# Amicus Curiae Brief — Idaho v. Wright

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385012_0664%3A10

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1990
- **Citation:** 497 U.S. 805

## Text

femme Cou US. |
\|| FELED

sa \
|| MAR 2 1990
_ 960 \ iy. F. SPANIOL, JR.
No. 89-260 gOSEPH
In The _ dagen

Supreme Court of the United States
October Term, 1989

The State of Idaho, Petitioner

V.

Laura Lee Wright,
Respondent

On Writ of Certiorari to
The Supreme Court of Idaho

Brief Of Amicus Curiae
Commonwealth Of Pennsylvania
And Other Amici Listed Inside Cover*
In Support Of Petitioner

Ernest D. Preate, Jr.
Attorney General

Marylou Barton

Chief Deputy Attorney General

Child Abuse Prosecution
Assistance Unit

1600 Strawberry Square
Harrisburg, PA 17120

*Each Sponsored
According To Rule (717) 783-3014

37.5 By Its
Attorney General As
Listed Inside Cover

- ew “whe \/-id te . or _ = —_" ¢
+:
~ -
.
.
a
~
a

The Honorable Douglas B. Baily
Attorney General of Alaska
P.O. Box K, State Capitol
Juneau, Alaska 99811-0300

The Honorable Robert K. Corbin
Attorney General of Arizona
1275 West Washington
Phoenix, Arizona 85007

The Honorable Steve Clark
Attorney General of Arkansas
200 Tower Building
4th and Center Streets
Little Rock, Arkansas 72201

The Honorable Duane Woodard
Attorney General of Colorado
1525 Sherman Street - Second Floor
Denver, Colorado 80203

The Honorable Charles M. Oberly, III
Attorney General of Delaware
820 North French Street, 8th Floor
Wilmington, Delaware 19801

The Honorable Robert A. Butterworth
Attorney General of Florida
State Capitol
Tallahassee, Florida 32399-1050

The Honorable Neil F. Hartigan
Attorney General of Illinois
100 W. Randolph Street, 12th Floor
Chicago, Illinois 60601

The Honorable Linley E. Pearson
Attorney General of Indiana
219 State House
Indianapolis, Indiana 46204

The Honorable Tom Miller
Attorney General of Iowa
Hoover Building - Second Floor
Des Moines, Iowa 50319

The Honorable Robert T. Stephan
Attorney General of Kansas
Judicial Center - Second Floor
Topeka, Kansas 66612

The Honorable Frederic J. Cowan
Attorney General of Kentucky
State Capitol, Room 116
Frankfort, Kentucky 40601

The Honorable William J. Guste, Jr.

Attorney General of Louisiana
2-3-4 Loyola Building
New Orleans, Louisiana 70112

The Honorable J. Joseph Curran, Jr.

Attorney General of Maryland
Munsey Building
Calvert and Fayette Streets
Baltimore, Maryland 21202-1909

The Honorable James M. Shannon
Attorney General of Massachusetts
One Ashburton Place - 20th Floor

Boston, Massachusetts 02108

The Honorable Frank J. Kelley
Attorney General of Michigan
Law Building
Lansing, Michigan 48913

The Honorable Mike Moore
Attorney General of Mississippi
P.O. Box 220
Jackson, Mississippi 39205

The Honorable William L. Webster
Attorney General of Missouri
Supreme Court Building,

101 High Street
Jefferson City, Missouri 65102

The Honorable Marc Racicot
Attorney General of Montana
Justice Building
215 North Sanders
Helena, Montana 59620

The Honorable Robert M. Spire
Attorney General of Nebraska
2115 State Capitol
Lincoln, Nebraska 68509

The Honorable Brian McKay
Attorney General of Nevada
Heroes Memorial Building
Capitol Complex
Carson City, Nevada 89710

The Honorable John P. Arnold
Attorney General of New Hampshire
208 State House Annex
Concord, New Hampshire 03301

The Honorable Robert DelTufo
Attorney General Designate
of New Jersey
Richard J. Hughes Justice Complex
Trenton, New Jersey 08625

The Honorable Hal Stratton
Attorney General of New Mexico
Bataan Memorial Building
Galisteo Street
Santa Fe, New Mexico 87503-1508

The Honorable Lacy H. Thornburg
Attorney General of North Carolina
Department of Justice
2 East Morgan Street
Raleigh, North Carolina 27602

The Honorable Nicholas Spaeth
Attorney General of North Dakota
Department of Justice
2115 State Capitol
Bismarck, North Dakota 58505

The Honorable Robert H. Henry
Attorney General of Oklahoma
112 State Capitol
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma 73105

The Honorable T. Travis Medlock
Attorney General of South Carolina
Rembert Dennis Office Building
1000 Assembly Street
Columbia, South Carolina 29211

The Honorable Roger A. Tellinghuisen
Attorney General of South Dakota
State Capitol Building
Pierre, South Dakota 57501

The Honorable Paul Van Dam
Attorney General of Utah
236 State Capitol
Salt Lake City, Utah 84114

The Honorable Jeffrey L. Amestoy
Attorney General of Vermont
Pavillion Office Building
Montpelier, Vermont 05602

The Honorable Godfrey R. de Castro
Attorney General of the Virgin Islands
Department of Justice
G.E.R.S. Complex, 2nd Floor
St. Thomas, Virgin Islands 00801

The Honorable Mary Sue Terry
Attorney General of Virginia
101 North 8th Street - 5th Floor
Richmond, Virginia 23219

The Honorable Joseph B. Meyer
Attorney General of Wyoming
123 State Capitol
Cheyenne, Wyoming 82002

QUESTION PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

Whether the “indicia of reliability”
and “particularized guarantees of
trustworthiness” mandated by the Sixth
Amendment Confrontation clause of the
United States Constitution require that
the hearsay statement of a very young
victim of sexual abuse to an examining
pediatrician be excluded unless’ the
prosecution establishes that (a) the
interview was either audio or video-
taped; (b) leading questions were not
used; and (3) the examining pediatrician
conducting the interview did not have
any preconceived idea of what the child

should be disclosing.

(i)

a

TABLE OF CONTENTS
Question Presented.......-seeeeeees (i)
Table of AuthoritiesS........e+esee6. (iii)

Interest of Amici Curiae........... 1

Summary of Argument.....--+-e+eeeeeees 3

Argument... ..seeeeeeeeeerecees seceee G

COME lUBION. .cccccccccccecesssccccces 29
(ii)

CASES Page(s)

758 S.W.2d 339

(Tex. App. Texarkana 1988)
petition for discretionary
review granted.........eceeeeeee

Calif , G
399 U.S. 149 (1970).......2000-

Coy v, Jowa
487 U.S. ’
Be BeGec BOO CROGO) ic cccceece

Drumm v. Commonwealth
No. 87-SC-848-MR (KY filed
Jan. 18, 1990)
Tt Ce Mic cceneeeeeese

Globe Newspaper Co, v. Superior
Court
457 U.S. $96 (1982)... ccccccces

Goldade v,. State
674 P.2d 721 (Wyo. 1983),

cert. denied, sub nom.
Goldade v., Wyoming,
467 U.S. 1253 (1984)...........

Holland v, State
770 S.W.2d 56
(Tex App. Austin 1989)
petition for discretionary
SOVEGW GEGMEEEs cccccccccccecocs

(iii)

CASES

397 U.S. 337 (1970)... eee eeeee 15

292 Ark. 632,
732 S.W.2d 817 (1987).....-446- 18

874 F.2d 1222 (7th Cir. 1989)

cert. denied ___ U.S. ___,
110 S.Ct. 835 (1990).......-666- 15

458 U.S. 747 (1982)....-++eee4- 13

Ohio v. Roberts
448 U.S. 56 (1980).......-- eee passim
732 P.2d 1132 (Colo. 1986)..... 13

140 Ill. App.3d 78,
94 Ill. Dec. 500,
488 N.E.2d 326 (1986).........- 18

726 P.2d 249 (Colo. App. 1986). 12,

18
536 So.2d 206 (Fla 1988)
U.S. +
109 S.Ct. 3253 (1989).......... 18,
25
(iv)

CASES

Sosebee v. State
257 Ga. 298,

357 S.E.2d 562 (1987).........

State v. Bellotti
383 N.W.2d 308
ES ee

State v. Deanes
323 N.C. 5068,

374 S.E.2d 249 (1988)
cert. denied
Deanes v. North Carolina
U.S. -
109 &.Ct. 2455 (1989).........

150 Vt. 341,
Saw Rete mee GEOR P ccc ccdecces

State v. John Doe
105 Wash.2d 889,

Vee Wem BOO CARRE oo siwd ccicce cx 19

State v. Myatt
237 Kan. 17,

Cee Pome Gee CROP civic cecce cvs 19,

State v. Nelson
138 Wis.2d 418,

406 N.W.2d 385 (1987).......... 12

State v. Nelson
42 Utah Adv. Rep. 18,
3 X ©) 2. |

(v)

CASES Page(s)

443 N.W.2d 8 (S.D. 1989)....... 12
153 Ariz. 191,
735 P.2d 801 (1987)... eevee 12,
13, 18
State v. Wright
116 Idaho 382, 775 P.2d
1224 (1989), cert.
granted sub nom. Idaho v.
Wright, ao ,. ae
S.ce. Be 3 (1990) ie eabe 66060 6% 12,
17
751 S.W.2d 48 (Mo. 1988)....... 19
414 U.S. 17 (1973). ccccccccves 15
475 U.S. 387 (1986).....---06-- 6,
17
665 F.2d 616 (5th Cir. 1982)... 15
Statutes
Alaska Code of Criminal Procedure
§ 12.40.110 (1985)... - eee ee eeeeces 10
13 Ariz. Rev. Stat. Ann.
§ 1416 (Supp. 1987)....---eeeeeeees 10

(vi)

Ark. R. Evid. 803 6 es
Cal. Evid. Code §S 1228 (West 1985). 12
Col. Rev. Stat. § 13-25-129 (1987). 12

Fla. Stat. § 90.803(23)
(Supp. 1988)....

eetites adhis dies olin 10,
24, 26

Ga. Code Ann. § 24-3-16............ 10

Idaho Code 19-3024 (1987).......... 10

Ill. Ann. Stat. ch. 38

: ; , Para.

115-10 (Smith-Hurd 1988 BP. cctse 10

Ind. Code 35-37-4-6 (1988)......... ll

Kan Stat. Ann. § 60-460

RES een eres ll
20

Ky. Rev. Stat. Ann.

ys a 1l

Me. Rev. Stat Ann. tit 15,

Bee CM NLD. oc cecccccccccce ll

Md. Cts. Jud. Proc. Code Ann

§ 9-103.1 (1988 Dich agectis cee 11

67 Michigan Bar J. 68

(July 1988) (proposed)............. ll

Mimm.R.Bvid. BOB (24). cccccccccccee 23

Minn. Stat. Ann. § 595.02(3

a Per eee oa eeeees ll

13, 23

Miss. R. 803(25) (proposed)........
Mo. Rev. Stat. § 491.075 (1988)....
N.D.R. 803 (24) (eff. 3/1/90).....-.

