# Amicus Curiae Brief — Hodgson v. Minnesota

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385012_0468%3A23

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1990
- **Citation:** 497 U.S. 417

## Text

#j, Supreme Court, U.S. |
= FILED

| SE@ 29 1989

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED § \

/ ‘ ™ > —

October Term, 1960

A an

7 \

NO. 8824125 and NO. 88-1309

HODGSON, et al.,
Petitioners,
v,
MINNESOTA, et al.,
Respondents.

MINNESOTA, et al..
Cross-Petitioners,
v.
HODGSON, et al..
Respondents.

On Writ of Certiorari to the United States
Court of Appeals for the Eighth Circuit

BRIEF OF MEMBERS OF THE GENERAL
ASSEMBLY OF THE COMMONWEALTH OF
PENNSYLVANIA, AS AMICI CURIAE IN
SUPPORT OF THE STATE OF MINNESOTA

*Maura K. Quinlan

Philip J. Murren

BALL, SKELLY, MURREN & CONNELL
511 North Second Street

P. O. Box 1108

Harrisburg, PA 17108

(717) 232-8731

Counsel for Amici Curiae
September 29, 1989 *Counsel of Record

PACKARD PRESS / LEGAL DIVISION, 1617 JFK BOULEVARD, PHILA, PA 19103 (215) 563-9000

I. MINNESOTA'S PARENTAL NOTICE STAT-
UTE IS CONSTITUTIONAL UNDER ROE V.
WADE AND SUBSEQUENT DECISIONS OF

B. A Requirement of Parental Notice is Constitu-
tional Because it Does Not Constitute an
“Undue Burden” on Abortion and is Rationally
Related to Legitimate State Interests....... ;

. Assuming, Arguendo, That a Requirement of
‘Parental Notice Does Constitute an “Undue
Burden” on Abortion, Thereby Triggering
Heightened Scrutiny, the Statute is Still Con-
stitutional Because it is Reasonably Related to

Il. THE COURT SHOULD REEXAMINE ROE V.
WADE AND OVERRULE IT

CONCLUSION
APPENDIX A

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Cases: | Page
A.C.O.G. v. Thornburgh, 656 F.Supp. 879 (E.D.Pa.
Pere ocecscteedeesanel 1

A.C.O.G. v. Thornburgh, 737 F.2d 283 (3d Cir. 1984) .. 17

Akron v. Akron Center for Reproductive Health, 462 U.S.
er 4, 8,9, 15

Bellotti v. Baird, 443 U.S. 622 (1979) ........ 1, 4, 7, 10, 12

Black & White Taxicab and Transfer Co. v. Brown &
Yellow Taxicab and Transfer Co., 276 U.S. 518

1 rr 18
Danforth v. Rodgers, 414 U.S. 1035 (1973). ............ 14
Doe v. Bolton, 410 U.S. 172 (1973) ........20......24.. 17
H.B. v. Wilkinson, 639 F.Supp. 952 (D.Utah 1986) ..... 14
H.L. v. Matheson, 450 U.S. 398 (1981) ......... 5, 7, 12, 13

Hartigan v. Zbaraz, 484 U.S. 171, 98 L.Ed.2d 478

(REBT). oc cccccccccccevesecescesenseaninannnEE 5, 7

Hodgson v. Minnesota, 853 F.2d 1452, 1455 (8th Cir.
BED on ccccccccccevcascess keene Netes 3

Hodgson v. Minnesota, 648 F.Supp. 756 (D.Minn. 1986). 13
Planned Parenthood v. Ashcroft, 462 U.S. 476 (1983). 4, 9, 13

Planned Parenthood v. Casey, 686 F.Supp. 1089 (E.D.Pa.
BOD wo ccccccccesccccecesssesuueun sane 2

Planned Parenthood v. Danforth, 428 U.S. 52 (1976) ... .6, 12

Preston v. Thermalito School District, et al., No. 89930
(Butte County, California Superior Court filed Mar.

24, 1986, refilled Dec. 15, 1986) .................. ll
Roe v. Wade, 410 U.S. 113 (1973) .................. passim
Swift v. Tyson, 16 Pet. 1 (1842) ...............--05- 17, 18

Thornburgh v. A.C.O.G., 476 U.S. 744 (1986) . 1, 5, 6, 8, 15

ite Oh ieee, i ee es ei nee ee 6. oe ead

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — (Continued)

Cases: Page

Webster v. Reproductive Health Services, 492 U.S. __,
EE 14, 15

Statutes:

EG GGG arendiccesescccccceccecss 9

Other Sources:

Centers for Disease Control: Abortion Surveillance 1981,
SS 16, 17

Gardner, Scherier & Tester, Asserting Scientific Authority:
Cognitive Development and Adolescent Legal Rights,

American Psychologist (June, 1989) ............... 7
Nathanson, Aborting America (1979) .................. 16
Torres & Forrest, Why Do Women dave Abortions?, 20

Family Planning Perspectives 169 (1988). ......... 17

INTEREST OF THE AMICI CURIAE

Amici are members of the Pennsylvania General Assembly
whose names are listed in Appendix A hereto attached. They
represent members of both the House and Senate and both the
Democratic and Republican parties. Pennsylvania is one of
many states which have relied on the sincerity of this Court's
statements in Roe v. Wade, 410 U.S. 113 (1973), that the right
to abortion, as recognized therein, is not absolute and that the
states may regulate abortion in a manner which furthers their
important and legitimate interests.

