# Opposition Brief — Don's Porta Signs, Inc. v. City of Clearwater

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385012_0635%3A4

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1988
- **Citation:** 485 U.S. 981

## Text

Supreme Court, U.S,
FILED

No. 87-1176 FEB 19 1988
TOSEFHE, SPANIOL, JR,
In The

Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1987

) —=_

DON’S PORTA SIGNS, INC., WEST COAST SIGN
CO., LTD. SIGNS BY DESIGN OF FLORIDA, INC.,
NORWOOD LEASING, INC., DON LEWIS, INC.,
d/b/a INTERNATIONAL JEWELRY IMPORTS and
R. W. WHITTLE, INC., d/b/a PIK-A-FLIK,

Petitioners,
Vs,

CITY OF CLEARWATER,

Re spond nt.

0 =

ON PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO
THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE ELEVENTH CIRCUIT

“y
Vv

RESPONDENT’S BRIEF IN OPPOSITION

ry
Vv

Craries L. SreMon
(Counsel of Record)

Wroasas W. Merri. Il
Sremon, Larsex, Marriuis & Purpy
1800 Second Street, Suite 905
Sarasota, Florida 34236

-_-

(S13) 955-9050

C'ounse / for id, sponds nt

COCKLE LAW BRIEF PRINTING CO., (800) 225-6964
or call collect (402) 342-2831

| il

QUESTION PRESENTED

Whether the court of appeals erred in applying the
standard of review established in Bose Corp. v. Consum-
ers Union of United States, Inc., 466 U.S. 485 (1984), when
it reversed the district court’s invalidation of a commer-
cial speech regulation prohibiting portable signs.

-

il
TABLE OF CONTENTS

Question Presented .

Table of Contents .

Table of Authorities
Statement of the Case
Reasons for Denying the Writ

Conclusion

Page

il

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page
CAsEs
Anderson v. City of Bessemer City, 470 U.S. 564

I a 7
Bartimo ’. Horsemen’s Benevolent & Protective

Ass’n, 771 F.2d 894 (Sth Cir. 1985), cert. denied,

475 US. CE passim
Baumaartner v. United States, 322 U.S. 665 (1944) 6
Bose Corp. v. Consumers Union of United

States, Inc., 466 U.S. 485 (1984) , | passim
Beyer v. Le Fevre, 186 U.S. 114 (1902)... ~ 6
Central Hudson Gas & Electric Corp. v. Public

Service Commission, 447 U.S. 557 (1980) passim
City of Renton v. Playtime Theatres, Inc..475 US.

a caectencecnoteesoerenn 11
Clarke v. Committee for Creative Non-Violence,

468 U.S. 288 (1984) ae 12
Don’s Porta Signs, Inc. v. City of Cleareveter,

829 F.2d 1051 (11th Cir. 1987) a a, 14
Dunagin v. City of Oxford, T18 F.2d 738 (oth Cir.

1983) (en bane), cert. denied, 467 U.S. 1259

aa a ceenencasernsen passim
Dunagin v. City of Oxford, 489 F.Supp. 763 (N.D.

eee = 18
Fiske v. Kansas, 274 U.S. 3880 (1927) 7
Harnish v. Manatee County, 783 F.2d 1585 (11th

Cir. 1987) 5
Lamar Outdoor Advertising, Inc. v. Mississippi

State Tax Comm'n, 589 F.Supp. 877 (S.D. Miss.

EE EE |

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES. Continned

Page
Lindsay v. City of San Antonio, 821) F.2d 1103
(Sth Cir. 1987) cert. denied, — U.S. — (Case
No, 87-799. Jan. 11, 1988) pi ciiialileneacienciaiaaan
Mandel v. Bradley, 482 U.S. 173 (1977) 15
Members of the City Council v. Taxpayers for
Vincent, 466 U.S. 789 (1984) ay 123
Metromedia, Inc. v. City of San Diego, 453 U.S.
997 (1980) a sstlalpdicieraeabadienlecaetussaealioc », 10, 12, 19
Planned Parenthood Association/Chicago Area v.
Chicago Transit Authority, 767 F.2d 1225 (7th
Cir. 1985) ...... 16,18
Pullman-Standard v. Swint, 456 U.S. 273 (1982) 7
Rankin v. McPherson, — U.S. —, 107 S.Ct. 2891,
97 L.Ed.2d 315 (1987), reh. denied, — U.S.
(1987 ) pendence ae sla 7,11
Supersigu of Boca Raton, Ince. v. City of Fort
Lauderdale, 766 F.2d 1528 (11th Cir, 1985) 12
Tavoulareas v. Piro, 759 F.2d 90, vacated in part
by, 768 F.2d 1472 (D.C. Cir. 1985) 4,7

