# Amicus Curiae Brief — Whitmore v. Arkansas

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385012_0557%3A09

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1990
- **Citation:** 495 U.S. 149

## Text

2
;
ry
A
Ps

No. 88-7146
In The JOSEPH F. SPANIOL,
. CLERK
Supreme Court of the United St
October Term, 1989
—e—

JONAS H. WHITMORE,
Individually and as “Next Friend”
of RONALD GENE SIMMONS,

Petitioner,

vs.

STATE OF ARKANSAS, et al.,
Respondents.

oe
ON WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
SUPREME COURT OF ARKANSAS
—_——
BRIEF OF AMICI CURIAE BY THE
STATE OF MISSOURI, joined by the States

of ALABAMA, IDAHO, NEW MEXICO, OHIO,
SOUTH CAROLINA and VIRGINIA

—_—_@—

WILuIAM L. WEBSTER
Attorney General

JoHN M. Morris
Assistant Attorney General

STEPHEN D. HAWKE

Assistant Attorney General

Counsel of Record for Amicus Curiae
State of Missouri

Post Office Box 899
Jefferson City, Missouri 65102
(314) 751-3321

COCKLE LAW BRIEF PRINTING CO., (800) 225-6964
OR CALL COLLECT (402) 342-2831

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

I.

WHETHER THE EIGHTH AMENDMENT’S BAN
AGAINST CRUEL AND UNUSUAL PUNISHMENT
REQUIRES A MANDATORY APPELLATE REVIEW IN
ALL CASES IN WHICH THE DEATH PENALTY IS
IMPOSED?

Il.

WHETHER A THIRD PARTY HAS STANDING TO
ASSERT THE VIOLATION OF CONSTITUTIONAL
RIGHTS WHEN THE PARTY DIRECTLY AFFECTED
DOES NOT ASSERT THE RIGHT? (AMICI WILL
ADDRESS ONLY THIS QUESTION.)

ii

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
QUESTIONS PRESENTED ...........---0eeeeeeeeee i
TABLE OF CONTENTS..........-----eeeeeeeeeeeee ii
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES............---00eee+0e: iii
INTEREST OF AMICI CURIAE ..............+++++ 1
SUMMARY OF THE ARGUMENT ..........------- 1
ARGUMENT . ...0ccccccccsstccccscvsccesessvoscess 2

I. Whitmore cannot demonstrate that he has
“next-friend,” individual or third-party
Standing .........-eeeeeeeccceccccceeecceees 3

A. Whitmore alleges only individual and
third-party standing, not “next-friend”
standing........... oovegeccccetabensere 4

B. Whitmore does not have individual
standing or third-party standing to assert
a criminal direct appeal from Simmons’
CONVICTION ...... cc crcccccccccccccceces 6

1. Whitmore has no individual standing
2. Whitmore is not entitled to third-
party standing ............-++++++ 11
C. Supreme Court review of the Eighth
Amendment claim is precluded by an ade-
quate and independent state ground ..... 13
CONCLEMSIOIN ..0.. cc ccccctdccscusesvcvessaseeuteess 15

APPEIGIIEN «wooo ccccccccsccseccsccesssbessccuseenen A-1

iii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Pages
Craig v. Boren, 429 U.S. 190 (1976) ......------e+ees 12
Evans v. Bennett, 440 U.S. 1301 (1979) (Rehnquist,

J., opinion in chambers) ........-----+++e+ee+eeeee> 4
Flast v. Cohen, 392 U.S. 83 (1968)...........-252055 a?
Franz v. Lockhart, 700 F.Supp. 1005 (E.D.Ark. 1988),

appealed, No. 89-1485EA (8th Cir.)..........-. 6, 9, 14
Franz v. State, 296 Ark. 181, 754 S.W.2d 839 (1988) .. .3, 6
Gilmore v. Utah, 429 U.S. 1012 (1976)..........-+--. 1,2
Gladstone, Realtors v. Village of Bellwood, 441 U.S. 91

