds v. Delta Democrat Publishing Co., 230 Miss. 583, 591, 93 So. 2d
171, 173 (1957) (that “‘matters of a public nature may be freely discussed’’);
Julian v. American Business Consultants, Inc., 2 N.Y.2d 1, 7, 185 N.Y.S.2d
1, 7, 137 N.E.2d 1, $ (1956) (“‘{iJmn furtherance of . . . the right to write
freely’’). See also Keeton, Defamation and Freedom of the Press, 54 Tex. L.
Rev. 1221, 1222-23 (1976).

5

supporting the characterization, none of which the jury
was permitted to learn, were not set forth in the edito-
rial. A.S. Abell Co. v. Kirby, 227 Md. 267, 271, 176
A.2d 340, 341, 342 (1961).

° A “good government’’ group’s recommendation
against a candidate for public office ‘‘because in the last
legislature he championed measures opposed to the
moral interests of the community’’ was held to be
unprotected because the facts—that the plaintiff had
voted for anti-temperence legislation—were not stated.
The case was remanded for trial as to the ‘‘truth’’ of the
opinion. Eikhoff v. Gilbert, 124 Mich. 353, 354, 83
N.W. 110, 111, 113 (1900).

© Withering, persistent criticism of one Oscar Triggs,
a widely known English professor—‘*We cannot boast
of having discovered Triggs, for he was born great, dis-
covered himself early and has a just appreciation of the
value of this discovery’’—was held not, as a matter of
law, to be fair comment. “‘[T]he question whether the
criticism was fair and just or willfully assailed the repu-
tation of the plaintiff, would be for the jury.”’ 7riggs v.
Sun Printing & Pub. Ass’n, 179 N.Y. 144, 147, 154, 71
N.E. 739, 740, 742 (1904).

¢ An editorial im a Jewish newspaper, mocking the
conduct of a prominent Jewish lawyer affiliated with a
competing newspaper for arguing against adjourning a
case for the Jewish New Year, saying his behavior made
‘‘all of us Jews look ridiculous,’’ was held actionable
subject to a jury determination as to whether an alleged
**long-standing feud’’ between the newspapers was ‘‘suf-
ficient to rebut the existence of the defense of fair com-
ment.’ Maidman vy. Jewish Publications, Inc., 54 Cal.
2d 643, 647, 653, 654, 355 P.2d 265, 267, 270, 271, 7
Cal. Rptr. 617, 619, 622, 623 (1960), overruled on other
grounds, Brown v. Kelly Broadcasting Co., 48 Cal. 3d
711, 771 P.2d 406, 257 Cal. Rptr. 708 (1989).

Strongly held views, even on matters of obvious public
concern, thus could not be aired with any assurance of

safety. A decision to speak out required first a prediction as
to what state’s law would govern any ensuing litigation, then
a guess as to how a jury would determine issues as vague and
subjective as whether the views were the speaker's ‘‘actual
opinion,”’’ or were ‘‘excessively vituperative’’ or ‘‘unfair.’’

While the very process of submitting unpopular opinion to
scrutiny by courts and juries endangers freedom of speech,
the hazard increased dramatically as technology gave birth to
publications and broadcasts disseminated widely, often
nationally. There arose the threat of six- and seven-figure
libel judgments resting on local juries’ findings as subjective
and ephemeral as that the criticism was ‘‘unfair’’ or ‘‘unrea-
sonable.’”?

The danger to press freedom posed by the application of
local defamation law to unpopular publications provided the
stark backdrop for New York Times Co. v. Sullivan, 376
U.S. 254 (1964). That decision, of course, concerned defama-
tory false statements of fact, not assertions of opinion. In the
context of a series of massive libel suits brought by local pub-
lic officials against locally unpopular publishers and broad-
casters from other parts of the country, id. at 278, n.18 and
295 (Black, J., concurring), the Court held, inter alia, that
the common law rule requiring a defendant to prove truth in
order to escape liability in such a case was constitutionally
insufficient. ‘‘The rule . . . dampens the vigor and limits the
variety of public debate. It is inconsistent with the First and

3 With respect to wire copy or syndicated material, an aggrieved per-
son could bring separate actions in many jurisdictions, each applying its own
common law standards. See, e.g., Note, Fact and Opinion Afier Gertz v.
Robert Weich, Inc.: The Evolution of a Privilege, 34 Rutgers L. Rev. 81, 87-
88 (1981), describing a series of suits brought by a Congressman against
newspapers carrying a syndicated column that allegedly accused him of anti-
Semitic behavior. Most of the courts held the column to be non-libelous; one
held it to be actionable and unprotected by the fair comment doctrine. Swee-
ney v. Schenectady Union Pub. Co., 122 F.2d 288 (2d Cir. 1941), aff'd, 316
U.S. 642 (1942). Cf. Walker v. Associated Press, 388 U.S. 130 (1967). The
Associated Press dispatch in Walker resulted in at least 15 different lawsuits
by the plaintiff against various defendants throughout the United States.
Walker v. Pulitzer Publishing Co., 394 F.2d 800, 806-07 (8th Cir. 1968) (col-
lecting cases).

9

Fourteenth Amendments.’’ Jd. at 279. The antidote: the
Court’s holding that a public-official plaintiff must prove
“actual malice’ with convincing clarity subject to indepen-
dent appellate review before a libel judgment in his favor will
be permitted to stand.

Had the Sullivan case involved an unpopular editorial
rather than an unpopular advertisement—opinion and fair
comment rather than fact and ‘“‘justification’’—the result
would necessarily have been the same. Large verdicts directed
against New York Times editorials critical of public officials
in another region of the country, based solely on a pub-
lisher’s failure to prove to a local jury’s satisfaction that the
article was ‘‘fair’’ or ‘“‘presented in a proper manner’’ or con-
stituted ‘‘a reasonable inference,’’ would certainly and in
equal measure have undermined the ‘‘unfettered interchange
of ideas for the bringing about of political and social changes
... . Sullivan, 376 U.S. at 269 (quoting Roth v. United
States, 354 U.S. 476, 484 (1957)).* Had such judgments thus
threatened to impede the ‘‘free flow of ideas and opinions,”’
which are ‘‘{a}t the heart of the First Amendment,’’ Hustler
Magazine, Inc. v. Falwell, 485 U.S. 46, 50 (1988), the Court
would doubtless have interceded to ensure protection beyond
that offered by each state’s law of fair comment.’ It was not
called upon to do so.*

4 The Founders “firmly adhered to the proposition that the ‘true lib-
erty of the press’ permitted ‘every man to publish his opinion.’ "’ Curtis Pub-
lishing Co. v. Butts, 388 U.S. 130, 149-50 (1967) (opinion of Harlan, J.),
quoting Respublica v. Oswald, | Dall. 319, 325 (Pa. 1788).