(' * COPE Ten 8 oer ™ > . 7
ONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS

First Amendment, U.S. Constitution

Fourteenth Amendment, U.S. Constitution

Ru.es

Federal Rule of Civil Procedure 52(a)

Pass! ‘i

10

passim

No. 87-1176

fy
Vv

In The

Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1987

sy
Vv

DON’S PORTA SIGNS, INC. WEST COAST SIGN
CO., LTD., SIGNS BY DESIGN OF FLORIDA, INC,
NORWOOD LEASING, INC., DON LEWIS, INC.,
d/b/a INTERNATIONAL JEWELERY IMPORTS and
R. W. WHITPTLE, INC., d/b/a PIK- A-FLIK,

Petitioners,
vs.

CITY OF CLEARWATER,

Respondent.

—
Vv

ON PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO
THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE ELEVENTH CIRCUIT

——-

RESPONDENT’S BRIEF IN OPPOSITION

,
Vv

Respondent, City of Clearwater, respectfully prays
that the Court deny the petition for writ of certiorari to
review the decision of the United States Ceurt of Appeals

for the Eleventh Cireuit.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Petitioners statement of the case contains several
eritical misstatements of the record, Petitioners note that
portable signs are used for commercial and non-commer-
cial messages. But Petitioners fail to state that the City
of Clearwater’s sign regulations *‘contain exemptions for
political and other non-commercial speech.’’ (Appendix
D0-a),

The record also shows that the Eleventh Cireuit re-
versed the district court’s invalidation of the sign regula-
tions based upon an ‘tindependent examination of the
whole reeord,’’ (Appendix 56-a), not a de novo review,
as ix misrepresented by Petitioners.

Finally, Petitioners state that the Eleventh Cireuit
found that the district court had applied the proper legal
test. They fail to point out that the Eleventh Cireuit also
found that the district had predicated its findings on a
misunderstanding of the governing rules of law under
that test. (Appendix 54-a through 58-a).

— ——(----— —————

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

The law is clear in this case: reviewing courts, are
obligated to independently review 1) mixed findings of
law and fact, and 2) ‘‘ultimate constitutional facts’’
including ‘‘judgments lving close to opinion regarding
the whole nature of our Government’? in cases involving
First Amendment rights. Bose Corp. rv. Consumers Union
of United States, Ine., 466 U.S. at 485, 500 (1984); Bartine

v. Horsemen’s Benevolent & Protective Ass’n, 771 F.2d
894 (5th Cir. 1983), cert. denied, 475 U.S. 1119 (1986).

ra’
Vv

REASONS FOR DENYING THE WRIT

Petitioners contend that the Eleventh Circuit erred by
going beyond the **clearly erroneous’? standard of review
beeause, according to Petitioners, the Bose rule of inde-
pendent review! does not apply in an appeal from a district
court determination that a local regulation does not ‘*di-
rectly advance’? the government’s aesthetic interest and
is **more extensive than necessary’? to accomplish that
goal. This argument has been repentediy rejected by this

Court and the courts of appeals.

It is well-settled under Bose and its progeny that the
‘*findings’’ reviewed by the Eleventh Circuit involve **con-

stitutional facts,’’ ‘*special facts that have been deemed to

have constitutional significance,’’ or ** judgments lying
close to opinion regarding the whole nature of our Govern-

'The Eleventh Circuit in the decision below expressed that
it must make ‘“‘an independent examination” of the record ‘to
determine whether a commercial speech regulation [prohibit-
ing portable signs] directly advances the government's |aes-
thetic] goals or is more extensive than necessary,’ Don’s Porta
Signs, Inc. v. City of Clearwater, 829 F.2d 1051, 1053-1054, n. 9
(11th Cir. 1987). Petitioners nonetheless incorrectly state and
argue that the Eleventh Circuit “applied a de novo review of
the District Court's findings,”” Pet. at 4, passim. This Court
explained in Bose that:

The independent review function is not equivalent to a
“de novo” review of the ultimate judgment itself, in which
a reviewing Court makes an original appraisal o: ail the
evidence to decide whether or not it believes that judg-
ment should be entered for Plaintiff.

ment.’’ Bose, 466 U.S. at 505. See Dunagin v. City of Ov-
ford, 718 F.2d 738, 748-749, n. 8 (Sth Cir. 1983), cert. de-
nied, 467 U.S. 1259 (1984) ; Lindsay +. City of San Antonio,
821 F.2d 1108, 1108, n. 9 (Sth Cir, 1987), cert. denied, U.S.
(Case No, 87-799. Jan. 11, 1988); Tavoulareas v. Piro, 759
F.2d 90, 108 (D.C. Cir. 1985), vacated in part by, 763 F.2d
1472 (D.C. Cir, 1985).