EERO GLDGbGhesvagaccsesTeccesccoscceces: 10
Gregg v. Georgia, 428 U.S. 153 (1976) ........-+--+++-- 2
Groseclose ex rel. Harries v. Dutton, 594 F.Supp. 949

CREED, Te. BODE) .... ccc cc cccccccccccccvccccces: 2
Lenhard v. Wolff, 443 U.S. 1306 (1979) (Rehnquist,

J., opinion in chambers) .........+---++++e0eeeeeee: 4
Michigan v. Long, 463 U.S. 1032 (1983).....-..-.-++-. 13
O'Shea v. Littleton, 414 U.S. 488 (1974)............-. 7,9
Rees v. Peyton, 384 U.S. 312 (1966) .......-..---++ 4, 6
Rumbaugh v. Procunier, 753 F.2d 395 (5th Cir.), cert.

- denied, 473 U.S. 919 (1985) ...... 6... cece cere ee eee ee 2
Secretary of State of Maryland v. Joseph H. Munson

Co., 467 U.S. 947 (1984)........ 2. cee ee eee eee 12

Singleton v. Wulff, 428 U.S. 106 (1976)...... 3, 4, 11, 12

Smith ex rel. Missouri Public Defender Commission v.
Armontrout, 812 F.2d 1050 (8th Cir.), cert. denied,
EE Is scccccccssccccovcsscececess 2, 4

iv
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - Continued
Page

United States v. Students Challenging Regulatory
Agency Procedures (SCRAP), 412 U.S. 669 (1973) .... 11

Valley Forge Christian College v. Americans United
for Separation of Church and State, 454 U.S. 464

EE -. cE ceevdd dus eeeesisdeddavoesccsbeoecs 8, 10, 11
Weber v. Garza, 570 F.2d 511 (1978).........---e ee eee 2
Whitmore v. State, 296 Ark. 308, 756 S.W.2d 890

Ps dg ccd ddticddy bene det ee veuve seuss Ce owes ese )
Wilson v. Lane, 870 F.2d 1250 (7th Cir. 1989), cert.

pending, No. 89-81 (US.).......-0-eeee cere eee e eee: 3

STATUTES
2B UG.C. © FBEZ... co cccccdcccccccccccccccccsccesccess 4

SECONDARY SOURCES
LDF, Death Row, U.S.A. (July, 1989)............+++: os

INTEREST OF AMICI CURIAE

The states listed in the Appendix, by and through
their respective Attorneys General, respectfully offer this
brief as amici curiae in support of the position of the
respondents in this cause. Since 1976, there have been
fourteen “voluntary executions” which is over ten per-
cent of the total number of executions. See, LDF, Death
Row, U.S.A. 6-8 (July, 1989). All of the states joining in
this brief have had, do have or may have in the future
death-row inmates in state or federal court who wish to
forego litigation. These states have had or will have peo-
ple who oppose the death penalty attempt to litigate on
behalf of those inmates.

The precise issue raised in the present cause either
has arisen or may arise in all of these states. For this
reason, amici have a substantial and continuing interest
in the cases such as the one at bar.

—_o—

SUMMARY OF THE ARGUMENT

Since Gilmore v. Utah, 429 U.S. 1012 (1976), the federal
courts have periodically been asked to decide whether
intervenors who want to litigate on behalf of inmates
who wish to abandon appeals have standing to litigate on
behalf of those death-row inmates. Petitioner Whitmore
suggests that he has standing to litigate the present peti-
tion for writ of certiorari on an “individual standing”
theory and “third-party standing” theory. Whitmore,
however, fails to demonstrate either form of standing.
Since Whitmore suffers no injury-in-fact from Simmons’
execution, he has no individual standing. Further,

Whitmore has no third-party standing since he does not
show why Simmons cannot assert his own rights. Accor-
dingly, this Court has no jurisdiction under Article III
since there is no “case or controversy” before the Court.
Finally, the judgment of the Arkansas Supreme Court
rests on an adequate and independent state ground. Even
if Whitmore has standing before the federal court under
Article III, he had no standing in state court as a matter of
state law.

