# Respondents Brief — Chavez-Tesina v. United States (Nos. 88-5158, 88-5014)

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385012_0525%3A07

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Respondents Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1988

## Text

Wy,

Nos. 88-S044 and 88-5158

In the Supreme Court of the Bn

OCTOBER TERM, 1988

JOSE GOMEZ, PETITIONER p

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

DiEGO CHAVEZ-TESINA. PETITIONER
Vv.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

ON WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO
THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE SECOND CIRC UII

BRIEF FOR THE UNITED STATES

WILLIAM ©. BRYSON

Acting Solicitor General
EDWARD S.G. DENNIS. JR

Assisiani Attorney General
RICHARD J. LAZARUS

Assistant to the Solicitor General
J. DOUGLAS WILSON

Alforne,

Depariment of Justice
Washingion, D.C. 20530
(202) 633-2217

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

|. Whether the Federal Magistrates Act, 28 U.S.C.
631 ef seqg., permits a district court to delegate jury selec-
tion to a federal magistrate.

2. Whether a district court’s Getegation of jury selec-
tion to a federal magistrate violates Article [Il of the Con-
stitution where the district court provides de novo review

of the magistrate’s selectign-of jurors

_4

eee eee tie ee &

Pinsures, Inc., 242 F.2d 1037
fe a4 (i973) : _ 9
Pea Sh 974) 42

a Sa

IV

Cases — Continued

Mathews v. Weber, 423 U.S. 261 (1976) ..

Mistretia v. United States, 109 S.Ct. 647 (1989) .

Northern Pac. R.R. v. Herbert, 116 U.S. 642 (1886)

Northern Pipeline Co. v. Marathon Pipe Line Co., 458
U.S. §0 (1982)

Paimore v. United States, 411 U.S. 389 (1973)

Perry v. Leeke, 1098S. Ct. $94 (1989)

Philadelphia Newspapers, Inc. v. Jerome, 434 U.S. 241
(1978)

Pointer v. United States, 181 U.S. 396 (1895)

Pope v. Illinois, 481 U.S. 497 (1987)

Press-Enterprise Co. y. Superior Court of California,
464 US. SO] (1984)

Richardson-Merrill, Inc. v. Koller, 472 U.S. 424 (1985)

Ristaino v. Ross, 424 U.S. 589 (1976)

Rock v. Arkansas, 107 S. Ct. 2704 (1987)

Ross v. Oklahoma, 108 8. Ct. 2273 (1988)

Rushen v. Spain, 464 U.S. 114 (2983)

Serfass v. United States, 420 U.S. 377 (1975)

Swain \. Alabama, 380 U.S. 202 (1965)

Swain v. Pressley, 430 U.S. 372 (1977)

Tavtor v. Louisiana, 419 U.S. $22 (1975)

Tumey v. Ohio, 273 U.S. $10 (1927)

United States v. Ford, 824 F.2d 1430 (Sth Cir, 1987), cert
denied, 108 S. Ct. 741 (1988) .

United States v. Hvass, 385 U.S. §70 (1958)

United States v. Marchant, 25 U.S. (12 Wheat.) 480
(1827)

United States v. Peacock, 761 F.2d 1313 (9th Cir},

" cert. denied, 474 U.S. 847 (1985)

nited States \. Raddatz, 447 U.S. 667 (1980)

Linitted States v. Rivera-Sola, 713 F.2d 866 (ist Cir
1984)

United States v. Rodriguez-Suarez, 836 F.2d 135 (iith
Cir. 1988), cert. demed, 1098. Ct. 875 (1989)

busque: \. Hillery, 474U.S. 254 (1986)

Wineo v. Wedding, 418 U.S. 461 (1974)

Witherspoon v. Illinois, 991 U.S. $10 (1963)

~~

Constitution, statutes and rules

US. Const
Art ll

Page
§, 41

27

44

29, 31

29
42

91)
29
29
42

31, 37
12-13

44

28

passim

28

43
42
1Y, 41
44

pussim

Vv

Constitution, statutes and rules — Continued: Page
Amend. IV . 32
Amend. V-... Sone 32

Due Process Clause 49
Amend. VI Enee 32
Confrontation Clause 42
Federal Magistrates Act, Pub. L. No. 90-578, § 101, 82
Stat. 1108 (1968) |. aie
28 U.S.C. 631 ef seg. .. ?
28 U.S.C. 631(b),S)
28 U.S.C. 633 2
a6 to. Gee: 7: 28
28 U.S.C. 636(a) . . 13
28 U.S.C. 636(an1) 18
28 U.S.C. 636(b)....... 19
28 U.S.C. 636(b)(1) 7,9, 11, 13, 15, 16, 30
28 U.S.C. 636¢bM TA) 7, 11, 16
28 U.S.C. 636(b)(1 )(B) | s
28U S.C. 636(bMI WC) 8, 16
28 U.S.C. 636(b)3) |. Ha, 22, 13, 17,49, 25
28 U.S.C. 636(b)4) 16
28 U.S.C. 636(c) , 14, 38
Jury Selection and Service Act of 1968, 28 U.S ©. 1861
et Seq. 11, 29
28 U.S.C. 1867(a) 12
Is U.S.C. 19§2 2
IS U.S. 1962(c) 2
ist) S.C. 3401(a) i4
21 U S.C. 84l(anl) 2
21U S.C. 846 2
23 USC. 604(d)(4) 27
Fed. R. Crim. P.:
Rule 23 10
Advisory Committee notes 0
Rule 24 10, 11, 12, 93
Advisory Committee notes (1966 Amendment) 10
Rule 54 12
Advisory Committee notes (1972 Amendment) 12
MLD. Ala. R. 3c). - 23
ND. Ala. Mag. KR. 4¢f) 22

VI

Sratutes and rules — Continued:

S.D. Ala. Mag. R. 26(1):)(6)
1). Alaska R. 3(2)

D>. Ariz. R. 18(d)(6)
C.D. Cal. Mag. R. 1.76
E.D. Cal. R. 30342)
N.D. Cal. R. 40S(2)
S.D. Cal. R. S01-8(f)
D. Colo. R. 303(2)

D. Conn. Mag. R. |

D>. Del. Mag. R. 10:6)
D. D.C. R. S501(b)16)
M.D. Fla. R. 6.01(¢)(20)
N_D. Fla. R. 240) (2c) 1)
S.D. Fla. Mag. R. (1)0)(6)
S.D. Ga. R. 21.5

D. Haw. R. 401-8(1)

D. Idaho R. 4-101U)(6)
C.D. HL R. Hays)
N.D. HEL R. 170A)
S.D. Hh R. 29006)

N_D. Ind. R. M-1a)9)
S.D. Ind. R. M-13
ND. lowa R. 3104)
S.D. lowa R. 31QG)4)

D. Kan. R. 60106)
F.D. Ky. R. 18(a)
WD. Ky. R. 18ta)
E.D. La. R. 20.7()
M.D. La. R. 26(c))05)
WD. La. R. 28(an9 pe)
D Me. R. Sic)

ED. Mich. R. C-10))(6)

we Ww WH NH MN WH Ww

JdJWNwWN Ww WY WMH WS NO WN Ww Nw

3d Ww Ww NH WH Ww Wh th

Vil

Statutes and rules — Continued:
W.D. Mich. Mag. R. I(hy(S) . 6...
oe Se . e

oe 8 errr

ee Serer
E.D. N.C. R. 62.0%(f) ..

a ||

D. N.D. R. 28(c)(4) .....
D. N.H. Mag. R. D(3) ....
. 3. GRAMS) .2...... 6.
D. N.M. R. 27(a) .

E.D. N.Y. Mag. R. 1 ..
S.D. N.Y. Mag. R.1....
N.D. Ohio R. 19. 10(2)
a. Gap e. 24.4 ....
S.D. Ohio (W. Div'n) R.101)(6)
N_D. Okla. R. 32(6)(12) .
ED. Okla. R. 32

D. Or. R. 135-i(b) ....
ED. Pa. R. 7(1)(6)

M.D. Pa. R. 901.9(a(7)
WD. Pa. Mag. R. 6(e)

D. PLR. R. 506.6 |

D. RL. R. 32(e5)

DSC. R. 19.01

tE D. Tenn. R. 21.2(d) .
\ID. Tenn. R. 601(a)(2)
WD. Tenn. R. 176)
E.D. Tex. R. 15

W.D. Mo. R: 22(K)(6) .......... |
D. Mom. R. 400-1 .............. a
D. Neb. R. 44(1)(6) ...... 22.2.0...

te
~a YY hw

te

i)

mw NNN NM NM WNW

wo le

MN WYN NY NM NN NM NN WwW NM WNW tv

ww Mw we Mw le

a a

ee ee ee ee a en ee ee ee ee

we Ww Ww WH & Ww NW Ww hh hl

Vill
Cases — Continued: Page
i, Me Oe elulet we Nate aks eee 23
rr ee Gee. sak Rab iee ass one stteeeee 23
Peer ee 22-23
ON Nc ck hc ce sa eeleg chk i ab eee es 23
ee I, EE ES NEN co's van cocsunesececeneenes 23
ee cep so ccd sh bce enebevewcene 23
eX fe OR Pra ee reer rere 23
ee ee ee cals c6 eine taeh wate ea 23
Miscellaneous: :
1 Administrative Office of the United States Courts,
Legal Manual for United States Magistrates .......... 26
Administrative Office of the United States Courts, Ann.
Peper prec ss vote Terre rT irr Terrie 20, 24
Comptroller General, Report to Congress, The U.S.
Magistrates: How Their Services Have Assisted Ad-
ministration of Several District Courts; More Im-
provements Needed, reprinted in Improvement of
Judicial Machinery: Hearings Before Subcomm. on
Courts, Civil Liberties, and the Administration of
Justice of the House Comm. on the Judiciary, 94th
isd Be NN OED oa vo nk 0d Ons So dolecuienases 23
114 Cong. Rec. (1968):
ee oon ceed baad tance s Caeenew nes 27
ee CLS A oan we fe ban Ee taeeey 18
EE nea K eysWG.c vs Oe bane ce Ode ba Keee ees S 28
p. 28,360 ...... err US Cr ate aig dhe aot oe ak 19
we yee eee ee ee 19
ET oven ccs Chcens eho eRe Seah eee meee 18
eepe Me eT. PREP ee ETT eT ee eee 27

Federal Magistrates Act: Hearings on §. 3475 and S. 945
Before the Subcomm. on Improvements in Judicial
Machinery of the Senate Comm. on the Judiciary,
89h Cong., 2d Sess. and 90th Cong., Ist Sess.
CE So en eon ectials ake ees Memes 17, 18, 27

Federal Magistrates Act: Hearings on S. 945, etc., Before
Subcomm. No. 4 of the House Comm. on the Judi-
clare, Tals Cone... BB Same. COORD «ow ccc emia: 17, 18

Miscellaneous — Continued:

IX

_ Page
9 W. Holdsworth, A History of English Law 183 (3d ed.

