# Amicus Curiae Brief — Texas Monthly, Inc. v. Bullock

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385012_0642%3A10

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1989
- **Citation:** 489 U.S. 1

## Text

No. 87-1245

N~- 2 seta
IN THE JUN

Supreme Court of the United States.

OCTOBER TERM, 1987

— j- —

TEXAS MONTHLY, INC.,
Appellant,
—_—V—
BoB BULLOCK, et ai.,
Appellees.

ON APPEAL FROM THE
COURT OF APPEALS OF TEXAS

BRIEF AMICUS CURTAE OF THE AMERICAN
CIVIL LIBERTIES UNION, THE TEXAS CIVIL
LIBERTIES UNION, THE AMERICAN JEWISH
CONGRESS AND THE ANTI-DEFAMATION
LEAGUE OF B’NAI B’RITH
IN SUPPORT OF APPELLANT

Kerry McGrath

James C. Harrington

Texas Civil Liberties Union Foundation
1611 East First Street

Austin, Texas 78702-4455

(512) 477-5849

Steven R. Shapiro
(Counsel of Record)

John A. Powell

American Civil Liberties Union
Foundation

132 West 43 Street

New York, New York 10036

(212) 944-9800

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES ....+ + «© « «

INTEREST OF AMICI .. «+ «© «© «© © « «

STATEMENT OF THE CASE ...+ + « «

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT ... ++ «© « «

Re

Il.

CONCLUSION

A STATUTORY SCHEME THAT
AWARDS TAX BENEFITS TO
CERTAIN MAGAZINES BUT

NOT TO OTHERS BASED ON
CONTENT VIOLATES THE
FIRST AMENDMENT .... -;

THE ESTABLISHMENT CLAUSE
IS VIOLATED BY A STATE
STATUTE THAT SINGLES OUT
RELIGION FOR FAVORABLE TAX
TREATMENT ..+ + © © © «

ii

11

19

31

Vv

oa
392 U.S.

Bo Vv

’
107 S.Ct. 1722 (1987)

u ion v.

236 (1968)

,
108 S.Ct. 1157 (1988)

Cantwe Vv e P
310 U.S. 296 (1940) ..
a wn,

447 U.S. 455 (1980) ..
om b

v. Nyquist,

413 U.S. 756 (1973) ..

Corporation of Presiding
Bis Vv

’
107 S.Ct. 2862 (1987)

Edward

Vv

,
107 S.Ct. 2573 (1987)

ve
330 U.S.

Fow Vv
345 U.S.

Vv

a
1 (1947)
67 (1953)

ii

12

28

12

21

23

24

27

29

Grand Rapids School
District Ball.
DTS =. gw og 6 6 5g 8 wl lw BG

Grosjean v. American Press,
er om ee CMEEER 8. 5 « 6 te el «C8, 13, 14

Vv del's Den,
459 U.S. 116 (1982) ...-+-.-+-.- 10, 30

Vv u an,

403 U.S. 602 (1971 a. ae ¢ Be 83—- BO
Minneapolis Star & Tribune Co.

v. Minnesota Comm'r of Revenue,

460 U.S. 575 (1983) ...... .- - passim

Mu er v .
463 U.S. 388 (1983) eee @« © © oc SG, 88S

Police Dep't of Chicago
v. Mosley,
Ga weme we Ctaere) «© © © © © © oe ew ee le 11

Regan v. Taxation with
e s ion,
461 U.S. 540 (1983) .... . 5, 8, 15, 16

Re Vv ’
468 U.S. 641 (1984) es 6 ¢ « «© « « SS

Sloan v. Lemon,
eee >

United States v. Ballard,
DCTP OEMPEE « . «4 6 6 « 0 0 0 co t 26

iii

United States v. Lee,
455 U.S. 252 (1982) a eve

Wallace v. Ja ee,
tS * wl eee

Wa Vv. ommission,
397 U.S. 664 (1970) al ae a

Widmar v. Vincent,
oe el

Wisconsin v. Yoder,
466 G.8. Bee tnever + +e

Witters v. Washington Dep't

of Services for the Blind,
676 U.8. @6e tanees «6 6

Statutes

Texas Tax Code Ann. §151.312 .