>

ARGUMENT

In this brief, amici wish to speak only to the second
question presented by Whitmore. Since Gregg v. Georgia,
428 U.S. 153 (1976), there have been fourteen “voluntary
executions.” See, LDF, Death Row, U.S.A. 6-8 (July, 1989).
These executions have created almost as much litigation
as nonvoluntary executions. See, e.g., Gilmore v. Utah, 429
U.S. 1012 (1976); Rumbaugh v. Procunier, 753 F.2d 395 (5th
Cir.), cert. denied, 473 U.S. 919 (1985). There is also much
“next-friend” litigation that does not result in execution.
See, e.g., Smith ex rel. Missouri Public Defender Commission
v. Armontrout, 812 F.2d 1050 (8th Cir.), cert. denied, 107
S.Ct. 3277 (1987); Weber v. Garza, 570 F.2d 511 (1978);
Groseclose ex rel. Harries v. Dutton, 594 F.Supp. 949 (M.D.
Tenn. 1984). The issue of standing for one to proceed on
behalf of a death-row litigant who wishes to abandon
litigation has been or may be the subject matter of litiga-
tion involving amici.

Although Whitmore articulates and treats the stand-
ing issue as a secondary question, amici believe that it is

not a secondary issue, but rather, a threshold question
that implicates this Court’s Article III “case or contro-
versy” jurisdiction. Flast v. Cohen, 392 U.S. 83, 94-101
(1968). If the Article III jurisdictional standard is met,
there remains the issue of whether the Court should hear
the suit “as a prudential matter.” Singleton v. Wulff, 428
U.S. 106, 112 (1976). If Whitmore has no standing before
this Court, then the judgment of the Arkansas Supreme
Court should be affirmed.

I. Whitmore cannot demonstrate that he has “next-
friend,” individual or third-party standing.

Whitmore’s belief that standing is a secondary issue
is reflected in his presentation of this issue to this Court.
Before discussing Whitmore’s imprecision in presenting
the issue, it is necessary to discuss the difference between
individual standing, “next-friend” standing and third-
party standing.

Individual standing concerns the ability of Whit-
more, as an individual, to challenge the lawfulness of
Arkansas’s capital procedure. Under individual standing,
Whitmore is not asserting Simmons’ constitutional rights.
Rather, Whitmore attempts to assert his own personal
challenge to the lawfulness of the Arkansas procedure
due to an alleged injury to him from that procedure as
applied to Simmons. An example of this individual stand-
ing was asserted but rejected in Wilson v. Lane, 870 F.2d
1250, 1254-1256 (7th Cir. 1989), cert. pending, No. 89-81
(U.S.). See also, Franz v. Lockhart, 700 F.Supp. 1005, 1010
(E.D.Ark. 1988), appealed, No. 89-1485EA (8th Cir.).

This Court recognized “next friend” standing with
federal habeas corpus litigation in Rees v. Peyton, 384 U.S.
312 (1966). That form of standing is statutorily avthorized
by the Congress. 28 U.S.C. § 2242. With “next friend”
standing, the “next friend” asserts the real party-in-inter-
est’s rights due to an inability of the real party-in-interest
(the prisoner) to assert those rights for himself. In the
habeas corpus litigation, that inability is usually litigated
in the form of whether the prisoner is competent to
litigate in his own behalf. See, Lenhard v. Wolff, 443 U.S.
1306, 1308 (1979) (Rehnquist, J., opinion in chambers);
Evans v. Bennett, 440 U.S. 1301 (1979) (Rehnquist, J., opin-
ion in chambers); Smith ex rel. Missouri Public Defender
Commission v. Armontrout, 812 F.2d at 1050. In these “next
friend” habeas corpus litigations, the “next friend”
wishes to step into the shoes of the offender and litigate
claims for the offender, subject to defenses asserted by
the State.

Finally, Whitmore attempts to assert the rights of
Simmons under a third-party standing theory (Brief, pp.
22-25). To assert third-party standing, Whitmore must
show an injury-in-fact to himself from Simmons’ failure
to appeal and that it is prudential to allow Whitmore to
proceed, i.e., that Simmons is incapable of asserting his
own rights. Singleton v. Wulff, 428 U.S. at 114, 116.