ROWE comes watw eure ¥eedu sc beors ice ice 31
H.R. Rep. No. 1629, 90th Cong., 2d Sess. (1968)... 14, 18
H.R. Rep. No. 1609, 94th Cong., 2d Sess. (1976)... 11, 19,

20, 25, 27, 36, 41

H.R. Rep. No. 287, 96th Cong., Ist Sess. (1979)... 14
Judicial Conference, Report of the Subcommittee As-
signed to Study the Conduct of Voir Dire by Federal

ee oe Rp
Jurisdiction of United States Magistrates: Hearing on

S. 1283 Before the Subcomm. on Improvements in

Judicial Machinery of the Senate Comm. on the

Judiciary, 94th Cong., Ist Sess. (1975) ....... 15-16, 19,

20, 23, 25, 27, 41
W.R. LaFave & J.H. Israel, Criminal Procedure (1984) _. s
Magistrate System: Hearings Before the Subcomm. on
Improvements in Judicial Machinery of the Senate
Comm. on the Judiciary, 924 C ong., 2d Sess.
eee SORE EE poe NAP Spee Re Beg
Moore, Voir Dire Examination of Jurors: 1. The English
Practice, 16 Geo. L.J. 438 (1928)... Pe 31
2 M. Rhodes, Orfield’s Criminal Procedure Under the
Federal Rules (2d ed. 1986) ......... s
S. Rep. No. 371, 90th Cong., Ist Sess. (1967) .
S. Rep. No. 371, 90th Cong., 2d Sess. (1968) | 14, 18, 27
S. Rep. No. 625, 94th Cong., 2d Sess. (1976) 11, 19,
20, 25, 27, 41
S. Rep. No. 74, 96th Cong., Ist Sess. (1979) 4
J. Thayer, A Preliminary Treatise on Evidence at the
Common Law (1898)... . «|. wees 3]
The Omnibus Judgeship Bill: Hearing Before the
Subcomm. on Improvements in Judicial Machinery of
the Senate Comm. on the Judiciary, 93d ¢ ong., Ist
Sess. (1973) _._.. ayes eae 3

Miscellaneous — Continued:

C. Wright, Federal Practice and Procedure: Criminal 2d

(1982)

Page

Jn the Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1988

No. 88-5014
JOSE GOMEZ, PETITIONER
vy.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

No. 88-5158
DiEGO CHAVEZ-TESINA, PETITIONER
Vv.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

ON WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO
THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE SECOND CIRC UT)

BRIEF FOR THE UNTIED STATES
OPINION BELOW
The opinion of the court of appeals (J.A. 21-48) is
reported at 848 F.2d 1324.
JURISDICTION

The judgment of the court of appeals was entered on
June 1, 1988. A petition for rehearing was denied on
August 4, 1988 (J.A. 49-50). The petition for a writ of

(1)

te

certiorari in No. 88-5014 was filed on July 5, 1988, and the
petition for a writ of certiorari in No. 88-5158 was filed on
July 22, 1988. A supplemental petition for a writ of cer-
tiorari in both cases was filed on October 3, 1988. The
jurisdiction of this Court ts invoked under 28 U.S.C.
1254(1).

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY
PROVISIONS INVOLVED

The relevant constitutional and statutory provisions are
reproduced at App., infra, la-4a.

STATEMENT

Following a jury trial in the United States District Court
tor the Eastern District of New York, petitioners Jose
Gomez and Diego Chavez-Tesina were convicted of
possessing cocaine with intent to distribute it, in violation
of 21 U.S.C. 841(a)(1), and conspiring to do the-same, in
violation of 21 U.S.C. 846. Petitioner Chavez-Tesina was
also convicted of conducting a narcotics racketeering en-
terprise, in violation of 18 U.S.C. 1962(c), and interstate
travel in aid of racketeering, in violation of 18 U.S.C.
1952. Petitioner Gomez was sentenced to a total of ten
years’ imprisonment and a ten-year special parole term.
Petitioner Chavez-Tesina was sentenced to a total of 20
years’ imprisonment and a lifetime term of special parole.
The court of appeals affirmed (J.A. 21-48).

|. Prior to petitioners’ trial, the district court assigned
the task of jury selection to a magistrate. The assignment
was made pursuant to a local rule authorizing magistrates
to perform the duties set forth in the Federal Magistrates
Act, 28 U.S.C. 631 ef seq. Petitioners’ counsel initially

consented to the assignment,' but they subsequently ob
jected before the magistrate at the beginning of jury selec-
tion (J.A. 13-15). The magistrate consulted with the
district judge, noted the objection, and proceeded to select
the jury (J.A. 16-17). The magistrate allowed the govern-
ment a total of seven peremptory challenges and allowed
petitioners and their three co-defendants a total of 14
peremptory challenges (J.A. 6). In order to ensure a jury
of 12 and four alternates, the magistrate empaneled 37
prospective jurors (ibid.).

During jury selection, the magistrate explained the
nature of the charges against petitioners and their co-
detendants. The magistrate then questioned the venire at
length concerning each prospective juror’s ability to be fair
and impartial in considering the evidence.? When asked by
the magistrate whether additional questions were needed,
defense counsel did not suggest any further questioning
(2/9/87 Tr. 124-125). The magistrate excused 20 prospec-
live jurors based on their responses to his questions
(2/9/87 Tr. 21-22, 43, 55, $8, $9, 71, 73, 74, 75, 83, 91-93,
94, 127, 131). The magistrate also excused the only pro-
spective juror the defendants challenged for cause (id. at
125-126).’ After the parties exercised their peremptory

' Al a pretrial conference held on November 20, 1986, the district
judge assigned jury selection to the magistrate (JA. 1). As petitioners
note (Br. 2 n.2), the court reporter's notes for that conference cannot
be located and, consequently, have not been transcribed. As subse
quently described by the district judge, however, petitioners’ counsel
had previously “agreed * * * that the magistrate would do it" (JA
18)

* The voir dire of February 9, 1987, has only recently been
iranscribed. Petitioners have lodged a copy of that transcript with the
( ourt

' The magistrate declined to excuse for hardship a prospective juror
who had an ill relative. No counsel objected to the magistrate’s action

4

challenges, 20 prosnective jurors remained, four of whom
were excused by the magistrate (id. at 132).

Following the magistrate’s selection of the jury, the
district judge considered the defendants’ objections to the
magistrate’s authority. The judge inquired whether “there
is any One juror for whom a challenge for cause was not
sustained by [the magistrate)” and whether any party
would “like to renew the objection” (J.A. 18). The judge
also offered de novo review of any of the magistrate’s
selection decisions (J.A. 19). Counsel for petitioners did
not respond to the invitation and counsel for a co-
detendant explained that he sought to raise only “a
jurisdictional issue, not an issue to a specific juror” (ibid. ).

2. The court of appeals affirmed (J.A. 21-48). The
court concluded that, consistent with both the Federal
Magistrates Act and Article Ill of the Constitution, a
district judge may delegate jury selection to a magistrate.
The court rejected petitioners’ statutory claim that Con-
gress authorized the delegation of only “pretrial matters”
tO magistrates and that “pretrial matters” do not include
vor dire (J.A. 29). According to the court, “even assum.
ing arguendo that jury selection falls on the ‘trial’ side of
the line between ‘trial’ and ‘pretrial,’ the legislative
history “plainly states that the [Magistrates Act] grants to
district courts the treedom to experiment beyond duties
traditionally categorized as ‘pretrial’ ” (ibid. (emphasis
omitted)). The court also rejected petitioners’ assertion
that by requiring the parties’ consent to the delegation of
civil and misdemeanor criminal trials to magistrates, Con-
gress intended to allow the delegation of jury seteoion
only with the parties’ consent (J.A. 30). Jury selection, the

im that regard or otherwise challenged the prospective juror for cause
See 2/9/87 Tr. 87, 93-94

court explained (ibid.), is a function “separate and
distinct” from “holding of an entire trial.”

The court also rejected petitioners’ claim that, even if it
is authorized by statute, the delegation of jury selection to
magistrates violates Article HL (J.A. 30-37). According to
the court, jury selection can be delegated to a non-Article
11 judge without violating Article Ill, because “the
delegation of authority occurs entirely within the judicial
branch, a circumstance which alleviates greatly the
underlying structural separation of powers concern with
one branch encroaching upon the power of another” (JA.
33 (emphasis in original)). The court also concluded that
where, as in this case, an Afticle II] judge retains the
authority to review de novo the magistrate’s selection deci-
sions, delegation would not offend Article II even if jury
selection were deemed “inherently judicial.” The avail-
ability of de novo review, the court explained, “vested the
ultimate decision regarding the composition of the jury
with the trial court” (J.A. 33-34). Finally, the court re-
jected petitioners’ claim that Article II] requires an Article
11 judge te be present during jury selection (J. A. 38-37)
The court declined to adopt petitioners’ “debatable
hypothesis” that “the lack of an Article IIL judge’s physical
presence at voir dire is somehow demeaning to potential
jurors” (J.A. 36).

INTRODUCTION AND SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

Congress enacted the Federal Magistrates Act in order
to provide federal district courts with assistance in handling
the avalanche of civil and criminal matters that threat-
ened to overwhelm them. See Mathews v. Weber, 423.US
261, 260-269 (1976). The purpose of the Magistrates Act
Was to encourage the use of magistrates for judicial tasks
tar beyond those previously undertaken by United States

“magistrates woutdt

7

= hot distinguishable from Raddatz in any
ct. Here, as in Raddatz, the district judge ex-
O review, leaving “the entire process * * *
st court’s total control and jurisdiction”
with the use of magistrates so that th - 683). Contrary to petitioners’ claim,
dispense justice more nd expedit ver, I omnip of voir dire to the jury’s verdict
Congress's awareness, the use of magistrate : no ore imi € thamrts a suppression motion. Nor is
ton in both criminal and civil Coe | caning ool : novo review of voir dire impossible. In
portant aspect of this program. ‘pra sircumstances, the judge will likely find it adequate
consistent with Congress's Sue dire transcript and hear argument by

commissioners in order to permit rt
focus their attention on their most
responsibilines. To that end, Congress
tion and specifically called on federal cc

Magistrates Act and’ does not offt mt ticle | ogyegeo d, if circumstances
in this case. i a ib y the pumae. And . if warrant, the judge is of
——— ) redo the magistrate’s work in whole or in

Contrary to petitioner's MISSION, JULY | 5 sails cs
within the wide range of duties Congr . ¢ =
a district judge to delegate to 4 magist
of the Magistrates Act is broad and ad
substantial restrictions on .
tioners propose. The legislative h
that Congress intended magis
Variety of duties, and was

“asp because petitioners did not ob-
quality of the voir dire or to the magistrate’s

| io al OF excuse any prospective juror, they can-
nplain that the review they received was somehow

a ARGUMENT

EDERAL MAGISTRATES ACT AUTHORIZES
CE COURTS TO DELEGATE JURY SELECTION
i” bates 2 ” ‘ TES

e t ion. 636 of the Magistrates Act outlines the
tion and powers of magistrates. Two different
$< of Seton 636 support the district judge's deci-
€ jury selection to the magistrate in this

lioners’ proposed construction of t
retuted by the views expressed by
Conterence committee and the Adminis
the United States Courts, which worked ‘
gress during the enactment of the
which agree that magistrate iy
under the Act.
There is likewise no merit to
cle LI forbids magistrates from ex
Court rejected a very similar ¢
Raddatz, 447 U.S. 667 (1980). Th
that allowing a magistrate to ¢
ing does not violate Article I w
posed tindings and recommen
novo review by the district jude

: n 636(b)(1) provides that “a judge may
rate to hear and determine any pretrial
F ielare the court."* While the term

exception in fiscilon 636(bM IMA) for certain matters has no
on thi nis case, Jury selection is not among those matters ex
id and, in any event, the exception is solely for the purpose ot
atin ing a uc ‘novo determination by the district judge in those in-

“pretrial,” standing alone, is subject to differing inter-
pretations, it may reasonably be read in this context to in-
clude jury selection. Jury selection is logically distinct
from, and antecedent in time to, the trial itself, which
commences with the swearing in of the jury, o>ening
Statements, and the introduction of evidence.

The question when a trial begins is perhaps most impor-
tant in the double jeopardy context. The issue is important
in that setting because the constitutional prohibition does
not apply until a defendant is “put to trial before the trier
ot the facts.” Serfass v. United States, 420 U.S. 377, 388

(1975); see Press-Enterprise Co. v. Superior Court of

California, 464 U.S. 501, 509 n.8 (1984). And in that set-
ting, the Court has held that the trial begins after the “jury
is empaneled and sworn” (420 U.S. at 388).

The characterization of jury selection as a “pretrial”
procedure is not limited to the double jeopardy setting.
Rather, this Court and the leading commentators have
commonly reterred to voir dire as occurring prior to trial.
See, e.g., Frazier v. United States, 335 U.S. 497, 513
(1949) (emphasis added) (“After accepting [the jurors]
before trial, |the defendant] could not challenge them suc-
cessfully in a motion for a new trial.”); 2 C. Wright,
Federal Practice and Procedure: Criminal 2d § 381, at 342
(1982) (“the voir dire is held immediately before the trial
commences”); 2 M. Rhodes, Orfield’s Criminal Procedure
Under the Federal Rules § 25.15 (2d ed. 1986) (“until a
jury is sworn, there is not a trial”); W.R. LaFave & J.H.
Israel, Criminal Procedure § 21.3, at 723 (1984) (“In most

stances in which a magistrate hears and recommends a particular
disposition to which a party objects (see 28 U.S.C. 636(b)(1)(B) &
(C)). Hence, the statute allows magistrate consideration of even those
pretrial matters nominally “except{ed]” from the grant of magistrate
authority

Y

localities, it is the practice to conduct the voir dire and
select the jury immediately preceding the trial of the case
in which that jury is to serve.”). It is therefore reasonable
tO view voir dire as a “pretrial matter” within the meaning
ot Section 636(b)(1).

