# Amicus Curiae Brief — Duquesne Light Co. v. Barasch

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385012_0631%3A16

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1989
- **Citation:** 488 U.S. 299

## Text

a Ee t iL. & D
No. 87-1160 / FUN 30 1938
IN THE | =o —

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1987

DUQUESNE LIGHT COMPANY
and

PENNSYLVANIA POWER COMPANY,
. Appellants,
DAVID M. BARASCH,
CONSUMER ADVOCATE, et al.,
Appellees.

On Appeal from the Supreme Court of Pennsylvania

BRIEF OF INDUSTRIAL ENERGY CONSUMERS OF
PENNSYLVANIA; ELECTRICITY CONSUMERS
RESOURCE COUNCIL AND AMERICAN IRON
AND STEEL INSTITUTE AS AMICUS CURIAE

IN SUPPORT OF APPELLEES

HENRY R. MACNICHOLAS

H. LEE ROUSSEL

DAVID M. KLEPPINGER *

McNEES, WALLACE & NURICK

100 Pine Street

P.O. Box 1166

Harrisburg, PA 17108-1166

(717) 232-8000

Attorneys for Industrial Enerqy
Consumers of Pennsylvania,
Electricity Consumers Resource
Council and American Iron and
Steel Institute

* Counsel of Record
June 30, 1988

nn a a ee

WILSON - Eres PRINTING Co., INC. - 789-0096 - WASHINGTON, D.C. 20001

QUESTION PRESENTED

Do the Fifth and Fourteenth Amendments require
state ratemaking agencies to allow recovery of or the
return on prudently incurred investments (including
but not limited to cancelled electric generating units)
without consideration of whether those investments con-
stitute used and useful utility property?

(i)

TABLE OF CONTENTS

QUESTION PRESENTED ...0......22-2-2------------00eee
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES .........---------.2:000000---e
INTEREST OF AMICUS CURIAE ..........22.0----------

COUNTERSTATEMENT OF THE CASE ....................

Il.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT ..............-----------------e--------

ARGUMENT. ........--------0----s--ccese-cceeneecenscenensenensssnnnnenensennseres
I.

The Pennsylvania Supreme Court’s Application
Of The Used And Useful Principle Did Not Re-
sult In An Unconstitutional Taking Of The Ap-
pellant’s Property Because The Fifth And Four-
teenth Amendments Do Not Entitle Regulated
Utilities To Recovery Of Or On Prudently In-
curred Investments Without Consideration Of
Other Factors, Including, But Not Limited To,
The Used And Useful Principle ....................---------

A. Appellants’ Interpretation Of Hope And Per-
mian Basin Violates The Basic Economic
Tenets Of Regulatory Law Which Are In-
tended To Mirror The Competitive Market-

B. The Decisions By This Court And The Lower
Federal Courts Before And After The Hope
And Permian Cases Confirm That The Con-
tinued Utilization Of The Used And Useful
Principle In Ratemaking Is Consistent With
This Court’s Holdings In Hope And Per-
I i a caemcnanauunenbeeestees CES a eee

This Court Has Regularly Dismissed Proceed-
ings Which Have Raised The Identical Constitu-
tional Arguments Made By Appellants In This
Te ss ensecenennincsosnsubeonsenssonapuasserssenstessiainoenens

Page

14

15

19

26
28

iv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases: | Page
Barasch v. Pennsylvania Public Utility Comm'n,
532 A.2d 325 (Pa. 1987) .....---.--------------1-s---eee000- 15
Bluefield Waterworks & Improvement Co. v. Public
Service Comm’n, 262 U.S. 679 (1923) .........-..----- 23
Board of Public Utility Commissioners v. New
York Telephone Co., 271 U.S. 23 (1926) ............- 23

Cleveland Electric Illuminating Co. v. Public Utili-
ties Comm’n, 4 Ohio St.3d 107, 447 N.E.2d 746,
appeal dismissed, 464 U.S. 802 ¢ TET 13, 26, 27
Cleveland Electric Illuminating Co. v. Public Utili-
ties Comm’n, No. 82-165 (Ohio, July 7, 1982),
appeal dismissed, 459 U.S. 1094 (1983) ......... 13, 26, 27
Denver Union Stock Yard Co. v. U.S., 304 USS.

GE CD Kecctcinieeecs a a ee 22
Federal Power Comm’n v. Memphis Light, Gas &

Water Division, 411 U.S. 458 (1973) ............--------- 12
Federal Power Comm’n v. Natural Gas Pipeline

Co., 315 U.S. 575 (1942) .......----------------e-seeeteeteeeees 19
Federal Power Comm'n v. Hope Natural Gas Com-

pany, 320 U.S. 591 (1944) -........--------- 10, 12, 19, 20
Jersey Central Power & Light Co. v. Board of

Public Utilities, 466 U.S. 947 (1984) ...........-------- 13, 26
Jersey Central Power & Light v. FERC, 810 F.2d

1168, (D.C. Cir. 1987) ........-.-----------------+ 15, 16, 17, 24, 25
Kentucky Utilities Co. v. FERC, 760 F.2d 1321

(D.C. Cir. 1985) ............------c--c-sceeeeeeneensennees Sets 23, 24
Los Angeles Gas & Electric Corp. v. Railroad

Comm’n, 289 U.S. 287 (1933) -.... Eye Sanonere wanes 23
Market Street Railway Co. v. Railroad Comm'n of

Calif., 324 U.S. 548 (1945) .........---.----------e eee 18
Meek v. Pittenger, 421 U.S. 349 (1975) -............-- 27
Minnesota Rate Cases, 230 U.S. 352 (1918) -....... 23

Natural Gas Pipeline Co. v. FERC, 765 F.2d 1155,
(D.C. Cir. 1985), cert. denied, 106 S. Ct. 794
| See acassacadanasssereesvesssnauagensssoueseniene aa 24

Vv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued
Page

Northern Indiana Public Service Co. v. Citizens
Action Coalition of Indiana, Inc., 485 N.E.2d
610 (Indiana 1985), appeal dismissed and cert.
denied, 476 U.S. 1137 (1986) ............----------------- 13, 26, 27

Office of Consumers’ Counsel v. Public Utilities
Comm'n, 67 Ohio St.2d 153, 423 N.E.2d 820
(1981), appeal dismissed sub nom., Cleveland
Electric Illuminating Co. v. Office of Consumers’

Counsel, 455 U.S. 914 (1982)... .........----------- 13, 26, 27
Permian Basin Area Rate Cases, 390 U.S. 747

CBOE) nnncnenncnesesscnsccsnnnsesessctonnnsonnrnscnss eteisaealaimeetd 10, 12, 22
Smyth v. Ames, 169 U.S. 466 (1898) -.............-------- 10, 23
St. Joseph Stock Yards Co. v. United States, 298

U.S. BB (19B6) ........--2-.---.--0-022-000---cceovseensenncesnnesenees 23
Willeox v. Consolidated Gas Co., 212 US. 19

(1909) ...-.--.-.----0----cecseceneneensenecronsssneenensensnescsernenncssons 23

Administrative Decisions:

Investigation of the Need for Additional Electric
Generating and Transmission Facilities, Investi-
gation Docket No. 138, 46 Pa. P.U.C. 23 (1972)... 7,8

Pennsylvania Public Utility Comm'n v. Metropoli-
tan Edison Co., Rate Investigation Docket No.

