# Opposition Brief — Pennsylvania v. Union Gas Co.

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385012_0641%3A03

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1989
- **Citation:** 491 U.S. 1

## Text

Supreme Court, U.S,
FILED

FEB 23 isee
F. SPAM, AR.

No. 87-1241

In the Supreme Court
of the Ginited States

OCTOBER TERM, 1987

COMMONWEALTH OF PENNSYLVANIA, Petitioner
vs

UNION GAS COMPANY, Respondent

RESPONDENTS BRIEF IN OPPOSITION TO
PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Robert A. Swift
(Counsel of Record)
KOHN, SAVETT, KLEIN & GRAF, PC.
2400 One Reading Center
1101 Market Street
Philadelphia, PA 19107
(215) 238-1700

Lawrence Demase

ROSE, SCHMIDT, CHAPMAN.
DUFF & HASLEY

900 Oliver Building

Pittsburgh, PA 15222

(412) 434-8610

SMITH EOWARDS DUNLAP COMPANY 28067 £ ALLEGHENY AVENUE PHILADELPHIA PA 101346215) 425 8800

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Whether the decision below correctly applies prior
decisions of this court?

2. Whether Congress is empowered by the U.S. Con-
stitution to abrogate state immunity in Article | enactments?

3. Whether retroactive liability under CERCLA pre-
sents an Eleventh Amendment issue?

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDINGS

The parties to the proceeding in the United States Court of
Appeals for the Third Circuit were as follows:

Appellant: Union Gas Company
Appellee: Commonwealth of Pennsylvania
STATEMENT OF PARTIES

AFFILIATED WITH RESPONDENT

The following are parent, subsidiary or affiliate companies of
respondent Union Gas Company:

Penn Fuel System, Inc.
North Penn Gas Company
Penn Fuel Gas, Inc.

Gas Oil Products, Inc.

Gas Oil Products Inc. of Delaware
Allied Gas Company
Central Penn Gas Company
Counties Gas Company
Interborough Gas Company
Lewistown Gas Company
South Penn Gas Company

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
Tee eT eo tac ceccesccccees l
SE PCR GGG eesceecsecscecccssecesscccces l
CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY PROVISIONS
ee cic ccesesescceveces 2
STATEMENT OF THE CASE ...................055- 3
REASONS FOR DENYING THE WRIT .............. 5
EEE eee 10

TABLE OF CITATIONS
CASES Page
Andrus v. Charlestone Store Products Co., 436 U.S. 604
SE nvueeeuntdenescentheusucuss cece 10

Atascadero State Hospital v. Scanlon, 473 U.S. 234 (1985) 5, 7
County of Monroe v. Florida, 678 F.2d 1124 (2d Cir. 1982) 8

County of Oneida, New York, v. Oneida Indian Nation of
New York State, 470 U.S. 226 (1985) ..............

8
Hans v. Louisiana, 134 U.S. 1 (1980)... ee, 7
In re McVey Trucking, 812 F.2d 311 (7th Cir. 1987)... ... 8
Mills Music, Inc. v. Arizona, 591 F.2d 1278 (9th Cir. 1979) 8
Peel v. Florida Department of Transportation, 600 F.2d

SP CE oeccccw cea hedhesaeuledeuenes 8
Pennhurst State School & Hospital v. Halderman, 465 U.S.

GE. idcnsedducevdbiskehacacdeesanciectaese 5
Prout v. Starr, 188 U.S. 537 (1903) ........ Pree 8
Thorpe v. Housing Authority, 393 U.S. 268 (1969) ....... 10
U.S. v. Northeastern Pharmaceutical & Chemical Co..,

Inc., 810 F.2d 726 (8th Cir. 1986) ................. i)
U.S. v. Schooner Peggy, 5 U.S. (1 Cranch) 103 (1801) .... 10
Welch v. State Department of Highways and Public Trans-

portation, 107 S.Ct. 2941 (1987) ................ 5, 7,8
STATUTES

Comprehensive Environmental Response, Compensation
& Liability Act of 1980,
ee 6.544048 606heendeet sandbdecwn

a sb te

Superfund Amendment and Reauthorization Act of 1986,
GS Ge. OE .b.0.bicud cus tancesdeeeeeceeal
nd «ind ob buds eonee ee

“I bo

TABLE OF CITATIONS—(Continued )

