# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — FortStewart Schools v. FLRA

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385012_0572%3A02

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1990
- **Citation:** 495 U.S. 641

## Text

the dhuperme Count of the Waniteh States

Octoser TERM, 1989 -
:. Fort STEWART SCHOOLS, PETITIONER 4
._ FEDERAL LABOR RELATIONS AUTHORITY AND J
| Fort STEWART ASSOCIATION OF EDUCATORS E
7 PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI Ss
4 TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS f
FOR THE ELEVENTH CIRCUIT :
>
: |
; WILLIAM C. BRYSON ;
S Acting Solicitor General 4
STUART E. SCHIFFER .
Acting Assistant Attorney General
; DAVID L, SHAPIRO
Deputy Solicitor General
CHRISTOPHER J, WRIGHT :
Assistant to the Solicitor General
a. WILLIAM KANTER
_*. Attorneys
g Depattment of Justice ;
. Washington, D.C. 20530 |
(202) 633-2217 ‘

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Whether the wages and money-related fringe bene-
fits of federal employees whose rate of compensation is
not entirely fixed by statute are negotiable “conditions of
employment” under 5 U.S.C. 7103(a).

2. Whether compensation-related proposals—such as
the Union’s proposal in this case to raise the salaries of
employees at two schools for dependents of Army person-
nel by 13.5% —are non-negotiable because they interfere
with an agency’s management right under 5 U.S.C.
7106(a)(1) to set the agency’s budget. -

3.. Whether the Union’s proposals in this case are non- .
negotiable under 5 U.S.C. 7117 because they are “the sub-
ject of [an] agency rule or regulation” for which there is a
“compelling need.”

(I)

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
Nel ivvin nna iceVnvabb ddcddsecasescocccncc l
ERE E CEU ag dee ebck sede deevecsedacccccce 1
Statutory and regulatory provisions involved ............... 2
EE EEE ESTE TTTTE TET 5
Reasons for granting the petition .....................4655. ll
Conclusion .......... Read taieWereesccsceeecveveeesceees 22
Appendix A .... 22... cece eee cece reece cece ceeeneecess la
EE ES OS 3la
EES Dee ie wc asdsecsoccccccceces SSa
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Cases:

Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco and Firearms v. FLRA, 464
Te ei ak cwekbcceseces 6

Chevron U.S.A. v. Natural Resources Defense Council,
cnc cceccsccccesceces 15

Department of Defense Dependents Schools v. FLRA,

863 Fl2d 988 (D.C. Cir. 1988), reh’g en banc granted
Ces cc cbey cscs sandhe obicce 11, 12, 14,
15, 16, 17, 18

Department of the Navy, Military Sealift Command v.
FLRA, 836 F.2d 1409 (3d Cir. 1988) .............. mone, 62,
13, 16-17, 18

Department of the Treasury, Bureau of Engraving and
Printing v. FLRA, 838 F.2d 1341 (D.C. Cir. 1988) ...11, 13-14

FLRA vy. Aberdeen Proving Ground, Department of the

ED ccc ccc ccccccccccess 6
Fort Knox Dependent Schools v. FLRA, No. 87-3395

Ce eee * ee ae 11, 12,

13, 14, 18, 20

INS v. Cardoza-Fonseca, 480 U.S. 421 (1987) .......... 17
National Federation of Federal Employees v. FLRA, 789

i Sa cck ccc ccc cece. 7

Nuclear Regulatory Commission v. FLRA, 859 F.2d 302
(4th Cir. 1988), reh’g en banc granted (Jan. 6, 1989)... 11, 12

(11)

“Te oe noon.”
—..,
V
Cases — Continued: Page Statutes and regulation — Continued: Page
United States Department of Defense Dependent Schools, SE nk LGWadeed SeCdesbateesceweued 3, 8, 9, 10,
Fort Bragg v. FLRA, 838 F.2d 129 (4th Cir. 1988) ..... 11, 12 13, 20, 21, 22
West Point Elementary School Teachers Association v. ED vnc ccccosecnenenccessceessente 3, 5, 20, 21
FEBA, COP ESE SOCOM. ONY +02 0000. -orveen. a has GR ARIS ISSIR ES oa 4, 8, 21
Statutes and regulation: ‘ ry ee ll, .
Act of 2... 3, 1985, Pub. L. No. 99-167, § 824, 99 Stat. I. occ poccwcenccecéscocecensesedens
RSE PA, SA ye CRE RA eae Cc eae 14 on nn nck n5eheanseseenae neéaat 11
Civil Servi.e Reform Act of 1978: Amt TR, TEErO CABG occ ccc ccccvccccccccccceesss 4, 8, 20
REE SS a ee 5
De IE Sa cc vccccvccccccccsss 16 Miscellaneous:
5 U.S.C, 5343(a) note (§ 704(a)) ....... 66. cee, 16 I oe ls 2 Nedenscuunes 17
5 U.S.C. 5343(b) note (§ 704(b)) ..... 2... 6... 16 PETG de dvntececcevesesss SxtGeeceneuuns 17, 18
PE PIES a SSE S664 64sec vccvocsencscnen 11, 14 Pre TT Terr etre r se ee TT 17
5 U.S.C. 7101 ef seg. ........ eben eee eeeeeeneees 6 asd oda nnd cds 6 xend barman Seen 17, 18
De avon 50s oés cvcvecenancumabl 2, 6 S BOPP rrr 17
Fis be resccvdeventddnccceuseaées 2,14 Es evo ncapak assontsanracagnsveceees 17
Fn oie k 60060 sseedecésdeckouxaue 2 EN, cas 0i cde icdiccdisessvecddeseiaets 17
5 U.S.C. TIOS(aM12) 0... eee eee eee eee 6 ee ees cas ie cerseseaneesuns 17
5 U.S.C. 7103(a)(14) TREREELUESERELERELETE. Cree 2, 9, 14 124 Cong. Rec. H9638 (daily ed. Sept. 13, 1978) ae et 18
PED. 5. cs wcedewcccéebbeeds 2 291. 3CF.R. 127(1982) 0
SUM ooo cocci sees eccccccecces: 6 Exec. Onder Ne. $2,208, 3C-0.R. 57 (5985)........----
DF is occ dées tncccevecdcaéccenn 7 House Comm. on Post Office and Civil Service, Sub-
DT oO iss. dnb dneddidesWaenawekes 2, 19 comm. on Postal Personnel and Modernization, 96th
a ons dv 56bs 0s tia cessceen 8 Cong., Ist Sess., Legislative History of the Federal
ST ae a 6 Service Labor-Management Relations Statute (1979) . . 17
PN in. seb ds4 ded cddcbaceavecesbes 17 H.R. Rep. No. 1403, 95th Cong., 2d Sess. (1978) ........ 17
5 U.S.C. I i itl nee Be ee ee 6 , a 17
Sn ec eccian seus cus eae 2,7 S. Rap. Fae. SEP, SOEs pis Se Seems CPV
ee 2,7,8
f Ea Ss nee aren oe meen | 3,7
ob awecsescaunies 6
as i %% 6
i een wunaden 7 ‘
Ps SED «og ccawedbccisccevevsas 7
EE a er eS 6
National Labor Relations Act, 29 U.S.C. 158(d)........ 16
Pe kG a sarc won ceeae intinebie nied <0 11, 13
’ _

In the Supreme Court of the Gnited States

OCTOBER TERM, 1989

No.
Fort STEWART SCHOOLS, PETITIONER
Vv.

FEDERAL LABOR RELATIONS AUTHORITY AND
Fort STEWART ASSOCIATION OF EDUCATORS

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE ELEVENTH CIRCUIT

The Acting Solicitor General, on behalf of the Fort
Stewart Schools, petitions for a writ of certiorari to review
the decision of the United States Court of Appeals for the
Eleventh Circuit in this case.

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the court of appeals (App., infra,
la-30a) is reported at 860 F.2d 396. The decision of the
Federal Labor Relations Authority (App., infra, 31a-54a)
is reported at 28 F.L.R.A. 547.

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the court of appeals was entered on
November 21, 1988. A timely petition for rehearing was
denied on February 17, 1989 (App., infra, 55a-56a). On
May 11, 1989, Justice Kennedy extended the time for filing
a petition for a writ of certiorari to and including July 17,
1989. The jurisdiction of this Court is invoked under 28
U.S.C. 1254(1).

(1)

2

STATUTORY AND REGULATORY PROVISIONS INVOLVED

A. The Federal Service Labor-Management Relations Statute

Section 7102 (5 U.S.C.) provides in relevant part:
Each employee shall have the right * * *

* * * * *

(2) to engage in collective bargaining with re-

spect to conditions of employment through rep- —

resentatives chosen by employees under this
chapter.

Section 7103 (5 U.S.C.) provides in relevant part:
(a) For the purpose of this chapter —

* * * * *

(14) “conditions of employment” means per-
sonnel policies, practices, and matters, whether
established by rule, regulation, or otherwise, af-
fecting working conditions, except that such
term does not include policies, practices, and
matters

* * af ad *

(C) to the extent such matters are specifi-
cally provided for by Federal statute[.]

Section 7106(a)(1) (S U.S.C.) provides:
(a) Subject to subsection (b) of this section, nothing

in this chapter shall affect the authority of any man-
agement official of any agency —

(1) to determine the mission, budget, organiza-
tion, number of employees, and internal security
practices of the agency.

Section 7117 (S U.S.C.) provides in relevant part:

(a)(1) Subject to paragraph (2) of this subsection,
the duty to bargain in good faith shall, to the ex-

3

tent not inconsistent with any Federal law or any
Government-wide rule or regulation, extend to
matters which are the subject of any rule or regu-
lation only if the rule or regulation is not a
Government-wide rule or regulation.

(2) The duty to bargain in good faith shall, to
the extent not inconsistent with Federal law or
any Government-wide rule or regulation, extend
to matters which are the subject of any agency
rule or regulation referred to in paragraph (3) of
this subsection only if the Authority has deter-
mined under subsection (b) of this section that no
compelling need (as determined under regula-
tions prescribed by the Authority) exists for the
rule or regulation.

B. The dependents schools statute and regulation

Section 241 (20 U.S.C.) provides in relevant part:
(a) In the case of children who reside on Federal
property —

7 =: = + *

the Secretary shall make such arrangements (other
than arrangements with respect to the acquisition of
land, the erection of facilities, interest, or debt serv-
ice) as may be necessary to provide free public educa-
tion for such children. * * * To the maximum extent
practicable, the local educational agency, or the head
of the Federal department or agency, with which any
arrangement is made under this section, shall take
such action as may be necessary to ensure that the
education provided pursuant to such arrangement is
comparable to free public education provided for
children in comparable communities in the State, or,

4

in the case of education provided under this section
outside the continental United States, Alaska, and
Hawaii, comparable to free public education provid-
ed for children in the District of Columbia. For the
purpose of providing such comparable education,
personnel may be employed and the compensation,
tenure, leave, hours of work, and other incidents of
the employment relationship may be fixed without re-
gard to the Civil Service Act and rules * * *.

(e) To the maximum extent practicable, the Secre-
tary shall limit the total payments made pursuant to
any such arrangement for educating children within
the continental United States, Alaska, or Hawaii, to
an amount per pupil which will not exceed the per
pupil cost of free public education provided for
children in comparable communities in the State. The
Secretary shall limit the total payments made pur-
suant to any such arrangement for educating children
outside the continental United States, Alaska, or
Hawaii, to an amount per pupil which will not exceed
the amount he determines to be necessary to provide
education comparable to the free public education
provided for children in the District of Columbia.
Army Reg. 352-3, 1-7 provides:
Comparison factors. Education provided pursuant to
the provisions of Section 6 for children residing on
Federal property will be considered comparable to
free public education offered by selected communities
of the State when the following factors are, to the
maximum extent practicable, equal:

a. Qualifications of professional and nonprofes-
sional personnel.

b. Pupil-teacher ratios.

5

c. Curriculum for grades offered, including
kindergarten and summer school, if applicable.

d. Accreditation by State or other accrediting
association.

e. Transportation services (student and support).

f. Length of regular and/or summer term(s).

g. Types and numbers of professional and non-
professional positions.

h. Salary schedules.

i. Conditions of employment.

j. Instructional equipment and supplies.

STATEMENT

Fort Stewart, an Army base in Georgia, operates two
elementary schools for dependents of military and civilian
personnel. The Fort Stewart Association of Educators (the
Union) is the bargaining representative for approximately
100 professional and nonprofessional employees of the
Fort Stewart Schools. Unlike most federal employees,
teachers and cther personnel at dependents schools are not
classified and paid under the “General Schedule” set forth
at 5 U.S.C. 5332. Rather, the dependents schools statute,
20 U.S.C. 241(a), directs the Army to provide an educa-
tion comparable to that provided at public schools in the
State and states that “[flor the purposes of providing such
comparable education, * * * compensation * * * may be
fixed without regard to the Civil Service Act and rules.”

At issue here are three Union proposals relating to em-
ployee compensation, including a proposal (Proposal 2)
that “the salary increase for all bargaining unit members
will be 13.5%.” App., infra, 2a n.2.' The Fort Stewart

' The other two proposals are quite lengthy and contain numerous
subparts. Proposal 3 relates to the circumstances under which em-
ployees are provided paid and unpaid leave. Proposal | addresses a

6

Schools declined to bargain over the proposals, contend-
ing that they are not negotiable under Title VII of the Civil
Service Reform Act of 1978, 5 U.S.C. 7101 et seg., known
as the Federal Service Labor-Management Relations
Statute (the Statute). The Federal Labor Relations
Authority rejected this contention, and its conclusion that
the proposals are negotiable was upheld by the Eleventh
Circuit.