o- —

THE ELEVENTH CIRCUIT DID NOT ERR
IN INDEPENDENTLY REVIEWING
MIXED QUESTIONS OF LAW AND FACT

The law is clear: reviewing courts, such as the Elev-
enth Cireuit, are obligated to independently review mixed
findings of law and fact. This Court put it well in Bose:

But Rule 52(a) does not inhibit an appellate court’s
power to correct errors of law, including those that
may infect a so-called mixed finding of law and fact,
or a finding of fact that is predicated on the misunder-
standing of the governing rule of law.

Bose, 466 U.S. at 501. (eniphasis added).

In the case sub judice, the Eleventh Circuit recognized
that the district court applied the proper four-part com-
mercial speech test dictated by Central Hudson Gus &
Electric +. Public Service Comm'n, 447 U.S. 557 (1980).
But, the cireuit court found that the district court made
findings under the third and forth prongs of the Central
Hudson test predicated on a misunderstanding of the gov-

erning rules of law—-rules of law that inherently involve

5)

mixed questions of fact and law. Don’s Porta Signs, Ine. v.
City of Clearwater, 829 F.2d 1051, 1053-54 (110i Cir.
1987). Sve Metromedia, Inc. v. City of San Diego, 453 US.
597 (1980); Members of the City Counetl v. Taxpayers of
Vincen!, 466 U.S. 789 (1984); Marnish v. Manatee County,
783 F.2d 1535 (11th Cir. 1987); Lindsay, 821 F.2d 110.5;
Supersign of Boca Raton, Inc. v. Cully of Fort Lauderdale,
766 F.2d 1528 (11th Cir. 1985). The Eleventh Cireuit did
not err in applying independent review to the mixed ques-
tions of fact and law tindings ge-nane to the third and
fourth prongs of the Central Hudson vest. in faet, the
court of appeals was obligated to make such a review.

ry
Vv

THE ELEVENTH CIRCUIT DID NOT ERR
IN INDEPENDENTLY REVIEWING
QUESTIONS OF ‘‘CONSTITUTIONAL FACT’’

the Bose Court emphasized that the requirement of
independent review of First Amendment constitutional is-

sues is a rule of federal constitucional law.

It reflects a deeply held conviction that judges—and
particularly Members of this Court— must exercise
such review in order to preserve the precious liberties
established and ordained by the Constitution. The
question whether evidence in the record in a defama-
tion case is of the convineing clarity required to strip
the utterance of First Amendment protection ts not
merely a question for the trier of fact. Judges, as ex-
positors of the Constitution, must independently de-
cide whether the evidence in the record is sufficient
tu cross the constitutional threshold that bars the en-
try of any judgement that is not supported by clear
and convineing proof of **‘actual malice.”’

Bose, 466 U.S. at 510-11 (emphasis added).

6

Most important, this Court, after delineating the ap-
propriate standard of review, identified the types of ‘find-

ings’? that are subject to independent review:

In each of these areas, the limits of the unprotected
category, as well as the unprotected character of par-
ticular communications, have been determined by the
judicial evaluation of special facts that have been
deemed to have constitutional significance. In such
cases, the Court has regularly conducted an independ-
ent review of the record book to be sure that the speech
in question actually falls within the unprotected cate-
gory and fo define the perimeters of any unprotected
category with acceptably narrow limits in an effort to
ensure that protected expression will not be inhibited.

Bose, 466 U.S. at 504-505 (emphasis added). This Court
emphasized that:

‘*The conelusiveness of a ‘finding of facet’ depends on
the nature of the materials on whieh ihe finding is
based. The finding even of a so-called ‘subsidiary
fact’ may be a more or less difficult process varying
according to the simplicity or subtlety of the type of
‘fact’ in controversy. Finding so-called ultimate
‘facts’ more clearly implies the application of stan-
dards of law. ... Though labeled ‘finding of facet,’ if
may involve the very basis on which judgement of
fallible evidence is to be made. Thus, the conclusion
that may appropriately be drawn from the whole mass
of evidence is not always the ascertainment of the kind
of ‘fact’ that precludes consideration by this Court.
See, e.g., Beyer v. Le Fevre, 16 U.S. 114, 22 S.Ct. 765,
46 L. Ed. 1080 (1902). Particularly is this so where a
decision here for review cannot SCA pe broadly sectat
judqments— judgments lying close to opinion reqard-
ing the whole nature of our Government and the duties
and immunities of citizenship.’ Baumgartner ¢.
United States, 322 U.S. 665, 670-671, 64 S. Ct. 1240,
1243-1244, S88 L. Ed. 1525 (1944).