Other Authorities

Madison, "Memorial and
Remonstrance Against Religious
Assessments" (1785). .... .

iv

- 26,

20

28

22

21

19

26

INTEREST OF AMICI2/

The American Civil Liberties Union
(ACLU) is a nationwide, non-partisan
organization with over 250,000 members
dedicated to defending the principles of
individual liberty embodied in the Con-
stitution. The Texas Civil Liberties Union
is one of its state affiliates.

A central tenet of the ACLU since its
founding nearly 70 years ago is that the
government must remain neutral in matters
of individual conscience. Thus, the free
speech clause of the First Amendment pro-
hibits the government from favoring one
publication over another because of its
content. Likewise, the establishment

clause of the First Amendment prohibits the

l/ letters of consent to the filing of this brief
have been lodged with the Clerk of the Court

pursuant to Rule 36.2.

government from favoring religion over non-
religion except in very limited circum-
stances. By granting religious periodicals
a special exemption from the state sales
tax, Texas has violated both of these
principles.

The American Jewish Congress is a
membership organization of American Jews
founded in 1918 which seeks to protect the
religious, political and economic rights of
Jews and to promote civil rights and lib-
erties for all Americans. The American
Jewish Congress is particularly committed
to the great freedoms secured by the First
Amendment which ensure government neutral-
ity with respect to religion and which bar
government from subsidizing religious
speech because of its content.

The Anti-Defamation League of B'nai

B'rith was organized in 1913 to advance

good will and mutual understanding among
Americans of all creeds and races, and to
combat racial and religious prejudice in
the United States. The Anti-Defamation
League has always adhered to the principle
that the above goals and the general sta-
bility of our democracy are best served
through the separation of church and state
and the right to free exercise of religion.
Amici submit this brief in support of

appellant, and urge this Court to reverse

the decision below.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

This case challenges the constitution-
ality of a Texas statute that confers a
unique and valuable benefit on religion by
relieving religious periodicals, and only
religious periodicals, of any obligation to
pay the state sales tax. Specifically,
§151.312 of the Texas Tax Code provides:

Periodicals that are published or

distributed by a religious faith

and that consist wholly of writ-

ings promulgating the teaching of

the faith and books that consist

wholly of writings sacred to a

religion or religious faith are

exempted from the taxes imposed

by this Chapter.

Appellant Texas Monthly is a general
interest magazine that is neither "pub-
lished [n]Jor distributed by a religious
faith." Without the benefit of the tax

exemption available to religious periodi-

cals, it paid (under protest) approximately

$150,000 in state sales tax for the eleven

month period between January and December

1985. Bullock v. Texas Monthly, Inc., 731

S.W.2d 160, 162 (Tx.Ct.App- 1987). It then
brought suit seeking restitution on two
separate but related constitutional
theories.

First, appellant contended that its
tax liability could not be determined by
the content of its magazine under well-
settled principles of First Amendment law.
That claim was rejected by the court below

on the purported authority of Regan v.

Taxation with Representation, 461 U.S. 540

(1983). On rehearing, the Texas Court of
Appeals also rejected the relevance of

Arkansas Writers' Project v. Ragland, 107

S.Ct. 1722 (1987). AS construed by the
court below, Ragland only applies when a

small group of magazines is singled out for

taxation based on content, and does not

apply when a small group of magazines is
Singled out for a tax exemption based on
content. 731 S.W.2d at 165.

Second, appellant argued that the
state's decision to grant preferential tax
status to religious periodicals violated
the establishment clause. This Claim, as
well, was rejected below in a discussion
that rested almost entirely on this Court's

decision in Walz v. Tax Commission, 397

U.S. 664 (1970).

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

The central teaching of the First
Amendment is that the government must
remain neutral in matters of individual
conscience. E.g. Wallace v. Jaffree, 472
U.S. 38, 50 (1985). That principle is
expressed in a variety of specific First
Amendment doctrines, two of which are
particularly relevant here. In matters of
speech, the government is generally barred
from drawing distinctions based on content.
In matters of faith, the government is
generally barred from favoring religion
over those who pursue a more secular vision
of society.

Both these doctrines are the product
of long and bitter experience; both are
deeply embedded in our national heritage;
and both were violated by the decision

below. Moreover, the decision below seri-

ously misinterpreted several recent deci-
sions by this Court reaffirming the consti-
tutional principle of government neutrality
under the First Amendment.

