# Amicus Curiae Brief — United States Department of Justice v. Reporters Committee for Freedom of the Press

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385012_0654%3A15

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1989
- **Citation:** 489 U.S. 749

## Text

No. 87-1379

In the Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1987

UNITED STATES DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE, ET AL.,
Petitioners,

VS.
REPORTERS COMMITTEE FOR FREEDOM
OF THE PRESS, ET AL..,
Respondents.

On Writ or CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED STATES CourRT OF
APPEALS FOR THE District or COLUMBIA CIRCUIT

BRIEF OF AMICI CURIAE
THE AMERICAN NEWSPAPER PUBLISHERS AS.-
SOCIATION, THE AMERICAN SOCIETY OF NEWS-
PAPER EDITORS, NATIONAL ASSOCIATION OF
BROADCASTERS, THE MIAMI HERALD PUBLISH-
ING COMPANY, THE WASHINGTON POST AND
McCLATCHY NEWSPAPERS, INC.

Laura Besvinick Richard J. Ovelmen

Greer, Homer, Cope & (Counsel of Record)
Bonner, P.A. John R. Borgo

CenTrust Financial Center Baker & McKenzie

34th Floor Suite 1600, Barnett Tower

100 Southeast 2nd Street 701 Brickell Avenue

Miami, Florida 33131 Miami, Florida 33131

(305) 350-5100 (305) 789-8900

Attorneys for Amici Curiae

[List of Counsel continued inside cover]

E. L. Menpennatt, Inc., 926 Cherry Street, Kansas City, Mo. 64106, (816) 421-3030

W. Terry Maguire

Tonda Rush

American Newspaper
Publishers Association

The Newspaper Center

Box 17407

Dulles International
Airport

Washington, D.C. 20041

Attorneys for the American
Newspaper Publishers
Association

Richard M. Schmidt, Jr.

Cohn & Marks

1333 New Hampshire
Avenue, N.W.

Suite 600

Washington, D.C. 20036

Attorney for the American
Society of Newspaper
Editors

Henry L. Baumann

Steven A. Bookshester

National Association of
Broadcasters

1771 N Street, N.W.

Washington, D.C. 20036

Attorneys for National
Association of
Broadcasters

Samuel A. Terilli

General Counsel

The Miami Herald

One Herald Plaza

Miami, Florida 33101

Attorney for The Miami
Herald Publishing

Company

Boisfeuillet Jones, Jr.
Carol Melamed

The Washington Post

1150 Fifteenth Street, N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20071

Attorneys for The
Washington Post

Gary B. Pruitt

Counsel

McClatchy Newspapers, Inc.

2100 “Q” Street

Sacramento, California
95852

Attorney for McClatchy
Newspapers, Inc.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

cas cceeenepwasoonncnomnsennns III
STATEMENT OF INTEREST ......................0.002002....-.. 1
STATEMENT OF THE CASE ..0oo222......ee.eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeees 3
SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT 0. 3
ESET 6

I. THE COMPILATION OF PUBLIC REC-
ORD CRIMINAL HISTORY INFORMATION
DOES NOT GIVE RISE TO A SUBSTAN-
TIAL INTEREST IN PRIVACY 0000... 6

A. PUBLIC RECORD CRIMINAL HIS-
TORY INFORMATION IS OF LEGIT-
IMATE PUBLIC CONCERN AND A
PARTICULARLY APPROPRIATE SUB-
JECT OF PRESS REPORTING ............. aoe

B. THE CRIMINAL HISTORY INFORMA-
TION REQUESTED HERE IS STRICT-
LY LIMITED TO MATTERS OF PUB-
Tene 9

C. COMPILED PUBLIC RECORD CRIM-
INAL HISTORY INFORMATION IS
NOT “PRIVATE” AND ITS DISCLO-
SURE DOES NOT IMPLICATE PRI-
i i ccetbaseeenidinsgnncscsonecensaceowees 10

1. Because The Information Requested
Does Not Involve Intimate Aspects
Of An Individual’s Private Life, No
Privacy Interests Are Implicated By
a ccnssnsusnenacoonensonnees 11

II

2. The Government’s Definition Of Pri-
vacy Is A Radical Departure From
Law And Has Been Repudiated By
The Solicitor General In The Past ....

3. The FBI’s Compilation And Use Of
Public Record Criminal History In-
formation Gives Rise To An Interest
In Access, Not A Right Of Privacy ....

