# Amicus Curiae Brief — Hodgson v. Minnesota

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385012_0468%3A18

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1990
- **Citation:** 497 U.S. 417

## Text

No. 88-1125 ~
No. 88-1309

du the
Supreme Court of the United States

OcrosBer TERM, 1989

HODGSON, Et AL.,
APPELLANTS AND CROSS APPELLEES,
v.

MINNESOTA,
APPELLEES AND CROSS APPELLANTS.

On appeal from the United States Court of Appeals
for the Eighth Circuit

No. 88-805 \

OHIO,
APPELLANT,
v.
AKRON CENTER FOR REPRODUCTIVE HEALTH,
APPELLEE.

On appeal from the United States Court of Appeals
for the Sixth Circuit

BRIEF AMICI CURIAE IN SUPPORT OF HODGSON
APPELLANTS AND AKRON APPELLEES BY
The Center for Population Options, et al.
(Complete list of amici curiae appears on first page)

Joun H. HENN
(Counsel of Record)
Nina JOAN KIMBALL
Fo.ey, Hoac & ELior
One Post Office Square
Boston, Massachusetts 02109
(617) 482-1390

Blanchard Press, Inc., Boston, Mass. — Law Printers [617] 426-6690

f. The Center for Population Options
a Planned Parenthood League of Massachusetts, Inc.
Girls Clubs of America
Massachusetts Judicial Consent for Minors Lawyer Referral Panel
Mobilization for Youth Health Services, Inc.
t United States Student Association
‘ x YWCA of Brooklyn
a . Students and Youth Against Racism
William Kassen, Comm. on Child Development Research & Public Policy
American Public Health Association
a National Family Planning and Reproductive Health Association
F. Abortion Rights Mobilization
Abortion Rights Council
Choices Women’s Medical Center
| . Child Care Law Center
F National Organization for Women
5, American Association of University Women
American Jewish Congress
National Council of Jewish Women
Women’s Law Project
" Women’s Action Alliance, Inc.
a National Gay & Lesbian Task Force
; National Gay Rights Advocates
: Lambda Legal Defense and Education Fund
National Council for Research on Women
Minority Prison Project
All-Peoples Congress
Women’s Bar Association of Massachusetts
California Women Lawyers
Women’s Bar Association of Illinois
Women Lawyers Association of Los Angeles
New York State Coalition Against Domestic Violence
Tucson Women’s Commission
New York Women in Criminal Justice
Missouri Women’s Network
Connecticut Women’s Education and Legal Fund, Inc.
Hawati Women Lawyers
North Carolina Equity
San Francisco Women Lawyers Alliance
Queen’s Bench of the San Francisco Bay Area
Fresno Free College Foundation |

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
Nee cies eek deesesccesces: ii
Interest of Amici Curiae ...... 2.2... l
Summary of Argument.................0..66..0005. 1
ECC R Es. Sees ees secccsecccccseseccs 4

I. A Decision By Tus Court To Take Away or Con-
STRAIN THE FUNDAMENTAL RiGHT To CHooseE WouLD

DEVASTATE TEENAGEGIRIS ..................... 4
A. Teenage Pregnancy Is Almost Always Unin-
eee Deck bdeadeensdacsccess 5
B. Teenage Pregnancy and Childbearing Is Highly
Risky Physically and Psychologically for Teen-
age Girls and the Children They Bear ........ 6

C. Pregnant Teenagers, Teenage Mothers and
Their Families Are More Likely to Lose Educa-

tional and Economic Opportunities and To Be
Dependent Upon Public Support ............ 9
D. Teenage Girls Need Even More Privacy in
Matters of Sexuality Than Older Women and
Forced Parental Involvement Harms, Rather
Than Enhances, the Quality of Their Decision
Making in Matters of Reproductive Rights .... 12
Il. THe FUNDAMENTAL RicHTt oF Minors To EXERcisE
TuHem RicHt To CHoose SHoutp Not Be Conp-
TIONED ON PARENTAL NOTICE OR CONSENT, AND CER-
TAINLY Not WitHout A MEANINGFUL JUDICIAL OR
kc occ escacaseccceses esse 14
A. Parental Notification Laws and Parental Con-
sent Laws Are Functionally Equivalent Be-
cause They Cause the Same Harm, and Because
For Minors They Impose the Same Burden .... 15
B. Parental Notification or Consent Requirements
Are Unduly Burdensome and Fail in Operation
to Serve Their Intended Purposes ............ 16

ii Table of Contents

Page
1. Parental Notification or Consent Require-
ments Do Not Protect Minors From Mak-
ing Immature Decisions ............... 16
2. Parental Notification or Consent Require-
ments Do Not Enhance Intrafamily Com-
WT SS bs 66-9 oc hvaddcedeaaels 18
3. Parental Notification or Consent Require-
ments Harm Pregnant Teenage Girls by
Delaying Their Abortion Choice ........ 19
4. The Requirement That, to Avoid a Court
Hearing, Both Parents Must Be Notified is
Unduly Burdensome and Contrary to the
State’s Asserted Purposes in Many Family
SE 5 vida ecevSren dew esddatedcs 21
C. If Court Upholds Parental Notification, it Must
Preserve a Judicial or Other By-Pass to Protect
Minors’ Privacy Rights, and the By-Pass Must

Be Meaningful and Workable ............... 22
1. By-Pass Must Be Preserved ............. 22
2. By-Pass Must Be Meaningful and Work-
GRP 6a da scucucucievews wuhdiees taeus 23
eo Se rr err Dy ahaute tessa «tas 27

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Cases:

Akron v. Akron Center for Reproductive Health, 462
Ss GI os 0 kos oes anaieuneneceeei 14, 17, 22
Akron Center for Reproductive Health v. Rosen, 633 F.
Supp. 1123 (N.D. Ohio 1986), aff'd, Akron Center for
Reproductive Health v. Slaby, 854 F.2d 852 (6th Cir.
1988), jurisdiction noted, 109 S.Ct. 3239 (1989) ... 25, 28
Baird v. Attorney Gen., 371 Mass. 741 (1977) .......... 23
Bellotti v. Baird, 443 U.S. 622 (1979).............. passim
Brophy v. New England Sinai Hosp., Inc., 398 Mass. 417
I ri Bae go> nd Een hp tes a ke 26

Table of Contents iii

Page
Ex Parte Anonymous, 531 So.2d 901 (Ala. 1988) ........ 27
H.L. v. Matheson, 450 U.S. 398 (1981)................ 15

Hodgson v. Minnesota, 648 F.Supp. 756 (D. Minn. 1986),
rev'd on legal grounds, 853 F.2d 1452 (8th Cir. 1988)
(en banc), cert. granted, 109 S.Ct. 3240 (1989) ... passim

In re T. W., 543 So.2d 837 (Fla. App. 5 Dist. 1989) ...... 26
Planned Parenthood of Central Missouri v. Danforth,

GINS oh deiWidieeccceccicedeccers 14, 22
Planned Parenthood League of Massachusetts v. Bellotti,

868 F.2d 459 (Ist Cir. 1989) .............. 0.000055. 26° .
Roe v. Wade, 410 U.S. 113 (1973) ................. 14,17
Superintendent of Belchertown State School v. Saikewicz,

SO, TTOD 5 vob vc teccccecccnccccccsscens 26
Thornburgh v. American College of Obstetricians U

Gynecologists, 476 U.S. 747 (1986) .............. 14, 17
Webster v. Reproductive Health Servs., 109 S.Ct. 3040

CREUSET Eee eT TTT ELECT TTL 14
Statutes:

La. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 40:1299:35:5 (1989 Cum. Supp.) .. 25
1989 Me. Acts Ch. 573, § 2 § (2), (3), (6) ........ 23, 25, 26

Mass. Gen. L. ch. 112 § 12F (1983 & 1989 Cum. Supp.).. 16
Mass. Gen. L. ch. 112 § 12S (1983 & 1989 Cum. Supp.).. 24

Minn. Stat. Ann. § 144.343(1)-(7) (1989) ........ 14, 16, 21
Nev. Rev. Stat. § 442.255.2(c) (1986 Supp.)............ 25
Ohio Rev. Code § 2151.85 (1988 Supp.) ............... 14
Ohio Rev. Code § 2505.073 (1988 Supp.) .............. 14
Ohio Rev. Code § 2919.12 (1988 Supp.) ............... 14
Wis. Stat. § 146.78(5) (1989) .............-.. eee eee. 23
Wyo. Stat. § 35-6-118 (1989 Cum. Supp.) ............. 25

iv Table of Contents

Page

Other Authorities:

Adler & Dolcini, Psychological Issues in Abortion for
Adolescents, in Adolescent Abortion: Psychological and
Legal Issues 84 (Melton ed. 1986) .................. 9

Adolescent Pregnancy and Childbearing — Rates, Trends
and Research Findings From the CPR, NICHD

SEN Ai wisuduewatietvcbetvsbcdccuaviewsees 10, 11
Alan Guttmacher Institute, Teenage Pregnancy in the
I oe ccc ccvdvewecuvavucuen 2,6, 12

Alan Guttmacher Institute, Teenage Pregnancy: The
Problem That Hasn't Gone Away (1981).. 2,3, 5,6, 8, 20

American Psychological Association, Interdivisional
Committee on Adolescent Abortion, Adolescent Abor-
tion: Psychological and Legal Issues, 42 Am. Psycholo-

EE 553 75s eG apeadee ls cb bee ehateusewen 9
Baldwin & Cain, The Children of Teenage Parents, 12
Fam. Plan. Persp. 34 (1980) .....................-. 10

Binkin, Gold & Cates, Illegal Abortion Deaths in the
United States: Why Are They Still Occurring? 14 Fam.
Pe IIE 5 oo kd ce cecksesceudaewsbees 12

Blum, Resnick & Stark, The Impact of a Notification
Law on Adolescent Abortion Decision-Making, 77 Am.

J. Pub. Health 619 (1987).................... 3, 13, 18

Bracken & Kasl, Delay in Seeking Induced Abortion: A
Review and Theoretical Analysis, 121 Am. J. Obstet-
rics & Gynecology 1008 (1975)................0.2.. 20

Cartoof & Klerman, Parental Consent for Abortion: Im-
pact of the Massachusetts Law, 76 Am. J. Pub. Health

SE ons nk ecw uenenxcdenseauccees 5, 6, 13, 18
Cates, Adolescent Abortions in the United States 1 J.
Adolescent Health Care 18 (1980).............. 7, 9, 20

Cates & Grimes, Morbidity and Mortality of Abortion in
the United States, in Abortion and Sterilization: Med-
ical and Social Aspects 155 (Hodgson ed. 1981)... 7,17, 19
Cates, Schultz & Grimes, The Risks Associated With
Teenage Abortion, 309 N. Eng. J. Medicine 621 (1983) 7

Table of Contents Vv

Page
Clary, Minor Women Obtaining Abortions: A Study of
Parental Notification in a Metropolitan Area 72 Am.
J. Pub. Health 283 (1962) ................... 13, 15, 19
Center for Population Options [CPO], Estimates of Pub-
lic Costs for Teenage Childbearing (1988) ........... ll
CPO, Estimates of Public Costs for Teenage Childbear-
i iaredad nti wikes ata ds 00 5 KRURK REO KS ll
CPO, 1988 Report: Estimates of Public Cost for Teenage
Childbearing in 1987 (1988).................024.. 2,11
CPO, The Facts: Teenage Childbearing, Education, and
pT ee 2,10, 11
CPO, The Facts: Teenage Sexuality, Pregnancy, and
GE ee ae Cr pre 4
David, Abortion Obtained and Denied: Psychosocial
Risks, Statement prepared for presentation to the Sub-
committee on Human Resources and Intergovernmen-
tal Relations of the Committee on Government Opera-
tions of the U.S. House of Representatives (Mar.
ee ee he ee ee ee Pre rer eee ll
Donovan, Judging Teenagers: How Minors Fare When
They Seek Court-Authorized Abortions, 15 Fam. Plan.