Nev. Rev. Stat. Ann.
§ 51.385 (1986, Supp. 1988). cccccs

N.J. Evid. R. 63 (33)..----eeeeeees

Okla. Stat. Ann. tit. 12,
§ 2803.1 (West Supp. Peer

Or. Rev. Stat. § 40.460 (1989).....
42 Pa.Cons.Stat.Ann.

§ 5985.1 (1990 Pa. Legis. Serv.
Act 100 (Purdon))....--+-+-+-+eeeeee8

S.D. Codified Laws Ann.
§ 19-16-38 (1987)... --- eee reer eees

Tex. Code Crim.Proc.Ann.
art. 38.072 (Vernon 1985)......-+---

Utah Code Ann.
§ 76-5-411(1) (1985)... cece eceevves

Vt. R.E. 804(9) (Supp. 1988)......-.
Wash. Rev. Code § 9A.44.120 (1988).

Federal Rules of Evidence
Fed. .R.Evid. 803(4)...-- eee cece eeees

(viii)

1l

1l

Fed.R.Evid. 803(24)

Miscellaneous

Protecting Child/Victim Witness
Nat'l Legal Resource Ctr. for

Child Advocacy and Protection
(Feb. 1986)

(ix)

INTERESTS OF AMICI

Amici curiae are States, each of
which recognizes the important public
policy interests served by prosecuting
those who sexually abuse children. The
States have a compelling interest, as
well, in protecting child witnesses.
Thirty States have reflected’ that
interest, either by enacting statutes
specifically designed to admit the hear-
say declarations of certain child
victims, or by allowing such testimony,
through the use of other hearsay excep-
tions established by rule or by case
law. (See Appendix where the _ state
statutes and rules are set forth at
length). By these solutions, the States
have attained the delicate constitu-
tional balance necessary to achieve
justice for both the child victims and

the defendants in these prosecutions.

The decision of the Supreme Court of
Idaho requires the taping of child
victim interviews, forbids the use of
leading questions, and denies the in-
terviewer access to background informa-
tion which might disclose the abuse.
These requirements, if affirmed by this
Court, would invalidate the States’
varied responses to this difficult
issue, for none of their responses meet
the Idaho court's restrictive criteria.
The amici States accordingly support
Idaho in urging reversal of the Idaho

Supreme Court.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

The Sixth Amendment's Confrontation
Clause, applicable to the States by the
Fourteenth Amendment, does not prohibit
the use at a criminal trial of all
hearsay statements. Consideration of
public policy and the necessities of
certain criminal prosecutions sometimes
require the introduction of these
statements.

The States have strong public
policies in successfully prosecuting
sexual abusers of children and in
protecting the child victims of these
abusers. Without rules allowing for the
admission at trial of the out-of-court
statements of these child victims, these
strong public policies will be defeated.

In balancing an accused's Confronta-

tion Clause rights against the States’

interests in child molestation cases,
the accused's rights must yield where
the hearsay statements of child sexual
abuse victims possess particularized
guarantees of trustworthiness. Such
guarantees are sufficient to protect the
rights of the accused.

Thirty States have adopted rules
allowing for the use of out-of-court
Statements by child sex abuse victims
where the trial judge, after hearing,
determines that the statements are
trustworthy or reliable. These rules
Satisfy the requirements of this Court
needed to overcome a Confrontation
Clause hearsay challenge. To abrogate
these’ rules, Or to make them _ so
restrictive as to make them useless as
did the court below, will defeat the
States' strong interests in this area.

Hearsay statements of child sexual abuse

victims, necessary to the successful

prosecution of sexual abusers of
chiidren, do not run afoul of _ the
Confrontation Clause when they - possess
particularized guarantees of trust-
worthiness as required by the rules of

the several States. This Court should

so hold.

The Confrontation Clause

Not Prohibit The piteaeikinn

Of Hearsay Statements Of Child
Sexual Abuse Victims Where The
Statements Possess Guarantees

of Trustworthiness.

In this case the Court must again
consider “the relationship between the
Confrontation Clause and the hearsay
rule with its many exceptions.” Ohio v.
Roberts, 448 U.S. 56, 62 (1980). Though
"{t]he Court in Roberts remained ‘[cJon-
vinced that “no rule will perfectly
resolve all possible problems”' and re-
jected the ‘invitation to overrule a
near-century of jurisprudence’ in order

to create such a rule, 448 U.S. at 68,

n.9," United States v. Inadi, 475 U.S.
387, 392 (1986), it is Roberts which
Provides the analytical framework for
resolution of the instant case.

The Roberts Court, after rejecting a

literal reading of the Confrontation

Clause which “would abrogate virtually
every hearsay exception, a result long
rejected as unintended and too extreme,”
conceded "that the clause was intended
to exclude some hearsay.” Roberts,
supra, 448 U.S., at 63. The Court
recognized, however, that competing
interests--"considerations of public
policy and the necessities of the
case"-- sometimes warranted dispensing
with confrontation at trial. Id@., at
64. The “interests” identified by the
Court in Roberts were each state's
“strong interest in effective law
enforcement, and in the development and
precise formulation of the rules of
evidence applicable in criminal
proceedings.” Id. In resolving’ the
several cases which called into question
“the relationship between the con-

frontation clause and the hearsay rule”

the Court “has sought to accommodate
these competing interests.” Id., at 64.
See also Coy v, Iowa, 487 U.S. ,
108 §.Ct. 2798, 2803 (1988). The

,

Process of deciding these cases “has
been gradual, building on past
decisions, drawing on new experience,
and responding to changing conditions.”
Roberts, supra, 448 U.S., at 64.

In the case sub judice the Court
must consider the relationship between
the Confrontation Clause and an excep-
tion to the hearsay rule permitting
admission of out-of-court statements of
child sexual abuse complainants. Build-
ing on past decisions, drawing on new
experience, and responding to changing
conditions, the Court should hold that

such a rule withstands a Confrontation

Clause challenge.

In recent years, the sexual abuse of
children has become a serious national

problem. See Coy v. Jowa, 487 U.S.,

at ’ 108 S.Ct., at 2803-2804

(O'Connor, J., concurring). The States
have responded resoundingly to this
problem. In order to forward their
strong interests in enforcing the laws
against child sexual abusers and in
developing the rules of evidence
applicable in criminal proceedings,
thirty States have adopted rules of
evidence allowing for the admission of
the out-of-court statements of these
child victims provided they possess the
“particularized guarantees of trust-
worthiness,” Qhio v. Roberts, 448 U.S.,
at 66, needed to satisfy the Con-
frontation Clause. While the rules vary
somewhat they uniformly require findings

that the statements have “indicia of

reliability” or are trustworthy before
they may be admitted. See, e.g., 42 Pa.
Cons. Stat. Ann. § 5985.1 (1990 Pa.
Legis. Serv. Act 100 (Purdon)). See
also Coy v. Iowa, 487 U.S., at , 108

i. oF at 2805 (O'Connor, Bea con-

curring) ("if a court makes a case
specific finding of necessity, as is
required by a number of state statutes.

our cases suggest that the
Strictures of the Confrontation Clause

may give way to the compelling state

interest in protecting child
witnesses.") These rules have been
implemented by legislation, ? evi-

lAlaska Code of Criminal Procedure
§ 12.40.110 (1985); 13 Ariz. Rev. Stat.
Ann. § 1416 (Supp. 1987); Col. Rev.
Stat. § 13-25-129 (1987); Fla. Stat. §
90.803(23) (Supp. 1988); Ga. Code Ann. §
24-3-16; Idaho Code 19-3024 (1987); Ill.
(footnote continued on next page)

oe Ma

3

dentiary rules,” or by case law.

l(continued) Ann. Stat. ch. 38,
para. 115-10 (Smith-Hurd 1988 #=Supp);
Ind. Code 35-37-4-6 (1988); Kan Stat.
Ann. § 60-460 (dd) (1983); Ky. Rev.
Stat. Ann. § 421.355 (1986) (declared
unconstitutional on state law grounds
Drumm v. Commonwealth, No. 87-8C-848 MR
(Ky filed Jan 18, 1990) (1990 Ky. Lexis
3); Me Rev. Stat Ann. tit 15, § 1205
(1988 Supp.); Md. Cts. Jud. Proc. Code
Ann. § 9-103.1 (1988 Supp.); Minn Stat.
Ann. § 595.02(3) (West 1988); Mo. Rev.
Stat. § 491.075 (1988); Nev. Rev. Stat.
Ann. § 51.385 (1986, Supp. 1988); Okla.
Stat. Ann. tit. 12, § 2803.1 (West Supp.
1987); Or. Rev. Stat. § 40.460 (1989);
42 Pa.Cons.Stat.Ann. § 5985.1 (1990 Pa.
Legis. Serv. Act 100 (Purdon)); S.D.
Codified Laws Ann. § 19-16-38 (1987);
Tex Code Crim.Proc.Ann. art. 38.072
(Vernon 1985); Utah Code Ann. §
76-5-411(1) (1985); Wash. Rev. Code §
9A.44.120 (1988). These rules are set
forth at length in the Appendix.

2Ark. R. Evid. 803 (25)(a); Cal.
Evid. Code S 1228 (West 1985); 67
(footnote continued on next page)

3courts have allowed out-of-court

declarations of child victims under
(footnote continued on next page)

» Sih«

The States have recognized the

ofttimes impossible task of bringing

2(continued) Michigan Bar J. 68
(July 1988) (proposed); Miss. R. 803(25)
(proposed) ; N.J. Evid. R. 63 (33);
N.D.R. 803 (24) (eff. 3/1/90); Vt. R.E.
804(9) (Supp. 1988). These statutes are
set forth at length in the Appendix.

3(continued) firmly rooted
exceptions to the hearsay rule. The
Supreme Court of Idaho recognized the
admissibility of such declarations when
they are “excited utterances” or part of

the res gestae. See State v. Wright,

116 Idaho 382, . 775 =P.2¢d 1224,
1230-1231 (1989) cert. granted sub nom.
Idaho v. Wright, U.S. » £4310 8.Ct.

833 (1990) (collecting cases). Courts
have also admitted such statements when
made for the purposes of medical
diagnosis or treatment under state rules
Similar to Fed. R. Evid. 803(4). See
e.g., State v. Robinson, 153 Ariz 191,
735 P.2d 801 (1987); People v. Galloway,
726 P.2d 249 (Colo. App. 1986); Drumm v.
Commonwealth, No. 87-86-848 MR (Ky.
filed Jan. 18, 1990) (1990 Ky Lexis 3);
State v. Olesen, 443 N.W. 2d 8 (S.D.
1989); State v. Nelson, 138 Wis.2d 418,
406 N.W. 2d 385 (1987); Goldade v.
State, 674 P.2d 721 (Wyo 1983), cert,
denied, sub nom. Goldade v. Wyoming, 467
U.S. 1253 (1984).

Many States now recognize an
(footnote continued on next page)

—'

a a oe

ont eens ated

sexual abusers of children to book and

have responded by adopting rules of
evidence that are necessary to success-
ful prosecution of these cases while, at
the same time, fulfilling the re-
quirements of the Confrontation Clause.
These rules promote the compelling state
interest in the physical and psy-
chological well-being of children which
this Court has historically stressed.

See New York vv. Ferber, 458 U.S. 747

(1982); and w —.

Superior Court, 457 U.S. 596 (1982).