In keeping with its duty to protect innocent life and
preserve maternal health, the General Assembly has grappled
with the abortion issue for the past sixteen years. It has been
difficult, however, for the General Assembly to comply with the
rulings of this Court regarding abortion, given the inherent
uncertainty regarding the contours of Roe under its existing
trimester framework. It also has been distressing to see the
General Assembly's motives for regulating abortion challenged
when it has consistently attempted to comply with this Court's
own prior rulings. See, e.g., Thornburgh v. American College of
Obstetricians and Gynecologists, 476 U.S. 744, 764 (1986).

In 1982, Pennsylvania enacted a law requiring parental
consent or judicial authorization prior to the performance of an
abortion upon a minor child. This law was crafted to comply with
this Court’s decision in Bellotti v. Baird, 443 U.S. 622
(1979)(Bellotti II). However, its enforcement was enjoined prior
to its operation on the ground that it did not expressly protect
the confidentiality of the judicial proceedings. A.C.O.G. v.
Thornburgh, 656 F.Supp. 879, 889 (E.D.Pa.1987). The General
Assembly, in 1988, enacted even more explicit language gov-
erning the judicial bypass proceedings. That statute, like its
predecessor, specifically provides that all court proceedings
“shall be confidential” and, in addition, provides that the court
which conducts the judicial proceedings “shall order a sealed
record of the pleadings, submissions, transcripts, exhibits, or-
ders, evidence and any other written material to be maintain-
ed.” Despite this express language, the district court also

l

2

enjoined enforcement of the new law; holding that it did not
guarantee absolute confidentiality since “[t]here is no assurance
that the minor’s petition will be sealed from the moment it is
filed.” Planned Parenthood v. Casey, 686 F. Supp. 1089
(E.D.Pa.1988). Amici have a substantial interest in preventing
such overly technical and rigid approaches by the lower courts
from frustrating the legitimate efforts of the Pennsylvania Gen-
eral Assembly to regulate in this area.

Amici, representing large constituencies in Pennsylvania,
also urge the Court to reexamine Roe and to overrule it so that
states may have greater flexibility in providing additional pro-
tections for pregnant women, pregnant minors, and unborn
children. A right, on the part of states, must be recognized to
deal with those interests according to values inherent in the
fabric and traditions of American constitutional law.

SUMMARY OF THE ARGUMENT

Minnesota law requires, with certain exceptions, that both
parents of a pregnant minor be notified 48 hours prior to the
performance of an abortion on their daughter. The Eighth
Circuit Court of Appeals held that prior decisions of this Court
required that Minnesota also provide for a judicial procedure
whereby the minor could avoid notification if she were found to
be mature or that an abortion was in her best interest. No prior
decision of this Court, however, requires a state to provide a
judicial alternative to parental notice. Moreover, when re-
viewed under the standards set forth in Roe and subsequent
decisions, Minnesota's statute is constitutional.

Amici respectfully urge this Court to determine and an-
nounce the proper benchmark by which statutes regulating
abortion should be judged so that state legislatures may be
guided by a clearly enunciated constitutional standard when
carrying out their duty to enact legislation in this sensitive and
difficult area. Amici believe this would best be accomplished by
reexamination and overruling of Roe v. Wade.

SS

3
ARGUMENT

I. MINNESOTA’S PARENTAL NOTICE STATUTE IS
CONSTITUTIONAL UNDER ROE wv. WADE AND
SUBSEQUENT DECISIONS OF THIS COURT.

Minnesota's law requires that both parents of a pregnant
minor be notified 48 hours prior to the performance of an
abortion upon her unless: (1) one of the parents cannot be
located through reasonably diligent efforts; (2) a medical emer-
gency exists and there is insufficient time to provide the
required notice; (3) the written consent of the parties required to
be notified already has been provided; or (4) the pregnant minor
declares that she is the victim of sexual abuse, neglect, or
physical abuse and has notified the proper authorities of that
fact. Minn.Stat. §144.343. Believing itself to be bound by prior
decisions of this Court, the Eighth Circuit held that Minnesota
could not require such notice unless it also provided for a
judicial procedure whereby the pregnant minor could avoid
notification altogether if she were found to be mature or that an
abortion was in her best interest. Hodgson v. Minnesota, 853
F.2d 1452, 1456-57 (8th Cir. 1988).

No prior decision of this Court, however, has held that a
judicial alternative is required in the context of a parental notice
requirement. Thus, that question remains open. Moreover, a
requirement of parental notice does not constitute an undue
burden on abortion and is rationally related to the state’s
legitimate interests in protecting the fundamental right of
parents to direct the upbringing of their children and in
protecting their children from making imprudent decisions
involving serious and irreversible consequences. Indeed, even if
a requirement of parental notice were considered to constitute
an “undue burden,” it would be constitutional because it
reasonably relates to the state’s compelling interests in protect-
ing parental rights, minor children and unborn children.

A. This Court has not Held that States Must Provide a
Judicial Alternative to Parental Notice.

4

A majority of this Court has held that the “relevant legal
standards with respect to parental-consent requirements are not
in dispute.” Planned Parenthood v. Ashcroft, 462 U.S. 476, 490
(1983) (emphasis added). A state wishing to require parental
consent prior to the performance of an abortion on a minor also
“must provide an alternative procedure whereby a pregnant
minor may demonstrate that she is sufficiently mature to make
the abortion decision herself or that, despite her immaturity, an
abortion would be in her best interests.” Akron v. Akron Center
for Reproductive Health, 462 U.S. 416, 439-440 (1983).!