«| MEET ET eT eee eT TT TTT ere 13
Henshaw, Characteristics of U.S. Women Having Abor-
tions, 1982-1983, 19 Fam. Plan. Persp. 5 (1987) ...... 2

Hofferth, Contraceptive Decisionmaking Among Adoles-
cents, in Risking the Future: Adolescent Sexuality,
Pregnancy, and Childb: ring, Vol. Ul. (Hofferth &

ID Siig shin cdutesayeetewes 3 6
Hunter, Time Limits on Abortion, in Reproductive Laws

for the 1990s (Cohen & Taub eds. 1989) ............ 7,8
Institute of Medicine, Prenatal Care: Reaching Mothers,

Reaching Infants (Brown ed. 1988)............... 8, 12
Institute of Medicine, Preventing Low Birth Weight

tc ces Ga ccdd Read ae Ah cena aan a can kee bon 8,9

vi Table of Contents

Page
Jones, Forrest, Goldman, Henshaw, Lincoln, Rosoff,

Westoff & Wulf, Teenage Pregnancy in Industrialized
rg Boo ohn oe ub oe ease cees 2,5
Lewis, Minors’ Competence to Consent to Abortion, 42
Am. Psychologist 84 (1987) .................. 9, 16, 17
Mackinson, The Health Consequences of Teenage Fer-
tility, 17 Fam. Plan. Persp. 132 (1985) ............. 7,8
Marecek, Consequences of Adolescent Childbearing and
Abortion, in Adolescent Abortion: Psychological and
Legal Issues 96 (Melton ed. 1986) ................ 9, 10
Marsiglio, Adolescent Fathers in the United States: Their
Initial Living Arrangements, Marital Experience and
Educational Outcomes, 19 Fam. Plan. Persp. 240

DE PANitks hk cndhnesunadabssabeeh ekeibd eeke > 10
Melton, Legal Regulation of Adolescent Abortion: Unin-
tended Effects, 42 Am. Psychologist 79 (1987) ... .. 18, 19

National Commission to Prevent Infant Mortality, Death
Before Life: The Tragedy of Infant Mortality (1988) . 7,8

National Center for Health Statistics, Advance Report of
Final Natality Statistics, Monthly Vital Statistics

IDS 6.5 6.n Kacccucbedctcdndcsndeneess 8
Ory, Mortality Associated with: Fertility and Fertility
Control, 15 Fam. Plan. Persp. 59 (1983) ........... 7,17

Planned Parenthood League of Massachusetts, The
Massachusetts Parental/Judicial Consent Law for

Minors Seeking Abortion (1988) ............. 18, 24, 25
Risking The Future: Adolescent Sexuality, Pregnancy and
Childbearing, Vol. 1 (Hayes ed. 1986) ...... 7, 11, 19, 20

Russo, Adolescent Abortion: The Epidemiological Con-
text, in Adolescent Abortion: Psychological and Legal
Issues 40 (Melton ed. 1986)........................ 26

Sacker & Neuhoff, Medical and Psychosocial Risk Factors
in the Pregnant Adolescent, in Pregnancy in Adoles-
ence: Needs, Problems, and Management (Stuart &
tL -. oo cas ecnrheannecceeneuuse 7

Table of Contents vii

Page
Shaman, Constitutional Fact: The Perception of Reality

by the Supreme Court, 35 U. Fla. L. Rev. 236 (1983) .. 14
Social Factors, Not Age, Are Found to Affect Risk of Low
Birth Weight, 15 Fam. Plan. Persp. 142 (1984) ....... 8
Substantially Higher Morbidity and Mortality Rates
Found Among Infants Born to Adolescent Mothers, 16
Fam. Plan. Persp. 91 (1984) .......-............... 8
Teicher, A Solution to the Chronic Problem of Living:
Adolescent Attempted Suicide, in Current Issues of

Adolescent Psychiatry 129 (Schoolar ed. 1973)........ s)
Tietze & Henshaw, Induced Abortion: A World Review

EU ge A nat ER Oe 7
Torres, Does Your Mother Know ...? 10 Fam. Plan.

NS oo deny dkin's thnk ecweeawes'ns 3, 13, 18

Torres, Forrest & Eisman, Telling Parents: Clinic Policies
and Adolescents’ Use of Family Planning and Abortion
Services, 12 Fam. Plan. Persp. 284 (1980) 3, 13, 15, 17, 18
Ventura, Taffel & Mosher, Estimates of Pregnancies and
Pregnancy Rates for the United States, 1976-85, 78
Am. J. Pub. Health 506 (1988)..................... 2
Yates & Pliner, Judging Maturity in the Courts: The
Massachusetts Consent Statute, 78 Am. J. Pub. Health
an anbacdsaydcsivaVe adeno ks deus 19, 24
Zabin & Clark, Institutional Factors Affecting Teen-
agers’ Choice and Reasons for Delay in Attending a
Family Planning Clinic, 15 Fam. Plan. Persp. 25
NR adi. ee ae kn oe nee 6 l'ee «6 5, 8, 12
Zelnick & Kantner, Sexual Activity, Contraceptive Use
and Pregnancy Among Metropolitan-Area Teenagers:
1971-1979, 12 Fam. Plan. Persp. 230 (1980).......... 5

Interest of Amici Curiae

The Center for Population Options and other amici, whose
interests are identified in Appendix A, are individuals and
organizations concerned with problems of teenage pregnancy
and too-early childbearing, and the need for confidential
access to safe, legal abortion services for minors. Based on their
experience and expertise with teenage girls, amici wish to
bring to the Court’s attention facts concerning the medical
risks and societal cost of teenage pregnancy and too-early
childbearing, and to urge that the Court allow minors to exer-
cise the fundamental right to choose abortion without the
compelled involvement of their parents.'

Summary of Argument

This brief focuses on pregnant teenage girls, on the individ-
ual and societal importance of preserving their right to make a
personal individual choice between abortion and childbirth
without the compelled involvement of their parents, and on
the devastating harm that removing or restricting that right
would cause to teenage girls in particular. At minimum, pres-
ervation of their right to choose requires that the state not
compel parental notice or consent unless it provides for a
meaningful judicial or other alternative.

Whatever we might wish, sexual activity and unintended
pregnancies have become a concrete reality of teenage girls’
lives. Because most teenage pregnancies are unintended, and
because unwanted childbirth and motherhood are so excep-
tionally burdensome for a teenage girl, a pregnant teenager's
right to determine her future must include the right to choose
safe, legal abortion instead of childbirth. Legislatively-com-
pelled parental notification can be the functional equivalent of
a parental veto of the abortion choice. Teenage girls, there-
fore, need to be able to make this decision with the support of

' This brief is filed with the consent of the parties.

2

those they choose, including parents, but without the forced
involvement of their parents, which could result in delays,
outright denial of abortion or severe, even violent, conse-
quences.

The life-shaping importance to teenage girls of their existing
right to make a personal, individual choice whether to termi-
nate a pregnancy is illustrated in these striking facts:

¢ Over | million teenagers become pregnant each year.*

¢ 84% of all teenage pregnancies (married and unmarried)
are unintended.° a

¢ 92% of premarital teenage pregnancies are unintended.‘

¢ 42% of pregnant teenage girls choose abortion each year,
and 44% of these are under the age of 18.°

¢—One-in-four-teenage mothers drops out of high school,
and only one in fifty finishes college.®

¢ In 1987, families begun with a teenage birth cost the fed-
eral government $19.27 billion in welfare payments.’

* Alan Guttmacher Institute [AGI], Teenage Pregnancy in the United
States, Table 4 (1989) [AGI, Teenage Pregnancy in the U.S.]; Ventura,
Taffel & Mosher, Estimates of Pregnancies and Pregnancy Rates for the
United States, 1976-85, 78 Am. J. Pub. Health 506, 508, Table 2 (1988) (data
for 1972 to 1985; 1985 is latest year for which detailed statistics on abortion
are available); AGI, Teenage Pregnancy! The Problem That Hasn't Gone
Away 17 (1981) [AGI, Teenage Pregnancy}.

* Jones, Forrest, Goldman, Henshaw, Lincoln, Rosoff, Westoff & Wulf,
Teenage Pregnancy in Industrialized Countries 40 (1986) (Jones, et al.}.
Calculations by CPO from cited data.

* Id.

* AGI, Teenage Pregnancy in the U.S., supra n. 2, Table 1; Henshaw,
Characteristics of U.S. Women Having Abortions, 1982-83, 19 Fam. Plan.
Persp. 5 (1987).

* Center for Population Options [CPO], The Facts: Teenage Childbear-
ing, Education, and Employment (1987).

" CPO, 1988 Report: Estimates of Public Cost for Teenage Childbearing in
1987 at 2 (1988) (CPO, 1988 Report) (calculating payments under Food
Stamps, Medicaid and Aid to Families with Dependent Children (AFDC)
programs). The $19.27 billion represents more than half of all payments
under these three programs.

3

¢ Parental notification requirements do not significantly
increase parental involvement in the abortion decision.®

¢ Forced parental notification of the decision to abort
would cause 20% of teenage girls who would not volun-
tarily consult their parents to self abort or have an illegal
abortion rather than notify their parents.°

¢ Only 4% of unmarried teenage mothers surrender their
infants for adoption.'®

As this Court (including Chief Justice Rehnquist) observed
in its leading case concerning minors and abortion:

[T]he potentially severe detriment facing a pregnant
woman is not mitigated by her minority. Indeed, con-
sidering her probable education, employment skills,
financial resources, and emotional maturity, unwanted
motherhood may be exceptionally burdensome for a
minor. In addition, the fact of having a child brings with
it adult legal responsibility, for parenthood, like attain-
ment of the age of majority, is one of the traditional cri-
teria for the termination of the legal disabilities of minor-
ity. In sum, there are few situations in which denying a
minor the right to make an important decision will have
consequences so grave and indelible.''

* Hodgson v. Minnesota, 648 F.Supp. 756, 775 (D. Minn. 1986), rev'd on
legal grounds, 853 F.2d 1452 (8th Cir. 1988) (en banc); Blum, Resnick &
Stark, The Impact of a Parental Notification Law on Adolescent Abortion
Decision-Making, 77 Am. J. Pub. Health 619, 620 (1987); Torres, Does Your
Mother Know ... ?, 10 Fam. Plan. Persp. 280, 281 (1978).

* Torres, Forrest & Eisman, Telling Parents: Clinic Policies and
Adolescents’ Use of Family Planning and Abortion Services, 12 Fam. Plan.
Persp. 284, 288-289 & Table 7 (1980).

© AGI, Teenage Pregnancy, supra n. 2, at 27.

'' Bellotti v. Baird, 443 U.S. 622, 642 (1979) [Bellotti 11) (plurality opin-
ion) (emphasis added). The statement quoted in text surely commanded the
support of eight members of the Court. See id. at 652 (concurring opinion of
Justices Stevens, Brennan, Marshall, and Blackmun).

4

Part I of this brief, thus, will describe the unintended and
unanticipated nature of most teenage pregnancy; the height-
ened physical and psychological risks to teenage girls of preg-
nancy and childbearing, which greatly exceed the risks of
abortion at any stage of pregnancy; the overwhelming costs to
teenage girls and to society of teenage pregnancy and too-early
childbearing; the privacy needs of teenage girls in matters of
sexuality and reproductive choice; and the severe, even vio-
lent, harm that follows from compelling unwanted parental
involvement in the abortion decision. Part II will describe how
a minor must be able to exercise her fundamental right to
choose abortion without the compelled participation of her
parents; will explain why minors must at least retain a judicial
consent (“by-pass”) or other alternative to such compelled par-
ticipation; and will propose rules and guidelines for by-pass
alternatives to compelled parental participation (specifically
referring to those that have been successfully used in Massa-
chusetts for nearly ten years).

Argument

I. A Decision sy Tuis Court to TAKE AWAY orn CONSTRAIN
THE FUNDAMENTAL RIGHT TO Cuoose WouLp DEVASTATE
TEENAGE GIRLS.

This Court would devastate the lives of teenage girls by
erecting such insuperable barriers to their long-recognized
fundamental right to choose between abortion and childbirth
as compelled parental consent or notification. Teenage sexual
activity and unintended pregnancies are concrete realities of
American life today. Constraining the right to choose abortion
by forcing parental involvement in the decision will not reduce
teenage sexual activity or unintended teenage pregnancy.'*

'* In the United States today, seven out of ten teenage girls and eight out of
ten teenage boys have sexual intercourse by the time they reach age twenty.
CPO, The Facts: Teenage Sexuality, Pregnancy, and Parenthood (1987). As
to unintended pregnancies, see supra notes 2-7 and statistics in the accom-
panying text

og

5

What it will do is delay the abortion choice, provoke unneces--
sary crisis and disharmony in family relations and dramatic-
ally increase unwanted teenage childbearing, all with pro-
foundly adverse costs to teenage girls’ lives and futures.

