# Amicus Curiae Brief — Wilder v. Virginia Hospital Assn.

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385012_0517%3A13

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1990
- **Citation:** 496 U.S. 498

## Text

—

51 LED
8 occ
No. 88-2043 JOSEPH F SPANIOL, JR,
| ene

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1989

GERALD L. BALILEs, et al.,

Petitioners,
v.

THE VIRGINIA HOSPITAL ASSOCIATION,
Respondent.

On Writ of Certiorari to the United States
Court of Appeals for the Fourth Circuit

BRIEF OF THE
AMERICAN HEALTH CARE ASSOCIATION,
AMERICAN HOSPITAL ASSOCIATION, AMERICAN
ASSOCIATION OF HOMES FOR THE AGING,
NATIONAL COUNCIL ON THE AGING, INC.
AS AMICI CURIAE ON BEHALF OF RESPONDENT

(Additional Amici Curiae Listed in Appendix)

Rex E. Lee THOMAS C. Fox
CARTER G. PHILLIPS Counsel of Record
Mark E. HADDAD Joe, M. HAMME
Sip_ey & AUSTIN EUGENE TILLMAN
1722 Eye Street, N.W. W. THomas McGoucu, Jr.
Washington, D.C. 20006 THOMAS N. BULLBIT, JR.
(202) 429-4000 Reep SMITH SHAW & McCLAY
1200 18th Street, N.W.
Jerrrey M. TESKE Suite 1000

MarJorie H. CAREY
AMERICAN HOSPITAL
ASSOCIATION
840 N. Lake Shore Drive
Chicago, Illinois 60611
(312) 280-6700

Washington, D.C. 20036
(202) 457-6100

WILSON - Eres Painting Co Inc. - 789-0096 - WaswincTron, D.C. 20001

QUESTION PRESENTED
Whether 42 U.S.C. § 1983 affords hospitals and nurs-

all n

TABLE OF CONTENTS

QUESTION PRESENT EDB
TABLE OF AUTHORTITI E88
INTEREST OF AMICI CURIAE ......

BACKGROUND ON THE MEDICAID PROGRAM
AND STATE RATESETTING METHODOLOGIES..

ARGUMENT:

RESPONDENT HAS A CAUSE OF ACTION UN-
DER 42 U.S.C. § 1983 AGAINST STATE OFFI-
CIALS FOR VIOLATION OF THE FEDERAL
MEDICAID REIMBURSEMENT STANDARD IN
THE BOREN AMENDMENT .....

I. A SECTION 1983 ACTION EXISTS FOR VIO-
LATIONS OF FEDERAL STATUTORY
RIGHTS UNLESS CONGRESS INTENDED
NOT TO CONFER ENFORCEABLE RIGHTS
UPON THE PUTATIVE PLAINTIFF, OR IN-
TENDED A COMPREHENSIVE AND EX-
CLUSIVE REMEDIAL SCHEME IN THE EN-
ACTMENT ITSELF TO SUBSTITUTE FOR
SECTION 1983 — — —

A. The Medicaid statute creates an enforce-
able right” to provider reimbursement by
rates that are reasonable and adequate to
meet the costs which must be incurred by
efficiently and economically operated facili-
2 * (10

(iii)

11

11

iv

TABLE OF CONTENTS—Continued
- Page

B. Congress has not forcelosed private enforce-
ment of the Boren Amendment by providers
in the Medicaid statute itself —...................... 18

II. RECOGNIZING A SECTION 1983 REMEDY
WOULD NOT OPEN THE FLOODGATES TO
FEDERAL COUFT REVIEW OF INDIVID-

UAL RATE DISPUTES, BUT WOULD PRO-
VIDE A MEANINGFUL METHOD OF REME-
DYING SYSTEMATIC VIOLATIONS OF THE
BOREN AMENDM ENT 25

A. Availability of a section 1983 remedy has not
produced a flood of Boren Amendment liti-
gation ... 4 Res OE Se 25

B. The absence of a remedy would permit State
Plans which contain egregious violations of
the Boren Amendment to continue in opera-
— . a en 27

. ——ñ—ñꝛ —— ů — —— — 30

*

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
CASES Page

AMISUB (PSL) v. Colorado Dep’t of Social Serv-
ices, 879 F.2d 789 (10th Cir. 1989), petition for
cert. filed, 58 U.S. L. W. 3322 (U.S. Oct. 25, 1989)

(No. 89-682) .. e eee een 19, 25-27
Alabama Hosp. Ass'n v. Beasley, 702 F.2d 955

(llth Cir. 1988) .......................... 1 25
Albert Einstein Medical Center v. White, Civ. No.

88-8831 (E. D. Pa. filed Nov. 17, 1988) 29

California Hosp. Ass'n v. Schweiker, 559 F. Supp.
110 (C. D. Cal 1982), aff'd, 705 F. 2d 466 (9th
ER 7 .... 19
Children's Memorial Hosp. Ass'n v. Illinois Dep't
of Public Aid, 562 F. Supp. 165 (N. D. III. 1983) 26
Coos Bay Care Center v. Oregon Dep't of Human
Resources, 803 F.2d 1060 (9th Cir. 1986), cert.
granted, 481 U.S. 1036, vacated as moot, 484

D ee 25
. Cort v. Ash, 422 U.S. 66 (197500) 12
) Golden State Transit Corp. v. City of Los Angeles,
No. 88-840, slip op. (U.S. Dec. 5, 198997 13
Illinois Hosp. Ass’n v. Illinois Dep’t of Public Aid,
576 F. Supp. 360 (N. D. III. 1983) —
Maine v. Thiboutot, 448 U.S. 1 (1980) 9,11
Mary Washington Hosp., Inc. v. Fisher, 635 F.
Supp. 891 (E. D. Va. 19880))))⸗n x

Michigan Hosp. Ass’n v. Dep’t of Social Services,
No. L89-40070 CA (W.D. Mich. filed July 25,

AEST ˙—ecr ! . 29
Middlesex County Sewerage Auth. v. National Sea

Clammers Ass'n, 453 U.S. 1 (19817 11, 12, 18
Montoya v. Johnston, 654 F. Supp. 511 (W..

1 T0000 26
Nebraska Health Care Ass'n v. Dunning, 778 F. 2d

1291 (8th Cir. 1985), cert. denied, 479 U.S.
EE GEREIEED ccccocsrscnsccnaseresscessnsessnnensensvasnescemmmanneasanes 25, 26

vi

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued
Page

Nebraska Health Care Ass’n v. Dunning, [1984
Transfer Binder] Medicare & Medicaid Guide
(CCH), 734.100 (D. Neb. July 9, 1984), aff’d
in part and vacated in part on other grounds,

778 F.2d 1291 (8th Cir. 1985), cert. denied,
479 U.S. 1063 (1987) 28

Ohio Hosp. Ass’n v. Dep’t of Social Services, No.
88-04961, slip op. (Oh. Ct. Claims. Nov. 19,
1988), appeal pending, No. 88-AP-1084 (Oh. Ct.

App.) . CS OS a 29
Pennhurst State School and Hosp. v. Halderman,

451 U.S. 1 (1981) ...... 11, 18, 14
Rosado v. Wyman, 397 U.S. 397 (1970) 6 29

St. Tammany Parish Hosp. Service Dist. v. Dep’t
of Health and Human Resources, 677 F. Supp.

455 (E. D. La. 1988) ccc ccccccceeeeceeseeeeeees 26
Silver v. Baggiano, 804 F.2d 1211 (11th Cir.
11717 —Ä—Ä— eI OE 25
Smith v. Robinson, 468 U.S. 992 (1984) 1 18
State Tax Comm'n v. Administrative Hearing
Comm'n, 641 S. W. 2d 69 (Mo. banc 1982) 23
Thomas v. Johnston, 557 F. Supp. 879 (W. D. Tex.
1 17, 26

Virginia Hosp. Ass'n v. Baliles, 868 F.2d 653
(4th Cir. 1989), cert. granted in part, 110 S. Ct.
I A * ace Rs le ie 25
Washington State Health Facility Ass’n v. Wash-
ington Dep’t of Social and Health Services, 698
F.2d 964 (9th Cir. 1982) 26
West Virginia Univ. Hosps., Inc. v. Casey, 885 F.2d
PR ARM . 12, 25, 26, 28
Wright v. City of Roanoke Redevelopment and
Housing Auth., 479 U.S. 418 (1987) 9, 12, 13, 18
Yapalater v. Bates, 494 F. Supp. 1349 (S. D. N. v.
1980), aff'd per curiam, 644 F.2d 181 (2d Cir.
1981), cert. denied, 455 U.S. 908 (1982) 25

vii
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued
STATUTES Page
Medicaid Act, 42 U.S.C. 1396 et seq.:

42 U.S.C. § 1896 (1982 & Supp. 1987) 4
42 U.S.C. § 1896a (1982 & Supp. 1987) 8 4
1 — 11

42 U.S.C. 5 1396 (a) (13) (A) (1982 & Supp.
r 5, 9, 16

42 U.S.C. § 1396 (a) (22) (D) (1982 & Supp.
＋ꝛꝓI— — 17
42 U.S.C. § 1396 e (1982 & Supp. 1987) 7, 14
42 U.S.C. § 1396 (a) (37) ((g)) 18
1 0 passim
FE AE Se 11

Medicare and Medicaid Anti-fraud and Abuse
Amendments of 1977, Pub. L. No. 95-142,

„ —— 1.2 — 18-19
Omnibus Reconciliation Act of 1980, Pub. L. No.
96-499, § 962 (1980): 5
Omnibus Budget Reconciliation Act of 1981, Pub.
L. No. 97-85, § 2178 (1981774 5
Omnibus Budget Reconciliation Act of 1987, Pub.
L. No. 100-208, 5 4211 (b) (198777 15-16
REGULATIONS
42 C. F. R.: 4
Section 430.10 (198)) cece. 4,19
Section 430.12 (198) 6
Section 430.15 (1980ꝙĩ060.c cece 6, 11
r 19
e ...... 7
e mx 7
Section 430.35 (a) (1988) 7, 14
r 14
Section 440.230 (198)));;:;::: „% 17
Section 447.205 (1988) 8 17
Section 447.250 (198) 14, 16, 19

viii
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Page
Section 447.252 (1988) 6 = 5
Section 447.253 (1988) 9
Section 447.253 (a) (1989))) 6
Section 447.253 (b) (198) 5
Section 447.253 (b) (1) (1989) 6
Section 447.253 (e) (198) 6, 16, 20
Section 447.255 (1988) 14
45 C. F. R.:
r .... 11, 19
. 11
D ˙ ST Ce ae 19
Section 250.30 (a) (3) (iv) (1976) 15
OTHER AUTHORITIES
Hamme & Kanner, Long-Term Care Reimburse-
ment Issues: Pro and Contra Aids for Litigants,
in 1989 Health Law Handbook (Clark Boardman
Co., A. Gosfield, Ed. 198999 26
H.R. Conf. Rep. No. — ee oe oes
(1987) . 16
H.R. Rep. No. 1122, 94th Cong., 2d Sess. (1976) 15
H.R. Rep. No. 1479, 96th Cong., 2d Sess. (1980) 15
S. Rep. No. 139, 97th Cong., Ist Sess. (1981) 5
S. Rep. No. 471, 96th Cong., Ist Sess. (1979)... 17
S. Rep. No. 1240, 94th Cong., 2d Sess. (1976) 15
135 Cong. Rec. (1989) :
...... 16
ne 16
48 Fed. Reg. (1983)
r ˙ ˙% 7 24
7 24

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1989

No. 88-2043

GERALD L. BALILEs, et al.,

. Petitioners,
THE VIRGINIA HOSPITAL ASSOCIATION,
Respondent.

On Writ of Certiorari to the United States
Court of Appeals for the Fourth Circuit

BRIEF OF THE
AMERICAN HEALTH CARE ASSOCIATION, |
AMERICAN HOSPITAL ASSOCIATION, AMERICAN
ASSOCIATION OF HOMES FOR THE AGING,
NATIONAL COUNCIL ON THE AGING, INC.
AS AMICI CURIAE ON BEHALF OF RESPONDENT
(Additional Amici Curiae Listed in Appendix)

INTEREST OF AMICI CURIAE

Amici are an alliance of national organizations rep-
resenting health care providers that participate in the
Medicaid program, and recipients of medical assistance
under that program. Amici’s shared interest in this case
is their concern that States not adopt Medicaid Plans
designed systematically to under-reimburse providers, and
thereby jeopardize Medicaid recipients’ access to qual-
ity health care. Amici recognize that assuring high qual-
ity hospital and nursing home services is a complex proc-
ess, requiring the hard work and cooperation of many
dedicated health care professionals and nonprofessional
staff. Amici also know that there is a vital link between

the ability of providers to assure the availability to pa-
tients of high quality care and the adequacy of the pay-
ment they receive for such care. Because Medicaid dol-
lars represent approximately 10 percent of the gross reve-
nues of hospitals, and 43 percent of the gross revenues of
nursing homes, amici believe that providers must have
the means to assure that the federal standard for Medi-
caid reimbursement of such institutions is met by each
State’s Medicaid program.

