# Amicus Curiae Brief — City of Richmond v. J. A. Croson Co.

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385012_0613%3A25

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1988
- **Citation:** 484 U.S. 1058

## Text

ee

Supreme Lourt, U3.

EILED
JUN 6 1988
No. 87-998
JOSEPH F. SPANIOL, JR.
- CLERK
In The —_

Supreme Court of the United States
October Term, 1987

%
4

CITY OF RICHMOND, VIRGINIA,

Appellant,
v.

J. A. CROSON COMPANY,
Appellee.

On Appeal from the United States
Court of Appeals for the Fourth Circuit

a.
_

BRIEF AMICUS CURIAE OF PACIFIC LEGAL
FOUNDATION IN SUPPORT OF APPELLEE

an +.
-

RONALD A. ZUMBRUN
*JOHN H. FINDLEY
*COUNSEL OF RECORD
Pacific Legal Foundation
555 Capitol Mall, Suite 350
Sacramento, California 95814
Telephone: (916) 444-0154

Attorneys for Amicus Curiae,
Pacific Legal Foundation

COCKLE LAW BRIEF PRINTING CO., (800) 225-6964
OR CALL COLLECT (402) 342-2831

TABLE OF CONTENTS

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES CITED
INTERESTS OF AMICUS
OPINION BELOW

STATEMENT OF THE CASE
SUMMARY OF THE ARGUMENT
ARGUMENT.

I TOSHOW THAT A RACE PREFERENTIAL
PLAN IS JUSTIFIED BY A COMPELLING
GOVERNMENTAL INTEREST, THE
STATE MUST FIRST MAKE A SHOWING
OF PRIOR DISCRIMINATION BY THE
GOVERNMENTAL UNIT INVOLVED

Il. MERE STATISTICAL EVIDENCE OF
SOCIETAL DISCRIMINATION IS NO’
SUFFICIENT TO SUSTAIN A RACIALLY
CONSCIOUS AFFIRMATIVE ACTION
PLAN

lil. A RACIAL CLASSIFICATION PLAN
DESIGNED TO REMEDY PAST ACTS OF
DISCRIMINATION MUST BE NARROWLY
TAILORED TO ACHIEVE THAT GOAL

CONCLUSION

il

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES CITED

Page
CASES
Associated General Contractors of California,

Inc. v. City and County of San Francisco,

813 F.2d 922 (9th Cir. 1987)......... 10, 11, 14, 15
Associated General Contractors of California v.

San Francisco Unified School District,

616 F.2d 1381 (9th Cir. 1980).................. 17
Firefighters Local Union No. 1784 v. Stotts,

G67 US. GER CROBED cc cdéccccsenceneneueee 15, 16
Fullilove v. Klutznick, 448 U.S. 448

CREEL 0 okndeceenesedeanee 6, 11, 12, 13, 15, 16
General Building Contractors Association, Inc.

v. Pennsylvania, 458 U.S. 375 (1982) ........ 13, 14
Hazelwood School District v. United States,

4339 UDB. SEO COG ehh ccccccctscoccunsesaee 9,10
Hirabayashi v. United States, 320 U.S. 81 (1943) ..... 6
International Brotherhood of Teamsters v.

United States, 431 U.S. 324 (1977).......... 10, 16
J. Edinger & Sons, Inc. v. City of Louisville,

Kentucky, 802 F.2d 213 (6th Cir. 1986)....... 7,11
Johnson v. Transportation Agency, 480 U.S. __,

04 L. BG. BS GES CEGSSD oc cccccccccusennentaeaal 10
Lovell v. City of Griffin, 303 U.S. 444 (1938) ....... 5
Loving v. Virginia, 388 U.S. 1 (1967) ............ 5, 6
Michigan Road Builders Association, Inc. v. Mil-

liken, 834 F.2d 583 (6th Cir. 1987) ............... 7
Personnel Administrator of Massachusetts v.