64, 47 Pa. P.U.C. 56 (1978) .........--------------2----- 7, 8-9

Pennsylvania Electric Co. v. Pennsylvania Public
Utility Comm'n, 509 Pa. 324, 502 A.2d 130
(1985), appeal dismissed sub nom., Metropolitan
Edison Co. v. Pennsylvania Public Utility

Comm’n, 106 S. Ct. 2239 (1986) ..... .......------------- 13, 26
Statutes:

1 Pa. C.S. § 1984 .........--.------------0-0---nc-cnennesnennneenenneenees 15

68 Pa. CE. 6 OS ......-.-..--..... a eee 9

I, a sacn-soctercananesceteiniessonianeniiniies 10, 14

] ees AES a ea 3 9

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1987

No. 87-1160

DUQUESNE LIGHT COMPANY
and

PENNSYLVANIA POWER COMPANY,
. Appellants,
DAVID M. BARASCH,
CONSUMER ADVOCATE, et al.,
Appellees.

On Appeal from the Supreme Court of Pennsylvania

BRIEF OF INDUSTRIAL ENERGY CONSUMERS OF
PENNSYLVANIA, ELECTRICITY CONSUMERS
RESOURCE COUNCIL AND AMERICAN IRON
AND STEEL INSTITUTE AS AMICUS CURIAE

IN SUPPORT OF APPELLEES

The Industrial Energy Consumers of Pennsylvania
(IECPA), the Electricity Consumers Resource Council
(ELCON), and the American Iron and Steel Institute
(AISI) hereby submit their Brief Amicus Curiae in
Support of Appellee David M. Barasch, Consumer Ad-
vocate, et al. and of the decision by the Supreme Court
of Pennsylvania.’

1 JECPA, ELCON and AISI have obtained the written consents
of,all parties to this case. The written consents have been filed with

the Clerk of this Court.

2
INTEREST OF AMICUS CURIAE

IECPA is a statewide group of energy intensive in-
dustrial consumers of electricity.» IECPA members em-
ploy approximately 130,451 Pennsylvanians and con-
sume 25% of the industrial electricity purchased in the

2 The members of IECPA are:

Air Products & Chemicals, Inc.
Airco Industrial Gases

Allegheny Ludlum Steel Corporation
Allentown Cement Company

Allied Corporation

Appleton Papers, Inc.

Armco Advanced Materials Corporation
Babcock & Wilcox Company

The J. E. Baker Company
Bethlehem Steel Corporation

Cabot Corporation

Carpenter Technology Corporation
Caterpillar Tractor Company
Cooper Industries

Corning Glass Works

Cressona Aluminum Company

Dana Corporation

Franklin Steel Company

General Battery Corporation
International Paper Company
Hercules Cement Company

Hershey Foods Corporation

Jessop Steel Company

Liquid Air Corporation

Lukens Steel Company

M G Industries

National Forge Company

New Jersey Zinc Company, Inc.
‘Owens-Illinois, Inc. ,

PPG Industries, Inc.

The Procter & Gamble Paper Products Co.
Rohm and Haas Company

Standard Steel

Sun Refining & Marketing Company
Union Carbide Corporation

USX Corporation

Washington Steel Corporation

a

3

Commonwealth. IECPA members operate 187 facilities
in Pennsylvania, including several within the service
territory of the Appellants, Duquesne Light Company
and Pennsylvania Power Company.

ELCON is a national organization of 17 energy in-
tensive industrial consumers of electricity which employ
more than 800,000 people. ELCON members operate
more than 650 different facilities in 49 of the 50 states
and, in addition, have sizeable operations in numerous
foreign countries. The electricity consumption by ELCON
members exceeds the total electricity sales of 36 of the
50 states. ELCON member companies produce a wide
range of products, including steel, chemicals, industrial
gases, glass, motor vehicles, electronic equipment, appli-
ances, textiles and food.*

AISA is the principal trade association of the domestic
steel industry. Its forty-three domestic member com-
panies account for more than eighty percent of the raw
steel production capability in the United States.* The

3 The members of ELCON are:

Air Products and Chemicals, Inc.
American National Can
Anheuser-Busch Companies, Inc.
Armco

Bethlehem Steel Corporation

Cone Mills Corporation

Corning Glass Works

Dow Chemical U.S.A.

E.1. duPont deNemours & Company
FMC Corporation

General Motors Corporation
Hercules Incorporated

Hershey Foods Corporation
Owens-Corning Fiberglass

PPG Industries, Inc.

A. E. Sialey Manufacturing Company
Union Carbide Corporation

4 The domestic member companies of AISI are:

Acre Steel Company
Armco Inc.

4

cost of electricity to AISI members may constitute as
much as forty percent of the cost of a steel mill product,

Atlantic Steel Company

Avesta Stainless Inc.

The Babcock & Wilcox Company
Bethlehem Steel Corporation
Berg Steel Pipe Corporation
California Steel Industries, Inc.
Carpenter Technology Corporation
Cleveland-Cliffs Inc.
Copperweld Steel Corporation
Electralloy Corporation

A. Fink] & Sons Co.

Geneva Steel Company
Georgetown Industries, Inc.
Gulf States Steel, Inc.

M. A. Hanna Company

Harsco Corporation

Hi Specialty America

Inland Steel Industries, Inc.
Earle M. Jorgensen Company
Laclede Steel Company

Lone Star Technologies, Inc.
LTV Steel Company

Lukens Inc.

McLouth Steel Products Corporation
National Steel Corportaion
North Star Steel Company
Oblebay Norton Company
Raritan River Steel Company
Rhode Island Forging Steel, Inc.
Rome Strip Steel Company, Inc.
Rouge Steel Company

Sandvik Inc.

Sharon Steel Corporation
Sharon Tube Company
Shenango Incorporated

The Timken Company

USS, A Division of USX Corporation
Valley-Vulcan Mold Company
Weirton Steel Corporation
Wheatland Tube Company
Wheeling-Pittsburgh Steel Corporation

5

making the steel industry one of the most energy-inten-
sive industries in the country.