This Court has been especially vigi-
lant in ensuring that the government's
power to tax does not become a weapon for
censorship. Thus, this Court has repeated-
ly and consistently struck down taxing
schemes that either penalize or reward

taxpayers because of the content of their

speech. See Arkansas Writers' Project v.
Ragland, supra; Minneapolis Star & Tribune
Vv i : Vv , 460

U.S. 575 (1983); Grosjean v. American
Press, 297 U.S. 233 (1936).

Contrary to the view of the court
below, Vv a i wi -
tion ("TWR") is entirely consistent with

this line of cases. In TWR, the Court

carefully emphasized that the special tax
benefit granted to veterans' groups was
tied to their status and not to the content
of their lobbying program. Here, by con-
trast, the challenged tax exemption turns
solely on questions of content.
Furthermore, the content-based judg-
ments compelled by §151.312 have only one
purpose: to grant a preference to reli-
gious periodicals. That purpose is incon-
sistent with the most basic premises of the
establishment clause. Edwards v.
Aguillard, 107 S.Ct. 2753 (1987). In
addition, the statute has the effect of
promoting religion, and encouraging an
excessive entanglement between church and
state. Lemon v. Kurtzman, 403 U.S. 602
(1971). Nor can the specter of entangle-
ment be avoided by delegating to religion

the right to decide whether the criteria

for tax exemption have in fact been met.

See Larkin v. Grendel's Den, 459 U.S. 116

(1982).

Finally, Walz v. Tax Commission
cannot be read as a blanket endorsement of
any tax scheme benefiting religion. In
Walz, the Court upheld a property tax
exemption that religious organizations
shared with other charitable groups. The
Court has never upheld a tax exemption
targeted at religion alone. Even if such a
targeted benefit is not per se unconstitu-
tional, it cannot be sustained unless
necessary to accommodate a substantial free
exercise claim. In this case, there is

none. Cf. Corporation of Presiding Bishop

v. Amos, 107 S.Ct. 2862 (1987).

10

Under Texas law, a magazine that
consists "wholly of writings promulgating”
the religious faith of its publisher is
exempt from the sales tax that other peri-
odicals must pay. On its face, this statu-
tory scheme violates the obligation of
content-neutrality imposed by the First
Amendment.

As this Court has frequently noted:

[A]bove all else, the First

Amendment means that government

has no power to restrict expres-

sion because of its message, its

ideas, its subject matter, or its
content.

Police Dep't of Chicago v. Mosley, 408 U.S.
92, 95 (1972). Thus, "(rJegulations which
permit the Government to discriminate on
the basis of the content of the message

cannot be tolerated under the First Amend-

11

ment." Regan v. Time, Inc., 468 U.S. 641,
648-49 (1984). See also Boos v. Barry, 108
S.Ct. 1157 (1988); Carey v. Brown, 447 U.S.

455 (1980).

This Court has been especially sensi-
tive to charges of selective taxation based
on content. The explanation for that
concern is obvious. “A power to tax dif-
ferentially, as opposed to a power to tax
generally, gives a government a powerful
weapon against the taxpayer selected."
Minneapolis Star, 460 U.S. at 585.

Reflecting that concern, this Court
has never upheld a differential tax scheme
based on the content of a publication. The
issue has come to the Court three times
over a period of nearly fifty years, and on
each occasion the Court has ruled in favor

of the taxpayer on First Amendment grounds.
See Arkansas Writers' Project v. Ragland,

12

supra; Minneapolis Star, supra; Grosjean v.
Ameri Ss, supra.

The Court's most recent holding, in
Ragland, succinctly summarizes the well-
settled law in this area:

(T]he basis on which Arkansas

differentiates between magazines

is particularly repugnant to

First Amendment principles: a

magazine's tax status depends

entirely on its content.

107 §.Ct. at 1727 (emphasis in original).

The decision by the Texas Court of
Appeals attempts to distinguish Ragland on
the ground that the state in that case had
chosen to tax a "small group" of publishers
whereas here the "great mass of publishers
remain subject to the sales tax." 731
S.W.2d at 165. It is not exactly clear why
the court below found this distinction

meaningful. In any event, it is flawed

both descriptively and theoretically.

13

Like most affirmative/negative dis-
tinctions, the line drawn by the court
below is mostly a matter of perspective.
Instead of focusing on the "great mass of
publishers who remain subject to the sales
tax" in Texas, the court could just as
easily have focused on the "small group" of
publishers who are exempt from the tax.