STATUTES Page
Clean Water Act, 33 U.S.C. § 1321(b)\(3), 1321(f)(2) ...... 4
Clean Water Act, 33 U.S.C. § 7401, 7604 .............. 6
Federal Water Pollution Act, 33 U.S.C. § 1251, 1365 .... 6
Resource Conservation and Recovery Act, 42 U.S.C.
Nene ee es eee cadnndnte ae 7
I eka aeeeecuuas 6
ns totteekedeure eT a PFE ane pepe 7

UNITED STATES CONSTITUTION

I ick inh ccnatpuecbsendescvedacnsns &
EERIE EC POET hr On rere: 9
ee icc edd nnibaebaseenues passim
PA IID 6c Sicceccevnccdscveccdaes passim

OCTOBER TERM, 1987

No. 87-1241

COMMONWEALTH OF PENNSYLVANIA, Petitioner
VS.

UNION GAS COMPANY, Respondent

RESPONDENTS BRIEF IN OPPOSITION TO
PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

CITATIONS TO OPINIONS

The Opinion of the United States Court of Appeals for
which Pennsylvania seeks review is reported at 832 F.2d 1343
(1987) (“Union Gas II”). The Opinion of the Court of Appeals
which was vacated by Order of this Court, 107 S.Ct. 865 (1987),
is reported at 792 F.2d 372 (1986) (“Union Gas I). The Opinion
of the United States District Court for the Eastern District of
Pennsylvania which originally dismissed the third party com-
plaint against Pennsylvania is reported at 575 F.Supp. 949
(1983).

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the Court of Appeals was entered on
November 3, 1987. Pennsylvania filed its Petition within 90 days
of the entry of judgment.

2

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY
PROVISIONS INVOLVED

1. United States Constitution, Amendment XI.
“The Judicial Power of the United States shall not be con-

strued to extend to any suit in law or equity, commenced or
prosecuted against one of the United States by Citizens of
another State, or by Citizens or subjects of any Foreign
State.”

2. United States Code, 42 U.S.C. §§9601(21) and 9607(a),
P.L. No. 96-510, 94 Stat. 2767 [Comprehensive Environmental
Response, Compensation and Liability (“Superfund”) Act of
1980 CERCLA )|:

9601(21) “‘person’ means an individual, firm, corporation,
association, partnership, consortium, joint ven-
ture, commercial entity, United States Govern-
ment, State, municipality, commission, political
subdivision of a State or any interstate body,”

9607(a) ~... any person who at the time of disposal of

any hazardous substance owned or operated any
facility at which such hazardous substances were
disposed of, . .. shall be liable for . . . any other
necessary costs of response incurred by any other
person consistent with the national contingency
ey

3. United States Code, 42 U.S.C. §9601(20D) and
9620(a)(1), P.L. No. 99-499, 100 Stat. 1613 [Superfund Amend-
ments and Reauthorization Act of 1986 (“SARA’)|:

9601(20\D) The term “owner or operator’ does not include
a unit of State or local government which ac-
quired ownership or control involuntarily
through bankruptcy, tax delinquency, aban-
donment, or other circumstances in which the
government involuntarily acquires title by vir-
tue of its function as sovereign. The exclusion

provided under this paragraph shall not apply

3

to any State or local government which has
caused or contributed to the release or threat-
ened release of a hazardous substance from the
facility, and such a State or local government
shall be subject to the provisions of this Act in
the same manner and to the same extent, both
procedurally and substantively, as any non-
governmental entity, including liability under
section 107.

9620(a)1) In general.—Each department, agency, and
instrumentality of the United States (includ-
ing the executive, legislative, and judicial
branches of government) shall be subject to,
and comply with, this Act in the same manner
and to the same extent, both procedurally and
substantively, as any nongovernmental entity,
including liability under section 107 of this
Act. Nothing in this section shall be construed
to afiect the liability of any person or entity
under sections 106 and 107.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

The sudden release of coal tar into Brodhead Creek in
Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania in October 1980 caused the United
States to declare the site the nation’s first emergency Superfund
site. Adjacent to the stream from 1890 to 1948 in an industrial
section of Stroudsburg had been a carburetted water gas plant
which produced coal gas as well as its by-product, coal tar. The
EPA regarded in-ground disposal of coal tar as state of the art
technology during the first part of this century (see EPA
Amended Fund Authorization Report). The company operating
the plant changed ownership several times before being merged
into respondent in 1978. The plant was dismantled in 1948 and
replaced successively by propane and natural gas distribution
systems.

Between 1960 and 1962 the State rechanneled, narrowed
and deepened Brodhead Creek and erected « dike on its sides.