1. The Statute provides a “comprehensive * * *
scheme governing labor relations between federal agencies
and their employees.” Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco and
Firearms v. FLRA, 464 U.S. 89, 91 (1983). Among other
things, the Statute expressly recognizes the right of federal
employees to form and join unions (see, e.g., 5 U.S.C.
7102), and imposes upon management officials of federal
agencies a general duty to bargain with their employees’
unions over “conditions of employment.” See FLRA v.
Aberdeen Proving Ground, Department of the Army, 108
S. Ct. 1261 (1988); Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco and
Firearms v. FLRA, 464 U.S. at 92; 5 U.S.C. 7103(a)(12),
7114, 7116(a)(S), 7117.

The Statute provides that if, during bargaining, man-
agement officials decline to negotiate over a particular
proposal submitted by a union, believing “that the duty to
bargain in good faith does not extend to [such] matter” (5
U.S.C. 7117(c)(1)), the union may file a negotiability ap-
peal with the Federal Labor Relations Authority. See 5
U.S.C. 7105(a)(2)(E), 7117(c). The FLRA’s rulings on
negotiability are reviewable in the courts of appeals. See 5
U.S.C. 7123.

In contrast to the National Labor Relations Act, a deci-
sion that a particular proposal is negotiable under the

variety of subjects, including such matters as summer school salaries
and reimbursement for use of personal vehicles for school business.
App., infra, 21a-30a.

7

Statute does more than simply require the parties to
bargain in good faith. If negotiations reach an impasse,
“either party may request the Federal Service Impasses
Panel to consider the matter” (5 U.S.C. 7119(b)(1)), and
the Panel may resolve the dispute by ordering the incor-
poration of the contested proposal into the collective
bargaining agreement. 5 U.S.C. 7119(c)(5)(B)(iii); see Na-
tional Federation of Federal Employees v. FLRA, 789
F.2d 944, 945 (D.C. Cir. 1986).

2. The Army contended that the proposals at issue
were non-negotiable for three reasons. First, it argued that
proposals relating to employee compensation do not con-
cern “conditions of employment” since the Statute limits
the definition of that phrase to “personnel policies, prac-
tices, and matters * * * affecting working conditions.”

Second, the Army argued that the proposals were non-
negotiable under the “management rights” provision of the
Statute (5 U.S.C. 7106), a provision that further limits the
scope of negotiations. As relevant to this case, that provi-
sion states that “nothing in this chapter shall affect the
authority of any management official of any agency —(1)
to determine the * * * budget * * * of the agency.” The
Army claimed that the proposals at issue — particularly the
proposal to raise employees’ salaries by 13.5% — would in-
terfere with its right to determine its budget.

Third, the Army relied on a provision of the Statute (5
U.S.C. 7117) stating that the duty to bargain does not ex-
tend to proposals that are “inconsistent with any Federal
law or any Government-wide rule or regulation” (5 U.S.C.
7117(a)(1)), and that the duty to bargain extends to pro-
posals that are “the subject of any agency rule or regula-
tion * * * only if the Authority has determined * * * that
no compelling need (as determined under regulations pre-
scribed by the Authority) exists for the rule or regulation”
(S U.S.C. 7117(a)(2)). Another law, the dependents

schools statute (20 U.S.C. 241(e)) provides that “[t]o the
maximum extent practicable,” expenditures at dependents
schools should be limited “to an amount per pupil which
will not exceed the per pupil cost of free public education
provided for children in comparable communities in the
State.” In implementing that law, the Army has provided
by regulation that, “to the maximum extent practicable,”
salary schedules at dependents schools should be the same
as salary schedules at comparable public schools in the
State. Army Reg. 352-3, 1-7(h). The Army contended that
the proposals at issue conflicted with Section 241 and its
implementing regulation, and declined to negotiate for
that reason as well.

3. With the exception of three minor subparts of the
proposals, the FLRA rejected the Army’s arguments.” The
FLRA first noted that it had previously rejected the argu-
ment that compensation is not a riegotiable “condition{ ]
of employment.” App., infra, 35a. It next held that the
Army had not established that the Union’s proposals
would infringe on the Army’s right to determine its budget
because the Army had not shown that the inclusion of any
or all of the proposals in the collective bargaining agree-
ment would “result in significant and unavoidable in-

> The FLRA held that two of the 15 subparts of Proposal | were not
negotiable because they were inconsistent with federal law. (Subparts
L and M propose that the schools provide free health and life in-
surance, but federal law limits the amount the schools may contribute
toward health insurance and specifically requires union members to
contribute toward life insurance. The FLRA therefore held those sub-
parts non-negotiable under Section 7117(a)(1). App., infra, 41a. The
FLRA also held that Section F of Proposal 3, which proposed that
leave without pay “may be approved at the discretion of the immediate
supervisor,” was not negotiable. It concluded that the subpart in-
fringed on management's reserved right under Section 7106(a)(2)(B) to
assign work. App., infra, 44a.

9

creases in cost not affected by compensating benefits.” /d.
at 37a. Finally, relying on its prior cases involving teachers
at dependents schools, the FLRA held that Section 241
does not require that employees’ salaries be set by com-
parison with salaries at state public schools and that the
Army’s regulation to that effect is not justified by a “com-
pelling need.” App., infra, 40a-41a. The FLRA according-
ly ordered the schools to negotiate with the Union over the
three proposals.

Chairman Calhoun dissented. Referring to his conclu-
sion in a prior case, he stated: “[I}n the absence of a clear
expression of congressional intent to make wages and
money-related fringe benefits negotiable, 1 would find that
these matters are not within the duty to bargain.” App.,
infra, 46a.

4. The Eleventh Circuit affirmed. App., infra, la-30a.
It first deferred to the FLRA’s conclusion that compensa-
tion-related proposals are generally negotiable where em-
ployees are not subject to the General Schedule. Although
the Statute defines negotiable “conditions of employment”
as “persounel policies, practices and matters * * * affect-
ing working conditions” (5 U.S.C. 7103(a)(14)), the court
concluded that “|{t}his definition alone does not exclude
compensation and fringe benefits.” App., infra, 7a. Turn-
ing to the numerous statements in the legislative history
that compensation would not be negotiable under the
Statute, the court dismissed them on the ground that the
statements were made “with the understanding that Con-
gress generally regulates such matters.” /d. at 10a. The
court acknowledged (id. at 9a) the decision of the Third
Circuit holding that compensation is not a negotiable
“condition[ ] of employment” (Department of the Navy,
Military Sealift Command vy. FLRA, 836 F.2d 1409
(1988)), but stated that it agreed with the Second Circuit’s

10

contrary conclusion in West Point Elementary School
Teachers Association v. FLRA, 855 F.2d 936 (1988).

The court gave three reasons for agreeing with the Sec-
ond Circuit that such proposals do not interfere with the
Army’s right to determine its budget. First, the court said
that “[t}he proposals would not necessarily increase the
Army’s costs” (App., infra, 20a), although it did not ex-
plain how a 13.5% increase in salaries could fail to in-
crease costs. Second, the court stated that “any increase in
the employees’ salaries would not significantly increase the
Army’s budget,” which “includes bases, troops, weapons,
vehicles, other equipment, salaries for all other officers,
and expenses for its eight other schools.” /bid. Third, the
court said that the Army had failed to establish “that no
compensating benefits would offset such costs even if its
costs increased.” /bid.

The court also agreed with the Second Circuit that the
proposals were not precluded by Section 241 of the de-
pendents schools statute or the Army’s implementing
regulation. The court recognized that “Section 241 re-
quires that the Army ‘to the maximum extent practicable’
provide a comparable education to local public schools at
a cost per pupil not exceeding the per pupil cost of free
public education in local communities.” App., infra, 13a.
However, the court concluded, the Army could maintain
cost parity and educational comparability despite wide
variations in teachers’ salaries. “For example, books,
building maintenance, athletic programs, clubs, and lunch
services also enter into this calculation.” /d. at 19a. For
that reason, the court found that there was no “compelling
need” for the Army’s regulation providing that employees’
salaries must be set by comparison with those at compara-
able public schools.

11

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION

Review is warranted because the court below incorrectly
decided an issue of considerable importance to the federal
government, and the issue is one on which the courts of
appeals are in conflict.

1. There are “forty-odd federal pay systems which are
not entirely fixed by statute.” Department of Defense De-
pendents Schools v. FLRA, 863 F.2d 988, 989 (D.C. Cir.
1988), reh’g en banc granted (Feb. 6, 1989). Disputes in-
volving employees of the Army’s domestic dependents
schools have spawned decisions by the Second Circuit
(West Point), the Fourth Circuit (United States Depart-
ment of Defense Dependent Schools, Fort Bragg v.
FLRA, 838 F.2d 129, 130 (4th Cir. 1988) (vacated)), and
the Sixth Circuit (Fort Knox Dependent Schools v. FLRA,
No. 87-3395 (May 11, 1989), petition for reh’g en banc
pending (filed June 23, 1989). In addition, the courts of
appeals have considered cases involving teachers at over-
seas dependents schools (Department of Defense Depend-
ents Schools), which are guverned by a different statute
(20 U.S.C. 902) from that governing domestic schools;
civilian mariners employed by the Navy (Military Sealift
Command), whose pay, under 5 U.S.C. 5348, is set by
comparison with mariners employed by private vessels;
electricians employed by the Bureau of Engraving and
Printing (Department of the Treasury, Bureau of Engrav-
ing and Printing v. FLRA, 838 F.2d 1341 (D.C. Cir.
1988)), who are “prevailing rate employees” governed by 5
U.S.C. 5349(a); and employees of the Nuclear Regulatory
Commission (Nuclear Regulatory Commission v. FLRA,
859 F.2d 302 (4th Cir. 1988), reh’g en banc granted (Jan.
6, 1989)), who are excepted from the General Schedule by
42 U.S.C. 2201(d). As these cases illustrate, the forty-odd
categories of federal employees affected by the questions

12

presented here involve a large and diverse group. Whether
they may negotiate over the amount of compensation
(wages and money-related fringe benefits) they receive is a
question of great importance to the employees and their
agencies.

The courts of appeals are split as to the first question
presented — whether compensation is a negotiable “condi-
tion{ ] of employment.” The Third Circuit (Military Sea-
lift Command), the Sixth Circuit (Fort Knox), and the
District of Columbia Circuit (Department of Defense
Dependents Schools) have held that compensation is not
negotiable. The Second Circuit (West Point) and the
Fourth Circuit (Nuclear Regulatory Commission),’ as well
as the court below, have held that compensation is
negotiable. The conflict is express: the court below ac-
knowledged its disagreement with the Third Circuit (App.,
infra, 9a); the District of Columbia Circuit noted that it
was “fully aware of contrary decisions” by the court
below, the Third Circuit, and the Fourth Circuit (863 F.2d
at 994 n.12); and the Sixth Circuit cited the decisions of
the three circuilts that have upheld the FLRA (including
the decision here) while it followed the other two (slip op.
6-7). Although rehearing en banc has been granted by the
District of Columbia and Fourth Circuits, and a petition
for rehearing is pending in the Sixth Circuit, the conflict
can only be resolved by this Court, since the Third Circuit
disagrees with both the Second Circuit and the court below
and the decisions of all three circuits are final.

There is no express conflict on the question whether
compensation-related proposals conflict with manage-
ment’s right to control its budget. The Second Circuit and

> Under the Fourth Circuit’s rules, the panel decision in Nuclear
Regulatory Commission was vacated when rehearing en banc was
granted.

13

the court below have upheld the FLRA’s position that pay
is almost always negotiable despite the management rights
provision, while the three courts holding that pay is not a
negotiable “condition[{ ] of employment” did not reach the
issue. This question should be considered by this Court be-
cause it is closely related to the first question presented:
the budget control clause of the management rights provi-
sion reinforces the view that Congress did not intend com-
pensation-related proposals to be negotiable. Moreover, if
the Court concludes that compensation is a negotiable
“condition[{ ] of employment,” then a decision is needed
with respect to the management rights issue in order to
resolve the dispute in this case and all of the related cases.

The third question presented also warrants considera-
tion by this Court. There is a direct conflict on this ques-
tion — whether there is a “compelling need” for the Army
regulation providing that compensation rates at depend-
ents schools are to be set by comparison with rates at com-
parable public schools. Like the court below, the Second
Circuit in West Point (855 F.2d at 942-943) has agreed
with the FLRA, while the Sixth Circuit held to the con-
trary in Fort Knox, expressly disagreeing with the decision
below and the decision in West Point (slip op. 6-7).*

In addition, most of the cases raising the question
whether compensation is a negotiable “condition[ ] of em-
ployment” involve statutes providing that pay rates are to
be set by comparison with some other group of employees.
See, e.g., Military Sealift Command (Navy civilian
mariners’ pay rates are set by comparison with rates paid
private mariners under 5 U.S.C. 5348); Bureau of Engrav-

* As the Sixth Circuit noted (slip op. 7), the Fourth Circuit in Fort
Bragg, in a decision that was subsequently vacated as moot, also held
that, under Section 241, there is a “compelling need” for the Army's
regulation.