A majority of this Court, however, has never held that a law
requiring parental notice must also provide a judicial alternative
to notice. The statutes at issue in Bellotti Il, Akron, and
Ashcroft all involved parental consent, where a veto power was
given to-parents, rather than parental notice which provides for
no such veto power.? Indeed, the Court specifically noted in
both Akron and Ashcroft that parental notice provisions were
not at issue.®

1. Amici recognize that prior decisions of the Court hold that parental
consent requirements are invalid without a bypass procedure. However, they
note that a majority of the present Court has never adopted: that position.
Given that the cases relied upon by plaintiffs throughout this litigation
involved parental consent and the standards articulated in that context, it
would be appropriate for this Court to reevaluate the continuing validity of
such decisions. If a minor has no constitutional right to obtain an abortion
without parental consent, she surely has no right to do so without parental
notification.

2. Although much of the plurality opinion of Justice Powell in Bellotti I]
appears to equate notice and consent provisions, it is clear that a majority of
that Court did not hold that notice and consent were equivalent. See, 443 U.S.
at 654 n.1 (Stevens, J., concurring in judgment, joined by Brennan, Marshall
and Blackmun, JJ.) (“Neither Danforth nor this case determines the constitu-
tionality of a statute which does no more than require notice to the parents,
without affording them or any other third party an absolute veto.”) Id. at
651-52 (Rehnquist, J., concurring); Id. at 656-57 (White, J., dissenting)
(continuing to hold his views expressed in Danforth).

3. In Akron, the Court stated: “The Court of Appeals upheld
§1870.05(A)’s notification requirement . . . . The validity of this ruling has not
been challenged in this Court.” 462 U.S. at 439 n.29 (citation omitted). See
also, Akron, 462 U.S. at 469 n.12 (O'Connor, J., dissenting). Also, in Ashcroft,

5

H.L. v. Matheson, 450 U.S. 398 (1981), was the only case in
which the constitutionality of a statute requiring parental notice
rather than consent was before the full Court.‘ In that case, the
Court expressly declined to rule on the question of whether a
judicial alternative is necessary in the context of parental
notice.5

Since no decision of the Court has held that a judicial
alternative to parental notice is constitutionally mandated, that
question remains open.

B. A Requirement of Parental Notice is Constitutional
Because it Does Not Constitute an “Undue Burden” on
Abortion and is Rationally Related to Legitimate State
Interests.

In Thornburgh v. American College of Obstetricians and
Gynecologists, 476 U.S. 747 (1986), Justice O’Connor restated
the standard under which abortion laws should be reviewed:

Under this Court’s fundamental-rights jurisprudence, judi-
cial scrutiny of state regulation of abortion should be limited
to whether the state law bears a rational relationship to

the Court stated: “The lower courts found that §188.028’s notice requirement
was unconstitutional. The State has not sought review of that judgment here.
Thus, in the posture in which it appears before this Court for review, §188.028
contains no requirement for parental notification.” 462 U.S. at 491 n.17
(citations omitted).

4. Although Hartigan v. Zbaraz, 484 U.S. 171, 98 L.Ed.2d 478 (1987)
involved the Illinois parental notice statute, the Court only affirmed the
judgment below by an equally divided vote.

5. “Members of the particular class now before us in this case have no
constitutional right to notify a court in lieu of notifying their parents. This case
does not require us to decide in what circumstances a state must provide
alternatives to parental notification.” 450 U.S. at 413, n.22 (citation omitted).
See also, Matheson, 450 U.S. at 414 (Powell, J., concurring) (“I join the
opinion of the Court on the understanding that it leaves open the question
whether §76-7-304(2) unconstitutionally burdens the right of a mature minor or
a minor whose best interest would not be served by parental notification.”)
(emphasis added); Id. at 420-421 (Stevens, J., concurring) (Court should have
addressed the question of whether a State may require notification of all minor
women regardless of their maturity and should have held that it may require

such notice).

6

legitimate purposes such as the advancement of [the state’s]
compelling interest . . . An undue burden will generally be
found “in situations involving absolute obstacles or severe
limitations on the abortion decision,” not wherever a state
regulation “may ‘inhibit’ abortions to some degree.”

Thornburgh, 476 U.S. at 828 (internal citations omitted).

There is a fundamental difference between a statute which
requires parental consent prior to the performance of an abor-
tion on a minor and one which requires only that parents be
notified prior to the abortion. This Court has viewed a require-
ment of consent as granting to parents “an absolute, and possibly
arbitrary;-yeto over the decision of the physician and his patient
to terminate the patient's pregnancy, regardless of the reason for
withholding the consent.” Planned Parenthood v. Danforth, 428
U.S. at 74.® In contrast, a notice requirement grants no veto
power to the parents whatsoever. Regardless of her parents’
wishes, the minor may obtain an abortion once her parents have
been notified. Thus, a requirement of parental notice does not
involve an “absolute obstacle” to or even a “severe limitation” on
abortion. Accordingly, it does not constitute an “undue
burden.””

Since a requirement of parental notice does not constitute
an “undue burden,” it need only rationally relate to the state's
legitimate interests. Minnesota has a legitimate and compelling
interest in protecting the rights of parents to counsel their
children on important decisions and in protecting minors “who
often lack the ability to make fully informed choices that take

account of both immediate and long-range consequences [of

6. Justice Stevens, however, argued persuasively in Danforth that a
parental consent requirement is justified by the state’s compelling interests.
428 U.S. at 102-105 (Stevens, J., dissenting).