-!

Bose, 466 U.S. at 500 (emphasis added). See Dunagin v.
City of Oxford, 718 F.2d 738, 748-49, n. & (Sth Cir. 1983),
cert. denied, 467 U.S. 1259 (1984) (‘legislative facts’? or
‘‘questions of constitutional magnitude’’); Lindsay vr. City
of San Antonio, 821 F.2d 1108, 1108, 1. 9 (Sth Cir. 1987),
cert. denied, —U.S.— (Case No. 87-799. Jan. 11, 1988)
‘*constitutional ‘status’ *’); Tavoulareas v. Piro, 759 F.2d
90, 198 (D.C. Cir. 1985), vacated in part by, 768 F.2d 1472
(D.C. Cir. 1985) (‘tultimate constitutional fact’). See,
generally, Pullman-Standard v. Swit, 456 U.S. 273, 286-87,
n. 16 (1982).

This Court, ‘‘in marking out the limits of the stan-
dard,’’? Bose, 466 U.S. at 503, put forth the rule that cer-
tain tindings cross the threshold of ‘‘pure fact’? and be-
come constitutionally significant because they are “*close
to opinion regarding the whole nature of our Govern-

7Examples of such facts which are subject to independent
review under the well-settled precedent of this Couri and the
courts of appeal include whether a writing was “obscene,”
whether there was a “clear and present danger,”” whether there
was ‘actual malice,’’ or other factual conciusions about the
speaker's intent, audience effect, and other elements of con-
text that are not easily disentangled from a decision as to wheth-
er a statement was “‘‘political”’ or directed at ‘public concerns.”
Lindsay, 821 F. 2d at 1108, n. 9; See Bose, 466 U.S. at 505-506;
Anderson v. City of Bessemer City, 470 U.S. 564 (1985); Rankin
v. McPherson, — U.S. —, 107 S. Ct. 2891 (1987); Bartimo, 771
F.2d 894; Dunagin, 718 F.2d at 748-49, n. 8.

Findings which may not be subject to independent review
have been identified as ‘preliminary factual determinations,”
(Tavoulareas, 759 F. 2d at 108), “what was said” (Lindsay, 821
F 2d at 1108), “logic and common experience which are or-
dinarily entrusted to the finder of fact’’ (Bose, 466 U.S. at 501,
n. 17) or any other facts which are not so intermingled with a
conclusion of law as to a federal right to require enalysis by
independent review (Fiske v. Kansas, 274 U.S. 380, 385-87 (1927)).

ment,’’ that is, ‘‘ultimate constitutional fact.’’ Bose, 466
U.S. at 500, n. 162 In such cases, this Court emphasized
that reviewing courts must not only provide protection to
parties asserting First Amendment rights, but also define
the perimeters of those rights to ensure that they are not
abused. Id. See Bartimo, 771 F.2d at 897.

The courts of appeal have followed this Court’s lead
and have recognized the importance of independently re-
viewing “‘ultimate constitutional facts’. In Dunagin v.
City of Oxford, 718 F.2d 738 (Sth Cir. 1983), cert. denied,
467 U.S. 1259 (1984), the court of appeals ruled that the
trial court’s findings are ‘*clearly not’? subject only to a
clearly erroneous standard of review (Dunagin, 718 F.2d
at 745, n. 8):

There are limits to which important constitutional
questions should hinge on the views of social scientists
Who testify as experts at trial. Suppose one trial
judge sitting in one state believes a sociologist who
has found no link between alcohol abuse and advertis-
ing, While another crial judge siting in siother state
believes a psychiatrist who hes reached the opposite
conclusion. A similar situation actually oecurred here,
Should identical conduct be constitutionally protected
in one jurisdiction and illegal in another?

‘Petitioners themselves state “[e|ven where the underlying
judgment is against the party asserting First Amendment rights,
independent review extends only to ultimate conclusions.”
Pet. at 11-12. However, they fail to understand the types of
‘findings’ which comprise ‘‘ullimate conclusions,” or better,
“ultimate constitutional facts.” See Bose, 466 U.S. at 505-506.
See n. 1, supra, at 3. Whether a commercial speech regulation
“directly advances” a government's interest and whether it. is
“no more extensive than necessary” to accomplish its goals is
the type of “ultimate constitutional fact” that is within the pur-
view of independent review. Id.

sw)

Dunagin, 718 F.2d at 749. Most instruetive, the Dimaaqin
court reasoned:

In the first place, the issue of whether there is a cor-
relation between advertising and consumption is a
legislative and not an adjudicative fact question. Ut is
not a question specifically related to this one case or
controversy; it is a question of social factors and
happenings which may submit to some partial em-
pirical solution but is likely to remain subject to opin-
lon and reasoning, See Fed. REvid. 201 advisory com-

mittee note, That reasoning is the responsibility of

legislators and judges, assisted by scholars as well as
social scientists. The specific issue here was undoubt-
edly considered by the Mississippi Legislature when
local option and the curtailment of liquor consumption
were being studied. Now the issue has moved to the
judicial silage, /} the legislative de ton is not bind-
ing at this stage, af least it carries qreat weight. Cer-
taimly it cannot be thrust aside buy two experts and a
judicval trier of fact. The writings and studies of so-
celal science experts on legislative faets are often con-
sidered and cited by the Supreme Court with or with-
out introduction into the record or even consideration
hy the trial court. (cites omitted) Furthermore, ihe
dectston Ol wheihes df regulation | commerceval speech
directly advance s thie slate ‘s inte rest, for exanpli J is
an exercise of constitutional a/judication wherein ap-
pellate conrts play “ specul role, Applying hie legal
tests that hare crolved in constitutional law mmevariably
requires subtle legal distinctions, a sense of history,
and (lil orde rine of} contli fina rights, rales and bi-
ferests, ‘The Supreme Court has often warned that
each First Amendment case must be analyzed separ-
ately, based on the particular method of communica-
tion involved, and the vale. and daneers Tmplicated,
“The protection available for particular commercial
expression turns on the nature both of the expression
and of the government interests served by its regula-
tion.”’ Central Hudson Gas, supra, 447 U.S. at 563,

10

100 S.Ct. at 2350. The questions raised in such cases
involve mixed questions of law and fact. In this case,
for instance, the extent to which Metromedia, ... and
other cases temper the Central Hudson Gas test is a
legal question.

Dunagin, 718 F.2d at 748 (emphasis added). See Central
Hudson, 447 U.S. 557, 563 (1980); Metromedia, Ine. v. City
of San Diego, 453 U.S. 490, 501 (1981).

Most notably, this Court denied certiorari review in
the most recent case which presented to this Court the
same question presented by Petitioners for review in the
instant case. Lindsay v. City of San Antonio, 821 F.2d
1103 (Sth Cir. 1987), cert. dented, —-U.S.- (Case No. 87-
799. Jan. 11, 1988), is a ease astonishingly similar to the
facts and law presented in the instant ease. In that case,
businesses engaged in supplying, leasing, renting and sell-
ing portable siens brought an action challenging, under
First and Fourteenth Amendments, the cons :itutionality of
the city’s commercial speech regulation prohibiting por-
table signs. The distriet court eranted the portable sien
businesses’ motion for preliminary injunction against en-
forcement of the regulation, and the Citv appealed. The
court of appeals held that the citv’s portable sign ban di-
rectly advanced the city’s aesthetic interests and that it
was not substantially broader ‘han necessary to protect

that interest.

In arriving at its holding, the appellate court relied
on the Bose rule and independently reviewed the district
court’s findings germane to First Amendment issues of a

constitutional magnitude.

il

Thus, the critical inquiries are, as the District Court
stated, whether the ordinance does further the City’s
interests and whether the restriction on speech is
greater than is essential to the furtherance of those
interests.

Lindsay, S21 F.2d at 1109. The court of appeals recognized
that the ‘‘eritical inquiries’? were, in essence, constitutional
questions involving separation of powers between ite

legislative and judicial branches of government.

The limits on such a determination seem boundless.
In a related vein, when a trial court makes such a find-
ing, the potential for the court to substitute its own
judgment about aesthetics for that of the body charged
with making aesthetic determinations is great. Left
open is the possibility that the trial court will decide
that nothing short of full achievement—as opposed to
‘‘furtherance’’ of a governmental purpose is suffi-
cient to justify a particular restriction on speech. In-
deed, in the instant case, notwithstanding, protesta-
tions by the court to the contrary, ie cours gen
eral deseription of the problem with the ordinance
——‘its failure to aecomplish tis aestietic purpose”?
—suggests that the distriet court: tock such an ap-
proach to the question raised under Vincent of
whether the regulation ‘‘furthers an important or sub-
stantial governmental interest.”> Vincen!, 466 U.S, at
805 (cites omitted). It seems that the district court
may have been holding the City to a standard requir-
ing it to cure all visual blight, or none at all.

Lindsay, 821 F.2d at 1109, See City of Reunion v. Playtime
Theatres, Inec., 475 US. 41, 106 S.Ct. 920, G81 C1986).