14

ing and Printing (electricians are “prevailing rate em-
ployees” under 5 U.S.C. 5349(a)); Department of Defense
Dependents Schools (overseas teachers’ salaries are set by
comparison with salaries at large urban school districts
under 20 U.S.C. 902). The FLRA’s approach has been to
hold that since each of these statutes grants the agency in-
volved some discretion, virtually any proposal relating to
compensation is subject to negotiation. In our view, how-
ever, Congress’s direction that compensation be set on the
basis of a comparison with other rates of pay is not con-
sistent with such a broad view of negotiability.

Thus, if this Court does not agree with us on the proper
disposition of the first and second questions presented, it
would need to reach the third question in order to resolve
this dispute; moreover, disposition of that question would
also resolve a direct conflict in the circuits and would pro-
vide guidance in many other cases. Accordingly, review is
warranted with respect to all three questions presented.

2. The court of appeals decided each of the three ques-
tions in this case incorrectly.

a. Congress extended collective bargaining in the
federal sector only to “conditions of employment” (5
U.S.C. 7102(2)), which it defined as “personnel policies,
practices, and matters, whether established by rule, regu-
lation, or otherwise, affecting working conditions.” 5
U.S.C. 7103(a)(14). Although the FLRA’s interpretation

* In Fort Knox, the dissenting judge noted (slip op. 13 n.3) that
Congress in 1985 directed the Army to submit, by March 1, 1986, a
plan to transfer the domestic dependents schools to the local school
districts of the States iin which the schools are located. Act of Dec. 3,
1985, Pub. L. No. 99-167, § 824, 99 Stat. 992. However, the Army
found that the States were not anxious to operate the schools, and, in-
stead of submitting a plan to transfer the schools, the Army submitted
a letter to Congress explaining its finding. Thus, there is no current
plan to transfer the schools to the States.

— 15

of the Statute is entitled to deference if that interpretation
is a reasonable reading of an ambiguous provision, a
“straightforward, natural reading of the statutory lan-
guage fails to yield the FLRA’s interpretation, namely that
‘working conditions’ should be read to include ‘wages. Far
from it. The term ‘working conditions’ ordinarily calls to
mind the day-to-day circumstances under which an em-
ployee performs his or her job. Thus, for example, [the
District of Columbia Circuit] has upheld the FLRA’s con-
clusion that matters relating to job safety and office en-
vironment are ‘central’ to an employee’s working condi-
tions. However, it is entirely unclear how an employee's
compensation can be seen as ‘affecting’ such working con-
ditions.” Department of Defense Dependents Schools, 863
F.2d at 990 (citation omitted). Compensation is properly
viewed as a “term” of employment rather than a “condi-
tion” of employment, and the Statute does not make
“terms of employment” negotiable. .
Moreover, because matters of compensation are typical-
ly at the core of collective bargaining in the private sector,
one would expect that any congressional purpose to in-
clude that subject within the scope of collective bargaining
in the federal sector would be clearly expressed. But no
such expression can be found. Thus, the Statute stands in
striking contrast with the two instances where Congress
did make clear its intent to permit federal employees to
bargain over compensation. First, the Postal Reorganiza-

* As the District of Columbia Circuit stated in that case,
“[Djeference is, of course appropriate in a Chevron Step Two
analysis, where the issue would be whether the FLRA’s interpretation
of its own statute is reasonable; but deference is not the correct
analytic mode under Chevron Step One, where our task is to assess in-
dependently the evidence of Congressional intent.” 863 F.2d at 994
n.12. (The court’s reference was to Chevron U.S.A. v. Natural Re-
sources Defense Council, Inc., 467 U.S. 837, 842-843 & n.9 (1984).)

16

tion Act grants to postal workers the right to bargain over
“wages, hours, and working conditions.” 39 U.S.C. 120
note. By referring separately to “wages” and “working
conditions,” Congress showed that it does not consider the
latter to include the former.’

Second, Section 704 of the Civil Service Reform Act of
1978, 5 U.S.C. 5343 note, provides in subsection (a) that
“prevailing rate employees” who bargained over wages and
other matters prior to August 19, 1972, may continue to
bargain over “terms and conditions of employment,” and
in subsection (b) that the “pay and pay practices” subject
to negotiation under the provision are to be negotiated in
accordance with current prevailing practices. If, as the
FLRA has held, the Federal Service Labor-Management
Relations Statute confers on federal employees who are to
be paid according to prevailing practices a general right to
bargain about wages, Congress did not need to enact Sec-
tion 704 in order to create a special rule allowing negotia-
tion by workers in bargaining units that had negotiated
over wages prior to August 19, 1972.

The legislative history of the Statute “is replete * * *
with indications that Congress did not intend to subject
pay of federal employees to bargaining.” Military Sealift

’ Similarly, the National Labor Relations Act (NLRA), 29 U.S.C.
158(d), separates “wages” from “working conditions” in making
“wages, hours, and other terms and conditions of employment”
negotiable. The court below noted that the NLRA refers to other con-
ditions of employment, and concluded that the language of Section
158(d) supports the FLRA’s conclusion that compensation is a “condi-
tion{ } of employment.” App., infra, 8a. However, the NLRA refers
to “other terms and conditions of employment” (emphasis added). We
agree with the District of Columbia Circuit that “other terms * * * of
employment” refers back to “wages,” while “other * * * conditions of
employment” refers back to “hours.” See Department of Defense
Dependents Schools, 863 F.2d at 991 n.3.

17

Command, 836 F.2d at 1417. Representative Ford had
proposed a bill which would have provided for “the nego-
tiation of pay and other major money-related fringe bene-
fits.” See 124 Cong. Rec. 25,721 (1978) (discussing H.R.
9094). And Representative Heftel, during the House Com-
mittee markup of the federal labor statute, introduced a
proposal that would have extended the obligation to
negotiate to “pay practices” and “overtime practices” so
far as “consonant with law and regulation.” House
Comm. on Post Office and Civil Service, Subcomm. on
Postal Personnel and Modernization, 96th Cong., Ist
Sess., Legislative History of the Federal Service Labor-
Management Relations Statute 1087-1088 (1979) (propos-
ing néw Section 7115(b)). “Neither proposal was adopted,
a fact of no little interpretive significance.” Department of
Defense Dependents Schools, 863 F.2d at 992 (citing INS
v. Cardoza-Fonseca, 480 U.S. 421, 442-443 (1987)).

In addition, both the Senate and House Committee
reports state unequivocally that the federal labor statute
does not provide for “bargaining on wages or fringe bene-
fits.” H.R. Rep. No. 1403, 95th Cong., 2d Sess. 12 (1978);
see also S. Rep. No. 969, 95th Cong., 2d Sess. 13 (1978).
Furthermore, every legislator who addressed the issue of
compensation—and there were several (see, e.g., 124
Cong. Rec. 25,716 (1978) (remarks of Rep. Udall); id. at
29,182 (remarks of Rep. Udall); id. at 24,286; id. at 25,720
(remarks of Rep. Clay); id. at 25,721 (remarks of Rep.
Ford); id. at 29,188 (remarks of Rep. Derwinski); id. at
27,549 (remarks of Sen. Sasser))— stated that it was not
negotiable. There is not a single statement in the entire
legislative history to the effect that compensation fell
within the general bargaining duty established by the
federal labor statute.*

* In reaching its conclusion, the court below relied heavily on a
statement of Congressman Clay that when a statute merely vests dis-

The court of appeals suggested that Congress ratified
two decisions of the FLRA’s predecessor, the Federal
Labor Relations Council, which supported the proposition
that federal employees may negotiate over wages not
specifically set by statute. App., infra, 12a-l3a. The
District of Columbia Circuit explained why those deci-
sions do not compel affirmance of the FLRA’s conclusion:
“Although we will normally presume that Congress in-
tends to continue the interpretation accorded to a prior
statute when it substantially re-enacts that law, such a pre-
sumption is plainly inapposite in a situation, such as the
case at hand, where Congress has clearly expressed its in-
tent to the contrary.” Department of Defense Dependents
Schools, 863 F.2d at 993 n.9. Indeed, “[mJore than that,
logic indicates that Congress would not leave to various
federal agencies the authority to expand the budgets and
fiscal limitations placed upon those agencies by requiring
them to bargain about increases in pay and fringe benefits
once budget boundaries were set by the Congress. It is ob-
vious that salary and fringe benefits are the items most
likely to invc!ve substantial overspending if left to collec-
tive bargaining, particularly with respect to a school
system for minor dependents of United States military and
civilian personnel.” Fort Knox, slip op. 5.

cretionary authority over a matter with a particular official, the mat-
ter is subject to bargaining. App., infra, lla (quoting 124 Cong. Rec.
H9638 (daily ed. Sept. 13, 1978)). That statement did not address the
question of compensation. When Representative Clay did address that
question, he twice “assure{d] [his] colleagues that there is nothing in
th{e federal labor statute] which allows Federal employees the right to
*** negotiate over pay and money-related fringe benefits.” 124
Cong. Rec. 25,720 (1978); see also id. at 24,286 (remarks of Rep.
Clay). To read Congressman Clay’s general statement as supporting
the court of appeals’ position thus “puts Congressman Clay at war
with himself over the issue.” Military Sealift Command, 836 F.2d at
1418.

19

b. The court of appeals also erred in holding that the
proposals at issue do not infringe on the Army’s right to
control its budget. The FLRA’s test of negotiability under
the budget control clause of the management rights provi-
sion (Section 7106(a)(1)) requires an agency to “make a
substantial showing that the proposal requires the inclu-
sion of a particular program or amount in its budget or
that the proposal will result in significant and unavoidable
increases in cost not affected by compensating benefits.”
App., infra, 36a. The Army should be held to have satis-
fied that test simply by showing that the Union proposed a
13.5% pay raise for all employees. Yet the court of ap-
peals found that showing insufficient on three grounds,
none of which should be sustained.

First, the court suggested that the Army had failed to
show that the proposals would “necessarily increase [its]
costs.” App., infra, 20a. That observation overlooks the
obvious fact that salaries are a major component of any
school budget and that a 13.5% increase in salaries would
have to increase costs.

Second, the court suggested that any increase in costs
would not be significant. It reached that conclusion only
by comparing the increase in the cost of operating the de-
pendents schools to the Army’s budget as a whole, in-
cluding its budget for armaments. App., infra, 20a. That
approach is plainly flawed. Whether a proposal will cause
a significant increase in costs should be tested by compari-
son with the costs of the program employing the bargain-
ing unit employees, not the entire agency budget. Other-
wise, virtually no proposal could be found to be “signifi-
cant.” That is certainly the case with respect to the depend-
ents schools operated by the Army. Given the size of the
Army’s share of the defense budget, any proposal involv-
ing dependents schools could only amount to a tiny per-
centage of the Army’s total expenditures.

20

Finally, the court stated that the Army had failed to es-
tablish that any increase in costs resulting from the pro-
posals would not be offset by “compensating benefits.”
App., infra, 20a. As an initial matter, it is not clear what
compensating economic benefits might flow from a flat
across-the-board salary increase. Moreover, the require-
ment of such a showing ic contrary to the Statute. The
quintessential decision that any entity, be it a federal agen-
cy or a private party, makes when crafting a budget is
whether the benefits that flow from a given action exceed
its costs. See Exec. Order No. 12,291, 3 C.F.R. 127 (1982)
(requiring cost-benefit analysis for agency actions). A
budget is, in essence, a series of decisions designed to
maximize the benefits obtained from spending a discrete
amount of money. To say that agency management has
the right to determine the agency’s budget is to say that it is
up to management, and management alone, to determine
the best allocation of the agency’s resources.

c. The court of appeals also erred in concluding that
there is no “compelling need” for the Army’s regulation
(Army Reg. 352-3, 1-7) requiring that salaries be set by
comparison with salaries at public schools. The court cor-
rectly noted that because Section 241 is not part of the
Federal Service Labor-Management Relations Statute, the
FLRA’s construction of that provision is not entitled to
deference. App., infra, 13a. However, the court erred in
failing to defer to the Army’s reasonable construction of
the dependents schools statute. See Fort Knox, slip op.
6-7.

Under Section 241(a), the Army must “take such action
as may be necessary to ensure that the education provided
* * * is comparable to free public education provided for
children in comparable communities in the State * * *,
[and] [flor the purpose of providing such comparable
education, personnel may be employed and the compensa-

21

tion * * * fixed without regard to the Civil Service Act and
rules.” In addition, Section 241(e) provides that, “[t}o the
maximum extent practicable,” the Army “shall limit the
total payments made pursuant to any such arrangement _
for educating children * * * to an amount per pupil which
will not exceed the per pupil cost of free public education
provided for children in comparable communities in the
State.” The Army in its regulation has reasonably inter-
preted Congress’s mandate to require that the various
components of an educational system listed in its regula-
tion—including both salary schedules and such items as
pupil-teacher ratios, transportation services, and instruc-
tional equipment and supplies — shall be modeled on those
of comparable public schools. Indeed, it is difficult to con-
ceive how the Army could implement Section 241 without
modeling each major component of dependents schools on
state public schools.

The court of appeals’ suggestion that the Army could
comply with Section 241 while paying salaries significantly
in excess of those paid at public schools (App., in/ra,
18a-19a) is fanciful. Suppose, for example, that a depend-
ents school made major increases in pupil-teacher ratios in
order to maintain the level of per-pupil costs despite a
large salary increase (such as a 13.5% increase), and the
parents of children at the schools charged that the Army
had violated Section 241(a) by failing to provide an educa-
tion “comparable to free public education provided for
children in comparable communities ‘in the State.” The
Army would surely not be able to defend, say, a 40-1 stu-
dent teacher ratio, when comparable public schools had a
20-1 ratio, by showing that it was paying its teachers more
than the going rate.