Feeney, 442 U.S.-256 (1979) ... 0... cccccccccnccces 6

eaiemeade ie

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES CITED —- Continued

Page
Regents of the University of California v. Bakke,
EE 5, 14, 18
Shelley v. Kraemer, 334 U.S. 1 (1948) .............. 6
Truax v. Raich, 239 U.S. SE 13
United States v. Paradise, 480 U.S. __, 94 L.
EE 4, & 14, 18
Wygant v. Jackson Board of Education, 476 U.S.
EE 4, 6, 7, 13, 15, 18
RULES
Supreme Court Rule No. 36............. ee. ol

MISCELLANEOUS

Ely, The Constitutionality of Reverse Racial Dis-
crimination, 41 U. Chi. L. Rev. 723 (1974).......15

> SF

No. 87-998

In The

Supreme Court of the United States
October Term, 1987

+.
7

CITY OF RICHMOND, VIRGINIA,
Appellant,

V.

J. A. CROSON COMPANY,
Appellee.

2S
-—

On Appeal from the United States
Court of Appeals for the Fourth Circuit

,%
vv

BRIEF AMICUS CURIAE OF PACIFIC LEGAL
FOUNDATION IN SUPPORT OF APPELLEE

+.
od

INTERESTS OF AMICUS

Pursuant to Supreme Court Rule No. 36, Pacific
Legal Foundation respectfully submits this brief
amicus curiae in support of appellee. Consent to the
filing of this brief has been granted by counsel for all
parties. Copies of the letters of consent have been
lodged with the clerk of this Court.

Pacific Legal Foundation is a nonprofit, tax-exempt
corporation, incorporated under the laws of California
for the purpose of participating in litigation affecting
public policy. Policy of the Foundation is set by a Board

-~

1

of Trustees composed of concerned citizens, the major-
ity of whom are attorneys. The Board of Trustees evalu-
ates the merits of any contemplated legal action and
authorizes such legal action only where the Founda-
tion’s position has broad support within the general
community. The Foundation’s Board of Trustees has
authorized the filing of a brief amicus curiae in this
matter.

Pacific Legal Foundation has participated in cases
which involved issues similar to that presented in this
matter. The Foundation’s public policy perspective and
litigation experience in support of individual liberties
will help provide this Court with additional argument
in which to view the holding of the Fourth Circuit
Court of Appeals in this matter.

a,
2

OPINION BELOW

The opinion of the United States Court of Appeals
for the Fourth Circuit is reported at 822 F.2d 1355
(4th Cir. 1987).

-.
se

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

This case presents the issue whether a city may
enact a plan in which minority contractors are guaran-
teed a fixed percentage of city funded construction con-
tract awards to remedy alleged discrimination, in the
absence of a showing by the city that it engaged in such
prior discrimination.

In April, 1983, the City Council of Richmond, Vir-
ginia (City), enacted a minority business utilization
plan which required that contractors on city construc-
tion projects subcontract at least 30% of the dollar
value of the contract to minority-owned business enter-
prises (MBEs) unless the city waived the requirement.
The plan was to terminate in 1988 at which time the
City Council could renew it or allow it to lapse. Only
nonminority prime contractors were required to comply
with the plan’s provisions. If a nonminority contractor
failed to meet the MBE requirement the contract would
be suspended or terminated unless a waiver was
granted.

In September, 1983, the City invited bids for the
installation of stainless steel urinals and water closets
in the city jail. J. A. Croson Co., not itself an MBE, was
the only bidder on the project. Contending it was
unable to locate any minority subcontractors except one
it considered unqualified, Croson requested a waiver of
the MBE requirement. The City denied the waiver
request. Croson informed the City that the cost of the
project would increase by $7,663.16, if it were required
to use the unqualified contractor. The City responded,
stating the minority subcontractor was qualified and
that Croson’s fixed bid could not be increased.

Soon thereafter, the City rebid the project and
invited Croson to submit a new bid. Croson sued in
District Court, arguing the City’s racial set-aside plan
was contrary to Virginia law governing competitive bid
procedures and that it violated the United States Con-
stitution. The District Court held the City’s plan was

consistent with both Virginia law and the federal Con-
stitution. A divided panel of the Court of Appeals
(Fourth Circuit) affirmed. This Court granted certiorari
in the Croson case and remanded it back to the Court of
Appeals for reconsideration in light of the United
States Supreme Court’s decision in Wygant v. Jackson
Board of Education, 476 U.S. 267 (1986), decided by
this Court after the Court of Appeals’ affirmance. Fol-
lowing reconsideration, the Court of Appeals held the
City’s racial preference plan must be invalidated, and
reversed the District Court’s decision.