Under the reasoning employed in Bose, Rankin ev.
McPherson, — U.S. —, 107 S.Ct. 2891, 2896 (1987), reh. de-
nied, —U.S.— (1987), and Denagim, 718 Fd at 748-49, n.
S, the court of appeals found that the findings under the

third and fourth prongs ol the ("; vival lludson test ure

ones for which independent review is appropriate. Thus,
‘the decision on whether a regulation of commercial specch
directly advances the state’s interest is an exercise of con-
stitutional adjudication wherein appellate courts play a
special role.’? Dunagin, 718 F.2d at 745, n. 5. The court ot
appeals was required to apply the legal tests that evolved
in constitutional law, including Metromedia, 458 U.S. 490
(1981) (plurality); Members of the City Covned v. Tax-
payers for Vincent, 466 U.S. 789 (1984); Clarke v. Com-
mittee for Creative Non-Violence, 468 U.S. 285 (1984);

“sy

Harnish v. Manatee County, 783 F.2d 1535 (11th Cir.
1986); Supersign of Boca Raton, Inc. v. City of Fort
Lauderdale. 766 F.2d 1528 (11th Cir. 1985); and Lindsay
v. City of San Antonio, 821 F.2d 1103 (Sth Cir. 1987), in
order to interpret the third and fourth prongs of the
Central Hudson test as it applies to the tacts in the case.
Such application invariably requires subtle legal distine-
tions, a sense of history, amd an ordering of conflicting

rights, values and interests. Dunagin, 718 F.2d at 748.

These cases, contrary to Petitioners’ argument, are
instructive and control the decision in the instant case.
Without repeating all of the findings in the case sub judwe,
it is appropriate to say that it is on point with the facts
in Lindsay, and that the findings were quite similar, The
Eleventh Cieruit, in accordance with these established prin-
ciples, independently reviewed the First Amendment issues
of constitutional magnitude. The proper application of the
controlling constitutional law on the substantive issues re-
quired the court of appeals to independently review these
‘judgments lying close to opinion regarding the whole na-
ture of our Government,’’ which this Court calls **ultimate

constitutional facts.”’

13

PETITIONERS’ ARGUMENT IS FALLACIOUS
RESULTING FROM CONVERSION OF
AFFIRMATIVE PROPOSITIONS IN
BOSE AND ITS PROGENY

Respondent submits that Petitioners’ glib argument is,
in fact, a house of cards constructed of non sequiturs* and
out-of-context quotes.

Whether or not a party asserting First Amendment
rights won or lost at the trial court level is not deter-
minative of whether or not fundamental constitutional
principles are involved and whether the reviewing appel-
late court is empowered to conduct an independent review.
See Bose, 466 U.S. 485 (1984); Lindsay, 821 F.2d 1103
(5th Cir. 1987), cert. denied, — U.S. — (Case No, 87-799.
Jan. 11, 1988); Dunagin, 718 F.2d 738 (oth Civ. 1985),
cert, denied, 467 U.S. 1259 (1984); Bartimo, 711 F.2d se4
(5th Cir. 1983), cert. denied, 475 U.S. 1119 (1986): Tavou
larew v. Washmgton Post Co., 759 F.2d 90 (D.C. Cir.
1985), vacated in part by, 763 Bild 1472 (D.C. Cir. 1985).9

*Although never stated or implied by the Court in Bose
or any of its other cases, Petitioners suggest that the decision
by district courts (whether against or in favor of the party as-
serting First Amendment rights) will always determine the stan-
dard of review to be applied by reviewing courts in First Amend-
ment cases. Such a position is ridiculous. See Bose, 466 U.S.
at 510, n. 29; Bartimo, 771 F. 2d at 898, n. 3.

‘Respondent submits that it is significant that Petitioners
fail to contest, or even address, the substantive issues presented
below in the district court and court of appeals. The merits be-
low, which are not under consideration by the Court in this
case, concerned the third and fourth prongs of the tour-part
commercial speech test established in Central Hudson, 447 U.S.

(Continued on following page)

14

It is evident from reading the entire opinion of the
Court in Bose® that the rationale of Bose applies here.
Petitioners simply ignore the Court’s broad language in
Bose, which makes no distinction whatever between cases
where judgment was in favor of the alleged defamer and
those where judgment was in favor of the alleged defen-
dant. The Fifth Cireuit in Bartiino observed that if the
Court had intended to make such a distinction, it would
have so limited its holding in Bose. Id.’

[Definition of First Amendment protection requires

inclusion as well as exclusion and the former is no less

a judicial function merely because it does not pose a

direct threat to First Amendment values. Including

speech within the protected category requires no less
careful an evaluation of constitutionally significant
facts than excluding such speech.
Bartimo, 771 F.2d at 897, cert. denied, 475 US. 1119
(1986). (emphasis added).