The 13.5% increase and other money-related requests
proposed here — proposals not even purporting to be based
on practices at public schools in comparable commu-

22

nities — are contrary to both the regulation and .he man-
date of Section 241 and are therefore non-negotiable.® In-
deed, the direct violation of Section 241 that such pro-
posals would entail is itself demonstrative of the “com-
pelling need” for the regulation.

CONCLUSION

The petition for a writ of certiorari should be granted.
Respectfully submitted.

WILLIAM C. BRYSON.

Acting Solicitor General*
STUART E. SCHIFFER

Acting Assistant Attorney General
DaAviD L. SHAPIRO

Deputy Solicitor General
CHRISTOPHER J. WRIGHT

Assistant to the Solicitor General
WILLIAM KANTER

Rick RICHMOND
Altorneys

JULY 1989

* Chairman Calhoun noted in his dissent from the FLRA’s decision
(App., infra, 46a) that Subproposals A and D of the first proposal
(which appear to be contrary to the request for a 13.5% salary in-
crease in the second proposal) seem to assume that management will
set salaries by comparison with public school salaries. By those pro-
posals, the Union appears only to ask for information concerning the
data the Army collects and for consultation with management con-
cerning salaries. As Chairman Calhoun concluded, those proposals
are not objectionable.

* The Solicitor General is disqualified in this case.

APPENDIX A

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE ELEVENTH CIRCUIT

No. 87-8734
ForT STEWART SCHOOLS, PETITIONER, CROSS-RESPONDENT
Vv.

FEDERAL LABOR RELATIONS AUTHORITY, RESPONDENT,
CROSS-PETITIONER

Fort Stewart Association of
Educators, Intervenor

Nov. 21, 1988

Before: VANCE and Hatcuett, Circuit Judges, and
Nessitt*, District Judge.
HATCHETT, Circuit Judge:

Fort Stewart Schools (Army) seeks review of a Federal
Labor Relations Authority (FLRA) decision and order
requiring it to negotiate three proposals with the Fort
Stewart Association for Educators (Union). The FLRA
and the Union cross-petition this court to enforce the
FLRA’s decision and order. For the reasons discussed
below, we grant the FLRA’s and Union’s petition to
enforce the FLRA’s order and deny the Army’s petition
for review.

* Honorable Lenore C. Nesbitt, U.S. District Judge for the
Southern District of Florida, sitting by designation.

(la)

2a ;

FACTS

The Army operates two elementary schools for military
and civilian personnel’s dependents (dependents schools)
at Fort Stewart, Georgia. See 20 U.S.C. § 241 (1974 &
Supp. 1988) (Secretary of Education authorized to make
arrangements with federal agencies to operate schools
under certain circumstances). The schools provide free
public education for military and civilian personnel’s
children who reside on the federal property. The Union,
an affiliate of the National Education Association, acts as
the collective bargaining representative for the schools’
ninety-nine teachers and other employees.

During contract negotiations with the Army, the Union
submitted three proposals for bargaining. The first pro-
posal included sections which set mileage reimbursement,
mandated certain insurance programs, and gave the Union
the right to review and comment on salary schedules.' The
second proposal suggested a fixed salary increase of
13.5-percent for the teachers and other employees for the
subsequent school year.? The third proposal detailed
various leave practices such as personal leave, sick leave,
professional teave, maternity leave, and leave without
pay.’ The Army refused to negotiate these three pro-
posals, contending that the proposals did not involve man-
datory bargaining matters.

PROCEDURAL HISTORY

The Union filed a negotiability appeal with the FLRA
seeking a determination that each proposal involved a

' See Appendix A.

? Proposal 2.
The Association and the Employer agree that the salary increase for
all bargaining unit members will be 13.5% for the school year.

> See Appendix B.

3a

mandatory bargaining subject. See § U.S.C. § 7117(c):
(1980). The FLRA agreed with the Union and ordered the
Army to negotiate the three proposals with the Union.‘
In reaching its decision, the FLRA rejected all the
Army’s contentions. First, the FLRA dismissed the Army’s
contention that the proposals do not concern conditions of
employment. The FLRA reiterated its prior conclusion
that the Federal Service Labor-Management Relations Act
(FSLMRA) does not preclude all bargaining over
employee compensation. 5 U.S.C. §§ 7101-7135 (1980).
See Fort Bragg Unit of N.C. Assoc. of Educators, Nat'l.
Educ. Assoc. and Fort Bragg Dependents Schools, Fort
Bragg, N.C., 12 F.L.R.A. 519 (1983) (WESTLAW FLB-
FLRA database) (Congress did not intend to exclude
dependents schools’ employees’ compensation and related
benefits from negotiable conditions of employment in the
FSLMRA). Furthermore, the FLRA found that the pro-
posals involved “conditions of employment” because “the
matters proposed are not specifically provided for by law
and are within the discretion of the [Army]; and . . . the
proposals are not otherwise inconsistent with law, ap-
plicable government-wide rule or regulation, or with an
[Army] regulation supported by a compelling need.”*
American Federation of Government Employees; AFL-
CIO, Local 1897 and Dept. of the Air Force, Eglin Air
Force Base, Florida, 24 F.L.R.A. (No. 41) 377 (1986)
(WESTLAW FLB-FLRA database). Chairman Calhoun
dissented, however, claiming that the duty to bargain does

* The FLRA excluded three sections from its order: Sections L and
M of Proposal | and Section F of Proposal 3. The FLRA held that
these sections involved nonnegotiable matters.

* Alternatively, the FLRA concluded that even if the Army properly
refrained from negotiating the compensation matters, it still had a
duty to negotiate Sections A, C, and D of Proposal | because they did
not involve compensation.

4a

not encompass proposals concerning wages and money-
related fringe benefits absent a clear congressional intent
to make such matters negotiable.

The FLRA also held that the proposals did not interfere
with the Army’s right to determine its budget. The FLRA
concluded that the Army failed to show that the proposals
would significantly and unavoidably increase the Army’s
costs without producing compensating benefits to offset
the alleged costs. See American Federal [sic] of Gov’t
Employees, AFL-CIO and Air Force Logistics Command,
Wright-Patterson Air Force Base, Ohio, 2 F.L.R.A. (No.
77) 604 (1980) (WESTLAW FLB-FLRA database), en-
forced as to other matters sub nom. Dep’t of the Air Force
v. FLRA, 659 F.2d 1140 (D.C.Cir.1981), cert. denied sub
nom., AFGE v. FLRA, 455 U.S. 945, 102 S.Ct. 1443, 71
L.Ed.2d 658 (1982) (interference with the right to set a
budget requires prescribing particular programs or
amount allocated for such programs, or causing inevitable
significant cost increases without any offsetting benefits).

The FLRA rejected the Army’s contention that bargain-
ing Over compensation violates other federal laws. First,
the FLRA determined that the proposals do not conflict
with laws that regulate the solicitation of contract bids in
the procurement process. The procurement laws mandate
that federal agencies award contracts for professional serv-
ices through competitive bidding. 10 U.S.C. § 2304 (1983
& Supp.1988). The FLRA noted that it previously dis-
missed this same claim because procurement law does not
govern teachers and employees in the dependents school
system. See Fort Knox Teachers Assoc. and Board of
Educ. of the Fort Knox Dependent Schools, 27 F.L.R.A.
(No. 34) 203 (1987) (WESTLAW FLB-FLRA database)
(dependent school teachers and employees are federal
government employees rather than independent contrac-

Sa

tors making procurement laws inapplicable to them). Sec-
ond, the FLRA concluded that the proposals do not
violate the Anti-Deficiency Act. The Anti-Deficiency Act
prohibits an agency from obligating itself to pay money
before Congress appropriates funds. 31 U.S.C. § 1341
(1983). Although the proposals obligate the Army to
spend funds for salaries in the succeeding fiscal year, the
FLRA noted that the Army’s obligation accrues only when
the employees earn the salaries. Fort Knox Dependent
Schools, 27 F.L.R.A. at 217. Therefore, the government
will appropriate funds before the Army incurs these
obligations.

Finally, the FLRA ruled that the Army did not establish
a compelling need for its regulation that requires it to pay
dependents schools’ employees a comparable salary to
local public school employees. The FLRA, relying on a
prior decision, held that “nothing in either [20 U.S.C.
§ 241] or its legislative history persuades us that Congress
intended to restrict the [Army’s] discretion as to the par-
ticular employment practices which could be adopted.”
See Fort Knox Teachers Assoc., 27 F.L.R.A. at 216 (com-
parable education requirement in section 241 does not
mandate comparable compensation). Consequently, the
FLRA concluded that the Army failed to demonstrate a
compelling need for its regulation. Moreover, the FLRA
concluded that even if a compelling need existed, the
Army did not show that Sections A through G, and I and
J, of Proposal | conflicted with the Army’s regulation.

The Army brought this petition for review of the
FLRA’s decision and order pursuant to the FSLMRA. See
5 U.S.C. § 7123(a) (1980). In response, the FLRA and the
Union cross-petitioned for enforcement of the FLRA’s
order. See 5 U.S.C. § 7123(b) (1980).

/ 6a

ISSUES

The Army petitions for review of the following issues:
(1) Whether the Army has a statutory duty to bargain
because the Union’s proposals involve “conditions of
employment” within the Army’s discretion; (2) whether the
Army established a compelling need for its regulation that
mandates equality of compensation between employees in
dependents schools and local public schools; and (3)
whether the Union’s proposals interfere with the Army’s
right to determine its own budget.

DISCUSSION
A. Conditions of Employment

The FSLMRA gives federal employees the right to
negotiate over “conditions of employment.” 5 U.S.C.
§ 7102(2) (1980). Conditions of employment include “per-
sonnel policies, practices, and matters, whether estab-
lished by rule or regulation, or otherwise, affecting work-
ing conditions....” 5 U.S.C. § 7103(a)(14) (1980).
Despite this broad definition, Congress has imposed two
limits on the scope of the duty to bargain. First, the term
“conditions of employment” excludes any matters
“specifically provided for by Federal Statute.” 5 U.S.C.
§ 7103(a)(14)(C) (1980). Second, the duty to bargain ex-
cludes matters that conflict with “any Federal law or
Government-wide rule or regulation,” or any agency
regulation for which a compelling need exists. 5 U.S.C.
§ 7117(a)(2) (1980).

The Army contends that “conditions of employment” in
the FSLMRA do not include wages and money-related
benefits. The Army further contends that even if the term
“conditions of employment” is ambiguous, the Union’s
proposals conflict with federal law, excluding them from

7a

the statutory duty to bargain. The Union and the FLRA
contend that the Army has a duty to negotiate the Union’s
proposal because the proposals involve conditions of
employment within the Army’s discretion.

1. Congressional Intent: FSLMRA’s Language and Legislative
History

Relying on prior decisions, the FLRA determined that
the FSLMRA does not prohibit bargaining over compen-
sation and fringe benefits under the following conditions:
the agency has discretion over such matters; Congress has
not specifically provided for these matters; and the pro-
posals do not conflict with law, government-wide rule or
regulation, or an agency regulation for which a compelling
need exists. Fort Knox Teachers Assoc. and Fort Knox
Dependents Schools, 28 F.L.R.A. (No. 29) 179 (1987)
(WESTLAW, FLB-FLRA Database). Because this FLRA
decision is within its authority, we must defer to its conclu-
sion unless it is “arbitrary, capricious, an abuse of discre-
tion, or otherwise not in accordance with law.” 5 U.S.C.
§ 706(2) (1977); West Point Elementary School Teachers
Assoc. v. FLRA, 855 F.2d 936, 939-40 (2d Cir.1988); see
Library of Congress v. FLRA, 699 F.2d 1280, 1289
(D.C.Cir.1983) (“Congress has specifically entrusted the
[FLRA] with the responsibility to define the proper sub-
jects for collective bargaining [under the FSLMRA\J,
drawing upon its expertise and understanding of the
special needs of the public sector labor relations.”)

Our examination of the FSLMRA and its legislative
history supports the FLRA’s conclusion. The FSLMRA
defines conditions of employment as “personnel policies,
practices and matters ... affecting working
conditions... .” 5 U.S.C. § 7103(a)(14) (1980). This
definition alone does not exclude compensation and fringe
benefits.

The Army, however, argues that a comparison between
the FSLMRA and the National Labor Relations Act
(NLRA) reveals that “conditions of employment” do not
include wage and fringe benefits. The NLRA allows
bargaining over “wages, hours and other terms and condi-
tions of employment.” 29 U.S.C. § 158(d) (Supp. 1988)
(emphasis added). The Army urges that “conditions of
employment” in the FSLMRA encompasses a narrower
range of bargainable matters than the NLRA terminology
because the FSLMRA did not specifically list wages and
hours as bargainable matters. In contrast to the Army’s
position, the absence of the terms “wages” and “hours”
from the FSLMRA does not prove that Congress intended
to exclude them from negotiations. Rather, the NLRA’s
description of bargainable matters supports the FLRA’s
position. By using the word “other,” Congress included
wages and hours in the general category of “conditions of
employment.” Congress likely specified “wages” and
“hours” in the NLRA merely to illustrate the meaning of
the new term “conditions of employment.” In_ the
FSLMRA, Congress simply used the general term “condi-
tions of employment,” which encompasses wages, to
define the scope of negotiable matters.