Individual IECPA, ELCON and AISI members, either
directly or through industrial intervention groups, have
participated in numerous rate cases filed by utilities over
the last fiifteen years, including cases in which the issue
of a return of or on prudent investments, which have not
proven to be used and useful for producing electric serv-
ice, has been addressed. In no such case has the utility
been entitled to a return of or on its investment as a
matter of right. Rather, the respective state or the rate-
making agency of the state has always had the discre-
tion to determine whether the utility is entitled to a
return of or on prudent investment based on all the facts
presented, including whether the investment produced
used and useful property.

IECPA, ELCON and AISI have a direct and substan-
tial interest in this case. Each organization seeks to
assure that adequate and secure long-term supplies of
electricity will be available in Pennsylvania and the
nation at equitable and competitive prices. However,
the development of equitable and competitive prices for
electricity service to ratepayers must be based upon valid
cost of service principles. IECPAs, ELCON’s and AISI’s
interests are twofold in that their members must have
long-term supplies of electricity available in order to pro-
duce their respective products. However, the assurance of
a long-term supply of electricity must be at a price
which enables their members to produce competitively
priced products. An excessive supply of electricity at
excessive prices will not permit their members to main-
tain their competitive positions in the marketplace.

The position advocated by the Appellants and the
amicus curiae supporting the Appellants would create
a constitutional entitlement to the recovery of or the
return on any prudent investment made by an electric

ey ST

6

utility without consideration of whether that investment
resulted in used and useful public utility property pro-
viding actual utility service to customers. It would elim-
inate the flexibility and discretion which states have had
to decide whether a utility should be permitted to recover
a return of or on investments which may have been
prudent but which have not produced used and useful
property. The retention of that flexibility and discretion
is essential to the proper balancing of ratepayer and
shareholder interests. Appellants seek to establish a
constitutional right for utilities to recover a return of
and on investments which a private enterprise in the
competitive marketplace would have no such opportunity
to recover. Thus, the principle that regulation “mirror”
the operation of competitive markets would be shattered.

Removal of the “used and useful” standard, as ad-
vocated by Appellants and their amici would create a
“prudence-only” standard for the recovery of or on utility
investment. As members of energy intensive industrial
intervention groups, IECPA, ELCON and AISI members
have participated regularly in a substantial number of
rate cases filed by utilities over the last fifteen years.
That experience confirms their serious concerns with a
prudence-only standard because one of the few checks
state ratemaking agencies have been able to apply on
utility rate increases is the requirement that a prudent
utility investment should also result in the production of
used and useful utility property. A ‘“prudence-only”
standard would remove this check. Under current law,
if a prudent investment fails to produce used and useful
utility property, a state has discretion to deny a return
of or on that investment. States require such discretion
to properly balance the interests of utilities and con-
sumers. A constitutional entitlement to the recovery of
or on all prudent utility investment could cause greater
rate increases than are necessary or appropriate to
fairly compensate utility investors. Such increases would,
of course, be contrary to the public interest.

7

The argument set forth below will show that the
Pennsylvania Public Utility Code, as applied to Appel-
lants in this case, has not effected a taking of property
in violation of the Fifth and Fourteenth Amendments to
the Constitution.

COUNTERSTATEMENT OF THE CASE

IECPA, ELCON and AISI adopt the counterstatement
of the case as set forth in the Brief of Appellee David M.
Barasch, Consumer Advocate.

However, IECPA, ELCON and AISI must clarify the
mischaracterizations by Appellants and their amici of
two decisions by the Pennsylvania Public Utility Commis-
sion: Investigation of the Need for Additional Electric
Generating and Transmission Facilities, Investigation
Docket No. 138, 46 Pa. P.U.C. 23 (1972), and Pennsyl-
vania Public Utility Comm’n v. Metropolitan Edison Co.,
Rate Investigation Docket No. 64, 47 Pa. P.U.C. 56
(1973). Neither of these decisions imposed an affirma-
tive requirement on the Appellants, or any other juris-
dictional electric utility in Pennsylvania, to invest in ad-
ditional electric generating stations.

The Commission instituted Investigation Docket No. 138
due to the threat of electric power shortages and the need
to stimulate electric power companies “in the development
of plans for increasing generating capacity to meet antic-
ipated load growth and future demands.” 46 Pa. P.U.C.
at 23. The investigation was necessitated because load
growth had exceeded certain utility companies’ inaccurate
forecasts and because a “conservative attitude” on the
part of some utilities resulted in a serious installed ca-
pacity deficiency situation. Jd. at 24.

However, as the Commission sought to rectify the prob-
lem, it specifically left to each utility the determination
of whether that specific utility needed additional capacity.
It left to each utility the estimates of customer demand

8

requirements on which any determination of need for ad-
ditional capacity would be based. The Commission also
clearly left to each utility company the decision as to
whether sufficient reserve capacity should be achieved
through new construction, the importation of electricity
from other sources, or from conservation.’ In the event
a specific utility concluded it needed additional capacity
based on its estimates of consumer demand and its eval-
uation of the alternatives available for meeting that de-
mand, the Commission also left to each utility the devel-
opment of a generating capacity expansion plan, includ-
ing the schedules for generating plant and transmission
line additions, and the cost estimates for construction of
new generating plants. See Ordering Paragraphs at 46
Pa. P.U.C. at 26-27.

The Comm’‘ssion never directed or required the Appel-
lants to develop, plan for, or invest in the four cancelled
nuclear plants at issue in this case. The most the Com-
mission ever indicated to the utility industry as a whole
was that it “wanted 2,000 megawatts of combustion tur-
bine capacity immediately.” Jd. at 25. After the Com-
mission’s investigation, the Appellants, based upon their
own projections of capacity needs, load growth, and the
effect of conservation, chose to pursue the capacity plan-
ning schedule which resulted in the planning and can-
cellation of the four nuclear units in this case. The Com-
mission never “required” the Appellants to construct the
facilities which are the subject of this case.

In the context of rate relief requests by individual
utilities in the early 1970s, the Commission continued to
indicate its desire for specific individual utilities to con-
tinue construction of electric generating capacity where
necessary. See e.g., Pennsylvania Public Utility Comm’n

5 Even as early as this 1972 investigation, the Commission noted
the developing trend to conserve the use of electricity and the im-
plications that such conservation would have on the demands for
electric power. 46 Pa. P.U.C. at 26-27.

9

v. Metropolitan Edison Co., Rate Investigation Docket
No. 64, supra. However, these Commission desires were
expressed in the context of base rate increase requests
by specific utilities after such utilities had already made
their decision to invest in the construction of generating
capacity based upon their own specific capacity plan fore-
casts and specific load growth estimates. As individual
utilities approached the Commission for rate relief, one
reason relied on by the Commission in granting the re-
quested relief was the Commission’s distinct concern with
the sufficiency of the electric generating capacity in the
Commonwealth. Jd at 59. The Commission did not, how-
ever, in Metropolitan Edison or in any other rate case
actually require a utility to engage in a particular capa-
city expansion plan or to construct a particular type of
capacity. Furthermore, in no rate proceeding involving
Appellants did the Commission endorse the construction
program resulting in the cancelled plants at issue here.