4

The Borough of Stroudsburg and later the State obtained a
permanent easement or fee title to much of the site. The rechan-
nelization of this fast flowing stream started a process of dow,
cutting of the stream bank and erosion of the toe of the dike that
led to the release of coal tar. It was during repairs to the toe of
the dike that coal tar was first discovered. Between April 1951
and January 1982, the United States did a cleanup of the site at
an alleged expense of $967,000.00.

The United States commen:ed this lawsuit on May 23, 1983
in the United States District Court for the Eastern District of
Pennsylvania to recover its cleanup costs pursuant to CERCLA
and the Clean Water Act, 33 U.S.C. §§$1321(b\(3) and (#2),
naming respondent as the sole defendant. Respondent filed a
third-party complaint naming the Commonwealth of Pennsylva-
nia and the Borough of Stroudsburg as third party defendants
alleging that they were owners and operators of a facility at the
site within the meaning of CERCLA, 42 U.S.C. §9601(20)A),
and, together with others, negligently caused or contributed to
the release of coal tar.

The State moved to dismiss the third-party complaint under
Fed. R. Civ. P. 12:b\1) and 12(b\(6) alleging that it was immune
to suit under CERCLA pursuant to the Eleventh Amendment to
the Constitution. The district court granted the State's motion
(Pet. App., 139a). Thereafter, the United States filed an
amended complaint revising its damage claim, and respondent
filed an amended third-party complaint. The State again moved
to dismiss, and the district court granted the motion for the
reasons set forth in its earlier opinion.

As a result of a settlement reached among the United
States. respondent and the Borough of Stroudsburg whereby
respondent paid a major portion of the cost of cleanup, the
district Court dismissed the action. Respondent then appealed
the district court's dismissal of Pennsylvania as a defendant to
the United States Court of Appeals for the Third Circuit. A two
member majority of the Third Circuit affirmed the district
courts order. with the Honorable A. Leon Higginbotham filing a
vigorous dissent concluding that CERCLA clearly abrogated
states Eleventh Amendment immunity. (Pet. App. 74a)

5

On October 17, 1986, shortly after respondent filed a peti-
tion for certiorari with this Court, the President signed into law
SARA, which amended CERCLA. At the urging of respondent
herein and the United States, which as amicus contended SARA
“authorizes suits against states or local governments for liability
or contribution when such entries caused or contributed to the
release or threatened release of a hazardous substance,” (Amicus
Br. at 5-6) this Court granted certiorari, vacated the court of
appeals opinion, and remanded for consideration in light of
SARA.

On remand, the court of appeals unanimously reversed the
district court holding that the Eleventh Amendment does not
bar suit against Pennsylvania. (Pet. App. la) The court of appeals
further held that (1) the language of CERCLA, as amended by
SARA, clearly and explicitly abrogated state immunity, (2) Con-
gress may, consistent with the Constitution, abrogate state im-
munity in an Article | enactment, and (3) CERCLA, as amended
by SARA, applies retroactively to respondent's cause of action.

REASONS FOR DENYING THE WRIT

The issues raised by Pennsylvania are not appropriate for
review because a unanimous Third Circuit Court of Appeals
correctly resolved them, and its opinion is not in conflict with
decisions of this or other courts.

I
THE DECISION BELOW CORRECTLY
APPLIES PRIOR DECISIONS OF THIS COURT

The court of appeals correctly applied the clear statement
rule which this Court has articulated in numerous decisions. The
clear statement rule requires that Congress “express its inten-
tion to abrogate the Eleventh Amendment in unmistakable lan-
guage in the statute itself” Atascadero State Hospital v. Scanlon,
473 U.S. 234, 243 (19585). See also Welch v. State Department of
Highways and Public Transportation, 107 S.Ct. 2941 (1987).
Pennhurst State School & Hospital v. Halderman, 465 U.S. 89
(1954). Far from simply paving “lip-service’ to this rule, the

6

court of appeals thoroughly and conscientiously applied it in
interpreting CERCLA, as amended by SARA.

The court of appeals correctly concluded that states, like the
federal government, are subject to liability to private parties
under section 107(a) of CERCLA. In Union Gas I, Pet. App.
74a, the court of appeals acknowledged that Congress had mde
a person’ liable for environmental cleanup costs and “person”
was defined to include a state, but held this language did not
satisfy the clear statement rule. On remand from this Court, the
court of appeals discerned Congress’ unmistakable intent in
SARA’ Amendment to section 101(20)\D) of CERCLA, to wit:

a state or local government shall be subject to the provisions
of the Act in the same manner and to the same extent, both
procedurally and substantively, as any nongovernmental en-
tity, including liability under section 107.