Amicus American Health Care Association (“AHCA”:
and its affiliated State associations are the largest na-
tional trade association representing the long term care
(nursing home) industry. AHCA is a private, volun-
tary, nonprofit federation of 51 affiliated State associa-
tions representing more than 10,000 nonprofit and for-
profit long term care providers which care for over one
million nursing home patients. Many such patients are
funded under the Medicaid program, and Medicaid spends
annually approximately $40 billion (State and federal
funds) on nursing home services for Medicaid recipients.
Founded in 1949, AHCA remains dedicated to the promo-
tion of standards for professionals in long term health
care delivery and quality care for residents.

Amicus American Hospital Association (“AHA”) is a
private, voluntary, nonprofit, national trade association
of hospitals whose mission is to promote the welfare of
the public through leadership and assistance to its mem-
bers in the provision of better health care and services.
With approximately 5,500 institutional members, the
AHA represents a majority of the nation’s acute care
hospitals. A significant majority of these hospitals par-
ticipate in the Medicaid program. Because more

vide rates that are adequate to guaran
ity medical care for those served through the Medicaid

program.

Amicus American Association of Homes for the Ag-
ing (“AAHA”) and its affiliated State associations
national nonprofit trade association representing
3.500 not-for-profit facilities providing health care,
ing, continuing care retirement programs, and commu-
nity services to more than 500,000 older individuals.
Seventy-five percent of AAHA homes are affiliated with
religious organizations; the remaining are sponsored Ly

in a manner which enhances each resident’s sense of self-
worth and dignity. Most of the members represented by
AAHA and its 37 State affiliates participate in the Medi-
caid program.

Amicus National Council on the Aging, Inc. (“NCOA”),
founded in 1950, is a national, nonprofit organization.
Its membership includes individuals, voluntary agencies
and associations (social, health, education, housing, re-
ligious, civic, ete.), business organizations and labor un-
ions united by a commitment to the principle that the
nation’s older people are entitled to lives of dignity, se-
curity, physical, mental and social well-being and to full
participation in society. NCOA conducts research, under-
takes demonstration programs, sets standards, dissemi-
nates information and promotes the development of a
continuum of opportunities and quality services with, by,
for, and to older persons. NCOA has over 7,000 mem-
bers, including nonprofit adult daycare programs, com-
munity-based long term care organizations, senior hous-
M

The decision of the Court of Appeals in this case, rec-
Medicaid statute does not withdraw

4

dicate the right to reimbursement through payment rates
that satisfy the federal standards contained in the Medi-
eaid statute. Without the opportunity for federal judi-
cial review, the quality of care that hospitals and nurs-

present their views concerning the important issues pre-
sented by this case.“

BACKGROUND ON THE MEDICAID PROGRAM AND
STATE RATESETTING METHODOLOGIES

A. The Medicaid Program

Medicaid is a cooperative federal-State program whose
purpose is to provide federal funding to States to assist
them in furnishing medical assistance, rehabilitation, and
other services to the indigent. 42 U.S.C. § 1396 (1982 &
Supp. 1987). Like other federal-State programs, States
may choose between complying with the conditions of the
statute or foregoing federal funding. To participate in
the program, a State must first establish a State Plan for
medical assistance (“State Plan”). Id. The State Plan
is defined by regulation as a comprehensive written state-
ment that describes the nature and scope of the State’s
Medicaid program and conforms with the requirements
of the Medicaid statute, regulations, and other official
issuances of the Department of Health and Human Serv-
ices (“HHS”). 42 C.F.R. § 430.10 (1988).

The federal statutory requirements that a State Plan
must meet are set forth in section 1902 of the Social
Security Act. 42 U.S.C. § 1396a (1982 & Supp. 1987).
The operative language of section 1902 is mandatory—
the section begins with the statement, “A State Plan for

medical assistance must provide, and proceeds to

enumerate 50 requirements. Among these requirements is

1 Pursuant to Rule 36 of the Rules of this Court, the parties
have consented to the filing of this brief. The parties’ letters of
consent have been filed with the Clerk of the Court.

the federal standard for reimbursement of hospitals and
nursing homes, commonly known as the Boren Amend-
ment. 42 U.S.C. § 1396a(a)(13)(A) (1982 4 Supp.
1987).* This provision states that:

a State Plan for medical assistance must provide
for payment .. of the hospital services, skilled nurs-

in conformity with State and Federal laws,
regulations, and ty and safety standards and
to assure that individuals for medical assist-
ance have reasonable access . . to inpatient hospital
services of adequate quality.

Id. (emphasis supplied).

At the federal level, Medicaid is administered on behalf
of HHS by the Health Care Financing Administration
(“HCFA”). HCFA regulations implementing the Boren
Amendment require that the State Plan specify compre-
hensively the methods and standards used by the State
Medicaid agency to set payment rates that are consistent
with federal Medicaid requirements. 42 C.F.R. § 447.252
(1988). In addition, executing the statutory mandate,
the regulations require that the State make certain find-
ings on an annual basis, and whenever it submits a Plan
or amendment for approval. 42 C. F. R. 447.253 (b
(1988). Among the findings required is that the State

2 Section 1902 (a) (13) (A) of the Social Security Act. Congress
originally applied the Boren Amendment only to nursing homes in
the Omnibus Reconciliation Act of 1980, Pub. L. No. 96-499,
§ 962 (1980). The new payment standard was extended to hospital
services in the Omnibus Budget Reconciliation Act of 1981, Pub. L.
No. 97-35, § 2173 (1981). Congress has made clear that its inten-
tions regarding the payment standard in the hospital amendment
are identical with respect to the nursing home amendment. S. Rep.
No. 139, 97th Cong, Ist Sess. 478 (1981).

(1) (1988).

The State is also required

factory to HCFA that it has made the requisite findings,
42 C.F.R. § 447.253(a) (1988), and that it provides an
administrative appeals procedure. 42 C.F.R. § 447.253
(a), (e) (1988). States are not required to submit the
findings themselves, or supporting data, for review.
HCFA’s review thus does not determine whether a State’s
Plan in fact complies with the Medicaid statute’s sub-
stantive standards, but is limited to determining whether
the State has submitted satisfactory “assurances” of its
compliance with those standards. Pursuant to these au-
thorities, all States have opted to participate in Medicaid,
as has the District of Columbia.“

every amendment to a State Plan, must be approved by
HCFA, which is authorized to disapprove those Plans
that do not meet federal requirements. 42

§§ 430.12-430.15 (1988). Second, even after a Plan has

ment. Specifically, the statute and regulations allow

42 U.S.C. §1396¢ (1982 & Supp. 1987); see also, 42
C. F. R. § 430.35(a) (1988). The regulations further

arise from the State’s failure to actually comply with a

Federal requirement, regardless of whether the Plan it-
self complies with that requirement.” Id. at § 430.35(c).

In addition, the regulations require HCFA to perform
“program reviews ... [i]n order to determine whether

the State is complying with the Federal requirements and
the provisions of its Plan,” id., § 430.32(a), and States
must correct their deficiencies. Id., f 430.32(c). Al-
though these provisions grant HCFA authority to termi-
nate noncomplying States from Medicaid participation,
the agency has never exercised this authority.

C. State Ratesetting Methodologies
The Boren Amendment grants States flexibility to fash-

adjusted after the end of the cost year based on the

The hospital ratesetting methodology in Virginia's State
Plan contains many elements found in other prospective

but no
In

2
f
1

eer
We

|
sz

|

|

|

Ht
i

9

economically operated facilities” in order to make avail-
able quality care to Medicaid recipients. 42 U.S.C. § 1396a
(a) (13) (A); 42 C. F. R. 447.253 (1988). The issue pre-
sented by this litigation is whether facilities have a right
to sue State Medicaid officials under section 1983 to
assure that the Plan’s ratesetting methodology does not
systematically fail to conform with this standard.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

Beneficiaries of rights conferred by a federal statute
have a cause of action under 42 U.S.C. § 1983 against
State officials for violation of those rights. Maine v. Thi-
boutot, 448 U.S. 1 (1980). This rule permits the bene-
ficiaries of a federal funding program to sue State offi-
cials for violations of federal funding requirements in
their administration of the program, unless the defend-
ants demonstrate either that: (1) Congress did not in-
tend the statute at issue to confer “enforceable rights”
on the plaintiffs; or (2) Congress did intend remedial
devices required by the statute to constitute a compre-
hensive and exclusive scheme to remedy violations.
Wright v. City of Roanoke Redevelopment and Housing
Authority, 479 U.S. 418 (1987).

Under neither of these exceptions is there a basis for
finding congressional intent to withdraw the section 1983
remedy from hospitals or nursing homes seeking to enjoin
violations of the federal payment standard established by
the Boren Amendment. The enforceable rights exception
applies only where Congress speaks in merely precatory,
rather than mandatory terms, or plainly does not intend
the statute to confer rights on the putative plaintiffs. In
the instant case, the payment standard set by the Boren
Amendment is unequivocally mandatory, based on its
plain language and because compliance with the stand-
ard is an express condition on the continued receipt of
federal Medicaid funds. Moreover, the structure and leg-
islative history of the Medicaid statute and the Boren
Amendment indicate that Congress, recognizing an essen-
tial link between adequate reimbursement and quality of

/

10

care, intended the payment standard to benefit providers
as a way of assuring the availability of quality services
to Medicaid recipients.

Nor did Congress intend the administrative appeals
procedures established by the States pursuant to HCFA
regulations to represent a comprehensive scheme that
would be the exclusive remedy for violations of the Boren
Amendment. Not only is a comprehensive appeals re-
quirement not directly mandated by the statute, but the
regulations require only that States furnish an appeals or
exceptions procedure to permit an individual provider an
opportunity to present new evidence and receive prompt
administrative review of its payment rate. HCFA has
never suggested that the appeal procedures are intended
for review of the legality of the State’s ratesetting meth-
odology, and the overwhelming majority of States, with
the approval of HCFA, have adopted procedures that pre-
clude such challenges. In short, there is no evidence
that Congress intended the Medicaid statute as a compre-
hensive or exclusive remedial scheme, and the individual
provider rate appeal regulation adopted by HCFA cannot
change that intent.

Finally, the cursory nature of the review of State Plans
that HCFA conducts makes a private cause of action
essential to effective enforcement of the federal payment
standard in the Boren Amendment. Lower court deci-
sions invalidating State ratesetting methodologies for
noncompliance with the Boren Amendment demonstrate
the need for such a remedy. Several of these cases show
that States have often implemented State Plans whose
noncompliance with the statute is egregious. In the
absence of a private cause of action to enjoin noncompli-
ance, such Plans would operate to deny providers the
reasonable and adequate reimbursement needed to assure
the availability of quality care to Medicaid recipients.

11
ARGUMENT

RESPONDENT HAS A CAUSE OF ACTION UNDER
42 U.S.C. §1983 AGAINST STATE OFFICIALS FOR
VIOLATION OF THE FEDERAL MEDICAID REIM-
BURSEMENT STANDARD IN THE BOREN AMEND-
MENT

I. A SECTION 1983 ACTION EXISTS FOR VIOLA-
TIONS OF FEDERAL STATUTORY RIGHTS UN-
LESS CONGRESS INTENDED NOT TO CONFER
ENFORCEABLE RIGHTS UPON THE PUTATIVE
PLAINTIFF, OR INTENDED A COMPREHENSIVE
AND EXCLUSIVE REMEDIAL SCHEME IN THE
ENACTMENT ITSELF TO SUBSTITUTE FOR SEC-
TION 1983

In Maine v. Thiboutot, 448 U.S. 1 (1980), this Court
held that beneficiaries of an entitlement created under
the Social Security Act could sue State officials under 42
U.S.C. 8 1983 for alleged deprivation of benefits con-
ferred under the Act.“ Since Thiboutot, the Court has
recognized two exceptions to the rule that section 1983
is available to remedy State violations of rights secured
by federal statutes. See Middlesex County Sewerage Au-
thority v. National Sea Clammers Association, 453 U.S. 1,
19 (1981), citing Pennhurst State School and Hospital v.
Halderman, 451 U.S. 1, 67 (1981). A plaintiff alleging a
deprivation of federal statutory rights by State officials
will not be permitted to sue under section 1983 if: (1)
the statute at issue is not the kind that creates enforce-
able “rights” under section 1983; or (2) Congress has

5 The program at issue in Thiboutot was Aid to Families With
Dependent Children (“AFDC”), a federal-State cooperative fund-
ing program very similar to Medicaid. In both, the federal govern-
ment contributes funds to be administered by a State agency in
accordance with the terms of a State Plan approved by the super-
vising federal agency. Compare 42 U.S.C. 5 602 (a); 45 C. F. R.
§§ 201.2-201.3 (AFDC), with 42 U.S.C. §1396a(a); 42 C. F. R.
§§ 430.10-430.15 (Medicaid). Like the plaintiffs in Thiboutot, Re-
spondent seeks only a mechanism to compel State Medicaid officials
to comply with statutory standards governing expenditure of pro-
gram funds.

12

foreclosed private enforcement of the statute by creating
a comprehensive and exclusive remedial scheme in the
enactment itself. Sea Clammers, 453 U.S. at 19. The
State defendants bear the burden of demonstrating, “by
express provision or other specific evidence from the stat-
ute itself that Congress intended to foreclose private
enforcement.” Wright v. City of Roanoke Redevelopment
and Housing Authority, 479 U.S. 418, 423 (1987).°

These exceptions are inapplicable in the instant case.
The language, legislative history, and agency interpreta-
tion of the Boren Amendment amply demonstrate that it
creates a right to “reasonable and adequate” reimburse-
ment that is “enforceable” within the meaning of Penn-
hurst, and that the statute contains no remedial mecha-
nisms that are sufficiently “comprehensive” to demon-
strate that Congress intended to foreclose access to sec-
tion 1983.