This Courts’ precedents do not establish that jury selec-
tion is part of the “trial.” There is therefore no basis for
petitioners’ contention (Br. 15-16) that Congress could not
have intended in the Magistrates Act to include voir dire as
a “pretrial matter.” While the Court has referred in certain
cases to the fact that a “trial judge” conducted voir dire,
Pet. Br. 15, citing Ristaino v. Ross, 424 U.S. 589, 595
(1976), and Ham v. South Carolina, 409 U.S. 524, 528
(1973), that is not any indication that the Court views jury
selection as part of the trial. As demonstrated by
numerous Other instances in which the Court has similarly
referred to participation by a “trial judge” in pretrial ac-
tivities, the Court uses that expression interchangeably
with “district court” and without any intention to label a
particular activity as part of the “trial.”

The other decisions of this Court on which petitioners
rely (Br. 15-16) likewise do not address this issue. The
Court commented in Swain v. Alabama, 380 U.S. 202, 219
(1965), that the peremptory challenge is a “necessary part

* See, e.g., Beech Aircraft Corp. v. Rainey, 109 S. Ct. 439, 444
(1988) (emphasis added) (“The sria/ judge determined, at a pretrial
conterence * * *."); Rock v. Arkansas, 107 8. Ct, 2704, 2707 (1987)
(emphasis added) ("The (rial jutige held a pretrial hearing on the mo-
tron * * *."), Richardson-Merrell, Inc. v. Koller, 472 U.S. 424, 427
(1985) (emphasis added) (“the tria/ judge issued a pretrial ruling
* °°"), Massachusetts v. Sheppard, 468 U.S. 981, 987 (1984) (em-
phasis added) (“At a pretrial suppression hearing, the fria/ judge con-
cluded * * *."); Philadelphia Newspapers, Inc. v. Jerome, 434 US.
241, 241 (1978) (per curiam) (emphasis added) (“the (rial judges closed
all pretrial hearings”).

10

of trial by jury,” but in context it is clear that that com-
ment was meant simply to emphasize that the peremptory
challenge is “‘one of the most important of the rights
secured to the accused.’ ” /bid., quoting Pointer v. United
States, 151 U.S. 396, 408 (1895). The Court in Swain did
not purport to address the quite different question
whether the trial itself should be deemed to begin before or
after the selection of the jury.

Petitioners note (Br. 16) that Fed. R. Crim. P. %3 and
24, which address jury issues, appear in that portion of the
Rules entitled “Trial.” The placement of those Rules,
however, does not suggest that Congress (or this Court)
believes that jury selection is part of the trial itself, rather
than a “pretrial” proceeding. The Federal Rules of
Criminal Procedure do not, by their internal subheadings,
purport to distinguish between pretrial and trial matters.°
Rule 23, moreover, is simply a “formulation of the con-
sututional guaranty of trial by jury” and does not address
jury selection at all (see notes of Advisory Committee ac-
companying Rule 23). And while Rule 24 does describe
how “trial jurors” are to be selected from the venire, its
distinction between “trial jurors” and “prospective jurors,”
from whom the former are chosen, logically suggests that
the selection process is not itself part of the trial. The notes
ot the Advisory Committee accompanying the 1966
amendment of Rule 24 likewise show that the Committee
viewed the jury selection process as distinct, and
preliminary to, the trial itself. See 1966 Advisory Commit-
tee notes (emphasis added) (“an alternate juror may be

* The various subheadings include “scope, purpose, and construc- .

tion,” “preliminary proceedings,” “indictment and information,” “ar
raignment and preparation for trial,” “venue,” “trial,” “judgment,”
“appeal,” “supplemental and special proceedings,” and “general provi

”
SIONS

called in the situation where it is first discovered during the
(rial that a juror was unable or disqualified to perform his
duties at the time he was sworn’).

2. While we believe that jury selection can be assigned
(O a magistrate as a “pretrial” matter under Section
636(b)(1), there is an alternative basis in the statute to
authorize magistates to perform that function. Section
636(b)(3) authorizes a district judge to assign to
magistrates “such additional duties as are not inconsistent
with the Constitution and laws of the United States.” The
purpose of that subsection is to permit district judges “to
experiment in the assignment of other duties to
magistrates which may not necessarily be included in the
broad category of ‘pretrial matters’” (S. Rep. No. 625,
94th Cong., 2d Sess. 10 (1976); H.R. Rep. No. 1609, 94th
Cong., 2d Sess. 12 (1976)).

In drafting Section 636(b)(3), Congress wrote broadly.
The only limitations on the authority of courts to assign
matters tO magistrates are those posed by “the Constitu-
tion and laws of the United States.” In order to prevail
betore this Court, petitioners must therefore point to some
“law” or constitutional provision that bars the delegation
of jury selection to magistrates.’

To that end, petitioners argue (Br. 25-27) that Fed. R.
Crim. P. 24 and the Jury Selection and Service Act of
1968, 28 U.S.C. 1861 ef seqg., prohibit a magistrate from

' It the Court concludes that jury selection is a “pretrial matter,”
within the meaning of Section 636(b)(1)(A), petitioners are left only
with their constitutional claim. While delegations under Section
636(b)(3) cannot be made if they are “inconsistent with the * * * laws
of the United States,” delegations pursuant to Section 636(b)(1) are
permitted “[njotwithstanding any provision of law to the contrary.”
As petitioners implicitly concede (Br. 27), the presence of that
language in paragraph (1) removes any possible argument based on
any “laws ot the United States” other than the Constitution.

12

conducting voir dire and thus limit the scope of Section
636(b)(3). Petitioners’ reliance on these “laws” 1; mis-
placed, however, because neither precludes a magistrate
from conducting voir dire at a judge’s request.

Section 1867(a) of the Jury Selection and Service Act,
on which petitioners rely (Br. 26-27), simply describes the
procedures that must be followed in bringing a challenge
to the selection of a grand or petit jury on the ground of
noncompliance with a provision of the Act. The statutory
provision nowhere intimates that only a district judge may
conduct voir dire; nor does it even suggest that a
magistrate could not consider a statutory challenge to jury
selection procedures at a judge’s request.

Rule 24 likewise does not purport to address the
lawfulness of magistrate-conducted voir dire. It states that
a court “may” permit the defendant or his counsel to con-
duct voir dire and that a court “may” conduct the ex-
amination “itself.” Rule 24 does not bar a district judge
from asking the magistrate to conduct voir dire, nor does
it otherwise indicate that the judge must be present during
voir dire. Significantly, Rule 24 uses the term “court,” not
the term “judge,” to refer to the officer presiding over the
jury selection process. The term “judge” is the term that is
“used in the rules to indicate that only a judge (not to in-
clude a United States magistrate) is authorized to act.”
Notes of the Advisory Committee accompanying 1972
amendment to Rule 54. The use of the term “court” is
therefore consistent with the performance of duties by
either a judge or a magistrate.

Even if Rule 24 could be read to provide that only a
judge may conduct voir dire, Rule 24 is not a “law[{]} of the
United States,” within the meaning of Section 636(b)(3).
While a court rule has been found in another context to
constitute a “law of the United States,” see United States

13

v. Hvass, 355 U.S. 570, 575 (1958),* court rules ordinarily
do not have that status, and the language of the
Magistrates Act itself supports the view that that general
principle applies in this context. Section 636(a)(1) provides
that each magistrate shall have “all powers and duties con-
ferred or imposed upon United States commissioners by
law or by the Rules of Criminal Procedure for the United
States District Courts” (emphasis added). The statutory

_ juxtaposition strongly suggests that, for purposes of Sec-

tion 636, Congress did not intend to equate “law” with the
Federal Rules of Criminal Procedure, including Rule 24.

B. The legislative history of the enactment of the
Magistrates Act in 1968 and its amendment in 1976 does
not provide a clear answer to whether voir dire is a
“pretrial matter,” within the meaning of Section 636(b)(1),
rather than an “additional dut[y],” within the meaning of
Section 636(b)(3). But the history leaves no doubt that,
however denominated, the conduct of voir dire falls within
one of those two categories and can therefore properly be
delegated to a magistrate under the Act. Indeed, the legis-
lative history shows that the very reason Congress amend-
ed the Act in 1976 was to overcome the type of crabbed
construction now advanced by petitioners. It also shows

* tn Hvass, the Court concluded that an attorney who made a
willtully talse statement while under oath pursuant to a local federal
court rule was subject to criminal prosecution for perjury. The Court
reasoned that “[t}he phrase ‘a law of the United States,’ as used in the
perjury statute, is not limited to statutes, but includes as well Rules
and Regulations which have been lawfully authorized and have a clear
legislative base” (355 U.S. at 575).

14

that Congress was repeatedly made aware that jury selec-
tion was among those tasks being performed by magis-
trates, and that Congress sought to expand, rather than
restrict, the functions magistrates could perform.

1. Relying on Holy Trinity Church v. United States,
143 U.S. 457 (1892) (see Br. 13), petitioners argue that the
structure and legislative history of the Magistrates Act
trump what might otherwise appear to be the plain mean-
ing of the statute. According to petitioners (Br. 12-22), the
structure and history of the Act show that Congress con-
sidered jury selection an “integral part” of a “felony trial,”
which Congress specifically excluded from magistrate
jurisdiction, and that, notwithstanding the sweeping terms
of the Act, Congress intended to restrict a magistrate’s
“additional duties” to “routine nonjudicial burdens” and
“nonadjudicative tasks.” The Act’s structure and legisla-
tive history, however, support neither assertion. ~

To be sure, Congress did not intend to authorize
magistrates to conduct felony trials. The Act makes that
clear by explicitly giving magistrates the authority to try,
with the parties’ consent, both misdemeanor offenses and
civil matters, but not felony offenses (see 18 U.S.C.
3401(a), 28 U.S.C. 636(c)).* But there is no suggestion in
the statute or legislative history that Congress considered
jury selection to be part of the felony trial for these p>.
poses and thus intended to bar magistrates from conduct-
ing voir dire.

* The legislative history makes that point clear as well. See, e.¢.,
H.R. Rep. No. 1629, 90th Cong., 2d Sess. 20-22 (1968); S. Rep. No
371, 90th Cong., 2d Sess. 29-33 (1968); H.R. Rep. No. 287, 96th
Cong., Ist Sess. 2, 17 (1979); S. Rep. No. 74, 96th Cong., Ist Sess
5-7, 17 (1979).

1S

Petitioners’ assumption that Congress considered voir
dire to be part of trial is a flaw that runs throughout their
brief and infects their entire presentation. For example,
petitioners assume (Br. 24) that magistrates were unable to
conduct voir dire in misdemeanor cases in 1976 because
the statute then “required misdemeanor defendants to
waive their right to a jury trial in order to be tried by a
magistrate.” The fact that magistrates could not preside
over misdemeanor jury trials in 1976, however, does not
compel the conclusion that they could not then conduct
voir dire tor misdemeanor trials. Hence, petitioners are
wrong in concluding (Br. 24) that “if the court of appeals
is correct, Congress in 1976 authorized magistrates to
select felony juries over the defendant’s objection, but
prohibited magistrates from selecting misdemeanor juries
with the defendant’s consent.” There is no such anomaly
because the magistrates could select misdemeanor juries
with or without the defendant's consent in 1976; they
simply were unable to preside over the jury trial itself.

At bottom, petitioners’ statutory argument rests on their
assertion (Br. 16-18) that Congress’s failure to refer
specifically to jury selection in Section 636(b)(1) con-
clusively shows that Congress did not intend to confer
such authority on magistrates. Thus, petitioners argue (Br.
16) that Congress failed “to provide any framework for
district court review of magistrate-conducted felony jury
selection.” Petitioners’ reasoning is flawed, however,
because, as both the language and legislative history make
clear, Congress did not purport to list in Section 636(b)\(1)
all those specific “pretrial matters” that could properly be
Gelegated to a magistrate. Congress instead referred
broadly to “any” pretrial matter, and it clearly intended
tlexibility rather than rigidity to be the touchstone for the
statute’s implementation. See, e.g., Jurisdiction of United

16

States Magistrates: Hearing on S. 1283 Before the Sub-
comm. on Improvements in Judicial Machinery of the
Senate Comm. on the Judiciary, 94th Cong., Ist Sess. 35
(1975) [hereinafter /975 Senate Hearings) (report ot
Judicial Conference) (pretrial provisions “broadly worded
to authorize the maximum use of magistrates prior to
trial”).