D. THE AD HOC BALANCING AP-
PROACH ADVOCATED BY THE GOV-
ERNMENT THREATENS TO AFFORD
THE FBI STANDARDLESS DISCRE-
GEE oo :.:incca coastline

Il. ACCESS TO THE REQUESTED INFOR-
MATION: SERVES IMPORTANT PUBLIC
gs ee

CCT I cess receesnccersessnensenasninseneseaseecssasassensueneseseees

12

15

17

Ill

TABLE OF CITATIONS

Cases

Associated Press v. United States District Court, 705

Se I a cailintamenmie 8
Cox Broadcasting Corp. v. Cohn, 420 U.S. 469 (1975)
SaNee ) TEU rere IORI 7 ol OES 4,7, 8, 10
FBI v. Abramson, 456 U.S. 615 (1982) 2000 e.. 16
Globe Newspaper Co. v. Superior Court, 457 U.S. 594
SEED ‘ceatelieiaeiehasiisibteniceedeishaiteasasdaieihidetnssnaqencsnteereenniunnnteseinveainiieies 7,8
Menard v. Saxbe, 498 F.2d 1017 (D.C. Cir. 1974) ........ 17
Paul v. Davis, 424 U.S. 693 (1976) 2.0... 4, 11
Press-Enterprise Co. v. Superior Court, 464 U.S. 501
SITET siithsieshiceecideshashaeinanliapiataieidaieiidcalisidaaaaieetaaedinaisinaiaatins 7,8
Press-Enterprise Co. v. Superior Court, 106 S.Ct. 2735
RII jdelacheiceauiniaipesatiabiapiecsheaitanoisbneseceantlicahigaadaiieaiadtilahateilindl 4,7,8
Publicker Industries, Inc. v. Cohen, 733 F.2d 1059 (3d
Snr TINIE iidcecuedinecepstisnebaiabditinlancstiatsloadadcaasieiieiadummaanancianes 8
Richmond Newspapers, Inc. v. Virginia, 448 U.S. 555
EE See a eee ee ae eee sacuaihin 7,8
Whalen v. Roe, 429 U.S. 589 (1977) 2.0220. 4,11
Books and Publications
C. Fried, An Anatomy of Values (1970) —..00000000000..... 11
Fried, Privacy, 77 Yale L.J. 475 (1968) 00000000. 11
Fried, Privacy: Economics and Ethics, A Comment
on Posner, 12 Ga. L. Rev. 423 (1978) 000... 13
Posner, The Right of Privacy, 12 Ga. L. Rev. 393
(| ASRS Tec eraser Soe ae ne ES 14, 15

B. Sanford, Libel and Privacy (1985) ............ vom 10

IV

Search Group, Inc., Privacy and Security of Criminal
History Information: Privacy and the Media, Bu-
reau of Justice Statistics (1979) -.......00...0..0000000.n.. 8

Restatement (Second) of Torts, §652D —.......0...00........ 10, 11

No. 87-1379

In the Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1987

UNITED STATES DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE, ET AL..,
Petitioners,
vs.
REPORTERS COMMITTEE FOR FREEDOM
OF THE PRESS, ET AL.,
Respondents.

On Writ or CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED STATES CouRT OF
APPEALS FOR THE District or CoLuMBIA CIRCUIT

BRIEF OF AMICI CURIAE
THE AMERICAN NEWSPAPER PUBLISHERS AS-
SOCIATION, THE AMERICAN SOCIETY OF NEWS-
PAPER EDITORS, NATIONAL ASSOCIATION OF
BROADCASTERS, THE MIAMI HERALD PUBLISH-
ING COMPANY, THE WASHINGTON POST AND
McCLATCHY NEWSPAPERS, INC.

STATEMENT OF INTEREST OF AMICI CURIAE

Amici curiae The American Newspaper Publishers As-
sociation, The American Society of Newspaper Editors,

2

National Association of Broadcasters, The Miami Herald
Publishing Company, The Washington Post and McClatchy
Newspapers, Inc. (the “amici’”’) file this brief in support
of Respondents Reporters Committee for Freedom of the
Press and Robert Schakne. Petitioners and Respondents
have each consented to the filing of this brief. Their
written consents are on file with the Clerk of this Court.