7. The fact that the Minnesota law requires a 48-hour waiting period does
not alter this conclusion. The waiting period is designed to allow parents some
meaningful opportunity to consult with their daughters and merely postpones
the effectuation of the minor's decision. Should the parents disagree with a
decision to abort, they cannot prevent the minor from obtaining an abortion by
withholding their consent. Rather, at the conclusion of the waiting period, the
minor may effectuate her decision despite her parents wishes.

ee ee

7

their decisions],” from making imprudent decisions without the
benefit of their parents’ guidance. Bellotti Il, 443 U.S. at 640.
See also, Matheson, 450 U.S. at 421 (Stevens, J., concurring)
(the state’s interest is “fundamental and substantial.”) Requiring
that parents be notified prior to the performance of an abortion
upon their minor daughter and affording them an opportunity to
consult with her and advise her regarding the wisdom of
undergoing an abortion certainly furthers both of the state’s
interests.

Plaintiffs argue that there is no need for parental notice laws
and that such laws are not rationally related to the state’s interest
in assuring that a wise decision is made regarding the desirabil-
ity of abortion. They~base this claim, in part, upon expert
testimony from their witnesses, that by age 14 minors are
indistinguishable from adults in their capacity to make personal
decisions. Aside from the fact that such an assertion conflicts
with common sens and experience, it has been soundly criti-
cized in technical journals as overstating the premise. See
Gardner, Scherier & Tester, Asserting Scientific Authority:
Cognitive Development and Adolescent Legal Rights, American
Psychologist, 895-902 (June, 1989) (criticizing assertions of “fact”
regarding equivalence of decision-making skills of children and
adults in briefs filed in this Court in Hartigan v. Zbaraz).

Indeed, much of the plaintiffs’ expert testimony regarding
the maturity of minors to make the abortion decision without
parental involvement reflects a pro-abortion mentality — starting
from the premise that a decision to undergo an abortion
evidences maturity and that, a fortiori, a minor who desires an
abortion is mature: States must not be restricted to legislating in
a manner which relies upon such biased assumptions and “facts”
which are largely unprovable.

C. Assuming, Arguendo, that a Requirement of Parental
Notice Does Constitute an “Undue Burden” on Abortion,
Thereby Triggering Heightened Scrutiny, the Statute is
Still Constitutional Because it is Reasonably Related to
Compelling State Interests.

8

Heightened judicial scrutiny of state abortion regulations is,
as Justice O'Connor stated:

. reserved for instances in which the state has imposed an
“undue burden” on the abortion decision . . . And if a state
law does interfere with the abortion decision to an extent
that is unduly burdensome, so that it becomes “necessary to
apply an exacting standard of review,” the possibility
remains that the statute will withstand the stricter scrutiny.

Thornburgh, 476 U.S. at 828, O'Connor, J., dissenting.

The “stricter scrutiny” applied by this Court in abortion
cases, however, does not encompass the “narrowly drawn” test
traditionally applied to statutes involving fundamental rights. As
Justice O'Connor noted in Akron:

The Court has never required that state regulation that
burdens the abortion decision be “narrowly drawn” to
express only the relevant state interest. In Roe, the Court
mentioned “narrowly drawn” legislative enactments, 410
U.S. at 155, but the Court never actually adopted this
standard in the Roe analysis. In its decision today, the
Court fully endorses the Roe requirement that a burden-
some health regulation, or as the Court appears to call it, a
“significant obstacle,” (citation omitted) be “reasonably
related” to the state’s compelling interest.

Akron, 462 U.S. 416, 467-468, n.11.°

8. The Roe Court noted th « | © certain ‘fundamental rights’ are
involved, tne Court has held e © « «© limiting those rights may be
justified only by a ‘compelling & ‘eres « that legislative enactments must
be narrowly drawn to express oni | — imate state interests at stake.” 410
U.S. at 155 (citations omitted) (emphasis added). Although this passage of Roe
is often quoted as the appropriate standard of review for abortion legislation,
the Roe Court clearly did not adopt the “narrowly drawn” part of that test. The
above comment was made in the context of a review of the Court's approach
previously taken toward various privacy interests—i.e., marital intimacy,
marriage and contraceptives. After tracing the manner in which fundamental
rights grounded in privacy traditionally had been reviewed, the Court stated
that the fundamental right of privacy as it concerned abortion was inherently
different from those other fundamental rights. Id. at 159.

9

This “reasorableness” test was relied upon by the Court
throughout its 1983 decisions. For example, in Akron, the Court
stated:

[T]he state “may regulate the abortion procedure to the
extent that the regulation reasonably relates to the preser-
vation and protection of maternal health.” Roe, 410 U.S. at
163.

462 U.S. at 430-431 (emphasis added). Again, in Ashcroft, the
Court upheld the Missouri statute requiring that a second
physician be present during post-viable abortions because it
“reasonably further[ed] the State’s compelling interest in pro-
tecting the lives of viable fetuses.” 462 U.S. at 486.9

~e

The test ultimately adopted in Roe was an intermediate ne which reflects
the differences, noted by the Court, befWeen the right of privacy as it concerns
abortion and that right as it concerns other fundamental interests which do not
involve “potential life.” After noting that the state's interest in maternal health
becomes compelling at approximately the end of the first trimester, the Court
held that states could regulate abortions after that stage in pregnancy in a
manner that “reasonably relates to the preservation of maternal health.” Roe,
410 U.S. at 163 (emphasis added).