Presumably, the court meant to suggest
that the likelihood of a punitive tax
decreases as the size of the taxed group
increases. However, that assumption is
irrelevant even assuming it is valid.2/ As
this Court stated in Minneapolis Star, 460
U.S. at 592, and repeated in Ragland, 107
S.Ct. at 1727, "[ijJllicit legislative

intent is not the Sine qua non of a viola-

2/ In both Grosjean and Minneapolis Star, the
state's largest newspapers were in the "small
group" of publications subject to a discriminatory
tax

14

tion of the First Amendment." For similar
reason, this Court has not required evi-
dence of viewpoint discrimination in this
context. Ragland, 107 S.Ct. at 1728.

The effort by the court below to draw
an analogy between this case and Regan v.
Taxation with Representation is equally
flawed. In TWR, the Court upheld a provi-
sion of the federal tax code that permits
veterans' organizations to lobby with tax
exempt dollars although other charitable
groups are denied a similar benefit.
Unlike the statute in this case, however,
the statute in TWR was content-neutral.

Moreover, the Court emphasized pre-
cisely that point, noting that "the veter-
ans' organizations that qualify under [the
statute] are entitled to receive tax-
deductible contributions regardless of the

content of any speech they may use,

15

including lobbying." 461 U.S. at 548. In
short, their favorable tax treatment was a
function ef who they were, not what they
said. Id. at 550-51.3/

The Texas statute, by contrast, is
undeniably content-based. Religious pub-
lications are not automatically entitled to
a tax exemption regardless of what they
print. The exemption is only available if
the publication consists "wholly" of reli-
gious writings. That determination plainly
cannot be made without examining the con-
tents of each specific issue and article.

Under the circumstances, Texas "faces

a heavy burden in attempting to defend its

3/ The court below also cited TWR for the proposi-
tion that the First Amendment does not guarantee a
right to have one's speech subsidized by the
government. 731 S.W.2d at 165. That proposition,
however, is not in dispute here. Texas Monthly
Claims only the right to be free from discrimina-
tion because of the content of its message.

16

content-based approach to taxation of
magazines." Ragland, 107 S.Ct. at 1728.
Having employed the wrong legal analysis,
the court below also employed the wrong
legal standard. Rather than the strict
scrutiny demanded by this Court's decisions
in Ragland and Minneapolis Star, the deci-
sion cf the Texas Court of Appeals is so
deferential in its standard of review that
it does not even pause to identify -- let
alone examine -- the interests asserted by
the state in support of the challenged
statute.

In reviewing possible justifications
for the Texas statute, this Court is not
writing on a clean slate. The desire to
raise additional revenue for the state is
clearly insufficient to justify a scheme of
differential taxes based on the content of

protected speech. Ragland, 107 S.Ct. at

17

1728-29; Minneapolis Star, 460 U.S. at

586. And for reasons more fully described
in the following section, the desire to
favor religion through the distribution of
favorable tax benefits is clearly prohib-
ited by the establishment clause. Finally,
Texas' benevolent attitude toward religion
cannot be described as necessary to pre-
serve free exercise rights since there is
no free exercise right to a tax exemption.
Uni tes v. Lee, 455 U.S. 252 (1982).
In short, there is no compelling
justification adequate to support the

challenged statute. Under Ragland and
Minneapolis Star, it must be struck down.

18

II. THE ESTABLISHMENT CLAUSE IS

FAVORABLE TAX TREATMENT

Section 151.312 offends the neutrality
principle of the First Amendment in a
second fundamental sense. By requiring
state officials to make content-based
judgments in administering the tax laws, it
violates the free speech clause of the
First Amendment. By singling out religion
as the only subject matter entitled to
favorable tax treatment, it also violates
the establishment clause.

This point was aptly summarized by the
dissenting opinion of Justice Carroll in
the Texas Court of Appeals:

Special tax benefits given only

to religions cannot be squared

with the principle of neutrality,

and such laws have the inevitable

effect and purpose of aiding and

advancing only those benefited
religious organizations.

731 S.W.2d at 169 (emphasis in original).

19

In response to appellant's establish-
ment law challenge, the majority below
relied almost entirely on Walz v. Tax
Commission, 397 U.S. 664 (1970). Walz,
however, is readily distinguishable. The
New York statute at issue in Walz did not
single out religion for favored treatment.
Rather, the question before the Court was
whether religious organizations should be
disabled from receiving a tax benefit
otherwise available to a broad range of
charitable groups. 397 U.S. at 672-73.