A. Whitmore alleges only individual and third-
party standing, not “next-friend” standing.

Although the present case is styled “Jonas H. Whit-
more, individually and as ‘next friend’ of Ronald Gene
Simmons v. State of Arkansas,” amici believe that the

standing issue is factually more complex than the mere
caption of the present case. Accordingly, amici will trace
the development of the present standing issue before the
Arkansas Supreme Court and this Court. From this dis-
cussion, amici believe that it will become clear that
Whitmore is asserting only individual and third-party
standing before this Court.

Before the Arkansas Supreme Court, Whitmore, with-
out gracing that court with any explanation, sought per-
mission to proceed as Simmons’ “next friend” (Joint
Appendix — hereinafter “J.A.” - at p. 32, para. 2) and
asserted one theory of individual standing:

Petitioner Jonas H. Whitmore is an inter-
ested party in that certain protected rights for
both he [sic] and other present and future death
row inmates are dependent upon further appel-
late review in behalf of Ronald Gene Simmons.

[J.A. p. 33, para. 5.) Whitmore did not assert a third-party
standing theory (J.A. 32-33). The Arkansas Supreme
Court denied the request to intervene due to Whitmore’s
lack of standing on March 13, 1989 (J.A. 34).

The petition for writ of certiorari to the Supreme
Court of Arkansas made clear that the only judgment
Whitmore wanted reviewed was the “judgment and opin-
ion of the Supreme Court of Arkansas entered in this
proceeding on March 13, 1989, in which Whitmore was
denied the right to intervene in [sic] behalf of Ronald
Gene Simmons, an Arkansas inmate scheduled to die by
lethal injection” (Petition for Certiorari - hereinafter
“P.C.” — at p. 1). Whitmore did not request the petition for
certiorari to extend to the March 10, 1989 per curiam

opinion of the Arkansas Supreme Court (J.A. 29). Whit-
more did not assert that he had “next friend” standing to
proceed on behalf of Simmons (P.C. pp. 8-10). Likewise,
in the opening brief, Whitmore fails to assert that he has
“next friend” standing to proceed on behalf of Simmons
(Brief pp. 20-25). The only theories of standing asserted to
this Court are individual standing and third-party stand-
ing (P.C. pp. 8-10; Brief pp. 20-25). Whitmore’s decision
not to assert “next friend” standing is reasonable in light
of Franz v. State, 296 Ark. 181, 754 S.W.2d 839 (1988), and
Franz v. Lockhart, 700 F.Supp. at 1005. Issues concerning
the limitation of Rees v. Peyton, 384 U.S. at 312, are not
before the Court.

B. Whitmore does not have individual standing or
third-party standing to assert a petition for w.it
of certiorari from Simmons’ conviction.

Whitmore asserts that he has individual standing to
assert the present petition for writ of certiorari (Br. pp.
20-22). Whitmore also imports a variety of theories from
civil law to support his third-party standing contention
(Br. pp. 22-25). These civil-law theories of standing have
never been applied by this Court to one’s standing to
assert a petition for writ of certiorari from a criminal
direct appeal on behalf of another. Since none of Whitm-
ore’s theories is well founded, Whitmore’s request should
be denied.

1. Whitmore has no individual standing.

Initially, Whitmore recognizes that the federal courts
do not consider “generalized grievances about the con-
duct of government” (Brief, p. 21, quoting, Flast v. Cohen,
392 U.S. at 106). Whitmore, however, goes on to assert
such a generalized grievance (Brief, p. 21). Whitmore
alleges that he is entitled to assert the “public interest
protections of the Eighth Amendment” (Brief, p. 21). Of
course, this is the type of generalized grievance that is
insufficient to convey individual standing to Whitmore.
Even one who feels strongly that another’s rights are
being ignored may not rely on the strength of feeling or
sincerity of that conviction as a foundation for federal
jurisdiction.