..
A

SUMMARY OF THE ARGUMENT

This case involves the issue of whether a govern-
ment enacted affirmative action plan that grants
racially-based preferences violates the Fourteenth
Amendment of the United States Constitution.

Pacific Legal Foundation believes that the key to
the validity of such affirmative action plans lies in the
adequacy of the findings necessary to support the plan.
Absent a clear showing of racial discrimination, a gov-
ernmentally imposed racial preference is an arbitrary
and capricious act and itself constitutes invidious
discrimination.

The findings necessary to support an affirmative
action plan must clearly demonstrate discrimination. A
mere statistical disparity has never been held sufficient
by this Court and, furthermore, such statistical evi-
dence must be relevant and clearly define the nature of

the discrimination and the parties discriminated
against.

The remedy afforded by an affirmative action plan
must be narrowly tailored to correct the past discrimi-
natory acts particularized in the findings. The Four-
teenth Amendment protects individual rights and does
not countenance group preference merely to obtain
racial balance or attain other political as opposed to
constitutional objectives.

+.
. 4

ARGUMENT

I

TO SHOW THAT A RACE PREFERENTIAL
PLAN IS JUSTIFIED BY A COMPELLING
GOVERNMENTAL INTEREST, THE
STATE MUS™ FIRST MAKE A SHOWING
OF PRIOR DISCRIMINATION BY THE
GOVERNMENTAL UNIT INVOLVED

The Fourteenth Amendment to the United States
Constitution provides in pertinent part: “No State
shall... deny to any person within its jurisdiction the
equal protection of the laws.” City ordinances are con-
sidered state action for the purposes of this amend-
ment. Lovell v. City of Griffin, 303 U.S. 444, 450 (1938).

The Court has traditionally rejected distinctions
between citizens solely because of their ancestry as
being “ ‘odious to a free people whose institutions are
founded upon the doctrine of equality.’ ” Regents of the
University of California v. Bakke, 438 U.S. 265, 294
(1978) (quoting Loving v. Virginia, 388 U.S. 1, 11, 18

(1967), and Hirabayashi v. United States, 320 U.S. 81,
100 (1943)). This principle is inherent in the Equal
Protection Clause because the “rights created by the
first section of the Fourteenth Amendment are, by its

terms, guaranteed to the individual. The rights estab-
lished are personal rights.” Shelley v. Kraemer,
334 U.S. 1, 22 (1948).

Therefore, any official action that treats a person
differently on account of his race or ethnic origin is
inherently suspect and presumptively invalid, Fullilove
v. Klutznick, 448 U.S. 448, 496 n.1 (1980) (Powell, J.,
concurring), and can be upheld only upon an extraordi-
nary justification. Personnel Administrator of Massa-
chusetts v. Feeney, 442 U.S. 256, 272 (1979).

The sources of the justification must rest in the
discrimination sought to be corrected by the classifica-
tion. If no discrimination exists, amicus submits that a
preferential affirmative action plan enacted by a gov-
ernmental entity becomes racial discrimination out-
lawed by the Fourteenth Amendment.

This Court has held that government bodies may
constitutionally employ racial classifications essential
to remedy unlawful treatment of racial or ethnic groups
subject to discrimination. Wygant v. Jackson Board of
Education, 476 U.S. at 277, plurality opinion.
“[Rlemedying past or present racial discrimina-
tion . . . is a sufficiently weighty state interest to
warrant the remedial use of a carefully constructed
affirmative action program.” Wygant, 476 U.S. at 286

(O’Connor, J., concurring in part and concurring in

judgment). See also United States v. Paradise,
480 U.S. __, 94 L. Ed. 2d 203 (1987).

This Court has insisted, however, that there be
some showing of prior discrimination by the govern-
mental unit involved before allowing limited use of
racial classifications to remedy such discrimination.
Wygant, 476 U.S. at 274, plurality opinion. “Societal
discrimination, without more, is too amorphous a basis
for imposing a racially classified remedy.” Jd. at 276.