A review of the Pennsylvania Public Utility Code, 66
Pa. C.S. § 101, et seg. (hereinafter “Code’”’) indicates that
che Pennsylvania Public Utility Commission does not have
the statutory authority to require investment in generat-
ing plants. The Code merely establishes that every public
utility must furnish and maintain adequate, efficient, safe,
and reasonable service and facilities. 66 Pa. C.S. § 1501.
Thus, the decision by the Appellants to pursue the capac-
ity expansion plan in question constituted a voluntary act
on their part based upon their own respective capacity
plan forecasts and load growth scenarios. Any references
by the Appellants, or the amici supporting Appellants, to
the proposition that the Commission required the invest-
ments subject to this case should be ignored.

wail

10

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

The Fifth and Fourteenth Amendments to the United
States Constitution do not require states to allow re-
covery of or on prudently incurred investments by reg-
ulated utilities without any consideration of whether
those investments produced used and useful utility prop-
erty. Section 1315 of the Pennsylvania Public Utility
Code, which denies recovery of or on an investment
which is not used and useful, is consistent with this
Court’s application of the Fifth and Fourteenth Amend-
ments to regulated industries in the line of cases pro-
ceeding from Smyth v. Ames, 169 U.S. 466 (1898)
through FPC v. Hope Natural Gas Co., 320 U.S. 591
(1944) to Permian Basin Area Rate Cases, 390 U.S. 747
(1968).

By creating a constitutional entitlement to utility in-
vestor recovery of or on prudent investment in property
which does not produce used and useful public service,
this Court would upset the long-established principle of
publie utility regulation that regulation should mirror the
competitive private marketplace in an otherwise mono-
polistic business. IECPA, ELCON and AISI members
compete in the private economy and are well aware of its
competitive nature. The United States economy is orga-
nized on the decentralized lines of private property and
private enterprise such that competition is relied upon
to promote the public welfare and the market is the cen-
tral institution regulating economic activity. However,
in some industries, like the electric utility industry, com-
petition has not traditionally been effective and regula-
tion by the government may be necessary to protect the
public interest. As noted by Walter Adams, “Here the
visible hand of public regulation was to replace the in-
visible hand of Adam Smith in order to protect consum-
ers against extortion of charges, restrictions of output,

6 Charles F. Phillips, Jr.. The Regulation of Public Utilities
(1984).

ll

deterioration of service, and unfair discrimination.” * In
the private unregulated economy, the invisible hand of
the market usually does not provide a return of, or on,
investments, however prudent, which turn out to be wrong
by not producing property which is used and useful in mak-
ing products or services consumers wish to purchase. Com-
petition prevents non-monopolists from raising their prices
above those of their competitors who did not make com-
parable investments. The visible hand of public regula-
tion should not provide an affirmative constitutional en-
titlement to the recovery of such prudent, yet uneconomic,
investments.

Such an entitlement would create an undue preference
for the utility investor over the investor in the private
competitive marketplace. It would not only shift the
balance in favor of the utility investor over the rate-
payer and the private investor, but would also upset the
balance inherent in the American economy between reg-
ulated entities and nonregulated entities. The former
would recover any prudent investment, with the cost of
prudent but uneconomic investment borne by their cus-
tomers and not by their shareholders. Competitive pri-
vate enterprises have no such guarantee and the cost of
their prudent, yet uneconomic investments are usually
borne entirely by their shareholders. No rational read-
ing of this Court’s teachings in the Hope and Permian
Basin cases would conclude that this Court intended the
former as a result.

During the Court’s application of the Fifth and Four-
teenth Amendments to regulated industries in the con-
text of these three cases, the utility investor has never
been granted a constitutional entitlement to the recovery
of all prudent investments without a consideration of
other relevant factors. Those factors include, but are not
limited to, the ability of the utility to maintain its finan-

7Walter Adams “The Role of Competition and the Regulated
Industries”, 48 American Economic Review, 527 (1958).

12

cial integrity, the ability of the utility to attract necessary
capital, fair compensation to investors for the risks they
have assumed, and protection of the relevant public in-
terest both at the present time and in the foreseeable
future. Permian, 390 U.S. at 792. These factors are
evaluated in the context of the total rate case effect of
the state ratemaking body’s decision and the end result
of that case. See Hope, 320 U.S. at 602-603.

No constitutional taking of property can exist when
the total rate case effect and the end result of that case
permits the utility to operate successfully and profitably.
Such a result indicates that a proper balancing has been
achieved between the interests of ratepayers and inves-
tors consistent with this Court’s teachings in Hope, Per-
mian Basin, and FPC v. Memphis Light, Gas & Water
Division, 411 U.S. 458 (1973). Not only have Appellants
continued to operate successfully and profitably, but each
has continued to engage in a substantial construction pro-
gram after the Pennsylvania Supreme Court’s decision to
deny a recovery of or on the prudently incurred invest-
ment in cancelled nuclear generating units.

The Appellants and the amici supporting Appellants
misinterpret and misapply the intent and teachings of the
Hope and Permian Basin cases. In those cases, this Court
did not create an additional constitutional right guaran-
teeing a recovery of or on all prudent investments made
by utility investors. Rather, those cases sought to remove
the courts from intervention in the minutia of regulatory
rate case proceedings and to have courts focus, instead,
on the issue of whether the regulatory decision permitted
the utility to operate successfully. If this end result is
obtained, then a utility should not have a complaint be-
cause the interests of ratepayers and investors have been
reasonably balanced.

This Court’s dismissal of comparable proceedings indi-
cates that the used and useful principle as applied by the

13

Pennsylvania Supreme Court was not overridden by Hope
and that utility investors have no constitutional right
to the recovery of or on all prudent investments.

Through a dismissal for want of a substantial federal
question, this Court refused to reverse on the merits
Pennsylvania and other states’ denial of cost recovery on
utility investment in nuclear power plants which have
been out of service for extended periods due to nuclear
accidents. Pennsylvania Electric Co. v. Pennsylvania
Public Utility Comm’n, 509 Pa. 324, 502 A.2d 130 (1985),
appeal dismissed sub nom. Metropolitan Edison Co. v.
Pennsylvania Public Utility Comm’n, 476 U.S. 11387
(1986). See also Jersey Central Power & Light Co. v.
Board of Public Utilities, 466 U.S. 947 (1984). The
Court dismissed several other cases, some of which in-
volved the same cancelled nuclear plants subject to this
ease. Cleveland Electric Illuminating Co. v. Public Utili-
ties Comm’n, 4 Ohio St.3d 107, 447 N.E.2d 746, appeal
dismissed, 464 U.S. 802 (1983); Cleveland Electric Illu-
minating Co. v. Public Utilities Comm’n, No, 82-165
(Ohio, July 7, 1982), appeal dismissed, 459 U.S. 1094
(1983); Office of Consumers’ Counsel v. Public Utilities
Comm’n, 67 Ohio St.2d 153, 423 N.E.2d 820 (1981),
appeal dismissed sub nom, Cleveland Electric Illuminating
Co. v. Office of Consumers’ Counsel, 455 U.S. 914 (1982) ;
Northern Indiana Public Service Co. v. Citizens Action
Coalition of Indiana, Inc., 485 N.E.2d 610 (Indiana
1985), appeal dismissed and cert. denied, 476 U.S. 1137
(1986).