9. The Court upheld this requirement even for abortions performed by
dismemberment (D&E) when there was no possibility of fetal survival. Justice
Blackmun, in dissent, felt that the Court's relaxed and flexible approach was an
unjustified departure from “narrowly drawn” standards applied in other
privacy areas. Thus he stated:

When a D&E abortion is performed, the second physician can do nothing

that furthers the state’s compelling interest in protecting potential life.

His presence is superfluous . . . . Because the statute is not tailored to

protect the state's legitimate interest, I would hold it invalid.

Id. at 500. A majoriiy of the Ashcroft Court, however, rejected Justice
Blackmun’s reasoning and his application of a narrowly drawn approach to such
legislation. Instead, it applied the reasonableness test adopted in Roe and
reaffirmed in Akron.

[T}he state’s compelling interest in protecting the viable fetus justifies the

second physician requirement even though there may be the rare case

when a physician may think honestly that D&E is required for the
mother’s health. Legislation need not accommodate every conceivable
contingency.

Id. at 484 n.7 (emphasis added).

10

Moreover, it is clear that the “narrowly drawn” test has not
been applied in the context of statutes requiring parental
involvement. For example, in Bellotti 11, Justice Powell stated:

As [the Massachusetts law] provides for involvement of the
state superior court in minors’ abortion decisions, we
discuss the alternative procedure described in this text in
terms of judicial proceedings. We do not suggest, however,
that a state choosing to require parental consent could not
delegate the alternative procedure to a juvenile court or an
administrative agency or office. Indeed, much can be said
for employing procedures and a forum less formal than
those associated with a court of general jurisdiction.

443 U.S. at 643, n.22. Certainly, employment of “procedures
and a forum less formal than those associated with a court of
general jurisdiction” would be less restrictive than requiring
minors to pursue a judicial alternative to parental consent.
Although the Court recognized that such less restrictive alter-
natives -were available, it held that the states could impose the
more burdensome requirement of proceeding in a court of
general jurisdiction.

Thus, plaintiffs’ claim that a “parental involvement require-
ment, with or without a judicial bypass system, cannot be
sustained unless the state is able to prove that the statute is
necessary, narrowly tailored, and actually serving state interests
previously recognized as significant or compelling” (Petition for
Certiorari at 9 n.15) is unsupported by this Court's prior
decisions and must be rejected.

Assuming, arguendo, that a requirement of parental notice
does constitute an “undue burden,” it is still constitutional
under the above standerds. Parents have a fundamental consti-
tutional right to direct the upbringing of their children. Bellotti
Il, 443 U.S. at 637-639. It is virtually impossible for them to
exercise this right and fulfill their responsibilities regarding the
upbringing of their children when those children are spirited
away and convinced to have abortions without notifying their

—_

ll

parents.'° To hold that the Constitution requires a judicial
alternative to parental notice would effectively nullify the fun-
damental right of parents to have a guiding role in the upbring-
ing of their children. At a minimum, parents have a right to be
notified when their children are in stressful circumstances, faced
with decisions having irreversible and grave consequences, and
to offer them advice and guidance. Thus, the parental notice law
furthers the state’s compelling interest in protecting parental
rights.

The state also has a compelling interest in protecting
pregnant minors from the consequences of an incorrect abortion
decision. As has been noted several times by members of the
Court:

There can be little doubt that the state furthers a constitu-
tionally permissible end by encouraging an unmarried
pregnant minor to seek the help and advice of her parents
in making the very important decision whether or not to
bear a child. That is a grave decision, and a girl of tender
years, under emotional distress, may be ill equipped to
make it without mature advice and emotional support. It
seems unlikely that she will obtain adequate counsel and

10. A California case is illustrative of this concern. In Preston v.
Thermalito School District, et al., No. 89930 (Butte County, California
Superior Court filed Mar. 24, 1986, refiled Dec. 15, 1986), a junior high school
teacher, through a course of deceptive conduct, arranged for an abortion for a
14 year old immature and unemancipated minor student without notifying the
child’s parents, despite the fact that the mother had personally visited the
school principal to request that she, through a system of “daily reports,” be
kept apprised of all matters relating te her daughter.

The facts allege that despite the mother’s explicit plea to be so informed,
the daily reports were manipulated by the school in an effort to conceal the fact
that the minor had been excused frem school on several occasions relative to
the abortion. In addition, the teacher sent the mother a note seeking’
permission for the girl to babysit at the teacher's home, when in fact the
teacher planned to transport the minor to have the abortion.

The girl's mother did not learn of the deception and the abortion until four
davs later when summoned to the hospital emergency room where her minor
daughter was undergoing emergency surgery for post-abortion complications.

12

support from the attending physician at an abortion clinic,
where abortions for pregnant minors frequently take place.

Danforth, 428 U.S. at 91 (Stewart, J., concurring) (footnote
omitted); Bellotti Il, 443 U.S. at 621-22 (Powell, J.,).

It remains true that the vast majority of minors obtain
abortions in clinics where they are counseled, if at all, by those
who do not know them and, thus, have no reliable way of
judging what is in their best interest. In addition, the fact that
the salaries of clinic “counselors” are paid by the abortion clinic
which profits when they convince a minor to have an abortion
hardly ensures that they will be provided unbiased information.