Hence, the absence of any “framework for, the district
court review” of magistrate-conducted jury selection ts not
significant. Section 536(b)\(1) generally establishes two dit-
ferent schemes for district.courts to review magistrates’
rulings on pretrial matters. The standard of review and the
procedure followed depend on the nature of the pretrial
matter at issue. In the case of eight specifically listed
dispositive pretrial matters, a district judge must exercise
“de novo determination.” In all other cases, a district
judge “may reconsider any pretrial matter * * * where i
has been shown that the magistrate’s order is clearly er-
roneous or contrary to law” (28 U.S.C. 636(bM IMA) &
(C)).

In this case, of course, the district court exercised de
novo review of the magistrate’s jury selection decisions.
Contrary to petitioners’ assertions (Br. 17 & 1.10),
however, the court's use of de novo review did not violate
the Act. The Act provides only for a minimum standard ot
review; it does not prohibit a district court from exercising
more extensive supervision of the magistrate’s work.'° In-
deed, in light of the constitutional claims raised in this
case, the district judge's decision to exercise de novo
review was prudent.

'® Section 636(b)4) also specifically authorizes district courts to
“establish rules pursuant to which the magistrates shall discharge thetr
duties,” which can include adjustments in the standard of review tor
particular functions

17

2. Nor is there any merit to petitioners’ contention (Br.
19-22) that the legislative history shows that Congress in-
tended to restrict those “additional duties” that are
delegable under Section 636(b)(3) to “routine nonjudicial
burdens” and “nonadjudicative tasks.” Congress included
the “additional duties” language in the original version of
the statute, the Federal Magistrates Act of 1968, Pub. L.
No. 90-578, § 101, 82 Stat. 1107, 1113 (1968).'' Sponsors
of the legislation and witnesses who appeared betore
House and Senate Committees repeatedly declared that
the “additional duties” provision should provide a broad
grant of authority to district courts to delegate tasks.'’

‘' As originally enacted, the Magistrates Act enumerated three
duties that district courts could assign to magistrates: serving as a
special master, assisting a district court in pretrial matters in civil and
criminal actions; and preliminarily reviewing applications for post
trial rehef in criminal cases. The Act expressly stated, however, that
magistrates were not restricted to those functions. See Pub L. No
90-578, § LOL, 82 Stat. 1107, 1113 (1968)

’ For instance, Senator Tydings, the author of the Act and its prin
cipal Senate sponsor, told the House subcommittee that was consider-
ing the legislation that “[wje wanted to make i clear that magistrates
are available to the courts to serve im any Capacity not in conflict with
the Constitution or the laws of the United States, as an officer of the
district court.” Federal Magistrates Act: Hearings on S$. 945, etc,
Before Subcomm. No. 4 of the House Comm. on the Judiciary, 9h
Cong., 2d Sess. 87 (1968) [herematter /968 House Hearings| (em
phasis added). See Federal Magistrates Act: Hearings on §. 3475 and
S. 945 Before the Subcomm. on Improvements in Judwial Machiners
of the Senate Comm. on the Judiciary, 89th Cong, 2d Sess. and 90th
Cong., Ist Sess. 14 (1966-1967) [heremafter /966-/967 Senate Hear:
ings} (remarks of Sen. Tydings) (“[I}t ts appropriate to allow the
district court to make whatever use of [the magistrates'] services as it
sees tut, in addition to the functions that the statute assigns them.”);
ud at 196 (testimony of Hon. Talbot Smith) ("[1}t would be helptul to
the district pudges to have a wide leeway im thew authorization of the
use Of magistrates.”); id. at $2 (testimony of Hon. Edward S. Nor
thrup) (The Act ts “flexible enough to be capable of berg adjusted to
almost any situation that might exist.”)

Congress's purpose was to allow district judges to exper:
ment and use magistrates in imaginative and innovative
ways not yet foreseen by Congress. See S. Rep. No. 371,
91th Cong., 2d Sess. 26-27 (1968) (“If district judges are
willing to experiment with the assignment to magistrates
of other functions in aid of the business of the courts,
* * * there will be increased time available to the udges
for the careful and unhurried performance of their vita!
and traditional adjudicatory duties, and a consequent
benefit to both efficiency and the quality of justice in the
Federal courts.”).

Congress evinced no intention to limit the experimenta-
tion with the use of magistrates to “routine, nonjudicial
burdens.” That had been the restricted scope of tasks
assigned to the United States commissioners under the
pre-1968 system that Congress sought to abolish (see 5.
Rep. No. 371, supra, at 10-11). While those same respon-
sibilities remained assignable to magistrates pursuant to
Section 636(a)(1), 4 primary purpose of the 1968 law was
tO create new “judicial responsibilities” for magistrates
and thereby attract “high-caliber talent” to the position.
See 114 Cong. Rec. 27,341 (1968) (remarks of Rep. Pott);
id. at 29,407 (remarks of Sen. Tydings) (“By raising the
standards of the lower judicial office by making the posi-
tion more attractive to highly qualified individuals, and by
increasing the scope of the responsibilities that can be
discharged by that office, the bill establishes a system
capable of increasing the overall efficiency of the Federal
judiciary by relieving tbe district courts of some of their
minor burdens * * *."); see also H.R. Rep. No. 1629,
supra, at 10 (“the jurrsdiction exercised by the magistrate
is the jurisdiction of the court itself); S. Rep. No. 371,
supra, at 27 (“magistrate * * * is in fact exercising the
jurisdiction and powers of the district court-as an officer
of that court”); 1966-1967 Senate Hearings 27 (remarks ot

1Y

Sen. Tydings); 1/968 House Hearings 81 (testimony of Sen.
Tydings); id. at 128 (testimony of Asst. Dep. Attorney
General William T. Finley).'’

The legislative history of the 1976 amendment of the
Magistrates Act is to the same effect. The purpose of that
legislation was to amend Section 636(b) “in order to clarify
and turther define the additional duties which may be
assigned to a United States Magistrate in the discretion of
a judge of the district court” (H.R. Rep. No. 1609, 94th
Cong., 2d Sess. 2 (1976)).'* Both the House and Senate
Reports stressed, in particular, that the purpose of subsec-
tion (b)3) was to “enable[] the district courts to continue
innovative experimentations in the use of this judicial of-
licer” (H.R. Rep. No. 1609, supra, at 12; S. Rep. No. 625,
94th Cong. 2d Sess. 10 (1976)). For that reason, Congress
placed the “additional duties” provision “in an entirely
separate subsection [to] emphasize{] that im is not
restricted im any way by any other specific grant of
authority to magistrates” (H.R. Rep. No. 1609, supra, at
12; S. Rep. No. 625, supra, at 10). Congress also criticized
some district courts for not having made extensive use of
magistrates since the passage of the Magistrates Act in

es

‘* Petmtioners’ reliance on Rep. Poff's statement im 1968 that the
“addiusonal duties” provision “was not im any way imtended as the
predicate for expanding the jurisdiction of the magistrate,” is mis.
placed (Pet. Br. 19, quoting 114 Cong Rec 28, 360-28, 361 (1968))
Rep. Pott was referring only to the power of a magistrate “to decide a
case Outside of the minor offense jurisdiction created by this bill” Ud
at 28,360 (emphasis added)). But in any event, « is Clear that the 1976
amendments were intended to avoid just the type of narrow construc
lon petitioners propound

* Congress amended the Act im 1976 partly in response to this
( ourt’s decsion in Wingo v. Wedding, 418 US. 461 (1974) im which
the Court held that the “additional duties” provision in effect at that
ume did not eufforize a district pudge to assign Magistrates fespon
viuiity for holding evidentiary hearings on habeas corpus petitions
( ongress intended to overrule that ruling through the 1976 amend
ments See H.R. Rep No. 1609, supra, a 6,8 Rep No 625, supra
at 3.4, Unued States ». Raddatz, 447 US at 674

-

20 os

1968 (see H.R. Rep. No. 1609, supra, at 4; S. Rep. No.

625, supra, at 3, 1975 Senate Hearings 33 (report of —

Judicial Conterence)).

The legislative reports, hearings, and debates preceding |

ihe 1976 amendments, like those held prior to the passage
of the Magistrates Act in 1968, refute petitioners’ conten-
tion (Br. 19) that Congress intended to assign magistrates

only “routine, nonjudicial burdens” and “nonadjudicative

tasks.” They show that Congress expected magistrates,
under the supervision of district judges, to undertake “ad-
judicatory function[s]” and “very important
duties.” See United States v. Raddatz, 447 US. at 681 0.8
(citing S. Rep. No. 625, supra, at 6, and H
1609, .upra, at 8) (“permitting the exercise « -
judicatory function by a magistrate”); 1975 Senate Hear-
ings | (remarks of Sen. Burdick) (“[T)he declared objec-
tive of the Congress when it passed the Magistrates Act of
1967, was to create in the magistrate a judicial officer who
could perform various judicial duties * * *."); id. at §
(testimony of Hon. Charles M. Metzner) (“Under authori-
ty of section 636(b), magistrates are presently performing
very important judicial duties for the district courts.”).

Petitioners make much (Br. 22-25) of their claim that
Congress tailed in 1976 “to override the existing practice
that district judges always presided at jury selection.” Ab-
sent affirmative evidence of an intent to alter the status
quo, petitioners argue, the statute must be construed not
lO permit magistrates to conduct jury selection.

That argument rests on a false premise. When Congress
amended the Magistrates Act in 1976, magistrate-
conducted voi dire was already an accepted feature of
practice under the Act; indeed, i was the very type of ex-
perimental and imnovative use of that the
framers of the Act sought to encourage.

The tirst year of full nationwide implementation of the
magistrates system, 1972, “was one of transition in which
judges experimented with the use of magistrates.” See Ad-

“*

21
ministrative Office of the United States Courts, Ann. Rep.
250 (1972). That year the Judicial Conference's Committee
on the Administration of the Federal Magistrate System
authorized a subcommittee to study the conduct of voir
dire by magistrates. The subcommittee, which issued its
report in July 1973, found that 9 district courts out of the
87 that responded had, in varying degrees, already author-
ized magistrates to conduct voir dire.'* See Judicial Con-
ference, Report of the Subcommittee Assigned to Study
the Conduct of Voir Dire by Federal Magistrates 2-4
(1973) [hereinafter Voir Dire Report).'* Today, 51 dis-

——

** At least two of the four districts that did not respond, the Eastern
and Middle Districts of Louisiana, did have local rules at the time per
milting 4 Magistrate to “conduct vow dire examination and impanel
trial juries” (See Magistrate System: Hearing Before the Subcomm. on
Improvements in Judicial Machinery of the Senate Comm. on the
Judiciary, 924 Cong., 2d Sess. 81 (1972) (copy of local court rules tor
Eastern District of Louisiana appended to prepared testimony ot
Harry Lee, Chairman of Legislative Comm. of Federal Magistrates),
Local Rules for the Middle District of Louisiana, Rule 26(¢)5)Q) (et
fective April 16, 1972)

'* A copy of the report has been lodged with the Court. The report's
survey found (pages 3-4) that the districts allowed magistrate
conducted voir dire in differing circumstances; Central Calitornia,
Oregon, and Western Michigan (only in emergency circumstances)
allowed magistrate-conducted voir dire in both civil and criminal
cases, the District of Columbia and Northern lowa similarly author
ized magistrates to conduct voir dire in civil and criminal cases, but
only wuh the written consent of the parties; Western Kentucky and
Eastern Texas permitted magistrate-conducted vor dire only in civil
cases, Atizona allowed the practice only in civil cases with the parties’
consent, but then contemplated that a similar rule would be adopted
tor criminal cases; and in Western Pennsylvania a clerk conducted
vow dire im civil cases and one judge permitted the magistrate to con
duct voir dire in criminal cases so long as the judge ruled on all legal
issues. While the subcommittee questioned the practical value of
magistrate-conducted voir dire, u explicitly did “not recommend that
these districts which have adopted rules or tollowed the practice ot
having Magistrates conduct vou dire examination of jurors repeal the

tricts have local court rules that expressly provide
magistrates with unqualified authority to conduct voir dire
in civil and criminal cases;'’ § districts provide such au-

rules or abandon the practice” (Voir Dire Report 9). The subcommut-
tee did suggest, however, that those districts just beginning to expert
ment with magistrate-conducted voir dire limit the practice to civil
cases with the consent of the parties (/did.). The subcommittee further
recommended that there be “some provision for the district judge to
review the rulings of the magistrate which are objected to * * *
[e}specially * * * if the rule or practice is to be employed in criminal
cases” Ubid.). The Judicial Conference's Committee on the Operation
of the Jury System accepted the Report in September 1973; the
minutes of the review of the subcomagittee’s report by the Judicial
Conference's Committee on the Administration of the Federal Mag-
istrates Act “expressed no objection” to magistrate-conducted voir
dire in civil cases with the parties’ consent and made no comment on
the practice in other circumstances, including criminal cases. None ot
these documents (copies of which have been lodged with the Court)
questions the legality of magistrate-conducted voir dire under the Act
Significantly, however, immediately following passage of the 1976
legislation, the Judicial Conference’s Magistrates Committee
distributed a memorandum that provided, without limitation, that
magistrates could conduct voir dire (see pages 25-26 & note 22, infra)