The amici represent news reporters, editors, pub-
lishers and broadcasters.' The amici have a direct in-
terest in the outcome of this appeal, which will determine
whether they have access under the Freedom of Informa-
tion Act (FOIA) to public record criminal history informa-
tion compiled and maintained by the Federal Bureau of
Investigation. Such access is important to the amici,
since they frequently utilize FOIA to report news con-
cerning governmental activities, and they routinely rely
upon public records of arrests, indictments, convictions,

1. The American Newspaper Publishers Association is a
non-profit corporation whose membership consists of about 1,400
newspapers constituting over ninety percent of the total daily
and Sunday newspaper circulation, and a substantial portion of
the weekly newspaper circulation, in the United States. The
American Society of Newspaper Editors is a nationwide pro-
fessional organization of more than 950 persons who hold posi-
tions as directing editors of daily newspapers throughout the
United States. The National Association of Broadcasters is a non-
profit incorporated association of radio and television broadcast
stations and networks, including more than 5,000 radio stations,
900 television stations, and the major commercial broadcast net-
works. The Miami Herald Publishing Company is a division of
Knight-Ridder, Inc. a Florida corporation, and publishes The
Miami Herald, a daily newspaper in Miami, Florida, which is
distributed throughout the State of Florida. The Washington
Post, a division of the Washington Post Co., publishes a daily
newspaper of general circulation in the Washington, D.C. area
(circulation approximately 800,000 on weekdays, 1,000,000 on
Sundays) and maintains a substantial newsgathering organiza-
tion. McClatchy Newspapers, Inc. owns and operates twelve
newspapers in California, Washington, and Alaska with an
aggregate circulation of approximately 700,000.

3

acquittals and sentences to accurately report and edit
news concerning organized crime, career criminals, , ublic
officials, and the operations of the Department of Justice,
the Federal Bureau of Investigation, and other law en-
forcement agencies. A ruling granting access would
markedly facilitate the traditional role the amici play in
monitoring government and the activities of organized
crime.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

The amici adopt the Statement of the Case set forth
by Respondents in their Brief.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

The court below held that the compiled public record
criminal history information of reputed organized crime
figure Charles Medico was not exempt from disclosure
under the Freedom of Information Act (“FOIA”) because
the disclosure of such information would not result in
an “unwarranted invasion of personal privacy.” The
government argues that this holding is incorrect, implausi-
bly asserting that a public agency’s compilation of public
record information regarding matters of legitimate public
concern somehow creates a substantial privacy interest
which outweighs the public interest in access under the
FOIA.

The government’s contention -nust be rejected and the
decision of the court of appeals affirmed. Records of the
criminal justice system—arrests, indictments, convictions,

4

acquittals and sentences—inherently involve matters of
legitimate public concern. Consequently, this Court has
recognized the constitutional right of the public to mon-
itor criminal proceedings and to inspect criminal records,
as well as the central role of the press in informing the
public about the criminal justice system. Press-Enterprise
Co. v. Superior Court, 106 S.Ct. 2735 (1986); Cox Broad-
casting Corp. v. Cohn, 420 U.S. 469 (1975).

In addition, the specific information requested in this
case is limited to matters of public record. Accordingly,
to the extent any interest in privacy in such information
might ever have existed, it would have substantially
“faded” as a matter of law. No individual has any legit-
imate expectation that public records of official actions of
the criminal justice system will be treated as “private.”

Faced with the fact that the requested information is
both a matter of legitimate public concern and contained
in pre-existing public records, the government’s strategy
is to define privacy so broadly as to include any and all
information relating to an individual. The government's
definition of privacy as “control over information about
oneself’ proves too much and must be rejected as radically
overbroad. This Court has recognized, as has the Solicitor
General in his prior academic writings, privacy extends
to control over certain intimate personal information re-
lating to one’s private affairs. Whalen v. Roe, 429 U.S.
589 (1977). It does not encompass control over all in-
formation, regardless of its character. Records of arrests,
indictments, convictions, acquittals and sentences simply
are not information concerning those intimate aspects of
one’s private life that give rise to a cognizable privacy
interest. Paul v. Davis, 424 U.S. 693 (1976). But even

were the government correct in defining privacy so
broadly, its argument would fail. Since the information
here is compiled from admitted public records, there can
be no claim to any personal right to “control” or to “dis-
close” it.