This distinction is a crucial one and
has been emphasized by the Court in numer-
ous decisions. For example, in Mueller v.
Allen, 463 U.S. 388 (1983), the Court
upheld a Minnesota statute permitting
parents to deduct certain educational
expenses even if those expenses were in-

curred for religious education. The deci-

20

sion turned, in large measure, on the
Court's observation that “the deduction is
available for educational expenses incurred
by all parents... ." Id. at 397
(emphasis in original). See also Witters
v. Washington Dep't of Services for the
Blind, 474 U.S. 481 (1986).

By contrast, in Committee for Public
Education v. Nyquist, 413 U.S. 756 (1973),

the Court struck down a system of tuition
grants that were only available to parents
of children in non-public schools.4/ See

also Sloan v. Lemon, 413 U.S. 825, 832
(1973).

4/ Nyquist specifically distinguished this
Court's earlier decisions in Everson v. Board of
Education, 330 U.S. 1 (1947), and Board of

Education v. Allen, 392 U.S. 236 (1968), on the
ground that "the class of beneficiaries [in both

those cases] included al] schoolchildren, those in
public as well as those in private schools." 413
U.S. at 782 n.38 (emphasis in original).

21

Amici do not contend that a statutory
exemption limited to religion is per se
invalid under the establishment clause.

See Corporation of Presiding Bishop v.
Amos, 107 S.Ct. 2862, 2869 (1987). At the
same time, "(t]he Court must not ignore the
danger that an exception from a general
obligation of citizenship on religious
grounds may run afoul of the Establishment
Clause... ." Wisconsin v. Yoder, 406
U.S. 205, 220-21 (1972). Accordingly, such
exceptions have been permitted only if
"vital .. . to the protection of values
promoted by the right of free exercise."
Id. at 221.

For example, the concern in Amos was
that a broad application of Title VII to
religious groups might burden their core
associational rights. 107 S.Ct. at 2869.

Here, there is no similar countervailing

22

interest. As previously noted, there is no
free exercise right to a tax exemption.
United States v. Lee, supra. Conversely,
the denial of a tax subsidy that no one
else is receiving has never been recognized
as an unconstitutional burden on First
Amendment freedoms. See Ragland, 107 S.Ct.
at 1731 (Scalia, J., dissenting).

Viewed as a special subsidy for reli-
gion, the Texas statute cannot survive the
familiar tripartite test of Lemon v,
Kurtzman, 403 U.S. 602 (1971). Indeed, it
fails each element of the test. There is
no conceivable secular purpose in a law
designed to encourage the promulgation of
a religious message. Unlike Amos, this is
not a case in which the state is acting
"to alleviate significant governmental
interference with the ability of religious

organizations to define and carry out their

23

religious missions." 107 S.Ct. at 2868.
Rather, this is a case in which the state
is actively assisting religion in spreading
its faith through subsidized publications.

In Edwards v. Aguillard, 107 S.Ct.
2573 (1987), this Court struck down the
Louisiana Creationism Act because its
requirement that evolution and creationism
be given equal time in the classroom lacked
a valid secular purpose. Here, Texas has
gone beyond a requirement of mandated
equality; it has given religion a preferen-
tial place in the marketplace of ideas
through its differential tax scheme. If
anything, the favored treatment of religion
under the Texas statute conveys even a
clearer message of endorsement than in
Aguillard, and thus is more clearly barred
by the establishment clause. See Grand

24

Rapids School District v. Ball, 473 U.S.
373, 389 (1985).

The Texas statute also has the undeni-
able effect of advancing re!.gion by re-
lieving religious magazines of the substan-
tial tax burden imposed on other periodi-
cals delivering a non-religious message. >/
At a very minimum, the establishment clause
surely prohibits the government from grant-
ing a competitive advantage to religion in
the marketplace of ideas.

Finally, the Texas law dangerously

entangles church and state.£/ By its very

3/ As previously noted, Texas Monthly paid nearly
$150,000 in state sales tax for the eleven month
period between January and December 1985. See

pp.3-4, infra.

§/ The state's contention that its differential
tax scheme is necessary to avoid entanglement
between church and state is difficult to conpre-
hend. Without the exemption, the state would
simply treat religious publishers like all other
publishers subject to the tax. Moreover, the tax
in this case is easily calculated; it does not
(continued...)