Moreover, it is quite possible that many teenagers will
misjudge their parents’ reactions. As Justice Stevens noted in
Matheson:

If there is no parental-[notice] requirement, many minors
will submit to the abortion procedure without ever inform-
ing their parents. An assumption that the parental reaction
will be hostile, disparaging, or violent no doubt persuades
many children simply to bypass parental counsel which
would in fact be loving, supportive, and, indeed, for some
indispensable. It is unrealistic, in my judgment, to assume
that every parent-child relationship is either (a) so perfect
that communication and accord will take place routinely or
(b) so imperfect that the absence of communication reflects
the child’s correct prediction that the parent will . . . [act]
arbitrarily to further a selfish interest rather than the child's
interest. A state legislature may conclude that most parents
will be primarily interested in the welfare of their children,
and further, that the imposition of a parental-[notice]
requirement is an appropriate method of giving the parents
an opportunity to foster that welfare by helping a pregnant
distressed child to make and to implement a correct
decision.

450 U.S. at 423-424. Also, as Justice Stevens aptly noted:

The possibility that some parents will not react with
compassion and understanding upon being informed of

13

their daughter's predicament or that, even if they are
receptive, they will incorrectly advise her, does not under-
cut the legitimacy of the State’s attempt to establish a
procedure that will enhance the probability that a pregnant
young woman exercise as wisely as possible her right to
make the abortion decision.

Id. at 424.

Thus, states should not be forced to provide a bypass
procedure to the notification requirement. The record in this
case shows that some Minnesota judges simply “rubber stamp”
petitions of minors utilizing the bypass procedure. Hodgson v.
Minnesota, 648 F.Supp. 756 (D.Minn.1986). Contrary to plain-
tiffs’ assertions, however, this fact does not indicate that parental
notice laws serve no purpose. Instead, it demonstrates only that
the states are prevented from adequately furthering their inter-
ests in preserving parental rights and protecting minor children
when they are required to provide “rubber-stamp” bypass
procedures.

The Minnesota law reasonably relates to the State’s interest
in protecting pregnant minors by assuring that those who are
most likely to have the minor's best interests in mind—her
parents —are given the opportunity to provide her advice. This
protects the pregnant minor from being left to rely on whatever
information biased and unfamiliar clinic personnel wish to
provide.

Finally, the State has a legitimate and compelling interest
in protecting fetal life which exists throughout pregnancy.
Ashcroft, 462 U.S. at 505 (O'Connor, J., dissenting). The state
also has a compelling interest in preventing teen pregnancy —a
problem of seemingly runaway proportion. Prior to enforcement
of the Minnesota parental notice law, the number of teen
pregnancies and abortions had been steadily increasing. After
the law became effective, both the teen abortion rate and teen
pregnancy rate dropped substantially.'!! Thus, the Minnesota

11. In Minnesota, between 1980 (the last full year prior to enforcement
of the parental notice law) and 1984, (a time during which the law was in
effect), the number of abortions for teenagers under the age of 18 dropped
from 2,327 to 1,395—a decline of 40.1% — and the decline in the abortion rate

14
law has also furthered these state interests.

Il. THE COURT SHOULD REEXANMINE ROE V. WADE
AND OVERRULE IT.

In Webster v. Reproductive Health Service, five Justices of
this Court expressed the view that Roe’s trimester framework is
“unworkable,” “flawed,” and “problematic.” 106 L.Ed.2d at
435-36 (Rehnquist, C.J., joined by Kennedy, J. and White, J.);
Id. at 443 (O'Connor, J., concurring); Id. at 445 (Scalia, J.,
concurring). However, only Justice Scalia stated that he was
willing to reexamine Roe and overrule it explicitly. And, al-
though Justices Rehnquist, White and Kennedy would have
abandoned the Roe trimester framework in Webster, '? Justice
O'Connor did not feel it necessary to reject that framework

for this age group was 32.2%. Figures based on data contained in Reported
Induced Abortions, published yearly by the Minnesota Department of Health.
For the same time period and age group, the number of births dropped from
2,083 to 1,654—a decline of 18.6% —and the birthrate dropped statewide by
7.9%. Figures obtained from Minnesota Department of Health computer
printouts regarding births and female population size. Also during this time
period, the number of pregnancies (abortions plus births) for Minnesota teens
under age 18 dropped from 4,360 to 3,049—a decline of 30,1%—and the
pregnancy rate decreased 20.9%. Id.

Thus, not only does it appear that the parental notice law has reduced the
number of teen abortions, it also appears that the law has had a beneficial
impact on reducing the overall teen pregnancy rate. Indeed, that teens are
avoiding pregnancy altogether is also supported by the statements made by a
pregnant teen seeking an abortion in Utah. In response to a question from the
judge regarding whether she had attempted to prevent the pregnancy the
pregnant girl indicated that she had not since she thought she could easily
obtain an abortion without her parents learning about it. H.B. v. Wilkinson,
639 F.Supp. 952, 956 (D.Utah 1986). Presumably, this girl would have used
preventive measures or avoided sexual activity had she known, in advance,
that her parents would be notified in the event she became pregnant and
sought an abortion.

12. It should be noted that while Justice Rehnquist stated that Roe need
not be reevaluated because Missouri had chosen viability as the point at which
it wished to protect fetal life, that statement fails to recognize that Missouri
“chose” the point of viability to regulate on behalf of fetal life only because this
Court struck down its prior law which protected the unborn child throughout
pregnancy, in Danforth v. Rodgers, 414 U.S. 1035 (1973).

15

despite her continued belief that it “cannot be supported as a
legitimate or useful framework” and has “no justification in law
or logic.” Akron, 462 U.S. at 453, 459.