'’ See N_D. Ala. Mag. R. 4(f); S.D. Ala. R. 26(1)1)(6); C.D. Cal
Mag. R. 1.76; E.D. Cal. R. 3032); N.D. Cal. R. 405(g); S.D. Cal. R.
$01-8¢f), D. Col. R. 3032); D. Del. Mag. R. 106); D. DC. R
SOl(bM6); M_D. Fla. R. 6.01(c20); N_D. Fla. R. 240/921); S.D
Fla. Mag. R. 106); S.D. Ga. R. 21.5; D. Haw. R. 401-8(f); D. Idaho
R. 4-101 46); C.D. UL R. Maid), S.D. TH. R. 2906); N.D. Ind. R
M1-10:09); S.D. Ind. R. M-13; N.D. lowa R. 314)(4); 8.D. lowa R
3104); D. Kan. Ro 60106); E.D. La. R. 20.7(f; M.D. La. R
oe MiSs); WD. La R. 28(an9Ke); ED. Mich. R. C-iG 6), W.D
Mich. Mag. R. I(hy(S); D. Minn. R. 16(E)5); W.D. Mo. R. 22(K)(6);
D. Neb. R. 444116); D. Nev. R. $00-9(f); D.N.H. Mag. R. D(3); D
NJ. R. 40(/A05); E.DN-C. R. 62.09(fF); M.DLN.C. R. 401(b)(4), D
N_D. R. 28(c4); N.D. Ohio R. 19.10(Q2); $.D. Ohio (W. Div'n) R
1(1M6); E.D. Pa. R. 7006); M.D. Pa. R. 901.9(a)(7); W.D. Pa. Mag
R. 6(e); D. PLR. R. $06.6; D. RE. R. 32(e 5); E.D. Tenn. R. 21.2(d);
\M1.D. Tenn. R. 601(a2); W.D. Tenn. R. 1706); D. Vt. Mag. R

23

thority with some limitations;'* and 18 districts, including
the district involved in this case (the Eastern District of
New York), do not specifically list voir dire as a duty tor
magistrates, but instead generally provide in the local rules
that magistrates may exercise all powers and perform all
duties conferred on them by Section 636.'*

When Congress amended the Magistrates Act in 1976, it
was aware that magistrates were conducting jury selection.
On at least seven different occasions between the passage
of the Magistrates Act in 1968 and its amendment in 1976,
including during the hearings that led directly to the 1976
legislation, Congress was notified that magistrates were
conducting jury selection, including voir dire.*’ Congress

(AMIN Madiv): WD. Wash. Mag. R. 9d); N.D. W.Va. R. 4.0106),
S.D. W.Va. Mag. R. 10:6); E.D. Wis. R. 13.06(d).

'*D. Alaska R. 32) (consent of parties); D. Ariz. R. 18(d)6)
(same); N.D. Okla. R. 32(B)(12) (civil cases); WD. Okla. R. 39(B) 12)
(same); E.D. Wash. 8(d) (same).

'* See M.D. Ala. R. 32(c); D. Conn. Mag. R. 1; N.D. IT. R.
1.70(A); ED. Ky. R. 18(a); WOD. Ky. R 18(a); D. Me. R. 8c), ED.
Mo. R. 21; D. Mont. R. 400-1; D. N.M. R. 27(a), E.D.N_Y. Mag. R.
1; S.D.N.Y. Mag. R. 1; S.D. Ohio R. 2.4.1 (except Western Div'n);
FD. Okla. R. 32; D. Or. R. 135-1(b); D. S.C. RK. 19.01; B.D. Tex. R.
1S; S.Do Tex. R. 1S(A); B.D. Va. R. 29%N).

© See 1975 Senate Hearings 99 (testimony ot Chief Judge Robert C.
Belloni); id. at 20 (testimony of Morey L. Sear, Chairman of the Leg.
Comm. Nat'l Council of U.S. Magistrates) 20 (indicating preference
for amendment of the law or further legislative history to “make clear
(he authority of magistrates to select juries * * *"); Comptroller
General, Report to Congress, The U.S. Magistrates: How Their Serv-
ices Have Assisted Administration of Several District Courts; More
improvements Needed, reprinted in Improvement of Judicial
Machinery: Hearings Before Subcomm. on Courts, Civil Liberties,
und the Administration of Justice of the House Comm. on the
Judiciary, 94th Cong., 2d Sess. 391 (1975) (duties Of magistrate in
Oregon district court include “presiding over the selection of juries in

24

expressed no objection on any of these occasions. Instead,
on one occasion Congress appears to have expressed its
general support for the practice.

The expression of congressional support occurred
following the testimony of Chief Judge Robert C. Belloni
of the District of Oregon in 1975 before the Senate sub-
committee responsible for the magistrates bill that passed
in 1976. Judge Belloni told the subcommittee that
magistrates had increased the efficiency of his district by,
among other things, “presid{ing] over the voir dire and
jury selection of a trial to begin momentarily before a
judge who is putting the finishing touches on his current
case” (1975 Senate Hearings 39). The House and Senate
Reports both selected Judge Belloni’s testimony for special
praise in their discussion of the scope of a magistrate’s in-
tended authority under the Act; they referred to his
testimony and stated that “[a] similar scope of additional

both civil and criminal cases”); The Omnibus Judgeship Bill: Hearing
Before the Subcomm. on Improvements in Judicial Machinery of the
Senate Comm. on the Judiciary, 93d Cong., Ist Sess. 413 (1973)
(testimony of Judge Joe J. Fisher) (“I use [the magistrate] to select
juries, which | think is a very good use for a magistrate. You can get
consent from the attorneys to use them in this way, and it 1s a saving
of the court's time.”); /d. at $18 (testimony of Chief Judge Robert C.
Belloni) (magistrate “presides at jury selections”); Magistrate System:
Hearing Before the Subcomm. on Improvements in Judicial
Machinery of the Senate Comm. on the Judiciary, 92d Cong., 2d Sess
81 (1972) (copy of local court rules for Eastern District of Louisiana
appended to prepared testimony of Harry Lee, Chairman of Leg
Comm. of Federal Magistrates) (“The United States Magistrates * * *
shall perform the following additional duties as and when assigned to
them by any Judge in this District: * * * * * Conduct voir dire ex.
aminatior and impanel trial juries.”); Administrative Offic: of the
United States Courts, Ann. Rep. 250 (1972) (“Some of the other duties
being performed by magistrates in various district courts include the
following: * * * * * Presiding over the selection of juries in civil cases,
including vow dire examination.”).

25

duties is intended for magistrates under the provisions of
{the bill]” (S. Rep. No. 625, supra, at 7; H.R. Rep. No.
1609, supra, at 9).?!

C. Petitioners’ narrow interpretation of the
Magistrates Act is also suspect because it is contrary to the
contemporaneous views expressed by the Judicial Con-
ference’s Committee on the Administration of the Federal
Magistrate System and the Administrative Office of the
United States Courts. Only two weeks after the passage of
the 1976 amendments, the Judicial Conference’s
Magistrates Committee distributed to all federal judges
and magistrates a “Jurisdictional Checklist” listing those
“duties which appear to be appropriate for delegation to
magistrates under the new law” (page 1).?? With respect to
“miscellaneous additional duties” under Section 636(b)(3),

2! Petitioners’ attempt (Br. 24 n.15) to diminish the significance of
Judge Belloni's testimony is unsuccessful. First, the judge's discussion
is not “ambiguous” (/bid.). It includes no reference to “civil cases,” as
suggested by petitioners (/bid.). Nor does the qualification that
magistrates can act only where “lawyers stipulate” apply to his discus-
sion of voir dire. That qualification relates to a different subject —the
circumstance of a magistrate “presid{ing] Over the jury or nonjury trial
exactly as if he were a judge” (/975 Senate Hearings 39). Finally, peti-
tioners get no comfort from the fact that the favorable mention ot
Judge Belloni’s testimony occurs under the heading “pretrial matters.”
As previously explained, although there is some ambiguity concerning
whether Congress considered voir dire to be a “pretrial matter” rather
than just as an “additional dut{y],” what remains clear is that Con-
gress intended, one way or the other, to allow district judges to
delegate that task to magistrates. In any event, although the relevant
discussion occurs under the “pretrial” heading, both reports state that
“jal similar scope of additional duties is intended tor magistrates
under the provisions of [the bill]” (S. Rep. No. 625, supra, at 7 (em-
phasis added); H.R. Rep. No. 1609, supra, at 9).

22 4 copy of that memorandum, dated November 5, 1976, has been
lodged with this Court

2 26

the checklist includes “[c]onduct of voir dire and selection
of juries for district judges” in its list of duties that “to the
extent that [they] * * * are not covered by subsection
636(b)(1) * * * they may be delegated to a magistrate
under subsection 636(b)(3)” (page 12). The Administrative
Office’s Legal Manual for United States Magistrates
[hereinafter Magistrates Manual] takes the identical view
(Vol. 1, § 3.09, at page 3-15).23 The Manual does not
restrict voir dire to civil cases or to cases where the parties
have consented. The Manual also includes a set of model
local court rules that, in the list of “other duties” of a
magistrate, authorize a magistrate to “[cJonduct voir dire
and select petit juries for the court” (Magistrates Manual
3-49 to 3-50).*4 ;

The views of the Judicial Conference’s Committee on
Magistrates and of the Administrative Office are entitled
to significant weight. Pursuant to congressional design,

2) Petitioners argue that the views of the Manual should be dis-
counted in this respect because it is “difficult to reconci’e” the
Manual’s acknowledgment (at page 3-19) that magistrates cannot try
felony cases “with the manual’s approval of voir dire delegation,
unless such approval was meant to apply only to civil cases” (Pet. Br.
18 n.11). Petitioners’ mistake, which is repeated throughout their
brief, is their unstated assumption that voir dire is part of the felony
jury trial itself. As is made clear, however, by the very provisions
upon which petitioners rely, the Manual does not consider voir dire to
be part of the trial itself. Hence, the Manual is not internally inconsis-
tent.

4 To be sure, a foreword to the Manual points out that it “is de-
signed merely to be a guide and a readily available reference work”
and “is not an official directive from the Judicial Conference of the
United States or the Administrative Office or a substitute for deci-
sional law * * *” (Magistrates Manual iii). Nonetheless, the Manual ts
instructive, because it reflects the interpretation of the Act by Judicial
Branch officers intimately familiar with its origins and administra-
Hon.

27

the Judicial Conference and the Administrative Office
“share the common purpose of providing for the fair and
efficient fulfillment of responsibilities that are properly
the province of the Judiciary.” Mistretta v. United States,
109 S. Ct. 647, 663 (1989). They worked closely with Con-
gress in its consideration of the magistrates legislation,
both when the statute was originally enacted in 1968 and
when it has since been amended. They also have signifi-
camt official responsibilities under the Act and related
federal laws.?’ Not surprisingly, therefore, both the
Senate and House Reports ard various individual legisla-
tors relied on the Judicial Conference’s support in advo-
cating the legislation. See, e.g., H.R. Rep. No. 1609,
supra, at 13; S. Rep. No. 625, supra, at 11; 122 Cong. Rec.
35,181 (1976) (remarks of Rep. Danielson); /975 Senate
Hearings 30 (remarks of Mr. Westphal, Subcommittee
Chief Counsel); S. Rep. No. 371, supra, at 9; 114 Cong.
Rec. 27,227 (1968) (remarks of Rep. McClory); id. at

** As petitioners acknowledge (Br. 23), the Judicial Conference ini-
tially proposed the legislation that, with some modification, passed
Congress in 1968 and 1976. Representatives of the Conference also
testified at the hearings on the legislation and filed reports with the
relevant congressional committees on the bills under consideration.
See, e.g., 1975 Senate Hearings 4 (testimony of Judge Charles M.
Metzner, Chairman of Judicial Conference’s Magistrates Committee);
id. at 33-40 (report of Judicial Conference on legislation); /966-/967
Senate Hearings 241)-244 (report of Judicial Conference on legisla-
tion). Finally, the Judicial Conference and the Administrative Office,
under the Conference’s supervision, each has significant respon-
sibilities under the Act and related laws; for instance, the Judicial
(onterence must promulgate standards and procedures for the ap-
poimtment of magistrates (28 U.S.C. 631(b)(5)): the Director of the
Administrative Office must determine the number, locations, and
salaries of magistrates (28 U.S.C. 633); and the Director must prepare
a manual for the use of magistrates “set(ting} forth their powers and
duties” (28 U.S.C. 60-4(d)(4)).