25

terms, the tax exemption only applies to
“(pjeriodicals that are published or dis-
tributed by a religicus faith and that
consist wholly of writings promulgating the
teaching of the faith... ." Even
assuming that the bona fides of a religion
can be determined without excessive
entanglement, see United States v. Ballard,
322 U.S. 78 (1944), the inquiry into
whether specific writings "promulgat[e] . .
- the faith" is laden with establishment
Clause problems.

Echoing Madison's famous Memorial and

Remonstrance Against Religious Assess-

& (...continued)

require intrusive apportionment. Preventing such
limited interaction between the state and religious
publishers hardly demonstrates the compelling state
interest necessary to sustain a content-based
Classification. See Widmar v. Vincent, 454 U.S.

263, 276 (1981).

26

ments,2/ this Court has frequently noted
the danger of permitting state officials to
scrutinize religious speech and determine
its religious content, albeit in contexts
in which the religious speech is typically
the subject of censorship rather than
favored treatment.

For example, in Cantwell v.
Connecticut, 310 U.S. 296 (1940), the Court
rejected the right of public officials to

determine what is or is not a “religious

7/ Madison objected to a proposed public tax in
support of religious education on a variety of
grounds, including his concern that

the bill implies either that the Civil
Magistrate is a competent Judge of Religious
truth; or that he may employ Religion as an
engine of Civil policy. The first is an
arrogant pretension falsified by the
contradictory opinions of Rulers in all ages,
and throughout the world: The second an
unhallowed perversion of the means of
salvation.

See Everson v. Board of Education, 330 U.S. at 67.

27

cause." As the Court correctly observed,
such judgments inevitably involve the
"appraisal of facts, the exercise of judg-
ment, and the formation of an opinion."
Id. at 305. For both practical and his-
torical reasons, the Court found such a
grant of discretionary authority incom-
patible with the notion of religious

liberty protected by the First Amendment.

Similarly, in Widmar v. Vincent, 454
U.S. 263, 269 n.6 (1981), this Court
rejected a proposed distinction between
religious worship and religious speech on
the ground that it would compel the state

"to inquire into the significance
of words and practices to dif-
ferent religious faiths, and in
varying circumstances to the

same religious faith. Such
inquiries would tend inevitably
to entangle the State with reli-
gion in a manner forbidden by

our cases."

28

Accord, Lemon v. Kurtzman, 403 U.S. at 620

("state inspection and evaluation of the
religious content of a religious organiza-
tion is fraught with the sort of entangle-
ment that the Constitution forbids") ;

Ow Vv , 345 U.S. 67, 70
(1953) ("it is no business of courts to say
that what is a religious practice or
activity for one group is not religion
under the protection of the First
Amendment") . 8/

In an effort to avoid these entangle-
ment problems, Texas officials testified at
trial that "we leave it to [the organi-
zation] to decide whether or not it's a

publication that teaches their faith." 731

8/ ‘the dissenting opinion below made a similar
point: "It is important for the continued ability
of all people to worship as they choose that no
state official be allowed to determine what is and
what is not a religion." 731 S.W.2d at 166.

29

S.W.2d at 164. This hands-off approach,
however, only creates different establish-
ment clause problems.

Needless to say, Texas does not ordi-
narily allow taxpayers to determine their
own eligibility for a tax exemption. By
ceding that authority to religion in this
instance, Texas has created a statutory
framework that “enmeshes churches in the
processes of government." Larkin v.

Gre 's , 459 U.S. 116, 127
(1982). The benefit obtained by religion
is therefore real and "symbolic." Id. at
125. Both on its face and as applied, the
Texas statute cannot be reconciled with the

establishment clause.

30

CONCLUSTON

The First Amendment mandates govern-
ment neutrality toward thought and belief.
Texas has violated that mandate by enacting
a special tax exemption for religious
periodicals. For the reasons stated
herein, the judgment below should be

reversed.

Respectfully submitted,

Kerry McGrath

James C. Harrington

Texas Civil Liberties
Union Foundation

1611 East First Street

Austin, TX 78702-4455

(512) 477-5849

Steven R. Shapiro
(Counsel of Record)

John A. Powell

American Civil Liberties
Union Foundation

132 West 43 Street

New York, NY 10036

(212) 944-9800

Dated: June 2, 1988

31

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385012_0642%3A10. Public record. Not legal advice.