A. Teenage Pregnancy Is Almost Always Unintended.

Teenage girls do not become pregnant by design. Eight out
of ten of the 1.1 million teenage pregnancies in the United
States each year are unintended.'* Most teenagers do not use
contraceptives or use them inconsistently, especially in the
early months of sexual activity, whether due to ignorance or
ambivalence about contraception, or ambivalence about sex-
uality, or both.'* Thus, among unmarried teenagers who be-

Studies show that the restrictions on the availability of abortion caused by
parental notification and consent laws do not reduce teen pregnancy. Car-
toof & Klerman, Parental Consent for Abortion: Impact of the Massachusetts
Law, 76 Am. J. Pub. Health 397, 400 (1986). The most effective way to
reduce teen pregnancy is not to restrict or deny access to abortion but to
increase sex education and the availability of contraception. A study compar-
ing teenage pregnancy in the United States with that of other industrialized
countries found sexual activity in the United States was comparable to that in
other countries, but that teenage pregnancy and birth rates were lower jn
other countries because of greater availability of sex education, contracep-
tives and abortion services. Jones, et al., supra n. 3, at 234-35.

'? Jones, et al., supra n. 3. 92% of pregnancies to unwed teenage girls are
unintended and 51% of pregnancies to married teens are unintended. Aito-
gether, approximately 84% of all teenage pregnancies are unintended, since
the vast majority of teen pregnancies (almost 80% ) occur out-of-wedlock. Id.

' AGI, Teenage Pregnancy, supra n. 2, at 14-16; Zelnick & Kantner,
Sexual Activity, Contraceptive Use and Pregnancy Among Metropolitan-
Area Teenagers: 1971-1979, 12 Fam. Plan. Persp. 230, 236, Table 8 (1980);
Zabin & Clark, Institutional Factors Affecting Teenagers’ Choice and
Reasons for Delay in Attending a Family Planning Clinic, 15 Fam. Plan.
Persp. 25 (1983). Zabin’s study reports that teens tend to delay almost a year
(median of 11.5 months) after becoming sexually active before going to a
family planning clinic. Moreover, nearly two thirds of unmarried teenage
girls reported that they never used contraceptives or did so inconsistently.
AGI, Teenage Pregnancy, supra n. 2, at 14. The reasons for failure to use
contraceptives vary, including those who thought they could not become
pregnant, those who did not expect to have sexual intercourse, those who
“couldn't [use them] under the circumstances,” and those who did not know
how to get contraceptives. Id.

6

come pregnant, fifty percent of pregnancies occur within the
first six months of becoming sexually active; twenty percent
occur within the first month.'* Forty-two percent of all teen-
age girls (married or unmarried) choose to resolve their un-
‘wanted pregnancies through abortion.'* These statistics,
which reflect the relatively low impact of current contracep-
tive availability and education on the teenage pregnancy rate,
demonstrate that the vast majority of teenage girls do not focus
on the issue of whether to bear a child and how childbearing
will affect their future until an unintended pregnancy forces
them to do so.

At this critical juncture in teenage girls’ lives, abortion
becomes an especially important — and in many cases life-
saving — reality. Common sense, as well as the results of abor-
tion restrictions directed specifically at minors,'’ teaches that
erecting barriers to the right to choose abortion will not reduce
teenage sexual activity and pregnancy; it will simply increase
unwanted teenage childbearing.

B. Teenage Pregnancy and Childbearing Is Highly
Risky Physically and Psychologically for Teenage
Girls and the Children They Bear.

Adolescent pregnancies carried to term, and resulting child-
bearing, are usually very detrimental physically and psycho-
logically for teenage girls, as well as for the infants they bear.
During pregnancy, teenagers are at much higher risk of suffer-
ing from serious medical complications, including iron-defi-
ciency anemia, pregnancy-induced hypertension (“toxemia’”’,
which is a leading cause of mortality), complications from
small pelvises, and cervical immaturity resulting in premature

'® Hofferth, Contraceptive Decisionmaking Among Adolescents, in Risk-
ing the Future: Adolescent Sexuality, Pregnancy, and Childbearing, Vol. II.,
at 64 (Hofferth & Hayes eds. 1988) [Risking Vol. II}; AGI, Teenage Preg-
nancy, supra n. 2, at 16, 19.

'* AGI, Teenage Pregnancy in the U.S., supra n. 2, Table 1.

'’ Cartoof & Klerman, supra n. 12, at 400.

7

births.'® Mortality rates from continued pregnancy and child-
bearing are much higher for teenage girls than for women
aged 20-24.'* Teenage girls aged 15-19 are twenty-four times
more likely to die from childbirth than from first-trimester
abortion,” and the dangers are considerably higher for girls
under age 15.*! By contrast, for all women, but especially for
teenage girls, abortion is one of the safest surgical procedures
doctors perform.” At no time during pregnancy do the risks of
abortion surpass the risks of continuing the pregnancy to deliv-
ery.” The same is true for rates of morbidity — serious illness
or injury with lasting effects — related to childbirth when ©
compared to abortion.”

A major reason why the health risks of pregnancy and child-
bearing are greater for teenage girls than for adult women is

'® Hunter, Time Limits on Abortion, in Reproductive Laws for the 1990s,
at 134 & n. 15 (Cohen & Taub eds. 1989); National Commission to Prevent
Infant Mortality, Death Before Life: The Tragedy of Infant Mortality,
Appendix at 103 (1988) [NCPIM]. Inadequate prenatal care, a problem
especially common for teenage girls, is associated with excessive weight gain,
premature labor, prolonged labor, vaginal infections and vaginal lacera-
tions. Mackinson, The Health Consequences of Teenage Fertility, 17 Fam.
Plan. Persp. 132, 134 (1985).

'® Ory, Mortality Associated with Fertility and Fertility Control, 15 Fam.
Plan. Persp. 57, 59, Table 2 (1983). Calculations by CPO from cited data.

* Id.

*! Sacker & Neuhoff, Medical and Psychosocial Risk Factors in the Preg-
nant Adolescent, in Pregnancy in Adolescence: Needs, Problems, and
Management 107 (Stuart & Wells eds. 1982); Risking The Future: Adolescent
Sexuality, Pregnancy and Childbearing, Vol. I, at 124 (C. Hayes ed. 1986)
[ Risking, Vol. I).

# Cates & Crimes, Morbidity and Mortality of Abortion in the United
States, in Abortion and Sterilization: Medical and Social Aspects, 155, 177
(Hodgson, ed. 1981). “Complications following induced abortion are
generally lower among adolescents than among older women, regardless of
the gestation at which the abortion is performed or the method used.” Risk-
ing, Vol. 1, supra n. 21, at 125; see also, Cates, Adolescent Abortions in the
United States, 1 J. Adolescent Health Care 18, 19-22 (1980) [Cates]; Cates,
Schultz & Grimes, The Risks Associated With Teenage Abortion, 309
N. Eng. J. of Medicine 621 (1983).

* Tietze & Henshaw, Induced Abortion: A World Review 1986, at 110,
111 (1986).

* Cates, supra n. 22, at 20; Cates & Grimes, supra n. 22.

8

that teenagers delay seeking prenatal care if they seek it at
all.** In New York City, more than one third of pregnant teen-
age girls received no prenatal care or only last-trimester care,
compared to eighteen percent for women as a whole.”
Teenage pregnancy, exacerbated by inadequate prenatal
care, also leads to premature births and low birth weight,”’
which in turn are leading causes of infant morbidity and mor-
tality. Low birth-weight infants are at increased risk of neuro-
developmental problems, especially cerebral palsy, seizure dis-
orders and mental retardation.** Children of teenage mothers
are twice as likely to die in infancy than those born to women
in their 20s, and are also more likely to die than children of
women in their 40s, whose children are also a high-risk
group.” Low birth weight is also associated with longer-term

*° Mackinson, supra n. 18, at 134. Teens tend to seek prenatal care later
than adult women because of its cost, ambivalence or denial concerning their
pregnancy, a desire for secrecy and confidentiality, difficulty in scheduling
appointments, and/or lack of knowledge about the health care system. Insti-
tute of Medicine, Prenatal Care: Reaching Mothers, Reaching Infants 78,
101 (Brown ed. 1988) [Inst. of Medicine, Prenatal Care}. Policies of some
clinics and hospitals to notify parents when minors use their services affects
minors’ decision to seek prenatal care and choice of clinics. See Zabin &
Clark, supra n. 14, at 26, 27, 29.

* Hunter, supra n. 18, at 134, citing to New York City Dep't of Public
Health, Summary of Vital Statistics 16, 17 (1986). Nationally, 13 percent of
teens receive late or no prenatal care whereas only 6 percent of women as a
whole receive late or no prenatal care. National Center for Health Statistics,
Advance Report of Final Natality Statistics, Monthly Vital Statistics Report
38:3 Table 30 (1989) [NCHS].

*7 AGI, Teenage Pregnancy, supra n. 2, at 29; NCHS, supra n. 26,
Table 15.

** Institute of Medicine, Preventing Low Birthweight 26-29, 32-33, 37
(1985); Substantially Higher Morbidity and Mortality Rates Found Among
Infants Born to Adolescent Mothers, 16 Fam. Plan. Persp. 91-92 (1984).

* AGI, Teenage Pregnancy, supra n. 2, at 29. Studies show that other
factors such as the mother’s socioeconomic status, health care and nutritional
habits and education also contribute to health and developmental problems
of low birth-weight babies. Teenage mothers are at a high risk of experi-
encing these characteristics. Mackinson, supra n. 18, at 137-38; NCPIM,
supra n. 18, at 103; Social Factors, Not Age, Are Found to Affect Risk of
Low Birth Weight, 15 Fam. Plan. Persp. 142-43 (1984).

9

problems, including a greater frequency of illness, and
developmental problems such as lack of success in school.*°

An unwanted pregnancy is a serious and emotionally trau-
matic event in a teenager's life. Before abortions were legal
and accessible to minors in a confidential manner, a large pro-
portion of teenage girls who attempted or succeeded in suicide
thought they were, or actually were, pregnant.*' Few teen-
agers have adverse psychological reactions to abortion, and
most are relieved to have terminated an unwanted preg-
nancy:* “[t]here is no research evidence to support” the
assumption that “adolescents are especially vulnerable to seri- —
ous psychological harm as a result of having an abortion.”* To
the contrary, pregnancy continuation poses “far greater psy-
chological, physical, and economic risks to the adolescent than
does abortion.”

C. Pregnant Teenagers, Teenage Mothers and Their
Families Are More Likely to Lose Educational and
Economic Opportunities and to Be Dependent Upon
Public Support.

Childbearing irrevocably alters the life of a teenage girl.
When a woman is ready to bear a child, motherhood is one of
the most rewarding and fulfilling of life’s experiences. But un-
wanted motherhood is devastating, especially for a teenage

* Inst. of Medicine, supra n. 28, at 32-33.

*! Teicher, A Solution to the Chronic Problem of Living: Adolescent
Attempted Suicide, in Current Issues of Adolescent Psychiatry 129, 136
(Schoolar ed. 1973).

% Adler & Dolcini, Psychological Issues in Abortion for Adolescents, in
Adolescent Abortion: Psychological and Legal Issues 84 (Melton ed. 1986).

** American Psychological Association, Interdivisional Committee on
Adolescent Abortion, Adolescent Abortion: Psychological and Legal Issues,
42 Am. Psychologist 73, 74 (1987) [APA].

%* Lewis, Minors’ Competence to Consent to Abortion, 42 Am. Psycholo-
gist 84, 87 (1987); see also Marecek, Consequences of Adolescent Childbear-
ing and Abortion, in Adolescent Acortion: Psychological and Legal Issues
96-115 (Melton ed. 1986); Adler & Dolcini, supra n. 32, at 90; Cates, supra
n. 22, at 22.