3(continued) exception to the
hearsay rule patterned after Fed.R.Evid.
803(24), often called the “residual”
exception. Child victims hearsay state-
ments have been found admissible under
such an exception. See e.g. State v.
Robinson, 153 Ariz. 191, 735 P.2d 8s0l
(1987); Oldsen v. People, 732 P.2d 1132
(Colo. 1986); State v. Deanes, 323 N.C.
508, 374 S.E. 2d 249 (1988), cert,
denied sub nom. Deanes Vv. North
Carolina, _.. U.S. o' 300 8.Ce. BSa
(1989).

« SS. «

See also Coy vy. Jowa, 487 U.S., at ad

108 §.Ct., at 2805 (O'Connor, J., con-
curring) ("The protection of child
witnesses is, in my view and in the view
of a substantial majority of the States
[an important public] policy.").

The strong public policy of
effective enforcement of the States’
child sexual abuse laws necessitates
this exception to the hearsay rule. The
child victims of sexual abuse are often
unavailable to testify because of their
age, or because of the trauma resulting
from the very crimes that have been
committed upon them. The defendant who
picks these vulnerable people as victims
should not benefit from his or her
misconduct. As the Court of Appeals for
the Seventh Circuit observed, “how
ironic it would be if the child molester

could use the trauma inflicted on his

victim as the fulcrum for levering his

way to freedom." Nelson v. Farrey, 874
F.2d 1222, 1230 (7th Cir. 1989), cert.

denied, U.S. » 836 8.60. 63S
(1997).
In many child abuse cases, con-

frontation is impossible due to the
actions of the accused, the person
asserting the right. Such a defendant
should not benefit from abusing a child,
just as the law does not allow a de-
fendant to benefit from murdering a
witness against him, absenting himself
from trial, or encaging in contumacious
conduct in a courtroom. Taylor v.
United States, 414 U.S. 17 (1973);

Illinois v. Allen, 397 U.S. 337 (1970);
and United States v. Thevis, 665 F.2d
616 (Sth Cir. 1982). Voiding these

state rules of evidence will have that

effect.

These public policy concerns have

been well-stated by the intermediate
appellate court of Minnesota in up-
holding a state statute in the face of a
Confrontation Clause challenge. The

court said:

The Minnesota legislature
has enacted a statute in
order to extend the
circumstances in which
hearsay testimony of child
abuse victims is admis-
sible, consistent with the

constitutional guarantees
incorporated into the
statute. The legislature

did not want to allow child
abusers to escape convic-
tion merely by choosing
victims who, due to their
age or otherwise, are un-
available to testify at
trial.

State v. Bellotti, 383 N.W.2d 308, 316
(Minn. App. 1986).

The States have responded to this
problem in a logical and intelligent

manner. They have utilized established

» Me

legal methods to address the phenomenon
of sexual abuse of children by building
on past decisions of this Court. The
responses have ensured that the hearsay
statements cf these sexually abused
child victims possess the particularized
guarantees of trustworthiness which this
Court has said are necessary to overcome
any Confrontation Clause hearsay chal-
lenge. See Coy v. Jowa, 487 U.S., at __,
108 S.Ct., at 2803. With the exception
of the Supreme Court of Idaho, * every
court which has addressed such a
challenge has rejected it, relying on
this Court's opinions in Ohio v.

Roberts, supra, and United States v.

4state v. Wright, 116 Idaho 383,
775 P.2d 1224 (1989), cert. granted sub
nom. Idaho v. Wright, _ U.S. 110
S.Ct. 833 (1990).

——e 9

&/29 «

5

Inadi, supra. Legislators and judges

have recognized the necessity of

5See e.g., State v. Robinson, 153
Ariz. 191 735 P.2€d 801 (1987), (although
the statute was violative of state
separation of powers doctrine, it did
not violate Confrontation Clause; more-
over, the statements were still
admissible under other exceptions to
hearsay rule); Johnson v. State, 292
Ark. 632, 732 S.W.2d 817 (1987)
(upholding rule of evidence against
Confrontation Clause challenge); People
v. Galloway, 726 P.2d 249 (Colo. App.
1986) (upholding statutory hearsay
exception against challenge based on
Confrontation Clause in case where child
victim testified at trial); Perez v.
State, 536 So.2d. 206 (Fla. 1988), cert.
denied, sub. nom. Perez v. Florida
U.S. , 109 §.Ct. 3253 (1989) (up-
holding statutory hearsay exception for
certain statements of child victims of
sexual abuse where victim was un-
available as 4 witness and where
Confrontation Clause challenge to
evidence was made); Sosebee v. State,
257 Ga. 298, 357 S.E.2d 562 (1987)
(upholding against Confrontation Clause
challenge a statutory hearsay exception
which required the victim's availability
to testify); People v. Boastick, 140
Ill. App. 3d 78, 94 I11. Dec. 500, 488
N.E.2d 326 (1986) (upholding statutory
exception in factual setting where
(footnote continued on next page)

oe Dt. «

providing answers to the problem of
children so traumatized by the criminal
act of abuse that they are unable to
testify against their abusers. The
responses have been constitutional as a
review of the state rules and decisions
upholding them in the face of Con-
frontation Clause challenges demon-

strates.

> (continued) victim testified);
State v. Myatt, 237 Kan 17, 697 P.2d 836
(1985) (upholding statutory hearsay
exception where victim was disqualified
as witness); State v. Bellotti, 383 N.wW.
2d 308 (Minn. App. 1986) (same); State
v. Wright, 751 S.W. 2d 48 (Mo. 1988)
(upholding statute against a Confronta-
tion Clause challenge) ; Buckley v.
State, 758 S.W.2d 339 (Tex. App.
Texarkana 1988), petition for
discretionary review denied, and Holland
v. State, 770 S.W.2d (Tex. App. Austin
1989) petition for discretionary review
denied, (same); State v. Nelson, 72 Utah
Adv. Rep. 15, 725 P.2d 1353 (1986)
(same); State v. Gallagher, 150 Vt. 341,
554 A.2d 221 (1988) (same); State v.
John Doe, 105 Wash 2d. 889, 719 P.2d 554
(1986) (same).

=

Taking its cue from this Court's

decision in Qhio v. Roberts, Kansas, for

example, adopted a rule of evidence

allowing a child crime victim's hearsay
statements if “the trial judge finds,
after a hearing on the matter, that the
child is disqualified or unavailable as
a witness, the statement is apparently
reliable and the child was not induced
to make the statement falsely by use of
threats or promises. ..”" Kan.Stat.Ann.
§ 60-460(dd) (1983 Supp. 1988); Appendix
pp. 13-14. Rejecting a challenge based
upon the Confrontation Clause, the
Kansas Supreme Court found the
evidentiary rule to fully comply with
this Court's dictates in Roberts: a
judicial determination of unavailability
and particularized guarantees of
trustworthiness, required since the

Statute was not a firmly rooted hearsay

=

exception. State v. Myatt, 237 Kan.

17, __, 697 P.2d 836, 843 (1985).

The Court in Myatt reflected upon
the necessity of the hearsay statements
at trial. The child victim's out-of-
court statements often constitute the
only proof of the crime of sexual
abuse. The offender is usually a
relative or close acquaintance who has
the opportunity to be alone with victim.
Witnesses are rare, as people ordinarily
do not molest children in front of
others. Corroborating physical evidence
may be absent or inconclusive. For many
reasons, the child may be unable to
testify at trial. IJId., at 841.

Of trustworthiness, the Kansas Court
stated:

The determination of re-
liability and trust-

worthiness must be made on
a case-by-case basis. Such

—

factors as the age of the
child; his or her physical
and mental condition; the
circumstances of the al-
leged event; the language
used by the child; the
presence of corroborative
physical evidence; the re-
lationship of the accused
to the child; the child's
family, school, and peer
relationships; any motive
to falsify or distort the
event; and the reliability
of the testifying witness

can be examined. See,
e.g., United _States _v.
Nick, 604 F.2d 1199 (9th

Cir. 1979); State v, Rod-

riguez, 8 Kan. App.2d at
355-57, 657 P.2d 79.

Contrary to the defendant's

argument, the statute does
t l] j > . f t ]
hearsay statements of a
} J ] j > t f t }

sole
was made by a child.
Id. (Emphasis supplied).

While corroborative physical
evidence is but one factor in a trust-
worthiness determination in Kansas,
corroborative

Minnesota requires

evidence where the child is unavailable

e 22.

a

to testify. Minn. Stat. Ann. §
595.02(3)(b)(ii); Appendix pp. 20-21.
The Minnesota statute withstood a
constitutional challenge based upon the
Confrontation Clause in State v,
Bellotti, 383 N.W.2d 308 (Minn. App.
1986).

There were two child victims in the
Bellotti case--one who testified, and
one who did not. Both children were
females, and each was four years old.
The child who testified did so after the
court found ten indicia of reliability
in a hearing outside the presence of the
jury.

As to hearsay statements of T.C.
(the child who testified) about assaults
on the other child, C.B., the court
admitted them under Minn.R.Evid. 803
(24), the residual hearsay exception,

applying the same indicia of reliability

« 29 «

used to admit T.C.'s statements about
the assault on herself. Because T.C.
testified and was available for
cross-examination, the court said no
confrontation right was implicated,
citing California v. Green, 399 U.S.
149, 158 (1970).

As to C.B.'s out-of-court
Staterents, since C.B. did not testify
due to a finding of incompetency, and,
therefore, unavailability, not only were
the indicia of reliability necessary, of
which the court found seven, but the
necessary independent corroboration was
found in T.C.'s direct testimony and
defendant's partial confession.

Florida also mandates a showing of
“corroborative evidence of the abuse or
offense” where the child hearsay
declarant is unavailable as a witness.

Fla.Stat. § 90.803(23)(9) 2 b (West

eo D4 «

—

pe ot ede see. Aa Ca de See

Supp. 1989), Appendix pp. 7-8. Up-

holding the statute, the Florida Supreme

Court in Perez v. State, 536 So.2d 206
(1988), cert.denied, sub nom. Perez v.
Florida, oe =, 6d b6.6e.- B563

(1989), found the statute:

follows the general
approach set forth by the
United States Supreme Court
in Ohio v. Roberts. ... .
[T]he statute provides that
before the out-of-court
statements of the child
victim may be admitted the
court must first find, in a
hearing, that “the time,
content, and circumstances
of the statement provide
sufficient safeguards of
reliability.” Secondly,
the child victim must
either testify or be un-
available as a witness. If
the child testifies, the
defendant has been afforded
an opportunity to confront
the hearsay declarant. See
California v. Green, 399
U.S. 149, 90 S.Ct. 1930, 26
L.Ed.2d 489 (1970). If the
child victim does not
testify, section 90.803(23)
requires, in addition to a

~

determination that the
child is unavailable,
“other corroborative
evidence of the abuse or
offense,” which provides
particularized guarantees
of trustworthiness.

Fla. ‘ , 536 So.2d 206, 209.