The Army further argues that another section of the
FSLMRA demonstrates that Congress did not intend con-
ditions of employment to include wages. The Civil Service
Reform Act of 1978, which includes the FSLMRA,
specifically provides that the FSLMRA does not apply to
prevailing rate employees who had negotiated over pay
prior to August 19, 1972, to the extent that any of the
FSLMRA’s provisions conflict with their negotiation prac-
tices. The Army contends that this section serves no pur-
pose if the FSLMRA authorizes employees, whose wages
Congress did not set, to bargain for wages. The legislative

9a

history demonstrates that this section serves a purpose
even if the FSLMRA allows bargaining over wages. Con-
gressman Ford stated this section’s purpose: “This provi-
sion is required because of two recent rulings by the
Comptroller General which ... held that specific
legislative authorization was necessary for these employees
to continue to negotiate such provisions in accordance
with prevailing private industry practice.” 124 Cong. Rec.
H8468 daily ed. Aug. 11, 1978) (remarks of Rep. Ford).
Thus, this provision clarifies and extends the exemption
from the prevailing rate act for such employees. American
Federal of Government Employees, 24 F.L.R.A. at 380.

Turning from the FSLMRA’s language to its legislative
history, the Army argues, citing the Third Circuit, that
Congress did not intend to allow bargaining over compen-
sation. The Third Circuit recently held that Congress did
not intend the FSLMRA to allow bargaining over the
Navy’s pay practices for the Military Sealift Command’s
(MSC) civilian mariners. Dep’t. of the Navy, Military
Sealift Command v. FLRA, 836 F.2d 1409 (3d Cir.1988).
The court found that section 5348 of the prevailing rate
system specifically gives the Navy limited discretion over
the MSC’s pay practices. Dep’t. of the Navy, 836 F.2d at
1410. Because bargaining over such pay practices is out-
side the Navy’s discretion, such negotiation would conflict
with law, excluding the matters from the duty to bargain.
The court examined the FSLMRA’s legislative history to
determine if Congress intended the FSLMRA to supersede
section 5348 and subject the MSC’s pay practices to collec-
tive bargaining. Dep’t. of the Navy, 836 F.2d at 1417. The
court concluded that Congress did not intend the
FSLMRA to allow federal employees to negotiate over
compensation. Dep’t. of the Navy, 836 F.2d at 1419.

In contrast, the Second Circuit implicitly adopted the
FLRA’s conclusion that the FSLMRA does not bar

10a

neguiiation of proposals involving compensation and
fringe benefits. See West Point Elementary School
Teachers Assoc., at 942. The court concluded that “condi-
tions of employment” in the FSLMRA included wage and
fringe benefit proposals when the federal government did
not specifically provide for such matters. West Point
Elementary School Teachers Assoc., at 942.

Despite the Third Circuit’s holding that Congress did
not intend the FSLMRA to allow federal employees to
bargain over wages, we agree with the FLRA and the Sec-
ond Circuit that Congress did not intend to preclude all
bargaining over compensation. The legislative history in-
dicates that Congress intended to treat wages and fringe
benefits as other conditions of employment; the parties
must bargain over them unless a federal statute specifically
provides for them or the proposed matters would conflict
with law. See § U.S.C. §§ 7103(a)(14)(C) and
7117(a)(1)(1980). Because federal law dictates nearly all
federal employees’ wages, the legislative history contains
many general statements claiming that the FSLMRA does
not make wages negotiable. See 5 U.S.C. § 5341-5349
(1980 & Supp.1988).

A close examination of the congressional reports and
debates reveals that the FSLMRA’s supporters made these
statements with the understanding that Congress generally
regulates such matters through its prevailing rate acts, not
with the understanding that the FSLMRA barred all wage
negotiations. The House Report on the Committee’s bill
provides: “Federal pay will continue to be set in accord-
ance with the pay provisions of title 5, and fringe benefits,
including retirement, insurance, and leave, will continue
to be set by Congress.” H.R.Rep. No. 95-1403, 95th
Cong., 2d Sess. 12 (1978). Congressman Udall, the spon-
sor of the amended version which Congress ultimately

enacted into law stated, “[t}here is not
in this bill or in this title - hae per bendy ceeray
ing for wages and fringe benefits and retirement. rr
these major regulations about wages and hours and retire-
ment and benefits will continue to be established by law
through congressional action.” 124 Cong.Rec. H9633
(daily ed. Sept. 13, 1978) (remarks of Rep. Udall);
reprinted in Subcomm. on Postal Personnel and Moder.
nization of the House Comm. on Post Office and Civil
ere 96th Cong., Ist Sess., Legislative History of the
al Service Labor-Management Relations Statute, Ti-
tle VII of the Civil Service Reform Act of 1978. at 923
(1979) [hereinafter Legislative History]. Moreover, Con-
gressman Ford who strenuously advocated the bill’s adop-
tion stated: “[NJo matters that are governed by statute
(such as pay, money-related fringe benefits, retirement
and so forth) could be altered by a negotiated agreement.”
124 Cong.Rec. H8468 (daily ed. Aug. 11, 1978) (remarks
of Rep. Ford); Legislative History at 855-56 (emphasis
added). Finally, Congressman Clay, supporting Con-
gressman Udall’s substitute legislation, stated:
Section 7103(a)(14)(D), removing from subjects of
bargaining those matters specifically sauetiel Oe by
Federal Statute, was adopted by the committee and re-
tained in the Udall substitute with the clear under-
standing that only matters “specifically” provided for
by statute would be excluded under this subsection.
Thus, where a statute merely vests authority over a
particular subject with an agency official with the of-
ficial given discretion in exercising that authority, the
particular subject is not excluded by this subsection

from the duty to bargain over conditions of employ-
ment.

124 Cong.Rec. H9638 (daily ed. Sept. 13, 1978) (remarks
of Rep. Clay); Legislative History at 933. Thus, although

12a

some legislators’ remarks baldly assert that wages are not
negotiable, the above comments indicate that the
legislators merely were assuring their peers that the
FSLMRA would not supplant specific laws which set
wages and benefits.

The legislative history additionally demonstrates that
Congress intended the FSLMRA to continue the existing
practices regarding the negotiation of wages. Con-
gressman Clay stated that “employees still . . . cannot
bargain over pay.” 124 Cong. Rec. E4293 (daily ed. Aug.
3, 1978) (remarks of Rep. Clay); Legislative History at 839
(emphasis added). Similarly, Congressman Devinski
stated that wages and fringe benefits remained beyond the
scope of collective bargaining. 124 Cong.Rec. H9639
(daily ed. Sept. 13, 1978) (remarks of Rep. Devinski);

Legislative History at 935.

One such existing practice allowed federal empldyees t0
negotiate wages in the rare instances where Congress did
not specifically establish wages and fringe benefits.
American Fed’n of Gov’t Employees, 24 F.L.R.A. at 381;
see United Fed’n of College Teachers, Local 1460 and U.S.
Merchant Marine Academy, 1 FLRC 211 (1972) (Federal
Labor Relations Council (FLRC) held that the academy’s
teachers could bargain for their wages because their pro-
posals did not violate the laws giving the Secretary of
Commerce discretion to set their salaries); Overseas Educ.
Assoc., Inc. and Dept. of Defense, Office of Dependents
Schools, 6 FLRC 231 (1978) (the duty to bargain encom-
passed proposals involving procedures and formulas for
setting teacher compensation because the federal act
governing these teachers’ pay did not bar negotiation on
the proposals). Congress should have known of this prac-
tice because the FSLMRA specifically mandates that deci-
sions under Executive Order 11941 continue in effect

l3a

unless superceded [sic]; the FLRC administered the
es sic}; above
Ne under this executive order. 5 U.S.C. § 7135(b)
a ey ap we -_ with the FLRA that Con-
to preclude bargaini
related benefits. eect

2. Relationship of the Union's Proposals to Federal Law

; As mentioned above, the FSLMRA excludes from con-
ditions of employment any matters provided for by federal
Statute or inconsistent with federal law. $ U.S.C
§§ 7103(a\(14(C) & 7117(a\(2) (1980). Although the
federal prevailing rate act sets wages for most federal
employees, the statute creating the Fort Stewart schools
specifically excludes the schools’ employees from these
federal laws. See 20 U.S.C. § 241. The Army contends
however, that federal law still provides for these
employees’ wages and benefits. The Army argues that sec-
tion 241 specifically sets compensation and leave practices
for these employees because this section requires it to com-
pensate the dependents schools’ employees according to
local public school practices. The FLRA concluded that
section 241 does not require the Army to equalize the
dependents school employees’ and local school employees’
compensation. We need not defer to the FLRA’s conclu-
sion, however, because such deference only applies when
the FLRA interprets the FSLMRA. See West Point
Elementary School Teachers Assoc., at 940; Dep't. of
Treasury v. FLRA, 837 F.2d 1163, 1167 (D.C.Cir.1988)
(courts need not defer to FLRA decision interpreting a
statute other than the FSLMRA).

Section 241 requires that the Army “to the maximum ex-
tent practicable” provide a comparable education to local

public schools at a cost per pupil not exceeding the per
pupil cost of free public education in local communities.

l4a

20 U.S.C. § 241(a) & (e) (1974 & Supp. 1988). The Second
Circuit recently held that these provisions did not
specifically set the dependents schools’ teachers’ salaries
because the Army could maintain cost parity and educa-
tional comparability despite wide variations in teachers’
salaries; consequently, the Second Circuit concluded that
the Army had a duty to bargain over a salary proposal.
West Point Elementary School Teachers Assoc., at 943.

We agree with the Second Circuit that section 241 does
not specifically provide for the schools’ teachers’ and other
employees’ wages. First, section 241 as a whole
demonstrates that the Army has wide discretion to set
these employees’ salaries. The third sentence of section
241(a) requires dependents schools outside the continental
United States, Alaska, and Hawaii to provide a “com-
parable education” to free public schools in the District of
Columbia. 20 U.S.C. § 241(a) (Supp.1988). In 1978, Con-
gress added another sentence to section 241(a) which
reads: “Personnel provided for under this subsection out-
side of the continental United States, Alaska, and Hawaii,
shall receive such compensation, tenure, leave, hours of
work, and other incidents of employment on the same
basis as provided for similar positions in the public schools
in the District of Columbia.” 20 U.S.C. § 241(a)
(Supp. 1988). Interpreting “comparable education” to in-
clude comparable salaries would make the additional
sentence redundant.

The Army avgues that this sentence is not redundant if
“comparable education” includes comparable wages, but
rather, the sentence is unnecessary if comparable educa-
tion did not incorporate comparable salaries. According
to the Army, Congress amended section 241 because it
wanted to raise the Puerto Rican dependents school
employees’ salaries above the local schools’ insufficent

lSa

wages. The Army argues that Congress could have raised
their salaries without amending section 241 if this section
wath ne deh epost orm enema

not have needed to amend section 241 to raise the Puerto
Rican schools’ employees’ pay. Section 241 already re-
quired the Army to provide the schools outside the United
States with a comparable education to the District of Co-
lumbia’s public schools; therefore, Congress did not need
to add the new sentence if Congress only intended to raise
the schools’ salaries. Rather, Congress added this sentence
to correct the existing pay practices which “invite{d] abuse
but not specifying personnel practices, especially regard-
ing salary. . . .” H.R.Rep. No. 1137, 95th Cong., 2d Sess.
108, reprinted in 1978 U.S.Code Cong. & Admin.News
4971, 5078. Consequently, if comparable education in-
cluded comparable salaries, Congress would not have
needed to pass this amendment. We decline to construe the
Statute to render this provision mere surplusage. See
United States v. Wang Kim Bo, 472 F.2d 720, 722 (Sth
costae should not construe statutes to make
w or surpl where
included the words). sn ee
Second, the legislative history demonstrates that Con-
gress did not intend comparable education to require iden-
tical salaries. In 1959, the Comptroller General issued a
decision holding that under section 241 as it existed at that
time, the Army could not compensate West Point teachers
according to teachers’ salaries in a neighboring city. In
response to the Army’s legislative proposals to change this
ruling, Congress amended section 241 in 1965 to provide:
“For the purpose of providing such comparable education,

meee

l6a

personnel may be employed and the compensation,
tenure, leave, hours of work and other incidents of the
employment relationship may be fixed without regard to
the Civil Service Act and rules. . . .” 20 U.S.C. § 241(a)
(1974 & Supp. 1988) (emphasis added). By choosing the
term “may,” Congress did not require the military depart-
ments to establish compensation in accordance with local
public schools, but merely gave military departments the
discretion to deviate from the prevailing rate act and
establish compensation in such manner.

A senate report similarly demonstrates that section 241
accompanying the 1965 amendment illustrates that Con-
gress amended section 241 in response to the Army's re-
quest to compensate teachers comparable to the teaching
profession rather than to local school practices. S.Rep.
No. 311, 89th Cong., Ist Sess., reprinted in 1965 U.S.
Code Cong. & Admin. News 1910, 1913. The Army ex-
plained that the federal pay acts did not practically accom-
modate the teaching profession: teachers’ salary schedules
are set on a school-year basis while the federal pay acts set
salaries on a calendar year; federal employees receive over-
time pay but teachers receive fixed amounts for extracur-
ricular activities; and teachers do not observe the forty-
hour work week of most federal employees. See 1965
U.S.Code Cong. & Admin.News at 1913. Because of these
differences, the Army concluded: “Based upon the
Department’s experience in operating [dependents]
schools, it is highly desirable that the personnel practices
for instructional personnel be patterend after those usually
encountered in the teacher profession rather than those
which have been developed for the Federal Service as a
whole.” 1965 U.S.Code & Admin. News at 1913. Thus,
Congress amended section 241 to allow the Army to com-
pensate its teachers in accordance with the entire teaching

EE —y———————— lll

17a

profession rather than mandating it to adhere to the local
public schools’ pay practices.