This provision, the court of appeals observed, ~ replicates”
CERCLAS waiver of federal government immunity. Union Gas
II, Pet. App. 24a. Indeed, the Congressional conference com-
mittee that inserted the above quoted clause stated that its
purpose was “to clarify that if the unit of government caused or
contributed to the release or threatened release in question,
then such unit is subject to the provisions of CERCLA both
procedurally and substantively, as any non-governmental entity,
including liability under section 107 and contribution under
section 113° (emphasis added) H.R. Conf. Rep. No. 962, 99th
Cong., 2d Sess. 185-86, reprinted in 1986 U.S. Code Cong. &
Admin. News 3276, 3278-79.

SARA provides other evidence of Congress unmistakable
intent to abrogate Eleventh Amendment immunity in section
107 actions. First, SARA preserves states immunity to suit from
citizen suits filed pursuant to section 159. 42 U.S.C. $9659. The
citizen suit provision makes persons subject to suit only “to the
extent permitted by the Eleventh Amendment to the Constitu-
tion. This phrase was the same language used by Congress in
prior environmental legislation to preserve states Eleventh
Amendment immunity. See, Clean Air Act, 42 U.S.C. 7401,
7604, Federal Water Pollution Control Act, 33 U.S.C. 1251,

7

1365, Resource Conservation and Recovery Act, 42 U.S.C.
3251, 6967. By contrast, there is no similar statutory limitation
on section 107 actions under CERCLA.

Second, Union Gas !'s analysis relied heavily on the absence
in CERCLA of an explicit waiver of state immunity similar to the
federal waiver of immunity in section 107(g). 42 U.S.C. 9607(g).!
In SARA, Congress not only replicated the federal waiver in
section 101(20\(D), but it amended the federal waiver of immu-
nity clause to provide that “nothing in this section shall be
construed to affect the liability of any person or entity under
sections 106 and 107°. 42 U.S.C. §9620(a\(1). Thus, Congress
explicitly precluded the analysis used in Union Gas 1.

Pennsylvania’ interpretation of section 101(20)\D) enlisted
no adherents on the court of appeals and lacks all credibility. If,
as Pennsylvania contends, this provision was intended to insu-
late states from liability just to the federal government, it could
have been worded to so provide. It was not. Rather, Congress
made sure there was no such implication by expressly equating
states liability to that of nongovernmental entities.

The United States own abandonment of sovereign immu-
nity in a statute imposing strict liability is testament to the
extent of the Congressional commitment that no one should be
immune. By holding that states immunity to suit under section
107 is abrogated, Union Gas II conscientiously applies the clear
statement rule and closes the yawning gap in CERCLA’ reg-
ulatory scheme that Union Gas I had left.

; TT
IT IS NOW WIDELY RECOGNIZED THAT
CONGRESS IS EMPOWERED TO ABROGATE STATE
IMMUNITY IN ARTICLE | ENACTMENTS®

1. Section 1O7(g) was recodified by SARA as section 120(a\1) of
CERCLA. Section 120(a)1) is quoted in its entirety supra

2. Should this Court grant certiorari, Union Gas will contend in its briet
on the merits that Hans v. Lowisiana, 14 US. 1 (1890), and its progeny should
be overruled since the Eleventh Amendment only precludes federal courts
from asserting jurisdiction in diversity of citizenship cases between a state and
a citizen of a diflerent state. Atascadero State Hospital v Scanlon, 473. U.S. at
238 (1985) Brennan, dissenting), Welch cv State Department of Highways
and Public Transportation, WT S. Ct. at 2955 (|. Brennan, dissenting)

Ss

Pennsylvania seeks to augment state immunity and under-
mine Congressional power through its contention that Congress
may only abrogate state immunity when acting pursuant to the
Fourteenth and later Amendments to the Constitution. This
proposition has never been accepted by this Court, Welch v.
State Department of Highways and Public Transportation, 107
S. Ct. 2941, 2946 (1987), County of Oneida, New York v. Oneida
Indian Nation of New York State, 470 U.S. 226, 252 (1985), and
has been expressly rejected by five courts of appeals. Union Gas
Il, Pet. App. 64-65a; In re McVey Trucking, 812 F.2d 311, 328
(7th Cir. 1987) cert. denied 108 $.Ct. 227 (1987), County of
Monroe v. Florida, 678 F 2d 1124, 1128-35 (2d Cir. 1982) cert.
denied, 459 U.S. 1104 (1983); Peel v. Florida Department of
Transportation, 600 F.2d 1070, 1074-82 (Sth Cir. 1979), Mills
Music, Inc. v. Arizona, 591 F.2d 1278, 1285 (9th Cir. 1979).