The Florida statute suggests that the
court consider “the mental and physical
age and maturity of the child, the
nature and duration of the abuse or
offense, the relationship of the child
to the offender, the reliability of the
assertion, the reliability of the child
victim, and any other factor deemed
appropriate” in determination of the
“sufficient safeguards of reliability”
to allow the proferred hearsay. Fla.
Stat. § 90.803 23(a)(1)(West Supp.
1989). These factors which are not an
“exhaustive list of elements to be
considered", Perez, supra at 210, must

be supplemented by corroborative

2

evidence where the victim is unavailable.
These States, ° along with
Pennsylvania, have exercised their power
to determine rules of evidence in
criminal proceedings. Each permits
introduction of hearsay declarations of
child sexual abuse victims consistent
with the defendant's Confrontation
Clause rights as outlined by this Court.
The States have properly considered

and resolved this serious national

problem. These child hearsay’ rules

6as well as others, see infra n.
1-3. A sample statute of the American
Bar Association's National Legal
Resource Center for Child Advocacy and
Protection has served as the model for
legislation in a number of States. The
model statute was carefully drafted in
accordance with this Court's mandates to
afford the perpetrator his or wher
confrontation rights. "Protecting
Child/Victim Witnesses”, National Legal
Resource Center for Child Advocacy and
Protection, February, 1986, pp. 5-9,
82. Appendix, pp. 40-44.

o £2. «

properly balance the need for reliable
testimony against the particular
problems of the child witness and, by
requiring that the out-of-court
statements possess particularized
guarantees of trustworthiness, satisfy
the requirements of the Confrontation
Clause. The Idaho Supreme Court applied
this Court's prior decisions in too
restrictive a fashion without giving due
regard to the strong public policies
here involved and to the necessities of
these cases. Amici respectfully urge
this Court to reverse the decision

below.

—~

CONCLUSION

For the reasons stated above, amici
curiae request that this Honorable Court
reverse the judgment of the Supreme

Court of Idaho.

Respectfully submitted,

Ernest D. Preate, Jr.
orney General
onwealth of Pennsylvania

Assistance Unit

e 20 «

TABLE OF CONTENTS FOR APPENDIX

State Page
RUBERG. ccccccccccsescsescsccccccece 1
ASEBORG. cccccccccccccsecccccesceces 1
ASRORSOS. cc cccccccccscssccsesescese 2
~ tl, tl rrr rr rrrrrereee re 4
COROT OEOs ccc cccccccsccccscccccccces 5
PEOEEEB cs cece ccccceccccccccccccccecs 7
ee OP TTCTETULITIULITTTTTTe 8
| | PPT TETEELELIELIELELELELEeE 9
BEBOMOEDs cccccccccccccccccccccccces 10
PPT TTETELELIELEET Te 12
PM eee osccccccccccccccecccecccce 13
“cs FT Tre rere rTrTr 14
BEE s ccc cccccccecccecccccccccccces 15
| | rrr rrr ererererer er 16
PERMMBOSH c ccc ccc ccccccccccccccces 20
PEER Socecceccceccosccccceces 20
PROSE cc ccc ccc ccccccccccccccccecs 25
| PPP rrrrrrrrrrrereeeeeee enn 26

TSG BONIS Rs cc cccccccccceccccceece 28
SOG s cocccccccceccescecoeceeeet 28
Deed eeede cess oetbeessécceccencks 29
PTT TTT TTT TTT errr 32
ea. SEER s co ccccencessceeeeseeee 34
BEMoeccceiosccececoeessoeceseoese 35
See secocdeccecces6e00esseseseucet 36
Vas ooccecececesoceceenseeéesebe 39
a I TT TT TT ee 40
(ii)

APPENDIX
Alaska - Code of Criminal Procedure
Sec. 12.40.110 Hearsay evidence in

prosecutions for sexual offenses. (a) In
a prosecution for an offense under AS

11.41.410--11.41.440 or 11.41.455,
hearsay evidence of a statement related
to the offense, not otherwise

admissible, made by a child who is the
victim of the offense may be admitted
into evidence before the grand jury if

(1) the circumstances of the
statement indicate its reliability;

(2) the child is under 10 years of
age when the hearsay evidence is sought
to be admitted;

(3) additional evidence is
introduced to corroborate the statement;
and

(4) the child testifies at the grand
jury proceeding or the child will be
available to testify at trial.

(b) In this section “statement”
means an oral or written assertion or
nonverbal conduct if the nonverbal
conduct is intended as an assertion. (§
1 ch 41 SLA 1985)

Arizona - Criminal Code Title 13
§ 13-1416. Admissibility of minor's
statement; notice

A. Except as otherwise provided in
title 8, a statement made by e2 minor who
is under the age of ten years describing
any sexual offense or physical abuse
performed with, on or witnessed by the
minor, which is not otherwise admissible
by statute or court rule, is admissible
in evidence in any criminal or civil
proceeding if both of the following are
true:

1. The court finds, in an in camera
hearing, that the time, content and
circumstances of the statement provide
sufficient indicia of reliability.

2. Either of the following is true:

(a) The minor testifies at the
proceedings.

(b) The minor is unavailable as a
witness, provided that if the minor is
unavailable as a witness, the statement
may be admitted only if there is
corroborative evidence of the statement.

B. A statement shall not be
admitted under this section unless the
proponent of the statement makes known
to the adverse party his intention to
offer the statement and the particulars
of the statement sufficiently in advance
of the proceedings to provide’ the
adverse party with a fair opportunity to
prepare to meet the statement.

Arkansas - Rules of Evidence
Rule 803. Hearsay exceptions -
Availability of declarant immaterial.-
The following are not excluded by the
hearsay rule, even though the declarant
is available as a witness:

x «8

(25)(A) A statement made by a child
under ten (10) years of age concerning
any act or offense against the child
involving sexual offenses, child abuse
Or incest is admissible in any criminal
proceeding in a court of this State,
provided:

l. The Court finds, in a hearing
conducted outside the presence of the
jury, that the statement offered
possesses a reasonable likelihood of
trustworthiness using the following
criteria:

the age of the child

the maturity of the child

the time of the statement

the content of the statement

the circumstances surrounding the
giving of the statement

f. the nature of the offense involved

g. the duration of the offense
involved

h. the relationship of the child to
the offender

i. the reliability of the assertion

j. the reliability-credibility of
the child witness before the Judge

k. the relationship or status of the
child to the one offering the statement

1. any other corroborative evidence
of the act which is the subject of the
statement.

m. any other fact or which the Court
at the time and under the circumstances
deems relevant and appropriate.

2. The proponent of the statement
shall give the adverse party reasonable
notice of his intention to offer the
statement and the particulars of the
statement.

3. If a statement is admitted
pursuant to this Section the Court shall
instruct the jury that it is for the
jury to determine the weight and credit
to be given the statement and that, in
making the determination, it shall
consider the age and maturity of the
child, the nature of the statement, the
circumstances under which the statement
was made, and any other relevant factors.

4. This Section shall not be
construed to limit the admission of an
offered statement under any other
hearsay exception or applicable Rule of
Evidence.

eaace

California - Evidence Code

§ 1228. Statement of minor child as
victim of sexual abuse.

Notwithstanding any other provision of
law, for the purpose of establishing the
elements of the crime in order to admit
as evidence the confession of a person
accused of violating Section 261, 264.1,
285, 286, 288, 288a, 289, or 647a of the
Penal Code, a court, in its discretion,
may determine that a statement of the
complaining witness is not made
inadmissible by the hearsay rule if it
finds all of the following:

(a) The statement was made by a minor
child under the age of 12, and the
contents of the statement were included
in a written report of a law enforcement
official or an employee of a county
welfare department.

(b) The statement describes the minor
child as a victim of sexual abuse.

(c) The statement was made prior to the
defendant's confession. The court shal)
view with caution the testimony of a
person recounting hearsay where there is
evidence of personal bias or prejudice.
(d) There are no circumstances such as
Significant inconsistencies between the
confession and the statement concerning
material facts establishing any element
of the crime or the identification of
the defendant, that would render the
statement unreliable.

(e) The minor child is found to be
unavailable pursuant to paragraph (2) or
(3) of subdivision (a) of Section 240 or
refuses to testify.

(f£) The confession was memorialized in a
trustworthy fashion by a law enforcement
official.

If the prosecution intends to offer a
statement of the complaining witness

pursuant to this section, the
prosecution shall serve a written notice
upon the defendant at least ten days
prior to the hearing or trial at which
the prosecution intends to offer the
statement.

If the statement is offered during
trial, the court's determination shall
be made out of the presence of the
jury. If the statement is found to be
admissible pursuant to this section, it
shall be admitted out of the presence of
the jury and solely for the purpose of
determining the admissibility of the
confession of the defendant.

Colorado —- Evidence-General Provisions

§ 13025-129. Statements of child victim
of unlawful sexual offense against a
child or of child abuse - hearsay
exception. (1) An out-of-court statement
made by a child, as child is defined
under the statutes which are the subject
of the action, describing any act of
sexual contact, intrusion, or
penetration, as defined in section
18-3-401, C.R.S. performed with, by, on,
or in the presence of the child
declarant, not otherwise admissible by a
statute or court rule which provides an
exception to the objection of hearsay,
is admissible in evidence in any
criminal, delinquency, or civil
proceedings in which a child is a victim
of an unlawful sexual offense, as
defined in section 18-3-411 (1), C.R.S.
or in which a child is the subject of a
proceeding alleging that a child is
neglected or dependent under section
19-1-104(1)(b), C.R.S., and an
out-of-court statement by a child, as
child is defined under the statutes
which are the subject of the action,

describing any act of child abuse, as
defined in section 18-6-401, C.R.S., to
which the child declarant was subjected
or which the child declarant witnessed,
not otherwise admissible by a statute or
court rule which provides an exception
to the objection of hearsay, is
admissible in evidence in any criminal,
delinquency, or civil proceedings in
which a child is a victim of child abuse
or the subject of a proceeding alleging
that a child is neglected or dependent
under section 19-1-104(1)(b), C.R.S., if:

(a) The court finds in a hearing
conducted outside the presence of the
jury that the time, content, and
circumstances of the statement provide
sufficient safeguards or reliability; and

(b) The child either:

(I) Testifies at the proceedings; or

(II) Is unavailable as a witness and
there is corroborative evidence of the
act which is the subject of the
statement.

(2) If a statement is admitted
pursuant to this section, the court
shall instruct the jury that it is for
the jury to determine the weight and
credit to be given the statement and
that, in making the determination, it
shall consider the age and maturity of
the child, the nature of the statement,
the circumstances under which the
statement was made, and any other
relevant factor.

(3) The proponent of the statement
shall give the adverse party reasonable
notice of his intention to offer the
statement and the particulars of the
statement.

Florida -— Evidence Code
§ 90.803. Hearsay exceptions;
availability of declarant immaterial

The provision of § 90.802 to the
contrary notwithstanding, the following
are not inadmissible as evidence, even
though the declarant is available as a
witness:

(23) Hearsay exception; statement of
child victim of sexual abuse or sexual
offense against a child.-

(a) Unless the source of information
or the method or circumstances by which
the statement is reported indicates a
lack of trustworthiness, an out-of-court
statement made by a child victim with a
physical, mental, emotional, or
developmental age of 1l Or less
describing any act of child abuse,
sexual abuse, or any other offense
involving an unlawful sexual act,
contact, intrusion, or penetration
performed in the presence of, with by,
or on the declarant child, not otherwise
admissible, is admissible, is admissible
in evidence in any civil or criminal
proceeding if:

Ae The court finds in a hearing
conducted outside the presence of the
jury that the time, content, and
circumstances of the statement provide
sufficient safeguards of reliability.
In making its determination, the court
may consider the mental and physical age
and maturity of the child, the nature
and duration of the abuse or offense,
the relationship of the child to the
offender, the reliability of the
assertion, the reliability of the child
victim, and any other factor deemed
appropriate; and

2. The child either:

a. Testifies; or

b. Is unavailable as a witness,
provided that there is is other
corroborative evidence of the abuse or
offense. Unavailability shall include a
finding by the court that the child's
participation in the trial or proceeding
would result in a substantial likelihood
of severe emotional or mental harm, in
addition to findings pursuant to §
90.804(1).