Amici urge the Court to abandon this piecemeal approach
because it effectively places the state legislatures in no-man’s-
land. Amici are required to attempt to divine the views of the
various Justices regarding the extent to which abortion is
tonstitutionally protected in order to enact legislation which will
protect unborn children to the fullest extent possible. This. of
course, is a very difficult task given the variety of opinions issued
in Webster.

Consequently, amici respectfully submit that the Court
should determine the prgper benchmark by which statutes
regulating abortion should be judged before evaluating the
constitutionality of those statutes. Such a determination would
be greatly preferable to the unpredictable course resulting from
the division of opinion in Webster.

The issue of abortion is divisive and hotly disputed in the
legislative arena as well as this Court. As Justice O'Connor
stated in Thornburgh, this Court’s abortion decisions “have
already worked a major distortion in the Court's constitutional
jurisprudence” and have had an “institutionally debilitating
effect” on the Court. Thornburgh, 476 U.S. at 814 (O'Connor,
J., dissenting). Amici submit that the absence of an identifiable
standard after Webster —thus requiring the state legislatures to
speculate about the scope of the “limited” nature of the right to
abort —will have a similar “institutionally debilitating effect”
upon the State General Assemblies.'

Without definite guidance from the Court regarding the
constitutional limits on their ability to enact legislation, the
states will be forced to address the issue with great uncertainty
again and again--to the potential detriment of other pressing
business. Given that the members of the General Assemblies of
the various states take an oath to uphold the Constitution, it is

13. Significantly, whenever the General Assembly is wrong in its assess-
ment, the Commonwealth may be penalized by having substantial awards of
attorneys’ fees assessed against it.

16

appropriate for this Court to declare whether the right of privacy
protected by the Constitution includes the right to obtain an
abortion. And, if the Constitution presently does not prohibit
states from protecting fetal life, the Court should make this
known to the states so that they may be allowed to regulate to
the fullest extent constitutionally permissible, if they so
choose. !4

14. Although only a few states would probably limit abortions to those
necessary to preserve a womans life, dire predictions abound of women dying
from “back alley” abortions. These predictions are simply unfounded. For
example, a leading member of the pre-Roe “abortion reform” movement, Dr.
Bernard N. Nathanson (co-founder of the National Abortion Rights Action
League), has admitted to nis organization’s knowing falsification of “back-alley”
abortion death statistics:

How many deaths were we talking about when abortion was illegal? In

N.A.R.A.L. we generally emphasized the drama of the individual case,

not the mass statistics, but when we spoke of the latter it was always

“5,000-10,000 deaths a year.” I confess that I knew the figures were totally

false, and I suppose the others did too if they stopped to think of it. But

in the ‘morality’ of our revolution, it was a useful figure, widely accepted,
so why go out of the way to correct it with F nest statistics? The overriding
concern was to get the laws eliminated, and anything within reason that
had to be done was permissible.

B.N. Nathanson, M.D., Aborting America, at 193 (1979).

In 1972 prior to Roe, 33 states prohibited abortions except where
necessary to preserve the life of the mother, while others permitted abortion
in various circumstances. The CDC report on induced abortions shows that
during 1972 (when medical technology was not as advanced as today) 24
women died from legal abortions while 39 died from illegal abortions. Centers
for Disease Control: Abortion Surveillance 1981, p. 51, Figure 8. It is unlikely
that, in the present political climate, 33 states will be able to pass legislation
limiting abortions to life-of-the-mother situations. But even if this many states
were to do so, with advances in medical care, it is exceedingly unlikely that
anywhere near 39 women would die of illegal abortions.

Moreover, in 1973, after Roe made abortion legal on demand, 25 women
died from legal abortions and 19 died from illegal abortions. Thus, legalizing
abortion on demand has had little impact on the number of maternal deaths
from abortion. Indeed, between 1973 and 1982 (the last year for which
statistics are available) while abortions have been legal on demand, almost four
times as many women have died from legal abortion as from illegal abortions.
Id.

17

At the core of the majority opinion in Roe there operates
the fundamental fallacy that state legislatures are constitution-
ally forbidden to provide significant legal protection for human
life at its most vulnerable stage. Yet it is state legislatures which
are expressly designed as fora for the resolution and continuing
adjustment of such difficult governmental questions. Roe’s dis-
regard for the judgment of state legislators casts this Court in the
role of deciding essentially legislative questions, and transfers
the burden of correcting “unwise” legislative judgments from
the electoral process to the federal courts. Not only does this
assumption of the legislative role sap the legitimacy of the
courts, it has failed to achieve the political stabilization of the
issue of abortion which was its evident purpose. Roe has only
served to postpone the achievement of that stabilization.

In an earlier time, Justice Holmes urged the prompt
correction of the fallacious premise of Swift v. Tyson, 16 Pet. 1
(1842):

[T]he fallacy has resulted in an unconstitutional assumption
of powers by the courts of the United States which no lapse
of time or respectable array of opinion should make us
hesitate to correct.