This case thus reduces to the government’s naked
assertion that the mere collection and compilation of non-
private information by a public agency renders such in-
formation “private.” The gravamen of a privacy claim
is the wrongful public disclosure of private facts, but
the government’s objections to access to the information
at issue actually relate to inaccurate collection and possible
subsequent misuse. Thus, although the government’s
purported concern for the potential misuse of compiled
information is admirable, it demonstrates privacy is not
an issue here. The potential for misuse of collected public
record information by a powerful public agency like the
FBI does not create a privacy interest; it suggests the
need for proper user safeguards, and public access to
“watchdog” the implementation of those measures. Thus
the act of governmental compilation of public records
triggers an even greater interest in access: access enables
citizens to determine whether and how government is
using its authority to compile these records.

Finally, the court below properly held that the public
interest in disclosure outweighed the de minimis privacy
interest in the information requested here. Reports of
governmental waste and corruption lie near the core of
the First Amendment. Oftentimes, as in this case, dis-
closure of criminal history information greatly facilitates
such reports.

The decision of the court of appeals should be affirmed.

ARGUMENT

THE COURT OF APPEALS CORRECTLY HELD
THAT COMPILED PUBLIC RECORD CRIMINAL
HISTORY INFORMATION IS NOT EXEMPT FROM
THE FREEDOM OF INFORMATION ACT

Under Exemptions 6 and 7(c) of the Freedom of
Information Act, records are exempt from disclosure when
the personal interest in the privacy of the information
they contain outweighs the public interest in their dis-
closure. The court below properly held that Charles
Medico’s privacy interest in his public record criminal
history information did not outweigh the public interest
in its dissemination through the FOIA. Accordingly, the
decision of the court of appeals should be affirmed.

I. THE COMPILATION OF PUBLIC RECORD
CRIMINAL HISTORY INFORMATION DOES
NOT GIVE RISE TO A SUBSTANTIAL INTER-
EST IN PRIVACY

The court below correctly determined that Charles
Medico had at most a minimal privacy interest in the
information requested by the Reporters Committee. First,
criminal history information in general is of legitimate
public concern and the proper subject of press inquiry.
Second, the information requested was limited to public
record criminal history information in which any cog-
nizable interest in privacy would be substantially reduced.
Third, criminal history information is not of an intimate
nature and therefore does not give rise to a protectable
privacy interest, regardless of the form in which such in-
formation is maintained. Contrary to the government's
contention, the compilation by a public agency of public
records concerning matters of legitimate public concern

7

enhances the need for public access to such information;
it does not create a new privacy interest. Likewise, access
to this information is unrelated to employment discrim-
ination. The objections of the government and the Amer-
ican Civil Liberties Union are directed to the misuse of
compiled information, not its disclosure, and are therefore
inapposite here. Finally, the government's suggestion
that the content of the specific criminal history informa-
tion requested should determine the weight of the privacy
interest in the information must be rejected. Such an
approach could be construed to repose virtually stan-
dardless discretion in the agency.

A. PUBLIC RECORD CRIMINAL HISTORY
INFORMATION IS OF LEGITIMATE PUB-
LIC CONCERN AND A PARTICULARLY
APPROPRIATE SUBJECT OF PRESS RE-
PORTING

This Court has frequently noted the structural im-
portance of public access to information concerning the
operation of our system of criminal justice, and the spe-
cial role the press plays in effectuating the right. Press-
Enterprise Co. v. Superior Court, 106 S.Ct. 2735 (1986);
(“Press-Enterprise II’); Press-Enterprise Co. v. Superior
Court, 464 U.S. 501 (1984) (“Press-Enterprise I”); Globe
Newspaper Co. v. Superior Court, 457 U.S. 594 (1982);
Richmond Newspapers, Inc. v. Virginia, 448 U.S. 555
(1980). Specifically, the Court has held that “commis-
sion of crime, prosecutions resulting from it, and judicial
proceedings arising from the prosecutions .. . are with-
out question events of legitimate concern to the public
and consequently fall within the responsibility of the
press to report the operations of government.” Cox
Broadcasting Corp. v. Cohn, 420 U.S. 469, 492 (1975).

This fundamental right of access serves interests of
profound importance: public scrutiny “enhances the
quality and safeguards the integrity of the fact-finding
process, with benefits to both the defendant and to soci-
ety as a whole.” Globe, 457 U.S. at 606. Access fosters
“an appearance of fairness, thereby heightening public
respect for the judicial process” and “permits the public
to participate in and serve as a check upon the judicial
process—an essential component in our structure of self-
government.” Id. (footnote omitted).