(b) In a criminal action, the
defendant shall be notified no later
than 10 days before trial that a
Statement which qualifies as a hearsay
exception pursuant to this subsection
will be offered as evidence at trial.
The notice shall include a_ée written
Statement of the content of the child's
statement, the time at which the
Statement was made, the circumstances
surrounding the statement which indicate
its reliability, and such other
particulars as necessary to provide full
disclosure of the statement.

(c) The court shall make specific
findings of fact, on the record, as to
the basis for its ruling under this
subsection.

Added by laws 1985, c 85-53 § 4, eff.
July 1985. Amended by Laws 1987, c.
87-224, § ll.

Georgia - Evidence Code

§ 24-3-16 Testimony as to. child's
description of sexual contact Or
physical abuse.

A statement made by a child under
the age of 14 years describing any act
of sexual contact or physical abuse
performed with or on the child by
another is admissible in evidence by the
testimony of the person or persons to
whom made if the child is available to

testify in the proceedings and the court
finds that the circumstances of the
statement provide sufficient indicia of
reliability. (Code 1981, § 24-3-16,
enacted by Ga. L. 1986. p. 668. § 1.)

Idaho - Rules of Evidence
§ 19-3024. Statements by child

Statements made by a child under the
age of ten (10) years describing any act
of sexual abuse, physical abuse, or
other criminal conduct committed with or
upon the child, although not otherwise
admissible by statute or court rule, are
admissible in evidence after a proper
foundation has been laid in accordance
with the Idaho rules of evidence in any
proceedings under the child protective
act, Chapter 16, title 16, Idaho Code,
or in any criminal proceedings in the
courts of the state of Idaho if:

he The court finds, in a hearing
conducted outside the presence of the
jury that the time, content, and
circumstances of the statements provide
sufficient indicia of reliability; and

2. The child either:

(a) Testifies at the proceedings; or

(b) Is unavailable as a witness. A
child is unavailable as a witness when
the child is unable to be present or to
testify at the hearing because of death
or then existing physical or mental
illness or infirmity. Provided, that
when the child is unavailable as a
witness, such statements may be admitted
only if there is corroborative evidence
of the act.

Statements may not be admitted
unless the proponent of the statements
notifies the adverse party of his
intention to offer the statements and
the particulars of the statements

sufficiently in advance of the
proceedings to provide the adverse party
with a fair opportunity to prepare to
meet the statements.

Rule 803, Idaho Rules of # Evidence
provides:

Rule 803. Hearsay exceptions;
availability of declarant immaterial. -
The following are not excluded by the
hearsay rule, even though the declarant
is available as a witness.

(24) Other exceptions. A statement
not specifically covered by any of the
foregoing exceptions but having

equivalent circumstantial guarantees of
trustworthiness, if the court determines
that (A) the statement is offered as
evidence of a material fact; (B) the
Statement is more probative on the point
for which it is offered than any other
evidence which the proponent can procure
through reasonable efforts; and (C) the
general purpose of these rules and the
interests of justice will best be served
by admission of the statement into
evidence. A statement may not _ be
admitted under this exception unless the
proponent of it makes known to the
adverse party sufficiently in advance of
the trial or hearing to provide the
adverse party with a fair opportunity to
prepare to meet it, the proponent's
intention to offer the statement and the
particulars of it, including the name
and address of the declarant.

Illinois - Criminal Law and Procedure

§ 115-10 Sexual acts on child under 13 -
Hearsay exception § 115-10. (a) In a
prosecution for a sexual act perpetrated
upon a child under the age of 13,
including but not limited to

=~ =

prosecutions for violations of sections
12-13 through 12-16 of the Criminal Code
of 1961, the following shall be admitted
as an exception to the hearsay rule:

(1) testimony by such child of an
out of court statement made by such
child that he or she complained of such
act to another; and

(2) testifies of an out-of-court
statement made by such child describing
any complaint of such act or matter or
detail pertaining to any act which is an
element of an offense which is’ the
subject of a prosecution for a sexual
act perpetrated upon a child.

(b)Such testimony shall only _ be
admitted if:

(1) The court finds in a hearing
conducted outside the presence of the
jury that the time, content, and
circumstances of the statement provide
sufficient safeguards of reliability; and

(2) The child either:

(A) Testifies at the proceeding; or

(B) Is unavailable as a witness and
there is corroborative evidence of the
act which is the subject of the
statement.

(c) If a statement is admitted
pursuant to this Section, the court
shall instruct the jury that it is for
the jury to determine the weight and
credibility to be given the statement
and that, in making the determination,
it shall consider the age and maturity
of the child, the nature of the
statement, the circumstances under which
the statement was made, and any other
relevant factor.

(d) The proponent of the statement
shall give the adverse party reasonable
notice of his intention to offer the
statement and the particulars of the

- Jj] e«-

statement.

Indiana - Rules of Procedure

§ 35-37-4-6 Application of section;
admissibility of statement or videotape
made by children; notice to defendant of
hearing; corroborative evidence:
prosecuting attorney's duties

Sec. 6. (a) This section applies to
criminal actions for the following:

(1) Child molesting (IC 35-42-4-3).

(2) Battery upon a child (IC
35-42-2-1(2)(B)).

(3) Kidnapping (IC 35-42-3-2)

(4) Confinement (IC 35-42-3-3).

(5) Rape (IC 35-42-4-1).

(6) Criminal deviate conduct (IC
35-42-4-2).

(b) A statement or videotape that:

(1) is made by a child who was under
ten (10) years of age at the time of the
statement or videotape;

(2) concerns an act that is material
element of an offense listed in
subsection (a) that was allegedly
committed against the child; and

(3) is not otherwise admissible in
evidence under statute or court rule;
is admissible in evidence in a criminal
action for an offense listed in
subsection (a) if the requirements of
subsection (c) are met.

(c) & statement or videotape
described in subsection (b) is
admissible in evidence in a criminal
action listed in subsection (a) if,
after notice to the defendant of a
hearing and of his right to be present:

(1) the court finds, in a hearing:

(A) conducted outside the
presence of the jury; and

(B) attended by the child;
that the time, content, and

- 12 -

circumstances of the statement or
videotape provide sufficient indications
of reliability; and

(2) the child:

(A) testifies at the trial; or

(B) is found by the court to be
unavailable as a witness because:

(i) a psychiatrist has
certified that the child's participation
int he trial would be a= traumatic
experience for the child;

(ii) a physician has certified
that the child cannot participate in the
trial for medical reasons; or

(iii) the court has determined
that the child is incapable of
understanding the nature and obligation
of an oath.

(ad) If a child is unavailable to
testify at the trial for a reason listed
in subsection (c)(2)(B), a statement or
videotape may be admitted in evidence
under this section only if there is
corroborative evidence of the act that
was allegedly committed against’ the
child.

(e) A statement or videctape may not
be admitted in evidence under this
section unless the prosecuting attorney
informs the defendant and the
defendant's attorney of:

(1) his intention to introduce the
statement or videotape in evidence; and

(2) the content of the statement or
videotape;
within a time that will give the
defendant a fair opportunity to prepare
a response to the statement or videotape
before the trial.

Kansas - Rules of Evidence

§ 60-460. Hearsay evidence excluded,
exceptions. Evidence of a statement

> =

which is made other than by a witness
while testifying at the hearing offered
to prove the truth of the matter stated
is hearsay evidence and inadmissible
except:

(dd) In a criminal proceeding or in
a proceeding to determine if a child is
a deprived child under the Kansas
juvenile code or a child in need of care
under the Kansas code for care of
children, a statement made by a child,
to prove the crime or that the child is
a deprived child or a child in need of
care, if:

(1) The child is alleged to be a
victim of the crime, a deprived child or
a child in need of care; and

(2) the trial judge finds, after a
hearing on the matter, that the child is
disqualified or unavailable as a
witness, the statement is apparently
reliable and the child was not induced
to make the statement falsely by use of
threats or promises.

If a statement is admitted pursuant
to this subsection in a trial to a jury,
the trial judge shall instruct the jury
that it is for the jury to determine the
weight and credit to be given the
statement and_ that, in making’ the
determination, it shall consider the age
and maturity of the child, the nature of
the statement, the circumstances under
which the statement was made, any
possible threats or promises that might
have been made to the child to obtain
the statement and any other relevant
factor.

Kentucky - Revised Statutes
§ 421.355 Admissibility of victim's
out-of-court statements

(1) Notwithstanding any other

—"

provision of law or rule of evidence, a
child victim's out-of-court statements
regarding physical or sexual abuse, or
neglect of the child are admissible in
any criminal or civil proceeding,
including a proceeding to determine the
dependency of the child, if, prior to
admitting such a statement, the court
determines that:

(a) The general purpose of the
evidence is such that the interest of
justice will best be served by admission
of the statement into evidence; and

(b) The statements are determined by
the court to be reliable based upon the
court's consideration of: the age and
maturity of the child, the nature and
duration of the abuse, the emotional or
psychological effects of said abuse or
neglect upon the child, the relationship
of the child to the offender, the
reliability of the child witness, and

the circumstances surrounding the
statement.
Maine - Title 15. Revised Statutes
Annotated

§ 1205. Certain out-of-court statements
made by minors describing sexual contact

A hearsay statement made by a person
under the age of 16 years, describing
any incident involving a sexual act or
sexual contact performed with or on the
minor by another, shall not be excluded
as evidence in criminal proceedings in
courts of this State if:

1. Mental or physical well-being of
a person. On motion of the attorney for
the State and at an in camera hearing,
the court finds that the mental or
physical well-being of that person will
more likely than not be harmed if that
person were to testify in open court; and

—

2. Examination and cross-examina-
tion. Pursuant to order of court made
on such a motion, the statement is made
under oath, subject to all of the rights
of confrontation secured to an accused
by the Constitution of Maine or the
United States Constitution and the
statement has been recorded by any means
approved by the court, and is made in
the presence of a judge or justice.
Maryland - Annotated Code of Maryland
§ 9-103.1. Out of court statements of
child abuse victims.

(a) "Statement" defined. - In this
section “statement” means:

(1) An oral or written assertion; or

(2) Nonverbal conduct, if it is
intended as an _ assertion, including

sounds, gestures, demonstrations,
drawings, or similar actions.
(b) Admissibility - In general. -

(1) Subject to the provisions of
paragraphs (2) and (3) of this
subsection, if a court finds that the
requirements of subsection (c) of this
section are satisfied, a court may admit
into evidence in a criminal proceeding
an out of court statement, to prove the
truth of the matter asserted int he
statement, made by a child victim under
the age of 12 years, who is the alleged
victim in the case before the court,
concerning an alleged offense against
the child of child abuse, as defined
under Article 27, § 35A of the Code.