Indeed, this Court did not limit its holding in Bose
and, in faet, indicated just the opposite proposition as to
Petitioners’ argument. The Court underscored the signifi-

(Continued from previous page)

557 (1980). Specifically at issue was whether a commercial
speech regulation prohibiting portable signs directly advanced
the government's aesthetic goals or was more extensive than
necessary to accomplish those goals. Don's Porta Signs, Inc.,
829 F. 2d 1051, 1053-54, n. 9.

6Petitioners, by sleight of hand, attempt to string together
bits and pieces of the Bose opinion in an attempt to camouflage
the weakness of their petition as well as to invent grounds on
which to base their petition.

See n. 9, infra, at 15.

,

1d

eance ©f the independent review standard and identified
one. the rationales behind the rule:

A similar concern with the need to ‘‘preserve the
right of free speech both from suppression by tyran-
nous, well-meaning majorities dud from abuse by irre-
sponsible, fanatical minorities,’’ (cite omitted) was
identified by Justice Brandeis .. .

Bose, 466 U.S. at 510, n. 29 (emphasis added). The rule of
independent review, as the Court has concluded, is exer-
cised not only to profect the party asserting First Amend-
ment rights, but also to prevent abuse by that party.

Most instructive is the Fifth Cireuit’s well-reasoned
decision in Barltwo v. Horsemen's Benevolent and Pro-
lective Ass'n, 771 F.2d 894 (oth Cir. 1985), cert. denied, 475
U.S. 1119 (1986).5 in Bartimo, the trial court found that

’The Fifth Circuit has noted that:

The Supreme Court has declared that while summary dis-
positions of appeals are decisions on the merits that bind
lower federal courts, such decisions extend only to “the
precise issues presented and necessarily decided by those
actions. Mandel v. Bradley, 432 U.S. 173, 176 (1977).

Respondent suggests that this Court’s denial of certiorari review
in Dunagin, Lindsay, and Bartimo provides binding precedent tor
federal courts of appeal and district courts to follow. Each of
these cases presented the same question presented for review
in the instant case to this Court. For example, in Lindsay this
Court was presented with the following “question presented
for review:”’

Whether the rule announced in Bose Corp. v. Consumers
Union of United States, Inc., 466 U.S. 485, 104 S. Ct. 1949,
80 L. Ed. 2d 502 (1984) requiring that courts of appeal ex-
amine the whole record of a proceeding to assure that
First Amendment rights are not intruded upon was prop-
erly applied to overturn a district court’s preliminary in-
junction protecting Petitioner's rights to free expression.

16

no actual malice existed and dismissed plaintifi’s defama-
tion claim. In so doing, of course, the trial court ruled
im favor of the party asserting First Amendment rights.
In reviewing the trial court’s finding in favor of the party
asserting First Amendment rights, the Fifth Circuit exer-
cised the rule of independent review which was stated by
this Court ‘in terms broad, clear and without exception.’’
Bartimo, 771 F.2d at 897. The defendant’s claimed that the
Bose rule did not apply because *‘tie district court’s find-
ing of no actual malice and its dismissal of the plaintiff’s
defamation claim present no threat to the First Amend-
ment values,’’ Bartimo, 771 F.2d at 897, but the Fifth Cir-
cuit flatly rejected that argument.
First, it is not clear to us that the rationale of Bose,
is inapplicable here, for definition of First Amend-
ment protection requires inclusion as well as exclusion
and the former is no less a judicial function merely
because it does not pose a direct threat to First
Amendment values. Including speech with the pro-
tected category requires no less careful an evaluation
of constitutionally significant facts than excluding
such speech.

Bartimo, 771 F.2d at 897 (emphasis added).

Petitioners rely upon a Seventh Circuit Court of Ap-
peals decision in Planned Parenthood Association/Chicago
Area v. Chicago Transit Authority, 767 F.2d 1225 (7th Cir.
1985). Petitioners argue that the Seventh Circuit opinion
in Planned Parenthood stands for the proposition that
where the trial court rules in favor of the party asserting

First Amendment rights, the standard of review estab-

17

lished in Bose should not apply.? Planned Parenthood
recognized that Bose required independent review of ‘‘cer-
tain facts that have been deemed to have constitutional Siq-
nificance.”’ Planned Parenthood, 767 F.2d at 1229 (empha-
sis added). The Seventh Circuit emphasized that the rule
reflects a special solicitude for claims that the protection
afforded by the First Amendment have been unduly
abridged.