A. The Medicaid statute creates an “enforceable right”
to provider reimbursement by rates that are reason-
able and adequate to meet the costs which must be

a incurred by efficiently and economically operated
facilities

The first of the Pennhurst exceptions to section 1983

examines the statute, under which the plaintiff claims

a right, to determine whether Congress intended that en-

actment to impose an “enforceable” obligation on the

* Petitioners repeatedly mistake the object of the Pennhurst test
as determining whether a cause of action under section 1983 is
implied.“ Pet. Br. at 7, 11, 17, 21, 22. Petitioners have confused
Pennhurst analysis with that applied by the Court in determining
whether a cause of action should be inferred from a silent federal
statute. E.g., Cort v. Ash, 422 U.S. 66 (1975). In the latter case,
a plaintiff must demonstrate that Congress intended by implication
to confer a private right of action. Section 1983, however, is an
express cause of action. The relevant inquiry is whether there is
evidence that Congress intended to withdraw that cause of action
in a particular case. See Sea Clammers, 453 U.S. at 26 (Stevens,
J., concurring in part and dissenting in part); West Virginia Uni-
versity Hosps., Inc. v. Casey, 885 F.2d 11, 18 & n.1 (3d Cir. 1989).

13

State defendants. Pennhurst, 451 U.S. at 15. In the in-
stant case, this inquiry has two components. First, the
Court must ask whether Congress intended the interest
in reasonable and adequate rates of payment to be man-
datory, or whether Congress spoke “merely in precatory
terms.” Id. Second, if the statutory provision is a man-
datory one, it must be asked whether the provision was
intended to benefit Medicaid providers. Golden State
Transit Corp. v. City of Los Angeles, No. 88-840, slip
op. at 5 (U.S. Dec. 5, 1989).

1. In Pennhurst, the Court concluded that the patient
“bill of rights” provision in the Developmentally Dis-
abled Assistance and Bill of Rights Act of 1975 was
merely a declaration of policy rather than a manda-
tory condition for participation in the program. The
Court contrasted the Bill of Rights provision, which
appeared in a section of the Act entitled “Findings,” with
other provisions of the Act entitled “conditions.” 451
U.S. at 19, 23. While the failure of a State to meet
one of the conditions of the Act could lead to the loss
of federal funds, “funds [could] not be terminated for a
State’s failure to comply with” one of the “findings.” Id.
at 23. The distinction between conditions of receiving
funds and mere findings of policy was critical, the Court
explained, because only if Congress clearly “impose/{d)
conditions on the grant of federal funds” could “the States
knowingly decide whether or not to accept those funds.”
Id. at 24. By contrast, in Wright, the statutory provi-
sion at issue was framed in “mandatory” terms, 479 U.S.
at 430, and a failure to comply with that provision was
enforceable by the termination of further federal funds.
Id. at 424.

Pennhurst and Wright establish that a provision of a
funding statute creates an enforceable right where that
provision constitutes a condition of receiving federal funds,
and where noncompliance with the provision would per-
mit the administering federal agency to terminate further
federal funding under the program. When the adminis-

14

ceipt of such funds, and the condition is obviously en-
forceable within the meaning of Pennhurst. 451 U.S. at
23. The federal standard in the Boren Amendment is
clearly a “condition” of participation. The Boren Amend-
ment is one of 50 enumerated requirements of section
1902 which a State “must provide,” and the failure to
comply with any of these requirements is grounds for
termination of federal funding.

Petitioners and the Solicitor General argue that
cause the Boren Amendment refers to rates

are complete once the Secretary accepts the assurances.
This interpretation elevates form over substance, and i
therefore flatly inconsistent with the statute and
menting regulations. The Medicaid statute and regula-
tions expressly distinguish between formal compliance
and compliance in practice: “a question of noncompliance
in practice may rise from the State’s failure to actually
comply with a Federal requirement, regardless of whether
the plan itself complies with that requirement.” 42
C. F. R. § 430.35 (e); see 42 U.S.C. §1396c; 42 C.F.R.
§ 430.35(a). The regulations further specify that a State
must make annual findings that its payment rates are
reasonable and must submit information related to the
findings to HCFA. 42 C. F. R. §§ 447.250-447.255. There
can be no doubt that if the Secretary determined, despite
the State’s “assurances,” that the State’s Plan operated
in practice systematically to deny providers reasonable
payment, HCFA would have the authority under the
Medicaid statute to terminate federal funding. 42 U.S.C.
§ 1396¢.”

The Solicitor General notes that in 1988 alone, $29 billion in
federal funds were expended under Medicaid. Br. of United States
at 2. It is not credible that Congress would have committed
federal government to annual expenditures of this magnitude
out intending that the responsible agency at least retain the

a

15

The legislative history confirms the plain language of
the statute. While amici will not attempt to provide a
comprehensive review of the legislative history, the fol-
lowing points are particularly significant.

First, when Congress enacted the Boren Amendment,
it codified the requirement for reimbursement of the costs
of “efficiently and economically operated” facilities al-
ready contained in HCFA regulations implementing the
prior reasonable cost-related payment standard. See 45
C. F. R. § 250.30 (a) (3) (iv) (1976). 17 history

section 1983 remedy. See H.R. Rep. No. 1122, 94th
Cong., 2d Sess. 7 (1976); S. Rep. No. 1240, 94th Cong.,
2d Sess. 4 (1976). Moreover, notwithstanding the

Cong., 2d Sess. 154 (1980) (emphasis supplied). There
is no evidence that, in enacting the Boren Amendment,
Congress (which was well aware of Medicaid rate liti-
gation in federal courts) intended to withdraw pro-
viders’ right to initiate such litigation.

Congress has continued from time to time to express
its view that the payment standard in the Boren Amend-
ment is mandatory. For example, when Congress enacted
extensive and costly nursing home quality of care reforms
in the Omnibus Budget Reconciliation Act of 1987, it
specifically directed that States must take those costs into

mate authority to expel noncomplying States from participation.
The fact that HCFA has never exercised this draconian authority
cannot be equated with an absence of congressional! intent to grant
it.

171
iH
i
41
it
195

4275
115
2
f

.
i
Hl

Accordingly, the Boren Amendment’s federal payment
standard is an “enforceable right” within the meaning
of section 1983, as interpreted in Pennhurst and Wright.

First, in the case of hospitals and nursing facilities, pay-
ment is always made directly to the
US.C. §1396a(a)(13)(A) (1982 4 Supp. 1987);
C. F. R. § 447.250. See also, 42 C. F. R.

17

vidual provider has right to appeal its payment rate) ;
42 C.F.R. § 447.205 (1988) (public notice required of

in ratesetting methodology). Moreover, the Boren
Amendment specifically emphasizes the need for States to
establish rates adequate to permit “facilities” to meet
their responsibilities to provide quality care and to afford
reasonable access to Medicaid recipients. Thus, under
the plain terms of the statute, providers are recognized

as independent beneficiaries under
the Medicaid statute is a necessary concomitant of the
way the program is structured. Amici acknowledge that
the fundamental purpose of the Medicaid program is to
provide funds whereby States may arrange for the fur-

S. Rep. No. 471, 96th Cong., Ist Sess. 28-29 (1979). See
also, 42 U.S.C. § 1396a(a)(22)(D) (1982 & Supp. 1987)
(State Plan must specify standards and methods State
will use to assure that services are of high quality) ;
42 C.F.R. § 440.230 (1988) (service must be of suffi-
cient amount, duration, and scope reasonably to achieve
its purpose Thus, the effort to parse the interests
Medicaid recipients from those of providers is as incon
sistent with congressional intent as it is with common
sense.

—

* Numerous lower court decisions also have recognized this con-
nection. F.., Thomas v. Johnston, 557 F. Supp. 879, 903-04 (W. D.
Tex. 1983) ((tie link between the adequacy of reimbursement
rates paid to providers and the adequacy of care provided to Medi-
caid recipients is quite obvious

18

B. Congress has not foreclosed private enforcement of
the Boren Amendment by providers in the Medicaid
statute itself

The second Pennhurst exception to section 1983 ex-
amines the statute under which the plaintiff claims a
right to determine if the enactment contains a remedial!
scheme “sufficiently comprehensive . . . to demonstrate

intent to preclude the remedy of suits un-
der § 1983.” Sea Clammers, 453 U.S. at 20. More pre-
cisely, the Court must inquire “whether Congress in-
tended that the remedies in the substantive statutes be
exclusive.” Id. at 28 (Stevens, J., concurring in part and
dissenting in part), citing Pennhurst, 451 U.S. at 28.

In only two cases has this Court found a statute’s in-
ternal remedial schemes sufficiently comprehensive to
demonstrate congressional intent to make the schemes
exclusive. In Sea Clammers, the Court held that the “un-
usually elaborate enforcement provisions” of two federal
water quality statutes, conferring private judicial reme-
dies on citizens, evidenced congressional intent to pre-
clude a section 1983 remedy. 453 U.S. at 13-14. A stat-
utory right to judicial review was also available in Smith
v. Robinson, 468 U.S. 992, 1011 (1984).

gests
ment itself is silent as to the requi
judicial or administrative remedies.’

:
3
8

* Amici the National Governors’ Association et al., erroneously
argue that 42 U.S.C. § 1396a(a) (37 (B) requires States to estab-
lish administrative appeals procedures for providers. Br. of Na-
tional Governors’ Association, et al, at 5. This section, which re-
quires States to establish “procedures for prepayment and post-
payment claims review” (emphasis supplied), by its plain terms

as part

ances” often results in approval of State Plans that mani-
festly do not satisfy the federal standard.“

As indicated, the Medicaid statute contains no require-
ment concerning provider appeals. While HCFA has

% The cursory nature of HCFA's review of State “sssurances”
has often been documented in lower court decisions. See, eg.
AMISUB (PSL) ». Colorado Dep't of Social Services, 879 F.2d
789, 799 (10th Cir. 1989), petition for cert. filed, 58 U.S. LW. 3322
(U.S. Oct. 25, 1989) (No. 89-682); California Hosp. Asen v.
Schweiker, 559 F. Supp. 110, 116-117 (C.D. Cal. 1982), aff'd, 705
F.2d 466 (9th Cir. 1983).

This review and approval process is nearly identical to that
required under the AFDC regulations that were deemed insufficient

Nebraska Health Care Association v. Dunning, 778 F.2d 1291 (8th
Cir. 1986) (HCFA approval of 3.75% inflation factor invalid due
to failure of State to include “related information” required under
regulations), cert. denied, 479 U.S. 1063 (1987); Mary Washington
Hospital, Inc. v. Fisher, 686 F. Supp. 891, 904 (E. D. Va. 1985)

Tn in Tle
* 5 11 1242 ii 12141 1 ‘
} i i 1 f
. Aut 7 +

i 1
r e
Ie 14 114 127

j

Hospital Plans: California, Hawaii, Missouri, North Carolina,
Rhode Island, Virginia. Nursing Home Plans: California, Hawaii,

'* Hospital
Kansas, Kentucky, Maryland, Massachusetts, Mississippi, Montana,
Missouri, North Carolina.

New Mexico, New York, Tennessee, Washington, Wisconsin. Nurs-
ing Home Plans: Alabama, Florida, Kansas, Maryland, Nebraska,
Nevada, New York, South Carolina, South Dakota, Texas, Vermont,

inen 24234097;

He (Ul bate

. fl 213122 i 1114213
b ii 15

8 ay 1

12125 file ; 111 75

2
8

ieee
ni

changed circumstances since the base year have signifi-
cantly elevated the individual provider's costs. Sixteen

that

are reported and rates are set for a given year, generally will be
precluded from raising challenges to the legality of that methodol-
ogy. Three other States require that appeals identify particular
computations and adjustments, plainly indicating that the procedure
is intended to be used for arithmetic, not legal, challeages. Hoe
pital Plan: Nevada (appeal must also document adverse financia!
impact of rate). Nursing Home Plans: North Dakota and Utah.
* Hospital Plans: Alabama, Arkansas, California, Colorado,
Florida. Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Inis. Indiana, Kansas, Ken-
tucky, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Missouri, Mississippi.
Montana, Nevada, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York. North
Carolina, Ohie, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, Ten-

authority to in-
by the State agency,

even if those policies do not comply with federal law.”
The number of States whose procedures appear to per-
is smal] indeed. Only

:
|

eight States have enacted such and few of
these unambiguously grant the right to challenge the
legality of ratesetting methodology.“

Carolina, South Dakota, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Wis-
consin, Wyoming.

21 Hospital Plans: District of Columbia, Nebraska, Oklahoma,
South Dakota, Utah. Nursing Home Plans: Louisiana, West Vir-
ginia.

22 Hospital Plans: lowa, Louisiana, Maine, Oregon, Vermont.
Nursing Home Plans: District of Columbia, Georgia, Illinois, Mon-
tana, Oklahoma, Oregon, Tennessee, Washington.