We conclude that section 241 does not compel the Army
to follow local public schools’ pay practices, therefore, the
Army has discretion for setting the dependents schools’
employees’ salaries. Because the Army has such discretion,
the Union’s proposals do not conflict with or involve mat-
ters specifically set by law. Consequently, we hold that the
Union’s compensation and fringe benefits proposals in-
a conditions of employment subject to the duty to

gain.

B. Compelling Need

As stated above, no duty to bargain exists over pro-
posals that conflict with an agency regulation for which a
compelling need exists. 5 U.S.C. § 7117(a)(2) (1980). The
Army contends that the Union’s proposals conflict with
Army Regulation 352-3, 1-7 and that a compelling need
exists for this regulation. This regulation requires the
dependents schools’ salary schedules to equal those of the
local schools “to the maximum extent practicable.”*

* This regulation provides:

1-7. Comparison factors. Education provided pursuant to the
provisions of Section 6 for children residing on Federal property
will be considered comparable to free public education offered by
selected communities of the State when the following factors are,
to the maximum extent practicable, equal:

a. Qualifications of professional and nonprofessional per-

b. Pupil-teacher ratios.

c. Curriculum for grades offered, including kindergarten and
summer school, if applicable.

d. Accreditation by State or other accrediting association.

e. Transportation services (student and support).

f. Length of regular and/or summer term(s).

18a

Because some of the Union’s proposals conflict with this
regulation, we must decide whether a compelling need ex-
ists for this regulation.’

The FLRA and the Second Circuit have concluded that
no compelling need exists for this regulation. A compel-
ling need exists if the “rule or regulation is essential, as
distinguished from helpful or desirable, to the accomplish-

ment. . . of functions of the [Army]. . . . [or] the rule or
regulation implements a mandate to the [Army]. . . under
law ... which implementation is essentially nondiscre-

tionary in nature.” 5 C.F.R. § 2424.11(a) & (c) (1986). We
agree with the FLRA and the Second Circuit that Army
Regulation 352-3, 1-7 does not “implement a mandate to
the Army” because as discussed above, section 241 does
not require the Army to compensate its school employees
according to local public school practices. Accord West
Point Elementary School Teachers Assoc., at 943. Similar-
ly, this regulation is not “essential” to the Army providing
a comparable education at a comparable cost per pupil. As
the Second Circuit recently concluded, the Army can
achieve both of these goals notwithstanding large varia-
tions in the employees’ wages because many expenses
beyond their salaries enter into the per pupil expenditures.

g. Types and numbers of professional and nonprofessional posi-
tions.

h. Salary schedules.

i. Conditions of employment.

j. Instructional equipment and supplies. Army Regulation AR
352-3, 1-7. '

’ After deciding that no compelling need exists for the Army’s
regulation, the FLRA concluded that the Army did not show that Sec-
tions A through G, I and J of Proposal | conflicted with the regula-
tion. Because we find that no compelling need exists for this regula-
tion, we need not address whether these sections conflict with the

Army regulation.

19a

West Point Elementary School Teachers Assoc., at 943.
For example, books, building maintenance, athletic pro-
grams, clubs, and lunch services also enter into this
calculation. Many factors other than teachers’ compensa-
tion also affect the quality of educatior.. Moreover, sec-
tion 241 requires equality only to the maximum extent
possible, not exact equality. Consequently, the Army has
not established a compelling need for this regulation.

C. Army’s Right to Set its Budget

The Army finally contends that the Union’s proposals
infringe upon its right to set its budget. The FLRA con-
cluded that the Army failed to demonstrate that the
Union’s proposals interfere with its right to determine its
budget. We must give deference to the FLRA’s decision
because this decision involves the application of the
FSLMRA. See 5 U.S.C. § 7106(a)(1) (Army has a right to
set its budget); see also Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco and
Firearms v. FLRA, 464 U.S. 89, 97, 104 S.Ct. 439, 444, 78
L.Ed.2d 195 (1983) (FLRA is entitled to considerable
deference when it applies the FSLMRA io federal labor
relations disputes). Further, we accept the FLRA’s find-
ings of fact because the record as a whole provides
substantial evidence to support such findings. See 5
U.S.C. § 7123(c) (1980).

In West Point, the Second Circuit rejected the Army’s
contention that a salary proposal interfered with its right
to set its budget. The court noted that the proposal did not
specify particular salary figures and that the proposal
would not necessarily increase the Army’s costs. West
Point Elementary School Teachers Assoc., at 944. Conse-
quently, the court deferred to the FLRA’s decision that the
proposal violated such right.

20a

We similarly defer to the FLRA’s decision that the
Union’s proposals do not invade the Army’s right to make
its budget. A proposal does not infringe on an agency’s
right to determine its budget merely because the proposed
matter will increase the agency’s costs. AFGE and Air
Force Logistics Command, 2 F.L.R.A. at 607. Rather, an
agency must show either that the proposals “(1) prescribe
the particular programs or operations the agency would
include in its budget or . . . prescribe the amount to be
allocated in the budget,” or (2) would cause significant and
unavoidable cost increases without creating any compen-
sating benefits. AFGE and Air Force Logistics Command,
2 F.L.R.A. 604. The FLRA concluded that the Army did
not demonstrate that the proposals would cause substan-
tial and unavoidable cost increases.

The evidence supports this conclusion. The proposals
would not necessarily increase the Army’s costs; the Army
did not specify any amount by which the proposed matters
would increase its budget. Further, any increase in the
employees’ salaries would not significantly increase the
Army’s budget; the Army concedes that its budget includes
bases, troops, weapons, vehicles, other equipment,
salaries for all other officers, and expenses for its eight
other schools. Finally, the Army did not establish that no
compensating benefits would offset such costs even if its
costs increased. Therefore, we defer to the FLRA’s deci-
sion because the record supports the FLRA’s conclusions
and hold that the Army failed to establish that the Union’s
proposals would interfere with its right to determine its

budget.
CONCLUSION

For the above reasons, we hold that the Union’s pro-
posals concerning compensation and fringe benefits in-

2la

volve conditions of employment within the agency’s discre-
tion, Creating a statutory duty to bargain. Furthermore, we
conclude that the FLRA properly found that the Army did
not establish a compelling need for its regulations. Finally,
we hold that the FLRA properly held that the Union’s pro-
posals did not interfere with the Army’s right to determine
rte ee . Conseq , uently, we grant the FLRA’s and the
s 10n to enforce the FLRA’
the Army’s petition for review. ss saleataae
AFFIRMED.

APPENDIX A

Proposal 1
Article 25: Salary and Benefits

A. The salary schedule shall be subject to annual
review beginning approximately the 15th of
December of each year. The Association shall be
consulted in the review. Employer will maintain
salaries on a competitive level with comparable
school districts. The comparable school districts
which shall be used for salary and fringe benefits
comparison purposes shall be Liberty and
Chatham Counties and Atlanta City Schools.

B. The ceiling for years of experience shall be ex-
tended from 16 to 20 years.

C. Pay lanes on the salary schedule shall be
established for each category of teachers at Fort
Stewart Schools justified by the results of a wage ~
survey system conducted by the Employer.

D. A copy of all data collected shall be provided to
the. Association for independent analysis. The
Employer shall consult the Association to ex-
plain its analysis and attempt to resolve any dif-
ferences of opinion before the salary schedule is
developed.

22a

All increases on the salary schedule shall be ap-
plied across the board.

The salary schedule shall reflect the cost of living
increase no later than thirty (30) days after it is
released by the Federal government.

. Completion of Higher Level Education

1. A teacher who completes the advanced
education required to qualify for a salary
under a higher education salary schedule

shall be assigned the higher salary rate
retroactive to the Ist day of the school year

preceding the date the education was com-
pleted. Such adjustment shall be made upon
receipt of written documentation in which
the college or university concerned specifies
the date when the teacher completed the ad-
vanced education, or the date when the
teacher met the requirements for a specific
degrec.

Maintain procedure for development of salary

schedule for all unit members who are on the

civil service pay scales.

Summer school salaries shall be based on the

unit member’s regular hourly rate of pay.

Any unit member whose employment is ter-

minated by the Employer will be given a lump

sum payment for unused sick leave.

Mileage Reimbursement

The use of personally owned vehicles for

authorized school business shall be reimbursed

at the rate of 40 cents per mile.

23a

L. Health Insurance

The Employer shall pay the full amount of
health insurance premium for each unit member
who elects to participate in the health insurance
program. The Employer will pay the premium
for the family coverage portion in the health
benefit program if the unit member desires this

M. Life Insurance Benefit
The Employer shall pay the full amount of life
insurance preisium for each unit member. The
coverage shall be the basic life insurance plan.
Unit members shall have the option to pay the

i for any additional insurance options
elected.

N. Unit members will continue to receive all health
benefits currently held which have not been spe-
cifically enumerated in previous articles of this
Agreement.

O. Any subsequent benefits provided to the Federal
service in health benefits, insurance benefits,
disability and retirement, sick leave, and workers
compensation shall automatically accrue to the
unit members.

APPENDIX B

Proposal 3
Article 11: Leave

Section 1. Sick and annual leave for Unit Members
whose services are required for twelve (12) months
will accrue and be granted in accordance with the An-

24a

nual and Sick Leave Act of 1951, as amended 5 USC
Chapter 63 and applicable Civilian Personnel Regula-
tions.

Section 2. Sick leave, annual leave, administrative,
and other types of leave for those Unit Members
whose services are not required for twelve (12)
months will be administered as follows:

A.

Sick Leave. Unit members shall accumulate sick
leave at a rate of four (4) hours per pay period
not to exceed thirteen (13) days shall be ac-
credited to Unit Members at the beginning of the
school year. Sick leave will accumulate without
limit and can be taken for any time during the
school year, but payment for sick leave taken in
excess of that earned will be recovered. No ac-
crued sick leave shall be carried over to any suc-
ceeding period when there is a break in federal
employment in excess of three (3) continuous
years.

1. Sick leave will be granted for the following
purposes:

(a) medical, dental or optical examination or
treatment;

(b) sickness or injury;

(c) medical disability connected with pregnan-
cy,

es
7

25a

(d) exposure to a contagious disease;

(e) illness of a member of the immediate family
or near relative who resides in the same
household or for whom the employee is. finan-
cially responsibl-;

(f) death of an immediate family member or
near relative.

2. As used in this section, immediate family
shall mean spouse, grandparent, parent-in-law,
child, grandchild, or sibling. Near relative shall
include immediate family and extend to first
cousin, aunt, uncle, niece, nephew, brother-in-
law, daughter-in-law, or son-in-law.

3. In the cases requiring a substitute teacher,
absence chargeable to sick leave will be for not
less than four (4) hours. When no substitute is
employed, sick leave will be taken in multiples of
one hour. The decision as to whether a substitute
is required shall be made solely by management
officials.

4. Unit members must obtain approval from
the principal before sick leave that has not been
accrued can be used.

5. Unit members may be required to provide a
doctor's statement in the case of a period of
absence which exceeds five (5) consecutive days.
6. Upon retirement, credit for unused sick
leave shall be administered in accordance with
FPM Supplement 831-1 Subchapter $3-7.

7. The Employer and Association shall meet by
November fifteen (15) to discuss the establish-
ment of a sick leave bank.

26a

B. Personal Leave

1. During any school year, a unit member may
utilize up to a maximum of three days of ac-
cumulated sick leave for personal reasons.
Notification of the use of such leave will be made
one (1) day in advance. Two (2) days of personal
leave may be carried over to the next year for a
maximum of five (5) personal days.

2. No personal leave will be taken on the day
before or immediately after spring vacation,
testing days, nor on inservice days or conference
days unless such leave has been approved by the
Superintendent.

3. Personal leave will be for not less than four
(4) hours in those cases where a substitute
teacher is employed. When no substitute is
employed, personal leave will be taken in
multiples of one hour. The decision as to
whether a substitute is required shall be made
solely by management officials.

Professional Leave of Absence. Professional
leave of absence may be granted by the
Employer subject to the following:

1. After five (5) years of continuous service at
Fort Stewart, sabbatical leave of absence
without pay may be granted for up to one (1)
employee per school year at the discretion of the
Employer. Such leave shall be granted for the
purpose of advanced study, research, profes-
sional writing, or other experience of recognized
value in an employee’s restrictive field.

2. Applications will be submitted to the
Superintendent of Schools not later than | April

27a

of the school year prior to the year th. leave is to
be taken. Applications will include:

(a) reason for leave;

(b) proposed length of time;

(c) where leave will be spent;

(d) outline of studies or activities to be taken.

3. Professional leave of absence will normal
be granted for one (1) school . Lea :
granted for a semester. 4 —-

4. While in a leave status, employees will not
be eligible to accrue sick leave but will be entitled
upon return to duty to any sick leave accrued
prior to the professional leave. Upon return to
duty, the employee will be entitled to advance
one (1) step on the salary schedule, if the studies
Or activities as proposed when the leave was
granted have been completed.
5. Unit members will not accrue seniorit
y but
will be entitled upon return to duty any seniority
accrued prior to the professional leave.
6. While in a leave status employees may con-
tinue their participation in the health and life in-
surance programs by payment of required
premiums.
7. Unit members may utilize i
up to a maxim

of five (5) days with pay per school year for
re — such as school visita-

. erences, workshops. Approval
for the above leave shall be granted by the
Superintendent.