5 New York Times Co. v. Sullivan, supra, itself had implications for
protection of opinion. First, it required plaintiff to prove “‘actual malice.”’
Id. at 280. Insofar as that implies that it is a public official's burden to prove
falsity, see Garrison v. Louisiana, 379 U.S. 64, 74 (1964), such a plaintiff
cannot prevail if the communication is an opinion that can be proved neither
true nor false. See Franklin & Busse!, The Plaintiff's Burden in Defamation:
Awareness and Falsity, 25 Wm. & Mary L. Rev. 825, 855-56 (1984).

Second, at footnote 30, the Court observed: ‘‘[A] defense of fair comment
must [as a matter of constitutional law] be afforded for honest expression of

(footnote 6 appears on next page)

10

Against this legal landscape, in 1974, the Court made its
provocative observation in Gertz:

We begin with the common ground. Under the First
Amendment there is no such thing as a false idea. How-
ever pernicious an opinion may seem, we depend for its
correction not on the conscience of judges and juries but
on the competition of other ideas.

Gertz v. Robert Weich, Inc., 418 U.S. 323, 339-40 (1974).
That statement has often been referred to as dictum.’ What-
ever the words’ precise force as precedent, however, they
have had an extraordinary impact on the law of defamation.

On the day the Court rendered its opinion in Gertz, it also
decided Letter Carriers v. Austin, 418 U.S. 264 (1974). The
Court held that the use of vigorous epithets in the context of
a labor dispute could not support a defamation judgment,
basing its holding, at least in part, on the Gertz principle that
“there is no such thing as a false idea.”’ Jd. at 284. The epi-

opinion based upon privileged, as well as true, statements of fact.’ 376 U.S.
at 292. Indeed, the holding in Sullivan was based on the minority fair com-
ment rule that misstatements of fact as well as comment about public figures
were protected. Coleman v. MacLennan, 78 Kan. 711, 98 P. 281 (1908).

6 Before Gertz, the Court decided Greenbelt Cooperative Publishing
Ass'n v. Bresier, 398 U.S. 6 (1970), holding that use of the term ‘“blackmail”’
as an epithet directed at a public figure “‘was not slander when spoken and
not libel when [published].’" Jd. at 13. It is not clear from the Court's opin-
ion whether it was suggesting that the statement was constitutionally pro-
tected because it was opinion, non-actionable because the plaintiff-public
figure could not carry the New York Times burden of proving falsity, or pro-
tected as a matter of law under an ancient (although uncited) line of author-
ity that mere insults are not defamatory (see, e.g., Curtis Publishing Co. v.
Birdsong, 360 F.2d 344, 348 (Sth Cir. 1966)), or otherwise.

7 See, e.g., Oliman v. Evans, 750 F.2d 970, 974 n.6 (D.C. Cir. 1984)
(en banc), cert. denied, 471 U.S. 1127 (1985); Keller v. Miami Herald Pub-
lishing Co., 778 F.2d 711, 715 n.11 (1ith Cir. 1985); Immuno, A.G. v.
Moor-Jankowski, 74 N.Y.2d 548, , 549 N.Y.S.2d 938, 941, $49 N_E.2d
129, 132 (1989).

1]

thets were opinion, as such unprovable, and therefore non-
actionable. Although the Gertz language when stated was dic-
tum, it was thus treated as authoritative by the Court on the
same day it was first uttered.

Meanwhile, the American Law Institute was considering a
revision of the Restatement of Torts. Note, Fact and Opinion
After Gertz v. Robert Weich, Inc.: The Evolution of a Privi-
lege, 34 Rutgers L. Rev. 81, 97-99 (1981). When it published
the Second Restatement, three years after Gertz, the Institute
abandoned the common law defense of fair comment
reflected in the 1938 version of the Restatement. *‘The com-
mon law rule that an expression of opinion of the . . . pure
. . . type may be the basis of an action for defamation now
appears to have been rendered unconstitutional by U-S.
Supreme Court decisions.’’ Restatement (Second) of Torts,
§ 566 comment c (1977).

Jurisdiction by jurisdiction, an avalanche followed. Per-
haps attracted by the protection that Gertz offered to full
and free public discussion and the relative simplicity of the
doctrine, court after court employed the Gertz language as a
mandate for a constitutionally based rule providing immunity
for expressions of opinion. The fair comment privilege was,
simultaneously, al] but abandoned.

Some courts explicitly held that Gertz had rendered the fair
comment privilege obsolete.’ Some implied as much by refer-
ring to the fair comment privilege but then deciding the case

8 Koch v. Goldway, 817 F.2d $07, $09 (9h Cir. 1987); Pearce v. EF.
Hutton Group, Inc., 664 F. Supp. 1490, 1503 (D.D.C. 1987); Yerkie v. Post-
Newsweek Stations, 470 F. Supp. 91, 94 (D. Md. 1979); Mittelman v. Wir-
ous, 1989 Ill. Lexis 172 at 18, 1989 Westlaw 154272 at 7 (IN. 1989); Ryan v.
Herald Ass’n, Inc., $66 A.2d 1316, 1321-22 (Vt. 1989); Hoffman Co. v. E.1.
Du Pont de Nemours and Co., 202 Cal. App. 3d 390, 407 n.10, 248 Cal.
Rptr. 384, 395 n.10 (1988); Ferguson v. Watkins, 448 So. 2d 271, 278 (Miss.
1984); Nevada Independent Broadcasting Corp. v. Allen, 99 Nev. 404, 413
n.6, 664 P.2d 337, 343 n.6 (1983); Kotlikoff v. Community News, 89 N_J.
62, 65, 444 A.2d 1086, 1087 (1982); Marchiondo v. New Mexico State Trib-
une Co., 98 N.M. 282, 295, 648 P.2d 321, 334 (Ct. App. 1981).

12

solely on the basis of the Constitution.’ Others considered the
constitutional privilege first and then declared that the consti-
tutional analysis had rendered superfluous any consideration
of defendant's claim of fair comment.” As one court that did
first consider fair comment felicitously put it, “‘Much of
what we find it necessary to write in this opinion may be lik-
ened unto deciding whether or not a base runner touched
third when it is clear that he was thrown out at home plate."
Brewer v. Memphis Publishing Co., 626 F.2d 1238, 1241-42,
n.4 (Sth Cir. 1980), cert. denied, 452 U.S. 962 (1981).

In adopting the Gertz-based rule, many courts seemed to
bypass the principle that constitutional questions are to be
addressed only after a review of state law demonstrates that
constitutional consideration is necessary.’ Several circuit
courts explicitly stated that the constitutional privilege is to
be analyzed before any consideration of state fair comment
law.” Other circuits simply considered the constitutional

9 Potomac Valve & Fitting, Inc. v. Crawford Fitting Co., 820 F.2d
1280, 1285 n.13 (4th Cir. 1987); Action Repair, Inc. v. American Broadcast-
ing Cos., 776 F.2d 143, 146-47 (7th Cir. 1985); Oliman v. Evans, 750 F.2d
970, 975 (D.C. Cir. 1984) (en banc), cert. denied, 471 U.S. 1127 (1985); Orr
v. Argus-Press Co, $86 F.2d 1108, 1114 (6th Cir. 1978), cert. denied, 440
U.S. 960 (1979); Henderson v. Times Mirror Co., 669 F. Supp. 356, 358-59
(D. Colo. 1987), aff'd, 876 F.2d 108 (10th Cir. 1989); Immuno A.C. v.
Moor-Jankowski, 74 N.Y 2d $48, 549 N.Y.S.2d 938, 549 N.E.2d 129 (1989);
Amcor Investment Corp. v. Cox Arizona Publications, Inc., 690 $.W 2d
775, 780-83 (Mo. 1985); From v. Tallahassee Democrat, Inc., 400 So. 2d 52,
54, 57 (Fla. Dist. Ct. App. 1981), petition denied, 412 So. 2d 465 (Fla. 1982).