* See, eg., State Tax Comm’n v. Administrative Hearing
Comm'n, 641 S.W.2d 69, 75 (Mo. banc 1982) (administrative
agency lacks authority to invalidate properly promulgated regula-
tions: “[a)gency adjudicative power extends only to the ascertain-
ment of facts and the application of existing law thereto”).

2 Hospital Plans: Alaska, Arizona, Connecticut, Delaware, Min-

nesota, West Virginia. Nursing Home Plans: Alaska, Arizona,
Connecticut, Delaware, lowa, Minnesota, Ohio.

24

prehensive remedial scheme that would encompass review
of State ratesetting policies. Quite the contrary, HCFA’s
approval of Plans which typically preclude challenges to
the ratesetting methodology further underscores the ab-
sence of congressional intent to foreclose access to other
remedies.” |

Nor can HCFA’s power to exercise the extreme sanc-
tion of terminating federal funding for a noncomplying
Plan be regarded as part of a comprehensive review
scheme. Although the courts have found that numerous
State Plans violate the Boren Amendment, HCFA has
never sought to terminate federal funding to a State on
this basis. The Medicaid statute’s purpose of enabling
each State to provide medical assistance to the indigent
would hardly be served by ejecting a State from par-
ticipation. The benevolent goal of furnishing adequate
medical care demands that some less extreme sanction,
such as a section 1983 suit, be available to challenge
a State’s noncompliance with the Boren Amendment.

25 In the amicus brief of the state attorneys general, it is argued
that HCFA “expressly has rejected the call for private rights of
action in the regulations adopted to implement the Boren Amend-
ment on the ground that the [Medicaid] statute contained neither
mandate nor authority to provide judicial recourse for dissatisfied
providers.” Br. of Amici State of Connecticut et al. This asser-
tion is plainly wrong. In the regulatory preamble cited by the at-
torneys general, HCFA discussed comments received on “who should
adjudicate appeals.” 48 Fed. Reg. 56046, 56052 (1983). In response
to one commentor’s suggestion that HCFA should require States
to “provide judicial recourse for providers dissatisfied with State
payment rates,” the agency correctly noted that the Medicaid stat-
ute did not grant HCFA authority to require such recourse. /d.
In fact, the statute does not authorize HCFA to restrict or expand
judicial review in any way. HCFA also concluded that the regula-
tions did not restrict the right of providers to pursue State judicial
remedies after exhausting the administrative process. Id. The
agency expressed no view on the availability of a private cause
of action under section 1983 or any other provision of federal law.
Id.

II. RECOGNIZING A SECTION 1983 REMEDY WOULD
NOT OPEN THE FLOODGATES TO FEDERAL
COURT REVIEW OF INDIVIDUAL RATE DIS-
PUTES, BUT WOULD PROVIDE A MEANINGFUL
METHOD OF REMEDYING SYSTEMATIC VIOLA-
TIONS OF THE BOREN AMENDMENT

A. Availability of a section 1983 remedy has not pro-
duced a flood of Boren Amendment litigation

Every United States Court of Appeals to rule on the
question has held that Medicaid-participating health care
providers have a right under section 1983 to sue State
officials in federal court for Boren Amendment viola-
tions.“ Despite this free access to the federal courts
in the decade since the Boren Amendment was enacted,
amici have discovered only 48 reported federal cases al-
leging violations of the Boren Amendment.“ Slightly
fewer than half of the federal cases were based on a
section 1983 cause of action.“ All involved challenges to
the legality of the State’s ratesetting methodology rather
than individual rate disputes.

2° West Virginia Univ. Hosps., Inc. v. Casey, 885 F.2d 11 (3d Cir.
1989) ; Virginia Hosp. Ass’n v. Baliles, 868 F.2d 653, 658 (4th Cir.
1989), cert. granted in part, 110 S. Ct. 49 (1989); Coos Bay Care
Center v. Oregon Dep't of Human Resources, 803 F.2d 1060, 1062
(9th Cir. 1986), cert. granted, 481 U.S. 1036, vacated as moot, 484
U.S. 806 (1987) ; Nebraska Health Care Ass’n v. Dunning, 778 F.2d
1291, 1295 (8th Cir. 1985), cert. denied, 479 U.S. 1063 (1987);
AMISUB (PSL) v. Colorado Department of Social Services, 879
F.2d 789, 798 (10th Cir. 1989), petition for cert. filed, 58 U.S.L.W.
3322 (U.S. Oct. 25, 1989) (No. 89-682). Cf. Yapalater v. Bates,
494 F. Supp. 1349, 1357-58 (S.D.N.Y. 1980) (finding right of action
under prior reimbursement provision), aff'd per curiam, 644 F.2d
131 (2d Cir. 1981), cert. denied, 455 U.S. 908 (1982); Silver v.
Baggiano, 804 F.2d 1211, 1217-18 (llth Cir. 1986) (reserving
question).

27 See Appendix C.

28In most of the other cases, the issue of whether a cause of
action was available was not considered by the court. E. g., Alabama
Hosp. Ass'n v. Beasley, 702 F.2d 955 (11th Cir. 1983).

While there have been a limited number of cases aris-
ing under section 1983, in the majority of the cases in
which the court reached the issue of the legality of the
ratesetting methodology, the court found the need to
grant relief to prevent arbitrary or unlawful State
action.“ These cases demonstrate that the existence of
a private cause of action permitting providers to chal-
lenge the legality of a State’s ratesetting methodology has
not produced a flood of litigation, and no reason exists
to assume that a ruling by this Court upholding this
right would increase significantly the number of such
challenges.” Moreover, the success of many of these chal-
lenges is good evidence that this remedy is needed to as-
sure State compliance with the standard contained in
the Boren Amendment.

2° See AMISUB, 879 F.2d 789; West Virginia Univ. Hosps., 885
F.2d 11; Nebraska Health Care Assen, 778 F.2d 1291; Washington
State Health Facility Assen v. Washington Dep't of Social and
Health Services, 698 F.2d 964 (9th Cir. 1982); St. Tammany
Parish Hosp. Service Dist. v. Dep't of Health and Human Resources,
677 F. Supp. 455 (E.D. La. 1988); Children’s Memorial Hosp. v.
Illinois Dep't of Public Aid, 562 F. Supp. 165 (N.D. III. 1983);
Illinois Hosp. Assen v. Illinois Dep't of Public Aid, 576 F. Supp.
360 (N. D. II. 1983). Section 1983 has also been successfully used
by Medicaid recipients to challenge a State’s ratesetting method-
ology. Montoya v. Johnston, 654 F. Supp. 511 (W.D. Tex. 1987) ;
Thomas v. Johnston, 557 F. Supp. 879 (W.D. Tex. 1983).

% Boren Amendment litigation is extremely costly and time con-
suming, due to the necessity of obtaining detailed expert and ac-
counting reports establishing that the State’s methodology will not
result in efficiently and economically operated facilities receiving
reimbursement approximating their actual costs. This requires
analysis not only of an individual facility’s costs, but those of all
similar facilities in the State. See generally, Hamme & Kanner,
Long-Term Care Reimbursement Issues: Pro and Contra Aids for
Litigants, in 1989 Health Law Handbook (Clark Boardman Co.,
A. Gosfield, Ed. 1989). As a practical matter, it is not economically
practicable for an individual provider to initiate Boren Amend-
ment litigation simply to challenge its rate.

27

B. The absence of a remedy would permit State Plans
which contain egregious violations of the Boren
Amendment to continue in operation

To leave providers without a federal remedy for vio-
lations of the Boren Amendment would create the pros-
pect of arbitrary or unlawful State action with no effec-
tive remedy and extremely significant consequences for
hospital and nursing home providers and, hence, Medicaid
recipients. As noted above, implementation of unlawful
and inadequate rates will have an adverse impact on the
quality of services provided to the vulnerable indigent
population who require inpatient hospital or nursing
home services covered by Medicaid. That States have
implemented ratesetting methodologies which contain
egregious violations of the Boren Amendment has often
been documented in lower court cases.

Two recent circuit court decisions illustrate this prob-
lem graphically. In AMISUB (PSL) v. Colorado De-
partment of Social Services, 879 F.2d 789 (10th Cir.
1989), petition for cert. filed, 58 U.S.L.W. 3322 (U.S.
Oct. 25, 1989) (No. 89-682), the State implemented a
Plan under which a hospital’s base year Medicaid rate
was determined by taking the average Medicare per diem
reasonable cost per discharge for hospitals in a particular
peer grouping, and multiplying that figure by .88. Id.
at 791. The resulting figure then was multiplied by a
“budget adjustment factor” of .54 to arrive at the Medi-
caid rate for each facility. Id.

In effect then, under Colorado’s methodology, hospitals
would receive a per diem rate for Medicaid patients
that was less than half of the average cost that would
be deemed reasonable by Medicare for the same patient.
Expert testimony at trial established that under this sys-
tem, no Colorado hospital, no matter how efficiently and
economically operated, would be reimbursed its reason-
able costs. Id. at 798-99.“ The court concluded that such

n The court noted that while the State’s “assurances” of ade-
quate reimbursement might be “adequate for HCFA, .. at trial a

a large across-the-board reduction, based solely on bud-
getary considerations, violated the Boren Amendment.
Id. at 799."

Other ratesetting provisions may be equally violative
of the Boren Amendment. In West Virginia University
Hospitals, Inc. v. Casey, 885 F.2d 11 (3d Cir. 1989), the
court was confronted with provisions in Pennsylvania’s
Plan, which computed rates for out-of-state hospitals pro-
viding care to Pennsylvania’s Medicaid recipients dif-
ferently than for in-state hospitals providing the same
services. Rates for in-state hospitals were computed by
taking an average cost per hospital stay (based on actual
allowable costs) and adjusting that amount for each stay
by a factor designed to account for the relative severity
(cost) of the case. Id. at 16.

In contrast, rates for out-of-state hospitals were com-
puted based not on allowable costs, but on the average
of payments made to in-state hospitals (adjusted for
severity). Jd. In addition, out-of-state hospitals re-
ceived lower reimbursement for capital costs, and no
reimbursement for direct medical education expenses.
Id. The district court found that this situation resulted
in the plaintiff hospital receiving only 54 percent of its
costs of treatment to Medicaid patients, as opposed to
the 95 percent received by in-state hospitals. Id. at 25.

The Colorado and Pennsylvania Plans provide com-
pelling examples of the potential for significant harm to
hospitals and nursing homes, and ultimately to Medicaid
recipients, that can occur where rates are predicated on

party must offer evidence which supports its position.” Id. at 799.
The court found no such evidence.

32 A smaller across-the-board reduction in nursing home rates.
based solely on budgetary considerations, was invalidated in Ne-
braska Health Care Asen v. Dunning, [1984 Transfer Binder
Medicare & Medicaid Guide (CCH), 7 34,100 D. Neb. July 9, 1984)
(reductions of 14.4% for intermediate care facilities and 44% for
skilled nursing facilities), aff'd in part and vacated in part on other
grounds, 778 F.2d 1291 (8th Cir. 1985) (State did not appeal in-
validation of across-the-board reductions), cert. denied, 479 U.S.
1063 (1987).

need

poor and disabled, and there is no basis for concluding
that Congress intended to insulate from meaningful scru-
tiny the types of unlawful payment reductions that occur
when a State adopts a reimbursement methodology that
flatly violates the State’s obligations under the Boren
Amendment. As this Court noted in Rosado v. Wyman,
397 U.S. 397 (1970), it is the duty of the federal courts,
“no less in the welfare field than in other areas of the
law, to resolve disputes as to whether federal funds allo-
cated to the States are expended in consonance with
the conditions that Congress has attached to their use.”
Id. at 422-23. Under the scheme created by Congress,
the appropriate mechanism for ensuring compliance with
the Boren Amendment is a suit under 42 U.S.C. § 1983
brought by providers.

—

30
CONCLUSION
For the foregoing reasons, the judgment of the court

96

APPENDICES

10 Ht
e
iit iF 1 IF una | 1275

.

He 1173 i
11 i 1 i
10 11 RHE
Heal 11 EHR ED 15

te
1217
ral
4
fi

if
3
|

11
i
H
:
0

findings in support of its audit
the facility's cost report. Id. at 6.
ALASKA
Hospital Attachment 4.19-A). A

Id. at See. VII. pp. 11-12.

ARIZONA

Arizona does not participate in Medicaid,
a HCFA demonstration project called
Health Care Cost Containment System (“AHCCCS”).

Under this system, the exclusive means through which

Hospital (Attachment 4.19-A, TN 88-26). Providers
of hospital services are permitted to appeal their rates
only for the folowing reasons: (1) costs of improve-
ments incurred because of new certification or licensing
requirements; (2) extraordinary circumstances (fires,
floods, ete.) ; (3) program decisions of a substantive na-
ture relating to application of the payment system; or
(4) the rates are substantially below those paid during
an earlier base period. Id. at Sec. 1.09, p. 15.

Nursing Home (Attachment 4.19-D). The Plan per-
mits nursing homes to submit written appeals of any
provisions of the State Medicaid Manual (Plan) or ac-
tions resulting therefrom, to the Commissioner of Arkan-
sas Social Services. Id. Sec. 1-7. Appeals must be sub-
mitted within 30 days of notification of initial publica-
tion of a Manual provision, or an adjustment to a cost
report. Id. No procedure exists for contesting Manual
provisions after this time has elapsed.