A government unit wishing to employ racial prefer-
ences may not act on the grounds of amorphous
assumptions of historical discrimination. To allow such
acts on so tenuous a finding would grant local govern-
ments unfettered discretion to adopt sweeping racial
preferences at their pleasure, irrespective of the need.
It is to guard against such abuse that this Court in
Wygant required the particularized findings of prior
discrimination. Jd.

Even if the City admitted to its own discrimination
against minority contractors this would not suffice to
meet the constitutional standard. Where the danger of
discrimination against nonminorities exists it is crucial
that there be evidence showing that the governmental
entity now seeking remedial action engaged in the prior
discriminatory acts. J. Edinger & Sons, Inc. v. City of
Louisville, Kentucky, 802 F.2d 213, 216 (6th Cir. 1986)
(citing Wygant, 476 U.S. at 276). See also Michigan
Road Builders Association, Inc. v. Milliken,
834 F.2d 583, 589 (6th Cir. 1987):

“Before a state may permissibly employ a racial or
ethnic classification . . . it must make a finding

based upon material factual evidence, that it has in
the past discriminated against classes it now
favors. If the state had not engaged in discrimina-
tion against racial and ethnic minorities in award-
ing contracts .. . in the past, then it cannot assert
in praesenti that it has a compelling interest in
preferring MBEs in the award of such contracts.”

In United States v. Paradise, 94 L. Ed. 2d at 203,
this Court reemphasized this need for a suitable basis.
Paradise upheld race-conscious relief imposed by the
District Court upon findings of discriminatory conduct.
The record in Paradise established that for four
decades the Alabama Department of Public Safety sys-
tematically excluded blacks from employment and pro-
motion. This Court held that the race conscious relief
imposed was amply justified.

In Croson, by contrast, the Richmond City Council’s
hearing failed to establish the basis for remedial
action. The proceedings revealed no record of prior dis-
crimination by the City in its award of public contracts.
Only conclusory and highly general statements made
by a member of the public (not in the construction
business), a city council member who supported the
plan, and the city manager were offered as a showing of
past discrimination. As the Court of Appeals observed:
“The plan was not supported by any impartial report,
any meaningful statistical evidence, or even by anecdo-
tal allegations of prior discrimination.” Croson,
822 F.2d at 1360. There was “no showing that qualified
minority contractors who submitted low bids were pas-
sed over or that qualified minority firms were excluded
from the bidding pool.” Jd. at 1359.

II

MERE STATISTICAL EVIDENCE OF
SOCIETAL DISCRIMINATION IS NOT
SUFFICIENT TO SUSTAIN A RACIALLY
CONSCIOUS AFFIRMATIVE ACTION
PLAN

The principal evidence cited by the City in support
of its racial preference program was statistical data
comparing the percentage of minority contracts granted
by the City with the total number of minority residents
in the community. The statistics, introduced to show a
discriminatory practice, indicated that while minorities
comprised 50% of Richmond’s population, minority-
owned firms had received only 0.67% of the dollar value
of Richmond’s prime contracts. Jd. at 1358.

Such use of general population statistics is insuffi-
cient to justify the type of preferential affirmative
action plan set forth by the City of Richmond. As this
Court held in Hazelwood School District v. United
States, 433 U.S. 299, 308 (1977):

“There can be no doubt. . . that the District Court’s
comparison of Hazelwood’s teacher work force to its
student population fundamentally misconceived
the role of statistics in employment discrimination
cases. The Court of Appeals was correct in the view
that a proper comparison was between the racial
composition of Hazelwood’s teaching staff and the
racial composition of the qualified public school
teacher population in the relevant labor market.”

In Croson the appropriate comparison should be
between the number of minority contracts awarded and
the number of qualified minority contractors available
in Richmond. Showing that a small number of city

10

contracts went to minority firms does not demonstrate
discrimination when, as both sides agreed, the number
of minority-owned contractors in Richmond was also
quite small. 822 F.2d at 1359.