(2)(i) An out of court statement may
be admissible under this section only if
the statement was made to and is offered
by:

Re A licensed physician, as
defined under § 14-101 of the Health
Occupations Article;

2. <A licensed psychologist, as

o D6 «a

defined under § 16-101 of the Health
Occupations Article;

3. A licensed social worker,
as defined under § 18-101 of the Health
Occupations Article; or

4. A teacher; and

(ii) The individual described under
item (i) of this paragraph was acting in
the course of the individual's
profession when the statement was made.

(3) An out of court statement may be
admissible under this section only if
the statement possesses particularized
guarantees of trustworthiness.

(c) Same - Conditions precedent. -
(1) An out of court statement by a child
may come into evidence to prove the
truth of the matter asserted in the
statement if the child is subject to
cross-examination about the out of court
statement and testifies:

(i) At the criminal proceeding; or

(ii) By closed circuit television

(2) An out of court statement by a
child may come into evidence to prove
the truth of the matter asserted in the
statement if:

(i) The child is unavailable to
testify at the criminal proceeding due
to the child's:

1. Death;

Be Absence from the
jurisdiction, for good cause shown, and
the State has been unable to procure the
child's presence by subpoena or other
reasonable means;

3. Serious physical
disability; or
4. Inability to communicate

about the alleged offense due to serious
emotional distress;

(ii) The child‘s statement is not
admissible under any other hearsay

2 /S9 «

exception; and
(iii) There is 4 corroborative
evidence.

(3) In order to provide the
defendant with an opportunity to prepare
a response to the statement, the
prosecutor shall give to the defendant
and the defendant's attorney, at least
20 days before the criminal proceeding
in which the statement is to be offered
into evidence, notice of:

(i) The prosecution's intention to
introduce the statement; and

(ii) The content of the statement.

(4)(i) The defendant shall have the
right to take the deposition of a
witness who will testify under this
section;

(ii) Unless the State and the
defendant agree, or the court orders
otherwise, the defendant shall file a
notice of deposition at least 5 days
before the date of the deposition; and

(iii) Except where inconsistent with
this paragraph, the provisions of
Maryland Rule 4-261 shall apply to a
deposition taken under this paragraph.

(d) Particularized guarantees of
trustworthiness. - In order to determine
if a child's statement possesses
particularized guarantees of
trusthworthiness under this section, the
court shall consider, but is not limited
to, the following factors:

(1) The child's personal knowledge
of the event;

(2) The certainty that the statement
was made,

(3) Any apparent motive to fabricate
or exhibit partiality by the child,
including interest, bias, corruption, or
coercion;

(4) Whether the statement was

» 0.

spontaneous or directly responsive to
questions;

(5) The timing of the statement;

(6) Whether the child's young age
makes it unlikely that the child
fabricated the statement that represents
a graphic, detailed account beyond the
child's knowledge and experience and the
appropriateness of the terminology to
the child's age; |

(7) The nature and duration of the
abuse;

(8) The inner consistency and
coherence of the statement;

(9) Whether the child was suffering
pain or distress when making the
statement ;

(10) Whether extrinsic evidence
exists to show the defendant's
opportunity to commit the act complained
of in the child's statement;

(11) Whether the statement is
suggestive due to the use of leading
questions; and

(12) The credibility of the person

testifying about the statement.
(e) Role of court. - The court, in
determining whether a statement is
admissible under this section, in a
hearing outside the presence of a jury,
shall:

(1) Make a finding on the record as
to the specific guarantees of
trustworthiness that are present in the
statement; and

(2) Determine the admissibility of
the statement.

(f) Construction of section - This
section may not be construed to limit
the admissibility of a statement under
any other applicable hearsay exception
or rule of evidence. (1988, chs. 548,

549.)

» £6 «

Minnesota — Chapter 595. Witnesses

§ 595.02
Subd. 3. Certain out-of-court statements
admissible. An out-of-court statement

made by a child under the age of ten
years or a person who is-~ mentally
impaired as defined in section 609.341,
subdivision 6, alleging, explaining,
denying, or describing any act of sexual
contact or penetration performed with or
on the child or any act of physical
abuse of the child or the person who is
mentally impaired by another, not
otherwise admissible by statute or rule
of evidence, is admissible as
substantive evidence if:

(a) the court or person authorized
to receive evidence finds, in a hearing
conducted outside of the presence of the
jury, that the time, content, and
circumstances of the statement and the
reliability of the person to whom the
statement is made provide sufficient
indicia of reliability; and

(b) the child or person mentally
impaired as defined in section 609.341,
subdivision 6, either:

(i) testifies at the proceedings; or

(ii) is unavailable as a witness and
there is corroborative evidence of the
act; and

(c) the proponent of the statement
notifies the adverse party of the
proponent's intention to offer the
statement and the particulars of the
statement sufficiently in advance of the
proceeding at which the proponent
intends to offer the statement into
evidence to provide the adverse party
with a fair opportunity to prepare to
meet the statement.

For purposes of this subdivision, an
out-of-court statement includes video,

=

audio, or other recorded statements. An
unavailable witness includes an
incompentent witness.

Mississippi - Mississippi Code Volume 4
§ 13-401. Applicability of special
evidentiary provisions.

The rules of evidence prescribed in
Sections 13-1-401 through 13-1-415 shall
be applicable in any youth court
proceeding and in any criminal
prosecution under the following sections
of the Mississippi Code of 1972:

(a) Section 97-5-21, Mississippi
Code of 1972, relating to seduction of a
child under age eighteen (18);

(b) Section 97-5-23, Mississippi
Code of 1972, relating to the touching
of a child for lustful purposes;

(c) Section 97-5-23, Mississippi
Code of 1972, relating to the
exploitation of children;

(d) Section 97-5-39, Mississippi
Code of 1972, relating to contributing
to the neglect or delinquency of a child
and felonious battery of a child;

(e) Section 97-5-41 Mississippi Code
of 1972, relating to the carnal
knowledge of a stepchild, adopted child
or child of a cohabitating partner;

(f£) Section 97-3-95, Mississippi
Code of 1972, relating to sexual
battery; or

(g) Section 97-29-59, Mississippi
Code of 1972, relating to unnatural
intercourse.

SOURCES: Laws, 1986, ch 345 § 1l, eff
from and after July 1, 1986.

§ 13-1-403. Admissibility of child's
out-of-court statements.

(1) An out-of-court statement made
by a child under the age of twelve (12)

—

describing any act of child abuse,
sexual abuse or any other offense
involving an unlawful sexual act,
contact, intrusion or penetration
performed in the presence of, with, by
or on the declarant child, not otherwise
admissible, is admissible in evidence to
prove the contents thereof, if:

(a) Such statement is made for the
purpose of receiving assistance or
advice in order to prevent or mitigate
the recurrence of the offenses, or in
order to obtain advice about the
psychological, social Or familial
consequences associated with the
offenses; and

(b) Such statement is made to a
person on whom the child should
reasonably be able to rely for
assistance, counseling or advice; and

(c) The child either:

(i) Is available to testify; or

(ii) Is unavailable as a witness,
provided that there is other
corroborative evidence of the abuse or
offense. A finding of unavailablility,
except in those situations specified by
Rule 804 of the Mississippi Rules of
Evidence shall require a finding by the
court, based on the specific behavioral
indicators described in § 13-1-41ll, that
the child's participation in the trial
would result in a substantial likelihood
of traumatic emotional Or mental
distress; and

(d) The court finds in a hearing
conducted outside the presence of the
jury that the time, content and
circumstances of the statement provide
sufficient guarantees of
trustworthiness. In determining the
trustworthiness of the statement, the
court may consider the ace and maturity

» 22 «

of the child, the nature and duration of
the abuse or offense alleged, factors
which may detract from the declarant's
credibility, information provided about
the child's reliability based on the
specific behavioral indicators described
in § 13-1-411, or any other factor
deemed appropriate.

(2) The defendant shall be notified
no later than ten (10) days before trial
that an out-of-court statement as
described in this section shall be
offered in evidence at trial. The
notice shall include a written statement
of the content of the child's statement,
the time the statement was made, the
circumstances surrounding the statement
which indicate its reliability and such
other particulars As necessary to
provide full disclosure of the statement.

(3) The court shall make specific
findings of fact, on the record, as to
the basis for its ruling under this
section.

Mississippi - Proposed Rule of Evidence
Rule 803(25)

(25) Tender Years Exception. ca
statement made by a child of tender
years describing any act of sexual
contact performed with or on the child
by another is admissible in evidence if:
(a) the court finds, in a hearing
conducted outside the presence of the
jury, that the time, content, and
circumstances of the statement provide
sufficient indicia of reliability; and
(b) the child either (1) testifies at
the proceedings; or (2) is unavailable
as a witness: provided, that when the
child is unavailable as a witness, such
statement may be admitted only if there
is corroborative evidence of the act.

—

Comment

Some factors that the court should
examine to determine if there is
sufficient indicia of reliability are
(1) whether there is an apparent motive
on declarant's part to lie; (2) the
general character of the declarant; (3)
whether more than one person heard the
statements, (4) whether the statements
were made spontaneously; (5) the timing
of the declarations; (6) the
relationship between the declarant and
the witness; (7) the possibility of the

declarant's faulty recollection is
remote; (8) certainty that the
statements were made ; (9) the

credibility of the person testifying
about the statements; (10) the age or
maturity of the declarant; (11) whether
suggestive techniques were used in
eliciting the statement ; and (12)
whether the declarant's age, knowledge,
and experience make it unlikely that the
declarant fabricated. A finding that
there is a sufficient indicia of
reliability should be made on the record.
Mississippi's pre-rule tender years
exception did not define "tender
years”. See Williams v. State, 427
So.2d 100 (Miss. 1983). Many
jurisdictions limit their analogous
exceptions to declarants under the age
of fourteen years. However, the
exception should not be necessarily
limited to a specific chronological
age. In appropriate cases, the
exception might apply when the declarant
is chronologically older than fourteen
years, but the declarant has a mental
age less than fourteen years.
Corroboration need not be eyewitness
testimony or physical evidence, but may

— =

include confessions, doctors’ reports,
inappropriate conduct by the child, and
other appropriate expert testimony.

Missouri - Revised Statutes of the
State of Missouri

Chapter 491 § 491.075 R.S.Mo. (1988)
491.075 Statement of child under twelve
admissible, when

l. A statement made by ae child
under the age of twelve relating to an
offense under Chapter 565, 566 or 568,
R.S.Mo., performed with or on a child by
another, not otherwise admissible by a
Statute or court rule is admissible in
evidence in criminal proceedings in the
courts of this state as substantive
evidence to prove the truth of the
matter asserted if:

(1) The court finds, in a hearing
conducted outside the presence of the
jury that the time, content and
Circumstances of the statement provide
sufficient indicia of reliability; and

(2) The child either:

(a) Testifies at the proceedings; or

(b) Is unavailable as a witness.