CALIFORNIA

Hospital (Attachment 4.19-A, TN 87-16). The Plan
permits a hospital to request an administrative adjust-
ment to its interim rate. Id. at Sec. V, p. 9. However,
the Plan specifically excludes consideration of the follow-
ing:

a. The use of Medicare standards and principles of
retrospective reimbursement;

1 4

A4

b. The method for determining the input price index;
c. The use of all-inclusive reimbursement rates;

d. The use of a volume adjustment formula;

e. The use of hospital peer groups;

f. The use of percentile limits and the methods used
to compute them.

An appeal of the Department’s decision may be filed in ac-
cordance with the procedural requirements of Cal. Admin.
Code, tit. 22, Div. 3, Ch. 3, Art. 1.5. Id. at 11. The ap-
peal is limited to those items subject to an administra-
tive adjustment listed above. /d.

Nursing Home (Attachment 4.19-D, TN 88-24). The
Plan states that nursing homes will have the right to
appeal audit findings which result in adjustments to pro-
gram reimbursement or reimbursement rates. Id. at 4.
However, the Plan specifically limits reimbursement rates
to maximums set by the Plan itself, Inlotwithstanding
any other provisions” of the Plan. /d. at 1.

COLORADO

Hospital (Attachment 4.19-A). The Plan permits hos-
pitals to appeal administratively only annual “add-ons”
to the established base year rate. Id. at 1. Add-ons are
increases in budgeted costs in excess of the consumer price
index that can be justified on the basis of or resulting
from a new or expanded service, a price increase, or a
change in patient case mix. Id. Regulations applicable
to all Medicaid providers limit appeals to a provider ad-
versely affected by a finding of fact or interpretation of
rules. . . which results in a reduction in, or denial of,
specific payments.” 11 Colo. Code Regs. Sec. 8.0501 (ef-
fective 5/1/86).

Nursing Home (Attachment 4.19-D, TN 89-4). The

Plan assures that Colorado has established procedures
for nursing home rate determinations which permit pro-

A-5

viders to submit additional evidence and request prom
administrative review. Id. at 30. The —— . —

above for hospitals also apply.

CONNECTICUT

Hospital (Conn. Gen. Stat. § 17-311 (1989)). Con-
necticut hospitals may appeal any decision of the Com-
missioner of Income Maintenance in accordance with the
aforementioned statute, which empowers the Commis-
sioner to establish annual allowable costs for Medicaid
Services. Id. An “aggrieved” hospital may request a
rehearing as to any decision of the Commissioner. Id. at
§17-311(b). Items not resolved through the rehearing
are submitted to an arbitration board consisting of one
member appointed by the institution, one member ap-
pointed by the Commissioner, and one appointed by the
chief court administrator. /d.

Nursing Home (Attachment 4.19-D, TN 88-58). A
nursing home aggrieved by any decision of the Commis-
sioner of Income Maintenance may file a written request
to the Commissioner requesting a rehearing on the items
of aggrievement. Id. at Sec. 17-311-104. If items of ag-
grievement are not resolved by the rehearing, the pro-
vider can file a request for binding arbitration, which
must include a memorandum setting forth its position
and contentions concerning the items of aggrievement.
Id. at Sec. 17-311-107. The arbitration board consists of
one member appointed by the provider, one member ap-
pointed by the Commissioner, and one member appointed
by the chief court administrator from among the retired
judges. Id. The Board may reverse the department if
administrative findings, inferences, conclusions, or deci-
sions are, among other things, violative of constitutional
or statutory provisions. Id. at Sec. 17-311-112.

In contesting a rate decision, the provider may elect
to pursue an nistrative appeal in the Connecticut
„ Id. at Sec. 17

1

A-6

DELAWARE

HCFA’s copy of the State Plan contains no provision
for provider rate appeal by hospitals or nursing homes.
Appeals of “adverse actions” by the State Medicaid
agency are permitted pursuant to State Medicaid regu-
lations. Department of Social Services, Appeal Proce-
dures of Adverse Actions for Providers (4/89). Requests
for review must be mailed within 60 days of notice of
adverse action. Id. at Sec. 5.

DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA

Hospital (Attachment 4.19-A, TN 88-6). The State
Plan provides only an assurance of the existence of an
appeal procedure that allows individual providers an
opportunity to submit additional evidence and receive
prompt administrative review of rates. Id. at Sec. 9, p.
4a. In a telephone conversation with the Comptroller’s
office, we were informed that, although there are no
formal appeal procedures, hospitals are permitted to ap-
peal informally adjustments to annual cost reports.

Nursing Home (Attachment 4.19-D). The Plan per-
mits a nursing home to request a hearing before the
Office of State Agency Affairs if the provider disagrees
with a rate established by a Department of Human Serv-
ices audit. Id. at See. VII.

FLORIDA

Hospital (Attachment 4.19-A, TN 88-19). The Plan
permits a hospital the right to a hearing in response to
adjustments to its cost report resulting from an audit.
Id. at Sec. II (F), p. 8. The right to the hearing will
be in accordance with Fla. Admin. Code Ann. r. 10-2.36,
and with the Florida Administrative Procedure Act, Fla.
Stat. Ann., Sec. 120.57.

Nursing Home (Attachment 4.19-D, TN 88-3). The
same right to a hearing is available to nursing home

providers in accordance with Fla. Admin. Code Ann. r.\

10C-7.481(6), and with Fla. Stat. Ann., Sec. 420.57.
f

:
i
TH

.
|

decision is adverse to the hospital, a request

ing may be made in accordance with Chapter 500 of
Department’s Policies and Procedures Manual. /d. at
This procedure may be used to consider only: (1
in cost report figures used to determine the base rate;
(2) errors in calculation; (3) failure of the Department
to comply with its stated policies; or (4) increased costs
due to significant changes in patient care services. Id. at
10. See also Georgia Department of Medical Assistance
Medicaid Manual, Chapter 500, Sec. 505.2.

Nursing Home (Georgia Department of Medical As-
sistance Medicaid Manual, Chapter 500). Georgia permits

nursing homes to appeal the calculation of billing rates
and related cost report disallowances. Id. at Sec. 504.3.

HAWAII

Hospital (Attachment 4.19-A, TN 88-30). The Plan
permits a hospital to request reconsideration by the De-
partment of its annual rate only “in extraordinary cir-
cumstances”, or when there is a [reduction in Medi-
caid average length of stay within a facility which pro-
duced a decrease in the average cost per discharge but an
increase in the average cost per day.” Id. at III-36.
“Extraordinary circumstances” include acts of God,
changes in life and safety code or licensure requirements,
significant changes in case mix or new services occurring
subsequent to the base year. Id. In addition, subsequent
year adjustments to the facility’s initial base year rate
may not result in changes to the Plan’s rate ceiling.
Id. at III-35.

Nursing Home (Attachment 4.19-D, TN 86-17). —
Plan permits nursing homes the right to request a

see

e lt ey
He THe Hui

: | 772724 88242 : , Hi 12472 53 ai
: aE 7 117101 +s 1 1 *

. 4 4211 17711740 52 11 |. a7
i fe ee TESTS Ul

U hte 5 rags 142715 if

i! a 0 Liege eye Es

tt il 116 115111755
it 1 tus ‘i; A
Ar iH 2221 f 21
7512 222 11115 225112733
l 7111215 alps

ee bt Wdab
HUMBLE aH ee
Ra ek tubs
ih n (lactis
ine 4 ahve All

ILLINOIS

The Plan

permits a hospital to request review by the Department
te share of low income patients), or signif-
restructuring to meet new health and safety

Hospital (Attachment 4.19-A, TN 82-9).

tion, severe cash flow problems (resulting from serving a

of Public Aid of its annual rate only for errors in calcula-

disp
ican

A-10

with the Department of Human Services if dissatisfied
with a rate determination. Id. at Sec. 20, p. 12. Hear-
ings are conducted by the Department of Inspections and
Appeals. Jd. The Department of Human Services makes
a decision based on the recommendation of the Depart-

ment of Inspections and Appeals. Id.

Nursing Home (Attachment 4.19-D). If dissatisfied
with the determination of its base year allowable cost,
a nursing home may file an appeal and request for re-
consideration with the Chief of the Bureau of Medical
Services. Id. at Sec. 11, p. 3. In addition, Iowa regula-
tions permit the Department to consolidate the claims of
several providers where the sole issue involved is one of
state or federal law or policy. Iowa Admin. Code. r. 441-
7.5 (1987).

KANSAS

Hospital (Attachment 4.19-A, TN MS 88-27). A hos-
pital may obtain administrative review only upon evi-
dence of at least a 10% variation between its current
Medicaid cost and its per diem rate. Jd. at Sec. N, p. 7.
The Commissioner of Income Maintenance shall render a
decision which is appealable under Kan. Admin. Regs.,
Sec. 30-7. Id. There is no provision to contest rates (or
rate methodology, if permitted) unless the 10% criterion
is met.

Nursing Home (Attachment 4.19-D, TN MS-89-15).
The Plan for nursing homes provides a procedure for
individual providers to obtain an “exception” to their
assigned rates by submitting additional evidence demon-
strating that the provider is efficiently and economically
operated, but is being adversely affected by the Plan
payment rates. Id. at p. 20A.

KENTUCKY

Hospital (Attachment 4.19-A, TN 86-4). A hospital
may appeal a program decision only in the following cir-
cumstances: (1) addition of new and necessary services

A-11

requiring certificate of need approval; (2) major changes
in case mix or types/intensity of services; (3) costs of
improvements required by new licensing or certification
requirements; (4) extraordinary circumstances (floods,
ete.) ; substantive program decisions relating to applica-
tion of the payment system. Id. at Sec. 110, p. 110.01.

Nursing Home (Kentucky Medical Assistance Program
Reimbursement Manual, TN 84-16). Nursing homes are
permitted administrative review of program decisions
relating to the application of the policies and procedures
governing the nursing home payment system. Id. at Sec.
119, p. 119-01.

LOUISIANA

Hospital (Attachment 4.19-A, TN 84-9). The Plan
provides that hospitals may appeal their rates to the
DHHR Appeals section. Jd. at Sec. III, p. 11. An in-
formal conference is first scheduled between the hospital
and the state agency to discuss the issues of the appeal.
Id. If the informal discussion does not resolve these is-
sues, the hospital may request an administrative hearing
with the DHHR Appeals Section. Id. at p. 12. The
DHHR Appeals Section makes a recommendation to the
Secretary. The department then makes a final decision,
subject only to judicial review by the courts as provided
in the State Administrative Procedure Act, La. Rev. Stat.
Ann., Sec. 49:951. Id. at 13.

Nursing Home (Attachment 4.19-D (1)). The Plan
for nursing homes assures that the State provides an ap-
peals procedure that permits individual providers to sub-
mit additional evidence and receive prompt administra-
tive review. Jd. at p. 4. In a telephone conversation with
the Department of Health and Human Resources, how-
ever, we were informed that a provider could not appeal
a rate determination.

MAINE

Hospital (Attachment 4.19-A, TN 88-07). The Plan
assures that a provider appeals system is in place which
allows individual providers an opportunity to submit ad-

A-12

ditional evidence and request prompt administrative re-
view of payment rates. Id. at 2.

Nursing Home (Attachment 4.19-D, TN 88-14). Nurs-
ing homes may appeal audit adjustments to the Maine
Department of Human Services. On appeal, the validity
of a rate is judged “solely on the basis of its conformity
with the principles governing the determination of rates
contained in this attachment [4.19-D].” Id. at 18.

MARYLAND

Hospital (Md. Regs. Code tit. 10, Sec. 37.10 (1988) ).
A hospital may request a temporary change in rates at
any time if it has experienced a decline in net revenue
or an increase in expenses due to factors beyond its con-
trol. Id. at Sec. 10.37.10.05.

Maryland also permits a hospital to file an application
with the Health Services Cost Review Commission to re-
quest an alternative method for submitting or reviewing
its rates and charges. 10.37.10.06(A). The Executive
Director may grant a temporary approval of an alterna-
tive method of rate determination. 10.37.10.06 (B).

Nursing Home (Medical Care Programs ICF Services).
Maryland permits nursing homes to appeal only audit
findings. Jd. at pp. 608-45.

MASSACHUSETTS

Hospital (Attachment 4.19-A(2), TN 88-12). HCFA
retains two Massachusetts hospital plans, one for acute
care facilities, one for non-acute facilities.

The Plan does not contain an appeal procedure for
acute care hospitals. In a telephone conversation with
the State Rate Setting Commission, we were informed
that acute care hospitals may appeal Medicaid reimburse-
ment rates in accordance with State regulations. Mass.
Regs. Code tit. 801, Sec. 1.03 (1986). Appeals from ac-
tions or inactions on the part of the Rate Setting Com-

*

A-13

mission are permitted for the appeal of interim and final
rates. Id. at Sec. 1.03 (12) (e), (d).