Plaintiffs in the federal courts “must allege some

threatened or actual injury resulting from the

putatively illegal action before a federal court

may assume jurisdiction.” . . . There must be a

“personal stake in the outcome” such as to

“assure that concrete adverseness which

sharpens the presentation of issues upon which

the court so largely depends for illumination of

difficult constitutional questions.” . . . Abstract

injury is not enough. It must be alleged that the
plaintiff “has sustained or is immediately in

danger of sustaining some direct injury” as a
result of . . . official conduct.

O’Shea v. Littleton, 414 U.S. 488, 494 (1974) (citations
omitted).

Whitmore refers the Court to no case that recognizes
such a “public interest protection” aspect to the Eighth
Amendment (Brief, p. 21). That is because the Eighth
Amendment's protections are not a salve for the public’s

conscience concerning capital punishment. Rather, the
Eighth Amendment protections are purely personal to the
individual. Further, such a standard for individualized
standing would allow “all other citizens of the state”
(Brief, p. 21) to file certiorari petitions asserting a “public-
interest protection” of the Eighth Amendment. The con-
cept of “citizen standing” was rejected by this Court in
Valley Forge Christian College v. Americans United For Sep-
aration of Church and State, 454 U.S. 464, 482-487 (1982).
The anomaly of that theory would be illustrated if “citi-
zens”. were to file documents encouraging the courts to
execute Simmons or waiving the purported public-inter-
est protection. As should be apparent, problems arise
where multiple “citizens” approach the Court. Further,
problems would arise where the criminal defendant and
“citizens” approach the court. Recognition of such a the-
ory of standing would be unworkable at best, unconstitu-
tional at worst.

Whitmore also asserts that he

has a direct and substantial interest in having
the data base against which his crime is com-
pared to be complete and to not be [sic] arbi-
trarily skewed by the omission of any other
capital case.

[Brief, p. 21.] Although Whitmore does not grace the
Court with an explanation of this sentence, amici assume
that Whitmore is asserting that his proportionality review
will not be accurate without inclusion of Simmons’
crimes into the pool of comparative information (P.C. p.
10). This assertion ignores the fact that Whitmore’s pro-
portionality review has been completed by the Arkansas

9

Supreme Court, which affirmed Whitmore’s death sen-
tence. The Arkansas Supreme Court was persuaded that
the multiple stabbing, the slicing of the throat and the
engraving of an “X” into his victim’s face thoroughly
justified the circuit court’s verdict of the death penalty.
Whitmore v. State, 296 Ark. 308, 756 S.W.2d 890, 895 (1988).
Whitmore’s concern that Simmons’ information will not
be available for proportionality review is moot.

Perhaps, Whitmore speculates that some future court
will reverse his conviction or sentence of death and Sim-
mons’ information will not be available for propor-
tionality review of Whitmore if he is reconvicted and
resentenced to the death penalty (P.C. p. 10). Such anal-
ysis is speculative and is hardly the foundation for an
Article III “case or controversy.” “The injury or threat of
injury must be both ‘real and immediate,’ not ‘conjec-
tural’ or ‘hypothetical.’ ” O’Shea v. Littleton, 414 U.S. at
494 (citations omitted); see, Franz v. Lockhart, 700 F.Supp.
at 1010 (describing “injury” as too tenuous and contin-
gent to confer standing). Further, amici note that Whit-
more offers no reason why he cannot bring this
purported flaw to the attention of the Arkansas Supreme
Court in the unlikely event this scenario occurs.

Finally, amici note that the truth of Whitmore’s argu-
ment would show a motive for him to sabotage an appeal
brought on Simmons’ behalf. Whitmore would want to
paint Simmons as the most evil killer ever to live in the
State of Arkansas. By painting Simmons in a bad light,
Whitmore enhances the possibility that his own slaughter
will be reviewed favorably to that of Simmons by a future
Arkansas Supreme Court. Article III requires a case or
controversy between parties. There appears to be none

10

between Whitmore and the State of Arkansas in the Sim-
mons case as defined by the Constitution and this Court.