10

girl. The cost of too-early childbearing is borne not just by the
teenager, whose future is suddenly restricted, but by the child
she bears and by society as a whole. These costs exist today —
in a world in which teenagers have a right of abortion choice.
The elimination or constriction of that choice could only make
those costs vastly higher.

Pregnancy is the leading reason teenage girls drop out of
school. One in four teenage mothers drops out of high school
and only one in fifty graduates from college. By comparison,
one in five women who put off childbearing until their
mid-20s graduates from college.** Teenage mothers’ family
responsibilities and frequently truncated education lead them
into lower-paying, lower-status jobs, where they accumulate
less work experience and earn lower annual wages than
women who postpone childbearing.”

Children born to teenagers from an unwanted pregnancy
will be disadvantaged educationally, socially, and psycholog-
ically.*” They tend to have lower I.Q. and achievement scores,
and less success in school.** According to expert testimony
before Congress on behalf of the American Public Health Asso-
ciation, children born of unwanted pregnancies experienced
lower scholastic achievement, had less job satisfaction, fewer
and less satisfying relations with. friends, lovers and spouses,
and began sexual activity earlier than children born of ac-

3° CPO, Teenage Childbearing, supra n. 6; Risking, Vol. 1, supra n. 15,
at 125-28. Teenage fathers are also more likely to drop out of high school
than their counterparts who remained childless throughout their teens. The
lower high school completion rate for teenage fathers restricts their financial
ability to support their partner and child. Marsiglio, Adolescent Fathers in
the United States: Their Initial Living Arrangements, Marital Experience
and Educational Outcomes, 19 Fam. Plan. Persp. 241, 247, 249 (1987).

% CPO, Teenage Childbearing, supra n. 6; Risking, Vol. 1, supra n. 21,
at 130-32.

7 See generally, Marecek, supra n. 34.

%* Baldwin & Cain, The Children of Teenage Parents, 12 Fam. Plan.
Persp. 34, 37 (1980); Adolescent Pregnancy and Childbearing — Rates,
Trends and Research Findings From the CPR, NICHD 10-11 (1988) [Adoles-
cent Pregnancy and Childbearing).

1]

cepted pregnancies.** “In the aggregate, unwantedness in
early pregnancy and involuntary child-bearing have a detri-
mental effect on the subsequent psychosocial development of
the child with socially undesirable longer term implica-
tions.”*° That these children could be both unwanted, and
forced upon a teenage girl by the state, is doubly tragic.

Teenage motherhood also imposes enormous costs on soci-
ety. Teenage mothers, whose educational and economic
achievement is severely restricted, are more likely to become
dependent on public support. Fifty-three percent of AFDC
payments are allotted to families that began when the mother
was a teenager.*! In 1987 alone, the federal government spent
$19.27 billion in AFDC, Medicaid and Food Stamp benefits
on families in which the mother first gave birth as a teenager. **
It is estimated that over the next twenty years, the federal
government will spend $5.7 billion in welfare payments to all
babies born in 1987 to teenage girls.** Moreover, children of
teenage parents are more likely to become teenage parents
themselves, thus perpetuating the cycle of poverty begun by a
teenage birth.

Too-early childbearing is already a serious public health
problem. Erecting barriers to the right to choose abortion will
reverse the recent success in reducing the teenage birth rate

%® David, Abortion Obtained and Denied: Psychosocial Risks, Statement
prepared for presentation to the Subcommittee on Human Resources and
Intergovernmental Relations of the Committee on Government Operations
of the U.S. House of Representatives, at 6 (Mar. 1989).

” Id.

*! CPO, Estimates of Public Costs for Teenage Childbearing (1986); CPO,
Estimates of Public Costs for Teenage Childbearing (1987); CPO, 1988
Report, supra n. 7.

* CPO, 1988 Report, supra n. 7, at 2. In 1975, 64 percent of AFDC
mothers under age 30 had been teenage mothers compared to 24 percent of
American women as a whole between age 20 and 30. Adolescent Pregnancy
and Childbearing, supra n. 38, at 12.

* CPO, 1988 Report, supra n. 7, at 3.

“ CPO, Teenage Childbearing, supra n. 6; Risking, Vol. 1, supra n. 21, at
134; Adolescent Pregnancy and Childbearing, supra n. 38, at 11.

12

and frustrate efforts to bring more women into early prenatal
care,** making an already tragic situation worse.

D. Teenage Girls Need Even More Privacy in Matters of
Sexuality Than Older Women and Forced Parental
Involvement Harms, Rather Than Enhances, the
Quality of Their Decision Making in Matters of
Reproductive Rights.

Many teenage girls who are faced with reproductive deci-
sions are just becoming acquainted with their own sexuality.*
Their ambivalence and discomfort over sexual matters en-
hance their need for confidentiality and privacy in matters
of reproductive choice, exceeding that of adult women.’ For
example, confidentiality is a primary reason teenagers choose
a particular family planning clinic.** Forced parental notifica-
tion of contraceptive use also leads to a decline in adolescent
clinic use and effective use of contraceptives, but not to a
decline in sexual activity, thus leading to a rise in unintended
pregnancies among teens.** Although most teens, particularly
young teens, voluntarily involve a parent in a pregnancy deci-

** AGI, Teenage Pregnancy in the U.S., supra n. 2, Table 5.

** Fifty percent of pregnancies among unmarried teenagers occur during
the first six months of sexual activity and twenty percent occur during the
first month. See supra n. 15 and accompanying text.

*’ Unmarried teenage girls are especially concerned to keep confidential
the existence of a pregnancy and their decision whether to terminate it. For
example, one study found that a desire to keep the pregnancy secret and a
need for confidentiality in obtaining prenatal health care services led many
teens to seek late prenatal care and influenced their choice in health care pro-
viders. Institute of Medicine, Prenatal Care, supra n. 25, at 78. A study of 17
deaths following post-Roe illegal abortions concluded that a desire for
secrecy was the primary reason two teenagers who died had self aborted.
Binkin, Gold & Cates, Illegal Abortion Deaths in the United States: Why are
They Still Occurring? 14 Fam. Plan. Persp. 163, 165 (1982); see also Bellotti
II, 443 U.S. at 644 (requiring “anonymity” for minors’ judicial consent for
abortion proceedings).

* Zabin & Clark, supra n. 14, at 26, Table 1.

* Torres, supra n. 8, at 282. One study found that 56% of minors who
attended a family planning clinic without their parents’ knowledge (which

13

sion,” those teenage girls who choose not to involve their
parents do so for good reasons, ranging from a concern for
their parents’ feelings to fear of violence or other serious nega-
tive consequences, to fear of being prevented from obtaining
an abortion.*!

Parental notification and consent requirements, where they
exist, have failed significantly to increase parental involve-
ment in their daughters’ reproductive decisions.®* Instead,
most minors who do not choose to consult their parents find
ways to avoid compelled parental involvement. For example,
more than half of minors who attend family planning clinics
without their parents’ knowledge would stop attending if their
parents were notified. A chilling thirty-nine percent of these
girls stated that they would have an illegal or self-induced
abortion rather than notify their parents as a condition of a
legal abortion. Some would leave home, and four in ten sur-
veyed said that they would carry to term rather than inform
their parents of their decision to abort, thus giving up the exer-
cise of their fundamental right to choose abortion.™

represented 23% of those attending) would stop attending if their parents
were notified. Of those, 65% would stop using medically prescribed contra-
ceptives (i.e., pill, IUD, diaphragm) and would resort to non-medical meth-
ods (i.e., condom, foam, withdrawal), 10% would use no contraception at
all, and only 10% surveyed said they would refrain from intercourse. Torres,
Forrest & Eisman, supra n. 9, at 291, Table 10.

© Studies show that approximately 55% percent of girls under 18 volun-
tarily discuss matters of reproductive choice with one or both parents.
Torres, Forrest & Eisman, supra n. 9, at 287 (55% discuss decision to have
abortion with parents); Torres, supra n. 8, at 281 (55% discuss participation
in family planning clinic with parents).

5! Clary, Minor Women Obtaining Abortions: A Study of Parental Notifi-
cation in a Metropolitan Area, 72 Am. J. Pub. Health 283, 284 (1982);
Donovan, Judging Teenagers: How Minors Fare When They Seek Court-
Authorized Abortions, 15 Fam. Plan. Persp. 259, 260-262 (1983).

5? Blum, Resnick & Stark, supra n. 8, at 620; Cartoof & Klerman, supra n.
12, at 400; Torres, supra n. 8, at 282.

5 Torres, Forrest & Eisman, supra n. 9, at 289, Table 7. This study found
that 55% of minors attending a family planning clinic did so with their
parents’ knowledge and 1% were not sure whether their parents knew. 21 %
of those surveyed would not voluntarily inform their parents, but would still

14

Il. THe FUNDAMENTAL RiGHTt oF Minors To Exercise THEIR
Richt To CHooset SHoutp Not Be ConpITIONED ON
PARENTAL Notice OR CONSENT, AND CERTAINLY Not
WirHout A MEANINGFUL JUDICIAL OR COMPARABLE By-
Pass.

The right to terminate a pregnancy free from unwarranted
governmental intrusion remains fundamental for both adult
women and minor girls,“ and regulations that impinge on
fundamental rights are assessed with heightened scrutiny.*
Employing heightened scrutiny, the Court must strike down as
unconstitutional an unduly burdensome state regulation that
the state fails to demonstrate is narrowly tailored to further a
compelling interest .*

The Minnesota and Ohio statutes,°’ though ostensibly
meant to protect minors from making immature decisions and
to enhance intrafamily communications, in fact fail to accom-
plish these purposes. At the same time, they impose severe
burdens on teenage girls and their families, the very groups
they are meant to protect. Accordingly, these statutes are, in

attend the clinic if their parents were required to be notified. The remaining
23% said they would not attend the clinic if their parents were notified: 9%
(which represents 39% of the 23% who-would no longer attend the clinic)
would have an illegal or self-induced abortion; 9% would carry to term; 2%
would leave home; and 3% said they did not know what they would do. Id.

“ Thornburgh v. American College of Obstetricians & Gynecologists, 476
U.S. 747, 759 (1986); Bellotti v. Baird, 443 U.S. 622, 633 (1979) (Bellotti 11);
Planned Parenthood of Central Missouri v. Danforth, 428 U.S. 52, 74-75
(1976); Roe v. Wade, 410 U.S. 113, 153 (1973); see Webster v. Reproductive
Health Servs., 109 S.Ct. 3040, 3058 (1989).

** Webster, 109 S.Ct. at 3063 (O'Connor, J., concurring) (regulation that
“unduly burdens” right to seek abortion is unconstitutional); Akron v. Akron
Center for Reproductive Health, 462 U.S. 416, 427 (1983); Bellotti II, 443
U.S. at 640; Roe v. Wade, 410 U.S. at 155.

* Id.; Shaman, Constitutional Fact: The Perception of Reality by the
Supreme Court, 35 U. Fla. L. Rev. 236, 245 (1983) (“To uphold a regulation
without determining that it will in fact [further the state's asserted interest]

. would be inconsistent with the principles of heightened scrutiny.”).

” Minn. Stat. Ann. § 144.343(2)-(7) (1989); Ohio Rev. Code §§ 2151.85,
2505.073, 2919.12 (1988 Supp.).

15

the constitutional sense, not only unduly burdensome, they are
not minimally rational.

A. Parental Notification Laws and Parental Consent
Laws Are Functionally Equivalent Because They
Cause the Same Harm, and Because For Minors
They Impose the Same Burden.

For minors, there is no real-world difference between
parental consent and notification laws.’* The dangers posed by
such requirements are the same: compelled involvement of
parents can lead to severely negative, even violent, parental
reactions, including preventing the minor from having the
desired abortion.” According to one study, twenty percent of
girls who had decided to have an abortion without their par-
ents’ knowledge would carry to term if their parents were
notified of their decision to have an abortion.” In reviewing
Minnesota’s two-parent notification requirement, the District
Court found as a fact that revelation of a pregnancy or pro-
posed abortion can lead to obstruction of the desired abortion
and, particularly in dysfunctional families, violence and
abuse.*! Parental notification requirements, as well as consent
requirements, therefore, can easily act as a veto of a minor's
abortion decision. By definition, such an outright veto unduly
burdens a minor’s right to choose.