Therefore, no basis exists in the context of economic
theory, in this Court’s teachings in Hope and Permian
Basin, or in this Court’s treatment of similar issues, to
create a constitutional entitlement for the recovery of or
on all prudent utility investments irrespective of whether
those investments ever produced used and useful utility
property.

14

ARGUMENT

I. The Pennsylvania Supreme Court’s Application of The
Used And Useful Principle Did Not Result In An Un-
constitutional Taking Of The Appellant’s Property
Because The Fifth And Fourteenth Amendments Do
Not Entitle Regulated Utilities To Recovery Of Or On
Prudently Incurred Investmen:s Without Considera-
tion Of Other Factors, Including, But Not Limited To,
The Used And Useful Principle.

Section 1315 of the Code reads as follows:

£1315. Limitation on consideration of certain costs
for electric utilities

Except for such nonrevenue producing, nonexpense
reducing investments as may be reasonably shown to
be necessary to improve environmental conditions at
existing facilities or improve safety at existing facili-
ties or as may be required to convert facilities to the
utilization of coal, the cost of construction or expan-
sion of a facility undertaken by a public utility pro-
ducing, generating, transmitting, distributing or fur-
nishing electricity shall not be made a part of the
rate base nor otherwise included in the rates charged
by the electric utility until such time as the facility is
used and useful in service to the public. Except as
stated in this section, no electric utility property shall
be deemed used and useful until it is presently pro-
viding actual utility service to the customers. 66
Pa. C.S. § 1315.

The Pennsylvania Supreme Court held that Section 1315
of the Code prohibits an electric utility from recovering
the costs of cancelled plants from ratepayers, either by
making such costs part of its rate base or by converting
them into operating expenses through amortization. To
have reached any other conclusion, the Pennsylvania
Supreme Court would have had to treat as surplusage
the portion of Section 1315’s proscription which states,
“ nor otherwise included in the rates charged by the

15

electric utility.” Barasch v. Pennsylvania Public Utility
Comm’n, 532 A.2d at 332. Section 1315 specifically
defines “used and useful” as property which is presently
providing actual utility service to customers. As a result,
investment in a cancelled plant which never provided
actual utility service had to be excluded from rate base
and not charged to ratepayers through an amortized
operating expense. Clearly, the Pennsylvania Supreme
Court applied the letter of the law to the Appellants con-
sistent with Section 1934 of the Statutory Construction
Act of 1972, 1 Pa. C.S. § 1934. Id. at 332.

Appellants now challenge the constitutional validity of
the statute itself, as well as other “unspecified ratemak-
ing legislation.”* In order for that constitutional chal-
lenge to be successful, this Court would have to find
that the Fifth and Fourteenth Amendments require states
to allow recovery of or on prudently incurred invest-
ments (including, but not limited to, cancelled electric
generating units) without any consideration of whether
those investments constitute used and useful property.
The establishment of such a constitutional entitlement
to the recovery of all prudent investments would be
directly contrary to the economic rationale underlying
utility rate regulation ard in direct contravention of this
Court’s definition of the rights of utility investors.

A. Appellants’ Interpretation Of Hope And Permian
Basin Violates The Basic Economic Tenets of Regu-
latory Law Which Are Intended To Mirror The

Competitive Marketplace.

Rate regulation is, in theory and in practice, hopefully,
the substitute for competition. Jersey Central Power &
Light v. FERC, 810 F.2d 1168, 1190 (D.C. Cir. 1987)

8 See Appellant’s Brief at pp. 2-3, footnote no. 2, for an explana-
tion of this term.

16

(Starr, concurring). Appellant’s interpretation of Hope
and Permian Basin creating a prudence-only standard
would prevent regulation from properly substituting for
competition. In a competitive marketplace, investors have
no constitutional entitlement to a return of or on prudent
investments which fail to produce economic results. If
rate regulation is performing its function as a substi-
tute for competition, the regulated entity, likewise, should
not be afforded a constitutional entitlement to a return
of or on prudent investments which never provide an
economic benefit to ratepayers. Jd. at 1190. Judge
Starr’s characterization of rate regulation as a substitute
for competition and his caution to examine both ends of
the continuum—both the prudence of the investment and
whether the end result of the investment was used and
useful—forms the crux of this amicus curiae brief in
opposition to the prudence-only standard advocated by
Appellants and the amici supporting Appellants.

The used and useful principle operates as a restraining
principle, reminding utility managers that they must
assume the risk of economic forces working against an
investment which is prudent at the time it is made.
810 F.2d 1190, fn.1. Without this “reminder” to utility
managers, no meaningful check would exist on managers’
decisions to plan and build excess generating capacity
and automatically pass the costs of that capacity on to
ratepayers. While prudence is a relevant issue in the
process of striking a reasonable balance in rate setting
for public utilities, the used and useful rule is another
safeguard. The prudence rule looks to the time of the
investment, whereas the used and useful rule looks to a
later time. These two principles are designed to assure
that the ratepayers, whose property might otherwise be
taken by regulatory authorities through approval of util-
ity rate increases, will not necessarily be saddled with the
results of management’s defalcations or mistakes, or as a
matter of simple justice, be required to pay for that

17

which provides the ratepayers with not discernible benefit.
Id, at 1190.

Without application of the used and useful principle to
offset the application of the prudence standard, the Con-
stitution would protect utility investors entirely from the
business risks experienced daily in the free market sys-
tem. These business risks are a component of the rate-
making process when regulatory bodies establish an au-
thorized overall rate of return for the utility. A business
in the private sector must constantly deal with the risk
of investing in too much capacity when the market does
not meet expectations due to economic factors beyond
management’s control. Absent a monopoly, a private
business cannot automatically increase prices to its cus-
tomers to recover a prudent but uneconomic expenditure,
since customers will switch to competitors’ products.
IECPA, ELCON and AISI are in full agreement with
Judge Starr’s statement that utilities should not be
exempt from comparable competitive economic forces.
Id. at 1191.