10 Hoffman v. Washington Post Co., 433 F. Supp. 600, 603 (D.D.C.
1977), aff'd, $78 F.2d 442 (D.C. Cir. 1978); Camer v. Seattle Post-
Intelligencer, 45 Wash. App. 29, 41 n.3, 723 P.2d 1195, 1202 n.3 (1986), cert.
denied, 482 U.S. 916 (1987); Mashburn v. Collin, 355 So. 2d 879, 886 (La
1977).

11 See, e.g., Wolston v. Reader's Digest Ass'n, Inc., 443 U.S. 157, 160
n.2 (1979), referring in a libel case to “the general principle that dispositive
issues of statutory and local law are to be treated before reaching constitu-
tional issues.”’

12 Fudge v. Penthouse Int'l, Lid., 840 F.2d 1012, 1016 (ist Cir.), cert.
denied, 109 S. Ct. 65 (1988); Koch v. Goldway, 817 F.2d 507, 508-09 (Hh
Cir. 1987); Janklow v. Newsweek, Inc., 768 F.2d 1300, 1302 (8th Cir.) (en
banc), cert. denied, 479 U.S. 883 (1986); Oliman v. Evans, 750 F.2d 970, 975
n.8 (D.C. Cir. 1984) (en banc), cert. denied, 471 U.S. 1127 (1985).

13

question directly, without explaining the departure from ordi-
nary procedure.’ In some jurisdictions, indeed, the rule
extracted from Gertz, that statements of opinion are never
false and can therefore never be actionable, seems to have
been adopted as the State’s new common law of fair com-
ment. See, e.g., Koch v. Goldway, 817 F.2d 507, 508 (9th
Cir. 1987) (‘California . . . tends to conflate common law
principles and constitutional doctrine on the definition of
opinion’’); Keller v. Miami Herald Publishing Co., 778 F.2d
7i1, 716 (ilth Cir. 1985) (following Florida law which fol-
lows the Gertz-based rule).

Now, 15 years afver Gertz, every Federal Circuit," and the
courts of at least 36 States and the District of Colum-*

13 Stevens v. Tillman, 855 F.2d 394, 398 (7th Cir. 1988), cert. denied,
109 S. Ct. 1339 (1989); Cianci v. New Times Publishing Co., 639 F.2d 54, 61
(2d Cir. 1980).

Some circuits follow the traditional rule of considering the non-
constitutional fair comment privilege first. Naneveti v. Burdette Tomlin
Memorial Hospital, 857 F.2d 96, 106 n.11 (3d Cir. 1988), cert. denied, 109 S.
Ct. 1528 (1989); Keller v. Miami Herald Publishing Co., 778 F.2d 711, 717
(11th Cir. 1985); Brewer v. Memphis Publishing Co., 626 F 2d 1238, 1241-42
& n.4 (Sth Cir. 1980), cert. denied, 452 U.S. 962 (1981); Orr v. Argus-Press
Co., 586 F.2d 1108, 1111-14 (6th Cir. 1978), cert. denied, 440 U.S. 960
(1979). Several in the latter group have criticized the formalistic necessity of
considering the obsolete fair comment privilege before resolving the case
under the dispositive constitutional privilege. Brewer, 626 F.2d at 1241-42
n.4; Orr, $86 F.2d at 1114.

In Koch v. Goldway, 817 F.2d 507, 508-09 (9th Cir. 1987), then-Judge
Kennedy cited two reasons underlying the Ninth Circuit's policy of proceed-
ing directly to the constitutional issue. First, the very state law that would be
applied, California's, itself has rejected fair comment analysis in favor of the
constitutional privilege. Second, he noted the significant number of federal
appellate courts that decide fact/opinion issues in diversity cases under the
federal constitutional standard.

14 FIRST CIRCUIT: Fudge v. Penthouse Int'l, Lid., 840 F.2d 1012 (ist
Cir.), cert. denied, 109 S. Ct. 65 (1988); SECOND CIRCUIT: Mr. Chow of
New York v. Ste. Jour Azur $.A., 759 F.2d 219 Q2d Cir. 1985); THIRD Cir-
CUITT: Jenkins v. KYW, A Division of Group W, Westinghouse Broadcasting
4& Cable, Inc., 829 F.2d 403 (3d Cir. 1987); FOURTH CIRCUTT: Potomac
Valve & Fitting, Inc. v. Crawford Fitting Co. , 829 F.2d 1280 (4th Cir. 1987);
FIFTH CIRCUIT: Lindsey v. Board of Regents of the University System of

14

bia,’ have held that opinion is constitutionally protected
because “‘[uJnder the First Amendment there is no such

Georgia, 607 F.2d 672 (Sth Cir. 1979); SIXTH CIRCUIT: Fails v. Sporting
News Publishing Co., 834 F.2d 611 (6th Cir. 1987); SEVENTH CIRCUIT:
Woods v. Evansville Press, 791 F.2d 480 (7th Cir. 1986); EIGHTH CIRCUTT:
Secrist v. Harkin, 874 F.2d 1244 (8th Cir.), cert. denied, 110 S. Ct. 324
(1989); NINTH CIRCUIT: Ault v. Hustler Magazine, Inc., 860 F.2d 877 (Kh
Cir. 1988), cert. denied, 109 S. Ct. 1532 (1989); TENTH CIRCUTT: Rinsiey v.
Brandt, 700 F.2d 1304 (10th Cir. 1983) (false light action); ELEVENTH CiR-
CUIT: Keller v. Miami Herald Publishing Co., 778 F.2d 711 (11th Cir. 1985)
(looking to Florida law); D.C. CIRCUIT: Oliman v. Evans, 750 F.2d 970
(D.C. Cir. 1984) (en banc), cert. denied, 471 U.S. 1127 (1985).