%* Three members of the present Court and Justice Powell have recognized
that parental notification requirements are the functional equivalent of con-
sent in the burdens they impose on a minor's exercise of her right to choose.
See H.L. v. Matheson, 450 U.S. 398, 420 & n. 9 (1981) (Powell, J., concur-
ring); id. at 437-441 (Marshall, J., dissenting, joined by JJ. Brennan &
Blackmun).

% Approximately 30% of minors surveyed in one study who did not inform
their parents did so for fear of serious negative consequences in the form of
physical abuse, other re(..iation or being prevented from obtaining the abor-

. . n. 51, at 284.
“s Py ion & Eisman, supra n. 9, at 288-289 & Table 10.

*! Hodgson v. Minnesota, 648 F.Supp. 756, 768-769, 773 (D. Minn. 1986),
rev'd on legal grounds, 853 F.2d 1452 (8th Cir. 1988) (en banc), cert.
granted, 109 S.Ct. 3240 (1989).

16

B. Parental Notification or Consent Requirements Are
Unduly Burdensome and Fail in Operation to Serve
Their Intended Purposes.

Parental notification and consent laws are unconstitutional
because they fail to achieve their intended purposes: that of
protecting pregnant minors from uninformed or immature
abortion decisions, or that of fostering healthy intrafamily
communication concerning the decision.** Indeed, such laws
impose further irrational, gratuitous and useless burdens on
minors by damaging their family relationships and delaying
their access to abortion services. These statutes were in fact

enacted for the unconstitutional purpose of denying access to
abortion services. |

1. Parental Notification or Consent Requirements
Do Not Protect Minors From Making Imma-
ture Decisions.

Parental notification or consent requirements are overly
broad and do not in fact protect minors from making imma-
ture decisions. The Minnesota and Ohio statutes, by failing to
distinguish mature from immature minors, sweep too broadly.
Adolescents as they grow older are generally competent to rec-
ognize and assess the consequences of their decisions. Indeed,
many states that have enacted parental notification or consent
requirements for abortion, including Minnesota and Massa-
chusetts, recognize that minors may be competent to make
decisions about their own health care.“* Minors who are gen-

* Bellotti I1, 443 U.S. at 634.

® Lewis, supra n. 34, at 85-87.

** Minnesota allows any minor to give independent consent for diagnosis
and treatment for pregnancy, childbearing, venereal disease, alcohol and
drug abuse, regardless of his or her maturity. Minn. Stat. Ann. § 144.343(1).
In Massachusetts, a pregnant minor or a minor living apart from and finan-
cially independent of his or her parents may consent to all forms of medical
treatment, including treatment for childbirth, except abortion or steriliza-
tion. Mass. Gen L. ch. 112 § 12F (1983 & 1989 Cum. Supp.).

17

erally less competent to make important decisions, i.e. those
who are younger and those who tend to be more conflicted
about the decision, generally consult their parents voluntar-

ily.*° Thus, a notification requirement that covers all minors

regardless of age or maturity sweeps too broadly and is not
narrowly tailored to achieving the state’s asserted interest of
protecting minors from making immature decisions.

Second, assuming arguendo that parental notification and
consent requirements were properly motivated, their failure to
“protect” immature minors is apparent in their irrational con-
sequences. No intelligible principle could dictate that the best:
interests of a girl who is so young as to be considered immature
and who does not want a child, would best be served by a
state-imposed requirement that results in her unwillingly
becoming a mother.

The real purpose of these statutes is to deny access to abor-
tion. Since abortion is one of the safest medical procedures
doctors perform — safer at all stages than childbirth — the
special treatment of the abortion decision in these statutes
must have as its purpose some reason other than protecting
immature minors from making hasty or inadequately-consid-
ered decisions about their health care. Such statutes are over-
inclusive because mature minors are not allowed to consent to
an abortion; and they are under-inclusive because they allow
minors regardless of their maturity to consent to other health
care treatment that imposes far greater health risks than abor-
tion.” These regulations are neither narrowly tailored, nor
even rationally related, to the State’s interest in protecting
minors from making immature decisions, and are thus uncon-
stitutional.®’

*S Lewis, supra n. 34, at 87; Torres, Forrest, & Eisman, supra n. 9, at 288.

% These statutes allow pregnant minors to consent to medical care relating
to childbirth, yet teenage girls aged 15-19 are twenty-four times more likely
to die from childbirth than from first trimester abortion. Ory, supra n. 19, at
59, Table 2. Even an appendectomy is 100 times more dangerous than a legal
induced abortion. Cates & Grimes, supra n. 22, at 170.

*’ Thornburgh, 476 U.S. at 763; Akron, 462 U.S. at 427; Bellotti 11, 443
U.S. at 640; Roe v. Wade, 410 U.S. at 155.

18

2. Parental Notification or Consent Requirements Do
Not Enhance Intrafamily Communications.

These statutes also fail to further, and in practice under-
mine, the state’s alternative asserted purpose of fostering pro-
ductive intrafamily communication concerning a minor's
abortion decision.** Most teenagers voluntarily involve their
parents.® But for those who choose not to involve their par-
ents, these statutes do not significantly increase parents’
involvement.”° Moreover, the evidence at trial in Hodgson
failed to identify any beneficial effect on intrafamily commu-
nication of forced notification. Experts credited by the court
testified that voluntariness has been found to be the hallmark
of productive family communication, and that forced commu-

* See Melton, Legal Regulation of Adolescent Abortion: Unintended
Effects, 42 Am. Psychologist 79 (1987).

* One study found that in Minnesota 65.3% uf minors voluntarily consult
at least one parent. Blum, Resnick & Stark, supra n. 8, at 620. In Massachu-
setts, approximately 75% of minors get the consent of their parents for their
abortion. P'anned Parenthood League of Massachusetts, The Massachusetts
Parental/Judicial Consent Law for Minors Seeking Abortion 3 (1988)
[PPLM]}. Two studies of minors attending clinics found that 55% voluntarily
informed their parents of their participation in the clinic and of their decision
to have an abortion. Torres, supra n. 8, at 281 (clinic use); Torres, Forrest &
Eisman, supra n. 9, at 287 (abortion decision).

7° One study found that the primary impact of the Massachusetts consent
statute was to drive minors out of state to obtain a confidential abortion.
Cartoof & Klerman, supra n. 12, at 399. A study comparing the notification
rate of minors in Minnesota with that of minors in Wisconsin (which has no
notification or consent statute) found only a slightly higher percentage of
Minnesota minors notified both parents (as required by statute) than did
Wisconsin minors, and that the percentage of minors in both states that
voluntarily notified at least one parent was statistically indistinguishable
(65.3% compared to 62.1%). Blum, Resnick & Stark, supra n. 8, at 620.
Witnesses who provided counseling and abortion services to minors both
before and after enactment of Minnesota's statute testified at trial in Hodgson
that they did not observe any post-enactment change in the level of parental
participation. 648 F.Supp. at 775. The court explicitly considered and_
rejected the possibility that the very existence of the statute had encouraged
minors, particularly immature, non-best-interest ones, to inform parents of

their pregnancy. /d.

19

nication not only fails to promote productive relations but
typically damages them. These experts further testified that
revelation of a pregnancy or proposed abortion through com-
pulsion or inadvertence “is almost universally negative” and
can provoke crisis and disharmony.”' Such provocation is par-
ticularly dangerous in dysfunctional families in which violence
and abuse often result from revelation of a pregnancy or desire
to terminate it.”

3. Parental Notification or Consent Requirements
Harm Pregnant Teenage Girls by Delaying Their
Abortion Choice.

“The abortion decision is one that simply cannot be post-
poned.”’* Constricting the right to choose abortion by erecting
parental notification or consent requirements (even with a by-
pass) harms teenage girls disproportionately by delaying their
abortion choice. And delay is always harmful.

While abortion at any stage of pregnancy is safer for teenage
girls than childbirth, delay in seeking and obtaining an abor-
tion, particularly for girls entering their second trimester, has
the largest single effect on the risk to teenage girls of complica-
tions from abortion.”* Yet, for various reasons, teenagers are
less likely than older women to obtain abortions during the
safer, earlier weeks of gestation.”

"| 648 F.Supp. at 766-770. Experts conclude that communication between
parents and children about sexual matters is typically closed, and the forced
involvement of parents would not lead to more open, productive communi-
cation. Melton, supra n. 67, at 81.

72 Melton, supra n. 67, at 81; Clary, supra n. 51 at 284.

" Bellotti 11, 443 U.S. at 643.

™ Cates & Grimes, supra n. 22, at 158; Yates & Pliner, Judging Maturity
in the Courts: The Massachusetts Consent Statute 78 Am. J. Pub. Health 646,
648 (1988); see also Hodgson, 648 F.Supp. at 765. After eight weeks’ gesta-
tion, the risk of major complications from abortion rises approximately
15-30% for each week of delay. Cates & Grimes, supra n. 22, at 158.

"8 Risking, Vol. 1, supra note 24, at 114. A national survey found that only
34% of abortions obtained by girls ages 15 and younger are performed dur-
ing the first (and safest) eight weeks of gestation, compared with 41% of

20

Parental notification and consent requirements necessarily
impose additional delay, not only because the minor must wait
until the requirements are satisfied, but because the require-
ments impose another hard and inevitably time-consuming
decision on a minor: whether to proceed with such compelled
parental involvement, or to pursue alternatives (e.g., going
out-of-state or using a judicial by-pass if available). Such fur-
ther delays only increase the medical risks associated with the
abortion procedure to a significant degree.

Even short delays could heighten a patient's emotional ten-
sion, increase the costs of the procedure, and push a teenage
girl into the second trimester of a pregnancy, when the abor-
tion procedure entails significantly greater financial cost and
medical risk.”* Any increases in the financial costs of the pro-
cedure impose heavy, even insurmountable, burdens on teen-
agers as a group, and fall most heavily on poor teenagers, who
tend disproportionately to be members of minority groups. By
imposing additional medical risks and prohibitive costs on the

abortions obtained by girls ages 15-19, and 51% of those obtained by women
ages 20-24. AGI, Teenage Pregnancy, supra n. 2, at 55. Adolescents (19 and
under) are twice as likely as older women to obtain abortions after twelve
weeks. Cates, supra n. 22, at 20. One reason for delay is limited access to
abortion services, particularly in rural areas, due to difficulties in travel
(especially in states with great distances between clinics) and expense. In
addition, many teenagers, particularly the very young, fail to recognize the
early signs of pregnancy. This may be due to ignorance or because many
adolescent girls ordinarily experience menstrual irregularities and therefore
do not distinguish them from early signs of pregnancy. See, e.g., AGI,
Teenage Pregnancy, supra n. 2, at 55; Risking, Vol. 1, supra n. 21, at 114;
Russo, Adolescent Abortion: The Epidemiological Context, in Adolescent
Abortion: Psychological and Legal Issues 40, 57 (Melton ed. 1986); Bracken
& Kasl, Delay in Seeking Induced Abortion: A Review and Theoretical
Analysis, 121 Am. J. Obstetrics & Gynecology 1008-1019 (1975).

™ Hodgson, 648 F Supp. at 762. In Hodgson, the District Court found as a
matter of fact that the cost of abortion increases with gestational age because
of the increased skill necessary to perform the procedure. /d. at 761. The
Court cited the following fee schedule from one clinic: under 12 weeks, $225;
12-14 weeks, $275; 16-18 weeks, $450; 18-19 weeks, $550; 19-21 weeks,
$650. After 21 weeks, patients are referred to a particular hospital where, at
22 weeks, the fee is $1600-1800. Id.

21

abortion choice, parental notification and consent require-
ments run counter to one of the primary reasons abortion was
legalized sixteen years ago — to reduce the devastating health
risks of illegal abortion.

4. The Requirement That, to Avoid a Court Hearing,
Both Parents Must Be Notified is Unduly Burden-
some and Contrary to the State’s Asserted Purposes
in Many Family Situations.