Court Leave. Employees serving on j
jury dut
or subpoenaed to court shell be carried on court

leave without financial loss or loss of sick or an-
nual leave.

1. An employee on court leave may not receive
fees for jury service on regular workdays in a
Federal court. The employees may receive and
retain fees for such duty performed on non-
workdays or on holidays on which the employee
would otherwise have been excused from work.

2. An employee on court leave will accept fees
received from state or municipal courts and turn
them in to the Civilian Pay Section of Fort
Stewart Finance and Accounting Office. The
employee may retain pay received for travel and
subsistence expenses. Fees received for jury duty
service performed outside normal duty hours or
on holidays on which the employee would other-
wise have been excused may be retained.
Maternity/Paternity/Adoption Leave. Mater-
nity, paternity, and adoption leave will be ad-
ministered as follows:

1. For female employees having a child, ac-
cumulated sick leave may be used one and one
half (1%) months prior to having the child upon
presentation of a certificate of incapacity. Once
the child is delivered the employee may use sick
leave up to a period of one and one half (1%)
months after the child is delivered. Once the one
and one half (1%) months of sick leave have
been exhausted and the employee still desires
further time away from work, the employee will
be granted leave without pay. In no case will
leave without pay be granted for more than one
(1) year.

F.

2. For male employees who desire to stay at
home with their child, leave without pay may be
granted for a period not to exceed one (1) year.
A male employee may also make use of personal
leave (see Section 1, paragraph b of this Article)
for paternity leave.

3. For any employee who desires to stay at
home with an adopted child, leave without pay
may be granted for a period not to exceed one (1)
year. Leave without pay may be taken prior to
finalization of the adoption if such leave is
necessary to take part in court proceeding or
other action relating to the adoption. Personal
Leave (Section 1, paragraph b of this Article)
may also be utilized.

4. An employee shall make known intent to re-
quest leave including the type of leave, approx-
imate dates, and anticipated duration to allow
the Employer to prepare for any staffing ad-
justments which may be necessary.

Leave Without Pay (L WOP).

1. LWOP is requested by an employee and may
be approved at the discretion of the immediate
supervisor.

2. Leave without pay may be granted to unit
members for the following reasons:

(a) educational leave or travel;

(b) such other reasons as are approved by the

Superintendent

3. The minimum charge of LWOP is one (1)

ee
r.

Wa

4. Maximum amount of LWOP that may be
taken during one (1) school year is one (1) month
except as provided in Section 1, paragraph 3
(Maternity/Paternity/Adoption Leave).

APPENDIX B
UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

Case No. 0-NG-1071

Fort STEWART (GEORGIA) ASSOCIATION OF EDUCATORS
UNION

AND

Fort STEWART SCHOOLS
AGENCY

DECISION AND ORDER ON NEGOTIABILITY ISSUES’
I. Statement of the Case

This case is before the Authority because of a
negotiability appeal filed under section 7105(a)(2)(D) and
(E) of the Federal Service Labor-Management Relations
Statute (the Statute) and concerns the negotiability of

three proposals.

Il. Proposals 1 and 2
Proposal |
Article 25: Salary and Benefits

A. The salary schedule shall be subject to annual
review beginning approximately the 15th of
December of each year. The Association shall be

‘ Chairman Calhoun filed a separate opinion agreeing in part and
dissenting in part from the decision in this case.

32a

consulted in the review. Employer will maintain
salaries on a competitive level with comparable
school districts. The comparable school districts
which shall be used for salary and fringe benefits
comparison purposes shall be Liberty and
Chatham Counties and Atlanta City Schools.
The ceiling for years of experience shall be ex-
tended from 16 to 20 years.

Pay lanes on the salary schedule shall be
established for each category of teachers at Fort
Stewart Schools justified by the results of a wage
survey system conducted by the Employer.

A copy of all data collected shall be provided to
the Association for independent analysis. The
Employer shall consult the Association to ex-
plain its analysis and attempt to resolve any dif-
ferences of opinion before the salary schedule is
developed.

All increases on the salary schedule shall be ap-
plied across the board.

. The salary schedule shall reflect the cost of living
‘increase no later than thirty (30) days after it is
released by the Federal government.

. Completion of Higher Level Education

1. A teacher who completes the advanced
education required to qualify for a salary
under a higher education salary schedule
shall be assigned the higher salary rate
retroactive to the Ist day of the school year
preceding the date the education was com-
pleted. Such adjustment shall be made pon
receipt of written documentation in which
the college or university concerned specifies

33a

the date when the teacher completed the ad-
vanced education, or the date when the
teacher met the requirements for a specific
degree.

H. Maintain procedure for development of salary

schedule for all unit members who are on the
civil service pay scales.

Summer school salaries shall be based on the
unit member’s regular hourly rate of pay.

Any unit member whose employment is ter-
minated by the Employer will be given a lump
sum payment for unused sick leave.

Mileage Reimbursement

The use of persona!liy owned vehicles for
authorized school business shall be reimbursed
at the rate of 40¢ per mile.

Health Insurance

The Employer shall pay the full amount of
health insurance premium for each unit member
who elects to participate in the health insurance
program. The Employer will pay the premium
for the family coverage portion in the health
benefit program if the unit member desires this
additional coverage.

Life Insurance Benefit

The Employer shall pay the full amount of life
insurance premium for each unit member. The
coverage shall be the basic life insurance plan.
Unit members shall have the option to pay the
premiums for any additional insurance options
elected.

Unit members will continue to receive all health
benefits currently held which have not been spe-

34a

cifically enumerated in previous articles of this
Agreement.

O. Any subsequent benefits provided to the Federal
service in health benefits, insurance benefits,
disability and retirement, sick leave, and workers
compensation shall automatically accrue to the
unit members.

Proposal 2
The Association and the Employer agree that the
salary increase for all bargaining unit members
will be 13.5% for the school year.

A. Positions of the Parties

The Agency views Proposal 1 and Proposal 2 as
mutually exclusive. Specifically, the Agency claims that
Proposal | was withdrawn and replaced with Proposal 2.
Thus, the Agency contends that Proposal | is not properly
before the Authority. Substantively, the Agency alleges
generally that the proposals do not concern “conditions of
employment,” as defined in section 7103(a)(14) of the
Statute and therefore are outside the duty to bargain under
section 7117. The proposals, in the Agency’s view, also in-
terfere with its right to determine its budget under section
7106(a)(1). The Agency also asserts that the proposals
violate Federal statutes, Agency regulations having the
force and effect of-law, and an Agency regulation for
which a compelling need exists. In addition, the Agency
alleges that sections L, M, N and O of Proposal | are non-
negotiable because they concern matters specifically pro-
vided for by Federal law.

The Union explains that Proposal | concerns the pay-
fixing process for the life of the negotiated agreement and
that Proposal 2 provides for a specific salary increase for

35a

a particular school year. See Memorandum, dated
November 8, 1984, enclosed with the Petition for review.
As to the substance the Union asserts that the proposals
are negotiable based on Fort Bragg Unit of North
Carolina Association of Educators, National Education
Association and Fort Bragg Dependents Schools, Fort
Bragg, North Carolina, 12 FLRA 519 (1983).

B. Analysis and Conclusion

1. Proposal | is properly before the Authority

There is nothing in the record to support the Agency’s
claim that Proposal 2 was submitted as a replacement for
Proposal 1. In addition, based on the Union’s statement of
intent, Proposals 1 and 2 concern different aspects of the
pay-setting process and thus are not mutually exclusive.

2. Conditions of Employment

The Agency’s position, based primarily on the legislative
history of the Statute, is that Congress did not intend to
include teachers’ pay among negotiable conditions of
ey my — Agency argument was considered and
reject y the Authority in Fort Bragg Dependents
School and subsequent cases. Briefly stated, we have con-
sistently held that nothing in the Statute or its legislative
history prevents bargaining over employee compensation
insofar as: (1) the matters proposed are not specifically
provided for by law and are within the discretion of the
agency; and (2) the proposals :nvolved are not otherwise
inconsistent with law, applicable Government-wide rule or
regulation, or with an agency regulation supported by a
compelling need. See also American Federation of
Government Employees, AFL-CIO, Local 1897 and De-
partment of the Air Force, Eglin Air Force Base, Florida,
24 FLRA No. 41 (1986).

OO a

36a

2% FLRA No. 108 (1987), petition for review filed sub
nom. Fort Knox Dependent Schools v. FLRA, No.
87-3593 (6th Cir. Jun. 25, 1987). Thus, the Agency has not
established that either of the proposals concerns a matter
specifically provided for by law, or that they are outside
the Agency’s discretion to adopt.

Moreover, even assuming the correctness of the
Agency’s position respecting negotiation of pay matters,
the Agency has cited no specific grounds for finding sec-
tions A, C and D of Proposal | nonnegotiable. These sec-
tions do not concern the amounts of compensation to be
paid unit employees. Rather, they merely authorize the
Union to review and comment on data used to determine
employee salary schedules. Consequently, even if compen-
sation were found to be a nonnegotiable matter, sections
A, C and D would still be within the Agency’s duty to

bargain.

3. Agency's Right to Determine iis Budget

To establish that a proposal directly interferes with an
agency’s right to determine its budget under section
7106(a)(1) of the Statute, an agency must make a substan-
tial showing that the proposal requires the inclusion of a
particular program or amount in its budget or that the
proposal will result in significant and unavoidable in-
creases in cost not affected by compensating benefits.

The Agency also has failed to show that any increased
Losts, which it asserts are unavoidable, would not be offset
y compensating benefits. Instead, it contends that Con-

38a

gress’ action in exempting teachers from statutes govern-
ing pay and certain benefits for Government employees
constitutes a finding that increases in teachers’ pay are not
offset by compensation benefits. Statement of Position at
8-9. We find this argument unpersuasive. Even assuming
that the congressional action had the implications sug-
gested by the Agency, the legislative action was based on
the cost differential between existing pay and personnel
practices under title $5 U.S. Code and those subsequently
embodied in 20 U.S.C. § 241. The congressional action
therefore cannot be construed to cover the alleged cost in-
creases which would result from implementing these pro-
posals within this bargaining unit. See Fort Knox
Dependents Schools, 28 FLRA No. 29 (1987). Further-
more, as we noted in section B.2., above, nothing in 20
U.S.C. § 241, or in its legislative history as relied upon by
the Agency, indicates that Congress sought to restrict the
Agency’s choice in adopting a particular employment
practice relating to pay and fringe benefits not otherwise
provided for by law. Moreover, as to the requirement that
per pupil expenditures in dependents schools be limited to
the amounts expended by comparable communities in the
same state, the Authority held in Fort Bragg Dependents
Schools, 12 FLRA 519 that employee compensation is but
one of the factors to be considered in determining whether
the limitation has been exceeded.

Finally, the Authority also noted in Fort Bragg
Dependents Schools 12 FLRA 519, 523, that while the
consequences of a proposal necessarily are considered in
the collective bargaining process, “should matters of con-
cern to the Agency, such as cost, prevent the parties from
reaching agreement, that consideration could be presented
to the Federal Service Impasses Panel in a proceeding to
resolve a negotiation impasse pursuant to section 7119 of
the Statute.”

ee

39a

4. Procurement Law and Regulations

The Agency asserts that the violate law,
specifically ly 10 U.S.C. § iaindtnnemen st
contract procurement process. The Agency also
contends that the proposals violate Government procure-
ment regulations having the force and effect of law, which
govern the negotiation and administration of procurement
contracts, namely the Federal Acquisition Regulation. In
effect, the Agency argues that the “personal services con-
tracts” under which bargaining unit employees are hired
must be awarded in conformity with procurement law and
related Federal regulations. and that bargaining over pay
and related fringe benefits is inconsistent with those
Statutory and regulatory requirements.

Federal Government, subject to all statutes governing
Government employment unless expressly exempted. Con-
sequently, we determined that the Agency had failed to
demonstrate that procurement law and regulations applied
in any manner to, or governed the employment relation-
ship of, teachers employed in the dependents school
system. Similarly, the Agency iri this case has failed to
show that procurement law and regulations govern
bargaining unit working conditions.

5. The “Antideficiency Act”

The Agency contends that, because the proposals would
obligate it to expend certain funds for salaries and other

4a

benefits in a succeeding fiscal year, they violate provisions
of the “Antideficiency Act” (the Act), 31 U.S.C. § 1341.
in Fort Knox Dependents Schools, 27 FLRA No. 34, we
examined a similar argument in response to a proposal
concerning both paid and unpaid leave. In rejecting the
Agency’s contention that Proposal 4 in the cited case
violated the Act, we noted that the Comptroller General,
in interpreting the Act, has held that “salaries of Govern-
ment employees, as well as related items that flow from
those salaries such as retirement fund contributions, are
obligations of the Government at the time they are earned,
that is, when the services are provided.” In this case, in-
sofar as the proposals can be said to concern specific
sums, there is no obligation to make payments until the
specific service is rendered by the unit employee. Hence,
there is no showing that the proposals violate the Act.

6. Agency Regulation

The Agency asserts that the proposals violate Army
Regulation (AR) 352-3, an Agency regulation for which it
alleges a compelling need exists under section 2424.11(c)
of the Authority’s Rules and Regulations. Specifically, the
Agency states that its regulations requires equality, to the
maximum practicable extent, between the conditions of
employment in the bargaining unit and those of teachers in
comparable school systems in Georgia where Fort Stewart
is located. In support of its position, the Agency cites 20
U.S.C. § 241(a)(2) which obligates the Agency to take
whatever action is necessary to ensure that the education
provided by its schools is comparable to that provided to
children in similar communities in the same state.