While this Court has stated that statistics are com-
petent in proving employment discrimination their
usefulness depends on all of the surrounding facts and
circumstances. International Brotherhood of Teamsters
v. United States, 431 U.S. 324, 340 (1977). In Team-
sters, the comparison between the percentage of blacks
on the employer’s work force and the percentage of
blacks in the general areawide population was highly
probative because the job skill involved there—the abil-
ity to drive a truck—is one that many persons possess or
can fairly readily acquire.

When special qualifications are required to fill par-
ticular jobs, however, comparisons to the general popu-
lation may have little probative value. Hazelwood
School District v. United States, 433 U.S. at 308. See
also Johnson v. Transportation Agency, 480 U.S. __
94 L. Ed. 2d 615, 631 (1987). Here the city was put on
notice that under state law it was unlawful to engage
in, or offer to engage in, general contracting or sub-
contracting in the state on a job of $40,000 or more
without being duly licensed under Title 54, Chapter 7 of
the Code of Virginia, a class A license contractor
requirement. Joint Appendix at 32.

Other circuits have similarly rejected the use of
general population statistics to establish discrimina-
tion patterns. See Associated General Contractors of
California, Inc. v. City and County of San Francisco,

11

813 F.2d 922, 930 (9th Cir. 1987), and J. Edinger and
Son, Inc. v. City of Louisville, Kentucky, 802 F.2d 213.
In Edinger, the court held that a large discrepancy
between the percentage of minority residents in the
county and the percentage of business conducted with
minority-owned businesses by the city was insufficient
to support a minority vendors’ ordinance according
preference in bidding on supply and service contracts
with the city to minority-owned businesses. The funda-
mental flaw in the comparison is that the general pub-
lic does not bid on city contracts, only contractors do.
Id. at 215-16. As the court noted, “reliance upon gen-
eral population statistics is especially troubling given
that bid systems, by definition, are inherently non-
discriminatory.” Jd. at 216. Thus, the City should be
required to present evidence of invidious discrimina-
tion against minority-owned businesses in order to jus-
tify the preferential treatment afforded minority
vendors. Id.

Having failed to adduce evidence of its own dis-
crimination sufficient to justify its race based program,
City attempts to compensate by an attack on the pro-
gram’s victims. Thus City claims that its council “was
aware that there has been pervasive racial discrimina-
tion in the nation’s construction industry.” Brief of
appellant at 6. For this proposition City cites Fullilove,
448 U.S. at 477-78, as “finding that Congress had
‘abundant evidence’ of racial discrimination in the con-
struction industry to support its remedial action.” Brief
of appellant at 6-7.

12

This is a disingenuous reading of the Fullilove
holding. That statement came in the context of a dis-
cussion of state action that had a discriminatory impact
in perpetuating the effects of past discrimination.
Indeed, the fuller and more accurate quotation is:
“Congress had abundant evidence from which it could
conclude that minority businesses have been denied
effective participation in public contracting oppor-
tunities by procurement practices that perpetuated the
effects of prior discrimination.” Fullilove, 448 U.S.
at 477-78. The context makes clear that the Court was
referring to discrimination by state and local govern-
ment through their procurement practices. If City did
not discriminate in its procurement practices it has no
compelling governmental interest in enacting a race-
based “remedy.”

The referenced paragraph in Fullilove also holds
that Congress “may legislate without compiling the
kind of ‘record’ appropriate with respect to judicial or
administrative proceedings.” Jd. at 478. It is plain that
the Court was extending exceptional deference to the
unique powers of Congress. “It is fundamental that in
no organ of government, state or federal, does there
repose a more comprehensive remedial power than in
the Congress, expressiy charged by the Constitution
with competence and authority to enforce equal protec-
tion guarantees.” Jd. at 483.

Yet it is apparent that the Court was not altogether
comfortable with a race preference program, even one
adopted under the special powers reposed by the Con-
stitution in the Congress. Nonetheless, the Court
stated: “That the program may press the outer limits of

13

congressional authority affords no basis for striking it
down.” 7d. at 490.

If a program adopted by Congress under the Spend-
ing, Commerce, and Fourteenth Amendment enforce-
ment powers may press the outer limits of authority in
adopting a 10% set-aside, surely these limits have been
shattered by the City’s adoption of a 30% quota based
solely on its police powers. Truax v. Raich, 239 U.S. 33,
41 (1915), specifically rejected the adequacy of the
police power as authority to enact race-based quotas.