1S ALASKA: Moffatt v. Brown, 751 P.2d 939 (Alaska 1988);
ARIZONA: MacConnell v. Mitten, 131 Ariz. 22, 638 P.2d 689 (1981); CALI
FORNIA: Baker v. Los Angeles Herald Examiner, 42 Cal. 34 254, 228 Cal.
Rptr. 206, 721 P.2d 87 (1986), cert. denied, 479 U.S. 1032 (1987); COLo-
RADO: Bucher v. Roberts, 198 Colo. 1, 595 P.2d 239 (1979); CONNECT.
CUT: Goodrich v. Waterbury Republican-American, Inc., 188 Conn. 107,
448 A.2d 1317 (1982); DELAWARE: Riley v. Moyed, $29 A.2d 248 (Del.
1987), DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA: Myers v. Plan Takoma, Inc., 472 A.2d 44
(D.C. 1983); FLORIDA: Palm Beach Newspapers, Inc. v. Early, 334 So. 2d
50 (Fla. Dist. Ct. App. 1976), petition denied, 354 So. 2d 351 (Fla. 1977),
cert. denied, 439 U.S. 910 (1978); GBORGIA: S4W Seafoods Co. v. Jacor
Broadcasting, 17 Media L. Rep. (BNA) 1105 (Ga. Ct. App. 1989); ILLINONS:
Mitteiman v. Witous, 1989 Ill. Lexis 172, 1989 Westlaw 1°4272 (Ill. 1989);
INDIANA: Jamerson v. Anderson Newspapers, Inc., 469 N.E.2d 1243 (Ind.
Ct. App. I ; KENTUCKY: Yancey v. Hamilton, 17 Media L. Rep. (BNA)
1012 (Ky. 1989); LOUISIANA: Mashburn v. Collin, 355 So. 2d 879 (La.
1977); MAINE: True v. Ladner, 513 A.2d 257 (Me. 1986); MARYLAND:
Kapiloff v. Dunn, 27 Md. App. $14, 343 A.2d 251 (Ct. Spec. App. 1975),
cert. denied, 426 U.S. 907 (1976) (recognizing a constitutionally based fair
comment privilege); MASSACHUSETTS: Friedman v. Boston Broadcasters,
Inc., 402 Mass. 376, $22 N.EB.2d 959 (1988); MICHIGAN: Hodgins v. Times
Herald Co., 169 Mich. App. 245, 425 N.W.2d $22 (Ct. App. 1988); MINNE-
SOTA: Gernander v. Winona State University, 428 N.W.2d 473 (Minn. Ct.
App. 1988); MISSISSIPPI: Meridian Siar, Inc v. Williams, $49 So. 2d 1332
(Miss. 1989); MISSOURI: Henry v. Halliburton, 690 $.W.2d 775 (Mo. 1985);
MONTANA: Frigon v. Morrison-Maierie, Inc., -50 P.2d $7 (Mont. 1988);
NEBRASKA: Turner v. Welliver, 226 Neb. 275, 4.1 N.W.2d 298 (1987);
NEVADA: Neveda Independent Broedcasting Corp. v. Allen, ® Nev. 404,
664 P.2d 337 (1983); NEW HAMP*TIRE: Nash v. Keene Publishing Co., 127
N.H. 214, 498 A.ld 348) __.,, NEW JERSEY: Kotlikoff v. Community
News, 89 N.J. 62, 444 A.2d 1086 (1982); NEW MEXICO: Marchiondo v.
Brown, 98 N.M. 394, 649 P.2d 462 (1982); NEW YORK: /mmwno AC v.

15

thing as a false idea.’ And while the Court has not explicitly
ruled on the application of the Gertz language to protection
for opinion, three decisions have been significant.

In Bose Corp. v. Consumers Union of United States, Inc.,
466 U.S. 485 (1984) (product disparagement), the Court
quoted Gertz in relation to the First Amendment ‘‘freedom
to speak one’s mind,’’ contrasting the ‘‘ideas’’ and ‘‘opin-
ions”’ referred to in Gertz with speech “‘to which the majestic
protection of the First Amendment does not extend .

Id. at 503-04. Notably, the Circuit Court in Bose, 692 F.2d
189 (ist Cir. 1982), had considered whether the defendant's
published review of the performance of the plaintiff's audio
equipment was opinion protected under the Gertz statement
or fact subject to the ‘‘actual malice’’ rule. Finding the fact/
opinion distinction peculiarly difficult ia that case, id. at 193-
94, the Court of Appeals assumed the statement was factual

and, exercising independent appellate review, held that
“‘actual malice’’ had not been proved. Jd. at 194-97.

Moor-Jankowski, 74 N.Y. 548, $49 N.Y¥.S 2d 938, 549 N.E.2d 129 (1989);
OHNO: Scott v. News-Herald, 25 Ohio St. 3d 243, 496 N.E.2d 699 (1986);
OKLABKOMA: Miskovsky v. Tulsa Tribune Co., 678 P.2d 242 (Okla. 1983),
cert. denied, 465 U.S. 1006 (1984); OREGON: Haas v. Painter, 62 Or. App.
719, 662 P.2d 768, review denied, 295 Or. 297, 668 P.2d 381 (1983) (finding
constitutional protection for opinion about public officials); RHODE
ISLAND: Healey v. New England Newspapers, Inc., $20 A.2d 147 (R.1.
1987), cert. denied, 110 S. Ct. 63 (1989); SOUTH DAKOTA: Finck v. City of
Tea, 443 N.W. (632 (S.D. 1989); TENNESSEE: Siones River Motors, Inc. v.
Mid-South Publishing Co., 651 S.W.2d 713 (Tenn. Ct. App. 1983); TEXAS:
El Paso Times v. Kerr, 706 S.W.2d 797 (Tex. Ct. App. 1986), cert. denied,
480 U.S. 932 (1987); VERMONT: Ryan v. Herald Ass'n, Inc., 566 A.2d 1316
(Vt. 1989); VIRGINIA: Cheves v. Johnson, 230 Va. 112, 335 S.B.2d 97
(1985); WEST VIRGINIA: Hevelunch, Inc. v. Mazza, 294 §.E.2d 70 (W. Va.
1981). Cases in other states indicate that those states are likely to hold that
opimon is constitutionally provected. See ARKANSAS: Bland v. Verser, 299
Ark. 490, 774 S.W.2d 124 (1989) (finding that statements were factual, not
constitutionally protected opinion); OWA: Jones v. Palmer Communica-
tions, Inc, 440 NW 2d 884 (Lowa 1989) (stating in dictum that opinion is
constitutionally protected), NORTH CAROLINA: Renwick v. News &
Observer Pub. 63 \ C. App. 200 304 §.B.2d 593 (1983), rev'd on other
grounds, S1O NC 312, 312 § E.2d 405, cert. denied, 469 U.S. 858 (1984).

—

must bear the burden of proving truth—must fall

|. . t© & Constitutional requirement thet the plaintiff
bear the burden of showing falsity . . . before recover-

ing damages.
475 U.S. at 776.

our political system and an open society.’ * Curtis Publishing Co. v. Burts,
388 U.S. 130, 149 (1967) (opinion of Harlan, J.) (citation omitted).

18 «If a defendani is found liable for defamation wuhout amy awareness
that what he has written might be understood as a statement of fact, he has
been held hable without fault, a result not permitted by Gerrz See Franklin
& Busse, The Plawnn//'s Burden in Defamation Awereness end Falsity, 25
Wm. & Mary L. Rew. 825, 834-5! (1984).