28

27,342 (remarks of Rep. Poff). Particularly in light of
Congress’s reliance on the Conference and the Ad-
ministrative Office, this Court may appropriately give
weight to their interpretation of the statute, which is at
odds with that of petitioners. See United States v.
Peacock, 761 F.2d 1313, 1318 (9th Cir.) (Kennedy, J),
cert. denied, 474 U.S. 847 (1985); United States v. Rivera-
Sola, 713 F.2d 866, 873 (ist Cir. 1983).

ll. MAGISTRATES MAY CONDUCT VOIR DIRE WITHOUL
OFFENDING ARTICLE tl

Petitioners present the Article Ill challenge to
magistrate-conducted voir dire in its starkest form. They
do not argue that the quality of the voir dire they received
was inadequate in any way.** They do not claim that any
prospective juror was wrongly excluded or not excluded
for cause. Nor do petitioners contend that they were not
allowed full exercise of their peremptory challenges or that
the prosecutor abused his right of peremptory challenge.?’
In short, petitioners acknowledge that they were tried and

2* The transcript of the voir dire shows that the voir dire was exten-
sive and probing. No doubt for that reason, when given the oppor-
tunity by the magistrate, none of petitioners’ counsel requested any
additional questioning (see 3/9/87 Tr. 124). See Gomez C.A. Br. 37
(“Gomez was not prejudiced by any specific ruling of the magistrate
juring jury selection and made no such specific complaint to the
district judge * * *.”).

2? For the first time in this case, petitioners now intimate (Br. 3&4
n.4) that because the magistrate declined to excuse a prospective juror
tor hardship after she stated that she might need to attend a funeral of
a relative, petitioners might themselves have been compelled to exer-
cise a peremptory challenge to excuse that prospective juror. But peti-
tioners made no objection either before the magistrate or the district
court to the decision not to excuse the juror. They therefore cannot
now complain that the decision not to excuse the juror might have
prejudiced them —a claim that ts m any event far-fetched.

29

convicted by an impartial jury before an Article II] judge,
yet they claim that their convictions must be overturned
solely because an Article III judge did not personally con-
duct the voir dire. In petitioner’s view, Article III ts not
satisfied by the subsequent availability of de novo review
by the judge.?*

Article IIl, however, imposes no such rigid bar on the
use of magistrates. Even accepting petitioners’ premise
that Article III requires the presence of an Article IIL judge
during a federal felony jury trial (see Br. 30-34),** Article
Ill’s concerns are satisfied in a preliminary proceeding
such as voir dire by the availability of de novo review on

** Petitioners cannot, of course, claim that Article III judges must
personally preside over all aspects of jury selection. Otherwise, the
well-settled practice of using jury commissioners to aid in the selection
of prospective jurors for the array would be unconstitutional. See
Jury Selection and Service Act of 1968, 28 U.S.C. 1861 ef seg.; see
also Fay v. New York, 332 U.S. 261, 271 (1947) (overruled on other
grounds in Taylor v. Louisiana, 419 U.S. $22, $30 (1975)) ("Many of
the standards of elimination which the clerk is directed to apply in
choice of the panel are those the court would have to apply to excuse a
juror on challenge for cause.”).

2% That question is not free from doubt. It is well settled that an Ar-
ticle LIL pudge need not preside over all facets of a federal criminal pro-
ceeding, because “the Constitution does not require that all persons
charged with federal crimes be tried in Art. III courts.” See Swain +
Pressley, 490 U.S. 372, 382-383 (1977); see Palmore +. United States,
411 U.S. 389, 402 (1973) (“Very early in our history, Congress lett the
enforcement of selected federal criminal laws to state courts and to
state court judges who did not enjoy the protections prescribed tor
tederal judges in Art. 111."). From that premise, « would seem to
tollow that Article II] ts not violated when a tederal magistrate
presides over a jury trial. But see Northern Pipeline Co. ». Marathon
Pipe Line Co., 458 U.S. 50, 64 0.15 (1982) (plurality opmmon). In this
case, as in. Raddatz, however, the Court need not reach that issue,
because “Congress has not sought to make any such delegation” (447
U.S. at 681)

w
the part of the district judge. Virtually all of petitioners’
arguments to the contrary were previously rejected by this
Court in United States v. Raddatz, 447 U.S. 667 (1980).

A. In Raddatz, the Court considered an Article III
challenge to the authority of a magistrate to hear a motion
10 suppress evidence in a criminal case and to make pro-
posedfindings and recommendations to a judge concern-
ing the proper disposition of the motion. Section 636(b) 1)
of the Magistrates Act provides that a judge may designate
a magistrate to assist the judge in that manner as long as
the judge “make[s} a de novo determination of those por-
tions of the report or specified proposed findings or
recommendations to which objection is made.”

This Court ruled in Raddatz that the delegation of sup-
pression proceedings to a magistrate “does not violate Ar-
ticle ILL so long as the ultimate decision is made by the
district court” (447 U.S. at 683). The Court emphasized
that “the entire process takes place under the district

“court’s total control and jurisdiction” (id. at 681). “[T}he
magistrate acts subsidiary to and only in aid of the district
court” (ibid.). Justice Blackmun, concurring, emphasized
that because “the magistrate himself is subject to the Art
111 judge’s control{], * * * the only conceivable danger of
a ‘threat’ to the ‘independence’ of the magistrate comes
from within, rather than without, the judicial department”
(id. at 685). Whenever “a controversial matter might be
delegated to a magistrate who is susceptible to outside
pressures, the district judge — insulated by life tenure and
irreducible salary —is waiting in the wings, fully able to
correct the error” (id. at 686 (Blackmun, J., concurring)).

The Court’s reasoning in Raddatz applies with equal
force to the authority of a magistrate to conduct voir dire.
Here, as in Raddatz, de novo review of the ™agistrate’s
determinations is available. Hence, “the ultimate decision

31

is made by the district court” (447 U.S. at 683). The judge
in both instances retains “plenary discretion whether to
authorize a magistrate to [conduct voir dire] and * * * the
magistrate acts subsidiary to and only in aid of the district
court” (id. at 681). In short, as Article IIL requires, “ “the
essential attributes’ of judicial power are retained in the
Art. IIL court.” See Northern Pipeline Co. v. Marathon
Pipe Line Co., 458 U.S. 50, 81 (1982) (plurality opinion),
quoting Crqgvell v. Benson, 285 U.S. 22, 51 (1932).*"

None off the grounds asserted by petitioners for
distinguishing this case from Raddatz is persuasive. First,
petitioners argue (Br. 35) that voir dire can be dis-
tinguished from a motion to suppress evidence on the
ground that “no distinction under Artlicle] II] can be
drawn between jury selection and the evidence phase of
the trial.” In fact, an obvious distinction can be drawn:
The evidence phase occurs during the trial itself before an
impartial jury and determines the innocence or guilt of the
accused, while voir dire is not part of the presentation of
competing versions of facts that is ordinarily considered to
constitute the “trial.”

Although petitioners suggest that the impact of suppres-
sion rulings on the “evidence phase of the trial” is more

** In addition, as Judge Rubin noted, dissenting in United States +
Ford, 824 F.2d 1430, 1446-1447 (Sth Cir. 1987), cert. demed, 108 §
Crt. 741 (1988), a os for from clear that judges have historically been
physically present during voir dire: “Centuries ago, under the common
law of England, °° * court decisions indicate that Ht was not
remarkable tor challenges for cause to be tried to and decideu by
panels of other jurors rather than by the judge, and that such
challenges may have been tried outside the presence of the judge”
(Vind. (footnotes omitted). See 9 W. Holdsworth, 4 History of
Enelish Law 183 (3d ed. 1944); J. Thayer, 4 Preliminary Treatise on
Evidence at the Common Law 123-124 (1898), Moore, bow Dire Ex
amination of Jurors: 1. The English Practwe, 16 Geo. 1.35. 48,
442-443 (1928); see also Mopt vy. Utah, 110 US. $74, $77 (1884)

3?

-

32

remote than the impact of voir dire, the converse would
seem true. The disposition of a motion to suppress evi-
dence determines what evidence can be admitted at trial.
As a practical matter, “the resolution of a suppression mo-
tion can and often does determine the outcome of the
case” (Raddatz, 447 U.S. at 677-678). Jury selection is, of
course, an important procedure but it is hard to credit
petitioners’ suggestion that the voir dire of the prospective
jurors is typically more important to the resolution of a
criminal case than a motion to suppress evidence.
Moreover, petitioners are not here contending that the
magistrate’s role led to a jury that was biased agains!
them. The most that can be said is that the magisirate’s
decisions may have produced an unbiased jury with a dit-
ferent composition from the unbiased jury that may have
been produced if the district judge had presided over the
voir dire. And the effect of being tried by one impartial
jury rather than another is inherently speculative.’'
Equally unpersuasive is petitioners’ assertion (Br. 37-38,
42-45) that Raddatz can be distinguished on the ground
that voir dire examination requires the presence of an Arti-
cle IL judge because meaningful de novo review of voir
dire proceedings is not possible. A virtually identical argu-
ment was made and rejected in Raddatz. The Court there
acknowledged the potential difficulty of de novo review of
suppression hearings, but concluded that, rather than

\ For this reason, there is no merit to petitioners’ suggestion (Br
36) that vor dire, presumably unlike suppression Motions, ts of “lun:
damental importance.” Both are important. And while your dire im
plicates the accused's right to tral by an impartial jury, 4 motion to
suppress evidence, depending on the particular constitutional right
underlying the motion, may implicate equally fundamental mghty,
such as those arising under the Fourth, Fifth, or Sixth Amendments
Hence. no valid distinction can be drawn between vor dire and sup-
pression motions based on thei relative “importance” to the ¢ -cased

33

restrict magistrate authority ex ante, the proper course was
10 assume that courts would be “sensitive to the problems
of making credibility determinations on the cold record”
(447 U.S. at 679).*?

The same approach should apply here. While reviewing
another's work is never the same as doing the work
oneself, it is Certainly possible to have effective review of
voir dire proceedings, just as it is to have effective review
ot suppression hearings.

To begin with, there are many Occasions on which jury
selection produces no issue needing review. Unlike sup-
pression motions, which are necessarily won by one side
and lost by the other, jury selection often results in both
sides being satisfied with the process and the result. In-
deed, this appears to be one of those cases, since the par-
ties made no objection either to the substance of the voir
dire or to the magistrate’s decision to seat or excuse par-
ticular jurors.??

'* The dissenting justices in Raddatz made the same argument peti-
toners have advanced m this case. See 447 US. at 689 (Stewart, J.
dissenting) ("It ts my view that the pudge could not make the statutor-
ly required ‘de novo determination’ of the critacally contested tactual
issucs im thes case without personally observing the demeanor of the
witnesses”), sd. at 711 (Marshall, J., dissenting) (“in cases like this
one the magistrate’s decrion ts effectively unreviewable if the district
judge does not hear the witnesses”).