The two-parent notification requirement of the Minnesota
statute is not even minimally rational. It contains no exception
for a divorced parent or for parents who are separated or
absent, or who have never married, or for dysfunctional fam-
ilies in which one resident parent is likely to become violent or
abusive to either the young woman or the other parent upon
being informed that a daughter is seeking an abortion with the
other spouse’s approval.”

The two-parent consultation requirement was found in
Minnesota to be a significant burden on minors which under-
mined, rather than promoted, healthy intrafamily communi-
cation. State-mandated contact with an absent, disinterested,
estranged, separated, or potentially violent second biological
parent was found to be frequently detrimental to the pregnant
woman and, indeed, to the one parent who has been con-
sulted, resulting in reduced intrafamily communication.”

In Minnesota, 20-25% of minors seeking judicial authoriza-
tion voluntarily consulted with or were accompanied to hear-
ings by one parent, demonstrating the severe problems caused
by requiring notice to both parents. Indeed, two-parent con-
sultation requirements had the perverse effect of inhibiting
parent-child communication: When the daughter and one
parent agree that contact with the other parent will be coun-

™ Minn. Stat. Ann. § 144.343(3).

"8 Hodgson, 648 F.Supp. at 769 (“[iJn these instances, the requirement
that minors notify both biological parents actually reduces parent-child com-
munication”) (emphasis supplied).

22

terproductive, a legally-imposed need to notify the second
parent or obtain a judicial waiver of notification “distracts the
minor and her parent and disrupts their communication.””
Voluntary communication with one parent is actually reduced
by a requirement that only consultation with both will suffice;
some minors were dissuaded from contacting even one parent
when only the consent of two would obviate the need for judi-
cial proceedings.*°

C. If Court Upholds Parental Notification, it Must
Preserve a Judicial or Other By-Pass to Protect
Minors’ Privacy Rights, and the By-Pass Must Be
Meaningful and Workable.

1. By-Pass Must Be Preserved.

This Court has properly held that “the State does not have
the constitutional authority to give a third party an absolute,
and possibly arbitrary, veto over the decision of the physician
and his patient to terminate the patient’s pregnancy.”®' Al-
though every minor may not be competent to make the abor-
tion decision by herself, for those who are competent, the
fundamental right to decide bars the state from delegating the
decision to another.

To protect all minors’ privacy rights to decide to terminate
their pregnancies without the forced involvement of their
parents, a state must provide a by-pass procedure that allows a
minor to seek the advice, counsel and support of another com-
petent adult who can help her make the decision herself and
who can determine, if the minor is not mature, whether it is
in her best interests to have the abortion.*? A judicial deter-

7 Id. at 778.

8 Id. at 769, 778.

*! Danforth, 428 U.S. at 74; see Akron, 462 U.S. at 439-440: Bellotti II,
443 U.S. at 643.

*? Ordinarily, the determination of a minor’s competence to consent to
medical treatment is made by the minor's physician. In Massachusetts, for

23

mination is but one, and in many cases not the best, by-pass
procedure. *

Without a judicial by-pass or other alternative to parental
involvement in the abortion decision, four out of ten minors —
those who would choose not to consult their parents — will be
denied their fundamental right to choose to terminate their
pregnancy in private. Some will succumb to anti-choice pres-
sure or their parents’ will that they carry to term, others will
have an illegal abortion or self-abort, and others will suffer the
negative, even violent, consequences that the revelation of
their pregnancy or abortion decision causes. ,

2. By-Pass Must Be Meaningful and Workable.

Amici wish to emphasize that by-pass does not cure the
burdens caused by forced parental notification or consent,
particularly two-parent notification or consent. Nor do amici
endorse the concept of judicial by-pass as the best way to pro-
tect minors’ constitutional rights. Nevertheless, it is the mini-
mum necessary to protect minors’ constitutional rights to
decide to terminate their pregnancy without an actual or de

example, the common law mature minor rule allows the physician to deter-
mine whether the minor is capable of giving informed consent to medica!
treatment and whether it is in the minor's best interests to notify his or her
parents. Baird v. Attorney Gen., 371 Mass. 741, 754 (1977). Immature
minors already require the consent of one parent. Id. at 753.

*? Maine has just enacted a comprehensive statute that provides for paren-
tal consent or judicial by-pass, but also provides for critical and meaningful
alternatives. The statute authorizes a physician to perform an abortion on a
minor after the physician has received the informed written consent of that
minor and the physician has ensured that the consent is truly “informed” by
counseling the minor according to specific criteria and determining that the
minor is mentally and physically competent to give consent. See An Act to
Require Parental Consent to a Minor’s Abortion, 1989 Maine Acts Ch. 573,
§ 2 ¥ 2(2), (3) (amending 22 Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 1597-A).

Wisconsin requires providers of abortion services to encourage minors to
notify their parents unless they determine that the minor has a valid reason
not to do so. In that situation, the statute provides an alternative to parental
notification. The hospital or clinic personnel encourage the minor to notify
another family member, a close friend, a school counselor, social worker or
other appropriate person. Wis. Stat. Ann. § 146.78(5) (1989).

24

facto parental veto. Accordingly, a judicial by-pass provision
must be meaningful and workable.

Massachusetts has had the longest experience with judicial
by-pass, initiating the procedure in 1981. Over that time the
procedure has worked about as well as such a procedure could
for those who have chosen to use it: Thousands of minors have
petitioned the court, all but a minute handful of petitions have
been granted without appeal,®* and the average time period
from the time an attorney is contacted and a hearing takes
place is 4-5 days.** Key to the “survivable” working of the
Massachusetts procedure are the Rules and Guidelines issued
by the Massachusetts courts. See Appendix B. These Rules and
Guidelines provide for the essential elements of expedition,
confidentiality, appointment of counsel, and the determina-
tion of maturity or best interests. Although the Massachusetts
by-pass procedure is not without its problems, this procedure
is, when the Rules and Guidelines are followed, faithful to the
teaching of Bellotti v. Baird, and, as confirmed by nearly ten
years of experience, representative of what such a procedure
must entail.

Time is of the essence when deciding to terminate a preg-
nancy, as each additional week of gestation increases the
health risks from abortion. To ensure that petitions are heard
expeditiously, the Rules and Guidelines specify that petitions
should be heard in chambers on any day the court is in session,

** Between April 1981 and February 1988, 5,460 minors sought judicial
consent for abortion in Massachusetts pursuant to Mass. Gen. L. ch. 112,
§ 12S. Only twelve petitions were denied: Of these nine were overturned on
appeal within three days, one minor petitioned another court, one went out
of state, and one minor obtained parental consent during appellate pro-
ceedings. PPLM, supra n. 68, at 2.

*° Yates & Pliner, supra n. 74, at 648 (though 4.2-5.2 days was average
delay, specific delays ranged from one day to 39 days). Much of the reason
for expedition in Massachusetts is a combination of the efforts of amicus
Massachusetts Judicial Consent for Minors Lawyer Referral Panel and coop-
erative court personnel. This Court should not be so naive as to think that
lawyers and court personnel in other states would_necessarily be as helpful.
Moreover, by-pass causes other delays: i.e., locating an attorney initially,

any appellate proceedings and scheduling the abortion procedure some time
after the hearing.

25

expeditiously, and if possible on the same day of filing.*° The
Rules and Guidelines provide for waiver of fees and for court-
appointed counsel, which is essential to navigate expeditiously
through any court procedures. To ensure confidentiality, only
a sealed affidavit contains the minor’s real name. She need not
state her name on any other documents or during the hearing,
her name should not appear in the transcript of the pro-
ceedings, and the in-chambers hearings are to be held out of
the presence of unnecessary court personnel. Moreover, state-
wide venue is provided so that a minor need not attend court
in her neighborhood.*’

Most importantly, and following the precise lead of Bellotti
II, the Massachusetts Rules and Guidelines set out a two-tiered
approach under which judges are to determine whether to
grant the petition. First the judge must determine whether the
minor is mature enough to make the decision. Only if the
judge determines that she is not mature, does the judge move
to the second tier of inquiry, whether the abortion would be in
her best interests. The Rules and Guidelines further set forth
the appropriate inquiry when making these determinations,

* App. B at B-3, { 2. Ideally, a statute should specify very short deadlines
for scheduling hearings, rendering decisions, and hearing and deciding
appeals in order to avoid delays such as the potential 3-week delay wrought
by the Ohio statute. Ohio allows 5 business days for scheduling the initial
hearing, 4 days for docketing the appeal and 5 days for the appellate hearing,
and calls for decisions “immediately” after the hearing. Akron Center for
Reproductive Health v. Rosen, 633 F.Supp. 1123, 1141-1142 (N.D. Ohio
1986), aff'd, Akron Center for Reproductive Health v. Slaby, 854 F.2d 852
(6th Cir. 1988), jurisdiction noted, 109 S.Ct. 3239 (1989). Compare La. Rev.
Stat. Ann. § 40:1299:35:5 (1989 Cum. Supp.) (hearings to be held within 48
hours of filing of application, for both initial petition and appeal); Nev. Rev.
Stat. Ann. § 442.255.2(c) (1986) (hearing must be held within 2 days of filing
and decision rendered within 1 day of hearing), with Maine Acts Ch. 573 § 2
{ 6(C) (5 days both for initial hearing and for appeal); Wyo. Stat. § 35-6-118
(1989 Cum. Supp.) (5 days for initial hearing, no guideline for appeal).

*? App. B at B-2, {f 2-3; B-3 to B-4, {fj 4-5. Contrast with the Ohio prac-
tice, which requires a minor to provide her true name and address on the
complaint. Rosen, 633 F.Supp. at 1143-44. Yet, even with the Massachusetts
guidelines, a minor's confidentiality can be breached when persons she
knows recognize her at court. See PPLM, supra n. 68, at 4.

26

including the minor’s age, school and work experience,
whether the decision is her own and whether she has discussed
it with others.*

The Rules and Guidelines specifically caution that a judge
should not question a minor in such a way as to promote “a
particular set of moral values.” They direct judges not to in-
quire into the minor's or her parents views on the morality of
abortion, whether the minor considei; the fetus to be an
“unborn child,” or whether the minor believes she is destroy-
~ ing life.*

Only if the judge fails to find the minor mature, should he
or she consider whether the abortion is in the minor’s best
interests. The Rules and Guidelines then propose that judges
apply the doctrine of “substituted judgment’ in conducting
the best interests inquiry, explaining,

[t]hat doctrine essentially requires a court to determine
what an incompetent person would choose were she fully

** App. B at B-4, {f 6-8.

* App. B at B-4, § 7. Unfortunately, in Massachusetts, and one could
predict elsewhere, this guideline is far from uniformly followed. See Planned
Parenthood League of Massachusetts v. Bellotti, 868 F.2d 459, 466 (1st Cir.
1989). Nevertheless, former Massachusetts Superior Court Judge Paul
Garrity, who testified in Hodgson about his experience with the Massachu-
setts statute, admitted that he is personally opposed to abortion, yet he
heeded the Guidelines’ admonition not to let his personal views interfere. He
found every minor who appeared before him mature enough to make the
decision. Tr. at 1322-1325, Hodgson.

Other statutes’ lack of standards for determining maturity and best inter-
ests are an open invitation for judges improperly to question the minor about
her moral and religious views. For example, the Maine statute’s catch-all
provision that allows a judge to consider “[a}ny other evidence that the court
may find useful,” 1989 Maine Acts Ch. 573 § 2 § 6(C)(3), opens the door to
such improper inquiry. See also In re T. W., 543 So.2d 837, 841 (Fla. App. 5
Dist. 1989) (Florida statute's lack of guidelines for determining maturity or
best interests imposes clear danger that judges will render decision on basis of
their own moral, religious or political beliefs rather than on a constitution-
ally permissible basis).

© Superintendent of Belchertown State School v. Saikewicz, 373 Mass.
728, 750 (1977); Brophy v. New England Sinai Hosp., Inc., 398 Mass. 417,
431 (1986).