Indeed, no court has ever accepted Pennsylvania's proposi-
tion for very fundamental reasons. Pennsylvania would have this
Court interpret the Constitution on a “time-line” See Union
Gas Il, Pet. App. at 40a. Thus, in Pennsylvanias view, the
Fourteenth Amendment is a watershed, and Congress may only
abrogate state immunity as to enactments which draw their
constitutional authority from the Fourteenth and later Amend-
ments, not from the preceding text of the Constitution. Not only
does this proposition violate this Court's admonition that the
Constitution must be interpreted as a single instrument, all of
whose parts are equal, Prout v. Starr, 188 U.S. 537, 543 (1903),
but it would measurably diminish Congress power to protect
citizens through the exercise of its Article | powers.

Surely the Eleventh Amendment, which by its own lan-
guage restricts the judiciary, not Congress, was never intended
to limit Congress Article | powers. Article 1, Section 8, of the
Constitution, by far the most frequent source of power for con-
gressional enactments, has an eflectuating clause similar to that
of the Fourteenth Amendment. Clause 18 of Section 8 em-

powers Congress:

To make all Laws which shall be necessary and proper for
carrying into Execution the foregoing Powers, and all other

9

Powers vested by this Constitution in the Government of
the United States, or in any Department or Officer thereof

By comparison section 5 of the Fourteenth Amendment de-
clares:

Congress shall have power to enforce, by appropriate legis-
lation, the provisions of this article.

In both clauses the states ceded to Congress the authority to
carry out its enumerated powers, including the abrogation of
state immunity. The Eleventh Amendment simply does not, and
was not intended to, limit the enabling clause of Article L.

As the court of appeals pointed out, the Constitution itself
provides a system of checks and balances so that Congress does
not exercise Eleventh Amendment abrogation recklessly. Union
Gas Il, Pet. App. 56a. Congress consists of senators and repre-
sentatives elected in each state. It is they who determine, in
unmistakable language. which federal statutory schemes are so
important as to require that states participate and be liable in
private party actions. Should Congress perceive that the burden
on states of being subjected to suit in federal court has become
too onerous, Congress can amend the law to create state immu-
nity from suit.

il
RETROACTIVE LIABILITY UNDER CERCLA DOES
NOT PRESENT AN ELEVENTH AMENDMENT ISSUE

CERCLAsS retroactive liability does not implicate Eleventh
Amendment concerns. Since Congress has the power to abro-
gate Eleventh Amendment sovereign immunity, it matters not
whether Congress utilizes that power in a statute with a prospec-
tive or retrospective scope. Issues of the constitutionality of
abrogation under the Eleventh Amendment and the constitu-
tionality of retroactive liability under the Fifth Amendment's
due process clause are distinct. CERCLA’ imposition of retroac-
tive liability has been held to be constitutional under the Fifth
Amendment, see, e.g., U.S. v. Northeastern Pharmaceutical &
Chemical Co., Inc., 810 F.2d 726, 732-34 (Sth Cir. 1986) and

cases cited therein. and Pennsylvania does not contend to the

tional, and the court of appeals properly followed this Court's
precedents in applying the law in effect at the time the appeal
was decided. Union Gas Hl. Pet. App. 67-72a; Andrus vw.
Charlestone Store Products Co. 496 U.S. 604, 607-08. n. 6
(1978). Thorpe vc. Housing Authority, 393 U.S. 268, 281-82
(1969). US. vc. Schooner Peggy. 5 U.S. 1 Cranch
(TSOL).

3
:

£
CONCLI SION
For all the foregomg reasons respondent respectfully urges
this Court to deny Pennsyh anias petition for writ of certiorari.

Robert A. Swift
‘Counsel of Record)
KOHN, SAVETT. KLEIN & GRAF, PC.
2400 One Reading Center
1101 Market Street

Philadelphia, PA 19107
(215) 238-1700

Lawrence Demase

ROSE, SCHMIDT, CHAPMAN,
DUFF & HASLEY

900 Oliver Building

Pittsburgh, PA 15222

(412) 434-8610

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385012_0641%3A03. Public record. Not legal advice.