Meanwhile, unborn children die at a rate of 1.5 million per year--with
approximately 1%, or 15,000 per year (220,000 since Roe), being killed
between the 20th week of pregnancy and birth. Centers for Disease Control:
Abortion Surveillance 1981, p.iv, Summary Table. Such late-term abortions
must be allowed for any reason relevant to the “health” of the woman. Roe v.
Wade, 410 U.S. at 163. As defined in Doe v. Bolton, “health” is broad, indeed,
including emotional well-being and the woman's family situation. 410 U.S.
179, 192 (1973); A.C.O.G. v. Thornburgh, 737 F.2d 283, 299 (3rd Cir. 1984)
(the broad definition of “health” applies to abortions after viability as well as
before viability). Indeed, few late-term abortions are performed due to risk to
the physical health of the mother. A recent study indicated that 71% of the
women obtaining abortions after the 16th week of pregnancy did so because
they did not recognize that they were pregnant or had misjudged gestation.
Torres & Forrest, Why do Women Have Abortions?, 20 Family Planning
Perspectives 169, 174 (Table 4) (1988), Maternal health as a reason for
late-term abortion did not have sufficient statistical significance even to be
listed in the table. Id. And, the study states that women “were less likely to be
having a later abortion . . . if they were having health problems. . .” Id.

18
Black & White Taxicab and Transfer Co. v. Brown & Yellow
Taxicab and Transfer Co., 276 U.S. 518, 533 (1928).

What was at stake in the abandonment of the rule of federal
common law of Swift v. Tyson was primarily parameters of
federal-state relationships and rights of private property. Roe
has not only skewed legislative-judicial relationships, it has cost
the rights of over 20 million potential citizens to have any say at
all over their own life or death. The tragedy of Roe is certainly
manifest in the loss of human life it has occasioned, but it is also
manifest in the powerlessness to correct that situation which has
been enforced on the voting citizens of this nation.

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, amici curiae request that this
Court uphold Minnesota's parental notice law in its entirety and
reexamine and overrule Roe v. Wade so that the states may be
given greater flexibility to protect unborn human life.

Respectfully submitted,
*Maura K. Quinlan

Philip J. Murren

BALL, SKELLY, MURREN & CONNELL
511 North Second Street

P. O. Box 1108

Harrisburg, PA 17108

(717) 232-8731

Attorneys for Amici Curiae
*Counsel of Record
September 29, 1989

APPENDIX

i ED a a

APPENDIX A
THE AMICI CURIAE

The amici curiae consist of members of the General Assem-

bly of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania, including the follow-

ing:

Senators: D. Michael Fisher (R) Allegheny; Edward Ww.
Helfrick (R) Westmoreland; J. William Lincoln (D) Fayette;
Robert J. Mellow (D) Lackawanna; Raphael J. Musto (D)
Luzerne; Terry L. Punt (R) Franklin; M. Joseph Rocks (R)
Philadelphia; Frank A. Salvatore (R) Philadelphia; John J.
Schumaker (R) Dauphin; William J. Stewart (D) Cambria.

House Members: John E. Barley (R) Lancaster; Fred
Belardi (D) Lackawanna; Robert E. Belfanti, Jr. (D) Nor-
thumberland; Jerry Birmelin (R) Wayne; Kevin Blaum (D)
Luzerne; Karl W. Boyes (R) Erie; Raymond Bunt, Jr. (R)
Montgomery; James M. Burd (R) Butler; Alvin C. Bush (R)
Lycoming; Thomas R. Caltagirone (D) Berks; Edgar A.
Carlson (R) Tioga; Gaynor Cawley (D) Lackawanna; Richard
J. Cessar (R) Allegheny; Mario J. Civero, Jr. (R) Delaware;
Nicholas A. Colafella (D) Beaver; Anthony L. Colaizzo (D)
Washington; Anthony M. DeLuca (Dy Allegheny; Thomas
W. Dempsey (R) Lycoming; Scott Dietterick (R) Luzerne;
Rudolph Dininni (R) Dauphin; Jim Distler (R) Elk; Bernard
J. Dombrowski (D) (Erie); Thomas J. Fee (D) Lawrence;
Patrick E. Fleagle (R) Franklin; A. Carville Foster (R) York;
Stephen F. Freind (R) Delaware; James J. Gallen (R) Berks;
Ron Gamble (D) Allegheny; Frank J. Gigliotti (D) Alleg-
heny; Leonard Q. Gruppo (R) Northampton; George C.
Hasay (R) Luzerne; Arthur D. Hershey (R) Chester; Stanley
J. Jarolin (D) Luzerne; Edwin G. Johnson (R) Blair; Ralph.
Kaiser (D) Allegheny; Ted V. Kondrich (R) Allegheny;
Gerard A. Kosinski (D) Philadetphia; Susan Laughlin (D)
Beaver; Dennis E. Leh (R) Berks; William R. Lloyd, Jr. (D)

A-l’

A-2

Somerset; Edward J. Lucyk (D) Schuylkill; Joseph Marko-
sek (D) Allegheny; Keith R. McCall (D) Carbon; Christo-
pher K. McNally (D) Allegheny; Emil Mrkonic (D) Alleg-
heny; Dennis M. O’Brien (R) Philadelphia; Richard D.
Olasz (D) Allegheny; John M. Perzel (R) Philadelphia;
Merle H. Phillips (R) Northumberland; Joseph R. Pitts (R)
Chester; Jere W. Schuler (R) Lancaster; Frank A. Serafini
(R) Lackawanna; Edward G. Stabeck (D) Lackawanna;
Thomas B. Stish (D) Luzerne; Jere L. Strittmatter (R)
Lancaster; Ted Stuban (D) Columbia; Leona G. Telek (R)
Cambria; Thomas M. Tigue (D) Luzerne; Fred A. Trello
(D) Allegheny; Peter R. Vroon (R) Chester; Christopher R.
Wogan (R) Philadelphia; Frank W. Yandrisevits (D) Nor-
thampton.

_

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385012_0468%3A23. Public record. Not legal advice.