In the private competitive marketplace, prudence does
not guarantee a company economic success or a return of
or on its investment. Numerous private “prudent” com-
panies have gone bankrupt because of investments which
were prudent when made but which turned out to be poor
business or economic decisions. The regulatory system
already provides some relief to utilities from the threat
of bankruptcy for making uneconomic business decisions.
This Court should not ignore economic reality and entitle
utility investors to a return of or on investment which
does not produce used and useful utility property. If
such an investment were made in the private sector, no
such entitlement of a return would exist. Individual
members of IECPA, ELCON and AISI constantly make
prudent business decisions with the expectation that the
decision will represent a valid economic and business
judgment. Unfortunately, investments do not ~lways

18

achieve their desired expectations and shareholders must
absorb any resulting economic loss. This Court should
not place utility investors in a protective cocoon which
insulates them from valid business risks experienced by
unregulated entities.

Moreover, denial of recovery of a prudent investment
not used and useful for service to customers does not
constitute a taking of property by the state. No property
is taken since the private competitive marketplace it-
self denied any return. No property right exists en-
titling a regulated utility to recovery in excess of that
provided in the private, competitive, unregulated econ-
omy. Market Street Railway Co. v. Railroad Comm'n of
Calif., 324 U.S. 548, 566-67 (1945) (recovery not re-
quired where market forces, not the state, reduces the
value of property). Here, Appellants’ prudent invest-
ments were rendered uneconomic, and the plants can-
celled, as a result of market forces, not state action.
Pennsylvania’s decision to deny Appellants a recovery of
or on property that was not used and useful merely con-
firmed the operation of market forces. The purposes of
regulation is to deny utilities monopoly profits in excess
of that which a competitive marketplace would permit.
Here, Appellants attempt to manipulate the regulatory
system and this Court’s prior decisions to compel a re-
covery in excess of that which a competitive economy
would allow. This Court should not be manipulated so
as to create a constitutional standard which would man-
date the potential of monopoly profits for the utility
industry far in excess of what could be earned in the
competitive marketplace.

19

B. The Decisions By This Court And The Lower Fed-
eral Courts Before And After The Hope And Per-
mian Cases Confirm That The Continued Utilization
Of The Used And Useful Principle In Ratemaking
Is Consistent With This Court’s Holdings In Hope
And Permian.

The Appellants and amici supporting Appellants rely
upon a misapplication of this Court’s teachings in the
Hope and Permian Basin cases. Neither case held that
utility investors have a constitutional entitiement to the
recovery of all prudent investments without any con-
sideration of the used and useful principle. Appellants
seek to distort the Court’s holdings in these cases by
ignoring the “end result” of the case and by overturning
the Court’s opinion that “It is not theory but impact of
the rate order which counts.” Hope, 320 U.S. at 602.

Hope and Permian Basin clarified the Court’s ap-
proach to utility rate cases and utility investor expecta-
tions but did not override or overturn the used and use-
ful principle. In fact, Hope did not discuss the used and
useful principle when outlining this Court’s application
of the “just and reasonable” ratemaking standard.

In Hope, the Court refused to bind the Federal Power
Commission to the use of any single formula or combi-
nation of formulae in determining rates primarily be-
eause the ratemaking function involved the making of
pragmatic adjustments. 320 U.S. at 602; see also FPC
v. Natural Gas Pipeline Co., 315 U.S. 575 (1942). When
a ratemaking order is challenged in the courts, the ques-
tion under Hope is whether the order “viewed in its
entirety” meets the requirements of the statutory stand-
ard of “just and reasonable rates.” The result which is
obtained is the important factor and not the method em-
ployed in reaching that result. /d. The Appellants and
supporting amici in this proceeding would have this
Court focus entirely on one ratemaking item in a com-

20

plex rate proceeding which achieved the all important
result of just and reasonable rates.

In both Hope and Permian Basin, the Court held that
if the total effect of the rate order cannot be said to be
unjust and unreasonable, then judicial inquiry should
end. Even if the methods employed to reach a certain
result contain infirmities, the Court would not necessar-
ily conclude that the total effect of the rate order was in-
appropriate. Jd. The total effect of the rate order sub-
ject to this appeal on Duquesne Light Company resulted
in an 11.6% overall rate of return, a 16.14% return on
common equity, an annua! base rate increase in excess of
$105 Million, and total annual revenues in excess of
$800 Million. (App. 19C, 938C, 126C). For Duquesne
Light Company to contend that the disallowed $3.5 Mil-
lion annual amortization for the cancelled plant costs vio-
lated this Court’s teachings in Hope borders on the ri-
diculous. While Hope recognized the fixing of just and
reasonable rates involves a balancing of the investor and
consumer interests, the Duquesne Light Company in-
vestor interests in financial integrity were clearly served
even with the $3.5 Million annual amortization disal-
lowance.

The Hope court stated, “Rates which enable the com-
pany to operate successfully, to maintain its financial in-
tegrity, to attract capital, and to compensate its inves-
tors for the risks assumed certainly cannot be condemned
as invalid even though they might produce only a meager
return on the so called ‘fair value’ rate base.” 320 U.S.
at 605. Duquesne Light Company continues to operate
successfully, has maintained its financial integrity, its
ability to attract capital and has sufficiently compensated
its investors after the Pennsylvania Supreme Court dis-
allowed a return of and on its prudent investment in
cancelled generating plant. Therefore, all tests as stated
in Hope have been met and this Court should refrain
from establishing an additional constitutional entitle-

21

ment for those utility investors to recover all prudent
investment automatically without a treatment of the
other factors stated in Hope.°

While the Hope court established the above criteria, it
did not reject the used and useful doctrine or for-
bid its use by states or their ratemaking agencies when
balancing the interests of utility ratepayers and in-
vestors. Contrary to the assertions of the amici support-
ing the Appellants, the “used and useful’ doctrine did
not disappear or become unnecessary as a result of Hope.
It remained as a valid criteria for each state and each
ratemaking agency to consider when performing the
balancing of interests mandated by Hope. The lower fed-
eral and state courts have continued to apply the used
and useful doctrine and this Court continues to dismiss
appeals challenging its constitutionality. See Part II
below.

Similarly, in the Permian Basin Area Rate Cases,
eited so favorably by the Appellants and the supporting
amici, this Court never rejected the concept of the used
and useful principle. The Court merely clarified and
elaborated upon the Hope end result test by stating that
the reviewing court must determine whether the rate or-
der may be reasonably expected to maintain financial in-
tegrity, attract necessary capital, and fairly compensate
investors for the risks they have assumed, and yet pro-
vide appropriate protection to the relevant public inter-

®The other Appellant, Pennsylvania Power Company (Penn
Power), was authorized to charge a 15.72% return on common
equity, a 12.02% overall return on rate base, and received a $15.4
Million annual base rate increase bringing its total annual revenues
in excess of $184 Million. The Pennsylvania Supreme Court’s denial
of the annual amortization claim for the cancelled plants at issue
amounted to only $957,000. Despite the Pennsylvania Supreme
Court’s order, Penn Power has continued to operate successfully,
has maintained its financial integrity, and its ability to attract
capital.