'* Petitioners repeatedly make much of the fact that the trial judge
im thes case did not “order or review the vou dire transcript” (Br. 3, 9,
44, 48). Because petitioners did not object to the substance of the voor
dire, wacluding the jurors selected and excluded isee J A. 18-19), the
distract Court can hardly be faulted for faslng to order and review the
transcript. For the same reason, petitioners cannot now complain that
the scope of de novo review offered by the judge was too narrow.
\ithough the pudge spoke most directly to the possibility of de novo
review with regard to “any one juror for whom a challenge for cause
was mot sustamed by [the magistrate],” there s no mdication that, as

4

In addition, petitioners exaggerate the relative
significance of demeanor in vow dire by intimating that it
is almost always the crucial factor. As is well illustrated by
this case, the voir dire process in the federal system con-
ee en eee eely
when, in response to a question, expressly
acknowledge their inability to be impartial. See, e.¢.,
2/9/87 Tr. 21-22 (five prospective jurors raised their
hands to declare inability to be impartial in a narcotics
trafficking case); id. at 43 (The Court: “You feel you
would have a problem?”; Ms. Willey: “Yes."); 1d. at 55
(The Court: “Would that experience affect your ability to
be fair here?”; Mr. Lederle: “Yes.”); id. at 57-58 (The
Court: “Now, is there anything about the experiences you
have just described that would in your mind prevent you
from sitting fairly and impartially in this case?”; Ms.
Eckelberry: “Yes.”); id. at 59 (Ms. Ruditsky: “I don’t think
1 would be impartial on this.”); id. at 73 (Mr. Manigault:
“| don't think I can be fair.”); id. at 74 (The Court:

“Anything about the case that would prevent you from be-—

ing fair?”; Ms. Silverstein: “I think so * * *."); sd. at 75
(Mr. Bernardo: “I don’t think | would be real objective.”),
id. at 94 (Ms. Tavis: “I don’t think that I can be impartial
in this case.”); id. at 127 (Mr. Lutz: “I don’t feel I ‘iave a
right to this case.”); ibid. (Ms. Rozzell: “i do not feel that I
can be fair.”); ad. at 131 (Ms. Tufel: “As I sit there, I can
patos Ae im thas was excused for
ive j m case
Vawsyshrabs opcrangmosgel explicit disclosure, and that
juror was excused after petitioners’ counsel explained to
the magistrate why bias might be an issue; the government
consented to the juror’s removal from the panel (see 2/9/87

petitioners now contend (Br 3, 44, 48), the judge would have refused
to consider any other objection to the wow dire

35

Tr. 126). Consequently, there was nothing for the district
court to review. And even if there had been, the
magistrate’s decision to excuse one of the prospective
jurors for cause could easily have been reviewed on the
basis of the transcript.

The parties’ exercise of their peremptory challenges in
this case, as in most cases, was similarly noncontroversial.
One of the important functions of voir dire is to allow the
parties to hear the prospective jurors’ responses and to ex-
ercise peremptory challenges based on those responses. As
in the case of the disposition of the excuses for cause, the
questioning that enlightens the parties’ decisions with
regard to the exercise of their peremptory challenges can
easily be reviewed from the transcript or from the parties’
motions to have particular questions asked. None of the
parties in this case objected to any question posed by the
magistrate or requested any additional questioning. Again,
therefore there was nothing for the district court to review.
But even if such an objection had been made, the magis-
trate’s determination to ask or not to ask a particular ques-
tion of the prospective jurors could easily have been re-
viewed by the district court either in advance or after the
fact.

When the need for review of a magistrate’s conduct of
vor dire arises, a district judge possesses considerable
discretion in the way he exercises de novo review. How
that discretion is exercised depends on the nature of the
objection made.

Some review can occur prior to the voir dire itself, it
the parties submit questions that the magistrate refuses to
ask. Other forms of review can take place after the fact or
even during the course of the voir dire. In most cir-
cumstances, the judge will likely find it sufficient to ex-
amine the voir dire transcript and hear argument by
counsel. In some circumstances, however, the judge may
decide that it is necessary to question a particular prospec-

36

tive juror himself; this may occur following the
magistrate’s jury selection or even during the midst of jury
selection, if necessary.** And if, as petitioners posit, ex-
treme circumstances arise where the web of errors commit-
ted by the magistrate cannot be unwoven, the judge may
of course commence the jury selection anew. Cf. H.R.
Rep. No. 1609, supra, at 3 (“In some specific instances, [it]
may be necessary for the judge to modify or reject the
findings of the magistrate, to take additional evidence,
recall witnesses, or recommit the matter to the magistrate
for further proceedings.”); Raddatz, 447 U.S. at 680
(“broad discretion includes hearing the witnesses live to
resolve conflicting credibility claims”). Yet the poss«bility
that in some circumstances the judge may have to redo the
magistrate’s work in part or in whole does not mean that,
on the whole, the delegation of voir dire to magistrates will
be ineffective in conserving judicial resources. Article III
does not forbid a judge from making the judgment that
those rarely incurred costs will be more than offset by sav-
ings in the vast majority of cases such as this one.*°

B. Petitioners next contend (Br. 38-39) that mag-
istrate-conducted voir dire violates Article II] “because the
trial judge’s conduct of the subsequent trial proceedings

‘If an unanticipated controversy arises during jury selection, the
magistrate is free to consult with the judge, who may then decide to in
tervene. In this case, for example, after petitioners’ counsel objected
io the magistrate’s conducting voir dire, the magistrate asked counsel
whether “some inquiry should be posed to Judge McLaughlin now”
(J.A. 15). The magistrate then consulted with the judge and learned
that the judge’s “view of the law was the same as mine” (J.A. 16).

'’ Even Judge Oukes, dissenting from the court of appeals’ judg
ment. did not conclude that Article II] precludes magistrate-
conducted voir dire. He instead stated that because he did not believe
the practice “can save much judicial time,” it should generally be pro-
hibited “in the exercise of our supervisory power” (J.A. 48).

37

depends upon his personal knowledge of what occurred
during voir dire.” But there is no requirement that the
same judge both select the jury and conduct the trial, as
petitioners appear to concede (Br. 24 n.15). There is
therefore no constitutional magic in ensuring that the
judge who tries the case has “personal knowledge” of the
jury selection process. Consequently, there is no merit to
petitioners’ claim that in order to achieve that result Arti-
cle IIL must be construed to forbid magistrates from con-
ducting voir dire.

C. In challenging the use of magistrates to conduct
voir dire, petitioners understate (Br. 40-42) the adverse im-
pact of their Article III claim on the achievement of the
purposes of the Magistrates Act and wrongly ask this
Court, under the guise of constitutional review, to second-
guess the wisdom of Congress’s policy determination.
Petitioners argue, in effect, that magistrate-conducted
vor dire violates Article Ill because it is infrequently
done; according to petitioners (Br. 42), magistrates con-
ducted voir dire only 55 times during the last six months of
1988. Petitioners’ point is misleading, however, for several
reasons.

First, there is reason to believe that the last six months
do not reflect the historical, let alone possible future, use
of magistrates to conduct voir dire. Because of the uncer-
tainty about the legality of the practice following the Fifth
Circuit's 1987 decision in United States v. Ford, 824 F.2d
1430, 1434-1438 (Sth Cir. 1987), cert. denied, 108 S. Ct.
741 (1988), it seems likely that the use of magistrates to
conduct voir dire was atypically low during the six-month
survey period on which petitioners rely. The fact that more
than half the judicial districts in the nation specifically list
voir dire as among magistrates’ permissible duties suggests
that magistrate-conducted voir dire has been relatively

38

common in the past and will be even more common if this
Court upholds the practice.

Second, petitioners underestimate the potential signifi-
cance of their Article II] theory. If petitioners are correct
in their more sweeping view of the restrictions imposed by
Article II] on the use of magistrates —that jury selection 1s
part of the trial and an Article II] judge must preside over
all aspects of federal court trials — more than magistrate-
conducted voir dire in felony jury trials may be affected.
The authority of magistrates to conduct voir dire in misde-
meanor and civil cases and, even with the defendant's con-
sent, to try misdemeanor or civil cases may also be placed
in doubt.’* According to the Administrative Office of the
U.S. Courts, between July 1, 1987, and June 30, 1988,
magistrates tried 1348 misdemeanor and 989 civil cases,
during the second half of 1988, magistrates conducted voir
dire in 61 felony jury trials and, apart from cases they
tried, conducted voir dire in 1/8 civil cases.*’

In any event, this Court should decline petitioners’ in-
vitation to substitute its own judgment for Congress's
policy determination that magistrates are an important
and effective means of relieving the burdens of burgeoning
caseloads on federal courts. Petitioners argue (Br. 40 n.25,
42) that magistrate-conducted voir dire will not save
judges much time, but this Court is not equipped to make
that empirical determination, even if it is somehow rele-
vant to the legal issue presented here. Experience will show
whether the practice is effective, and if it is not, judges will

© See, e.g., Geras v. Lafayette Display Fixtures, Inc., 742 ¥.2d
1037, 1045-1054 (7th Cir. 1984) (Posner, J., dissenting) (concluding
magistrate-conducted civil trials pursuant to Section 636(c) violate Ar-
ticle Il] even with the parties’ consent).

' See Letter from Gerard Jones, Program Analyst, Magistrates
Division, Administrative Office of the U.S. Courts (Mar. 30, 1989)
(copy lodged with the Court). The 61 felony voir dire proceedings
fépresents a modification of the number (55) the Administrative Ot-
fice provided in its letter to petitioners’ counsel.

39

no doubt abandon it. In the meantime, consistently with
Congress’s intent, judges should be allowed to continue to
experiment with assigning magistrates to various “pretrial
matters” and “additional duties,” such as voir dire, to deter-
mine which can most effectively ease the federal courts’
dockets. After all, Article III does not require that an ex-
periment be successful in order for it to be constitutional.}*

D. For the first time, petitioners make an independent
argument based on the Due Process Clause (Pet. Br.
46-49).°*? Their due process claim, however, is little more
than a reformulation of their Article III claim. The due
process right identified by petitioners is the “additional
procedural protection” of having “the independence and
impartiality of judges” who conduct voir dire and criminal
trial proceedings “enhanced by life-time tenure and an ir-
reducible salary” (Pet. Br. 46). Apart from the absence of
an Article II] judge, petitioners do not claim that they suf-
fered any other injury. Petitioners’ due process claim
therefore suffers from the same infirmities as their Article
111 claim.*°

‘* This court rejected a similar argument in Raddatz. See 447 U.S.
at 702 n.5 (Marshall, J., dissenting) (“Experience shows that motions
lo suppress evidence consume a relatively small proportion of the time
of tederal district judges.”).

’* Although petitioners referred to “due process” both in their peti-
tions and in their court of appeals briefs, they did not make a due
process argument independent of their Article Ill claim. See, e.g.,
88-5014 Pet. 1, 5; 88-5158 Pet. 7; Supp. Pet. i, 16, 18. The court of ap-
peals, accordingly, addressed only petitioners’ Article IH argument.
See J.A. 30-37.

4u

Petitioners’ due process claim surely must fail, moreover, to the
extent that petitioners are claiming a due process right to have a judge
with lite tenure and irreducible salary conduct voir dire. If due process
required that result, most criminal jury trials in state courts would
violate due process. Ct. Raddatz, 447 U.S. at 685 n.3 (Blackmun, J.,
concurring).

40

This Court rejected a similar due process claim in Rad-
datz (447 U.S. at 677-681). Applying the three-factor test
described by this Court in Mathews v. Eldridge, 424 U.S.
319, 335 (1976), and now relied upon by petitioners (Br.
47), the Court concluded that any due process rights im-
plicated by a suppression hearing were adequately pro-
tected by the statutory provision of de novo review. The
same procedural safeguards apply to voir dire and there-
fore lead to the same result. en

First, the “private interests implicated” are similar in
this case and in Raddatz (447 U.S. at 677). Just as “the
process due at a suppression hearing may be less demand-
ing and elaborate than the protections accorded the defen-
dant at the trial itself” (id. at 679), the process due at voir
dire is less exacting than at trial. The proceeding is far
more informal, and the court has considerable discretion
in deciding the substance and format of the questioning.
See Ristaino v. Ross, 424 U.S. 589, 594 (1976). .

Second, “the risk of an erroneous determination” is no
greater here than it was in Raddatz. See 447 U.S. at 677.
As in Raddatz, “the district court judge alone acts as the
ultimate decisionmaker,” and “the statute grants the judge
the broad discretion to accept, reject, or modify the
magistrate’s proposed findings” (id. at 680). Depending on
the nature of the objections made to the magistrate’s voir
dire, the judge also has great discretion in the way he con-
ducts de novo review, ranging from examination of the
transcript to questioning prospective jurors himself.