Whitmore next asserts that the Court should not
enforce the standing requirement. Whitmore’s rationale is
that standing should be considered only a “rule of prac-
tice” (Brief, p. 21). Whitmore’s argument is grounded in
misperception. The standing requirement is grounded in
this Court’s Article III “case or controversy” requirement.
The standing doctrine has jurisdictional underpinnings.
See, Gladstone, Realtors v. Village of Bellwood, 441 U.S. 91,
99-100 (1979). Once the minimum Article III standing
requirement is met, there remains a standing requirement
based on principles of prudence. Id.; Valley Forge Christian
College v. Americans United for Separation of Church and
State, 454 U.S. at 474-475. Whitmore points to no case
from this Court suggesting that there is an exception to
the Article III standing requirement.

Whitmore grounds his suggested exception on the
Eighth Amendment. That rationale is insufficient to cre-
ate an exception to Article III.

Implicit in the foregoing is the philosophy that
the business of the federal courts is correcting
constitutional errors, and that “cases and con-
troversies” are at best merely convenient vehi-
cles for doing so and at worst nuisances that
may be dispensed with when they become
obstacles to that transcendent endeavor. This
philosophy has no place in our constitutional
scheme. It does not become more palatable
when the underlying merits concern the Estab-
lishment Clause.

Valley Forge Christian College v. Americans United for Sep-
aration of Church and State, 454 U.S. at 489. There is no

11

principled method to limit exceptions to standing to cer-
tain constitutional provisions. See, id. at 489-490. Whit-
more also suggests that if he has no standing, then a
constitutional violation will go unredressed (Brief, p. 25).
“This view would convert standing into a requirement
that must be observed only when satisfied.” Id. at 489.

2. Whitmore is not entitled to third-party
standing.

Whitmore asserts that he is entitled to assert Sim-
mons’ rights under a third-party standing theory (Brief,
pp. 23-25). Generally, third parties have no standing to
assert claims on behalf of another. See, Valley Forge Chris-
tian College v. Americans United for Separation of Church and
State, 454 U.S. at 473; United States v. Students Challenging
Regulatory Agency Procedures (SCRAP), 412 U.S. 669
(1973). An exception to this general rule exists. Initially, a
third party like Whitmore must demonstrate a relation-
ship between himself and the person whose rights he
seeks to assert (Simmons).

The first [element] is the relationship of the

litigant to the person whose right he seeks to

assert. If the enjoyment of the right is inextrica-

bly bound up with the activity the litigant

wishes to pursue, the court at least can be sure

that its construction of the right is not unnecess-

ary in the sense that the right’s enjoyment will

be unaffected by the outcome of the suit. Fur-

ther, the relationship between the litigant and

the third party may be such that the former is

fully, or very nearly, as effective a proponent of
the right as the latter.

Singleton v. Wulff, 428 U.S. 106, 115 (1976). Amici find it
significant that Whitmore fails to allege to the Arkansas

12

Supreme Court and this Court a relationship between
Whitmore and Simmons. Whitmore fails to describe how
he will enjoy vindication of ‘Simmons’ right. In fact, as
discussed earlier (Amicus Brief, supra at p. 8), it might not
be in Whitmore’s interest to assert rights consistent with
Simmons’ rights. Whitmore might be interested in mak-
ing Simmons look bad in order for Whitmore to look
better in the unlikely event the Arkansas Supreme Court
has to conduct another proportionality review.

Second, Whitmore fails to assert any reason for Sim-
mons not to assert his own right before this Court.

Even where the relationship is close, the reasons
for requiring persons to assert their own rights
will generally still apply. If there is some genu-
ine obstacle to such assertion, however, the third
party’s absence from court loses its tendency to
suggest that his right is not truly at. stake, or
truly important to him, and the person who is in
court becomes[,] by default[,] the right’s best
available proponent.