22

ests, both existing and foreseeable. 390 U.S. at 792 (em-
phasis added).

Section 1315 of the Code and the Supreme Court of
Pennsylvania’s interpretation thereof allowed for con-
sideration of the present and the future public interest.
Rather than signalling to the regulated utility that any
prudent investment would produce a return of and on
that investment regardless of whether the investment
ever served the public, the Pennsylvania Supreme Court
chose to protect present and future ratepayers from such
an unwarranted constitutional entitlement. However, the
Pennsylvania Supreme Court did assure the Appellants
through other adjustments in its ratemaking process the
ability to attract necessary capital, maintain its financial
integrity and fairly compensate the utility investors for
the risks they had assumed. The fact that one particular
investment never produced used and useful public utility
property and the Court’s denial of a return of and on
that investment did not so damage the Appellants that
they could not continue to operate successfully. No case
ever decided by this Court or the lower federal courts
have bestowed a constitutional right for utility investors
to recover a return of and on any prudent investment
without consideration of any other factors.

Denver Union Stock Yard Co. v. U.S., 304 U.S. 470
(1938), established the boundaries of a utility investor’s
right to recover costs in a specific investment. The
Court stated that the due process clause of the Fifth
Amendment assures utility investors rates which are
sufficient to yield a reasonable rate of return on the value
of property used, at the time it is being used, to render
the services, but such rates cannot be per se excessive
and extortionate. 304 U.S. at 475. However, the Court
cautioned that the regulated entity is not entitled to have
included any property not “used and useful” for that
purpose. Jd. Just as the Court refrained from creating
an additional constitutional right to the return of or on

23

all prudent utility investment in the Denver Union Stock
Yard case, so should the Court refrain from conferring
such a substantial constitutional entitlement on the Ap-
peliants in this case.

The establishment of the used and useful principle in
the Denver Union Stock Yard case confirmed an extended
series of cases, all of which specifically refrained from
unreasonably expanding the constitutional entitlements
of utility investors. See Smyth v. Ames, 169 U.S. 466
(1898) ; Willcox v. Consolidated Gas Co., 212 U.S. 19
(1909) ; Minnesota Rate Cases, 230 U.S. 352 (1918);
Bluefield Waterworks & Improvement Co. v. Public Serv-
ice Comm’n, 262 U.S. 679 (1923); Board of Public Util-
ity Commissioners v. New York Telephone Co., 271 U.S.
23 (1926) ; Los Angeles Gas Corp. v. Railroad Commis-
ston, 289 U.S. 287 (1933) ; St. Joseph Stock Yards Co. v.
U.S., 298 U.S. 38 (1936).

} The lower federal courts have not chosen to expand the
interpretation of this extended line of cases based upon
the Court’s teachings in Hope and Permian. The novel
arguments raised by Appellants and the amici have not
been adopted by any court of which IECPA, ELCON or
AISI are aware. The used and useful principle “has
stood as a bedrock principle of utility rate regulation for
nearly a century” and should not be struck down by the
Court in a thinly veiled attempt, by the Appellants and
amici supporting the Appellants, to create a constitu-
tional entitlement to a return of or on every dollar in-
vested by regulated utilities without respect to whether
ratepayers are ever provided with any benefit from that
investment. Kentucky Utilities Co. v. FERC, 760 F.2d
1321, 1324 n.4 (D.C. Cir. 1985). States must retain the
discretion of employing the used and useful principle on
a case-by-case basis to decide whether a proper balancing
of ratepayer and shareholder interests requires or does
not require a return of or on prudent investment. Other-
wise, current ratepayers would bear more than the legiti-
mate costs of providing service to them.

24

The result sought by Appellants would be inconsistent
with the United States Court of Appeals for the District
of Columbia decision in Natural Gas Pipeline Co. v.
FERC, 765 F.2d 1155, 1157 (D.C. Cir. 1985), cert. de-
nied, 106 S. Ct. 794 (1986). That decision characterized
the “used and useful” principle as a “bedrock” of utility
regulation. It capsulized the principle as simply requir-
ing that costs associated with electric power plants be
paid by the ratepayers who benefit from the plant. 760
F.2d at 1324, fn.4. Ratepayers of the Appellants in this
proceeding will never benefit from the investments in
the cancelled nuclear plants in question and thus should
not be constitutionally required to bear the cost respon-
sibility of those investments.

The United States Court of Appeals for the District
of Columbia Circuit most recently addressed the constitu-
tional issues raised by the Appellants in Jersey Central
Power & Light Co. v. Federal Energy Regulatory Com-
mission, 810 F.2d 1168 (D.C. Cir. 1987) and confirmed
the constitutionality of employing the used and useful
test. After an extensive review of the standards estab-
lished in Hope and Permian Basin, the court characterized
those teachings as “straightforward”. Jd. at 1177. In
reviewing rate orders, the courts must determine whether
or not the end result of such orders constitute a reason-
able balancing, based on factual findings, of the investor
interests in maintaining financial integrity and access to
capital markets and the consumer interest in being
charged nonexploitative rates. Jd. at 1177-1178. While
the court concluded in Jersey Central that it was impos-
sible to answer the question of whether including the un-
amortized portion of cancelled plant in rate base would
exploit consumers in that case, or whether its exclusion,
on the facts in the case, constituted confiscation from the
utility, such a determination of the “central point” can
be made in the case which is the subject of this appeal.
Id. at 1181. The court specifically stated, “the Commis-

25

sion is not precluded from employing ‘used and useful’
or any other specific rate setting formula” and the case
was only remanded to the Federal Energy Regulatory
Commission because no hearing had been held consistent
with this Court’s directives in Hope and Permian. Basin.
The Jersey Central court went on to require the Commis-

sion to ensure that the resulting rate is just and reason-
able. Zd. at 1187.

The Jersey Central decision is also instructive on the
issue of what constitutes an unconstitutional taking of
utility investor property. In his concurring opinion,
Judge Starr indicated that such a taking occurs only
when a regulated rate is confiscatory, which is a short-
hand way of saying that an unreasonable balance has
been struck in the regulation process so as unreasonably

to favor ratepayer interests at the substantial expense of
investor interests.

Thus, in my view, a taking does not occur when
financial resources are committed to the enterprise.
That is especially so since the utility’s capital invest-
ment is made not simply in satisfaction of legal obli-
gations to provide service to the public, but in antic-
ipation of profits on the investment. The utility is
not a servant to the state; it is a for-profit enterprise
which incurs legal obligations in exchange for state-
conferred benefits. A profit-seeking capital invest-
ment is scarcely the sort of deprivation of possession,
use, enjoyment, and ownership of property which can
conceptually be deemed a taking. 7d. at 1189.