2. Notwithstanding subsection 1 of
this section or any provision of law or
rule of evidence requiring corroboration
of statements, admissions or confessions
of the defendant, and notwithstanding
any prohibition of hearsay evidence, a
statement by a child when under the age
of twelve who is alleged to be a victim
of an offense under chapter 565, 566 or
568, R.S.Mo., is sufficient
corroboration of a statement, admission
or confession regardless of whether or
not the child is available to testify
regarding the offense.

3. A statement may not be admitted
under this section unless the

—-—

prosecuting attorney makes known to the
accused or his counsel his intention to
offer the statement and the particulars
of the statement sufficiently in advance
of the proceedings to provide’ the
accused or his counsel with a fair
opportunity to prepare to meet’ the
statement.

4. Nothing in this section shall be
construed to limit the admissibility of
statements, admissions or confessions
otherwise admissible by law.

History. L. 1985 H.B. 366, et. al.
Effective 7-19-85

Nevada Rev. Stat. Ann. Chapter 51
S $1.3868. Admissibility; notice of
unavailability of child to testify.

B. In addition to any other
provision for admissibility made by
statute or rule of court, a statement
made by a child under the age of 10
years describing any act of sexual
conduct performed with or on the child
is admissible in a criminal proceeding
regarding that sexual conduct if the:

(a)

Court finds, in a hearing out of the

presence of the jury, that the time,

content and circumstances of the

statement provide sufficient
circumstantial guarantees of
trustworthiness; and

(b)

Child either testifies at the
proceeding or is umavailable or
unable to testify.

3. If the child is unavailable or
unable to testify, written notice must
be given to the defendant at least 10
days before the trial of the

» 26 «

prosecution's intention to offer the

statement in evidence. (1985, p. 2132.)
New Jersey Senate Joint Resolution No.
56

Rule 63. Hearsay evidence excluded;

exceptions.

Evidence of a statement offered to
prove the truth of the matter stated
which is made other than by a witness
while testifying at the hearing is
hearsay evidence and is inadmissible
except as provided in Rules 63 (1)
through [63 (32)) 63 (33).

A new rule designated as Rule 63 is
adopted to read as follows:

Rule 63 (33). Statements by a child
relating to a sexual offense.

A statement a child under the age of
12 relating to a sexual offense under
the Code of Criminal Justice committed
on, with, or against that child is
admissible in a criminal proceeding
brought against a defendant for the
commission of such offense if (a) the
proponent of the statement makes known
to the adverse party his intention to
offer the statement and the particulars
of the statement at such time as to
provide him with a fair opportunity to
prepare to meet it; (b) the court finds,
in a hearing conducted pursuant to Rule
8 (1), that on the basis of the time,
content, and circumstances of the
statement there is a probability that
the statement is trustworthy; and (c)
either Ii) the child testifies at the
proceeding, or (ii) the child is
unavailable as a witness and there is
offered admissible evidence
corroborating the act of sexual abuse;
provided that no child whose statement
is to be offered in evidence pursuant to

e 29 «

this rule shall be disqualified to be a
witness in such proceeding by virtue or
the requirements of paragraph (b) of
Rule 17.

North Dakota Rule of Evidence

Rule 803(24)

(24) Child's Statement About Sexual
Abuse. An out-of-court statement by a
child under the age of 12 years about
sexual abuse of that child or witnessed
by that child is admissible as evidence
(when not otherwise admissible under
another hearsay exception) if:

(a) The trial court’ finds,
after hearing upon notice in advance
of the trial of the sexual abuse
issue, that the time, content, and
circumstances of the statement
provide sufficient guarantees of
trustworthiness; and

(b) The child either:

(i) Testifies at the

proceedings; or

(ii) Is unavailable as 4
witness and there is
corroborative evidence of the
act which is the subject of the
statement

Oklahoma - Evidence Code

§ 2803.1. Statements of children 12
years of age or younger describing acts
of sexual contact--Admissibility in
criminal and juvenile proceedings.

A. A statement made by a child
twelve (12) years of age or younger
which describes any act of sexual
contact performed with or on the child
by another, is admissible in criminal
and juvenile proceedings in the courts
in this state if:

» SS «

1. The court finds, in a hearing
conducted outside the presence of the
jury, that the time, content and
circumstances of the statement provide
sufficient indicia of reliability; and

2. The child either:

a. testifies at the proceedings, or

b. is unavailable as defined in
Title 12 as a witness.

When the child is unavailable as
defined in Title 12 as a witness, such
Statement may be admitted only if there
is corroborative evidence of the fact.

B. <A statement may not be admitted
under this section unless the proponent
of the statement makes known to the
adverse party his intention to offer the
statement and the particulars of the
Statement at lest ten (10) days in
advance of the proceedings to provide
the adverse party with an opportunity to
prepare to answer the statement.

Oregon Rev. Stat.
§ 40.460 (1989)

40.460 Rule 803. Hearsay exception;
availability of declarant immaterial].
The following are not excluded by ORS
40.455, even though the declarant is
available as a witness:

(18a) (a) A complaint of sexual
misconduct made by the prosecuting
witness after the commission of the
alleged offense. Except as provided in
paragraph (b) of this subsection, such
evidence must be confined to the fact
that the complaint was made.

(b) A statement made by a child
victim who is under 10 years of age,
which statement describes an act of
sexual conduct performed with or on the
child by another, is not excluded by ORS
40.455 if the statement is offered as

- 29 «-

evidence in the criminal trial or
juvenile court proceeding and if the
child either testifies at the proceeding
and is subject to cross-examination or
is unavailable as a witness and if the
proponent of admissibility establishes
to the satisfaction of the court outside
the presence of the jury, if any, that
the time, content and circumstances of
the statement provide substantial
indicia of reliability. However, when
the child is unavailable as a witness,
the statement may be admitted in
evidence only if there is corroborative
evidence of the act of sexual conduct
and of the defendant's participation in
the conduct. No statement may be
admitted under this paragraph except
upon motion of the state and unless the
proponent of the statement makes known
to the adverse party the proponent's
intention to offer the statement and the
particulars of the statement no later
than 15 days before trial, except for
good cause shown. For purposes of this
paragraph, in addition to those
situations described in ORS 40.465 (1),
the child shall be considered
“unavailable” if the child has a
substantial lack of memory of the
subject matter of the statement, is
presently incompetent to testify, is
unable to communicate about the offense
because of fear or other similar reason
or is substantially likely, as
established by expert testimony, to
suffer lasting severe emotional trauma
from testifying. Unless otherwise
agreed by the parties, the court shall
examine the child in chambers and on the
record or outside the presence of the
jury and on the record. The examination
shall be conducted in the presence of

» 2 «

the attorneys and the child's parent,
legal guardian or other suitable adult
as designated by the court. The purpose
of the examination shall be to aid the
court in making its findings regarding
the child's availability as a witness
and the reliability of the child's
statement. In determining whether a
statement possesses substantial indicia
of reliability under this paragraph, the
court may consider, but is not limited
to, the following factors:

(A) The child's personal knowledge
of the event;

(B) The age and maturity of the
child;

(C) Certainty that the statement
was made, including the credibility of
the person testifying about the
Statement and any motive the person may
have to falsify or distort the statement;

(D) Any apparent motive the child
may have to falsify or distort the
event, including the statement;

(E) The timing of the child's
statement;

(F) Whether more than one person
heard the statement;

é (G) Whether the child was suffering
pain or distress when making the
statement;

(H) The nature and duration of any
alleged abuse;

(I) Whether the child's young age

makes it unlikely that the child
fabricated a statement that represents a
graphic, detailed account beyond the
child's knowledge and experience;
(J) Whether the statement has
internal consistency or coherence and
uses terminology appropriate to the
child's age;

(n) Whether the statement is

» Dh «

spontaneous or directly responsive to
questions;

(L) Whether the statement was
elicited by leading questions; and

(M) Whether extrinsic evidence
exists to show the accused's opportunity
to commit the act to which the child's
statement refers.

Pennsylvania - Title 42. Pennsylvania
Consolidated Statutes

§ 5985.1. Admissibility of Certain
Statements.

(A) General Rule.--An out-of-court
statement made by a child victim or
witness, who at the time the statement
was made was 12 years of age or younger,
describing indecent contact, sexual

intercourse or deviate sexual
intercourse performed with or on the
child by another, not otherwise

admissible by statute or rule of
evidence, is admissible in evidence in
any criminal proceeding if:

(1) The court finds, in an
in camera hearing, that
the evidence is relevant
and that the time, content
and circumstances of the

statement provide
sufficient indicia of
reliability.

(2) The child either:

(I) Testifies at the
proceeding; or

(II) Is unavailable as a

witness and there is
corroborative evidence of
the act.

» 232 «

(B) Notice Required -- A statement
otherwise admissible under subsection
(A) shall not be received into evidence
unless the proponent of the statement
notifies the adverse party of the
proponent's intention to offer the
statement and the particulars of the
statement sufficiently in advance of the
proceeding at which the proponent
intends to offer the statement into
evidence to provide the adverse party
with a fair opportunity to prepare to
meet the statement.

South Dakota - Rule of Evidence

§ 19-16-38. Statement of sex crime
victim under age ten. A statement made
by a child under the age of ten
describing any act of sexual contact or
rape performed with or on the child by
the defendant, not otherwise admissible
by statute or court rule, is admissible
in evidence in criminal proceedings
against the defendant in the courts of
this state if:

(1) The court finds, in a
hearing conducted outside the
presence of the jury, that
the time, content and
circumstances of the
statement provide sufficient
indicia of reliability; and

(2) The child either:
(a) Testifies at the
proceedings; or
(b) Is available as a
witness.

However, if the child is unavailable
as a witness, such statement may be

=

admitted only if there is corroborative
evidence of the act.

No statement may be admitted under
this section unless the proponent of the
statement makes known his intention to
offer the statement and the particulars
of it, including the name and address of
the declarant to the adverse party
sufficiently in advance of the trial or
hearing to provide the adverse party
with a fair opportunity to prepare to
meet the statement.

Texas - Code of Criminal Procedure

Art. 38.072. Hearsay statement of child
abuse victim. Sec. i. This article
applies to a proceeding in the
prosecution of an offense under any of
the following provisions of the Penal
Code, if committed against a child 12
years of age or younger.

(1) Chapter 21 (Sexual Offenses) or
22 (Assaultive Offenses);

(2) Section 25.02 (Incest);

(3) Section 25.06 (Solicitation of a
Child, added by Chapter 413, Acts of the
65th Legislature, Regular Session,
1977); or

(4) Section 43.25 (Sexual
Performance by a Child).

Section 2. (a) This article applies
only to statements that describe the
alleged offense that:

(1) were made by the child against
whom the offense was allegedly
committed; and

(2) were made to the first person,
18 years of age or older, other than the
defendant, to whom the child made a
statement about the offense.

(b) A statement that meets’ the
requirements of Subsection (a) of this

a M4 «

/

article is not inadmissible because of
the hearsay rule if:

(1) on or before the 14th day before
the date the proceeding begins, the
party intending to offer the statement:

(A) notifies the adverse party of
its intention to do so;

(B) provides the adverse party with
the name of the witness through whom it
intends to offer the statement; and

(C) provides the adverse party with
a written summary of the statement;

(2) the trial court finds, in a
hearing conducted outside the presence
of the jury, that the statement is
reliable based on the time, content, and
circumstances of the statement; and

(3) the child testifies or is
available to testify at the proceeding
in court or in any other manner provided
by law.