The special role of the press in this constitutional
scheme rests at least in part on the realities of the
evolving complexity of our society. “Instead of acquiring
information about trials by first hand observation or by
word of mouth from those who attended, people now
acquire it chiefly through the print and electronic media.
In a sense, this validates the media claims of functioning
as surrogates for the public.” Richmond Newspapers,
448 U.S. at 572-73. “[I}n a society in which each indi-
vidual has but limited time and resources with which
to observe at first hand the operations of his govern-
ment, he relies necessarily upon the pres. to bring to
him in convenient form the facts of those operations.
Great responsibility is accordingly placed upon the news
media to report fully and accurately the proceedings of
government, and official records and documents open to
the public are the basic data of governmental operations.”
Cox, 420 U.S. at 491-92 (emphasis added) .’

2. Although this Court’s decisions addressing the qualified
First Amendment right of access have generally addressed
ceedings, the right has likewise been extended to records both
by this Court and the lower federal courts. Press-Enterprise II,
106 S.Ct. 2735 (1986) (transcript of preliminary hearing); Press-
Enterprise 1, 464 U.S. 501 (1984) (transcript of voir dire); Pub-
licker Industries, Inc. v. Cohen, 733 F.2d 1059 (3d Cir. 1984)
(transcript of hearing); Associated Press v. United States District
Court, 705 F.2d 1143 (9th Cir. 1983) (pre-trial documents).

The information at issue in this case is compiled from
records that are “the basic data” of the criminal justice
system: arrests, indictments, convictions, acquittals and
sentences. Thus, their availability through the FOIA
would greatly aid the press in the performance of its
special constitutional role of reporting such matters to
the public. There can be, and is, no dispute that the
records requested are of public actions taken by public
agencies about which the public has a right to know.

3. The states accord compilations of criminal history in-
formation maintained by their own law enforcement agencies
varying degrees of confidentiality. Some states grant broad
public access to the records, some limit their use to criminal
justice purposes, some explicitly permit the news media access
and others allow dissemination to potential employers. In large
part, the states appear to be motivated not by any concern for
individual privacy but by the desire to limit dissemination of

the possible misuse

}
I
fe

:
:
|

confidentiality and use limitations at the state level. Brief
of Amici Search Group, Inc., et al., with respect to petition
for en banc, at 12. For the government now claim

10

information requested in this case is a matter of public
record.

This Court has observed that “even the prevailing
law of privacy generally recognizes that the interests
in privacy fade when the information involved already
appears on the public records.” Coz, 420 U.S. at 494-95.
This Court has held the public’s entitlement to inspect
public records itself entails the right of the press to
gather and report the information in them: “Public rec-
ords by their very nature are of interest to those con-
cerned with the administration of government, and a
public benefit is performed by the reporting of the true
contents of the records by the media. The freedom of
the press to publish that information appears to us to be
of critical importance to our type of government in which
the citizenry is the final judge of the proper conduct
of public business.” Id. at 495. Thus, irrespective of
the content of the records requested, they present no
cognizable privacy interest because that content is al-
ready a matter of public record.

C. COMPILED PUBLIC RECORD CRIMINAL
HISTORY INFORMATION IS NOT “PRI-
VATE” AND ITS DISCLOSURE DOES NOT
IMPLICATE PRIVACY RIGHTS

The burden the government must shoulder is the
Orwellian task of demonstrating that the dissemination
of public records concerning matters of public concern

4. The common law clearly recognizes that once information

is a matter of public record, it can no longer be private. See,
B. Sanford, Libel and Pri , $113.2 (1985) (citing cases).
The Restatement (Second) of Torts is in accord: “Thus there is

no liability for giving publicity to facts about the plaintiff's
— Se 0. GS a aa Id. at §652D, Com-
ment D.

i

11

compiled by a public agency constitutes an unwarranted
invasion of privacy. That the arguments for such an
implausible claim are deeply flawed is shown in what
follows.

1. Because The Information Requested Does
Not Involve Intimate Aspects Of An Indi-
vidual’s Private Life, No Privacy Interests
Are Implicated By Its Dissemination

This Court has considered the right to privacy in
numerous contexts, but the ground common to all such
cases is that privacy involves the most intimate and
fundamental personal aspects of one’s life, “matters re-
lating to marriage, procreation, contraception, family rela-
tionships, and child rearing and education.” Paul v.
Davis, 424 U.S. 693, 713 (1976). Thus, this Court has
quoted Professor Philip Kurland with approval: privacy
includes “the right of the individual not to have his
private affairs made public by the government.” Whalen
v. Roe, 429 U.S. 589, 598-600 (1977).