The Plan for nonacute hospitals provides for appeal to
the Division of Administrative Law Appeals, pursuant to
the requirements of Mass. Gen. L. Ch. 6A, Sec. 36 and
Mass. Gen. L. Ch. 7, Sec. 4H, in two circumstances.
First, a hospital may request an increase in its allowed
costs due to costs beyond its control. Jd. at 10. Such re-
quests will be granted only if the additional costs: (1)
are due to correcting deficiencies related to hospital li-
censure or participation in Medicare or Medicaid; (2)
are generated by compliance with new, non-discretionary
regulations mandating expenses; (3) result from disaster
losses in excess of (or not covered by) insurance; (4)
are allowed in connection with a major capital expendi-
ture or substantial change in services requiring a certifi-
cate of need; (5) result from a new service; (6) result
from certain wage adjustments which are demonstrated
to be cost-effective; (7) result from an increase in pa-
tient care costs due to serving a more intensely ill patient
population. Jd. at 10-11. Second, a hospital may request
— — if there has been an arithmetic error. Id.
a . N

Nursing Home (Mass. Regs. Code tit. 114.2, Sec. 2.20
(1987)). Massachusetts reimburses certain nursing
homes through interim rates with retrospective adjust-
ments, and certain nursing homes through prospective
rates. This regulation permits both kinds of providers
to petition for an increase to their rates. Id. at Sec. 2.20,
2.21, 5.15. Petitions for increase in interim rates are
granted only for facilities with a population of more than
75 percent Medicaid patients, and only to implement cer-
tain statutory wage increases for nurses and nurse aides.
Id. at Sec. 2.20, 2.21. As to prospective rates, a provider
aggrieved by a rate of payment may file an appeal, the
validity of which will be “judged solely on the basis of
its conformity with the principles governing the determi-

A-14

nation of rates contained in” the ratesetting methodology
set in the regulations. Id. at Sec. 5.16(1) and (2).

MICHIGAN

Hospital (Attachment 4.19-A, TN 88-6). The Plan
permits a hospital to appeal its rate of payment as well
as the components used to determine the rate. Id. at Sec.
IV, p. 18. Appeal is restricted to the extent that incor-
rect data were used in calculation, except that the appeal
panel or ALJ may also hear appeals of “other items
deemed . . . to be within the scope of their jurisdiction.”
Id. An order from the Director of the Department of
Social Services states that ALJs do not have “authority
to make decisions on constitutional grounds, overrule
statutes, overrule promulgated regulations or overrule or
make exceptions to the Department policy set out in the
program manuals.” Amended Delegation of Hearing Au-
thority (April 1, 1981). ALJs are permitted to make a
recommendation to the Director of the Bureau of Admin-
istrative Hearings when they believe Department policy
to be out of conformity with case law, statute, or prom-
ulgated regulation, but there is no provision to permit a
party to appeal an ALJ’s decision on this issue. Id.

Nursing Home (Attachment, 4.19-D, TN 87-9). The
Plan provides for an informal or formal review of an
adverse action, which requires a nursing home to submit
an application for relief to the state agency within 45
days of notification. Id. at Sec. VIII, p. 1. However,
no administrative review is permitted for elements of the
program that would necessitate a change for all pro-
viders, including the “principles of reimbursement and
guidelines which define allowable costs.” Id. The same
Delegation of Authority cited above for hospitals also
applies.

MINNESOTA
Hospital (Attachment 4.19-A, TN 88-69). “Rate Ap-
peals” are taken in the first instance to the reimburse-

A-15

ment staff of the Department of Human Resources. /d.
at 9. Appeals that are not settled by reimbursement staff
are made to a five member appeals board, appointed by the
Commissioner of Human Resources, which makes recom-
mendations to the Commissioner. Jd. Hospitals may ap-
peal “a decision of the Commissioner” through Minnesota
statutes (presumably the Administrative Procedure Act).
Id.

Nursing Home (Attachment 4.19-D; Minn. R.
256B.50). A nursing home may appeal from determina-
tion of a payment rate. Id. at Subd.lc, p. 5501. Nursing
homes may challenge the validity of the Commissioner’s
rules in the court of appeals if it appears that the rule
or its threatened application impairs or threatens to im-
pair the petitioner’s legal rights. Minn. Stat. Ann., Sec.
14.44.

MISSISSIPPI

Hospital (Attachment 4.19-A, TN 81-1). The Plan
permits a hospital to appeal its rate to the Mississippi
Medicaid Commission. Id. at Sec. IV, p. 8. Appeals are
limited to new costs resulting from major changes in
case mix, the addition of new and necessary services,
use of incorrect data or calculation error, extraordinary
circumstances (riot, strike, flood, ete.). Id.

Nursing Home (Attachment 4.19-D, TN 88-1). The
plan permits a nursing home to submit a written request
for a formal hearing in response to a rate notice. Id. at
19. The appeal must be accompanied by a statement and
documents setting forth the facts which the provider
contends place it in compliance with the Commission’s
regulations. Jd. In addition, the Mississippi Medicaid
Manual states that appeals of matters relating to pay-
ment rates or reimbursement may be considered only if
not otherwise previously considered by the Division of

A-16

Medicaid under Public Hearing Procedures. Long Term
Care Manual (July 1, 1989) at p. I-7.

MISSOURI

Hospital (Attachment 4.19-A, TN 88-3/87-01). The
Plan permits a hospital to request an informal review of
actions resulting from the provisions of the Plan. Id. at
Sec. V(E), p. 10. Items which will not be subject to
review include: the use of Medicare standards and re-
imbursement principles; the method for determining the
trend factor; the use of all-inclusive prospective reim-
bursement rates; and increased cost resulting from
change of ownership. Id. at 12. In addition, the Missouri
Supreme Court has held that State administrative agen-
cies have no authority to render declaratory rulings re-
garding the validity of agency rules. State Tax Commis-
sion v. Administrative Hearing Commission, 641 S.W.
2d 69, 75 (Mo. bane 1982). See Mo. Code Regs. tit. 13,
Sec. 70-10.010 (8/89) (ratesetting methodology as
agency rule).

Nursing Home (Attachment 4.19-D, TN 88-22). The
Plan permits a nursing home to obtain reconsideration
of its rate by an advisory committee only for costs re-
lated to changes in the facility's case mix, or costs re-
sulting from other extraordinary circumstances. Id. at
51. The Plan prohibits administrative review of the trend
factor, the use of prospective rates, or the provider’s
initial cost base. Jd. The hospital limitation cited above
also applies.

MONTANA

Hospital (Mont. Admin. Rules, Sec. 46.12.506-.510).
Hospitals have the opportunity for a fair hearing, in
accordance with the procedures set forth in Mont. Admin.
R. 46.2.202, only to contest the computation of their
interim payment rates (or final settlements for capital
and medical education costs), coding errors resulting in
incorrect DRG assignment and determination of medical

A-17

necessity, outlier status, and readmission/transfer deci-
sions. Id. at R. 46.12.510.

Nursing Home (Attachment 4. 19-D, TN 88 (10) 19). A
nursing home may request an administrative review of the
Department of Social and Rehabilitative Services’ written
findings, recommendations, or rate. Id. at Sec. 46.12.1210,
p. 23. If the decision of the review is adverse to the
provider, an appeal for a fair hearing can be made to
the Department. Jd. The hearing officer will render a
proposed decision, and the provider is permitted a fur-
ther appeal by filing a notice of appeal with the hearing
officer to be forwarded to the Department Director. Id.
at 23. Judicial review of the decision of the Department
Director is permitted under the State Administrative Pro-
— Act, Title 2, chapter 4, part 7, Mont. Code Ann.

NEBRASKA

Hospital (Attachment 4.19-A, TN MS-89-6). The Plan
assures that a hospital may submit additional evidence
and request prompt administrative review of its pro-
spective rate. Id. at 8a. The hospital is also permitted
to utilize this procedure to appeal an adjustment to its
rate.

Nursing Home (Attachment 4.19-D, TN MS-84-3).
The Plan permits a nursing home to request an admin-
istrative appeal of a final decision or inaction in the
process for determining the facility’s allowable cost. Id.
at Sec. 12-011.13, p. 26.

NEVADA

Hospital (Nevada State Welfare Division, Medicaid
Services Manual, MTL 8/89). A hospital is permitted
to appeal its rate. Id. at Sec. 206.2. The appeal must
include the specific rate adjustment requested with sup-
porting documentation and documentation of adverse fi-
nancial impact. Id. In a telephone conversation with the

A-18

Welfare Division of the Department of Human Resources,
we were informed that this procedure may not be used
to appeal the ratesetting methodology.

Nursing Home (Nevada SNF & ICF Medicaid Man-
ual). Nevada permits providers to appeal audit adjust-
ment settlements. Jd. at Sec. 506.2.

NEW HAMPSHIRE

Hospital. The Plan contains no provision for appeals
by hospitals. In a telephone conversation with the State
Medicaid Director, we were informed that because hos-
pitals are reimbursed on a diagnosis-related group
(“DRG”) basis, there are no appeal procedures in place.

Nursing Home (Attachment 4.19-D, TN 87-10). The
Plan provides a procedure for individual nursing homes
to appeal unresolved disputes that may arise concerning
application of the principles of reimbursement defined in
the Plan. Id. at Sec. 9999.11, p. 38.

NEW JERSEY

Hospital (1983 Standard Hospital Accounting and Rate
Evaluation Rate Review Guidelines). Hospitals may file
appeals of their payment rates with Health Economics
Services, Department of the Public Advocate. Id. at G-17.
The purpose of the appeal is “to determine if the Guide
lines were properly interpreted and executed.“ Id. at G-3.
The Plan also provides a provision which permits hos-
pitals faced with unpredictable and uncontrollable changes
in costs to submit a request for adjustment to the Com-
missioner. Id. at G-18.

Nursing Home (Attachment 4.19-D, TN 86-1). The
Plan provides a two level appeal process for nursing
homes that believe that, “owing to an unusual situation,
the application of these guidelines results in an inequity.”
Id. at Sec. 3.20, p. C-36. A Level I appeal is heard by
representatives from the Department of Health (“DOH”)
and the Department of Human Services (“DHS”). The

A-19

recommended solution will ultimately be forwarded to the
Director, Division of Medical Assistance and Health Serv-

ices for approval. This level is limited to matters pecu-
liar to individuai providers.

If the provider is not satisfied with the results of the
level I appeal, it may request a hearing before an Ad-
ministrative Law Judge (Level II). At Level II, the
burden is on the provider to establish its entitlement to
benefits under the State’s Cost Accounting and Rate
Evaluation System Guidelines (the State’s ratesetting
methodology). Jd. at C-38.

NEW MEXICO

Hospital (Attachment 4.19-A, TN 89-01). A hospital
may appeal its rate and its application only if eireum-
stances beyond the hospital’s control have caused rates to

* * least 5% below actual allowable costs. Id. at Sec.
„P. 2.

Nursing Home (Attachment 4.19-D, Part 1, TN 88-6).
The Plan permits a nursing home to file a request for
reconsideration of the base year rate determination (or
final settlement in the case of a change in ownership).
Id. at Sec. IX, p. 17. The Medical Assistance Division
Director delivers the request and his response to the Sec-
retary of the Department of Human Services, who is em-
powered (but not required) to hold a hearing. The Sec-
retary’s final determination “shall be made in accordance
with applicable provisions of the Plan.” Jd. at 18.

NEW YORK

Hospital (Attachment 4.19-A ( I), TN 85-34). The ap-
peal procedure provided in the State Plan permits a hos-
pital to appeal audit adjustments to its cost report, as
to those items of the audit report that present a factual
issue. Id. at 10. Pursuant to State Medicaid regulations,
the State Commissioner of Health may consider rate revi-
sions only for the following reasons:

:

4

9

0

7
*
bs
7
1
a
N

A-20

(1) mathematical or clerical errors in the rate cal-
culation process, or in the development of [peer]
groups,

(2) mathematical or clerical errors in data submit-
ted by the facility;

(3) increases in the operating costs of a facility re-
sulting from additional or expanded programs,
staff or services mandated for the facility by
the Commissioner ; .

(4) increases in the operating expenses of a facility
resulting from capital renovations, expansion,
replacement or inclusion of programs, staff or
services approved by the Commissioner through
a certificate of need process; |

for relief for intensity appeals, atypica

* 3 of stay penalties, specialty hospital
and physicians’ base to base noncomparability of
cost data, nonprojectable capital, waiver of un-
funded depreciation, return on investments of
proprietary hospitals, and adjustment in target
volume;

(6) the reduction of costs related to the elimination
of hospital inpatient service;

(7) requests for relief from the ceiling provisions

(8) requests for waivers of minimum utilization
standards; and

for reimbursement of costs which were
= oS ae in the base year upon which the
rate was established.

N.Y. Comp. Code R. Regs. tit. 10, Sec. 86-1.17 (a) (1)-
(9). The decision of the Commissioner is final unless a
hearing is requested with a rate review officer. Id. at
Sec. 86-1.17(b). The rate review officer may grant or
deny the request for a hearing. Id. at Sec. 86-1.17(c)
(2). The rate review officer shall make a recommenda-

A-21

tion to the Commissioner of Health for final approval or
disapproval. Id. at Sec. 86.1-17(c) (3).

Nursing Home (Attachment 4.19-D, Part I, TN 86-4).
The Plan permits a nursing home to appeal rate deter-
minations only for increased costs resulting from utiliza-
tion above 90 percent of bed capacity for a period of six
months, errors in the cost and/or statistical data, sig-
nificant new required or approved cost increases, or other
changed circumstances. Id. at Sec. 86-2.14, p. 53.