1? 86<Cy. W. Lippman, Public Opinion 18 (MacMillan paperback ed.
1965): “Those features of the world outside which have to do with the behav-

19

simple question around which the constitutional protection
revolves—‘‘is it opinion?’’—has provided them with depend-
able guidance about what can be said with safety. The practi-
cal result of the safe harbor” created by the Gertz-based
protections has been comprehensive editorial freedom, fulfill-
ing the constitutional mandate to protect ‘‘uninhibited,
robust and wide-open’’ debate.

It has been argued that the dividing line between fact and
opinion is not only elusive, it is logically impossible to draw.
See, e.g., Stevens v. Tillman, 855 F.2d 394, 398-400 (7th Cir.
1988) (every statement contains elements of both). But, as
one of the authors of this brief has argued,

[T}he law does not separate assertions of fact and opin-
ion from one another by logical mandate. It treats them
differently both under the common law and constitu-
tional principles as means to an end, to protect discus-
sion about public people, issues and events.

. . . Since in the interest of maintaining adequate lib-
erty of expression the law has embraced what is essen-
tially a fiction, the separability of fact from opinion, it
is necessary to attempt to apply it from case to case,
however difficult the application sometimes may be.

R. Sack, Libel, Slander, and Related Problems 156 (1980).
in order to make the fact/opinion determination in a man-
ner that addresses the statement as a whole, consistent with
the overall constitutional purposes for which the distinction is
being made, courts have developed sets of criteria to be used
in making the judgment. In Ollman v. Evans, 750 F.2d 970,
977 (D.C. Cir. 1984) (en banc), cert. denied, 471 U.S. 1127

20 Petitioner suggests that in “‘fairly debatable’’ cases, the fact/opinion
question should be resolved by the jury. (Br. at 30.) Although a small! minor-
ity of state courts apparently agree, the Federal Circuits are in unanimous
opposition. See, e.g., Mr. Chow of New York v. Ste. Jour Azur, S.A., 759
F.2d 219, 224 (2d Cir. 1985). Adoption of Petitioner’s view would rob the
constitutional protection of its virtue of creating a safe harbor for opinion.
The expense of routinely having to litigate through trial in order to determine
whether a statement is fact or opinion, and the resulting inhibition of expres-
sion, militate against any such rule. See Sullivan, 376 U.S. at 279.

20

(1985), the court, after referring to previous attempts to fash-
ion such tests,”’ proffered and applied comprehensive criteria
to which reference has frequently since been made. They are:
first, “‘the common usage or meaning of the specific language
of the challenged statement itself;’’ second, ‘‘verifiability;”’
third, ‘‘the full context of the statement—the entire article or
column, for example—inasmuch as other, unchallenged lan-
guage surrounding the allegedly defamatory statement wil!
influence the average reader’s readiness to infer that a partic-
ular statement has factual content;’’ and fourth, ‘‘the
broader context or setting in which the statement appears.
Different types of writing have . . . widely varying social
conventions which signal to the reader the likelihood of a
Statement being either fact or opinion.”’ Jd. at 979.

In a thoughtful and compelling opinion, Senior Circuit
Judge Wisdom, sitting by designation on a panel of the
Fourth Circuit in Potomac Valve & Fitting, Inc. v. Crawford
Fitting Co., 829 F.2d 1280 (4th Cir. 1987), reviewed the
Ollman criteria. The court was considering a libel suit about
an article in a newsletter distributed by the defendant busi-
ness about results of supposedly ‘‘independent’’ testing of a
product sold by the plaintiff, a competitor. After a detailed
review of the testing, the article concluded: ‘‘This was a (pur-
poms very poor test designed to snow the customer.”’ Jd. at

, n.4.

Judge Wisdom, writing for the court, said that that state-
ment standing alone was, indeed, verifiable. But the verifi-
ability criterion, he said, was ‘‘a minimum threshold issue

. .”"” If a statement is not verifiable, it is not actionable.
But,

21 —‘ In Information Control Corp. v. Genesis One Computer Corp., 611
F.2d 781, 784 (Mh Cir. 1980), for example, the court employed three criteria:
the words’ understanding in context, the circumstances under which they
were uttered, and the phrasing of the statement—is it phrased, for example,
** ‘in terms of apparency.’ "’ See Ollman, 750 F.2d at 977 n. 12.

22 Inasmuch as the spare language of the Gertz dictum focuses on the
impossibility of proving an idea to be false, some courts and commentators
have focused on “‘disprovability’’ or ‘‘verifiability’’ as the sole criterion for

21

je]ven when a statement is subject to verification. . .
it may still be protected if it can best be understood
from its language and context to represent the personal
view of the author or speaker who made it. Thus we
reject the suggestion . . . that any “‘question of fact’’
which can be decided by a jury can be actionable as def-
amation. Such a test ignores the underlying purposes of
the fact/opinion distinction, and would lead to results
that could not be reconciled with the developing case
law in other circuits.

829 F.2d at 1288. (Emphasis supplied.)

Judge Wisdom pointed out that, while Ol/man set forth
criteria valuable in making the fact/opinion distinction, it did
not teach how to apply them when the Ol//man factors were
not all pointing in the same direction.

We hold that a verifiable statement, a statement that
has failed the second Ollman factor, nevertheless quali-
fies as an ‘‘opinion’”’ if it is clear from any of the three
remaining Ollman factors, individually or in conjunc-
tion, that a reasonable reader or listener would recognize
its' weakly substantiated or subjective character—and
discount it accordingly.

Id. (Emphasis in the original.)

protection of opinion. See, e.g., Franklin & Bussel, The Plaintiff's Burden in
Defamation: Awareness and Falsity, 25 Wm. & Mary L. Rev. 825, 878
(1984); Hotchner v. Castillo-Puche, $51 F.2d 910 (2d Cir. 1976), cert.
denied, 434 U.S. 834 (1977); Buckley v. Littell, $39 F.2d 882 (2d Cir. 1976),
cert. denied, 429 U.S. 1062 (1977).

If this test is applied mechanically by searching for some derogatory alle-
gation that may be characterized as ‘‘false,’’ as Judge Wisdom points out in
Potomac Valve, 829 F.2d at 1288, it underprotects opinion. Opinion often
contains factual contentions that, in an overall reading of the statement, nei-
ther carry the defamatory sting nor detract from the statement’s subjective
import as a whole. If, on the other hand, a single-factor verifiability test is
applied thoughtfully with a view toward protection of free debate, it will
yield results like those that are produced by the multi-criteria approaches.
What is non-verifiable?—any statement whose thrust is to express the
author’s attitude toward the world rather than describing events occurring in
it, Le., any statement of opinion.

22

The court held that, in context, it was clear that the state-
ment before it was merely the author’s conclusion based on
specific facts referred to in the article, and therefore opinion
protected by the Constitution. Jd. at 1290.