Similarly, the common law defines the corollary tort
of invasion of privacy in relevant part as giving “public-
ity to a matter concerning the private life of another.”
Restatement (Second) of Torts, §652D. The Solicitor Gen-
eral has likewise recognized in his academic writings that
the right of privacy is implicated only by the most inti-
mate relationships of an individual’s private life: “It
is my thesis that privacy is . . . necessarily related to
ends and relations of the most fundamental sort: respect,
love, friendship, and trust.” C. Fried, An Anatomy of
Values 140 (1970); accord Fried, Privacy, 77 Yale LJ.
475, 477 (1968).

The information requested here derives from public
records of official actions taken by the criminal justice

12

system. The information does not involve any intimate
aspect of an individual’s private life. As such, the in-
formation simply does not provide a predicate for any
claim of an unwarranted invasion of privacy.

2. The Government's Definition Of Privacy
Is A Radical Departure From Law And
Has Been Repudiated By The Solicitor Gen-
eral In The Past

Faced with the obviously troublesome facts that the
records requested do not involve intimate aspects of the
private life of any person and do consist of public records
of public actions which are of legitimate public concern,
the government is forced to adopt a redefinition of “pri-
vacy” which is a radical departure from, and broadening
of, the traditional legal and common understanding of
the term.

According to the government, privacy is “the indi-
vidual’s right to control dissemination of information about
himself.” Br. 20. Crucial to this definition is the absence
of any refinement or limitation of the nature of the
information to be controlled. In short, there is no re-
quirement in the definition that the information be in
some sense “private” for there to be an invasion of privacy
in its dissemination. Based largely on this overbroad def-
inition, the government argues that the disclosure of com-
piled criminal justice information which is otherwise a
matter of public record constitutes an invasion of privacy
because it violates the individual’s right to control the dis-
semination of any information relating in any way to him-
self.

This definition of privacy, and consequently the gov-
ernment’s claim that the fact of compilation somehow gives

13

rise to a privacy interest in public record criminal history
information, must be rejected. Indeed, the Solicitor Gen-
eral has himself, writing in another forum, explicitly re-
jected the definition of privacy espoused by the govern-
ment here. In response to criticism of the definition of
privacy as control over information about oneself, then
Professor Fried wrote:

The particular point which [Professor Richard]
Posner denies and which I on an earlier occasion
had asserted is that privacy is to be defined as the
control of information about oneself. Posner’s analy-
sis demolishes the notion that there is any such gen-
eral right or that it would make much sense to rec-
ognize one.

Fried, Privacy: Economics and Ethics, A Comment on
Posner, 12 Ga. L. Rev. 423, 423-24 (1978). In the article
Professor Fried admits that the argument that individuals
possess a right to privacy defined as the right to control
information “won’t go through.” Id. at 427. The disclo-
sure of information about an individual violates his right
of privacy only if it violates some underlying substantive
right. The disclosure of information standing alone does
not violate any right to privacy:

[Ijf such information is obtained without violating
some other right, I have not been wronged, showing
in fact that the basis of right resides not in the informa-
tion but in those other domains.

Id.

This argument reveals the fundamental flaw in the
government’s position here. There is no underlying sub-
stantive right to limit dissemination of public record
criminal history information. The fact of an arrest, convic-

14

tion, or sentence is not an intimate private fact the dis-
closure of which would violate some underlying funda-
mental right. It is a matter of public record reflecting
official actions taken with respect to the individual by the
criminal justice system.

In the article which elicited the Solicitor General’s
abandonment of the concept of privacy he advocates here,
Judge Posner rejects any privacy interest in criminal his-
tory information. Compare Posner, The Right of Privacy,
12 Ga. L. Rev. 393 (1978) with Fried, supra. Judge Posner
trenchantly observes: ‘Much of the demand for pri-
vacy, however, concerns discreditable information, often
information concerning past or present criminal activity.

And often the motive for concealment is, as sug-
gested earlier, to mislead those with whom he trans-
acts... . It is not clear why society should assign the
property right in such information to the individual to
whom it pertains; and the common law, as we shall see,
generally does not.” Posner, supra, at 399. Judge Posner
states bluntly, “we have no right, by controlling the in-
formation that is known about us to manipulate the opin-
ions that other people hold of us.” Id. at 408.