Id. at 115-116. Simmons was and is his own best propo-
nent. He was certainly available to vindicate his own
rights before the Arkansas Supreme Court. He is avail-
able to present his position to this Court. This is best
manifested by his presentation of his own amicus curiae
brief. There is no “genuine obstacle” to Simmons’ asser-
tion of his own rights. He could have easily ratified the
appeal to the Arkansas Supreme Court or to this Court.
Considerations of privacy, Singleton v. Wulff, 428 U.S. at
117; imminent mootness, id.; fear of prosecution, Craig v.
Boren, 429 U.S. 190, 196-197 (1976); or “chilled” expres-
sion, Secretary of State of Maryland v. Joseph H. Munson Co.,

13

467 U.S. 947, 956 (1984), do not apply here. No genuine
obstacle barred Simmons from his direct appeal.

If the Court were to find that Whitmore has standing
to assert the Eighth Amendment claim presented in ques-
tion number one, it cannot be on the basis of third-party
standing. If Whitmore wishes to assume Simmons’ rights,
he must also assume Simmons’ responsibilities. Simmons
made a knowing and intelligent decision to waive his
right to a direct appeal (J.A. 31). Since Whitmore wishes
to assume Simmons’ rights, he must also assume Sim-
mons’ responsibilities - the knowing and intelligent
waiver of the direct appeal. Whitmore asserts that Sim-
mons cannot waive the Eighth Amendment claim because
it is a “public right” (Brief, p. 18). Of course, if that
assertion were true, then Simmons has no private right to
assert, and no private right to be assumed by Whitmore
under a third-party standing theory.

C. Supreme Court review of the Eighth Amend-
ment claim is precluded by an adequate and
independent state ground.

On March 13, 1989, the Arkansas Supreme Court
found that Whitmore “has failed to show that he has
standing to intervene in this cause” (J.A. 34). The
Arkansas Supreme Court found, as a matter of Arkansas
state law, that Whitmore was not entitled to intervene in
the state-court proceeding. That decision constitutes a
short and plain statement of an adequate and indepen-
dent state ground supporting the judgment of the
Arkansas Supreme Court. See, Michigan v. Long, 463 U.S.
1032 (1983).

14

District Judge Eisele noted the state-law nature of the
1988 Arkansas Supreme Court’s ruling when he wrote:
Petitioner Franz’s claim that he has standing
under the Arkansas Constitution to prosecute
these issues in Arkansas state court was rejected
by the Arkansas Supreme Court, and in any case
could not avail him before this Court, because

he must meet federal, not state, standing
requirements.

Franz v. Lockhart, 700 F.Supp. at 1010. Indeed, the
Arkansas Supreme Court noted the criticism of the fed-
eral “next-friend” standing standard and instituted a less
stringent standard for “next-friend” standing in Arkansas
(J.A. 12). Whitmore, however, failed to satisfy that lesser
standard. Since the Arkansas Supreme Court relied upon
the adequate and independent state ground — Whitmore’s
lack of standing to proceed under Arkansas law - the
judgment of the Arkansas Supreme Court should be
affirmed. Cf. id. at 1010 n. 1.

+

15

CONCLUSION

The concepts of standing: “next friend,” individual
and third-party, in death-penalty litigation have been the
subject of controversy over the past twelve years. The
Court should take the opportunity presented in the pre-
sent case and provide guidance for the lower courts.

Respectfully submitted,

Wituram L. WessTER
Attorney General

JoHN M. Morris
Assistant Attorney General

STEPHEN D. HAWKE

Assistant Attorney General

Counsel of Record for Amicus Curiae
State of Missouri

Post Office Box 899
Jefferson City, Missouri 65102
(314) 751-3321

APPENDIX

List of Amici Curiae

State of Alabama

Don Siegelman

Attorney General

State House

11 South Union Street
Montgomery, Alabama 36130

State of Idaho

Jim Jones
Attorney General
Statehouse

Room 210

Boise, Idaho 83720

State of New Mexico

Hal Stratton

Attorney General

Bataan Memorial Building
Galisteo Street

Santa Fe, New Mexico 87503-1508

State of Ohio

Anthony J. Celebrezze, Jr.
Attorney General

State Officer Tower

30 East Broad Street
Columbus, Ohio 43215

State of South Carolina

T. Travis Medlock

Attorney General

Rembert Dennis Office Building
1000 Assembly Street
Columbia, South Carolina 29211

State of Virginia

Mary Sue Terry

Attorney General

101 North Eighth Street
Richmond, Virginia 23219

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385012_0557%3A09. Public record. Not legal advice.