The most crucial insight in Judge Wisdom’s opinion is that
identifying somewhere in a statement some derogatory asser-
tion or implication that is not an ‘‘idea’’ cannot be the begin-
ning and the end of the inquiry. Statements of opinion often
contain within them assertions that, standing alone, sound
like statements of fact. 829 F.2d at 1288. Moreover, by its
sensitivity to the underlying task of separating the essentially
‘objective’ from the essentially ‘‘subjective,’’ by examining
questionable statements in their entirety, by abjuring a
mechanical approach, Potomac Valve addressed the identifi-
cation of opinion broadly enough to assure the necessary lati-
tude to allow people to ‘‘speak their minds,"’ to give voice to
the “‘pictures inside their heads.’’ The Potomac Valve meth-
odology, amici believe, is fundamentally sound, worthy of
scrutiny, respect, and, ultimately, adoption by the Court in
the context of this case.”

Finally, the question arises as to what courts should do
when, after completing the process of attempting to separate
fact from opinion, they remain unable to characterize the
statement as either. Amici would urge a rule of construction
suggested by the Court's reasoning in Hepps. 475 U.S. at
376. The Court was concerned that, in close cases, where the
jury’s verdict as to truth or falsity depends on who has the
burden of proof, permitting the burden to be placed on the

23. The question of whether a statement is an opinion implying the
existence of undisclosed defamatory facts, see Restatement (Second) of
Torts, § 566 (1977), does not appear to be at issue in this case. Amici note,
nonetheless, their agreement with the view of the Ol/man court that, if the
proper criteria are employed to determine whether a statement is opinion, the
search for implied facts under § 566 becomes unnecessary. 750 F.2d at 984-
85. Amici submit that the Restatement approach threatens to turn the
attempt to distinguish fact from opinion wrongly into a mechanical search
for some implication somewhere that can be said to be verifiable. See n.22,
supra, and Petition for Writ of Certiorari, New England Newspapers, Inc. v.
Healey, No. 88-1939 (cert. denied, 110 S. Ct. 63 (1989)).

23

defendant would result in the constitutionally unacceptable
punishment of some speech that ought to be protected.

In a case presenting a configuration of speech and
plaintiff like the one we face here, and where the scales
are in such an uncertain balance, we believe that the
Constitution requires us to tip them in favor of protect-
ing true speech.

Id.
Amici submit that a similar rule ought to apply to the dis-
tinction between fact and opinion. If, after careful applica-
tion of appropriate criteria, the balance of the scales remain
in doubt, ‘“‘the Constitution requires [a court] to tip them in
favor of protecting’’ speech, so that all who would express
their views may do so with a margin of safety.

{[Cjourts should not find a statement to be disprovable if
serious doubt on the issue exists. The danger to free
expression and the danger to the judiciary of trying to
resolve the unresolvable both require that a court not
undertake a search for falsity unless the statement
clearly is susceptible to such a determination. .. .

Franklin & Bussel, The Plaintiff's Burden in Defamation:
Awareness and Falsity, 23 Wm. & Mary L. Rev. 825, 888
(1984).™

POINT THREE

A STATEMENT OF OPINION DISAGREEING WITH
” SWORN TESTIMONY DOES NOT FORFEIT
CONSTITUTIONAL PROTECTION.

There is a thread of authority that “‘[a}ccusations of crimi-
nal activity, even in the form of opinion, are not constitu-

24 Such a rule would be roughly analogous to the requirement that a
public official or public figure prove ‘‘actual malice”’ in fact-based cases with
“convincing clarity."’ Sullivan, 376 U.S. at 279. The heightened standard is
employed to assure that close cases do not result in silencing protected
expression and to signal the value placed by society on the interest at risk in
the litigation. See Addington v. Texas, 441 U.S. 418, 425 (1979).

24

tionally protected."’ Cianci v. New Times Publishing Co., 639
F.2d 54, 63 (2d Cir. 1980) (citations omitted). While the rea-
soning is not clear, the “‘rule’’ may result from a perception
that such charges, even when framed as opinion, are too
“‘heavily laden with factual content,”’ id., to be within the
constitutional safeguard.

If the dictum is meant to imply more than that a factual
allegation of criminality does not become immune simply by
Stating it in the form of an opinion, it is mistaken. There are
surely cases where an opinion that suggests criminality is pro-
tected. If an observer at a trial concludes that the judge or
jury wrongfully acquitted a defendant by overlooking or mis-
construing evidence, for example, expression of those misgiv-
ings must be permitted. See, e.g., Southern Air Transport v.
American Broadcasting Cos., 877 F.2d 1010, 1016-17 (D.C.
Cir. 1989) (statement that plaintiff's operation was illegal was
opinion); Aldoupolis v. Globe Newspaper Co., 398 Mass.
731, 500 N.E.2d 794 (1986) (implication in op-ed column that
accused were wrongly acquitted of rape was opinion).

This is particularly true with respect to perjury. An accusa-
tion of a crime typically involves an allegation about physical
behavior—rape (Cianci), bribe-taking (cf. Rinaldi v. Holt,
Rinehart & Winston, Inc., 42 N.¥.2d 369, 397 N.Y.S.2d
1299, cert. denied, 434 U.S. 969 (1977))—that did or did not
happen. But an accusation of perjury is an assertion of false
speech. To say that a person testifying under oath spoke
falsely may be nothing more than to state one’s strong dis-
agreement with what has been said. lt is often a quintessen-
tial expression of opinion.”

It is common for the most provocative charges to be made
under oath—in verified complaints, in affidavits filed in
court, during deposition testimony, and in the course of the

25 Calling someone a “‘liar’’ can be a statement of opinion. See, e.¢.,
Lauderback v. American Broadcasting Cos., 741 F.2d 193 (8th Cir.), cert.
denied, 464 U.S. 1190 (1985); Edwards v. National Audubon Soc’y, $56 F.2d
113 (2d Cir.), cert. denied, 434 U.S. 1002 (1977); Smith v. Levitt, 227 F.2d
855 (Mh Cir. 1955S); Bennett v. Transamerica Press, 298 F. Supp. 1013, 1015
(S.D. lowa 1969); Stepien v. Franklin, 39 Ohio App. 3d 47, $28 N.E.2d 1324
(1988).

25

widest variety of hearings or trials. Such sworn statements
are ordinarily absolutely privileged when made, L. Eldredge,
The Law of Defamation, § 73{k), (s) (1978), and condition-
ally privileged when publicly disseminated by the press. /d. at
§ 79. Extra-judicial denials of such charges are also common.
It would be anomalous, at best, to strip legal protection from
responses to such privileged charges solely because the origi-
nal allegations were sworn and the plaintiff may therefore
claim that he has been accused of “‘perjury.”’

Testimony, moreover, frequently bears on a matter of
intense public concern. Sworn statements in a variety of
forums as to who knew what, when—about the Iran/Contra
operation or the break-in at the Watergate, for examples—
have been the subject of vigorous public dispute. If there is
to be full discussion of public issues, testimonial speech, like
all other kinds, must be subject to free, even fierce, debate.