The assertion of a privacy interest in public record
criminal history information is not merely contrary to the
dignity inherent in a right-holder’s genuine privacy claims,
it also denigrates the integrity of those individuals in soci-
ety who would otherwise have access to such records. In
rejecting the claim that “privacy” interests entail a right
to conceal criminal nistory information in order to secure
a “fresh start” for the rehabilitated, Judge Posner notes
the idea “rests on the popular though implausible and,
to my knowledge at least, unsubstantiated assumption
that people do not evaluate past criminal acts [or alle-
gations of them] rationally, for only if they intentionally

15

refused to accept evidence of rehabilitation could one
argue that society had unfairly denied the former mis-
creant a fresh start.” Id. at 409. As the court below
noted, where a conviction or arrest is old and for a
minor offense, the “privacy” interest in its nondisclosure
is “inappreciable” because its significance to the assessment
of the individual is minimal. 816 F.2d at 741 n.14.

Thus, the government’s putative privacy right can-
nibalizes the very interests it seeks to serve. Rather
than respecting individual dignity, it denies it. Rather
than protecting a fundamental interest, it seeks only to
help the individual to evade accountability and to mis-
lead his fellows.

Even were the government’s definition of privacy
correct, it would fail to apply to the requested informa-
tion because it is found in public records. The individ-
ual, by definition, has no right to control the disclosure
of public record information. This information has al-
ready been disclosed, and its further dissemination is
beyond any individual’s control. What the government
seeks to control here is not the disclosure of private
information, but the very different power to control ac-
cess to a particular source of compiled public criminal
history information. That the compilation and use of
such public records by a public agency does not give
rise to a privacy claim is shown next.

3. The FBI’s Compilation And Use Of Public
Record Criminal History Information
Gives Rise To An Interest In Access, Not
A Right Of Privacy

The mere fact that public criminal history records
have been aggregated and computerized does not change

16

the public character of the information compiled. Cer-
tainly Congress has yet to enact legislation to that effect.
Nor does the simple act of compilation implicate the
putative privacy right to “control information about one-
self.” This Court’s FOIA decisions support this conclu-
sion. Thus, in FBI v. Abramson, 456 U.S. 615 (1982),
this Court held that it was error to treat “the originally
compiled record and the derivative summary .. . com-
pletely differently | where} the content of the information
is the same.” Id. at 625. The Court concluded that if
the information was exempt from disclosure in the first
instance, it must likewise be so in the second. The same
rule applies here. Where the basic information is public,
no change in the form of the information will suffice to
change its character.

Indeed, the nationwide compilation of criminal his-
tory information by a federal agency of enormous power,
such as the FBI, enhances the need for public access. As
the government well recognizes, there exists in the com-
pilation, computerization and centralization of criminal his-
tory data the potential for abuse. Br. 24-28. That po-
tential for abuse, however, relates to the inaccuracy of
the information collected and the ends for which it is
subsequently used—concerns which are not privacy con-
cerns and could not be privacy concerns inasmuch as
this data is already public. As the brief of the American
Civil Liberties Union suggests, the true objection is to
possible misuses of the data, such as to facilitate discrim-
ination. Discrimination is different from privacy, how-
ever; indeed, public access is often the most powerful
antidote to discrimination. Here, then, as in all other
facets of the criminal justice process, public monitoring

17

can perform an essential task. Access to the information
ensures that the databank cannot be selectively employed
by the government, or others, either to unfairly bestow
largesse or to damage an individual.

D. THE AD HOC BALANCING APPROACH
ADVOCATED BY THE GOVERNMENT
THREATENS TO AFFORD THE FBI STAND-
ARDLESS DISCRETION

The government offers the ironic argument that
this Court should reject the approach of the court below
in part for administrative efficiency reasons. The govern-
ment complains that the appeals court “imposed on the
FBI the task of ascertaining whether the requested in-
formation is available as a ‘public record’ in some other,
nonfederal government office, a fact .. . which is often
not known.” Br. 36. Specifically, the government is
concerned that arrest records expunged at the !ocal level
may still appear in the government’s compilation. The
government apparently contends that the possibility of
such an error would require the FBI to verify the accuracy
of every compilation prior to disclosure, a burden the FBI
would prefer to avoid.

Yet the government’s argument only serves to under-
score the need for disclosure. Neither the federal gov-
ernment, nor any local law enforcement agency, should
be maintaining and using compiled criminal history infor-
mation which reflects expunged arrest records, regardless
of whether such information is publicly disseminated.
Menard v. Saxbe, 498 F.2d 1017 (D.C. Cir. 1974). Indeed,
if public access forces the FBI and local law enforcement
agencies to employ protective measures to ensure that

18

such compilations are accurately maintained and updated,
the FOIA has been successful.