NORTH CAROLINA

Hospital (Attachment 4.19-A, TN 88-17). Hospitals
may request reconsideration of rate determinations by
the Division of Medical Assistance. Id. at 2. Operating
(as opposed to capital) rate appeals are considered only
on the basis of additional cost of essential new services
or changes in case mix, and even an adjusted rate cannot
exceed the rate limits set by the Plan itself. Id.

Nursing Home (Attachment 4.19-D, TN 88-15). The
Plan permits a nursing home to appeal rate determina-
tions in accordance with the procedures set forth in N.C.
Admin. Code Tit. 10, r. 26.0200. (now r. 26K.000).
Id. at .0106, p. 15. A rate may be adjusted on appeal
only if the provider can demonstrate that an adjustment
is necessary to protect the health and safety of its pa-
tients and to sustain its financial viability. Id. The ad-
justed rate may not exceed the maximum rate estab-
lished in the Plan itself. Id.

NORTH DAKOTA

Hospital (Attachment 4.19-A, TN 87-13). The Plan
merely assures that appeal procedures for hospital pro-
viders are in place and remain unchanged. In a tele-
phone conversation with the State Medical Services
Division, we were informed that there are no formal

procedures in place for hospitals to appeal rate deter-
minations.

A-22

Nursing Home (Attachment 4.19-D, TN 87-10). The
Plan provides that a nursing home may appeal a rate
determination to the Referee Supervisor, Department of
Human Services. Id. at Sec. 75-02-06-17. Appeals are
limited to those including a computation and the dollar
amount which reflects the party’s claim as to the cor-
rect computation and dollar amount for each disputed

item. Id.

OHIO

Hospital (Attachment 4.19-A, TN 87-13). The Plan
specifically excludes from the appeals process review of
the methodology used to determine rates. Ohio Admin.
Code, Sec. 5101 :3-2-0712(E), p. 11.

Nursing Home (Attachment 4.19-D, TN 80-16). The
appeal procedures in the Plan permit nursing homes an
opportunity for a hearing under Chapter 119 of the Re-
vised Code (Administrative Procedures Act) to contest a
final fiscal audit. Ohio Admin. Code, Sec. 5101:3-1-57.
Administrative action not subject to hearings under
Chapter 119 may be reconsidered by the appropriate divi-
sion chief upon written request by the provider to the
Director of the Ohio Department of Public Welfare. Id.

OKLAHOMA

Hospital (Attachment 4:19-A, TN 86-17). The Plan
provides an assurance that providers of hospital services
may submit a request for rate review io the Director of
the Department of Human Services for consideration and
a final decision. Id. at p. 2. The Plan also indicates that
providers are allowed an opportunity to submit additional
evidence and a prompt administrative review regarding
the appropriateness of the payment rate will be con-
ducted. Id.

Nursing Home (Medical Services Provider Manual).
Oklahoma permits nursing homes to request review of
nursing home payment rates to the Director of the De-

partment of Human Services. Id. at Ch. 1, p. 12. The

A-23

State also provides that facilities are allowed to submit
additional evidence and receive prompt review of the
appropriateness of the rate. Id.

OREGON

Hospital (Attachment 4.19-A, TN 88-17). Under the
Plan, hespitals may request an appeal or exception to any
State decision affecting payment rates pursuant to Or.
Admin. R. 461-13-191 through 461-13-225. Jd. at 13.
These regulations, which apply to hospitals and nursing
homes, limit reconsiderations to: (1) individual institu-
tional provider payment ratesetting; (2) issues related
to prepaid capitated contracts; or (3) any other issues
deemed appropriate by the ageney. Or. Admin. R. 461-13-
191 (2). As the only specific provision relating to rate-
setting, the first clause should preclude the more general
language of the third clause from authorizing broad-
based appeals.

Nursing Home (Attachment 4.19-D, Part 1, TN
87-34). The Plan states that a nursing home may appeal
interim rates or year end settlements to the Senior Serv-
ices Division. Id. at Sec. VI, p. 6. The hospital regula-
tions described above also apply.

PENNSYLVANIA

The State Plan contains no provision for appeals by
hospitals or nursing homes. Pennsylvania’s administra-
tive regulations furnish providers a fair hearing process
for certain medical assisti.nce decisions. 55 Pa. Code
§ 275.1(a), p. 275-1 (May, 1989). The regulations spe-
cifically preclude administrative hearing officers from
rendering a decision on the validity of a Departmental
regulation, and from invalidating or modifying a regu-
lation. Id. at Sec. 275.4(h), p. 275-21.

RHODE ISLAND

Hospital ( Attachment 4.19-A). The Plan provides a
statewide “maxicap” on hospital operating expenses. Id.

A-24

at 31. This amount is negotiated annually by representa-
tives of the State and participating hospitals prior to
commencement of the new rate year. While individual
hospital budgets may be adjusted (through mediation or
arbitration between a provider and the State), see id. at
46-50, the aggregate total of all hospital expenses in the
state may not exceed this ceiling. Jd. at 31.

Nursing Home (Principles of Reimbursement for
Skilled Nursing and Intermediate Care facilities, TN
88-01). The Plan permits a nursing home to request a
review of computation of the facility’s assigned rate if
the provider is not in agreement with the base year or
with application of the State’s Principles of Reimburse-
ment for the applicable calendar years. Id. at 16.

SOUTH CAROLINA

Hospital (Attachment 4.19-A, TN 87-10). Hospitals
may have their rates reconsidered only if one of the fol-
lowing has occurred since the base year: (1) change in
case mix; (2) error in calculation; (3) extraordinary
circumstances. Id. at 25-26. The Plan specifically pro-
hibits reconsideration (appeal) of the State’s rate meth-
odology. Id. at 26.

Nursing Home (Attachment 4. K P, TN 87-]4). The
Plan permits nursing homes to appea a final audit
determination in connection with a desk review of the
provider’s cost report. Id. at 8.

SOUTH DAKOTA

Hospital (Attachment 4.19-A, TN 88-12). The Plan
assures that the State Department of Social Services
has administrative review procedures to meet the need
for provider appeals required by 42 C.F.R. § 447.258
sic. ]. Id. at 4.

Nursing Home (S. D. Admin. R. 67:16:04 :07.02
(19890). South Dakota regulations permit a facility to

A-25

appeal only a disallowed expenditure or adjustment based
on a Department audit of its cost report. Id.

TENNESSEE

Hospital (Attachment 4.19-A, TN 88-15). The Plan
lacks a specific appeal procedure, but adjustments to a
facility’s rate are permitted only for errors in computa-
tion, additional capital expenditures pursuant to a certi-
1 of need, or significant changes in case mix. Id. at
p. 10.

Nursing Home. Tennessee's State Plan contains no pro-
vision for rate appeals by nursing home providers. The
State has no published procedures, but permits appeal of
specific rates informally through the Comptroller of the

Treasury, and formally through the State Administrative
Procedures Act.

TEXAS

Hospital (Attachment 4.19-A, TN 89-20). Hospitals
are permitted to appeal individual claims (as specified
in the State Plan), mechanical, mathematical, and data
entry error in base year claims data, and incorrectly
computed subsequent adjustments to the hospital’s base
year claims data. Id. at 5-7. The Plan expressly pre-

cludes appeal of the prospective payment methodo
used by the State. Jd: at 7. oad

Nursing Home (Attachment 4.19-D, 85-2). The Plan
assures that an appeals procedure for nursing home pro-

viders is available to contest any cost report disallow-
ance. Id. at 2.

UTAH

Hospital (Attachment 4.19-A, TN 89-11). The Plan
assures that the State has administrative review proce-
dures to handle provider appeals as required by 42 C. F. R.
§ 447.253 (e). Id. at Sec. 193.

Nursing Home (Attachment 4. 19-D, TN 88-28). The
Plan states that a nursing home may appeal an audit

A-26

settlement or a revised payment rate. Id. at Sec. 920, p.
14. An appeal must identify a specific audit adjustment
or rate calculation. Jd. The purpose of the appeal proce-
dure is to allow individual providers an opportunity to
submit additional evidence and receive prompt adminis-
trative review, with respect to such issues as the agency
determines appropriate, of payment rates. Jd. at 930.

VERMONT

Hospital (Attachment 4.19-A). The Plan merely as-
sures that appeals of the rates set are allowed.

Nursing Home (Attachment 4.19-D, TN 88-11). The
Plan permits a nursing home to submit an appeal to the
Division of Rate Setting. Appeals are limited to errors
in the calculation of prospective rates. Id. Sec. 209. A
party aggrieved by a final order of the Division has the
option of appeal to the Vermont Supreme Court, trial de
novo in superior court, or a hearing conducted by an ac-
countant appointed by the Secretary of Human Services.
Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 33, Sec. 195.

VIRGINIA

Hospital (Attachment 4.19-A). The Plan specifically
prohibits appeal of the use of Medicaid principles of re-
imbursement to determine reimbursement of costs (other
than operating costs for inpatient care), the calculation
of the initial group ceilings on allowable operating costs
for inpatient care, and the use of the Consumer Price
Index as a prospective rate escalator. J.A. 33.

Nursing Home (Attachment 4.19-D, TN 86-11). Nurs-
ing homes may appeal the interpretation and application
of the Plan’s principles of reimbursement. Id. at Sec.
3.3, p. 33. The Plan specifically prohibits appeal of the
principles of reimbursement themselves. Id. at Sec. 3.1,

p. 32.

A-27

WASHINGTON

Hospital (Division of Medical Assistance, Inpatient
Hospital Rate Appeal, effective April 1, 1986). Wash-
ington permits hospitals to appeal their rates by submit-
ting a written notice, including a statement of the issue
being appealed and the requested re-calculation of the
rate. Id. at 1. The procedure allows appeals of compu-
tation errors, errors in cost report data, or changes in
case-mix or cost apportionment. Id.

*

Nursing Home (Attachment 4.19-D, TN 87-18). The
Plan permits a nursing home to request a revision of its
rate at any time. Id. at See. IV, p. 5. The provider
may appeal first through an administrative review con-
ference. Id. If the decision at the administrative review
conference is adverse to the provider, a request for a
fair hearing may be made in accordance with the Admin-
istrative Procedure Act, Wash. Rev. Code, Sec. 34.04. Id.

WEST VIRGINIA

Hospital (Department of Human Services, Medicaid
Program Regulations, Chapter 700). State Medicaid
Program regulations (applicable to all Medicaid provid-
ers) permit a provider to obtain administrative review
through an “informal conference,” during which the pro-
vider may present its case, provide additional informa-
tion bearing on administrative action, or receive clarifica-
tion or explanation of relevant policy. Id. at Sec. 764,
p. 5. If dissatisfied, the provider may proceed to a for-
mal hearing where the findings of fact and conclusions
of law arrived at below may be challenged. Id. at Sec.

765.1, p. 6. Judicial review of this decision i
Id. at Sec. 765.3, p. 6. oie.

Nursing Home (Attachment 4.19-D, TN 86-7). The
Plan contains only an assurance that there is an appeals
or exceptions procedure for review of payment rates that
allows individual providers to submit additional informa-
tion and receive prompt administrative review. Id. at 7.

A-28

The Medicaid regulations described above also apply to
nursing homes.

WISCONSIN

Hospital (Attachment 4.19-A) The Plan assures that
the State provides an appeal mechanism that allows
providers the opportunity to submit additional evidence
and to request prompt administrative review of payment
rates. Jd. at 1. A hospital may seek a rate adjustment
only for inappropriate calculation of rates (including
clerical errors) or significant change in patient mix to
include more low-income patients. Id. at 16. The Plan
defines “inappropriate calculation of rates” to mean the
application of the ratesetting methods to incomplete or
incorrect data. Id.

Nursing Home (Attachment 4.19-D, TN 89-0011). The
Plan provides that a Nursing Home Appeals Board is
available for redress in the event that a facility has
extraordinary fiscal circumstances. Id. at Sec. 1.400.
Providers also are permitted to appeal a final ratesetting
action. Id. at Sec. 1.700. The Plan further provides
that a nursing home may request an administrative
review of cost-finding decisions. Jd. at Sec. 1.800.

WYOMING

HCFA’s copies of the Plan contain no provision for
rate-related appeals by hospitals or nursing homes. The
State’s Rules for Medicaid Administrative Hearings are
separately printed, and apply to all Medicaid providers.
Providers may appeal “adverse actions.” Id. at Sec. 4(a),
p. 1. The rules specifically state that the term adverse
action “does not include an appeal of ratesetting meth-
odology.” Id.

B-1

APPENDIX B

Classification of Procedures for
Rate-Related Appeals By Medicaid Providers

In this Appendix, amici classify the procedures for
rate-related appeals by Medicaid providers (hospitals
and nursing homes) according to a number of relevant
categories. States in which the procedure contains limi-
tations fitting more than one category are listed only
once, and the States in which we were unable to locate
a procedure (hospital: New Hampshire, North Dakota)
are not included. More detailed information on the rules
of each jurisdiction and citations to these rules are fur-
nished in Appendix A.