Unable to present evidence of past discrimination
in Richmond, City attempts to use Fullilove as a crutch
to bolster that burden. City reads Fullilove as finding
distrimination nationwide in construction contracting,
thereby authorizing every hamlet in the land to adopt
its own race preference program without further proof.
This key tenet of City’s dogma was rejected by this
Court in General Building Contractors Association, Inc.
v. Pennsylvania, 458 U.S. 375 (1982). There a state,
together with a class of minority group members, citing
a pattern and practice of racial discrimination, sought
and obtained an order from the District Court directing
nonmincrity contractors to meet detailed minority utili-
zation goals. This Court reversed, holding that minor-
ity hiring goals may not be imposed upon contractors
absent a supportable finding of liability. Jd. at 400.
Read together, Wygant and General Building Contrac-
tors require a city that imposes a race-based sub-
contracting requirement on its public contracts to make
two showings. First, the City must prove that it dis-
criminated against each of the now preferred groups.

14

Second, the City must prove that the impacted non-
minority contractors discriminated against each of the
preferred groups.

General Building Contractors further rejected the
racially disproportionate impact theory that forms the
sole basis here for City’s program. 458 U.S. at 390. That
case makes clear that if a state or local governmental
entity seeks to enact a race preference program, it must
go beyond numerical disparity and find intentional dis-
crimination on the part of those upon whom it intends
to thrust the burden of the program. In its narrow
reliance on a disparity between the percentage of
minority population and the percentage of prime con-
tracts awarded to minorities, the City of Richmond has
failed to meet the General Building Contractors
standards.

Ii!

A RACIAL CLASSIFICATION PLAN
DESIGNED TO REMEDY PAST ACTS OF
DISCRIMINATION MUST BE NARROWLY
TAILORED TO ACHIEVE THAT GOAL

Even if this Court were to find there existed suffi-
cient evidence to establish a finding of prior discrimina-
tion, the City’s racial preference program fails on the
grounds it is not narrowly tailored to address findings
of past discrimination. “Race-conscious distinctions
must be narrowly tailored to eliminate the conse-
quences of past discrimination.” Associated General
Contractors of California, Inc. v. City and County of
San Francisco, 813 F.2d at 934 (citing Bakke, 438 U.S.
at 299 (opinion of Powell, J.)); Paradise, 94 L. Ed. 2d

15

at 203 (plurality opinion) and at 220 (O’Connor, J.,
dissenting); Wygant, 476 U.S. at 274 (plurality opinion);
Fullilove, 448 U.S. at 484 (opinion of Burger, C. J.).
This means that the classification adopted must “ ‘fit’
with greater precision than any alternative means.”
Associated General Contractors of California, Inc. v.
City and County of San Francisco, 813 F.2d at 935
(quoting Wygant, 476 U.S. at 280 n.6 (plurality opin-
ion)) (citing Ely, The Constitutionality of Reverse Racial
Discrimination, 41 U. Chi. L. Rev. 723, 727 n.26
(1974)).

To begin with, the definition of minority owned
businesses is not narrowly tailored to the remedying of
the alleged past discrimination. The Richmond plan
defines minority group members as citizens of the
United States who are Blacks, Spanish-speaking, Ori-
entals, Indians, Eskimos, or Aleuts. Croson, 822 F.2d
at 1361. Yet the City has made no showing of past
discrimination against each of those particular minor-
ity groups. In the words of Wygant: “ ‘There is no
explanation of why the Board chose to favor these par-
ticular minorities or how in fact members of some of the
categories can be identified.” ” Quoted in Croson,
822 F.2d at 1361.

The lack of narrow tailoring is further emphasized
by the fact that the plan makes no attempt to limit its
benefits to those specific individual members of minor-
ity groups that have in fact been injured by past dis-
crimination. See Firefighters Local Union No. 1784 uv.
Stotts, 467 U.S. 561, 578-79 (1984). The favored classes
of minorities are defined here not in terms of past

16

injury but rather as those businesses owned and con-
trolled by one or more minority persons.