The irony of the government’s position is that the
approach advocated by the court below actually places
little, if any, administrative burden on the FBI, in con-
trast to the “standard” proposed by the government here.
Under the decision below, the public record status of the
information requested obviates any activity by the FBI
other than disclosure. In contrast, the government would
have the FBI scrutinize each entry on every criminal rec-
ord requested in order to assess the putative private and
public interests affected by release. The agency would be
required to consider the seriousness of the crime evidenced
by the entry, the age of the entry, the disposition, and
the sentence imposed. Every entry would need to be
considered as well as the possible nexus between each
entry and the specific public interest to be served by
disclosure. The government gives no indication of how
this “calculus of interests” would apply in specific cases,
although it is obvious that the judgments to be made
would be both myriad and complex.

Analysis of the government's position thus yields an
entirely different impression than does first reading. Al-
though seemingly sensitive to privacy interests, the “cal-
culus” proposed by the government is so complicated and
involves so many factors that it provides no meaningful
disclosure standard at all. To the contrary, it threatens
to imbue the FBI with virtually unlimited discretion
to disseminate compiled criminal history records, either
in whole or in selectively redacted part, to one individual
and not to another as it might see fit. Such was never
the intent of the FOIA; the government's position must
be rejected.

19

Il. ACCESS TO THE REQUESTED INFORMATION
SERVES IMPORTANT PUBLIC INTERESTS

This case aptly illustrates the public interests served
by press access to FBI “rap sheets.” CBS News assigned
correspondent Robert Schakne to investigate allegations
of public corruption on the part of the Chairman of the
House Appropriations Subcommittee, congressman Daniel
Flood. In the course of his investigation Schakne dis-
covered that Flood had played a key role in the awarding
of defense contracts to Medico Industries, a business which
the Pennsylvania Crime Commission indicated was dom-
inated by “organized crime figures.” To further this
investigatory effort, Schakne submitted FOIA requests
for the criminal history records of the Medicos. His pur-
pose was to determine whether Congressman Flood had
in effect aided members of organized crime in obtaining
highly lucrative and sensitive public contracts.

These facts suggest some of the important public
interests served by access to the requested information
under the FOIA. One of the traditional roles of the press
is to report on governmental affairs, see supra, at 7-9,
and the infiltration of the defense department’s contract
procurement process by organized crime is a news story
of unusual public concern. Access to the records here
would have played a material role in reporting the story,
as indeed rap sheet information is frequently crucial to
reporting on organized crime. Where, as may be the case
here, there is a connection between organized crime and
government operations, access to criminal history informa-
tion may be of even greater social significance.

A second, equally important concern is whether the
government officials who awarded Medico the contracts

20

were aware of his criminal history. If they had access
to it, and awarded the contracts anyway, serious ques-
tions concerning their conduct arise. If they did not
know, about Medico’s record, they should have, and the
importance of press access to such data is demonstrated.
The press serves an important function when it reports
on matters that law enforcement has been unable to
police because of limited resources, incompetency, or pro-
cedures which require reform or improvement.

Law enforcement and the press alike must strive
to do their jobs in an age of increasing complexity and
dwindling resources. The purpose of FOIA is to reduce
information costs in order to facilitate the public’s right
to know. Likewise, the compilation of public criminal
history information by the FBI serves to reduce the
specific information costs associated with effective law
enforcement. Seldom has the application of the “core
purposes” of the FOIA to the requested information been
clearer than it is here. Without access, the press will
have to engage in expensive and time consuming research
to report matters of public record which the FBI already
has compiled. This Court need look no further than the
facts of this case—facts the Solicitor General sadly seeks
to obscure—to find the substantial public interests served
by access to the requested records.

21

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, the decision of the court
of appeals should be affirmed.

Respectfully submitted,

RicHarp J. OVELMEN
(Counsel of Record)

Joun R. Borco

Baker & McKENZIE

Suite 1600, Barnett Tower
701 Brickell Avenue
Miami, Florida 33131
(305) 789-8900

Laura BESVINICK

Greer, Homer, Cope &
Bonner, P.A.
CenTrust Financial Center
34th Floor
100 Southeast 2nd Street
Miami, Florida 33131
(305) 350-5100

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385012_0654%3A15. Public record. Not legal advice.