Substantially the same argument was raised by the
Agency to support its claim that there was a compelling
need for AR 352-3 to bar negotiation of Proposal 4 in Fort

7. Sections L and M of Proposal |

Sections L and M of Proposal | would require, respec-
tively, that the Agency provide health insurance and basic

Fort Bragg Dependents Schools, Fort Bragg, North
Carolina, 12 FLRA 519 (1983). Noting that Federal law
limits the amount of the employer’s contribution toward
the cost of health insurance, and specifically requires
employees to contribute toward the cost of life insurance,
the Authority held that the two proposals addressed mat-
ters provided for by Federal statutes. Because the

Statutory provisions cited in Fort Bragg Dependents
Schools remain in effect, we must likewise find that sec-

tions L and M of Proposal | here concern matt
vided for by law. oneal
8. Sections N and O of Proposal |

Section N of Proposal | would continue all health
benefits currently accruing to employees even though not

to be that, because the sections concern matters
law, the two sections are not properly included in the

plicable to sections N and O.

Cc. Conchusion
in accordance with the reasons and cases cited, Pro-

there is a compelling need. Therefore, Proposal | with the
exception of sections L and M, and Proposal 2 are within
the duty to bargain. Sections L. and M of Proposal | are
inconsistent with Federal law and consequently are outside
the duty to bargain under section 7117(a)(1) of the Statute.

itl. Proposal 3

Proposal 3 concerns various types of leave. Because of
its iength, the proposal appears in an Appendix to this
decision.

Knox Dependent Schools; 2%6 FLRA No. 108. The first
part of the disputed propos_! in that case sought to
establish the unit employees’ right to sabbatical leave after
10 years’ continuous service at Fort Knox. In deciding that
the first part of the proposal was negotiable, we held that

it “concerns a condition of employment about which the
Agency has discretion under 20 U.S.C. § 241. Further, the

first portion of the proposal docs not conflict with 20

U.S.C. § 241 or with an Agency regulation for which
compelling need has been established by the Amen"

d4a

Consequently, based on the reasoning and cases cited in
Fort Knox Dependent Schools, ali but section F of Pro-
posal 3 is within the duty to bargain.

Section F of Proposal 3 authorizes leave without pay
(LWOP) Tor unit members. It further provides that
LWOP “may be approved at the discretion of the im-
mediate supervisor.” The Agency contends that the latter
requirement is an impermissible intrusion on its reserved
right to assign work. We agree. In American Federation of
Government Employees, AFL-CIO, Local 32 and Office
of Personnel Management, 14 FLRA 278 (1984), affirmed
sub nom. Local 32, American Federation of Government
Employees v. FLRA, 762 F.2d 138 (D.C. Cir. 1985), the
disputed proposal sought to require that any grievance ini-
tiated by the agency be signed by the agency head. The
proposal was held to violate section 7106(aX2\B) of the
Statute because it prescribed specific duties which par-
ticular nonbargaining unit personnel in the agency would
perform. It was further noted that the proposal would ef-
fectively preclude management's assigning the duty
referenced in the proposal to any other person, thereby
eliminating the discretion inherent in management's nght
to assign work.

Here, section F of the proposal would assign approval
authority for LWOP to specific management officials.
Under its terms such authority could not be assigned to
higher level officials who might be better positioned to
assess the impact of a grant of LWOP upon the overall ef-
fectiveness of operations. Consequently, based on the
reasoning and case cited in Office of Personnel Manage-
ment, we find that section F of Proposal 2 is outside the
duty to bargain because it is inconsistent with manage-
ment’s right to assign work under section 7106(aX2) B) of
the Statute.

Information Systems Command, Redstone Arseng
rsenal Com-
missary, 27 FLRA No. 14, slip op. at 13 (1987).

IV. Order

Issued, Washington, D.C., July 31, 1987.

/s/ Henry B. Frazier, II

Henry B. Frazier Il, Member
/S/ Jean McKee

JEAN McKeg, Member

FEDERAL LABOR
RELATIONS AUTHORITY

* In finding these matters negotiable we make no judgment as to

their respective merits.

46a

Separate Opinion of Chairman Calhoun

I agree with my colleagues that the issues in this case are
essentially the same as those in Fort Knox Teachers
Association and Fort Knox Dependent Schools, 26 FLRA
No. 108 (1987), petition for review filed sub nom. Fort
Knox Dependent Schools v. FLRA, No.-87-3593 (6th Cir.
June 25, 1987). In my opinion in that case, I stated that in
the absence of a clear expression of congressional intent to
make wages and money-related fringe benefits negotiable,
I would find that these matters are not within the duty to
bargain. In this case, Proposal 1, subsections A, D, E, F,
G, I, J, K, N, and O, Proposal 2, and Proposal 3 concern
wages and money-related fringe benefits. Because | find
no expression of congressional intent in this case that these
matters be negotiable, | would find these proposals to be
outside the duty to bargain. I note, however, with respect
to subsections A and D of Proposal | that consistent with
the Authority’s decision concerning Proposal 4 in //linois
Nurses Association and Veterans Administration Medical
Center, North Chicago, Illinois, 27 FLRA No. 79 (1987), I
would find negotiable a proposal which simply required
the Agency to provide information to and consult with the
Union on these matiers.

| am unable to determine the meanings of subsections B,
C, and H of Proposal | from the record in this case. In my
view, there is insufficient information on which to make a
negotiability determination on these subsections. | would
dismiss the Union’s petition as to them. In addition, | note
that subsection C(6) of Proposal 3 is similar to section 8(g)
of Provision 10, which the Authority found to be
negotiable in American Federation of Government
Employees, AFL-CIO, Local 1770 and Department of the
Army, Fort Bragg Dependent Schools, Fort Bragg, Nurth
Carolina, 28 FLRA No. 66 (1987). Unlike the provision in

oo
+

et

47a

that case, which required the continuation of insurance
premiums “in accordance with Federal regulations,” Pro-
posal 3 in this case does not refer to applicable regulations.
As such, it would constitute an independent contractual
requirement concerning the matter in my view.

I agree with my colleagues that subsections L and M of
Proposal | concern matters provided for by Federal law.
Issued, Washington, D.C., July 31, 1987.

/8/ Jerry L. Calhoun
Jerry L. CALHOUN, Chairman

FEDERAL LABOR
RELATIONS AUTHORITY

APPENDIX

Proposal 3

Article 11: Leave

Section 1. Sick and annual leave for Unit Members
whose services are required for twelve (12) months
will accrue and be granted in accordance with the An-
nual and Sick Leave Act of 1951, as amended 5 USC
Chapter 63 and applicable Civilian Personnel Regula-
tions.

Section 2. Sick leave, annual leave, administrative,
and other types of leave for those Unit Members
whose services are not required for twelve (12)
months will be administered as follows:

A. Sick Leave. Unit members shall accumulate sick
leave at a rate of four (4) hours per pay period
not to exceed thirteen (13) days shall be ac-
credited to Unit Members at the beginning of the
school year. Sick leave will accumulate without
limit and can be taken for any time during the
school year, but payment for sick leave taken in
excess of that earned will be recovered. No ac-
crued sick leave shall be carried over to any suc-
ceeding period when there is a break in federal
employment in excess of three (3) continuous

years.
1. Sick leave will be granted for the following
purposes:
(a) medical, dental or optical examination or
treatment;

(b) sickness Or injury;
(c) medical disability connected with pregnan-
cy;

(d) exposure to a contagious disease;

(e) illness of a member of the immediate family
or near relative who resides in the same
household or for whom the employee is finan-
cially responsible;

(f) death of an immediate family member or
near relative.

2. As used in this section, immediate family
shall mean spouse, grandparent, parent-in-law,
child, grandchild, or sibling. Near relative shall
include immediate family and extend to first
cousin, aunt, uncle, niece, nephew, brother-in-
law, daughter-in-law, or son-in-law.

3. In the cases requiring a substitute teacher,
absence chargeable to sick leave will be for not
less than four (4) hours. When no substitute is
employed, sick leave will be taken in multiples of
one hour. The decision as to whether a substitute
is required shall be made solely by management
officials.

4. Unit members must obtain approval from

the principal before sick leave that has not been
accrued can be used.

5. Unit members may be required to provide a
doctor’s statement in the case of a period of
absence which exceeds five (5) consecutive days.
6. Upon retirement, credit for unused sick
leave shall be administered in accordance with
FPM Supplement 831-1 Subchapter $3-7.

7. The Employer and Association shall meet by
November fifteen (15) to discuss the establish-
ment of a sick leave bank.

S0a

B. Personal Leave

1. During any school year, a unit member may
utilize up to a maximum of three days of ac-
cumulated sick leave for personal reasons.
Notification of the use of such leave will be made
one (1) day in advance. Two (2) days of personal
leave may be carried over to the next year for a
maximum of five (5) personal days.

2. No personal leave will be taken on the day
before or immediately after spring vacation,
testing days, nor on inservice days or conference
days unless such leave has been approved by the
Superintendent.

3. Personal leave will be for not less than four
(4) hours in those cases where a substitute
teacher is employed. When no substitute is

employed, personal leave will be taken in
multiples of one hour. The decision as to

whether a substitute is required shall be made
solely by management officials.

Professional Leave of Absence. Professional
leave of absence may be granted by the
Employer subject to the following:

1. After five (5) years of continuous service at
Fort Stewart, sabbatical leave of absence
without pay may be granted for up to one (1)
employee per school year at the discretion of the
Employer. Such leave shall be granted for the
purpose of advanced study, research, profes-
sional writing, or other experience of recognized
value in an employee's respective field.

2. Applications will be submitted to the
Superintendent of Schools not later than | April

Sla

of the school year prior to the year the leave is to
be taken. Applications will include:

(a) reason for leave;

(b) proposed length of time;

(c) where leave will be spent;

(d) outline of studies of activities to be taken.

3. Professional leave of absence will normally
be granted for one (1) school year. Leave may be
granted for a semester.

4. While in a leave status, employees will not
be eligible to accrue sick leave but will be entitled
upon return to duty to any sick leave accrued
prior to the professional leave. Upon return to
duty, the employee will be entitled to advance
one (1) step on the salary schedule, if the studies
Of activities as proposed when the leave was
granted have been completed.

5. Unit members will not accrue seniority but
will be entitled upon return to duty any seniority
accrued prior to the professional leave.

6. While in a leave status employees may con-
tinue their participation in the health and life in-
surance programs by payment of required
premiums.

7. Unit members may utilize up to a maximum
of five (5) days with pay per school year for
education related purposes, such as school visita-
tions, conferences, and workshops. Approval
for the above leave shall be granted by the
Superintendent.

Court Leave. Employees serving on jury duty
or subpoenaed to court shall be carried on court

,

52a

leave without financial loss or loss of sick or an-
nual leave.

1. An employee on court leave may not receive
fees for jury service on regular workdays in a
Federal court. The employees may receive and
retain fees for such duty performed on non-
workdays or on holidays on which the employee
would otherwise have been excused from work.

2. An employee on court leave will accept fees
received from state or municipal courts and turn
them in to the Civilian Pay Section of Fort
Stewart Finance and Accounting Office. The
employee may retain pay received for travel and
subsistence expenses. Fees received for jury duty
service performed outside normal duty hours or
on holidays on which the employee would other-
wise have been excused may be retained.

Maternity/Paternity/Adortion Leave. Mater-
nity, paternity, and adoption leave will be ad-
ministered as follows:

1. For female employees having a child, ac-
cumulated sick leave may be used one and one
half (1%) months prior to having the child upon
presentation of a certificate of incapacity. Once
the child is delivered the employee may use sick
leave up to a period of one and one half (1%)
months after the chiid is delivered. Once the one
and one half (1%) months of sick leave have
been “exhausted and the employee still desires
further time away from work, the employee will
be granted leave without pay. In no case will
leave without pay be granted for more than one

(1) year.

F.

53a

2. For male employees who desire to Stay at
home with their child, leave without pay may be
granted for a period not to exceed one (1) year.
A male employee may also make use of personal
leave (see Section 1, paragraph b of this Article)
for paternity leave.

3. For any employee who desires to Stay at
home with an adopted child, leave without pay
may be granted for a period not to exceed one (1)
year. Leave without pay may be taken prior to
finalization of the adoption if such leave is
necessary to take part in court proceeding or
other action relating to the adoption. Personal
Leave (Section 1, paragraph b of the Article)
may also be utilized.

4. An employee shall make known intent to re-
quest leave including the type of leave, approx-
imate dates, and anticipated duration to allow
the Employer to prepare for any staffing ad-
justments which may be necessary.

Leave Without Pay (LWOP).
1. LWOP is requested by an employee and may

be approved at the discretion of the immediate
supervisor.

2. _ Leave without pay may be granted to unit
members for the following reasons:

(a) educational leave or travel;

(b) such other reasons as are approved by the
Superintendent

3. The minimum charge of LWOP is one (1)
hour and additional charges in multiples of one
(1) hour.

S4a

4. Maximum amount of LWOP that may be
taken during one (1) school year is one (1) month
except as provided in Section 1, paragraph e
(Maternity/Paternity/ Adoption Leave).

SSa
APPENDIX C

IN THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE ELEVENTH CIRCUIT

No. 87-8734
FOR

[Text truncated at 120,000 characters. The full text is on the page linked above.]

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385012_0572%3A02. Public record. Not legal advice.