Added by Acts 1985, 69th Leg., ch 590 §
1, eff. Sept. 1, 1985.

Utah -—- Criminal Code
§ 76-5-409. Corroboration of admission
by child's statement. (1)
Notwithstanding any provision of law
requiring corroboration of admissions or
confessions, and not withstanding any
prohibition of hearsay evidence, a
child's statement indicating in any
manner the occurrence of the sexual
offense involving the child is
sufficient corroboration of the
admission or the confession regardless
of whether or not the child is available
to testify regarding the offense.

(2) A child, for purposes of Section
(1), is a person under the age of 14.

§ 76-5-410. Child victim of sexual abuse
as competent witness. A child victim of

—

sexual abuse under the age of ten is a
competent witness and shall be allowed
to testify without prior qualification
in any judicial proceeding. The trier
of fact shall determine the weight and
credibility of the testimony.

§ 76-5-411. Admissibility of out of
court statement of child victim of
sexual abuse [Effective until July l,
1990). (1) Notwithstanding any rule of
evidence, a child victim's out of court
statement regarding sexual abuse of that
child is admissible as evidence though
it does not qualify under an existing
hearsay exception, if:

(a) the child ~is available to
testify in court or as_ provided by
Subsection 77-35-15.5(2) or (3)

(b) in the event the child is not
available to testify in court or as
provided by Subsection 77-35-15.5(2) or
(3), there is other corroborative
evidence of the abuse; or

(c) the statement qualifies for
admission under Subsection 77-35-15.5(1).

(2) Prior to admission of any
statement into evidence under this
section, the judge shall determine
whether the interest of justice will
best be served by admission of that
statement. In making this determination
the judge shall consider the age and
maturity of the child, the nature and
duration of the abuse, the relationship
of the child to the offender, and the
reliability of the assertion and of the
child.

(3) A statement admitted under this
section shall be made available to the
adverse party sufficiently in advance of
the trial or proceeding, to provide him

= 2

7 an opportunity to prepare to meet

(4) For purposes of this section, a
child is a person under the age of 14
years.

Admissibility of out-of-court statement
of child victim of sexual abuse
[Effective July 1, 1990]

(1) Notwithstanding any rule of
evidence, a child victim's out-of-court
statement regarding sexual abuse of that
child is admissible as evidence although
it does not qualify under an existing
hearsay exception, if:

(a) _the child is available to
testify in court or under Rule 15.5(2)
or (3), Utah Rules of Criminal Procedure;

(b) if the child is not available to
testify in court or under Rule 15.5(2)
Or (3), Utah Rules of Criminal
Procedure, there is other corroborative
evidence of the abuse; or

(ce) the statement qualifies for
admission under Rule 15.5(1), Utah Rules
of es Procedure.

2 Prior to admission o
statement iniG evidence walt Ea this
section, the judge shall determine
whether the interest of justice will
best be served by admission of that
statement. In making this determination
the judge shall consider the age and
maturity of the child, the nature and
duration of the abuse, the relationship
of the child to the offender, and the
reliability of the assertion of the
child.

(3) A statement admitted under this
section shall be made available to the
adverse party sufficiently in advance of
the trial or proceeding, to provide him

- 37 -

with an opportunity to prepare to meet
1.

(4) For purposes of this section, a
child is a person under the age of 14
years.

Vermont - Rules of Criminal Procedure
Rule 804a Hearsay Exception; Putative
Victim Age Ten or Under

(a) Statements by a person who is a
child ten years of age or under at the
time of trial are not excluded by the
hearsay rule if the court specifically
finds at the time they are offered that:

(1) the statements are offered in a
criminal case in which the child is a
putative victim of sexual assault under
13 V.S.A. § 3252, aggravated sexual
assault under 13 V.S.A. § 3253, lewd or
lascivious conduct with a child under 13
V.S.A. § 2602 or incest under V.S.A. §
205, and the statements concern the
alleged crime; or the statements are
offered in a juvenile proceeding under
chapter 12 of Title 33 involving a
delinquent act alleged to have been
committed against a child ten years of
age or under, if the delinquent act
would be an offense listed herein if
committed by an adult and the statements
concern the alleged delinquent act; or
the child is the subject of a petition
alleging that the child is in need of
care or supervision under chapter 12 of
Title 33, and the statement relates to
the sexual abuse of the child;

(2) the statements were not taken in
preparation for a legal proceeding and,
if a criminal or delinquency proceeding
has been initiated, the statements were
made prior to the defendant's initial
appearance before a judicial officer

- 38 -

under Rule 5 of the Vermont Rules of
Criminal Procedure;

(3) the child is available to
testify either in court or under Rule
807; and

(4) the time, content and
Circumstances of the statements provide
substantial indicia of trustworthiness.

(b) Upon motion of either party, the
court shall require the child to testify
for the state. - Added 1985, No. 82 § 2,
eff. July 1, 1985; amended October 30,
1986, eff. March 1, 1987.

Rule 26 (d) Hearsay Statement of a
Victim who is a Child Ten Years of Age
or Under. When the state in a criminal
action intends to offer hearsay
statements of a victim who is a child
ten years of age or under, made
admissible by Rule 804a of the Vermont
Rules of Evidence the state’ shall
furnish to the defendant a written
statement of the evidence it intends to
offer, including the name of each
witness who will testify to the
statement of the victim, at least 30
days before trial. The court may allow
the notice to be given at a later date,
including during trial, if it determines
either that the evidence is newly
discovered and could not have been
obtained earlier through the exercise of
due diligence or that the issue to which
the evidence results has newly arisen in
the case. Amended Jan. 14, 1985, eff.
March 15, 1985; 1985 No. 82 § 3, eff.
ree 1, 1985; Dec. 8, 1988 eff. March l,
989.

Washington - Washington Criminal Code

§ 9A.44.120 Admissibility of child's
statement-Conditions

- 39 -

A statement made by a child when
under the age of ten describing any act
of sexual contact performed with or on
the child by another, not otherwise
admissible by statute or court rule, is
admissible in evidence in dependency
proceedings under Title 13 RCW and
Criminal proceedings in the courts of
the state of Washington if:

(1) The court finds, in a hearing
conducted outside the presence of the
jury, that the time, content, and
circumstances of the statement provide
sufficient indicia of reliability; and

(2) The child either:

(a) Testifies at the proceedings; or

(b) Is unavailable as a witness:
Provided, That when the child is
unavailable as a witness, such statement
may be admitted only if there is
corroborative evidence of the act.

A statement may not be admitted
under this section unless the proponent
of the statement makes known to the
adverse party his intention to offer the
statement and the particulars of the
statement sufficiently in advance of the
proceedings to provide the adverse party
with a fair opportunity to prepare to
meet the statement. Enacted by Laws
1982, ch. 129, § 2. Amended by Laws
1985, ch. 404 § 1.

Sample Statute, American Bar
Association, National Legal Resource
Center for Child Advocacy and Protection
Part IV. Evidentiary Issues.
4.3 Out-of-Court Statements of Sexual
Abuse

A child victim's out-of-court
statement of sexual abuse should be
admissible into evidence where it does
not qualify under an existing hearsay

o @ «

exception, as long as: (1) the child
testifies; or (2) in the event the child
does not testify, there is other
corroborative evidence of the abuse.
Before admitting such a statement into
evidence, the judge should determine
whether the general purposes of the
evidence rules and interests of justice
will best be served by admission of the
Statement into evidence. In addition,
the court should consider the age and
maturity of the child, the nature and
duration of the abuse, the relationship
of the child to the offender, the
reliability of the assertion, and the
reliability of the child witness in
deciding whether to admit such a
statement.

A statement may only be admitted
under this exception if the proponent of
it makes known to the adverse party
sufficiently in advance of the trial or
hearing to provide the adverse party
with a fair opportunity to prepare to
meet it, his intention to offer the
statement and the particulars of it.

Hearsay Exception for Child
Victim's Out-of-Court Statement
of Abuse

(A) An out-of-court statement made by a
child under [eleven] years of age at
the time of the proceeding
concerning ar act that is a material
element of t..e offense(s) of [sexual
abuse], [physical abuse or battery],
{other specified offenses] that is
not otherwise admissible in evidence
is admissible in any judicial
proceeding if the requirements of
sections B through F are met.

« Go

(B) An out-of-court statement may be
admitted as provided in Section A if:

(1) The child testifies at the
proceeding, or testifies by

means of videotaped deposition

(in accordance with [ }) or

closed-circuit television (in

accordance with [ }), and at
the time of such testimony is
subject to cross- examination
about the out-of-court
statement; or

(2) (a) the child is found by the
court to be unavailable to
testify on any of these grounds:

i) the child's death;

ii) the child's absence from
the jurisdiction;

iii) the child's total failure
of memory;

iv) the child's persistent
refusal to testify despite judicial
requests to do so;

v) the child's physical or
mental disability;

vi) the existence of a
privilege involving the child;

vii) the child's incompetency,
including the child's inability to
communicate about the offense because of
fear or a similar reason; or

viii) substantial likelihood
that the child would suffer severe
emotional trauma from testifying at the
proceeding or by means of a videotaped
deposition or closed-circuit television;
and

(b) the child's out-of-court

statement is shown to possess
particularized guarantees of
trustworthiness.

(C) A finding of unavailability under

e 42 «

section B(2) (28) (viii) must be

supported by expert testimony.

(D) The proponent of the statement must
inform the adverse party of the
proponent's intention to offer the
statement and the content of the
statement sufficiently in advance of
the proceeding to provide the
defendant with a fair opportunity to
prepare a response to the statement
before the proceeding at which it is
offered.

(E) In determining whether a statement
possesses particularized guarantees
of trustworthiness under section
B(2), the court may consider, but is
not limited to, the following
factors:

(1) the child's personal knowledge
of the event;

(2) the age and maturity of the

child;

(3) certainty that the statement
was made, including the
credibility of the person
testifying about the statement;

(4) any apparent motive the child
may have to falsify or distort
the event, including bias,
corruption, or coercion;

(5) the timing of the child's
statement ; 7

(6) whether more than one person
heard the statement;

(7) whether the child was suffering
pain or distress when making
the statement;

(8) the nature and duration of an;y
alleged abuse;

(9) whether the child's young age
makes it unlikely that’ the
child fabricated a statement
that represents a graphic,

— 7

detailed account beyond the
child's know ledge and
experience;

(10) whether the statement has a
“ring of verity”, has internal
consistency or coherence, and
uses terminology appropriate to
the child's age;

(11) whether the statement is
spontaneous or directly
responsive to questions; _

(12) whether the statemerit is
suggestive due to improperly
leading questions;

(13) whether extrinsic evidence
exists to show the defendant's
opportunity to commit the act
complained of in the child's
statement.

(F) The court shall support with
findings on the record any rulings

pertaining to the child's
unavailability and the
trustworthiness of the out-of-court
statement.

(Recommendations for Improving'§§ Legal
Intervention in Intrafamily Child Sexual
Abuse Cases. National Legal Resource
Center for Child Advocacy and
Protection, Young Lawyers Division,
American Bar Association. October 1982;
5th Printing June 1987.)

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385012_0664%3A10. Public record. Not legal advice.