B-2
) L States In Which Appeals Are Limited To Correction Of Errors Or Changed
Circumstances
Limitation States Total
Nursing

Hospital Home
A. Audit adjustments to

or factual findings
in cost reports,
errors in calculation
or computation
1. Hospital Florida, IIlinois“, Indiana,
Massachusetts*, Mississippi*,
Montana, New York*,
Tennessee“, Washington“.
Wisconsin“ 10
2. Nursing Home Alabama, Florida, Maryland.
Nebraska, Nevada, New Vork“,
South Carolina, South Dakota.
Texas, Vermont, Wisconsin“ 11
B. Changed circumstances
(patient case- mix.
new services or
capital expenditures,
extraordinary circum-
stances) since base
year
1. Hospital Arkansas, Colorado, Kansas,
Kentucky, Maryland, New Mexico 6
TOTALS 16 12

* Indicates procedure permits appeals under both A and B.

B-3

II. States In Which Appeals Of Rate Methodology Specifically Prohibited

Limitation States
A. No appeal of
principles of
reimbursement or
rate methodology
1. Hospital Alabama, Idaho, Michigan,
Ohio, Pennsylvania, South
Carolina, Texas, Wyoming
2. Nursing Home Idaho, Michigan,
Pennsylvania, Virginia,
Wyoming
B. No appeal of key
elements of rate
methodology (e.g.,
inflation factor
or rate ceilings)
1. Hospital California, Hawaii,
Missouri, North Carolina,
Rhode Island, Virginia
2. Nursing Home California, Hawaii,

Missouri, North Carolina

New Jersey, Georgia

Indiana, Maine, Massachusetts,

Mississippi, New Jersey,
New Mexico

Colorado, New Hampshire,
Kentucky, Rhode Island

Total

Nursing
Hospital Home

16 19

B-4

III. States In Which Particular Limitations Preclude Challenges To Ratesetting

Methodology
Limitation

A. Appeals must be
brought within
specified time
of adverse
action b

1. Nursing Home

B. Appeals must
identify parti-
cular computations
and adjustments
contested

States Total

Nursing
Hospital Home

Arkansas 1

1. Hospital
2. Nursing Home

TOTALS

Nevada 1
North Dakota, Utah

B- 5

IV. States In Which Procedures Limited To Appeal Of Rates Or Rate Deter

minations
Limitation States
A. Provider permitted
to present new
evidence and
receive review of
payment rates
1. Hospital Distriet of Columbia,
Maine, Nebraska, Oklahoma,
South Dakota, Utah

2. Nursing Home

B. Provider permitted
to appeal rate or
rate determination

1. Hospital

2. Nursing Home

TOTALS

Louisiana, West Virginia

Iowa, Louisiana,
Oregon, Vermont

District of Columiba,
Georgia, Illinois,
Montana, Oklahoma,
Oregon, Tennessee,
Washington

Total

Nursing
Hospital Home

10 10

B-6

v. States In Which Appeal Of Rate Methodology May Be Permitted By Rule

Rule States
A. Provider may appeal
action or decision
of rate commission
1. Hospital Alaska, Arizona,
Connecticut, Delaware,
Minnesota
2. Nursing Home Alaska, Arizona,

B. Provider may appeal
validity or
legality of rule

Connecticut, Delaware

1. Hospital
2. Nursing Home

C. Provider may appeal
administrative
action not
otherwise provided
for by letter

West Virginia
Iowa, Minnesota

1. Nursing Home
TOTALS

Ohio

Total

Nursing
Hospital Home

E
2

C-1

APPENDIX C

List of Reported Federal Cases in Which Violations
of The Boren Amendment Have Been Alleged '

AMISUB (PSL) v. Colorado Dept. of Social Services, 879
F.2d 789 (10th Cir. 1989), petition for cert. filed, 58
U.S.L.W. 3322 (U.S. Oct. 25, 1989) (No. 89-682);

Hoodkroft Convalescent Center Inc. v. New Hampshire
Division of Human Services, 879 F.2d 968 (Ist Cir.
1989) ;

West Virginia Univ. Hosps. Inc. v. Casey, 885 F.2d 11

(3d Cir. 1989);

Colorado Health Care Ass’n v. Colorado Dep't of Social
Services, 842 F.2d 1158 (10th Cir. 1988) ;

Wisconsin Ass’n v. Revitz, 820 F.2d 863 (7th Cir. 1987);
Wilmac Corp. v. Bowen, 811 F.2d 809 (3d Cir. 1987);

Coos Bay Care Center v. Oregon Dep’t of Human Re-
sources, 803 F.2d 1060 (9th Cir. 1986), cert. granted,
481 U.S. 1036, vacated as moot, 484 U.S. 806 (1987);

Nebraska Health Care Ass’n v. Dunning, 778 F.2d 1291
(8th Cir. 1985), cert. denied, 479 U.S. 1063 (1987) ;

United Hosp. Center, Inc. v. Richardson, 757 F.2d 1445
(4th Cir. 1985) ;

Hillhaven Corp. v. Wisconsin Dep’t of Health and Social
Services, 733 F.2d 1224 (7th Cir. 1984) ;

Oberlander v. Perales, 740 F.2d 116 (2d Cir. 1984) ;

Alabama Hosp. Ass’n v. Beasley, 702 F.2d 955 (11th
Cir. 1983) ;

Mississippi Hosp. Ass’n, Inc. v. Heckler, 701 F.2d 511
(5th Cir. 1983) ;

1 Based on a search of West’s Federal Reporters, the Medicare
& Medicaid Guide (CCH), WESTLAW, and LEXIS.

C-2

Hadley Memorial Hosp. Inc. v. Schweiker, 689 F.2d 905
(10th Cir. 1982) ;

Washington State Health Facility Ass’n v. Washington
Dep’t of Social and Health Services, 698 F.2d 964 (9th
Cir.1982) ;

Charleston Memorial Hosp. v. Conrad, 693 F.2d 324 (4th
Cir. 1982) ;

Chicago Osteopathic Medical Centers v. Duffy, No. 88-C-
1174 (N. D. Ill. Oct. 27, 1989) (WESTLAW, Allfeds

database) ;

Pinnacle Nursing Home v. Axelrod, 719 F. Supp. 1173
(W.D.N.Y. 1989) ;

Illinois Health Care Ass’n v. Suter, 719 F. Supp. 1419
(N. D. III. 1989);

461 Bluff Manor, Inc. v. Reagen, 713 F. Supp. 1535
(W. D. Mo. 1989);

In re Saint Joseph's Hosp., 103 Bankr. 643 (Bankr. E. D.
Pa. 1989);

SSM Healthcare Systems v. Reagen, 681 F. Supp. 625
(W.D. Mo. 1988) ;

Friedman v. Perales, 668 F. Supp. 216 (S.D.N.Y. 1987),
aff'd 841 F.2d 47 (2d Cir. 1988);

Vantage Healthcare v. Virginia Board of Medical As-
sistance Services, 684 F. Supp. 1329 (E.D. Va. 1988);

St. Tammany Parish Hosp. Service Dist. v. Dep’t of
Health and Human Resources, 677 F. Supp. 455 (E.D.

La. 1988) ;

Bethany Medical Center v. Harder, 693 F. Supp. 968 (D.
Kan. 1988), opinion amended, No. Civ. A. 85-2415-0
(D. Kan. July 1, 1988) ;

Montoya v. Johnston, 654 F. Supp. 511 (W.D. Tex.
1987) ;

Mary Washington Hosp., Inc. v. Fisher, 635 F. Supp. 891
(E.D. Va. 1985) ;

C-3

— Inc., v. Heintz, 612 F. Supp. 81 (D. Conn.

Hillhaven Corp. v. Wisconsin Dep’ ocial
\ pt of Health and S
Services, 634 F. Supp. 1313 (E.D. Wis. 1986) ;

— 2 v. Perales, 616 F. Supp. 1363 (S. D. N. v.

Hulburn v. Commissioner, Connecticut Dep’

| , pt of Income
Maintenance, No. H-82-200 (D. Conn. July 17, 1985)
(WESTLAW, Allfeds database) ;

Florida Nursing Home Ass’n v. Paige, 596 F
(S.D. Fla. 1984); * Supp. 1152

Illinois Council on Long Term Care v. Miller
. 1 ;
Supp. 1140 (N.D. III. 1983);

Troutman v. Cohen, 588 F. Supp. 590 (E. D. P
ö Supp. D. Pa. 1
aff'd, 755 F. 2d 924 (3d Cir. 1984); *

In re Greenwald, 48 Bankr. 263 (S. D. N. v. 1984);

Illinois Council on Long Term Care v. Coler, Nos. 83

. 4 . 83-C-
4812, 83-C-5245, 83-C-6574 (N. D. III. Sept. 24, 1984)
(WESTLAW, Allfeds database) ;

New York City Health and Hosps. C v. Heckler
F. Supp. 226 (S. D. N. V. 1984) : N *

Fort Tryon Nursing Home v. Perales, 592 F. Su
(S.D.N.Y. 1984) ; *, GEE F. Supp. 818

California Ass’n of Bioanalysts v. Rank
1342 (C. D. Cal. 1983 eb a

In re Park Nursing Center, Inc., 28 B
E. D. Mich. 1983) ; 28 Bankr. 798 (Bankr.

Thomas v. Johnston, 557 F. Supp. 879 (W.D. Tex. 1983) j

Children’s Hosp. of Philadelphia v. Secreta
. . ry of De p't
of Public Welfare, 568 F. Supp. 1001 (E.D. Pa. 1983) :

= C-4
Michigan Hosp. Ass’n v. Department of Social Services,
555 F. Supp. 675 (E.D. Mich. 1983) ;
Children’s Memorial Hosp. v. Illinois Dep’t of Public Aid,
562 F. Supp. 165 (N.D. Ill. 1983) ;
California Hosp. Ass’n v. Schweiker, 559 F. Supp. 110
(C.D. Cal. 1982), aff'd, 705 F.2d 466 (9th Cir. 1983);
Illinois Hosp. Ass’n v. Illinois Dep’t of Public Aid, 576 F.
Supp. 360 (N.D. III. 1983);
Coalition of Michigan Nursing Homes, Inc. v. Dempsey,
537 F. Supp. 451 (E.D. Mich. 1982);

Massachusetts Hospital Ass’n, Inc. v. Harris, 500 F.
Supp. 1270 (D. Mass. 1980).

D-1

APPENDIX D
Listing of Additional Amici Curiae

Affiliates of the American Health Care Association:

Alabama Nursing Home Association

Health Association of Alaska

Arizona Health Care Association

Arkansas Health Care Association

California Association of Health Facilities
Colorado Health Care Association

Connecticut Association of Health Care Facilities
Delaware Health Care Facilities Association
District of Columbia Health Care Association
Florida Health Care Association

Georgia Health Care Association

Healtheare Association of Hawaii

Idaho Health Care Association

Illinoie Health Care Association

Indiana Health Care Association

Iowa Health Care Association

Kansas Health Care Association

Kentucky Association of Health Care Facilities
Louisiana Health Care Association

Maine Health Care Association

Health Facilities Association of Maryland
Massachusetts Federation of Nursing Homes, Inc.
Health Care Association of Michigan

Care Providers of Minnesota

Mississippi Health Care Association

Missouri Health Care Association

Montana Health Care Association

Nebraska Health Care Association

Nevada Health Care Association

New Hampshire Health Care Association

New Jersey Association of Health Care Facilities
New Mexico Health Care Association

New York State Health Facilities Association
North Carolina Health Care Association

D-2

North Dakota Long Term Care Association
Ohio Health Care Association

Oklahoma Nursing Home Association
Oregon Health Care Association
Pennsylvania Health Care Association
Rhode Island Health Care Association
South Carolina Health Care Association
South Dakota Health Care Association
Tennessee Health Care Association
Texas Health Care Association

Utah Health Care Association

Vermont Health Care Association
Washington Health Care Association
West Virginia Health Care Association
Wisconsin Association of Nursing Homes
Wyoming Health Care Association

Affiliates of the American Association of Homes for
the Aging:

Arizona Association of Homes for the Aging

Association of Massachusetts Homes for the Aging

Association of Ohio Philanthropic Homes and
Housing for Aging

California Association of Homes for the Aging

Colorado Association of Homes and Services for
the Aging

Connecticut Association of Non-Profit Facilities
for Aged

Florida Association of Homes for the Aging

Georgia Association of Homes and Services for the
Aging

Illinois Association of Homes for the Aging

Indiana Association of Homes for the Aging

Iowa Association of Homes for the Aging

Kansas Association of Homes for the Aging

Kentucky Association of Homes for the Aging

Louisiana Association of Homes and Services for

Aging

D-3

Maryland Association of Non-Profit Homes for
the Aging.

Michigan Non-Profit Homes Association

Minnesota Association of Homes for the Aging

Missouri Association of Homes for the Aging

Montana Association of Homes for the Aging

Nation’s Capital Area Association of Homes for
the Aging

New Jersey Association of Non-Profit Homes for
the Aging

New York Association of Homes and Services for
the Aging

North Carolina Association of Non-Profit Homes for
the Aging

North Dakota Nursing Home Association

Oregon Association of Homes for the Aging

Pennsylvania Association of Non-Profit Homes for
the Aging

Rhode Island Association of Facilities for the Aged

South Dakota Association of Homes for the Aging

Texas Association of Homes for the Aging

Virginia Association of Nonprofit Homes for
the Aging

Washington Association of Homes for the Aging

Wisconsin Association of Homes and Services for

the Aging

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385012_0517%3A13. Public record. Not legal advice.