In determining whether the Bose rule should apply to
the factual questions on appeal in that case, the Seventh
Circuit recognized that only three of the Distriet Court's
factual findings were being challenged: **(1) That CTA
has previously accepted ‘controversial public-issue adver-
tising,’ (2) that CTA has no policy against aceepting such
advertising, and (3) that CTA’s expressed reasons for
rejecting abortion-related advertising are unfounded and
speculative.”’ Planned Parenthood, 767 F.2d at 1228. None
of the fact questions were mixed questions of fact and law,
or ‘constitutional facts.”* Indeed, each of these ‘factual

s¢

findings’’ of the distriet court which were challenged on
appeal was the type of finding that truly involves **pure
fact.’’ None of the fact questions presented to the Seventh
Circuit in that case involved ** judgements lving close to
opinion regarding the whole nature of our Government”’
and did not constitute an ‘‘ultimate constitutional fact.”’

*Petitioners’ argument to apply the independent review
standard only if the trial court ruled against the party assert-
ing First Amendment rights would introduce the possibility of
a particular record being reviewed by two different standards
as it made its way through the appellate process. Bartimo, 771
F. 2d at 898, n. 3. “We think judicial economy is best served
by requiring the same standard of review at all levels, regard-
less of the outcome below.” Id.

18

See Bose, 466 U.S. at 500, n. 16. Petitioner’s reliance on
Planned Parenthood through the artifice of out-of-context
quotation should be ignored.

In Dunegin v. City of Oxford, T18 F.2d 738 (Sth Cir.
1983), cert. denied, 467 U.S. 1259 (1984), the Fifth Circuit
once again exercised independent review in a case where
the party asserting First Amendment rights prevailed at
the trial level. And once again, tle same question was pre-
sented for review as the one prescuted by Petitioners in
this case.'? In that case, and its connected case, the court
of appeals independently reviewed two trial court deci-
sions that split'' on the issue of whether Mississippi’s in-
trastate liquor advertising ban unconstitutionally abridged
plaintiffs’ commercial speech rights. In Dunagin, the dis-
trict court found against the party asserting First Amend-
ment rights. In the companion case, the district court
found in favor of the party asserting First Amendment
rights. Finding itself in the unique position of having
both sides of the argument before it on the same First
Amendment questions of constitutional magnitude, the
Fifth Cireuit stated that the trial courts’ findings are
‘clearly not’’ subject only to a clearly erroneous standard
of review (Dunagin, 718 F.2d at 745, n.8):

See n. 8, supra, at 15.

"Two suits were filed attacking, principally on First Amend-
ment grounds, a Mississippi commercial speech regulation pro-
hibiting intrastate liquor advertising. The U.S. District Court
for the Northern District of Mississippi upheld the regulation
(against the party asserting First Amendment rights) in Dunagin
v. City of Oxford, 489 F. Supp. 763 (N.D. Miss. 1980); the South-
ern District invalidated the regulation (in favor of the party as-
serting First Amendment rights) in Lamar Outdoor Advertising,
Inc. v. Mississippi State Tax Comm'n, 539 F. Supp. 817 (S.D.
Miss. 1982).

19

Furthermore, the decision on whether a regulation of
commercial speech direcily advances the state’s inter-
est, for example, is an exercise of constitutional ad ju-
cation wherein appellate courts play a special role. Ap-
plying the legal tests that lave evolved in constitu-
tional law invariably requires subtle legal distinctions,
a sense of history, and an ordering of conflicting
rights, values and interests. The Supreme Court has
often warned that each First Amendment case must be
analyzed separately, based on the particular method
of communication involved, and the values and dan-
gers implicated. **The protection available for par-
ticular commercial expression turns on the nature both
of the expresison and of the government. interests
served by its regulation.’* Central Hudson Gas, supra,
447 U.S. at 563, 100 S.Ct. at 2350. The questions raised
in such cases involve mixed questions of law and fact.
In this case, for instance, the extent to which Vetro-
media, ... and other cases temper the Central Hudson
Gras test is a legal question.

Dunagin, 718 F.2d at 748 (emphasis added). See Central
Hudson 447 U.S. 557, 563 (1980): Metromedia. Ine. v. City
of San rego, 453 US. 490, 501 (1981).

20

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, the writ of certiorari to the
United States Court of Appeals for the Eleventh Circuit
should be denied.

Respectfully submitted,

CHaARLEs L. SteMoN
(Counsel of Record)
Wituiam W. Merritt III
Sremon, Larsex, Marruix & Purpy
1800 Second Street, Suite 903
Sarasota, Florida 34256
(813) 955-9050

Counsel for Respondent

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385012_0635%3A4. Public record. Not legal advice.