27

competent, while bearing in mind her expressed choice
and partial competency. Various considerations may be
relevant to a “best interest” determination. As to this
finding, the court may inquire into the minor’s reasons
for not seeking her parents’ consent. Where the minor is
accompanied by one parent who supports her petition,
that support should be given great if not dispositive
weight.*! -

This Guideline is, of course, critical because it ensures that a
judge does not assess a minor’s best interests according to the’
judge’s moral views of abortion.**

If followed, rules such as the Massachusetts Rules and
Guidelines can properly shield minors from harassing ques-
tions by judges, expedite the proceedings to avoid undue
delay, and protect the minor’s privacy and confidentiality as
much as possible under the circumstances.

Conclusion

To exercise their fundamental right to reproductive choice,
minors need access to reliable information about childbearing
and abortion from a competent. adult, including a parent,
if they choose, or from trained counselors and physicians so
that they may ultimately make the decision that is best for

*' App. B at B-4 to B-5 § 8.

* Application of the substituted judgment standard would have prevented
the four-week delay in obtaining an abortion for a minor in Alabama where
the judge determined that an abortion was not in her best interests because
her prognosis for delivering a baby was fair! See Ex Parte Anonymous, 531
So.2d 901, 902-903 (Ala. 1988). The minor, 12 years old and 14-16 weeks
pregnant, whose mother was in a psychiatric ward and father had left home,
testified that she did not want to have the baby, could not take care of the
baby or herself, and that her two aunts agreed with her decision. After find-
ing that she was not mature, the trial judge denied her petition ruling that, at
14-16 weeks gestation, her prognosis for delivery was fair. Jd. Although the
ruling was reversed on appeal as clearly improper, four weeks elapsed during
appeals to the appellate court, which remanded instead of granting the peti-
tion outright, and to the Supreme Court of Alabama.

28

themselves. If this Court is truly concerned with the quality of
childbearing decision making by minors, it must not deter
minors who will not voluntarily consult their parents from get-
ting the counseling and health services that they desperately
need for a safe abortion or a safe pregnancy. Forced parental
notification or consent bars the provision of safe abortion
counseling and services to those individuals who need help the
most — minors who feel they cannot involve their parents in
their reproductive decisions. To protect a minor’s privacy, if
such notification is upheld, a meaningful by-pass is required,
as eight members of this Court recognized in Bellotti v. Baird.
Guidelines such as those in Massachusetts provide the mini-
mum essential ingredients of a meaningful, workable by-pass
procedure.

For the foregoing reasons, the judgment below in Hodgson
v. Minnesota should be reversed in part, and the judgment in
Ohio v. Akron Center for Reproductive Health should be
affirmed.

Respectfully Submitted,

Joun H. HENN
(Counsel of Record)

Nina JOAN KIMBALL

Fo.ey, Hoac & ELiot
One Post Office Square
Boston, Massachusetts 02109
(617) 482-1390

Dated: September 1, 1989 Attorneys for Amici Curiae

A-1l

APPENDIX A

Interests of Amici

The Center for Population Options (CPO) is a national,
non-profit organization dedicated to the prevention of unin-
tended adolescent pregnancy and too-early childbearing. CPO
develops programs to increase opportunities for young people
through education, comprehensive health care, and access to
family planning services.

Planned Parenthood League of Massachusetts, Inc. is a non-
profit organization which, with others, is the certified class
representative of minor women who are engaged in an on-
going challenge to the Massachusetts minors’ abortion parental
consent/judicial by-pass statute, Mass. Gen. L. Ch. 112, §12S,
which has been in effect longer than any other such statute in
the nation, and which was enacted in direct response to the
striking down of the predecessor §12S by the Court in Bellotti
v. Baird. *

Girls Clubs of America serves more than 250,000 girls and
young women ages 6-18 nationally through programs and
advocacy. Preventing adolescent pregnancy is an important
goal of the organization. A major objective of its program in
this area is to improve communications between parents and
their daughters.

The Massachusetts Judicial Consent for Minors Lawyer
Referral Panel is a volunteer association of over two hundred
Massachusetts lawyers who for the last eight years have repre-
sented more than 6,000 pregnant minors seeking judicial con-
sent for an abortion (in lieu of parental consent) under Mass.
Gen. Laws ch. 112, §12S.

Mobilization for Youth Health Services, Inc. is concerned
that the erosion of Roe v. Wade will lead us back to the days
where social class and ability-to-pay were highly determina-

* 443 U.S. 622 (1979) (Bellotti 11). The history of the new §12S and the
litigation challenging it is set forth in part in Planned Parenthood League of
Massachusetts v. Bellotti, 868 F.2d 459 (1st Cir. 1989).

A-2

minative of whether choice was available and, if available,
whether that choice was exercised under conditions of
hygiene, care, and skill normally accepted as standard for the
medical profession. Social realities being what they are, the
victims of the curtailment of an essential right for women
would be millions of disadvantaged and poor women in the
United States.

The United States Student Association (USSA) is a nation-
wide non-profit membership organization which represents
approximately two million students at approximately 200 col-
leges and universities throughout the United States. USSA has
a strong commitment to ensuring access to higher education
and the right to self-determination for all individuals regard-
less of age, gender, economic status, race, disability, sexual/
affectional orientation, or veteran status.

Brooklyn YWCA (Young Women’s Christian Association) is
part of the oldest and largest worldwide women’s membership
organization dedicated to empowering women. The Brooklyn
YWCA opposes any effort to restrict the access of poor and
young women to quality health care services, as well as any

attemp ¢ » them their right to reproductive freedom.
Stu’e © eed Youth Against Racism is a national organiza-
tion be » ‘ew York City with chapters nationwide whose

women miciiibers include students and youth from many com-
munities. It supports the right of all young women to make the
decision to terminate a pregnancy through abortion, without
restrictions, if they so choose. To deny safe, legal abortion
would seriously harm the health of and discriminate against

untold numbers of young women, especially the poor, unem-
ployed, and Black, Latino, Asian and Native Americans, who,

without the funds to obtain safe abortions, would have to
resort to dangerous health-threatening procedures.

Professor William Kassen, a child psychologist at Yale
University, is a member of the National Academy of Sciences
and the vice chairman of the Committee on Child Develop-

A-3

ment Research and Public Policy that proposed and contrib-
uted to the report Risking the Future: Adolescent Sexuality,
Pregnancy, and Childbearing.

The American Public Health Association, established in
1872, is a national nongovernmental professional society rep-
resenting 55,000 members in all disciplines and specialities in
public health. APHA is devoted to the universal protection
and promotion of public health, and the equality of health
services for all persons.

The National Family Planning and Reproductive Health
Association, Inc. (NFPRHA) is a non-profit membership corpo-
ration designed to improve and expand the delivery of compre-
hensive family planning and reproductive health care informa-
tion and services throughout the United States. NFPRHA
represents over 85 percent of the agencies and organizations
that operate family planning programs with funds received
under Title X of the Public Health Services Act of 1970.

Abortions Rights Mobilization (ARM) is a Section 501(c)(3)
organization, which uses lawsuits, education and other techni-
ques “to implement and guarantee a women’s right to legal
abortion as decreed by the U.S. Supreme Court,” following
ARM's by-laws.

Abortion Rights Council (ARC) was founded in 1968 and
currently has 5,000 members and 12,000 supporters in the
State of Minnesota. It has as its sole purpose keeping abortions
safe and legal for all women. ARC opposes any further restric-
tions on women’s access to abortions and supports the princi-
ples established in Roe v. Wade.

Choices Women’s Medical-Center is a New York State
licensed medical facility serving over 30,000 patients a year in
the New York City area for family planning, abortion and pre-
natal care. Since its founding in 1971, Choices Women’s Med-
ical Center has been at the forefront of insuring high quality
feminist women’s health care to its patients and fighting polit-
ically to retain the right to choose.

A-4

Child Care Law Center in San Francisco, California is the
only legal services organization in the country exclusively dedi-
cated to expanding the supply of affordable, quality child
care. It has a particular emphasis on serving the needs of low-
income women, and as such it strongly supports the rights of
low-income women to have equal access to health services,
including abortion.

The National Organization for Women (NOW) is the largest
feminist organization in the United States. Fundamental to
NOW’s purpose is the right of women to control their own
bodies and to determine if and when to bear children.
Women’s right to reproductive freedom impacts not only their
right to privacy, but also their health and safety.

The American Association of University Women (AAUW), a
network of 140,000 college-educated women, promotes equity
for women and girls. The AAUW supports the right of every
woman and girl to safe and comprehensive reproductive
health care. AAUW believes that decisions concerning repro-
ductive health care are personal ones, and that the right to
make informed decisions should be available to all women.

The American Jewish Congress, an organization of Ameri-
can Jews founded in 1918, is fully committed to protecting the
right of all women to exercise reproductive choices. While it
believes that involving parents in the choices of their teenage
daughters is desirable, it believes that such involvement can-
not be mandated by law, because study after study demon-
strates that these laws are wholly ineffective, even, in many
cases, counterproductive.

The National Council of Jewish Women, founded in 1893
and numbering 100,000 members across the United States, is
dedicated, in the spirit of Judaism, to advancing human
welfare and the democratic way of life through a combination
of social action, education and community service. It has
adopted a National Resolution to work for “the protection of
every female’s right to choose abortion, and the elimination of
obstacles that limit reproductive freedom.”

The Women’s Law Project (WLP) is a non-profit law firm
dedicated to advancing the status and opportunities of

A-5

women. WLP believes that the right to reproductive choice is
an essential component of women’s ability to play an equal
role with men in this society, and has engaged in extensive liti-
gation and public education designed to protect women’s legal
right to abortion.

The Women’s Action Alliance, Inc. in New York City works
extensively with community-based organizations serving
women of color, young women, and low-income women. We
are keenly aware of the importance of maintaining a full range
of reproductive options for these and all women. If abortion
services or access to abortion were to be restricted, these
women would have no alternative but to seek dangerous alter-
natives to safe and legal abortion.

The National Gay & Lesbian Task Force (NGLTF) is a
national membership advocacy and political organization
founded in 1973, to protect and advance the civil and social
rights of lesbians and gay men. NGLTF strongly supports the
reproductive freedom of all women and the expansion of a
fundamental right to privacy of all people in the area of
reproductive and sexual decision-making.

The National Gay Rights Advocates (NGRA) is a non-profit
public-interest law firm founded in 1978, which engages in
impact litigation throughout the country on behalf of lesbians
and gay men. Preserving the constitutional rights to liberty
and privacy, rights that are principal components of a
woman's right to choose abortion, are of fundamental concern
to NGRA’s work and its membership.

Lambda Legal Defense and Education Fund, Inc., founded
in 1973, is the nation’s oldest and largest nationgl legal
advocacy organization working in furtherance of the rights of
lesbians and gay men. As an organization representing the
lesbian and gay community's belief in the constitutional right
to liberty and bodily autonomy, Lambda strongly supports the
position that women in our society are constitutionally en-
titled to make their own decisions about whether to choose
abortion.

A-6

The National Council for Research on Women is an inde-
pendent association of established centers and organizations
that provide institutional resources for feminist research, pol-
icy analysis, and educational programs for women and girls.

The Minority Prison Project of Memphis, Tennessee works
for the protection of the men, women, and children im-
prisoned in the United States. We work to try and regain the
rights for these humans, under the Constitution, that is denied
them daily.

All-Peoples Congress, based in New York City, is a national
organization with chapters in communities in_many major
cities whose women members are Black, Latino, Asian,
Native, white, students, lesbians, workers, unemployed, dis-
abled, seniors, single heads of households and those on fixed
incomes. It strongly supports a comprehensive federal pro-
gram of guaranteed reproductive rights and health care for all
women, which includes safe, legal, affordable abortion.

The Women’s Bar Association of Massachusetts (WBA),
with over 1,000 members, is committed to the advancement of
women attorneys, to the protection of all women in the legal
system, and has been particularly concerned with the protec-
tion of a woman's right to choice. The WBA also sponsors a
panel of attorneys who represent ‘minors seeking judicial con-
sent for abortion (amicus Massachusetts Judicial Consent for
Minors Lawyer Referral Panel).

California Women Lawyers (CWL) is an organization of
several thousand women lawyers founded in 1973 for the pri-
mary purpose of improving the situation of women in the State
of California. CWL is committed to all issues affecting a
woman’s right to choice, lobbying against various parental
consent bills and working with a broad-based coalition to
encourage funding and support for programs supportive of
choice.