Third, “the public interest and administrative burdens,
including the costs that the additional procedures would
involve” (Raddatz, 447 U.S. at 677) support the constitu-
tionality of magistrate-conducted voir dire. Underlying
the enactment and subsequent amendments of the

Magistrates Act is “Congress’ recognition that a multitude
of new statutes and regulations had created an avalanche

41

of additional work for the district courts which could be
performed only by multiplying the number of judges or
giving judges additional assistance.” Mathews v. Weber,
423 U.S. at 268; see Wingo v. Wedding, 418 U.S. at 463:
S. Rep. No. 625, supra, at 2-5; H.R. Rep. No. 1609,
supra, at 4-7. Congress empowered magistrates to con-
sider “pretrial matters” and undertake “additional duties”
so that district judges could spend more time on the trials
themselves.

Congress’s decision to enlist the aid of gistrates
rather than increase the number of district judges Yeflects a
considered fiscal and administrative policy decision. It
costs much more to create and annually fund a judgeship
than a magistracy. See, e.g., 1975 Senate Hearings 4
(remarks of Judge Metzner on behalf of the Judicial Con-
ference) (“It is our considered judgment that we cannot
continue to cope with this problem [of growing caseloads}
by increasing the number of district judges ard the sup-
porting staffs of law clerks, secretaries, court clerks, court
reporters and other employees, with the concomitant need
for huge additional physical space.”). Creating a
magistrate’s position is also a more flexible means of ad-
dressing the congestion problem in many instances. A
magistrate may be hired part-time and may be readily
assigned to different tasks in different courthouses and
even different districts as the need arises. See, e.g., H.R.
Rep. No. 1609, supra, at 9, 12-13.

In light of these factors, Congress’s decision to permit
magistrates to conduct voir dire comports with due proc-
ess. As this Court explained in another context, “some
play in the joints of the jury-selection process is necessary
in order to accommodate the practical problems of
judicial administration. Congress could reasonably adopt
procedures which, while designed to assure that ‘an impar-
tial jury [is] drawn from a cross-section of the communi-

42

ty,” at the same time take into account practical problems
of judicial administration.” Hamiing v. United States, 418
U.S. 87, 138 (1974).

it. ANY ERROR IN THE PROCEDURE FOLLOWED IN
THIS CASE WAS HARMLESS

Petitioners objected to having the magistrate conduct
the voir dire in this case, but they did not object to, or seek
review of, anything the magistrate did in the course of the
voir dire proceedings. For that reason, even if the district
court committed statutory or constitutional error in
assigning the voir dire to the magistrate, the error was
harmless and does not entitle petitioners to a reversal of
their convictions.

As this Court has repeatedly stated, most errors that oc-
cur in the process leading to a defendant's conviction are
subject to harmless error analysis. Thus, the Court has ap-
plied harmless ¢rror analysis to a wide variety of errors,
such as errors in the grand jury process (see Bank of Nova
Scotia v. United States, 108 S. Ct. 2369 (1988)), violations
of the Confrontation Clause (see Delaware v. Van Arsdall,
475 U.S. 673 (1986)), errors in jury instructions (see Pope
v. Ilinois, 481 U.S. 497 (1987)), and violations of the right
to be present at trial (see Rushen v. Spain, 464 US. 114
(1983)). Only in a few settings has the Court applied a rule
of per se reversal upon finding that error has been commit-
ted. Those include the complete denial of counse! (see
Perry v. Leeke, 109 S. Ct. 594, 600 (1989)), racial
discrimination in the selection of grand jurors (see Vas-
quez v. Hillery, 474 U.S. 254 (1986)), and adjudication by
a biased judge (see Tumey v. Ohio, 273 U.S. $10 (1927)).

Petitioners argue (Br. 28-29, 45-46) that the error in this
case — permitting an unauthorized officer to conduct the

voir dire—is a fundamental one that cannot be harmless
under any circumstances. We disagree. In at least some
cases, of which this one is a clear example, it is possible to

43

say with great confidence that the assignment of a
magistrate to conduct the voir dire could not have pre-
judiced the defendants. In such cases, reversal of the
defendants’ convictions would be a miscarriage of justice.

The most significant factor bearing on the harmless er-
ror issue in this case is that petitioners voiced no com-
plaints about the way the voir dire was conducted, other
than objecting to the fact that the magistrate conducted it.
In the typical harmless error case, the appellant loses if he
fails to persuade the court that he would not have been
convicted absent the error in question. In this case, peti-
tioners not only cannot make that argument, but they can-
not even claim that the voir dire or the trial would have
been conducted any differently if the judge, rather than
the magistrate, had presided over the jury selection proc-
ess. See United States v. Rodriguez-Suarez, 856 F.2d 135,
138 (1ith Cir. 1988), cert. denied, 109 S. Ct. 875 (1989).

This case is therefore quite different from a case in which
the defendant has been denied his right to counsel, but
cannot point to any specific error at trial that prejudiced
him. As the Court has held, the right to counsel is fun-
damental, and absent the opportunity to be represented by
counsel, a reviewing court cannot have confidence that the
result is a fair one, even if no obvious errors appear on the
tace of the record. See Chapman v. California, 386 U.S.
18, 23 (1967). In this case, petitioners’ counsel represented
them throughout the voir dire and were invited to call to
the attention of the magistrate or the district judge any
‘laws in the process that they perceived. Since they failed
to note any flaws at all, the Court can have confidence
that the voir dire was properly conducted, or at least that
any error was so insignificant as to fall beneath counsel's
notice.

An additional tactor bearing on the appropriateness of
harmless error analysis in this setting is the nature of

44

appellate review of claims of error in the vour dire process.
While defendants have a constitutional right to an impar-
tial jury, they do not have a constitutional right to the im-
partial jury of their choice. For that reason, reviewing
courts typically focus on the defendant's “right to reject,
not to select a juror,” and the loss of a poten*ially
favorable juror is ordinarily not a ground for appeal. See
Hayes v. Missouri, 120 U.S. 68, 71 (1924); Northern Pac.
R_R. v. Herbert, 116 U.S. 642, 646 (1886); United States
v. Marchant, 25 U.S. (12 Wheat.) 480, 482 (1827); see also
Ross v. Oklahoma, 108 S. Ct. 2273, 2277 (1988) (Any
claim that the jury was not impartial * * * must focus
* * * on the jurors who ultimately sat. None of those 12
jurors, however, was challenged for cause by petitioner,
and he has never suggested that any of the 12 was impar-
ty Oe

Petitioners mistakenly assume (Br. 44) that a defendant
is entitled to relief whenever a court's action requires that
he unnecessarily exercise a peremptory challenge. At least
where the relevant sta‘ute allowing peremptory challenges
so limits that right, a defendant cannot complain even
when a court forces the defendant to exercise his last
peremptory challenge by erroneously declining to exclude

+: Of course, there are exceptions to this general principle. For in-
stance, “a sentence of death cannot be carried out if the jury that im-
posed or recommended it was chosen by excluding veniremen for
cause simply because they voiced general objections to the death
penalty (Witherspoo., v. Illinow, 91 U-S. $10, $22 (1968)), and “the
Equal Protection Clause forbids the prosecutor to challenge potential
jurors soley on account of the race or on the assumption that black
jurors as a group will be unable impartially to consider the State's case
against a black defendant” (Batson v. Kentucky, 476 U.S. 79, 89
(1985). Such issues do not, however, arise im the vast majority of
cases (including this one) and, even when they to, they are suscepuble
to meaningful de novo review by a district judgc.

45

s prospective juror for cause: “So long as the jury that sits
is impartial, the fact that the defendamt had to use a
peremptory challenge to achieve that result does not mean
the Sixth Amendment was violated.” Ross v. Oklahoma,
108 S. Ct. at 2278. In sum, the record in this case makes it
amply clear that, regardless of the magistrate’s authority
to conduct the voir dire, there was no error in the rulings
made in the course of the voir dire, and certainly no error
that would entitle petitioners to reversal of their convic-
tions and a new trial. Under these circumstances, it would
serve NO purpose to reverse petitioners’ convictions in the
absence of any cognizable prejudice to the defense.

CONCLE SION

The judgment of the court of appeals should be af-
tirmed.

Respectfully submitted.

Witiamw Cc. Bryson
Acting Solicitor General

Epw arp $.G. Dennis. Ie
Assisiant Attorney General

Ric HARD J. LAZaRis
Assistant to the Solicitor General

J. Dow as Wieson
Altorne,s

\Ilvakch 1989

APPENDIX _

1. Article I of the United States Constitution provides

in relevant part:
Section |. The judicial Power of the United States,
shall be vested in one supreme Court, and in such in-
terior Courts as the Congress may from time to time
ordain and establish. The Judges, both of the
supreme and interior Courts, shall hold their Offices
during good Behavior, and shall, at stated Times,
receive for their Services, a Compensation, which
shall not be diminished during their Continuance in
Office.
Section 2. The judicial Power shall extend to all
Cases, in Law and Equity, arising under this Con-
stitution, the Laws of the United States, and Treaties
made, or which shall be made, under their Authority

The Trial of all Crimes, except in Cases of Impeach-
mem, shall be by Jury * * *.
2. Section 636 of the Federal Magistrates Act provides in
relevant part:
(a) Each United States magistrate serving under this
chapter shall have within the territorial jurisdiction
prescribed by his appoimtment —
(1) all powers and duties conferred or imposed
upon United States commissioners by law or by
the Rules of Criminal Procedure for the United
States District Courts;
(2) the power to administer oaths and affirma-
tions, impose conditions of release under section
3146 of tithe 18, and take acknowledgements, af-
lidavits, and depositions; and

(la)

*
,
——

2a

(3) «the power to conduct trials under section
3401, tithe 18, United States Code, in conformity
with and subject to the limitations of that sec-
tion.

(bx) =Notwithstanding any provision of law to the

contrary —
(A) a judge may designate a magistrate to hear
and determine any pretrial matter pending before
the court, except a motion for injunctive relict,
for judgment on the pleadings, for summary
judgment, to dismiss or quash an indictment or
information made by the defendant, to suppress
evidence in a criminal case, to dismiss or to per-
mit maintenance of a class action, to dismiss for
failure to state a claim upon which relief can be
granted, and to involuntarily dismiss an action.
A judge of the court may reconsider any pretrial
matter under this subparagraph (A) where it has
been shown that the magistrate’s order ts clearly
erroneous Or contrary to law.

(B) a judge may also designate a magistrate to
conduct hearings, including evidentiary hearings,
and to submit to a judge of the court proposed
findings of fact and recommendations for the
disposition, by a judge of the court, of any mo-
tion excepted in subparagrah (A), of applications
for posttrial relief made by individuals convicted
of criminal offenses and of prisoner petitions
challenging conditions of confinement.

(C) the magistrate shall file his proposed find-
ings and recommendations under subparagraph
Sp See Sie CUE 8S 6 Cagy SS Cerwkh be
mailed to all parties.

3a

Within ten days after being served with a copy,
any party may serve and file written objections to
such proposed findings and recommendations as
provided by rules of court. A judge of the court
shall make a de novo determination of those por-
tions of the report or specified proposed findings
or recommendations to which objection is made.
A judge of the court may accept, reject, or
modify, in whole or in part the findings or
recommendations made by the magistrate. The
judge may also receive further evidence or
recommit the matter to the magistrate with in-
structions.

(2) A judge may designate a magistrate to serve as a
special master pursuant to the applicable provisions
of this title and the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure
tor the United States district courts. A judge may
designate a magistrate to serve as a special master in
any civil case, upon consent of the parties, without
regard to the provisions of rule 53(b) of the Federal
Rules of Civil Procedure for the United States district
courts.

(3) A magistrate may be assigned such additional
duties aS are not inconsistent with the Constitution
and laws of the United States.

(4) Each district court shall establish rules pursuant
to which the magistrates shall discharge their duties.

(c) Notwithstanding any provision of law to the
contrary —

(1) Upon the consent of the parties, a full-time
United States magistrate or a part-time United
States magistrate who serves as a full-time

- a

judicial officer may conduct any or all pro-
ceedings in a jury or nonjury civil matter and
order the entry of judgment in the case, when
specially designated to exercise such jurisdiction
by the district court or courts he serves. Upon the
consent of the parties, pursuant to their specific
written request, any other part-time magistrate
may exercise such jurisdiction, if such magistrate
meets the bar membership requirements set forth
in section 631(b)(1) and the chief judge of the
district court certifies that a full-time magistrate
is not reasonably available in accordance with
guidelines established by the judicial council for
the circuit. When there is more than one judge of
a district court, designation under this paragraph
shall be by the concurrence of a majority of all
the judges of such district court, and when there

is no such concurrence, then by the chief judge.
*_* *

US GOVERNMENT PRINTING OFFICE 1969 241 69900176

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385012_0525%3A07. Public record. Not legal advice.