POINT FOUR

THE CHALLENGED STATEMENTS ARE CONSTITU-
TIONALLY PROTECTED EXPRESSIONS OF OPINION.

Respondents argue that the column at issue, under applica-
ble constitutional principles, was a statement of opinion, not
an allegation of fact. Akhough emici do not wish to repeat
Respondents’ arguments here, they respectfully offer several
observations. Amici submit that the overall thrust of the
column is clear—and it is not that Petitioner committed per-
jury at the Ohio court's due process hearing.

Respondent Diadiun, a sports columnist, was at a wrestling

tioner Milkovich, the widely renowned coach of the
team, described the altercation and defended his role
Milkovich’s testimony differed sharply from what Diadi

of Oliman and Potomac Valve, amici submit, it was. It was
phrased repeatedly in “terms of apparency.”’ The words
““seemed,”’ “‘probably,"’ and “‘apparently"’ (twice) appear in
three successive crucial paragraphs toward the

sometimes unpleasantly sharp’’ opinions, New York Times
Co. v. Sullivan, 376 U.S. 254, 270 (1964), are routine: “The
rookie can’t hit a major-league curve;"’ “‘the owners are out
to fleece the fans;"’ ‘“‘the referee stole the game.’’”

26 §6See, e.¢ Henderson v. Times Mirror Co., 669 F. Supp. 356, 359-41
(D. Colo. 1987), aff'd, 876 F.2d 108 (10th Cir. 1989); Brooks v. Paige, 773

the meet ‘“‘know in [their] heart[s] that Milkovich ...
lied. . . .”” All of these factors point toward a proper char-
acterization of the column as opinion, not fact.

The statements in the column should be understood as they
roust have been when read in the sports pages in Mentor,
Ohio, not as they appear in the appendix of a brief 15 years

trative hearings and disputed testimony; a resulting probation
of the rival wrestling team and censure for the coach; a law-
suit by the parents of the suspended wrestlers; and then a
of the team and the coach on what

violation.

Against the background of a high profile controversy in a
smal] community, what was Diadiun’s column meant and
perceived to do? To convey facts about the events in ques-

to any one of the ‘‘2000 plus”’ others who also knew them
first-hand—‘“‘anyone who was at the meet."’ Factual allega-
tions one way and another were doubtless reported, known
throughout the town and heatedly debated. Indeed, they were
available such that readers, as Diadiun asked, could make up
their own minds.

P.2d 1098, 1101 (Colo. App. 1989); Stepien v. Franklin, 39 Ohio App. 34 47,
$1, $28 N.E.2d 1324, 1329 (1988); Parks v. Steinbrenner, 131 A.D.2d 60, 62-
66, $20 N. ¥.S.2d 374, 375-78 (1987); Hoeppner v. Dunkirk Printing Co., 254
N.Y. 95, 98-99, 172 N.E. 139, (1930) (under common law, vigorous criticism
of high school coach protected because of the ‘‘safety valve’ nature of sports
and related public criticism, except in cases where proof of personal ill will
defeats the fair comment privilege).

28

Was it designed and understood to communicate the
author's attitude toward these widely known events? Pre-
cisely. In Diadiun’s view, through foul play, the bad guys
had won. And Diadiun was furious. Can this expression of
his outrage be meaningfully judged to be true or false? Amici
submit that it cannot. His outcry was a statement of deeply
held, angry opinion about a matter of serious community
concern.

Memories of Ebbets Field and the Brooklyn Dodgers evoke
the old refrain: ‘‘We wuz robbed!"’ “We wuz robbed” is not

so different from what sports columnist Diadiun was saying.
It cannot be put to a true/false test without endangering the
ability of reporters and fans to get mad, to participate fully

assurance that, under the Constitution, full and free debate is
guaranteed. Amici respectfully urge that the judgment of the
Supreme Court of Ohio be affirmed.

Dated: April 6, 1990
Respectfully submitted,

Ropert D. SAcKk

GIBSON, DUNN & CRUTCHER

200 Park Avenue

New York, New York 10166
j (212) 351-4000

Counsel for Record for
Amici Curiae

Of Counsel:

Lester E. GREENMAN

S. WHITNEY RAHMAN
GIBSON, DUNN & CRUTCHER
200 Park Avenue

New York, New York 10166

RICHARD J. TOFEL

Dow Jones & Company, Inc.
Legal Department

200 Liberty Street, llth Floor

New York, New York 10281!

RICHARD M. SCHMIDT, Jr.
COHN AND M».RKS

1333 New Hampshire Avenue, N.W.,

Suite 600
Washington, D.C. 20036
Attorneys for the American
Society of Newspaper Editors

RICHARD N. WINFIELD

Rocers & WELLS

200 Park Avenue

New York, New York 10166
Attorneys for the Associated Press

STEVEN W. KORN
BENITA BAIRD

CELESTE PHILLIPS

Cable News Network, Inc.
One CNN Center

Box 105366

Atlanta, Georgia 30348

DEVEREUX GHATILLON
Capital Cities/ ABC, Inc.

47 West 66th Street

New York, New York 10023

DOUGLAS P. Jacons
Associate General Counsel
CBS Inc.

51 West S2nd Street
New York, New York 10019

BARBARA L. WARTELIE
Senior Legal Counsel
Gannett Co., Inc.

1100 Wilson Boulevard
Arlington, Virginia 22234

HARVEY L. LIPTON
Ropert J. HAWLEY

The Hearst Corporation

959 Eighth Avenue

New York, New York 10019

Josern H. Cooper

The New Yorker

25 West 43rd Street

18th Floor

New York, New York 10036

LAURA R. HANDMAN

LANKENAU & BICKFORD

1740 Broadway

New York, New York 1°19

SLADE R. METCALF

SQUADRON, ELLENOFF, PI ESENT
& Lenrer

$51 Fifth Avenue

New York, New York 10176

Attorneys for Magazine
Publishers of America

Desra O. Foust

McClatchy Newspapers, Inc.
2100 Q Street

Sacramento, California 95816

RICHARD J. OVELMEN

BAKER & MCKENZIE

1600 Barnett Tower

701 Brickell Avenue

Miami, Florida 33131

Attorneys for the Miami Herald
Publishing Company

SANDRA S. BARON

GAYLE C. SPROUL

National Broadcasting
Company, Inc.

30 Rockefeller Plaza

New York, New York 10112

ALBERTO IBARGUEN
NANCY E. RICHMAN
Newsday, Inc.

235 Pinelawn Road
Melville, New York 11747

TINA A. RAVITZ

Vice President and Chief Counsel
Newsweek, Inc.

444 Madison Avenue
New York, New York 10022

DEBORAH R. LINFIELD

GEORGE FREEMAN

Senior Attorneys

The New York Times Company
Legal Department

229 West 43rd Street

New York, New York 10036

JANe E. KIRTLEY

Executive Director

Reporters Committee for
Freedom of the Press

1735 Eye Street, N.W., Suite 504

Washington, D.C. 20006

CONSTANCE A. HEYMANN
NATALIE T. Levy
Reuters Information Services Inc.