Stotts notes that International Brotherhood of
Teamsters v. United States, 431 U.S. at 367-71, makes
clear “that mere membership in the disadvantaged
class is insufficient to warrant a seniority [here con-
tract preference] award; each individual must prove
that the discriminatory practice had an impact on him.”
Stotts, 467 U.S. at 579. This was also the holding of the
lead opinion in Fullilove which declared that any plan
of this type must prevent unjust participation in the
program by those minority firms whose access to public
contracting is not impaired by the effects of prior dis-
crimination. 448 U.S. at 482 (opinion of Burger, C. J.).
The lack of such safeguards here indicates that the
program at issue is not designed to remedy past dis-
crimination, but rather to promote the economic inter-
ests of certain classes.

This suspicion is reinforced by the fact that the
30% “goal” has no relation to the number of qualified
minority contractors in the Richmond area. One of the
more troubling aspects of this case is that apparently
the City made no effort to determine the number of
licensed minority contractors before adopting its pro-
gram. It merely selected an arbitrary figure it now
claims was approximately midway between the 1% of
city contracts awarded to minorities and the 50% of
minorities in Richmond. Brief of appellant at 45.

As the Court of Appeals observed: “General popula-
tion statistics suggest, if anything, more of a political
than a remedial basis for the racial preference.”

-_-—- -—--=— ee — —————————

17

Croson, 822 F.2d at 1358-59. The court sounded the
compelling warning that “[i]f this plan is held to be
valid, then local governments will be free to adopt
sweeping racial preferences at their pleasure, whether
those preferences are legitimate remedial measures or
bald dispensations of public funds and employment
based on the politics of race.” Id. at 1357-58.

It is precisely to avoid the award of public contracts
on a political basis that most states have adopted stat-
utes mandating competitive bidding. Such statutes are
designed to protect the public by preventing public
officials from awarding contracts uneconomically on the
basis of “special friendship,” thereby protecting tax-
payers from corruption and waste of public funds. Asso-
ciated General Contractors of California v. San
Francisco Unified School District, 616 F.2d 1381, 1391
(9th Cir. 1980).

Setting the goal of awarding 30% of City contract
dollars to a preferred class of contractors, far out of
proportion to their presence in the contracting commu-
nity, carries “special friendship” in the name of politics
to an impermissible extreme. Because the Richmond
plan is not tailored to remedy past discrimination, it is
itself discrimination on the basis of race and violates
the Equal Protection Clause of the Fourteenth
Amendment.

.

18

CONCLUSION

In finding that the Richmond plan violated the
Equal Protection Clause of the Fourteenth Amendment,
the Court of Appeals upheld the principles of Wygant
which firmly established that a government-enacted
racial preference program is not to be tolerated in the
absence of evidence of actual discrimination.

Eradicating vestiges of racial discrimination is a
legitimate and substantial interest of the state. But,
this Court has never approved of a classification that
aids persons perceived as members of relatively vic-
timized groups at the expense of other innocent individ-
uals in the absence of judicial, legislative, or
administrative findings of constitutional or statutory
violations. Regents of the University of California v.
Bakke, 438 U.S. at 307 (opinion of Powell, J.).

A particularized finding of discrimination must be
made so that the interests of innocent nonminorities
will not be invaded without valid justification. “The
guarantee of equal protection cannot mean one thing
when applied to one individual and something else
when applied to a person of another color. If both are
not accorded the same protection, then it is not equal.”
Id. at 289.

Because the ordinance operates to discriminate
against nonminority contractors under the unfounded
guise of remedying discrimination against minorities
and is not narrowly drawn to remedy the perceived
problem, amicus urges that this Court affirm the deci-
sion of the Court of Appeals finding that the Richmond

19

ordinance violates the Equal Protection Clause of the
Fourteenth Amendment.

DATED: June, 1988.

Respectfully submitted,

RONALD A. ZUMBRUN

*JOHN H. FINDLEY
*COUNSEL OF RECORD
Pacific Legal Foundation
555 Capitol Mall, Suite 350
Sacramento, California 95814
Telephone: (916) 444-0154

Attorneys for Amicus Curiae,
Pacific Legal Foundation

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385012_0613%3A25. Public record. Not legal advice.