The Women’s Bar Association of Illinois (“WBAI”) was
founded in 1914 for the purpose of promoting and fostering
the interests and welfare of women and women attorneys and

A-7

to maintain the honor and dignity of the legal profession.
WBAI’s 1,000 members have long campaigned for individual
rights and liberties, including the right of women to make
reproductive decisions free from governmental interference.

Women Lawyers’ Association of Los Angeles (WLALA),
founded in 1919, is the largest local bar association in the State
of California emphasizing the concerns of women. WLALA
has as members over 1,200 female and male lawyers, judges,
and law students who are personally and professionally con-
cerned with the importance of preserving a woman’s right to
choose for herself whether to terminate a pregnancy.

The New York State Coalition Against Domestic Violence is
a membership organization of battered women’s shelters, safe
home projects, counseling and advocacy organizations and
individuals committed to empowering women and helping
them to lead violence-free lives. The Coalition believes in
women’s rights to choice and in the accessibility of services to
all women, regardless of economic status. This includes every
woman’s right to reproductive choice and to medical
assistance.

The Tucson Women’s Commission was founded in late 1975
by the Mayor and Council of the City of Tucson to assist
women in attaining full equality of opportunity in all aspects
of life. The Tucson Women’s Commission also maintains that
public policy in the best interest of women will support a full
range of options, information, and services so that every
woman has the ability to make her own decision about when,
whether, and under what conditions to bear a child.

New York Women in Criminal Justice is an organization of .
women whose members include police, probation, and correc-
tion officers; judges, attorneys, and social workers; others who
work in the criminal justice system; inmates and ex-offenders.
In furtherance of our concern that offenders who go through
the system not come out worse than when they went in, we
strongly support the right of a woman to choose abortion,
knowing that the offspring of women in prison become the

A-8

dysfunctional children in school and often the criminals of
the future.

The Missouri Women’s Network is a banding together of
Missouri organizations and individual women and men to fa-
cilitate communication, promote education, and to strengthen
advocacy for women’s issues based on the 1977 National Plan
of Action for Women (adopted in Houston).

The Connecticut Women’s Educational and Legal Fund,
Inc., with over 400 members, is a non-profit public interest
law firm advocating for women’s rights. As an organization
working for equality, we believe that every woman, without
regard to age, religious belief, income, race or disability, must
be able to control her own health and reproduction.

Hawaii Women Lawyers is dedicated to the improvement
of the status of women attorneys and the support of issues of
concern to all women, so as to promote the advancement of
all women.

North Carolina Equity, a non-profit organization, is dedi-
cated to the economic advancement of women. We support
women’s full realization and exercise of their most basic legal
rights, including a woman’s right to control her own body.
This right must include her right to choose an abortion.

The San Francisco Women Lawyers Alliance is a progres-
sive, activist bar organization that was founded in 1983 to pro-
vide a vehicle through which women lawyers could address
women’s issues and enhance the position of women our
society. One of the issues of particular concern to our member-
ship is freedom of choice and reproductive rights for all
women.

Queen’s Bench of the San Francisco Bay Area, founded in
1912, is the largest bar association in the Northern California
area established to promote the interests of women attorneys.
Queen’s Bench is concerned in maintaining a worman’s funda-
mental right of choice to terminate a pregnancy that was
established in Roe v. Wade.

Senge Se

A-9

Fresno Free College Foundation is a community organiza-
tion with offices in Fresno, California. Its origin in 1968 is con-
nected to an academic freedom case and, since that time, it
has, in various ways, been supportive of academic freedom
and the civil liberties of students, professors, and citizens.

B-1

APPENDIX B

STANDING ORDER 5-81. UNIFORM PROCEDURES
REGARDING PETITIONS FOR ABORTION AUTHORI-
ZATION UNDER G.L. c. 112, s. 12 TO INCLUDE AS
AN ATTACHMENT SUGGESTED GUIDELINES,
ORIGINALLY SET FORTH IN PLANNED PARENT-
HOOD LEAGUE OF MASSACHUSETTS v. BELLOTTI,
NO. 81-124 CIVIL (SUPREME JUDICIAL COURT
FOR SUFFOLK COUNTY; LIACOS, J. SINGLE
JUSTICE) (JUNE 16, 1981)

(Amended)
Applicable to All Counties
Effective August 1, 1981

(1) Upon the filing of a petition or motion (petition) under
G.L. c. 112, § 12S, inserted by St.1980, ch. 240 (a copy of
which is attached), the Clerk-Magistrate (clerk) shall immedi-
ately bring the matter to the attention of the Regional Admin-
istrative Justice or His/Her Designee who will either hear the
pe’ ition in his/her session or, through the clerk, assign it for a
hearing in another session.

In any event, the matter shall be given priority over all other
cases then pending “so that the court may reach a decision
promptly and without delay so as to serve the best interests of
the pregnant woman.” G.L. c. 112, § 12S, inserted by
St. 1980, ch. 240. In this regard, the court should not decline to
decide a case brought under § 12S because of any pleading
omissions or other technical defects and shall assist the minor,
particularly if unrepresented by counsel, in presenting rele-
vant facts and by liberally construing the pleadings. (A copy of
a form petition, which is to be made easily available to peti-
tioners, is attached.)

If the position is filed in a county in which no session is being
held, the clerk of court who received the petition shall imme-
diately notify the Chief Justice of the Superior Court by tele-
phone of the pending petition. The Chief Justice shall then
take such action as is necessary to reach a decision promptly

B-2

and without delay so as to serve the best interests of the preg-
nant woman.

(2) Although § 12S permits a pregnant woman less than
eighteen years of age to participate in proceedings in the
Superior Court Department in her own behalf, it is preferable
that the minor be represented by counsel. The statute requires
that the court advise her that she has a right to court-ap-

pointed counsel a... that the court shall, upon her request,

provide her with such counsel.

Also, the court may appoint a guardian ad litem to repre-
sent the minor or may make such other orders as necessary
pursuant to Mass.R.Civ.P. 17(b). The compensation for coun-
sel and/or for the guardian ad litem shall be certified by the
justice as an expense incident to the operation of the court. If
the minor requests waiver of costs and fees, as provided by
St. 1980, c. 539, such costs and fees are to be waived.

(3) As provided by § 12S, all proceedings shall be confiden-
tial and all pleadings and other papers filed shall be designated
anonymously. For example, the proceedings shall be titled
Mary Moe, Mary Doe, etc. If the minor files papers which do
not insure her anonymity, the court shall have the papers pro-
cessed in a manner which will insure anonymity and shall
return the defective papers to the minor or her counsel. An
affidavit shall accompany the papers in the case. Such affi-
davit shall reveal the minor’s true identity. The affidavit shall
be sealed in an envelope which will be identifiable by having
the docket number of the case inscribed upon it. All such
envelopes shall be kept in a separate file by the clerks of
the various courts. All papers in the proceeding shall be
impounded.

The clerks of the various courts should undertake to insure
that the minor’s contact with the clerk’s office is confidential
and expeditious to the fullest extent practicable. For example,
assistance in filing a petition should be provided in a confiden-
tial setting, such as a private office. Similarly, one or more
persons in the clerk’s office should be at all times available to

B-3

answer questions asked by a minor, either in person or by
phone, and to assist the minor in expeditiously presenting her
petition to the court. Each clerk shall designate one or more
persons to receive and process § 12S petitions and shall insure
that one such person is available to insure prompt treatment.

(4) All proceedings under c. 112, § 12S, shall be conducted
jury-waived with a court reporter present. The statute re-
quires the court to make in writing specific factual findings
and legal conclusions supporting his or her decision and to
order that a record of evidence be maintained which includes
his or her own findings and conclusions.

(5) Suggested guidelines, originally emanating from a
memorandum of the Single Justice for Suffolk County in
Planned Parenthood League of Massachusetts v. Bellotti, No.
81-124 Civil (Supreme Judicial Court for Suffolk County;
Liacos, J. Single Justice) (June 16, 1981), are attached hereto.

SUGGESTED GUIDELINES

The following guidelines for handling § 12S petitions (“peti-
tions”) are suggested to the Superior Court. These guidelines
are intended to supplement amended Superior Court Standing
Order No. 5-81 and not to replace it.

1. Petitions should ordinarily be heard on any day the
court is in session.

2. Petitions should be heard as expeditiously as possible
upon filing with the Clerk/Magistrate’s office, and on the same
day if practical.

3. All technical defects in the proceedings and in the
pleadings and papers should ordinarily be disregarded by the
Court and by the Clerk/Magistrate.

4. Hearings must be confidential and should be held in the

_ judge’s lobby except where physically impossible. The peti-

tioner (“minor”) should be permitted to have present any per-
son she desires (social worker, counselor, parent, friend), but
the judge should exclude all unnecessary court personnel or
others. The minor should be free to choose whether to go for-
ward without counsel.

B-4

5. The minor should not be required to state her true
name. After explaining the impoundment procedures used to
ensure confidentiality, the judge may wish to ask the minor
her true first name in order to address her by it during the
hearing. The transcript should not contain the minor’s full
true name since she will have previously stated her identity on
a sealed affidavit held by the Clerk/Magistrate pursuant to
Superior Court Standing Order 12-80.

6. It is contemplated that the judge will conduct the hear-
ing on a “two-tier” basis with “maturity” determined first,
and “best interest” addressed only if maturity is not found.

7. As to the “maturity” finding, inquiry may be appropri-
ate in such areas as the minor’s age and school and work ex-
perience, any history of mental illness or other treatment relat-
ing to mental competence, and whether the abortion decision
is a personal decision and not one forced upon the minor by
another and whether the minor has discussed her decision with
other persons. In any inquiry as to the minor’s maturity and
her understanding of the nature, consequences and signifi-
cance of her abortion choice, or in any inquiry as to her best
interests, it is suggested that the judge should avoid the crea-
tion of the appearance of seeking to promote a particular set of
moral values by inquiring into the minor’s or her parents’
views as to the morality of abortion; or into whether the minor
considers a fetus to be an “unborn child,” as to whether the
minor believes she is in some way taking or destroying life.

8. Where the court finds a minor is not mature, it must
make a determination of whether the abortion or childbirth
alternative is in her “best interest”. The court may be guided
in making such a determination by the substantially coexten-
sive doctrine of substituted judgment. That doctrine essen-
tially requires a court to determine what an incompetent per-
son would choose were she fully competent, while bearing in
mind her expressed choice and partial competency. Various
considerations may be relevant to a “best interes” determina-
tion. As to this finding, the court may inquire into the minor's

B-5

reasons for not seeking her parents’ consent. Where the minor
is accompanied by one parent who supports her petition, that
support should be given great if not dispositive weight.

9. Where the court preliminarily concludes that the minor
is mature, appointment of a guardian ad litem should ordi-
narily be unnecessary. Where the court preliminarily con-
cludes that the minor is not fully mature, it should consider
whether such an appointment is necessary to assure protection
of the minor's best interest or whether it would lead to
unnecessary delay, particularly if the minor is represented by
counsel, or has been counseled by competent professionals, or
is accompanied by a parent or other adult.

10. In view of the statutory mandate for expeditious deci-
sions, petitions may be decided in chambers and should, in any
event, be decided as promptly as possible, and ordinarily
within twenty-four hours or less. The Clerk/Magistrate should
inform the minor of the decision as soon as possible and in the
manner which the minor requests.

11. The Judge or Clerk/Magistrate should give the minor a
copy of an order under § 12S bearing the court's docket num-
ber, and a copy of her sealed affidavit bearing the same docket
number. Where the decision can be made immediately, the
Judge may choose to have the minor wait, deliver the order
and a copy of the affidavit to her, and seal the original affi-
davit in her presence.

12. A petition should not be denied or a hearing delayed
solely because the minor has not selected a particular clinic,
hospital or doctor for performance of the abortion. If the judge
authorizes an abortion for an immature minor on the “best
interest” basis, he may inquire into her contemplated plans in

_order to assure himself that the particular course of medical

treatment she intends to follow will be in her best interests.

13. Appointed counsel in § 12S proceedings should be paid
for in the same fashion as in criminal cases or in such other
fashion as the Chief Administrative Justice of the Trial Court
finds is best suited for such proceedings.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385012_0468%3A18. Public record. Not legal advice.