1700 Broadway
New York, New York 10019

Bruce W. SANFORD

BAKER & HOSTETLER

1050 Connecticut Avenue, N.W.

Washington, D.C. 20036

Attorneys for Scripps Howard, Inc.
and The Society of Professional

435 North Michigan Avenue
Chicago, Illinois 60611

JAMES L. ARNOLD

General Counsel

United Press International, Inc.
9990 Lee Highway

Third Floor

Fairfax, Virginia 22030

BARBARA P. PERCIVAL
The Washington Post
1150 15th Street, N.W.
Washington, D.C. 2007)

MARTIN P. MBESSINGER

MARK H. CHARLES

Westinghouse Broadcasting
Company, Inc.

888 Seventh Avenue, 39th Floor

New York, New York 10106

la

DESCRIPTION OF AMICI CURIAE

The American Society of Newspaper Editors is a nation-
wide, professional organization of more than 1,000 persons
who hold positions as directing editors of daily newspapers
throughout the United States. The purposes of the Society,
which was founded over 50 years ago, include the ongoing
responsibility to improve the manner in which the journalism
profession carries out its responsibilities in providing an
unfettered and effective press in the service of the American
people.

Associated Press, the world’s largest newsgathering organi-
zation, is a mutual news cooperative organized under the
Not-for-Profit Corporation Law of the State of New York,
and engages in the gathering and distribution of news of
local, national and international importance to its member
newspapers and broadcast stations across the United States
and throughout the World.

Cable News Network, Inc. provides the nation with two
24-hour television news services, CNN and Headline News.
Its news and information programming reaches more than 51
million households in the United States. Its programming is
also carried worldwide.

Capital Cities/ABC, Inc., through its subsidiaries, operates
the ABC radio and television networks, which produce sev-
eral daily and weekly news broadcasts. Capital Cities/ABC,
Inc. is also the owner of television and radio stations located
in major cities throughout the United States. In addition,
Capital Cities/ABC, Inc. owns several daily and weekly
newspapers located throughout the country and many special
interest and trade publications.

CBS Inc. is the owner of television and radio broadcasting
stations and the operator of national television and radio net-
works.

Dow Jones & Company, Inc. publishes, inter alia, The
Wall Sereet Journal, the largest circulation daily newspaper in
the country. es well as Barron’s National Business and Finan-
cial Weekly, the Dow Jones News Services and, through its

2a

Ottaway Newspapers, Inc. subsidiary, newspapers in 29 com-
munities in 13 states.

Gannett Co., Inc. publishes 83 daily newspapers, including
USA Today, 52 non-daily publications, and a newspaper
magazine. It operates 10 television stations, 16 radio stations
and a national news service.

The Hearst Corporation is a diversified privately held com-
munications company. It publishes numerous nationally dis-
tributed consumer magazines, daily and non-daily
newspapers, business publications and hard-cover and soft-
cover books. It also owns and operates a leading features
syndicate and several television and radio broadcast stations.

Magazine Publishers of America, Inc. (“MPA”) is a
national trade association including in its present membership
218 domestic magazine publishers who publish 756 magazines
sold at newsstands and by subscription. MPA members pro-
vide broad coverage of domestic and international news in
weekly and biweekly publications, and publish weekly,
biweekly and monthly publications covering literature, reli-
gion, law, political affairs, science, agriculture, industry and
many Other interests, avocations and pastimes of the Ameri-
can people.

McClatchy Newspapers, Inc. owns and operates The Sacra-
mento Ree and 15 other newspapers in California, Washing-
ton, Alaska and South Carolina, with a total circulation of
approximately one million.

The Miami Herald Publishing Company is a division of
Knight-Ridder, Inc., a Florida corporation, and publishes
The Miami Herald, a daily newspaper in Miami, Florida,
which is distributed throughout the State of Florida.

National Broadcasting Company, Inc. owns and operates a
national television network. NBC itself and its subsidiaries
operate television stations, all of which are engaged in the
gathering and dissemination of news to the public.

Newsday, Inc. publishes Newsday and New York Newsday
and is a wholly-owned subsidiary of The Times Mirror Com-
pany.

Newsweek, Inc., a subsidiary of The Washington Post
Company, publishes Newsweek magazine, a weekly interna-

3a

tional newsmagazine with a U.S. readership in excess of 19
million

The New York Times Company owns and publishes The
New York Times, a daily newspaper with a national circula-
tion of 1.1 million and over 1.65 million on Sunday. The
Company also owns five TV stations, 2 radio stations, 35
regional newspapers and seventeen national magazines.

The Reporters Committee for Freedom of the Press is a
voluntary, unincorporated association of news reporters and
editors dedicated to protecting the First Amendment interests
of the news media. The Reporters Committee has appeared in
virtually every recent case in this Court involving the First
Amendment rights of reporters to gather and disseminate
news and information.

Reuters Information Services Inc. is the primary North
American operating company of Reuters Holdings PLC, the
international news and financial information organization.
Reuters supplies information to both business subscribers and
to the news media. It obtains its information from approxi-
mately 162 exchanges and over-the-counter markets, from
data contributed directly by more than 3,715 subscribers in
82 countries and from a network of 1,268 journalists, pho-
tographers and cameramen.

Seattle Times Company publishes The Seattle Times, the
largest daily and Sunday circulation newspaper in the Pacific
Northwest, and also publishes the Walla Walla Union-
Bulletin.

Scripps Howard, Inc. is one of the largest communications
companies in the country. Scripps Howard owns newspapers,
including The Cincinnati Post, television and radio stations,
including stations WEWS-TV (Cleveland) and WCPO-TV
(Cincinnati), and a variety of other media enterprises across
the United States. One out of nine Americans is a Scripps
Howard reader, viewer or listener.

The Society of Professional Journalists is a voluntary, not-
for-profit organization of nearly 20,000 members. The Soci-
ety is the largest and oldest organization of journalists in the
United States, representing every branch and rank of print
and broadcast journalism.

da

Tribune Company is the nation’s fourth largest newspaper
publisher, with seven daily and Sunday papers, including Chi-
cago Tribune and New York Daily News. Other Tribune sub-
sidiaries own and operate television and radio stations in six
major markets.

United Press International, Inc. generates and compiles
news and information reports and produces photographs on a
worldwide basis, all of which are transmitted for sale primar-
ily to media industry subscribers such as newspapers and
radio and television broadcasters. It maintains 200 offices
and bureaus in 90 countries, staffed by 1,150 full-time
employees and 4,000 contributory correspondents.

The Washington Post, a division of The Washington Post
Company, is a daily newspaper circulated in Washington,
D.C., Maryland and Virginia, with a daily circulation of
773,000 and a Sunday circulation of 1,12¢ ,000.

Westinghouse Broadcasting Company, Inc. through its sub-
sidiaries owns and operates five network affiliated television
stations and 20 radio stations, including four all-news radio
stations. It is also a producer and distributor of broadcast

and cable programming.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385012_0686%3A09. Public record. Not legal advice.