This Court should not now depart from its decisions in
Hope and Permian Basin as interpreted by the lower
federal courts in each of the proceedings discussed above.
No need exists for the establishment of a constitutional
entitlement in each and every utility investor to recover
a return of or on all prudent investments without regard
to the used and useful nature of those investments in pro-
viding public utility service.

26

Il. This Court Has Regularly Dismissed Proceedings
Which Have Raised The Identical Constitutional Ar-
guments Made By Appellants In This Case.

This Court’s dismissal of comparable proceedings ap-
plying the used and useful principle indicates it was not
overridden by Hope and that a utility investor’s alleged
right to the recovery of or on all prudent investments is
not of constitutional dimension.

Through a dismissal for want of a substantial federal
question, this Court has refused to reverse decisions on
the merits upholding Pennsylvania’s and other states’
denial of cost recovery on utility investment in nuclear
power plants out of service for an extended period due
to a nuclear accident. Pennsylvania Electric Co. v. Penn-
sylvania Public Utility Comm’n, 509 Pa. 324, 502 A.2d
130 (1985), appeal dismissed sub nom. Metropolitan
Edison Co. v. Pennsylvania Public Utility Comm’n, 476
U.S. 1137 (1986). See also Jersey Central Power &
Light Co. v. Board of Public Utilities, 466 U.S. 947
(1984). The Court dismissed several other cases, some
of which involved the same cancelled nuclear plants sub-
ject to this case. Cleveland Electric Illuminating Co. v.
Public Utilities Comm’n, 4 Ohio St.3d 107, 447 N.E.2d
746, appeal dismissed, 464 U.S. 802 (1983); Cleveland
Electric Illuminating Co. v. Public Utilities Comm’n,
No. 82-165 (Ohio, July 7, 1982), appeal dismissed, 459
U.S. 1094 (1983); Office of Consumers’ Counsel v. Pub-
lic Utilities Comm’n, 67 Ohio St.2d 153, 423 N.E.2d 820
(1981), appeal dismissed sub nom., Cleveland Electric
Illuminating Co. v. Office of Consumers’ Counsel, 455
U.S. 914 (1982); Northern Indiana Public Service Co.
v. Citizens Action Coalition of Indiana, Inc., 485 N.E.2d
610 (Ind. 1985), appeal dismissed and cert. denied, 476
U.S. 1137 (1986). These decisions confirm that Hope
did not reverse or override the application of the used
and useful principle.

The decision by the Pennsylvania Supreme Court to
deny the Appellants a return of and on its investment

sill

27

in the subject cancelled nuclear power plants was not
unique. The highest state court in Ohio reached an
identical result under its own public utility law and
this Court has dismissed three separate appeals which
argued that the denial of such cost recovery represented
an unconstitutional confiscation of property. One of those
dismissals, Cleveland Electric Illuminating Co. v. Public
Utilities Comm’n, 4 Ohio St.3d 107, 447 N.E.2d 746,
appeal dismissed, 464 U.S. 802 (1983) was for want of
a substantial federal question, thus, constituting a deci-
sion on the merits. See Meek v. Pittenger, 421 U.S. 349,
367 N. 16 (1975). The Court dismissed two other ap-
peals for lack of jurisdiction or lack of a properly pre-
sented federal question in Cleveland Electric Illuminating
Co. v. Public Utilities Comm’n, No. 82-165 (Ohio, July 7,
1982}, appeal dismissed, 459 U.S. 1094 (1983), and in
Office of Consumers’ Counsel v. Public Utilities Comm’n,
67 Ohio St.2d 153, 423 N.E.2d 820 (1981), anpeal dis-
missed sub nom., Cleveland Electric Illuminating Co. v.
Office of Consumers’ Counsel, 455 U.S. 914 (1982). This
Court most recently dismissed an appeal from the highest
court of the state of Indiana also addressing the denial
of recovery of cancelled plant costs. See Northern In-
diana Public Service Co. v. Citizens Action Coalition of
Indiana, Inc., 485 N.E.2d 610 (Ind. 1985), appeal dis-
missed and cert. denied, 476 U.S. 1137 (1986).

The Court’s action in these cases confirms that the
used and useful principle of utility regulation has a
continuing place in assuring utility’s ratepayers that
their interests are properly balanced with those of the
utility’s investors. Absent the used and useful principle,
the balance swings unconscionably to the side of the
utility investor and would result in ratepayers being
required to absorb the cost of any and all prudent invest-
ment made by the utilities regardless of whether that
investment ever provides any benefit to ratepayers.

28

CONCLUSION

The Fifth and Fourteenth Amendments do not con-
stitutionally require states to allow recovery of or on
prudently incurred investments, including, but not lim-
ited to, cancelled electric generating units without a
consideration of whether those investments constitute
used and useful utility property. The Court should re-
ject the Appellants’ contention that a prudence-only
standard is required by the Hope and Permian Basin
cases. In order for states to properly balance the inter-
ests of utility investors against utility ratepayers con-
sistent with the directives of Hope and Permian, the used
and useful principle must be continued for ratepayers’
protection. The balancing requirements of Hope and
Permian necessitate state discretion on a case-by-case
basis to deny or to allow a return of or on prudent
investment based on all the facts presented.

In any case, this Court should refrain from creating
an additional constitutional entitlement to utility in-
vestors which is not available to investors in the private
competitive marketplace. If the system of regulation is
to operate appropriately as a mirror of the competitive
marketplace, utility investors must expect to bear an
appropriate portion of the business risk inherent in
prudent managerial decisions regarding plant construc-
tion. These risks include the possibility of making a
prudent investment which never produces economic bene-
fits for ratepayers nor used and useful utility property.
In such events, a state must have the discretion of pur-
suing the appropriate balancing of interests between the
investor and the ratepaper by denying recovery of or on
property which is not used and useful for customer
service. Such denial does not confiscate constitutionally
protected property interests since the loss of value of
the investment for which recovery is denied resuits from
action of the free market rather than state regulation.
The utilities are not denied any recovery which they

as

29

would have received in a competitive market. Therefore,
Section 1315 of the Pennsylvania Public Utility Code and
the “unspecified ratemaking legislation” must be upheld
by this Court as being consistent with the Constitution
and this Court’s precedents in Hope and Permian Basin.

Respectfully submitted,

HENRY R. MACNICHOLAS

H. LEE ROUSSEL

DAVID M. KLEPPINGER *

MCNEES, WALLACE & NURICK

100 Pine Street

P.O. Box 1166

Harrisburg, PA 17108-1166

(717) 232-8000

Attorneys for industrial Energy
Consumers of Pennsylvania,
Electricity Consumers Resource
Council and American Iron and
Steel Institute

* Counsel of Record

June 30, 1988

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385012_0631%3A16. Public record. Not legal advice.
